About Il Villaggio Osteria

3335 West Village Road
Teton Village, WY 83025
View Larger Map

In February 2008, Fine Dining Restaurant Group, of Rendezvous Bistro & Q Roadhouse fame, brought a taste of Italy to Jackson Hole with the opening of Il Villaggio Osteria. Located inside the Hotel Terra which is the state’s first LEED certified property and only the fifth in the United States. Highlights of the intimate restaurant are Il Villaggio Osteria’s 12-seat wine bar and eight seat salami bar, where guests can watch as imported meats and cheeses, sourced from the country’s finest purveyors, are hand-sliced to order. House made pastas, sausage stuffed olives, beautiful wines and entrees round out the exquisite multi course menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open Wednesday-Sunday at 5pm.

Cross Street:
Moose Wilson Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 739-4100

Website:
http://www.jhosteria.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available.

Public Transit:
Jackson Hole Mountain Resort Start Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Serge Smith

Private Party Facilities:
We welcome private parties of all kinds, from corporate retreats and rehearsal dinners to family gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Oda: (307)733-5010x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Il Villaggio Osteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (16)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (11)
See All
special occasion (10)
kid-friendly (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
scenic view (8)
romantic (8)
great for lunch (7)
notable wine list (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have visited this restaurant many time ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

I have visited this restaurant many times over the last five years and always found it to be consistently good, not great, but very good. This time I have to congratulate them. The food was outstanding and the service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Menu has changed again

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

So we come here often. Last night we're back for the summer season and discovered that they took our favorite pizza off the menu -- the others are not as good as the Guido Sarducci. Then - we both wanted the chicken entree and were informed that all the chicken had been sold to a large party. On a very limited menu - this was really a bummer. They also removed the calamri salad which I loved. What is up with this Osteria? On a limited menu there is no excuse for not having enough chicken!!

food2
ambience4
service3

Stick with simple dishes Pizza is prett ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Stick with simple dishes Pizza is pretty good. Spaghetti Carbonara was topped with burned bacon instead of pancetta. Tuna Tatar was simply not good-avoid it. Endive salad was pretty tasty, but arugula salad was basically just arugula out of the grocery bag with an "ok" dressing and a meager portion of shaved Parmesan. The Gnocchi should be avoided. Service is friendly. Wine selection is good.

food2
ambience3
service4

Food quality needs to be checked. Detail ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Food quality needs to be checked. Details missed and many dishes lost their edge.

food2
ambience4
service5

The food wasn't nearly as good as last M ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

The food wasn't nearly as good as last March. Our server made the meal. And atmosphere is great too.

food1
ambience2
service5
value3

DISAPPOINTED

Dined on March 14, 2016

Menu was Italian with a Western twist (meats, etc.). We were looking for authentic Italian, unfortunately, IVO fell far short of the mark. Risotto was quite hard, charcuterie was fine, but pizza choices were odd with obscene amounts of garlic and crust was only fair. Carbonara was heavier than it should have been. Service was EXCELLENT just wish the food had been better.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place, good food.

Dined on March 4, 2016

Eaten several times a Osteria. Great spot. Love the menu and the vibe. Our waiter was A+, absolutely a gem. Helped us through the menu and wine pairings as a true pro. We had apps, salads, and split an entrée. Nothing stood out as "inspired". (Wish we'd had a pizza!) I'd eaten there several times a few years ago and it was fantastic. Not so great this time - We had a good time - great service, good wine, nice energy to the place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place! So much so that we ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

We loved this place! So much so that we went twice on a four night stay in Jackson Hole. It’s very cozy and comfortable. A little loud with so many large groups, but not uncomfortably so. The food is great. And so is the service. When we didn't care for the first table they offered, the hostess found us something we preferred. When we thanked her, she replied they wanted us to have a good experience at the restaurant and not be unhappy with our seats. Great attitude! And we loved the food. We had the arugula salad, which was very good. And the lasagna -- which was outstanding! This is a must-get dish here!! When our server said the lasagna was a pretty large portion we decided to split it. Not only did they split it in the kitchen — they split the portion before they even baked it, so each of our portions was baked separately in its own baking dish. We’ve never seen this done before. This not only enhanced the dish, it enhanced our opinion of the restaurant even more. We decided to go back two nights later, and as tempted as we were to get the lasagna again, we decided to get the five-cheese white pizza instead. Another winner!

food2
ambience4
service4

The pizza was undercooked and the chicke ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The pizza was undercooked and the chicken in the chicken cacciatore was almost non-existent. Chicken is inexpensive and for one of the more expensive entrees, there needs to be a more generous portion. It seems like it lost a step or two in the last year

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

just ok

Dined on February 27, 2016

Was looking forward to this restaurant because it sounded similar to a couple Italian restaurants we love in Philly. We were not impressed. When offered a primi and secondi course, the portion size is normally not huge. This place the primi was huge! SO huge, that we were not hungry for more. We felt very rushed. Also, the tables were very crowded. Would not go back.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Sad and disappointed.

Dined on February 26, 2016

We received a gift certificate for xmas. Having not eaten there before, we chose Osteria. Our seating was at 5:45, the restaurant was not nearly full. Our waiter was professional and friendly (that was the positive part of the evening). He warned us about the cabbage roll, which we ordered anyway. It was way too spicy to enjoy, albeit arriving quite quickly. Then it was an interminable wait to salads, which were under dressed. Then another interminable wait for our main course. We both commented about leaving. So much time went by that the three tables seated well after us were already on their dessert as our food arrived. The food smelled wonderful! Taste? BLAND. The Ravioli was memorable only in the first bite. The Fruiti di mare was a joke, with an unfunny $36 price tag. It had 6 tiny mussels, one giant shrimp including head and 4 scallops. The red sauce was watery and tasteless. I expected more and better from this dish. In past fruiti di mare offerings, the red sauce was prime dipping for bread...... not here! The mussels were pathetic, size and taste. We were starving, agreeing to eat, without comment, and never return. $150 later, adding insult to injury. Should have gone to the Bistro.

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was wonderful. Especially the c ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

The food was wonderful. Especially the calamari and lasagne. The staff was very nice and accommodating. This will certainly be our first choice when we come back to Teton Village.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Restaurant

Dined on February 15, 2016

We ate at the bar 2 nights out of the 4 when visiting Jackson Hole. The food was delicious, the lighting level was perfect and the service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointed . . .

Dined on February 15, 2016

. . . used to be one of my favorite restaurants but the menu has changed, gotten smaller, and the server was ready to 'turn' tables. I would suggest it for lunch or apres.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Used to be great - not any more

Dined on February 15, 2016

This used to be our favorite spot in Teton village. The food is just average. Very unfortunate development. Must have changed ownership and/or chef...

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Food in Teton Village

Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed a terrific meal including roasted olives, pizza, bison lasagna, terrific Wagyu steak! Very good location on the mountain with a nice ambiance and friendly service.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

We've been a few time before. Friendly ...

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

We've been a few time before. Friendly staff, salad was over-dressed, was a good experience. Would try the pizza next time.

food4
ambience3
service5

Great place, excellent service!

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Great place, excellent service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting

Dined on January 17, 2016

Unusual and excellent cuisine in a wonderful environment

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

One of the better Teton Village restaurants

Dined on January 17, 2016

We know our options are limited in the Teton Village area. Even "upscale casual" is going to be $50 a person, but we would expect the service to be consistent and the food good. We ordered two salads and two pizzas. Two thumbs up for the salads. The arugula ($10) and romaine ($12) were very fresh and good. We should have stopped there. I expected the wood-fired oven pizzas to be worth the $20 price tag. Nope. While the crust was reminiscent of a nice Neapolitan pie, I'm afraid these were a soggy mess and under cooked. The service: not overly attentive, and sadly, they messed up our order, so my wife had her pizza and I awkwardly waited for mine. No offer to make amends, like comping a salad or something. Oh, well. Two salads, two soggy pizzas, two drinks plus tax and tip=$100. Next time we'll try the pasta.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Hip and fit fare with flare

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

Great wine selection, don't miss the healthy sides! Ask if fish is frozen or fresh to get the best fish! My favorite Italian Restaurant as grande as the Teton it sits next to!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1

Terrible food. Overpriced. Rude waitstaf ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Terrible food. Overpriced. Rude waitstaff. Disorganized. Total disappointment. Avoid.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Year's Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

The Osteria has been our choice for New Year's Eve in JH since it opened. This year, service was great as always (Spencer's service impeccable), very festive atmosphere and reservation searing was prompt. Three of four meals were incredible and well-portioned. The fourth, the seafood stew, had excellent flavor but found the portion to be very meager for $36. I'm not a heavy eater, but had it not been for the bread, I would have walked away hungry. As well, the elk (or maybe it was bison?) tartare was tasty, but a little thin on portion for the $16 price tag. That said, overall a very enjoyable dining experience - and we'll be back next year.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fine but declining

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Our family has been coming to JH & Osteria for quite some time. We are gradually becoming more disappointed by the food quality & offerings at Osteria, Rendevous Bistro, and the Q. As JH has become more popular, we truly hope that this declining trend does not continue. This visit, Osteria was more suitable for lunch then dinner. Come on, man!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous alpine option

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

This is our favorite spot for lunch in Teton Village. The food is excellent, the menu sensational and the atmosphere just right. We highly recommend the pizza and brussel sprouts.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good all around

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

We have dined here on numerous occasions and keep coming back. This is a good choice when you want a restaurant that will please adults, young children and teens. Over the years, the service has been consistently good and extremely friendly. The food has always been tasty, even though I might not say it's fantastic. It is certainly more than adequate for a ski vacation with the kids. We always leave happy. The ambiance is busy and energetic during the holday period, but not so much so that you can't hold a conversation. I would recommend going if you are staying in Teton village, but would not say it's worth driving up from town just to go here.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Special treat.

Dined on November 25, 2015

When we want a special night out we go here. The service and food are great. The wait staff seems to know exactly how you want to be treated and are very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Can't get enough!

Dined on November 15, 2015

We really enjoy going here! Every time we think about some place else, we remember how awesome this place is and go here instead

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

busy nite

Dined on November 8, 2015

I ordered lasagna but the waiter came back and said it had suffered a disaster and had been Removed from the menu...I then ordered ravioli which my husband had ordered. We were underwhelmed with the pasta dish. The restaurant was very busy, our friends ordered pizza and the pies looked a little overcooked. We were a little disappointed in the dinner...usually much better

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Cozy

Dined on November 7, 2015

The staff was peasant and accommodating. Food selections were limited but good. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Farewell Meal

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

I had heard a lot about this restaurant so saved it for our last dining experience before going home. It was very good though perhaps a little overhyped. We started with the meatballs--good. Shared arugula salad--simple and perfect. The hubs had pasta with Bolognese and I had the papperdelle with smoked trout-not something I would normally gravitate to. We loved them both--mine in particular was so delicious. We sat at the bar where the pizza oven is and the hubs had a hard time watching all those pizzas come out knowing we wouldn't be having any, they looked fantastic. They have a nice wine list, we went conservative in case we couldn't finish the bottle (which we didn't) since we were getting up early and flying home the next day. Very friendly and solicitous service, great food--it was a winner, would definitely return (and sample more of the menu which all sounded delicious!)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

At least the maitre d' made an effort to ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

At least the maitre d' made an effort to make our visit special. The service after that was sub par. The first indicator was I had to ask the server's name. I ordered an Antipasti, a salad and my entrée. He brought my salad and antipasti at the same time, crowding the table. I felt rushed and inundated with food. It was unprofessional at best. Both courses had hot ingredients and both got cold before I could eat them. He took my silverware, then brought my entrée having nothing to eat it with. I had to take a set of silverware from another table. The food was presented nicely and that's about the best I can say. The taste was flat and the flavors were detached. The music was too loud. Overall it didn't even come close to meeting our expectations. I wouldn't recommend it. Look elsewhere if you are looking for fine dining, Osteria is a glorified pizza shop.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great as usual!

Dined on October 24, 2015

Great as usual! We had the last reservation, due to off-seaston we were the only people in the restaurant and never felt rushed. Much appreciated. JDK

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and great service! Helped us ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

Great food and great service! Helped us celebrate a birthday perfectly!

food4
ambience3
service2

The food was delicious

Dined on September 28, 2015

The food was delicious

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on September 23, 2015

Osteria came highly recommended though there were some reviewer caveats. Restaurant had a decent vibe going and the service was competent throughout the meal. Problems? Their frier was broken so two menu choices were ruled out (guessing chef can only fry with a deep fryer!). The gnocchi was good but the portion was miniscule - disappointing. The spaghetti was solid with a good portion size! The quail was horrendous - both overdone and served luke warm! But the biggest issue with Osteria, and it has been mentioned by other reviewers is horrible pacing of the meal. Reading those reviews led us to order just appetizers first. Shortly after getting the appetizers we ordered our main course. That course arrived quickly, while we were still eating the appetizers! The server (not our waiter) asked us to make room for the mains! Never offered to clear anything off the table. To me, the inability to manage meal pacing is an inexcusable shortcoming of a restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is close to East Coast I ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

This restaurant is close to East Coast Italian food. Top notch!

food5
ambience4
service5

Osteria at Teton village

Dined on September 19, 2015

Service was very good,attentive but not bothersome. Fried calamari salad was super. Lasagna great and Bolanese as good as any I have had. Prices reasonable.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

Dinner good, dessert menu not good

Dined on September 12, 2015

Dinner was really good and fresh/light (ravioli and gnocchi), but it was very disappointing to not find much at all on the dessert menu - no tiramisu!

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a Great Experience

Dined on August 25, 2015

We've been to Osteria several times and have not been disappointed yet. The food is good and at time great, but the service is always spot on. Hard to find that in this day and age. Will be back many times for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.