About Il Cielo - Sanibel

1244 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33957
View Larger Map



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday thru Saturday 4:30pm until 9pm.

Happy hour daily from 4:30pm until 6:00pm in the Bar / Lounge, includes discounted appetizers and salads. Half priced House wines, Well drinks and select Domestic beer.

Cross Street:
Periwinkle

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-5555

Website:
http://ilcielosanibel.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Pianist Thursday through Saturday 7:00pm until 9:00pm

Executive Chef:
Neil Griffin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
IL Cielo is open New Years Eve. (Online reservations are not available for NYE).

Restaurant Photos

Grouper
Pistachio Encrusted Lamb
Chocolate Bombe
Seafood Trio
More S'mores
Veal Scallopini
Petite Filet
Artisinal Salad
blue crab cake
Meatballs
Summer Tomato Bisque
Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo
Scaloppine Con Asparagi

Il Cielo - Sanibel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Southwest Florida
Romantic
Southwest Florida
Special Occasion
Southwest Florida
9 More
Best Overall
Ft. Myers
Best Food
Ft. Myers
Best Service
Ft. Myers
Best Ambiance
Ft. Myers
Best Value
Ft. Myers
Fit for Foodies
Ft. Myers
Romantic
Ft. Myers
Special Occasion
Ft. Myers
Most Booked
Ft. Myers
Best Restaurants in Sanibel ›

special occasion (96)
romantic (81)
fit for foodies (78)
See All
neighborhood gem (28)
notable wine list (24)
good for groups (17)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasant experience, especially ...

Dined 6 days ago

Always a pleasant experience, especially augmented with Scott Mc Donald's music

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I thought the entres selection was a bit ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

I thought the entres selection was a bit limited. I had filet and my husband had a tuna steak both were fabulous. Each entre came with a veggie and potato or pasta. The plate was nicely decorated. We had terimasu for desert and that too was very good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal from start to finish - ev ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Fantastic meal from start to finish - every course was perfect. I have significant food allergies and our waiter checked every option.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful decor, peaceful and quiet, del ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Beautiful decor, peaceful and quiet, delightful music and consistently delicious and inventive food. Service is friendly and attentive. Classy and classic. We'll go back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent! While ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Food and service were excellent! While it is a large sized venue, the ambiance is definitely romantic and cozy. Definitely a keeper!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on June 1, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Sanibel. Of the four restaurants we visted, Cielo was by far the best. My wife had the Grouper with crabmeat and it was outstanding. Many times when you add crabmeat to the meal, the fish is overcooked. Her's was moist and delicious. I had the red snapper and loved it. The Cielo is a bit pricey and i would not recommend it for families on a budget. However, the price was well worth it considering the quality of the food served.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Il Cielo is a wonderful restaurant. The ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Il Cielo is a wonderful restaurant. The food and ambiance is incredible. Also, the pianist will come to your table and take requests. Our second experience was as good as the first. Best restaurant on Sanibel.

food5
ambience4
service4

Frequent visitor to Sanibel and this wa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Frequent visitor to Sanibel and this was our best dining experience to date. Small plate selections were excellent and entree thoughtfully Prepared and ...delicious! They are missing an opportunity in not offering more locally brewed craft beer. Missed opportunity in my opinion. Looking forward to our next visit

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good spot

Dined on May 21, 2016

If your looking for an upscale feel with a great wine and drink list look no further. This place is great. I actually ordered steak and my fiancé had seafood, which was much better than the steak. This place could upgrade their cuts of beef a little to add to the overall experience it was a run of the mill strip steak kind of thin. But overall great flavor and not too expensive. I would recommend this place for sure for a nice atmosphere on the island. Can't get much better than thos

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Cielo stars again

Dined on May 21, 2016

Note the again! We've been to Il Cielo many times and we'll continue to dine there. We had a wonderful meal that was cooked to perfection. Our server, Tiffany, was outstanding. If you like escargot, you must try the Il Cielo escargot. It's spectacular! My wife and I had the hogfish special which was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic dinner and service. I ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

What a fantastic dinner and service. I would go back in a flash! Very creative chef !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely service and a varied menu...even ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Lovely service and a varied menu...even for the vegetarian!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable meal with warm and upscal ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Very enjoyable meal with warm and upscale atmosphere. Food and service were excellent. Enjoyed so much we went again with extended family the next night. Husband and I vacationing in Sanibel for a family reunion and will definitely be back. The light cream of mushroom soup was delicious and the Salmon was fresh and perfectly prepared. The Halibut and local seafood selections were very good as well. Other selections for chicken, steak, pastas, etc. rounded out the menu for non-seafood and vegetarians. All others were very happy with there selections. Go and enjoy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful meal, from appetizers to ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Had a wonderful meal, from appetizers to dessert. Quiet live piano music on a Friday night made it extra special. Will be sure to return when vacationing on the island.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Extraordinarily fine dining in Sanibel. ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Extraordinarily fine dining in Sanibel. We have passed Il Cielo many times, and finally decided to make a reservation. Everything from the maitre d' to the wait staff was professional, charming and experienced. The food was delicious and service was excellent. The decor is a welcomed detour from the "island decor" classy with an art deco flair. We will definitely return on our next trip to Sanibel.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Ambiance Nice but Food Just Okay

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined here many times to mixed reviews. Tonight was no different. Our waiter tried to be attentive despite a table of about 16-18 sitting next to us. I find the food overpriced and unimaginative, so I just ordered a salad of red and green lettuce topped with a petit filet mignon. The salad should have been described as the dark green leaves of romaine that everyone else throws away, but the steak was prepared well and very good. My husband's pork chop was one 1/2 inch bland grilled "Heritage" pork chop lacking the apple cranberry relish which might have made it more interesting. My tomato soup was pretty good as was his clam chowder. We didn't stick around for dessert. The ambiance at Il Cielo is probably the nicest on Sanibel, but the food definitely needs a shot of adrenaline to make it more tasty and exciting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sanibel Gem

Dined on May 6, 2016

il Cielo is a great spot for a special evening. It's definitely a step above the more typical tourist restaurants on the island. The specials are usually delicious and in the $25.00- $$35.00 range. We love going when Scott is playing the piano. He is entertaining (and not loud at all!). The bar area is beautiful and the restaurant romantic. On the right evening there is a nice quiet outdoor area. We'll be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Normally outstanding food with great service but

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

My and wife have been going to Il Cielo at least once month to have outstanding meal with terrific service. This time it was a different story. Not sure if the service staff changes in the off season (our regular waiter was not there) but the service this time was extremely disappointing. It started down the wrong path when we asked to enjoy our cocktails before starting our meal. Before we were able to take two sips of drinks our starters were served. It ended badly by us pouring our own wine throughout meal since a waiter was no where to be found. I am hoping this is not the norm going forward.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, great location!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food, great location!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Yum

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was great and I have a dairy and gluten allergy. They were attentive to my dietary needs. In fact it is the most delicious food that I've had in awhile. Most places just give me plain food. This had A lot of flavor. My husband enjoyed his too. Nice wait staff. Everyone was friendly and they were very busy on a Friday. Great piano player. Will come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Great mussels and lobster ravioli for ap ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great mussels and lobster ravioli for appetizers. Entrees were salmon and surf 'n turf of cobia and petit filet mignon were also very good. Great martini blue cheese stuffed martini olives.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service, good ambiance

Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife and I ate here our last night on Sanibel before flying home. Was an excellent choice. Wait staff was top notch, food was good both in quality and presentation. Highly recommend them for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

From the food to the service.. AMAZING.. ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

From the food to the service.. AMAZING.. John our server was the best ever.... Music, top notch..

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Last night, special dinner for our family vacation did not disappoint. From the apps to scrumptious desserts everything was amazing...thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistently great

Dined on April 27, 2016

We eat here everytime we get down to Sanibel. Great atmosphere, food and service. The veal and shrimp entre was outstanding. My wife loved the Grouper.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was pretty good. The first few bite ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was pretty good. The first few bites of my husband's steak was tough and he mentioned this to the waitress. Her response was "interesting, I will mention it to the chef". Never checked again to see if everything was ok and never apologized. That just is not acceptable in a restaurant like this.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gem in Paradise

Dined on April 20, 2016

What an awesome restaurant in a small Sanibel Island. Food was delicious, staff was courteous and the overall experience was worth dining at this restaurant again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

dadon

Dined on April 18, 2016

absolutely wonderful dining experience! would recommend for all adults.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous romantic night out

Dined on April 17, 2016

The setting was perfect for a romantic evening. The service was very professional. Definitely save room for the oh so light and fluffy tiramisu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service fantastic Food

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very romantic place with a great food, great service and a live piano player!!! Great menu and wine list!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice Upscale Restaurant in Sanibel

Dined on April 16, 2016

We hadn't dined here in a while, due to a rude server on our last visit. This time our waiter was very professional. Food is very good and there is a nice selection of well executed and presented dishes. The piano player/singer added a new touch but was a little too loud at times. I would recommend dining in the other room if you want to have a convesation

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A classy dining spot, especially for Sanibel

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

This place is more expensive than most Sanibel restaurants, but well worth it. I concentrated on small plates, a salad and two appetizers. They were excellent, and larger than I had anticipated. My husband loved his lobster ravioli. We had fancy cocktails and excellent service. We could not have been happier!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Il Cielo and go there for dinner ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

We love Il Cielo and go there for dinner at least twice in our two weeks on the island. We love the ambiance, the food, and the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem of a restaurant!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We went to Il Cielo for a celebratory dinner. Fabulous restaurant: excellent food, outstanding service, wonderful piano player. Could not recommend more highly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Sanibel Dining

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our waitress Uma was delightful and attentive. The food was spectacular. Typically a vegetarian plate at most restaurants consists of 3 sides culled from menu entrees, but not here. The chef inspired vegetarian plate was a stand-alone treasure of 5 different tapas that were well matched and delicious. The Saratoga Sparkling water was a pleasant surprise, fresh and light without the bitter taste the other sparkling waters have.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our go to restaurant on the island.

Dined on April 13, 2016

This was the 5th time we have eaten at Il Cielo this season and each time has left us very happy. The mussel appetizer was outstanding this time as was the black grouper.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Review of Il Cielo.

Dined on April 13, 2016

This was recommended by 2 couples who've vacationed in Sanibel over 20 yrs & are foodies. Of the 4 restaurants where we dined, this was the best for ambiance. My rack of lamb was outstanding; my husband had the veal & shrimp combo which was very good. We were disappointed that such a fine restaurant did not offer an exceptional dessert menu. Service was excellent. We will return when we go back to Sanibel.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and services are outstanding an ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The food and services are outstanding and the piano makes it all the better. Always come here when we are at our place in Sanibel.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

usually outstanding so we took some out ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

usually outstanding so we took some out of town friends. two of meals were outstanding but fish dishes were dry with poor sun dried sauce.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice Meal

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful meal with piano music and great service. This was a birthday celebration and the ambiance was nice. Meal was good as well and everyone seem to enjoy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.