About Il Palio

1505 East Franklin Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

Il Palio is an intimate restaurant in the Siena Hotel. We strive to emulate the best of the great Italian tradition of hospitality and quality at the table and in the glass. Our vision is simple – use the best local and Italian ingredients as purely as possible and serve them with comfort and pride. We cook as an Italian might in North Carolina.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am
Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Dinner: - Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Closed: Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Franklin St. and Estes Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 918-2545

Website:
http://www.ilpalio.com/

Catering:
Private dining and meeting space available from 2 - 200. Please contact the Catering & Sales team at 919.929.4000 or via email: astruble@sienahotel.com

Parking Details:
Ample, complimentary self parking and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Teddy Diggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining available to up to 100 guests. Please contact the Catering & Sales team at 919.929.4000 or via email: astruble@sienahotel.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Talogonti With Pasta - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Telagonti With Shrimp - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Trüffelrisotto - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Francobolli - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Pavlova - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Steak - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Banana Cheesecake - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
Talogonti With Pasta - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
Telagonti With Shrimp - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
Trüffelrisotto - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
Francobolli - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
Pavlova - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
Steak - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC
Banana Cheesecake - Il Palio, Chapel Hill, NC

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Il Palio is offering a special four course menu with a set price of $84 per person.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Il Palio is offering a special four course menu at $84 per person for New Year's Eve.

Private Dining

The Ballroom at The Siena Hotel is beautifully appointed with natural light and can set up to 100 and receptions up to 150. It can also be split into two smaller rooms. The Terrace Room off of Il Palio is also available for events of up to 36 people.

Il Palio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Chapel Hill
Best Food
Chapel Hill
3 More
Best Service
Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Fit for Foodies (24)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Romantic (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fun (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

great food and outstanding service with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

great food and outstanding service with Massimo! . considering the level of the restaurant ( and the price of the food) they should use tablecloth.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful attention to each guest. Very ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful attention to each guest. Very flexible and helpful with food/wine choices. Remembered us from previous visit and had notes on the selections we had made before. Really felt as though they wanted us to have a great evening - and we did! Very well managed restaurant - lots of attention to detail - and it pays off in a great experience for the customer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and great service! One o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and great service! One of our very favorite restaurants

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We used to go to Il Palio regularly when ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We used to go to Il Palio regularly when we lived and worked in NC, but the décor aged, the chairs were unstable and the drive was no longer worth it. All that has changed! The remodeling is beautiful, the staff plentiful, and the food includes items rarely found even in competing fine dining restaurants. For example, the tripe served in a small casserole accompanied by a marvelously thick sauce was so good we both enjoyed it. The bartenders in the redone lounge also served a unique Manhattan with house made orange-flavored bitters and the best black cherries. The drive is worth it again!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely venue for our Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Lovely venue for our Thanksgiving dinner! Food and service were exceptional. A nice intimate setting, rather than a noisy ballroom.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were more than happy with our experie ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were more than happy with our experience for a special Thanksgiving Day 4-course meal. All our expectations were exceeded. We will return again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Thanksgiving, 2016. I find ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving, 2016. I find eating out depressing on a holiday, but the service, food and ambiance at Il Palio made the experience a highlight! Couldn't ask for a better meal. Still thinking about the gnocchi in brown butter with hazelnuts, fried sage and shaved parmesan!! I've never has a meal here that wasn't exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were quite disappointed with our Than ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were quite disappointed with our Thanksgiving dinner at Il Palio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The food was too salty. We have eaten th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was too salty. We have eaten there for years but the quality is not the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The service here was amazing. I took my ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The service here was amazing. I took my aunt and uncle here for dinner tonight, and every single person working here went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The food was delicious and I really enjoyed the night, but the service was really what got this restaurant a five star review. As far as food goes, the pork and veal meatballs were a favorite with all three of us, and my aunt thought the cacio e pepe was better than anything she found in Rome. I would have enjoyed a little less salt on the cassoncelli, but it still tasted very good. The dark chocolate torta and the espresso copetta were both delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our time here very much!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Enjoyed our time here very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Superb in every way, excellent from star ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Superb in every way, excellent from start to finish

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious at dinner and at ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious at dinner and at breakfast the next morning. Our favorites were the Buratta Antipasti and the Pappardelle Bolognese. For dessert, both the Pear Frangipani and the Pistachio Semifredo were fantastic. I have to say that my absolute favorite were the Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes for breakfast. The most delicious pancakes I have ever had!! Service was also impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The pasta was wonderful, especially the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The pasta was wonderful, especially the Pici pasta. I had all my dishes made with Pici. However, the service was a little slow. And on the night we were there, they also had two parties in the hotel, one in the lobby and the other in the banquet room at the restaurant. The banquet room party was just fine, but the party in the Lobby was just too much. After the event, many of their patrons were outside smoking (right in front of the hotel lobby), their smoke came right back into the restaurant, making me question whether smoking was allowed in the building. It was that strong. It kind of soured our evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value4

Fantastic and Massimo!!! Great find in t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Fantastic and Massimo!!!

Great find in the Raleigh/Durham area in an Autograph Hotel!!! Mixed Antipasto per person...Great! 500 Day Aged Prosciutto...Awesome! The classic and hard to find Cacio e Pepe...Amazing! The Bombilini...Amazing!!!! Get at least 3 of them!!!!

Highly recommend this restaurant and the real deal Italiano...Massimo!!!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a filet and swordfish - both were ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a filet and swordfish - both were excellent as was the lobster pasta. The swordfish was probably the best I've had in a very long time. Italian Greens Salad was covered in cheese, looked like a snowfall, and it also was delicious with subtle, but distinct anchovy and garlic flavors.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff and chef make this restaurant ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The staff and chef make this restaurant truly special. We have traveled to Italy many times, and eating here always takes us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service.

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pasta was perfect and the bartender (he ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Pasta was perfect and the bartender (he had short hair/balding)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The price is high for the value. Chicken ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The price is high for the value. Chicken dish was fine but not stellar. Having to order potatoes a la carte made it an expensive dish, especially for the quality. Maybe Sunday lunch would be better in price. I will check that out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

One of the best meals I have ever had an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had and the service was equal to the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our stay at the Sienna Hotel was wonderf ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our stay at the Sienna Hotel was wonderful and our dinner at Il Palio was delicious. I would definitely do it again. A wonderful weekend in Chapel Hill

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The seafood and pasta is awesome. Try an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The seafood and pasta is awesome. Try anything on the menu it will be mind blowing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were exceptional fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food and service were exceptional for all diners. The comments previously placed on Open Table regarding requirements for 1 0f 3 diners for gluten free options and 1 of 3 diners for low sodium preparation were remembered by the waiter and fulfilled. Even a special bread option, not requested, was prepared for the gluten free diner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is incredible and the service s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food is incredible and the service superb. I feel like I am back in Italy when I eat there! Consider ordering small plates and sharing an entree to take advantage of the whole excellent menu. Dessert was spectacular. Decaf cappuccino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner there last weekend everything ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Had dinner there last weekend everything was great not a single thing from service to food was out of place

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ask for Massimo as your server. He was v ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Ask for Massimo as your server. He was very attentive and anticipated every need. Food and wine are A+. Will be back soon. Thanks for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great & they knew who we were w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food was great & they knew who we were when we walked in, which was a nice touch. They also had called the day before to confirm our reservation & asked if it was a special occasion, to which I told them it was my anniversary... and on the night of our dinner, the menu said "Happy Anniversary" printed on the menu. Another nice touch.

We aren't fancy restaurant types generally by t the food was delicious overall & perfect for our special night. Deserts were really good as well! 😃 Service was even better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly the best restaurant in Chapel Hill ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Truly the best restaurant in Chapel Hill for people serious about food. No one is doing what Chef Teddy Diggs is doing. His creativity with ingredients is unrivaled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the octopus, excellent!

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Try the octopus, excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was disappointing We felt rushe ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner was disappointing

We felt rushed from the moment we sat down even though they were not busy. We ordered the grilled whole fish and the waiter said he would filet it tableside. He did but every bite was full of bones

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The sparkling wine was flat but they ope ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The sparkling wine was flat but they opened a new bottle for me.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent preparation and presentation b ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent preparation and presentation by very knowledgeable servers. Brought our own wine and the corkage fee was reasonable. Special chocolate desert fondue was served very warm and taste was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had been wanting to try Il Palio for s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I had been wanting to try Il Palio for some time and thought my birthday would be the perfect occasion to splurge. We arrived 30 minutes before our reservation and decided to have a drink at the bar while waiting for our table. As we were getting up to be seated when our table was available, the bartender spilled my entire glass of wine on my lap. I get that people have bad days and was very understanding while he apologized profusely. When ordering dinner, we started with 4 crostini to share. The bread came to us completely burned that it was hard to eat due to the extremely charred flavor. Our dinners did end up to be amazing. I ordered the agnolotti and my husband ordered the dry aged NY strip with olive oil crushed potatoes. Both were delicious and we enjoyed our dinners with a bottle of red wine that our waitress suggested. However, when we received the bill, we noticed the glass of wine that was spilled on me was not comped and that was very upsetting. All in all, the meal itself was amazing, minus the crostini.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The facility doesn't go well with the fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The facility doesn't go well with the food.

The food is quite delicious. While I wouldn't order the crostini again, everything else was excellent: the pastas, the lamb meatballs, the octopus, and the hazelnut dessert.

The weird lobby-of-a-hotel seating with fake wood tables and a weird display of wine glasses made for a somewhat aesthetically displeasing atmosphere -- I don't think the restaurant ever figured out what it is. The waiters all seemed kind of miserable about being there. We also didn't enjoy the upselling that went on: "sparkling or still or iced water?" we were asked. That's code for you'll pay $10, minimum, for what will be a bottle of water, unless you say you want iced water. Okay, then. $18 for a glass of wine? That would be fine for me if we weren't sitting in this weirdly ugly space...

We both remarked we'd return for the food and just sit at the bar next time to avoid the ugliness of the seating and the overall experience of the seating area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Delicious, catered to allergies, whipped ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Delicious, catered to allergies, whipped up a special sauce just for my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great real Italian food.Delicious home m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

great real Italian food.Delicious home made pasta, great espresso and great service ( Massimo was great!)

but be careful with the still water...$10 for a bottle of water is a rip off!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was one of our best dinners in a lo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was one of our best dinners in a long time. It was priced well for what level of service and quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was beyond outstanding. Chef prepa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was beyond outstanding. Chef prepared several items for us that were not on menu and they were fantastic. Service was excellent too...highly recommend this restaurant for Italian flair...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.