About Il Fornaio - Carmel

Ocean Avenue & Monte Verde St
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Carmel, Il Fornaio offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.
Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Il Fornaio - Carmel. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you Grazie e Ciao

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering services through our take-out retail area are available and include: • Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually. • Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any social or business meeting held at your location.
Larger off-site full service catering is also available by request. Please contact our on-site Event Coordinator for more details.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rodriguez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Linguine Mare Chiaro
  • Conchiglie Al Pollo
  • Ravioli al granchio con riduzione di bisque, pomodorini e melanzane
  • Maryland Crabcakes & Poached Eggs
  • Margharita Pizza
Linguine Mare Chiaro
Conchiglie Al Pollo
Ravioli al granchio con riduzione di bisque, pomodorini e melanzane
Maryland Crabcakes & Poached Eggs
Margharita Pizza

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers distinct dining options for large or small groups. We will assist in creating a special menu perfectly suited for the needs of your group.

Il Fornaio - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (27)
good for groups (24)
neighborhood gem (23)
See All
great for lunch (19)
fit for foodies (18)
romantic (13)
kid-friendly (12)
notable wine list (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for brunch (10)
hot spot (8)
scenic view (7)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
Sort By:
Newest
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere and wonderful Italian f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great atmosphere and wonderful Italian food. The wine pairings were reasonably priced and outstanding value. For sure we will,dine at Il Fornaio again when we come back to Carmel. I had the pasta and my gal had the lamb filets. Both were thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter was fantastic and very attent ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter was fantastic and very attentive especially to our needs and the needs of our children. Everyone's food was good except for one pasta dish that was under cooked. But overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Disappointing We dined at Il Fornaio Fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Disappointing

We dined at Il Fornaio Friday night and will not return. We have been eaten at the restaurant numerous times and it was OK for a chain. This time it was bad. The caesar salad was overdressed and the dressing had no flavor. I don't know what it was but it wasn't a caesar dressing. The black cod was underdone with little flavor. There are many other dining options in Carmel which are have much better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I was disappointed that my husband and i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I was disappointed that my husband and i were celebrating our 35 wedding anniversary along with our two grown daughters and their husband. It took about an hour or more to get our food. I dont feel that the testaurant was ready for all the customers. The waiters were standing at the food prep area waiting for food to come out.some of our food came out cold. They should have comp us some free food or appetizers while we were waiting. They also ran out of the complimentary bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We love this location, this wonderful re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love this location, this wonderful restaurant. My wife and I dined there over the 4th of July weekend and had just the best time. In fact, we again had lunch, dinner, brunch and dinner again here all in the same weekend. It's that good. The Chef here is amazing, Gabriel. We got to interact with him and Juan, their Senior Sous Chef while sitting at the counter in front of the kitchen (which I highly recommend). The people here couldn't be nicer and at every step, you could see how much they are concerned that you're having a great experience. Simply wonderful. I can't recommend this location enough if you're in Carmel.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had Veal Scallopine with artichokes an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I had Veal Scallopine with artichokes and lemons. I had them hold the potatoes and added extra veges. It was delish!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good small portions. very touri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was good small portions. very touristy. Nice place

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Brunch was delicious! Service excellent.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Brunch was delicious! Service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food in general is average to mediocre. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food in general is average to mediocre. Lack of flavoring in most courses is the biggest problem--soup, salads, vegetables. As long as there are a lot of tourists in Carmel with minimal competition, they will do well.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

We werestuck in traffic coming thru Sali ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We werestuck in traffic coming thru Salinas and called Anthony. He told us not to worry, he would take care of us. He greeted us as old friends when we arrived and made our luncheon an outstanding experience. Thank you, Tony and Fernando. We'll be back soon!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not the best food. If you really wan ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Was not the best food. If you really want to good Italian food go to Casanova's instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Always Good

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We have been here before and it continues not to disappoint. Both food and service were very good. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Margaret

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a lovely time for an 8th grade graduation party for 8 adults and one child. Food was great, service was wonderful. Everyone really happy!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is chain restaurant with limited sele ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

It is chain restaurant with limited selection and in its decline.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Our family's favorite go-to spot in Carmel.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Tasty, beautiful service, peaceful place for lunch in the middle of beautiful Carmel.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table of Honor

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

My boyfriend, who just moved here from the UK, and I stopped at Il Fornaio for dinner on our day trip. Upon arrival, the hostess asked us if this was our first visit. We said yes, and were lead to a table in a beautiful sun room. We were told that we were the table of honor since this was our first visit, and that we would be given complimentary tasting plates. We had bottled water, a pre-appetizer, an appetizer, a sample entree, and a dessert in addition to our mains. It was amazing! The staff was so kind and welcoming, not to mention efficient. We were asked to sign a guest book while drinking our after dinner coffee, and couldn't say enough great things!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal but lousy service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My fiance and I went to have brunch with his cousin on a Saturday morning. There were next to no people in the place so I would have thought our service would have been better. Our waiter took our drink order right away and then disappeared for a long time. I would say it was about 15 minutes before we got our orders in. He did check on us a couple of time but did not see us as a priority at all. I would give this place another chance because his cousin mentioned she had many great experiences but I am not sure I would expect anything amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

A nice find...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We were glad to have found this place on OpenTable. It's a little out of the way, but that was part of it's charm. Lots of locals eating here. Food was great and the staff was a delight. Would definitely drop in here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Soul or Sole?

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We live in Carmel and enjoy the bar at Il Fornaio. Our recent meal was very average. I had Petrole Sole and it was tasteless? Vegetables were cold? My wife had veal and it was a very pale grey color and just very average.

Might stop by for drinks but I'll write this one off my list for dining as there are so many great eateries in Carmel.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This restaurant is extremely nice - wit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

This restaurant is extremely nice - with a very upscale chic vibe. It is not uncommon to see women walk in with their cute little dogs in their expensive purses while you are eating. It seems very much what you would expect to find in Carmel.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Not up to par

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food (dinner) just did not seem as good as it used to be, have not been here for about 1 year. Fish was over cooked, pasta was too "Al Dente", and the service was just So So. might be better for lunch?

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

A Joy Filled Mother's Day

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was my first time to Il Fornaio's Carmel location. In the past I enjoyed dining at their location in Sonoma/ Napa County. The food was excellent, with an extensive amount of choices including a brunch fare. Their prices were surprisingly reasonable especially being located in Carmel. They did not boost their fees for the Mother's Day venue. Our server was attentive and professional. We will definitely be back.

The Restaurant's is located in the Pine Inn at the heart of Carmel by the Sea

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Mothers Day linch!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful location, great food as always. We live in Santa Clara and usually go to iL Fornaio in San Jose so this was a nice change.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Average Restaurant at Carmel

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Service was Ok, had to waive the server couple of times to get his attention. Food portions on the small side. Taste and quality superb. Comprehensive wine list

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Rude server

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The server was so rude that we did not bother to order dinner. We paid for our drink and walked out..... we did enjoy Laherty just up the road though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

I was originally sat at the first table ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I was originally sat at the first table on the left. The hanging pendent light was very bright as well as the can light in the ceiling. Felt like having a spot light on me. They moved me over to a new table with better lighting. It was next to the kitchen so the banging dishes were pretty loud but it was late and not busy so liveable. My waiter was GREAT! I hate that I didn't get his name but every part of the meal was wonderful. The 5p

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The past two visits have begun poorly du ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The past two visits have begun poorly due to an unwelcoming hostess. She has an air of superiority and seems annoyed that you are there. Our waiter was nice but not very attentive. The food, while good, is simply not exceptional enough to put up with the irritation of getting past the hostess. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Nice Restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was very good as was the warmth of the restaurant. The food was fair. I had the brick chicken and it was extremely dry and did not have a lot of flavor. Others at our table said their food was good but not memorable.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Somewhat disapointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

My husbands starter and entree were wonderful. However I was disappointed in my pasta entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Neighborhood Gem

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Even though Il Forniao is a chain, it remains a locals favorite for HH and dinning.

Came there to enjoy a bday lunch outside w/a girlfriend. Waiter so kind and helpful throughout

lunch.

Our only regret is the loss of Spumoni for dessert. PLEASE get it back. Spumoni is we both came for lunch

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We eat at the Il Fornaio restaurants in Marin and San Francisco frequently, so we were very disappointed in the food that was served at the Carmel location. We picked this restaurant specifically because we knew we could count on quality service and food. We were wrong.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

I never write reviews but I had to on th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I never write reviews but I had to on this one! So outdated, food was terrible, lacked flavor, food was over cooked and even the kids thought the pasta was terrible. I will never go back here again.. Move with the times people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Excellent Service, Cooking Show

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

By staying at the Pine Inn, our room came with two $40 vouchers to eat at Il Fornaio. Without these vouchers we probably would not have chosen this venue since we have dined at other Il Fornaio’s, however we were pleasantly delighted with the friendly, professional service and surprising flavors in this charming historic building. On our first visit we began with beet, arugula, and cheese salad plus the beef Carpaccio, followed by the linguine al mare, and the special pear ravioli. Each dish was delicious and just the perfect portion. The pear ravioli was particularly fantastic, and different from anything we had previously ordered at other Il Fornaio’s. The next day we just wanted to grab an early quick bite so we sat at the kitchen bar overlooking the cooks preparing the dishes. They were so talented and very hard workers. We could only wonder how exhausted they must be at the end of their shifts as each of the cooks never stopped moving. Sitting here was entertaining as we snacked on a Christina pizza of prosciutto, mushrooms, arugula drizzled with white truffle oil. The bread is freshly baked, served warm with olive oil and balsamic. The walnut bread is divine. In the morning we purchased caffe lattes and almond croissants in the bakery. Each day the restaurant was packed with happy dinners. Make a reservation. We loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently great restaurant! Always a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Consistently great restaurant!

Always a great spot !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful visit.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We love the regional offerings. It was "quiet" the night we were there. Eder's service was impeccable. Looking around it looked understaffed even for a quiet night. Only two servers in the big dining room. The food was delicious. It was a great date night for us. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Professional Service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Il Fornaio in Carmel. Service was very professional. Our server was familiar with the menu and able to tell me if a dish had dairy or not. Also, very attentive and friendly. Water glasses were filled. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Carmel. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great bar atmosphere and food is always ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great bar atmosphere and food is always consistent. Service is always fantastic. This is your everyday anytime restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

my favorite in Carmel

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We always have dinner here when we visit Carmel. We have never been disappointed in the food service and ambiance. we really look forward to it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the atmosphere. It felt very livel ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Loved the atmosphere. It felt very lively and festive without drowning out our conversation. Cannelloni was superb. Veal scallopini with artichoke was a little bland. But overall we loved the restaurant and would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.