About Il Fornaio - Seattle

600 Pine Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio Seattle. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from an apple wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Voted as Seattle Magazine's 2006 Reader's Choice for "Best
Italian" and repeat recipient of Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence," this award-winning restaurant is located in downtown Seattle at Sixth and Pine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday -
Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 264-0994

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you!
Catering services include:
• Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually.
• Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any meeting held at Il Fornaio or your location.
• Ala Carte – We will accommodate any to go order from our regular menus.
• Delivery – Delivery available for catering orders with a $25 minimum (15 percent service charge applies).

Parking Details:
Convenient self or valet parking is available in Pacific Place parking lot. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Metro line stops at 6th and Olive.

Executive Chef:
Franz Junga

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sausage and Pepper Risotto - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
zabaione - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Butternut squash ravioli - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Panini Vegetariano - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Bread - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Tiramisu - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Cannelloni - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Beef tenderloin - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Tagliatelle in a Lamb Ragu - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Dover Sole, Prawn, Polenta And Mushroom Sauce - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Calzone - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Veal Parmigiana - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Seattle Steak Sandwich - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Antipasti - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Insalata Di Bietole - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Butternut Squash Ravioli With Brown Butter And Fried Sage - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
pomodoro siciliano - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Rosemary Roasted Half Chicken - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Ceaser Salad - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Affagato - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Sobon Estate Hillside Zinfindel - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Dessert Trio - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Gamberi - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Bruschettta - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Lobster Ravioli - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Spinach Salad - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Beef Carpaccio - Il Fornaio - Seattle, Seattle, WA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Start your Christmas celebration at Il Fornaio! Join us on Christmas Eve and enjoy the festive atmosphere and your favorite Italian dish.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Kick off 2017 in style! Join us New Year's Eve and toast to happiness and health in the new year. Salute!

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers four distinct dining options for large or small groups with menus suited to your preference.

Il Fornaio - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
See All
Business Meals (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fireplace (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

GREAT selection of options; good for gra ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

GREAT selection of options; good for grandchildren and adults alike. the man downstairs was so accommodating and got us seated on a crowed evening. Wait staff terrific and we got out on time.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to this restaurant several times before and enjoyed ambiance, food and service. This time however, I and my three friends were disappointed with slowness of service, under poured cocktails that had to be returned, tasteless soup and disappointing food overall. We chose restaurant for our special party dinner prior to annual Nordstrom party we look forward to every yeat. Next year we will choose another nearby restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The staff was friendly and accommodating ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The food was incredible. The pasta is clearly the real deal... fresh and homemade. Dessert was heavenly. We wish we found this restaurant sooner because we would have visited a few times while we were in Seattle. Don't miss this place... it's a true treat and the prices are quite reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Il Fornaio never disappoints! Food, wine ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Il Fornaio never disappoints! Food, wine and service were fantastic .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrible dining experience!! Bad custome ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Terrible dining experience!!

Bad customer service. Our Thanksgiving dinner was totally destroyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

First time at the restaurant, went for T ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First time at the restaurant, went for Thanksgiving. We had great service, the food was delicious, we ordered off the regular menu and skipped the traditional Thanksgiving meal. The ambiance was pretty perfect. Only issue was it was really dark as there were burnt out lights above our table. We in turn had to use the light from our cellphones to read the menu. The waiter kindly brought us a candle which helped but it was a little too dark throughout the whole meal. We had a table that you could see the Space Needle from.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I always love going to Il Fornaio. Somet ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I always love going to Il Fornaio. Something about it is cozy and pretty. The food is always good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The room is very handsome, though more ' ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The room is very handsome, though more 'designed' than intimate or personal. All of the food that we had was either very good or excellent. You might consider doing what the two of us did: order the antipasto della casa for one person only (you'll each still get quite a lot), and add another appetizer. (We had the calamari, which was excellent and came with a fine marinara for dipping.) The coffee is dark and rich, and the dessert cart well worth your consideration.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wow, what an amazing surprise, last minu ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wow, what an amazing surprise, last minute Saturday night reservations! Service was impeccable, the food was so so delicious. We had the bolognese with the most amazing gluten free noodles. Truly incredible, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a great dining experience. We had a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Was a great dining experience. We had a very attentive server, place was very busy throughout the night, accommodating staff, good food, and a great dessert selection. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing service and great menu options

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing service and great menu options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation to make sure we mad ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a reservation to make sure we made it to our after dinner event by 7pm. We felt like royalty with all of the staff ready to provide water, wine, menus, bread, etc. I loved my glass of Valipolacella. The veal and seafood dishes were prepared well. Great flavors. The service was prompt and we had plenty of time to enjoy our meal, never felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and menu suggestions. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent service and menu suggestions. Impeccable food bursting with flavor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed birthday dinner before show at P ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Enjoyed birthday dinner before show at Paramount Theater. Attached to Pacific Place shopping center, so easy parking and other things to do in area without traveling outside if wintry! The servers were very attentive.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the food and the service was impecc ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Love the food and the service was impeccable. Just very dark - had to use our phone flash lights to see the menu!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been going to Il Fornaio for many y ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I've been going to Il Fornaio for many years, and they "never" disappoint. The service was great and I had an out-of-town guest that asked for something "off" the Menu. The waiter quickly consulted with the Chef and they "made it happen"............no problem. I love that kind of "can do" service.

The cuisine was outstanding! We'll be back!!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional food and service. Quality of ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Exceptional food and service. Quality of food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable service

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Memorable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here, excellent service, deli ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time here, excellent service, delicious food. The only drawback was the very dim lighting made it difficult for my older eyes to read the menu. Regardless, my husband enjoyed our date night, we will recommend Il Fornaio, and we will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was average but the price wasn't. W ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was average but the price wasn't. We were there on a Friday evening after 7:45. Service was OK a little slow and many of the items were not available!?!? Bottom line is there are many Italian restaurants available that have much better quality at a much lower price point. Consider the bar and a pizza if you just have to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

The manager went out of his way to accom ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The manager went out of his way to accommodate more people than we originally expected. The food was delicious. Would dine here again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Said on my reservation that this was a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Said on my reservation that this was a birthday dinner and they seated me on Sunday night-restaurant not full-next to the kitchen door when other nice tables were glaringly available. NOT IMPRESSED.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

The veal was good, but the artichokes on ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The veal was good, but the artichokes on top were so tough you couldn't eat them.

The bread pudding had good flavor but the serving temperature was not warm enough.

The "warm, hazelnut cake with creme anglaise" was room temperature with small dab of the creme anglaise on the plate. Too bad, because it could be an excellent dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

It wasn't crowded at all at lunch but th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 31, 2016

It wasn't crowded at all at lunch but the entire wait staff completely disappeared for about 10 minutes. Very slow service. Slow getting seated even with a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Il Fornaio is a long time favorite venue ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Il Fornaio is a long time favorite venue for pre/post theater evenings. It has a diverse menu, good wine selection and a unique ambiance. Everything on the menu is delicious and service is catered to your need to catch your show... just let them know. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent as always. first class servic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

excellent as always. first class service. Very attractive place

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good food and good service, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Consistently good food and good service, but rather pricey. Wine was too expensive. Hard for 2 people to get away for less than $100.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Great pasta, outstanding service. The be ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great pasta, outstanding service. The best Italian I've had since visiting New Jersey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In addition to the great service and foo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

In addition to the great service and food, one of the most notable features is the quiet to moderate noise level, even though it was nearly full at the time. It seems to me that many restaurants are tending towards "loud" ambiance, but I prefer to enjoy my food in a more peaceful setting. This restaurant is a good choice for those who are sensitive to a lot of noise as I am.

Since this was my first visit, I started with one of my "testing" dishes for Italian restaruants - capellini al pomodoro. The dish is relatively simple, and if the angel hair pasta is not cooked perfectly or the herbs are not in balance, it will show up easily. The capellini al pomodoro served at Il Fornaio was the best I've ever had. Next time, I'll try something more complex.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For my birthday dinner, we chose Il Forn ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 24, 2016

For my birthday dinner, we chose Il Fornaio, our favorite Italian restaurant in Seattle. I chose dishes from their 4-course "Festa Regionale" menu for October that featured food and wine from the north of Italy (Trentino - Alto Adige). All four dishes were excellent, but the pasta (pasta tubes with chicken, bacon, shiitake mushrooms, brandy, cream and thyme) and the secondi (venison braised with root vegetables and red wine served with polenta and blueberry preserves) were truly exceptional! I also tried their wine flight of a choice of three wines from the region. They each had a distinctive character, but all were excellent. If any part of the dining experience was even better than the food, it was the service. Omar and his two associates were phenomenal. They treated us like royalty, were extremely attentive, and anticipated every need. They also seasoned their service with delightful humor. It was a great birthday celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Il Fornaio in ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was our first time at Il Fornaio in Seattle. I'd been to the bakery in San Francisco before for cookies and they were excellent. We were treated to a complimentary appetizer of bruschetta which was FABULOUS, and my daughter's pasta with vodka cream sauce was really delicious. I had the veal scalloppine, which was ok, but not as good as the pasta I tried off my daughter's plate. If I return here, I'll be sure to order the bruschetta and the pasta!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When we entered we were a little disappo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

When we entered we were a little disappointed, then we said we had reservations and found out the first floor was for walk-ins and the second floor was the normal dinning room. Good food, even if they did bring the wrong dish the first time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Average "Italian" food but nice space an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Average "Italian" food but nice space and very good service. Had a small issue (may have been caused by us not being clear) and it was resolved quickly and mgr. "Comp'd" the plate - a classy move!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

This is a very classy Italian restaurant ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is a very classy Italian restaurant in the heart of Seattle. The food is amazing and the service is first class. We enjoy participating in the tour of Italy, which restarts every 6 months. It is worth checking out. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The salad and main course were fine. In ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The salad and main course were fine. In fact I ordered some wine and that was excellent. The problem was the dessert - which had been highly recommended by the waiter at the beginning of the meal. It was an apple strudel. It arrived over cooked. Let's just say, it was served with a spoon. My husband got me a fork and then he went found a knife for me. I would have needed a steak knife to actually cut through the top.

When the waiter finally reappeared and checked in (with check in hand), I explained the problem. He said he would mention to the cook. And, then we never saw him again.

At the least, an apology was in order and some deduction from the meal would have been nice. Since he showed no real interest in keeping us pleased, his tip was reduced accordingly for the price of the dessert.

We have eaten there many time and will do so again. However, this was a really poor experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Service fine. Salads had old oil - with ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Service fine. Salads had old oil - with poor taste. Calamari was all breading and no taste. Child's pasta plate the only edible item.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Our server was very nice ... I felt he w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our server was very nice ... I felt he was a bit stretched though and therefore our service was kind of slow. I was with my niece and we had to sit at this HUGE table in order to have a booth which was a little awkward but not totally uncomfortable. I chose Il Fornio because Italian sounded really good on a cold rainy day and then we are at this huge booth which was not real "cozy"! The ravioli was amazing though!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We went to Il Fornaio last minute. Made ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We went to Il Fornaio last minute. Made reservations on the drive to Seattle. We had tickets to a show at the Fifth Ave and our wait staff was prompt and courteous, enabling us to have a great meal and make it to the show without rushing. I had the Veal picante, which was wonderful, and my husband had a great Bolognese. The ingredients were all excellent and fresh. The preparation was exceptional. I'm sure we will return many times!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been to Il Fornaio several times b ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We've been to Il Fornaio several times before and generally enjoyed the experience. We are unlikely to return.

The service was poor, the food wasn't very good, and the bill was very high. Our meal took well over two hours to complete, we received our glasses of wine a full hour after we were seated, and the food was only OK. Under-seasoned and over-cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Lovely dinner. Food was delicious, good ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Lovely dinner. Food was delicious, good bread, good house Pinot Grigio. I was dining alone but did not feel rushed. Waiter and busboy were nice and personable. Have to say I loved the apple strudel! Veal was fork tender. It was all so good, I came back another day on my business trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.