About Il Fornaio - Seattle

600 Pine Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio Seattle. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from an apple wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Voted as Seattle Magazine's 2006 Reader's Choice for "Best
Italian" and repeat recipient of Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence," this award-winning restaurant is located in downtown Seattle at Sixth and Pine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday -
Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 264-0994

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you!
Catering services include:
• Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually.
• Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any meeting held at Il Fornaio or your location.
• Ala Carte – We will accommodate any to go order from our regular menus.
• Delivery – Delivery available for catering orders with a $25 minimum (15 percent service charge applies).

Parking Details:
Convenient self or valet parking is available in Pacific Place parking lot. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Metro line stops at 6th and Olive.

Executive Chef:
Franz Junga

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sausage and Pepper Risotto
zabaione
Butternut squash ravioli
Panini Vegetariano
Bread
Tiramisu
Cannelloni
Beef tenderloin
Dover Sole, Prawn, Polenta And Mushroom Sauce
Tagliatelle in a Lamb Ragu
Calzone
Veal Parmigiana
Seattle Steak Sandwich
Butternut Squash Ravioli With Brown Butter And Fried Sage
Insalata Di Bietole
Antipasti
Sobon Estate Hillside Zinfindel
Rosemary Roasted Half Chicken
Affagato
Ceaser Salad
pomodoro siciliano
Dessert Trio
Bruschettta
Gamberi
Spinach Salad
Lobster Ravioli
Beef Carpaccio

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers four distinct dining options for large or small groups with menus suited to your preference.

Il Fornaio - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (51)
good for groups (48)
fit for foodies (34)
See All
romantic (31)
great for lunch (27)
notable wine list (21)
neighborhood gem (9)
kid-friendly (8)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

My first experience a few months ago was ...

Dined 4 days ago

My first experience a few months ago was outstanding so I went back and because I loved the dishes so much I had the same items. They were underwhelming to say the least...obviously a vastly different chef. The previous waiter knew his wines and provided great recommendations. When the current waiter was asked to recommend an Italian wind, he recommended Chateau San Michelle. I asked if there was a solminer and he didn't know what that was. Not normal in a high end Italian restaurant to say the least! Very disappointed and I won't be returning.

food4
ambience4
service4

Overall good experience...but mall locat ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Overall good experience...but mall location and large dining room detracted from intimacy.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Italian offering good choice of fo ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great Italian offering good choice of food. I had chicken pasta which was very tasty and my husband had the seafood pasta which he enjoyed too. We also had the panna cotta which was delicious.

Tags: group bookings, romance, special occasions, lunch, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service exceeded our expectations ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Food & service exceeded our expectations. Nice variety of Italian foods. Menu offered a full course meal based on a specific region of Italty (Campania), which was a delight. Carlo offered excellent service. Anyone who loves Real Italian food, will not be disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Both the service and the food were excel ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Both the service and the food were excellent and I'd totally recommend this place others as well. My pizza had a nice thin and crispy crust (true Italian style) and the fish my wife had was nicely done. As it turns out 'Il Fornaio' means 'The baker' and their bread is indeed delicious!

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I had the fish Misti platter. The fish w ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I had the fish Misti platter. The fish was so dry it was not worth eating.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to this restaurant many time ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times over the years and I always enjoy it. The service is very good and the food is delicious and moderately priced. My daughter and her friends went there before prom and loved it also because it is classy and high end without breaking the bank.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite! Fantastic wine on spe ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Always a favorite! Fantastic wine on specials list, delicioso pasta as always, and stellar service! fresh strong coffee to go with dessert tops off my lunch dates every single time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Had to wait in line behind people with n ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Had to wait in line behind people with no reservations. Manager rudely reached across the table to close window blinds. Food was luke warm. Martini was served with a LIME! The bread was the only good part.

food4
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite places. The food is v ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

One of my favorite places. The food is very good. The wait staff is always available but not obtrusive and very knowledgable about the menu choices.

food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Il Fornaio - For when Olive Garden just won't do

Dined on June 4, 2016

Il Fornaio always satisfies. The food doesn't excite or push any culinary boundaries. But, you always know what you're going to get. Good food (and a lot of it) at a (relatively) decent price, in a (slightly more than their competitors) upscale dining environment, with great service, and usually a lot of noise. If you can't get a table at Altura, and don't want to schlep out to the suburbs to find an Olive Garden, then Il Fornaio ought to suit your needs just fine.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Good service and quality food

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Good service and quality food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Total Improvement

Dined on June 1, 2016

We had eaten at Il Fornaio on a number of previous occasions. On our prior visit, about a year ago, we were very disappointed in our service and the quality of food. I had voiced my unhappiness in my Open Table review. Marco Notto, the manager, sent me a sincere apology with a promise to correct his restaurants shortcomings. On our visit to Il Fornaio last Tuesday I'm happy to report that there had been a total improvement in all the areas where there had been problems before. Staff was attentive and made sure that everything was going well. The food was back to its usual high standards and was one of the better dinners that we have experienced in quite some time. Our thanks to Marco and his staff for a memorable evening and we're looking forward to our next opportunity to visit Il Fornaio.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The penne a la vodka was really deliciou ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

The penne a la vodka was really delicious. My husband got a chicken fettucine alfredo which is not on the menu but they made it anyway which he appreciated. The service was attentive. The restaurant is very large and right in the downtown Seattle. The entrance from the street is easier to find than through the mall.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. Had a delicious pasta dis ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was good. Had a delicious pasta dish bacon flavored, vodka cream sauce but no meat.... A few more meat choices would have made it better

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

The food here is amazing and our service ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food here is amazing and our service from Jeff stellar!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

nice food and food service - would go ba ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

nice food and food service - would go back happily

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was awesome and the service was ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was awesome and the service was great! Mike our waiter was excellent!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant yet kid friendly

Dined on May 9, 2016

Perfect for our 4- generation mothers' day dinner. Elegant yet kid-friendly. Menu covered the gamut of our food restrictions and loves, from gluten free and vegetarian options to hearty meat dishes, and plenty of seafood options. With two parking garages flanking the building, parking was easy -- and handicapped accessible, another must for our party of 7. Service was excellent - our waitress was helpful, attentive and patient and very knowledgeable regarding the dishes. Ambiance was lovely. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

I keep going back and expecting better, ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I keep going back and expecting better, but it is always just ok.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Seattle!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was great and service was even better! Wine list was full of wonderful, favorable choices. Pasta was homemade and offered great flavor in every bite! Service exceeded our expectations and the pricing was reasonable, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the food is delicious & the staf ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Overall the food is delicious & the staff friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a party of 8. Service was wonde ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were a party of 8. Service was wonderful, dinner was delicious, and we were able to enjoy a relaxed evening never feeling rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter

Dined on April 27, 2016

My waiter described the food I ordered in detail and that was a big plus.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special treatment

Dined on April 22, 2016

The restaurant clearly read the details in the reservation request as we received special treatment for my daughter's birthday. Our server was gracious and patient, the available menu items all delicious. (I went with Toscano). The only disruption came from noisy diners at a different table who also insisted on lots of flash photography. Otherwise, from seating and drinks to dessert and espresso, this was a lovely experience. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Worst service in Seattle!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I had a party of 6 dine there on a Thursday night and we got what was possibly the worst service we have ever had in Seattle. I ended up hunting down the waiter to 1) get our deserts after what was a 45 minute rest and 2) having to go ask the manager if it would be possible to get a check before people started dozing on the table. Bottom line, a truly horrible experience.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Restaurant Week Dinner

Dined on April 21, 2016

Il Fornaio - It was not too busy, but they seemed short staffed. The waiter gave us oil and balsamic vinegar but forgot to give us bread. He also made it seem like the kitchen was really backed up and it would be a 15 - 20 minute wait for a salad. I still ordered it and it came out in a timely manner. However, it was extremely overdressed. Overall, the food was okay. nothing WOW.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was excellent as usual, but the waiter was somewhat distracted by two large parties. Not his fault, probably too much for one guy to cover. At any rate we will always go back since the food is truly some of the best Italian we have found in the NW.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazingly good

Dined on April 17, 2016

We have been here multiple times. Food is always excellent. Extensive gluten free pasta choices which don't taste gluten free.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great tiramisu!

Dined on April 13, 2016

The food was wonderful. Tasty bolognese (sp?) sauce. The only drawback was the service was extraordinarily slow. It took over 15 minutes to even get our drink order in and one dining partner ordered a drink during the meal which she ended up canceling because dessert arrived. Then the computer system went down and we had to wait even longer. Bit of a bummer as I've eaten there before and had superb service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food, terrible service

Dined on April 13, 2016

This was my second visit to Il Fornaio this week. The food was very good both times, and the prices were decent, especially for a downtown restaurant. But this visit the service was terrible.Sitings of the waiter were few and far between. When we were considering dessert I asked "Question: Chocolate cake or zabione?" He looked at me annoyed, expressionless and said flatly, "That is not a question. That is a statement." He didn't check back on us, and when it was time to pay took the cash from two of us and and one credit card from another and didn't come back. At least 15 minutes passed. When he finally returned he told us they were rebooting the system and he wouldn't be able to charge for quite a while and hoped we could wait. When pushed he said there was another way he could do it if he had to, but definitely let us know it was a total pain for him and that he really didn't want to. We waited at least another 10 minutes, had to call them back over, he said it still wasn't fixed, Now it had been at least 25 minutes since we finished our meal. Again he didn't offer to do it in a different way, so one of us had to lend our friend cash so she could pay without her card and we could leave. He never apologize for the wait, never apologized for the inconvenience, and never offered to do anything to make it right.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Nice servers/slow service/mediocre food

Dined on April 9, 2016

I've been to Il Fornaio many times for lunch and had good experiences. This time I tried to meet a friend for dinner before a movie. The restaurant wasn't all that busy but it took well over an hour before our food showed up - so we missed our movie. My friend enjoyed her meal but I ordered "prawns in garlic" and got a total of 4 complete prawns (lungs, heads, the whole shebang) which were flavorless, mushy and watery. Next to no actual meat to eat, a few beans, potatoes and some spinach on the side for $30. I was very disappointed. The ambiance was very pleasant and wait staff nice, but I won't be going back for dinner again.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Italian Food

Dined on April 8, 2016

Il Fornaio is overpriced and a bit pretentious but is a very good chain restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was just ok

Dined on March 28, 2016

The food was a bit bland. There were six of us and nobody thought their dish was anything to write home about. The cocktails, on the other hand, are pretty good.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was one of the poorest dinner experiences that we have had anywhere. Firstly, the waiter had very little interest in whether we wanted any toppings such as cheese or pepper for our meal. Furthermore, the meal was average at best in delivering a reasonable flavor with a decent presentation. Lastly, not once did the waiter ask how our meal was or if we were satisfied.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

An underwhelming experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our service was slow, our food took a VERY long time to come out, and when it did, it was luke-warm/cold. Servers didn't ask if we wanted a second glass of wine, which we would have had, considering we sat there for over 3 hours. on the plus side, we got to catch up with our friends and weren't rushed to get out of there.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good Italian

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I ate here on an overnight trip from Portland. When we saw it was here we jumped at the chance to go since they are no longer in Portland. It was good and classic. The restaurant is huge which may be good for crowds but we realized we missed the ambiance of a smaller place

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Underwhelming

Dined on March 24, 2016

Good service, good salads, sub par pasta, good coffee. Recommend the warm caprese. Cannelloni and ravioli were disappointing.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Traditional Italian

Dined on March 21, 2016

Went to Il Fornaio for Dinner with the family, food was good, wine was good but the service was a bit slow for a restaurant half empty, staff was courteous and friendly just slow

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for everyday, great for special

Dined on March 20, 2016

Superb service and dependable high-quality food are the reasons to visit Il Fornaio, the casual atmosphere and reasonable prices are the reasons to return again and again. Central in the Denny Triangle and easily accessible via bus, light rail, and on foot.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.