Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.02mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.02mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.02mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.02mi

About Il Palio

Il Palio is an intimate restaurant in the Siena Hotel. We strive to emulate the best of the great Italian tradition of hospitality and quality at the table and in the glass. Our vision is simple – use the best local and Italian ingredients as purely as possible and serve them with comfort and pride. We cook as an Italian might in North Carolina.

1505 East Franklin Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am
Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Dinner: - Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Closed: Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Franklin St. and Estes Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 918-2545

Website:
http://www.ilpalio.com/

Catering:
Private dining and meeting space available from 2 - 200. Please contact the Catering & Sales team at 919.929.4000 or via email: astruble@sienahotel.com

Parking Details:
Ample, complimentary self parking and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Teddy Diggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining available to up to 100 guests. Please contact the Catering & Sales team at 919.929.4000 or via email: astruble@sienahotel.com

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us this year for Easter Brunch at Il Palio. We are offering a special three course brunch menu. from 10:30am - 3pm. The price is $58 per person.

Private Dining

The Ballroom at The Siena Hotel is beautifully appointed with natural light and can set up to 100 and receptions up to 150. It can also be split into two smaller rooms. The Terrace Room off of Il Palio is also available for events of up to 36 people.

Il Palio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
824 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Astonishingly delicious mussels! Possibly the lightest, freshest, most delicate and flavorful gnudi (like gnocchi, sort of) on the planet! We were stunned by the quality of our Italian dinner. And the service was impeccably perfect.

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Living in Durham usually means eating in Durham, especially at my favorite, Gocciolina. Il Palio, however, was well worth the drive to Chapel Hill. Our meal at Il Palio was amazing, and a very different italian dining experience than you would have at that other place on Guess Rd in North Durham.

My wife and I split three half pasta orders, and each was excellently presented. It reminded me of some of the delicious pasta dishes we had last year on our honeymoon in Tuscany. Looking forward to our next meal here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As always, the Swordish steak with Octopus on the side was my go-to dish (this has been added to the menu in the past year, I think). The swordfish was moist, tender, and tasty, and the octopus added some spice to the dish. (They've slightly reduced the size of the octopus from previous visits.) The pasta first course was great, and I finished up with one Bombolina on a bed of kumquats!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have eaten here many times in the past. When my wife received her salad she noticed that the dressing was much different . The dressing was acidic with too much lemon. My wife asked the waitress twice if the chef was present. She responded "yes". We found out later the main chef was in fact not present. We did receive a new salad but lets BE HONEST !!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service and wonderful ambiance but greatly overpriced and poorly prepared cuisine. Stay away from the sea bass. You will spend the entire meal picking bones out of your mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is a very high end Italian restaurant. Therefore, my expectations are high for the food and the service. The ambiance is excellent, beginning with entry into the historic Sienna Hotel lobby. We arrive a bit early for our reservation, and went to the bar for a pre-dinner drink. The specialty cocktail list was exceptionally good and we enjoyed the cocktails we ordered, put together by professional bartender. While having our cocktails, the hostess informed us our table was ready. For restaurants of this quality and price, I would have expected that the hostess or waitstaff to have picked up our drinks and brought them to our table, as is typical practice. Instead, we had to carry our drinks ourselves while fumbling with coats and pocketbook etc. It's a small thing, but what separates a high end restaurant is attention to the details. The dining room was lovely and the menu was inventive and enticing. My wife and I were very satisfied with the food, from the crustinis to my wood-grilled swordfish and octopus entree. I was a bit disappointed that our waitress was not sufficiently familiar with the wine by the glass selections to make recommendations for our meals, without going off to talk with someone else (the list is relatively small, but very good). As I said, my expectation was higher than for a "normal good" restaurant, therefore I rated the service a bit lower. However, the food and ambience is exceptional and I have no hesitation to recommending Il Palio highly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our Valentine's Day dinner. Fixed price menu was unique and scrumptious! The bread was to die-for!!! Excellent service. Friendly staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is currently the best restaurant in Chapel Hill in my opinion. Food is just outstanding. They took the octopus appetizer of the menu which upset me a bit, but when I asked about it server came back to the table and said the chef would make it for which I really appreciated. I do wish they'd put it back on the menu. They were really busy on this visit so service was a little off comepared to usual, but it was still very good even if just a hair below other visits. This is a restaurant in which is really is worth ordering something from every section of the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome service, romantic special evening, had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was terrible. One of the four dinners was given the wrong entree. Desserts were totally incorrect. My food was overdone and hardly edible. The only thing good about the meal were the mussels at the start. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

High class Italian cuisine, imaginative pastas, worth the $$$$ for special occasions, high class business dinner, and to those who like this kind of high class place and can afford it. Definitive no children.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Absolutely superb dinner with the chef accommodating a special request and then coming to our table to discuss what was prepared. Service was both prefect and enthusiastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were in town for the game and to celebrate my husband's birthday. The staff went above and beyond and were top notch. The wine list was extensive and carefully chosen. The Head Chef was kind enough to help us with our selection of wine. The food was heavenly. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

As always, great personalized service and great food. Wonderful place for dinner with friends - when you really want to be able to talk. Great personalized drink suggestions which adds to a festive atmosphere. This is our go-to place for friends and family. We can always be assured of a great evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

If you want excellent Italian in the Triangle, Il Palio cannot be beat. Excellent service, great homemade pasta, novel spin on dishes that remains true to the cuisine, lovely presentation, good variety on the menu. Great selection of Italian wines, but a few good domestics would help for those unfamiliar with Italian regional wines (me for instance). We've dined there with some frequency over the years and the restaurant has improved in this time, though it has always been good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The special menu for the holiday was amazing! The pistachio dessert was my favorite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our reservation was messed up and they put us in the bar area sitting in the lobby of the hotel in the hallway. This was very disappointing and then to top it off they had a restrictive menu so we could not even order off the dinner menu. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our 3rd New Year's Eve dinner with my two 8 year olds and my senior parents at Il Palio and each year we think it's the best yet! Amazing food, ambiance, service. Treat yourself to an amazing meal at Il Palio. Our compliments to Chef Teddy and the entire staff!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We waited for our table over 30 minutes in spite of reservation however we got some special cake for it. As a starter we got very nice salad with own baked bread. Unfortunately the bread was slack baked (raw). A waiter promised bring new ones but it never happened. We ordered also a very nice chocolate dessert with coffee and espresso.Unfortunately I didn't get my coffee as well . When we asked for the bill the waiter charged us for two coffees!! To be fair the rest of stuff was very professional and attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Christmas dinner. Creative Menu but food was over-salted. Pleasant staff. Attentive Service. Good for Special Occasions

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was good but ridiculously overpriced. The abience was nothing to get excited about and the noise was bad. The service was not good and I do not believe we will ever eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This Christmas Day lunch was a special occasion, and so was worth a little extra expense. In that regard, Il Palio does not disappoint; it is expensive, and in my opinion, a ways beyond was is really a reasonable price. The food was generally very good, except for a steak that was very undercooked. Surprisingly, the waiter never asked how done we wished the meat to be, and in the distraction of ordering wine, we forgot to pursue that. I just assumed the chef would know how to properly cook a steak. As far as wine goes, the wine list is not very extensive or versatile and our choice of a Cabernet by the glass seemed the best out of a limited number of offerings. It was adequate but not something we would order again.
On the plus side, the lamb meatballs were quite tasty. The roasted chestnut soup was also delicious. For desserts the gingerbread and the lemon cheesecake were also delightful. So three out of four courses does not sound too bad, but for the price paid I expect other nearby excellent restaurants will be more appealing for future outings.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Never again at 9 pm, especially on Christmas Eve. Terribly disappointed. Noisy, yes, but either our selections or the food preparation was unfortunate. Skip to the worse: the entrees were served on icy-cold plates--sea bass could have been great but hardly survived the transfer from the kitchen. I ate it as fast as I could but it was too soon just a $24 piece of cold fish. That followed Casso App that did neither the veal nor the ? favors. And I suppose I could have learned from the menu--or our waitress--that the mussels were served in some kind of spicy sauce quite unlike the wine/butter I anticipated. Does the chef leave at 9?

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had three entrees--special of lamb and sausage and whole sea bass were excellent. Pasta stuffed with pork and veal was good but too salty. Meyer lemon sorbetto very nice. Service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Exceptional food. Diverse menu with a really expansive Italian wine list. First and second courses maybe all you need, but the whole fish is to die for! Well worth the price. You can't go wrong at Il Palio.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Wonderful food prepared to accommodate food allergies. Great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great wait staff with expert advice on menu and items. Enjoyed our wine with excellent recommendations from our wine steward. Food was fantastic. We felt as if we were back in the old country

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Most AMAZING Italian food you can find. Each dish is meticulously thought out and served to perfection with an immaculate presentation. Took my husband here for his birthday, and as we recently moved to the area it was also our first time at this restaurant. Will be back and highly recommend. Additionally, the entire staff is incredibly welcoming and attentive. They truly made this a memorable evening for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had high expectations going to Il Palio that were unfortunately not met. The drinks are overpriced. The dinner and wine menu are hard to follow and understand. I really could not tell anything about what the pasta entrees were- almost like it was serving to dining elitist. A couple of the pasta dinners were barely edible almost as if something went wrong in the kitchen (over salted/seasoned). I can imagine any respectable chef to allow anything like this to leave the kitchen. We had a large party and we did have a good time- and I don't think anyone wanted to complain to kill the mood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was some of the very best pasta my husband and I have ever eaten- made in house, great flavors, and nice to have two options for portion size. The prosciutto was also outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Il Palio offers great, unique take traditional Italian fare. I started with a table poured chestnut soup , that was full of the flavors of the season. My Osso Bucco entrée was an incredibly complex form of comfort food. We come to Il Palio reasonably often, but this was the first with our elementary kids - and the staff were great (and so were our kids!). Never been disappointed with Il Palio!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Highly recommend Il Palio for the high quality food and presentation of cuisine. The appetizers, fish, lamb and steak were all fantastic with wonderful flavors. Would compare it with any number of five star restaurants. The wine list was largely European, but quite acceptable. The service was very adequate. I recommend a table towards the rear or in corner. We were in the main corridor and, in the winter, the breeze was quite cool, as well as the distraction of passing people.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The service was excellent, and the food was spectacular! We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent, fresh, high-end Italian restaurant. Beautiful location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

great food and outstanding service with Massimo! . considering the level of the restaurant ( and the price of the food) they should use tablecloth.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The menu was diverse and interesting from appetizers to dessert. Our service was outstanding, attentive without being intrusive. Waiter had excellent knowledge of the menu and wine list. The food was outstanding, savory with good portion size.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent food and great service! One of our very favorite restaurants

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Wonderful attention to each guest. Very flexible and helpful with food/wine choices. Remembered us from previous visit and had notes on the selections we had made before. Really felt as though they wanted us to have a great evening - and we did! Very well managed restaurant - lots of attention to detail - and it pays off in a great experience for the customer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We used to go to Il Palio regularly when we lived and worked in NC, but the décor aged, the chairs were unstable and the drive was no longer worth it. All that has changed! The remodeling is beautiful, the staff plentiful, and the food includes items rarely found even in competing fine dining restaurants. For example, the tripe served in a small casserole accompanied by a marvelously thick sauce was so good we both enjoyed it. The bartenders in the redone lounge also served a unique Manhattan with house made orange-flavored bitters and the best black cherries. The drive is worth it again!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.