About Il Villaggio

211 Berlin Rd
Cherry Hill, NJ 08034
View Larger Map

Our team provides a comfortable, old-world atmosphere with an emphasis on quality and style, with special attention to preferences. Il Villaggio also has customized menu options and private rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
McPhelin Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 795-1778

Website:
http://www.ilvillaggiocherryhill.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout

Restaurant Photos

  • Il Villaggio
Il Villaggio

Private Dining

Fountain Room and Spring Room. A beautiful Tuscan feel for your next shower, birthday, wedding or business meeting.

Il Villaggio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Food
New Jersey Suburbs
5 More
Best Service
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Value
New Jersey Suburbs
Romantic
New Jersey Suburbs
Italian
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Cherry Hill ›

special occasion (61)
neighborhood gem (58)
good for groups (51)
See All
fit for foodies (50)
romantic (43)
great for outdoor dining (21)
great for lunch (15)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (7)
hot spot (6)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pretty place. Good food. Great service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Pretty place. Good food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They have actual grape vines planted cur ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

They have actual grape vines planted curbside adding to the charming Tuscan interior. From the first warm greeting as we entered to the , hope to see.you soon as we departed, the service was impeccable. I could go on about each of our dishes but it's simpler to say everything is prepared perfectly, presented artfully with the finest ingredients and taste to match. My 3rd visit safe to say, whatever you order, you can't go wrong. Mong Ana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is the best,...service is the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This place is the best,...service is the best of any restaurant I have been. The chef is great with seafood and fish. If they have a homemade pasta..order it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than a small screw-up at the recep ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Other than a small screw-up at the reception desk, all was fine. Half the party was seated at one table, and the rest at another table, until we figured out that the two groups had been seated by different host/hostess. Otherwise, food is great and service is good. Would have liked to be seated outdoors, but the weather did not cooperate.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good food and truly profess ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Consistently good food and truly professional service. They are always very hospitable and allow us to linger over our byob wine and conversation -- just like in Italy. Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and service, however, was very disappointed when two of us asked for decaf coffee after dinner and was told the restaurant was out of decaf ... I dont understand how a restaurant of your reputation, etc. can be out of decaf coffee!! However, this would not deter me from dining there again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really nice outdoor dining area...it was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Really nice outdoor dining area...it was a beautiful June Saturday night, we went around 5:30pm and the dinner rush hadn't begun yet, so there were very few patrons. We were offered outdoor seating and gladly took it.

Even the Caesar salad was amazing. The veal ravioli was spectacular, the dessert coffee and ice cream was great as well. You've probably driven by this place a hundred times if you live in the area...I'd recommend stopping in.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant with fri ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have been to this restaurant with friends several times but this was the first time we got to enjoy eating in their outdoor dining area on a lovely Saturday summer evening. Service was excellent, food was very good and the atmosphere was just right. Couldn't ask for anything more. Thank you Il Villaggio !!!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Mom and I went for a belated Mother's ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

My Mom and I went for a belated Mother's Day. I wanted to sit in the garden patio area because I never had before. I have to say it was the best night!! The garden was beautiful...perfect night, nice warm breeze. Bonus was we had a singer. I was told this is only Wednesday nights. He was awesome and we both really enjoyed ourselves. We also both got bronzino which was the best I have ever had!! Perfectly cooked!! Service was exceptional also!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. Didn't have ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was outstanding. Didn't have to ask for the server to fill up my water once. The food was perfectly cooked. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had very tasty chicken dishes, but wo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had very tasty chicken dishes, but would have preferred pasta rather than potatoes and veggies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good service. Great food.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good service. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic meal & outstanding service!!! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic meal & outstanding service!!! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here often and have never ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We have eaten here often and have never been disappointed. The food is always excellent and the servers are extremely good at their jobs and always make us feel comfortable and welcome. We love the private back patio. Good music and overhanging grape vines make for a wonderful ambiance. A big plus is that its a BYO. Which definitely keeps the price down if you are a wine drinker. Tehy manage to cater to small dining all the way to large parties. We had our daughters 40th birthday party there ( about 85 people) and it was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AS ARE FIRST VISIT WE WERE EXTREMLY SURP ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

AS ARE FIRST VISIT WE WERE EXTREMLY SURPRSED AT THE SUPER MENU--SERVICE AS OUR WAITER CARLOS WAS VERY HELPFUL PLEASE STAY IN THIS AREA WE WILL BE BACKAND RECOMEND YOU

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go to a lot of restaurants, but they a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I go to a lot of restaurants, but they all pale in comparison to Il Villagio. Besides the incredible food, the employees are fantastic. Such professional service really makes the whole experience that much better. When I want a guaranteed flawless dining experience, I always choose Il Villagio.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat in the adorable little outside co ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We sat in the adorable little outside courtyard covered with grapevines and nights it was a lovely setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, do I feel fooish...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I had been hearing good things about Il Villaggio for a while now, had it on my list, yet hadn't been in until yesterday. Wow, wish I had come in sooner. My date and I went for a late lunch/early dinner, and could not have enjoyed it more. Wonderful, timelessness to the decor, which made us feel welcomed, even though we were the only patrons at 3:30 on a Monday afternoon. Despite the fact that we were the only people in the restaurant, service was on point, and the food was better. A well executed caprese salad, and fresh/bright oysters, were a nice start, but the portobello ravioli w/artichoke wasnt just homemade, it had clearly just been made! Incredible. Mushroom risotto with a perfect creaminess, followed by a Veal Chop whose size looked intimidating to begin with, yet turned out to be not nearly enough once we bit into it. We shared everything and can't wait to go back. Id recommend it to anyone. HIgh level of quality, at great prices, and a BYOB on top of all of that. Need I say more?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This the best year round restaurant in NJ.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Let's start with year round. They have a lovely fireplace in winter a very cozy atmosphere. In summer, they have the best outdoor eating environment in Central or Southern Jersey. Real grape vines growing overhead, small lights, well decorated, quiet, and romantic.

Now, the food and service. Have been here many times and I recall only once someone at our table had a disappointing meal. They quickly replaced it and were very apologetic. The staff is well trained, thoughtful, and friendly. The cost (it's a BYO) is very reasonable especially considering all of the above.

It doesn't get much better than this for outdoor dining and great Italian food in Central or South Jersey.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We were excited going in due to the reviews and this place does not disappoint. Food quality is high along with the taste. Definitely worth checking out!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just okay.

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our experience here was very loud with just okay food. We came here because we're always looking for new restaurants to try and it had such good reviews. The customer service was very good with nice hostesses to our waitress, but it was very loud. We had trouble hearing each other all through dinner and had to yell to be heard. The food was okay, not bad but nothing special. I doubt we'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Great service, terrible everything else.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The service was great, but unfortunately nothing else was. The main course was 'okay', very overpriced for the value. The appetizers we ordered did not taste good (the cheese plate was 50% small chunks of generic Parmesan cheese). The bread they serve is stale and hard. The best food during the whole meal was us finally ordering a side of french fries that tasted like boardwalk fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

One of my favorites. Consistently good ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

One of my favorites. Consistently good food and very nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My group of five all were impressed with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My group of five all were impressed with Il Villagio, which was my pick for us getting together. We will now continue to gather here!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful anniversary dinner.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We had Herman as a waiter and he was fantastic. Our meal was delicious and the service unbelievable. There was a great singer there that night also, that sang happy anniversary to us as Herman brought us out a delicious chocolate dessert with a candle. An unforgettable anniversary dinner. Our new favorite restaurant! Thank you so much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to spend an evening in Voorhees Town ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Had to spend an evening in Voorhees Township. Didn't want to drive all the way back to Philly for an exceptional meal. And I didn't have to. This restaurant has exceptional hand prepared dishes. The artichoke appetizer was the best I've ever had and I have eaten at many of the best restaurants in the world. Pay careful attention to the evening specials as they represent A chance to enjoy a chefs creativity

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Will definitely go back!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We were looking for somewhere that we have not been before. After reading all of the reviews we decided to give Il Villagio a try. What a pleasant surprise! We were seated right away, the service was excellent, the food was delicious, and everyone we encountered that worked there greeted us with a smile and kind word. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

How have we never been here before? We've lived in the area for years, dine out regularly and have driven past this place a thousand times, but somehow we've never been there...before last Saturday evening for dinner. Our first time will most definitely NOT be our last. This place is superb!

They set the tone for the evening with the valet team quickly greeting us at our respective car doors with umbrellas to escort us to a covered area...arriving safe & dry. The hostess greeted us happily and seated us swiftly. Our server was mature, experienced, and courteous. The service team moved swiftly and efficiently through the dining room.

The restaurant was full, yet all courses were prepared and served to perfection. Each course was better than the last. Having not known it was a BYO, we selected one of the wines from their limited but provided a nice range of selections. We chose a nice white - having each selected seafood dishes for our entrees - and were not disappointed.

The fried calamari was really very good - lightly breaded, nicely seasoned, and very tender. The Caesar salad was great - crisp greens and not over-dressed which so many places tend to do. The cream of mushroom soup with truffle oil was outstanding...really delicious!

I had the mushroom risotto with seared diver scallops. Fantastic! And my husband had the frutti Di mare in white sauce, which he orders often at reataurants, and really enjoyed it. We each had coffee and shared dessert - a seasonal fruit sorbet...light and very refreshing.

The quality of the food, the service and the experience was excellent, and everything was very reasonably priced.

We loved it and will be back again...and soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, well prepared. The fish ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food, well prepared. The fish was prepared table side and no bones left behind!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Underwhelming

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was very bland. We were looking for much more flavor to be in the pasta sauces. Extremely noisy for the minimal amount of people in the restaurant. Overall we were underwhelmed and didn't see any value in how much we were charged for the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Just okay!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This place is just okay! The food was nothing special. Entrees were not hot. Will not be returning!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pleasantly Surprised

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We picked this restaurant because of its central location for 3 couples. We arrived to find a nice valet service, lovely interior, great service, and good food. My only "complaint" is the bread. I'm a breadaholic and this was just plain sliced Italian bread. On the other hand, it kept me from filling up with bread. This is a BYOB and everything is ala carte. Would be a pretty place to have a shower or some other kind of intimate event. Would recommend as I'm sure you'd be pleased also!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service were excellent. We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We had Stefan as our waiter and he was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so surprised at how great the food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I was so surprised at how great the food was! A bit noisy because of a birthday party. Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Another excellent experience! Food was outstanding. Waiter very knowledgeable. BYOB. Love it here.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The food was amazing. There were six of us and every one loved their food. My husband especially enjoyed the brozino special. I had the zucchini parmesan with gnocchi - OMG it was so tasty. Service was attentive. We particularly loved the singer (great selection of music at a perfect level to enjoy but still be able to talk with our friends). We were already making plans to return as we were leaving.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here 15-20 times at a minim ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

I have eaten here 15-20 times at a minimum and the food and service are almost always very good. But the last time the "duck special" was inedible and there was no compensation despite my expressed displeasure. For the price, there should have been some restitution or offset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Went to Il Villagio for our one year anniversary dinner. Food was excellent. Service was great, and our server was attentive without being overbearing. Great night.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great dinner here as always. We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a great dinner here as always. We started out with stone crab claws and they were very good. They came with a delicious mustard sauce. Then we had there Caesar salad which was very good. My husband had the ravioli special and he enjoyed it. I had the pasta dish with shrimp and scallops. We both loved that dish. It had such a light fresh flavor. They staff here are so nice and they always remember us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Having driven by Il Villaggio many times, we decided to check it out. The food was great (and very reasonably priced) and the service was stellar, but the place really needs some updating.

We will dine here again, but only for lunch or an early dinner as parking is awful. The restaurant offers valet parking (we prefer to park ourselves); when we came out of the restaurant there were cars lined up out to the street waiting to be parked, and as the small lot was near capacity, I really don't know where they were going to put them.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.