About Il Villaggio

211 Berlin Rd
Cherry Hill, NJ 08034
View Larger Map

Our team provides a comfortable, old-world atmosphere with an emphasis on quality and style, with special attention to preferences. Il Villaggio also has customized menu options and private rooms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
McPhelin Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 795-1778

Website:
http://www.ilvillaggiocherryhill.com/

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout

Private Dining

Fountain Room and Spring Room. A beautiful Tuscan feel for your next shower, birthday, wedding or business meeting.

Il Villaggio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Special Occasion (38)
Cozy (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Fireplace (34)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Authentic (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Romantic (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Private Room (19)
Outstanding Value (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (13)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

The menu is very diverse and extensive, in the world of authentic Italian

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the very best meals you can hope for, along with extremely pleasant and informative wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was absolutely incredible and our server was amazing. we will be back

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and very professional waitstaff. The fireplace really sets the tone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The people at the front messed up our reservation, which had us waiting an extra 45 minutes while customers just showing up were being seated. When we finally asked and figured out they messed up, they didn't even apologize. They just said "oh we're busy it happens." You could say we didn't appreciate that. Overall food was decent, but the people are uptight and wack.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A great restaurant

Delicious food

Super service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

What an awesome Valentines dinner experience. On what is known as one of the busiest nights for restaurants, they made us fell welcome, not rushed, relaxed and comfortable. The setting was warm and charming (on a very cold windy night). The food was fantastic. The best and most tender grilled calamari we ever had. The chocolate Raviolis (homemade pasta stuffed with figs) was voted a favorite by all. Entrees (veal w/ crabmeat, Filet and short ribs over palenta) were awesome too. Only thing better (or should I say equal), was the staff. They have the most friendly, welcoming and efficient employees. True professionals. All of this greatness trickles down from the top. The owners did everything possible to make our dining experience perfect and it worked. Going back soon!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I'm assuming it was the first Valentine's Day dinner....the regular menu looks so good and then they had the Valentine's Day menu...beware it is bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants usually. This was Valentines Day and the menu was limited. Most of the food was excellent although my filet mignon was an inferior grade than I am used to here. Service was a bit slow but they were busy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Really great experience. Ambience in the Fountain room is European Chic. The wait staff attentive and the Chocolate Ravioli stuffed with fig and gorgonzola was superb to say the least. A little pricey for BYOB but worth it, will be returning once the patio available.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was the first restaurant my wife and I dined at when we moved to Cherry Hill. We were not dressed appropriately, showed up on a Saturday night around 8:30. They were full with reservations, but we explained "we just moved to the area and this would be the first restaurant we would be eating at." The host asked us when we moved town, which we replied 10 minutes ago, when we dropped out luggage off at the temporary housing we had. She spoke to the manager and he welcomed us to Cherry Hill. Then, just like the scene from Goodfellas, they brought out a table for 2, set it up and sat us down as if we were VIPs. The dinner was amazing, we have been back multiple times in the last year, and have never been disappointed in the food or service. And if you ask my wife she would tell you I am very picky from working years in the restaurant business. Try it, and love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The "valentine" 4 course menu was a very good value and offered a very nice variety of delicious and creative fare. I was tentative to eat out on such a busy holiday, but was pleasantly surprised at the attention and unhurried vibe that Stefan, our waiter provided. The large open room where we were seated was a bit airy and acoustically unpleasant, but our small intimate table was suitable and we were able to enjoy a very special "date night" with excellent food. The grilled octopus appetiser was perfect and the Sea bass was delightful! Would definitely return on another occasion. 5 stars!!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and great service ! Cozy and romantic, my wife was playing footsies with me the entire dinner. ;-)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful Valentine's Day lunch. Excellent food and service! One of our favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Quality ingredients prepared carefully without overdoing the plate or palate. Interesting but not complicated!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service is great from the time you walk in the door when you are greeted by the hostess until you walk out the door you are waited on with a very attentive staff. The food is unbelievably good. This is a restaurant that will be on my have to go back list.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have dined at this location before and had very good experiences. On Saturday night I went to dinner with my wife and the President of my company. We were promptly seated and the experience went down hill from there. We were not given menus and had to ask for them. It took a while for the server to take our order and well over an hour before the meal was served. The fillet was cold and stringy. My wife did not enjoy her dinner and there was never a reason given or an apology for the long wait time for the meal. I was extremely embarrassed taking my president to this location. We all dine out often and we all agreed that the service was the worst we have seen in years. I will not be returning to this establishment.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place is definitely amazing! The staff are all freindly and they all help eachother out. The food is quality food! I would recommend! 5 stars from me!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Disappointed. My meal of Fruita de Mare contained micro canned shrimp. Another meal at our table had undercooked chicken and was returned. My husband was not told told they were out of his "special" until the other 5 meals were served. Overall,

a below average experience and I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

All I can say is I loved the food. Wait staff very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Best veal I have had in some time

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent romantic choice. Great food and ambiance. Great value for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always have a great meal and service. My favorite place to go for Italian food,. the homemade pasta is the best around.

Tags: Fireplace, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

First time there and I wasn't impressed. The noise level was descent and waitress was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was my second visit to this restaurant and both times we had fantastic service. The servers have great knowledge of the menu, everyone from the parking valet to our server was outstanding and friendly.

Food is delicious, menu has a great variety without being overwhelming.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Small room in which we were seated was very very noisy but food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful, as always. Il Villagio does not disappoint. We love it here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was my first time at this restaurant, and I have mixed feelings. The decor/ambiance was really nice. We had small kids with us, which I wouldn't do again. It's not kid friendly - no kids menu, coloring books etc. The waitress did her job but wasn't overly friendly. They had a nice selection on the menu, as well as a decent amount of specials, however, they wouldn't make any changes from what was being offered (for example do veal parm instead of chicken parm). The food wasn't amazing but good for the price. We didn't leave raving about it, but we'll definitely try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great BYOB in jersey. Drove here from philly and was not disappointed. Food was great and server was excellent. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Wonderful food. Great service. Lovely ambiance. Cold day. Fire burning. Not cheap but well worth the price since we had a number of courses. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

This was not my first time there and I found it even more delicious this time.

Great food, gracious service and lovely surroundings - a perfect combination.

I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food is excellent. We have had different pastas and all have been excellent. Service is outstanding. Stefan is a great server.

Highly recommend it...

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First time dining experience, well worth it. Andi our server was a true professional, timing our meal so that we could relax and converse. The food was remarkable. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We arrived at our reservation time and were seated almost immediately. Our waiter was very thorough telling us about specials. And he was very attentive and not overbearing during our meal. We were four people and everyone loved their appy's and main courses as well. We are definitely coming back another time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We came almost 1 hour away and it was well worth it! We were seated right away with our reservation. Food was sooo delicious and the waiter was very attentive.

The noise level was pretty loud.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was excellent and the atmosphere was perfect. My husband and I enjoyed ourselves and our server was so polite. Looking forward to coming there again in the future!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My fifth time there in less than four months. The service is attentive and genuine. The food is well prepared and served and as it is a BYOB that makes it an additional value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vegan, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent dinner as always!! Great table, great wait staff, great food!! Will return again and again!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very nice.. food was perfect and the service was excellent. Real fireplace added that extra welcome feeling. We've dined here many times and they always score high.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food was delicious! Such wonderful ambiance with the fireplace roaring in the background. Great menu and the service was excellent. I Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves Italian food with a romantic ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

What a wonderful restaurant! The service, ambiance and food are all amazing. We have been here numerous times because it is one of those places that is consistent. Nothing worse than trying someplace new and it's horrible. Well not here!!! You will be happy every single time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good restaurant. Delicious fresh salads. Veal chop parm a great choice as well as chicken parm. Gnocchi are light and pillowy. Yum! Desserts are ok but I'd prefer to see some cake choices. Would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We enjoy dining at IL Villaggio. Everyone is so gracious. The food is outstanding. I would recommend it highly.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great Food ,Service Nice People our go to Place👍🍾

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food and superb service. Did not feel rushed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Place is cute. Dining room has a fireplace.

Food was mediocre for what appeared to be a fancy Italian restaurant. Taste was on level of Olive Garden. Bread was worse than I've had at diners. Meals don't come with a salad or anything before hand.

Service was good and bad. Waitress was fine, food came out in reasonable time. The second I lifted my last bite off the plate - a guy swooped it to take my plate and took the mediocre bread without asking if we were done with it. It seemed like they were rushing to get rid of us.

With as many Italian places around - I'd say pass on this one

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great food. Very nice round table for groups. Pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As always, a phenomenal meal with fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was very good on a Saturday night. Restaurant was very noisy and the tables are crammed together. Not my type of ambiance. Service was very attentive and easy to attract as needed. I would try again because of the quality food and maybe change my dining time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It's our local go to Italian place! Love the fireplace and friendly staff & of course the good

food too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Thanks. Great dinner! We enjoyed the food and the ambiance. We will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.