About Il Terrazzo Carmine

411 1st Ave S
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

Il Terrazzo Carmine, owned and operated by Carmine Smeraldo, is one of Seattle's true dining anomalies - a highly successful restaurant with unfailingly high standards and a loyal, sophisticated clientele. The cuisine has been acclaimed as Seattle's best by the media and more importantly, by local diners.
Il Terrazzo Carmine is located in historic Pioneer Square - nestled in an urban-renewed alley with entrances through the vintage lobby on First Avenue or through the delightful courtyard in the back. Since 1984, Carmine Smeraldo's classic Italian restaurant has been where the locals have chosen to return over and over again. From the Carpaccio Di Bue and Spaghettini Dell 'Ortolano for lunch to the Suprema Di Pollo Farcita and Zuppa Di Pesce for dinner you will know you have gone to a place where excellence is a way of life. Arguably the best Italian restaurant in Seattle, Il Terrazzo serves classical Italian cuisine with an atmosphere you may want to call home and never leave

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 4:00PM

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Between Jackson and King on 1st Ave S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 467-7797

Website:
http://www.ilterrazzocarmine.com/

Catering:
Please contact us a 206-467-7797 for your catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Jackson Street between 1st Avenue S and Alaskan Way.

Executive Chef:
Juan Vega

Private Party Facilities:
Il Terrazzo Carmine can accommodate up to 30 guests in our intimate, private dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Ian King: 2064677797x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Il Terrazzo Carmine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Italian
Seattle / Eastern Washington
5 More
Best Overall
Seattle
Best Food
Seattle
Best Service
Seattle
Best Ambiance
Seattle
Italian
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (121)
fit for foodies (108)
romantic (97)
See All
notable wine list (74)
great for lunch (61)
neighborhood gem (54)
good for groups (46)
hot spot (17)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent in all respects as always. We ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent in all respects as always. We will return regularly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Extensive wine list and excellent food, ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Extensive wine list and excellent food, but the service is unacceptable for a high end restaurant. I have been twice recently and felt that the service was lacking on both occasions, though the 2nd visit was worse. The server seemed annoyed to be doing his job, and forgot to bring the oysters we ordered, then did not acknowledge the error before bringing the bill. It is quite loud when it is full. The menu is expensive, and for the money we spent, the service should have been stellar. There are other restaurants with excellent food and much better service for the price.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid place. Consistent. Starters were r ...

Dined 6 days ago

Solid place. Consistent. Starters were run of the mill. Main courses very competently prepared, tiramisu excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I have been a fan of Il Terrazzo for thr ...

Dined 7 days ago

I have been a fan of Il Terrazzo for three years. Their food is good, wine list broad and ambiance easy for good conversations. On this last visit, the service was not up to the same standard we have come to expect. The waiter had too many tables to serve and had a difficult time getting back to us. I trust it was just a busy night and not an on going issue. We will definitely be back!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants - the food is fantastic, the presentation is perfect, the decor is enchanting & all of the personnel make being at Il Terrazzo Carmine a real pleasure.đź’ť

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food quick service but a little pus ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Good food quick service but a little pushy in getting you out fast

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great choice!! Il terrazzo carm ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Always a great choice!! Il terrazzo carmine never disappoints and has continued to outdo itself time after time..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Don't order the Sweet Breads

Dined on May 11, 2016

We have been to this restaurant before while visiting Seattle, and the courtyard was charming with a fountain…unfortunately there is a building going up right behind, so the fountain has gone with the garden, a few tables there but not recommended to sit outside. Also, I ordered the sweet breads, and was very disappointed…they were sliced thin and deep fried, and didn't even present well….I did complain but was told it was a favourite of the house(I don't think so). It is close to the stadium, so I am sure a lot of people go there for dinner….wish I had ordered the pasta, as it is an italian restaurant….very busy on ballgame nights! Suzanne Stewart

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good dinner, good service, nice interior ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Good dinner, good service, nice interior. Quite noisy

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Terazzo Carmine is a Pioneer Square gem!

Dined on May 11, 2016

My favorite Italian Restaurant in Seattle. Always great service and amazing food. For a celebration lunch with your coworkers, a Birthday dinner with your wife or even a place to take your Mom before the M's..They do not disappoint, the staff know how to take care of you and they always make the culinary experience a special one. I have been a fan for 20 plus years.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem for us locals. Never disapp ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

A hidden gem for us locals. Never disappointed always pleasantly surprised . Absolutely the best servers in Seattle. Thank you for caring.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Boss Lives

Dined on May 9, 2016

Always a stickler for detail and never compromising when it came to the quality of his restaurant. Carmine is missed but not forgotten . . . . . . . I salute the family and staff for carrying on with such a fine restaurant. Carmine is proud and watches over you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our First Visit

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been hearing very good things about Il Terrazzo Carmine for some time and took the opportunity on Mothers Day to visit. We were not at all disappointed. The welcome, the meal, the service by Joseph and the team were all first class. We will definitely return, the experience was special and there is much on the menu we still wish to enjoy.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great time here!

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I like to come here and dine on the terrace whenever the Alaskan Way viaduct is closed. It gives us the opportunity to embrace the quiet and enjoy an excellent meal 'al fresco'. Our waiter, Joseph, was very friendly and attentive, and recommended a fine bottle of wine to accompany our meal. It did not disappoint, nor did the food. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dining Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful early Mother's Day dinner at Il Terrazzo Carmine. I highly recommend this restaurant for the delicious food, attentive service and warm atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Service Anytime

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our go to restaurant anytime we are in Seattle! Comfort food and elegance at the same time.......this is the place for you. We have had every meal too perfection each time we've dine at "Carmine's". The service is impeccable and after years of enjoyment the staff seems like family.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Classically great Italian! Still has all ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Classically great Italian! Still has all the charm!!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious Italian fare

Dined on May 5, 2016

Yummie food, which never disappoints. That is saying a lot. We have been coming to the restaurant for years and have never walked away disappointed. The appetizers are delicious, but the big problem is limiting oneself to just one. The ravioli is delicious and the accompanying sauce superb. The various meat dishes are wonderful...we LOVE the veal chop, in fact all the veal meals, and the fresh fish of the day. Accommodating chef will go the extra mile. We asked for a suggestion on the wine and our price range, and the waiter pointed out one at twice the price. Really not on. He should admit not knowing much about wine, as he didn't.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner before a show

Dined on May 5, 2016

We love this place. Excellent Italian food. We've eaten here a number of times - lunch and dinner. We hosted our son's rehearsal dinner here a few years ago. They did a beautiful job on both food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Liked it more when Carmine was running the place

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Its been a while since I decided it would be worth the drive to Seattle and wanted a place I loved in the past. Some menu items have changed and weren't as tastey as I remember. The staff is excellent, but the prices have increased quite a bit and though the quality is great the menu is not as unique as before.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic. Everything was great.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Fantastic. Everything was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Paris, our server was amazing and the fo ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Paris, our server was amazing and the food was incredible! Unforgettable birthday dinner. Thank you thank you thank you!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A little disappointed

Dined on April 19, 2016

We were told that while visiting Seattle, that Il Terrazzo Carmine was THE restaurant to go to. The food was okay, but certainly nothing "outstanding". My husband's veal was salty, but eaten with the risotto, it helped. My so forgettable I can't even remember what I had (2 nights ago!). Oh yes, I had their fettuccine al pesto con gamberi. The sauce was tasty though a bit heavy. The bread, though was OUTSTANDING!!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a good traditional italian restaurant

Dined on April 16, 2016

A very good restaurant. the complimentary valet parking is perfect. Waiter was professional. cooked the king salmon exactly as requested. good squid and good oysters.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Nothing special

Dined on April 13, 2016

This is a pleasant enough place to eat. Everyone was nice. Country European feel, including uncomfortable chairs. Not trying too hard. But the food is ordinary. I have been there twice now and both meals were forgettable. This last time, I had Ravioli di Pesce, a crab/shrimp-stuffed ravioli in a green "sauce primavera". Not much flavor though the pasta was nicely cooked and tasted fresh. It was something you might prepare for yourself with an online recipe. It was not expensive, but in the category of "It was fine and I didn't have to wash the dishes" as opposed to having been a notable dining experience.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

an annual lunch date to celebrate life and memorY

Dined on April 12, 2016

Every year we lunch at Il Terrazzo on 12 April to celebrate the wedding of dear friends, and memorialize the bride who passed away two years ago. We are long-time friends, and this special meal is very special indeed. And the service, food and kind attention all add up to a wonderful experience, one to remember happily all year long.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a stellar experience all the way ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

It was a stellar experience all the way around. Service was exceptional and the food was amazing. Don't even think about it, go here. Some of the best Italian I've ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! We went for a Birt ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was amazing! We went for a Birthday Dinner just before the Sounders Match. Easy walking distance from the stadium. We will absolutely be back!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A Seattle favorite

Dined on April 1, 2016

As always we have a wonderful meal there. The food is always exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian in Seattle

Dined on March 28, 2016

We have dined at Il Terrazzo Carmine several times over the years. It never disappoints. The quality and interest of the food is wonderful, the service, impeccable, the layout of the restaurant is pleasing with two separate levels, and it is not terribly noisy for those of us with hearing issues. Lunch is the real bargain at Il Terrazzo and also allows you to linger after the majority of the lunch guests have left.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Italian

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

This is a fabulous Italian restaurant, one whose reputation for excellence was entirely deserved after we hosted a dinner birthday party for 6.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just so Classy

Dined on March 27, 2016

We wanted to have a very special night so picked Terrazzo Carmine. What an amazing dinner. We shared many things to be able to just taste it all. Everything we had was the best. Our service was just outstanding. When I go out to a nice place, I really want spectacular service. We don't mind tipping well when that is the case. The attention to detail and timing by all involved in serving was perfect. They were there when we wanted them to be but never hovering. The wine sommelier suggested a wonderful Italian wine. Again one of the finest wines we have had in a long time. I cannot say enough how perfect the entire night was. Our now truly favorite place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Most Excellent !

Dined on March 27, 2016

From curb to curb- most excellent - Adrian the Maitre'D was most gracious with his greeting and departure - Valet was timely - Food, wine and service was timely. Wine selection was abundant with reasonable prices. The food was prepared perfectly and the service was not hurried but suggestive in choices and timing. Much was spent but quality was worth every cent. 🍷

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Terrazzo-the best Italian restaurant in Seattle

Dined on March 25, 2016

Il Terrazzo is a Seattle institution, but continues to reinvent itself with new dishes and new twists on old favorites. The atmosphere is sophisticated yet casual, romantic yet vibrant and private yet friendly. Maria and her devoted team consistently outperform - it is my top choice for professional business lunches as well as elegant dinners with friends and family. I recommend it to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfecto!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Always fabulous and classic. You can't go wrong with this long term family owned Seattle restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on March 25, 2016

Had a nice early dinner. All food was fresh and tasty. The halibut special was superb as was the soup.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian restaurant in Seattle in my ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Best Italian restaurant in Seattle in my honest opinion !

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely evening at I'm Terrazzo Carmine. ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Lovely evening at I'm Terrazzo Carmine. Delicious food, great menu, outstanding service, and lovely ambience. It was a busy night so a bit noisy, however, the six of us could hear each other w/o difficulty. If you're looking for excellent Italian food with excellent service and don't mind paying for it , you'll love Il Terrazzo Carmine!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Italian Elogance

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

This restaurant is a top Italian Restuarant in the country. I have been to many and this one is right up there with the best. The Eggplant Appatiser was perfect and the shrimp, crab and spinach ravioli was incredible. The service was great and the pace was wonderful. Will keep this as a definite when I am in Seattle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just fabulous!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Outstanding cuisine, outstanding staff, outstanding ambience, what more can you say? The best Italian restaurant I've been to in a very long time. Very authentic, perfectly prepared and lovely surroundings. And I JUST found out that a new location will be opening in Bellevue! THAT is outstanding, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.