About Il Mulino New York - Miami

17875 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33160
View Larger Map

Amid Acqualina Resort & Spa's Mediterranean beachfront property lies
luxurious Italian cuisine. Enjoy Il Mulino New York's authentic flavors and flawless service in its elegant dining room.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST 7:00AM - 11:00AM
LUNCH 11:30AM - 2:30PM
DINNER SUN - THU 5:30PM - 10:30PM, THU - SAT 5:30PM - 11:00PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 466-9191

Website:
http://www.ilmulino.com/miami.html

Catering:
Private dining and exquisite catering at every level.

Parking Details:
Secure Valet available via Acqualina staff.

Private Party Facilities:
Private facilities are available for up to 30 people.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Giordano: (305) 466-9191

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Il Mulino New York - Miami Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (4)
Waterfront (3)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Scenic View (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Although I reserved well in advance and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Although I reserved well in advance and we arrived on time, they tried to sit us in a small ugly room in the back. Away from the main dining room. After I complained they suddenly found a better table .... still not the best, but at least in a better area.

Service was just Ok. There was one particular waiter that just had an attitude problem of his own ...

Food was great, as in the previous 2 visits. That was the only really good part.

This is not an inexpensive place and we expected much friendlier and better service.

We did not make a good impression, with our out of town guests. That was very dissapointing.

We have no plans to return here in the foreseeable future. Surely we can find other friendlier and better alternatives in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

EXELECTE SERVICIO DE SU PERSONAL SIMPLEM ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

EXELECTE SERVICIO DE SU PERSONAL SIMPLEMENTE EXCELENTE

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Mulino is one of the best Italian res ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Il Mulino is one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever visited. The service and food are impeccable! I cannot stop recommending this restaurant to family and friends...it is a definite gem!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Il Mulino is a culinary experi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Dining at Il Mulino is a culinary experience not soon forgotten. There are many pricy restaurants around Sunny Isles but Il Mulino compares to none. The staff is amazing in their attention to detail. The food is excellent, carefully and deliciously prepared and served with charm and grace. I love dining at IL Mulino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrible. Disapointing experien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was terrible. Disapointing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Very good Amazing service

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Very good

Amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure where to begin. The service wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Not sure where to begin. The service was outstanding from start to finish! The starters that were brought to the table before we ordered were delicious and plentiful. I was thrilled to find stuffed squash blossoms were a special appetiser IN FEBRUARY! They were savoury and delicious - not to be missed. I had trouble deciding between two pastas - the mushroom ravioli and the carbonara so they brought me small portions of both! They were both very delicious. The ambience was romantic, dim lighting and candlelight so it was difficult to read the menu but the wait staff provided small flashlights to help read the menu. My only complaint is that I ate too much, but it was so good it was worth it.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simplemente increíble nada comparado a n ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Simplemente increíble nada comparado a nada en miami unico

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very very good. Everything was just exce ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on January 19, 2017

very very good. Everything was just excellent. Might stay at hotel again just to eat there

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

On the pricey side, but good value. Will ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

On the pricey side, but good value. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always go to Il Mulino in Vegas and h ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We always go to Il Mulino in Vegas and have never been disappointed. Miami was as good if not better. Food outstanding, wait staff outstanding, atmosphere outstanding !!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an excellent restaurant in every ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is an excellent restaurant in every respect. It is pricey but INHO, quite worth it.

The portions are large and beautifully prepared. Great wine list!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here a couple of times, and ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have been here a couple of times, and always leave Happy ! The food is wonderful, the dining room décor is lovely, staff at the top of their game, and I would go back in a minute. Like a mini vacation!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Showed limited reservations but no one t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Showed limited reservations but no one there! Food horrible and way overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Excellent food and really excellent serv ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent food and really excellent service. We liked this place a lot. Definitely will come back.

Tags: , Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great favorite of ours, we thought thi ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A great favorite of ours, we thought this restaurant was the BEST Italian in Miami. Unfortunately that may not be true anymore.

Admittedly we went there for Christmas dinner, a 6 o’clock reservation for which wen were promptly seated. It got “crazy busy” within a half hour of our arrival. I get it, Christmas day dinner, so let’s give them a break, and forget the 45-minute wait between the pasta course and the entrée.

Onto the food, should that also be sacrificed? The small plates that they give you upon your seating are no longer the taste treats I remember. A good-enough piece of Parmesan cheese accompanied with 4 tiny discs of a traditional dry salami (you’d think it was gold they were giving away) and some VERY spicy (I like warm, but these were mouth-burning hot) fried zucchini.

My partner had the Carpaccio Beef (he thought it was good) and I started with the Shrimp Oreganata, good enough. Next, we ordered the Capellini Il Mulino, a signature dish. There was so much wrong here – the pasta was overcooked, the sauce was so thick that the pasta just “globbed” together, and, as if that weren’t enough, it totally lacked any flavor.

This is where the 45-minute wait starts.

I ordered the Veal Capriccio, and my partner order his favorite, Veal Saltimbocca. We also ordered a side of Escarole with beans. This is the story of quantity (huge portions) over quality. I didn’t remember any of this on our previous visits. We got the check, and took home the entrees. No, I don’t know why we did that.

Our server started off great, then we were abandoned; in all fairness, his section was a madhouse, and other servers did fill in.

A manager did stop by to ask if we enjoyed everything, we told him about the “endless” wait for our entrée and he offered us coffee and desert. But why would we accept his offer, when we had no reason to believe it would have come in a timely fashion? Wait another 45 minutes for free coffee and a piece of cheesecake? I don’t think so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Fan. Tas. Tic. I will definitely be comi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fan. Tas. Tic. I will definitely be coming back. If I could give 10 stars for service, I would. We were a group of 7 for Christmas brunch. As with groups, there are always differing opinions of where to sit. We finally agreed on sitting outside which was lovely but a bit windy for some, and we couldn't hear the music from inside. So, after everyone had stuffed themselves to their hearts content, we moved inside for dessert. They were gracious enough to set up a table for us inside and our server continued to serve us. (I didn't catch her name but she was wonderful). The music was great, the food was great. All of this for a bargain of $65/adult and $35/child. Must go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service.......the best ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food, great service.......the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The restaurant had a fix menu.... it is ...

 
 (Aberdeen)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The restaurant had a fix menu.... it is worrhbjt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

By far the best Italian restaurant in So ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

By far the best Italian restaurant in South Florida. For over 10 years my kids call this place "Pasta Heaven." It is heaven, indeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location with amazing food. Just ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great location with amazing food. Just like the original in NY. Would go again, but keep in mind it is pricey....

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was supposed to be a 1000 point tab ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was supposed to be a 1000 point table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gloomy, strangely run-down place with si ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Gloomy, strangely run-down place with simply awful supposedly Italian food. Despite the best efforts of a mostly clueless staff, the nose bleed prices are not warranted by the dining experience. Everything here is too spicy, from the breads to the pasta, even the cocktail sauce tasted like pure Tabasco. Proteins, especially seafood, were third rate. Overall, not the kind of dining experience you expect in some place like the Acquarella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

the thanksgiving turkey, potatoes, veggi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

the thanksgiving turkey, potatoes, veggies were delicious'. side portions were a little small. the stuffing was weird and more like horse feed - dry and lackluster. chef needs top put some gusto into the stuffing with a northeastern twist, sausage chunky and hearty. staff is always courteous, efficient and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service is truly outstanding, impecc ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The service is truly outstanding, impeccable. The room is too dark. It's not subdued lighting like in romantic; it's way too dark like in seance. We went at 5:30 yet the waiter did not present the Sunset Menu. We asked for it. The Sunset Menu is excellent and reasonable. Three courses for $49. The wine list is prohibitive. In fact, it's difficult to find a wine under $100 per bottle. The coffee was disappointing. The bill had an error. Dinner for two with tip was nearly $300 and we ordered off the Sunset Menu. So, at these prices, Il Mulino becomes more of a special occasion place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fancy fancy fancy. Went here for my wife ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fancy fancy fancy. Went here for my wife's bday. The only hiccup was timing. I made a reservation for 10pm but was finally seated around 10:30. The restaurant made this problem up to us by laying rose pedals on the table. Very romantic and the wife was happy with the overall experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing to do with her NYC sister! Quite ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nothing to do with her NYC sister!

Quite good food but very bad service.

Don't plan to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

It was my husbands 65th birthday celebra ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

It was my husbands 65th birthday celebration and everything was superb! We've had the pleasure of experiencing the NY one, and this is one of our favorite restaurants!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

superb service! Delicious dinner! Wait ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 10, 2016

superb service! Delicious dinner! Wait staff were friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Food was delicious. Very ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great service. Food was delicious. Very nice elegant, decor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inconsistent, a lot to desire ! Not what ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Inconsistent, a lot to desire ! Not what We expected - we are very familiar with both NY & Sobe Mulino locations & the one in Aqualina has lot to improve in order to be equal to the other two !

Wait staff not to the standards of such a Hight reputation & location !

What a disappointment !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Everything was excellent, especially the ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Everything was excellent, especially the veal marsala! Tip: they offer discounted parking w/validation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious!!!! Pricey, but worth ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was delicious!!!! Pricey, but worth it! Service was awesome. They give you cheese, focaccia and other tapas when you come. Every food was very good. Desserts were delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been there several times for dinner ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Have been there several times for dinner. Love it. This was the first time for lunch. Happened to be Miami Spice. Had the appetizers, table not cleared. Waiter brings out entrees and appetizer plates are still on the table. Room not overly crowded so don't understand the slip shod service.

Tip (party of two) added to bill. Waiter explains they do that for breakfast and lunch. Huh?

Not as good as I expected it to be.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

This is my favorite restaurant on the Mi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant on the Miami Spice selection for the N. Miami Beach area. The food is fabulous, the décor and everything was absolutely beautiful.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a memorable experience! The waitsta ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2016

What a memorable experience! The waitstaff accommodated any requests we had, the table was decorated with rose petals to honor our special occasion, and whenever we needed something, someone was right there not even 5 steps away. It was one of the best meals I've had in a long time, food was so good! Overall, a wonderful experience and highly recommend this place.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful location and water view. nice ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 9, 2016

beautiful location and water view. nice for a lunch or dinner on the beach

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers that come when you arrive ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The appetizers that come when you arrive are fantastic. The service is great.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Fue nuestra segunda visita y la disfruta ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fue nuestra segunda visita y la disfrutamos mucho. Excelente y amable atención y excelente cocina. En nuestro próximo viaje a Miami regresaremos. Sigan así.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing, Excellent, Fabulous, Fantasti ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Amazing, Excellent, Fabulous, Fantastic, Great, Spectacular, Splendid, Superb, Terrific, 10 hats

A must dine experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.