About Il Fornaio - Seattle

600 Pine Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio Seattle. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from an apple wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Voted as Seattle Magazine's 2006 Reader's Choice for "Best
Italian" and repeat recipient of Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence," this award-winning restaurant is located in downtown Seattle at Sixth and Pine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday -
Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 264-0994

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you!
Catering services include:
• Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually.
• Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any meeting held at Il Fornaio or your location.
• Ala Carte – We will accommodate any to go order from our regular menus.
• Delivery – Delivery available for catering orders with a $25 minimum (15 percent service charge applies).

Parking Details:
Convenient self or valet parking is available in Pacific Place parking lot. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Metro line stops at 6th and Olive.

Executive Chef:
Franz Junga

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sausage and Pepper Risotto
zabaione
Butternut squash ravioli
Panini Vegetariano
Bread
Tiramisu
Cannelloni
Beef tenderloin
Tagliatelle in a Lamb Ragu
Dover Sole, Prawn, Polenta And Mushroom Sauce
Calzone
Veal Parmigiana
Seattle Steak Sandwich
Antipasti
Insalata Di Bietole
Butternut Squash Ravioli With Brown Butter And Fried Sage
pomodoro siciliano
Rosemary Roasted Half Chicken
Ceaser Salad
Affagato
Sobon Estate Hillside Zinfindel
Dessert Trio
Gamberi
Bruschettta
Lobster Ravioli
Spinach Salad
Beef Carpaccio

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers four distinct dining options for large or small groups with menus suited to your preference.

Il Fornaio - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Lunch (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was wonderful...the service a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Everything was wonderful...the service and our server were great. We were seated at the red table after being asked if we were there for a special occasion. We received a free appetizer and desert!!! Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The food was not worth the price. I rem ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was not worth the price. I remember having lunch with my friend about 5 years ago and it was good. Also, i had mentioned on the reservation that it was for my husband's birthday and for a meal that we paid $85 for it is too bad that you could not throw in a little free dessert for my husband.

i love the bread and cafe food but i will not be going to the restaurant anymore.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The service was fantastic! It's so rare ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was fantastic! It's so rare when my expectations are exceeded. Will definitely return for another pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

He service and food blew me away, our se ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

He service and food blew me away, our server was amazing! Will be going back and will be recommending!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive for what you get. Food is so-s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Expensive for what you get. Food is so-so, nothing special. Risotto was way undercooked, not al dente at all. Should have gone to the downstairs venue where food quality is more dependable and somewhat less expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was overpriced and not nearly d ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was overpriced and not nearly delicious enough to warrant the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Convenient to hotel. Food okay but pre ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Convenient to hotel. Food okay but pretentious descriptions so difficult to know what you were ordering. Waiter was very fake and falsely pleasant...'oh, i see we are ordering the..., This was grating.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A big fan - better than any other I've b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A big fan - better than any other I've been to including Corte Madera... try the pasta and house chianti

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am 5'7 and my colleague is 6'5, none c ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I am 5'7 and my colleague is 6'5, none could fit comfortably in the booth table because the leg of the table was huge. It was quite uncomfortable during the whole meal.

The lasagna had some regular ham in it, not great for a $93 bill.

The wine was good, so was the creme brulee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food and great service!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The monthly specials are amazing. We en ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The monthly specials are amazing. We enjoyed trying the regionale food specials and wine pairings. The management and wait staff really went out of their way to make our evening memorable.

Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was great

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Server was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great lunch spot. Near convention and pr ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great lunch spot. Near convention and provides a tasty and creative Italian meal. Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was not as good as in the past.. ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Service was not as good as in the past.. And the place was less than 1/3 full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Il Fornaio is a great place to dine for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Il Fornaio is a great place to dine for special occasions. It was easy to get a table for two, which came as a bit of a surprise as it was on the same evening as the Seattle Seafair Torchlight Parade. The food was delicious and the server delightful. The "house" salad was outstanding. Parking at Pacific Place while dining at Il Fornaio is reasonable and convenient.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a group so I was a bit distracted ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a group so I was a bit distracted. The service was fantastic and everyone seemed to enjoy their meal. The butternut squash ravioli didn't have much flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have been to Il Fornaio many times and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I have been to Il Fornaio many times and I was more than disappointed this time. The service was absolutely horrible-the server was less than friendly and we had to track her down to get the bill. The seafood special was overcooked and my salad (grilled chicken) was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

My daughter and I were visiting Seattle ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My daughter and I were visiting Seattle for the Adele concert and wanted to have dinner before the concert started at 8pm. We arrived quite early at 6pm and there were only a few tables occupied. We were seated at a window table and a waiter immediately appeared. Both my daughter and I order pasta and salads with a glass on wine and we were not disappointed. Everything was hot and fresh and we were so full that we couldn't eat another bite....let alone one of the delightful looking desserts! Too much fresh focaccia and pasta. Considering the atmosphere and the wonderful food, I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great restaurant with great food and ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great restaurant with great food and service. We were celebrating 3 birthdays and we each got a complimentary dessert! That was a nice, unexpected treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing. Service was perfect!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was amazing. Service was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good. It wasn't anything super ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was good. It wasn't anything super special though. The service was outstanding though, which I appreciated. We ordered the bruscetta and it didn't really taste like anything. Just tomatoes and bread. It was very timid. My son ordered the meat sauce and meatballs which he enjoyed but the meatballs were very heavily laden with bread. I had soup which had peas and mint and it was very good. I loved it. The waiter was friendly and accommodating and was very knowledgeable about the wine list. Overall, it would be a place I'd go to for lunch but probably not dinner again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experie ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Il Forniao. The staff were very helpful & professional. We were given a complimentary bruschetta & a bag of their dried pasta because it was our first visit to the restaurant. The food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food uninspired and overpriced for what ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food uninspired and overpriced for what they offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Very nice, good food, mostly very effici ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very nice, good food, mostly very efficient service, a couple not listening problems tat the waiter offered to rectify but I stayed with the mistake.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Warm welcome, pleasant room, thoughtful ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Warm welcome, pleasant room, thoughtful menu and wine list plus excellent service. No complaints here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Fornaio offers a reliable spot to enj ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Il Fornaio offers a reliable spot to enjoy a lovely dinner. Service is good, the food is delicious, the ambiance is lovely, easy parking, and importantly it is not incredibly loud like so many restaurants are these days. You can actually hear your dinner guests conversation. We often stop by the bar after shopping for a glass of wine and bar food, as well. Il Fornaio never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful find! We were meeting up with ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Wonderful find! We were meeting up with a college friend and his wife. The atmosphere was quietly elegant, and the staff was unobtrusive. Our orders were delivered in a comfortable, timely manner. The food presentation was outstanding, and the meals were delicious!

Il Fornaio Seattle was conveniently located about three short blocks from the Sheraton hotel, where we were staying.

If/when I return to Seattle, I'd love to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My first experience a few months ago was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My first experience a few months ago was outstanding so I went back and because I loved the dishes so much I had the same items. They were underwhelming to say the least...obviously a vastly different chef. The previous waiter knew his wines and provided great recommendations. When the current waiter was asked to recommend an Italian wind, he recommended Chateau San Michelle. I asked if there was a solminer and he didn't know what that was. Not normal in a high end Italian restaurant to say the least! Very disappointed and I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Overall good experience...but mall locat ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Overall good experience...but mall location and large dining room detracted from intimacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Italian offering good choice of fo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great Italian offering good choice of food. I had chicken pasta which was very tasty and my husband had the seafood pasta which he enjoyed too. We also had the panna cotta which was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food & service exceeded our expectations ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food & service exceeded our expectations.

Nice variety of Italian foods. Menu offered a full course meal based on a specific region of Italty (Campania), which was a delight. Carlo offered excellent service.

Anyone who loves Real Italian food, will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the service and the food were excel ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Both the service and the food were excellent and I'd totally recommend this place others as well. My pizza had a nice thin and crispy crust (true Italian style) and the fish my wife had was nicely done. As it turns out 'Il Fornaio' means 'The baker' and their bread is indeed delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the fish Misti platter. The fish w ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I had the fish Misti platter. The fish was so dry it was not worth eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I have been to this restaurant many time ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times over the years and I always enjoy it. The service is very good and the food is delicious and moderately priced. My daughter and her friends went there before prom and loved it also because it is classy and high end without breaking the bank.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite! Fantastic wine on spe ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Always a favorite! Fantastic wine on specials list, delicioso pasta as always, and stellar service! fresh strong coffee to go with dessert tops off my lunch dates every single time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to wait in line behind people with n ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Had to wait in line behind people with no reservations. Manager rudely reached across the table to close window blinds. Food was luke warm. Martini was served with a LIME! The bread was the only good part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

One of my favorite places. The food is v ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

One of my favorite places. The food is very good. The wait staff is always available but not obtrusive and very knowledgable about the menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Il Fornaio - For when Olive Garden just won't do

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Il Fornaio always satisfies. The food doesn't excite or push any culinary boundaries. But, you always know what you're going to get. Good food (and a lot of it) at a (relatively) decent price, in a (slightly more than their competitors) upscale dining environment, with great service, and usually a lot of noise. If you can't get a table at Altura, and don't want to schlep out to the suburbs to find an Olive Garden, then Il Fornaio ought to suit your needs just fine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Good service and quality food

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Good service and quality food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Total Improvement

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We had eaten at Il Fornaio on a number of previous occasions. On our prior visit, about a year ago, we were very disappointed in our service and the quality of food. I had voiced my unhappiness in my Open Table review.

Marco Notto, the manager, sent me a sincere apology with a promise to correct his restaurants shortcomings. On our visit to Il Fornaio last Tuesday I'm happy to report that there had been a total improvement in all the areas where there had been problems before. Staff was attentive and made sure that everything was going well. The food was back to its usual high standards and was one of the better dinners that we have experienced in quite some time.

Our thanks to Marco and his staff for a memorable evening and we're looking forward to our next opportunity to visit Il Fornaio.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.