About Il Terrazzo Carmine

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: (206) 467-7797

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (63)
Good for a Date (61)
Authentic (57)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Romantic (54)
Notable Wine List (47)
Business Meals (45)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Cozy (33)
Worth the Drive (28)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Historic (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Fun (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Casual (5)
People Watching (5)
Family Style (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

One of my favourite restaurants in Seattle.....awesome

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

It was such a lovely dining experience for my out of town business guest from CT! I also invited my manager to join us who had never been to Il Terrazzo before which surprised me being a Seattleite and who dines out often. He absolutely loved it and will be a returning regular. And I commit to dining with you more frequently. It has been probably 10 years since my last visit, but I never forgot how much I loved it!! Many thanks to our server, Joe W, for taking such good care of us!
Il Terrazzo is quite special!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

A true gem. Always accommodating with table or food requests.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great restaurant with beautiful ambience. Celebrating a friend's birthday and this was the perfect place to celebrate. Eggplant parmesan and antipasto platter were great appetizers. Pesto fettuccini with shrimp was the tasty second dish. Steak and Chilean sea bass for the entrees. Terrific bottle of wine with assistance form the wine steward. Dinner lasted over 3 hours and enjoyed every moment there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Salmon (w/Penne) was cooked perfectly. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Horrible horrible staff! One of the worst experiences ever! We spent almost 150$ and nobody cared about us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Waitress(Jessica) was attentive and outstanding. Food was disappointing. This restaurant should focus on smaller quantities and better quality! Veal piccata was huge portion but mediocre quality. Wine significantly overpriced. Tiramisu excellent.

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always our favorite. Great service and the atmosphere is the best. Our friends live in Bellevue and they prefer driving over to Seattle to eat at Il Terrazzos. The bolonaise is super!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had to wait awhile for our table and our food, but it was well worth it. The food and the wine were both outstanding - and get dessert!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A sublime meal and experience for my husband's birthday. We've been before and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My fiance and I dined there this past Friday night. It was a first time there for each of us. The quality of the food was surpassed only by the quality of the service. We will definitely go back and we will recommend it to all of our friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Il Terrazo is always special. We shared an excellent salad which was plated separately. The salad had the best goat cheese I've had: creamy and mild. The candied nuts were just lightly sweet, delicious. I had ravioli stuffed with seafood in a light sauce. The flavors were wonderful. My friend had linguini with clam sauce and was equally well pleased. We will return

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome! We hadn't been in a year. The only complaint was the parking. Construction has made it inconvenient.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great place! Didn't disappoint in any way. Loved the service and attention to detail.
The food was delicious and everything that we ordered met or exceeded expectations. I would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Carmine's is always warm and welcoming. They never disappoint. You can take as long as you like to enjoy your meal. And they will always try to accommodate your special requests. It is really nice to see a great restaurant survive in a very competitive Seattle food scene.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Just go and enjoy yourself. EVERYTHING is fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Old School Italian. Food good. Wine pricey on Italian side. Mostly locals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food is very high quality. The wine is extremely expensive. A very energetic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As always, a wonderful and complete experience. Old world charm and grace plus first rate food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of our favorites.....always a winner. We've been going for years.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food was OUTSTANDING.
The Service IMPECCABLE.
The Wine FANTASTIC.
The atmosphere EUPHORIC.

I CANNOT GET ENOUGH OF THIS PLACE.

Overall - this is such a great place. Never lets us down. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We went to for a birthday and it felt special and celebratory. The food here is outstanding. I think its the best Italian food in Seattle and some of best anywhere. We ate well, we drank good wine, and enjoyed the company. Each of us ordered something different so we had a large sampling of fish, meat, pasta and vegetables at our table. (I may have sampled more than others - but it all looked so good I had to ask for a bite.) The service is lovely and not intrusive. The pace of the meal was perfect. It is a boisterous and busy restaurant which gives privacy to any one speaker but also can be difficult to hear those sitting further away. The desserts were tasty and satisfying. I wish I could do it again tonight!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This was a business dinner. Food was excellent! Service was a little slow, but staff was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Best Italian ever! Hope to return soon - again & again -

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Unquestionably authentic Italian food that is delicious as well as elegant. For our appetizers we had such delights as; creamy burrata with acorn, spinach soffritti, and carpaccio di Mano. In these small bites Il Terrazzo Carmine sets up the quality of the freshest of ingredients and tells you a story about old fashioned Italian cuisine. Everything is handmade (artisanal) fresh with simplicity and ease and served promptly. Our next course consisted of salads; from the insalata Cesar to the Romaine Alla Griglia, all was a focus on freshness. Our main course; Cannelloni Fiorentina is what dreams are made of. Delicate sheets of egg pasta stuffed with veal, spinach and velvety ricotta cheese. Next: Penne Con Salmone is superb. The point of this dish is not the pasta (although it is beautifully cooked "al dente") but the sauce. It's so velvety and sufficiently lightly coat each penne and no more. The salmon is just cooked enough, that each bite is simply amazing. Next: Fettuccine Al Pesto Con Gamberi, (tossed with pesto and Gulf Prawns) then, Pesce Del Giorno (Halibut served with spaghetti ala garlic). The Halibut was so flakey with a smooth texture, very tender and tasted much like lobster. So good!!
We absolutely loved our Desserts; Red velvet cake, tiramisu and flourless chocolate cake.
An exceptional meal for a sublime dinner.❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were put in the corner at the bar with reservations with open table! At first we thought it was great then realized the bartender was our server, didn't make for the best service!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I do so love the feel and the service, so love going here generally. The 4 stars this time was due to my rigatoni bolognese which disappointed me. Also, the dining room is too loud for my limited hearing. However, sitting in the bar I could hear adequately. Always a treat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and prompt but not pushy. The food was excellent and well portioned.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Il Terrazzo consistently provides a large menu selection of very high quality and well prepared food items along with excellent service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Ambiance lovely, service and food good. Did not appreciate their policy of not writing separate bills. Our waiter kindly did it for us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Il Terrazzo never disappoints. Great food, service and quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food. Great service. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time at this location and they didn't let us down! It was Valentine's Day and they were busy but service was excellent. Never felt rushed and food was great!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Each course was amazing-crab buscetta, seafood ravioli and wild mushrooms, veal chop, etc.
Creative and delicious food.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Been over 20 years since I ate here; my mistake! Excellent service and all the dishes were well prepared. While somewhat 'standard' offerings, there was enough variety to please everyone.
Will be coming back soon to make up for my long absence!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good. My wife and I enjoyed 3 apps and 2 entrees. A few items were under salted, but beyond that very tasty. Olive oil they use is very good! Bread is awesome. Wine was reasonably priced and a broad selection. Service was attentive without being overbearing. I would say overall, over priced for the experience, but not out of line with other experiences we've had in Seattle. If you want a "foodie" experience, other Italian joints might be a better options, but we were satisfied upon leaving. They do have Valet which is nice because parking can be a problem (I wish we knew this ahead of time!)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very good and always on their game. My only comment is I feel the appetizer choices are well. Please bring back the smoked salmon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! Great food, superior service and a friendly dining atmosphere. Terrazo's is always consistantly predictable in a very good way.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful dinner experience. All food was delicious and prepared brilliantly. Our server Kristina was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My fiancé and I had an amazing meal, the service was perfect, there at all of the right times and never intrusive

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.