About Il Fornaio - Burlingame

327 Lorton Ave.
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio is renowned for its authentic award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday 10:00 - 11:00am & Sunday: 9:00 - 11:00am; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Donnelly Ave., 1 block N. of Burlingame Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 375-8000

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering is available upon special request. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details: kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for a fee of $9 per car.

Public Transit:
Burlingame Cal-Trans Station

Executive Chef:
Maurizio Mazzon

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We welcome the opportunity to plan your next private dining occasion.
Please contact our Event Coordinator at 650.375.8000 or kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Private Dining

Bring your next special occasion to Il Fornaio and work with a friendly and knowledgeable Event Coordinator. Celebrate with excellent service in a warm and stylish surroundings serving extraordinary authentic Italian food and wine. We look forward to helping you plan your next memorable occasion.

Il Fornaio - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (72)
Neighborhood Gem (68)
Great for Lunch (67)
See All
Special Occasion (55)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Great for Brunch (38)
Kid-friendly (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Romantic (17)
Casual (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Family Style (11)
Wood Oven (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Fun (8)
People Watching (7)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service never disappoints at Il ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service never disappoints at Il fornaio. We love coming here.

Tags: Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

consistently good food and friendly serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

consistently good food and friendly service

good for groups

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and quality of food has gone dow ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service and quality of food has gone down.

We were there recently to celebrate my daughter 's birthday. We did a Saturday brunch. Servers were not friendly and food was average. Nothing special.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

The restaurant has been around for over ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant has been around for over 15 years and it has always been a popular spot for family and friends' get-together. The pizza and pasta we ordered are delicious and the breakfast brunch is good too.

This place can get noisy because the sound bounces off from all the big glass windows. so when the room is full it is hard to hear

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good and the waitress and s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was good and the waitress and service were quite good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not as expected. The chicken breast was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Not as expected. The chicken breast was a bit dry and overcooked and the accompanying spicy sauce was watery and bland. My wife's s sea bass was fresh, but came out unseasoned and without much taste. Both of our meals were served lukewarm. the dining room is open and noisy; there was a children's birthday party at 6 pm on a Friday night that added to the din. The Caesar salad was very good as were the roasted Yukon gold potatoes. If they had been hot instead of lukewarm, they would have been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Il Fornaio is the go to place for outsta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Il Fornaio is the go to place for outstanding lunches or dinner....great atmosphere and the servers are most attentive....Great menu with varied choices to please anyone's palate....

Valet parking makes it just perfect!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose Il Fornaio because I like the at ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I chose Il Fornaio because I like the atmosphere, the food is consistently very good and because it was close to the airport. Il Fornaio is consistent. Two of us had a cup of minestrone soup, two of us had a Ceasar salad, and the third person had another salad. All were very good. The service was also very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Really good food and great service! For ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Really good food and great service! For a Wednesday dinner, it was a pretty busy place. Ambiance was great!

Loved it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're longtime fans of Il Fornaio and mi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We're longtime fans of Il Fornaio and mishaps happen occasionally. Very busy Wednesday night but with a 6:30PM reservation and no tables available, we stayed at the bar and was served our entrees about 8PM, and one was sent back too cold to enjoy. Eventually, the Regional veal special tasting menu and salmon were both delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent food, service and ambiance. N ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Nice dining spot after theater in SF....Great because

we wanted to get out of the city, but wanted to eat before returning to the South Bay.

Nice menu with absolutely delicious pasta selections (pear and butternut squash filling)...

Great wine and cocktail selection as well. Not terribly quiet, but very pleasant surroundings!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were from out of town and found resta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We were from out of town and found restaurant on trip advisor and was very pleased with the choice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Like the variety of wines served and siz ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Like the variety of wines served and size options, the prix free menu option and love the bread!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was outstanding. At least a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was outstanding. At least a couple of the dishes with meat were overcooked.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of 6, Willie our server ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We were a party of 6, Willie our server was knowledgeable and friendly in explaining the specials and answering questions. The prix fix menu was the choice of 5 in our group. Everybody enjoyed the variety offered. Note, even though the bar has been moved to where the coffee shop was, the noise level is still high in the dinning room.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

can always depend on Il Fornaio for visi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

can always depend on Il Fornaio for visitors to enjoy CA; fresh cuisine at Sunday brunch

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza, bread, pasta and grill chicke ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The pizza, bread, pasta and grill chicken are good. The brunch items like French Toast and Waffle are so so. The Calzon was burn. Service was not really up to par. We had hard time finding our waiter.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great restaurant, love the nice white ta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great restaurant, love the nice white tablecloths that keep it special, always great food and service!!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I booked here as I was flying home to Au ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I booked here as I was flying home to Australia that night and wanted a nice dinner before leaving you meet all my expectations as I choose your restaurant of its Italian cuisine I was not disappointed Thankyou for making my last night in USA a great experience

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The people that work here are what make ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The people that work here are what make it so special ... We love being at the restaurant and feel like many of the staff members are like family to us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great meal as always. Vina our server i ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great meal as always. Vina our server is always wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A pleasant, somewhat upscale California ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

A pleasant, somewhat upscale California Italian chain. Delicious food and great service. Good for business meals. No complaints, but you probably won't remember your meal here a year from now.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love Il Fornaio I have been going there ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Love Il Fornaio I have been going there for years and it is always great

I like the new layout also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice service, our waiter is great. The f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Nice service, our waiter is great. The food there is also very delicious. IT's a great place for friends gathering.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. It was noisy but I expec ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent meal. It was noisy but I expected it. It won't deter me from coming back

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our service was not very good. The gentl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our service was not very good. The gentleman that brought us bread only brought a half portion compared to the other table. We didn't get the accompanying balsamic and olive oil like all the other tables had. Then we were still eating our appetizers when our food came just minutes later and the wait staff just stood there waiting for us to either clear out our dishes or something but not saying anything about the timing being off. Our daughters pasta was incorrect. Then after we got our entrees, we had to ask for our drinks that still did not yet arrive. Overall, the timing was really off and the wait staff either just never noticed ever or didn't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Four of us had a delicious lunch. We all ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Four of us had a delicious lunch. We all had salads and two also had soup. Two of us had the insalata Regina with chicken added and it was excellent. Both people who had the minestrone soup enjoyed it. We had excellent service ; never felt rushed. Make reservations before noon as that's when the crowd appears

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice service & good food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very nice service & good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten a quite a few of their loc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I have eaten a quite a few of their locations, and they have really changed the one in Burlingame around. They added a big bar area with two flat screens and plenty of seating. But on recent dinner this week, with one of my board members from the DC area the food was a disaster. The calamari was like rubber, and my pasta pomodoro was tasteless and the added shrimp must have been frozen. Pasta pomodoro is one of the easiest pasta preparations to make. Olive oil, tomatoes, garlic and basil. Really bad for an Italian restaurant to blow that simple a dish. I didn't really say anything because i was with a board member and i didn't want any drama. I might stop in for a cocktail or give it another chance, but it was very disappointing.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The kitchen gets backed up at peak times ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The kitchen gets backed up at peak times because of the number of tables served. The food is always good, and there are some creative pasta dishes. Wine by the glass or bottle is reasonable. The noise level, due to the open plan, has people shouting when the place is busy. Not for romantic occasions; but no one will over hear your private business conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Very good -- we always enjoy Il Fornio! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very good -- we always enjoy Il Fornio! Food is good and so is the atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Wood Oven, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Solid quality tasty food with comfortabl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Solid quality tasty food with comfortable, airy, high ceiling lots of windows type ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Lovely surroundings and a nice place for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Lovely surroundings and a nice place for a romantic dinner. I've loved Il Fornaio for years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very patient about waitin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our server was very patient about waiting for the 2 late parties we had. It was my mom's birthday and the dessert he brought her was great, along w/ the candle!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regulars at the Burlingame il For ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We are regulars at the Burlingame il Fornaio, and with that comes very friendly service from a wait staff that knows its customers. The fish specials are usually very good, as are the regional menus that feature the cuisine of different parts of Italy. Make no mistake, this is a small chain restaurant, so don't expect something too far from the beaten path. That suits us just fine.

The kitchen has never refused a request to modify a dish to meet our needs. I give them a big plus for that.

I think the wine prices are on the higher end of the value spectrum. The branded house wines, while not a great deal, are decent enough to enjoy with a meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant was large open and noisy. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The restaurant was large open and noisy. Food was mediocre. Would not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Hmmmmm....I ordered veal scaloppini with ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Hmmmmm....I ordered veal scaloppini with artichokes my friend ordered the veal scallopini special with mushroom - my price was $29.95 and hers' was $23.95. What gives Il Fornaio?

(didn't notice until after we had left or we would have protested in person)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Asked for water 4 times Foodaverage Chic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Asked for water 4 times

Foodaverage

Chicken

Breast

Rubbery

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Bad room and space after the remodel. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Bad room and space after the remodel. Killed ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.