About ilili

236 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10001
View Larger Map

Respect. Inspire. Teach. Learn. Create. Achieve Greatness.
Tell Me – it’s what “ilili” means. For our guests, Tell Me means listening to and understanding each of their stories and creating new ones with them – ones of celebration and sharing, of long traditions and new beginnings.
Every dish at ilili has its own story from the traditional recipes direct from Lebanon, to the modern updates that tell the history of our team, of our cooks and chefs who have left their mark on our kitchen, and our serving staff and managers who have been ambassadors of hospitality. Our menu is never done – we find inspiration all around, in new ingredients, new approaches, and fresh takes on old standards.
ilili is a place where creativity abounds from the kitchen to the dining table where each guest becomes an artist, creating his own palette of flavors with our dishes as the canvas and good friends as the audience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Lebanese, Middle Eastern

Hours of Operation:
Prix Fixe Lunch Mon-Fri $22.
Prix Fixe Brunch Sat-Sun $28.
WEEKDAYS:
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm,
DINNER Monday-Wednesday 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Thursday 5:30pm - 11:30pm,
WEEKENDS:Saturday 12:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday 12:00pm - 10:30pm.
NIGHTLY:Bar & Lounge Open Till Last Call

Cross Street:
Between 27th & 28th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 683-2929

Website:
http://www.ililinyc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment is available upon request for private events.

Catering:
For further information, please visit our website.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in a lot on 28th Street, between Broadway and 5th Avenue. Street parking is also available near restaurant.

Public Transit:
N & R Subway Lines 28th Street Stop. 6 Line on Park is near as well 28th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Massoud

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Private Event Department at: (212) 481-1840

Restaurant Photos

Hindbeh – dandelion greens, pine nuts, caramelized onions
Arnabeet mekle, cauliflower, tahini labneh, chili, mint
Kaak flatbread with olive labne
Moussaka – eggplant, tomato, garlic, onion, olive oil
Lebanese thyme salad – herbs, Lebanese arugula, parsley, lemon, green olive, onion
Hummus, chickpea purée, tahini, lemon, olive oil, pine nuts, jalapeño, lamb
Duck egg, melted kashkaval cheese, truffle shavings, sumac
Grilled octopus, fennel, grapes, mache, crispy potato, citrus sumac vinaigrette
Brussels sprouts, grapes, fig jam, walnuts, mint yogurt
Cocktail
Halloumi Cheese
Tuna Belly
Ilili Candy Bar
Falafel
Mouhamara
Katayef And Veal Bacon
Kebab Kerez
Rib Eye Steak
Fresh Hot Pita Bread
Labne Cheese Cake
Lamb Makloubeh
Arnabeet Mekle
Hummus
Lobster Hummus
Brussels Sprouts
Moussaka
Kibbeh
Crab Rangoon
Kibbeh Nayyeh (Raw Kibbeh)
Flatbread
Babaganoush
Truffled eggs Benedict
Eggplant
Kibbe Nayeh
Fries
Tabbouleh
veal bacon
Duck Shawarma
Kashkaval Eggs In Cocotte
Mixed Kebbab
Mjadra
Roasted Lamb Leg
Grilled Shrimp
Mixed Berry Soda
Strawberry Rhubarb Cheesecake
Mixed Grill
Brussel Sprouts with fig puree, grapes, walnuts
Almaza Beer
Brussel sprouts
Hummus With Pine Nuts And Jalapenos
Phoenician Fries
Banana Bread
shrimp salad
Citrus Trout
triple sorbet
Lamb Shank Sandwich
lamb tartare
Bone Marrow
Lamb Kebab
Cucumber Lemonade
Knafe Bil Jibneh
Lebanese Cheese Cake
Kibbeh Bi Laban
Beef Shawarma
Fried Cauliflower
Braised Beef
Chicken Livers
Mix Candy Bar -- Chocolate, Crunch And Caramel
Grilled Tuna Belly
Crispy Duck Leg Confit
Grilled Chicken Wrap
fried fish
Fried Skate
Candy Bar
Knefé bil jebneh
Brussels Sprouts With Walnuts, Grapes, Fig Jam and Mint Yogurt
Trout
Risotto
Falafel Plate
Yogurt
Kibbeh Nayeh
Duck Kebab
Moujadara
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow
Black Cod
Brussell sprouts
Watercress Salad
Abalone Mushroom
Cauliflower
Camdy Bar
12 oz Ribeye steak
Hummus Plate
Riz
Shawarma
Spring Spritzer
Bass
Da’ud Basha
Awaimat
Knefeh
Freekeh risotto

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:30PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events at ilili feature classic Lebanese cuisine mixed with modern Mediterranean influences in a warm and inviting atmosphere. There are three private event spaces perfect for any occasion as well as the entire restaurant that can accommodate parties of up to 297 guests.

ilili Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Gramercy / Flatiron ›

good for groups (172)
fit for foodies (168)
special occasion (132)
See All
hot spot (79)
romantic (72)
great for lunch (71)
vibrant bar scene (63)
neighborhood gem (62)
great for brunch (35)
notable wine list (34)
late-night find (23)
kid-friendly (14)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent. The lamb burger, hum ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent. The lamb burger, hummus, chicken taouk, semolina were all delicious. We also enjoyed the desserts

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was excellent and the food w ...

Dined 7 days ago

The service was excellent and the food was very tasty. However I thought $31 for only 3 scallops was a little crazy even for NYC considering that was a main course.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely perfect service. Good was ver ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Absolutely perfect service. Good was very good but we agreed it's a bit overpriced. That said, it's worth at least one visit!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Spectacularly delicious food in a very a ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Spectacularly delicious food in a very attractive, well designed but noisy space. BUT there is a small, delightfully quiet room upstairs. This is my new favorite restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing dinner (as usual). My ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We had an amazing dinner (as usual). My favorite server Lauren was off that night so we had Cristina and she was seriously one of the better servers. Super attentive and patient with all the guests. As always, my eyes were way bigger than my tummy so I literally took a few bites of everything and asked to pack it up. Servers at other fine-dining restaurants would always roll their eyes at me when I did this to them but Cristina had everything packed up for me and even convinced me to order dessert to-go! I was in heaven at midnight eating my ilili chocolate bar and loving Cristina for it! I'm sure my thighs weren't too happy but that's fine :) I ordered the mixed grill for the first time and honestly I think I'm hooked on this dish. It's lamb chops, kofta, chicken and filet mignon cubes with veggies. The flavors were unbelievable and it's a good portion of food that can feed up to 2 people. The prices are so reasonable for the quality and quantity of food we received . If you still haven't been to ilili yet, please do yourselves a favor and make a reservation there. Your taste buds and wallet will thank you! I can't wait to go back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

I have dined at the restaurant many time ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

I have dined at the restaurant many times over the years and have been very pleased with both food and service, the latest visit was an exception. Our server was professional, patient and kind, but other staff members were quite inattentive. They were standing around in groups chatting, and when requests were made, they needed to be made twice - too busy fooling around. The restaurant was not terribly busy, and so I find this unexceptable. Disappointing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

excellent Lebanese food. a group of 4 o ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

excellent Lebanese food. a group of 4 of us ate exclusively small plates with only one entree. all good-to- excellent. Brussel sprouts are epic. Wonderful baba ganoush. Experiment with the other small plates -- we had a unique/very vegetarian-friendly spread. Waitress pushed 3-4 small plates per person. We found 2 per person to be plenty. You can always order more if not enough. Enjoyed Lebanese wine which we'd never had. on the pricey side but worth it. Request one of the smaller rooms if you want to be able to talk...main room is NOISY.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is delicious! The hummus, shawa ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is delicious! The hummus, shawarma and chamklish are some of my faves. I am a wine lover but when it comes to Lebanese Mezze I need my Arak and here it is prepared and presented table side with flair. I love the hospitality and service here and as a Lebanese this place make me feel at home but in a more sophisticated way than your average Mezze joint. I'll always come back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is simply amazing. This was my ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is simply amazing. This was my second visit and I recommend this place to everyone who will listen.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

the duck shawarma is the best

Dined on June 18, 2016

the duck shawarma is the best

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was good but not worth the price. B ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was good but not worth the price. Beware: if you don't say tap water it's $5 for each small pitcher. We couldn't hear our waiter properly (our fault for not clarifying the prices) and ended up being charged $25 just for water.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food Good service Great spot for a ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Good food Good service Great spot for a quick buisness meeting

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

First visit. great food and service. don ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

First visit. great food and service. don't miss the duck taco. beware the noise and crowds, is all.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything I've had here has been delici ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Everything I've had here has been delicious. Love whatever complimentary yogurt dip and crackers they bring out at the beginning. Delicious! Drinks are unique and fresh. My waiter did a great job of making me a non-sweet Phoenician lemonade. I hate sweet drinks! The falafel is crispy and amazing. Your can't go wrong with the mixed grill for two- really fed 3 with leftovers. I was a happy camper!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The best food

Dined on June 13, 2016

The best food

food5
ambience4
service5

The good is always delicious! We apprec ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The good is always delicious! We appreciated that the manager filled our request to sit in the main dining room (more space)! Our server in the bar area was very nice and our server in the dining room (Raven P) was very pleasant and offered excellent food and wine suggestions!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious but loud

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

The title says it all...the food was delicious but the noise level was so loud that we had to shout across a small table for two.

food3
ambience3
service3

Food was too salty and the service was s ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was too salty and the service was slow

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Mediterranean in the area!

Dined on June 8, 2016

I love Mediterranean food & I eat it frequently. This was by far the best I've tried in the city over the last year. We had great recommendations from our server, one thing was better than the next. The Mousaka (best I’ve ever had) & Kibbeh were to die for. The grilled octopus was so tender, fresh and flavorful. Babaganoush & Hummus – so good. I can't wait to go back and try more!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

We all really liked our meals at this mi ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

We all really liked our meals at this mid-eastern/Greek spot on lower fifth. The server helped us decipher a few dishes we had never heard of and some of those were the best we had. Be adventurous!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant

Dined on June 8, 2016

Good Lebanese cuisine. Best tried with Lebanese wine as well

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Middle Eastern food, but most Mid ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

I love Middle Eastern food, but most Middle Eastern restaurants are small, casual, no-frills places. Ilili, on the other hand is large, urbane and sophisticated. Best of all, the food is far better than what's served at the typical restaurants. I went there with 2 other people, and we shared a selection of cold and hot meze dishes. I was too full to eat the lamb dumplings, but the other two people raved about them. The other mezza we shared were mouhamara, tuna kibbeh, grape leaves and cauliflowers. I've had all of those dishes at other Lebanese restaurants, and nowhere were they so delicious and artfully presented as at Ilili. Our server was knowledgeable and pleasant, and the restaurant was quiet the evening we were there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am a fan!

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was excellent and we really enjoy the atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best meal ever

Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was absolutely amazing - the duck schwarma, lamb sausage, the chocolate soufflé have been the best food experience I have had. The mint tea after the dinner was so fresh and amazing .

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service as always

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food and service as always

food4
ambience4
service5

Very nice place to dinner with friends

Dined on June 4, 2016

Very nice place to dinner with friends

food4
ambience4
service4

This place is great for larger groups. T ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

This place is great for larger groups. The appetizers were filling and the place looks cool.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good for a Date

Dined on June 2, 2016

Our server, Patrick, did a fine job. We were seated in an upstairs room, cozy and comfortable. We ate small plates -- tabouleh, cubed and roasted potatoes, tuna tartar, beef shawarma, and sautéed shrimp. All very good. Nice selection of cocktails, as well, but the highlight was dessert, Ashta, described on the menu this way: traditional lebanese clotted cream, rose water syrup, seasonal fruit. Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ilili never disappoints

Dined on June 2, 2016

We take customers for lunch often and they are always pleased. We always start with the labneh, fattoush salad, and brussel sprouts - our favorites! Best to order multiple items for sharing. Service is always friendly and very professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on June 1, 2016

Even though I am watching my caloric intake, this trip to ilili was no different. I was fully satisfied and delighted with the freshness and flavors of each meal. Don't change ilili! Each visit is truly wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Lebanese food and ambiance

Dined on June 1, 2016

I can't say enough how great the Ilili experience was for us. There were 7 of us, we ordered the Meza Royal for $155 (8 different hot and cold appetizers) and 4 other items for $60 and we were pretty much all set and satisfied. Some drank arak (the Lebanese signature strong drink) while the rest settle on 2 bottles of wine. Ambiance was great with Lebanese music in the background. Service was impeccable. Will go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful Setting

Dined on May 31, 2016

We did the pre-fix and shared the appetizers. Since we were there for lunch having sandwiches, it is harder to give 5 stars. We enjoyed the creativity and flavor of the food. The service was great and the setting stupendous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic libanese food - great for vegetarians!

Dined on May 30, 2016

We had been invited to Ilili by a friend on our New York vacation two years ago and had been fascinated by the quality of the food. When we booked our trip to NY this time, we immediately made plans to go back there with friends. Just like the first time, the dinner was fantastic in all aspects - the food was delicious and the service was extremely good. We would recommend Ilili to anybody who already loves libanese food or would like to give it a try. The menu has a great selection of vegetarian dishes but also offers a lot to those who like are looking for meat. One specific recommendation: Unless you absolutely hate brussel sprouts, you should definitely try their version!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must-have Duck Shawarma

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The Duck Shawarma is so devine. I think about eating it almost every day. I grew up eating and cooking Armenian food and this, although has variations, is a happy and delicious place to share a meal with friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, good food, amazing experien ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great place, good food, amazing experience. Good place for romantic dinner. Loved the Manti ( lamb dumplings) and some lentil dumplings dish ( forgot the same). Tried duck shwarma and it was the best duck we ever had. Our server Alexande was very friendly and he personally ensured we had a good dining experience by suggesting all our dishes. Highlight was the dessert we ordered Chocolate Candy Bar (again server's recommendation) and it was heavenly.

food4
ambience4
service4

Had a very nice time at Ilili. Food was ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Had a very nice time at Ilili. Food was interesting, delicious, and served sorta smile.

food4
ambience3
service4
value1

It used to be better

Dined on May 28, 2016

I LOVED ilili. I've been going there since 2009/2010 and I'm sad to see it's not the same as it used to be. They've cut corners and the presentation and the food portions have decreased since I was there a year ago! They even took off my favorite menu item, the lamb skewers off the menu. They made them smaller and now they are completely off! It seems like ilili went downhill with the rest of NYC late 2013. I'll still visit but not as much.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Schwarma I've ever had! Erica is a ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Best Schwarma I've ever had! Erica is a wonderful host.

food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Overpriced Dining.

Dined on May 28, 2016

I reviewed thr menu prior to reservation and was excited about dining at the establishment .However, my mom, husband and I were not impressed with the meal.The portions were extremely small and the food was average. I actually expected better flavored food for the cost. The restaurant was nice & the service was good . The waiter was very helpful with making menu selections.

food5
ambience5
service5

The hummus, Brussels sprouts, the broche ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The hummus, Brussels sprouts, the brochette. All excellent. The beef shwarama was disappointing. Everything else was awesome.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.