About Il Fornaio - Sacramento

400 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday : 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 446-4100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Retail Catering: When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you! Catering services include: boxed lunches, pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies platters and much more. Perfect for any social or business meeting. Call for delivery details and minimum order information (service charge applies). Planning a wedding or large corporate event? Full Service Catering is available at our Sacramento location. Authentic, award-winning Italian cuisine and our experienced catering staff can offer Five-Star service when handling all the details of your next special event.

Parking Details:
Validated, complimentary parking available in private lot. Street parking and valet are also available.

Public Transit:
Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.

Executive Chef:
Bruno Amato

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli
Lamb Chops
Tiramisu
Cannolini
Minestrone
Zabaione Ala Gritti
Wild Boar With Gnocci And Brocolini
Paparadelle With Fungi
Caprese
Bread
Prosecco
Prosecco Maschio
Almond Flan
Beet-infused Gnocchi With Peas
Pesce Al Limone
Coffee
Parfait

Private Dining

Il Fornaio is located in downtown Sacramento just four blocks from the state capitol. In a beautiful and elegant setting we offer delicious authentic Italian cuisine and impeccable service. We have a number of private dining options available along with special menus to match your group's needs.

Il Fornaio - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Special Occasion (107)
Good for Groups (70)
Fit for Foodies (69)
See All
Romantic (69)
Great for Lunch (50)
Notable Wine List (47)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Kid-friendly (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Scenic View (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, it was a good experience. Howev ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 3 days ago

Overall, it was a good experience. However, I have now dined at Il Fornaio several times and have had the same complaint each time. Food is excellent and service is good. But when it comes to refills on sodas or coffee, the service is TERRIBLE. You have to ask specifically for a refill even when your glass/cup is obviously empty. This is a big problem because the server and wait staff will visit your table several time, refill water, and tea, and then completely ignore you if you need a soda refill. Then you have to go out of your way to ask for a refill on your soda when that is something you should never need to ask about. For a high-end restaurant like Il Forniao, I expect much more. I can go to a taqueria and the server will refill a soda any time he/she stops by and notices you need one. Why is the service better at a taqueria??? I can pay 3 times less for my meal at a taqueria and know that my drinks will be refilled without me asking.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent, especially the seafo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent, especially the seafood appetizer and cappelini, and the wines well-matched. The service was exemplary - just the right amount of attention without being overly intrusive. Il Fornaio is a favorite because it is consistently a pleasure to dine there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the food of Sicily--outstanding. We ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Had the food of Sicily--outstanding. We also had a server who was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

It was a perfect location for a birthday ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was a perfect location for a birthday celebration. The food was good. I love the ambience and the server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed the ambience and the service. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I enjoyed the ambience and the service. Our server was very nice and friendly. I also liked the moscato. I need to know the name of the Moscato, which brand etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining experience is always a specia ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The dining experience is always a special one as all of my companions agreed.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding bar service from Frank....an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outstanding bar service from Frank....and the bar had FANTASTIC breadsticks....ask for them as they seem to be a speciality item only.

Great service all around.....gorgeous ristorante. Terrific food: eat the Silicon regional right away before it is gone!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and my wife had a fantastic time. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Me and my wife had a fantastic time. The food and service was great! We spent our 10 year anniversary here and we were treated special as the guest of honor. I thank you for assisting me in making the night special for my Wife.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoy the tour of Italy progra ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We really enjoy the tour of Italy program and always make a point to come in at least once a month for the menu specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the food was good, the marinar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I thought the food was good, the marinara sauce was light and flavorful. The presentation was good, and our server was nice and helpful. I enjoyed the dinner very much, but later that evening both my son and I had digestive issues.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My main disappointment was the food. I h ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My main disappointment was the food. I had a special pasta dish that was bland and served luke warm. ( a baked pasta cut in a pie shape.) One expects a lot more for the money. Service was OK, not especially attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

As always Il Fornaio was excellent. The ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As always Il Fornaio was excellent. The food and service was outstanding. The fish is always cooked perfectly as was the meat dish. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place with great interior and great ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Nice place with great interior and great views of DT Sac-to

Food is good too.

It was GREAT not to be around loud music/people or little kids.

Conversation could be held easily at low voice.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to dinner to celebrate our 25th ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We went to dinner to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We had great service and the waiter was so kind to acknowledge our 25th and treated us to dessert after dinner. The manager of the restaurant also came over and congratulated us for our anniversary. Great restaurant ...the food was so amazing....I bragged about it on Facebook and to anyone who would listen.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food, wine, and service at I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Always good food, wine, and service at Il Fornaio-Sacramento. I stop there whenever I travel to Sac airport. If I were a resident of the area, I would expect to dine there at least 2-3 times monthly. This visit my friend and I both had the Taste of Sililia and theSicilia Wine Flights. Excellent 3 course tastings and the wine offerings were grand. I look forward to my next visit there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My friend and I were celebrating our Jul ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My friend and I were celebrating our July birthdays. We selected Il Fornaio because it is a lovely atmosphere and the cuisine is delicious and we were not disappointed. To our delight we were seated at the "special table" and were served a delightful summer salad, Cappellacci Di Zucca, and delightful dessert in addition to our main course - Margherita pizza and penne paste and seafood. And Naomi our hostess was attentive and informative. All in all, a wonderful evening. Il Fornaio, Sacramento is one of my favorite restaurants. For Italian cuisine, it is my "go to" restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed celebrating my husband's birt ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We enjoyed celebrating my husband's birthday, especially the free spumoni desert! The service was excellent, attentive but not overbearing. The pizza was quite large and very tasty, a perfect thin crust wood fired pizza. The dark chocolate gelato did not disappoint.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible service and delicious food! M ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Incredible service and delicious food! My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here and we could not have had a better experience. From the moment we walked in the door, we were treated with a special table and chef special samples all because we let them know we were celebrating via Open Table in advance. Will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful place to dine.......t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always a wonderful place to dine.......the food is superb......we love this ristorante!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service and great food!

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The pizza was amazing. The server took ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The pizza was amazing. The server took too long to bring our dessert out. The spumoni is to die for.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Beautiful place. Manages to be elegant a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Beautiful place. Manages to be elegant and comfortable at the same time. Very good food - I like the Passoporto program and exploring the cuisine from different regions. Good wine list. Dynamite tiramisu

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food very good, not great...service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food very good, not great...service was excellent...price paid was above what I ....2 simple pasta dishes and food portion of bill was 40, also smallish portions vs typical Italian

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

An 8 PM reservation on a Saturday at the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

An 8 PM reservation on a Saturday at the Capitol Mall location. Most diners had cleared out by then which surprised me. I'm used to lunch which is packed. Given the fairly empty space, it was quiet, which is how I like it. Servers were courteous, but the timing of the plates left gaps, particularly between the chicken and the pasta. I think this may be due to the fact that my wife chose petto di pollo, which has a bit of a lead time to prepare and I was doing a sampling menu. Still, if that slow chicken is buried in a series of small samples, which I was having, it is kind of a trick to make it appear right after one of the tasting plates. They need to stand back and think it out a bit, how to space it. Nevertheless, I don't think my experiences at Waterboy, Ella, Mulvaneys, Firehouse, and the late Enotria presented flavors that surpassed Il Fornaio for the kind of things Il Fornaio presents. Il Fornaio doesn't pursue some of the experimental things those others try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Excellent, as always!! We always have ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent, as always!! We always have had a great experience at Il Fornaio. The food was excellent and service is always professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, but Francesco made it wo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was great, but Francesco made it wonderful.......this was a gift card from our Kids for our 60th......very nice evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our fourth time and it lived up ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is our fourth time and it lived up to our very high expectations. Mareviliouso.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff were very welcoming and well i ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The staff were very welcoming and well informed about their offerings. Service was perfect - wait staff were attentive but not overbearing. Efficient service for a business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was great and our server Naomi made ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was great and our server Naomi made the occasion even more spectacular...

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This meal was from their featured Puglia ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This meal was from their featured Puglia regional menu. As usual, the food was very good, though some was a little peppery for my taste. The zabaglione dessert was excellent! We were seated near their "group room" which made for a lot of waiter traffic near us, which was a bit distracting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most consistently excellent Il Forna ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The most consistently excellent Il Fornaio in the state. Great service and food.

Wonderful staff.

Eat there......! It is the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and outstanding service a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent food and outstanding service at Il Fornaio. I especially like the special menus for regions of Italy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 46 anniversary w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were celebrating our 46 anniversary with our son and wife and two grandchildren, ages three and five. The restaurant was wonderfully accommodating to the grandchildren by serving their food first, giving them table activities – coloring books, for example. Our food was wonderfully prepared, hot and delicious. Their bread is exceptionally delicious, hard crust and soft interior. We ended the evening with their spumoni ice cream. Yum.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We go monthly to experience all the regi ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We go monthly to experience all the regions of Italy as the menu changes regularly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As usual, our dining experience was very ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

As usual, our dining experience was very good. I wish that there were more vegetarian entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated our friend's birthday. We ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We celebrated our friend's birthday. We sat in the beautiful garden patio area. The food was fantastic. I can't recall what the others ordered, but I had the butternut squash. It was delicious and "just enough." My friend received a complimentary dessert and although there weren't any service staff to sing happy birthday, the people around us did. It was special, indeed!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service could have ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was excellent. Service could have been better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The food is delicious, the staff is frie ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food is delicious, the staff is friendly, and validated parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THAT WAS THE FIRST TIME I WAS THERE AND ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

THAT WAS THE FIRST TIME I WAS THERE AND I TRULY ENJOYED MYSELF. THE AMBIANCE WAS WONDERFUL. THE FOOD WAS MIRACULOUS. I HAD THE SEAFOOD RISOTTO AND IT WAS INCREDIBLE. IT WAS VERY MOUTH WATERING.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My comments regarding singing happy birt ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My comments regarding singing happy birthday and bringing a birthday dessert were not forwarded to the waiter. As it happened, we ended up having to dash back to work more quickly than we had planned when booking, so we didn't have much time anyway. But, I was surprised when he just brought the check.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.