About Il Fornaio - Carmel

Ocean Avenue & Monte Verde St
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Carmel, Il Fornaio offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.
Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Il Fornaio - Carmel. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you Grazie e Ciao

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering services through our take-out retail area are available and include: • Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually. • Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any social or business meeting held at your location.
Larger off-site full service catering is also available by request. Please contact our on-site Event Coordinator for more details.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rodriguez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Linguine Mare Chiaro
  • Conchiglie Al Pollo
  • Ravioli al granchio con riduzione di bisque, pomodorini e melanzane
  • Maryland Crabcakes & Poached Eggs
  • Margharita Pizza
Linguine Mare Chiaro
Conchiglie Al Pollo
Ravioli al granchio con riduzione di bisque, pomodorini e melanzane
Maryland Crabcakes & Poached Eggs
Margharita Pizza

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers distinct dining options for large or small groups. We will assist in creating a special menu perfectly suited for the needs of your group.

Il Fornaio - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

Good for Groups (24)
Special Occasion (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Great for Lunch (18)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Romantic (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Business Meals (4)
Casual (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
912 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Every visit to Carmel includes ll Forna ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Every visit to Carmel includes ll Fornaio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice dinner, friendly staff. Pretty set ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Nice dinner, friendly staff.

Pretty setting looking out into the garden.

Bar was also nice, good selection of wine & cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My wife and I decided on a day to Carme ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

My wife and I decided on a day to Carmel and we frequent the Il Fornaio in Sacramento...and love it. We weren't disappointed. Il Fornaio in Carmel held up to the high standards we expected. Food was fantastic and the staff was kind, courteous and efficient. Highly recommend!

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here with my wife for our anniversa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went here with my wife for our anniversary dinner. The ambiance was perfect for us and the food we ordered was delicious. Will definitely be back to a location closer to us in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was appalling and dinner too ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was appalling and dinner took 3 hours. I would never ever return. The "Butternut Squash Soup was actually mostly mushroom and tasted terrible

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Outstanding! I would go back on my next ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding! I would go back on my next visit to Carmel!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was very nice but I had the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The ambiance was very nice but I had the pasta special with lobster and the lobster was dried out and had no taste. My associates salmon was dried out as well and he commented that we should seek out another restaurant in the future. The Carmel location used to be one of my favorite restaurants although it appears that the quality of the food is clearly in decline.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Had to ask waiter for something more tha ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Had to ask waiter for something more than once, Monday staff seemed less experienced.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Nice place. Went with my family and fr ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Nice place. Went with my family and friends while visiting Carmel. I enjoyed the noise and bustle because I could relax and not worry about my kids being too loud. Great wine list and everyone enjoyed their food. After a week of business dinners, my dinner here was probably the most relaxing and enjoyable of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food overpriced for quality, service hor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food overpriced for quality, service horrible and setting not what expected for a Carmel restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Carlos was terrific.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Carlos was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was a great place to have good food w ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was a great place to have good food with friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always excellent food and service as thi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Always excellent food and service as this was our 14th year enjoying their delicious food!

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Healthy, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal, waitress very helpful wi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Delicious meal, waitress very helpful with dietary allergy needs. It's a favorite spot when in Carmel for a fun, family dinner.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the worst Italian restaurants out ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of the worst Italian restaurants out there. Bad food and bad service.....what else can one say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was very quick and well done but se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was very quick and well done but service left a lot to be desired. Waiter commented on my guest's hunger, 'marveling' at how she finished all her food, upsetting her greatly. When he wasn't making uncomfortable comments, he was ignoring the table. Good food and ambiance but not worth the uncomfortably bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Il Fornaio seems to thrive on mediocrity ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Il Fornaio seems to thrive on mediocrity. The minestrone soup was pretty much tasteless, pizza pretty good and the service was decent. Overall, just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Restaurant offered a four course Sicilia ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Restaurant offered a four course Sicilian meal. Three of the four courses were great. The main course was a veal and eggplant dish that featured dry and tasteless veal. I expect the dish spent some time under the warmer. In their defense, the restaurant was super busy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Large portions and great staff. Very enj ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Large portions and great staff. Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poorly managed store. Long time for serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Poorly managed store. Long time for server to take order and bring. 30 min later told our party entrees were sold out had to switch to chicken which was over cooked and dry. While enjoying our wine manager asks us to pay for bill so she can send waiter home and save labor. No one asks us if we wanted desert or coffee until we prompted them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

My wife and I enjoy going to Il Fornaio ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My wife and I enjoy going to Il Fornaio when we visit Carmel, and our guest also enjoy the food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great viewing on concours drive day from ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great viewing on concours drive day from the back room or porch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great, service was superb. We ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was great, service was superb. We were visiting the area during Concours d'Elegance week and had no idea where to eat. Found this gem by using the Open Table app and looking at reviews, and were pleasantly surprised to get a table for two at a peak time on Wednesday evening. We found the atmosphere to be pleasantly vibrant and very welcoming for out of towners. We would definitely recommend Il Fornaio to anyone looking for a comfortable Italian restaurant. If we lived in the area, we would probably eat here at least once a week.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed in our dinner but w ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were disappointed in our dinner but we had great food. Last time to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Absolutely great dining and fantastic ch ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Absolutely great dining and fantastic check-in staff!

Our reservation was originally for 8 people and during the day it kept changing. I advised the check-in hostess and manager (?) that the people count kept changing and did so even 5 minutes before our reservation. They were so cool about this even though the restaurant was getting very full, as it was after a big car event in Carmel.

Kudos to wonderful customer service, attentive wait staff, delicious food and an overall excellent dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very very slow - took over an hour for o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very very slow - took over an hour for our orders to be served. They were very apologetic but we were very hungry and needed performance not regrets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

I eat at this restaurant every time I vi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I eat at this restaurant every time I visit Carmel but was disappointed this time. Once seated, it took a while for the waiter to come. He did not offer to refill my water until I was just getting ready to leave. I like the food but the layout of this restaurant isn't to my liking. It seems very "big" and open. My preference is for more privacy but they don't have booths - just lots of tables & chairs everywhere. I think this will probably be my last visit unless I can find another restaurant in Carmel that I like better.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

My meal was a pasta special and it was r ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My meal was a pasta special and it was really disappointing. Capellini with eggplant and cheese and the presentation and taste was not good at all. I'm not much of a cook and could have done better if I cooked it myself. Very disappointing. And over priced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Excellent food and ambiance. A "Must Exp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. A "Must Experience" on all trips to Carmel!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I would rate food as good but not anythi ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I would rate food as good but not anything special. Wine list is average. Service was slow. Good location and nice environment in the restaurant. I would be back but not right away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

My date and I chose Il Fornaio as our se ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My date and I chose Il Fornaio as our second choice for Italian dining as our first choice did not have any reservation openings available. Il Fornaio is a good stand by and overall we had a nice dinner. My experience with Il Fornaio in Seattle and Los Angeles has been similar.

Our server seemed a little new as she was unfamiliar with a cocktail order we gave. Later she took our order and then came back to apologize to my date that the dish he had ordered was not being served that evening because the batch of cannelloni the kitchen made earlier didn't turn out well.

Overall the food was good but not particularly remarkable, price very reasonable, and service good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Authentic Italian food Nice atmosphere ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Authentic Italian food

Nice atmosphere and very friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with our daughter and our 2 gran ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We went with our daughter and our 2 grandkids there - and they were so accommodating and

very friendly. The kids ( 3 and 5 years old) loved it when they got pizza dough to play with! This was a great success. Everyone also loved the food - and the have a remarkable wine list.

We are in the Carmel area for 2 months - and already have been to this restaurant the 5th time - and are planing going again soon. It feels you are visiting family!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had dinner with my family on a short vac ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

had dinner with my family on a short vacation to Carmel.... loved food, service and ambiance. Loved that the fresh flower vendor came in and half the staff purchased flowers for someone special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We always love going to this restaurant, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We always love going to this restaurant, the food & service is always great. Very friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was good. Had a reservation but had ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good was good. Had a reservation but had to wait for a table even though there were many empty tables. Seemed rushed. Had to request water three times.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great atmosphere and wonderful Italian f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great atmosphere and wonderful Italian food. The wine pairings were reasonably priced and outstanding value. For sure we will,dine at Il Fornaio again when we come back to Carmel. I had the pasta and my gal had the lamb filets. Both were thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter was fantastic and very attent ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter was fantastic and very attentive especially to our needs and the needs of our children. Everyone's food was good except for one pasta dish that was under cooked. But overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Disappointing We dined at Il Fornaio Fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Disappointing

We dined at Il Fornaio Friday night and will not return. We have been eaten at the restaurant numerous times and it was OK for a chain. This time it was bad. The caesar salad was overdressed and the dressing had no flavor. I don't know what it was but it wasn't a caesar dressing. The black cod was underdone with little flavor. There are many other dining options in Carmel which are have much better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I was disappointed that my husband and i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I was disappointed that my husband and i were celebrating our 35 wedding anniversary along with our two grown daughters and their husband. It took about an hour or more to get our food. I dont feel that the testaurant was ready for all the customers. The waiters were standing at the food prep area waiting for food to come out.some of our food came out cold. They should have comp us some free food or appetizers while we were waiting. They also ran out of the complimentary bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.