About ilili

236 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Respect. Inspire. Teach. Learn. Create. Achieve Greatness.
Tell Me – it’s what “ilili” means. For our guests, Tell Me means listening to and understanding each of their stories and creating new ones with them – ones of celebration and sharing, of long traditions and new beginnings.
Every dish at ilili has its own story from the traditional recipes direct from Lebanon, to the modern updates that tell the history of our team, of our cooks and chefs who have left their mark on our kitchen, and our serving staff and managers who have been ambassadors of hospitality. Our menu is never done – we find inspiration all around, in new ingredients, new approaches, and fresh takes on old standards.
ilili is a place where creativity abounds from the kitchen to the dining table where each guest becomes an artist, creating his own palette of flavors with our dishes as the canvas and good friends as the audience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Lebanese, Middle Eastern

Hours of Operation:
Prix Fixe Lunch Mon-Fri $22.
Prix Fixe Brunch Sat-Sun $28.
WEEKDAYS:
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm,
DINNER Monday-Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:30pm,
WEEKENDS:Saturday 12:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 12:00pm - 10:30pm.
NIGHTLY:Bar & Lounge Open Till Last Call

Cross Street:
Between 27th & 28th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 683-2929

Website:
http://www.ililinyc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is available upon request for private events.

Catering:
For further information, please visit our website.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in a lot on 28th Street, between Broadway and 5th Avenue. Street parking is also available near restaurant.

Public Transit:
N & R Subway Lines 28th Street Stop. 6 Line on Park is near as well 28th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Massoud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Private Event Department at: (212) 481-1840

Report a photo problem

ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
ilili, New York, NY
Hindbeh – dandelion greens, pine nuts, caramelized onions - ilili, New York, NY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events at ilili feature classic Lebanese cuisine mixed with modern Mediterranean influences in a warm and inviting atmosphere. There are three private event spaces perfect for any occasion as well as the entire restaurant that can accommodate parties of up to 297 guests.

ilili Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (57)
Authentic (55)
Fit for Foodies (53)
See All
Good for Groups (52)
Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (41)
Modern Decor (39)
Good Vegetarian Options (38)
Fun (37)
Tapas (31)
Family Style (27)
Business Meals (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Healthy (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Casual (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Romantic (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Happy Hour (12)
People Watching (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Spicy (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
3994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best service ever. Alex was amazing. The ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined a day ago

Best service ever. Alex was amazing. The food was great. We sampled many of the small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our business lunch was good, the table n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Our business lunch was good, the table next to us was very noisy

The Brussels sprouts was over cooked

Falafel were hard and cold

Our waitress could have been a tad nice, we didn't see a single smile out of her during one hour we sat

My friend and I didn't know what to order seemed as if it was a burdened by it ...... just a smile could have made a difference

Thank you

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

Service quality has deteriorated signifi ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Service quality has deteriorated significantly since I was at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our server - Alex - was the best guy eve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server - Alex - was the best guy ever. Super nice guy, asked what we liked and didn't like and chose everything we ate. Brought the right amount of food and was always checking in to see if we wanted something else.

Great atmosphere as well..

loved the place and highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and our service was a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great and our service was attentive, could not ask for more

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food. Good service. Slightly ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food. Good service. Slightly pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It is not the most authentic and delicio ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

It is not the most authentic and delicious middle-eastern food you will have in town. In short, the place is about the space and the ambience.. not so much the food. Staff is very friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Overall I loved the food however I did n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Overall I loved the food however I did not get the best service. I ordered two main dishes and they only brought one and the server claimed that I only ordered one which was not the case, I mean after all we were 2 people and would ideally order 2 dishes so because of the delay I got my food to go.

Tags: Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

Overall good experience. The food and s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Overall good experience. The food and service were very good. Their taboule was okay, everyone makes their different, but this one seemed more wet and almost all parsley. The mahammara was good, but seemed like it was just scooped out and put on the plate and was still quite cold like out of the refrigerator. It's typically better served cold, but allowed to thaw a bit.

As far as ambiance and noise level. When we first arrived they brought us to a back room which was quiet and a more romantic where they appeared to have most of their two person tables. About 20 minutes in, they brought a loud 15 person group and sat them behind us. We could no longer hear well and it was much fun after that. We've been to much better Lebanese in the city with a quieter atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was just amazing ,the service was g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was just amazing ,the service was good , and also fast

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent drinks. The mezzes were good. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent drinks. The mezzes were good. The Tuna tartare was a. IG disappointment. I can't believer the portion. One cracker with tuna for $21. Shocking. The sea bass was poor, lacked flavor and small portion.

Favorites cauliflower, phonecian fries and Brussels sprouts from the mezzes.

Service - regardless of sauces and bread leftover, they tooo it all away each time which was annoying.

I used to like Ilili, a little turned off now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great cuisine though small portions and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great cuisine though small portions and slow, not-so-attentive service! Needs improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fabulous lunch, FYI they need to add che ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Fabulous lunch, FYI they need to add cheese stuffed olives when you pay new York prices for a martini you should have an option of high end olives. I would ha email had another cocktail for sure. Food so on point.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

While the food at Ilili was as good as o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

While the food at Ilili was as good as one could expect, our server at the bar spoke softly and was pretty unhelpful. To make matters worse, our server at the restaurant was rude and pretty much forced us to order the Whole Market fish without informing us about how it's cooked and, more importantly, what the price was, continuously insisting that we had to get that dish if we intended to share a main course.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was outstanding. Highly recomme ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was outstanding. Highly recommended are the eggplant with tamarind and the mixed grill. My friend remarked, "the meat is like soufflé".

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

the appetizers are always a highlight he ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

the appetizers are always a highlight here, and this was no exception

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food! Everything was light, deli ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing food! Everything was light, delicious, and unique. Great twist to Mediterranean cuisine and the cocktails were phenomenal! Will definitely go back :)

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From start to finish everything was perf ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

From start to finish everything was perfect. It was my second time there but first time for dinner and we were so pleased. Four of us split many small plates so it was great variety. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for Groups, Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second time visiting Ilili, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is our second time visiting Ilili, and it is as good as we remembered from 2 years ago. We enjoyed the hummus appetizer, along with Ilili's signature brussel sprouts. The octopus hot appetizer was delicious, as well as our main courses: kafta, and striped bass. I have recommended this restaurant several times, and I will continue to do so.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Ilili didn't disappoint. I lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always, Ilili didn't disappoint. I love this restaurant. Ask for a side of "fig whip" - it is to die for! The food is fresh, tasty, creative. I have never had a less than stellar experience here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was AMAZING!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Will be back for sure t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Delicious food. Will be back for sure to try other items on menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this restaurant. Great happy hour. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Love this restaurant. Great happy hour. Was seated upstairs - very disappointing! Low ceilings, tables crowded next to each other, none of the great energy as in the main dining room. Definitely ask for main room when making reservations!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was very bad

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was very bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food. Our waiter was friendly and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great food. Our waiter was friendly and helpful

I had to wait for my friends but they seated me immediately. which is a HUGE plus

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place - great food!! You will enjo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great place - great food!! You will enjoy it and a must visit. Middle eastern food at its best.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Third time, great food. Hummus was deli ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Third time, great food. Hummus was delicious, falafel and kibbe are good staples. Seasoned potatoe cubes were incredible. Daughter is vegan and she had plenty of options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perhaps one of the best Arabic restauran ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Perhaps one of the best Arabic restaurant in NY. Food is excellent so is the service. Highly recommended.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Definitely worked well for NYE. Great ae ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Definitely worked well for NYE. Great aesthetic, special menu and quality service despite holiday traffic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The ilili experience was very bad people ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The ilili experience was very bad people please refrain from going for your special events like birthday it messed up the whole experience. The waiter staff was rude and the service was not good. The food quality has degraded from last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Amazing dinner with authentic dishes. Fr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing dinner with authentic dishes. From a couple who has Lebanese background, wonderful restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server spilled some of my red wine. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our server spilled some of my red wine. He apologised but didn't offer a free drink and didn't add more wine to my glass. The food was pretty disappointing as well - over fried, not flavorful eggplants, and low-quality beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

In general its simply ok for what it is. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

In general its simply ok for what it is.

Food and Wine list is overpriced. Cava at $16 BTG as is Prosecco and I know both bottles cost them less than that to purchase - so they are over charging.

Lunch was 4 appetizers - 2 glasses of cava, 2 coffees and 1 dessert - $150!

Its a real turn of.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

I walked in and the hostess was very fri ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I walked in and the hostess was very friendly with a big smile. She asked me my name, welcomed me and said my table will be ready in a few minutes would I like to check my coat and if she could walk me over to bar area. (At this point, I was thrilled because my boyfriend wasn't there yet and it was great to have someone to walk over with me.

A few minutes later after my boyfriend walked in, the beautiful manager, Britta walked over and asked us if we were ready to be seated.

My boyfriend had just ordered his drink and needed a minute to unwind from work and she was so gracious she said she understood. Take your time.

A few minutes later she walked us to the table and helped us choose our wine and our dinner!

Over all, one of the best experiences I've had and definitely the best service I've had in a while!

Needless to say, we have reservations for the January 9th!

Thank you Brittany and the staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best Middle-Eastern meal we've ever ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The best Middle-Eastern meal we've ever had! The atmosphere, location and ambiance is exceptional. The food and service high quality. Definitely recommend to anyone, we are from Miami and have traveled everywhere but this was extra-ordinary.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is not my first time here. I have r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is not my first time here. I have rated this restaurant much higher, however I was disappointed this time. Not sure if the ownership has changed. The food is not the same, don't take me wrong, its good but not elite anymore. If you are going to charge $10+ for 4 pieces of falafel then it better be great. They were over cooked (fried), the spiced cauliflower was outright unimpressive. If this was my first visit, I may offer more stars but for an elite restaurant, the certainly disappointed me this time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food with an authentic flavor. Ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food with an authentic flavor. Service was great and very accommodating. Recommend to anyone looking for a nice quiet night out in the city - can enjoyably spend a few hours here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'd like to give this restaurant a bette ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I'd like to give this restaurant a better review but my experience was just not that good. The main floor has a warm and fun vibe and ambience, but the second floor is a second class outpost that has little in common with the main room except for the menu. Needless to say, my wife and I were seated upstairs, and this started the evening on the wrong note for me. The menu has some very good items, but something about the food left my appetite suppressed and I had a hard time enjoying what should have been a great meal. The food was decent and a few mezza items are creative and well executed, but overall this was not a memorable dining experience. The service was professional and attentive but had that slightly condescending tone that makes one not eager to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very very good food. Awesome to try lot ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very very good food. Awesome to try lots of Lebanese appetizers. Hot and cold. Awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I'll keep it short. Order from the left ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I'll keep it short. Order from the left side of the menu. Treat it like a tapas restaurant.

Every plate was a great balance of authentic, unique, and delicious. I highly recommend the brussels sprouts, and hummus (add pine nuts and lamb). Can't remember the other 5 dishes we ordered but I will reemphasize, everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.