About Il Mulino New York - Atlantic City

1000 Boardwalk and Virginia Avenue
Trump Taj Mahal
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Atlantic City's Il Mulino New York offers authentic Italian cuisine amid an elegant dining room adorned with large Italian paintings and cascading chandeliers. The restaurant's menu offers fresh ingredients beautifully prepared and presented with impeccable service. Il Mulino New York’s exceptional wine list features more than 115 selections. The elegant Italian restaurant is your ideal setting for lunch, dinner, special events or private parties. The exquisite private dining room seats up to 45 guests. For assistance with planning your next event please contact Bruce Schilder, General Manager@609-449-6004 or bschilder@ilmulino.com.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER MON - TUE 5:00PM - 9:00PM, FRI and SAT 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Cross Street:
Pacific Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 449-6006

Website:
http://ilmulino.com/atlanticcity.html

Catering:
Private dining and exquisite catering at every level. Il Mulino New York is the perfect setting for any occasion, special event or private party. Il Mulino New York offers a beautiful private dining room that accommodates up to 45 guests.

For assistance with planning your next event please contact Bruce Schilder@609.449.6004 or bschilder@ilmulino.com

Parking Details:
Our Il Mulino New York valet service is available at the Il Mulino New York awning. Bring you valet ticket to dinner for validation, and you will be charged $5 for valet parking.

Public Transit:
You can take your local Jitney Bus or New Jersey Transit bus. Both stop at the Taj Mahal where our restaurant is located.

Executive Chef:
Michele Mazza

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining and exquisite catering at every level.

Private Party Contact:
Bruce Schilder: 6094496004x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Il Mulino New York - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City
Romantic
Atlantic City
1 More
Italian
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

special occasion (26)
romantic (24)
fit for foodies (14)
See All
notable wine list (11)
good for groups (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1028 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service! While the food was good, ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great service! While the food was good, but it wasn't the best. It's a great restaurant for a special occasion or good if you won money at the casino.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding as usual. Th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was outstanding as usual. The quality of the food, attention to detail and professionalism of the staff were excellent. Price is in the upper range but the quality and service justifies it. You get what you pay for and then some.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Anniversary Dinner!

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and the service was excellent ---they even brought us a complimentary dessert with candle and sang happy anniversary. I'm glad we decided to come here for our special night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the 2nd time my wife an I were ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was the 2nd time my wife an I were at Il Mulino. This time it ws for our 44th wedding aniversary, so we wanted to go someplace nice (we were staying at the Taj Mahal). It was everything we expected, great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING FOOD! Great Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great selection of real Italian food, with a great ambiance. The was very attentive and available for any questions or requests.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

The host and hostess were very rude...I ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The host and hostess were very rude...I will not come here again .

food2
ambience4
service4

The complimentary antipasti was deliciou ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The complimentary antipasti was delicious and a beautiful start for the evening! The waiters were very welcoming. They let us enjoy our wine and antipasto without rushing us to order. Our tuna carpaccio lacked flavor and was extremely cold, almost frozen. They may have needed to freeze the fish in order to obtain the extremely thin slices. The presentation was nice. The shrimp oreganata had nice size butterflied shrimp, not very much seasoning. The special Italian seafood also lacked flavor, but had quality langoustines. They were out of gnocchi and asparagus. Way too much sauce on the pasta, it had to be sent back, unfortunately no one came to check on our meal, so it sat there until we were already done eating the other food. Beautiful restaurant, it's too bad it's in a smoky casino and too pricey for the lack in flavor

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian!

Dined on April 26, 2016

The original Il Mulino in downtown Manhattan is still the best, but this offshoot is a close second. Food, service and ambience all great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Il Mulino continues to be one of our fav ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Il Mulino continues to be one of our favorite Italian restaurants. Starting with the complimentary bruschetta and cheese is always great. My wife and I shared a Caesar salad which is large enough for two. I had my favorite dish of veal parm w pasta bolognese. It was huge delicious and I can't wait for my leftovers tonight. We will be back soon

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. It certainly exc ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

The food was excellent. It certainly exceeded my expectations and the service was wonderful, knowledgeable and attentive

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always wonderful

Dined on February 22, 2016

As usual the food, services and quality could not be beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Good Italian food

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves at this restaurant. They started us with great fresh Parmesan cheese and the Chicken and pasta is great !!! Service needed some help

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

ALWAYS OUTSTANDING

Dined on February 20, 2016

Always a Guaranteed hit. Perfect "pre" appetizers, a really great menu terrific specials everytime we've been. Celebrated a quiet birthday. Service always excellent and of coarse the meals are absolutely delish!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food

Dined on February 17, 2016

The Il Mulino New York is by far the best restaurant that I have ever been to. The food was amazing, and the service was exceptional. Everyone there treated us like we were the only ones in the place. I defintely will be returning and recommending all of my family and friends to go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Anniversary!

Dined on February 16, 2016

I took my wife there for our 13th year wedding anniversary. Form the moment we walked in we were welcomed with warm, friendly service. The complimentary food at the beginning of the meal started our taste buds going in the right direction. The informative staff helped steer us in the proper direction with our choices for beverage and food. We were taken care of amazingly all while being left alone. I would go back there every time I want have a great experience.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Atlantic City's Il Mulino New York

Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this restaurant. From the moment you sit down the service and food are outstanding. You'll wish you could drag dinner on for hours. However, I can only afford a restaurant like this maybe once or twice a year. That's the only area I didn't rate 5 star, but if money is no object - this is your place. EVEN if you have shellfish or gluten allergies - whatever - they will modify something to create a great dish for you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1

Food seemed like it was left out for hou ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food seemed like it was left out for hours. Slow and inattentive service. Terrible job of attempting to transport the original il mulino.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I spent an early Valent ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

My boyfriend and I spent an early Valentines Day dinner at Il Mulino Friday night. We were so pleasantly pleased with the service. I've never been treated with such respect at a restaurant before. The waiters were constantly making sure we were pleased with our meal and always making sure our drinks were filled. We will definitely be going back and recommending this restaurant to all our friends and family. Thank you again for your kind service!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Fabulous!

Dined on February 10, 2016

Not your typical Italian fare, here. Think: steak you can cut with a butter knife and a pasta dish with white truffle sauce and then let your imagination run free...as the kitchen staff of Il Mulino did. The rstaurant's web site claims this is the cuisine of the Abruzzo region; not a popular American tourist destination. Well, after dinner at Il Mulino you might want to consider booking a flight...which costs marginally more than dinner for four.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on January 16, 2016

Wonderful place for great food, romantic atmosphere and excellent service!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Post Christmas getaway

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

we go to Atlantic City every year following Christmas, some time away from hustle and bustle of the whole month of December! we ate there on the 26th and had such a great meal we again went back on the 28th (our final night) and had an equally excellent meal and will be going back on our next visit

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

delicious!

Dined on December 26, 2015

Everything here was so delicious and the service was great! I loved all the complementary food they gave us. Wish it was more affordable I would go every time I visit AC.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything great as always at Il Mulino. ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

Everything great as always at Il Mulino. Still can't believe all they give you to eat before you even look at a menu. Could tone down on the garlic just a little tho but all good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Magnificent dining experience / Worthy of Manhatta

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Wife and I were celebrating a special occasion and the staff made it memorable. Aldo, our waiter, and Manny the captain took excellent care of us. They help me navigate the wine list. Everything arrived at the table at the proper time. there were some Chef free appetizers. Bruschetta with oysters, wedge of Parmesan cheese. We bathed veal, each prepared differently. Next time we go might opt for a pasta, chicken or beef. All sounded delicious. Its expensive but worth it for a special night. Enjoy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Dinner

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner this past Saturday night. The service was professionally attentive and the food was delicious. The complementary appetizers are very tasty. You don't order dinner until after the appetizers are served, so it's easy to determine how much to order for dinner. We had cannolis for dessert - they were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

FAVORITE RESTAURANT

Dined on December 5, 2015

My wife and I consider this our favorite restaurant for the last few years.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5

Porcini Ravioli

Dined on November 27, 2015

Their free appetizers are lovely and delicious but my main dish : Veal & Porcini ravioli wasn't good. I don't think they use real Poricini mushrooms. The veal was too plain taste.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

We dined on Thanksgiving night. The res ...

Dined on November 26, 2015

We dined on Thanksgiving night. The restaurant was busy, but we were seated right at our reservation time. They give you many appetizers complimentary- really liked that as it gave us time to decide what we wanted to order and enjoy a drink. We went for pasta vs. The Thanksgiving dinner offered. Both pastas were tasty. Portion sizes were great. They let us take our time. Overall great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving 2015

Dined on November 26, 2015

We were staying at the Taj the week of Thnksgiving and made reservations at Il Mulino for our traditional Thanksgiving family dinner. This was our 1st time there, but will not be our last! Everything was perfect. No issues or complaints about anything!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I will definitely go back here. It was a ...

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

I will definitely go back here. It was a wonderful dinner and experience.

food5
ambience3
service5

GREAT...as always...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Whether staying at the TAJ Casino or not, my wife and I always reserve 1 night to enjoy the food at Il Mulino in the Taj Mahal. We've never been disappointed. Their "free" appetizers go way beyond the usual offered by other restaurants. Service is always very good and they are attentive to your requests. We certainly will be back again!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

great itallian place. service was top no ...

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

great itallian place. service was top notch, as was the food and ambiance! while its a tad pricey, it seems to be worth it at this place and certainly a convenient location in the taj mahol hotel resort.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Rack Of Lamb, was delicious.

vip
Dined on September 29, 2015

When you are seated, you are given fresh carved cheese, spicy eggplant, bruchetta w/mussels, salami, & all types of breads. This is all complimentary, this is all before you get a menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Pre-concert dinner

Dined on August 21, 2015

Recently has dinner before a concert @ the Borgata. Cocktails at the bar 1st, great table. Fabulous parmasean cheese & nibbles before our meal. We had oysters, rack of lamb, veal saltinbucca & everything was fabulous (& 2 bottles of chianti). They even had flashlights because dining room is dim (romantic). One of our favorite spots. Good for foodies, service is top notch, lamb was done perfectly as requested. Can't wait to go back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT Place!

Dined on August 19, 2015

I have dined here many times and look forward to going back after each time. This is an upscale franchise. I have been to 4 different locations and the Atlantic City one is the BEST! It is pricey, but it is worth it. Every bite is heaven. The included appetizers are delicious. Between myself and my family we have tried most things on the menu and we haven't been even remotely dissatisfied. It is the opposite, we can't believe how good everything is every time we go to Il Mulino. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

A great anniversary dinner

Dined on August 15, 2015

Wonderful Anniversary Dinner and James was a fabulous server making us feel special with every attention to detail.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellence Personified

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

From the moment you walk into Il Mulino you experience a superior dining event. The service fit for royalty, the food absolutely terrific and the ambiance exceptional. Would recommend to anyone looking for a romantic setting and hoping for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful oasis

vip
Dined on August 8, 2015

Il Mulino was outstanding. Our server James was knowledgeable and delightful. The overall service was spectacular, and the food was amazing. Il Mulino took you away from the hustle and bustle of a busy casino, to a wonderful oasis of romance and fine-dining. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

II Mulino New York - Atlantic City - AWESOME!

Dined on July 22, 2015

This was the best dining experience I have ever had. Although the prices are high, it is worth every penny. Everyone there pays attention to detail from the minute you walk in the door. The food is outragous from the bread to dessert. Special touches are complimentary cheese, Bruschetta, mussels, several types of bread and a home made liquor at the end of dinner. The food just melts in your mouth. I will definately be going there again and it will most likely become part of our Atlantic City tradition. Not a place for kids unless they are well behaved. The atmosphere is romantic and you are treated like a king and queen. My family and I eat out often and this is the absolute best place ever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on July 10, 2015

This was our first time to this restaurant. I picked it because I wanted someplace nice for our anniversary and my wife is from new York. The food was fantastic! Very satisfying. The service was great. The servers were on top of our drinks making sure we always had a full glass. We didn't have to ask for anything, wait for or search for a server. They were very prompt and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.