About Il Fornaio - Sacramento

400 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday : 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 446-4100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Retail Catering: When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you! Catering services include: boxed lunches, pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies platters and much more. Perfect for any social or business meeting. Call for delivery details and minimum order information (service charge applies). Planning a wedding or large corporate event? Full Service Catering is available at our Sacramento location. Authentic, award-winning Italian cuisine and our experienced catering staff can offer Five-Star service when handling all the details of your next special event.

Parking Details:
Validated, complimentary parking available in private lot. Street parking and valet are also available.

Public Transit:
Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.

Executive Chef:
Bruno Amato

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli
Lamb Chops
Tiramisu
Cannolini
Minestrone
Zabaione Ala Gritti
Wild Boar With Gnocci And Brocolini
Caprese
Paparadelle With Fungi
Bread
Prosecco
Prosecco Maschio
Almond Flan
Beet-infused Gnocchi With Peas
Pesce Al Limone
Parfait
Coffee

Private Dining

Il Fornaio is located in downtown Sacramento just four blocks from the state capitol. In a beautiful and elegant setting we offer delicious authentic Italian cuisine and impeccable service. We have a number of private dining options available along with special menus to match your group's needs.

Il Fornaio - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
1 More
Italian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

special occasion (97)
fit for foodies (71)
good for groups (67)
See All
romantic (64)
notable wine list (50)
great for lunch (49)
neighborhood gem (29)
hot spot (18)
great for brunch (18)
great for outdoor dining (14)
kid-friendly (14)
scenic view (10)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Another wonderful dinner with my family. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Another wonderful dinner with my family. Thank you

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Some people dream about Brad Pitt or Dav ...

Dined 6 days ago

Some people dream about Brad Pitt or David Beckham...I dream about the butternut squash raviolis, the olive loaf bread and the chunks of fresh parmo on my salad at Il Fornaio.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great variety for those who like Italian ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great variety for those who like Italian food, nice wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Up until this visit, we have always had ...

Dined 6 days ago

Up until this visit, we have always had excellent service and excellent food. We were not seated in the main dining room, even though we requested it when making the reservation. Other tables were offered beverages that were seated after us. The server did not bring out the second glass of wine until dinner was done. We were not offered coffee with our desert, and the desert was melted, so it sat for awhile before being brought out. Extremely disappointed in the service we received on this visit. Not sure if we will be back again.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I love Il Fornaio - I am a sucker for gr ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I love Il Fornaio - I am a sucker for great Italian food. REAL Italian food. My wife and I went for our anniversary - I let them know this ahead of time and requested flowers in my open table reservation. They placed us in a quiet, outside corner and placed flowers on the table, per my request, even in our wedding colors. Food was great, and our dessert was even better! Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous dinner and excellent s ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner and excellent service! Everything about the evening was wonderful. We hadn't been to Il Fornaio for a while and we were thrilled with everything. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my younger son's college graduati ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

It was my younger son's college graduation day. I was looking for a nice place looking good inside and outside and also a good service. Everything was just perfect: location, interiors, food and service. It is a great place for the special occasion. I do recommend it!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our kids to celebrate how great ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We took our kids to celebrate how great they performed at school during this school year. We dressed up for the occasion and order fantastic main courses and desserts. Our server was such a gentleman. Our kids felt very special. This is a great restaurant if you want to take someone for a special time.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special celebration

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Made reservations for our daughter's graduation celebration for a party of 10. We got seated in our own room, it was lovely. Delicious food and attentive service. All around a wonderful experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always

Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent as always

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a delightful dinner

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

The Sacramento Il Fornaio is the best. Great service, ambience, and fantastic food. We enjoyed Gabriel, our bartender, Dan, the host, our server.....and most importantly, the fabulous bread and always wonderful food. This ristorante is elegant, but not fussy----a great vibe. We love this place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Mediocre food

Dined on June 1, 2016

The ambiance is wonderful. What a pity that the food is so poorly executed. The mussels in the seafood linguine were old and the smell not pleasant. The steak was overcooked and the waiter didn't even ask how we wanted it cooked. This was a good restaurant some years ago. Lately, only the bread served with olive oil and balsamic vinegar continues to be delicious.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 27, 2016

Very nice restaurant, located in the heart of capital mall. We sat inside the restaurant which was nice however the ambiance in the outer dining area would have been more suited to a special occasion. I say outer because this is not really "outside" it is an area enclosed by glass giving more of a patio feel. The meals were "very good" per two guests. Both had the sole. Birthday girl had risotto which I understood was good. I had the linguini mare chiaro, which had more red pepper flakes than necessary. It was good, I think, but a $50 bottle of wine couldn't ease the burn. Did I mention the wine list is $$$$? It's all a matter of taste. I would probably give others a try before returing.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service

Dined on May 26, 2016

Our server steered us to the Cioppino, which was excellent. She said they do not have it on the menu very often. Our other two guests had the salmon which was also very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service2

Restaurant was beautiful. Food was horri ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Restaurant was beautiful. Food was horrible and so was the service. I won't be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Location Location Location. What an ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Location Location Location. What an amazing place. Great menu and beautiful surroundings.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious and such a classy resta ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Always delicious and such a classy restaurant. Great staff. Great bar...ask for house made breadsticks--bar only--we love this place. Romantic, but not stuffy...

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is handsomely appointed, ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

The restaurant is handsomely appointed, the food is very good (we loved the fresh, warm bread), and our server was thoughtful and well-informed, if a little distracted. We've been here before and we will certainly be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Unfortunate Experience

Dined on May 11, 2016

The restaurant itself was great. Clean, great ambience , fantastic food although the menu could have a few more diverse options. I enjoyed the scenery, however, the staff that waited on us was rude and pushy. That alone would deter me from being a repeat customer . It's unfortunate because had it not been the wait staff, I would have loved to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My husband and I had never tried the reg ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

My husband and I had never tried the regional menu before. Each of us tried a different offering and we were delighted! The wine that was recommended perfectly complemented our respective meals. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. The occasion was Mother's Day-a day that I refuse to cook! We left the restaurant sated and happy! The only negative was the dining room is a bit noisy. My husband has hearing issues so it was a bit uncomfortable for him. But overall, very good dining adventure! We will return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wondeful Experience

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was excellent. Wait staff very knowledgeable. Wine list one of the best.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Great regional menu. Terrific bartender ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great regional menu. Terrific bartender!!

food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Tasteless food and rude waiter

Dined on May 3, 2016

Ordered the sundried chicken pasta thing, bland! Looked And tasted like it came from a box. Went to celebrate my son's 14th birthday, waiter had decided we weren't worth waiting on from the moment we all sat down when we all asked for waters becausewe had NOT yet opened he menu to look at the drink list. Even the kids noticed him roll his eyes every time he walked away from our table. The busser was friendly and attentive, I think he noticed the waiter's attitude. Unimpressed and will not return. I'll spend my $200 bucks at another establishment.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

The calamaretti was superb; perfectly co ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The calamaretti was superb; perfectly cooked, with 2 sauces and a generous portion. The bruschetta was tasty, but needed more garlic. Ravioli do zucca with fried sage was, as usual, heavenly. Despite the large Saturday night crowd, service was professional and very attentive. All in all, a wonderful experience, especially for our birthday boy!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!! Great food!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Great place!! Great food!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good for a chain

Dined on April 24, 2016

Nice restaurant with pretty good food, not spectacular but definitely worth trying. Especially given the ambience. Very nice setting and great waiter service. Classy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Unremarkable.

Dined on April 24, 2016

We arrived and were seated immediately, but at a table located on the junction of several paths from the kitchen to the patio. We requested to move to an empty booth and, with a little prodding, we were moved. The restaurant was filled with young customers dressed similar to what looked like prom night. They were busy. Our server greeted us almost immediately. It took a while for everyone to have their cocktails, and get our order submitted. The time between ordering and serving was longer than expected and longer than necessary. We each received our entrees at about the same time. The food was fair, not memorable; not recommendable.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as Usual

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was excellent as usual as the waiter and support staff were very attentive. You could tell that they enjoy working at Il Fornaio as they put a strong effort into their work. The food was also superb with the fish we were served being cooked to perfection. We will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We love good food from casual to fine di ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We love good food from casual to fine dinner but Il Fornaio is alway one of my favorite restaurant in Sacramento. We come here so much from manager to severs know us. But I've to says Said & Francisco are my favorite severs here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sacramento Il Fornaio is outstanding. W ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Sacramento Il Fornaio is outstanding. Welcome back, Dan, and so good to see top notch bartender, Gabriel.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best IlFornaio in northern CA

Dined on April 18, 2016

Never disappoints! My favorite pick for Sacramento. Convenient location, great food, superb service and ample portions for the price

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Jose was my waiter and he wasn't attenti ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Jose was my waiter and he wasn't attentive. Had to wait for my order of wine, he didnt bring it until my dinner came. Had to ask to look at dessert cart and had to ask for check. He was spread really thin as i watch him thru the evening. He took more care at larger tables verse intimate table. Had to ask other waiters that past by to refill my water.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Everything was highly recommendable food, service, atmosphere. Will be going back soon

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Il Fornaio is consistently excellent!

Dined on April 15, 2016

One can always expect Il Fornaio to be outstanding. Although a chain, this restaurant is always consistently excellent: variety, flavor, wine list, and of course, service. Il Fornaio is the best choice for any event where one requires a consistent, pleasant dining experience. Ciao!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently Good

Dined on April 11, 2016

Il Fornaio has never disappointed, the restaurant is beautiful, the people are friendly and caring, and the food is always good. It's great for business or pleasure.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Deliciously Classy

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The architecture is what first catches your attention, however the cuisine and service steal the evening. Don't forget dessert to top a perfect dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good every time!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Had another business lunch at Il Fornaio and it was a terrific experience - just like it always is. A few weeks ago we hosted a special dinner for a 21rst birthday and it surpassed our high expectations. The service is fabulous and the food wonderful. Have been to this restaurant many times and will continue to go for business, fun and special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

always a decent meal at Il Fornaio

Dined on April 3, 2016

Almost every meal I have had at Il Fornaio has been very good, especially considering it's technically a chain. This was my first time to the Sacramento location and it was a solid experience. I was pleasantly surprised to see it so busy on a Saturday night given it's location in a very non-residential, Mon-Fri business area of downtown. The service didn't suffer and the meal was great. Wife had the risotto special and I had the lamb special. We'll be back to try happy hour during the week.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capital Experience!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

My wife and I had a truly wonderful dining experience at the Il Fornaio Sacramento location this weekend. Amazing group there. Everyone seem to be quite focused on service. The food was outstanding as well. We couldn't have asked for a better time. Thanks to the chef for taking the time and effort to accommodate our dietary needs. We'll be back for sure. 10 out of 10 in my book!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fake Italian

Dined on March 31, 2016

The food and location were great, unfortunately like every italian restaurant in America it was simply not authentic. While this is expected the food was great and I have eaten here for years.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.