Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.84mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.84mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.84mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.84mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi

About Il Villaggio

Our team provides a comfortable, old-world atmosphere with an emphasis on quality and style, with special attention to preferences. Il Villaggio also has customized menu options and private rooms.

211 Berlin Rd
Cherry Hill, NJ 08034
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
McPhelin Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 795-1778

Website:
http://www.ilvillaggiocherryhill.com/

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout

Private Dining

Fountain Room and Spring Room. A beautiful Tuscan feel for your next shower, birthday, wedding or business meeting.

Il Villaggio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Fireplace (36)
Cozy (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Romantic (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Authentic (24)
Private Room (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Business Meals (18)
Outstanding Value (13)
Casual (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Family Style (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Organic (3)
Spicy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was our first there and we were not disappointed. It is BYOB, which I found out from another reviewer Thanks, and the food was top notch. We went Saturday night at 7pm so they were busy and even had free valet parking. Service was a tad on the long said but the wine and the great food made it an A+ night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Ambiance is superb. Food was good. Service wasn't stellar - not bad but not as attentive as we would like. Out with filters friends & we had a nice time. Would try again on a week night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wonderful ambiance! Never disappointed. Delicious food. Excellent, knowledgeable wait staff. BYOB and private California wine list if you forget to bring your own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food, service and overall atmosphere were terrific. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Service was tremendous. Pacing was wonderful. We were well taken care of. Food was just ok. Nothing amazing. Fresh catch was insanely overpriced for what it was, a small piece of Dover sole. Veal was not impressive. We won't return. Just too many tremendous Italian options around that do it better. It's not for foodies. If you want simple, predictable dishes it'll be right up your alley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was excellent and wine was good. Service was good but a little slow. Waiter was a little arrogant. Seating extended into the aisle and outer seat was bumped occasionally.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent venue and meal, well worth the trip! Great service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I've been to Il Villaggio a couple times on weekdays and enjoyed the restaurant a lot; the ambiance was good, the food was good, and the restaurant felt upscale. But the few times I've been there on the weekend - or even worse, a holiday - it's almost like a different restaurant; the ambiance changes and the quality of the food plummets. Maybe they have a different staff on the weekends or maybe the chef focuses on quantity rather than quality.

My last visit was the night before Easter at 5:30pm, long before any crowds. The valet parking on the weekends is understandable but annoying; if you want to opt out, you need to park a distance away, walking past smelly dumpsters. Once inside, the restaurant was pretty empty, though the tables seemed to be setup for a crowd later that night; since they have banquet facilities, they can get a few hundred people in the restaurant.

Despite the restaurant being almost empty, we were seated next to a very loud family, sipping Coors light cans and talking about questionable topics in front on my young daughter, wife, and mother-in-law. I couldn't hear the waitress, let alone my family members - and it became obvious we weren't going to enjoy ourselves with the distraction - so we asked to be moved. We were first told to wait it out since the other family would hopefully be leaving soon, but after a while the manager agreed to move us.

The new table was better, though otherwise we were still disappointed; the service of the waitress was below average, the bread seemed stale, the food was mediocre (though I've had several good meals on weekdays). We decided to skip dessert and go somewhere else instead. When I had a similarly bad experience on Christmas Eve, I was more understanding since the restaurant was quite full at that point, but considering we were early customers this evening, I didn't expect the kitchen to be cutting corners already.

Sorry, I'm done with Il Villaggio. There are much better options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Ambiance , service & food - Thoroughly enjoyable! ! Will return often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very very pleasant. Our server, Herman was personable, friendly and attentive. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This was the second time dining at the restaurant. I had dinner there on a Saturday evening and it was extremely busy. I enjoyed my dinner so much I took my daughter and son-in-law for dinner on a week night. We experimented with food and everything was absolutely delicious. It is a BYOB and I highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was great from beginning to end. Table ready when we arrived. Food arrived hot and very tasty. Server was polite and informed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I chose Il Villagio to celebrate the 7th Anniversary of my relationship with my fiance'. I love Italian food and I'm always looking for a new place. Service was prompt and pleasant. Food arrived quickly. I was quite satisfied with my lump crab in angel hair. We were the youngest people there but it was nice . The vibe is definitely romantic.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This place is always outstanding, great food and nice quaint atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Having to wait 25 minutes for our table when we had a reservation was annoying. However, the food was very good, and the service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Menu is very big and interesting. D id not realize restaurant was BYOB but they do have a limited wine list available. Tables closer than I would have preferred but noise level not bad on this visit. Free valet parking is nice.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food, great service, good value

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Snuck in with a last minute reservation on a Friday night. We had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated, but totally worth it. The atmosphere was cozy, service great, and food delicious. Went with a traditional pasta and a seafood special. Both excellent. I think prices are reasonable for quality. The place is actually huge, but divided into a lot of rooms. Ask for fireplace room if possible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The best dining experience I have ever had. We go out to different restaurants 2 -3 times a week and this was the best by far.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Went strictly based on reviews on open table and yelp. Girlfriends visiting from out of town and instead of trusting my instincts I decided to take them here thinking it had ambience based on reviews and that it was a larger space than my more favorite Italian BYOB restaurants which have less than 30 seats. What a huge disappointment. I must be crazy cause this place was crowded!! And it's huge!! Food was basically banquet fare with waiters dressed way better than their skill set warrants. Again, like at a banquet hall wait staff. Food presentation was much fancier than the actual quality of the preparation The food was blah and barely hot. Octopus appetizer was dry and tough. Some at table had shrimp bisque which was a generous portion but average. Then the gnocchi, tasteless, with crab and blush sauce came and it was exact same as the soup except the soup appeared to have been thickened somewhat. The crab meat??? Perhaps there were 2 pieces. My guests ate and no one complained. Did enjoy the fact that we were seated at a large round table but I was embarrassed by my choice. I'm not a complainer in general but this place is waayyy over rated Very disappointed won't be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Had the Hit Chefs menu..Excellent!
Service was awesome .. will definitely go back to try the regular dinner menu.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We came for restaurant week. Great menu with so many choices. The mixing of different flavors and the fresh ingredients made for fantastic tastes!! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Went for restaurant week and the food was absolutely delicious - all women in the party agreed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had a fantastic meal, Everything was good perfectly. We will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I have to say their customer service is awesome!!!! They are very accommodating. The food is amazing and our waiter was courteous and attentive. I will definitely return. Can't wait for the warmer weather to have outside dining. A great place to have a delicious dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Have had dinner here before and wasn't bad. Something was terribly wrong this night. Food was awful. Service was insanely slow. Restaurant was cold.. as was the food. Complete disappointment and waste of $.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was excellent but the room we sat in was very LOUD

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was excellent. The waitstaff was very attentive. Decor was very nice. We were seated immediately and we had a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was excellent. I had a special, Dover Sole, and it was wonderful. My clams in red sauce appetizer were tasty. I tasted the fried zucchini and that was delicious. My husband enjoyed the filet mignon.
My only complaint was that after dinner we were given the dessert menus and then the waiter didn't return for at least 20 minutes.
We were going to order dessert but after waiting that long, we lost interest in dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went for my mother's birthday and start to finish it was amazing. We brought a cake earlier in the day and they brought it out with a candle after our amazing meal them took it back and cut it for us. Food was exceptional and the service was too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. The service is always superb, the food delicious and the environment is perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food and service were excellent. I was pleasantly surprised that we could have a conversation and that it wasn't too loud because it was a packed house on Saturday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was good but not great and somewhat pricy. Most everything, like salad, was extra. service was excellent. Atmosphere good but very open and noisy and restaurant was pretty cold. Would I go back? Probably not. Plenty of other places more cozy with food just as good or better and less pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Really enjoyed the meal. Had a appetizer that was figs wrapped in prosciutto and cheese with a chocolate sauce. My wife had the risotto pescatore. Lots of seafood with a terrific tasting risotto. I had the chicken parm. Basis, but nicely fried with a sauce that was not too powerful. The tiramisu was a nice finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

As always quality food great ambiance friendly staff and good prices

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The afternoon meal was great we came there for my parents 50th anniversary. The waitress Anna was great she took pictures for us and brought out 50th napkins even though they were birthday napkins it had a big 50 so it was perfect. Brought us out champagne glasses for our champagne toast. She even put a candle into my parents dessert and took more pictures. Our seats were next to the fireplace which was a nice surprise. The food was great as always. This is the third time I've had the occasion to dine there and I have not been disappointed. Thanks to your staff and our server Anna for a great meal celebrating my parents anniversary.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was amazing. The pasta special goat cheese filled raviolis with a bolognese sauce was delicious. The best raviolis I've had in many years. The dough was homemade i'm sure and it was so light and tender. Wow!! I'm coming back often

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I live in the Princeton area and enjoy eating out. We've been to all the restaurants in the immediate and surrounding areas. There are only a handful of restaurants that have the combination of food, service, environment, outside dining, a large wood burning fireplace, and a BYO. On top of all this management is always present and quickly addresses any concerns which are rare. Also, if you need space to have an event, this one has the rooms to handle that too.

I drive 45 minutes to go to this restaurant and recommend it to everyone who enjoys this rare combination of features.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We celebrated our 46th wedding anniversary, and three birthdays -- my daughter, grand daughter and husband, all in the space of five days-- with a family dinner at the restaurant. This was our first visit but it will not be our last. We had a spacious table for 8 that included a high chair for our youngest grand child. From the moment we arrived, the service was attentive and informative. Our entrees ranged from pasta with butter sauce for the children to risotto. We shared a number of appetizers, downed a great bottle of Tuscan wine, and ended with a variety of desserts that included a couple of scoops of Lemoncello gelato topped with a lighted candle for our anniversary. It was truly a memorable dinner and worth repeating, whether with the family or as a couple.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Lobster ravioli was amazing. BYOB very nice place to unwind after a long work week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.