About Il Fornaio - Roseville

1179 Galleria Boulevard
Roseville, CA 95678
View Larger Map

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Roseville Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 788-1200

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available in Roseville Galleria Mall parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Davis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Il Fornaio - Roseville
Frutti De Mare With Pesto Risotto
Pennoni alla Vodka
Procecco
Balsamic Vinegar And Olive Oil Dip
carpaccio
Bread Basket
Salada Cesarina
Spaghetti Pomodoro Wirh Garlic Shrimp
Chicken Parm Sandwich With Ceasar Salad
Applesauce Cake

Private Dining

Our large, high ceiling Main Dining Room is filled with rich woods, Tuscan style hand-painted frescoes and huge picture windows. Il Fornaio welcomes groups in this main dining area. With groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Il Fornaio - Roseville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Italian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Roseville ›

special occasion (67)
romantic (42)
good for groups (40)
See All
fit for foodies (35)
great for lunch (25)
notable wine list (24)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for outdoor dining (18)
great for brunch (17)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (10)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, they really took care of ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great service, they really took care of us. They had us at the anniversary table, my wife and I got married the day before, they really made the occasion special.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant for a family get togeth ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Great Restaurant for a family get together. We celebrated our son's 21st birthday. The ravioli is delicious as were all the dishes ordered by the five of us. Desert was also very good. They have a good wine list. The service is Excellent (Thanks Annie)

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I always enjoy dining at Il ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy dining at Il Fornaio and this was no exception. I didn't want the full 3- course special but they were kind enough to let me order the sea bass in parchment paper because we were dining early. As I expected, it was wonderful and it was accompanied by broccolini, carrots and potatoes. My wife had the seafood linguini and loved it. As usual, the service was prompt and professional. We split the house salad and ended up with very generous portions. I had a glass of Oregon Pinot Gris and my wife had a Prosecco, both of which were quite nice. This turned out to be a perfect way to celebrate Father's Day.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Was disappointed with our dinners this v ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Was disappointed with our dinners this visit. The calamari appetizer was good but the meals the four of us had were overcooked or drowning in sauce. My veal was tough and the fish was overcooked. We've been to this and many Il Fornaios throughout No. Cal. and hopefully this will be the exception.....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was excellent but the server re ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our food was excellent but the server really made the evening. She was attentive but not intrusive and made several suggestions that made our evening better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a dependable place to have a nice ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Always a dependable place to have a nice meal. With the regional menus we are never bored!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Il Fornaio Dis

Dined on June 3, 2016

Enjoyed the ambiance, excellent quality entrees, though disappointed not enough fish to order grilled salmon filet. At least 3 guests wanted to order this dish. Waitress was polite but told us that the cook only had enough salmon for a small amount for two guests. So we ordered the entree with salmon, scallops, octopu, and sqid. Squid was a bit rubbery, perhaps overlooked, not very edible. Octopus was fried, over dry, probably overlooked as well. Food was well presented and good but service was slow, lots of empty tables, not a full house. We arrived @ 5:00 PM for Happy Hour in the Bar. We had reservations for 6 adults and 1 child @ 5:30 PM. We were seated @ 6:00 PM. Entrees with desserts arrived late, around 8:00 PM. Dinner finished @ 9:00 PM. This is the first time I have spent 4 hours in a restaurant, waiting for food to be served, with no entertainment. Both my husband and I got stomach cramps later that evening. Perhaps fish was bad, contaminated, or someone did not wash their hands, prior to preparing food. I have enjoyed eating @ Il Fornaio in past, but was dissappointed in food preparation and delays in serving our guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Bliss!!!!

Dined on June 1, 2016

Took my brother here for his 60th birthday.....everyone said their dinner was great, the wait staff were wonderful, great service.....This is a go to place for special occasions and when friends come to town - can always count on great service and terrific food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I had been here before for a wedding dinner and at that time the food was great, so we decided to take my mom there for her birthday. But when we arrived there was a graduation dinner or something going on and it was so loud. The noise I can bear but when it came to the food it was so disappointing. I ordered the lobster ravioli and I found shrimp shells in the filling. I spit out like two pretty good size pieces but I did not complain because I know mistakes happen. I just wasnt expecting to find them at Il Fornaio. So long story short I do not think I will be going back unless a group of friends decides they want to meet there.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A birthday dinner with six people was fu ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

A birthday dinner with six people was fun because our waitress was terrific! She made the evening very special. Food wise...the clam chowder soup was very good, along with the pork chips, lobster/leek ravioli and grilled fish combo. The green salads were very bland, the lasagna dry and the steak tasteless. Nice wine selection...great cocktails. Once again our waitress made the evening memorable.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu difficult for a non-Italian

Dined on May 28, 2016

The meal I imagined when I ordered it rarely is what arrives. I have no knowledge of the Italian language and have never visited the country. Usually what shows up is tasty and I enjoy it, but I am frequently frustrated that I cannot understand the menu. Often the meal is expensive and I am sad to let it go to waste. For better or for worse, Il Fornaio is the best restaurant in the area. I guess I need an Italian-English dictionary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our server Suzanne was terrific! We are frequent diners at Il Fornaio and are always satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

20th anniversary dinner

Dined on May 27, 2016

We were seated at their special occasion table and had an excellent experience from beginning to end. We knew going in that the food and service would be good, but this was over the top.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Not a good day

Dined on May 22, 2016

I was surprised the normal level of service and quality of food was somewhere else when we dinned at Il Fornaio on the 21st of May. We normal have great service and excellent food, but this time the service was slow to missing in action and the food was so far under the normal we didn't even bother to stay for dessert or coffee. I haven't given up on one of our favorite places to dine, but I hope this isn't the new normal.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had the "regional" menu. The three ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had the "regional" menu. The three different courses were delicious and most enjoyable. Even though there was searches real prom groups, service was timely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The restaurant was not bad, it was just ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The restaurant was not bad, it was just not good. From the hostess to the server to the busboy, everyone seemed to be on their first day in food service. The food was good, but not good enough for the price or the service.

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The salads were quite nice but overprice ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The salads were quite nice but overpriced for lunch. I had a house Pinot Grigio which was reasonable, but my companions ordered specific brands which were quite overpriced. Two of us had cannolis for dessert. They were dry and tasteless. One of our group had a zabaglione which she liked; but in no way did it look or taste like the traditional Italian dessert. The service was superb. Both the server and her helper did a very timely, efficient and friendly job. Because I noted in my on-line reservation that we had one person gluten intolerant, there was a gluten-free menu given to us as we arrived. Impressive.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1

Food and Ambiance were lovely. Our serve ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Food and Ambiance were lovely. Our server, Alberto, was not. The bread and water person was very kind and attentive but our waiter would disappear for 20 minutes at a time. We asked for a cup of ice 3 times. We got it as we were done with our meal.We have been to il Forniao dozens of times. The service and food have always been lovely. The poor service tonight was an anomaly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was asked to secure a reservation for ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I was asked to secure a reservation for a quiet, romantic evening. The indoor dining the evening we were there was a bit loud but the hostess was able to get us patio seating where it was quiet. As the evening flowed, they lit the outdoor fireplace by our request. We had a nice long evening with waitress noting that we were in no rush. Food was exceptional and portions generous. Highly recommend this for a wonderfully romantic dating experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Special occasion

Dined on May 9, 2016

We eat here as a special occasion due to the ambiance and food choices (they comp the birthday dessert, which is nice). The leisurely pace and the price keeps us away from going more often.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A Go-To place

Dined on May 8, 2016

One of our favorite places. We like it for special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Servers are ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and service. Servers are very personable.

food3
ambience4
service4

Mother's Day brunch - very good but not ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch - very good but not great. We ordered the polenta appetizer; excellent flavor well cooked. My mother ordered the waffle and I had the eggs Benedict. Sauce was exceptional eggs were extremely over cooked, great for a hockey puck. Service excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

You only turn 60 once

Dined on April 28, 2016

Went to Il Fornaio for my birthday and it was great. A couple of parties were going on so there was some noise, but not too bad. Alejendro, our waiter was knowledgeable and helpful, but not pushy. The mushroom soup was really good with a kind of rough chop on the mushrooms and something the texture of cheese in it. Tasted delightful. The wine list was pretty large and had a wide price range. We had a Tuscan Sangiovese (Mazzei). Very, Very good. Dry and light, but not too light. The Cannelloni Was very good with chopped chicken and spinach. My wife had the veal Scallopini, which was to die for. The sauce had an almost chiffonade of artichoke in it, just terrific. We split the tiramisu for dessert, it was perfect. It was a wonderful evening and we will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but pricy

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was good but pricy for what you actually got. The Moscow Mule I ordered did not come in a traditional cooper mug. I know that sounds petty but that is the expected presentation for a drink like that. With the prices there I would expect a higher quality of presentation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely Sunday brunch.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Brunch with family. The service (by Josh) was excellent and the food was exceptionally good. A little pricey for 4, but all in all it was worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was attentive and genuinely frie ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Service was attentive and genuinely friendly. Ahi tuna salad and lentil soup was outstanding. My mom's chicken sandwich was generous, free range chicken juicy. Great lunch spot

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Eh !! Mediocre at best.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Went here for lunch with 3 others. Made a reservation through Open Table..Arrived around 12:30 PM and the place was empty. Service was okay at best. Personable waiter, but slow to deliver on requests. Their sauces leave much to be desired. I had a pasta dish with clams & Mussels. The food was fine; however, the sauce was really out of place for that dish. My wife had a pasta dish with chicken. I had problems swallowing a bite of her offering. The bottom line, is that this is a chain establishment and on this day at this place was bad. We have eaten at this chains other locations with no complaints.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere and food, thank you

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great atmosphere and food, thank you

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Tasty Italian

Dined on April 18, 2016

We frequently drive 70 miles to eat at Il Fornaio Roseville. Generally we tag on some shopping to make us not feel guilty about the driving distance and time. We consistently find eating here to be a pleasant and worthwhile experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

waiters

Dined on April 17, 2016

Poor quality of some of the waiters overheard some of them complaining about some of the tables they were serving as they felt they were not going to be tipped very well and in one occasion one of the waiters used some very bad language to describe ownership and how they were assigned tables

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently Outstanding!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We frequent this place at least once a month and we are rarely disappointed. We had reservations but choose to dine at the bar. Derrick was outstanding bar keep and waiter. Extremely professional and engaging. We had the regional course with Cod and it was perfectly done and tasty. The pasta is always fresh and terrific. For a chain, it is amazing how they keep this fresh and changing up the menu. Highly recommend for just about any reason.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Sea food pasta. It was very taste. Mode ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Sea food pasta. It was very taste. Moderate sized portions. I would do it again.

food4
ambience5
service5

What a lovely dinner we had! We sat by t ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

What a lovely dinner we had! We sat by the fire and had a wonderful visit with loved ones. Service was awesome and no one was rushing us out the door. It's such a lovely atmosphere, too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Siskiyoucookie

Dined on April 5, 2016

Booked Il Fornaio, Roseville based on previous dinners in Pasadena & LA. Nice ambiance & good food for all three. Business/Pleasure dinner with friend. Friendly waiter "Johnnie" gave us just enough service & attention. Wine, Dewars two pasta seafood entrees & one salad $100. w/o tip

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything.

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We love Dining here. Good food and great ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

We love Dining here. Good food and great specials, the Bar area is really nice, and always great service

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner and great night!

Dined on March 16, 2016

simply a great night.... the eve and dinner flowed just right!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pam's Pick

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was fresh and flavorful. Service outstanding. Plus gelato as a birthday surprise!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service2

I had the veal, it was overpowered by a ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I had the veal, it was overpowered by a lemon sauce that made it way too tangy. Potatoes had no flavor and we're dry. My husbands dish was not any better. His fish was drier than my red wine. I don't think we'll be going back anytime soon. Expected better quality for $100.00

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.