About Il Terrazzo Carmine

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: (206) 467-7797

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (61)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
See All
Romantic (54)
Authentic (53)
Notable Wine List (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Business Meals (41)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Cozy (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Historic (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Local Ingredients (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Fun (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (5)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Great service. Would highly ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Great service. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was not great but due to respec ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was not great but due to respect for the owner I will not go into details. We will however never go back as we did not have a good experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

First time at this location and they did ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

First time at this location and they didn't let us down! It was Valentine's Day and they were busy but service was excellent. Never felt rushed and food was great!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Each course was amazing-crab buscetta, s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Each course was amazing-crab buscetta, seafood ravioli and wild mushrooms, veal chop, etc.

Creative and delicious food.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been over 20 years since I ate here; my ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Been over 20 years since I ate here; my mistake! Excellent service and all the dishes were well prepared. While somewhat 'standard' offerings, there was enough variety to please everyone.

Will be coming back soon to make up for my long absence!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. My wife and I enjoyed 3 ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good. My wife and I enjoyed 3 apps and 2 entrees. A few items were under salted, but beyond that very tasty. Olive oil they use is very good! Bread is awesome. Wine was reasonably priced and a broad selection. Service was attentive without being overbearing. I would say overall, over priced for the experience, but not out of line with other experiences we've had in Seattle. If you want a "foodie" experience, other Italian joints might be a better options, but we were satisfied upon leaving. They do have Valet which is nice because parking can be a problem (I wish we knew this ahead of time!)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good and always on their game. My o ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very good and always on their game. My only comment is I feel the appetizer choices are well. Please bring back the smoked salmon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! Great f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! Great food, superior service and a friendly dining atmosphere. Terrazo's is always consistantly predictable in a very good way.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner experience. All food wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful dinner experience. All food was delicious and prepared brilliantly. Our server Kristina was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My fiancé and I had an amazing meal, the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My fiancé and I had an amazing meal, the service was perfect, there at all of the right times and never intrusive

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Il Terrazzo is one of the best restauran ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Il Terrazzo is one of the best restaurants in Seattle. Service is always excellent and the food always perfectly prepared. And consistent from visit to visit. Never had a bad experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the best Italian restaurant I've ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This is the best Italian restaurant I've been to in Seattle and I've lived here 27 years. I will definitely be back and tell everyone I know about it. I can't believe I didn't know about it before!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience is lovely, just what I want ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The ambience is lovely, just what I wanted for taking recently widowed friend out for lunch and deep conversation, so when my lunch entree was not very good, I didn't say anything to the server, didn't want to spoil the mood. The fish was dry and the spaghetti was underdone, a few minutes short of "al dente" and really tough. My friend's gnocchi were cooked to the point of mush, no texture at all. I've had gnocchi many times, including in Italy and Argentina and never had it so soft. The server had coaxed me a bit to order the special fish and didn't mention the price so I was a bit surprised when I got the bill. I think it was way over priced. Bottom line, we had a nice time in a quiet comfortable lovely space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service! Our server was great and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great service! Our server was great and knew how to take care of the customer.

Great food

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful salmon lunch special. Deliciou ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Wonderful salmon lunch special. Delicious. Efficient professional service

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Carmine's for my wife's 60 bi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went to Carmine's for my wife's 60 birthday. It had been too long since we had been! This is one of my favorite restaurants is Seattle. (It is my wife's favorite.) They did not disappoint! My wife had pork that was melt in your mouth tender and delicious! My daughter had the tenderloin and raved about it. I had the Sea Bass, which I can never pass up there. It was delicious. We split a small order of Gnocchi and it was fantastic. Our appetizers of antipasto and crab cakes were similarly delicious. Our server was Cathy, who we have had many times before. She was great. Never there too much, too early, or too late, but just when it was appropriate. Overall, a great meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent and the chef did an a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was excellent and the chef did an amazing job preparing me some incredible food for my specific allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This large place was fancy looking adorn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This large place was fancy looking adorned with old Italy kitsch.

Our server was nearly invisible with lack of personality so we got another server to take over. Maybe he was having a bad night.

The kale salad was quite good as was the red velvet cake. I must say my chicken dish with goat cheese and spinach was tasty as well but my pasta rigatoni bolognese was just okay.

For the fancy price though, it wasn't one of my favorite places in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great meal, very good wine selection and ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great meal, very good wine selection and service is tops. While they cannot improve on much, the Tiramisu is perfection, the insalata mista I would skip until they refresh it with something other than a spinach base.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While Il Terrazzo Carmine remains one of ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

While Il Terrazzo Carmine remains one of the best restaurants in Seattle there was one disappointing factor. If you have a great wine cellar and want to bring a good bottle of wine don't bring it here. The corkage fee is $35 . That is $10 more than any restaurant I have ever been to.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Hello, We are ardent aficionados of Il T ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Hello, We are ardent aficionados of Il Terrazzo and always look forward to dining with you ..

Our last visit included almost all of your extra amenities and personal touches.

However, both my wife and I were disappointed that your normally impeccable Veal Piccata was actually quite tough, rather than tender .. My romaine hearts salad was not chilled at all .. and as served is very difficult to cut and consume .. Lukewarm lettuce is not appealing .. giant chunks are hard to handle.

We appreciate your convenient parking setup .. However, a simple website map of your new parking location would be a useful addition to the intro website information.

Regret these petty complaints .. but all our previous visits were Totally Satisfying because you set the service bar so very high ..

We will be back ! and continue to recommend IL T !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great service , lovely atmosphere and de ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great service , lovely atmosphere and delicious food!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautifully classical setting with frien ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Beautifully classical setting with friendly, knowledgeable waitstaff and scrumptious, deftly crafted Italian cuisine.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WONDERFUL! Some of the best gnocchi I ha ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

WONDERFUL! Some of the best gnocchi I have ever had - super picky here! Service was just excellent and so attentive. The decor was beautiful and authentic. They filled waters, drinks, bread before you even knew you needed it. I was so happy by the end and everything was priced reasonably. Will definitely be going back many times.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every item we ordered was very well prep ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Every item we ordered was very well prepared and presented. The service was very efficient and friendly without being obtrusive. I would certainly recommend the double cut, bone-in pork chop, the veal piccata, and the crab, shrimp, and spinach stuffed ravioli.

I missed the terrace with the fountain due to the neighboring construction, but we certainly will be back for another excellent dinner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good but not great. The cannelo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was good but not great. The canneloni in particular was disappointing. Good service, a couple of good pastas. Great ambiance, but better Italian elsewhere in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a glass of wine at their sister bist ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a glass of wine at their sister bistro next door. Each course was delicious. Caesar salad, calamari. Sea Bass was buttery goodness. They separately plated our shared salad and dessert without asking. Very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Terrazzo is a Seattle institution. Th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Il Terrazzo is a Seattle institution. This is classic, white table cloth Italian fine dining. You won't find the trendiest dishes on their menu, but you will find some of the most reliably delicious Italian food you'll find in Seattle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A wonderful Friday evening with friends ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A wonderful Friday evening with friends and customers. Our server Kathy was so attentive and took great care of us. All of our wines were delicious. The dungeness crab appetizer was fresh and had beautiful presentation. We enjoyed the risotto with sausage and was some of the best I've ever had. We enjoyed bottles of S.Pellegrino and our table was lovely with butter yellow roses that were in perfect bloom. The GM Nick stopped by our table as we were raving about Intermezzo, can't wait to get back to Il Terrazzo and Intermezzo.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite Seattle restaurant for spec ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our favorite Seattle restaurant for special occasions. Went for our 43rd wedding anniversary. Fantastic as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After more than 30 years in business, C ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

After more than 30 years in business, Carmine's remains the gold standard for dining in Seattle, and has remained so even after the passing a few years ago of Carmine himself. Food and service are of the highest quality, and the room is one of the most beautiful and comfortable dining spaces to be found anywhere...even when crowded, the noise level remains unobtrusive. This is one of the few restaurants which I would recommend to anyone without any reservations...the only "reservations" I have about Carmine's are the ones I've been making for dinner for the last 30 years! :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall ok experience but not exceptiona ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Overall ok experience but not exceptional for the $200 plus bill

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Another outstanding dinner at Carmine's! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Another outstanding dinner at Carmine's! We have an annual date for celebrating our wedding anniversary. We also enjoy it in general, e.g. when meeting friends....superb menu without being overly fru-fru with oddball ingredients and silly garnishes. It's reliably outstanding with excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

beautiful venue. Great service. Food did ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

beautiful venue. Great service. Food did not meet our expectations. Not as flavorful as other good restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner was wonderful........the food ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our dinner was wonderful........the food was very good. BUT, what stood out to me was our service. I don't remember her name, but she was professional, attentive without being overbearing, friendly, sincere, conveyed a caring attitude about our experience, and fast.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great experience. Would definitely go a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great experience. Would definitely go again or recommend it to friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely delicious Italian food with e ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Absolutely delicious Italian food with excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent and our waiter wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was excellent and our waiter was wonderful. What an enjoyable evening!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful! Friends were in town and we w ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Wonderful! Friends were in town and we wanted a SEA restaurant. Service was exceptional and menu was diverse yet spoke to our local loves of seafood. Great date night place and perfect for larger groups.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being of Italian descent, I am very fast ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Being of Italian descent, I am very fastidious about Italian food. This is the best authentic Italian in Seattle.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.