Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Il Cielo - Sanibel



1244 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33957
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday through Sunday 4:30pm until 9pm.

Sunday Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Happy hour daily from 4:30pm until 6:00pm in the Bar / Lounge, includes discounted appetizers and salads. Half priced House wines, Well drinks and select Domestic beer.

Cross Street:
Donax

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-5555

Website:
http://ilcielosanibel.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Pianist Wednesday through Saturday 7:00pm until 9:00pm

Executive Chef:
Scott Swamba, Pastry Chef Melissa Akin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
IL Cielo is open New Years Eve. (Online reservations are not available for NYE).

Il Cielo - Sanibel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Romantic (53)
Live Music (49)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Local Ingredients (28)
Worth the Drive (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Authentic (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Cozy (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Casual (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Healthy (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (5)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
822 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very overpriced. Came out looking beautiful but everything was extremely bland. Not impressed at all. Restaurant is gorgeous so it was very disappointing. Would not return especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had dinner here for our anniversary. It was our first time here. I had a seafood special (red snapper) that was delicious. My husband had the filet based on our server's recommendation. He said he has had better steaks elsewhere. However, the restaurant has a very nice ambience and the service was very good. Our key lime dessert was delicious. This is a very nice place to go for good food on Sanibel.
People were dressed up and also wore shorts so there's no set dress as is typical on Sanibel.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We had a lovely evening out. Food and service were great; music in the background was supplied by a very nice gentleman (Scott) who kept the volume reasonable and the playlist entertaining. Beautiful setting...my husband wears hearing aids and noise is often a problem in restaurants but not the case here. A bit pricey but not out of sight. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Delicious and well prepared. Thought of it as a fancy upscale restaurant. But I brought my daughter and was surprised to see they had a kids' menu and a family friendly vibe. That being said, the food quality was upscale. I had the best peach Bellini here. And the desserts were delicious as well.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Waiter was ok but not that friendly for fine dining. Entrees were excellent! Dessert of blueberry crumble had excellent flavor but was soupy without any crumbles! 2 attempts at hot coffee failed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Il Cielo is a wonderful restaurant with professional servers and elegant food. The pastry chef is incredible! Always a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent evening with friends. Our servers were great. The food was delicious with very generous portion. Our desserts were excellent as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very good Easter Brunch. Overall a good ambience but it did not impress us so much that we would want to come back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Brunch. Food was good, average for breakfast food. Our waiter was excellent, but another waiter yelled at my kids to get out of the way as we were on our way out, but paused to wait for my husband. Definately not kid friendly. I can see having an enjoyable adult only dinner here, as the atmosphere was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Loved everything about our dining experience at Il Cielo - food, drinks, service, ambiance. It was terrific. I only wish we didn't live so far away!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a lovely diner. Would go back the next time we are in Sanibel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My husband had the roasted chicken which he said was perfectly cooked. The accompaniment was tasteless mashed potatoes. We shared a Caesar salad to start , ample for two people although our server said it would be too small ( it was half a head of romaine ) I ordered the mussels in white wine sauce. Suffice it to say I have never had to put salt and pepper on steamed mussels until that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

A refreshingly delightful culinarily experience. Every dish is crafted beautifully. The food looks just as good as it tastes!
There is everything to love about this hidden gem on Sanibel. The atmosphere, drinks, food... perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We have gone to Sanibel for 26 years. One of the best restaurants on the island especially if you're looking for a special evening

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. It is the best restaurant that I have encountered on Sanibel or Captiva and we have been visiting the area for over 40 years.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

On an island filled with mediocre dining experiences, Il Cielo stands apart for its solid service, fine food, and pleasant ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We went here with a customer and his spouse. The food was fantastic. Everyone had something they truly loved. The calamari appetizer was truly unique and everyone loved it. The snapper special with crab meat was outstanding. Everything from the wine list to the menu to the ambiance was over the top. The piano player was excellent and even played several songs of ours by request. It could not have been more perfect. I look forward to our next visit and would recommend Il Cielo to anyone wanting a special place for dinner. They will not disappoint!

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Perfect food and perfect service! An enjoyable night for all, including our children.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We always finish our Sanibel vacation with our last dinner at IL Cielo. We were fortunate to get Richard as our server. He was attentive to every detail, every request and his suggestions were perfect!! Our meal was delicicios!! The citrus beet salad was large enough to share. The scallops on the menu were some of the best I've ever had. Truly a perfect dining experience once again!!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our waiter Christopher was so accommodating and knowledgeable.. made the experience even better

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We have visited here for years. The food is always a delight. They always have a wonderful wine list and the entertainment very pleasing. I had the seafood special this evening snapper and crab, vegs and whipped potatoes with a Sweet Chili beurre blunc, dynamite! My wife had seafood cioppino and we both shared a little of each other's dinner and the cioppino was some of the best we have had in a long time. Both dishes were made to perfection. If you are looking for a nice evening with fine dining, nice wine and live entertainment on Sanibel, you have found it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Try The Calamari! Buttermilk coating; flash fried. Best I ever had ! Lamb was excellent!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We sat outside on the patio where it was warm and peaceful. Very good food and very attentive service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Outstanding , Outstanding, Outstanding ... Talk about a restaurant that continues to raise the bar on fine dining, this is it. I guarantee you will not be disappointed ... They remembered where I sat on my last romantic date night. You guessed it, I got the same table. Talk about special.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This used to be a great restaurant both under Il Cielo and prior to that as Dolce Vita. Our dinner was poorly executed by even mediocre standards let alone restaurant that commands premium prices. My wife's snapper with crabmeat was over cooked, mealy, and flavorless. My cioppino tasted of too much butter and was over reduced so what should have been a delicate balanced broth/stew was closer to a paste. Scallop appetizer for 13 dollars includes 2 scallops which were not correctly seared so they did not have the crisp carmelized searing that you would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. I could go on but you get the idea. We used to come here several times a year, many great memories. Too bad, we will not be returning. Sheesh, what happened? The one positive was our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Guest asked for freshly opened red wine and received wine that had turned. Guest asked for a dish with no butter sauce and received a dish sopping with butter. Replacement order took longer than the first incorrect order. Although they took it off the bill, the experience was marred.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Third time during vacation..took two friends..they loved it..said red snapper special was best they have had on island during their stay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Three of us (women friends) celebrated one of our birthdays and wanted to go to a special place. The ambience and piano music were very nice. Our waiter was wonderful. The menu looked good, although a little pricey but we knew that going in. We each had picked out our meals: salmon, chicken and scallops. At the last minute one of us asked what the vegetarian meal was, so our waiter described it. His description was so enticing, we ended up changing our minds and all ordered the vegetarian dinner. We were ALL very disappointed. It was a bowl of curried rice with eggplant and other vegetables in it. It looked unappetizing, was very spicy and was not what we expected, and not very good. It is our fault for ordering vegetarian, but because the meal was so awful, we probably won't go back and order something else.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food, service and ambiance all were excellent . Dessert was amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Very nice resturant, worth the extra money. A chance to sample some of the higher end dining

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Outstanding food preparation and attentive and knowledgeable wait-service in warm and charming dining room. Clearly the best restaurant on Sanibel.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Best rack of lamb I have ever had. Loved the calamari appetizer. Great service (Kevin and Lorraine were waiters on nights we were there). Chef prepared gluten free calamari just for us. Every item we ordered (appetizer, salads and desserts were delcious. Beautiful decor. Very good and diverse wine list. Excellent piano player/singer on most night. We spent 2 nights in Sanibel Island and went to Il Cielo both night. Why go anywhere else? Highly recommended.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

As always delicious food,excellent waitstaff and overall lovely evening.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was very good. Our waiter was okay, but the guy who brought us our food was outstanding! We split a salad, I got the fish special, and my husband had the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We frequent Il Cielo a few times a season. It is certainly one of the nicer restaurants on the island. It is very consistent but this time I had too slight issues. I ordered scallops and they were lukewarm (temperature) at best. I like my food HOT. I don't know if they sat in the kitchen awhile but that was disappointing. There were four of us and everyone else's dinner was fine.
Also, we were seated directly in front of the piano singer. Given we have had our reservation for approximately two weeks I think we should have been told that and given a choice of table. It can make having a conversation challenging.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent dinner all around.

Wife had delicious salad. We shared a wonderful & unique fried calamari app. Kind of a riff on satay IMO.

She had a great salmon entree. I had terrific sea trout c andouille sausage.

Fabulous blueberry dessert.

Great service.

Super fresh ingredients perfectly prepared. Best dinner on the island.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Healthy, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner and look forward to returning again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food was excellent; server was competent and sweet! Loved the piano man

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always a great meal...our waiter Jeff was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Sanibel Island is typically pretty casual and there is so much fried food. We ate here on our last night of vacation and thought it was a pleasant respite from the flip flops and cover ups, and fried fish sandwiches. The menu was petite but we both found things we loved eating, including dessert. Our waiter was excellent, and it felt like a nice mature meal as a nice end of our wonderful vacation on Sanibel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.