About Il Terrazzo Carmine

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: (206) 467-7797

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Romantic (54)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Notable Wine List (49)
Authentic (42)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Business Meals (38)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Cozy (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (5)
Historic (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

My favorite Seattle restaurant. I've been there dozens of times and have never, ever been disappointed. Everything is totally first class - cuisine, service, ambiance, parking, the way diners are treated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and food as always. One of the few "adult" places left in Seattle.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service are always wonderful! Thanks you for a wonderful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was our 50th Anniversary - splendid! Excellent food and service, one of the few places in Seattle where you can carry on a conversation during dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Le décor du restaurant est très sobre et très bien. Le service est bien. Pour la nourriture, c'est excellent , les plats sont bien préparés et les quantités sont correctes. Le menu est bien équilibré et offre un choix bien diversifié. La carte des vins est très bien mais les vins sont dispendieux. C'est un très bon choix

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, on both food and wine, the menu diverse and plentiful, and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Carmine's is a rare dining experience. It has always been consistent in every way: excellent food, attentive staff, authentic Italian cuisine, linen on the tables, just the right amount of lighting(one can read the menu without using their flash light app), diners can hear what their fellow table guest are saying and your head isn't ringing from loud background music. Thank you for a lively evening to remember.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Il Terrazzo Carmine is a classic old-time Italian restaurant. It is a city gem! The calamari was tender and in a wonderful tomato, olive and caper based sauce. The venison ravioli was in a beautiful meat reduction sauce and the bouillabaisse was full of tender clams, mussels, shrimp, white fish and crab is a delicate tomato and saffron sauce. The wait staff was considerate and attentive. The dining room is comfortable and pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Consistently the best food and service in Seattle.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great Italian food, thoughtfully prepared. Our server Ryan provided attentive service, without being obtrusive. The cream of asparagus soup was so delicious, every spoonful was savored with gusto. The gnocchi was so soft, melt in your mouth delight. The tiramisu is by far one of the best I've had in a long time. Overall a wonderful dining experience. I highly recommend this fine Italian Restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We had a phenomenal time! Excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I'm a frequent diner - love this place - have for 30+ years; it's my go to place for business and personal lunches and those special dinners. I buy gift certificates too for those in my life I feel should experience such a one of kind; non-chain-lovely restaurant. It's my favorite for out of town guests, special occasions, drinks in their bar or their sister property Intermezzo on the lobby side of 1st Avenue - I can't say enjoy great things about this wonderful find.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Had an important business lunch. The staff was very accommodating, allowing me to arrive and seated before the restaurant opens at 11:30 am, to prepare for my meeting. The food was fantastic as usual and the service was attentive without being intrusive. Great experience overall, as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This venerable Italian themed restaurant has never disappointed us. The food is expertly prepared and wonderfully presented. Though not inexpensive, the experiance of fine dining here is worth every penny. Our only complaint is the garage, which was once so convenient, has disappeard and the valet parking is now aroud the corner on Jackson Street. Nevertheless we enjoyed or evening immensly and the exceptional service is as notable as ever.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Another lovely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I've dined at Il Terrazzo Carmine for more years than I can count and I've never been disappointed by the food or service. The management and servers have a special knack for making you feel you are their special guest and every bite is worth the price. A day later, I'm still savoring the soft shell crab appetizer!
The only thing of late that mars the total experience is the seemingly endless construction that makes parking a nightmare.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Elegant atmosphere. Gracious/high-end waot staff, notable in lack of interruption and pace if serving. Gorgeous, off the charts quality of food and wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We've been celebrating our family special occasions since the restaurant opened! It's consistently wonderful Food and we enjoy coming back to enjoy our favorites!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This is a gen. Ate in bar because restaurant was full. Halibut was delish and steak w peppercorn sauce excellent. Antipasto platter was amazing too, wine was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Fabulous. Loved the waiter. He gave us the just right attention. Complemented my daughter's grappa. Pleased my son in law. Loved the remarkable art and the lovely fresh flowers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 13, 2017

As usual, we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Il Terrazzo Carmine. The service was great, the food delicious, and the ambiance very special. This is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We celebrated two birthdays this week and it was perfect from start to finish. Everything was delicious, our server was professional and attentive, and we enjoyed the special birthday treat they offered. The food is truly authentic with fresh ingredients and a choice of small and large plates for many dishes. The prices are very reasonable, especially given the overall atmosphere and ambience of Il Terrazzo Carmine. I highly recommend!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 12, 2017

It was our second visit at this restaurant. The food was delicious! Mushroom polenta was very good! As well as the grilled romaine salad. I ordered the Halibut special and it was super delicious! Melted in my mouth! Our server was very attentive!!! We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We found Il Terrazzo Carmine on Open Table and weren't disappointed. Though a large party sharing our over-worked (but still very friendly) waiter resulted in spotty service, once management was made aware of the problem they couldn't have been nicer. Pastas were fantastic. My wife remarked that it was probably the best plate of pasta she has ever eaten. My ravioli with venison was very tasty. I would recommend Il Terrazzo Carmine heartily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 12, 2017

It has always been one of my favorite places for lunch, dinner and or drinks. Yes, they are challenged by the construction, but then treat your patrons like you were really glad they were there. A young man 'acting' as host left his smile and communication skills at home. It was obvious he did not like his job! A smile, a positive welcome, a thank you go a long way.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I was 24 the first time I walked in to Il Terrazzo and 27 years later I still feel the magic that this special place holds every time walk through the door.

Sometimes I think it may just be nostalgia but every time I bring someone who has never eaten here, they fall in love too.

Last Saturday was one of those nights the food was wonderful, the staff very professional yet not stiff and my guest fell in love with Il Terrazzo.

Who could ask for more?

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Outstanding food and service. So glad we found this gem. We started with salads, our entrees were chicken and pork. Portions were large and the preparations were delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had another great lunch at IlTerazzo. Food and service was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, People Watching, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

While visiting Seattle, we dined there for out anniversary. This is an excellent restaurant; the food was delicious, the wine list had something for most people - ranging from moderate to expensive, the ambiance was warm and generally quiet. In addition to all this, what impressed us the most was the incredibly professional waiter who served us. He was friendly and attentive and while he seemed to divine our need for service and arrived almost before we wanted something, he was never hovering or intrusive. He helped make our evening very special. We will definitely return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Il Terrazzo has been the stand-out Italian restaurant in Pioneer Square for decades. The food is tasty and the service is friendly. It's great for lunch and the courtyard is lovely in the summertime. A classic.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Best dining experience ever: every one of 6 dishes ordered was extraordinary in concept and actuality; service was attentive and predictive without becoming intrusive; we found a highly rated Barolo at a fair- market value price; even the bread was perfect. Arguably the best Italian food in Seattle

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 1, 2017

good food but the prices are a bit too elevated. Lovely ambience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 1, 2017

As always, the food is delectable. I had the eggplant parmigiana and my friend had the crispy chicken special which came served over a bed of arugula . Both dishes were tasty, perfectly spiced and perfectly cooked. For desserts, a slice of red velvet cake and the melt in your mouth spumoni topped off a wonderful birthday lunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 1, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our son's birthday as we usually do every year here. We always have good service, delicious food well-prepared, and a beautiful room which provides a great setting for a delightful meal.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Mediocre at best for the price. The service was outstanding and the Italian red blend was good. The food was bland and nothing to rave about!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Always a great experience! Terrific martini followed by 3 stellar courses. It's fun to see what those seated around you are ordering and the reactions they have when they take that first bite! Looking forward to my next trip to Seattle and another visit to see Carmine's smiling picture on the wall!
Cheers

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Simply wonderful, wondeful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, and in case you can't read between the lines, it's wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 25, 2017

All the food was spectacular. We split a soft shell crab dish as an appetizer, and each had a Caesar Salad. I had the halibut special which was exquisite and my friend had a seafood risotto, which he also said was wonderful. All in all, a great night!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I keep forgetting about this restaurant and that is a sad thing. It truly is one of Seattle's best restaurants. The ambiance is great and the food is amazing...from appetizer to desert. If you like Italian food, this is the place to go. All was 5-Stars. Glad they have valet parking too. No excuses!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We introduced Carmines to friends. They are still raving about the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.