About Il Terrazzo Carmine

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: (206) 467-7797

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us for Mothers Day at Il Terrazzo Carmine/ Carmines Bellevue. Celebrate your mother with Seattle's finest Italian food.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Good for a Date (57)
Romantic (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Authentic (54)
Business Meals (46)
Notable Wine List (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Cozy (32)
Worth the Drive (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for Groups (19)
Historic (18)
Fun (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Seasonal (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Casual (5)
Family Style (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

fantastic food and very attentive service. handy valet parking, too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, Carmine's food, service and ambiance was outstanding. My friend and I both had the pesto pasta, which was rich and fresh, with just the right balance of flavors. I eat at Carmine's twice per month, on average and I have always been delighted with every aspect of this fine restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Il Terrazzo Carmine is one of the best restaurants in the Pacific NW , the best Italian restaurant in the Pacific NW, and possibly the best in the US west of the North East. And with all of that, it is a very good value for money.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nicely done upscale old school Italian. Classic pasta dishes like del mare were well prepared, and quite tasty. Also, the carpaccio was very nice, using strip instead of tenderloin for more flavor. Service was also quite good. Overall, solid but not quite as special as one might expect from the reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was fresh and authentic. Presented nicely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We all ordered something different and all the dishes were fantastic. So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I thought this would be a great Italian restaurant with 5 stars on Open TAble. However we thought it was just OK seafood. Most of the menu was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The quality of the food and experience seems to be declining at Il Terrazzo Carmine. I have eaten here a number of times, but the last 2-3 times have just been "off". The food, while still decent, is not as good as it had been. The service, while still reasonable, wasn't as attentive or comfortable as it had been. I wonder if this may have something to do with their expansion to Bellevue, possibly distributing their experienced staff between the two restaurants?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The service and servers were excellent as was the food and dining experience overall!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We had a spectacular evening! The food, atmosphere and company combined with just the right amount of service makes for an excellent experience. One of my Seattle favorites for many years. Big fan. :-)

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I was surprised that my lamb chops came to our table very rare when I asked them for medium. I didn't hesitate for a second to ask them to be returned to the grill. I thought the server should have preempted that experience. Over all, the service wasn't up to the usual standards. The server remove plates from some guest before others were finished eating, fork in mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was my first time at this restaurant and was pleasantly surprised. The ambiance was very nice. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The menu was good and liked that they offered both large and small plates. Overall, it was very pleasant experience and I would definitely come back and recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Fantastic service, ambiance and food at an affordable price!

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Did a double date here, lots of fun! Great seafood items. I ordered a mixed pasta plate, and they switched it to a cream sauce without a problem. Our waiter was very engaging, and checked on us often. My first time there, but one of our party said that the restaurant is iconic.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always fabulous. This is my "go to" restaurant and never disappoints

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Loved it, the free valet was nice and they had my car waiting when I got outside. My party of two was seated in a back corner which kept us away from the larger noisier tables. Otherwise, I might have rated the noise level as moderate.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Elegant space, polished and friendly waitstaff, excellent menu, perfect place for a business lunch when you want to impress as well as have a good conversation. Memorable, delicious food. New favorite!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We had not been to Il Terrazzo Carmine for a year or so and had forgotten how satisfying an experience it can be. The setting is restful and restrained, the noise level quiet to moderate, the service attentive and knowledgeable and the food terrific. If you love beautifully cooked and presented traditional Italian fare, there is not a better place in town. I asked our waiter to tell the chef to go easy on the salt and that is what happened. Very good selection of Italian wines as you would expect. We will be going back soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Our Server was exceptional and very attentive to our needs. The food was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Service was wonderful.
Will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our dinner at Il Terazzo Carmine was for a special occasion (birthday) and it was a great fit for the night. Everything about the meal was excellent: I had likely the smoothest Manhattan I've ever had; the wait staff was attentive but subtle; the food was wonderful; and they made a nice birthday celebration for my wife. I'd been several years ago, and I'd forgotten how nice this restaurant is. I recommend the restaurant for any fine dining occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Old school class all the way! Great food and service on the higher end. Check out the companion bar Intermizzo Carmine next door for great drinks and small plates.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 22, 2017

One of my favourite restaurants in Seattle.....awesome

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

It was such a lovely dining experience for my out of town business guest from CT! I also invited my manager to join us who had never been to Il Terrazzo before which surprised me being a Seattleite and who dines out often. He absolutely loved it and will be a returning regular. And I commit to dining with you more frequently. It has been probably 10 years since my last visit, but I never forgot how much I loved it!! Many thanks to our server, Joe W, for taking such good care of us!
Il Terrazzo is quite special!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

A true gem. Always accommodating with table or food requests.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great restaurant with beautiful ambience. Celebrating a friend's birthday and this was the perfect place to celebrate. Eggplant parmesan and antipasto platter were great appetizers. Pesto fettuccini with shrimp was the tasty second dish. Steak and Chilean sea bass for the entrees. Terrific bottle of wine with assistance form the wine steward. Dinner lasted over 3 hours and enjoyed every moment there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Salmon (w/Penne) was cooked perfectly. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Horrible horrible staff! One of the worst experiences ever! We spent almost 150$ and nobody cared about us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Waitress(Jessica) was attentive and outstanding. Food was disappointing. This restaurant should focus on smaller quantities and better quality! Veal piccata was huge portion but mediocre quality. Wine significantly overpriced. Tiramisu excellent.

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always our favorite. Great service and the atmosphere is the best. Our friends live in Bellevue and they prefer driving over to Seattle to eat at Il Terrazzos. The bolonaise is super!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had to wait awhile for our table and our food, but it was well worth it. The food and the wine were both outstanding - and get dessert!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A sublime meal and experience for my husband's birthday. We've been before and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My fiance and I dined there this past Friday night. It was a first time there for each of us. The quality of the food was surpassed only by the quality of the service. We will definitely go back and we will recommend it to all of our friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Il Terrazo is always special. We shared an excellent salad which was plated separately. The salad had the best goat cheese I've had: creamy and mild. The candied nuts were just lightly sweet, delicious. I had ravioli stuffed with seafood in a light sauce. The flavors were wonderful. My friend had linguini with clam sauce and was equally well pleased. We will return

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome! We hadn't been in a year. The only complaint was the parking. Construction has made it inconvenient.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great place! Didn't disappoint in any way. Loved the service and attention to detail.
The food was delicious and everything that we ordered met or exceeded expectations. I would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Carmine's is always warm and welcoming. They never disappoint. You can take as long as you like to enjoy your meal. And they will always try to accommodate your special requests. It is really nice to see a great restaurant survive in a very competitive Seattle food scene.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Just go and enjoy yourself. EVERYTHING is fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Old School Italian. Food good. Wine pricey on Italian side. Mostly locals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food is very high quality. The wine is extremely expensive. A very energetic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.