About Il Fornaio - Burlingame

327 Lorton Ave.
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio is renowned for its authentic award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday 10:00 - 11:00am & Sunday: 9:00 - 11:00am; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Donnelly Ave., 1 block N. of Burlingame Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 375-8000

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering is available upon special request. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details: kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for a fee of $9 per car.

Public Transit:
Burlingame Cal-Trans Station

Executive Chef:
Maurizio Mazzon

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We welcome the opportunity to plan your next private dining occasion.
Please contact our Event Coordinator at 650.375.8000 or kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Private Dining

Bring your next special occasion to Il Fornaio and work with a friendly and knowledgeable Event Coordinator. Celebrate with excellent service in a warm and stylish surroundings serving extraordinary authentic Italian food and wine. We look forward to helping you plan your next memorable occasion.

Il Fornaio - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (39)
Casual (38)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
See All
Good for Groups (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Good for a Date (27)
Business Meals (23)
Authentic (22)
Kid-friendly (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Family Style (19)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Fun (15)
Open Kitchen (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Romantic (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Private Room (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
People Watching (9)
Seasonal (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (7)
Healthy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

OUR RESERVATION WAS AT 6:30, GOT TO THE ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

OUR RESERVATION WAS AT 6:30, GOT TO THE RESTAURANT ON TIME. THERE WAS A LONG LINE TO CHECK IN, BY THE TIME IT WAS OUR TURN IT WAS QUARTER TO 7. THE RECECIPTIONIST/ HOST TOLD US THEY WERE A BIT BEHIND. AT 7:15PM, AFTER WAITED FOR 45 MINUTES WE FINALLY SEATED. WE WILL NOT RETURN TO THIS RESTAURANT FOR SURE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We dined celebrating my husband's birthd ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

We dined celebrating my husband's birthday. Our table was perfect, as was our server. The dinner was outstanding; three of us ordered the special ravioli and the fourth ordered the special risotto. After dinner, I asked the server if she had anything for my husband's birthday and she brought him some gelato with a candle. We also shared some bread pudding.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met friends for dinner. We had a gre ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

We met friends for dinner. We had a great dinner. Soup special and veal was great. Others had salmon and ravioli plus Caesar salads. Our server was very attentive and delightful. All in all, a very nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to this restaurant when we ar ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

We've been to this restaurant when we are in the area several times and it is consistently good, vibrant and now with a bar seating area. Am confident to recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

very good food and service in a nice nei ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

very good food and service in a nice neighborhood restaurant

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. All 7 of us ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a great experience. All 7 of us had a great time. We have been taking part in the Passport dinners for years. Great to taste food from all the regions of Italy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mr. Lee is a consummate professional, as ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Mr. Lee is a consummate professional, as is the rest of the waitstaff. Table cloths are back. We love this place.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Casual, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Up to its usual high standards. This re ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Up to its usual high standards. This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious, authentic Italian cuisine wit ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious, authentic Italian cuisine with attentive service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once sitting down, I was told me need to ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Once sitting down, I was told me need to eat fast because the dining room needs to be empty asap. The food, although good, was served extremely fast, no time in between servings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The help was very friendly and service w ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The help was very friendly and service was top notch.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant was extremely busy early ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant was extremely busy early on New Years Eve. We felt the food was not as good as on many other evenings when we have dined at Il Fornaio. The Pasta dishes were lack luster and quite dry, the lobster was way under cooked, so much so that the waitress noticed and sent it back to kitchen. I was definitely surprised at this change of quality, but will look forward to our next dinner hoping that all returns to satisfying results.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Always great food and great service. On ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always great food and great service. Only reservation is the hostess. Don't think it's the best fit. She seemed overwhelmed and shouldn't have been.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, People Watching, Healthy, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last time I ate there, prior to this ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

The last time I ate there, prior to this lunch, the food was much too salty, and my wife's choice didn't match what was on the menu. She didn't eat it and they took it off the bill, and gave us a $20 gift card. Today's lunch was tasty. It could have been served hotter. The service was slow, but not so bad that I'd complain. It just wasn't up to fitting the cost of the entrees. The price is a little steep for lunch. The bread, as always, was delicious. Normally, this is a good restaurant with a pleasant ambiance good choices on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Delicious as always!!!!

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delicious as always!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Il Furnaio many times in ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

I have been to Il Furnaio many times in Burlingame and elsewhere. I keep wishing for a better experience but find it Falling short of the mark. I love Italian food but find the quality of the Italian food just is not quite up there with the best Italian restaurants. I recently took an entire family out there for a special occasion but was disappointed with three out of the six courses served. The two children liked the pizzas. The mushroom soup was more like potato minestrone, and the top dollar mixed seafood grill was overlooked and the branzonie fish course was very bland lacking freshness and a good sauce preparation youmay fund other places. All of these comments where from my guests and I was paying for the meal so I was quite disappointed. Prices have edged consistently higher with changing menus but the quality of the food preparation has not kept pace with the prices unfortunately. Restaurant is full and I like the atmosphere but the food isn't there with their glossy ad campaigns featuring fine cuisine from all over Italy. I think they should focus more on the basics of preparing good Italian meals.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Seems like par for the course at IF. Foo ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Seems like par for the course at IF. Food was OK (lamb was great, gnocchi was OK, other dishes were just OK, calamari was greasy). Service was pretty spotty: drinks took a long time, no plates for apps, water refills, long waits when asking for something. It's a goo social environment, but it gets noisy... I'm ok with that; just an observation for readers. 2 1/2+ hours for a party of 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

As most reviews stated, service is very ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

As most reviews stated, service is very slow (we were there for almost 3-hours for dinner). Food is average and not worth the very long wait and price, though pizza is good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Waitstaff not very friendly and very slo ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Waitstaff not very friendly and very slow service. Food was tasteless, from the Cesar salad to the Ahi. We were expecting just the opposite , especially considering the prices. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We have been to Il Fornaio several times ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have been to Il Fornaio several times before. The food is always consistently good. The salmon salad was delicious and the salmon was cooked to perfection, not over cooked! My daughter had the gluten free pizza and said it was very good and took some home. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve, sort of a restaurant nigh ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve, sort of a restaurant nightmare - I think somehow they let themselves get overbooked. Our normal waiter/server was a complete wreck - apparently he normally has 4 tables assigned to him and he gives EXCELLENT service, but was given 8 tables this night. The strain showed by the amount of people waiting to be seated, in the harried servers, the wait time of 1/2 an hour to get a drink, an hour to get our main dishes, and the lack of quality in tried and true dishes - it was horrible. Cappellaci di Zucca was swimming in oil and squash that had escaped the raviolis, which were stiff and unevenly cooked - the carpaccio was ALL greens and barely any meat. The cocktails were watered down and the 2 different kinds of white wines were not correct every time so we just gave up on getting the correct kind of wine. I understand there is new management - hopefully the new management goes back to where they came from. This was a disaster. We love the place, so we'll be back, but not under these circumstances. The brand new server female with a British accent was most accommodating, and apologized and tied to make everything right. Thank you for her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Christmas Eve - waited a long time befor ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve - waited a long time before being seated although we had a reservation. After being seated we waited another 10 minutes or more before anyone came by with menus or water or anything. No one came to take drink or wine orders. When a waitress finally appeared we ordered cocktails ; and another long wait of their arrival. The Caesar salads were wet lettuce and tasteless dressing. The "sausage, spinach, cheese stuffed ravioli was meager of stuffing or taste. The veal with mushrooms was good. The hazelnut cake desert was dry and hard on the bottom; the spumoni ice cream was excellent.

Skip this place during the holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

We had a good lunch at Il Fornaio this w ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had a good lunch at Il Fornaio this week. Parking in Burlingame was horrendous, and the restaurant was clearly more crowded than usual. Notwithstanding, the service was very good, and the food was as well.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding filet mignon. Perfectly pre ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Outstanding filet mignon. Perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The initial greet took too long. We were ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

The initial greet took too long. We were greeted by our server after a table who was sat after us was greeted by their server. The pace was really poor. I understand that it was a busy night and our server had some large parties to take care of but that shouldn't excuse the lack of attention. Food was excellent. When it came time for dessert, the host staff clearly did not communicate to our server that we had brought a birthday cake prior to our arrival. So then our server made the mistake of dropping off dessert menus and ruined the surprise for my son. When it came time to get pay out, our server again was nowhere near our table to see if we needed something. Overall, we still had a good experience. Our server was actually very pleasant and knowledgeable when available. However, we were there 20 mins longer than we probably should have due to the slow pace of the night.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Really like this place: excellent value, ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Really like this place: excellent value, steadily good food, well-managed ambience for business meals. Well-done!

Peter

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Cozy, Business Meals, , Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place for italiano food !!

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great place for italiano food !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The host and hostess were ignorant at th ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

The host and hostess were ignorant at the best when seating guests with reservation. I wish the restaurant mgmt would have professional matrade to do this in more professional manner. Other than that all is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is great- but the service needs ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is great- but the service needs work-- they are very slow and our waiter was clearly overworked- he was running back and forth to both sides of the restaurant- he needed help. Hire more servers for the weekend and the issue will be solved.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was cold, service under par. Made u ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was cold, service under par. Made up with gift cards which was appreciated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Fantastic atmosphere and service. The g ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere and service. The grilled seafood dish was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food gets a grade of B, very good but no ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food gets a grade of B, very good but not outstanding. Nice upbeat atmosphere. Service was slow but it was the weekend before Christmas so the restaurant was busier than usual. I would go back but not to the exclusion of other restaurants that I like or would like to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Family Christmas gathering - great food, ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Family Christmas gathering - great food, great location, great place - everything was great except for the server, who was nice but extremely slow and overwhelmed by a party of 11. The gathering was fun, and food experience was very good, but overall the evening was unfortunately marred by the poor service. We'll return but will specifically ask that he not be our server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

I had the tasting menu and although port ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

I had the tasting menu and although portions were small, it was a good representation of Italian food. We sent one cocktail back as it tasted like dish soap and the other two must have had old cherries which came back to haunt. Pricey but service made it an overall good experience. Hard to justify going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Enjoyed brunch here however service was ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Enjoyed brunch here however service was very slow. We had to ask several time for coffee refills and utensils. Maybe it was just one off.

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Breakfast was very delicious. Service co ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Breakfast was very delicious. Service could've been better, but overall, I recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always a great experience. Great food a ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always a great experience. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived about 1/2 hour early to a nea ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

We arrived about 1/2 hour early to a nearly empty restaurant. We were told they were setting up the table, yet we had to wait the full time before being seated. Sitting in the bar may be acceptable with other friends but my mother in law was unable to sit in the taller chairs. Once served, the food was good if pricey. I had a pasta dish that was fairly ordinary. Three of my party had the special with filet mignon and shrimp. They licked the plates clean! Nice atmosphere. Server was pleasant and jokey.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Even though, we were caught in Holiday c ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Even though, we were caught in Holiday crowd scene, both our server and kitchen staff made our three person event enjoyable. Kitchen moved dishes out in timely manner and server was able to corral support staff to ensure we enjoyed the day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We were disappointed this time with the ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

We were disappointed this time with the food. A few of us had steak and shrimp and the steak was very dry and the shrimp was over cooked. It could have been that it was very busy, but we were a bit disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.