About Il Fornaio - Burlingame

327 Lorton Ave.
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio is renowned for its authentic award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday 10:00 - 11:00am & Sunday: 9:00 - 11:00am; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Donnelly Ave., 1 block N. of Burlingame Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 375-8000

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering is available upon special request. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details: kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for a fee of $9 per car.

Public Transit:
Burlingame Cal-Trans Station

Executive Chef:
Maurizio Mazzon

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We welcome the opportunity to plan your next private dining occasion.
Please contact our Event Coordinator at 650.375.8000 or kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat the dad's in your family to a special day at Il Fornaio filled with authentic Italian elegance, a deliciously creative menu and memories for a lifetime!

Private Dining

Bring your next special occasion to Il Fornaio and work with a friendly and knowledgeable Event Coordinator. Celebrate with excellent service in a warm and stylish surroundings serving extraordinary authentic Italian food and wine. We look forward to helping you plan your next memorable occasion.

Il Fornaio - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Burlingame ›

good for groups (94)
neighborhood gem (88)
great for lunch (87)
See All
special occasion (82)
fit for foodies (64)
great for brunch (61)
kid-friendly (54)
notable wine list (29)
romantic (27)
vibrant bar scene (25)
hot spot (23)
great for outdoor dining (17)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2077 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely evening at Il Fornaio

Dined 4 days ago

Bro came into town and we were able to get together. We had a very enjoyable dinner from their Regions Menu. The food was very tasty and the portions were good. They had some interesting appetizers. The 1st course pasta was very interesting, with meatballs that were very yummy and seemed to be fried to give it some extra texture. The fish was done perfectly and the lamb was yummy as well. A great evening was spent at Il Fornaio.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Was very disappointed...we went to celeb ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Was very disappointed...we went to celebrate a special birthday for brunch. No breads or pastries anymore. Nothing special about the breakfast. Coffee took forever and no refills. I seriously think our waitress forgot about us which was a party of six. Who does that...not good!

food3
ambience5
service5

The ambience and service were outstandin ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The ambience and service were outstanding (even with construction going on) but everyone's meal was under par . One of my favorite restaurants for years but no longer - hope it was just an off night

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent Sardinia-themed dinner at Il F ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Sardinia-themed dinner at Il Fornaio in Burlingame. Even my ultra picky son wolfed down his pasta. My only complaint: service is on the slow side. But we were there at a fairly busy time (6:30 PM on a Friday). If the kitchen needs a little extra time to keep the food quality high, I'm OK with that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Consistently good place for lunch or dinner. Great food and wine selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Fine for a quick trip

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was warm and not hot. The service was inconsitent. Apps took a long time to arrive. Then it was as fast as they could push out the food, but it must have been sitting. I saw asparagus that looked like it had been cooked for weeks. Hardly a stiff spear in sight.

food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Stay away during construction

Dined on May 18, 2016

I've been going to this Il Fornaio since they opened and generally love the experience. Wonderful wait staff and very consistent (tho not wildly exciting) cuisine. But the front desk is distracted and not terribly friendly (very different than the past), and their table planning is spotty at best. Had to wait 20 minutes for a table though we arrived on-time for our reservation. Then got stuck at a jury-rigged 10-top that was awkwardly reconfigured as a 2x 4-top. But the big issue is the construction in front. Makes the experience like walking through a plastic-lined warehouse to get into the restaurant. So go here if you must, but my advice is to go elsewhere until the construction is done and the front staff is less distracted.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great service, good food...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great service, good food...

food4
ambience4
service2

Food was very good. Service was disinter ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Food was very good. Service was disinterested at best. I'll go back, but only for the food, not the experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Fornaio Burlingame has been great sin ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Il Fornaio Burlingame has been great since they opened over 20 years ago. It is kid friendly, great for family gatherings or grabbing a quick meal at the counter. Il Fornaio is always good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Service was poor. Not one smile or frien ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Service was poor. Not one smile or friendly comment. Crab/artichoke risotto had one small piece of crab, artichokes were hard and I was unable to consume/chew them. Very disappointed.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

the menu seems to have gotten smaller? T ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

the menu seems to have gotten smaller? The salads were great as always but the main's were a bit off. The Sole was way under cooked ( translucent) and the pasta selection seem to have gotten smaller. There were no Gnocchi, no beef Bolognese sauce. It felt as though there was an attempt to become a bit more precious. We have eaten here several ties a year for over 25 years.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So enjoyable

Dined on May 8, 2016

Il Fornaio Burlingame never disappoints. Our occasion was Mother's Day & the restaurant was extremely busy, but the service was terrific & the food was very good; this restaurant is comfortable & has never disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible in general. Food poor, service poor

Dined on May 8, 2016

Atmosphere very poor and to loud. My wife is deaf and I very hard of hearing. Food very poor for the hype. Service very poor. Price a reason to post bad reviews on media. Very bad holiday experience. Booked 2 weeks prior and still had to wait nearly a half hour. Sad, very sad.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Gone Downhill

Dined on May 8, 2016

Used to love this place. Service was horrible. Food was mediocre. So frustrating.

food5
ambience5
service5

Considering it was a very busy Mother's ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Considering it was a very busy Mother's Day, the food and service were great.

food5
ambience5
service5

We've been going here since they opened ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been going here since they opened and Mother's Day brunch was as good as it has ever been. The food was exceptionally excellent and Lee, our waiter who's been there a long time was superb. Holidays can be more about turning the tables at a good spot but everything was timely and a perfect experience. Surprising that Burlingame doesn't have more excellent restaurants. There are a few but not as many as you'd expect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Always a great experience. Excellent food and service

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Won't be back.

Dined on May 3, 2016

I was very disappointed overall with almost everything except the table. We had a nice window seat. However... The service was very slow. The food was not high quality.. The noise level was ridiculous. Parking was non-existent - my wife and I met there and we both had to park more than two blocks away. The cost was way past "not worth it". We could have had a better meal at almost anywhere for 1/3 of the price. I ordered a simple spaghetti with meatballs and it was dry and over-seasoned. My wife order "medium" steak and it was rare/medium rare. The bread was OK, but not tasty.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Family dinner at Il Fornaio in Burlingame.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very enjoyable for adults and grandchildren. Flexible enough to substitute veggies on menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Il Fornaio is one of our most favorite r ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Il Fornaio is one of our most favorite restaurants. We love the food and ambience. The stability of the wait staff is incredible. We have gotten to know the manager, Dalton, over the years and he takes great care of us.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a good choice

Dined on April 29, 2016

Only three stars would like to give 3.5 but can't do that. Service was wonderful. Table ready when we arrived. Our salads were overdressed for my liking but others like it. The food may not always be a "blow you away amazing meal" but you know it will be consistently good quality food and service is always in my experience delightful. My go-to spot for meeting for lunch or casual dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Complete lack of service, mediocre food

Dined on April 27, 2016

Service was expremely slow, server nowhere to be seen. Even though we have been waiting for food a very long time, he never came to check on us to see whether we needed anything. Even such a basic thing as parmejan cheese for the pizzas were not brought to the table - we had to ask for it. When main courses dishes finally started to arrive, they were brought to the table one at a time, every 5 min or so. I am not kidding! After waiting for the food for 40 min, we had to wait even longer because some people at our table have not been served. I never write reviews but this was a very upleasant experience. Will not be back.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing Dinner

Dined on April 25, 2016

Wish I could praise Il Fornaio as I used to do in the old days, but something very wrong is happening to this restaurant. The service was dreadful and we had to wait almost an hour to even get our appetizer, and then another long time for our main courses. On this early Sunday evening, they were out of all chicken dishes and another dish my husband selected from the Toscana menu was not available either. My seafood dish that was supposed to include a small salmon filet came with literally scraps of over-cooked, dried out salmon, although the shrimp, white-fish, and calamari were very good in contrast.I must include: My husband's special shrimp dish was delicious and our daughter was content with her seafood plate. However, our young waiter needed to stay in touch with us to let us know how our dinners were progressing in the kitchen and that there would be such a terribly long wait for our food. This Il Fornaio needs some very careful management re-evaluation and monitoring, which is a shame, as it's such a lovely place to dine.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was pretty good. Service sub-par.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was pretty good. Service sub-par. Waitress not very attentive, also hard to understand. She then brought the wrong wine to the table and I realized that it was not what I ordered. I think she was trying to slip in a Reserve wine on us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place to go

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

This is a reliable restaurant for a good meal and good service. It's a good place to go with friends and enjoy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Ok experience

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Great service. Should use better ingridients for the pizzas given the price. Also offer extended happy hour or some sort of discounted drink program if you spend x dollars

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 22, 2016

Was very disappointed it was our anniv. 26 years and nothing we made a reservation through open table with specifics and it all failed the waiter was more busy with other tables then us he was inpatient when we had a few questions and I could feel he wanted to move on to the next table..

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Il Fornaio - Burlingame, nothing short of awesome!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Great food, ambience and perfect setting for business lunch or evening magic

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dependably excellent

Dined on April 18, 2016

Like all the Il Fornaio restaurants, their restaurant in Burlingame is tops for food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

While our entire meal for all six of us ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

While our entire meal for all six of us was delicious, our server, Willie, was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was very gracious when asked to di ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Staff was very gracious when asked to divide everything: salad, main course, dessert. Staff was also low profile when interrupting to ask if any more service was needed periodically. Noise level was very high but for two people you actually feel private.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Waiter was uninterested in his job....no ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Waiter was uninterested in his job....no smile, no water, no personality.

food3
ambience2
service1

Our server was not trained at all. She ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Our server was not trained at all. She was absent . I could not find her to pay the bill and took it up to the host.. He said he gave it to her but again she disappeared. Truly an unfortunate choice for the five of us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been a customer since day one

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Love the Staff and food. Love regional menus. Some of the staff have been with "us" since day one. The food is alway awesome. Not so with all locations, but this one is stellar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience for my daughte ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

It was a great experience for my daughter and her friends to celebrate her 13th birthday. My daughter loves this place so much, we come back every year to celebrate her birthday either for lunch or dinner. Our server was great. She checked up on our table as often as she can. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good service and food

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

The tenderloin of beef in balsamic reduction sauce was delicious. It is always amazing to see how the waitstaff works in harmony. Pete was our server and was his usual witty and amiable self. The water was refilled and bread and butter brought immediately by the other staff. Never have we had poor service there.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Solid lunch that's steady

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Nothing super special; however, great service and consistency is the key here.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lunch on Patio

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Had Ahi Tuna Salad and spouse had Spinach Salad with Salmon while sitting on the outdoor patio. Both were exceptional and a value. Plenty of Tuna slices along with additional Poki style tuna in the salad, too. Plenty of Salmon on wife's enter. She says it was light and refreshing. Nice, pleasant server, as usual.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food quality has gone down. What used to ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Food quality has gone down. What used to be a good restaurant is now mediocre.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.