About Il Fornaio - Sacramento

400 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday : 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday : 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 446-4100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Retail Catering: When you can’t join us, Il Fornaio food will come to you! Catering services include: boxed lunches, pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies platters and much more. Perfect for any social or business meeting. Call for delivery details and minimum order information (service charge applies). Planning a wedding or large corporate event? Full Service Catering is available at our Sacramento location. Authentic, award-winning Italian cuisine and our experienced catering staff can offer Five-Star service when handling all the details of your next special event.

Parking Details:
Validated, complimentary parking available in private lot. Street parking and valet are also available.

Public Transit:
Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.

Executive Chef:
Bruno Amato

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Lamb Chops - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Tiramisu - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Cannolini - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Minestrone - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Zabaione Ala Gritti - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Wild Boar With Gnocci And Brocolini - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Paparadelle With Fungi - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Caprese - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Bread - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Prosecco - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Prosecco Maschio - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Almond Flan - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Beet-infused Gnocchi With Peas - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Pesce Al Limone - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Coffee - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Parfait - Il Fornaio - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Start your Christmas celebration at Il Fornaio! Join us on Christmas Eve and enjoy the festive atmosphere and your favorite Italian dish.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Kick off 2017 in style! Join us New Year's Eve and toast to happiness and health in the new year. Salute!

Private Dining

Il Fornaio is located in downtown Sacramento just four blocks from the state capitol. In a beautiful and elegant setting we offer delicious authentic Italian cuisine and impeccable service. We have a number of private dining options available along with special menus to match your group's needs.

Il Fornaio - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
3 More
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Most Booked
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (44)
Romantic (37)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Groups (33)
Notable Wine List (28)
Business Meals (27)
Authentic (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Private Room (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Open Kitchen (16)
Casual (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Cozy (12)
Fun (12)
Wood Oven (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Seasonal (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Family Style (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Scenic View (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Healthy (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Historic (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Il Fornaio was again consistent in the h ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Il Fornaio was again consistent in the high quality of the dishes we ordered. Service was impeccable! Where we needed to adjust the side dishes, it was done perfectly. Had a productive meeting. Our server knew when to interject a question for the table or leave us in our discussion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, as usual. The architecture, amb ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Great, as usual. The architecture, ambience, food, service, all combine to make for a great dining experience. Noise level is just right. Even got cooking tip from one of the chefs!

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great. Great wait staff. Wond ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a great. Great wait staff. Wonderful food. Nice variety of gluten free options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great all the way around - food, service ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great all the way around - food, service and atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our three dinners were well done! And s ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our three dinners were well done! And service was outstanding - consistent with my visits to Il Fornaio. We wanted a few minor adjustments to the side dishes which our waiter, Said M., took care of easily. He also assisted to ensure our dinners were served promptly as we had an event following dinner. Great evening!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My risotto was flavorful but VERY salty. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 21, 2016

My risotto was flavorful but VERY salty. I told the waitress & she offered to replace it but I'd eaten all I wanted so she said she'd comp dessert. The manager also came over and asked about it and said he'd comp the main dish too. They ended up not comping either. Beautiful place, close to the new Golden One Center, but probably will go somewhere else for food. Not too impressed with their words but no communication. Too bad

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

I used to work in building and have been ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I used to work in building and have been frequent loyal customer. Went for dinner before Kings game. Seems kitchen and servers are not yet ready for the large numbers all on a schedule. Started fine with drink orders and appetizer and salad brought together. However took over 30 min after salad for main courses to arrive, followed by inattentive server despite our telling her we were going to game. So 6pm reservation 2 blocks from arena not enough time for 7:30 tip?? On food side special steak tartare appetizer delicious but poor presentation. Salad yummy as usual. Entrees (special short ribs were flavorful but not as tender as most) and special risotto below average too al dente, flat flavor and had to hunt for shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Great food, service was outstanding and ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food, service was outstanding and the staffs help with a chair that worked for my disablilty was great! Only problems and they were minor, the noise level made it hard to hear each other and we were out on the enclosed patio on a cold night and had to ask to have a heater turned on. The heating system appears to work but not real well. Next time I will remenber to ask for a seats in the main indoor area.

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant, pretty good food. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, pretty good food. Nothing outstandingly creative but classic and comforting.

We moved our reservation around a few times and they were very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The location is beautiful but I would ne ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The location is beautiful but I would never recommend this location to anyone. We had a party of eight who had come in for an evening dinner. The service was very slow and our hostess kept forgetting what we had ordered to drink. It took about 45 mintues for our drinks to come out. Also, the food was not very good. My friend had to reorder 3 times because they kept messing up the order! The pasta was very under cooked and my salmon was under done. Also, I ordered a salad which basically had nothing in it expect spanich and 4 walnuts with lots of onions. I was very disappointment with my meal because I asked for vegs to be on my salad. The good thing was they did not charge us for the order being messed up. It was also very pricey which I do not mind paying as long as the food lives up to the value! Overall the location is very beautiful inside but the service and food is not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We have enjoyed your dinners for years ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have enjoyed your dinners for years and try to come when there is a new region from Italy being presented we especially enjoyed our meal last Saturday from the piemont region

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food was creative and done ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As usual the food was creative and done well, however on this night, with very few people in the dining room (due to the holiday?), the food lacked what it needed to be outstanding. The waiter was knowledgeable and professional, but was let down by the virtually immature behavior of the busboy, who was disruptive to his service and clueless as to what his job should entail, making for an unpleasant experience. We'll return for the food and atmosphere but hope the staff can be properly trained and managed.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Dinner before a King's game. We really a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Dinner before a King's game. We really appreciate the service provided by Mark. He was very attentive, knowledgeable about the menu and efficient with ease.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Impressive services, great ambient and q ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Impressive services, great ambient and quiet eating area to network / rekindling relationship. However, the food on this particular night was a bit salty. Overall, we had a lovely evening. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Private Room, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Our server was outstanding and the food was wonderful. Hopefully we will go back there very very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you have a special occasion and want ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 6, 2016

If you have a special occasion and want excellent food and service then come to Il Fornaio. We enjoyed our visit and would recommend this place to friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a first time meeting with a business ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Had a first time meeting with a business associate. Service was excellent; food very nice as always. Strongly recommend for business meetings, as well as just dining out with friends, any day.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our birthday celebration for 13 was love ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our birthday celebration for 13 was lovely. The only thing marring an otherwise wonderful evening was the acoustics in the small dining room. Very loud. And the room was great for 13 but I can't imagine 15 people could be comfortable. Server Trevor was terrific.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great lunch experience

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great lunch experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience! Great server!

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent experience! Great server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was good to celebrate special ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Atmosphere was good to celebrate special occasion. Service was impeccable as always!

Tags: Private Room, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here before a couple times but ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I've been here before a couple times but my coworkers hadn't. We set up a girls night & picked this place. They loved it! The calamari was amazing as well as our food we ordered. The server was very nice and attentive. We all loved this place and left very happy and satisfied. It's a little costy but definetley worth it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for dinner before attending ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great place for dinner before attending an event at Golden 1 Arena.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My pizza came out undercooked, and, as w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

My pizza came out undercooked, and, as we were in a rush with theatre tckets, I opted for the penne ala vodka to replace. Not only was this handled quickly and professionally, they brought me an entirely new, freshly and properly cooked pizza to take with us. 5 star customer experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I eat here often and enjoy the food. It ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I eat here often and enjoy the food. It can get a tad noisy, but it's worth it. They have a taste of menu that changes every month and is based of different regions of Italy and that is one of the reasons I eat here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Business meeting that went well and you ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Business meeting that went well and you could actually hear your client.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a very nice meal before ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great place for a very nice meal before the Maroon 5 concert at the Golden 1 arena!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Sacramento's IlFornaio is beautiful insi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Sacramento's IlFornaio is beautiful inside. It has an old world charm. The regional menu is our favorite and it was well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We use to love Il Fornaio but it just is ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We use to love Il Fornaio but it just isn't as good as it use to be. There is a lot of competition out there with better food in my opinion. That being said I'd say it's a solid three and is worth eating at. The converted bank is nice.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We ate in their beautiful greenhouse roo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We ate in their beautiful greenhouse room; it felt cozy and luxurious at the same time. Food was beautifully presented. Perfect portion sizes. We ordered two pasta dishes and two entrees, and everything was delicious. It is a classy place with wonderful service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

FRANCESCO MAKES THE EVENING, SPECIAL.... ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

FRANCESCO MAKES THE EVENING, SPECIAL......HE HAS BEEN SERVING US FOR A FEW YEARS, AND SINCE MY WIFE HAS RECENTLY HAD A STROKE, HE IS VERY SPECIAL TO HER....YOU ARE LUCKY TO HAVE HIM....WE EAT HERE EVRY MONTH.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All three of us loved our entrees. My gr ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

All three of us loved our entrees. My granddaughter wanted chicken fettuccine which was not on the menu but the waiter said they could do it. My husband and I enjoyed our wine selections. Extremely helpful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food as always. Delicious bread ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Awesome food as always. Delicious bread served when seated. Delicious dinner choices and wonderful dessert options

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to many of the Il Fornaio rest ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I've been to many of the Il Fornaio restaurants and the one in downtown Sacramento has by far the most beautiful interior design. Traditional upscale European decor with very high ceilings is a pleasure to behold. And of course, the food and service has never been less than excellent. Hence, it has been the "go to" restaurant for my wife and I, as well as our family when they are in town, for many, many years.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my son to Il Fornaio before the P ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I took my son to Il Fornaio before the Paul McCartney show because it was a special night, Il Fornaio is a lovely restaurant, and my son had not yet eaten there. The hostess was wonderful and we were seated at a nice table at a window. It was a very busy night, and I think the service and quality of the food suffered for it. Our waiter filled water glasses at the tables around us while mine stayed empty. We waited a while for our order to be taken. When our food arrived, after another too-long wait, the cannelloni I had ordered was toasted on top to a very dark brown, which indicated to me it was overcooked. My son enjoyed his shells and the tiramisu was amazing. Our waiter was kind. But Il Fornaio has a lot of competition these days and would do well to step up its game. I am not going to hurry back with so many new places to try.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Server's recommendation was very good an ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Server's recommendation was very good and server was as attentive as she could be given the full house before the Paul McCartney show. We enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My first time to dine here. Food was gre ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 4, 2016

My first time to dine here. Food was great, service was excellent, and there was a nice ambiance. I also liked that my parking ticket was validated. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Butternut Squash Raviolis were excel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The Butternut Squash Raviolis were excellent and perfectly cooked. The entree came out along time after our salads as it did for other tables but it was the first event at Golden 1 Center so they did not plan for such a crowd even though you had to have reservations. They had plenty of wait staff but not enough staff in the kitchen for the early arrivals and crowd. One table of four knew the manager and got their entrees immediately while three tables including ours who were seated 25 minutes earlier had to wait for along time. Our waiter kept coming by to let us know it shouldn't be much longer which became annoying.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

One of my favorite restaurants. Love th ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 4, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Love the servers and managers. Always making sure that the patrons are happy and satisfied. Great regionale menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we arrived we were immediately gree ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

When we arrived we were immediately greeted, seated, and from there our waiter took excellent care of us. The service was great, food excellent, and the atmosphere quiet and perfect for an evening of talking over very tasty food. We'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.