About Il Fornaio - Palo Alto

520 Cowper Street
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio means "The Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10;00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hamilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 853-3888

Website:
http://ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering available. Please contact Event Coordinator for more details.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $10. In addition, there is also the hotel parking lot, as well as a public lot available.

Public Transit:
Cal Train

Executive Chef:
Michele Godina

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cappuccino - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Uova Del Fornaio Con Bruschetta - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
French Toast - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Eggs Benedict - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Vegetable Soup - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Insalata De Tonno - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Baba al Rhum - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Almond croissant - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
carpaccio - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Minestrone - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Caprese - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Bread - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
22Oz Porterhouse Steak - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Dessert Platter - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Cinnamon Twist - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Beef Carpaccio - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Crespelle Alla Crema Acida - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Mocha - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Tosto Francese - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
pancakes - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Zabaglione - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Sea bass - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Arugula, Shrimp & Avocado Salad - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Shrimp Risotto - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Cannela - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Maccaroni Al Formaggio - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Bellini - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Pan Roasted Petrale Sole - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Ravioli Di Magro Ai Carciofi - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Mussels - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Italian Renaissance - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Risotto Salciccia - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Tiramisu - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
NY Steak - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Lava Cake - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Bruschetta - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Salmon Pasta With Cream Sauce - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Veggie Omlette - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Barilotti Alla Pugliese  - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
French Toast w/ Seasonal Berries - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Salmon And Spinach Salad - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
Rosina Il Chocolata - Il Fornaio - Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Start your Christmas celebration at Il Fornaio! Join us on Christmas Eve and enjoy the festive atmosphere and your favorite Italian dish.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Kick off 2017 in style! Join us New Year's Eve and toast to happiness and health in the new year. Salute!

Private Dining

Celebrating 20 years in downtown Palo Alto, Il Fornaio offers 2 private dining rooms and a heated, covered, garden Piazza. Banquet menus for large parties features the best of Il Fornaio's authentic Italian cuisine and Chef Luigi's signature dishes.

Il Fornaio - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (17)
Casual (17)
Wood Oven (16)
See All
Great for Lunch (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Authentic (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (7)
Cozy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Healthy (6)
Family Style (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Romantic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
1645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been coming to this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

I have been coming to this restaurant for years -- decades, actually -- and perhaps that is the problem. I have watched it go steadily down hill. My dining experience on Wednesday (a birthday celebration) was a huge disappointment. Despite a reservation, we were seated in a distant corner of the restaurant which would have been better suited for storage space. Our waiter was disinterested in us and the food was mediocre at best. My entre tasted like it had been left over from the day before, then reheated and promoted as the daily special. I've given this restaurant more than enough chances to prove me wrong, but I keep leaving disappointed with all aspects of the experience. Now I think I've finally learned my lesson and will no longer be dining here. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

-always top notch and food is consistent ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

-always top notch and food is consistent and amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A once iconic restaurant but the food an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

A once iconic restaurant but the food and service have gone downhill over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Good selection of breakfast/brunch dishe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good selection of breakfast/brunch dishes. Pleasant service and quiet enough that my elderly parents could join in the conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

To begin with we set a reservation for 8 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

To begin with we set a reservation for 8:00pm and arrived on time. We approached the maitre de and his assistant and informed them that I had an open table reservations for 8pm. As usual I asked for my open table reservation and announced who I was.They both looked at us as though we were aliens newly arrived from Mars. Before they even responded another group came in after us for a party of six and they greeted them with acknowledgement and sat them down. Then they came back and talked about us right in front of us about where they could seat us. Then I piped up where is our table they asked us if we wanted to eat outside- I said no...5 minutes later they take us on a trip to the very back of the restaurant and there we sat for ten minutes watching the table of 6 who was seated before us get a waiter and bread etc...my wife was finally able to flag down a server who had not been assigned our table but nevertheless took care of us...he did a good job and we ordered and was served our dinner. However we noticed the Maitre D come back to our area with water to personally serve water to an adjacent table...he never came over to ask if we were ok and did we need anything? Incredibly bad service and rude to say the least. We also witnessed a a server bring back a tray of steaks etc. to our small area and perseverated over who to serve it to -never asking us if this was for us...this went on for over 5 minutes until this server figured out it was for a table in the back. This was supposed to be our thanksgiving dinner and a fun night out. And this restaurant was supposed to be highly rated? I don't know about that... and will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The food was excellent. It was an authe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was excellent. It was an authentic Thanksgiving meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving 2016, 3 people sitting at T ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving 2016, 3 people sitting at Table 15/1 at 6:38 p.m. Bottled water and bread arrived immediately. Sat 30 minutes waiting for the waiter to take our order for wine. Ordered wine which showed up at least 35 minutes later. Finally the soup arrived which was delicious. Empty soup bowls left on the table, asked a tall fellow in a red jacket would he please take the bowls. He took ONE bowl and then we had to give him the other two (he was in quite a rush). The table at this point was a mess - with bread crumbs etc. which NO ONE came to remove like it is always done in restaurants of this caliber. Next came the salad which we all agreed was bad. Again, no one came to take away the dirty bread plates or the salad plates. My husband then piled them up himself so someone would see this and take them away. NO ONE cleared our table of the crumbs, or all the plates piled up. Disgraceful to see the least. Our "family style" turkey dinner arrived in one big plate. There were six slices of turkey (two slices for each guest). The cranberries were NOT put in a separate serving bowl but were left to run on the plate into the food. Mashed potatoes were definitely only enough for one person and maybe a small child. We were given clean salad plates to put our dinner on. I gather they didn't give you dinner plates because then you would realize how little food there was to eat for $48 per person. There was no room for the turkey, green beans, potatoes and squash on these SALAD plates. You could only eat one or two things at at time. This was the oddest thing I have ever experienced with a Thanksgiving dinner. My husband finally told the waiter to take the dirty salad plates and bread plates away. Crumbs were still everywhere. At this point we lost all interest in staying one more minute and had the food boxed to take home. What could have been a lovely Thanksgiving dinner was a horrendous dining experience I just want to forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Il Fornaio in Palo Alto is consistently ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Il Fornaio in Palo Alto is consistently very good to excellent. They may not be the hippest, and they are a small chain, but the food quality, flavors, and creativity with regional Italian food keeps us coming back. That plus it's not overly crowded and the pricing is very reasonable for what you get.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Il Fornaio gave us the quiet, accessible ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Il Fornaio gave us the quiet, accessible table we asked for (because one of our party was elderly and used a walker), which was lovely. The food was good and the wait staff were attentive, pleasant, and helpful. We enjoyed a long, leisurely lunch, just what we wanted.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and ambiance were great, but ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The service and ambiance were great, but the food was ok. Not worth driving 25 minutes to dine.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

our waiter was outstanding, we had a gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

our waiter was outstanding, we had a great time at my friends 30th birthday gathering.

We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Only upsetting because we were getting a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Only upsetting because we were getting a salad - without bacon and requested a substitute of walnuts . The server said we have to charge you for Add-ons.

I said check with the manager since we eat here at least 4 to 10 times a month. She said she checked with the chef and it was OK this time.. but in the future they will have to charge. This is not a smart thing for a restaurant to do to their excellent customer - nickel and dime them

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Il Fonaio has always been a standby for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Il Fonaio has always been a standby for us, however our recent experience just wasn't as up to par. I don't know if it was an off night (Thursday) but everything was just OK, but not as well prepared as I expected. Will give it another chance otherwise we will have to find another regular place to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

MY only consistent gripe with this resta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

MY only consistent gripe with this restaurant—where I have many business meals—is that the service often forgets about you in the last third of the meal and you are then required to 'find' them for coffee, dessert, the check.

I have pointed this out several times over the years and it's still irritating.

Tags: Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We took our grandchildren (9 and 11) and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We took our grandchildren (9 and 11) and sat on the Patio where the temperature was maintained at a very comfortable level and the acoustics allow comfortable conversation. The kids always find there favorites, service was prompt and helpful, and the food and drink are great for adults as well. The monthly regional special menu always offers some new treats of food and wine. Always a favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, especially the dessert , was g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food, especially the dessert , was good . Home made pasta was really good , and the bread also, although it would be nice to have warm bread. Overall , for a special occasion , it is a nice place to go !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was disappointing - kids pizza and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was disappointing - kids pizza and mac and cheese were good, wife's pasta and my lamb shank were poor. In particular my lamb shank meat was mealy - like it was previously cooked stored them reheated at a later time. If eating here I suggest going for something cooked up on spot like scallapini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Comfortable, cozy seating with a beautif ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Comfortable, cozy seating with a beautiful outside terrace. Yummy pasta and attentive service. Valet parking is a big plus on a busy night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is usually good. However the short ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food is usually good. However the short ribs was terrible....burnt and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We have been coming to this ll Fornaio f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have been coming to this ll Fornaio for years and always choose it for special events because I has a festive atmosphere to accompany the great menu. This birthday was a pleasure...sitting by the fountain, great service, favorite entrees.. ! ! !

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Mediocre food. We got a table 25 minutes ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Mediocre food. We got a table 25 minutes after the reservation and we had made the reservation two days ahead of time. The table was near a restroom and an area that was being remodeled. Not a very pleasant experience attempting to ignore the long line outside the restroom

The food was mediocre at the best. Go some place else if you want to spend this kind of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

always reliably good, from pizza to sala ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

always reliably good, from pizza to salad to larger specials

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Appreciated good service, tasty food, wo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Appreciated good service, tasty food, wonderful selection of homemade pastas, seasonal specialities and other options.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Family Style, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having made a reservation I expected bet ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Having made a reservation I expected better seating. I had also mentioned it was my friends birthday. I did not necessarily expect a free dessert but a candle would have been nice. The service was very unevenly paced and the food was below average.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Our service was the worst....which was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Our service was the worst....which was such a disappointment as we have been patronizing this restaurant since it opened.

Our waitperson mixed up our order - brought the incorrect meal and forgot to put in a request from our table.

The overall service was inferior.

We were given comp cards for a free desert for our next visit - we feel the delay in our order and the incorrect meal should have been taken off of our bill - we were a party of 6.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

Long Wait For Our Not So Delicious Food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Long Wait For Our Not So Delicious Food - Although we've had many great meals at this Il Fornaio, this wasn't one of them. We took our daughter for dinner and the service was almost non-existent. We ordered an appetizer and salads, then waited for a really long time for our pasta entrees. The manager graciously apologized for the lengthy delay and eventually she herself brought our food. My pasta tasted like it had been sitting around a long time and just wasn't good. My husband's risotto was disappointing. Our daughter was just grateful not to be eating dorm food so she didn't mind so much. Anyway, some adjustments with staffing would probably fix this and I will give the restaurant another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Been a regular at Il Fornaio Palo Alto s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Been a regular at Il Fornaio Palo Alto since 1990's. Last visit was maybe 2 years ago.

This evening was the pits: we had a reservation for 3 people at 7:15, arrived and were seated promptly - but with a total lack of warmth. Then nothing. Nothing!! Absolutely nobody came to ask if we perhaps wanted to order something - for a good 45 minutes!!!

Unbelievable. In Palo Alto 2016 a restaurant can do this was beyond my imagination.

I actually waved my napkin over my head to get attention - to no avail. Absurd and funny, so I got up to grab any waiter to get us at least drinks. Finally somebody came but the total unresponsiveness and neglect continued throughout the evening.

I have never ever experienced anything like this in my life. We were among friends so just had a good laugh about the absurdity of it all but could easily imagine the embarrassment in a business setting.

Appetizers were ok, mixed seafood bland and the risotto was extremely salty with no other taste. Disappointing.

For $400 spent it was a disgrace,

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice evening, good food. We took our da ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Nice evening, good food. We took our daughter and several of her college classmates out for dinner and it was a pleasant experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The normal experience which features a r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The normal experience which features a regional menu (a region of Italy) where new dishes can be experienced or old favorites revisited. This night had some excellent choices from northern Italy which were quite similar to trattorias in the region. The wine was so-so and a bit over-priced. The service was very slow compared to normal (it is never really quick when a crowd is there). We waited almost 20 minutes between our pasta course being cleared away and the main course. Also slow to refill the oil and vinegar for the bread and slow to even bring the wine. It was a full house, but then it should have had more staff present. Some of the delays seemed to be linked to the kitchen having difficulty preparing. Like many of the waiters, ours was eager to please, but slow service was anything but pleasing.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

It's a great restaurant; my family and I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

It's a great restaurant; my family and I had a very good dining experience for my mother's birthday. The food portion was a lot bigger than I had thought. The vegetarian pizza was really good as it was baked in a wood-fired oven. The main courses seem to be a bit overdone though. My chicken was flavorful but a bit dry. My dad's tenderloin steak was ordered for medium well and it was drier than he had liked. Perhaps a bit of a sauce on the side would've helped. My wife's pasta was really good with lots of tenderly cooked and fresh mussels. The tomato sauce was spectacular. The restaurant seems to be on the side street and wasn't crowded on a Saturday night and we were able to have conversation. The open kitchen helped enhance the energy level in the dining room as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wait table personnel could be friendlier ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Wait table personnel could be friendlier. Please smile when greeting customers at the door and bring them to the table. I wonder why she kept staring (scary stare with no smile) at my party while gathering the menus. Courteous waiters. Price is steep but expected when dining in Il Fornaio.

Love the online reservation, but preferred the Il Fornaio's site (eventually linked back to OpenTable) because it's restaurant's site allows quarter to reservation while OpenTable allows hour sharp or 1/2 hour reservation.

Not really value for money as I can get same ambiance and food quality elsewhere with a cheaper price. Nothing out of ordinary that would me me want to be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

This place is under rated. I have never ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This place is under rated. I have never had a bad meal there. The menu changes often enough to be interesting.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We used to live two blocks down the stre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We used to live two blocks down the street from Il Fornaio. 25 years ago!! We loved it then; and haven't been back since. Until this week. We couldn't believe it was still open.

And still had the same menu cover. And the same delicious aroma. I'm too senile to remember if the menu has changed, though I doubt it has much. Our meal was delicious!

We highly recommend the place. 25 years and still putting out great Italian food!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, great service and a free d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Awesome food, great service and a free dessert for being a first time dinner to the Palo Alto location. I will go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a "go to" restaurant as it is a c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always a "go to" restaurant as it is a consistent performer. Staff is always great and accommodating. Food is very good and the monthly regional menu is a bright spot along with all the regulars on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was way too slow and the foo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The service was way too slow and the food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Nice setting for brunch. Well prepared ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Nice setting for brunch. Well prepared food though some items came out cold, which I blame on spotty service rather than the kitchen (we've had this issue before). Pleasant continental ambiance, quiet enough for group conversation. Breakfast items a bit pricey, but would have been worth it if they came out hot!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great service. great food. great time

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great service. great food. great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Were seated on the back patio as request ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Were seated on the back patio as requested. Eating inside during the summer is not as comfortable. Have had many good meals here but this last visit was given poor service rating. Not sure what the waiter's issue was but he didn't smile and was like a robot going through procedures. Too bad. We'll return but will hopefully get a happier server.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The pasta and salad were wonderful as us ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The pasta and salad were wonderful as usual. Their food is comfort food for us. We always go back when we feel like pasta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.