About ilili

236 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Respect. Inspire. Teach. Learn. Create. Achieve Greatness.
Tell Me – it’s what “ilili” means. For our guests, Tell Me means listening to and understanding each of their stories and creating new ones with them – ones of celebration and sharing, of long traditions and new beginnings.
Every dish at ilili has its own story from the traditional recipes direct from Lebanon, to the modern updates that tell the history of our team, of our cooks and chefs who have left their mark on our kitchen, and our serving staff and managers who have been ambassadors of hospitality. Our menu is never done – we find inspiration all around, in new ingredients, new approaches, and fresh takes on old standards.
ilili is a place where creativity abounds from the kitchen to the dining table where each guest becomes an artist, creating his own palette of flavors with our dishes as the canvas and good friends as the audience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Lebanese, Middle Eastern

Hours of Operation:
Prix Fixe Lunch Mon-Fri $22.
Prix Fixe Brunch Sat-Sun $28.
WEEKDAYS:
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm,
DINNER Monday-Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:30pm,
WEEKENDS:Saturday 12:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 12:00pm - 10:30pm.
NIGHTLY:Bar & Lounge Open Till Last Call

Cross Street:
Between 27th & 28th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 683-2929

Website:
http://www.ililinyc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is available upon request for private events.

Catering:
For further information, please visit our website.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in a lot on 28th Street, between Broadway and 5th Avenue. Street parking is also available near restaurant.

Public Transit:
N & R Subway Lines 28th Street Stop. 6 Line on Park is near as well 28th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Massoud

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Private Event Department at: (212) 481-1840

Restaurant Photos

Hindbeh – dandelion greens, pine nuts, caramelized onions
Arnabeet mekle, cauliflower, tahini labneh, chili, mint
Kaak flatbread with olive labne
Moussaka – eggplant, tomato, garlic, onion, olive oil
Lebanese thyme salad – herbs, Lebanese arugula, parsley, lemon, green olive, onion
Hummus, chickpea purée, tahini, lemon, olive oil, pine nuts, jalapeño, lamb
Duck egg, melted kashkaval cheese, truffle shavings, sumac
Grilled octopus, fennel, grapes, mache, crispy potato, citrus sumac vinaigrette
Brussels sprouts, grapes, fig jam, walnuts, mint yogurt
Tuna Belly
Ilili Candy Bar
Mouhamara
Falafel
Katayef And Veal Bacon
Kebab Kerez
Rib Eye Steak
Fresh Hot Pita Bread
Labne Cheese Cake
Lamb Makloubeh
Arnabeet Mekle
Hummus
Lobster Hummus
Moussaka
Brussels Sprouts
Kibbeh
Crab Rangoon
Kibbeh Nayyeh (Raw Kibbeh)
Flatbread
Babaganoush
Truffled eggs Benedict
Eggplant
Kibbe Nayeh
Fries
Tabbouleh
veal bacon
Duck Shawarma
Kashkaval Eggs In Cocotte
Mixed Kebbab
Mjadra
Roasted Lamb Leg
Grilled Shrimp
Mixed Berry Soda
Strawberry Rhubarb Cheesecake
Mixed Grill
Brussel Sprouts with fig puree, grapes, walnuts
Almaza Beer
Brussel sprouts
Hummus With Pine Nuts And Jalapenos
Phoenician Fries
Citrus Trout
triple sorbet
Banana Bread
shrimp salad
Lamb Shank Sandwich
lamb tartare
Bone Marrow
Lamb Kebab
Cucumber Lemonade
Knafe Bil Jibneh
Lebanese Cheese Cake
Kibbeh Bi Laban
Beef Shawarma
Fried Cauliflower
Braised Beef
Chicken Livers
Grilled Tuna Belly
Mix Candy Bar -- Chocolate, Crunch And Caramel
Crispy Duck Leg Confit
Grilled Chicken Wrap
fried fish
Fried Skate
Candy Bar
Knefé bil jebneh
Brussels Sprouts With Walnuts, Grapes, Fig Jam and Mint Yogurt
Trout
Risotto
Falafel Plate
Yogurt
Kibbeh Nayeh
Cocktail
Halloumi Cheese
Duck Kebab
Black Cod
Moujadara
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow
Brussell sprouts
Cauliflower
Camdy Bar
Abalone Mushroom
Watercress Salad
12 oz Ribeye steak
Riz
Shawarma
Hummus Plate
Bass
Spring Spritzer
Da’ud Basha
Awaimat
Knefeh
Freekeh risotto

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events at ilili feature classic Lebanese cuisine mixed with modern Mediterranean influences in a warm and inviting atmosphere. There are three private event spaces perfect for any occasion as well as the entire restaurant that can accommodate parties of up to 297 guests.

ilili Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (131)
Fit for Foodies (118)
Special Occasion (94)
See All
Hot Spot (58)
Great for Lunch (54)
Romantic (51)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Great for Brunch (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Late-night Find (17)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Tapas (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Casual (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Healthy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Family Style (6)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really lively spot bar and restaurant. S ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

Really lively spot bar and restaurant. Superb service very professional yet warm and friendly. Great food w lots of interesting and delicious vegetarian options

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noise '!!! Is was impossible to spea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Too noise '!!! Is was impossible to speack till most of table have been be free

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Very good experience dining @ Ilili. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good experience dining @ Ilili. The dining room is pretty space and nicely designed. Ordered few hot mezza, highly recommend the warm eggplant and black iron shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very bad stock up waiters. Trying to get ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very bad stock up waiters. Trying to get rid of my party the whole time. Been going here for so long , you think they would do something special for loyal customers who are celebrating birthdays. Negative

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Food cures all! Had reservations but st ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food cures all! Had reservations but still had to wait 1 hour to be seated, we were told we would be "taken care of" (due to the long wait) but we were not. We were crowded at a table, not fit for party of 10+. But again, food was amazing so that made it up for everything else.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

At 6:30 on Friday night in a half empty ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

At 6:30 on Friday night in a half empty restaurant how do you run out of octopus and short ribs?

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best lebanese in town! Amazing as always ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Best lebanese in town! Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shared a number of the small plates for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Shared a number of the small plates for a delightful mother-daughter lunch before a Broadway show. Everything was delicious; especially the octopus and the wine. The ambiance was relaxing yet trendy. We will go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been to this restaurant twice bef ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I have been to this restaurant twice before and loved it. This time it was very mediocre. It took 40 minutes from the time we were seated for our drinks to come and 35 minutes for our appetizers to arrive. I won't be back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Happening place! Bar scene is lively an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Happening place! Bar scene is lively and service is good. Our waiter was very helpful with what to order and our food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing spot. My 5th time there and neve ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Amazing spot. My 5th time there and never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, but Terrible service. The wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Good food, but Terrible service. The waiter brought two of the four dishes out atleast 30 minutes the remaining two. Two in party of four sat there with cold food waiting for the rest of us to receive our dinners.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Every dish was flavorful. Great wait sta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Every dish was flavorful. Great wait staff and beautiful decor. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can expect to be sited in the low c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

You can expect to be sited in the low ceiling, dark, remove and frankly depressing back room if you are a party of 2. Only 4 or more get to enjoy the main hall, which is quite nice.

Small parties get to pay the same but sit in the back of the bus.

Overall, and regardless of where you sit, the food is way overpriced - read the menu before you go. Small portion of decent food you can get for 1/4 the price in 3 dozen joints in town. For these kind of prices one would expect a decent pita bread and not warmed up cardboard pita, similar if not the same kind you can buy at the grocery store.

Table service was ok, it is the host who could use a wake up call.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I have always loved ilili probably been ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I have always loved ilili probably been more than 25 times but things have certainly change in the past year since I last visited. Prices on meze items have taken a noticeable price hike, almost 30%. The service has really diminished they no longer offer pita with lebne at the start of the meal. Some major slips from what used to be my favorite restaurant

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Excellent, authentic Lebanese cuisine. W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent, authentic Lebanese cuisine. We were seated quickly and service was very good. Waiter was attentive, even though it was a busy night. Food came quickly. The only small criticisms are that the seating is a little cramped, and due to it being busy, noise levels made conversation difficult.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service was slow (we had ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was great, service was slow (we had to ask for our server to come back a couple times, he seemed very out of it), we got seated in a dark corner away from the window which was a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

There were plenty of tables available at ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

There were plenty of tables available at 1.30pm but we were asked to wait about 4 min at the lounge. One waitress seated one group as the receptionist stood there with nothing else to do. Everyone was very polite but there was a lack of warmth in the service. The set lunch was good but it wasn't anything to write home about. You can get the same quality in any good middle eastern restaurant. If we do go back (and I would if I'm in the area), we will try the a la carte menu which our friends raved about.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was excellent and the service was! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was! The mood and ambience were excellent will highly recommend to friends and family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good food, a little pricy, restaurant be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

good food, a little pricy, restaurant becomes very noise as the night progressed!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very nicely done up inside - can be mold ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very nicely done up inside - can be molded to fit many occasions such as dates, business lunches or dinners as well as casual dining with friends (as we did). The food is 'creative' and cooked brilliantly. We will definitely go back when we visit NY next.

My advice to the management and customers is regarding the upstairs dining area.

To the customers:

Request seating downstairs when making the reservation

To management:

We were taken upstairs first and immediately requested to be taken back downstairs. As my husband put it, the upstairs is like 'any curry house in London'. Indeed, we could have been back home for a cheap eat. It's a completely different look and ambiance to the downstairs - almost like two restaurants in one place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Must be about half a dozen times I've ea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Must be about half a dozen times I've eaten here by now and keep coming back. The food is consistently good, service outstanding. And it's not too loud - rarity in NYC - so you can actually converse without lip reading., a real necessity for business lunches. Haven't been here for dinner so that may be an entirely different vibe, but for lunch it's the best.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't go late at night - service gets sl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Don't go late at night - service gets sloppy late - we ordered dinner at 1030pm then our server mostly disappeared - spent the rest of the evening catching bus seers or other servers zipping past our table in order to get drinks - entry plates bussed off the table. We will be back though the food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Initially service was very good, but as ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Initially service was very good, but as the night dwindled down, the service went down. Our waiter vanished and would appear, heard disgruntled employees around the corner cursing and complaining about us being the last table in their section. You would expect after spending $300+ for dinner you would get better service than that, 3rd time here and I'm not sure if I will be back for a 4th

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

excelent food, kippe naye, kafta, labne ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

excelent food, kippe naye, kafta, labne, falafel and fried kippe

Tags: People Watching, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was poor throughout the nigh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was poor throughout the night slow and kept messing up the dishes with the neighboring table.

Food except for the fries was mediocre. Ordered the chicken which was dry and the shwarma was mediocre as well.

The worst part of the night is we were squeezed into a real tight table with people from the next table almost touching us on both sides ! Initially we saw the neighboring tables paying up and clearing out so thought it would be ok but then they seated people again even though a dozen tables behind were empty.

We had such a small table that the pitas even fell off. It was only because the gap with the next table so small that they fall on the floor !

Terrible experience overall for celebrating a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Had one of the non-alcoholic beverages, ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had one of the non-alcoholic beverages, and it was to die for. The food was totally delicious. They were all imaginatively conceived, and artistically presented. Lovely flavors and textures. I think it's going on my favorites list.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Food tasted very good. Po ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great service. Food tasted very good. Portion sizes were just right. The waiter was very attentive and courteous. The only disappointing experience was with the hostess. Her initial greeting was quite curt. Even though I had made a reservation a day in advance and in spite of the fact that there were many empty tables in the main dining area, we were taken upstairs to a cramped room with no windows. When I asked for a table in the main floor, she made me feel that it was an imposition on her. We eventually got a table in the back area on the main floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant is beautiful but they sat ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful but they sat is in a side room that is awful. Insist you sit in the main room.

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Healthy, Modern Decor, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Business lunch. Waiter disappeared. Disa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Business lunch. Waiter disappeared. Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

I have taken friends to lunch here sever ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I have taken friends to lunch here several times. Nice warm contemporary atmosphere. The menu suites me, especially the vegetarian options

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was outstanding, food amazing ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Everything was outstanding, food amazing, service great...the only thing, it was a lilt to loud for me. But i would definitely recommend it for foodies :D wich we are.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

What a great restaurant! It isn't fine d ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

What a great restaurant! It isn't fine dining and it doesn't try to be. It's really delicious Lebanese food (including all the classics) served in a hospitable setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was wonderful the taste lingers in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was wonderful the taste lingers in ones mouth long after the meal.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service. Great food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Amazing service. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Brussels Sprout salad was wonderful. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Brussels Sprout salad was wonderful. The manti were also very well done. I did appreciate the recommendation of a Lebanese red wine by our server, who was very kind to us.

The one major note I have is that we were first taken to a table that was not ready and returned to wait at the bar. (No The table we eventually found ourselves at was right by a large party that dominated the room and the staff. There were more than a few instances where we felt like we were second to them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

It was very overpriced, and the food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was very overpriced, and the food was not of quality expected. Terribly disappointed and will never return nor recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Very nice place. Very delicious food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very nice place. Very delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, we experience another delicio ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As always, we experience another deliciously satisfying meal at ilili. This is one of my favorite restaurants in the city, and it never disappoints.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed the Restaurant Week lu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We really enjoyed the Restaurant Week lunch offerings.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.