About ilili

236 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Respect. Inspire. Teach. Learn. Create. Achieve Greatness.
Tell Me – it’s what “ilili” means. For our guests, Tell Me means listening to and understanding each of their stories and creating new ones with them – ones of celebration and sharing, of long traditions and new beginnings.
Every dish at ilili has its own story from the traditional recipes direct from Lebanon, to the modern updates that tell the history of our team, of our cooks and chefs who have left their mark on our kitchen, and our serving staff and managers who have been ambassadors of hospitality. Our menu is never done – we find inspiration all around, in new ingredients, new approaches, and fresh takes on old standards.
ilili is a place where creativity abounds from the kitchen to the dining table where each guest becomes an artist, creating his own palette of flavors with our dishes as the canvas and good friends as the audience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Lebanese, Middle Eastern

Hours of Operation:
Prix Fixe Lunch Mon-Fri $22.
Prix Fixe Brunch Sat-Sun $28.
WEEKDAYS:
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm,
DINNER Monday-Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:30pm,
WEEKENDS:Saturday 12:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 12:00pm - 10:30pm.
NIGHTLY:Bar & Lounge Open Till Last Call

Cross Street:
Between 27th & 28th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 683-2929

Website:
http://www.ililinyc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is available upon request for private events.

Catering:
For further information, please visit our website.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in a lot on 28th Street, between Broadway and 5th Avenue. Street parking is also available near restaurant.

Public Transit:
N & R Subway Lines 28th Street Stop. 6 Line on Park is near as well 28th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Massoud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Private Event Department at: (212) 481-1840

Restaurant Photos

Hindbeh – dandelion greens, pine nuts, caramelized onions
Arnabeet mekle, cauliflower, tahini labneh, chili, mint
Kaak flatbread with olive labne
Moussaka – eggplant, tomato, garlic, onion, olive oil
Lebanese thyme salad – herbs, Lebanese arugula, parsley, lemon, green olive, onion
Hummus, chickpea purée, tahini, lemon, olive oil, pine nuts, jalapeño, lamb
Duck egg, melted kashkaval cheese, truffle shavings, sumac
Grilled octopus, fennel, grapes, mache, crispy potato, citrus sumac vinaigrette
Brussels sprouts, grapes, fig jam, walnuts, mint yogurt
Cocktail
Halloumi Cheese
Tuna Belly
Ilili Candy Bar
Mouhamara
Falafel
Katayef And Veal Bacon
Kebab Kerez
Rib Eye Steak
Fresh Hot Pita Bread
Labne Cheese Cake
Lamb Makloubeh
Arnabeet Mekle
Hummus
Lobster Hummus
Moussaka
Brussels Sprouts
Kibbeh
Crab Rangoon
Kibbeh Nayyeh (Raw Kibbeh)
Flatbread
Babaganoush
Truffled eggs Benedict
Eggplant
Kibbe Nayeh
Fries
Tabbouleh
veal bacon
Duck Shawarma
Kashkaval Eggs In Cocotte
Mixed Kebbab
Mjadra
Roasted Lamb Leg
Grilled Shrimp
Mixed Berry Soda
Strawberry Rhubarb Cheesecake
Mixed Grill
Brussel Sprouts with fig puree, grapes, walnuts
Almaza Beer
Brussel sprouts
Hummus With Pine Nuts And Jalapenos
Phoenician Fries
Citrus Trout
triple sorbet
Banana Bread
shrimp salad
Lamb Shank Sandwich
lamb tartare
Bone Marrow
Lamb Kebab
Cucumber Lemonade
Knafe Bil Jibneh
Lebanese Cheese Cake
Kibbeh Bi Laban
Beef Shawarma
Fried Cauliflower
Braised Beef
Chicken Livers
Grilled Tuna Belly
Mix Candy Bar -- Chocolate, Crunch And Caramel
Crispy Duck Leg Confit
Grilled Chicken Wrap
fried fish
Fried Skate
Candy Bar
Knefé bil jebneh
Brussels Sprouts With Walnuts, Grapes, Fig Jam and Mint Yogurt
Trout
Risotto
Falafel Plate
Yogurt
Kibbeh Nayeh
Duck Kebab
Black Cod
Moujadara
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow
Brussell sprouts
Cauliflower
Camdy Bar
Abalone Mushroom
Watercress Salad
12 oz Ribeye steak
Riz
Shawarma
Hummus Plate
Bass
Spring Spritzer
Da’ud Basha
Awaimat
Knefeh
Freekeh risotto

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events at ilili feature classic Lebanese cuisine mixed with modern Mediterranean influences in a warm and inviting atmosphere. There are three private event spaces perfect for any occasion as well as the entire restaurant that can accommodate parties of up to 297 guests.

ilili Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Gramercy / Flatiron ›

Good for Groups (160)
Fit for Foodies (145)
Special Occasion (122)
See All
Hot Spot (74)
Romantic (72)
Great for Lunch (58)
Vibrant Bar Scene (55)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Great for Brunch (28)
Notable Wine List (24)
Late-night Find (22)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Scenic View (4)
Sort By:
Newest
3571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service. Food tasted very good. Po ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service. Food tasted very good. Portion sizes were just right. The waiter was very attentive and courteous. The only disappointing experience was with the hostess. Her initial greeting was quite curt. Even though I had made a reservation a day in advance and in spite of the fact that there were many empty tables in the main dining area, we were taken upstairs to a cramped room with no windows. When I asked for a table in the main floor, she made me feel that it was an imposition on her. We eventually got a table in the back area on the main floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Business lunch. Waiter disappeared. Disa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Business lunch. Waiter disappeared. Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Everything was outstanding, food amazing ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was outstanding, food amazing, service great...the only thing, it was a lilt to loud for me. But i would definitely recommend it for foodies :D wich we are.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

What a great restaurant! It isn't fine d ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a great restaurant! It isn't fine dining and it doesn't try to be. It's really delicious Lebanese food (including all the classics) served in a hospitable setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was wonderful the taste lingers in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was wonderful the taste lingers in ones mouth long after the meal.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service. Great food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Amazing service. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Brussels Sprout salad was wonderful. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Brussels Sprout salad was wonderful. The manti were also very well done. I did appreciate the recommendation of a Lebanese red wine by our server, who was very kind to us.

The one major note I have is that we were first taken to a table that was not ready and returned to wait at the bar. (No The table we eventually found ourselves at was right by a large party that dominated the room and the staff. There were more than a few instances where we felt like we were second to them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

It was very overpriced, and the food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was very overpriced, and the food was not of quality expected. Terribly disappointed and will never return nor recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Very nice place. Very delicious food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very nice place. Very delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, we experience another delicio ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As always, we experience another deliciously satisfying meal at ilili. This is one of my favorite restaurants in the city, and it never disappoints.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed the Restaurant Week lu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We really enjoyed the Restaurant Week lunch offerings.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Appreciate the "originality And the aspe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Appreciate the "originality And the aspect revisité" of the Lebanese food!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our servicer Abe was wonderful along wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our servicer Abe was wonderful along with the variety and depth of flavors, it was an amazing evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful dining room and bar. However, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Beautiful dining room and bar. However, in the dining room most of the tables are the large round type and it's very loud = impossible to hear people sitting at the other side of the big tables without yelling, which only adds to the noise level. The restaurant could try installing foam under the tables to decrease the noise. Menu had some unique offerings and everything was beautifully presented but many dishes, especially the eggplant and the dandelion greens, had more oil than expected.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Fabulous dining experience. Food, wine l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fabulous dining experience. Food, wine list, service were all top notch.

We were late for our reservation but they were very accommodating. I'll return and recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having lived in Beirut for two and a hal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Having lived in Beirut for two and a half years, I love Lebanese food but found that it isn't easy to get good restaurants here in NYC. I had high expectations of Ilili and it turned out to be a rather disappointing experience. Overall, quality of food was about average and but when the price is factored in, it really doesn't seem worth it. We were a party of 6 and we all found the food to be generally quite salty but the fattoush salad we ordered was so salty that it was inedible. How can a real Lebanese restaurant go wrong with fattoush?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

This was a great exploration of Lebanese ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was a great exploration of Lebanese cuisine, which I didn't realize it was from the "Mediterranean" description given it on OpenTable. Nonetheless, the fresh-made hummus was "nothing like you get in the store" as my dining partner said, and her lamb dumplings in a luscious yogurt sauce were heavenly. We got a series of small plates; Tabouleh at $16 for a small plate that we shared was super pricey considering the fairly simple ingredients, but it also was very green, and not bulgar-wheat heavy, as I have had in other locales. You could taste the freshness, even through the lemony zing. We also had some of the arak, which added considerably to the bill in short order, so be prepared to spend $100 minimum, and more like $150 if you get "real" entrees instead of small plates. The duck-and-chicken shwarma was quite filling; also easily shareable as it comes in two separate flatbread cones. And the recommendation for the walnut spread was spot on as well. You may need to spend about $200. Or come back the next day.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in NYC it ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in NYC it's the best middle eastern food I have eaten in city, yummy vegetarian options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Background music was not what we expecte ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Background music was not what we expected. It was a bit loud which caused customers to speak louder. Restaurant was very noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Lebanese with a sophisticated touc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great Lebanese with a sophisticated touch that make it much enjoyable.

Everything was tasteful, very good quality, wonderfully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful meal. Think Ilili has one of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful meal. Think Ilili has one of the best Restaurant week menus. Also recommend the brussels sprouts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're from out of town. The first time ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We're from out of town. The first time we were there, we just ordered a collection of appetizers, sufficient for a meal, and loved it. The second time, a year later, was "restaurant week" so we ordered a full meal. That meant less variety, of course, but it was wonderful, too. The food is delicious, the presentation beautiful, the service really pleasantly attentive. New York fine dining is expensive—remember, we're from out of town—but Ilili is reasonably priced (by NY standards), and outstanding quality (/even/ by NY standards).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ilili never disappoints. we went for re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Ilili never disappoints. we went for restaurant week and thus the price was less. It is pricey otherwise but so worth it. Try their raw lamb "kibeh nayeh".

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Over rated!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Over rated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Very impressive space. More noise than I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very impressive space. More noise than I would like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was savory and creative. We were u ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was savory and creative. We were upstairs which was quieter than downstairs but not as happening. Services was excellent, with the waitress explaining dishes and being very attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good, service outstanding, musi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good, service outstanding, music too loud, impossible for a Dinner conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great food, poor service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food, poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food is consistently good and the servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food is consistently good and the service at lunch is perfect. Not too loud so great for business lunches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I went to Ilili for NYC Restaurant Week ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I went to Ilili for NYC Restaurant Week and had an outstanding experience. While waiting for our group to arrive, I enjoyed an incredible passionfruit cocktail with a friend in the adorable bar area. My friends and I shared all of our food so that we could taste everything and not a single thing was bad. We had hummus, mousaka (my absolute favorite), kibbeh naye, falafel, chicken, short ribs, and the chocolate dessert. Absolutely incredible!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my first foray into Lebanese cuis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was my first foray into Lebanese cuisine and I was not disappointed. Service was excellent but for the portion sizes, it seemed a little pricey. I would return here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were a group of five with one person ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were a group of five with one person who had extreme food allergies, and our waiter was INCREDIBLE in accommodating everyone. Truly A+ service plus a phenomenal meal!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Really delicious food. I would order eve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Really delicious food. I would order everything exactly the same again the next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We love Ilili and have visited several t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love Ilili and have visited several times. This time, we were celebrating my elderly mother's birthday. The server forgot about us, or was not told we were his table in the beginning. He was very charming and apologized profusely, so we didn't mind. At the end of the meal, he brought my mother dessert with a candle and he brought us all a cup of mint tea. However, we all would have liked to order dessert and three of us would have preferred to have a dessert cocktail - but he never asked and it seemed too late to order since he just . This was the only time we have had weird service at Ilili, normally it is fabulous. As usual, the food was absolutely incredible. We loved everything we ordered: duck shawarma, mouhamara (an amazing walnut spread), and steak tartare were particularly perfect.

It was just disappointing to have the service situation when I was trying to impress my mother for her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Loved the food. The portions were quite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Loved the food. The portions were quite large for what you pay. Awesome dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very disappointed! !!I've been to ilili ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

very disappointed! !!I've been to ilili at least 6 times and the last couple times it was a disaster.

I have been eating Lebanese food all my life and I should know how good food should taste like and this last time I wasn't impressed at all. A local gyro or falafel stand has tastier food.

Being in the middle of summer the place was half empty and still took hostess 15 min to seat us.

Everytime I complained she kept saying that they are adding an extra seat to a table.

Ambiance is nice but not worth $950 dinner bill. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

ilili you've done it yet again. Mabrouk ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

ilili you've done it yet again. Mabrouk in making me a loyal guest at your amazing restaurant! Can't wait to come back again! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Air conditioning was too high. Generall ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Air conditioning was too high.

Generally a decent restaurant - nothing special

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The RW starters were great. The entree c ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The RW starters were great. The entree choices were great but the portions were a little small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

The food was very delicious, but a bit p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was very delicious, but a bit pricey for the amount of food they give you. And the drinks are also very expensive. Happy Hour is only in the lounge area, so if you are here to drink, stick to that area. The service could use improvements. They were very rushed and seemed easily annoyed. Overall, I would go back, they just gotta pull back on the snobbyness. There are lots of great Mediterranean places to eat, don't get cocky.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.