About Il Terrazzo Carmine

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: 2064677797x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine
Il Terrazzo Carmine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Italian
Seattle / Eastern Washington
5 More
Best Overall
Seattle
Best Ambiance
Seattle
Notable Wine List
Seattle
Romantic
Seattle
Italian
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (129)
Romantic (98)
Fit for Foodies (96)
See All
Notable Wine List (84)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Great for Lunch (44)
Good for Groups (35)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Authentic (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Business Meals (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
906 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really, really excellent staff! Probably ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined a day ago

Really, really excellent staff! Probably best old school proper waiter in all of Seattle (PNW service is a little dicey). The food is really good. Not Michelin star but well priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

We are in Seattle once a year for a week ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

We are in Seattle once a year for a week to attend Mariner's baseball. One evening meal is always at Il Terrazzo. My husband and I love Italian food and the quality and selection at Il Terrazzo's is excellent. Although I have a number of food allergies and intolerances, the wait staff are always helpful and accommodating. I am always served an excellent meal.

We appreciate the professionalism of the wait staff. It is a please to be served by a staff who are well trained.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my new favorite in Seattle. The ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is my new favorite in Seattle. The food is amazing, the bread is out of this world. Can't say enough good things about it. Just go and enjoy. Thinking about my meal last night is making me smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were some 'unique' entrees on the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

There were some 'unique' entrees on the menu which were terrific: crab and spinach ravioli in lobster sauce and pasta with Salmon. Both were very well done. We were on time for our reservation and we were seated immediately.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to this restau ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our second visit to this restaurant and I had one of the best meals that I have had out at any restaurant. I had the halibut and my husband had a pasta dish that he also loved. Needless to say, we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I'm Italian and this is the best Italian ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I'm Italian and this is the best Italian restaurant in Seattle. Seriously!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolute gem. Tourists won't acciden ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

An absolute gem. Tourists won't accidentally drop in. I'm betting most are local regulars. We each had different entrees. Each was prepared perfectly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was perfect. The wait staff was friendly and helpful and very genuine. Provided appetizers for six when normally for four. Made great menu recommendations. Everything was first class with no pretentiousness. Just a great restaurant with a great setting, great food, and great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this place--we have come here on ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We love this place--we have come here on and off for 30 years. It is always reliable, no surprises, great food and wine and wait staff.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were given a cramped table for 4 bett ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We were given a cramped table for 4 better suited for 2 people. it was located near a very loud group of screeching women and not far from a table of 8 very loud young folks who believed that yelling was the way to communicate.

The food was superb and our waiter was quite attentive.

Not our best experience at Carmine's but adequate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

always one of seattles best proven tim ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

always one of seattles best proven time and again over the years

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent lunch at an old time favorite. ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent lunch at an old time favorite. Food was superb and the service excellent. Table for two was a tad small but we made it work. A bustling clientele but the noise level was not so bad that we could not carry on a conversation. Waiter was extremely good and took the time to help with dietary needs (lactose intolerant). All in all a terrific restaurant experience. Will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous meal every time!!! Best Italian ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Fabulous meal every time!!! Best Italian food in the city.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rude service, Interrupting guest convers ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Rude service,

Interrupting guest conversation

Pouring wine/water across the face of a guest

Errored in the preparation of the bill( double the price)

Overpriced wine

Overlooked rissotto ( oatmeal )

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Enjoyed celebrating our 57th anniversary ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Enjoyed celebrating our 57th anniversary at Il Terrazzo Carmine. All aspects of the dining experience were outstanding. Also, we've dined at Il Terrazzo Carmine for over 25 years and I would attest that, by-and-large, our past experiences were were equally as memorable and pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

itwas so enjoyable we are going back dec ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

itwas so enjoyable we are going back december 4 for my daughters birthday

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic and service was impec ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was fantastic and service was impeccable! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous staff all the way around. Food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fabulous staff all the way around. Food quality is always very exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good. Food was good, not gre ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service was good. Food was good, not great. I think they try too hard. Definitely not like in Italy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a pleasure to be here. The servi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always a pleasure to be here. The service by Joe was spot on. Everyone enjoyed their food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and the service were both reall ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and the service were both really nice. We had a great server who was very accommodating and helpful. The drinks were good and the experience was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food!! Get the Eggplant Parmesa ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amazing food!! Get the Eggplant Parmesan -- delicious!!! Everything we ordered was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for our anniversary. We ask ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went here for our anniversary. We asked for- and got- a quiet table. The waiter was wonderful! The food was delicious! The special, Halibut, was incredible. My husband had duck and it was great too. For an appetizer, we had an wonderful polenta with wild mushrooms that was out of this world. The waiter recommended a wine and it was spot on, exactly what we wanted. They gave us a tiramisu for dessert for our anniversary- delicious. All in all a very special night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! Food and service was amazing. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fantastic! Food and service was amazing.Parris was our server and the guy is on it! I would say one of the best servers I have ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been a special place for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This has always been a special place for us. Great food, great ambiance, great service. All that is still true. An office party at the same time as our last visit certainly screwed up the ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our evening was superb mostly due to the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Our evening was superb mostly due to the excellent service by Paris. He was very attentive, knowledgeable, knew when to stop by our table and when not to. Food was delightful (as always) and we were not disappointed by anything. The Peach bellini was a great starter cocktail.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, outstanding cuisine, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Impeccable service, outstanding cuisine, phenomenal wine list. An exceptional dining experience. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant for spec ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant for special occasions. Went there last week to celebrate my husbands birthday. They have great service and food.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to come for our anniversary a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We decided to come for our anniversary and it was awesome. The place was fun, yet cozy, and perfect. Lot's of action, but not too much or too much noise, so we could still talk. Menu was everything we expected and really had a great variety. We arrived and both hosts welcomed us by saying, "happy anniversary" and when we were sat at our table there was a little card that said happy anniversary and thanked us for dining with them. This was a pretty amazing small touch that really made us feel like we were well taken care of, not to mention my wife thought I was awesome! Which I am, but il Terrzzo helped me show it. :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good Italian food. Very nice dining room ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Good Italian food. Very nice dining room decor. Friendly staff but not enough of them--very slow service. Don't go here if you get anxious waiting for your food or drinks. If you have time to go with the flow, the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I have been wanting to visit II terrazzo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I have been wanting to visit II terrazzo for a while now. The restaurant atmosphere is great, and service was too. However, I wasn't blown away by the food. We got the halibut and linguine special. While everything was high Quality (cut of fish, homemade pasta) the seasoning was kind of bland. There wasn't a lot of flavor. It was a little underwhelming for the price. I would definitely give it another try.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great setting and Excellent Italian cuis ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great setting and Excellent Italian cuisine . We love the place and go there every time we visit Seattle. Our dinner's were excellent and served fresh and hot by a knowledgeable server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prosciutto and melon-- the greatest! Gre ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Prosciutto and melon-- the greatest! Great service, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently amazing. Highly recommend, ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Consistently amazing. Highly recommend, you just can't go wrong.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We felt the food and experience were fan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We felt the food and experience were fantastic for the price. We weren't completely blown away by everything, but the experience was definitely noteworthy enough that we will return in the future. We would recommend the spaghettini pasta, the duck, and the red velvet cake.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The service was slow and the server was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service was slow and the server was not knowledgeable. I have eaten here many times in the past and the staff and service is usually brisk and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Excellent menu. Food was outstanding, a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent menu. Food was outstanding, as was the service. Charming atmosphere . The wine list was excellent. The service was as good as it gets ... with great attention to our dining needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite Seattle Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our favorite Seattle Italian restaurant for 20 years!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Some of the best food in the city and gr ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Some of the best food in the city and great every visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.