About Il Fornaio - Carmel

Ocean Avenue & Monte Verde St
Carmel, CA 93921
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Carmel, Il Fornaio offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.
Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Il Fornaio - Carmel. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you Grazie e Ciao

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 622-5100

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering services through our take-out retail area are available and include: • Boxed Lunch – sandwich, salad, Italian cookie and drink packaged individually. • Platters – pastries, sandwiches, salads or cookies. Perfect for any social or business meeting held at your location.
Larger off-site full service catering is also available by request. Please contact our on-site Event Coordinator for more details.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rodriguez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Linguine Mare Chiaro - Il Fornaio - Carmel, Carmel, CA
  • Conchiglie Al Pollo - Il Fornaio - Carmel, Carmel, CA
  • Ravioli al granchio con riduzione di bisque, pomodorini e melanzane - Il Fornaio - Carmel, Carmel, CA
  • Maryland Crabcakes & Poached Eggs - Il Fornaio - Carmel, Carmel, CA
  • Margharita Pizza - Il Fornaio - Carmel, Carmel, CA
Linguine Mare Chiaro - Il Fornaio - Carmel, Carmel, CA
Conchiglie Al Pollo - Il Fornaio - Carmel, Carmel, CA
Ravioli al granchio con riduzione di bisque, pomodorini e melanzane - Il Fornaio - Carmel, Carmel, CA
Maryland Crabcakes & Poached Eggs - Il Fornaio - Carmel, Carmel, CA
Margharita Pizza - Il Fornaio - Carmel, Carmel, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Start your Christmas celebration at Il Fornaio! Join us on Christmas Eve and enjoy the festive atmosphere and your favorite Italian dish.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Kick off 2017 in style! Join us New Year's Eve and toast to happiness and health in the new year. Salute!

Private Dining

Il Fornaio offers distinct dining options for large or small groups. We will assist in creating a special menu perfectly suited for the needs of your group.

Il Fornaio - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

Special Occasion (20)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (12)
Casual (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
People Watching (7)
Business Meals (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Scenic View (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
941 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a 5-star consistent! Save room fo ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a 5-star consistent! Save room for spumoni ice cream - simply the BEST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noisy. Decent italian food.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Noisy. Decent italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food is always very creative and exc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is always very creative and excellent quality. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and provides excellent service. We always make it a point to include at least one meal here on every trip to Carmel. You will not be disappointed if you also include Il Fornaio in your trip!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good...Always spot on! Great se ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Always good...Always

spot on! Great service, and food. We had a lovely Birthday Dinner❣️

E

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe because it was because we had 8:00 ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Maybe because it was because we had 8:00 reservations on Thanksgiving and the kitchen was ready to go home, but my mixed seafood grill was inedible except for two shrimp. The scallops were not fresh (I actually spit it out because I was afraid I would get sick) and the sea bass was dry and had a not-so-fresh taste as well. The yams were undercooked and chewy. Since I had only 2 shrimp and some overcooked yams for dinner, I tried the pumpkin pie for dessert and was sorely disappointed in the tiny, not very tasty slice. One bright spot was that my daughter's vodka sauce pasta and minestrone soup were very good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The place we normally go for Thanksgivin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The place we normally go for Thanksgiving didn't have any convenient appointment times left so we took a chance on Il Fornaio. My significant other ordered the mixed seafood plate which was a good choice. I unfortunately ordered the traditional Thanksgiving meal. Turkey loaf? They couldn't be bothered with actually roasting a turkey apparently. There was absolutely nothing on my plate that said they cared about their customers. I spent a month in Italy last summer and never encountered this type indifference in the restaurants there. It seems like some restaurants recognize a holiday celebration and others just go through the motions. I would put Il Fornaio in the later class.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great for family setting with a variety ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great for family setting with a variety of options. Only one slight problem: ordered an Arnold Palmer with cranberry instead of their awful lemonade. I was double charged for an Arnold Palmer, but remediated the issue by taking the unscrupulous charge out of the server's tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Romero was the best. Great se ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our waiter Romero was the best. Great service. It was great place to enjoy our last night

of a long vacation in Camel.

Tags: Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent & service very good b ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food was excellent & service very good but the time between the salad course & the entree was very long. We arrive early (at 5pm ) and seated immediately. It wasn't busy when we arrive so shouldn't have taken so long between courses.

When food arrived, it was hot and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious. Great location righ ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was delicious. Great location right on Ocean Ave. our server, busboy, and hostess were all great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy recipients of Pt Lobos Foundation ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Happy recipients of Pt Lobos Foundation Raffel. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A 10 in our book. The setting,food and s ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A 10 in our book. The setting,food and service was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 5:30pm reservation for our fami ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a 5:30pm reservation for our family of 4 with a 3yo and a 10mo. We ordered from the kids' menu for our toddler and we chose french fries as antipasti and bolognese pasta as main course. It took 30+min to get her pasta and she got the fries after 40min. I would say that this restaurant is not really family friendly even if they have a kids'menu. It made things a bit difficult for us. The adults food was nice, not amazing but decent and service was quick for the Piemont 3 courses menu.

Definitely a better fit for a friendly gathering or a romantic dinner than a family evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was amazing!

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Italian restaurant chain in the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The best Italian restaurant chain in the country. Consistently great food, service and value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

First time at Fornaio in Carmel and was ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

First time at Fornaio in Carmel and was not disappointed. Service was excellent, great surroundings, and the food was very good. Wine choices were somewhat limited and a little pricey, but all in all I would recommend this place!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

While we are regulars at this restaurant ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

While we are regulars at this restaurant, today exceeded our expectations. It was Carmel's 100th birthday celebration with a parade. We were fortunate enough to get a table for 6 outside on the patio which overlooked the street below, with an unimpeded view of the parade. A once in a lifetime experience!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Wood Oven, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Year after year: lives up to the Il Forn ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Year after year: lives up to the Il Fornaio standard of fresh, appealing real food!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very nice. Great service

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very nice. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Il Fornaio remains our favorite restaura ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Il Fornaio remains our favorite restaurant in Carmel, and that says a lot as there are so many. They do it all -- breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner & the best happy hour in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner celebrating anniversary. Ho ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great dinner celebrating anniversary. Hostess and waiter were great! Place was packed but did not hinder service. Great food and wine recommendations. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My salad only came after we asked waiter ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My salad only came after we asked waiter and my party had all eaten theirs. My pasta was wArm and presented nicely but bland flavor. I wouldn't order again. I will continue breakfast there but not dinners too pricey

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Carmel's Il Fo is our "go-to" place for ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Carmel's Il Fo is our "go-to" place for brunch , happy hour & take-out pizza. The food is always delicious & fresh, the ambience very comfortable, and the servers friendly & efficient.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Off night at Il Fornio, veal scallopini ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Off night at Il Fornio, veal scallopini was really tough and chewy. Cannelloni was very soupy. Dessert was great, server was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

We have attended once a month (at least) ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have attended once a month (at least) for the past five years, for the monthly regional menus. It is wonderful to taste the foods and wines of the various regions of Italy, regions that differ a great deal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We frequent this hot spot in Carmel. Als ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We frequent this hot spot in Carmel. Also in Corte Madera. The food is always excellent and we always a a great experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Historic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very HOT inside. No air condition ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 26, 2016

It was very HOT inside. No air conditioning or fans. We were sweating and it wasn't very pleasant. But the food was ok and the price wasn't too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious regional tasting menu and acco ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Delicious regional tasting menu and accompanying wine flight

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every visit to Carmel includes ll Forna ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Every visit to Carmel includes ll Fornaio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice dinner, friendly staff. Pretty set ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Nice dinner, friendly staff.

Pretty setting looking out into the garden.

Bar was also nice, good selection of wine & cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My wife and I decided on a day to Carme ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2016

My wife and I decided on a day to Carmel and we frequent the Il Fornaio in Sacramento...and love it. We weren't disappointed. Il Fornaio in Carmel held up to the high standards we expected. Food was fantastic and the staff was kind, courteous and efficient. Highly recommend!

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here with my wife for our anniversa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went here with my wife for our anniversary dinner. The ambiance was perfect for us and the food we ordered was delicious. Will definitely be back to a location closer to us in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was appalling and dinner too ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was appalling and dinner took 3 hours. I would never ever return. The "Butternut Squash Soup was actually mostly mushroom and tasted terrible

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Outstanding! I would go back on my next ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding! I would go back on my next visit to Carmel!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was very nice but I had the ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The ambiance was very nice but I had the pasta special with lobster and the lobster was dried out and had no taste. My associates salmon was dried out as well and he commented that we should seek out another restaurant in the future. The Carmel location used to be one of my favorite restaurants although it appears that the quality of the food is clearly in decline.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Had to ask waiter for something more tha ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Had to ask waiter for something more than once, Monday staff seemed less experienced.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Nice place. Went with my family and fr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Nice place. Went with my family and friends while visiting Carmel. I enjoyed the noise and bustle because I could relax and not worry about my kids being too loud. Great wine list and everyone enjoyed their food. After a week of business dinners, my dinner here was probably the most relaxing and enjoyable of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food overpriced for quality, service hor ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food overpriced for quality, service horrible and setting not what expected for a Carmel restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Carlos was terrific.

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Carlos was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was a great place to have good food w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was a great place to have good food with friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.