About Il Fornaio - Roseville

Il Fornaio is renowned for it's authentic and award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include: Wood fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game, housemade pastas, pizzas form a wood fired oven, fresh salads and housemade soups, a wide variety of housemade desserts, and fresh baked bread. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

1179 Galleria Boulevard
Roseville, CA 95678
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 10:00 pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
E. Roseville Parkway and West Dr.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 788-1200

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available in Roseville Galleria Mall parking lot and covered parking structure adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Israel Bejar

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners and Cooking Classes.
Inquire within.

Report a photo problem

Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Frutti De Mare With Pesto Risotto - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Pennoni alla Vodka - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
carpaccio - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Salada Cesarina - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Bread Basket - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Balsamic Vinegar And Olive Oil Dip - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Procecco - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Spaghetti Pomodoro Wirh Garlic Shrimp - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Chicken Parm Sandwich With Ceasar Salad - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA
Applesauce Cake - Il Fornaio - Roseville, Roseville, CA

Private Dining

Our large, high ceiling Main Dining Room is filled with rich woods, Tuscan style hand-painted frescoes and huge picture windows. Il Fornaio welcomes groups in this main dining area. With groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Il Fornaio - Roseville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Romantic (36)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Worth the Drive (21)
Authentic (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fireplace (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (13)
Wood Oven (13)
Business Meals (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Fun (10)
Family Style (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Healthy (7)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Private Room (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Celebrated my birthday here and loved th ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Celebrated my birthday here and loved the experience! We were very happy with the service and the food! We loved it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant. First found the ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

My favorite restaurant. First found the Vegas location, but Roseville is best. Barbera and Chianti both excellent. Beef, spinach, potatoes yummy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hi, I made the reservation for a 60th Bi ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Hi, I made the reservation for a 60th Birthday Dinner celebration for my sister. Dinner was ok, menu is weak on the vegetarian side and more so on vegan selections. I also would have thought a small cup cake with candle would have been brought out for some appreciation. Maybe you guy's don't do that but I see it done at other establishments. I did make note of the birthday dinner in my notes in the table reservation.

Thank you

Guy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The food was okay. Sitting by the fire ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was okay. Sitting by the fire was great. Service took a while 10+ min. to come and take a drink order. Once ordered, the drinks and food came out quickly. Overall it a good place for a date if you are not in a hurry.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We met friends for dinner. The food and ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

We met friends for dinner. The food and service was great. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody .

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food, with excellent se ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always excellent food, with excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here many times over the yea ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've eaten here many times over the years and always enjoyed a "good" meal - sometimes an outstanding meal and dining experience. Food and services varies from time to time but we keep coming back - each time hoping for that WOW factor - and always happy when that occurs!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Met with son and enjoyed a most stimulat ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Met with son and enjoyed a most stimulating experience. We choose Il Fornaio when he visits and every time we have a splendid time thanks to the great food and service. Mitchell S.

Tags: Family Style, , Modern Decor, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My seafood pasta - one of the day's spec ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

My seafood pasta - one of the day's specials - was out of this world - thank you - and our server was great

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very bad experience at Il Forna ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a very bad experience at Il Fornaio - Roseville. Beside the manager, staff we met there are not professional, rude and badly behaved.

We arrived 10 minutes earlier for our reservation for New Year Eve celebration, but the girl at the reception made us wait for 25 minutes and she simply ignored us (even though we reminded her twice for our reservation). Then the waiter did not put the salad dressing on the side, served us the cold main course. We asked for a warm dish. The waiter just microwaved our dish. This is really horrible. In the end, the waiter dropped a folk with food on my husband's jacket. This completely ruined our new year eve. We asked to talk to the manger. The manger apologized and waived our bill. This is our worst experience dining at a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Il Fornaio is a favorite restaurant, so ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Il Fornaio is a favorite restaurant, so we went on New Year's Eve for dinner. We were seated promptly and our server was terrific throughout the meal. Some restaurants don't staff up adequately for holidays but this was not an issue at Il Fornaio. Service was well-paced and accommodating, and despite the fact that they were working from a special menu that night, they accommodated a special request for our son, who has a developmental disability and can be a picky eater, so it made it a very good experience for everyone in our group. We always enjoy dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thought the food was only a 7 or 8. Not ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Thought the food was only a 7 or 8. Not their usual best!111

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went on New Year's Eve. Service was real ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went on New Year's Eve. Service was really good. They had a "special" menu that had limited options that weren't that great. Food was ok, for just being the chicken. Overall, will go again, just not on a holiday.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent menu, attentive service... bea ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent menu, attentive service... beautiful surroundings, fireplace, and romantic lighting...

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Due to the day before New Year's Eve, wa ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Due to the day before New Year's Eve, waiting was fine, once we were seated took over 20 minutes before someone realized we hadn't been introduced to our waiter/waitress. The Waiter Matthew came to our table quickly, apologized for any inconvenience, he was very delightful and great server. We appreciated him and the bus boy. Thank you both so much!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Il Fornaio is our go to place for nice d ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Il Fornaio is our go to place for nice dinners. We always take out of town company there. The service is usually excellent, the good superb and in general it's a great experience. We highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

We have never been disappointed over the ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have never been disappointed over the last number of months. The staff is very attentive and very accommodating to tailor our meal to be healthy. We selected both of the chicken dishes in the grill menu and ordered spinach only as our sides, their spinach is delicious and so we're both entrees.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Authentic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb. The deserts also su ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was superb. The deserts also superb. What made the evening special was the superb service. Will certainly go back and will recommend this all my friends

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, , Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Matthew was terrific!

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Matthew was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We visited on Christmas Eve. The staff ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We visited on Christmas Eve. The staff were absolutely fabulous!! They refilled our drinks before we even knew they were empty, got freshly-baked bread refills, arranged for us to have something that wasn't on the menu, and they were helpful and friendly. The food was very good, too, and we had a variety of things--ravioli, lamb, quinoa. All were very tasty.

My only complaint was that we were seated near the door and froze whenever anyone came in or went out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic service! Wait staff were outst ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantastic service! Wait staff were outstanding. Accommodated different dietary requirements.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner with friends for my birthda ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great dinner with friends for my birthday. Service was excellent and love the cozy atmosphere. And the tiramisu for my birthday treat was divine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful staff and food. Everything on ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful staff and food. Everything on the menu is delicious.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Christmas decor is the best, including t ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Christmas decor is the best, including the Walnut Creek location where their decorations were lacking. The service is always excellent in Rosevile and the food always a surprise and of course the wine perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Ambiance wonderful. Wa ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was amazing. Ambiance wonderful. Waiter was a little lackluster, you could tell he had no interest in serving us beyond getting the job done. Other staff we interacted with (maybe the busser?) were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

They over booked and we had to wsit 30 m ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

They over booked and we had to wsit 30 minutes to get any acknowledgement. Were told the wsiter would not be in for 30 to 45 minutes. We had to go to the bar to get our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Great experience every time. Our waiter ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great experience every time. Our waiter John was as always prompt and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Always one of our favorites. Good food a ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always one of our favorites. Good food and service. Annie was our server and did a great job.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Il Fornaio in ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was my first time at Il Fornaio in over three years. I always liked-not loved-the food, as well as the atmosphere. For some reason, even though I requested a quiet table for our group of four to chat, we were seated right in front of the kitchen in the middle of the room. The place was very busy and crowded, so it was hard to have a normal conversation. The soup, which sounded delicious, was bland, watery and clearly under-seasoned. The ravioli were good, but not great. I can name two other restaurants in Sacramento that make much better pasta. I was also disappointed at their selections of wines by the glass. As a native Californian, I am partial to our wines and not a big fan of Italian wines--other than pinot grigio in the summer. They do make the best tiramisu in town, but I doubt we will go again soon--unless we only want dessert. I recommend you spend a bit more and go to Biba, or better yes, pay a little bit less and go to Il Forno Classico in Gold River.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Waiter was A+ but don't remember his nam ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Waiter was A+ but don't remember his name only had been there 13 days-a pro

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, beautiful decor. All fou ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great ambiance, beautiful decor. All four members of our party agreed the food and drinks were just average. Service was ok, pretty slow for being a weekday with few people in the restaurant. Price was too expensive for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was excellent; and the restaura ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

The food was excellent; and the restaurant was beautiful....all decked out for the holidays!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very average experience. We went t ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

Had a very average experience. We went to celebrate our anniversary and decided to try it out since we've always walked past on our visits to the Galleria. Food was prepared nicely, but flavor wasn't special; we'd go there again, but nothing exceptional for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely birthday family dinner. We are fr ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

Lovely birthday family dinner. We are frequent guests - good food service and always enjoy. A little pricey so it's usually for special events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

After a disappointing experience at the ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

After a disappointing experience at the Firehouse (Sacramento), this was a welcomed and pleasant surprise. With the holiday decorations and fireplace to boot, it was even better. The waiters and waitresses were great and very friendly - la vita dolce! They understand it's the total dining experience, not just one element of the food, the staff, the service, the decor, etc. It's all about how it comes together - totally seamless and transparent.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Thanksgiving meal! Our waitre ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wonderful Thanksgiving meal!

Our waitress was very conciencious which made our experience extra special. Thank you for being thoughtful, ensuring we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent Thanksgiving at Il Fornaio having ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Spent Thanksgiving at Il Fornaio having Dinner. Entire Dinner-food, service, surroundings was great!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed our meal and service. Very nice ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Enjoyed our meal and service. Very nice Thanksgiving day out.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for a small group Thanksgiving l ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

We came for a small group Thanksgiving lunch. Our waiter was wonderful. He was prompt with attention, gracious, informative and even had a sense of humor. The atmosphere is delightful with a view of two fireplaces, our spot in the middle of the three different rooms was perfect. My only disappointment was the cannelloni which traditionally is a minced or blended filling of chicken and cheese was more of a chunky chicken filling. But the presentation and taste of each of our meals was very good. We were very happy we chose this restaurant for our holiday meal and we appreciate that they had a holiday selection in addition to their regular menu. This enable each of us to have exactly what we wanted without sacrificing the rest of the party or paying a premium.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place, and eat here frequen ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

We love this place, and eat here frequently. Has a wonderful ambiance the food is always excellent and the service is first rate

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.