About Il Palio

Il Palio is an intimate restaurant in the Siena Hotel. We strive to emulate the best of the great Italian tradition of hospitality and quality at the table and in the glass. Our vision is simple – use the best local and Italian ingredients as purely as possible and serve them with comfort and pride. We cook as an Italian might in North Carolina.

1505 East Franklin Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am
Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Dinner: - Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Closed: Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Franklin St. and Estes Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 918-2545

Website:
http://www.ilpalio.com/

Catering:
Private dining and meeting space available from 2 - 200. Please contact the Catering & Sales team at 919.929.4000 or via email: astruble@sienahotel.com

Parking Details:
Ample, complimentary self parking and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Teddy Diggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining available to up to 100 guests. Please contact the Catering & Sales team at 919.929.4000 or via email: astruble@sienahotel.com

Private Dining

The Ballroom at The Siena Hotel is beautifully appointed with natural light and can set up to 100 and receptions up to 150. It can also be split into two smaller rooms. The Terrace Room off of Il Palio is also available for events of up to 36 people.

Il Palio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Romantic (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Authentic (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (3)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We thoroughly enjoyed our Valentine's Da ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our Valentine's Day dinner. Fixed price menu was unique and scrumptious! The bread was to die-for!!! Excellent service. Friendly staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome service, romantic special evenin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome service, romantic special evening, had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible. One of the fou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was terrible. One of the four dinners was given the wrong entree. Desserts were totally incorrect. My food was overdone and hardly edible. The only thing good about the meal were the mussels at the start. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

High class Italian cuisine, imaginative ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

High class Italian cuisine, imaginative pastas, worth the $$$$ for special occasions, high class business dinner, and to those who like this kind of high class place and can afford it. Definitive no children.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely superb dinner with the chef a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Absolutely superb dinner with the chef accommodating a special request and then coming to our table to discuss what was prepared. Service was both prefect and enthusiastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for the game and to cele ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were in town for the game and to celebrate my husband's birthday. The staff went above and beyond and were top notch. The wine list was extensive and carefully chosen. The Head Chef was kind enough to help us with our selection of wine. The food was heavenly. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, great personalized service an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

As always, great personalized service and great food. Wonderful place for dinner with friends - when you really want to be able to talk. Great personalized drink suggestions which adds to a festive atmosphere. This is our go-to place for friends and family. We can always be assured of a great evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want excellent Italian in the Tri ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

If you want excellent Italian in the Triangle, Il Palio cannot be beat. Excellent service, great homemade pasta, novel spin on dishes that remains true to the cuisine, lovely presentation, good variety on the menu. Great selection of Italian wines, but a few good domestics would help for those unfamiliar with Italian regional wines (me for instance). We've dined there with some frequency over the years and the restaurant has improved in this time, though it has always been good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The special menu for the holiday was ama ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The special menu for the holiday was amazing! The pistachio dessert was my favorite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was messed up and they p ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our reservation was messed up and they put us in the bar area sitting in the lobby of the hotel in the hallway. This was very disappointing and then to top it off they had a restrictive menu so we could not even order off the dinner menu. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

This was our 3rd New Year's Eve dinner w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our 3rd New Year's Eve dinner with my two 8 year olds and my senior parents at Il Palio and each year we think it's the best yet! Amazing food, ambiance, service. Treat yourself to an amazing meal at Il Palio. Our compliments to Chef Teddy and the entire staff!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited for our table over 30 minutes ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We waited for our table over 30 minutes in spite of reservation however we got some special cake for it. As a starter we got very nice salad with own baked bread. Unfortunately the bread was slack baked (raw). A waiter promised bring new ones but it never happened. We ordered also a very nice chocolate dessert with coffee and espresso.Unfortunately I didn't get my coffee as well . When we asked for the bill the waiter charged us for two coffees!! To be fair the rest of stuff was very professional and attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

Excellent Christmas dinner. Creative Me ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Christmas dinner. Creative Menu but food was over-salted. Pleasant staff. Attentive Service. Good for Special Occasions

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good but ridiculously overp ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was good but ridiculously overpriced. The abience was nothing to get excited about and the noise was bad. The service was not good and I do not believe we will ever eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

This Christmas Day lunch was a special o ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This Christmas Day lunch was a special occasion, and so was worth a little extra expense. In that regard, Il Palio does not disappoint; it is expensive, and in my opinion, a ways beyond was is really a reasonable price. The food was generally very good, except for a steak that was very undercooked. Surprisingly, the waiter never asked how done we wished the meat to be, and in the distraction of ordering wine, we forgot to pursue that. I just assumed the chef would know how to properly cook a steak. As far as wine goes, the wine list is not very extensive or versatile and our choice of a Cabernet by the glass seemed the best out of a limited number of offerings. It was adequate but not something we would order again.

On the plus side, the lamb meatballs were quite tasty. The roasted chestnut soup was also delicious. For desserts the gingerbread and the lemon cheesecake were also delightful. So three out of four courses does not sound too bad, but for the price paid I expect other nearby excellent restaurants will be more appealing for future outings.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Never again at 9 pm, especially on Chris ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Never again at 9 pm, especially on Christmas Eve. Terribly disappointed. Noisy, yes, but either our selections or the food preparation was unfortunate. Skip to the worse: the entrees were served on icy-cold plates--sea bass could have been great but hardly survived the transfer from the kitchen. I ate it as fast as I could but it was too soon just a $24 piece of cold fish. That followed Casso App that did neither the veal nor the ? favors. And I suppose I could have learned from the menu--or our waitress--that the mussels were served in some kind of spicy sauce quite unlike the wine/butter I anticipated. Does the chef leave at 9?

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

We had three entrees--special of lamb an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had three entrees--special of lamb and sausage and whole sea bass were excellent. Pasta stuffed with pork and veal was good but too salty. Meyer lemon sorbetto very nice. Service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food. Diverse menu with a re ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Exceptional food. Diverse menu with a really expansive Italian wine list. First and second courses maybe all you need, but the whole fish is to die for! Well worth the price. You can't go wrong at Il Palio.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food prepared to accommodate f ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Wonderful food prepared to accommodate food allergies. Great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great wait staff with expert advice on m ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great wait staff with expert advice on menu and items. Enjoyed our wine with excellent recommendations from our wine steward. Food was fantastic. We felt as if we were back in the old country

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Most AMAZING Italian food you can find. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Most AMAZING Italian food you can find. Each dish is meticulously thought out and served to perfection with an immaculate presentation. Took my husband here for his birthday, and as we recently moved to the area it was also our first time at this restaurant. Will be back and highly recommend. Additionally, the entire staff is incredibly welcoming and attentive. They truly made this a memorable evening for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had high expectations going to Il Pal ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had high expectations going to Il Palio that were unfortunately not met. The drinks are overpriced. The dinner and wine menu are hard to follow and understand. I really could not tell anything about what the pasta entrees were- almost like it was serving to dining elitist. A couple of the pasta dinners were barely edible almost as if something went wrong in the kitchen (over salted/seasoned). I can imagine any respectable chef to allow anything like this to leave the kitchen. We had a large party and we did have a good time- and I don't think anyone wanted to complain to kill the mood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

This was some of the very best pasta my ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was some of the very best pasta my husband and I have ever eaten- made in house, great flavors, and nice to have two options for portion size. The prosciutto was also outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Il Palio offers great, unique take tradi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Il Palio offers great, unique take traditional Italian fare. I started with a table poured chestnut soup , that was full of the flavors of the season. My Osso Bucco entrée was an incredibly complex form of comfort food. We come to Il Palio reasonably often, but this was the first with our elementary kids - and the staff were great (and so were our kids!). Never been disappointed with Il Palio!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Highly recommend Il Palio for the high q ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Highly recommend Il Palio for the high quality food and presentation of cuisine. The appetizers, fish, lamb and steak were all fantastic with wonderful flavors. Would compare it with any number of five star restaurants. The wine list was largely European, but quite acceptable. The service was very adequate. I recommend a table towards the rear or in corner. We were in the main corridor and, in the winter, the breeze was quite cool, as well as the distraction of passing people.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was excellent, and the food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The service was excellent, and the food was spectacular! We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, fresh, high-end Italian resta ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent, fresh, high-end Italian restaurant. Beautiful location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and outstanding service with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

great food and outstanding service with Massimo! . considering the level of the restaurant ( and the price of the food) they should use tablecloth.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The menu was diverse and interesting fro ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The menu was diverse and interesting from appetizers to dessert. Our service was outstanding, attentive without being intrusive. Waiter had excellent knowledge of the menu and wine list. The food was outstanding, savory with good portion size.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and great service! One o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent food and great service! One of our very favorite restaurants

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful attention to each guest. Very ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Wonderful attention to each guest. Very flexible and helpful with food/wine choices. Remembered us from previous visit and had notes on the selections we had made before. Really felt as though they wanted us to have a great evening - and we did! Very well managed restaurant - lots of attention to detail - and it pays off in a great experience for the customer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We used to go to Il Palio regularly when ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We used to go to Il Palio regularly when we lived and worked in NC, but the décor aged, the chairs were unstable and the drive was no longer worth it. All that has changed! The remodeling is beautiful, the staff plentiful, and the food includes items rarely found even in competing fine dining restaurants. For example, the tripe served in a small casserole accompanied by a marvelously thick sauce was so good we both enjoyed it. The bartenders in the redone lounge also served a unique Manhattan with house made orange-flavored bitters and the best black cherries. The drive is worth it again!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely venue for our Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Lovely venue for our Thanksgiving dinner! Food and service were exceptional. A nice intimate setting, rather than a noisy ballroom.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were more than happy with our experie ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were more than happy with our experience for a special Thanksgiving Day 4-course meal. All our expectations were exceeded. We will return again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Thanksgiving, 2016. I find ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving, 2016. I find eating out depressing on a holiday, but the service, food and ambiance at Il Palio made the experience a highlight! Couldn't ask for a better meal. Still thinking about the gnocchi in brown butter with hazelnuts, fried sage and shaved parmesan!! I've never has a meal here that wasn't exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were quite disappointed with our Than ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were quite disappointed with our Thanksgiving dinner at Il Palio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The food was too salty. We have eaten th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was too salty. We have eaten there for years but the quality is not the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The service here was amazing. I took my ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The service here was amazing. I took my aunt and uncle here for dinner tonight, and every single person working here went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The food was delicious and I really enjoyed the night, but the service was really what got this restaurant a five star review. As far as food goes, the pork and veal meatballs were a favorite with all three of us, and my aunt thought the cacio e pepe was better than anything she found in Rome. I would have enjoyed a little less salt on the cassoncelli, but it still tasted very good. The dark chocolate torta and the espresso copetta were both delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our time here very much!

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Enjoyed our time here very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.