About Il Terrazzo Carmine

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: 2064677797x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Il Terrazzo Carmine, Seattle, WA
Il Terrazzo Carmine, Seattle, WA
Il Terrazzo Carmine, Seattle, WA
Il Terrazzo Carmine, Seattle, WA
Il Terrazzo Carmine, Seattle, WA
Il Terrazzo Carmine, Seattle, WA
Il Terrazzo Carmine, Seattle, WA
Il Terrazzo Carmine, Seattle, WA
Il Terrazzo Carmine, Seattle, WA
Il Terrazzo Carmine, Seattle, WA
Il Terrazzo Carmine, Seattle, WA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle
Best Service
Seattle
Italian
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (61)
Romantic (52)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Notable Wine List (48)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Authentic (37)
Business Meals (30)
Great for Lunch (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Cozy (19)
Local Ingredients (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Historic (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (4)
Casual (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
965 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous food in a comfortable, elegant ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous food in a comfortable, elegant room. The service is very attentive and knowledgeable. The wine list is excellent particularly at the high end. All in all a great place for a special meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Friendly, unobtrusive staff, great wine ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Friendly, unobtrusive staff, great wine list, delicious food combine to make this one of Seattle's best restaurants. The risotto is always amazing as well. It is a pricey place, for sure, but worth the money, every time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This remains one of the most elegant pla ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This remains one of the most elegant places in downtown Seattle. Always a special occasion when I come here. The antipasti plate was incredible and the capellini de mare was so lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service. Our waiter he ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fabulous food and service. Our waiter helped me pick out a bottle of wine that was perfect. My date said it was the best wine she had ever had. It was a memorable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love our dining experience at ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We always love our dining experience at Il Terrazzo Carmine and this visit was as expected. Our entrées were fabulous and service was excellent. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our #1 restaurant in Seattle. E ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This is our #1 restaurant in Seattle. Excellent, consistent great food and service. We were celebrating our 32nd wedding anniversary and they truly make the experience special. Ian was welcoming and Avi S. Provided great service. Food presentation and taste fantastic. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most amazing Gnocchi I have ever had ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The most amazing Gnocchi I have ever had! The lobster ravioli was not far behind. Highly recommend Il Terrazzo Carmine if you are in Seattle

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter Eric was wonderful. I was en ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our waiter Eric was wonderful. I was entertaining clients and the whole experience was fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was bland. I had halibut which was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was bland. I had halibut which was baked plain with no interest in spices or sauce to enhance flavor. This is an overrated restaurant unless you like plain food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We have been dining here for decades. Up ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We have been dining here for decades. Up till now it was always close to perfect. This time the food took much to long to come out. We are hoping this is not because they are distracted by the opening of Carmines in Bellevue. Perhaps working in new chefs and wait staff. Hope so as this is by far our favorite restaurant in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always enjoy ll Terrazzo Maybe the best ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Always enjoy ll Terrazzo

Maybe the best restaurant in Seattle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was recommended to me by ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend, so we decided to try it out while visiting Seattle. Loved the ambiance. Very charming and comfortable feeling. One of our group had recently had leg surgery and they really accommodated us on where to put our party of 5 so he could be as comfortable as possible. It was so nice to see they had an Orvieto Italy wine on the menu as it is one of my favorite places in Italy. The Caesar salad was truly the best one I have ever had! We all loved our dinners and enjoyed the desserts as well. Can't wait to come back again! Ciao!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to this highly rated Italian ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First visit to this highly rated Italian restaurant. I asked the waitress to recommend one of two entrees I was considering. I ordered the one she recommended. The meal arrived and it was the wrong item. Since I did not want to create a problem with the others at our table, I accepted it.

She apologized, but made no effort to correct the problem or issue some kind of credit for the wrong meal. I expected a much higher level of service in this type of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

This place is our go-to for ANYTHING spe ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This place is our go-to for ANYTHING special, and truth be told we create reasons to enjoy Il Terrazzo as much as possible. The people add to the experience - from the ownership (entire family) right down the attentive water/bread staff the entire product is bundled and delivers without exception every time.

The food- repeatedly amazing and the professional wait staff is comfortable with our many variations (special requests for slight entree modifications etc.).

Never wonder with the place...it is consistently right on target.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buonissimo! We have been coming here fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Buonissimo! We have been coming here for many years and have always had superb food and service. BEing Italian it is wonderful to find authentic Italian cuisine!

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best of dining in Seattle We ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is the best of dining in Seattle West of NYC. I love how you feel wanted and not an accessory or table filler. It took me forever to find you and finally eat there but now that I have I'll return again and again. Please don't go away!

Tags: Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best in Seattle for fine Italian.

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The best in Seattle for fine Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our waiter, was the bartender and wine s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 1, 2016

our waiter, was the bartender and wine steward.

he was terrific

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always such a pleasure to be in that bea ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Always such a pleasure to be in that beautiful room. Amazing service, delicious food, warm welcome, deep wine cellar — a great spot, always!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful spot for a romantic dinner dat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful spot for a romantic dinner date, excellent wine list, food selection and great atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've ever had. Our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. Our server was impeccable

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner! Outstandi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner! Outstanding service too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fabulous as always. Paris, our ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was fabulous as always. Paris, our favorite waiter, served us and will be moving. We'll go back just to see him before he leaves!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Halibut was dry. Service was not attent ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Halibut was dry. Service was not attentive. The rest of the meal was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was fabulous...as always! Th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Everything was fabulous...as always! This restaurant is one of my favorites in Seattle!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I look forward to visiting their new Bel ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I look forward to visiting their new Bellevue location

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and a very professional w ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fantastic food and a very professional waiter (Joe) made for a very enjoyable dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We miss Carmine, but the great food, won ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We miss Carmine, but the great food, wonderful service, and outstanding ambience still lives on. Service was impeccable. Food was filled with the classics, new takes on the classics, and some new dishes all perfectly cooked and well presented. You feel like you have been transported to Italy.

Tags: Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food ,wine and service. Very a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food ,wine and service. Very attentive staff. Knowledgable about the menu and the wine. One of our party has food allergies and they were very accommodating .

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been long-time diners at Il Terr ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have been long-time diners at Il Terrazzo. Over the years, it has proven itself to be consistently great, with service that is excellent. Our last two visits, in a 4 month period, were very disappointing. The menu is basically the same, but the preparation is far inferior to how we remember it. One favorite dish was almost unrecognizable to us. The service staff seems to be the same, and they are still trying to provide top-notch service, but they all seemed to be much busier than normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

It was a very good all around experience ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was a very good all around experience. Very good wine list, excellent cocktails and a very good server. The veal was excellent!! Look forward to another visit soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a pleasure to dine at Il Terazzo. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Il Terazzo. Everything is excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitstaff and service overall was excell ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Waitstaff and service overall was excellent! Food was great and the ambience is warm, but elegant. Great restaurant for a special celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful restaurant with nice ambience ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delightful restaurant with nice ambience. All of the food was wonderful. Two of us had daily specials - halibut and veal rib. The other had the duck. The sides were nicely paired with meat/fish. Badiola house wine was excellent for the price. Ryan was attentive and gave great suggestions. I have already recommendation the restaurant to others.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Iconic Seattle restaurant that seems to ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Iconic Seattle restaurant that seems to stand the test of time. I never grow tired of this place.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a sentimental dinner. We are ol ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

This was a sentimental dinner. We are older, and I remember Carmine's from the old days on Post Alley...spacious, quiet, serene, impeccable service and the food!!! Sadly, those days are long gone, except for the competent staff, though they are rushed dealing with overcrowded tables, and a vey high level of noise from a young crowd, mostly, dressed for a street scene, rhough there was no game in the area that day or evening. The veal was perfect, at least.

So, if you are 20- or 30-something and used to yelling at a dinner out, go...

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Always delivers, a classic. Love having ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Always delivers, a classic. Love having something that you can always count on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I met at Il Terrazzo Carm ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2016

My husband and I met at Il Terrazzo Carmine for our anniversary dinner and it was our first time eating there. We had the perfect italian mobster type table - with our back to the wall - able to see the front entrance. There was a sweet hand-written card on the table wishing us a Happy Anniversary. When my husband opened the present that I got him right away - our waiter was there to grab the box and wrapping in perfect timing.

Oh the meal---the wine was divine, the sauteed spinach I chose for a starter - perfection. I had the Linguine a la Vongole and being italian, I can tell you, this was the real deal. Simply beautiful.

They even threw in the best Tiramisu on them. What a meal! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were with some incredibly difficult p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were with some incredibly difficult people. Our waiter was the best and handled them beautifully.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific food, service and ambience. I'v ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Terrific food, service and ambience. I've been wanting to try this Seattle restaurant gem for years and am glad to have finally done so. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.