About Il Terrazzo Carmine

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: 2064677797x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Il Terrazzo Carmine
Kusshi Ou
Tomato Bisque
Veal Scallopine
Gnocchi
Salmon
Antipasti
Tiramisu
Calamari Affogati
Halibut
Tirimisu
Prawn Bisque
Scallop Linguine
Chocolate Mousse
Cannoli
Insalata Pollo
Bufula Caprese
Grilled Salmon
Veal Picatta
Beef Carpaccio
Farro Salad, Heirloom Tomatoes
Insalata Portiforno
Dessert Cart
Tiramisu Cake
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Gnocci With Porcini, Peas, And Truffle Oil
Profiteroles
Fagioli

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Italian
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Seattle
3 More
Best Food
Seattle
Best Ambiance
Seattle
Italian
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (130)
fit for foodies (102)
romantic (87)
See All
notable wine list (70)
neighborhood gem (65)
great for lunch (62)
good for groups (50)
hot spot (21)
great for outdoor dining (11)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
826 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an outstanding experience. One o ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Always an outstanding experience. One of Seattle's consistently great restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were, as usual, very go ...

Dined 3 days ago

Food and service were, as usual, very good.l We do recommend Il Terrazzo to friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service! We have been l ...

Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food and service! We have been long time customers and this place never disappoints! Great menu and wine list! Impeccable service from the staff, always one step ahead of us! We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Il Terrazzo had amazing service and food ...

Dined 6 days ago

Il Terrazzo had amazing service and food. The only issue was my ravioli had a few pieces of the crab shell inside. Overall though we had a wonderful experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent dinner here. Servin ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

We had an excellent dinner here. Servings are generous and most everything is true to the Italian traditions. It's a very attractive dining room, and I loved the open kitchen so I could watch the cooks in action. A little on the pricey side, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. T ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The food was amazing, the wait staff was friendly, courteous, knowledgable, attentive and a overall pleasure. We loved Il Terrazzo Carmine and will definitely be returning.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Seattle to visit our daughter ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were in Seattle to visit our daughter and boyfriend for Fathers Day our son and his girlfriend also joined us and we had a wonderful time the staff and the food were excellent. Will make a point of going back next time we are in Seattle

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our server who treated us with res ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved our server who treated us with respect despite us being the youngest ones there. Not only that, he gave us a birthday surprise for my girlfriend without my request which was the cherry on the top of all the great service and food we already received. I don't give 30% tip often, but this time it was well deserved.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

menu choices to please everyone....great ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

menu choices to please everyone....great appetizers--lovely scallops, cal amari, but I thought the oysters marvellous, oLYMPIA? they were small but most deliious. My halibut was perfect,with an interesting black rice. I'd like a more generous side of vegetables the wine I selected,Sicilian, was perfect, although the waitress was not much help. Previous experiences were much better in this respect. All in all our occasion was not so festive as I would have liked, maybe because there were many diners there and the terrace was not open. Robert Porter

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is best, the deco is nice, the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is best, the deco is nice, the service is somewhat quiet. sometimes I can barely hear what the server said. but other than that, the food served in the timely manner. my children really enjoyed the food and time in this restaurant. fresh seafood. nice steak. authentic pasta. calamari appetizer also nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

Meh. Sweetbreads were overcooked. Bologn ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Meh. Sweetbreads were overcooked. Bolognese was average.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely, elegant and friendly with wonder ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Lovely, elegant and friendly with wonderful food and knowledgable servers. A guaranteed experience every time.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine and food selections were great. Or ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Wine and food selections were great. Ordered a bottle of Italian rose and the tuna with beans, and both were delightful, as was our sever - very engaging and helpful young man. Made for a fun lunch. I always recommend this restaurant to people, for solid wine, food and service - old-fashioned in that it's a bit formal, and I like that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful evening at Il Terrazzo

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our dining experience was perfect. I like that they have large and small servings of pastas. My ravioli was so tender and tasty. Our server was attentive but not too attentive. The ambience is so soothing. I felt like I was in a different world. Thanks so much.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

YUM!

Dined on June 9, 2016

An oldie but a goodie. Truly Italian at its best. Must have the linguine and clams!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Celebratory

Dined on June 7, 2016

In a town that is Italian food challenged, Il Terrazzo is a pleasant shining star. A good place for a high-end business lunch or when you want to splurge. Impeccable service & a great wine list .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Rockfish Rocked

Dined on June 1, 2016

Food -- incredibly delicious! Our waiter David was charming and attentive and seemed to like people and his job. I go to Il Terrazzo's many times during the year when I want to make sure that my dining companions have a good experience, they have never failed me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A memorable experience!

Dined on May 29, 2016

This was our first time here and we can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was perfection!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Love this place, we will definitely be back. The portion size options available for the pasta dishes are genius (especially for kids and those of us who don't want to break the calorie bank but love pasta). We went for my husband's birthday and they handled it perfectly, nice low key touches to let us know they appreciated us choosing their restaurant to share his occasion. Would highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our 2 boys to dinner prior to a ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We took our 2 boys to dinner prior to a Mariners game. I was so pleasantly surprised not only with how they accepted our children and our casual attire but also with the effort the server made to make our young men feel at home. From his unique "concoction" (soda water, cranberry, grenadine mix) to his offer to supplement a small portion of ravioli if it wasn't enough (it was not). The food was amazing and we all enjoyed new things. Venison ravioli, oysters, black spaghetti. Loved every bite.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Classic

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Carmine's is the consummate white tablecloth Italian restaurant. Outstanding service that is there when you want them, and gone when you don't. They are experienced adult waiters and waitresses, not over-familiar hipsters who think they know better. The cannelloni was a religious experience. The cannoli was the only weak spot, maybe a b. I'm admittedly old school. This place is wonderful

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Meal. The waiter was terrific. ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent Meal. The waiter was terrific. Great wine choices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ITC is now my favorite Seattle restauran ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

ITC is now my favorite Seattle restaurant, surpassing Dahlia Lounge, Andaluca, and Ponti, although those three are also outstanding. ITC has everything: exceptional food, professional wait service, a festive yet reserved atmosphere, and by far the best ambiance of any Seattle-area restaurant. Trendy new restaurants are okay, but they are far too loud, and not suitable for relaxing, unhurried dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Been here many times...very consistent...always the best.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wine list is so-so

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Italian wines are hit or miss depending on your preferences. Sommelier was not very helpful. We decided on one year wine but he brought a different year. When we pointed this out, he tried to reassure us that it takes time for the flavor to come out. Needless to say, 2 hours later, the wine did not open up and after continually tasting it, the wine was consumed. Love this place and never had an issue in the past even with wines. Maybe next time, we will communicate earlier that we do not want a wine that will take 2+hours to open up.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Spot

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our first time dining here, we loved it. We will definitely be going back again! Everything we ordered was delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Very Special Place

Dined on May 20, 2016

We've eaten at Il Terrazzo Carmine for years and have never had less than a fine dining experience. You are greeted by a friendly face, receive impeccable table service and tasty, well-prepared food and drinks. There is a handy valet car service which has become a necessity on Seattle's crowded streets. Expensive but not outrageously so. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent in all respects as always. We ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent in all respects as always. We will return regularly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Extensive wine list and excellent food, ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Extensive wine list and excellent food, but the service is unacceptable for a high end restaurant. I have been twice recently and felt that the service was lacking on both occasions, though the 2nd visit was worse. The server seemed annoyed to be doing his job, and forgot to bring the oysters we ordered, then did not acknowledge the error before bringing the bill. It is quite loud when it is full. The menu is expensive, and for the money we spent, the service should have been stellar. There are other restaurants with excellent food and much better service for the price.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid place. Consistent. Starters were r ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Solid place. Consistent. Starters were run of the mill. Main courses very competently prepared, tiramisu excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I have been a fan of Il Terrazzo for thr ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I have been a fan of Il Terrazzo for three years. Their food is good, wine list broad and ambiance easy for good conversations. On this last visit, the service was not up to the same standard we have come to expect. The waiter had too many tables to serve and had a difficult time getting back to us. I trust it was just a busy night and not an on going issue. We will definitely be back!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants - the food is fantastic, the presentation is perfect, the decor is enchanting & all of the personnel make being at Il Terrazzo Carmine a real pleasure.đź’ť

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food quick service but a little pus ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Good food quick service but a little pushy in getting you out fast

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great choice!! Il terrazzo carm ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Always a great choice!! Il terrazzo carmine never disappoints and has continued to outdo itself time after time..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Don't order the Sweet Breads

Dined on May 11, 2016

We have been to this restaurant before while visiting Seattle, and the courtyard was charming with a fountain…unfortunately there is a building going up right behind, so the fountain has gone with the garden, a few tables there but not recommended to sit outside. Also, I ordered the sweet breads, and was very disappointed…they were sliced thin and deep fried, and didn't even present well….I did complain but was told it was a favourite of the house(I don't think so). It is close to the stadium, so I am sure a lot of people go there for dinner….wish I had ordered the pasta, as it is an italian restaurant….very busy on ballgame nights! Suzanne Stewart

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good dinner, good service, nice interior ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Good dinner, good service, nice interior. Quite noisy

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Terazzo Carmine is a Pioneer Square gem!

Dined on May 11, 2016

My favorite Italian Restaurant in Seattle. Always great service and amazing food. For a celebration lunch with your coworkers, a Birthday dinner with your wife or even a place to take your Mom before the M's..They do not disappoint, the staff know how to take care of you and they always make the culinary experience a special one. I have been a fan for 20 plus years.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem for us locals. Never disapp ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

A hidden gem for us locals. Never disappointed always pleasantly surprised . Absolutely the best servers in Seattle. Thank you for caring.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Boss Lives

Dined on May 9, 2016

Always a stickler for detail and never compromising when it came to the quality of his restaurant. Carmine is missed but not forgotten . . . . . . . I salute the family and staff for carrying on with such a fine restaurant. Carmine is proud and watches over you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our First Visit

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been hearing very good things about Il Terrazzo Carmine for some time and took the opportunity on Mothers Day to visit. We were not at all disappointed. The welcome, the meal, the service by Joseph and the team were all first class. We will definitely return, the experience was special and there is much on the menu we still wish to enjoy.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.