About IL Mito Enoteca

6913 West North Avenue
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

"IL MITO Enoteca was born from my passion for a local restaurant comparable to those I frequented in Italy - a comfortable home away from home, where you can sip a great glass of wine, complemented by an incredible, rustic Italian cuisine.

The Cuisine of an Enoteca is the simplest of Italian cuisines, made with the freshest, highest-quality ingredients that create amazing, complex rustic flavor combinations. Our Enoteca Style menu features homemade pastas, insalati (salads) Piatti Piccoli (small plates), Formaggi (cheeses), Bruschetta, Pizza and Secondi Rustica. It was created so that you may have a big meal with friends and family, or a light snack with your wine.

We at IL MITO Enoteca are grateful for your interest in our passion for food, friends, and life. We look forward to serving you soon and getting you addicted to an unforgettable experience!"
-Chef Michael Feker

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served 11 am to 2 pm, Tues - Sat
Dinner served 5 to 10 pm, Tues - Thur: 5 to 11 pm Fri - Sat: 5 to 9 pm Sun
Brunch served 10 am to 2 pm, Sun

Cross Street:
Between 69th & 70th Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 443-1414

Website:
http://www.ilmito.com/

Catering:
Thank you for choosing Chef Michael Feker/ IL MITO’s Catering Services. Our mission is to inspire those we have the privilege of cooking for to slow down, take a seat, and by all means, appreciate what’s in front of you. We believe that enjoying a good meal doesn’t have to be a complex, mind-numbing series of steps and approximations. It doesn’t have to take hours and fortunes to deliver a meal you can be proud of… We cater to your needs and will breathe life into the event you envision. Learn more at www.ilmitoCatering.com

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking available, as well as a parking lot located on the northeast corner of 69th Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Feker

Private Party Facilities:
Join Chef Michael Feker at his state-of-the-art Culinary Studio for private dinners, individual lessons, Wine and Gourmet Beer tastings and special events. Learn the hows and whys of Chef Feker's unique culinary approach while enjoying a healthy, flavorful meal made with love, passion and the freshest, locally grown ingredients.

Private Party Contact:
Stacy Prowse: 4144431414x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Chef's Counter Dining - private and open enrollment dinners, hands on lessons with Chef Feker, corporate dining and more. Visit www.ilmitocooking.com to learn more.

Restaurant Photos

Mushroom Pizza - IL Mito Enoteca
Banana Fritters - IL Mito Enoteca
Pasta With Shrimp And Sausage - IL Mito Enoteca
Frutti Di Mare - IL Mito Enoteca
Antipasto - IL Mito Enoteca
Polenta Cake - IL Mito Enoteca
Pumpkin Ravioli - IL Mito Enoteca
Bloody Mary - IL Mito Enoteca
Breakfast Canneloni - IL Mito Enoteca
Lasagna Bolognese - IL Mito Enoteca
Cream Of Asparagus And Spinach Soup - IL Mito Enoteca
tortellini - IL Mito Enoteca
Curry Lentil Soup - IL Mito Enoteca
Grass Fed Burger - IL Mito Enoteca

IL Mito Enoteca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Wisconsin
Italian
Wisconsin
Neighborhood Gem
Milwaukee
1 More
Italian
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Neighborhood Gem (52)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Romantic (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Il Mito is a favorite. I'm a fan of the ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Il Mito is a favorite. I'm a fan of the gnocchi and rabbit, but the new sauce is watery and the arugula doesn't make sense. Bring back the old recipe..please! The roasted radish salad seemed to be missing something compared to last time ordered...I'm wondering if the kitchen was a bit overwhelmed, as service was also a bit slow...the place was hopping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We have never been disappointed! IlMito ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have never been disappointed! IlMito is a hidden gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Il Mito. Really, our only criti ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We love Il Mito. Really, our only criticism is that the wine list does not stand up to the amazing food that is served. There are quite a few wines out there that are exceptional and less than $20/bottle. We'd love to see some of those featured (even on a rotational basis). With Chef Feker being from Argentina, for example, the Tempranillo/Malbec blend by Urban Uco would be an awesome addition. Or, on the white front, something like Kitchen Sink (though it is domestic). We will continue to come back, but please don't be offended if/when we bring our own bottle or don't purchase wine at all.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have read all of the great reviews, bu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

I have read all of the great reviews, but am sad to say we did not have a great dining experience. Neither our food nor our service were very good. Our server seemed to be much slower than others around us, however. During our 2 1/2 hours there (it took that long just for 1-course, we didn't have dessert) people at tables around us came and went.

We ordered drinks, which never came. When we reminded our server, he brought one of the four drinks we had ordered.

I ordered the spaghetti bolognese, which was simply a bowl of spaghetti with a hint of spaghetti sauce, and traces of meat.

All in all, it was a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Too much salt on the food! Wine was grea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Too much salt on the food! Wine was great! Service was great. Just way too much salt...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was fabulous! Although there was a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was fabulous! Although there was a bit of a wait, it was worth it. Great service too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lasagna was excellent. Beef short r ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The lasagna was excellent. Beef short ribs melt in the mouth tender. Thank you for a heavenly food experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful food. Consistently good, and a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful food. Consistently good, and always great service!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As alwaysalways the food was great. The ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

As alwaysalways the food was great. The only thing that could be changed is the serving size on the potatoes on the plate my husband ordered was quite small and my polenta was overpowering with sage.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great chef, great food , great waiter , ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great chef, great food , great waiter , love the place

The chef came out and said hi to my dad 83 rd birthday .

Had the ravioli was very good, creative out of the box .

Will be back

Thanks chef and staff !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite places for good Itali ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

One of my favorite places for good Italian food. I love the Bolognese and the kale salad with beets (super long name I can never pronounce). This time around, however, I decided to try the fettuccine carbonara. This is a dish I make at home and have eaten at a few restaurants before. The flavor was delicious, but I had a lot of cream sauce in my bowl which was sort of a sign that it may not have been made the traditional way but with more cream almost like an Alfredo. To be honest, I probably wouldn't order it again - but if you don't mind pasta in a cream sauce then you'll like it. With the carbonara I had the kale salad and for dessert I ordered the poached pear puff pastry. I would love to have tiramisu after an Italian meal. I have had the tiramisu here and to me, it was too big a piece and the mascarpone cream was sort of loose. Maybe I just had a piece from a bad batch, but none the less, I was looking for something smaller. I wish they made individual cup tiramisu about half the size - that would be an awesome mini dessert after dinner sweet bite. Great place to eat and try lots of great food from the menu. Simple Italian pasta to short ribs (which were delicious) to rabbit and seafood ... Whatever you're looking for you'll probably find. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Il Mito is one of the best restaurants i ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Il Mito is one of the best restaurants in the Milwaukee area. Excellent food and amazing service!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have dinned at Il Mito and Zeste num ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

we have dinned at Il Mito and Zeste numerous times over the years. Always enjoy the evening. However this time, despite great service from Jeff, our waiter my meal was marginal at best. My wife had the Friday night fish special which was excellent and I had V eal Picatta which was disappointing. Dry, overcooked, flavorless and made me wish I had ordered another entree. The split pea soup was outstanding by the way.. I will choose another entree next time...

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy the Tosa location and now t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always enjoy the Tosa location and now the Hartland site too.

Food is always good, and service to match, plus the atmosphere is always pleasant and enjoyable for conversations with special person, small gatherings even groups.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my daughter passing her RN bo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Celebrated my daughter passing her RN boards with family and friends over lunch! Service was excellent with server being extremely patient with us as our catching up competed a bit with timely menu selection! We had grilled calamari and stuffed mushrooms... both very good! Fish of the day salad was delicious... Perfectly cooked and seasoned and just the right portion for lunch. Pasta and panini dishes were also very good! Chef Feker even made an appearance helping pass entrees to our table inquiring if we were enjoying our food! A very enjoyable dining experience for all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been a few years since we have ea ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It has been a few years since we have eaten here. (Not sure why.) Went here to celebrate a birthday on a Thursday evening. At 5:30 pm, we were the only diners for a short time. The last time we dined here it was very crowded and busy. That being said. The service was excellent. We each enjoyed our meals and definitely will return next time I visit in the area. Thanks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Met a friend and sat outside on a beauti ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Met a friend and sat outside on a beautiful evening. The menu was varied and offered many great choices. Both of us had small plate meals which were filling and delicious. Our server was gracious and never rushed us as we enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not our typical il mito experience. have ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Not our typical il mito experience. have dined here several times over past three years (as well as new outpost Zesti in Lake Country). ambiance and service are the typical good, as expected. what was not expected is the food that tasted old (oxidized, kept too long in cold storage), and under-flavored lasagna, eggplant, and lamb shank dishes. not really sure what happened on this slow sunday night, but the food was not good. didnt tell server, but want everybody that actually spends money dining out - watch out for the inconsistency at il mito. maybe feker is spread too thin???? hopefully, it was a fluke and the food will resume its better-than-average trend in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a great experience. The food, win ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a great experience. The food, wine, service and pretty much everything was very good. If there is to be an issue, we ordered the stuffed mushroom appetizer and when asked the waitperson said there were 4 mushroom. There were only 3.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was great as always. The food and servic ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Was great as always. The food and service are always good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We hadn't dined at Il Mito in quite a wh ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We hadn't dined at Il Mito in quite a while and were really pleased with the atmosphere and food. Our dinners were excellent and the outdoor patio is quiet and pretty. We, also enjoyed our server with his good sense of humor and excellent service. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all enjoyed delicious meals and the w ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We all enjoyed delicious meals and the wonderful service provided at IL Mito. Three of us had the shrimp and scallop pasta which was outstanding. Our other friend had the 3 course dinner special and truly enjoyed her choice as well. So glad to have this gem in our neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful. We go there fairly oft ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always wonderful. We go there fairly often. Can't seem to get past the lasagna, our favorites! All salads are worth trying. We love it there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I have eaten at Il Mito on many occasion ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have eaten at Il Mito on many occasions. I've been for brunch, lunch and dinner and have never been disappointed. The food is fantastic ( a favorite), the staff is friendly and always accommodating whether you are a group of two or ten. The frutti de mare pasta and the pizzas are two of my go to's but like to try the catch of the day sometimes. Love this place and never miss the opportunity to meet friends for any occasion. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date said the Spaghetti Bolognese was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My date said the Spaghetti Bolognese was amazing and we both loved the Bruschetta Alla Romana. I ordered two more Bruschetta Alla Romana to go so that I could share it with some friends and they said that it was the best Bruschetta they had ever had too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in Milwau ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Milwaukee. The food is outstanding. The service is outstanding. Chef Feker and his staff always out do themselves. It's a great spot to take a date or to dine out for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of four had their special of t ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our group of four had their special of the night. Plenty of mid sized scallops and shrimps (not jumbo as told) were on top of rather dry and bland pasta. Caesars Salad was over dressed by much although the size was very generous. It is a nice place but not what we expected it to be, refined and creative dishes.....We were a bit disappointed since the reviews were incredible and our expectation was high.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Had an overall good experience. Ate insi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had an overall good experience. Ate inside at a corner table. Interested in trying the outdoor patio next time. Started the meal with the rolled eggplant appetizer. Pretty good but really small, only three small rolls on an order. My boyfriend and I both ordered the crab ravioli and would highly recommend. The creme brûlée was also excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The best Italian food we have eaten in a ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The best Italian food we have eaten in a long time. The grilled artichokes and caprese salad were excellent and original. The linguine con frutti di mare and seafood pasta special were superb

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always enjoy IL Mito Enoteca. The at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We always enjoy IL Mito Enoteca. The atmosphere and food are great...upscale yet comfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I would never eat here again! The food w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I would never eat here again! The food was flavorless and the service was some of the worst that I've experienced in the Wauwatosa area. I am very disappointed as the chef was on FoodNetwork...I can definitely tell why he lost Chopped!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I was so impressed with this restaurant. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I was so impressed with this restaurant. Not only was the food EXCELLENT, but the service was phenomenal. I made an error on my bill in calculation for too much, and the restaurant adjusted it to the proper amount. Kudos to them in every way! I will return, no doubt about it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite Milwaukee restaurants ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of my favorite Milwaukee restaurants. We'll be back soon and encourage others to follow suit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food choices were exceptional. Somet ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food choices were exceptional. Something for every taste. The flavors were intense and delicious.

Of the three dishes we ordered the french toast portion was smaller than expected. There is room for adjustment with this dish so it rises to the level of the other dishes we ordered. While the quality was good the overall rating was so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is awesome...excellent food a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place is awesome...excellent food and service everytime I visit. Neighborhood favorite, also has a new patio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time at this location. Service and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

First time at this location. Service and food were fabulous, a welcome change from mediocre food and service lately.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never been disappointed with our meals. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Never been disappointed with our meals. Missing John as our waiter. This time around we did not receive bread/dipping oil and had to ask for it.(thought maybe it was a cut back and they no longer had it)

Food was excellent as always and that's what we come for so the other slight "one offs" can be overlooked as long as the quality of the food does not change or is compromised.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Attentive service, knowledgeable waiter. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Attentive service, knowledgeable waiter. Excellent, inventive chef's special. Lovely dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at I: Mito was delicious and the ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Dinner at I: Mito was delicious and the service was great. We had a group of 4 celebrating a birthday . We chose to sit in the "backyard patio area" which was inviting and fun. Two of us chose one of the specials with shrimp and scallops and it was delicious. The other two guests made choices off the menu and their meals were also outstanding. We will certainly be returning to IL MITO and probably won't even wait for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and backyard patio!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a great dinner and server on the outdoor patio this weekend. Food was delicious. Thank you for making gluten free available for those of us unable to tolerate it! The patio offers a great dining experience. We will be back again this summer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.