About Il Terrazzo Carmine

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: 2064677797x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Italian
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Seattle
2 More
Best Ambiance
Seattle
Italian
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (144)
Fit for Foodies (106)
Romantic (105)
See All
Notable Wine List (84)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Great for Lunch (51)
Good for Groups (50)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
877 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good Italian food. Very nice dining room ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Good Italian food. Very nice dining room decor. Friendly staff but not enough of them--very slow service. Don't go here if you get anxious waiting for your food or drinks. If you have time to go with the flow, the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I have been wanting to visit II terrazzo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have been wanting to visit II terrazzo for a while now. The restaurant atmosphere is great, and service was too. However, I wasn't blown away by the food. We got the halibut and linguine special. While everything was high Quality (cut of fish, homemade pasta) the seasoning was kind of bland. There wasn't a lot of flavor. It was a little underwhelming for the price. I would definitely give it another try.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great setting and Excellent Italian cuis ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great setting and Excellent Italian cuisine . We love the place and go there every time we visit Seattle. Our dinner's were excellent and served fresh and hot by a knowledgeable server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prosciutto and melon-- the greatest! Gre ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Prosciutto and melon-- the greatest! Great service, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently amazing. Highly recommend, ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Consistently amazing. Highly recommend, you just can't go wrong.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We felt the food and experience were fan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We felt the food and experience were fantastic for the price. We weren't completely blown away by everything, but the experience was definitely noteworthy enough that we will return in the future. We would recommend the spaghettini pasta, the duck, and the red velvet cake.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The service was slow and the server was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service was slow and the server was not knowledgeable. I have eaten here many times in the past and the staff and service is usually brisk and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Excellent menu. Food was outstanding, a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent menu. Food was outstanding, as was the service. Charming atmosphere . The wine list was excellent. The service was as good as it gets ... with great attention to our dining needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite Seattle Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our favorite Seattle Italian restaurant for 20 years!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Some of the best food in the city and gr ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Some of the best food in the city and great every visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carmine's is a gem. Delicious food with ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Carmine's is a gem. Delicious food with a casually elegant atmosphere. Service was first rate, as always. The restaurant was bustling & vibrant despite construction lot next door & the Monday night. I won't wait so long next time to return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, ambiance....all too notch ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food, service, ambiance....all too notch. Easy to see why it had 5 stars. Our waiter was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had another wonderful meal here. Good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had another wonderful meal here. Good service and wonderful food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very good dining experience. Food--gr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A very good dining experience. Food--great! Excellent service. Background noise a little much for our mature ears.

Tags: Romance, Special Occasions, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice to have a quiet, adult up-scale pla ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Nice to have a quiet, adult up-scale place to go for special occasions

Superb staff

You've maintained Carmine's standards

Sam sperry

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Depenably good. We are looking forward t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Depenably good. We are looking forward to the opening of their new eastside location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

All servers were personable, knowledgabl ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

All servers were personable, knowledgable and attentive.

Food was scrumptious.

I will definitely return and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

amazing, amazing, amazing - as always! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

amazing, amazing, amazing - as always! The service is astounding, the food is delicious, and you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our f ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our friends' anniversary. The staff was terrific, our lead from the wait staff, Paris, had great suggestions and provided outstanding service. Our dinner menu selections reminded us of being in Italy! Our foursome had a wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Terazzo never fails. We took Swiss v ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Il Terazzo never fails. We took Swiss visitors there to show off. Everything about it is over the top good. Of particular note is the service. Only in Europe have we experienced such professional wait staff. If you need something, it's there practically before you notice it and you never saw it coming. We love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was superb!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply unbelievable evening celebrating ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Simply unbelievable evening celebrating a good friends birthday. Appitizers were excellent. Then main course came. The halibut was cooked to perfection! Wait staff constantly checked in and were watchful about drinks and water.

Can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance - really good service as ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great ambiance - really good service as well. We went to celebrate my girlfriends birthday and she was well taken care of.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Typically a reliable Seattle establishme ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Typically a reliable Seattle establishment to bring business guests, my recent visit was terrible. Although the food was as expected, the service was lacking to the point where we had to continually flag down our server for simple requests; I.e. fork, drink order, missing salad, bill, etc. this caused a distracting and disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

A restaurant we can always count on for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

A restaurant we can always count on for excellent food, impecable service, and great ambiance...what more can one ask for ?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still miss Carmine but others are steppi ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Still miss Carmine but others are stepping in. I've been lunching or dining there for years - enjoyed the other location as well by the Arboretum years ago - food is authentic, not overly seasoned and I always appreciate linens. Keep up the good work - I look forward to the Eastside location when it opens.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Service was just phenomenal. Loved it. T ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Service was just phenomenal. Loved it. Thank you to everyone and especially to our server, Tim. He is an awesome guy that actually made our experience more memorable with our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an amazing experience. Great good ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was an amazing experience. Great good, great ambience, amazing customer service. Would go back any time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing dinner. We have missed really ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

An amazing dinner. We have missed really good Italian food since we moved back from southern Italy. Not anymore. Jackie, our server, was amazing and very knowledgeable. She listened to the dietary restrictions needed by a member of our party and relayed them perfectly to the kitchen to make the night a wonderful experience for all. Our wine was excellent and didn't break the bank. I highly recommend this for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an exceptional experience from th ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had an exceptional experience from the moment we were greeted at the front door! I just cannot say enough good things about this restaurant from the ambience to the service to the delicious food! Good. Stuff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Il Terrazzo Carmine back ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I have been to Il Terrazzo Carmine back in May and the food from appetizer to desert was outstanding however on this visit my halibut had outstanding flavor but the halibut was unfortunately over cooked in the thinner sections. The center was barely edible. It is sin to over cook halibut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful experience. We enjoye ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. We enjoyed the professional manner in which the staff handled themselves. Clearly they take this very seriously. We felt truly welcomed by each and every member of the staff with whom we interacted. The setting was terrific and the food was delicious. I cannot say enough nice things about this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was wonderful. I highly r ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The experience was wonderful. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I sent my clients to this restaurant; th ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I sent my clients to this restaurant; they loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An anniversary dinner for my parents. Th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

An anniversary dinner for my parents. The food was perfect and our waiter was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time here, went to celebrate a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our first time here, went to celebrate a birthday. Sat us at a VERY small table near steps to another section of the restaurant close to a window sill where extra silverware and cheese was kept, so kept getting servers and staff very close to and leaning across us. Rose on table was dying all brown and wrinkly. Gave complimentary dessert for birthday which was nice but told they ran out of candles. Hostess was friendly and we were seated promptly. Waiter was nice. The food and portion size was good, the tiramisu dessert was excellent, but everything else was tasty but not mind blowing. It felt expensive for what you got. The inside is nice and the atmosphere and ambiance was good. All in all,I am glad we tried it as we had heard a lot about it, but would not be desperate to go back or take out of town guests.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have been to Il Terrazzo Carmine many ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been to Il Terrazzo Carmine many times. I have never had a dish that disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fantastic and Parris was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was fantastic and Parris was phenomenal. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Il Terrazzo Carmine for my bi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went to Il Terrazzo Carmine for my birthday. The place was romantic and we were able to talk and hear each other. The service was attentive, but we felt rushed. The food came very fast and the waitress was too attentive to bring our plates away as soon as we finished. Although the food was very good, we finished dinner in less than 1 hour. I would have liked to spend more time there with my husband.

The table we got was by the window next to the entrance of the building, so we have people in and out all the time. At one point we had people staring at us through the window until I asked the waiter to lower the blind.

The food was superb, the drinks were a bit on the small portion side. It would have been nice if we had longer time to experience it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.