About Il Fornaio - Burlingame

327 Lorton Ave.
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio is renowned for its authentic award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday 10:00 - 11:00am & Sunday: 9:00 - 11:00am; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Donnelly Ave., 1 block N. of Burlingame Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 375-8000

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering is available upon special request. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details: kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for a fee of $9 per car.

Public Transit:
Burlingame Cal-Trans Station

Executive Chef:
Maurizio Mazzon

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We welcome the opportunity to plan your next private dining occasion.
Please contact our Event Coordinator at 650.375.8000 or kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Private Dining

Bring your next special occasion to Il Fornaio and work with a friendly and knowledgeable Event Coordinator. Celebrate with excellent service in a warm and stylish surroundings serving extraordinary authentic Italian food and wine. We look forward to helping you plan your next memorable occasion.

Il Fornaio - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Burlingame ›

great for lunch (90)
good for groups (87)
neighborhood gem (81)
See All
special occasion (73)
fit for foodies (64)
great for brunch (58)
kid-friendly (49)
hot spot (25)
vibrant bar scene (24)
notable wine list (24)
romantic (21)
great for outdoor dining (12)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

good food, great service! we love to se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

good food, great service! we love to see Karina our waitress its like seeing a dear friend. She is always knowledgeable about the menu and always make sure our food is delivered hot and to our satisfaction. cant wait to go again

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife had previously experienced a gre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife had previously experienced a great lunch, and convinced us to go to Il Fornaio for dinner. We eagerly made reservations.

We were seated at a table for 4 that was very cramped and not even able to accommodate our drinks and appetizers with the dishware they use at the restaurant. Our main courses were bland. We mentioned this to the waiter, and when he returned with the paid bill, said one of the main courses had been comped. Upon reviewing the bill, nothing had been comped. When I brought this up to him on the way out the door he gave me some non-sence answer about it not showing on the bill. There were four of us and we were billed for four main courses, all the drinks and all the appetisers. This seems very dishonest. I guess they don't think their clients are smart enough to review the receipt. The lunch and dinner staff must be a different set of people. My wife insisted the lunch food was great. Unfortunately, Il Fornaio was a huge and expensive disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

great food & service. loved the regional ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

great food & service. loved the regional Italian cusine

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a birthday lunch. That took 1h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was a birthday lunch. That took 1hour and 50minutes. the service at our table was inattentive, and I was the guest of honor. Reservation was made for my uncle treating and I was so embarrassed he was paying. Our orders were wrong, late, waters not filled timely, nor accurately. Tea was put in water glasses, our server seemed to disappear periodically. My wife sat for 10minutes waiting for her dish while my uncle and brothers got cold.

NOT what I expected at all, very disappointed and frankly upset. For the prices on the menu Id expect better recovery and timeliness.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Food is always exceptional along with im ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food is always exceptional along with impeccable service. Every dish was well balanced with perfect presentation. Order one or two Manhattans, best in South San Francisco.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience. Although a bit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great dining experience. Although a bit crowded, they seated us at a great table and the service was wonderful. Great food too

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent evening for our large group of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent evening for our large group of 14. Excellent service, as staff was very attentive. Overall, everyone loved their entrees and the appetizers were amazing. I heard that the other end of the table, where the young ones were, did not get as good service, and the children's menu is too limited, as in no burger and no other protein choices. Not all kids love pasta. We've been to this location many times before because it's local and they do a very nice job.

Sent from my iPhone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Went for brunch after viewing the menu o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went for brunch after viewing the menu online. Unfortunately, the menu was not current and my boyfriend was disappointed that they didn't have the menu item he really wanted. The server said that they actually never had that menu item. Mystery?

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Approachable Italian food, nice ambiance

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Approachable Italian food, nice ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Been here numerous times and each was an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Been here numerous times and each was an amazing experience. However this time the service was less than stellar. The waitress got the food order mixed up and was no where to be found for long periods of time. It was early so there was only a few tables occupied. The service was lacking a lot compared to the attentiveness of waiters and waitresses from past visits. Changes to relocation of the bar, eliminating white coats on waiters and waitresses, and removal of the cookie counter are all positive improvements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Acoustics are horrible due to high ceili ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Acoustics are horrible due to high ceilings in open warehouse like structure.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was very disappointed that the buttern ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I was very disappointed that the butternut squash was dry and didn't have enough sauce and the sage was tasteless. Also, the bread was stale. I'm disappointed that the food is not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very disappointed in the food. Over cook ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. Over cooked and tasteless. Too bad because I like the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT; THE BASS WAS COO ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT; THE BASS WAS COOKED PERFECTLY. DAVID, OUR WAITER, WAST THE MOST ATTENTIVE WAITER I'VE HAD IN AGES.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was alright. The bus boy nee ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was alright. The bus boy needs to be retrained. I have the bus boy to pack my left over. He did. I asked him to pack the left over breads. He gave back to me and put it in front of me. It happened the server saw it and put in a bag for me. I wish the service can be better. The manage needs to organize the servers and bus boys working in sync. I saw bus boy walking around with nothing on the hands by going back to the kitchen. They need to fill empty water glasses for customers or take empty plates back to the kitchen. The food at this location is decent. I also go to the one in Walnut Creek.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Even with opentable reservation, be prep ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Even with opentable reservation, be prepared to wait for at least half an hour for a table. The foyer to the restaurant has a huge bar area & a huge crowd gathered there on a friday night, waiting for tables. We constantly had to reposition ourselves to avoid crashes. Service was lackluster & everything seemed rushed.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I hadn't been there is a while. Still gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I hadn't been there is a while. Still great food and great service BUT super noisy for dinner if you wish to chat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

great regional Italian food changing fro ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

great regional Italian food changing from month to month

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was one of the worst meals here and w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was one of the worst meals here and we go often

Had the black cod and the potatoes were completely hard and not edible

We were offered extra broccolini but it came after our table was already cleared by busser so it went back into kitchen

The first waiter was impatient and never came back, the 2nd was better

Somebody is not paying attention to food and service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Initially service was rushed, then calm ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Initially service was rushed, then calm and then forgot to bring second glass of wine. I think the group enjoyed the food, for the most part. My lamb special was full of fat.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Il Fornaio represents good food and good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Il Fornaio represents good food and good value. Their varied regional menus provide interesting menu alternatives to the standard fare.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My parents' favorite spot to escape the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My parents' favorite spot to escape the fog in San Francisco. Accommodated our group of 7 at a great table next to the window. Always a bit difficult to hear one another, but the food does not disappoint. Big fan of the cannelloni and the tiramisu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

only gave 4 stars because waited a bit t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

only gave 4 stars because waited a bit to get bread replenished; noise level too high as i found myself talking louder than usual to be heard; other than that, entrees were yummy.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was ok once we were recognized b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was ok once we were recognized by waiter which took a while. Our food was mediocre. Calamari appetizer, for instance, was generous portion but individual pieces in serving ranged from inedible to excellent. Prices for wines by glass were higher than similar restaurants in area.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This place is so delicious and reliable ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This place is so delicious and reliable every time! We have been to this restaurant more than 100 times over 20 years and it has always delivered on quality, taste, service, variety in its seasonal menu. I love the regular menu and the specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance and setting is very comfortable ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Ambiance and setting is very comfortable, service was very good aside from our waiter forgetting a calamari appetizer that we ordered. The food however was uninspired. The quality of the pasta was shameful for a restaurant which presents itself first and foremost as an Italian one.

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Overall - the meal and service was so-so ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Overall - the meal and service was so-so - The server wasn't paying attention when he placed the dinner plate down and almost :0pps - he was looking else where. The combo seafood dish was very good with the Umbria Chardonny.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Enjoyed dinner at Il Fornaio as we have ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Enjoyed dinner at Il Fornaio as we have in the past. Very attentive servers and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a nice time and well-prepared Ita ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Always a nice time and well-prepared Italian food. Love the carpaccio and get it every time. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent. I ordered salmo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was excellent. I ordered salmon that wasn't listed on the menu because it was Sunday but they made the accommodation. It was perfect. It is my go to restaurant in the area. Thank you.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Take.advantage.of.their.app. Got.a.trio. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Take.advantage.of.their.app. Got.a.trio. dessert.for.free. try.their.regional.dishes.as.well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Just went after remodel. Main dining r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Just went after remodel. Main dining room ambience is now terrible and without charm. Too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Restaurant was not at all packed for lun ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Restaurant was not at all packed for lunch which is when we were there yet it took us over an hour to receive our meal! Pretty unacceptable length of time especially during lunch when I was there for a business lunch. My pasta was bland, barely any marinara sauce on it and the extra chicken breast I added to it was dry. My co worker ordered some seafood dish and tried one of the calamari and it was disgustingly rubbery so he could not eat any more of them. My bosses salad was a spinach salad that looked bland so it was a good thing he ordered salmon to go on top of it. The prices are way overpriced for the quality of food. I would not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our waiter was entertaining and energeti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Our waiter was entertaining and energetic for our group of eight ladies who were having a reunion. We were happy with our roundtable which sat eight people and allowed for great conversation. We will come back again next year if God allows us !!! We were the class of 56 !!! Great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food but lousy service (host - gav ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food but lousy service (host - gave us the wrong menus; server - could never keep water and iced tea refilled; bus boy - no refills and removed plates/glasses before we were ready)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

They used to be good, but now they are n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

They used to be good, but now they are not. Service was slow, food was too dry and not ven good. It was also too expensive for what I got. One small piece of celery and some dry sea bass. I used to come here numerous times within the past 8 years, but this time might be my last. They have lost their mojo. Would not recommend anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Il fornaio is overpriced, but the food i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Il fornaio is overpriced, but the food is pretty decent. Willie is the best waiter ever!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Great ambiance, delicious food, friendly ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great ambiance, delicious food, friendly service! We'll be coming back for sure!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We frequent the restaurant often and hav ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We frequent the restaurant often and have never had such a horrible experience. From the moment we sat down till getting the food and the bill it was all down hill. Tried to speak with someone but since it was Fathers Day it was a lost cause. I can honestly say we will not be coming back for a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We are frequent diners at IL Fornaio in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We are frequent diners at IL Fornaio in Burlingame, on this occasion the cooks and food service were totally backed-up and we ended up waiting for almost an hour to get our meal. When mine arrived it was cold and looked like it had sat under a heat lamp.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.