About Il Naso Ristorante Italiano

480 Washington Ave
Ketchum, ID 83340
View Larger Map

il Naso is a long time favorite of the Wood River Valley. Located in the heart of Ketchum, ID il Naso provides a warm and cozy ambiance with great service and outstanding cuisine. Our menu changes seasonally with nightly specials. Our wine list is extensive and focuses on Italian varietals. il Naso is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or to simply have a great evening with friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Hours through June: Open Thurs.-Mon. 5:30- Close
Sunday Brunch 10am to 1pm

Cross Street:
5th st.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 726-7776

Website:
http://www.ilnaso.com/

Catering:
call for details

Private Party Facilities:
call for details

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Il Naso Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Notable Wine List
Idaho
Romantic
Idaho
1 More
Most Booked
Sun Valley / Ketchum
Best Restaurants in Ketchum ›

Fit for Foodies (30)
Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (24)
See All
Notable Wine List (21)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Authentic (3)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, ambiance and helpful wait st ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food, ambiance and helpful wait staff. Would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is amazing, the pasta has a lif ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food is amazing, the pasta has a life of its own and the sauces linger but do not overpower.

For a small menu, several vegetarian options and the deserts were complex and not over-sugared.

Worth a drive just to savor the work of a master.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great to find a quality Italian r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was great to find a quality Italian restaurant in the mountains -- a very pleasant surprise!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant had a swanky appearance a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The restaurant had a swanky appearance and the service was great. The food was inconsistent. The salad and soup were okay. My husband's chicken dish suited him as it was pretty heavy and very salty. The best description of my chicken and mushroom pasta dish is that it was essentially what I would get if I made a box of Annie's pasta and white cheddar and topped it with some microwaved Trader Joe's chicken breast strips (and didn't put any mushrooms on it). But at least at home I could put Sriracha sauce on it to give it some flavor (and include mushrooms). Again, the service was fine, the waiter offered to bring me something else, but I don't like to throw away food. The dish shouldn't have left the kitchen in the first place. Overall review: all show, no go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Awesome Place! Highly Recommended! Gre ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Awesome Place! Highly Recommended! Great atmosphere and the service is exceptional!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the veal piccata and it not on ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I ordered the veal piccata and it not only didn't have 'plate appeal", but it was pounded so thin and scored that it was really unattractive and not very edible. I have had other better meals so we will come back. But, that dinner should be revamped or scrapped. Sorry to give that review.

I really like the friendliness and ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Based on the terrible service and only v ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Based on the terrible service and only very average food, t will be a long time, if ever, that any of us will return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I went there for my wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I went there for my wedding anniversary and was treated so very special. You have the very best desserts around and I always look forward to dining with you!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've gone here three years in a row for ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We've gone here three years in a row for our anniversary and it never disappoints. The food is fresh and delicious! The service is always great and they have a great wine list. You can't go wrong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual great food and service. The spa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

As usual great food and service. The spagettini is always great. Though not on the menu the homemade vanilla ice cream with homemade caramel is out of this world.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice meal, service and ambiance. W ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very nice meal, service and ambiance. We will eat there weekly!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Private Room, Disabled Access, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was agonizingly slow, and when t ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service was agonizingly slow, and when the food did arrive, it was at room temperature.

There was no apology. I had their soup of the day which had no flavor.

Nice wine list, but it will some time before I go back, if ever.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was prompt and courteous albeit ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Service was prompt and courteous albeit a bit slow considering the restaurant was 1/3 full.

Food was prepared well but lacked any memorable qualities.

wins by the glass was limited but ok quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We were in Sun Valley for an event and m ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were in Sun Valley for an event and made reservations at Il Naso. We were warmly greeted, but the restaurant itself was hot, as in temperature from not having working air conditioning on a very warm day and evening. We chose some wine and appetizers which were good. The dinners arrived, and while good, nothing to rave about; the menu lacks some creativity. The server was a bit slow, but we could tell he had too many tables and the temperature also made him uncomfortable I'm sure. Will try the competing place up the road next time we are in town to compare.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I've eaten at Il Naso many times. Never ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I've eaten at Il Naso many times. Never have I been disappointed. Entres are fantastic and salads and etc. are as well. I prefer it to any other restaurant in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and presentation was greatly im ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food and presentation was greatly improved over previous visits. Interesting menu. Great service. Reasonable prices. If you're in Sun Valley area and want Italian food, this place is clearly the best choice by far.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was great. The food was wonde ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter was great.

The food was wonderful!

My only negative:

We arrived earlier than our reservation time and wanted to sit in the bar. There was no problem with that, but the young hostess did not check us in thru OpenTable, even though I reminded her to do so.

Otherwise, a perfect way to celebrate a big birthday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 7:45 reservation. Didn't get o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a 7:45 reservation. Didn't get our food till 9:45. The salmon was great, the pasta awful. When speaking to the chef, didn't get much resolution (a few meals were written off and free desert was offered, but at 10 pm after 2 1/2 hours, we no longer wanted dessert) Chef did claim that Open Table overbooked the restaurant. Perhaps they could use some training on how to use your product?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Went there for the octopus. Served only ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Went there for the octopus. Served only three very small pieces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fabulous restaurant all around. Great fo ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fabulous restaurant all around. Great food, superb service, wonderful wines and the best Chocolate bread pudding dessert on the planet. Huge thanks to owner Sam, executive chef Kate, and all the staff for a lovely meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The full dining experience is the best! ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The full dining experience is the best! Even if you just have time for a glass of wine and appetizer ; it is well worth it! Love my server Janine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well, the food was amazing! We were a bi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Well, the food was amazing! We were a bit surprise to not be able to get a table a little later and when we showed up NO ONE was in the restaurant. NO other diners even showed until we were half done. The waiter was pleasant and warmed up a little through out the dinner as we started to look like we knew what we were doing. However, we had two teenagers with us (both have been eating at nice restaurants for most of their lives and know how to behave) but it seemed to be more of a wine centered restaurant. It just felt uncomfortable for us. NOW having said that, if we were there when more people were in the restaurant and we were just with adults I feel it may have been more comfortable. The food was fantastic and the server was certainly quite a bit more friendly when we left. I wouldn't return only because there are so many warmer restaurants in Ketchum that have equally delicious food. However, if you want a mature, snooty place that is delicious, this is the place for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant crew was flexible and kno ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The restaurant crew was flexible and knowledgeable. The preparations were beautiful and the taste buds were satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. Very fresh and f ...

vip
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was wonderful. Very fresh and full of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sun Valley Best

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Il Naso remains my favorite Sun Valley-Ketchum-Hailey Italian restaurant. Great food, service, ambiance -you can actually have coversations here. Wish the menu was a little larger, would eat here even more frequently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was tasty and the ambiance and ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was tasty and the ambiance and service were delightful. Fully enjoyed, a lovely dinner to cap off a great ski weekend. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved everything about our dinner fro ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We loved everything about our dinner from the beautiful decor, excellent service and outstanding food! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special night out in Sun Valley

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were a group of 6 looking for a fitting finale to our 4 day trip to Sun Valley and Il Naso did not disappoint! Our waiter Brent knew the menu top to bottom and we took all of his recommendations. We split several starters including the sauteed calamari, beef carpaccio, the special ravioli (sweet pea) and the lasagna - delicious! The salad with pomegranate vanilla dressing (how unique) with citrus fruit and toasted hazelnuts was a nice intermission before the main courses - our group got the roasted lamb, veal piccata and the roast chicken. All amazing, flavorful and perfectly cooked and presented. For dessert, we split the warm chocolate cake and banana cream pie. What a night - look forward to returning on our next trip to Sun Valley!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's always a fantastic experience!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

It's always a fantastic experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in the Wo ...

vip
 (Idaho)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the Wood River Valley, the food is consistently very good, service excellent and the wine selection cannot be beat for selection and reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

So so

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Had dinner here with 4 friends recently. As I hadn't been here in many years was looking forward to some good Italian food but didn't find the experience particularly memorable. The execution for the dishes we had was overly ambitious and unnecessarily complicated . Lasagne, which 2 of us ordered, was swimming in bechemal sauge with some sort of a balsamic drizzle over the top. The pasta was overcooked so the dish had no tooth or the nice layering you expect from a well prepared lasagna .

One of the other diners had the fish special which she said was good but very oddly presented with what piles of fish on either side of some vegetables with a bit of risotto and finished with drops of sauce dabbed on either side of the plate. The 4th diner had the chicken which was the best of the 4 as it was the most simply presented.

The beet salad needed some brightness added as it was bland, the ceasar salad had fennel added which gave it an odd taste. The deserts were the best, the blood orange sorbet was very good as was the banana cream pie.

All in all an overly ambitious menu not very well executed, sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Have never been disappointed !! Always t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Have never been disappointed !! Always tasty specials ....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Calamari not to be missed

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The Calamari is outstanding but it was only the beginning of a fabulous meal. Both of loved our entrees and we shared a beet salad that was equally gratifying. It is not a loud restaurant which is a rarity in the valley and the dining room is large enough that you don't feel hemmed in. Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Highly recommend Il Naso to anyone. It was a wonderful experience all around. Top notch food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. Love to take guests here

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Always good. Love to take guests here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent and a great wine. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

The food is excellent and a great wine. Sam takes special care of each customer and saw him in action trying to accomodate each customer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner menu was unusual and very tasty. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Dinner menu was unusual and very tasty. Waiter was very knowledgable and service was excellent . Sauces were very distinctive and had great flavors. We will come back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently great service and dinner

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

It was a very busy night and the staff handled it superbly. As always we had a fabulous dinner . The king salmon special was out of this world

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a favorite in Ketchum

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Our waiter Brent was outstanding, and the rest of the service staff filled in nicely. Brent was really accommodating with our 7 year old. Wife said there was more sauce than noodles in her pasta order, otherwise food was really great including tenderloin of lamb that Brent recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.