About IL Mito Enoteca

6913 West North Avenue
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

"IL MITO Enoteca was born from my passion for a local restaurant comparable to those I frequented in Italy - a comfortable home away from home, where you can sip a great glass of wine, complemented by an incredible, rustic Italian cuisine.

The Cuisine of an Enoteca is the simplest of Italian cuisines, made with the freshest, highest-quality ingredients that create amazing, complex rustic flavor combinations. Our Enoteca Style menu features homemade pastas, insalati (salads) Piatti Piccoli (small plates), Formaggi (cheeses), Bruschetta, Pizza and Secondi Rustica. It was created so that you may have a big meal with friends and family, or a light snack with your wine.

We at IL MITO Enoteca are grateful for your interest in our passion for food, friends, and life. We look forward to serving you soon and getting you addicted to an unforgettable experience!"
-Chef Michael Feker

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served 11 am to 2 pm, Tues - Sat
Dinner served 5 to 10 pm, Tues - Thur: 5 to 11 pm Fri - Sat: 5 to 9 pm Sun
Brunch served 10 am to 2 pm, Sun

Cross Street:
Between 69th & 70th Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 443-1414

Website:
http://www.ilmito.com/

Catering:
Thank you for choosing Chef Michael Feker/ IL MITO’s Catering Services. Our mission is to inspire those we have the privilege of cooking for to slow down, take a seat, and by all means, appreciate what’s in front of you. We believe that enjoying a good meal doesn’t have to be a complex, mind-numbing series of steps and approximations. It doesn’t have to take hours and fortunes to deliver a meal you can be proud of… We cater to your needs and will breathe life into the event you envision. Learn more at www.ilmitoCatering.com

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking available, as well as a parking lot located on the northeast corner of 69th Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Feker

Private Party Facilities:
Join Chef Michael Feker at his state-of-the-art Culinary Studio for private dinners, individual lessons, Wine and Gourmet Beer tastings and special events. Learn the hows and whys of Chef Feker's unique culinary approach while enjoying a healthy, flavorful meal made with love, passion and the freshest, locally grown ingredients.

Private Party Contact:
Stacy Prowse: 4144431414x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chef's Counter Dining - private and open enrollment dinners, hands on lessons with Chef Feker, corporate dining and more. Visit www.ilmitocooking.com to learn more.

Restaurant Photos

Mushroom Pizza - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Banana Fritters - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Pasta With Shrimp And Sausage - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Frutti Di Mare - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Antipasto - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Polenta Cake - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Pumpkin Ravioli - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Bloody Mary - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Breakfast Canneloni - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Lasagna Bolognese - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Cream Of Asparagus And Spinach Soup - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
tortellini - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Curry Lentil Soup - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI
Grass Fed Burger - IL Mito Enoteca, Wauwatosa, WI

IL Mito Enoteca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Wisconsin
Italian
Wisconsin
Best Value
Milwaukee
1 More
Italian
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Good for a Date (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Romantic (20)
Authentic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love going to Il Mito for its gluten f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

I love going to Il Mito for its gluten free options, including pasta. My wife thought the Tiramisu was the "best ever". Food is great, and Chef Feker himself came out to the dining room to make sure we enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Food and Service. Sitting in t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent Food and Service. Sitting in the culinary school section was especially nice because it was quiet and you could have good conversation without shouting.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time enjoying great food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had a wonderful time enjoying great food and wine on a busy Saturday evening. The linguine and sea bass specials were especially notable. Louise provided a special touch with his friendly and knowledgeable service. Kudos to Louise, Chef Fekker and the entire staff and kitchen crew. I look forward to my next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great place to come especially if you ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A great place to come especially if you are heading to the Rosebud for a film. Il Mito's never disappoints, their staff is wonderful and the food is outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, friendly and knowledgeable s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, friendly and knowledgeable service. Perfect for a group who has members with gluten issues. Nice pacing for food and drinks. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two of us had been there several times, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Two of us had been there several times, while it was the first time for the other two.

We liked the decor and our waiter Alvaro was great. We all liked our entrees and our cocktails.

We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance. Staff very friendly and a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Nice ambiance. Staff very friendly and accommodating but the food was disappointing. My guest and I both ordered a seafood special that was tasteless. We sent our dishes back and there was some improvement but nothing I would recommend or order again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The flavor, variety, service and price ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The flavor, variety, service and price never disappoint! My favorite place to dine in the neighborhood.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Il Mito Enoteca is a local favorite for ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Il Mito Enoteca is a local favorite for us. The restaurant is on the smaller side which makes the dining experience more personal and friendly. The team of cooks and wait staff do an excellent job of tending to your every need. If you are gluten intolerant, this restaurant has great selections for you to choose from. Always a great night out at Il Mito's on North Avenue in Wauwatosa.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visit for our party of 4. Ex ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

First time visit for our party of 4. Excellent food, a little pricy for us but we will return for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good service, cozy environme ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, good service, cozy environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friends in town from Green Bay. Fabulous ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Friends in town from Green Bay. Fabulous meal and service. Always a great dining experience. East Tosa is lucky to have them in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the most incredible restaurant i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is the most incredible restaurant in the Milwaukee area. The service is absolutely top notch and the food is fresh, local, unique and delicious! My husband and I recommend Il Mito to everyone who asks for a great local restaurant.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Successful casual fine dining restaurant ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Successful casual fine dining restaurant built on reputation of chef Michael Felker. Reliable interesting food. Casual atmosphere, down to the spontaneous strolling songster doing some opera and Italian favorites. Seating arrangement just a bit crowded for a really intimate evening, but just fine for most occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter was very knowledgeable and person ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Waiter was very knowledgeable and personable but very slow. It took a long time for him to get us drinks and to take our order. Also the Air Conditioning was on and it was VERY cold in there. I saw multiple customers complain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Superb Italian cuisine. Pasta is defini ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Superb Italian cuisine. Pasta is definitely their strong suite. Good specials too. Would personally like to see heartier meat dishes. Service is extraordinary!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, good wait staff. One pe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious food, good wait staff. One person in our party had dietary restrictions. Our server was accommodating and helpful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service. The food was wonderful. E ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great service. The food was wonderful. Everything was timely on a busy Saturday night. We sat at a table under an A/C duct that dripped on us. We moved the table slightly to avoid getting wet. Other than that...very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Our table was ready at the appropriate t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our table was ready at the appropriate time. The service was extremely attentive and helpful and the meal was exquisitely balanced and flavorful. I will definitely be there again ... with more friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have not been here since in old location ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Have not been here since in old location way way back when. My mistake. Food was excellent and service very good. Will become more regular.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at Il MIto. It ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Il MIto. It was crowded, but surprisingly quiet. As I told my husband, it is definitely a repeat!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were excellent, but ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service and food were excellent, but I've never been a fan of the industrial or warehouse style decor, and our table had a strong chilly breeze from the air ducts. Would I go again? Probably not. There are some other really good Italian restaurants in MKE where the atmosphere is more to my liking. It's worth at least one visit to see if you like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very disappointed. The veal was NOT Marc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Very disappointed. The veal was NOT Marcella and terribly overcooked and the linguini seafood special was essentially under sauced and under seasoned. We have been there in the past and it gets worse. There will not be a return trip.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always love Il Mito, excellent food and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always love Il Mito, excellent food and reasonable price. Owner often visible and makes "the rounds".

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place with great food. Quick s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful place with great food. Quick service, even though they were very busy and very packed. Would like a little more room, but not a bad experience by any means. I'd call it cosy. I have really no complaints at all, and those that I might are simply explained away by how understandablely busy they were. Great spot, no I am glad I went.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A friend was in from out of state and I ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A friend was in from out of state and I drove her across town to enjoy lunch at Il Mito. We both enjoyed their spaghetti bolognese as it's always been my favorite dish (due to chef's family recipe). The sauce was great, as ever, with a slightly spicy back end. However, the pasta was not properly drained and about 1/2" of water pooled at the bottom. This diluted the sauce and made for messy eats. Absolutely a first for this restaurant; food has never failed to be anything other than perfect. Yes, I (we) could have sent it back to the kitchen. We were hungry enough to eat it as it was.

Service was appropriately attentive but our server was a tad sloppy. Grated Parmesan hit the table, and the napkin in my lap, about as often as it hit the pasta. Plates, and bowls, hit our table so that the soup, for example, splashed up the rim. Not terrible, but pointing it out for improvement.

I've no doubt tweaks will be made by this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was great as always on a busy s ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was great as always on a busy saturday night. Our seating request for a quiet table was honored, and our waiter was attentive and yet not overbearing, very professional yet with Italian charm! Perfect place and ambiance for our little engagement that night. We definitely will be back - and we will sign up for cooking classes after having had dinner in the show kitchen! Thank You Il Mito!!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were disappointed with the lamb and t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were disappointed with the lamb and the pasta special.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Had dinner at Il Mito and was very pleas ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had dinner at Il Mito and was very pleased. Laid back atmosphere with great Italian food. Had the Charcuterie/Cheese plate, as an appetizer, which was great since they let you choose your 3 cheeses from a very good selection. Attentive service.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food and great service that al ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent food and great service that allowed us time to enjoy our meal. Generous portions as well. My only gripe is that we were sat by the window which was pretty drafty on a cold evening

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We were checked in right away and seated ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were checked in right away and seated promptly. The restaurant has very nice atmosphere ( low lighting and candles on table. The waiter was friendly and helpful. I had the salad misto and it was fine (nicely dressed not too much to it). Then I had the linguini with seafood. It had a wonderful array of seafood. The sauce was nice compliment to seafood (it was not overpowering a little on light side). My daughter had fettuccini and felt it needed more sauce - more flavor) Overall a nice experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely amazing homemade gluten free ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Absolutely amazing homemade gluten free pasta! Scared me for a minute because it was so good I thought for sure it wasnt gluten free. Best food I've had in a while. Perfect for a date night or anniversary

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food never disappoints and the staff ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food never disappoints and the staff is very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great great food!! We can't wait to go b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great great food!! We can't wait to go back for a class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Mito is a favorite. I'm a fan of the ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Il Mito is a favorite. I'm a fan of the gnocchi and rabbit, but the new sauce is watery and the arugula doesn't make sense. Bring back the old recipe..please! The roasted radish salad seemed to be missing something compared to last time ordered...I'm wondering if the kitchen was a bit overwhelmed, as service was also a bit slow...the place was hopping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We have never been disappointed! IlMito ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We have never been disappointed! IlMito is a hidden gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Il Mito. Really, our only criti ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We love Il Mito. Really, our only criticism is that the wine list does not stand up to the amazing food that is served. There are quite a few wines out there that are exceptional and less than $20/bottle. We'd love to see some of those featured (even on a rotational basis). With Chef Feker being from Argentina, for example, the Tempranillo/Malbec blend by Urban Uco would be an awesome addition. Or, on the white front, something like Kitchen Sink (though it is domestic). We will continue to come back, but please don't be offended if/when we bring our own bottle or don't purchase wine at all.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have read all of the great reviews, bu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I have read all of the great reviews, but am sad to say we did not have a great dining experience. Neither our food nor our service were very good. Our server seemed to be much slower than others around us, however. During our 2 1/2 hours there (it took that long just for 1-course, we didn't have dessert) people at tables around us came and went.

We ordered drinks, which never came. When we reminded our server, he brought one of the four drinks we had ordered.

I ordered the spaghetti bolognese, which was simply a bowl of spaghetti with a hint of spaghetti sauce, and traces of meat.

All in all, it was a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Too much salt on the food! Wine was grea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Too much salt on the food! Wine was great! Service was great. Just way too much salt...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was fabulous! Although there was a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was fabulous! Although there was a bit of a wait, it was worth it. Great service too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.