Il Terrazzo Carmine

4.8
1509 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(206) 467-7797
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Juan Vega
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Beginning December 11th, parking services will be relocated to the 450 King Street parking garage. The entrance is located near the corner of King Street & Alaskan Way. This will NOT be a curbside service, and guests can drop off their vehicles at the valet station on the first floor of the parking garage.
Valet service for our dinner guests will begin at 4:30 and is complimentary for up to 4 hours with validation. Guests parking before this time will be subject to public parking rates.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

What 1509 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

If you're looking for the perfect restaurant, Carmine's is it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

As always, the food was exquisite and the service perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Food always of highest quality standards and can’t say enough about our waiter Modi

Will request his section all all future reservations .

Valued employee and hope he is well compensated .

Regards
Bob and Bonnie Hughes

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Excellent food and service as usual!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Always reliable as one of the pillars of Seattle fine dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Outstanding as always. The benchmark to which others are compared and mostly fail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

expensive but worth it. back corner was loud. wonderful atmosphere though, delicious food, everything ordered was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Outstanding as usual for over 20 years. Plus they forgot to put the tip on the card. Winner, winner great Italian Veal dinner on my Birthday.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Business trip. Very nice experience. Short on vegetarian options on the menu, so may not bring vegetarian wife. Negotiating changes in recipes with waiters is not always a pleasant experience. But great location decor and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Birthday dinner was wonderful

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Our server was very attentive and helpful. My husband's meal was better than mine, but overall, food was good. I really enjoyed my salad (grilled romaine).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We went for my wife's birthday and had a spectacular time. The only thing better than the food was the service. Plus, we made friends with the table next to us (celebrating their anniversary). A romantic and fun evening all around lubricated by discrete service and quality food in a delightful ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

I've been coming to Carmine's since it first opened. It never disappoints!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

30th anniversary. They were gracious and made an effort to help us celebrate. Great service. Beautiful dining room

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The waitress was in a hurry. They should not accept late reservations if they are going to rush us out. We left saying goodbye to the kitchen staff. After paying $500 for a meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

An exceptional true Italian evening. This is not the omnipresent pasta house, but rAther a wonderful fine dining experience. This features wonderful cuisine at every course. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We had the king salmon with risotto with a side of spinach. Kathy was our server and she gave to us exemplary service. We loved the whole experience. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Friend gave us a gift card otherwise I may have never discovered this treasure of a restaurant! We loved it! We loved our server and food. Definitely going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

One of our favorites in Seattle. Great everything!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Second time here. Food is wonderful Italian gourmet. Superb wine list. Pricey, but not not more than comparable restraunts (El Gaucho, Canlis, etc).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Best meal I’ve had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Consistently Excellent! Wild Salmon entree is one of the best in the nation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

The food, staff ,and ambiance was amazing! We left completely satisfied.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Il Terrazzo strikes the perfect balance between clean, sophisticated flavors and relaxed, classy atmosphere. The staff brings a friendly professionalism with each encounter. The lunch made for an excellent business meeting. I look forward to a romantic evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Our go to restaurant for any special occasion, Birthday, Anniversary or special place to go with friends.
Been a favorite for two plus decades and it remains excellent after all this time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

This was a very lovely place with amazing service. The presentation of the dishes and the flavors of the food were mouth watering. I would like to go back there in very near future and try more things on the menu which look amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

A classic Seattle establishment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We have been to Il Terrazzo Carmine several times over several years, always before Mariners evening games. It's a very nice restaurant within walking distance of both Safeco Field and Centurylink Field. The garage next door offers a special rate for leaving your car during the sports event. The food is very good, and so is the service. I recommend it very highly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We sat on the gorgeous patio, with crystal chandeliers! Service was gracious. We said we were in a hurry and they accommodated us beautifully.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Exceptional
Service
Drinks
Food
Best Italian restaurant in Seattle by far!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Overall wonderful dining experience. We went with another couple and sat at a beautiful round table near the window. Excellent food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fantastic pasta and the bread is so good! Try to visit here whenever in Seattle.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

As always, a great meal with outstanding service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

TOP OF MY LIST RESTAURANT IN SEATTLE!his is an iconic classic Italian restaurant in Seattle - one whose ambience and style is so delightfully Europe - and so elegantly special. The food is true to style, great wine list, fabulous service. In fact, our first server seemed so out of sorts and almost dismissive (have never had that happen here), and when I mentioned it to the host as I went to the restroom, they replaced him with one more ready to engage us. Additionally, all the staff stepped up to provide the special night with great service, food, conversation and recommendations. Truly responsive - and truly excellent. Beware the corkage here is steep for the city - but otherwise a perfect evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

I haven't been here for along time and I was stunned by how great it was. I had one of the best salads of my life followed by homemade seafood ravioli excellent. We finished with delicious tiramisu. don't get me started on how cute the Czech waiter was.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Overall an amazing experience celebrating Mother’s Day! Super attentive service and tasty wide menu selection is why I would recommend Il Terrazzo Carmine to family and friends looking for an authentic Italian fine dining experience in the Seattle area. Favorite was the pesto fettuccine w/Gulf prawns!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

What a wonderful restaurant. Classy and formal enough for a special occasion yet friendly and unpretentious. Purely professional service. We had the spring pea and prawn risotto, halibut with ramps and morels, and duck with raspberry and rosemary (all specials) and could not have been more impressed. And oh my, leave room for the tiramusu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Seattle due to consistent excellence: outstanding fresh authentic Italian food, thoughtfully selected wine list, impeccable service, and old world. ambience. Whether we are on our way to a big game downtown or a special occasion dinner, we love coming here. For the excellence you can expect, this is worth every penny!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

It is a great older Seattle restaurant with outstanding food and service. And it is quiet enough to have conversations even though there was a full house. Very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

A classic that never gets old. In a city where there is such a void in fine dining options, Il Terrazzo provides a comfortable and special place to enjoy beautifully prepared food and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
38