About Il Terrazzo Carmine

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: (206) 467-7797

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Romantic (54)
Authentic (51)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Business Meals (50)
Notable Wine List (46)
Worth the Drive (33)
Cozy (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Historic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Mediocre at best for the price. The service was outstanding and the Italian red blend was good. The food was bland and nothing to rave about!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great experience! Terrific martini followed by 3 stellar courses. It's fun to see what those seated around you are ordering and the reactions they have when they take that first bite! Looking forward to my next trip to Seattle and another visit to see Carmine's smiling picture on the wall!
Cheers

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Simply wonderful, wondeful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, and in case you can't read between the lines, it's wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

All the food was spectacular. We split a soft shell crab dish as an appetizer, and each had a Caesar Salad. I had the halibut special which was exquisite and my friend had a seafood risotto, which he also said was wonderful. All in all, a great night!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

I keep forgetting about this restaurant and that is a sad thing. It truly is one of Seattle's best restaurants. The ambiance is great and the food is amazing...from appetizer to desert. If you like Italian food, this is the place to go. All was 5-Stars. Glad they have valet parking too. No excuses!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We introduced Carmines to friends. They are still raving about the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful ambiance. Food was good. Great place to talk for business or with friends. Would have liked the wine list presented.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious, relaxed, lovely decor and wonderful service

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a special occasion when we dine here! Great place also for out of town visitors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It was spectacular. I didn't get our waitresses name but she was very kind and I appreciate her attention to the small details. Overall, I enjoyed coming here for prom.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Every entrée was spectacular. Service was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had not been there for a couple years...what was I thinking? One of the best italian restaurants in Seattle if not the best! I love the food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First class service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was very good; the service was not as it has been in the past. It seemed that the waiter was too busy with too many tables, Il Terrazzo has always never disappointed but this time it was a little behind the curve.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My impression was the level of attention from the hospitality manager and table attendant, it was oustanting. Very professional suggested entrees when asked about the menu. Cordial funny and great presentation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good but not the same attention to detail since Carmine passed away.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Carmine's is a great place for business lunches, dinners and special occasions. It is a place to be, see and be seen. They have the best Italian food west of NYC and are one of the best restaurants in the Pacific NW.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

If I was on Death Row, I would select the stuffed pork chop as my final meal. Seriously! It was absolutely amazing. So much flavor and a guy friendly portion. I can't wait to have it again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was great, but we got put in a corner table with my back to the crowd.
So overall, not a wonderful experience, particularly as I had booked this weeks in advance and it was a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

It's always a treat to visit Il Terrazzo Carmine. The service is wonderful and the food is magnificient. Whether its a special occasion, or you just want a relaxing place to indulge in great Italian food, Il Terrazzo Carmine is the BEST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent dining experience!
Italian food with great regional touch .Best ever in Seattle

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Yes this restaurant is expensive. But the total experience is outstanding. Amazing food and impeccable service. The terrace is closed for remodeling until early summer 2017 and building construction on the Post Alley side continues until early 2018 but don't let that discourage you. It's still a memorable evening.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Carmines is the best

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

In Seattle for vacation. Went to celebrate a birthday. Outstanding food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have dined at Il Terrazzo Carmine for many years and it has not lost its charm or ability to turn out great Italian food. The waitstaff is exceptional in their knowledge of the menu and wines available. Their specials are always interesting and consist of locally available fresh game, fish and produce. I would heartily recommend going for a special meal as I'm sure it will turn out to be memorable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I met six of my oldest friends at carmines Saturday night. Our table was small and a bit cramped, but the server was so extraordinary and the company so wonderful, it hardly mattered. On the noise level, unfortunately we were the source of noise that night and I apologize to anyone dining near us. Laughter and friendship can hardly contain themselves. Lastly, the let us order off the menu and the aglio y olio was brilliant. Wonderful. Almost as good as the Bellevue outpost which I frequent.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a lovely time, no worries at all during the meal and best of all no one constantly asking was "everything ok". Top of the line service and overall very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Il Terrazzo Carmine is consistently superb in all respects -- the food is fabulous, the service is excellent (attentive, not too attentive), it is bustling but always quiet enough to have a conversation without shouting.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I'm never disappointed. This place is perfect for a business lunch or romantic for a date night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food was Italian without any of the modern twists but the food was delicious and cooked to perfection. Would definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

fantastic food and very attentive service. handy valet parking, too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2017

As always, Carmine's food, service and ambiance was outstanding. My friend and I both had the pesto pasta, which was rich and fresh, with just the right balance of flavors. I eat at Carmine's twice per month, on average and I have always been delighted with every aspect of this fine restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Il Terrazzo Carmine is one of the best restaurants in the Pacific NW , the best Italian restaurant in the Pacific NW, and possibly the best in the US west of the North East. And with all of that, it is a very good value for money.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Very nicely done upscale old school Italian. Classic pasta dishes like del mare were well prepared, and quite tasty. Also, the carpaccio was very nice, using strip instead of tenderloin for more flavor. Service was also quite good. Overall, solid but not quite as special as one might expect from the reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Everything was fresh and authentic. Presented nicely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We all ordered something different and all the dishes were fantastic. So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fabulous in every way! Authentic Italian, great staff, nobody rushing you..
could not have been a better experience for our weekend in Seattle. Would definitely be a regular if we lived there!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I thought this would be a great Italian restaurant with 5 stars on Open TAble. However we thought it was just OK seafood. Most of the menu was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The quality of the food and experience seems to be declining at Il Terrazzo Carmine. I have eaten here a number of times, but the last 2-3 times have just been "off". The food, while still decent, is not as good as it had been. The service, while still reasonable, wasn't as attentive or comfortable as it had been. I wonder if this may have something to do with their expansion to Bellevue, possibly distributing their experienced staff between the two restaurants?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.