About Il Fornaio - Carmel

Ocean Avenue & Monte Verde St
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Carmel, Il Fornaio offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.
Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Il Fornaio - Carmel. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you Grazie e Ciao

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering services through our take-out retail area are available and include: • Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually. • Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any social or business meeting held at your location.
Larger off-site full service catering is also available by request. Please contact our on-site Event Coordinator for more details.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rodriguez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat the dad's in your family to a special day at Il Fornaio filled with authentic Italian elegance, a deliciously creative menu and memories for a lifetime!

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers distinct dining options for large or small groups. We will assist in creating a special menu perfectly suited for the needs of your group.

Il Fornaio - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (32)
good for groups (23)
fit for foodies (21)
See All
great for lunch (21)
neighborhood gem (21)
romantic (18)
great for brunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (14)
notable wine list (11)
kid-friendly (10)
hot spot (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
856 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Soul or Sole?

Dined on May 21, 2016

We live in Carmel and enjoy the bar at Il Fornaio. Our recent meal was very average. I had Petrole Sole and it was tasteless? Vegetables were cold? My wife had veal and it was a very pale grey color and just very average. Might stop by for drinks but I'll write this one off my list for dining as there are so many great eateries in Carmel.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not up to par

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food (dinner) just did not seem as good as it used to be, have not been here for about 1 year. Fish was over cooked, pasta was too "Al Dente", and the service was just So So. might be better for lunch?

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Joy Filled Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was my first time to Il Fornaio's Carmel location. In the past I enjoyed dining at their location in Sonoma/ Napa County. The food was excellent, with an extensive amount of choices including a brunch fare. Their prices were surprisingly reasonable especially being located in Carmel. They did not boost their fees for the Mother's Day venue. Our server was attentive and professional. We will definitely be back. The Restaurant's is located in the Pine Inn at the heart of Carmel by the Sea

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Mothers Day linch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful location, great food as always. We live in Santa Clara and usually go to iL Fornaio in San Jose so this was a nice change.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service.

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Great food and service.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Average Restaurant at Carmel

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Service was Ok, had to waive the server couple of times to get his attention. Food portions on the small side. Taste and quality superb. Comprehensive wine list

Tags: romantic
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Rude server

Dined on April 27, 2016

The server was so rude that we did not bother to order dinner. We paid for our drink and walked out..... we did enjoy Laherty just up the road though

food5
ambience4
service5

I was originally sat at the first table ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I was originally sat at the first table on the left. The hanging pendent light was very bright as well as the can light in the ceiling. Felt like having a spot light on me. They moved me over to a new table with better lighting. It was next to the kitchen so the banging dishes were pretty loud but it was late and not busy so liveable. My waiter was GREAT! I hate that I didn't get his name but every part of the meal was wonderful. The 5p

food3
ambience4
service3

The past two visits have begun poorly du ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The past two visits have begun poorly due to an unwelcoming hostess. She has an air of superiority and seems annoyed that you are there. Our waiter was nice but not very attentive. The food, while good, is simply not exceptional enough to put up with the irritation of getting past the hostess. I won't be back.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice Restaurant

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was very good as was the warmth of the restaurant. The food was fair. I had the brick chicken and it was extremely dry and did not have a lot of flavor. Others at our table said their food was good but not memorable.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Somewhat disapointed

Dined on April 22, 2016

My husbands starter and entree were wonderful. However I was disappointed in my pasta entree.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Even though Il Forniao is a chain, it remains a locals favorite for HH and dinning. Came there to enjoy a bday lunch outside w/a girlfriend. Waiter so kind and helpful throughout lunch. Our only regret is the loss of Spumoni for dessert. PLEASE get it back. Spumoni is we both came for lunch

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 12, 2016

We eat at the Il Fornaio restaurants in Marin and San Francisco frequently, so we were very disappointed in the food that was served at the Carmel location. We picked this restaurant specifically because we knew we could count on quality service and food. We were wrong.

Tags: kid-friendly
food1
ambience2
service3

I never write reviews but I had to on th ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

I never write reviews but I had to on this one! So outdated, food was terrible, lacked flavor, food was over cooked and even the kids thought the pasta was terrible. I will never go back here again.. Move with the times people!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Service, Cooking Show

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

By staying at the Pine Inn, our room came with two $40 vouchers to eat at Il Fornaio. Without these vouchers we probably would not have chosen this venue since we have dined at other Il Fornaio’s, however we were pleasantly delighted with the friendly, professional service and surprising flavors in this charming historic building. On our first visit we began with beet, arugula, and cheese salad plus the beef Carpaccio, followed by the linguine al mare, and the special pear ravioli. Each dish was delicious and just the perfect portion. The pear ravioli was particularly fantastic, and different from anything we had previously ordered at other Il Fornaio’s. The next day we just wanted to grab an early quick bite so we sat at the kitchen bar overlooking the cooks preparing the dishes. They were so talented and very hard workers. We could only wonder how exhausted they must be at the end of their shifts as each of the cooks never stopped moving. Sitting here was entertaining as we snacked on a Christina pizza of prosciutto, mushrooms, arugula drizzled with white truffle oil. The bread is freshly baked, served warm with olive oil and balsamic. The walnut bread is divine. In the morning we purchased caffe lattes and almond croissants in the bakery. Each day the restaurant was packed with happy dinners. Make a reservation. We loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great restaurant! Always a ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Consistently great restaurant! Always a great spot !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful visit.

Dined on April 7, 2016

We love the regional offerings. It was "quiet" the night we were there. Eder's service was impeccable. Looking around it looked understaffed even for a quiet night. Only two servers in the big dining room. The food was delicious. It was a great date night for us. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food and Professional Service

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Il Fornaio in Carmel. Service was very professional. Our server was familiar with the menu and able to tell me if a dish had dairy or not. Also, very attentive and friendly. Water glasses were filled. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Carmel. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Great bar atmosphere and food is always ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great bar atmosphere and food is always consistent. Service is always fantastic. This is your everyday anytime restaurant

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

my favorite in Carmel

Dined on April 1, 2016

We always have dinner here when we visit Carmel. We have never been disappointed in the food service and ambiance. we really look forward to it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Loved the atmosphere. It felt very livel ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Loved the atmosphere. It felt very lively and festive without drowning out our conversation. Cannelloni was superb. Veal scallopini with artichoke was a little bland. But overall we loved the restaurant and would definitely come back.

food4
ambience4
service4

As usual Il Fornaio is very reliable. Li ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

As usual Il Fornaio is very reliable. Linda (the manager) is friendly, attentive and watches that all goes as expected. The Passporto menu was very good and the 3 course option is wonderful. Will return again. I'm very comfortable there. My only regret was no Spumoni tonight.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. But first time I've don ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was great. But first time I've done a weekend and gone in later than I normally do. It was very buy and noisy, but all else was great.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Eats

Dined on March 9, 2016

Il Fornaio has been a consistently good restaurant chain at all the many locations I have tried. The Carmel restaurant had good food, an efficient friendly wait staff and the noise level was very low. A nice dining experience. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised!!

Dined on March 3, 2016

We were chosen from the restaurant as the table of the night that they bring free appetizers and dessert. We were pleasantly surprised and every thing we ordered was very good. We would definitely eat here the next time we are in Carmel.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant , food and service

Dined on February 24, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Atmosphere and decor excellent. Knowledgable staff of food and wine pairings. Excellent overall experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere!! Great service!!

Dined on February 17, 2016

Great atmosphere!! Great service!!

food4
ambience5
service5

The service here was amazing. Our waiter ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The service here was amazing. Our waiter knew what we wanted and didn't have to really ask for anything. He recommended my dish and it was delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got married there in September. Great for weddings

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food and drinks for 40 guest with set-up inside and out and service...$3600. Plus my husband and I got a very special free tasting of as many items as we wanted to try. Kim the special events coordinator couldn't be more accommodating! She helped with everything, from set up to tear down. It was the most gorgeous day to be outside on their patio. The musician I hired, Bryan Diamond was like a human jukebox. I highly recommend this venue for any special occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

2nd. time for dinning

Dined on February 14, 2016

We live in Carmel by the Sea and have tried many restaurants over the years. We have had great success with this restaurant for dinner and brunch. We will return again!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant in Carmel

Dined on February 14, 2016

Il Fornaio has it all -- breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner. The setting, the service & the food is always wonderful. It's always been our "go to" place in Carmel.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and great service every time. Love this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My best italian restaurant

Dined on January 31, 2016

We love the pizzas and it's a must to see them baking in the special "oven" and we appreciate the pasta too. A very good address to go with friends, kids ...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service2

Food was not tasty at all. We were very ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Food was not tasty at all. We were very disappointed with the seafood stuffed ravioli and pasta with chicken.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Friendly Service And Very Good Food

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

The team at the Il Fornaio Carmel were so gracious and accommodating. We arrived on a rainy evening early for our reservation. We asked to have a drink in an area for special dinners. The hosts were more than happy to seat us in this area and our waiter was very quick to come over and take our order and place it before happy hour ended. I talked to the hosts and said we would be ready to move to our table soon and they were happy to hold the table while we finished our pre-dinner appetizers. This is wonderful service and often hard to find these days because of the perceived need by some to rush through life and move on to the next task. I am so glad that the Il Fornaio Carmel team were so good to us and we, in turn, gave a larger gratuity. We will definitely return !

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Choice

Dined on January 21, 2016

Food was delicious and the portions were adequate to generous.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

What's not to like !!

Dined on January 18, 2016

We have been visiting Il Fornaio in Carmel for years. We enjoy continental breakfast and coffee in their circular coffee bar room, lunch and dinner in their beautiful dining room, or outside on their deck on warm days. The service, food and wine are consistently very good. What's not to like !

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Vibrant!

Dined on January 18, 2016

A great restaurant with a really vibrant atmosphere. The set menu with the x3 Italian wine pairings was fun too.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

only 1 disappointment

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

We went there for my birthday celebration - not late either. Apparently they had had a big party. Restaurant was emptly & they let all the servers go home except one. Service was still great by Carmielo. But when it was time for dessert - no choc. cake, no daark choc. ice cream... and not even 1 biscotti left. ... That ain't fair to do to someone on her birthday!! Everything was great otherwise.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a great time

Dined on January 1, 2016

"I loved this place. I definitely would return to try more dishes. We had some wine and appetizers at the bar to start our night. The hostess was kind from the moment we walked in. The server was very professional and very polite. Food was excellent. "

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.