About ilili

236 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Respect. Inspire. Teach. Learn. Create. Achieve Greatness.
Tell Me – it’s what “ilili” means. For our guests, Tell Me means listening to and understanding each of their stories and creating new ones with them – ones of celebration and sharing, of long traditions and new beginnings.
Every dish at ilili has its own story from the traditional recipes direct from Lebanon, to the modern updates that tell the history of our team, of our cooks and chefs who have left their mark on our kitchen, and our serving staff and managers who have been ambassadors of hospitality. Our menu is never done – we find inspiration all around, in new ingredients, new approaches, and fresh takes on old standards.
ilili is a place where creativity abounds from the kitchen to the dining table where each guest becomes an artist, creating his own palette of flavors with our dishes as the canvas and good friends as the audience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Lebanese, Middle Eastern

Hours of Operation:
Prix Fixe Lunch Mon-Fri $22.
Prix Fixe Brunch Sat-Sun $28.
WEEKDAYS:
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm,
DINNER Monday-Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:30pm,
WEEKENDS:Saturday 12:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 12:00pm - 10:30pm.
NIGHTLY:Bar & Lounge Open Till Last Call

Cross Street:
Between 27th & 28th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 683-2929

Website:
http://www.ililinyc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is available upon request for private events.

Catering:
For further information, please visit our website.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in a lot on 28th Street, between Broadway and 5th Avenue. Street parking is also available near restaurant.

Public Transit:
N & R Subway Lines 28th Street Stop. 6 Line on Park is near as well 28th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Massoud

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Private Event Department at: (212) 481-1840

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events at ilili feature classic Lebanese cuisine mixed with modern Mediterranean influences in a warm and inviting atmosphere. There are three private event spaces perfect for any occasion as well as the entire restaurant that can accommodate parties of up to 297 guests.

ilili Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Gramercy / Flatiron ›

fit for foodies (201)
good for groups (187)
special occasion (151)
See All
hot spot (100)
romantic (84)
vibrant bar scene (82)
great for lunch (79)
neighborhood gem (75)
notable wine list (46)
great for brunch (44)
late-night find (29)
kid-friendly (15)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, good food, amazing experien ...

Dined 14 hours ago

Great place, good food, amazing experience. Good place for romantic dinner. Loved the Manti ( lamb dumplings) and some lentil dumplings dish ( forgot the same). Tried duck shwarma and it was the best duck we ever had. Our server Alexande was very friendly and he personally ensured we had a good dining experience by suggesting all our dishes. Highlight was the dessert we ordered Chocolate Candy Bar (again server's recommendation) and it was heavenly.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Schwarma I've ever had! Erica is a ...

Dined 16 hours ago

Best Schwarma I've ever had! Erica is a wonderful host.

food5
ambience5
service5

The hummus, Brussels sprouts, the broche ...

Dined a day ago

The hummus, Brussels sprouts, the brochette. All excellent. The beef shwarama was disappointing. Everything else was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome place, great food, great ambienc ...

Dined 6 days ago

Awesome place, great food, great ambience & fabulous service!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Second time having dinner there. And it ...

Dined 6 days ago

Second time having dinner there. And it was amazing as usual. Out server, Alex, was very attentive, and energetic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough about ilili! Everything ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Can't say enough about ilili! Everything was delicious! We had the best time! Incredible server too. Our favorite was the Brussels sprouts!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Perfect! Yummy! Excellent food, good ambience

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food! The portions are small so ask for many dishes to share. A little noisy and dark.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience2
service4

Very small portion for high price They c ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very small portion for high price They charge for refill soda $4

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Again

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is my second meal at Ilili and as memorable and delicious as the first. The restaurant is absolutely beautiful and has an energetic vibe. We started with cocktails and as our kids were with us, the waiter brought them a delicious fresh green lemonade with fresh cucumber, mint and ginger. The food is to die for. For a first course we had lettuce wraps with mouhamara & tabbouli with sour cherries in it, and pita with black iron shrimp, warm eggplant & garlic whip. For our main course we had roasted chicken and our waiter brought us rice and sautéed dandelion greens which he stirred into the drippings of the chicken and it was heavenly!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Vibrant scene, good service, great food. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Vibrant scene, good service, great food. Perfect when looking for something a bit different. I recommend going for several small plates to share. Portions are perfect and delicious. I appreciated the flexibility of the host, who moved our table to a quitter location when I asked given we had business to discuss.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and the service is amazing

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food here is amazing and the ambiance is great, but what really makes this an outstanding place is the service. I have a food allergy (I am gluten free), and this time we also had a garlic allergy in our party, and the waiter took great care and a lot of time to recommend dishes that could satisfy all our dietary restrictions. We love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Lebanese food with an haute twist

Dined on May 15, 2016

I recommend sharing several small plates to get a sampling of different flavors. All the dishes were very well executed and authentic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I was disappointed because the food use ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I was disappointed because the food use to be really good. Muhamara wasn't as good. Too little space between the tables. We could hear people conversation.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

gorgeous room

Dined on May 14, 2016

the room was gorgeous, the food was ok. the halal guys food cart had much more flavour at a fraction of the price. his sweet dishes though were excellent. I wouks give this place anothwr tey and order different items next time. wotth another try for sure.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful interior, great cocktails! The ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Beautiful interior, great cocktails! The brussels sprout small plate is a little strange, but rich and delicious. They sent over complimentary sparkling wine to celebrate our anniversary. It was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Flatiron gem specializing in Lebanese an ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Flatiron gem specializing in Lebanese and Mediterranean fare and drink. Consistently good and attentive service. Sexy ambiance.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

Above average food, but not worthy of th ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Above average food, but not worthy of the high price tag. A big noisy place that we are unlikely to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and Service. Highly recommen ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food and Service. Highly recommended.

food3
ambience5
service2

Good food Too expensive wine list Very n ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food Too expensive wine list Very noisy

food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Good food and experience, overpriced

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my second time dining at Ilili and while I enjoy the food, the prices are just too high for the portion sizes. Everything is delicious and tastes good, but it is a horrible value. This time, the service was also lacking as our waiter was cold and unimpressive. The place seems to have a pretentious vibe, which we did not enjoy. However, we did enjoy the food and the modern decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lutte lebanon In nyc

Dined on May 8, 2016

Best Lebanese food in nyc in a quiet environment. You need to reserve but if you are more than 8 it will be difficult.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and staff

Dined on May 7, 2016

Ilili serves excellent food influenced by Lebanese cuisine. The menu is an accessible taste of the region for Westeners like myself, as is the wine list (by the glass and bottle) which boasts traditional, local, and Lebanese options. The special when I went was a branzino which was fileted at the table by the waitress. I'm glad I didn't get the fish, because our poor waitress spent about twenty minutes preparing it for each table that ordered it. I spent about half an hour waiting after dessert to get my check because the waitress was pulling double duty as a fish monger. Otherwise, the evening was great and I strongly recommend the cubed potatoes with za'atar seasoning, the lamb chops, and the candy bar. If you feel adventurous, go after the unusual Lebanese ice cream.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Food is good, service is terrible

Dined on May 7, 2016

My fiancee and I have eaten here several times. The food is consistently excellent but the service has gotten significantly worse each time we have visited. May not come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Beyond expectations

Dined on May 7, 2016

I must have walked past the place a million times, always thinking it was an Italian restaurant due to its name: Ilili. It wasn't until a friend mentioned it being Lebanese last week that I decided to give it a try. In a nutshell: the food is incredible. Every bite hit my level of expectations, if not better. We were a party of four, ordered six appetizers and the mixed grill platter, and now I want to go back and try all their other dishes as well. Really, seriously great food. A bit on the pricier side, but definitely worth it. The only downside - and I really mean downside - is the noise level. The space is vast, and there is absolutely no sound absorption. Since there are many large groups always seated in the main hall, their yelling and screaming is being amplified by the glass panels and concrete walls to a degree that can be deafening. We were four people seated at a smaller table, but making conversation was difficult with the noise and the music playing on top of it. Our waitress was very helpful assisting with a few food sensitivities. However, it was difficult getting a hold of her. Perhaps she had too many tables to tend to.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Expected more

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was ok, the service was fine. Tables really way to close, food oily and the $33 swordfish was about 3.5 inches by 2 inches and pretty unimpressive. I guess for large groups in a convenient locations, but other than that overpriced, uninspired and expensive for the mediocre food.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food and service but is it too loud?

Dined on May 4, 2016

This was my second time visiting ilili and although the food and service were great, we were given a table in the back room where it was difficult to have a normal conversation. Still, I'd recommend the place with my eyes closed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food, great buzz. Service fantastic

Dined on May 1, 2016

Delicious wine, excellent service. Good buzz. Only issue was that we sat near a bachelorette party that were very loud.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The main dining room is much preferred t ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The main dining room is much preferred to the side room. We were sat next to a large party and could barely hear one another so finished our meal quickly. I would definitely return but would not sit in the side room next time. Food was amazing

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good Dining

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had dinner this past Friday night -- it was a party of four. We arrived and had a drink at the bar. Bartenders were very friendly and greeted us in a timely fashion. We then went to our table and shared several appetizers -- the tuna, baba ganouche, and Brussels sprouts. All were quite good and the bread served was also fresh and warm. The main courses the table had included, chicken, lamb and fish. All were good and the ingredients fresh although I think we all liked the appetizers better. We didn't get to look at the wine list as we ordered by the glass. Noise level was reasonable and the service was good. As is all too customary, the serving staff did not know which dish went where. I would go back....something different.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-Theater Dinner

Dined on April 28, 2016

We had to fast-track dinner to make a 7:00 play in midtown. The waitress was very accommodating to us, helped get our food in time, and kept us on schedule. The food, as always, was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

Weekday dinner

Dined on April 27, 2016

I had a few major issues with my dining experience. First, the food. My food was extremely dry- almost inedible. I did tell the waitress and they gave us free baklava, but I wouldn't return based on the food alone. It was too expensive for the flavor to be so lacking. I was also one of three and no one particularly enjoyed their food. I had been there before and remember really liking it- so I'm not sure what happened. Second, the noise and lighting. It is great for a first or second date. But it's way too dark and loud. I'm young also- so I don't generally take issue with either of these things. Lastly, the service. While it was ok-- our waitress was out of touch. But the waiter next to our table seemed to be great- so maybe hit or miss there.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Incredible food......poor service

Dined on April 25, 2016

Wasn't greeted by the waiter until 10 minutes after we were seated, then had to wait for another 10 minutes for him to bring our drinks. I suggested that he needed to pick up the pace a bit to which I was returned a rather flippant response. First time in six years I gave a 5% tip. Having said that, the flavors and food were truly wonderful. Just be prepared to put up with poor service.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very solid

Dined on April 25, 2016

Excellent food. The ambiance needs work. our waitress was great, the waiter serving the table next to ours was very overbearing and loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service and food

Dined on April 24, 2016

Being Lebanese we are very picky when it comes to Lebanese food. Long story short, the whole table was absolutely delighted with everything including the ambiance! Thank you ilili for the amazing food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Always delicious and interesting

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was my fourth time and I really like the food and service. I do not like that the tables for two are so close together that you cannot help but hear everything said next to you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to Ilili on many occasions and the food and service never disappoint . The traditional dishes are authentic and the signature ones are very well executed. We especially love the batata hara and the brussels sprouts, but everything we've tried is good. This time we went for brunch and we tried the egg and lamb manaish (sp?), which was also really good. It can be very loud at night but the noise level was fine for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super pleasent night, amazing food and service.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Super pleasent night, amazing food and service. The only thing that bothered em a little was the noise level, that was a little high that night. But otherwise, was an amazing experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A delicious change of pace!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We had an amazing dinner at Ilili. We did the Royal Mezza - a sampling of 5 different cold apps and 5 different hot apps to share. It was incredible. I definitely recommend this. You really don't need an entree after this, though. We over-ordered. Two other things I think are must trys - The Not So Bloody Martini (one of the best drinks I have ever tasted) and the Brussel Sprouts (our fave item of the night).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Rocky start, great finish

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was my second trip to ilili! I came back with a friend after a theatre performance because of how wonderful our first visit was. Unfortunately, after some great drinks at the bar, we were seated and promptly ignored by our server. We waited over ten minutes to be greeted after she had attended to other customers who were seated after us. When the server arrived her demeanor was detached and disinterested. Her mood improved throughout the night, but we were initially put off and it dampened our enjoyment. Predictably the food was amazing--we got the labne, hummus, mouhamara, and baba ghanouj. All were sensational. After that we got the perfectly seasoned and cooked mixed grill, with succulent cubes of beef, lamb chops, chicken, and other delicacies. All in all it was a good visit despite a rocky start with the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

As a middle easterner, the food was auth ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

As a middle easterner, the food was authentic. The service was great and the atmosphere was trendy. Great experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.