About Il Fornaio - Sacramento

400 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday : 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 446-4100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Retail Catering: When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you! Catering services include: boxed lunches, pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies platters and much more. Perfect for any social or business meeting. Call for delivery details and minimum order information (service charge applies). Planning a wedding or large corporate event? Full Service Catering is available at our Sacramento location. Authentic, award-winning Italian cuisine and our experienced catering staff can offer Five-Star service when handling all the details of your next special event.

Parking Details:
Validated, complimentary parking available in private lot. Street parking and valet are also available.

Public Transit:
Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.

Executive Chef:
Bruno Amato

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli
Lamb Chops
Tiramisu
Cannolini
Minestrone
Zabaione Ala Gritti
Wild Boar With Gnocci And Brocolini
Paparadelle With Fungi
Caprese
Bread
Prosecco
Prosecco Maschio
Almond Flan
Beet-infused Gnocchi With Peas
Pesce Al Limone
Coffee
Parfait

Private Dining

Il Fornaio is located in downtown Sacramento just four blocks from the state capitol. In a beautiful and elegant setting we offer delicious authentic Italian cuisine and impeccable service. We have a number of private dining options available along with special menus to match your group's needs.

Il Fornaio - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Special Occasion (90)
Romantic (60)
Fit for Foodies (57)
See All
Good for Groups (56)
Great for Lunch (39)
Notable Wine List (36)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for a Date (18)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Authentic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Scenic View (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (8)
Private Room (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Casual (5)
Historic (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed Italian regional cuisine theme, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed Italian regional cuisine theme, would want to return to sample cuisine of another region when they rotate to new menu. Did not request wine advice fro staff, but listed wines had good descriptive summary, found one we all (3) liked.. Waiters attentive without seeming cloying or intrusive. All at our table agreed that theirs was the best dish, reluctant to share.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Service was excellen ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal for my fathers birthday ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Had a great meal for my fathers birthday here. Great service and food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly and attentive service along wit ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Friendly and attentive service along with tasty Italian fare make this one of my go-to's for a little bit more of an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great--delicious food, fa ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was great--delicious food, fast service, lovely ambiance!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Family Style, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Cozy, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional! The waiters we ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was exceptional! The waiters were friendly and knowledgeable. The only complaint I have about the evening is that the male greeter was cold, rude, and wasn't helpful at all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Il Fornaio is our go- to restaurant when ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Il Fornaio is our go- to restaurant when we want to treat ourselves to a nice meal in a beautiful location. Good service, delicious food, nice ambience and gorgeous building!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

20th anniversary dinner just as awesome ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

20th anniversary dinner just as awesome as it was for our rehearsal dinner in 1996. Luv this place!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite special occa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is one of our favorite special occasion restaurants in Sacramento. The food is consistently good, there are lots of menu selections to please a lot of different palates and the service is outstanding. We were there on a slow Saturday night, so service was extremely attentive. Because of the occasion, we were grateful to not be rushed out, and indeed we were encouraged to relax and savor our meal. Seafood is always good here, and their duck is wonderful too when it is on the menu. Caesar salad was really above and beyond the ordinary - evidently very freshly made (and homemade) dressing. Absolutely delicious. A beautiful place. It is a little noisy because of the high ceilings.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always have a lovely evening at Il Fo ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We always have a lovely evening at Il Fornaio. The food is outstanding. I had the carbona which was delicious and hot! Our server Said is fabulous. The caprese was perfect. I would prefer burrata; but the mozzarella was nice and soft. Can't wait to go again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only problems was we got there about ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The only problems was we got there about 10 minutes early for our reservation and the specials menu . Wasn't ready so , that wasn't good . Front house manager was a podium when we walked in . Good wine list , would like them to carry some of our wines !

Tags: Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Scenic View, Authentic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always. A little pricey - ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great food as always. A little pricey - but worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a good restaurant being part of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is a good restaurant being part of a chain. Not superb. There are better restaurants in the area. But it would be good for a large function. They are equipped to handle that.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The occasion was to celebrate the retire ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The occasion was to celebrate the retirement of a co-worker in our group. We wanted a place quiet enough to talk and with a good atmosphere. We were seated on the enclosed patio, which was a great spot--nice and light and air-conditioned! The service was wonderful--water glasses were kept filled, food came quickly, and the bread was delicious, as usual. Three lunch specials (!) and the regular menu offered something for everyone. When we were all finished eating, our server brought our retiree a "slice" of spumoni, decorated with raspberry sauce and a lit candle. We weren't rushed out as soon as we finished and they let us have separate checks, so this was a great group dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, nice decor, inattentive servi ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Good food, nice decor, inattentive service. Probably will not go back due to service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

It was an overall great experience... ho ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

It was an overall great experience... however, we were given a birthday dessert platter, which we did not ask for, and were charged for it.

The private room for intimate birthday party was amazing and service was fantastic. I thought the Corkage fee was a bit high, but doable.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Deserts were winners, as was the service ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Deserts were winners, as was the service, the night we came (Monday) the veggie portion was a little strange. I ordered the sea bass, it was handled pretty well but I would have been better off with a pasta dish. We will be back

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, it was a good experience. Howev ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Overall, it was a good experience. However, I have now dined at Il Fornaio several times and have had the same complaint each time. Food is excellent and service is good. But when it comes to refills on sodas or coffee, the service is TERRIBLE. You have to ask specifically for a refill even when your glass/cup is obviously empty. This is a big problem because the server and wait staff will visit your table several time, refill water, and tea, and then completely ignore you if you need a soda refill. Then you have to go out of your way to ask for a refill on your soda when that is something you should never need to ask about. For a high-end restaurant like Il Forniao, I expect much more. I can go to a taqueria and the server will refill a soda any time he/she stops by and notices you need one. Why is the service better at a taqueria??? I can pay 3 times less for my meal at a taqueria and know that my drinks will be refilled without me asking.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent, especially the seafo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was excellent, especially the seafood appetizer and cappelini, and the wines well-matched. The service was exemplary - just the right amount of attention without being overly intrusive. Il Fornaio is a favorite because it is consistently a pleasure to dine there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the food of Sicily--outstanding. We ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Had the food of Sicily--outstanding. We also had a server who was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

It was a perfect location for a birthday ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was a perfect location for a birthday celebration. The food was good. I love the ambience and the server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed the ambience and the service. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I enjoyed the ambience and the service. Our server was very nice and friendly. I also liked the moscato. I need to know the name of the Moscato, which brand etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining experience is always a specia ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The dining experience is always a special one as all of my companions agreed.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding bar service from Frank....an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outstanding bar service from Frank....and the bar had FANTASTIC breadsticks....ask for them as they seem to be a speciality item only.

Great service all around.....gorgeous ristorante. Terrific food: eat the Silicon regional right away before it is gone!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and my wife had a fantastic time. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Me and my wife had a fantastic time. The food and service was great! We spent our 10 year anniversary here and we were treated special as the guest of honor. I thank you for assisting me in making the night special for my Wife.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoy the tour of Italy progra ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We really enjoy the tour of Italy program and always make a point to come in at least once a month for the menu specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the food was good, the marinar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I thought the food was good, the marinara sauce was light and flavorful. The presentation was good, and our server was nice and helpful. I enjoyed the dinner very much, but later that evening both my son and I had digestive issues.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My main disappointment was the food. I h ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My main disappointment was the food. I had a special pasta dish that was bland and served luke warm. ( a baked pasta cut in a pie shape.) One expects a lot more for the money. Service was OK, not especially attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

As always Il Fornaio was excellent. The ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As always Il Fornaio was excellent. The food and service was outstanding. The fish is always cooked perfectly as was the meat dish. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place with great interior and great ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Nice place with great interior and great views of DT Sac-to

Food is good too.

It was GREAT not to be around loud music/people or little kids.

Conversation could be held easily at low voice.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to dinner to celebrate our 25th ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We went to dinner to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We had great service and the waiter was so kind to acknowledge our 25th and treated us to dessert after dinner. The manager of the restaurant also came over and congratulated us for our anniversary. Great restaurant ...the food was so amazing....I bragged about it on Facebook and to anyone who would listen.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food, wine, and service at I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Always good food, wine, and service at Il Fornaio-Sacramento. I stop there whenever I travel to Sac airport. If I were a resident of the area, I would expect to dine there at least 2-3 times monthly. This visit my friend and I both had the Taste of Sililia and theSicilia Wine Flights. Excellent 3 course tastings and the wine offerings were grand. I look forward to my next visit there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My friend and I were celebrating our Jul ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My friend and I were celebrating our July birthdays. We selected Il Fornaio because it is a lovely atmosphere and the cuisine is delicious and we were not disappointed. To our delight we were seated at the "special table" and were served a delightful summer salad, Cappellacci Di Zucca, and delightful dessert in addition to our main course - Margherita pizza and penne paste and seafood. And Naomi our hostess was attentive and informative. All in all, a wonderful evening. Il Fornaio, Sacramento is one of my favorite restaurants. For Italian cuisine, it is my "go to" restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed celebrating my husband's birt ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We enjoyed celebrating my husband's birthday, especially the free spumoni desert! The service was excellent, attentive but not overbearing. The pizza was quite large and very tasty, a perfect thin crust wood fired pizza. The dark chocolate gelato did not disappoint.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible service and delicious food! M ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Incredible service and delicious food! My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here and we could not have had a better experience. From the moment we walked in the door, we were treated with a special table and chef special samples all because we let them know we were celebrating via Open Table in advance. Will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful place to dine.......t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always a wonderful place to dine.......the food is superb......we love this ristorante!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service and great food!

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The pizza was amazing. The server took ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The pizza was amazing. The server took too long to bring our dessert out. The spumoni is to die for.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Beautiful place. Manages to be elegant a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Beautiful place. Manages to be elegant and comfortable at the same time. Very good food - I like the Passoporto program and exploring the cuisine from different regions. Good wine list. Dynamite tiramisu

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.