About Il Terrazzo Carmine

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: (206) 467-7797

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Romantic (47)
Authentic (46)
Notable Wine List (46)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Business Meals (30)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Cozy (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Historic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Open Kitchen (7)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was a mid day choice to bring out of tow ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Was a mid day choice to bring out of town guests. A great Pick! Well liked by all and the evening was a success. Also dined here with my wife on New Yrs Eve... and WILL be back again. very consistent quality service and food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful and Eric our server was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

It was wonderful and Eric our server was amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of us had the Sea bass and loved it. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

One of us had the Sea bass and loved it. Very nicely prepared. And one of us had a birthday and the special dessert was very welcome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Eric Reid was fabulous. He ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server, Eric Reid was fabulous. He explained all the options of food and wine pairings.

His suggestions were spot on!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Web going here since 1988. Amazing food, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Web going here since 1988. Amazing food, employees make u feel welcome. Love this place....

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly respectful staff, great atmosph ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Friendly respectful staff, great atmosphere. It couldn't get much better. Complimentary valet with dinner. My only gripe $25 cork fee

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is a little hard to find ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This restaurant is a little hard to find, as it's tucked into the back of a building. What we really liked was the fact that they reserved the exact table that we asked for. The service was also exemplary. Our waitress was good, although we ended up having to pour most of our own wine. It's a busy place. The busboy was amazing - always there to refill our water glasses. And at the end of the night one of the staff (may have been a manager) stood outside in the freezing cold for 5-10 minutes just to get us a cab. The only thing we were a little disappointed in was the food itself. I had the Pasta Vongole, which was just so-so. They certainly didn't skimp on the clams, though, which was much appreciated. My husband had the Bolognese sauce, which was also just okay. I appetizer was delicious, though, which was the spinach with garlic. I would recommend this. The only other downfall was that you had to go outside to the building lobby to use the washrooms. The ladies' washroom had only 2 or 3 stalls and there was a line-up. I was behind a girl who had come in off the street to use the washroom and was pulling stuff out of a knapsack. Not only are they open to the general public, but they are also shared with another restaurant that is off of the same lobby. We still enjoyed our dinner, regardless.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant was listed on Zagat. It ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This restaurant was listed on Zagat. It was absolutely wonderful. The service was attentive but not obtrusive, the food was excellent, wine listed extensive and the environment lovely. I would rate our experience as a 5. It was so good that we went back and had lunch the next day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Carmines never disappoints - it's one of ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Carmines never disappoints - it's one of my few always go to places

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fabulous. Quality and service is outstan ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 10, 2017

fabulous. Quality and service is outstanding year after year

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, , Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really just a terrific meal at reasonab ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Really just a terrific meal at reasonable price .

We dined with a group of 8. Each meal and each appetizer was great.

Meals came out together hot ,fast and delicious .

Wine list was extensive with great values and recommendations .

Beautiful dining area well appointed .Felt like we were in a Florence restaurant .

This will be on my regular list when visiting Seattle

Tags: Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to lunch at Carmine's with a clie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I went to lunch at Carmine's with

a client. We requested a quite table

and we're seated in a great spot

Our service was outstanding

The food came out quickly despite being very busy

We shared the sautéed calamari which was really good

My client has the veal and thought it was perfect

I had the fish special, the sole delicious!

I will return

Chris E

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. I ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food and service were excellent. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Expect to pay a healthy price for fine f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Expect to pay a healthy price for fine food, excellent service, and warm atmosphere. The occasion was a very special anniversary dinner and Il Terrazzo Carmine proved a worthy choice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was good, but not great. The ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was good, but not great. The biggest disappointment was the service, the service provider made no effort to connect with us and tell us about the dishes and not sure we even ever got a smile. However my friend that we were visiting told us that the other location was exceptional. Next time we may try that one and get a more rewarding experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Fabulous all around!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely excellent service, could not ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely excellent service, could not have been better. Seating for 5 was prompt and menu

selection was perfect with lots of options for a variety of tastes. Meals delivered in unison and

all were delicious (veal, salmon, salads, soup, desserts, wine and cocktails). Very attractive dining room. Welcoming staff at every level. A very enjoyable evening thanks to a very knowledgeable and an excellent kitchen.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We never regret going to Carmine's. Thi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We never regret going to Carmine's. This time was no exception. Starting with the greeting at the entrance and continuing through the whole evening, the experience was wonderful: food, service, ambiance, background noise (not too much, not too little), wine list, desert, etc.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting. Can't wait to try th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Beautiful setting. Can't wait to try the Bellevue location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Italian food and wine in nice atmo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great Italian food and wine in nice atmosphere. (close to 50 characters)

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and great food!

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved it! Even my son, who hates goin ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We loved it! Even my son, who hates going out to dinner, was impressed. The service is impeccable and the food was wonderful. And love that they have such great wine options by the glass. Great experience and we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The eggplant parmigiana is the finest I ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The eggplant parmigiana is the finest I have ever tasted. Worth the price of admission alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A classic and charmingly formal dining e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A classic and charmingly formal dining experience in a secret location. This is no hipster spot—you are more likely to run into the mayor or head's of corporations. The decor hasn't been touched in decades since rustic country was a thing, but it's okay because the superb service style is also from that time with attentive, charming waiters in white jackets, proper coursing and dessert trays. A favorite for a special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My husband and I had a festive and very ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My husband and I had a festive and very tasty holiday lunch. It was great fun to return to this long standing and outstanding restaurant. The food and wine menu were excellent. We both had very tasty meals that were well prepared and we have very high standards. The waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine list and helped us with our final selection - a great one. We would both recommend and return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner!!! Excellent service from J ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great dinner!!! Excellent service from Jackie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was from the Czech Republic a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our server was from the Czech Republic and was super. Helped with selections as well as wine. The sea bass was excellent as was the veal piccata. No inexpensive but well worth the cost.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I have celebrated our annive ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My wife and I have celebrated our anniversary at Il Terrazzo for the past 30 years. We were concerned that the quality would fall off after Carmine's untimely death, but if anything it has gotten better. The service on this occasion was possibly the best we have ever experienced at this restaurant. As usual, the rack of lamb was exquisite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was really good, try their oliv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food was really good, try their olive oil with bread (they don't bring it out unless you ask for it I think). I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Again, a wonderful experience from start ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Again, a wonderful experience from start to finish. Great ambiance, food and service. Quickly becoming our go-to Italian dining experience in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was amazing and the price was ve ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was amazing and the price was very reasonable for the quality of the food and waitstaff.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious risotto with mushrooms and wil ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Delicious risotto with mushrooms and wild boar; fish of the day was excellent as well. Perennial favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always perfect service and food. Their ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always perfect service and food. Their veal scallopini has no equal.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A terrific place to have dinner with fri ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A terrific place to have dinner with friends and family over the holidays. Exceptional service and a happy, bustling atmosphere!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went before the football game and wer ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We went before the football game and were able to have a relaxing meal, good food great service and we made it to the game on time. There were a lot of other fans there so it was a bit noisy.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was excellent, but the food ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The service was excellent, but the food was just OK. I ordered the veal special and it arrived less than hot, consisted of only two small pieces, and the sauce was disappointingly bland. The $45 cost was anything but special. My wife was happier with her duck - but it was a bit tough and again, the sauce was just so-so. We have heard wonderful things about the restaurant - so maybe it was an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

As always first class service, attention ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 14, 2016

As always first class service, attention to detail and food preparation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We made a request for a quiet table and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We made a request for a quiet table and they honored that which we were very greatful for.

We go there as a group about 4-5 times a year. Love the food and the excellent service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Terrazzo Carmine has been of my all t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Il Terrazzo Carmine has been of my all time favorite restaurants in Seattle...it has it all, elegance, authenticity, ambience and outrageously fabulous food. From authentic antipasto to the best tiramisu, the preparation, taste, and variety of delectable sister amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.