About Il Terrazzo - The Phoenician

6000 East Camelback
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Savor nouveau Italian favorites in a family-friendly atmosphere; or enjoy a relaxing al fresco experience on the scenic patio. Select from a distinct yet assorted menu, highlighted by a hand-crafted bread service showcasing numerous artisan loaves, baked everyday on property.

Combine the contemporary with the traditional at Il Terrazzo’s Italian Market Sunday Brunch. Complete your table with a selection of premium beverages and spirits, from espresso to signature bellinis. The Phoenician’s award-winning wine program, features extraordinary vintages and boutique offerings from around the world with exceptional pairings available to accompany any dish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Daily
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 6:30am-11am
Saturday-Sunday 7am-11am
Lunch
Monday-Saturday 11am-2pm
Sunday Italian Market Brunch 11am-2pm
Dinner
Tuesday-Saturday 5pm-9pm
Lounge
Sunday-Monday 11am-3pm
Tuesday-Saturday 11am-9pm






Cross Street:
Camelback Road and 64th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 423-2425

Website:
http://www.thephoenician.com/il-terrazzo/

Catering:
Please call for details 480.423.2406
The Phoenician is known for its lavish parties and spectacular events for all social occasions. We can help you create a event that will be remembered for years to come.

Parking Details:
For complimentary valet parking, follow the signs directing you to the Main Lobby entrance. Self-parking is also available in garage one located below the main building.

Public Transit:
Valley Metro transit schedule for Route 50 provides drop offs at the Camelback Road entrance.

Executive Chef:
Richard Boyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

From an intimate, candlelit dinner for two on Camelback Mountain; to the customized stylings of a celebratory gathering within the well-appointed salons of our award-winning restaurants, The Phoenician private dining experience is as diverse as it is inspired.

Il Terrazzo - The Phoenician Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
See All
Special Occasion (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Private Room (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Valentine day

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

It was a good dinner, but very expensive ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a good dinner, but very expensive even for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good, just not great.

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was good, just not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Service was rather poor, brought us our ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was rather poor, brought us our wrong dessert and incorrect bill. Food was mediocre at best. Check your bill before paying, likely will be over charged

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We love it here. This time we stopped by ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We love it here. This time we stopped by for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the flatbreads, soups and salads. Always a great meal. This time the service was off but that's not typical. Will definitely return. A favorite place of ours.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had Christmas dinner special menu and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had Christmas dinner special menu and would like to return for their regular menu. The service was very competent and friendly. The bathrooms were immaculately clean and supplied with thick towels. It is an elegant restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We are at this restaurant for Christmas ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We are at this restaurant for Christmas Day dinner. My kids ordered the French onion soup. It was extremely oily. My husband and I got the scallop appetizer which wasn't very good either. The salmon main course was salty and overdone. Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I thought it was highly overpriced for a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I thought it was highly overpriced for a Holiday buffet. Plus they added a 20% tip to bill for service when everything was do it yourself. I can see adding a tip, but 20% is usually for some kind of service, not buffet. I guess because it was Christmas, they thought no one would complain.

Overall experience, just fair.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Oysters poor, coffee poor, seafood and c ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Oysters poor, coffee poor, seafood and cheese excellent, outdoor stations too crowded.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent pasta dishes, cooked perfectly

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent pasta dishes, cooked perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All was amazing!!! Food, service, atmosp ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

All was amazing!!! Food, service, atmosphere!! Wonderful experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great, the waiter very a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The service was great, the waiter very accommodating. The room was pleasant and quiet. The food was presented well, but could be improved with better seasoning. Overall my friends and I enjoyed our yearly Christmas get together 🎄🎄😁

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Went to the buffet brunch on Sunday and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went to the buffet brunch on Sunday and it did not disappoint! We will be back soon for a visit!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for brunch and it was delicious. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We came for brunch and it was delicious. Love the Phoenician. We sat outside which was quiet and relaxing. View of the pool was nice and the servers were friendly. They had a great selection to choose from for brunch and my Bloody Mary didn't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was an especially nice dinner becasue of ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Was an especially nice dinner becasue of the service and the

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed brunch on the patio. Setting was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Enjoyed brunch on the patio. Setting was great, service was on point, and the buffet was incredible. Great selection and of course tasted phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were impeccable. E ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food and service were impeccable. Every item on the brunch looked appetizing. I selected items that had visual appeal and was not disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location, decent to above average ...

vip
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great location, decent to above average food for the price; service could be better considering the high-end nature of the Phoenician. Service issues - waiter somewhat inattentive. Restaurant wasn't busy so unsure why. His Assistant (water, bread, dipping sauce service guy) was sloppy. Dropped here and there, didn't care. But we'd eat here again for the location and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The Phoenician was off the charts! The ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Phoenician was off the charts! The buffet was nothing short of amazing! The staff were cordial, the scenery perfect, and the chef and assistants were professional and very friendly. We will be back!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

just wanted to try the restaurant again ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2016

just wanted to try the restaurant again after so many years; we used to have brunch there regularly with friends in the days that they still had a live band playing dance music during brunch. the menu then had many more items on it.

but this was just about what we liked, although it was rather quiet with so few people having brunch. we will be back occasionally and bring friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The service was impeccable. We lingered ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was impeccable. We lingered and so thoroughly enjoyed the brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for brunch and the place (atmosp ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went for brunch and the place (atmosphere) was great. The food was not great and extremely over priced for quality and service. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Unusually slow service for how empty the ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Unusually slow service for how empty the restaurant was (off season and middle of day). After being promptly seated, we waited for what felt an incredibly long time for water (mind it's Phoenix in the middle of summer!) and our server did not acknowledge our addition to her section although she walked by our table multiple times to continue servicing the tables on both sides of us. By the time our server came, we were ready to order drinks and appetizers and we expressed this to her; however, she clearly wanted us on her timetable. She told us that she would take our drink and first course order AFTER our water arrived and proceeded to focus on the type of water our table would like and walked away. Another 17 minutes later, she returned and at that point we decided to order all courses at once for fear of further delays and impact to our afternoon plans. Thankfully service improved when food-runners/bussers or other staff brought out the food and helped clear plates. I was disappointed in the service as I selected Il Terrazzo based on past experience. I was ready and willing to order much more than we did to celebrate my Dad's birthday but quickly realized that we needed to just get out of there-[It is important to note that we arrived early to our reso bc our flight landed early and we double checked with the hostess that it was ok for us to be seated-we were happy to wait in bar if your restaurant wasn't ready but the hostess said everything was ready.]

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Wonderful experience as always....Arliss ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful experience as always....Arliss is a wonderful host!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! My husband and I a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was amazing! My husband and I are Arizona natives and it was on his bucket list to stay at the resort. Our dinner was the icing in the cake. The ambiance and service was top notch! Thank you for the excellent memory. A bucket list item we will not soon forget.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great brunch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2016

great brunch and fantastic value for your money...so many choices and what a spectacular view!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mediocre overall, not worth the price

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 29, 2016

My favorite part about the meal was the main course. I ordered the seabass which was seared to perfection.

My least favorite part was the service. Our waiter was less than accommodating and didn't offer much information when I asked him questions. I asked about one drink I had seen online in which he said was no longer available. I asked if he had any recommendations and he said that everything on the menu is really sweet and it's just what the supervisor comes up with, not him. I thought he could possibly try to give me insight to a good beverage but instead it felt like he was telling me drinks weren't worth ordering and placed the blame on his manager.

He also pushed us to order. I wasn't ready to order everything at once and he kept blaming it on the kitchen that we had to decide then.

He barely checked on us after that. His helper Curtis was far more accommodating and sincere and I much would have rather given him a tip.

We also got an appetizer and desert with our meal which were alright.

Overall, I was disappointed in spending almost $100 for a mediocre meal and service. I wish I had gone somewhere else and don't intend on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The attention to detail and service. Ef ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The attention to detail and service. Effort to please with a special treat for dessert for our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second and last visit to Il ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2016

This was our second and last visit to Il Terrazzo. The first course of corn bisque was served tepid (not hot) and the crab contained pieces of shell. The second course of pork chop was dry and the hickory smoke was overpowering and lasted until the wee hours near dawn. The seabass was overcooked and dry with the sauce incompatible and unpleasant. We recently returned from our seventh trip to Italy, so we are very familiar with the regional cuisine. This meal at Il Terrazzo was definitely not Italian. The dessert of crème brulee was served with sweet rainbow cake (not the cookies on the menu) and would be better with a sprinkling of fresh seasonal berries. The service can be described by the following: no soup spoon provided with the soup course, no knife with the pork chop, and our server was no where to be found. We had to ask another server for the knife and spoon (thank you SARAH for your swift and polite response). The Phoenician and its guests, especially us, deserve better food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Restaurant Week -- YUM!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went during restaurant week and had a wonderful meal -- 3 courses: soup or salad (the corn bisque with crab in it was awesome!), entree (we all had sea bass and it, too, was awesome, too -- served with couscous) and dessert (tiramisu -- yummy). They also served a wonderful plate of 2 kinds of bread and a basil pistachio pesto. Service was excellent. We sat inside as it was kind of windy but we were still able to enjoy the view. I highly recommend this place for a special occasion. It's pricey but great fo a social occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I revisited for Restaurant Week. Had a great dinner for a great price. And then I ordered a really nice Barolo. The wine list isn't what it used to be, but you can still find some very nice wines. The service was attentive but not over the top. All in all a very nice evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Best sea bass I have ever had! The pork chop was outstanding as well! Appetizers consisted of a corn bisque with crab salad (unusual and delicious) and compressed melon and pear (picked at its prime). For dessert we had the tiramisu (very good) and the lemon torta which was a bit on the dry side and not much lemon flavor.

The only negative was the service at the beginning. Twice they insisted on bringing us our appetizers before we had even received our cocktails. Both times we sent it back. However, service from then on was impeccable.

If you go there, be sure to get your ticket validated for free valet parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice lunch while visiting Phoenix/Scottsdale

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2016

The calamari was so surprising and good. It came with delicious frittered veggies and lemons which gave the dish an extra pop. The portions were generous and even though we shared dishes, they took the initiative to plate the half portions separately for us. So thoughtful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

not a good night out

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 27, 2016

the food was not up to what you would want from a high price restaurant. would never go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We were seated at the table requested as ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We were seated at the table requested as promised. We received all entrees and apps perfectly. Waiter was excellent. We will be back again to try more dishes particularly seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice food and ambiance

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food is definitely good. But our waitress took a very long time to react.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

NEVER ON SUNDAY BRUNCH!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 10, 2016

The II Terrazzo is located at the Phoenician Resort in Scottsdale, Arizona. The Sunday Brunch gives a wide variety of tapia style dining. The service is excellent and offers a wonderful view into one of the rare gems of the resort high life. This is a classic brunch with a combination of breakfast and lunch style dining. The resort is undergoing a $100 million upgrade which will offer greater value for the customer. This meal is pricey for most Arizonans at $45.oo per person but is worth the total value of special experiences. The place makes the location and needs to capitalize on a classic live musical ensemble.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a sure bet with out-of-town business guests

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 6, 2016

I return to Il Terrazzo again and again when I want to impress out-of-town guests, whether these be executive at my own company, high-profile clients, or potential job candidates. Il Terrazzo never fails to deliver, in terms of quality of food, excellence of service, or ambience. A particular plus is the al fresco dining in style, which is especially impressive to guests who are traveling to Phoenix from seasonably colder parts of the country. The present menu may not be as adventurous as some past menus at Il Terrazzo, but the quality of the food and of its preparation is always of the highest order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

A great place to take out the love of your life

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 6, 2016

We arrived at 6:55 for our 7 PM reservation. We were seated by 710. Our service team was three people. The waitress knew the complicated specials off the top of her head no problem. We had the jalapeño Calamari, which was excellent, and then my wife had the spaghetti and meatballs, and I had the prawns with risotto. They were both terrific. We finished with the tiramisu, and it was to die for. Look, this place is pricey, and you are going to spend at least $50 a head including tip to eat here, and we were not even drinking, but the food and the service was excellent, and you definitely feel like you were in a very fancy place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.