About Il Fornaio - Burlingame

327 Lorton Ave.
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Il Fornaio is renowned for its authentic award winning Italian cuisine. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Annual winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday 10:00 - 11:00am & Sunday: 9:00 - 11:00am; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Donnelly Ave., 1 block N. of Burlingame Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 375-8000

Website:
http://www.ilfornaio.com/

Catering:
Catering is available upon special request. Please contact our Event Coordinator for more details: kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for a fee of $9 per car.

Public Transit:
Burlingame Cal-Trans Station

Executive Chef:
Maurizio Mazzon

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We welcome the opportunity to plan your next private dining occasion.
Please contact our Event Coordinator at 650.375.8000 or kchlubna@ilfo.com.

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Start your Christmas celebration at Il Fornaio! Join us on Christmas Eve and enjoy the festive atmosphere and your favorite Italian dish.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Kick off 2017 in style! Join us New Year's Eve and toast to happiness and health in the new year. Salute!

Private Dining

Bring your next special occasion to Il Fornaio and work with a friendly and knowledgeable Event Coordinator. Celebrate with excellent service in a warm and stylish surroundings serving extraordinary authentic Italian food and wine. We look forward to helping you plan your next memorable occasion.

Il Fornaio - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Burlingame ›

Neighborhood Gem (39)
Great for Lunch (37)
Casual (35)
See All
Good for Groups (34)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Business Meals (22)
Family Style (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Kid-friendly (18)
Authentic (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Fun (16)
Wood Oven (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Romantic (11)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Healthy (8)
Private Room (8)
Seasonal (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a large group. The service was ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a large group. The service was very good m the food was excellent.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I was meeting business associates for a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I was meeting business associates for a dinner meeting, not knowing whether or not we would stay for dinner or just have drinks. I told my server this and he promptly told me if weren't ordering dinner, we would "kill" his table. My party actually did stay for dinner and we ordered a couple of rounds too.

I fully understand the restaurant's dilemma and would have moved to the bar if my companions changed their mind. But I am upset about your server's comment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

This is one of my favorite restaurant lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurant locations in the Il Fornaio group. The ambiance is great, as are the food and service.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff was very attentive withou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The wait staff was very attentive without being obtrusive. The beet salad was excellent and my guest's bronzino was also very good. The mixed grilled seafood was good overall, but the calamari tentacles were reduced to brown jerky.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lee, our server, was great as always. V ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Lee, our server, was great as always. Very friendly and efficient. Great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I came here from Thanksgivin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My wife and I came here from Thanksgiving. The service was very good, the staff was very friendly and the food outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Il Fornaio is one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Il Fornaio is one of our favorite restaurants.The servers are polite, efficient and attentive without overdoing... The food is consistently high quality and well timed, both for pacing the meal and being hot or cold as it's supposed to be. I eat fish but not meat and I can always find good menu options. We also appreciate that Il Fornaio is open late and some holidays when everything else is closed. My husband and I had a very enjoyable Thanksgiving meal at a nice table. We feel we're in a full and upbeat dining environment but with our own space and privacy. All good, thanks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The butternut squash soup was like a thi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The butternut squash soup was like a thick pureed of the vegetables rather than being a nice creamy style soup. It was OK.

The veal scallopini was on the tart side and it didn't look so appealing once it arrived to the table. Keep to spruce up the plate for a better presentation.

The turkey dinner was NOT good at all. The turkey tasted like it wasn't real turkey at all. It was probably injected at the manufacturer with lots of sodium based ingredient to try to make the meat more tender and it tasted like that. Where is the real roast turkey? The yams was nothing special; three slices of baked yam. I think a whipped candied yam with marshmallow and walnuts would have been nicer. The mashed potato and green beans was nothing to rave about. And the bread stuffing was just cut up pieces of cubed bread that seemed to be steamed. The only thing that was good was the cranberry sauce.

On the plus side, the seafood combo with fish, prawn, calamari and scallops with the roasted potatoes was a winner. So you only got one out of three right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

we came for a turkey dinner on Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2016

we came for a turkey dinner on Thanksgiving and unfortunately the turkey dinner wasn't that good stuffing with just bread and the gravy was very unusual people in our party did not like it at all sorry because we like this restaurants a lot

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had thanksgiving day reservation. Ho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had thanksgiving day reservation. Honored on time. Limited choices but we knew that. We selected turkey and it was exceptionally dry...as if it had been prepared hours before. The sides were just ok...again seemed to be prepared early and just kept warm. One person in our party did not order turkey and received the wrong entree. The noise level was so high that our wait personconstantly asked us to repeat what we said. It was a very rushed service. Have eaten there previously, non holiday, and it was fine.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Our family circumstnces left us with the ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family circumstnces left us with the opportunity to change things up for Thanksgiving and go out for the first time. What a wonderful evening we had at Il Fornaio Burlingame. A big thank you to the staff who worked on the holiday - everyone was cheerful and made the holiday super special for patrons. The family style offerings on the special menu were beautifully presented. The meal was superb, and the wines were fantastic. A genuine shout-out for anyone looking to have something other than turkey - the mixed grill was divine with salmon, sea bass shrimp scallops and calamari. The lemon herb butter was divine on the expertly grilled seafood. I still can't get over how good it was... Lastly, everyone at the table had the pumpkin pie which was fresh and delicious with the caramel sauce. While the restaurant was full, it was easy to have a conversation and not be involved with the conversation at the next table. If you find yourself looking mix things up for your next Thanksgiving Holiday, definitely give Il Fornaio a try.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there on Thanksgiving and the resta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went there on Thanksgiving and the restaurant was way below usual standards. The food was below mediocre and the staff seemed to struggle to get the right items to our table. They were responsive when we told them what was missing but we shouldn't have had the problem to begin with. Don't go there on holidays -- just enjoy theme the rest of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Unfortunately got stomach sick after eat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Unfortunately got stomach sick after eating Lunch there

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fine and dandy on a rainy Sunday- cozy s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fine and dandy on a rainy Sunday- cozy spot and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful Service. Roberto, the manager, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful Service. Roberto, the manager, is FIRST CLASS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This month regional menu is very nice. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This month regional menu is very nice. We also enjoyed the new grilled mixed seafood appetizer a lot. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This Burlingame location has such a love ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This Burlingame location has such a lovely atmosphere with lots of light and energy in the room. So it's always pleasant to eat here. But it's better for lunch or dinner than for brunch. They have a very limited menu and some of the items are disappointing, e.g. frittata with spinach and tomatoes and smoked salmon which sounds so much better than it actually is. The waffle comes with too much cream and fruit; you can hardly taste the waffle! Their bread is always great, of course. But there should be a few classic brunch menu items like scrambled eggs.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

I love this restaurant! I live about 85 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I love this restaurant! I live about 85 miles away and I make it point to stop and have dinner here anytime I work with in San Mateo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had twins birthday dinner there. Starte ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had twins birthday dinner there. Started with Calamari and tomato appetizers. The waitress was very attentive. The food was delicious. Our table had vodka penne (delicious), roasted chicken was yummy and multi seafood dinner was delicious. The price was fabulous for our table of 10. We will definitely return again soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the same with out dalton the new sta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Not the same with out dalton the new staff just don't have his personality

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

My dinner companion ordered salmon and s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My dinner companion ordered salmon and specifically asked for it not to be overcooked (pink in the center). When it arrived it was overcooked and dried out. He sent it back and ordered pasta. He was unhappy and was embarrassed about making it an issue and holding up our dinner. The waitress was also overly solicitous and interrupted us constantly - except after we received our entrees she was no where to be found when my friend needed to alert her to his overcooked salmon. It was all very awkward and distracting.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Always a great meal with friendly effici ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always a great meal with friendly efficient service. We love Il Fornaio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was mediocre; had to ask for but ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Service was mediocre; had to ask for butter twice and it took more than 10 minutes to get our first hello

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Overpriced, mediocre food. Very loud in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Overpriced, mediocre food. Very loud inside. Hard to hear your own party talking across your table. Our waitress seemed hurried and only checked back once after meal served. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

It was okay. Food serving size was good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

It was okay. Food serving size was good. Taste was average.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Horrible never to returnThe pizza was no ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Horrible never to returnThe pizza was not cooked we told them after 20 minutes of waiting for the waiter don't know his name he didn't speak that it wasn't cooked he said to back only to return at 20 minutes after that still not cooked and still cold never to return I did a letter to the restaurant but I don't think I'll be hearing from them or returning anytime soon never again $20 for an

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

SERVICE WAS NOT UP TO WHAT IT SHOULD BE. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

SERVICE WAS NOT UP TO WHAT IT SHOULD BE. 2 BUSSERS STANDING WITHIN 5 FEET OF OUR TABLE CARRYING ON LOUD CONVERESATION FOR A LONG PERIOD OF TIME.

FOOD WAS THE QUALITY OF AN ABOVE AVERAGE FAST FOOD RESTRAUNT.

THIS LOCATION WAS AN UTTER DISAPPOINTMENT!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

We were a party of three, ate well, cold ...

vip
·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were a party of three, ate well, cold draft beer, attentive service.

Good all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual, the food and service was great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As usual, the food and service was great. I was amazed at the number of really small children were there. We ate early and in the future, i will make sure to make an later reservation. i love children, but sometimes I really enjoy the quiet ambience of quiet while eating. This would never stop me from coming to this outstanding dining establishment.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had some good meals at Il Fornaio i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I've had some good meals at Il Fornaio in Burlingame, but this one wasn't my favorite. Our server was polite and prompt. Before the meal: the $12 signature cocktail tasted very light on alcohol. First course, from the seasonal menu: a bowl of garbanzo bean soup. Clear broth, rustic rough-chopped vegetables. This was OK, but not memorable. Second course, again from the seasonal menu: Cheese ravioli. The ravioli were spread out in a single layer, over a plate. One look at that arrangement, and you know the dish is going to be cold unless the plate itself is well pre-heated. It was not. Plate and food were kind of lukewarm. I would have sent it back, but I'd already tasted the dish, and decided I wouldn't like it much regardless of temperature. The ravioli were swimming in a brown gravy-broth, not particularly appealing to the eye, and weak on flavor. There was a generous portion of porcini mushrooms atop the pasta. I felt I had contributed to the problem by ordering poorly, but the execution of the food, especially the pasta and the too-light cocktail, left me feeling disappointed.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I've been going to Il Fornaio for 8 year ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I've been going to Il Fornaio for 8 years and it's always been a positive experience. They have classic staples that are tasty. The ambiance is very nice and airy with the large windows. Great location in downtown Burlingame. It's nicer than your average casual restaurant but still kid friendly. This past experience we got a nice window side table. However, I was really disappointed with the server. The food took a very long time to arrive which is not good with hungry kids and it was early for dinner (restaurant not full). The server was not apologetic. The server got my order wrong and then argued with me about it when he should have clarified instead of assuming a special dish. It did not taste very good either as I tried it. It felt like he was pushing the specials. He ultimately took it off the bill but did not apologize at all and had attitude. A bad server can really irk one's dining experience. As much as I like the restaurant I will not be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

They did a great job for our large group ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

They did a great job for our large group. Food was great too

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used to love Il Fornaio but this visi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We used to love Il Fornaio but this visit was very disappointing. My veal was grey and tasteless the carrots and broccoli rab were overcooked yet the potatoes were cold, my husband's spinach ravioli was over cooked. The impression was that it had been sitting under the heat lamps. After serving us the waiter never returned. We would have sent it back but we had theater tickets. This entire experience rates an F-.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Had a great time. Very comfortable. Ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Had a great time. Very comfortable. Our friends were very comfortable and at ease.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu with many choices. Delicious ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great menu with many choices. Delicious, home style Italian food. Would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very mediocre. The Ahi salad h ...

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

Food was very mediocre. The Ahi salad had no flavor whatsoever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Took a while to get our drinks, my food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Took a while to get our drinks, my food was cold in the center and we had to ask multiple times for silverware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Very interesting menus - each month feat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Very interesting menus - each month features cuisine from a different Region of Italy. Check on line for specialties and Regions available.

Good food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have dined here for quite a few years ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have dined here for quite a few years. We have always had a fabulous meal and excellent service. This last visit was disappointing. The service was terrible. Our server was non existent. We had to ask for everything. One person in our party had a dish that was way over spiced. Too spicy actually. Our server never asked nor did she refill any of our beverages. Needless to say, I spoke with the manager who was very apologetic. I said she must be having a bad day because she did a horrible job. the manager said that she was 1 of their better servers so she must be having an off day. We will go back and hopefully not have that same server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

I hope they update their menus more ofte ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I hope they update their menus more often, kind of tired with the same items offered on the menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.