About Il Fornaio - Burlingame

327 Lorton Ave.
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio is renowned for its authentic award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday 10:00 - 11:00am & Sunday: 9:00 - 11:00am; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Donnelly Ave., 1 block N. of Burlingame Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 375-8000

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering is available upon special request. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details: kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for a fee of $9 per car.

Public Transit:
Burlingame Cal-Trans Station

Executive Chef:
Maurizio Mazzon

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We welcome the opportunity to plan your next private dining occasion.
Please contact our Event Coordinator at 650.375.8000 or kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Private Dining

Bring your next special occasion to Il Fornaio and work with a friendly and knowledgeable Event Coordinator. Celebrate with excellent service in a warm and stylish surroundings serving extraordinary authentic Italian food and wine. We look forward to helping you plan your next memorable occasion.

Il Fornaio - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Burlingame ›

Good for Groups (84)
Great for Lunch (83)
Neighborhood Gem (76)
See All
Special Occasion (67)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Great for Brunch (56)
Kid-friendly (41)
Notable Wine List (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Romantic (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful selection of food but disappoi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful selection of food but disappointing on the plate. Pizza was good but odd portions of toppings for instance way too many olives and too few mushrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

great place for a business meeting/meal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

great place for a business meeting/meal .. close to the airport (and easy to park locally after 6pm) with moderate to higher priced good Italian food, decent service and a lively atmosphere. Caprese salad was great (its tomato season) and the Sicilian pasta special was interesting.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, great atmosphere, good place ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, good place for upscale local lunch, dinner, drink and appetizers.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jessie, our waitress was exceptional. Sh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Jessie, our waitress was exceptional. She was very attentive, listened effectively, recommended the evening specials and was very efficient and friendly. She checked in with us often, although not pestering us; I asked to see her manager as her service was exceptional! He was delighted to hear our grateful remarks and exceptional compliments.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very poor. We were seate ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service was very poor. We were seated promptly, but then waited for bread and then a waiter 10 minutes later. After ordering drinks, glass of wine and water, we waited another 5 minutes. So we sat with bread and nothing to drink ( not even water). Then we waited for 45 minutes for food that was not very good. We had only one special request to not have raisins in the fish dish sauce. We were told no problem. However, when dish arrived it appear simply as a can of tomatoes poured over a piece of fish. The fish was baked and then placed on grilled, making the fish very very dry and chewy.

Overall a very poor quality of service on a Thursday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Great option if you are staying at one o ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great option if you are staying at one of the SFO/Burlingame hotels. Dinner was wonderful with very attentive server. Nice menu-good choices from light to heavy appetite. Nice ambience for business or social dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding waiter... I believe his name ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Outstanding waiter... I believe his name is Willie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, excellent service and always ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food, excellent service and always enjoyable place to dine!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was stellar as was the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was stellar as was the service and ambiance. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great in every way. Superb food a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Always great in every way. Superb food and consistently good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good specials, casual, comfortable, cozy ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Good specials, casual, comfortable, cozy and warm although can be noisy. Good for families, date night out or just to meet a friend. Great Carpaccio and salads.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the calamari was underwhelming. the ceas ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

the calamari was underwhelming. the ceasar salad was average. the pizza was the highlight of the food ordered. it was very good. I must say that even the bread and olive oil offered when we were first seated was just average. The service was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I really enjoy this place ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I really enjoy this place. We were on a date night last week, which is why we came in. Although we do not live in Burlingame we do live in San Mateo and really enjoy the variety of food i.e. pasta dishes, pizza, seafood etc.. The cocktails are nice as is the wine. The atmosphere is family friendly and this is another reason why we enjoy this place as we have brought our family here too. Our waiter was super nice and we have had him before. Our waiter has a lovely personality which is another reason why we continue to come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Il Fornaio at least a d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have dined at Il Fornaio at least a dozen times. But this time, our experience was really poor. First we were seated at a very small table for two right next to a larger party at a round table. We asked to be move but then was put at another table that was a little better but still very cramped and right next to another noisy group. The restaurant was very loud due to the large groups and the acoustics are very poor. The food was very disappointing too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

This was one restaurant that everyone in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was one restaurant that everyone in our family agreed on. The food was not only fabulous but everyone found something they liked on the menu as they offer a lot of choices. We were a party of 8, which for some restaurants can be a problem. But not for them. I would highly recommend them and we will be coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time and enjoyed our mea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a lovely time and enjoyed our meals immensely. We, as always, really enjoyed Roberto, too. There is no one like him ... He makes you feel welcome and like part of the family the moment you walk in ... We go to Il Fornaio just to see Roberto and enjoy the wonderful service he always makes sure that we have. The wait staff is also wonderful and most of them have been at Il Fornaio for years which says a lot about the restaurant and its management.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience.

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We let the restaurant know it was a spec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We let the restaurant know it was a special occasion, and everyone seemed to understand that except our waiter. We waited 30 minutes to order (he kept promising he'd be right back to take our order), then had to practically beg other waiters to get refills of water, etc. The food was fine, but arrived late. The bill was also incredibly slow to come. I asked the waiter halfway through the dinner to please remember to check on us, but it didn't help. I wouldn't recommend this place, especially for the price you pay. The food was decent and the decor is nice but the service and acoustics were terrible.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Client recommended this restaurant. We ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Client recommended this restaurant. We were not impressed. Decor was nice and staff was friendly. Food was average. Salad was Ok but not great. Fish special was dry and overcooked. Pasta was boring and too oily for a red sauce. Sorbet and ice cream was good, but factory made cookies were disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Good food, great location, good service. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Good food, great location, good service. lots of variety in dishes. always a good time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very full with many l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The restaurant was very full with many large parties. It was extremely noisey. Our service was poor. The main dish was not hot, as though it had been sitting a long time before being served. The waiter didn't check in very often. It was disappointing compared to other visits.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

good food, great service! we love to se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

good food, great service! we love to see Karina our waitress its like seeing a dear friend. She is always knowledgeable about the menu and always make sure our food is delivered hot and to our satisfaction. cant wait to go again

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife had previously experienced a gre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife had previously experienced a great lunch, and convinced us to go to Il Fornaio for dinner. We eagerly made reservations.

We were seated at a table for 4 that was very cramped and not even able to accommodate our drinks and appetizers with the dishware they use at the restaurant. Our main courses were bland. We mentioned this to the waiter, and when he returned with the paid bill, said one of the main courses had been comped. Upon reviewing the bill, nothing had been comped. When I brought this up to him on the way out the door he gave me some non-sence answer about it not showing on the bill. There were four of us and we were billed for four main courses, all the drinks and all the appetisers. This seems very dishonest. I guess they don't think their clients are smart enough to review the receipt. The lunch and dinner staff must be a different set of people. My wife insisted the lunch food was great. Unfortunately, Il Fornaio was a huge and expensive disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

great food & service. loved the regional ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

great food & service. loved the regional Italian cusine

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a birthday lunch. That took 1h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was a birthday lunch. That took 1hour and 50minutes. the service at our table was inattentive, and I was the guest of honor. Reservation was made for my uncle treating and I was so embarrassed he was paying. Our orders were wrong, late, waters not filled timely, nor accurately. Tea was put in water glasses, our server seemed to disappear periodically. My wife sat for 10minutes waiting for her dish while my uncle and brothers got cold.

NOT what I expected at all, very disappointed and frankly upset. For the prices on the menu Id expect better recovery and timeliness.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Food is always exceptional along with im ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food is always exceptional along with impeccable service. Every dish was well balanced with perfect presentation. Order one or two Manhattans, best in South San Francisco.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience. Although a bit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great dining experience. Although a bit crowded, they seated us at a great table and the service was wonderful. Great food too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent evening for our large group of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent evening for our large group of 14. Excellent service, as staff was very attentive. Overall, everyone loved their entrees and the appetizers were amazing. I heard that the other end of the table, where the young ones were, did not get as good service, and the children's menu is too limited, as in no burger and no other protein choices. Not all kids love pasta. We've been to this location many times before because it's local and they do a very nice job.

Sent from my iPhone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Went for brunch after viewing the menu o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went for brunch after viewing the menu online. Unfortunately, the menu was not current and my boyfriend was disappointed that they didn't have the menu item he really wanted. The server said that they actually never had that menu item. Mystery?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Approachable Italian food, nice ambiance

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Approachable Italian food, nice ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Been here numerous times and each was an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Been here numerous times and each was an amazing experience. However this time the service was less than stellar. The waitress got the food order mixed up and was no where to be found for long periods of time. It was early so there was only a few tables occupied. The service was lacking a lot compared to the attentiveness of waiters and waitresses from past visits. Changes to relocation of the bar, eliminating white coats on waiters and waitresses, and removal of the cookie counter are all positive improvements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Acoustics are horrible due to high ceili ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Acoustics are horrible due to high ceilings in open warehouse like structure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was very disappointed that the buttern ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I was very disappointed that the butternut squash was dry and didn't have enough sauce and the sage was tasteless. Also, the bread was stale. I'm disappointed that the food is not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very disappointed in the food. Over cook ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. Over cooked and tasteless. Too bad because I like the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT; THE BASS WAS COO ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT; THE BASS WAS COOKED PERFECTLY. DAVID, OUR WAITER, WAST THE MOST ATTENTIVE WAITER I'VE HAD IN AGES.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was alright. The bus boy nee ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was alright. The bus boy needs to be retrained. I have the bus boy to pack my left over. He did. I asked him to pack the left over breads. He gave back to me and put it in front of me. It happened the server saw it and put in a bag for me. I wish the service can be better. The manage needs to organize the servers and bus boys working in sync. I saw bus boy walking around with nothing on the hands by going back to the kitchen. They need to fill empty water glasses for customers or take empty plates back to the kitchen. The food at this location is decent. I also go to the one in Walnut Creek.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Even with opentable reservation, be prep ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Even with opentable reservation, be prepared to wait for at least half an hour for a table. The foyer to the restaurant has a huge bar area & a huge crowd gathered there on a friday night, waiting for tables. We constantly had to reposition ourselves to avoid crashes. Service was lackluster & everything seemed rushed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I hadn't been there is a while. Still gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I hadn't been there is a while. Still great food and great service BUT super noisy for dinner if you wish to chat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

great regional Italian food changing fro ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

great regional Italian food changing from month to month

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was one of the worst meals here and w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was one of the worst meals here and we go often

Had the black cod and the potatoes were completely hard and not edible

We were offered extra broccolini but it came after our table was already cleared by busser so it went back into kitchen

The first waiter was impatient and never came back, the 2nd was better

Somebody is not paying attention to food and service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.