About Il Fornaio - Seattle

In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio Seattle. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from an apple wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Voted as Seattle Magazine's 2006 Reader's Choice for "Best
Italian" and repeat recipient of Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence," this award-winning restaurant is located in downtown Seattle at Sixth and Pine.

600 Pine Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday -
Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 264-0994

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you!
Catering services include:
• Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually.
• Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any meeting held at Il Fornaio or your location.
• Ala Carte – We will accommodate any to go order from our regular menus.
• Delivery – Delivery available for catering orders with a $25 minimum (15 percent service charge applies).

Parking Details:
Convenient self or valet parking is available in Pacific Place parking lot. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Metro line stops at 6th and Olive.

Executive Chef:
Franz Junga

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Sausage and Pepper Risotto - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
zabaione - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Butternut squash ravioli - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Panini Vegetariano - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Bread - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Tiramisu - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Cannelloni - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Beef tenderloin - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Tagliatelle in a Lamb Ragu - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Dover Sole, Prawn, Polenta And Mushroom Sauce - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Calzone - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Veal Parmigiana - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Seattle Steak Sandwich - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Antipasti - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Insalata Di Bietole - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Butternut Squash Ravioli With Brown Butter And Fried Sage - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
pomodoro siciliano - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Rosemary Roasted Half Chicken - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Ceaser Salad - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Affagato - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Sobon Estate Hillside Zinfindel - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Dessert Trio - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Gamberi - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Bruschettta - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Lobster Ravioli - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Spinach Salad - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Beef Carpaccio - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers four distinct dining options for large or small groups with menus suited to your preference.

Il Fornaio - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Good for Birthdays (21)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Romantic (18)
Authentic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Seasonal (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fireplace (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Family Style (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Comfort Food (8)
People Watching (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (5)
Fun (5)
Healthy (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1728 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious. Only downside in my ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious. Only downside in my opinion was the lighting. Last time I went there it was dimmed down substantially which made conversations seem more exclusive. This time it was lit up quite well (around 8pm) so people talk louder and it takes away from the whole vibe.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Always tasty, not too fancy to bring my ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Always tasty, not too fancy to bring my 8 year old, but fancy enough to be a good meal. Does frustrate me though that I clearly ask for a window seat and never get one.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved our waiter, loved the food. Great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved our waiter, loved the food. Great night!!! When our waiter found out we had three birthdays in our group, he bought us dessert ! ❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've had good dining experiences here be ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I've had good dining experiences here before but this time, it was subpar. Food was tasty but I was supposed to get mashed potatoes with my chicken but got roasted instead. They were yummy, but when you have your heart set on mashed...well, you know. Server was pleasant but she disappeared after taking our order. We had to order wine from the server who brought our food..and that arrived when we were halfway through the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Had tickets at the theater and our waite ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Had tickets at the theater and our waiter was very aware of our time frame. He was attentive and friendly. Food was good. Definitely would go again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal here. Service is exce ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always a good meal here. Service is excellent and friendly. An all time favorite.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ordered the seafood extraordinary din ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We ordered the seafood extraordinary dinner! Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Exceptional food, exceptional service. W ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Exceptional food, exceptional service. We were treated like royalty by our server Drew and everything we had to eat was freshly made and phenomenal. For a last minute NYE find, Il Fornaio delivered in spades.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We go to this restaurant every year for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We go to this restaurant every year for Christmas Eve. This year my Husband was sick so we postponed our trip . We did however decide to take our daughter here for her 19 Birthday dinner. The food is always wonderful, however the steak my husband ordered was the best that either of us had ever had! It was simply delicious!!!!! II Fornaio never disappoints! Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A disappointing dining experience. Has t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A disappointing dining experience. Has the management changed? I used to count I'll Fornaio among my favorites. Service was inappropriate and intrusive. Food was mediocre ( except for the gluten free meal, which was excellent. ) even the bread, which I had previously rated excellent, was mediocre at best. I am really sorry to have had such a disappointing dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

very courteous and friendly staff as alw ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

very courteous and friendly staff as always. Asked if this was pre-theatre and was helpful about reminding us of the time we needed to leave. Excellent salad. Very generous portions. We had pizza and salad, but found we could have easily shared one pizza and one salad. Several nice vegetarian options. Great desserts. The spumoni was excellent, but I prefer gelato in a dish rather than on a plate. My favorite Seattle restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was crap. Service was crap. The tir ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was crap. Service was crap. The tiramisu was a pathetic excuse for a dessert. Wine was good, everything else was crap.

Tags: Fireplace, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Delicious food and excellent service. Ni ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. Nice atmosphere, too.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Reliable and kid-friendly (my 11-year-ol ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Reliable and kid-friendly (my 11-year-old loves the pizza, which is surprisingly good). There aren't a lot of good choices for a nice (but not too fancy) sit-down meal in that part of town.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a perfect place to go to before ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is a perfect place to go to before a show at the Paramount or 5th Avenue as both are a short walking distance. For a 7:30 show; reservations at 5:30 are perfect. The food is lovely the service is great and you can have a leisurely dinner and make the show with plenty of time to spare.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the downstairs counter to watc ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We sat at the downstairs counter to watch the cooks. We were going to have a dinner. But after having the great calimari and watching the poor frustrated Chefs bring dish after dish up to be served sitting up on the counter next to my arm which was for the seating areas and we watched and including them see it get cold. We had a small pizza and bottle of good wine and left. The waiters seemed to be having to make all the cocktails and were too busy to serve the people their food. We even saw the chefs have To reheat someone's food. Sad you are losing customers this way.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

It was just ok. Nothing special. Won't r ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was just ok. Nothing special. Won't return. I will say the pizza looked good, wish I would have gotten that instead of my chicken dish.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Nice spot for lunch. We went early and ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Nice spot for lunch. We went early and it was quiet, but gets noisy when it's full.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Experience! Super helpful staff. A ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great Experience!

Super helpful staff.

Awesome food!

We visited twice in a week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Family Style, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were looking for a nice Italian resta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were looking for a nice Italian restaurant for our traditional downtown Christmas Eve dinner and Il Fornaio was an excellent choice. Everyone in our party loved their dinners and we all loved the warm chocolate cake desert!! The service was superlative as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Fireplace, People Watching, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Il Fornaio offers really good food, frie ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Il Fornaio offers really good food, friendly service, and a comfortable place. Our table was a little too noisy for my aging ears (I have some trouble with a lot of reflected sound), but I take responsibility for not requesting something a little quieter. However, I enjoy the energy and that comes with some noise.

This is the second year I have taken my married kids to Il Fornaio for Christmas Eve. Part of its charm is being in Pacific Place--again, that energy. It's a fun place to be this time of year. Not mention that another plus is easy parking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Service and food preparation/presentatio ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service and food preparation/presentation are excellent. Be prepared for take home or share a meal. Always seems to be a busy place which speaks to its desirability as a place to go for something special. Not for dieters.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was ok...even though our tab ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service was ok...even though our table was ready and reserved through Open Table - they made us wait until exactly 8:15 pm - my dish that I ordered was very bland, however, the wait staff was very nice...I will not be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Reservation for our family of five was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Reservation for our family of five was confirmed by Open Table. Restaurant staff called to confirm reservation that day. What a surprise to be told when we arrived that they had no reservation for us. Fortunately, they did seat us quickly....but that was the only thing timely for the remainder our visit. It was a long wait before our first drinks arrived and service remained slow throughout our meal. Entrees were tasty...meatballs delicious...but not all items were hot. Sadly, food was overshadowed by overall experience. We didn't even consider waiting for dessert. We have enjoyed family dinners there several times before, but this one was less than memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Our family has had several holiday meals ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our family has had several holiday meals at Il Fornaio and I've been a customer of their for many many years. We have never been disappointed and it's a great place for great food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Two of our party arrived first, and they ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Two of our party arrived first, and they were seated. We ordered drinks and some munches. When our third member came, service brought her a plate and then the drink she ordered. When Cannon showed up his drink arrived . It was so relaxed and helpful through the dinner. Dessert was Prefect. Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Great wine ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great wine selection and very reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat at Il Fornaio once a month. Love ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I eat at Il Fornaio once a month. Love the monthly regional menu and haven't been disappointed. Service is friendly and efficient with servers knowledgeable about menu items. I'll return for sure.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a group of six friends for a Chri ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a group of six friends for a Christmas celebration and had a wonderful time. The staff was ultra-attentive and the food & wine just fit the evening. Would totally think about Il Fornaio for any group occasion!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food excellent service a fantastic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food excellent service a fantastic experience for a dinner date

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Private Room, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After hearing for years about how great ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 17, 2016

After hearing for years about how great Il Fornio is when I finally Had dinner there it was quite a disappointment. The ambiance would have been good if the noise level was lower. Too many big parties next to our little table which was squeezed in almost like an afterthought. The service was good but the food was definitely a disappointment . I've had better Italian food at most little neighborhood joints back east. The food is the most important factor in a restaurant and nothing can compensate for mediocre food. Improve the food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We come here every year at Christmas for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We come here every year at Christmas for tradition. (15 years) The food has deteriorated and the service was so slow......not any fault of our waiter.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Perfect downtown location. Wonderful It ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Perfect downtown location. Wonderful Italian food and friendly staff.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit here at least once a year for t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We visit here at least once a year for the holidays. Always have a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had dinner at El Fornaio prior to att ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We had dinner at El Fornaio prior to attending a play at 5th Avenue since it was within easy walking distance. They food was excellent and they were very accommodating with our time constraints. It was our second time there and we have been pleased both times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved that the hostess offered my coll ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I loved that the hostess offered my colleague and I black napkins (both of us were wearing black outfits). This is a very thoughtful thing to think of. I can't tell you how many times I've left a restaurant covered in white fluffy lint from the cloth napkins! Considering the restaurant wasn't super full it did take our server a very long time to bring our check. But other than that, it was a great, quiet place to hold a business lunch.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was slightly above average, so ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The food was slightly above average, some menu descriptions were misleading. Our server must have been new; not knowing information, getting an order wrong.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We have been to Il Fornaio many times an ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have been to Il Fornaio many times and have generally been happy with the food and service. This time the occasion was a late lunch on a Sunday to celebrate birthdays. The service was sub par and the food was not up to the usual standards. I ordered the lamb shank and it was more like mutton shank that had been undercooked. It was tough and the rest of the food on the plate was cold. They took it back and replaced it with another dish, but it was not something I expect from Il Fornaio.

The rest of the meals (4 more) were merely OK.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The place is overrated. I ordered soup, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The place is overrated. I ordered soup, salad and sandwich of which only the sandwich was good. The cesar salad dressing was bad and the soup didnt taste good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

We had a great dinner here. Wait staff w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a great dinner here. Wait staff was fantastic and the food was delicious!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.