Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.02mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.02mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.02mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 1.02mi

About Il Palio

Il Palio is an intimate restaurant in the Siena Hotel. We strive to emulate the best of the great Italian tradition of hospitality and quality at the table and in the glass. Our vision is simple – use the best local and Italian ingredients as purely as possible and serve them with comfort and pride. We cook as an Italian might in North Carolina.

1505 East Franklin Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am
Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Dinner: - Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Closed: Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Franklin St. and Estes Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 918-2545

Website:
http://www.ilpalio.com/

Catering:
Private dining and meeting space available from 2 - 200. Please contact the Catering & Sales team at 919.929.4000 or via email: astruble@sienahotel.com

Parking Details:
Ample, complimentary self parking and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Teddy Diggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining available to up to 100 guests. Please contact the Catering & Sales team at 919.929.4000 or via email: astruble@sienahotel.com

Private Dining

The Ballroom at The Siena Hotel is beautifully appointed with natural light and can set up to 100 and receptions up to 150. It can also be split into two smaller rooms. The Terrace Room off of Il Palio is also available for events of up to 36 people.

Il Palio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Authentic (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (3)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
846 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Six years ago, this restaurant catered a family members wedding. They did a splendid job. On May 19th, we were able to return to Chapel Hill & had our grandchildren (aged 12 & 16) with us. The Il Palio staff were terrific as they made recommendations. No request fazed them. From the hostess who seated us, to the abundant number of waiters who served us, they were welcoming & helpful. The food was creative & delicious. Over the weekend, we had two dinners and two (amazing!) breakfasts at the Il Palio. In the morning, we would sit on the hotels deck with our dog & the waitstaff would bring him a water bowl. (The chef also prepares homemade dog biscuits.) The Il Palio is not a restaurant - it is an adventure in dining that our family will not forget.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Vegan, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We are traveling from Richmond for a swim meet at UNC and my child needs gluten free option, the restaurant has a very rich selection of GF food, from appetizers to entrees, home-made GF bread is delicious, so are their Pici pasta. We will be doing this meet annually and will be back here for sure. Great service and the Siena hotel is super nice too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Our dishes were inventive and delicious. So nice to have a wonderful restaurant located in a terrific hotel. The wait staff was helpful and recommendations were right on. Dinner was so good, we returned for a special breakfast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We celebrated our daughter's graduation at Il Palio. Leading up to the party, Tilson was very responsive to my emails and phone calls. We were able to design a menu that was perfect for our varied guests. On the evening of the party, the food and service were just perfect. I would highly recommend Il Palio for events.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have had great food and service in the past at this restaurant. However for Mother's Day brunch we were disappointed in that the food was mediocre and the service was very lackluster. Our desserts were presented and removed twice to be taken to other tables. Definitely not up to par and could have been just a function of a staff stretched thin due to the holiday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good place. Good food, exceptional service. Nothing like a Tuscan Villa like the website claims, but great overall experience. Not comparable to a big city or Italian Trattoria, but great for the area. Friendly atmosphere, and hospitality is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went for a graduation dinner. Menu was prix fix, four courses (we knew ahead of time); they were able to easily accommodate a vegetarian and a mushroom allergy. Service was quite good. Food was consistently well-plated, but flavors were not up to snuff. Most everything was just okay. One dessert, recommended by the waitress, was disliked by 3 of us; none of us finished it (and it was small). Servings were on the small side, but we appreciated that, as we often don't finish typical restaurant serving sizes. We enjoyed our celebration, but would not return. Just not worth the hefty price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food, service, and atmosphere are consistently excellent. We keep coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food is excellent. The service was impeccable. Offered very personal touch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everything was good. Service was even greater. Our water was really nice I love his accent. Food was good but not exactly my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We went to I'll Palio to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary, and the experience could not have been much better.

We have not been there in a number of years, and the "new" decor is very nice. Our waiter, Massimo, and his assistant, Anne(?), were both fantastic and the food - from bruschetta to prosciutto to pasta, steak, and polenta - was simply outstanding!

It all made for a very memorable celebration and we hope we make it back again sometime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Dinner was fantastic and they were able to recommend foods to handle my wife's food allergies (gluten/dairy) without problem. We have had Massimo as our waiter the last few times and, along with remembering us, he has also been a fabulous help with both a friendly smile and a wonderful attitude. I highly recommend Il Palio for all those looking for a special evening out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

What a disappointment! For what we spent at Il Palio (4 adults, 2 children, 2 bottles of wine almost $600!!!!) we could have gone away for a weekend. Had the food been a gastronome's dream I wouldn't have minded, but it was just ordinary. The presentation was beautiful. The taste was mediocre. My daughter had the swordfish and wasn't able to eat most of it because it tasted "fishy". When we asked about it on our way out we were told they "tested it in the kitchen and it was fine." The portions were small (except for my seabass which was a whole fish) and everything was a la carte so there were no sides with the entrees. My polenta was runny, the bass was overwhelmed by the olives and capers on top (not a sauce, just a topping) and the fish was dry. If they had even offered some positive note in response to my daughter's complaint about the fish I would feel better about the place. The one nice touch was that they printed "Happy Birthday" at the top of the menus.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was a great meal. The place was cheery and at the same time intimate. All aspects of the experience was outstanding. We will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were celebrating our 20th marriage anniversary. My wife and I were very satisfied overall but need to highlight the food! Unique flavor! Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was as good as anywhere we have eaten, including Italy. Best swordfish I have ever had, didn't know it could be so good. Desserts were spectacular. Service first rate.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This is a go-to restaurant for my wife and me, particularly for special occasions. I have rated this restaurant in the past 5 stars but our most recent meal, although quite good missed the spot a bit. The Rigatoni Amatriciana was an even smaller portion than usual and not as good as the other pasta selections that I have had previously at Il Palio. The Rigatoni and frankly all of the pasta selections at around $16 for the appetizer portion are a very poor value. I will stay away from the pastas on our next visit simply because I don't think they are good value.
We both ordered the Octopus and Swordfish main which was excellent. Il Palio is an expense account restaurant; unfortunately I am now retired and no longer have an expense account

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, have been there many times for business and pleasure. This time was different as my business colleague with me, and I stepped in to the lobby for a few minutes and returned to see that staff cleaned off our table as if we had run out on the tab! Not cool at all.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Truly a first rate Italian Restaurant. I had not had Italian food of this quality since 1998 in Lucca! Knowledgeable service and a fine selection of Italian wines. Worth a special trip!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The dishes are unique and wonderfully prepared. They need to be savored and that can only happen when you dine quietly, focusing on each morsel entering your mouth. You're wasting your money by going with a large and noisy group in which the conversation is primary and what you eat is secondary. It's the best Italian food in the region. All the ingredients are top notch. Chef Teddie is very creative yet honors the wide array of Italian cuisines from north to south.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing Italian food. We had three different kinds of pasta, and each was tasty and unique! They even offered gluten free pasta. The gelato and almond cookies were incredible.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Quiet venue where we could talk and laugh together without disturbing others. My "meat and potatoes" husband was able to find good food to suit him. Dessert was just fancy enough. Excellent dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Astonishingly delicious mussels! Possibly the lightest, freshest, most delicate and flavorful gnudi (like gnocchi, sort of) on the planet! We were stunned by the quality of our Italian dinner. And the service was impeccably perfect.

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Living in Durham usually means eating in Durham, especially at my favorite, Gocciolina. Il Palio, however, was well worth the drive to Chapel Hill. Our meal at Il Palio was amazing, and a very different italian dining experience than you would have at that other place on Guess Rd in North Durham.

My wife and I split three half pasta orders, and each was excellently presented. It reminded me of some of the delicious pasta dishes we had last year on our honeymoon in Tuscany. Looking forward to our next meal here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As always, the Swordish steak with Octopus on the side was my go-to dish (this has been added to the menu in the past year, I think). The swordfish was moist, tender, and tasty, and the octopus added some spice to the dish. (They've slightly reduced the size of the octopus from previous visits.) The pasta first course was great, and I finished up with one Bombolina on a bed of kumquats!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have eaten here many times in the past. When my wife received her salad she noticed that the dressing was much different . The dressing was acidic with too much lemon. My wife asked the waitress twice if the chef was present. She responded "yes". We found out later the main chef was in fact not present. We did receive a new salad but lets BE HONEST !!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service and wonderful ambiance but greatly overpriced and poorly prepared cuisine. Stay away from the sea bass. You will spend the entire meal picking bones out of your mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is a very high end Italian restaurant. Therefore, my expectations are high for the food and the service. The ambiance is excellent, beginning with entry into the historic Sienna Hotel lobby. We arrive a bit early for our reservation, and went to the bar for a pre-dinner drink. The specialty cocktail list was exceptionally good and we enjoyed the cocktails we ordered, put together by professional bartender. While having our cocktails, the hostess informed us our table was ready. For restaurants of this quality and price, I would have expected that the hostess or waitstaff to have picked up our drinks and brought them to our table, as is typical practice. Instead, we had to carry our drinks ourselves while fumbling with coats and pocketbook etc. It's a small thing, but what separates a high end restaurant is attention to the details. The dining room was lovely and the menu was inventive and enticing. My wife and I were very satisfied with the food, from the crustinis to my wood-grilled swordfish and octopus entree. I was a bit disappointed that our waitress was not sufficiently familiar with the wine by the glass selections to make recommendations for our meals, without going off to talk with someone else (the list is relatively small, but very good). As I said, my expectation was higher than for a "normal good" restaurant, therefore I rated the service a bit lower. However, the food and ambience is exceptional and I have no hesitation to recommending Il Palio highly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our Valentine's Day dinner. Fixed price menu was unique and scrumptious! The bread was to die-for!!! Excellent service. Friendly staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is currently the best restaurant in Chapel Hill in my opinion. Food is just outstanding. They took the octopus appetizer of the menu which upset me a bit, but when I asked about it server came back to the table and said the chef would make it for which I really appreciated. I do wish they'd put it back on the menu. They were really busy on this visit so service was a little off comepared to usual, but it was still very good even if just a hair below other visits. This is a restaurant in which is really is worth ordering something from every section of the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome service, romantic special evening, had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was terrible. One of the four dinners was given the wrong entree. Desserts were totally incorrect. My food was overdone and hardly edible. The only thing good about the meal were the mussels at the start. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

High class Italian cuisine, imaginative pastas, worth the $$$$ for special occasions, high class business dinner, and to those who like this kind of high class place and can afford it. Definitive no children.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Absolutely superb dinner with the chef accommodating a special request and then coming to our table to discuss what was prepared. Service was both prefect and enthusiastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were in town for the game and to celebrate my husband's birthday. The staff went above and beyond and were top notch. The wine list was extensive and carefully chosen. The Head Chef was kind enough to help us with our selection of wine. The food was heavenly. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

As always, great personalized service and great food. Wonderful place for dinner with friends - when you really want to be able to talk. Great personalized drink suggestions which adds to a festive atmosphere. This is our go-to place for friends and family. We can always be assured of a great evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

If you want excellent Italian in the Triangle, Il Palio cannot be beat. Excellent service, great homemade pasta, novel spin on dishes that remains true to the cuisine, lovely presentation, good variety on the menu. Great selection of Italian wines, but a few good domestics would help for those unfamiliar with Italian regional wines (me for instance). We've dined there with some frequency over the years and the restaurant has improved in this time, though it has always been good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The special menu for the holiday was amazing! The pistachio dessert was my favorite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our reservation was messed up and they put us in the bar area sitting in the lobby of the hotel in the hallway. This was very disappointing and then to top it off they had a restrictive menu so we could not even order off the dinner menu. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.