About ilili

236 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Respect. Inspire. Teach. Learn. Create. Achieve Greatness.
Tell Me – it’s what “ilili” means. For our guests, Tell Me means listening to and understanding each of their stories and creating new ones with them – ones of celebration and sharing, of long traditions and new beginnings.
Every dish at ilili has its own story from the traditional recipes direct from Lebanon, to the modern updates that tell the history of our team, of our cooks and chefs who have left their mark on our kitchen, and our serving staff and managers who have been ambassadors of hospitality. Our menu is never done – we find inspiration all around, in new ingredients, new approaches, and fresh takes on old standards.
ilili is a place where creativity abounds from the kitchen to the dining table where each guest becomes an artist, creating his own palette of flavors with our dishes as the canvas and good friends as the audience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Lebanese, Middle Eastern

Hours of Operation:
Prix Fixe Lunch Mon-Fri $22.
Prix Fixe Brunch Sat-Sun $28.
WEEKDAYS:
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm,
DINNER Monday-Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:30pm,
WEEKENDS:Saturday 12:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 12:00pm - 10:30pm.
NIGHTLY:Bar & Lounge Open Till Last Call

Cross Street:
Between 27th & 28th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 683-2929

Website:
http://www.ililinyc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is available upon request for private events.

Catering:
For further information, please visit our website.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in a lot on 28th Street, between Broadway and 5th Avenue. Street parking is also available near restaurant.

Public Transit:
N & R Subway Lines 28th Street Stop. 6 Line on Park is near as well 28th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Massoud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Private Event Department at: (212) 481-1840

Restaurant Photos

Hindbeh – dandelion greens, pine nuts, caramelized onions - ilili
Arnabeet mekle, cauliflower, tahini labneh, chili, mint - ilili
Kaak flatbread with olive labne - ilili
Moussaka – eggplant, tomato, garlic, onion, olive oil - ilili
Lebanese thyme salad – herbs, Lebanese arugula, parsley, lemon, green olive, onion - ilili
Hummus, chickpea purée, tahini, lemon, olive oil, pine nuts, jalapeño, lamb - ilili
Duck egg, melted kashkaval cheese, truffle shavings, sumac - ilili
Grilled octopus, fennel, grapes, mache, crispy potato, citrus sumac vinaigrette - ilili
Brussels sprouts, grapes, fig jam, walnuts, mint yogurt - ilili
Tuna Belly - ilili
Ilili Candy Bar - ilili
Mouhamara - ilili
Falafel - ilili
Katayef And Veal Bacon - ilili
Kebab Kerez - ilili
Rib Eye Steak  - ilili
Fresh Hot Pita Bread - ilili
Labne Cheese Cake - ilili
Lamb Makloubeh - ilili
Arnabeet Mekle - ilili
Hummus - ilili
Lobster Hummus - ilili
Moussaka - ilili
Brussels Sprouts - ilili
Kibbeh - ilili
Crab Rangoon - ilili
Kibbeh Nayyeh (Raw Kibbeh) - ilili
Flatbread - ilili
Babaganoush - ilili
Truffled eggs Benedict - ilili
Eggplant - ilili
Kibbe Nayeh - ilili
Fries - ilili
Tabbouleh - ilili
veal bacon - ilili
Duck Shawarma - ilili
Kashkaval Eggs In Cocotte - ilili
Mixed Kebbab - ilili
Mjadra - ilili
Roasted Lamb Leg - ilili
Grilled Shrimp - ilili
Mixed Berry Soda - ilili
Strawberry Rhubarb Cheesecake - ilili
Mixed Grill - ilili
Brussel Sprouts with fig puree, grapes, walnuts - ilili
Almaza Beer - ilili
Brussel sprouts - ilili
Hummus With Pine Nuts And Jalapenos - ilili
Phoenician Fries - ilili
Citrus Trout - ilili
triple sorbet - ilili
Banana Bread - ilili
shrimp salad - ilili
Lamb Shank Sandwich - ilili
lamb tartare - ilili
Bone Marrow - ilili
Lamb Kebab - ilili
Cucumber Lemonade - ilili
Knafe Bil Jibneh - ilili
Lebanese Cheese Cake - ilili
Kibbeh Bi Laban - ilili
Beef Shawarma - ilili
Fried Cauliflower - ilili
Braised Beef - ilili
Chicken Livers - ilili
Grilled Tuna Belly - ilili
Mix Candy Bar -- Chocolate, Crunch And Caramel - ilili
Crispy Duck Leg Confit - ilili
Grilled Chicken Wrap - ilili
fried fish - ilili
Fried Skate - ilili
Candy Bar - ilili
Knefé bil jebneh - ilili
Brussels Sprouts With Walnuts, Grapes, Fig Jam and Mint Yogurt - ilili
Trout - ilili
Risotto - ilili
Falafel Plate - ilili
Yogurt - ilili
Kibbeh Nayeh - ilili
Cocktail - ilili
Halloumi Cheese  - ilili
Duck Kebab - ilili
Black Cod - ilili
Moujadara - ilili
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow - ilili
Brussell sprouts - ilili
Cauliflower - ilili
Camdy Bar - ilili
Abalone Mushroom - ilili
Watercress Salad - ilili
12 oz Ribeye steak - ilili
Riz - ilili
Shawarma - ilili
Hummus Plate - ilili
Bass - ilili
Spring Spritzer - ilili
Da’ud Basha - ilili
Awaimat - ilili
Knefeh - ilili
Freekeh risotto  - ilili

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events at ilili feature classic Lebanese cuisine mixed with modern Mediterranean influences in a warm and inviting atmosphere. There are three private event spaces perfect for any occasion as well as the entire restaurant that can accommodate parties of up to 297 guests.

ilili Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (116)
Fit for Foodies (107)
Special Occasion (84)
See All
Hot Spot (53)
Great for Lunch (49)
Romantic (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Notable Wine List (20)
Late-night Find (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Authentic (13)
Tapas (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Casual (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Healthy (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Family Style (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bad experience of service from the Host. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

Bad experience of service from the Host.

Requested a better table with a good ambience but ignored request even though there were a couple of tables available. Felt humiliated but waiter was very helpful and knowledgable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Service was amazing ! Great place for gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

Service was amazing ! Great place for groups because everything is easily shareable. Fun, young, hip vibes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wayyy too loud! Playing music ridiculous ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wayyy too loud! Playing music ridiculously too loud so people have to scream at each other...

Food was divine as usual

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was good. Place was packed and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good. Place was packed and loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We've dined here multiple times over the ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 3 days ago

We've dined here multiple times over the last ten years. never have had a bad meal here! The cuisine is clean, authentic and completely yummy...don't miss this restaurant if you are in midtown!!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

i will definitely comeback again

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

i will definitely comeback again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent place for lunch. Enjoyed a bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent place for lunch. Enjoyed a business lunch with excellent food and service. Atmosphere lively but not loud so discussions are easy. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was delicious! The flavor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant was delicious! The flavors were amazing and eating the food at Ilili felt very healthy! The ambience was nice and staff was professional good as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurant in the cit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of my favorite restaurant in the city. Food is always great, from the hummus with shrimp and basterma to kebab kerez (the lamb and beef meatballs in cherry sauce) to the whole fish and of course their famous Brussels sprouts a most have! Our waitress was very friendly and acknowledge of the menu.

Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved our meal at ilili! We met up w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

We loved our meal at ilili! We met up with friends and had a great time sharing plates for the table. We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Family Style, Tapas, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is outstanding, the waiters wer ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food is outstanding, the waiters were all very friendly and polite. The downside was the rudeness of the manager in charge: following some questions about the "chef menu" vs. other options, he just turned his back on me (and his waiter) and walked away without saying nothing to us and start to aggressively type our order on the rest screen... I looked at the waiter and asked what happened and then the waiter "chased" the manager to ask what is going on... it was very close to ruin my family lunch; but I'm better than that... But definitely will not come back at this manager turn...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I really like it and been there many tim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I really like it and been there many times. Would keep on going - love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Really lively spot bar and restaurant. S ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Really lively spot bar and restaurant. Superb service very professional yet warm and friendly. Great food w lots of interesting and delicious vegetarian options

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noise '!!! Is was impossible to spea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Too noise '!!! Is was impossible to speack till most of table have been be free

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Very good experience dining @ Ilili. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very good experience dining @ Ilili. The dining room is pretty space and nicely designed. Ordered few hot mezza, highly recommend the warm eggplant and black iron shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very bad stock up waiters. Trying to get ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very bad stock up waiters. Trying to get rid of my party the whole time. Been going here for so long , you think they would do something special for loyal customers who are celebrating birthdays. Negative

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Food cures all! Had reservations but st ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food cures all! Had reservations but still had to wait 1 hour to be seated, we were told we would be "taken care of" (due to the long wait) but we were not. We were crowded at a table, not fit for party of 10+. But again, food was amazing so that made it up for everything else.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

At 6:30 on Friday night in a half empty ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

At 6:30 on Friday night in a half empty restaurant how do you run out of octopus and short ribs?

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best lebanese in town! Amazing as always ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Best lebanese in town! Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shared a number of the small plates for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Shared a number of the small plates for a delightful mother-daughter lunch before a Broadway show. Everything was delicious; especially the octopus and the wine. The ambiance was relaxing yet trendy. We will go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been to this restaurant twice bef ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I have been to this restaurant twice before and loved it. This time it was very mediocre. It took 40 minutes from the time we were seated for our drinks to come and 35 minutes for our appetizers to arrive. I won't be back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Happening place! Bar scene is lively an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Happening place! Bar scene is lively and service is good. Our waiter was very helpful with what to order and our food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing spot. My 5th time there and neve ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Amazing spot. My 5th time there and never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, but Terrible service. The wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Good food, but Terrible service. The waiter brought two of the four dishes out atleast 30 minutes the remaining two. Two in party of four sat there with cold food waiting for the rest of us to receive our dinners.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Every dish was flavorful. Great wait sta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Every dish was flavorful. Great wait staff and beautiful decor. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can expect to be sited in the low c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

You can expect to be sited in the low ceiling, dark, remove and frankly depressing back room if you are a party of 2. Only 4 or more get to enjoy the main hall, which is quite nice.

Small parties get to pay the same but sit in the back of the bus.

Overall, and regardless of where you sit, the food is way overpriced - read the menu before you go. Small portion of decent food you can get for 1/4 the price in 3 dozen joints in town. For these kind of prices one would expect a decent pita bread and not warmed up cardboard pita, similar if not the same kind you can buy at the grocery store.

Table service was ok, it is the host who could use a wake up call.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I have always loved ilili probably been ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I have always loved ilili probably been more than 25 times but things have certainly change in the past year since I last visited. Prices on meze items have taken a noticeable price hike, almost 30%. The service has really diminished they no longer offer pita with lebne at the start of the meal. Some major slips from what used to be my favorite restaurant

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Excellent, authentic Lebanese cuisine. W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent, authentic Lebanese cuisine. We were seated quickly and service was very good. Waiter was attentive, even though it was a busy night. Food came quickly. The only small criticisms are that the seating is a little cramped, and due to it being busy, noise levels made conversation difficult.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service was slow (we had ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was great, service was slow (we had to ask for our server to come back a couple times, he seemed very out of it), we got seated in a dark corner away from the window which was a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

There were plenty of tables available at ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

There were plenty of tables available at 1.30pm but we were asked to wait about 4 min at the lounge. One waitress seated one group as the receptionist stood there with nothing else to do. Everyone was very polite but there was a lack of warmth in the service. The set lunch was good but it wasn't anything to write home about. You can get the same quality in any good middle eastern restaurant. If we do go back (and I would if I'm in the area), we will try the a la carte menu which our friends raved about.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was excellent and the service was! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was! The mood and ambience were excellent will highly recommend to friends and family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good food, a little pricy, restaurant be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

good food, a little pricy, restaurant becomes very noise as the night progressed!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very nicely done up inside - can be mold ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very nicely done up inside - can be molded to fit many occasions such as dates, business lunches or dinners as well as casual dining with friends (as we did). The food is 'creative' and cooked brilliantly. We will definitely go back when we visit NY next.

My advice to the management and customers is regarding the upstairs dining area.

To the customers:

Request seating downstairs when making the reservation

To management:

We were taken upstairs first and immediately requested to be taken back downstairs. As my husband put it, the upstairs is like 'any curry house in London'. Indeed, we could have been back home for a cheap eat. It's a completely different look and ambiance to the downstairs - almost like two restaurants in one place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Must be about half a dozen times I've ea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Must be about half a dozen times I've eaten here by now and keep coming back. The food is consistently good, service outstanding. And it's not too loud - rarity in NYC - so you can actually converse without lip reading., a real necessity for business lunches. Haven't been here for dinner so that may be an entirely different vibe, but for lunch it's the best.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't go late at night - service gets sl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Don't go late at night - service gets sloppy late - we ordered dinner at 1030pm then our server mostly disappeared - spent the rest of the evening catching bus seers or other servers zipping past our table in order to get drinks - entry plates bussed off the table. We will be back though the food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Initially service was very good, but as ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Initially service was very good, but as the night dwindled down, the service went down. Our waiter vanished and would appear, heard disgruntled employees around the corner cursing and complaining about us being the last table in their section. You would expect after spending $300+ for dinner you would get better service than that, 3rd time here and I'm not sure if I will be back for a 4th

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

excelent food, kippe naye, kafta, labne ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

excelent food, kippe naye, kafta, labne, falafel and fried kippe

Tags: People Watching, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was poor throughout the nigh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was poor throughout the night slow and kept messing up the dishes with the neighboring table.

Food except for the fries was mediocre. Ordered the chicken which was dry and the shwarma was mediocre as well.

The worst part of the night is we were squeezed into a real tight table with people from the next table almost touching us on both sides ! Initially we saw the neighboring tables paying up and clearing out so thought it would be ok but then they seated people again even though a dozen tables behind were empty.

We had such a small table that the pitas even fell off. It was only because the gap with the next table so small that they fall on the floor !

Terrible experience overall for celebrating a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Had one of the non-alcoholic beverages, ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had one of the non-alcoholic beverages, and it was to die for. The food was totally delicious. They were all imaginatively conceived, and artistically presented. Lovely flavors and textures. I think it's going on my favorites list.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Food tasted very good. Po ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great service. Food tasted very good. Portion sizes were just right. The waiter was very attentive and courteous. The only disappointing experience was with the hostess. Her initial greeting was quite curt. Even though I had made a reservation a day in advance and in spite of the fact that there were many empty tables in the main dining area, we were taken upstairs to a cramped room with no windows. When I asked for a table in the main floor, she made me feel that it was an imposition on her. We eventually got a table in the back area on the main floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.