About Il Fornaio - Roseville

1179 Galleria Boulevard
Roseville, CA 95678
View Larger Map

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Roseville Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 788-1200

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available in Roseville Galleria Mall parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Davis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Il Fornaio - Roseville
Frutti De Mare With Pesto Risotto - Il Fornaio - Roseville
Pennoni alla Vodka - Il Fornaio - Roseville
Procecco - Il Fornaio - Roseville
Balsamic Vinegar And Olive Oil Dip - Il Fornaio - Roseville
carpaccio - Il Fornaio - Roseville
Salada Cesarina - Il Fornaio - Roseville
Bread Basket - Il Fornaio - Roseville
Spaghetti Pomodoro Wirh Garlic Shrimp - Il Fornaio - Roseville
Chicken Parm Sandwich With Ceasar Salad - Il Fornaio - Roseville
Applesauce Cake - Il Fornaio - Roseville

Private Dining

Our large, high ceiling Main Dining Room is filled with rich woods, Tuscan style hand-painted frescoes and huge picture windows. Il Fornaio welcomes groups in this main dining area. With groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Il Fornaio - Roseville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Restaurants in Roseville ›

Special Occasion (45)
Good for Groups (31)
Romantic (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Lunch (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Cozy (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fireplace (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were there to celebrate our 54th wed ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were there to celebrate our 54th wedding anniversary. We were honored to be seated at the table with the "Red Tablecloth" and given free mineral water, ante pasta, pasta, dessert and free corkage of our bottle of special wine we brought. The waitress,Brandie, was most knowledgeable and provided the best of service, adding to the special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were excellent. Lov ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The service and food were excellent. Love their regionale menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have long loved IL Fornio, for their ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I have long loved IL Fornio, for their wonderful food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary with ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary with our girls. The waiter was fabulous he made great recommendations for food and wine. He brought pizza dough for the girls to play with while we waited. Great atmosphere and service. We will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server started out just fine but the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our server started out just fine but then turned sour toward us when we questioned that he had possibly placed the wrong order for some of our food. For the remainder of the meal he continued to be petulant which cast a pall over the $350 meal! Each of us noted his dour attitude even after WE admitted we were wrong and were simply confused by the presentation, which did not appear to be the correct meal (for two of us). Sort of took some of the fun out of the little dinner party. Fortunately we enjoy each other's company enough that we were able to just ignore him and go on about our evening. Even the on-duty manager came over to check things out and we told him we were fine, but the server never seemed able to recover. For a meal like this, I'd definitely go elsewhere next time. Just didn't appreciate the continued negative vibe he projected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We had a fantastic dinner. Everything fr ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner. Everything from the moment we walked in was perfect. It was our annivesary and our server, Annie made us feel like the whole place was ours. Great service and care. You can count on us returning very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently went to Il Fornaio in Rosevi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We recently went to Il Fornaio in Roseville for our anniversary dinner. We chose the restaurant based on atmosphere, it is very cozy and comfortable there. Other restaurants were on the list, but we figured we could save a little money at Il Fornaio, and spend it on a gift for ourselves instead.

This may not be a fair assessment, since I have a background in cooking professionally, but the food was not as good as it could (or should) have been. The roasted chicken was clearly steamed or poached, maybe even pressure cooked, before it was roasted, leaving it very tender indeed, but very dry as well. The beef tenderloin was in fact very tasty, but for the price, I would have expected something that resembled a steak on the plate. Instead, there were roughly cut shapes that looked like scraps. Everything was flavorful, but corners were cut that should not have been.

On the other hand, the service was excellent. Our server (Annie) did a wonderful job and was peaceful, pleasant and helpful too in selecting a wine for our entrees. She even went the extra mile to have a complimentary selection of desserts sent out to us to help celebrate our anniversary.

The drinks were also very good. They must have a seasoned pro behind the bar. And the atmosphere...I just love it there. It's so comfortable and it feels like home.

Would I go back? Yes, of course.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Made a reservation for my wife's birthda ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Made a reservation for my wife's birthday, requesting a booth if possible. Turns out there were no booths. The hostess brought us to our table and informed us we had been picked for a "Special Dinner" that night.

It turned out to be a six course feast. We had chosen a salad and two entree's. We then were treated to an appetizer, a primi first course of ravioli and then a desert. We had brought a special bottle of wine to celebrate the occasion and our waiter waived the corkage fee.

Needless to say the special occasion was made even more special by the folks at the restaurant.

Oh, yes the food was great that night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Il Fornaio is a restaurant we enjoy very ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Il Fornaio is a restaurant we enjoy very much for special occasions. We love the food, the service, the ambience, and the overall atmosphere. The service is above and beyond what we have found at any other similar establishments in the area. From beginning to end, we consistently have had great dining experiences at this venue. We fully recommend this establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am familiar with the il Fornaio chain. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I am familiar with the il Fornaio chain. The food is always good, but this time the service was off. The restaurant was not crowded, but we waited a LONG time for our drinks. The waitress forgot our appetizers. Not a bad experience, but for what they charge, service should be better than average.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Our food was great. However, it was a Bi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our food was great. However, it was a Birthday celebration that we verified when we checked in. After that neither the waiter or anyone on the staff acknowledged the occasion. Our waiter was either pre-occupied or didn't care about serving us. We had to ask more than once to have items that we had ordered and he just didn't seem to get it right or care. Disappointing since we've typically had great service here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food & service at Il Fornaio is alwa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food & service at Il Fornaio is always top notch! I ordered the lamb wrapped in prosciutto, a special for the day, and the flavors were outstanding. Our waiter was attentive & provided us with a complimentary dessert since we were celebrating our Anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here multiple times and my fav ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I've been here multiple times and my favorite dish is definitely Pennoni alla vodka. Great place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the food, and service is outstandin ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Love the food, and service is outstanding. Thank you Alberto. Also love the special attention from the manager.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Casual, Private Room, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My lady friends and I decided to spend ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My lady friends and I decided to spend a Sunday afternoon shopping at the Galleria and wanted a place to get a glass of wine and some food at 4:30. I was pleasantly surprised to be able to get a reservation at that time and even more surprised to find out that we could order off the dinner menu. Having an open table reservation got us seated in the best part of the restaurant near the windows. We had a very enjoyable meal and even splurged for some chocolate for dessert. The veal scallopini special was very good and the fish and seafood dish was very generous. I found the wine list just the right size, enough options with out being overwhelming. Our server was the perfect mix of attentive but without interrupting a group of women who clearly had a lot to talk about.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, our server was not frien ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Unfortunately, our server was not friendly at all. The food was flavorless and not worth the price. The lamps and chandeliers were all covered with a lot of dust and that was a problem for my husband and daughter because they have severe allergies and asthma. I would not come back or recommen this restaurant to friends or family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

AC not working. Good food with mundane t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

AC not working. Good food with mundane trappings and service. Not bad, reasonable value, but not a home run by any means.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were very happy with the brunch items ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were very happy with the brunch items we enjoyed. Our two servers were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The air-conditioning system was not work ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The air-conditioning system was not working so it was uncomfortably warm in the restaurant. And then there was a very annoying fly that buzzed around our table. I wish there could have been something done about that.

The wait service was fine - attentive but not hovering.

The food was okay. I did notice that no one raved about his/her entree, nor did anyone say that they definitely "would order that again!"

All in all it's a nice restaurant but not superior.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner and Drinks were good, but it was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dinner and Drinks were good, but it was extremely warm in the restaurant which made it unpleasant for all of us.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

This was our first visit to Il Fornaio b ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our first visit to Il Fornaio but it won't be our last! They gave us free bruschetta for our first visit and free dessert for our anniversary. Our server was attentive, helpful, and thoughtful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I participated in the "pa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My friend and I participated in the "passport" promotion and found the whole experience delightful. Our waitress was helpful and made us feel special. Food was exceptional as well as interesting because it represents a particular region Nov Italy. Great idea by the restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food selection was excellent . Servi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food selection was excellent . Service was wonderful and the ambiance is superb. We had a chance to catch up with good friends and the experience was very warm and relaxed; no rushing through dinner. I highly recommend Il Fornaio - Roseville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

worst chairs i have ever sat in. I ache ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

worst chairs i have ever sat in. I ached so bad after sitting there for 1 1/2 hours that it was hard to walk when i got up. Worst, worst chairs. If you are going to have such bad chairs, get the service done faster so customers do not have to endure the pain so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service and food was great. I will b ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service and food was great. I will be back for other reasons many time I am sure. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience and the Server wa ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A wonderful experience and the Server was awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything in this review would have bee ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything in this review would have been excellent except the facility was very warm, hardly any air conditioning running, and they had oscillating fans working. Don't know if this is an everyday occurrence during the summer or just a temporary problem.

Our server, Annie, was excellent. The food was delicious and an excellent value, as we ordered from the three course tasting menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ordered from the August Regional menu, t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ordered from the August Regional menu, the lamb shank was a little dry and salty and tomatoe sauce and seabass did not suite my taste.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Italian, what I always love!!!! I ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very Italian, what I always love!!!! I feel like I am in Italy. Could improved the chairs in the patio area, the straw chairs are not too comfortable. The patio has some not so wonderful seating, due to some of the column locations; always have to check that out. Inside next to the fireplace was lovely one winter evening; and always remember that!!! Good service which was timely. My cousin had a birthday and they brought her some wonderful ice cream; thank you so much for making her have a special day.

A big Plus!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent but attention to deta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was excellent but attention to detail was less than we have had in the past. Decor and housekeeping left something to be desired (drapery falling down, lamp shades off kilter, etc). New waiter didn't know basic server etiquette. Our special occasion was not too special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Our server was a kick! Also please do r ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our server was a kick! Also please do run out of my favorite lemon candy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere...food was excellent. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Lovely atmosphere...food was excellent. However, service was very slow...probably because the restaurant was packed....the other couple had to wait quite a long time while we were having soup and tomato salad from special menu... My hubby had the lamb and said it was over cooked- no pink color and was not tender. Like the different menu choices for the featured regions of Italy. The other couple will be leaving for the Puglia region to teach English next month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Horrible service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Horrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Dining at Il Fornaio is always a pleasur ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Dining at Il Fornaio is always a pleasure. The food is consistently good and the ambience is unmatched. The only complaint I have is their red wine by the glass is served too warm. This is surprising as the restaurant, which for the most part serves authentic Italian meals, should know better. Other than that it still rates as one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fine, the ambience was f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was fine, the ambience was fine, but the food was mediocre. Very disappointing for an expensive birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Wonderful dining experience for all memb ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful dining experience for all members of or group of six. This being said, the noise level was very high -- an inconvenience for some in our group who are hard of hearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our hostess was horrible, I asked to be ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our hostess was horrible, I asked to be seated at a different table then we were originally seated at, we hadn't even sat down and there were lots of tables open, she told me that we could not move, this was the only table. Next, they have 1/2 booth 1/2 table seating, appalling for an "upscale" restaurant. The food was alright, not a big selection, but the service was decent. The restaurant was so loud it was difficult to have a conversation with the person next to me. Overall, horrible experience and will never go back. Period.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Went twice in one week. Food is good...w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Went twice in one week. Food is good...wait staffing never consistent. Couldn't get a water refill. No follow up on food. No Parmesan cheese added because waiter was slow. Better experience a few months ago.

They get a pass because food is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We had a 6:45 Reservation on a Saturday. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a 6:45 Reservation on a Saturday. It was wonderful to have Valet Parking. Arrived about 6:40 and we were taken to our Table. My guest did not like the location so asked if we could be moved. The Hostess was very pleasant and moved us to a more suitable location. We had a very nice dinner, the only complaint by my friend, was the waiter was supposed to bring cracked pepper for her salad. Other than that the Evening was very enjoyable. Thanks to "Open Table" for a last minute Reservation.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was not impressed at all. Noisy, food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was not impressed at all. Noisy, food was average could have gotten at any other Italian restaurant for a third the cost.

Topped my experience when we had to stop eating so two employees could take a table through the dining area right around our table.

Try Olive Garden!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.