About Il Palio

1505 East Franklin Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
View Larger Map

Il Palio is an intimate restaurant in the Siena Hotel. We strive to emulate the best of the great Italian tradition of hospitality and quality at the table and in the glass. Our vision is simple – use the best local and Italian ingredients as purely as possible and serve them with comfort and pride. We cook as an Italian might in North Carolina.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am
Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Dinner: - Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Closed: Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
Franklin St. and Estes Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 918-2545

Website:
http://www.ilpalio.com/

Catering:
Private dining and meeting space available from 2 - 200. Please contact the Catering & Sales team at 919.929.4000 or via email: astruble@sienahotel.com

Parking Details:
Ample, complimentary self parking and valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Teddy Diggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining available to up to 100 guests. Please contact the Catering & Sales team at 919.929.4000 or via email: astruble@sienahotel.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Il Palio
  • Talogonti With Pasta - Il Palio
  • Telagonti With Shrimp - Il Palio
  • Trüffelrisotto - Il Palio
  • Francobolli - Il Palio
  • Pavlova - Il Palio
  • Steak - Il Palio
  • Banana Cheesecake - Il Palio
Il Palio
Talogonti With Pasta - Il Palio
Telagonti With Shrimp - Il Palio
Trüffelrisotto - Il Palio
Francobolli - Il Palio
Pavlova - Il Palio
Steak - Il Palio
Banana Cheesecake - Il Palio

Private Dining

The Ballroom at The Siena Hotel is beautifully appointed with natural light and can set up to 100 and receptions up to 150. It can also be split into two smaller rooms. The Terrace Room off of Il Palio is also available for events of up to 36 people.

Il Palio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Italian
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Overall
Chapel Hill
6 More
Best Food
Chapel Hill
Best Service
Chapel Hill
Best Ambiance
Chapel Hill
Best Value
Chapel Hill
Fit for Foodies
Chapel Hill
Special Occasion
Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Chapel Hill ›

Special Occasion (34)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Romantic (26)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had dinner there last weekend everything ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had dinner there last weekend everything was great not a single thing from service to food was out of place

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ask for Massimo as your server. He was v ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Ask for Massimo as your server. He was very attentive and anticipated every need. Food and wine are A+. Will be back soon. Thanks for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great & they knew who we were w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food was great & they knew who we were when we walked in, which was a nice touch. They also had called the day before to confirm our reservation & asked if it was a special occasion, to which I told them it was my anniversary... and on the night of our dinner, the menu said "Happy Anniversary" printed on the menu. Another nice touch.

We aren't fancy restaurant types generally by t the food was delicious overall & perfect for our special night. Deserts were really good as well! 😃 Service was even better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly the best restaurant in Chapel Hill ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Truly the best restaurant in Chapel Hill for people serious about food. No one is doing what Chef Teddy Diggs is doing. His creativity with ingredients is unrivaled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the octopus, excellent!

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Try the octopus, excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was disappointing We felt rushe ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner was disappointing

We felt rushed from the moment we sat down even though they were not busy. We ordered the grilled whole fish and the waiter said he would filet it tableside. He did but every bite was full of bones

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The sparkling wine was flat but they ope ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The sparkling wine was flat but they opened a new bottle for me.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent preparation and presentation b ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent preparation and presentation by very knowledgeable servers. Brought our own wine and the corkage fee was reasonable. Special chocolate desert fondue was served very warm and taste was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had been wanting to try Il Palio for s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I had been wanting to try Il Palio for some time and thought my birthday would be the perfect occasion to splurge. We arrived 30 minutes before our reservation and decided to have a drink at the bar while waiting for our table. As we were getting up to be seated when our table was available, the bartender spilled my entire glass of wine on my lap. I get that people have bad days and was very understanding while he apologized profusely. When ordering dinner, we started with 4 crostini to share. The bread came to us completely burned that it was hard to eat due to the extremely charred flavor. Our dinners did end up to be amazing. I ordered the agnolotti and my husband ordered the dry aged NY strip with olive oil crushed potatoes. Both were delicious and we enjoyed our dinners with a bottle of red wine that our waitress suggested. However, when we received the bill, we noticed the glass of wine that was spilled on me was not comped and that was very upsetting. All in all, the meal itself was amazing, minus the crostini.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The facility doesn't go well with the fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The facility doesn't go well with the food.

The food is quite delicious. While I wouldn't order the crostini again, everything else was excellent: the pastas, the lamb meatballs, the octopus, and the hazelnut dessert.

The weird lobby-of-a-hotel seating with fake wood tables and a weird display of wine glasses made for a somewhat aesthetically displeasing atmosphere -- I don't think the restaurant ever figured out what it is. The waiters all seemed kind of miserable about being there. We also didn't enjoy the upselling that went on: "sparkling or still or iced water?" we were asked. That's code for you'll pay $10, minimum, for what will be a bottle of water, unless you say you want iced water. Okay, then. $18 for a glass of wine? That would be fine for me if we weren't sitting in this weirdly ugly space...

We both remarked we'd return for the food and just sit at the bar next time to avoid the ugliness of the seating and the overall experience of the seating area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Delicious, catered to allergies, whipped ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Delicious, catered to allergies, whipped up a special sauce just for my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great real Italian food.Delicious home m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

great real Italian food.Delicious home made pasta, great espresso and great service ( Massimo was great!)

but be careful with the still water...$10 for a bottle of water is a rip off!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was one of our best dinners in a lo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was one of our best dinners in a long time. It was priced well for what level of service and quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was beyond outstanding. Chef prepa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was beyond outstanding. Chef prepared several items for us that were not on menu and they were fantastic. Service was excellent too...highly recommend this restaurant for Italian flair...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The service was as good as the food, and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The service was as good as the food, and I appreciate that the most. I left a generous tip because the 2 waiters EARNED IT.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

workers were great! friendly,,,food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

workers were great! friendly,,,food was good Baccala was excellent. ravioli was good but after a few the taste was too strong ... I would keep it milder... even for american tastes ... keep it mild like Italy ....

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to this restaurant three or ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have been to this restaurant three or four times in the past several months. It has a new look, very classy and comfortable. The meu is fine but most of the entrees are pasta dishes....but they do have basic fish and meat entrees. The service has been very good. Our m=primary complaint is that the chef is very heavy-handed with the salt. The last two times we experienced three entrees which were too salty. The most recent time we ordered a chocolate soufflé......it was very salty! As a result, I would be hesitant to recommend it to other people......

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, great service, lovely surrou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great food, great service, lovely surroundings - what more could one ask for? The whole staff was attentive, well informed and genuinely seemed want us to have a great evening - and we did! Food was wonderful and the portions perfect - not too much and not too little. This is a wonderful place for a fun meal with friends or business associates

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner birthday celebration~~ sta ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great dinner birthday celebration~~ staff gave well wishes for an extra special touch. Will definitely recommend to other and dine there again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 1st wedd ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary with a night at The Sienna Hotel (highly recommend) and dinner at Il Palio this past weekend. We both had always wanted to go to Il Palio, so our expectations were pretty high. The restaurant did not disappoint! They had Happy Anniversary printed on our menus which I thought was such a special touch. We started with a drink at the bar outside the restaurant in the hotel with Luke, the friendly and knowledgeable bartender. He shared some favorites from the menu witch us. At dinner, we began with 4 of the crostini appetizers to share - a house made ricotta with Wildflower Honey, Fonduta, Chicken Liver Mousse, and Beefsteak Drippings. The fonduta was probably our least favorite, and we couldn't decide which one we loved the most out of the other 3. I highly recommend trying some. For dinner, I got the Bucatini dish. It had fresh tomatoes and guanciale, very tasty. My husband couldn't stop raving about his meal, which is rare for him. He had the pork and veal ravioli with pistachios and fried sage. It was delicious! I got a half portion (what a great option) and my husband was going to as well, but Ally, our waitress , let him know the half had 3 and the whole had 6 ravioli so he went with the full portion. He also ordered a side of the polenta, full of corn and cheese, yum! We finished off the night with espresso and olive oil cake. This was probably my least favorite dish of the evening, but still good compared to the rest of the meal being perfect! All of the service we received was excellent as well. We'll be going back as soon as we can find an excuse for another special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was so so, somewhat confused, we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was so so, somewhat confused, we were 4 in number, had a pre dinner drink, 2 bottles of wine and we had to ask for help in filling wine glasses.

Food was OK, but nothing "special"

For such a "pricey" meal, it was somewhat disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

delicious food......pricey so for us the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

delicious food......pricey so for us the restaurant is a "special occasion" place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Palio has been on our 'try' list sinc ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Il Palio has been on our 'try' list since their renovations, liked the new 'open kitchen'and less formal setting. Service was outstanding. Would like to see the whole fish presented on a bigger platter, would be easier to filet ... better yet, have the server prepare it at the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Have gluten free options ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service. Have gluten free options. Ambience was nice - not too loud, easy to talk to our table. There is a nice area on the patio for dining, it was too hot when we were there, but probably very nice in cooler weather.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and the food here is great. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The service and the food here is great. There are fun cocktails (the sweetie likes these) and some seroius wines. Get the little dessert doughnuts. Those are a fine finish. (Basically... churros) but are know as bombolinas. Buono Appetito. This place is reliably great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful atmosphere, great service and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, great service and amazing food!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the evening. Nice place to h ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed the evening. Nice place to have a drink before dinner and then especially dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely, quiet restaurant. Service was o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Lovely, quiet restaurant. Service was outstanding. Our waitress (wish I could recall her name) was very knowledgeable about the menu and and wine and made recommendations. At her suggestion I ordered the grilled swordfish (fresh off the boat from Beaufort NC and very delicious) but I mentioned that the sea bass preparation with capers & olives sounded appetizing. So she brought a cup of capers and olives side with my swordfish so I could have that too. The kitchen sent my chicken liver crostini appetizer to the wrong table, so they not only delivered my chicken liver they also added a white bean crostini (at no charge) so my dining companion had an appetizer too, since the appetizer was delayed. I really wanted to have the gelato dessert but we were too full after the pasta primi and the main course, but our waitress brought 6 spoons with a taste of each of the 3 gelato flavors for the 2 of us to try. She was awesome -- paid attention to what we said and, very unexpectedly, treated us to some nice extras. It's a lovely fine dining restaurant. Prices are what you'd expect for fine dining, but very worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Italian waiter was charming and sugg ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our Italian waiter was charming and suggested two excellent dishes for my friend and I. We were both delighted with our dinners and even shared a hot chocolate souffle which we had ordered right after arriving. A tasty treat to finish a fine meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal. Service and food were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding meal. Service and food were both excellent. The restaurant was not crowded and thus the noise level was non-existent. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent dining experience. Since ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

An excellent dining experience. Since our party of 7 wanted to try everything, we ordered a lot of things to share, beginning with four different crostini -- white bean, beef dripping, chicken liver and mashed green pea. All of them were tasty, but not particularly memorable. Next we ordered two antipasti -- wood grilled octopus and braised lamb meatballs. Both were excellent. Then we shared four of the pastas -- pappardelle with ragu, pork and veal ravioli, spaghetti cacio e pepe, and bucatini all'Amatriciano. The pastas are really the strong suit of Il Palio. All of the ones we tried were outstanding. For dessert, we had two dark chocolate souflees, as well as a dark chocolate torta and a slice of olive oil cake. The souflee was a bit of a disappointment. The texture was very nice -- light and fluffy -- but the chocolate was unsweetened and didn't really hit the spot for dessert. The olive oil cake was terrific. Top marks to the wait staff who were knowledgeable, attentive, and paced the service perfectly. A special shout out to the wine steward. Even though I told him I was not a fan of Nebbiolo wines, he made a strong recommendation for a Barolo which he said was drinking very well. When he poured me a sample, I told him that I just didn't care for it. He could not have been more gracious in agreeing to take it back. He then steered us toward a delicious super Tuscan that we all enjoyed very much. Not surprisingly, the wine list tilts heavily toward Italian wines. It is not extensive, but has a good sampling of the major wine regions of Italy and is not over priced. One more shout out to the wine steward. While eating, he heard me mention that I preferred my pasta Amatriciano with a bit more spice, and before I had a chance to take another bite, promptly brought over some ground hot pepper. That's the kind of service that makes a restaurant special and makes me want to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great anniversary dinner, superb service ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great anniversary dinner, superb service, good wine. Overall great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Some exceptional items on the menu. Ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Some exceptional items on the menu. Everything was good. Excellent service, nice atmosphere, reasonable prices for a high quality meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

20th anniversary dinner

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Il Palio was the perfect location to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We are Italy-lovers and the food and ambience were perfect. The staff were very attentive and made it an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wine and service as alwa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent food, wine and service as always. Authentic Italian food, great wood fire cooking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter and helper were really wonder ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Our waiter and helper were really wonderful, friendly, courteous, helpful and fun. A real asset to the restaurant. Sorry, I do not remember their names. Thank them for us. Our complements to the chef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A 5 star celebration

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were celebrating my daughter's graduation from Graduate School! It was also Mothers Day and the four course pre fixe menu was incredible! Food was delicious and served beautifully. Wait staff was very attentive and helpful. A great restaurant for that special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Disappointment

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The 3-course prix fixe Mother's Day brunch menu was very overpriced. $200 for 3 people. The meals should have been spectacular at that price. They weren't. Massimo, our waiter, was delightful, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

We went for Mother's Day and had a thoro ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day and had a thoroughly enjoyable dinner. The only offering, which we knew beforehand, was a three-course prix fixe menu and, while the food was very good, even excellent, I felt the pricing was high for some of the items on the menu. Had what was contained on the menu been known beforehand, I could have gone in better prepared on what to expect. But overall, the food was excellent, of very high quality, the service top notch, and a good time had by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Italian in Chapel Hill

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Il Palio's is outstanding Italian cuisine. They use the local meats and produce, along with the freshest seafood from the coast to deliver really amazing Italian dishes. They have a very nice selection of Italian wines, including lesser know wines from Sicily. While service is good, it is the food, and the consistent food experience , that make this place really something special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.