About Il Terrazzo Carmine

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way (dinner only).

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Good for a Date (58)
Romantic (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Notable Wine List (44)
Authentic (40)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Business Meals (36)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Cozy (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for Groups (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fun (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

This restaurant is always a good. Time. We started with a nice crab bruschetta with good local crabmeat . Excellent Ceasar salad.

The venison ravioli is hard to beat, but we also had a crispy chicken piccata and a beautiful duck special. An all-around fun time,

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice place with great staff and an accommodating kitchen for gluten free options.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful place: food and service great and consistent. Value.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

This is such a lovely restaurant and the service is impeccable. I enjoy taking clients, prospects and guests to Il Terrazzo for its ambiance and "class!" We both truly enjoyed our seafood entrees - hers with pasta and mine in a tasty risotto. Thank you again for this Seattle jewel.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Day old bread too hard to eat, prosciutto and melon with zero presentation;literally 4 prices of prosciutto thrown on a plate next to some melon cubes...come on..we expect a little effort for the price tag! Our server was mildly friendly but we got the feeling she wasn't thrilled to be at work. Unfortunately, this restaurant has gone downhill and we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Always top notch service, food never disappoints. My go to choice for special guests

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We always find the food, service and ambiance to be amazing. We are regulars, sometimes not as often as we like. Our favorite special table is #60. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent food, one of the prettiest restaurants I've seen. Service was professional and efficient. Nice to see service people in something other than jean and tshirts.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This is the best lunch menu in town coupled with superb service. Can't be beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had a lovely evening at Il Terrazzo Carmine.
The service was top notch, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was luxuriously warm.
I will return soon for another memorable evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I'm frankly surprised this place is so highly rated. $16 for a plate of antipasto that consisted of roasted carrots, broccoli, white beans, and a few pieces of prosciutto. I've never been to any restaurant where the appetizer sampler plate HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH ANY APPETIZER LISTED ON THE MENU. Rigatoni bolognese was passable but not special. Ambiance is jarring because of the traditional decor contrasted against the modern buildings seen outside of the windows. I felt bad bringing my husband here for his birthday. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 9, 2017

As always excellent in every way. Our favorite Italian eatery

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

fabulous Italian food a 4 minute walk to galleries, <10 min walk to football/soccer and baseball stadiums.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Always fabulous service and food, terrific ambiance

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Always fabulous at Carmine's. Food and service very special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 6, 2017

As always this restaurant is excellent, the food is always fantastic and the service is equal to the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great food, Great service, Great ambiance. Solid wine list.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Our dinner -- grandmother, mother and grandchild -- wasn't really a "special occasion" but something about the lovely environment and good food turned it into one. Delightful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Absolutely superb !!! Great food, super service, reasonably price, complimentary valet parking. Even free tiramisu with candle for birthday. So thoughtful. Wine is a bit pricey. But this is my favorite Italian restaurant. The quality remains extremely high even after the founder Carmine past away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

You know your in a very good restaurant when whatever you order and taste is exceptional. Wonderful Italian food to another level of excellence. A definite my try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Tremendous meal and service. We were treated quite well and would certainly recommend this fine dining establishment to all.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in what appears to be an office building, but when you get past the busy bar with a modern fire pit on the sidewalk patio and enter into this charming restaurant, you feel like you are in Tuscany. The wood beams, the iron chandeliers, the tablecloths and floral china all make you feel like you are in someone's family dining room. Each table had a fresh flower in a vase to greet the next diner. The wine menu is extensive. We had the Parmigian Di Melanzane for a starter - eggplant baked with tomato sauce and fresh mozzarella - delicious. The tomato basil soup was perfectly seasoned served piping hot. For the entree, we had the Scaloppine Di Vitello Al Limone & Capperi - oh, so good with just the right amount of lemon and capers. The special of the night was veal with rissoto - the meat was perfectly prepared and so tender - a knife was not needed. We enjoyed this amazing dinner so much - the tastes, the romantic atmosphere, the wine, and couldn't wait for the dessert tray. We had a minor hiccup with our server, but the General Manager, Nick, was quick to rectify the situation and make sure we didn't lose that great vibe that we had enjoyed all evening. Nick is such a great manager and so personable - we only wish that we lived in Seattle to visit this family owned restaurant again and again. We will tell our friends and colleagues to make sure Il Terazzo Carmine is on their lists of "not to be missed" experiences while in Seattle. Thanks, Nick, for such a memorable evening - you are a true professional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I made a boo boo by inadvertently booking my on-line dinner reservations for the wrong night...Ugh.
Upon arrival on the correct night the wonderful hostess cheerily said "let's see what we can do".
She stared at the clearly full restaurant and creatively created a wonderful seating arrangement.
And...the food and service was exquisite.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. Is a little pricey especially the wine list though it is extensive. Would highly recommend for a special occasion. It was my wife's birthday and
she thought it was special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Not only was the food delicious but our server Jackie ran our back pack out to our car when she realized we had left it!! We had already started to drive away. We would have been very upset to have not gotten it back!
She went above and beyond!!! The atmosphere was also beautiful. Highly recommend this restaurant!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Outstanding Food and Service

We met my wife's cousin (who she hadn't seen in 30 years) and her husband for Friday night dinner here while I was in Seattle on business. I had eaten here previously for a business dinner on another trip to Seattle so I picked the restaurant for this get together. They came over from Bainbridge Island -- excited to eat at this restaurant too as it was their 27th wedding anniversary the next night; so it was an early celebration for them.
Everyone was looking forward to it. And it ended up being fabulous.

From the burrata and risotto appetizers to our entrees (rigatoni Bolognese, sautéed veal with lemon and capers, grilled veal chop and king salmon) everything was cooked perfectly. There wasn't a speck of food left on any plate.

The bottle of Willamette Valley pinot noir we selected was exquisite.

And service was truly outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Was with a party of 4 and we ordered a variety of things. everything was very well executed with good presentation and flavor. Service was exceptionally good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Il Terrazzo provides the most consistent dining experience of any upscale restaurants in Seattle. Our appetizer of wild mushrooms over creamy polenta was simply delicious. Our main dishes of halibut with parsnip purée and black rice, and risotto with lobster tail were excellent. Our server was attentive without being obtrusive. The restaurant had been redone with new drapery and looked elegant. We were seated right away even though we were 20 min early. Free valet parking was great. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I had another great lunch here and enjoy the risotto, always best in Seattle.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Five stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Best Italian food in the City. Eggplant appetizer is a must.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I think it's a great restaruant. Wonderful ambience and style. Great service and food. Go every time I'm in Seattle and recommend other do too.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

A lovely, experience, with wonderful food, as always! We often plan dinner at Il Terrazzo Carmine for special occasions as well as for business and client lunches.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

An out of the way Italian restaurant in Pioneer Square neighborhood. I little more fancy, expensive, and pretentious than some of the other restaurants around it. The small portions of the pasta are a good sized portion, even if the waiter calls them 'appetizer' portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The restaurant is very attractive. We were greeted immediately upon entering and seated right away. Our server was pleasant and very knowledgeable about menu items.

The wine list is exceptional, especially with Italian wines. We chose a Bolgheri, which are not frequently seen on restaurant wine lists.

I chose the steak which was a strip and cooked perfectly medium rare and had excellent flavor. My wife had Canneloni which was recommended by the server as a better choice than Gnocci and it proved to be excellent.

All in all, it was a wonderful meal. The only slight negative is the expense, but still it was a pretty good value.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This was a delicious experience. I had a wonderful veal piccata and my son had a pasta with the bolognase sauce. Everything was great! Service was also wonderful with a good wine recommendation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Wonderful food and amazing service! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Love Carmine's. My only complaint was we didn't get a great table. We asked to move but the open table had been requested and was soon filled. Everything else was perfect. As usual.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful place for a romantic dinner. Food and service was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Delicious and authentic Italian food, outstanding service and a wonderful ambiance. Definitely worth the price and a great place for a special occasion. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.