About Il Fornaio - Seattle

600 Pine Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio Seattle. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from an apple wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Voted as Seattle Magazine's 2006 Reader's Choice for "Best
Italian" and repeat recipient of Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence," this award-winning restaurant is located in downtown Seattle at Sixth and Pine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday -
Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 264-0994

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you!
Catering services include:
• Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually.
• Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any meeting held at Il Fornaio or your location.
• Ala Carte – We will accommodate any to go order from our regular menus.
• Delivery – Delivery available for catering orders with a $25 minimum (15 percent service charge applies).

Parking Details:
Convenient self or valet parking is available in Pacific Place parking lot. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Metro line stops at 6th and Olive.

Executive Chef:
Franz Junga

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat the dad's in your family to a special day at Il Fornaio filled with authentic Italian elegance, a deliciously creative menu and memories for a lifetime!

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers four distinct dining options for large or small groups with menus suited to your preference.

Il Fornaio - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (54)
good for groups (50)
romantic (37)
See All
fit for foodies (37)
great for lunch (29)
notable wine list (21)
neighborhood gem (12)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (5)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. Had a delicious pasta dis ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was good. Had a delicious pasta dish bacon flavored, vodka cream sauce but no meat.... A few more meat choices would have made it better

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

The food here is amazing and our service ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food here is amazing and our service from Jeff stellar!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

nice food and food service - would go ba ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

nice food and food service - would go back happily

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was awesome and the service was ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was awesome and the service was great! Mike our waiter was excellent!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant yet kid friendly

Dined on May 9, 2016

Perfect for our 4- generation mothers' day dinner. Elegant yet kid-friendly. Menu covered the gamut of our food restrictions and loves, from gluten free and vegetarian options to hearty meat dishes, and plenty of seafood options. With two parking garages flanking the building, parking was easy -- and handicapped accessible, another must for our party of 7. Service was excellent - our waitress was helpful, attentive and patient and very knowledgeable regarding the dishes. Ambiance was lovely. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

I keep going back and expecting better, ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I keep going back and expecting better, but it is always just ok.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Seattle!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was great and service was even better! Wine list was full of wonderful, favorable choices. Pasta was homemade and offered great flavor in every bite! Service exceeded our expectations and the pricing was reasonable, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the food is delicious & the staf ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Overall the food is delicious & the staff friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a party of 8. Service was wonde ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were a party of 8. Service was wonderful, dinner was delicious, and we were able to enjoy a relaxed evening never feeling rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter

Dined on April 27, 2016

My waiter described the food I ordered in detail and that was a big plus.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special treatment

Dined on April 22, 2016

The restaurant clearly read the details in the reservation request as we received special treatment for my daughter's birthday. Our server was gracious and patient, the available menu items all delicious. (I went with Toscano). The only disruption came from noisy diners at a different table who also insisted on lots of flash photography. Otherwise, from seating and drinks to dessert and espresso, this was a lovely experience. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Worst service in Seattle!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I had a party of 6 dine there on a Thursday night and we got what was possibly the worst service we have ever had in Seattle. I ended up hunting down the waiter to 1) get our deserts after what was a 45 minute rest and 2) having to go ask the manager if it would be possible to get a check before people started dozing on the table. Bottom line, a truly horrible experience.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Restaurant Week Dinner

Dined on April 21, 2016

Il Fornaio - It was not too busy, but they seemed short staffed. The waiter gave us oil and balsamic vinegar but forgot to give us bread. He also made it seem like the kitchen was really backed up and it would be a 15 - 20 minute wait for a salad. I still ordered it and it came out in a timely manner. However, it was extremely overdressed. Overall, the food was okay. nothing WOW.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was excellent as usual, but the waiter was somewhat distracted by two large parties. Not his fault, probably too much for one guy to cover. At any rate we will always go back since the food is truly some of the best Italian we have found in the NW.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazingly good

Dined on April 17, 2016

We have been here multiple times. Food is always excellent. Extensive gluten free pasta choices which don't taste gluten free.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great tiramisu!

Dined on April 13, 2016

The food was wonderful. Tasty bolognese (sp?) sauce. The only drawback was the service was extraordinarily slow. It took over 15 minutes to even get our drink order in and one dining partner ordered a drink during the meal which she ended up canceling because dessert arrived. Then the computer system went down and we had to wait even longer. Bit of a bummer as I've eaten there before and had superb service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food, terrible service

Dined on April 13, 2016

This was my second visit to Il Fornaio this week. The food was very good both times, and the prices were decent, especially for a downtown restaurant. But this visit the service was terrible.Sitings of the waiter were few and far between. When we were considering dessert I asked "Question: Chocolate cake or zabione?" He looked at me annoyed, expressionless and said flatly, "That is not a question. That is a statement." He didn't check back on us, and when it was time to pay took the cash from two of us and and one credit card from another and didn't come back. At least 15 minutes passed. When he finally returned he told us they were rebooting the system and he wouldn't be able to charge for quite a while and hoped we could wait. When pushed he said there was another way he could do it if he had to, but definitely let us know it was a total pain for him and that he really didn't want to. We waited at least another 10 minutes, had to call them back over, he said it still wasn't fixed, Now it had been at least 25 minutes since we finished our meal. Again he didn't offer to do it in a different way, so one of us had to lend our friend cash so she could pay without her card and we could leave. He never apologize for the wait, never apologized for the inconvenience, and never offered to do anything to make it right.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Nice servers/slow service/mediocre food

Dined on April 9, 2016

I've been to Il Fornaio many times for lunch and had good experiences. This time I tried to meet a friend for dinner before a movie. The restaurant wasn't all that busy but it took well over an hour before our food showed up - so we missed our movie. My friend enjoyed her meal but I ordered "prawns in garlic" and got a total of 4 complete prawns (lungs, heads, the whole shebang) which were flavorless, mushy and watery. Next to no actual meat to eat, a few beans, potatoes and some spinach on the side for $30. I was very disappointed. The ambiance was very pleasant and wait staff nice, but I won't be going back for dinner again.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Italian Food

Dined on April 8, 2016

Il Fornaio is overpriced and a bit pretentious but is a very good chain restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was just ok

Dined on March 28, 2016

The food was a bit bland. There were six of us and nobody thought their dish was anything to write home about. The cocktails, on the other hand, are pretty good.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was one of the poorest dinner experiences that we have had anywhere. Firstly, the waiter had very little interest in whether we wanted any toppings such as cheese or pepper for our meal. Furthermore, the meal was average at best in delivering a reasonable flavor with a decent presentation. Lastly, not once did the waiter ask how our meal was or if we were satisfied.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

An underwhelming experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our service was slow, our food took a VERY long time to come out, and when it did, it was luke-warm/cold. Servers didn't ask if we wanted a second glass of wine, which we would have had, considering we sat there for over 3 hours. on the plus side, we got to catch up with our friends and weren't rushed to get out of there.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good Italian

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I ate here on an overnight trip from Portland. When we saw it was here we jumped at the chance to go since they are no longer in Portland. It was good and classic. The restaurant is huge which may be good for crowds but we realized we missed the ambiance of a smaller place

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Underwhelming

Dined on March 24, 2016

Good service, good salads, sub par pasta, good coffee. Recommend the warm caprese. Cannelloni and ravioli were disappointing.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Traditional Italian

Dined on March 21, 2016

Went to Il Fornaio for Dinner with the family, food was good, wine was good but the service was a bit slow for a restaurant half empty, staff was courteous and friendly just slow

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for everyday, great for special

Dined on March 20, 2016

Superb service and dependable high-quality food are the reasons to visit Il Fornaio, the casual atmosphere and reasonable prices are the reasons to return again and again. Central in the Denny Triangle and easily accessible via bus, light rail, and on foot.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Il Fornaio Seattle 3/17/16

Dined on March 18, 2016

Good overall service. Wait staff was very attentive and knowledgeable. Drink glasses were never empty. Food and atmosphere were very good. Just romantic enough for our anniversary dinner. Only complain was the small portion size for the price.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They treated us like royalty

Dined on March 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to dinner there for our anniversary and they treated us by giving us "the table of honor" as the host called it. The whole experience was magical. We didn't feel rushed at all and as a treat for our anniversary they served us complimentary appetizers as well as dessert. They gave us a take home bag of goodies to boot. They were all so nice. What a great night!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday

Dined on March 13, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday. She loved everything about this restaurant. She is a fairly picky eater, but thought that everything about the dinner was wonderful. The staff was first rate, from the hostess to the bus boy and especially the waiter. He went out of his way to answer all our questions and make sure that my wife had a great birthday dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

We stayed as a plan for 3, ended up a ta ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

We stayed as a plan for 3, ended up a table of 8. Service was amazing, food was delicious, serving sizes quite nice. If I am ever in Seattle again,I would love to eat here again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch with friends a good experience!

Dined on March 7, 2016

Went to lunch before a movie with friends so it was fairly quiet. The waiter was wonderful! He brought our ticket promptly and was helpful with information about the various dishes. Everyone liked their food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Food & Good Service

Dined on February 26, 2016

My wife & I had dinner here two nights in a row (Thursday & Friday). Thursday night the place was very quiet. More energetic on Friday night, especially around the bar area. Service was very good both nights. Greeted promptly & seated at a a nice window table both evenings. Food was very good. We would both highly recommend the Caprese Calda starter -- every bite bursts with flavor.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a gem of a restaurant!

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was great and the waiter knowledgeable about the food and wines. We had a leisurely dinner and didn't feel rushed. For me this outing was a real treat. I have serious food allergies which I mentioned at the time of the booking. Usually at other restaurants this detail has to be mentioned again when I order. At Il Fornaio, after greeting us, the waiter who already knew about my allergies suggested possible dishes after inquiring for specifics about the allergies. He followed up with the chef with his assurances that I would would be able to dine safely. He was right, l had a lovely dinner and it added to the enjoyment of the evening. We will definitely come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always Consistent ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Food is always very good ... not exceptional, but very good at very fair prices. Service is excellent ... sincere, attentive and affords the time for a good dining experience. I am a 12-year repeat customer given I know what I can expect, and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Valentine Treat

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I went to Il Fornaio for Valentine's Day dinner. In all respects, we were favorably impressed. Our service was excellent; all food came out appropriately timed and hot. We will be happy to recommend Il Fornaio to friends, and look forward to going back.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Dining Experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

I came to this restaurant on Valentine's Day with my girlfriend and upon walking in the door was blown away by the beautiful decor and design. The service is excellent, wine was amazing, and the food was delicious beyond words. A little pricey, but for a romantic night out or a special occasion, I wouldn't want to go to any other place in Seattle. Highly recommend going here and having a great night out with your special someone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and wine. Beef tenderloin ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent food and wine. Beef tenderloin and sauce was cooked to perfection. Minestrone soup was full of flavor. Calamari appetizer was great, fluffy coating, like puff pastry. Red wine that was off the special list, was velvety and excellent compliment for the beef. Capped off with a very smooth cappuccino. Lovely meal with great conversation!

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

A place you can usually get a reservation

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service is very very good w/ the waiter and managers always swinging by. Food is thematic and chain like. Menu is limited and varied, desert was fine. This restaurant is the place you go when everything else is full. You'll get very good service and food...just food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience! The waiter was v ...

Dined on February 9, 2016

Outstanding experience! The waiter was very consistent with his service. Satisfied with the food we ordered. Not to mention the restaurant looked very nice. Very pleased in general.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good regional italian fare

Dined on February 7, 2016

The have a monthly "Festa" where they showcase the cuisine from a specific region. This month was Umbria, which is located in Central Italy. We had a sausage risotto and roasted duck, both cooked perfectly and delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.