About Il Fornaio - Sacramento

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.

400 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday : 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 446-4100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Retail Catering: When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you! Catering services include: boxed lunches, pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies platters and much more. Perfect for any social or business meeting. Call for delivery details and minimum order information (service charge applies). Planning a wedding or large corporate event? Full Service Catering is available at our Sacramento location. Authentic, award-winning Italian cuisine and our experienced catering staff can offer Five-Star service when handling all the details of your next special event.

Parking Details:
Validated, complimentary parking available in private lot. Street parking and valet are also available.

Public Transit:
Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.

Executive Chef:
Bruno Amato

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Report a photo problem

Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Ravioli - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Lamb Chops - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Tiramisu - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Cannolini - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Minestrone - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Zabaione Ala Gritti - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Wild Boar With Gnocci And Brocolini - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Paparadelle With Fungi - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Caprese - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Bread - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Prosecco - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Prosecco Maschio - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Almond Flan - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Beet-infused Gnocchi With Peas - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Pesce Al Limone - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Coffee - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Parfait - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA

Private Dining

Il Fornaio is located in downtown Sacramento just four blocks from the state capitol. In a beautiful and elegant setting we offer delicious authentic Italian cuisine and impeccable service. We have a number of private dining options available along with special menus to match your group's needs.

Il Fornaio - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (56)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
See All
Good for Birthdays (37)
Romantic (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Authentic (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Open Kitchen (21)
Business Meals (21)
Private Room (19)
Fun (18)
Seasonal (17)
Casual (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Cozy (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Scenic View (7)
Family Style (7)
Historic (7)
People Watching (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1857 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great bruschetta appetizer. Poor quality ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined a day ago

Great bruschetta appetizer. Poor quality lettuce in the caesar salad. Expected better quality of the pasta itself. Very good almond chocolate cake dessert. Good service and helpful server. High corkage fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Saturday evening dining in January. We ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Saturday evening dining in January.

We were in the lucky few to have a table on the enclosed porch on the sidewalk. You had a choice for comfort level, blasting hot under the heaters or rather cool, including a nice bracing breeze at one point. I might add there were empty tables inside when being led to ours.

Service a bit slow maybe because we were distant from the kitchen. Next time in cold weather, we'll insist on an inside table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Unknowingly came on a King's game Friday ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Unknowingly came on a King's game Friday night. Walked into a wall of noise and bustle. Not your father's ilFornaio. In spite of the turmoil, the front desk handled our reservation pleasantly, professionally, and promptly. Table service was enjoyable, but the noise, oh the noise! The kitchen slammed pots and dishes adding to the riotous cacophony. Game night at

ilFornaio is thunderous. But under the radar, the ilFornaio of good dining.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Always superb food, gracious servers, wa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Always superb food, gracious servers, warm and beautiful ambience. Stellar staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sampled the regional menu, and thefts ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

We sampled the regional menu, and thefts and beverage service was kind of slow. The appetizer and main course were very tasty, but not very hot. The pasta was terrible, so they took that off our bill. We'll try again next month to see if it's better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

They really tried to accommodate us duri ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

They really tried to accommodate us during a crazy wet, rainy night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was excellent and the food was p ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Service was excellent and the food was phenomenal will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Orthodox New Year's Eve

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Orthodox New Year's Eve

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great as always. Finest designer cockta ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great as always. Finest designer cocktails EVER! Staff always trying hard.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we all really had a great time and the f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 2, 2017

we all really had a great time and the food was delicious as alway.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time for New Year's Eve! Requeste ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great time for New Year's Eve! Requested a booth and got great seating closed to windows to see some Fireworks off the Sacramento bridge and received validated free parking. Great special place for special night with my boyfriend.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. We went on New Yea ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent experience. We went on New Years. Service and food was wonderful. Atmosphere was beautiful. Loved the old charm. I would definitely recommend. Thanks Kathy

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have celebated New Year's Eve at Il F ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have celebated New Year's Eve at Il Fornaio for several years and plan on many more at the restaurant! The food, service and ambiance are outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a party of six that ate at Il Fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were a party of six that ate at Il Fornaio on New Year's Eve. Great food, service and atmosphere. There was a two-piece band playing (percussion plus accordion) during our entire visit - 6-8:30 - and the music was perfect - famous Sinatra songs, etc. We always recommend Il Fornaio to our friends!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for New Year's Eve dinner. Wait st ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Year's Eve dinner. Wait staff is terrific as is the food. Had many gluten free options which is key for me. Only negative is the noise level.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great accordion music to help ring in th ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great accordion music to help ring in the New Year! Great addition for an Italian restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon and the sea food platter were ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The salmon and the sea food platter were out of this world.

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View, Cozy, Private Room, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful fresh seafood dinner for ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a wonderful fresh seafood dinner for New Years. Excellent service.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time in a very nice e ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a wonderful time in a very nice environment. The service was wonderful along with the ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A great dinner to celebrate my daughter' ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A great dinner to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. We have a large family that has been coming here for about 10 years to celebrate her birthday. Last year, they took her favorite dessert off of the menu. We emailed the restaurant, and the manager (Ryan) arranged to have her dessert made special for her. Will be another reason we keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As always great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing food and service. Saw a concert ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing food and service. Saw a concert across the street, everyone went to the restaurant afterwards. Everyone worked well together to get all the people coming in after the first concert, while getting the people heading out to the next one fed and happily on their way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service were great, but, the th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food and service were great, but, the thing that impressed me most is that our reserved table was "really" reserved even though they were turning away walk-ins with a two hour wait. No waiting for us with our reservations. Great job!

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service and excellent food. Perfect ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good service and excellent food. Perfect experience. Thx.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was great, but food service w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our server was great, but food service was very slow and had to send 1 meal back as it came out cold. They should be better prepared for the rush/crush on King's game nights.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

4 family members all ordered different p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

4 family members all ordered different pasta dishes-3 were just acceptable and one was marginal- with 8 drinks +tip=$250 ... certainly not worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This was the second visit for five of th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was the second visit for five of the seven members of the party. The long wait for service we were told was due to a waiter not showing up. Nonetheless, it took forever to be served, albeit our waiter was most gracious & accommodating. The beet salad was wilted as if they sat too long. The ravioli lover in the group did not finish the ravioli with the comment, "Nothing special." The cioppino featured micro scallops, overcooked squid, barely warm garlic bread, a forgettable dish. T/desserts for t/table was a gracious touch & t/singer was the hit of the evening. It might be awhile before we revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I and my family enjoyed our Christmas Ev ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I and my family enjoyed our Christmas Eve dinner at IL Fornaio. Each one of us enjoyed a delicious meal and excellent desserts. We received excellent service from our waiter. Try the butternut squash pasta and the beef goulash--- yummy yummy. The other people in our party thoroughly enjoyed their meals as well. They also have a great selection of wine which pairs well with pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our annual Christmas Eve family ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our annual Christmas Eve family dinner. Our family enjoyed the food and the relaxed ambience. Our waitress was excellent and her recommendations were spot on. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great service and good food. Alw ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always great service and good food. Always noisy but worth that downside. Easy parking access.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Fornaio has come into its own for pro ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Il Fornaio has come into its own for prompt service, well-trained staff, consciousness regarding time constraints, and very good food. Pasta dishes compete with any in the area, and the kitchen has a deft hand with seafood.

With the 25-30 foot vaulted ceilings, don't expect intimate conversation as the noise level is, charitably, "energetic." Know, too, when G1 Center events are on because this bar - at one easy block stroll from the arena, has grown to be packed for pre-game cocktails and noshes. Unlike Morton's down the Mall - which has abandoned Happy Hour to gouge downtown event patrons with $15 per drink pricing - Il Fornaio maintains its Happy Hour prices for a small menu of apps and drinks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Afternoon Coffee, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always excellent, personal service. I s ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always excellent, personal service. I schedule business and colleague lunches at il Fornaio often, as my guests and I always rave about the solid menu and delicious cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all had the tasting menu which allowe ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We all had the tasting menu which allowed us to try several dishes. Perfect! So many good delicious sounding dishes. The birthday honoree loved the beautiful Italian rendition of Happy Birthday. Fabulous bread with dinner! We love gluten. Excellent bottle of Italian Barbera. Finished the meal sharing a Tiramisu and delicious comforting apple bread pudding with a scoop of gelato.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent. Service was slow.

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Frequent this restaurant on a monthly ba ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Frequent this restaurant on a monthly basis and is always a great time. Food is wonderful, service is great, and the restaurant is alway immaculate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great. Food was really g ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was great. Food was really good authentic Italian. Due to the size of dining area the noise level got loud. Would definetly come back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

food was great although interior of the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 17, 2016

food was great although interior of the restaurant is super bringht

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent service - food was delicious- ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent service - food was delicious- perfect venue for a holiday gathering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The three of us look forward to our Chri ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The three of us look forward to our Christmas dinner and gift exchange here and the setting, service, and food are always our special holiday treat. Excellent!

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish that Il Fornaio would join the tren ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Wish that Il Fornaio would join the trend with other restaurants of offering more vegetarian and vegan items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.