About Il Fornaio - Roseville

1179 Galleria Boulevard
Roseville, CA 95678
View Larger Map

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Roseville Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 788-1200

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available in Roseville Galleria Mall parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Davis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Il Fornaio - Roseville
Frutti De Mare With Pesto Risotto
Pennoni alla Vodka
Procecco
Balsamic Vinegar And Olive Oil Dip
carpaccio
Bread Basket
Salada Cesarina
Spaghetti Pomodoro Wirh Garlic Shrimp
Chicken Parm Sandwich With Ceasar Salad
Applesauce Cake

Private Dining

Our large, high ceiling Main Dining Room is filled with rich woods, Tuscan style hand-painted frescoes and huge picture windows. Il Fornaio welcomes groups in this main dining area. With groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Il Fornaio - Roseville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Restaurants in Roseville ›

special occasion (67)
romantic (41)
good for groups (40)
See All
fit for foodies (34)
great for lunch (21)
neighborhood gem (21)
notable wine list (21)
great for outdoor dining (17)
great for brunch (16)
kid-friendly (12)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent but attention to deta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent but attention to detail was less than we have had in the past. Decor and housekeeping left something to be desired (drapery falling down, lamp shades off kilter, etc). New waiter didn't know basic server etiquette. Our special occasion was not too special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Our server was a kick! Also please do r ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was a kick! Also please do run out of my favorite lemon candy

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere...food was excellent. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely atmosphere...food was excellent. However, service was very slow...probably because the restaurant was packed....the other couple had to wait quite a long time while we were having soup and tomato salad from special menu... My hubby had the lamb and said it was over cooked- no pink color and was not tender. Like the different menu choices for the featured regions of Italy. The other couple will be leaving for the Puglia region to teach English next month.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Horrible service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Horrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Dining at Il Fornaio is always a pleasur ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Dining at Il Fornaio is always a pleasure. The food is consistently good and the ambience is unmatched. The only complaint I have is their red wine by the glass is served too warm. This is surprising as the restaurant, which for the most part serves authentic Italian meals, should know better. Other than that it still rates as one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fine, the ambience was f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was fine, the ambience was fine, but the food was mediocre. Very disappointing for an expensive birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Wonderful dining experience for all memb ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful dining experience for all members of or group of six. This being said, the noise level was very high -- an inconvenience for some in our group who are hard of hearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our hostess was horrible, I asked to be ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our hostess was horrible, I asked to be seated at a different table then we were originally seated at, we hadn't even sat down and there were lots of tables open, she told me that we could not move, this was the only table. Next, they have 1/2 booth 1/2 table seating, appalling for an "upscale" restaurant. The food was alright, not a big selection, but the service was decent. The restaurant was so loud it was difficult to have a conversation with the person next to me. Overall, horrible experience and will never go back. Period.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

We had a 6:45 Reservation on a Saturday. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a 6:45 Reservation on a Saturday. It was wonderful to have Valet Parking. Arrived about 6:40 and we were taken to our Table. My guest did not like the location so asked if we could be moved. The Hostess was very pleasant and moved us to a more suitable location. We had a very nice dinner, the only complaint by my friend, was the waiter was supposed to bring cracked pepper for her salad. Other than that the Evening was very enjoyable. Thanks to "Open Table" for a last minute Reservation.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was not impressed at all. Noisy, food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was not impressed at all. Noisy, food was average could have gotten at any other Italian restaurant for a third the cost.

Topped my experience when we had to stop eating so two employees could take a table through the dining area right around our table.

Try Olive Garden!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The waiter was exceptional. *********** ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The waiter was exceptional. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

IlFornaio is one of the best upscale res ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

IlFornaio is one of the best upscale restaurants in the Roseville area. Everything is made from scratch and with quality ingredients. The service is excellent and the ambiance is great. Six of us dined there recently and every meal was delicious and tasty. We tried the tiramisu for dessert and it was wonderful. IlFornaio is the place to go for an upscale dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would not recommend this restaurant at ...

 
 (Singapore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant at all. I had the sea bass & it tasted all right but by the time i got home 45min to a hr later I had terrible cramps in my stomach. My husband had some kind of pasta and he said he would not go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Unfortunately very noisy. Not to good wh ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Unfortunately very noisy. Not to good when celebrating anniversary

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Birthday celebration was a huge success. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Birthday celebration was a huge success. As requested, the Champagne was on ice at the table. The food was the expected high standard as usual and our server was extremely attentive and although we were not high maintenance, she was on point all evening.

Thank you Il Fornaio and team!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Fornaio is an expensive restaurant fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Il Fornaio is an expensive restaurant for the food that you get. One of their good features was the bread that they served, a nice variety. Well, they have changed that to something that tastes like Wonder Bread with a slightly harder crust. I guess Corporate is always trying to make more profit, like a lot of these restaurants, they forget that the food is the most important thing. The main course was $28.00. No salad, no starch, terrible bread, no grated cheese. A piece of fish in a bowl. Won't be going back there. We had a really nice waitress, Anna. She gave good service, but we don't go out for service. We go out for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great service, they really took care of ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great service, they really took care of us. They had us at the anniversary table, my wife and I got married the day before, they really made the occasion special.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant for a family get togeth ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great Restaurant for a family get together. We celebrated our son's 21st birthday. The ravioli is delicious as were all the dishes ordered by the five of us. Desert was also very good. They have a good wine list. The service is Excellent (Thanks Annie)

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I always enjoy dining at Il ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy dining at Il Fornaio and this was no exception. I didn't want the full 3- course special but they were kind enough to let me order the sea bass in parchment paper because we were dining early. As I expected, it was wonderful and it was accompanied by broccolini, carrots and potatoes. My wife had the seafood linguini and loved it. As usual, the service was prompt and professional. We split the house salad and ended up with very generous portions. I had a glass of Oregon Pinot Gris and my wife had a Prosecco, both of which were quite nice. This turned out to be a perfect way to celebrate Father's Day.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was disappointed with our dinners this v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Was disappointed with our dinners this visit. The calamari appetizer was good but the meals the four of us had were overcooked or drowning in sauce. My veal was tough and the fish was overcooked. We've been to this and many Il Fornaios throughout No. Cal. and hopefully this will be the exception.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Our food was excellent but the server re ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our food was excellent but the server really made the evening. She was attentive but not intrusive and made several suggestions that made our evening better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a dependable place to have a nice ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Always a dependable place to have a nice meal. With the regional menus we are never bored!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Il Fornaio Dis

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Enjoyed the ambiance, excellent quality entrees, though disappointed not enough fish to order grilled salmon filet. At least 3 guests wanted to order this dish. Waitress was polite but told us that the cook only had enough salmon for a small amount for two guests. So we ordered the entree with salmon, scallops, octopu, and sqid. Squid was a bit rubbery, perhaps overlooked, not very edible. Octopus was fried, over dry, probably overlooked as well. Food was well presented and good but service was slow, lots of empty tables, not a full house. We arrived @ 5:00 PM for Happy Hour in the Bar. We had reservations for 6 adults and 1 child @ 5:30 PM. We were seated @ 6:00 PM. Entrees with desserts arrived late, around 8:00 PM. Dinner finished @ 9:00 PM. This is the first time I have spent 4 hours in a restaurant, waiting for food to be served, with no entertainment. Both my husband and I got stomach cramps later that evening.

Perhaps fish was bad, contaminated, or someone did not wash their hands, prior to preparing food. I have enjoyed eating @ Il Fornaio in past, but was dissappointed in food preparation and delays in serving our guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday Bliss!!!!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Took my brother here for his 60th birthday.....everyone said their dinner was great, the wait staff were wonderful, great service.....This is a go to place for special occasions and when friends come to town - can always count on great service and terrific food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I had been here before for a wedding dinner and at that time the food was great, so we decided to take my mom there for her birthday. But when we arrived there was a graduation dinner or something going on and it was so loud.

The noise I can bear but when it came to the food it was so disappointing. I ordered the lobster ravioli and I found shrimp shells in the filling. I spit out like two pretty good size pieces but I did not complain because I know mistakes happen. I just wasnt expecting to find them at Il Fornaio.

So long story short I do not think I will be going back unless a group of friends decides they want to meet there.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

A birthday dinner with six people was fu ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

A birthday dinner with six people was fun because our waitress was terrific! She made the evening very special. Food wise...the clam chowder soup was very good, along with the pork chips, lobster/leek ravioli and grilled fish combo. The green salads were very bland, the lasagna dry and the steak tasteless. Nice wine selection...great cocktails. Once again our waitress made the evening memorable.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Menu difficult for a non-Italian

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The meal I imagined when I ordered it rarely is what arrives. I have no knowledge of the Italian language and have never visited the country. Usually what shows up is tasty and I enjoy it, but I am frequently frustrated that I cannot understand the menu. Often the meal is expensive and I am sad to let it go to waste.

For better or for worse, Il Fornaio is the best restaurant in the area. I guess I need an Italian-English dictionary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our server Suzanne was terrific! We are frequent diners at Il Fornaio and are always satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

20th anniversary dinner

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were seated at their special occasion table and had an excellent experience from beginning to end. We knew going in that the food and service would be good, but this was over the top.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a good day

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I was surprised the normal level of service and quality of food was somewhere else when we dinned at Il Fornaio on the 21st of May. We normal have great service and excellent food, but this time the service was slow to missing in action and the food was so far under the normal we didn't even bother to stay for dessert or coffee. I haven't given up on one of our favorite places to dine, but I hope this isn't the new normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We had the "regional" menu. The three ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had the "regional" menu. The three different courses were delicious and most enjoyable. Even though there was searches real prom groups, service was timely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The restaurant was not bad, it was just ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The restaurant was not bad, it was just not good. From the hostess to the server to the busboy, everyone seemed to be on their first day in food service. The food was good, but not good enough for the price or the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The salads were quite nice but overprice ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The salads were quite nice but overpriced for lunch. I had a house Pinot Grigio which was reasonable, but my companions ordered specific brands which were quite overpriced. Two of us had cannolis for dessert. They were dry and tasteless. One of our group had a zabaglione which she liked; but in no way did it look or taste like the traditional Italian dessert. The service was superb. Both the server and her helper did a very timely, efficient and friendly job. Because I noted in my on-line reservation that we had one person gluten intolerant, there was a gluten-free menu given to us as we arrived. Impressive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Food and Ambiance were lovely. Our serve ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Food and Ambiance were lovely. Our server, Alberto, was not. The bread and water person was very kind and attentive but our waiter would disappear for 20 minutes at a time. We asked for a cup of ice 3 times. We got it as we were done with our meal.We have been to il Forniao dozens of times. The service and food have always been lovely. The poor service tonight was an anomaly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

I was asked to secure a reservation for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I was asked to secure a reservation for a quiet, romantic evening. The indoor dining the evening we were there was a bit loud but the hostess was able to get us patio seating where it was quiet. As the evening flowed, they lit the outdoor fireplace by our request. We had a nice long evening with waitress noting that we were in no rush. Food was exceptional and portions generous. Highly recommend this for a wonderfully romantic dating experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We eat here as a special occasion due to the ambiance and food choices (they comp the birthday dessert, which is nice). The leisurely pace and the price keeps us away from going more often.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A Go-To place

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

One of our favorite places. We like it for special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food and service. Servers are ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and service. Servers are very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day brunch - very good but not ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch - very good but not great. We ordered the polenta appetizer; excellent flavor well cooked. My mother ordered the waffle and I had the eggs Benedict. Sauce was exceptional eggs were extremely over cooked, great for a hockey puck. Service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

You only turn 60 once

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Went to Il Fornaio for my birthday and it was great. A couple of parties were going on so there was some noise, but not too bad. Alejendro, our waiter was knowledgeable and helpful, but not pushy. The mushroom soup was really good with a kind of rough chop on the mushrooms and something the texture of cheese in it. Tasted delightful. The wine list was pretty large and had a wide price range. We had a Tuscan Sangiovese (Mazzei). Very, Very good. Dry and light, but not too light. The Cannelloni Was very good with chopped chicken and spinach. My wife had the veal Scallopini, which was to die for. The sauce had an almost chiffonade of artichoke in it, just terrific. We split the tiramisu for dessert, it was perfect. It was a wonderful evening and we will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.