About ilili

236 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Respect. Inspire. Teach. Learn. Create. Achieve Greatness.
Tell Me – it’s what “ilili” means. For our guests, Tell Me means listening to and understanding each of their stories and creating new ones with them – ones of celebration and sharing, of long traditions and new beginnings.
Every dish at ilili has its own story from the traditional recipes direct from Lebanon, to the modern updates that tell the history of our team, of our cooks and chefs who have left their mark on our kitchen, and our serving staff and managers who have been ambassadors of hospitality. Our menu is never done – we find inspiration all around, in new ingredients, new approaches, and fresh takes on old standards.
ilili is a place where creativity abounds from the kitchen to the dining table where each guest becomes an artist, creating his own palette of flavors with our dishes as the canvas and good friends as the audience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Lebanese, Middle Eastern

Hours of Operation:
Prix Fixe Lunch Mon-Fri $22.
Prix Fixe Brunch Sat-Sun $28.
WEEKDAYS:
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm,
DINNER Monday-Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:30pm,
WEEKENDS:Saturday 12:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 12:00pm - 10:30pm.
NIGHTLY:Bar & Lounge Open Till Last Call

Cross Street:
Between 27th & 28th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 683-2929

Website:
http://www.ililinyc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is available upon request for private events.

Catering:
For further information, please visit our website.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in a lot on 28th Street, between Broadway and 5th Avenue. Street parking is also available near restaurant.

Public Transit:
N & R Subway Lines 28th Street Stop. 6 Line on Park is near as well 28th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Massoud

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Private Event Department at: (212) 481-1840

Restaurant Photos

Hindbeh – dandelion greens, pine nuts, caramelized onions
Arnabeet mekle, cauliflower, tahini labneh, chili, mint
Kaak flatbread with olive labne
Moussaka – eggplant, tomato, garlic, onion, olive oil
Lebanese thyme salad – herbs, Lebanese arugula, parsley, lemon, green olive, onion
Hummus, chickpea purée, tahini, lemon, olive oil, pine nuts, jalapeño, lamb
Duck egg, melted kashkaval cheese, truffle shavings, sumac
Grilled octopus, fennel, grapes, mache, crispy potato, citrus sumac vinaigrette
Brussels sprouts, grapes, fig jam, walnuts, mint yogurt
Cocktail
Halloumi Cheese
Tuna Belly
Ilili Candy Bar
Falafel
Mouhamara
Katayef And Veal Bacon
Kebab Kerez
Rib Eye Steak
Fresh Hot Pita Bread
Labne Cheese Cake
Lamb Makloubeh
Arnabeet Mekle
Hummus
Lobster Hummus
Brussels Sprouts
Moussaka
Kibbeh
Crab Rangoon
Kibbeh Nayyeh (Raw Kibbeh)
Flatbread
Babaganoush
Truffled eggs Benedict
Eggplant
Kibbe Nayeh
Fries
Tabbouleh
veal bacon
Duck Shawarma
Kashkaval Eggs In Cocotte
Mixed Kebbab
Mjadra
Roasted Lamb Leg
Grilled Shrimp
Mixed Berry Soda
Strawberry Rhubarb Cheesecake
Mixed Grill
Brussel Sprouts with fig puree, grapes, walnuts
Almaza Beer
Brussel sprouts
Hummus With Pine Nuts And Jalapenos
Phoenician Fries
Banana Bread
shrimp salad
Citrus Trout
triple sorbet
Lamb Shank Sandwich
lamb tartare
Bone Marrow
Lamb Kebab
Cucumber Lemonade
Knafe Bil Jibneh
Lebanese Cheese Cake
Kibbeh Bi Laban
Beef Shawarma
Fried Cauliflower
Braised Beef
Chicken Livers
Mix Candy Bar -- Chocolate, Crunch And Caramel
Grilled Tuna Belly
Crispy Duck Leg Confit
Grilled Chicken Wrap
fried fish
Fried Skate
Candy Bar
Knefé bil jebneh
Brussels Sprouts With Walnuts, Grapes, Fig Jam and Mint Yogurt
Trout
Risotto
Falafel Plate
Yogurt
Kibbeh Nayeh
Duck Kebab
Moujadara
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow
Black Cod
Brussell sprouts
Watercress Salad
Abalone Mushroom
Cauliflower
Camdy Bar
12 oz Ribeye steak
Hummus Plate
Riz
Shawarma
Spring Spritzer
Bass
Da’ud Basha
Awaimat
Knefeh
Freekeh risotto

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events at ilili feature classic Lebanese cuisine mixed with modern Mediterranean influences in a warm and inviting atmosphere. There are three private event spaces perfect for any occasion as well as the entire restaurant that can accommodate parties of up to 297 guests.

ilili Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Gramercy / Flatiron ›

good for groups (162)
fit for foodies (156)
special occasion (132)
See All
hot spot (78)
romantic (75)
great for lunch (69)
neighborhood gem (62)
vibrant bar scene (54)
great for brunch (34)
notable wine list (32)
late-night find (22)
kid-friendly (11)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and food. The best hum ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined a day ago

Excellent service and food. The best hummus and shawarma I've had ever. It's finely put together to impress the most sophisticated taste buds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was spotty at best.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

The service was spotty at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

I'm not sure why this place is popular. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

I'm not sure why this place is popular. The ambience is New Jersey low-end diner, with extra noise from the low ceilings. The service, while polite, is grudging and perfunctory. The food has some flashes of excellence; the kibbeh was beautiful, if tiny, and the muhummara was really very good. Otherwise, I do not see the justification for the prices. The wine list was also overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Appetizers good but a little overpriced ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Appetizers good but a little overpriced

Entrees less consistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Not worth the price - one can eat better ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Not worth the price - one can eat better for less at any decent neighborhood spot (and some halal food trucks).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Make your reservation ASAP. You've been ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Make your reservation ASAP. You've been missing the best Lebanese in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food that tastes like it is made ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food that tastes like it is made in Lebanon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Vastly over priced for what it has to of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Vastly over priced for what it has to offer. You basically pay for their rent not their cooking skills. If you forget the prices, then the review is as follows: food is decent as they are ambience and service. Nothing to write home about though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good Lebanese food and good service. De ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Good Lebanese food and good service. Dessert options were very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Kebbeh neeyeh always my favorite

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Kebbeh neeyeh always my favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came in with a few of my girlfriends a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I came in with a few of my girlfriends after work and I had a great time as always. The food is delicious and the ambience is perfect!

Must try if you're into Lebanese cuisine

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a great restaurant but we got seate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It's a great restaurant but we got seated in the upstairs room, in which you lose the ambiance of the main restaurant. Also, the AC cools the fresh pita in minutes. That's a real waste. Otherwise, a good experience.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

As always, a great experience and great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

As always, a great experience and great food! It was my friends' first time and they enjoyed it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been several times to Ilili which i ...

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Have been several times to Ilili which is one of our favorites in NY , BUT our experience with the hostess is always a tough one . They make you feel unwanted . With reservations , without reservations . If you are early , on time , late its the same , they make it very hard on you to get to your table . Food and service have always been excellent ; thats why we keep going back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Didn't quite meet my expectations .. Goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Didn't quite meet my expectations .. Good but won't come back from NJ for it but may go if I am here. Super expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Really good, interesting food. Very nice ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Really good, interesting food. Very nice bar with great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent at all!! We discover Ililli ju ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent at all!! We discover Ililli just walking around and a friend recommended it! It was a hit! We loved the food and the service was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The person who was serving us was instea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The person who was serving us was instead of providing services was showing attitude and was too slow. For any question asked ,he was counter questioning. He no way answered any of our questions.he didn't help us for selection of dishes we had to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

I love the concept at Ilili. The problem ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I love the concept at Ilili. The problem I had was the food--two of our dishes were EXCELLENT--absolutely delicious. The other two (i think lamb pancakes and brussels sprouts) were over-flavored, over-powering, and unappetizing. As an expensive restaurant that I had been to during restaurant week, i was disappointed. It was one of my boyfriend's only meals in NYC and he remembers that it wasn't so great, and we spent quite a bit of our budget...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Nice selection of lebanese mezze, good ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Nice selection of lebanese mezze, good value for money

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Great Mediterranean food inventive and d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great Mediterranean food inventive and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

My partner and I had dinner at Ilili. Ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My partner and I had dinner at Ilili. Our server was very helpful when it came to deciding on what to eat. My partner and I are both vegetarian. There was only one vegetarian entree, but there were a slew of options in the cold and hot mezze menus. We ordered six different items and they were all fantastic. The noise got a little overwhelming for my partner, but he is very sensitive to that. We picked items we were familiar with and some that were new to us. All of the dishes were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very slow service even for standard item ...

 
 (Österreich)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very slow service even for standard items like hummus and other cold appetizers.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our second visit to this gem an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was our second visit to this gem and we enjoyed a feast again. One member of our party has Coeliac disease and the staff and kitchen were wonderful in providing gluten free options

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Seriously one of the best dining experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Seriously one of the best dining experiences lately - it was incredible food, service and atmosphere. Definitely a spot to check out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very tasty however, the wai ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was very tasty however, the waitress put myself and my party in the upstairs of the restaurant. There was 0 ambiance there and the waitress while she was taking other parties orders butt was in our face.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was great tasting; especially t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was great tasting; especially the garlic whip for those fries!! MMM MMM

Tabbouleh was excellent, but a bit pricey.

Moussaka - a MUST HAVE!!

We had the trout for an entree, it wasn't special! actually a bit fishy tasting

Top it all off with Ashta for dessert

As far as service, waiters/waitresses didn't really clean up the table quick enough, even when passing by to hand the bill, we had finished plates still on our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food & service! Kudos to maitr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent food & service! Kudos to maitre Alex! Perfect combination of top notch service, finest Lebanese cuisine and top ambience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best Mediterranean restaurant ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

One of the best Mediterranean restaurants in NYC!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very tasty grilled meats, in an well app ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very tasty grilled meats, in an well appointed setting. Good service and food made for a good night.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Good experience, some dishes were better ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good experience, some dishes were better than usual, desserts were surprisingly sophisticated and good. Charge for a supplement of mayo for $1,50, fine but surprising.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Unique menu and caters to vegetarians. G ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Unique menu and caters to vegetarians. Good service and great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

They had a hard time understanding us wh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

They had a hard time understanding us when we requested a table in one of the three rooms (one of my guests required a quieter area) and so it took a few tries but the service was wonderful and the food is delicious. They accidentally prepared the wrong dish for one guest but gave it to us to enjoy while the correct one was being made. It was a lovely evening and I would highly recommend it to all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ilili was recommended to us by a friend ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Ilili was recommended to us by a friend as a good place for vegetarian dishes. Being familiar with Middle Eastern cuisine - hummus, falafel, tabbouleh, etc. - we figured it would be delicious but not anything unusual. We were blown away. Not only is Lebanese food unique in its own right, but Chef Daniel does absolutely amazing things with it. The style of the menu (small bites) makes it possible to try many different dishes, and every one of which was more inspiring than the last. Standouts: the thyme salad, Chankleesh (it sounds simple - feta cheese with accompaniments, but it is incredible), Arnabeet Mekle (hearty and savory, perfect even for meat-eaters), and the Phoenician Fries. Go, ask your server what to order (or even just let them order for you!), and indulge. It was spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you're a fan of Lebanese food, this i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

If you're a fan of Lebanese food, this is a great spot to visit. Can be a bit crowded and tables are a little small, but they don't rush you out the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent all round. Very attentive staf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent all round. Very attentive staff. Little pricey but very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food Always has been consistent. Nice fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food Always has been consistent. Nice food can't go wrong. Very nice ambiance. Do not sit upstairs. It feels like pick up place upstairs.

But main level is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food is frequently too salty, but I've n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food is frequently too salty, but I've never had a bad dining experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Just outstanding food, time after time. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Just outstanding food, time after time. The appetizers are so delicious and the entrees are superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent. The lamb burger, hum ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was excellent. The lamb burger, hummus, chicken taouk, semolina were all delicious. We also enjoyed the desserts

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.