About Il Fornaio - Roseville

1179 Galleria Boulevard
Roseville, CA 95678
View Larger Map

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Roseville Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 788-1200

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available in Roseville Galleria Mall parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Davis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat the dad's in your family to a special day at Il Fornaio filled with authentic Italian elegance, a deliciously creative menu and memories for a lifetime!

Private Dining

Our large, high ceiling Main Dining Room is filled with rich woods, Tuscan style hand-painted frescoes and huge picture windows. Il Fornaio welcomes groups in this main dining area. With groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Il Fornaio - Roseville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Restaurants in Roseville ›

special occasion (79)
romantic (54)
fit for foodies (45)
See All
good for groups (44)
great for lunch (33)
notable wine list (33)
great for brunch (24)
neighborhood gem (23)
great for outdoor dining (21)
hot spot (15)
kid-friendly (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Not a good day

Dined 5 days ago

I was surprised the normal level of service and quality of food was somewhere else when we dinned at Il Fornaio on the 21st of May. We normal have great service and excellent food, but this time the service was slow to missing in action and the food was so far under the normal we didn't even bother to stay for dessert or coffee. I haven't given up on one of our favorite places to dine, but I hope this isn't the new normal.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had the "regional" menu. The three ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had the "regional" menu. The three different courses were delicious and most enjoyable. Even though there was searches real prom groups, service was timely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The restaurant was not bad, it was just ...

Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was not bad, it was just not good. From the hostess to the server to the busboy, everyone seemed to be on their first day in food service. The food was good, but not good enough for the price or the service.

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The salads were quite nice but overprice ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The salads were quite nice but overpriced for lunch. I had a house Pinot Grigio which was reasonable, but my companions ordered specific brands which were quite overpriced. Two of us had cannolis for dessert. They were dry and tasteless. One of our group had a zabaglione which she liked; but in no way did it look or taste like the traditional Italian dessert. The service was superb. Both the server and her helper did a very timely, efficient and friendly job. Because I noted in my on-line reservation that we had one person gluten intolerant, there was a gluten-free menu given to us as we arrived. Impressive.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1

Food and Ambiance were lovely. Our serve ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Food and Ambiance were lovely. Our server, Alberto, was not. The bread and water person was very kind and attentive but our waiter would disappear for 20 minutes at a time. We asked for a cup of ice 3 times. We got it as we were done with our meal.We have been to il Forniao dozens of times. The service and food have always been lovely. The poor service tonight was an anomaly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was asked to secure a reservation for ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I was asked to secure a reservation for a quiet, romantic evening. The indoor dining the evening we were there was a bit loud but the hostess was able to get us patio seating where it was quiet. As the evening flowed, they lit the outdoor fireplace by our request. We had a nice long evening with waitress noting that we were in no rush. Food was exceptional and portions generous. Highly recommend this for a wonderfully romantic dating experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Special occasion

Dined on May 9, 2016

We eat here as a special occasion due to the ambiance and food choices (they comp the birthday dessert, which is nice). The leisurely pace and the price keeps us away from going more often.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A Go-To place

Dined on May 8, 2016

One of our favorite places. We like it for special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Servers are ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and service. Servers are very personable.

food3
ambience4
service4

Mother's Day brunch - very good but not ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch - very good but not great. We ordered the polenta appetizer; excellent flavor well cooked. My mother ordered the waffle and I had the eggs Benedict. Sauce was exceptional eggs were extremely over cooked, great for a hockey puck. Service excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

You only turn 60 once

Dined on April 28, 2016

Went to Il Fornaio for my birthday and it was great. A couple of parties were going on so there was some noise, but not too bad. Alejendro, our waiter was knowledgeable and helpful, but not pushy. The mushroom soup was really good with a kind of rough chop on the mushrooms and something the texture of cheese in it. Tasted delightful. The wine list was pretty large and had a wide price range. We had a Tuscan Sangiovese (Mazzei). Very, Very good. Dry and light, but not too light. The Cannelloni Was very good with chopped chicken and spinach. My wife had the veal Scallopini, which was to die for. The sauce had an almost chiffonade of artichoke in it, just terrific. We split the tiramisu for dessert, it was perfect. It was a wonderful evening and we will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but pricy

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was good but pricy for what you actually got. The Moscow Mule I ordered did not come in a traditional cooper mug. I know that sounds petty but that is the expected presentation for a drink like that. With the prices there I would expect a higher quality of presentation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely Sunday brunch.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Brunch with family. The service (by Josh) was excellent and the food was exceptionally good. A little pricey for 4, but all in all it was worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was attentive and genuinely frie ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Service was attentive and genuinely friendly. Ahi tuna salad and lentil soup was outstanding. My mom's chicken sandwich was generous, free range chicken juicy. Great lunch spot

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Eh !! Mediocre at best.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Went here for lunch with 3 others. Made a reservation through Open Table..Arrived around 12:30 PM and the place was empty. Service was okay at best. Personable waiter, but slow to deliver on requests. Their sauces leave much to be desired. I had a pasta dish with clams & Mussels. The food was fine; however, the sauce was really out of place for that dish. My wife had a pasta dish with chicken. I had problems swallowing a bite of her offering. The bottom line, is that this is a chain establishment and on this day at this place was bad. We have eaten at this chains other locations with no complaints.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere and food, thank you

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great atmosphere and food, thank you

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Tasty Italian

Dined on April 18, 2016

We frequently drive 70 miles to eat at Il Fornaio Roseville. Generally we tag on some shopping to make us not feel guilty about the driving distance and time. We consistently find eating here to be a pleasant and worthwhile experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

waiters

Dined on April 17, 2016

Poor quality of some of the waiters overheard some of them complaining about some of the tables they were serving as they felt they were not going to be tipped very well and in one occasion one of the waiters used some very bad language to describe ownership and how they were assigned tables

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently Outstanding!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We frequent this place at least once a month and we are rarely disappointed. We had reservations but choose to dine at the bar. Derrick was outstanding bar keep and waiter. Extremely professional and engaging. We had the regional course with Cod and it was perfectly done and tasty. The pasta is always fresh and terrific. For a chain, it is amazing how they keep this fresh and changing up the menu. Highly recommend for just about any reason.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Sea food pasta. It was very taste. Mode ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Sea food pasta. It was very taste. Moderate sized portions. I would do it again.

food4
ambience5
service5

What a lovely dinner we had! We sat by t ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

What a lovely dinner we had! We sat by the fire and had a wonderful visit with loved ones. Service was awesome and no one was rushing us out the door. It's such a lovely atmosphere, too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Siskiyoucookie

Dined on April 5, 2016

Booked Il Fornaio, Roseville based on previous dinners in Pasadena & LA. Nice ambiance & good food for all three. Business/Pleasure dinner with friend. Friendly waiter "Johnnie" gave us just enough service & attention. Wine, Dewars two pasta seafood entrees & one salad $100. w/o tip

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything.

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We love Dining here. Good food and great ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

We love Dining here. Good food and great specials, the Bar area is really nice, and always great service

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner and great night!

Dined on March 16, 2016

simply a great night.... the eve and dinner flowed just right!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pam's Pick

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was fresh and flavorful. Service outstanding. Plus gelato as a birthday surprise!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service2

I had the veal, it was overpowered by a ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I had the veal, it was overpowered by a lemon sauce that made it way too tangy. Potatoes had no flavor and we're dry. My husbands dish was not any better. His fish was drier than my red wine. I don't think we'll be going back anytime soon. Expected better quality for $100.00

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointed with My Dinner

Dined on March 6, 2016

We had dinner at Il Fornaio last Saturday evening, just my husband and I. He ordered a delicious pizza with truffle oil and some type of ham. I ordered the special which was a sea bass lightly breaded with a green olive marinara sauce, mashed potatoes and sautéed spinach. The fish immediately tasted strong and very fishy. It was a very small piece of fish as well. The mashed potatoes were a little watery and the spinach was very plain tasting with little or no seasoning. When the waiter came by and asked how everything was, I told him politely that the fish was very fishy tasting. He didn't hear me at first and I told him again. He looked at me and said "sorry about that" and walked away. He never offered to replace the fish or offer me something else. For an entree that costs $24.00 I expected much better and also a better reaction from my waiter. He was very nice, but seemed inexperienced. I ended up leaving most of my meal and eating my husband's pizza which he couldn't finish.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great Ambiance - bland food

Dined on March 5, 2016

Ambiance was great, we sat in the covered patio area during the storm. All servers were friendly and polite. Food was bland, very little flavor (ordered lasagna & chicken shells dish) & priced a little high for serving size

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely experience and food was great

Dined on March 3, 2016

special occasion or night out, I would greatly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Roseville Area Favorite

Dined on February 22, 2016

Trust your waiter. I thoroughly enjoyed the three course meal option. It's nice to get quality Italian food without driving downtown or to Folsom.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great ambiance, delious food,and wonderful wait staff

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This has always been one of our favorite ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants. The food, services, and dining atmosphere is always great!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We enjoyed happy hour before sitting dow ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We enjoyed happy hour before sitting down to dinner, next time we may just make happy hour our meal. Food was very good and the value was excellent as we had a 3 course dinner for $36. Only negative was pacing of food, one course arrived before the next had cleared. Then we had a long wait to have our desert order taken and before receiving our check. Probably 40 minutes total for all 3 courses then another 40 minutes between desert and paying the bill. The chairs aren't very comfortable so it was a long dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The food was definitely not up to the st ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

The food was definitely not up to the standard I have come to expect from Il Fornaio. The soup and manicotti were bland to the point of tasteless. My friend however was satisfied with her scallopine.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

FOOD AND SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD. SEATING ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

FOOD AND SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD. SEATING WAS NOT EVEN WITH EARLY ADVANCE RESERVATIONS. NOT CLEAR WHY WE WERE SEAT WHERE WE WERE WHEN OTHERS WERE AVAILABLE.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Reservation Too Late

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had an 8pm reservation only because that's what showed up online as being available; however, when we got to the restaurant -- there was PLENTY of seating! This leads me to believe that we actually could have gotten in at 7pm, which was our first choice for dinner. I MAY go back to Il Fornaio, but not likely.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Valentine's Day Was A Disaster

Dined on February 15, 2016

Valentine’s Day, 6:00 pm reservation. Initially seated us in a walkway, so we were moved to another table. (There were many empty tables.) Ordered two of the 3-course, Umbria special dinners: salad, cannelloni and salmon and salad, ravioli and lamb. The two salads were fine and brought promptly. Then we waited 20-30 minutes for the 2nd course. They brought the ravioli in a bowl without the under-plate, but not the cannelloni. After five minutes we asked the bus-girl, Rachel, about the cannelloni. She hurriedly found the cannelloni, but by this time the ravioli was cold. I sent it back and waited another five minutes. When we finally got both second dishes they were both cold. After another 20-30 minutes, they served the main course. Both the salmon and the lamb were good, but cold. Another 20 minutes went by when, Sammy, the waitress, asked if we wanted coffee and dessert. We ordered bread pudding, a regular coffee and an espresso. During the next 20 minutes she approached us three times, trying to give us a cappuccino. Then she brought a saucer for the coffee, but no coffee cup. After another 15 minutes, we finally got ½ cup of cold coffee and a cold espresso, but not the dessert. We left the table and found Tyler, the restaurant manager. It was nearly 9 o’clock. He listened to our complaint, but to our surprise, he took our $100 gift card. We had been to Il Fornaio several times before and always enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service, but Valentine’s Day was a disaster.

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Valentine's day

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I go to this restaurant a few times a year. We have always had a wonderful time. We love being seated in the patio area. This year on Valentine's day the food wasn't as good as usual and the service was just okay. Hopefully the next time we go we'll have a better experience.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoyed the covered patio near the firep ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Enjoyed the covered patio near the fireplace- good people watching. Server brought ice bucket but placed it out of our reach. Duck was good but required a sharper knife to tackle. 3 course meal was a good value.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.