About Il Fornaio - Roseville

1179 Galleria Boulevard
Roseville, CA 95678
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio is renowned for it's authentic and award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include: Wood fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game, housemade pastas, pizzas form a wood fired oven, fresh salads and housemade soups, a wide variety of housemade desserts, and fresh baked bread. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 10:00 pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
E. Roseville Parkway and West Dr.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 788-1200

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available in Roseville Galleria Mall parking lot and covered parking structure adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Israel Bejar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners and Cooking Classes.
Inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Frutti De Mare With Pesto Risotto - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Pennoni alla Vodka - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Procecco - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Balsamic Vinegar And Olive Oil Dip - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
carpaccio - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Salada Cesarina - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Bread Basket - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Spaghetti Pomodoro Wirh Garlic Shrimp - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Chicken Parm Sandwich With Ceasar Salad - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Applesauce Cake - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Start your Christmas celebration at Il Fornaio! Join us on Christmas Eve and enjoy the festive atmosphere and your favorite Italian dish.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Kick off 2017 in style! Join us New Year's Eve and toast to happiness and health in the new year. Salute!

Private Dining

Our large, high ceiling Main Dining Room is filled with rich woods, Tuscan style hand-painted frescoes and huge picture windows. Il Fornaio welcomes groups in this main dining area. With groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Il Fornaio - Roseville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Italian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Roseville ›

Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (34)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Authentic (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fireplace (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Wood Oven (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Business Meals (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (9)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely birthday family dinner. We are fr ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely birthday family dinner. We are frequent guests - good food service and always enjoy. A little pricey so it's usually for special events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

After a disappointing experience at the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

After a disappointing experience at the Firehouse (Sacramento), this was a welcomed and pleasant surprise. With the holiday decorations and fireplace to boot, it was even better. The waiters and waitresses were great and very friendly - la vita dolce! They understand it's the total dining experience, not just one element of the food, the staff, the service, the decor, etc. It's all about how it comes together - totally seamless and transparent.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Thanksgiving meal! Our waitre ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wonderful Thanksgiving meal!

Our waitress was very conciencious which made our experience extra special. Thank you for being thoughtful, ensuring we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent Thanksgiving at Il Fornaio having ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Spent Thanksgiving at Il Fornaio having Dinner. Entire Dinner-food, service, surroundings was great!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed our meal and service. Very nice ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Enjoyed our meal and service. Very nice Thanksgiving day out.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for a small group Thanksgiving l ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We came for a small group Thanksgiving lunch. Our waiter was wonderful. He was prompt with attention, gracious, informative and even had a sense of humor. The atmosphere is delightful with a view of two fireplaces, our spot in the middle of the three different rooms was perfect. My only disappointment was the cannelloni which traditionally is a minced or blended filling of chicken and cheese was more of a chunky chicken filling. But the presentation and taste of each of our meals was very good. We were very happy we chose this restaurant for our holiday meal and we appreciate that they had a holiday selection in addition to their regular menu. This enable each of us to have exactly what we wanted without sacrificing the rest of the party or paying a premium.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place, and eat here frequen ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We love this place, and eat here frequently. Has a wonderful ambiance the food is always excellent and the service is first rate

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and wonderful service. The st ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Good food and wonderful service. The staff made my wife feel very special on her birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Great service. Morrison was g ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good food. Great service. Morrison was great. Will look for her next time we dine at Il Fornaio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I've never had anything but an excellent ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I've never had anything but an excellent experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our book group has met here several time ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our book group has met here several times now. They always accommodate us in a quite area and the service and food are wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was ok. Took a long time for the ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Service was ok. Took a long time for the food even though there were only 15 patrons in the restaurant. Wad good overall and am willing to go back.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The Food and atmosphere was fine. Valet ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Food and atmosphere was fine. Valet parking service on point and professional. Waitress was courteous, friendly, and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Really enjoyed the service and food. Fro ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Really enjoyed the service and food. From the hostess to the server to the bussers , everyone was extremely friendly, professional and efficient. Great wine list and delicious food. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very nice dinner. The waitress ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a very nice dinner. The waitress was very attentive and made suggestions and let us taste a wine we weren't familiar with. Overall a great dinner and experience. Would go there more often if the had more private seating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was cold , not fried in hot eno ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was cold , not fried in hot enough oil , the pizza was under baked .great service all.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu was just ok. Facility good

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Menu was just ok. Facility good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We've been to Il Fornaio 3 times in 2 we ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We've been to Il Fornaio 3 times in 2 weeks. My wife's favorite restaurant and one of my favorites as well. This is a great place to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could use a make over. Nor as good as i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Could use a make over. Nor as good as in the past. Even bread has gone downhill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Too noisy to carry on a conversation.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Too noisy to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

My husband and I enjoy eating at Il Forn ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My husband and I enjoy eating at Il Fornaio at least once a month to dine on their monthly Festa Regionale menu - each month food from a different region of Italy is highlighted on a special menu including a selection of wines appropriate for the region. This month was Trentino-Alto Adige located in the Alps with a Swiss and German influence. We always order one wine flight (three half-glasses) to share - we ordered Pinot Grigio, Sauvignon and Teroldego - all were delicious - I especially liked the Teroldego, a lush smooth red wine. My husband had the Salmon and polenta entree - wonderful. I always order the "Taste of the (Region)" - includes a small starter, a small pasta and a full-size entree off the Festa menu. My husband and I share the first two. I chose the Goulash with polenta - the beef was so tender and the polenta was so soft. The pasta dish was large pasta tubes (soft as silk), with bites of chicken, bacon, and mushrooms - out of this world, it was so delicious, it would be a perfect entree on its own. The entree I chose was the Goulash with fettuccini - again delicious. My husband and I shared the regional dessert, one of the best we'd ever had - an apple strudel with caramel sea-salt gelato - we told the server we wished Il Fornaio would add it to their regular menu. This menu ends on October 23, 2016

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently consistent! We visit the Ro ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Consistently consistent! We visit the Roseville location once a month or more. Always great food, service and ambience. Also the prices when compared to other 5 star restaurants are very affordable. We often sit at the bar...this is great way to get to know others and Zach, Derrick and staff are consummate professionals. Truly some of the best!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the most fabulous dining experien ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We had the most fabulous dining experience of all time, and we eat out often. From making the reservation to paying the check all was perfect. A very nice greeting from Sheila. Appetizers and happy hour was just marvelous. Many choices and you can't beat a pizza from the pizza oven. Our table was quite lovely and Marcus our waiter was awesome. Always there with our delicious food and kind conversation. Can't wait to return and experience other delightful dishes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always excellen ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food and service are always excellent. I think their regional cuisine offerings are inventive. The fireplace in winter is an added touch that is very welcoming. My only criticism is that no matter what time your reservation is scheduled for, your table is NEVER ready. There is always at least a 10-20 minute wait! I guess they hope you will spend that time in the bar .

Our latest visit was yet another wait. We were told that we had to wait for tables to be cleared. Yet as we were finally being seated, we noted many empty set tables in various locations throughout the restaurant. So, my supposition is that our wait was less about cleared tables but rather a shortage of wait staff !

It is sufficiently aggravating that were it not for the food , we would choose another restaurant !

Tags: Fireplace, Casual, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We dined on our anniversary and then two ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We dined on our anniversary and then two days later with in-laws. we all love Il Fornaio for the great food, outstanding service, and beauty of the restaurant itself.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrate many special occasions at y ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We celebrate many special occasions at your restaurant. This visit was for my birthday.

We always seem to order the same items and we like to enjoy them family-style. We start with Caprese & Rusticchella (my favorite!) Our entrees are the Seafood Grill Misto and the Butternut Squash Ravioli. This time we also added the Cannelloni. The Cannelloni was not very flavorful, so we won't order that in the future. We were a lil disappointed in the ravioli this time.... not enough browned butter which left the pasta dry. The salmon was a lil on the over-cooked level, but being such a thin slice, understandable. Everything else was very good!

The service started out good.. we were greeted by the "manager" who decanted our wine (we brought an 04 Grgich Hills Cab). He skillfully poured it into the decanter being careful to leave the dregs in the bottle. He then took our cocktail order and left to get them. Our waiter (name forgotten) came to the table and he immediately attempted to pour the remainings of the wine into the decanter!!! We all yelled "NO! STOP"... he had no clue what he was about to do!

His service was just okay... for a FINE dining experience, he was not up to par. We have always had excellent service in the past.

He presented our check after our dessert and let us know he removed the corkage fee as a gift for my birthday. Thank you for that.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

WOW! We were treated like King and Queen ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 14, 2016

WOW! We were treated like King and Queen on our 37th anniversary AND the food and wine were outstanding. Emily is a perfect server - very attentive. Thank you Il Fornaio for making our evening so special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cesar salads were not much. Expect bette ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Cesar salads were not much. Expect better here. Server somewhat inattentive after we only ordered soup and salad (with wine). Salads came a long time after we finished the soups. Hardly anyone in the place but service was not up to your usual standards. A lot of money for very little. We are long time customers and expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is our go to place for fantastic It ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This is our go to place for fantastic Italian food. We always bring our own bottle of wine so I can't recommend the wine list. Service is always excellent. My wife is Italian and really knows exceptional quality in soups and pasta. She loves the open kitchen. You wouldn't think that a place in a mall would be this good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was phenomenal. We share what w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was phenomenal. We share what we order to experience a varied foods. Love the Taste of Italy. A little noisy on a Sat night, will probably switch back to a Sun evening. Staff is helpful and friendly.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service! Every bit of food was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Fantastic service! Every bit of food was delicious and this was the perfect place to celebrate an anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Il Fornaio has long been a favorite of m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Il Fornaio has long been a favorite of mine, but I had not been to the Roseville location priror. The food was up to snuff and the wait staff was funny and friendly. They have lots of gluten free options too, so that is great!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My food was not even warm (ppasta). I as ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My food was not even warm (ppasta). I asked if they could warm it up. It came back so hot that I burned my tongue and the roof of my mouth. Was the chef mad because I said my food was cold? There was no reason for it to be that hot. Another oder was wrong. Waitress did not offer to get the correct meal. Offered free dessert instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and outstanding service. Our ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great food and outstanding service. Our dinner was very enjoyable

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a nice birthday celebration here. W ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Had a nice birthday celebration here. We had the calamari appetizer, caprese salad, ravioli bolognese, chicken, and another ravioli pasta. Finished it up with an alfogata. Good time, good service. Had a bottle of Rombauer Chardonnay and a red wine from the by the glass menu. The total including the glass or two of wine per person was about $65.00 per person.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there to celebrate our 54th wed ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We were there to celebrate our 54th wedding anniversary. We were honored to be seated at the table with the "Red Tablecloth" and given free mineral water, ante pasta, pasta, dessert and free corkage of our bottle of special wine we brought. The waitress,Brandie, was most knowledgeable and provided the best of service, adding to the special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were excellent. Lov ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The service and food were excellent. Love their regionale menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have long loved IL Fornio, for their ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I have long loved IL Fornio, for their wonderful food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary with ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary with our girls. The waiter was fabulous he made great recommendations for food and wine. He brought pizza dough for the girls to play with while we waited. Great atmosphere and service. We will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server started out just fine but the ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our server started out just fine but then turned sour toward us when we questioned that he had possibly placed the wrong order for some of our food. For the remainder of the meal he continued to be petulant which cast a pall over the $350 meal! Each of us noted his dour attitude even after WE admitted we were wrong and were simply confused by the presentation, which did not appear to be the correct meal (for two of us). Sort of took some of the fun out of the little dinner party. Fortunately we enjoy each other's company enough that we were able to just ignore him and go on about our evening. Even the on-duty manager came over to check things out and we told him we were fine, but the server never seemed able to recover. For a meal like this, I'd definitely go elsewhere next time. Just didn't appreciate the continued negative vibe he projected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.