About Il Fornaio - Burlingame

327 Lorton Ave.
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio is renowned for its authentic award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday 10:00 - 11:00am & Sunday: 9:00 - 11:00am; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Donnelly Ave., 1 block N. of Burlingame Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 375-8000

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering is available upon special request. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details: kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for a fee of $9 per car.

Public Transit:
Burlingame Cal-Trans Station

Executive Chef:
Maurizio Mazzon

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We welcome the opportunity to plan your next private dining occasion.
Please contact our Event Coordinator at 650.375.8000 or kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Private Dining

Bring your next special occasion to Il Fornaio and work with a friendly and knowledgeable Event Coordinator. Celebrate with excellent service in a warm and stylish surroundings serving extraordinary authentic Italian food and wine. We look forward to helping you plan your next memorable occasion.

Il Fornaio - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Burlingame ›

great for lunch (87)
good for groups (85)
neighborhood gem (84)
See All
special occasion (71)
great for brunch (61)
fit for foodies (61)
kid-friendly (52)
vibrant bar scene (20)
hot spot (20)
great for outdoor dining (16)
notable wine list (15)
romantic (14)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Take.advantage.of.their.app. Got.a.trio. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Take.advantage.of.their.app. Got.a.trio. dessert.for.free. try.their.regional.dishes.as.well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Just went after remodel. Main dining r ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Just went after remodel. Main dining room ambience is now terrible and without charm. Too loud.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Restaurant was not at all packed for lun ...

Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant was not at all packed for lunch which is when we were there yet it took us over an hour to receive our meal! Pretty unacceptable length of time especially during lunch when I was there for a business lunch. My pasta was bland, barely any marinara sauce on it and the extra chicken breast I added to it was dry. My co worker ordered some seafood dish and tried one of the calamari and it was disgustingly rubbery so he could not eat any more of them. My bosses salad was a spinach salad that looked bland so it was a good thing he ordered salmon to go on top of it. The prices are way overpriced for the quality of food. I would not return to this restaurant.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter was entertaining and energeti ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter was entertaining and energetic for our group of eight ladies who were having a reunion. We were happy with our roundtable which sat eight people and allowed for great conversation. We will come back again next year if God allows us !!! We were the class of 56 !!! Great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food but lousy service (host - gav ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food but lousy service (host - gave us the wrong menus; server - could never keep water and iced tea refilled; bus boy - no refills and removed plates/glasses before we were ready)

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

They used to be good, but now they are n ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

They used to be good, but now they are not. Service was slow, food was too dry and not ven good. It was also too expensive for what I got. One small piece of celery and some dry sea bass. I used to come here numerous times within the past 8 years, but this time might be my last. They have lost their mojo. Would not recommend anymore.

food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Il fornaio is overpriced, but the food i ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Il fornaio is overpriced, but the food is pretty decent. Willie is the best waiter ever!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance, delicious food, friendly ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great ambiance, delicious food, friendly service! We'll be coming back for sure!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We frequent the restaurant often and hav ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We frequent the restaurant often and have never had such a horrible experience. From the moment we sat down till getting the food and the bill it was all down hill. Tried to speak with someone but since it was Fathers Day it was a lost cause. I can honestly say we will not be coming back for a very long time.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We are frequent diners at IL Fornaio in ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We are frequent diners at IL Fornaio in Burlingame, on this occasion the cooks and food service were totally backed-up and we ended up waiting for almost an hour to get our meal. When mine arrived it was cold and looked like it had sat under a heat lamp.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2

Service pretty poor the few times I have ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service pretty poor the few times I have come. Waited 30-40min for egg dishes for brunch and wait staff refused to give us bread.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As always, we had a fabulous meal, nothi ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

As always, we had a fabulous meal, nothing over the top fancy, but amazingly great, consistently good Italuan cuisine. Service is very attentive, one is made to feel as if you were dining at the table of a family member.....kid/family friendly, great for groups to gather & share a delightful evening together.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good not great this time. A little dis ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Good not great this time. A little disappointed but it was extremely busy with very large groups. Lots of celebrations that evening. Good was mediocre at best whereas I usually love my meals here but it was stone cold and very bland. I will go back I just think it was too busy. Note to self - do not go to Il Fornaio on graduation weekend! But server was delightful but busy with too many tables with too many people

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistently well prepared dishes and de ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Consistently well prepared dishes and desserts served in a very comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was a wonderful dinner. The food was d ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I was a wonderful dinner. The food was delicious the waiter was very friendly and helpful. We had lunch there many times but I haven't had dinner there in a while. I forgot how nice it was.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service . Our table w ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food and service . Our table was ready when we arrived and had no wait even tho the restaurant was starting to fill up..

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Horrible service from the host and hoste ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Horrible service from the host and hostess to the server. I have never been more motivated to leave $0 tip.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

we were there early and had a window tab ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

we were there early and had a window table (which was a plus). we took our friends out for their birthdays and paid the bill. they paid the tip and i am not exactly sure how much they left. food and service very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

Too loud!! Couldn't carry on a conversat ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Too loud!! Couldn't carry on a conversation (and our server struggled to hear us too)! Food was awesome though...

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Have visited Il Fornaio several times in ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Have visited Il Fornaio several times in Burlingame and Walnut Creek. Food was excellent. Service was below standard. Server was not attentive, and had a very caustic attitude. I am positive we will return, but I would not want to be served by this individual again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Downtown Burlingame classic and consiste ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Downtown Burlingame classic and consistently really good. Period.

food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service today and there were a lot ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service today and there were a lot people. Never disappoints.

food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Some dishes were goo ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent service. Some dishes were good, but most were just ok.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My friend and I both enjoyed the lovingl ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

My friend and I both enjoyed the lovingly prepared pasta.....which took forever to appear at our table. Unfortunately, the NOISE level was almost unbearable and we had to shout across the table to communicate! Flowers were beautiful and we so enjoyed the warm bread. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to review our lunch visit.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Quality of food was very good, but servi ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Quality of food was very good, but service was slow.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The restaurant Is O.K. But expensive $$$ ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The restaurant Is O.K. But expensive $$$. I like the veal skallopini at the Iron Gate much better! May be for Lunch, i t is a good place?

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Came for brunch - food as always was great

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Good food/drink - they remodeled and got rid of tablecloths - which I miss but understand less formal and less laundry/water waste. Needs to add some wall décor/photos to liven it up a little. Great service as usual. Always a great time there and we come often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Spumoni dessert was out of this worl ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The Spumoni dessert was out of this world! Absolutely delicious and a very generous portion. I would go back just for that, but the yummy bread and the fresh salads were fantastic, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Slow Service

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

We had an excellent waitress, but she had way too many tables to cover. She was, literally, running from table to kitchen and back. The restaurant was definitely understaffed, with extremely slow service.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

il fornaio

Dined on May 26, 2016

I was disappointed as the food is okay but nothing special - the scampi was overcooked and the service was not very attentive.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely evening at Il Fornaio

Dined on May 23, 2016

Bro came into town and we were able to get together. We had a very enjoyable dinner from their Regions Menu. The food was very tasty and the portions were good. They had some interesting appetizers. The 1st course pasta was very interesting, with meatballs that were very yummy and seemed to be fried to give it some extra texture. The fish was done perfectly and the lamb was yummy as well. A great evening was spent at Il Fornaio.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Was very disappointed...we went to celeb ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Was very disappointed...we went to celebrate a special birthday for brunch. No breads or pastries anymore. Nothing special about the breakfast. Coffee took forever and no refills. I seriously think our waitress forgot about us which was a party of six. Who does that...not good!

food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Bad service and bad conduct

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

For the first time my experience was awful. I invited friends for a night out of fun. For one couple it was their first experience dining at Il Fornaio--they are unlikely to return. Food was very delayed in first instance and order was incorrect when got to table. We waited even longer as result--then we were told to leave( immediately upon paying bill) as they needed our table--which was absolutely false--restaurant almost empty at 9:30--several tables including large tables available. After we left--they didn't even reset our table. We spoke to the manager who lied directly to me--she said no one would ever ask customers to leave without checking w management--but indeed I found out from guests that she was the one who asked us to leave. I don't want to think that the request had to do with the diversity at our table--but that is where I am headed.

food3
ambience5
service5

The ambience and service were outstandin ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The ambience and service were outstanding (even with construction going on) but everyone's meal was under par . One of my favorite restaurants for years but no longer - hope it was just an off night

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent Sardinia-themed dinner at Il F ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent Sardinia-themed dinner at Il Fornaio in Burlingame. Even my ultra picky son wolfed down his pasta. My only complaint: service is on the slow side. But we were there at a fairly busy time (6:30 PM on a Friday). If the kitchen needs a little extra time to keep the food quality high, I'm OK with that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Consistently good place for lunch or dinner. Great food and wine selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Fine for a quick trip

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was warm and not hot. The service was inconsitent. Apps took a long time to arrive. Then it was as fast as they could push out the food, but it must have been sitting. I saw asparagus that looked like it had been cooked for weeks. Hardly a stiff spear in sight.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Construction is over -- it is safe to go ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Construction is over -- it is safe to go to Il Fornaio again and expect a reasonable dining experience.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great service, good food...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great service, good food...

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.