About Il Terrazzo Carmine

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: 2064677797x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Seattle
Best Ambiance
Seattle
1 More
Italian
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (128)
fit for foodies (96)
romantic (89)
See All
notable wine list (70)
neighborhood gem (64)
great for lunch (54)
good for groups (43)
hot spot (13)
great for outdoor dining (11)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was just phenomenal. Loved it. T ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined a day ago

Service was just phenomenal. Loved it. Thank you to everyone and especially to our server, Tim. He is an awesome guy that actually made our experience more memorable with our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an amazing experience. Great good ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was an amazing experience. Great good, great ambience, amazing customer service. Would go back any time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing dinner. We have missed really ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

An amazing dinner. We have missed really good Italian food since we moved back from southern Italy. Not anymore. Jackie, our server, was amazing and very knowledgeable. She listened to the dietary restrictions needed by a member of our party and relayed them perfectly to the kitchen to make the night a wonderful experience for all. Our wine was excellent and didn't break the bank. I highly recommend this for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an exceptional experience from th ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had an exceptional experience from the moment we were greeted at the front door! I just cannot say enough good things about this restaurant from the ambience to the service to the delicious food! Good. Stuff.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Il Terrazzo Carmine back ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to Il Terrazzo Carmine back in May and the food from appetizer to desert was outstanding however on this visit my halibut had outstanding flavor but the halibut was unfortunately over cooked in the thinner sections. The center was barely edible. It is sin to over cook halibut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The experience was wonderful. I highly r ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

The experience was wonderful. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I sent my clients to this restaurant; th ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

I sent my clients to this restaurant; they loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An anniversary dinner for my parents. Th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

An anniversary dinner for my parents. The food was perfect and our waiter was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time here, went to celebrate a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our first time here, went to celebrate a birthday. Sat us at a VERY small table near steps to another section of the restaurant close to a window sill where extra silverware and cheese was kept, so kept getting servers and staff very close to and leaning across us. Rose on table was dying all brown and wrinkly. Gave complimentary dessert for birthday which was nice but told they ran out of candles. Hostess was friendly and we were seated promptly. Waiter was nice. The food and portion size was good, the tiramisu dessert was excellent, but everything else was tasty but not mind blowing. It felt expensive for what you got. The inside is nice and the atmosphere and ambiance was good. All in all,I am glad we tried it as we had heard a lot about it, but would not be desperate to go back or take out of town guests.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have been to Il Terrazzo Carmine many ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been to Il Terrazzo Carmine many times. I have never had a dish that disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fantastic and Parris was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was fantastic and Parris was phenomenal. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Il Terrazzo Carmine for my bi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went to Il Terrazzo Carmine for my birthday. The place was romantic and we were able to talk and hear each other. The service was attentive, but we felt rushed. The food came very fast and the waitress was too attentive to bring our plates away as soon as we finished. Although the food was very good, we finished dinner in less than 1 hour. I would have liked to spend more time there with my husband.

The table we got was by the window next to the entrance of the building, so we have people in and out all the time. At one point we had people staring at us through the window until I asked the waiter to lower the blind.

The food was superb, the drinks were a bit on the small portion side. It would have been nice if we had longer time to experience it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, service was incredible, and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food, service was incredible, and I thought it was fairly price for being an upscale restaurant. I've been telling all my friends about it, and plan to go back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the service and food preparati ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

As usual, the service and food preparation were outstanding. Kenneth served us-he was professional, efficient and pleasant!

Our favorite restaurant, always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you can't make it to Italy any time s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

If you can't make it to Italy any time soon, dine here and feel like you're on holiday there. The place is an oasis of European charm, excellent food, and quiet amid the bustle of Pioneer Square. Good choices available for GF diners as well vegetarians. I was able to enjoy a tasty Pasta y fagiola soup without the pasta and a wonderful anti-pasto with white beans. The risotti here are also wonderful, though there is only one a day and it sometimes features meat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food "Over the Top". This i ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service and food "Over the Top". This is one of Seattle's best restaurants....and, insofar as "Italian" is concerned, it's THE BEST ONE!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here! Very nice, will come ba ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

First time here! Very nice, will come back again. Also - they have valet!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant. Great service.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Lovely restaurant. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I use to go here all the time, food and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I use to go here all the time, food and service was always great but seems the food quality has gone down, service is still good

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

How is it possible that I lived in Seatt ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

How is it possible that I lived in Seattle for 25 years and never heard of this restaurant before??!! My partner and I were up visiting from Portland (I moved in 2013) and took a friend to Terrazzo Carmine and we have not stopped talking about it since. The food and service were perfection and it felt like we stepped into a fine restaurant from a different era. I absolutely will seek out this gem of a place when I'm in Seattle next. My only disappointment is that I could have been enjoying this place for years!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was great dining experience for us. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was great dining experience for us. We have had Italian food in many places, including Italy. The veal was world class, the service was fantastic and we enjoyed every course we had. I would put this on the "must try" list for anyone who likes Italian food with some local ingredients to make it truly unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice upscale Italian ambiance. Waiter w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Nice upscale Italian ambiance. Waiter was outstanding! Some of the food was extremely flavorful and some was okay; for the price it should have been better. Still a very nice place to dine, but not sure it would call us back again though we could recommend to friends to try. One of the few nice places near the stadiums, so in that sense - it stands out very well. Cocktails were good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Always an outstanding experience. One o ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always an outstanding experience. One of Seattle's consistently great restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Terrazzo Carmine is one of my favorit ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Il Terrazzo Carmine is one of my favorite Italian restaurants in Seattle. I have dined here on several occasions and it is consistently outstanding. This time, I had the Veal Chop special (broiled not grilled). Sensational.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were, as usual, very go ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food and service were, as usual, very good.l We do recommend Il Terrazzo to friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service! We have been l ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Amazing food and service! We have been long time customers and this place never disappoints! Great menu and wine list! Impeccable service from the staff, always one step ahead of us! We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Terrazzo had amazing service and food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Il Terrazzo had amazing service and food. The only issue was my ravioli had a few pieces of the crab shell inside. Overall though we had a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent dinner here. Servin ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had an excellent dinner here. Servings are generous and most everything is true to the Italian traditions. It's a very attractive dining room, and I loved the open kitchen so I could watch the cooks in action. A little on the pricey side, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. T ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The food was amazing, the wait staff was friendly, courteous, knowledgable, attentive and a overall pleasure. We loved Il Terrazzo Carmine and will definitely be returning.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Seattle to visit our daughter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were in Seattle to visit our daughter and boyfriend for Fathers Day our son and his girlfriend also joined us and we had a wonderful time the staff and the food were excellent. Will make a point of going back next time we are in Seattle

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our server who treated us with res ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved our server who treated us with respect despite us being the youngest ones there. Not only that, he gave us a birthday surprise for my girlfriend without my request which was the cherry on the top of all the great service and food we already received. I don't give 30% tip often, but this time it was well deserved.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

menu choices to please everyone....great ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

menu choices to please everyone....great appetizers--lovely scallops, cal

amari, but I thought the oysters marvellous, oLYMPIA? they were small but most deliious. My halibut was perfect,with an interesting black rice. I'd like a more generous side of vegetables the wine I selected,Sicilian, was perfect, although the waitress was not much help. Previous experiences were much better in this respect. All in all our occasion was not so festive as I would have liked, maybe because there were many diners there and the terrace was not open. Robert Porter

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is best, the deco is nice, the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is best, the deco is nice, the service is somewhat quiet. sometimes I can barely hear what the server said. but other than that, the food served in the timely manner. my children really enjoyed the food and time in this restaurant. fresh seafood. nice steak. authentic pasta. calamari appetizer also nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Meh. Sweetbreads were overcooked. Bologn ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Meh. Sweetbreads were overcooked. Bolognese was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Lovely, elegant and friendly with wonder ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Lovely, elegant and friendly with wonderful food and knowledgable servers. A guaranteed experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine and food selections were great. Or ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Wine and food selections were great. Ordered a bottle of Italian rose and the tuna with beans, and both were delightful, as was our sever - very engaging and helpful young man. Made for a fun lunch. I always recommend this restaurant to people, for solid wine, food and service - old-fashioned in that it's a bit formal, and I like that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another wonderful evening at Il Terrazzo

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our dining experience was perfect. I like that they have large and small servings of pastas. My ravioli was so tender and tasty. Our server was attentive but not too attentive. The ambience is so soothing. I felt like I was in a different world. Thanks so much.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

YUM!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

An oldie but a goodie. Truly Italian at its best. Must have the linguine and clams!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebratory

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

In a town that is Italian food challenged, Il Terrazzo is a pleasant shining star. A good place for a high-end business lunch or when you want to splurge. Impeccable service & a great wine list .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Rockfish Rocked

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Food -- incredibly delicious! Our waiter David was charming and attentive and seemed to like people and his job. I go to Il Terrazzo's many times during the year when I want to make sure that my dining companions have a good experience, they have never failed me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.