About Il Fornaio - Roseville

1179 Galleria Boulevard
Roseville, CA 95678
View Larger Map

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Roseville Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 788-1200

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available in Roseville Galleria Mall parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mitchell Davis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Il Fornaio - Roseville
Frutti De Mare With Pesto Risotto
Pennoni alla Vodka
Procecco
Balsamic Vinegar And Olive Oil Dip
carpaccio
Salada Cesarina
Bread Basket
Spaghetti Pomodoro Wirh Garlic Shrimp
Chicken Parm Sandwich With Ceasar Salad
Applesauce Cake

Private Dining

Our large, high ceiling Main Dining Room is filled with rich woods, Tuscan style hand-painted frescoes and huge picture windows. Il Fornaio welcomes groups in this main dining area. With groups of 10 to 100 guests.

Il Fornaio - Roseville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Restaurants in Roseville ›

Special Occasion (62)
Good for Groups (41)
Romantic (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (32)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Lunch (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the food, and service is outstandin ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

Love the food, and service is outstanding. Thank you Alberto. Also love the special attention from the manager.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Casual, Private Room, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My lady friends and I decided to spend ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

My lady friends and I decided to spend a Sunday afternoon shopping at the Galleria and wanted a place to get a glass of wine and some food at 4:30. I was pleasantly surprised to be able to get a reservation at that time and even more surprised to find out that we could order off the dinner menu. Having an open table reservation got us seated in the best part of the restaurant near the windows. We had a very enjoyable meal and even splurged for some chocolate for dessert. The veal scallopini special was very good and the fish and seafood dish was very generous. I found the wine list just the right size, enough options with out being overwhelming. Our server was the perfect mix of attentive but without interrupting a group of women who clearly had a lot to talk about.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, our server was not frien ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Unfortunately, our server was not friendly at all. The food was flavorless and not worth the price. The lamps and chandeliers were all covered with a lot of dust and that was a problem for my husband and daughter because they have severe allergies and asthma. I would not come back or recommen this restaurant to friends or family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

AC not working. Good food with mundane t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

AC not working. Good food with mundane trappings and service. Not bad, reasonable value, but not a home run by any means.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were very happy with the brunch items ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were very happy with the brunch items we enjoyed. Our two servers were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The air-conditioning system was not work ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The air-conditioning system was not working so it was uncomfortably warm in the restaurant. And then there was a very annoying fly that buzzed around our table. I wish there could have been something done about that.

The wait service was fine - attentive but not hovering.

The food was okay. I did notice that no one raved about his/her entree, nor did anyone say that they definitely "would order that again!"

All in all it's a nice restaurant but not superior.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner and Drinks were good, but it was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dinner and Drinks were good, but it was extremely warm in the restaurant which made it unpleasant for all of us.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

This was our first visit to Il Fornaio b ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our first visit to Il Fornaio but it won't be our last! They gave us free bruschetta for our first visit and free dessert for our anniversary. Our server was attentive, helpful, and thoughtful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I participated in the "pa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My friend and I participated in the "passport" promotion and found the whole experience delightful. Our waitress was helpful and made us feel special. Food was exceptional as well as interesting because it represents a particular region Nov Italy. Great idea by the restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food selection was excellent . Servi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food selection was excellent . Service was wonderful and the ambiance is superb. We had a chance to catch up with good friends and the experience was very warm and relaxed; no rushing through dinner. I highly recommend Il Fornaio - Roseville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

worst chairs i have ever sat in. I ache ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

worst chairs i have ever sat in. I ached so bad after sitting there for 1 1/2 hours that it was hard to walk when i got up. Worst, worst chairs. If you are going to have such bad chairs, get the service done faster so customers do not have to endure the pain so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service and food was great. I will b ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service and food was great. I will be back for other reasons many time I am sure. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience and the Server wa ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A wonderful experience and the Server was awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything in this review would have bee ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything in this review would have been excellent except the facility was very warm, hardly any air conditioning running, and they had oscillating fans working. Don't know if this is an everyday occurrence during the summer or just a temporary problem.

Our server, Annie, was excellent. The food was delicious and an excellent value, as we ordered from the three course tasting menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ordered from the August Regional menu, t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ordered from the August Regional menu, the lamb shank was a little dry and salty and tomatoe sauce and seabass did not suite my taste.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Italian, what I always love!!!! I ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very Italian, what I always love!!!! I feel like I am in Italy. Could improved the chairs in the patio area, the straw chairs are not too comfortable. The patio has some not so wonderful seating, due to some of the column locations; always have to check that out. Inside next to the fireplace was lovely one winter evening; and always remember that!!! Good service which was timely. My cousin had a birthday and they brought her some wonderful ice cream; thank you so much for making her have a special day.

A big Plus!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent but attention to deta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was excellent but attention to detail was less than we have had in the past. Decor and housekeeping left something to be desired (drapery falling down, lamp shades off kilter, etc). New waiter didn't know basic server etiquette. Our special occasion was not too special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Our server was a kick! Also please do r ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our server was a kick! Also please do run out of my favorite lemon candy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere...food was excellent. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Lovely atmosphere...food was excellent. However, service was very slow...probably because the restaurant was packed....the other couple had to wait quite a long time while we were having soup and tomato salad from special menu... My hubby had the lamb and said it was over cooked- no pink color and was not tender. Like the different menu choices for the featured regions of Italy. The other couple will be leaving for the Puglia region to teach English next month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Horrible service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Horrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Dining at Il Fornaio is always a pleasur ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Dining at Il Fornaio is always a pleasure. The food is consistently good and the ambience is unmatched. The only complaint I have is their red wine by the glass is served too warm. This is surprising as the restaurant, which for the most part serves authentic Italian meals, should know better. Other than that it still rates as one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fine, the ambience was f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was fine, the ambience was fine, but the food was mediocre. Very disappointing for an expensive birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Wonderful dining experience for all memb ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful dining experience for all members of or group of six. This being said, the noise level was very high -- an inconvenience for some in our group who are hard of hearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our hostess was horrible, I asked to be ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our hostess was horrible, I asked to be seated at a different table then we were originally seated at, we hadn't even sat down and there were lots of tables open, she told me that we could not move, this was the only table. Next, they have 1/2 booth 1/2 table seating, appalling for an "upscale" restaurant. The food was alright, not a big selection, but the service was decent. The restaurant was so loud it was difficult to have a conversation with the person next to me. Overall, horrible experience and will never go back. Period.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Went twice in one week. Food is good...w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Went twice in one week. Food is good...wait staffing never consistent. Couldn't get a water refill. No follow up on food. No Parmesan cheese added because waiter was slow. Better experience a few months ago.

They get a pass because food is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We had a 6:45 Reservation on a Saturday. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a 6:45 Reservation on a Saturday. It was wonderful to have Valet Parking. Arrived about 6:40 and we were taken to our Table. My guest did not like the location so asked if we could be moved. The Hostess was very pleasant and moved us to a more suitable location. We had a very nice dinner, the only complaint by my friend, was the waiter was supposed to bring cracked pepper for her salad. Other than that the Evening was very enjoyable. Thanks to "Open Table" for a last minute Reservation.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was not impressed at all. Noisy, food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was not impressed at all. Noisy, food was average could have gotten at any other Italian restaurant for a third the cost.

Topped my experience when we had to stop eating so two employees could take a table through the dining area right around our table.

Try Olive Garden!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The waiter was exceptional. *********** ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The waiter was exceptional. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

IlFornaio is one of the best upscale res ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

IlFornaio is one of the best upscale restaurants in the Roseville area. Everything is made from scratch and with quality ingredients. The service is excellent and the ambiance is great. Six of us dined there recently and every meal was delicious and tasty. We tried the tiramisu for dessert and it was wonderful. IlFornaio is the place to go for an upscale dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would not recommend this restaurant at ...

 
 (Singapore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant at all. I had the sea bass & it tasted all right but by the time i got home 45min to a hr later I had terrible cramps in my stomach. My husband had some kind of pasta and he said he would not go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Unfortunately very noisy. Not to good wh ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Unfortunately very noisy. Not to good when celebrating anniversary

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Birthday celebration was a huge success. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Birthday celebration was a huge success. As requested, the Champagne was on ice at the table. The food was the expected high standard as usual and our server was extremely attentive and although we were not high maintenance, she was on point all evening.

Thank you Il Fornaio and team!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Fornaio is an expensive restaurant fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Il Fornaio is an expensive restaurant for the food that you get. One of their good features was the bread that they served, a nice variety. Well, they have changed that to something that tastes like Wonder Bread with a slightly harder crust. I guess Corporate is always trying to make more profit, like a lot of these restaurants, they forget that the food is the most important thing. The main course was $28.00. No salad, no starch, terrible bread, no grated cheese. A piece of fish in a bowl. Won't be going back there. We had a really nice waitress, Anna. She gave good service, but we don't go out for service. We go out for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great service, they really took care of ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great service, they really took care of us. They had us at the anniversary table, my wife and I got married the day before, they really made the occasion special.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant for a family get togeth ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great Restaurant for a family get together. We celebrated our son's 21st birthday. The ravioli is delicious as were all the dishes ordered by the five of us. Desert was also very good. They have a good wine list. The service is Excellent (Thanks Annie)

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I always enjoy dining at Il ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy dining at Il Fornaio and this was no exception. I didn't want the full 3- course special but they were kind enough to let me order the sea bass in parchment paper because we were dining early. As I expected, it was wonderful and it was accompanied by broccolini, carrots and potatoes. My wife had the seafood linguini and loved it. As usual, the service was prompt and professional. We split the house salad and ended up with very generous portions. I had a glass of Oregon Pinot Gris and my wife had a Prosecco, both of which were quite nice. This turned out to be a perfect way to celebrate Father's Day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was disappointed with our dinners this v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Was disappointed with our dinners this visit. The calamari appetizer was good but the meals the four of us had were overcooked or drowning in sauce. My veal was tough and the fish was overcooked. We've been to this and many Il Fornaios throughout No. Cal. and hopefully this will be the exception.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Our food was excellent but the server re ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our food was excellent but the server really made the evening. She was attentive but not intrusive and made several suggestions that made our evening better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a dependable place to have a nice ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Always a dependable place to have a nice meal. With the regional menus we are never bored!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Il Fornaio Dis

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Enjoyed the ambiance, excellent quality entrees, though disappointed not enough fish to order grilled salmon filet. At least 3 guests wanted to order this dish. Waitress was polite but told us that the cook only had enough salmon for a small amount for two guests. So we ordered the entree with salmon, scallops, octopu, and sqid. Squid was a bit rubbery, perhaps overlooked, not very edible. Octopus was fried, over dry, probably overlooked as well. Food was well presented and good but service was slow, lots of empty tables, not a full house. We arrived @ 5:00 PM for Happy Hour in the Bar. We had reservations for 6 adults and 1 child @ 5:30 PM. We were seated @ 6:00 PM. Entrees with desserts arrived late, around 8:00 PM. Dinner finished @ 9:00 PM. This is the first time I have spent 4 hours in a restaurant, waiting for food to be served, with no entertainment. Both my husband and I got stomach cramps later that evening.

Perhaps fish was bad, contaminated, or someone did not wash their hands, prior to preparing food. I have enjoyed eating @ Il Fornaio in past, but was dissappointed in food preparation and delays in serving our guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.