About IL Mito Enoteca

6913 West North Avenue
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

"IL MITO Enoteca was born from my passion for a local restaurant comparable to those I frequented in Italy - a comfortable home away from home, where you can sip a great glass of wine, complemented by an incredible, rustic Italian cuisine.

The Cuisine of an Enoteca is the simplest of Italian cuisines, made with the freshest, highest-quality ingredients that create amazing, complex rustic flavor combinations. Our Enoteca Style menu features homemade pastas, insalati (salads) Piatti Piccoli (small plates), Formaggi (cheeses), Bruschetta, Pizza and Secondi Rustica. It was created so that you may have a big meal with friends and family, or a light snack with your wine.

We at IL MITO Enoteca are grateful for your interest in our passion for food, friends, and life. We look forward to serving you soon and getting you addicted to an unforgettable experience!"
-Chef Michael Feker

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served 11 am to 2 pm, Tues - Sat
Dinner served 5 to 10 pm, Tues - Thur: 5 to 11 pm Fri - Sat: 5 to 9 pm Sun
Brunch served 10 am to 2 pm, Sun

Cross Street:
Between 69th & 70th Streets

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 443-1414

Website:
http://www.ilmito.com/

Catering:
Thank you for choosing Chef Michael Feker/ IL MITO’s Catering Services. Our mission is to inspire those we have the privilege of cooking for to slow down, take a seat, and by all means, appreciate what’s in front of you. We believe that enjoying a good meal doesn’t have to be a complex, mind-numbing series of steps and approximations. It doesn’t have to take hours and fortunes to deliver a meal you can be proud of… We cater to your needs and will breathe life into the event you envision. Learn more at www.ilmitoCatering.com

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking available, as well as a parking lot located on the northeast corner of 69th Street.

Executive Chef:
Michael Feker

Private Party Facilities:
Join Chef Michael Feker at his state-of-the-art Culinary Studio for private dinners, individual lessons, Wine and Gourmet Beer tastings and special events. Learn the hows and whys of Chef Feker's unique culinary approach while enjoying a healthy, flavorful meal made with love, passion and the freshest, locally grown ingredients.

Private Party Contact:
Stacy Prowse: 4144431414x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Chef's Counter Dining - private and open enrollment dinners, hands on lessons with Chef Feker, corporate dining and more. Visit www.ilmitocooking.com to learn more.

Restaurant Photos

Mushroom Pizza
Banana Fritters
Polenta Cake
Pasta With Shrimp And Sausage
Frutti Di Mare
Antipasto
Pumpkin Ravioli
Bloody Mary
Breakfast Canneloni
Lasagna Bolognese
Cream Of Asparagus And Spinach Soup
Curry Lentil Soup
Grass Fed Burger
tortellini

IL Mito Enoteca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Wisconsin
Italian
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
3 More
Best Value
Milwaukee
Neighborhood Gem
Milwaukee
Italian
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

neighborhood gem (55)
fit for foodies (47)
special occasion (37)
See All
romantic (36)
great for lunch (18)
great for brunch (16)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (12)
notable wine list (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite Milwaukee restaurants ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

One of my favorite Milwaukee restaurants. We'll be back soon and encourage others to follow suit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food choices were exceptional. Somet ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food choices were exceptional. Something for every taste. The flavors were intense and delicious. Of the three dishes we ordered the french toast portion was smaller than expected. There is room for adjustment with this dish so it rises to the level of the other dishes we ordered. While the quality was good the overall rating was so so.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place is awesome...excellent food a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This place is awesome...excellent food and service everytime I visit. Neighborhood favorite, also has a new patio!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time at this location. Service and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

First time at this location. Service and food were fabulous, a welcome change from mediocre food and service lately.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Never been disappointed with our meals. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Never been disappointed with our meals. Missing John as our waiter. This time around we did not receive bread/dipping oil and had to ask for it.(thought maybe it was a cut back and they no longer had it) Food was excellent as always and that's what we come for so the other slight "one offs" can be overlooked as long as the quality of the food does not change or is compromised.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive service, knowledgeable waiter. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Attentive service, knowledgeable waiter. Excellent, inventive chef's special. Lovely dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at I: Mito was delicious and the ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Dinner at I: Mito was delicious and the service was great. We had a group of 4 celebrating a birthday . We chose to sit in the "backyard patio area" which was inviting and fun. Two of us chose one of the specials with shrimp and scallops and it was delicious. The other two guests made choices off the menu and their meals were also outstanding. We will certainly be returning to IL MITO and probably won't even wait for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and backyard patio!

Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a great dinner and server on the outdoor patio this weekend. Food was delicious. Thank you for making gluten free available for those of us unable to tolerate it! The patio offers a great dining experience. We will be back again this summer!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service and food around. Always ver ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Best service and food around. Always very friendly and informative on the menu

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great Food, So So Service

Dined on June 4, 2016

We've been to Il Mito many times and always are happy with the food. This visit the service was bad. It was 8 minutes before a waiter came to the table. We actually thought of leaving but that would only punish us. Our waiter was so so once he did come to the table. Pretty disappointing.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Very let down

Dined on June 4, 2016

After carefully researching the restaurant and making reservations I was beyond excited to dine at IL Mito. Arrived 3 minutes late to find out our table wasn't ready, weird since I made a reservation. After ten minutes of waiting at the bar my date had to go check to see if they forgot about us. The table was ready. Our table option was the very table you run into when you walk in the door or the table in the back room. Meanwhile, several table settings are Available in the main area. We chose the back room seating option and were not acknowledged by our server for 10 minutes. The food was fantastic by it was hard to enjoy it when we were stuck in the back room with a loud cooking class. Very disappointing when I made reservations.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Always great, service friendly, great wine and drinks, food is fantastic. Great restaurant we always return to. Try the split pea soup (trust me).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The pea soup was a very good spring vers ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The pea soup was a very good spring version of young peas in a light creamy broth drizzled with oil and nicely garnished. Such a nice change from the dried pea mush type.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We have been here many times and always ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We have been here many times and always had a great experience. This last time we believe they were understaffed..possibly training new waiters?

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Il Mito has been our go-to, favorite res ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Il Mito has been our go-to, favorite restaurant in Milwaukee for a number of years. We almost started going to here too often and because of that have been on a brief hiatus. To celebrate some birthdays and cherish family memories at this gem of a place, I took our family back this past Saturday. As always, the place was busy and with it's normal noise. Our waiter was training a new person but was very attentive to our needs. But the best part here is the meal. There was not a clean plate when we finished and each member of our family tried each others. My daughter had the Risotto, my son had the rabbit gnocchi (his go-to dish) and my wife had the signature dish - spaghetti. While they all felt their dishes were the best, they were mistaken. My fall off the bone lamb was out of this world. Being slow roasted in Chianti wine and spices gave this dish great flavor and tenderness. My dish was served with cauliflower that was cooked to perfection along with Polenta. Polenta is not normally a favorite but it was a perfect match for the lamb. My only regret is that we did not leave room for dessert. We did decide to swing in to Le Reve (in the Tosa Village) to have a treat for later that night and the next morning. What a perfect evening with my family. The evening added to the many memories we have had at Il Mito. No more will we put this place on hiatus. We will be back much sooner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Nothing special

Dined on May 22, 2016

I was so excited to go here so my expectations were very high. I read all the reviews. My husband and I were not that impressed with the food. I had lasagna (where was the béchamel? Why is the sauce so salty?). He had lamb chops which he thought were pretty bland. Nor were the people next to us. We could hear everything they said because their table was so close to ours. The heat was stifling, the floors bounced whenever someone walked by, and our waiter was not that into us. On to find a new place to try!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A definite winner!

Dined on May 8, 2016

After hearing about Il Mito Enoteca from various reviewers, we decided to give it a try for Mother's Day brunch and we were very pleasantly surprised by the variety of menu items. The Bloody Mary bar was a fun touch too. Our waiter was very helpful and attentive without hovering. We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! The server was knowlegable, g ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent! The server was knowlegable, gracious and outgoing without being overbearing. He was very accommodating to our guest with dietary restrictions as well.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great dinners! One had lamb shank - VERY good; another had short ribs - VERY good; one had the pasta special with shrimp & homemade Italian sausage - VERY good....the mushroom appetizer was GREAT. Food and service excellent - will return

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband took me out to Il Mito for my ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband took me out to Il Mito for my birthday and we were both delighted with our spacious table near the window, delicious apps, salads and entree (gourmet lasagna), and impeccable service from Luis. We have enjoyed this Tosa location for years and hope to be back soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had such a wonderful time

Dined on April 25, 2016

You must try this lovely little rustic restaurant. The food was delightful, so well prepared with such care to make sure it was nice and hot. The flavors were just magnificent! The split pea soup was memorable. The kale salad was delicious. Overall, I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful evening!

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Food was excellent! Service with Cesar was perfect. Enjoyed the evening very much! We will be back! Thanks!😊

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Obnoxious loud characters at bar, other ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Obnoxious loud characters at bar, other 5 stars without question. Exquisite sauces. well priced 3 for $30.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently Good

Dined on April 18, 2016

We have been to Il Mito a couple of times and have had a pleasurable dining experience. The food is good and there are a lot of different options to choose from. The service is always outstanding. My only complaint is that their red marinera sauce is overly salty! This was especially noticeable as part of the lasagna. If not for this would rate a 5.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Mito is a local favorite. The staff ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Il Mito is a local favorite. The staff is excellent and attentive to its patrons. The menu is appropriately variable to satisfy every pallet and also appropriately simple. There is something available for everyone. Conversations are easy and the ambiance is rich. Try it ... you'll like it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great offerings for those watching glute ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great offerings for those watching gluten

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful experience. Food , se ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. Food , service ambiance. It has it all.

food3
ambience3
service2

I visited for dinner and for lunch in th ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

I visited for dinner and for lunch in the same week. It's not the same experience at lunch. Food was not as good as at dinner and service was slower. Highly recommend Il Mito at night when they're on their A game for sure!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "Go-to" Place!

Dined on April 13, 2016

To celebrate my birthday, my wife and I went to Il Mito for a quiet weeknight dinner. We've been here many times over the past few years, and are never disappointed! A glass of Cabernet, some warm bread dipped in garlic olive oil, a Caesar salad, and spaghetti bolognase, - perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I've never seen homemade hand-cut gluten ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

I've never seen homemade hand-cut gluten free pasta at a restaurant yet and Il Mito sets the bar! Amazing, gourmet quality meal and many GF options you don't normally have at Italian restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food and very reasonable prices. We hadn't been to Il Mito in a while, and decided to go to celebrate our anniversary. We weren't disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is always great. Outstan ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The restaurant is always great. Outstanding service only surpassed by the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love this place!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We consistently enjoy amazing food, excellent wait staff and lots of fun here. One of our favorite restaurants in Milwaukee!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on March 26, 2016

I had been to il mito several times for lunch but had not been there for dinner in years . The meal was fantastic and very enjoyable. I highly recommend as the jewel of Tosa.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was able to get in on late notice on a F ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Was able to get in on late notice on a Friday night for dinner with my wife. We each had one of the specials (one fish and one meat) and really enjoyed the flavors and the presentation. Our waiter was great - was able to be a bit jovial while still serious about doing his job. While the tables are a little tightly packed, we were able to enjoy a pleasant meal with good conversation without a problem. We were slightly disappointed by the mint-chip gelato we split for dessert, as the mint flavor was more of a spearmint taste than we anticipated - not terrible, but a little off-putting. We always enjoy eating here and look forward to returning soon.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on March 15, 2016

Four of us visited Il Mito on a Tuesday night. The place was busy so we were thankful to have reservations. The diverse menu is what made us chose this restaurant - it has a lot going for it. Each of us ordered a main entrée after sharing a small plate. The person who had the turkey parmesan said it was wonderful. The rest of us found our meat tough/chewy. The special of the night was duck and it was hard to cut and chewy. The Risotto with short ribs was just ok and again, the meat was chewy. The veil marsala had a smoky flavor (like something in the pan had burned) and the meat was tough to cut.

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Moose

Dined on March 12, 2016

Service terrible and forgot wine and was rushed and suckeddddddddddddddddddddddddd

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Server

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our server was exceptional!! Very polite and professional!

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great place

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

special treatment

Dined on February 21, 2016

Awesome food and experience as always. Restaurant was full on sat night so we were seated in the demo kitchen area, which is a little quieter and more intimate. Chef feker stopped by our table. We inquired about tomato soup he used to have on menu at restraunt at 2nd and Virginia, but hasn't been on this menu. He made a special batch just for us on the spot. It was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.