About Il Terrazzo - The Phoenician

Savor nouveau Italian favorites in a family-friendly atmosphere; or enjoy a relaxing al fresco experience on the scenic patio. Select from a distinct yet assorted menu, highlighted by a hand-crafted bread service showcasing numerous artisan loaves, baked everyday on property.

Combine the contemporary with the traditional at Il Terrazzo’s Italian Market Sunday Brunch. Complete your table with a selection of premium beverages and spirits, from espresso to signature bellinis. The Phoenician’s award-winning wine program, features extraordinary vintages and boutique offerings from around the world with exceptional pairings available to accompany any dish.

6000 East Camelback
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Daily
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 6:30am-11am
Saturday-Sunday 7am-11am
Lunch
Monday-Saturday 11am-2pm
Sunday Italian Market Brunch 11am-2pm
Dinner
Tuesday-Saturday 5pm-9pm
Lounge
Sunday-Monday 11am-3pm
Tuesday-Saturday 11am-9pm






Cross Street:
Camelback Road and 64th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 423-2425

Website:
http://www.thephoenician.com/il-terrazzo/

Catering:
Please call for details 480.423.2406
The Phoenician is known for its lavish parties and spectacular events for all social occasions. We can help you create a event that will be remembered for years to come.

Parking Details:
For complimentary valet parking, follow the signs directing you to the Main Lobby entrance. Self-parking is also available in garage one located below the main building.

Public Transit:
Valley Metro transit schedule for Route 50 provides drop offs at the Camelback Road entrance.

Executive Chef:
Richard Boyer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

From an intimate, candlelit dinner for two on Camelback Mountain; to the customized stylings of a celebratory gathering within the well-appointed salons of our award-winning restaurants, The Phoenician private dining experience is as diverse as it is inspired.

Il Terrazzo - The Phoenician Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
See All
Scenic View (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Lunch was great, dinner wasn't as good and lacked in taste.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent Sunday brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful brunch, costly, but good quality. Not my first visit and I shall return again. Small portions, but a buffet so you can get more. Less waste by doing it in small portions. My only complaint is that the hotel charges for parking..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Ate here as a family with two young children - the service, especially with the kids, was excellent - and very impressive. High quality ingredients used.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good solid food and very good drinks. The setting is very nice and the staff did a very nice job. The food is not outstanding but very good atmosphere and nice place to be outside with friends and relatives.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent service and additional attention to requests for local activities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went for birthday brunch, would like to see the brunch food selections go back to level of pre 2008 economic dip, even if price needs to adjust. I love this location but remember the brunch in it's glory days, still good overall but not as great as it once was.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Short menu and some dishes not very well prepared. Staff is excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was fair. Restaurant is over priced. It's along ride from north scottsdale for an expensive medocure meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our reservation was for Sunday Brunch. The food was outstanding, but we were not greeted promptly by our server after we were seated. No excuse; the restaurant was 1/3 full. Also, food was not replenished in a timely manner. No shrimp after 3 attempts. At $49pp, that's just inexcusable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a good dinner, but very expensive even for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was good, just not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was rather poor, brought us our wrong dessert and incorrect bill. Food was mediocre at best. Check your bill before paying, likely will be over charged

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We love it here. This time we stopped by for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the flatbreads, soups and salads. Always a great meal. This time the service was off but that's not typical. Will definitely return. A favorite place of ours.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had Christmas dinner special menu and would like to return for their regular menu. The service was very competent and friendly. The bathrooms were immaculately clean and supplied with thick towels. It is an elegant restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We are at this restaurant for Christmas Day dinner. My kids ordered the French onion soup. It was extremely oily. My husband and I got the scallop appetizer which wasn't very good either. The salmon main course was salty and overdone. Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I thought it was highly overpriced for a Holiday buffet. Plus they added a 20% tip to bill for service when everything was do it yourself. I can see adding a tip, but 20% is usually for some kind of service, not buffet. I guess because it was Christmas, they thought no one would complain.
Overall experience, just fair.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Oysters poor, coffee poor, seafood and cheese excellent, outdoor stations too crowded.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent pasta dishes, cooked perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

All was amazing!!! Food, service, atmosphere!! Wonderful experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The service was great, the waiter very accommodating. The room was pleasant and quiet. The food was presented well, but could be improved with better seasoning. Overall my friends and I enjoyed our yearly Christmas get together 🎄🎄😁

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went to the buffet brunch on Sunday and it did not disappoint! We will be back soon for a visit!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We came for brunch and it was delicious. Love the Phoenician. We sat outside which was quiet and relaxing. View of the pool was nice and the servers were friendly. They had a great selection to choose from for brunch and my Bloody Mary didn't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Was an especially nice dinner becasue of the service and the

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Enjoyed brunch on the patio. Setting was great, service was on point, and the buffet was incredible. Great selection and of course tasted phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food and service were impeccable. Every item on the brunch looked appetizing. I selected items that had visual appeal and was not disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great location, decent to above average food for the price; service could be better considering the high-end nature of the Phoenician. Service issues - waiter somewhat inattentive. Restaurant wasn't busy so unsure why. His Assistant (water, bread, dipping sauce service guy) was sloppy. Dropped here and there, didn't care. But we'd eat here again for the location and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Phoenician was off the charts! The buffet was nothing short of amazing! The staff were cordial, the scenery perfect, and the chef and assistants were professional and very friendly. We will be back!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2016

just wanted to try the restaurant again after so many years; we used to have brunch there regularly with friends in the days that they still had a live band playing dance music during brunch. the menu then had many more items on it.
but this was just about what we liked, although it was rather quiet with so few people having brunch. we will be back occasionally and bring friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was impeccable. We lingered and so thoroughly enjoyed the brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went for brunch and the place (atmosphere) was great. The food was not great and extremely over priced for quality and service. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Unusually slow service for how empty the restaurant was (off season and middle of day). After being promptly seated, we waited for what felt an incredibly long time for water (mind it's Phoenix in the middle of summer!) and our server did not acknowledge our addition to her section although she walked by our table multiple times to continue servicing the tables on both sides of us. By the time our server came, we were ready to order drinks and appetizers and we expressed this to her; however, she clearly wanted us on her timetable. She told us that she would take our drink and first course order AFTER our water arrived and proceeded to focus on the type of water our table would like and walked away. Another 17 minutes later, she returned and at that point we decided to order all courses at once for fear of further delays and impact to our afternoon plans. Thankfully service improved when food-runners/bussers or other staff brought out the food and helped clear plates. I was disappointed in the service as I selected Il Terrazzo based on past experience. I was ready and willing to order much more than we did to celebrate my Dad's birthday but quickly realized that we needed to just get out of there-[It is important to note that we arrived early to our reso bc our flight landed early and we double checked with the hostess that it was ok for us to be seated-we were happy to wait in bar if your restaurant wasn't ready but the hostess said everything was ready.]

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful experience as always....Arliss is a wonderful host!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was amazing! My husband and I are Arizona natives and it was on his bucket list to stay at the resort. Our dinner was the icing in the cake. The ambiance and service was top notch! Thank you for the excellent memory. A bucket list item we will not soon forget.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2016

great brunch and fantastic value for your money...so many choices and what a spectacular view!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 29, 2016

My favorite part about the meal was the main course. I ordered the seabass which was seared to perfection.

My least favorite part was the service. Our waiter was less than accommodating and didn't offer much information when I asked him questions. I asked about one drink I had seen online in which he said was no longer available. I asked if he had any recommendations and he said that everything on the menu is really sweet and it's just what the supervisor comes up with, not him. I thought he could possibly try to give me insight to a good beverage but instead it felt like he was telling me drinks weren't worth ordering and placed the blame on his manager.

He also pushed us to order. I wasn't ready to order everything at once and he kept blaming it on the kitchen that we had to decide then.

He barely checked on us after that. His helper Curtis was far more accommodating and sincere and I much would have rather given him a tip.

We also got an appetizer and desert with our meal which were alright.

Overall, I was disappointed in spending almost $100 for a mediocre meal and service. I wish I had gone somewhere else and don't intend on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The attention to detail and service. Effort to please with a special treat for dessert for our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2016

This was our second and last visit to Il Terrazzo. The first course of corn bisque was served tepid (not hot) and the crab contained pieces of shell. The second course of pork chop was dry and the hickory smoke was overpowering and lasted until the wee hours near dawn. The seabass was overcooked and dry with the sauce incompatible and unpleasant. We recently returned from our seventh trip to Italy, so we are very familiar with the regional cuisine. This meal at Il Terrazzo was definitely not Italian. The dessert of crème brulee was served with sweet rainbow cake (not the cookies on the menu) and would be better with a sprinkling of fresh seasonal berries. The service can be described by the following: no soup spoon provided with the soup course, no knife with the pork chop, and our server was no where to be found. We had to ask another server for the knife and spoon (thank you SARAH for your swift and polite response). The Phoenician and its guests, especially us, deserve better food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.