About Il Cielo - Sanibel

1244 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33957
View Larger Map



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday thru Saturday 4:30pm until 9pm.

Happy hour daily from 4:30pm until 6:00pm in the Bar / Lounge, includes discounted appetizers and salads. Half priced House wines, Well drinks and select Domestic beer.

Cross Street:
Periwinkle

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-5555

Website:
http://ilcielosanibel.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Pianist Thursday through Saturday 7:00pm until 9:00pm

Executive Chef:
Neil Griffin

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
IL Cielo is open New Years Eve. (Online reservations are not available for NYE).

Restaurant Photos

Grouper
Pistachio Encrusted Lamb
Chocolate Bombe
Seafood Trio
More S'mores
Artisinal Salad
Veal Scallopini
Petite Filet
blue crab cake
Meatballs
Summer Tomato Bisque
Scaloppine Con Asparagi
Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo

Il Cielo - Sanibel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Southwest Florida
Special Occasion
Southwest Florida
Best Overall
Ft. Myers
8 More
Best Food
Ft. Myers
Best Service
Ft. Myers
Best Ambiance
Ft. Myers
Best Value
Ft. Myers
Fit for Foodies
Ft. Myers
Romantic
Ft. Myers
Special Occasion
Ft. Myers
Most Booked
Ft. Myers
Best Restaurants in Sanibel ›

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (45)
Fit for Foodies (30)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had dinner there with friends a couple ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Had dinner there with friends a couple weeks ago. Returned on August 17 for our wedding anniversary and to hear our friend, Scott McDonald, play the piano. A most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, very attentive and fri ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great atmosphere, very attentive and friendly staff, and delicious food! I would highly recommend the restaurant for any occasion. We went for our Anniversary, but for any reason Il Cielo is THE place to be! Anytime we are in the area of Sanibel or Estero, we will be back! Thanks for the great experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable evening. Liquor selectio ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very enjoyable evening. Liquor selection was very limited and made for a bad start to what was an otherwise nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant needed more traditional I ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The restaurant needed more traditional Italian The name was very misleading! What we did have was exceptional

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly fine dining. One of the best meals ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Truly fine dining. One of the best meals we have had on Sanibel.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff are committed to excellence. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The staff are committed to excellence. You can see it & hear it. The food quality is excellent as is the food presentation. The setting of the physical restaurant is set back in a tree surrounded setting which gives you a feeling of private peaceful surroundings. The décor inside is upscale but not pretentious, just right for a soothing relaxed atmosphere. The prices are not at all over the top for what you get in quality & quantity. We often head over to Sanibel on the west coast of south Florida as we just live across the state on the east coast of south Florida, and we have put this restaurant on our list of places we will frequent again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again the food was outstanding. Jam ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Once again the food was outstanding. Jamee our server was over the top. She did not miss a step in serving us throughout the entire meal even though she was also the bartender. And of course the piano playing was excellent. What a terrific evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food!! Fabulous Cosmo! An ex ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Exceptional food!! Fabulous Cosmo! An excellent Pinot Gris! Risotto was best I've ever had!! Black Grouper was perfect! Will definitely have another date night at Il Cielo upon our return to Sanibel!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As someone who is in business you do no ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As someone who is in business you do not great job ,little more personality when walking in but other hen that ,right on the money.

Keep up the good work.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dining with live piano music but ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Lovely dining with live piano music but the food was mediocre. The dessert was the highlight of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Il Cielo is a taste of big city style on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Il Cielo is a taste of big city style on a small pristine island! This restaurant has class! And the great food and service create a combination that is first-rate! The piano player enhanced the ambience, playing people's requests as they danced in the middle of the restaurant. No special dance floor needed - you were welcome to enjoy the music wherever you were. This is a place that goes out of its way to please the customer! It's a place to return time and time again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant with fun twists on ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with fun twists on America classics.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Average food, formal dining area, reason ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Average food, formal dining area, reasonable prices. Scallops were not very good, fish special tasted just ok. Risotto was bland. Dessert was ok. Touted as a high-end restaurant on the island, we weren't particularly impressed by foods taste.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Always a pleasant experience, especially ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always a pleasant experience, especially augmented with Scott Mc Donald's music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the entres selection was a bit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I thought the entres selection was a bit limited. I had filet and my husband had a tuna steak both were fabulous. Each entre came with a veggie and potato or pasta. The plate was nicely decorated. We had terimasu for desert and that too was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic meal from start to finish - ev ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Fantastic meal from start to finish - every course was perfect. I have significant food allergies and our waiter checked every option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful decor, peaceful and quiet, del ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Beautiful decor, peaceful and quiet, delightful music and consistently delicious and inventive food. Service is friendly and attentive. Classy and classic. We'll go back again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent! While ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Food and service were excellent! While it is a large sized venue, the ambiance is definitely romantic and cozy. Definitely a keeper!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

 
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Sanibel. Of the four restaurants we visted, Cielo was by far the best. My wife had the Grouper with crabmeat and it was outstanding. Many times when you add crabmeat to the meal, the fish is overcooked. Her's was moist and delicious. I had the red snapper and loved it. The Cielo is a bit pricey and i would not recommend it for families on a budget. However, the price was well worth it considering the quality of the food served.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Cielo is a wonderful restaurant. The ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Il Cielo is a wonderful restaurant. The food and ambiance is incredible. Also, the pianist will come to your table and take requests. Our second experience was as good as the first. Best restaurant on Sanibel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Frequent visitor to Sanibel and this wa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Frequent visitor to Sanibel and this was our best dining experience to date. Small plate selections were excellent and entree thoughtfully Prepared and ...delicious! They are missing an opportunity in not offering more locally brewed craft beer. Missed opportunity in my opinion. Looking forward to our next visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good spot

 
·Dined on May 21, 2016

If your looking for an upscale feel with a great wine and drink list look no further. This place is great. I actually ordered steak and my fiancé had seafood, which was much better than the steak. This place could upgrade their cuts of beef a little to add to the overall experience it was a run of the mill strip steak kind of thin. But overall great flavor and not too expensive. I would recommend this place for sure for a nice atmosphere on the island. Can't get much better than thos

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Cielo stars again

vip
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Note the again! We've been to Il Cielo many times and we'll continue to dine there. We had a wonderful meal that was cooked to perfection. Our server, Tiffany, was outstanding. If you like escargot, you must try the Il Cielo escargot. It's spectacular! My wife and I had the hogfish special which was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic dinner and service. I ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

What a fantastic dinner and service. I would go back in a flash! Very creative chef !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely service and a varied menu...even ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Lovely service and a varied menu...even for the vegetarian!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very enjoyable meal with warm and upscal ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Very enjoyable meal with warm and upscale atmosphere.

Food and service were excellent. Enjoyed so much we went again with extended family the next night. Husband and I vacationing in Sanibel for a family reunion and will

definitely be back.

The light cream of mushroom soup was delicious and the Salmon was fresh and perfectly prepared. The Halibut and local seafood selections were very good as well. Other selections for chicken, steak, pastas, etc. rounded out the menu for non-seafood and vegetarians. All others were very

happy with there selections. Go and enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful meal, from appetizers to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Had a wonderful meal, from appetizers to dessert.

Quiet live piano music on a Friday night made it extra special.

Will be sure to return when vacationing on the island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinarily fine dining in Sanibel. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Extraordinarily fine dining in Sanibel. We have passed Il Cielo many times, and finally decided to make a reservation. Everything from the maitre d' to the wait staff was professional, charming and experienced. The food was delicious and service was excellent. The decor is a welcomed detour from the "island decor" classy with an art deco flair. We will definitely return on our next trip to Sanibel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance Nice but Food Just Okay

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined here many times to mixed reviews. Tonight was no different. Our waiter tried to be attentive despite a table of about 16-18 sitting next to us. I find the food overpriced and unimaginative, so I just ordered a salad of red and green lettuce topped with a petit filet mignon. The salad should have been described as the dark green leaves of romaine that everyone else throws away, but the steak was prepared well and very good. My husband's pork chop was one 1/2 inch bland grilled "Heritage" pork chop lacking the apple cranberry relish which might have made it more interesting. My tomato soup was pretty good as was his clam chowder. We didn't stick around for dessert. The ambiance at Il Cielo is probably the nicest on Sanibel, but the food definitely needs a shot of adrenaline to make it more tasty and exciting.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Sanibel Gem

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

il Cielo is a great spot for a special evening. It's definitely a step above the more typical tourist restaurants on the island. The specials are usually delicious and in the $25.00- $$35.00 range. We love going when Scott is playing the piano. He is entertaining (and not loud at all!). The bar area is beautiful and the restaurant romantic. On the right evening there is a nice quiet outdoor area. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Normally outstanding food with great service but

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

My and wife have been going to Il Cielo at least once month to have outstanding meal with terrific service. This time it was a different story. Not sure if the service staff changes in the off season (our regular waiter was not there) but the service this time was extremely disappointing. It started down the wrong path when we asked to enjoy our cocktails before starting our meal. Before we were able to take two sips of drinks our starters were served. It ended badly by us pouring our own wine throughout meal since a waiter was no where to be found. I am hoping this is not the norm going forward.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Great food, great location!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food, great location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Yum

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was great and I have a dairy and gluten allergy. They were attentive to my dietary needs. In fact it is the most delicious food that I've had in awhile. Most places just give me plain food. This had A lot of flavor. My husband enjoyed his too. Nice wait staff. Everyone was friendly and they were very busy on a Friday. Great piano player. Will come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great mussels and lobster ravioli for ap ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great mussels and lobster ravioli for appetizers. Entrees were salmon and surf 'n turf of cobia and petit filet mignon were also very good. Great martini blue cheese stuffed martini olives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food, good service, good ambiance

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife and I ate here our last night on Sanibel before flying home. Was an excellent choice. Wait staff was top notch, food was good both in quality and presentation. Highly recommend them for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the food to the service.. AMAZING.. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

From the food to the service.. AMAZING.. John our server was the best ever.... Music, top notch..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Last night, special dinner for our family vacation did not disappoint. From the apps to scrumptious desserts everything was amazing...thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently great

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We eat here everytime we get down to Sanibel. Great atmosphere, food and service.

The veal and shrimp entre was outstanding. My wife loved the Grouper.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was pretty good. The first few bite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was pretty good. The first few bites of my husband's steak was tough and he mentioned this to the waitress. Her response was "interesting, I will mention it to the chef". Never checked again to see if everything was ok and never apologized. That just is not acceptable in a restaurant like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Gem in Paradise

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

What an awesome restaurant in a small Sanibel Island. Food was delicious, staff was courteous and the overall experience was worth dining at this restaurant again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.