About Il Fornaio - Sacramento

400 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday : 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 446-4100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Retail Catering: When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you! Catering services include: boxed lunches, pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies platters and much more. Perfect for any social or business meeting. Call for delivery details and minimum order information (service charge applies). Planning a wedding or large corporate event? Full Service Catering is available at our Sacramento location. Authentic, award-winning Italian cuisine and our experienced catering staff can offer Five-Star service when handling all the details of your next special event.

Parking Details:
Validated, complimentary parking available in private lot. Street parking and valet are also available.

Public Transit:
Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.

Executive Chef:
Bruno Amato

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat the dad's in your family to a special day at Il Fornaio filled with authentic Italian elegance, a deliciously creative menu and memories for a lifetime!

Private Dining

Il Fornaio is located in downtown Sacramento just four blocks from the state capitol. In a beautiful and elegant setting we offer delicious authentic Italian cuisine and impeccable service. We have a number of private dining options available along with special menus to match your group's needs.

Il Fornaio - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

special occasion (114)
fit for foodies (87)
romantic (82)
See All
good for groups (74)
notable wine list (58)
great for lunch (57)
neighborhood gem (32)
great for brunch (22)
hot spot (22)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for outdoor dining (14)
kid-friendly (13)
scenic view (11)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Location Location Location. What an ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Location Location Location. What an amazing place. Great menu and beautiful surroundings.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is handsomely appointed, ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

The restaurant is handsomely appointed, the food is very good (we loved the fresh, warm bread), and our server was thoughtful and well-informed, if a little distracted. We've been here before and we will certainly be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My husband and I had never tried the reg ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

My husband and I had never tried the regional menu before. Each of us tried a different offering and we were delighted! The wine that was recommended perfectly complemented our respective meals. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. The occasion was Mother's Day-a day that I refuse to cook! We left the restaurant sated and happy! The only negative was the dining room is a bit noisy. My husband has hearing issues so it was a bit uncomfortable for him. But overall, very good dining adventure! We will return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wondeful Experience

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was excellent. Wait staff very knowledgeable. Wine list one of the best.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Great regional menu. Terrific bartender ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great regional menu. Terrific bartender!!

food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Tasteless food and rude waiter

Dined on May 3, 2016

Ordered the sundried chicken pasta thing, bland! Looked And tasted like it came from a box. Went to celebrate my son's 14th birthday, waiter had decided we weren't worth waiting on from the moment we all sat down when we all asked for waters becausewe had NOT yet opened he menu to look at the drink list. Even the kids noticed him roll his eyes every time he walked away from our table. The busser was friendly and attentive, I think he noticed the waiter's attitude. Unimpressed and will not return. I'll spend my $200 bucks at another establishment.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

The calamaretti was superb; perfectly co ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The calamaretti was superb; perfectly cooked, with 2 sauces and a generous portion. The bruschetta was tasty, but needed more garlic. Ravioli do zucca with fried sage was, as usual, heavenly. Despite the large Saturday night crowd, service was professional and very attentive. All in all, a wonderful experience, especially for our birthday boy!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!! Great food!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Great place!! Great food!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good for a chain

Dined on April 24, 2016

Nice restaurant with pretty good food, not spectacular but definitely worth trying. Especially given the ambience. Very nice setting and great waiter service. Classy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Unremarkable.

Dined on April 24, 2016

We arrived and were seated immediately, but at a table located on the junction of several paths from the kitchen to the patio. We requested to move to an empty booth and, with a little prodding, we were moved. The restaurant was filled with young customers dressed similar to what looked like prom night. They were busy. Our server greeted us almost immediately. It took a while for everyone to have their cocktails, and get our order submitted. The time between ordering and serving was longer than expected and longer than necessary. We each received our entrees at about the same time. The food was fair, not memorable; not recommendable.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as Usual

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was excellent as usual as the waiter and support staff were very attentive. You could tell that they enjoy working at Il Fornaio as they put a strong effort into their work. The food was also superb with the fish we were served being cooked to perfection. We will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We love good food from casual to fine di ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We love good food from casual to fine dinner but Il Fornaio is alway one of my favorite restaurant in Sacramento. We come here so much from manager to severs know us. But I've to says Said & Francisco are my favorite severs here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sacramento Il Fornaio is outstanding. W ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Sacramento Il Fornaio is outstanding. Welcome back, Dan, and so good to see top notch bartender, Gabriel.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best IlFornaio in northern CA

Dined on April 18, 2016

Never disappoints! My favorite pick for Sacramento. Convenient location, great food, superb service and ample portions for the price

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Jose was my waiter and he wasn't attenti ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Jose was my waiter and he wasn't attentive. Had to wait for my order of wine, he didnt bring it until my dinner came. Had to ask to look at dessert cart and had to ask for check. He was spread really thin as i watch him thru the evening. He took more care at larger tables verse intimate table. Had to ask other waiters that past by to refill my water.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Everything was highly recommendable food, service, atmosphere. Will be going back soon

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Il Fornaio is consistently excellent!

Dined on April 15, 2016

One can always expect Il Fornaio to be outstanding. Although a chain, this restaurant is always consistently excellent: variety, flavor, wine list, and of course, service. Il Fornaio is the best choice for any event where one requires a consistent, pleasant dining experience. Ciao!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently Good

Dined on April 11, 2016

Il Fornaio has never disappointed, the restaurant is beautiful, the people are friendly and caring, and the food is always good. It's great for business or pleasure.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Deliciously Classy

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The architecture is what first catches your attention, however the cuisine and service steal the evening. Don't forget dessert to top a perfect dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good every time!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Had another business lunch at Il Fornaio and it was a terrific experience - just like it always is. A few weeks ago we hosted a special dinner for a 21rst birthday and it surpassed our high expectations. The service is fabulous and the food wonderful. Have been to this restaurant many times and will continue to go for business, fun and special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

always a decent meal at Il Fornaio

Dined on April 3, 2016

Almost every meal I have had at Il Fornaio has been very good, especially considering it's technically a chain. This was my first time to the Sacramento location and it was a solid experience. I was pleasantly surprised to see it so busy on a Saturday night given it's location in a very non-residential, Mon-Fri business area of downtown. The service didn't suffer and the meal was great. Wife had the risotto special and I had the lamb special. We'll be back to try happy hour during the week.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital Experience!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

My wife and I had a truly wonderful dining experience at the Il Fornaio Sacramento location this weekend. Amazing group there. Everyone seem to be quite focused on service. The food was outstanding as well. We couldn't have asked for a better time. Thanks to the chef for taking the time and effort to accommodate our dietary needs. We'll be back for sure. 10 out of 10 in my book!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fake Italian

Dined on March 31, 2016

The food and location were great, unfortunately like every italian restaurant in America it was simply not authentic. While this is expected the food was great and I have eaten here for years.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was practically empty so we got lots ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

It was practically empty so we got lots of attention.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasant and tasty experience, ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Always a pleasant and tasty experience, attentive service, very nice setting. We'll be back!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and good food. I had the c ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great service and good food. I had the cannoli and it was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific food, service, and ambience!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Terrific food, service, and ambience!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Fornaio is one of my favories

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food is really good. The wait staff has always been very attentive without being aggressive. What I like best about Il Fornaio is the fact that you have a choice of smaller portions on a lot of items, even for dinner. It has always been an enjoyable experience to dine at Il Fornaio.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Bad service

Dined on March 17, 2016

I went for my birthday dinner and the waitress we had was despicable. She did not come back to check on us after we received our food. We did not get bread until right before we received our entrees. And they charged us $18 to slice a cake that we brought. The food was good but the service ruined the entire experience for me. I love in the neighborhood and this was my second time there so I was expecting it to be pleasant. But unfortunately this one waitress ruined everyone's moods.

food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Our service was extremely slow with entr ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Our service was extremely slow with entre arriving 45 minutes after salad. The ravioli was under cooked and risotto very watery.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food

Dined on March 12, 2016

Came here for a date night. Our server Zachary was very knowledgeable about the menu and gave great advice about food/wine pairings. Our meals were very delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place!

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Consistently excellent. Can't say the same for other area Italian restaurants, like Biba. Chain quality, but you'd never know it's a chain. Keep it up!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Il Fornaio

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

We continue to rate the Sacramento Il Fornaio as the best Il Fornaio. The ristorante is beautiful, romantic, yet modern and upbeat. From manager, Patrick, to bartender Gabriel, and server Saed, we appreciate the friendly service from everyone. And, last but not least, the food is the best! We will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every respect

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

You would never know that this Il Fornaio is part of a chain. It starts with a smile at the front desk and only gets better from there. Wonderful, varied menu, superb food, professional service at its best from servers to assistants. But what makes it such a unique experience is the dining room itself with 30' ceilings and a history to go with it. The noise level is surprisingly low, even with a full house. A very nice dining experience, every time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant

Dined on February 27, 2016

Truly exceptional cuisine and service. The atmosphere is top notch as well. Additionally, you never know who you may run into there, you could find a famous politician dining right close by.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The visit was, as usual, great. Fransesc ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The visit was, as usual, great. Fransesco was at his best, and the food was great......we come here, at least, once a month.......

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A Taste of Italy

Dined on February 20, 2016

We have come to Il Fornaio a number of times and have always had a good time. What was special about this last time was that Il Fornaio was offering a taste of the cuisine from different regions of Italy. Having traveled to Italy a year ago, we recognized the region they were offering and had to re-live our vacation experience. The food was delicious and reminded us of the meals we had when we were there. Especially nice was the wine flight they were offering and discovered it WAS the same wine we had while on our trip. A great experience. Can't wait to see what region is selected for next month.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reserved a small group area, not ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

We had reserved a small group area, not being sure how many people would arrive. Il Fornaio staff was very accommodating and understanding. We were able to conduct a meeting, without staff being overly attentive. I thought it was ironic that as an "Italian" restaurant, the beer menu did not include any Italian beers, ie Moretti or Peroni. LOL! I would like to see Il Fornaio feature itself as a part of the regional Farm to Fork movement and highlight regional produce, meats and beers. There are over 50 breweries in the Sac Region and none are featured on the menu. The closest craft beer was Firestone, located in Paso Robles.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on February 16, 2016

We came here for my wife's birthday and had a great time, a great food, and great service. This was our first time at this restaurant and I feel like we'll definitely be back. The food was all amazing, the service second to none, and the atmosphere perfect for the occasion. The "outdoor" seating is nice because it's not fully outdoors, it's a covered patio and is really nice to eat in and can definitely be romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful dining experience!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I recently visited Il Fornaio for an after Valentine's lunch. The establishment has a romantic ambiance, which was perfect for us. The staff provided A+ service and the food was delish! We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.