About Il Fornaio - Sacramento

400 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday : 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 446-4100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Retail Catering: When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you! Catering services include: boxed lunches, pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies platters and much more. Perfect for any social or business meeting. Call for delivery details and minimum order information (service charge applies). Planning a wedding or large corporate event? Full Service Catering is available at our Sacramento location. Authentic, award-winning Italian cuisine and our experienced catering staff can offer Five-Star service when handling all the details of your next special event.

Parking Details:
Validated, complimentary parking available in private lot. Street parking and valet are also available.

Public Transit:
Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.

Executive Chef:
Bruno Amato

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli
Lamb Chops
Tiramisu
Cannolini
Minestrone
Zabaione Ala Gritti
Wild Boar With Gnocci And Brocolini
Caprese
Paparadelle With Fungi
Bread
Prosecco
Prosecco Maschio
Almond Flan
Beet-infused Gnocchi With Peas
Pesce Al Limone
Parfait
Coffee

Private Dining

Il Fornaio is located in downtown Sacramento just four blocks from the state capitol. In a beautiful and elegant setting we offer delicious authentic Italian cuisine and impeccable service. We have a number of private dining options available along with special menus to match your group's needs.

Il Fornaio - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

special occasion (90)
fit for foodies (67)
good for groups (64)
See All
romantic (55)
great for lunch (43)
notable wine list (43)
neighborhood gem (27)
great for brunch (19)
hot spot (17)
kid-friendly (16)
great for outdoor dining (14)
scenic view (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great and our server Naomi made ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great and our server Naomi made the occasion even more spectacular...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This meal was from their featured Puglia ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

This meal was from their featured Puglia regional menu. As usual, the food was very good, though some was a little peppery for my taste. The zabaglione dessert was excellent! We were seated near their "group room" which made for a lot of waiter traffic near us, which was a bit distracting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most consistently excellent Il Forna ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The most consistently excellent Il Fornaio in the state. Great service and food.

Wonderful staff.

Eat there......! It is the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and outstanding service a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and outstanding service at Il Fornaio. I especially like the special menus for regions of Italy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 46 anniversary w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating our 46 anniversary with our son and wife and two grandchildren, ages three and five. The restaurant was wonderfully accommodating to the grandchildren by serving their food first, giving them table activities – coloring books, for example. Our food was wonderfully prepared, hot and delicious. Their bread is exceptionally delicious, hard crust and soft interior. We ended the evening with their spumoni ice cream. Yum.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We go monthly to experience all the regi ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

We go monthly to experience all the regions of Italy as the menu changes regularly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As usual, our dining experience was very ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

As usual, our dining experience was very good. I wish that there were more vegetarian entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated our friend's birthday. We ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We celebrated our friend's birthday. We sat in the beautiful garden patio area. The food was fantastic. I can't recall what the others ordered, but I had the butternut squash. It was delicious and "just enough." My friend received a complimentary dessert and although there weren't any service staff to sing happy birthday, the people around us did. It was special, indeed!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service could have ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was excellent. Service could have been better.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The food is delicious, the staff is frie ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food is delicious, the staff is friendly, and validated parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THAT WAS THE FIRST TIME I WAS THERE AND ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

THAT WAS THE FIRST TIME I WAS THERE AND I TRULY ENJOYED MYSELF. THE AMBIANCE WAS WONDERFUL. THE FOOD WAS MIRACULOUS. I HAD THE SEAFOOD RISOTTO AND IT WAS INCREDIBLE. IT WAS VERY MOUTH WATERING.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My comments regarding singing happy birt ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My comments regarding singing happy birthday and bringing a birthday dessert were not forwarded to the waiter. As it happened, we ended up having to dash back to work more quickly than we had planned when booking, so we didn't have much time anyway. But, I was surprised when he just brought the check.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food. The fish was cooked to p ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent food. The fish was cooked to perfection as was the lamb and pasta dishes. The service was spot on. We will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dinner I loved everything abou ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very nice dinner I loved everything about this location. I've been to il fornaio before but I loved the feeling of this restaurant, very nice and well done.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Il Forniao. It's our regular get to ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Love Il Forniao. It's our regular get together spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent - Il Fornaio's food is consis ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Consistent - Il Fornaio's food is consistently good and with the rotating regional specials there are often new things to try. They do some great things with Sole. I also like that the service is attentive without being annoying and the waiters know what is on the menu and what works with other choices.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going there for years but th ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have been going there for years but this last visit was terrible! Minestronie soup was awful, sausage ravioli was not cooked, oven roasted chicken was oK. All was very expensive for what you got!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

We love this ristorante. We go to Sacra ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We love this ristorante. We go to Sacramento frequently and only dine here. The food is excellent, as is the service. Great bar vibe. TRY IT!

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After eating at Il Fornaio locations for ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

After eating at Il Fornaio locations for over thirty years, I was deeply disappointed at the food served at the Sacramento location. By no means was this the quality I have come to expect and have relied upon. My previous visits had given me a view of what I would consider a downward trend for this restaurant. Since we were given a $100 gift certificate we could not take the opportunity to celebrate our anniversary with family.

What we were served was such a letdown from traditional Il Fornaio quality. Very tough calamari appetizer, ridiculously tough and not chewable veal (sent back) but replaced with some very ordinary sea bass. Uninspired pasta dish.

All in all it is now time to move on which is a very sad for me as I can vividly remember my first meal at the San Jose location. Yes, Il Foranio still has great bread and deserts but at least in Sacramento its not a good sandwich...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent regional menu, well presented. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent regional menu, well presented. Superb service from our waiter, Alejandro.

Very noisy that night due to private party nearby.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

If you love Italian, this place is the b ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

If you love Italian, this place is the best. As always, excellent service and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this place. It has become our fav ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Love this place. It has become our favorite for special occasions and date night.

Menu is always changing with so many different items to try.

Wait staff are exceptional !!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This Il Fornaio, located downtown near t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This Il Fornaio, located downtown near the capitol is in an excellent location and has the best food of all the Il Fornaios I have visted and I have visited quite a few. They also always have the best service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful dinner with my family. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Another wonderful dinner with my family. Thank you

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Some people dream about Brad Pitt or Dav ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Some people dream about Brad Pitt or David Beckham...I dream about the butternut squash raviolis, the olive loaf bread and the chunks of fresh parmo on my salad at Il Fornaio.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great variety for those who like Italian ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great variety for those who like Italian food, nice wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Up until this visit, we have always had ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Up until this visit, we have always had excellent service and excellent food. We were not seated in the main dining room, even though we requested it when making the reservation. Other tables were offered beverages that were seated after us. The server did not bring out the second glass of wine until dinner was done. We were not offered coffee with our desert, and the desert was melted, so it sat for awhile before being brought out. Extremely disappointed in the service we received on this visit. Not sure if we will be back again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

I love Il Fornaio - I am a sucker for gr ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I love Il Fornaio - I am a sucker for great Italian food. REAL Italian food.

My wife and I went for our anniversary - I let them know this ahead of time and requested flowers in my open table reservation. They placed us in a quiet, outside corner and placed flowers on the table, per my request, even in our wedding colors. Food was great, and our dessert was even better! Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a fabulous dinner and excellent s ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner and excellent service! Everything about the evening was wonderful. We hadn't been to Il Fornaio for a while and we were thrilled with everything. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my younger son's college graduati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

It was my younger son's college graduation day. I was looking for a nice place looking good inside and outside and also a good service. Everything was just perfect: location, interiors, food and service. It is a great place for the special occasion.

I do recommend it!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our kids to celebrate how great ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We took our kids to celebrate how great they performed at school during this school year. We dressed up for the occasion and order fantastic main courses and desserts. Our server was such a gentleman. Our kids felt very special. This is a great restaurant if you want to take someone for a special time.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special celebration

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Made reservations for our daughter's graduation celebration for a party of 10. We got seated in our own room, it was lovely. Delicious food and attentive service. All around a wonderful experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a delightful dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The Sacramento Il Fornaio is the best. Great service, ambience, and fantastic food.

We enjoyed Gabriel, our bartender, Dan, the host, our server.....and most importantly, the fabulous bread and always wonderful food. This ristorante is elegant, but not fussy----a great vibe. We love this place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Mediocre food

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The ambiance is wonderful. What a pity that the food is so poorly executed.

The mussels in the seafood linguine were old and the smell not pleasant. The steak was overcooked and the waiter didn't even ask how we wanted it cooked. This was a good restaurant some years ago. Lately, only the bread served with olive oil and balsamic vinegar continues to be delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Birthday Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very nice restaurant, located in the heart of capital mall. We sat inside the restaurant which was nice however the ambiance in the outer dining area would have been more suited to a special occasion. I say outer because this is not really "outside" it is an area enclosed by glass giving more of a patio feel. The meals were "very good" per two guests. Both had the sole. Birthday girl had risotto which I understood was good. I had the linguini mare chiaro, which had more red pepper flakes than necessary. It was good, I think, but a $50 bottle of wine couldn't ease the burn. Did I mention the wine list is $$$$?

It's all a matter of taste. I would probably give others a try before returing.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Service

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Our server steered us to the Cioppino, which was excellent. She said they do not have it on the menu very often. Our other two guests had the salmon which was also very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was beautiful. Food was horri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Restaurant was beautiful. Food was horrible and so was the service. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Location Location Location. What an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Location Location Location.

What an amazing place. Great menu and beautiful surroundings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious and such a classy resta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Always delicious and such a classy restaurant. Great staff. Great bar...ask for house made breadsticks--bar only--we love this place. Romantic, but not stuffy...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.