About Il Terrazzo - The Phoenician

Coming Fall 2017
Mowry and Cotton
Welcoming a new era in modern dining this Fall. With the intense warmth and natural light of the Desert Southwest serving as its centerpiece, Mowry and Cotton brings the flame-cured indigenous flavors and textures of modern American cuisine to its lively, approachable setting.

6000 East Camelback
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Permanently Closed.
Mowry and Cotton Coming Fall 2017






Cross Street:
Camelback Road and 64th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 423-2425

Website:
http://www.thephoenician.com/il-terrazzo/

Catering:
Please call for details 480.423.2406
The Phoenician is known for its lavish parties and spectacular events for all social occasions. We can help you create a event that will be remembered for years to come.

Parking Details:
For complimentary valet parking, follow the signs directing you to the Main Lobby entrance. Self-parking is also available in garage one located below the main building.

Public Transit:
Valley Metro transit schedule for Route 50 provides drop offs at the Camelback Road entrance.

Executive Chef:
Richard Boyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

From an intimate, candlelit dinner for two on Camelback Mountain; to the customized stylings of a celebratory gathering within the well-appointed salons of our award-winning restaurants, The Phoenician private dining experience is as diverse as it is inspired.

Il Terrazzo - The Phoenician Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Special Occasion (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Romantic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We wanted to experience a farewell dinner before they closed for renovation.
We should have waited for the re-opening.
Food so-so and tepid, not robust, savory and warming.
Not a feel good experience, deteriorated to typical mediocre hotel food.

We'll try again in the Fall.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

GOOD FOOD,GOOD SERVICE AND A GREAT SETTING.

PHOENICIAN IS PURE CLASS

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great service and wonderful food!! Quiet enough to have conversations!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed our brunch very much. You had a lot more seafood choice this time than last which is what I love. I don't know if that is because it was Easter. But it is a lovely enhancement to the buffet!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Phenomenal experience at Il Terrazzo from start to finish! Our server, Sarah, was very knowledgeable & helped us along our dining experience. Highly recommend this restaurant for date night, friend get-together, and everything in betweeen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Obviously the food and atmosphere was great,however when I was researching the Brunch the day before it said there were 2 options 35.00 for a fixed course bfast or 45.00 for the Buffett also unlimited sparking wine.I was bitterly surprised when the waiter said those things didn't exist nor did they ever...I don't know if it was an old ad but for 153.00 I really feel champagne should've been included,definitely false advertising.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Good food. Good drinks. Good place. Good atmosphere.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Lunch was great, dinner wasn't as good and lacked in taste.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent Sunday brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful brunch, costly, but good quality. Not my first visit and I shall return again. Small portions, but a buffet so you can get more. Less waste by doing it in small portions. My only complaint is that the hotel charges for parking..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Ate here as a family with two young children - the service, especially with the kids, was excellent - and very impressive. High quality ingredients used.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good solid food and very good drinks. The setting is very nice and the staff did a very nice job. The food is not outstanding but very good atmosphere and nice place to be outside with friends and relatives.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent service and additional attention to requests for local activities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for birthday brunch, would like to see the brunch food selections go back to level of pre 2008 economic dip, even if price needs to adjust. I love this location but remember the brunch in it's glory days, still good overall but not as great as it once was.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Short menu and some dishes not very well prepared. Staff is excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was fair. Restaurant is over priced. It's along ride from north scottsdale for an expensive medocure meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our reservation was for Sunday Brunch. The food was outstanding, but we were not greeted promptly by our server after we were seated. No excuse; the restaurant was 1/3 full. Also, food was not replenished in a timely manner. No shrimp after 3 attempts. At $49pp, that's just inexcusable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a good dinner, but very expensive even for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was good, just not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was rather poor, brought us our wrong dessert and incorrect bill. Food was mediocre at best. Check your bill before paying, likely will be over charged

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We love it here. This time we stopped by for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the flatbreads, soups and salads. Always a great meal. This time the service was off but that's not typical. Will definitely return. A favorite place of ours.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had Christmas dinner special menu and would like to return for their regular menu. The service was very competent and friendly. The bathrooms were immaculately clean and supplied with thick towels. It is an elegant restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We are at this restaurant for Christmas Day dinner. My kids ordered the French onion soup. It was extremely oily. My husband and I got the scallop appetizer which wasn't very good either. The salmon main course was salty and overdone. Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I thought it was highly overpriced for a Holiday buffet. Plus they added a 20% tip to bill for service when everything was do it yourself. I can see adding a tip, but 20% is usually for some kind of service, not buffet. I guess because it was Christmas, they thought no one would complain.
Overall experience, just fair.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Oysters poor, coffee poor, seafood and cheese excellent, outdoor stations too crowded.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent pasta dishes, cooked perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

All was amazing!!! Food, service, atmosphere!! Wonderful experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The service was great, the waiter very accommodating. The room was pleasant and quiet. The food was presented well, but could be improved with better seasoning. Overall my friends and I enjoyed our yearly Christmas get together 🎄🎄😁

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went to the buffet brunch on Sunday and it did not disappoint! We will be back soon for a visit!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We came for brunch and it was delicious. Love the Phoenician. We sat outside which was quiet and relaxing. View of the pool was nice and the servers were friendly. They had a great selection to choose from for brunch and my Bloody Mary didn't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Was an especially nice dinner becasue of the service and the

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Enjoyed brunch on the patio. Setting was great, service was on point, and the buffet was incredible. Great selection and of course tasted phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food and service were impeccable. Every item on the brunch looked appetizing. I selected items that had visual appeal and was not disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great location, decent to above average food for the price; service could be better considering the high-end nature of the Phoenician. Service issues - waiter somewhat inattentive. Restaurant wasn't busy so unsure why. His Assistant (water, bread, dipping sauce service guy) was sloppy. Dropped here and there, didn't care. But we'd eat here again for the location and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Phoenician was off the charts! The buffet was nothing short of amazing! The staff were cordial, the scenery perfect, and the chef and assistants were professional and very friendly. We will be back!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2016

just wanted to try the restaurant again after so many years; we used to have brunch there regularly with friends in the days that they still had a live band playing dance music during brunch. the menu then had many more items on it.
but this was just about what we liked, although it was rather quiet with so few people having brunch. we will be back occasionally and bring friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was impeccable. We lingered and so thoroughly enjoyed the brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.