Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Il Cielo - Sanibel



1244 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33957
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Sunday 4:30pm until 9pm.

Happy hour daily from 4:30pm until 6:00pm in the Bar / Lounge, includes discounted appetizers and salads. Half priced House wines, Well drinks and select Domestic beer.

Cross Street:
Donax

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-5555

Website:
http://ilcielosanibel.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Pianist Wednesday through Saturday 7:00pm until 9:00pm

Executive Chef:
Scott Swamba, Pastry Chef Melissa Akin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
IL Cielo is open New Years Eve. (Online reservations are not available for NYE).

Il Cielo - Sanibel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Romantic (30)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Live Music (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Business Meals (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
884 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place to enjoy a delicious meal with family and friends. The ambiance, music, food preparation and service is among the best in SW Florida. One of my very favorites by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Found Il Cielo through Yelp and it lived up to the ratings there. Very nice place indeed with world class cuisine, very friendly waitstaff, excellent live music (signing pianist), nice wine list, wonderful desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent evening - great food - romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent evening- Jim the bartender was great! Enjoyed the company of many locals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

A wonderful date night fine dining experience while vacationing. Il Cielo had a welcoming atmosphere, prompt and personable service, fresh delicious seafood, and classy live piano music. Definitely our favorite dining experience while visiting Sanibel Island, FL!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The best in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wonderful food! Wonderful server, Kellie, was a joyous lady and very knowledgeable and very friendly. We had a wonderful date and the piano player was top notch! He came around to every table and introduced himself, very polite! We loved it and we will return! Thank you!

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very nice. Scallops were incredible! Service was lovely!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Beautiful meal in a lovely environment with a relaxed pace.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 19, 2017

As a vegetarian (no meat, fish or poultry), I have always found it pretty boring to eat on Sanibel Island. It's either average salads with no protein, a veggie burger, or pasta. What a delightful surprise to eat at Il Cielo. I orderd the Chef's Vegetarian Inspiration for $25 and had essentially a seasonal dish of fried eggplant with tomato sauce; it was fresh, nicely prepared, and well presented. We also shared a desert that our waiter recommended: Chocolate Salted Caramel Mousse Cake. It was very good as well. Our waiter was attentive without being annoying, the pianist mingled with diners to get requests, and we were in and out with just the right amount of lag time. Recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great food, great service, great music, great time. My son gave us gift certificates to enjoy a nice dinner. The maitre d' was efficient and kind. Welcomed us with good information and a great smile. Our waiter/bartender Jim was very personable and fun. He gave us great recommendations that led to a wonderful meal. Triple tail and shrimp, tilefish and lamb, artisan salad with pear, desserts and after dinner drinks - all cooked, prepared, and served to perfection.
Scott McDonald is a very talented musician. His piano playing and singing was great. He had a wide selection of music to sing or play. Although he did not advertise them, I bought 2 of his cds. Music and singing was at the perfect level so that we could carry on a nice, quiet conversation.
Room decor was nice. Temperature was very comfortable. Tableware was lovely. Tables were spaced very nicely. Ladies room had real towels to use for each visit.
This was a 5 star evening. Thanks Il Cielo!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent food. Great service. Lots of choices. Well prepared. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We have always experienced wonderful food, service, and the ambience is delightful On nights when pianist Scoot M is playing diners are also have a most enjoyable concert. Il Cielo our favorite Sanibel restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The restaurant was beautiful, and the staff was very attentive. We were treated to a talented, and tasteful piano player. The music was entertaining and was kept at a perfect level, which allowed talk at the table to remain at normal conversational levels.

Appetizers and main courses were excellent, as was the presentation. The menu has a great mix of fresh seafood, as well as some great Mediterranean appetizers, entrees and side dishes. I had the seered Ahi Tuna, which was perfect. We were very pleased with the wine offering .

The final bill was a pleasant surprise considering the wonderful experience my family had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We went to Il Cielo our first night in Sanibel on our honeymoon. Ambiance was lovely, dimly lit and Scott MacDonald on piano taking requests and chatting with each table was wonderful. Service was outstanding. Food was excellent. Tuna tar tare was good, was a little hard to eat with the noodles and would have like the flavors together rather than the "decomposed" style. I had the pepper crusted steak with the bacon au gratin-type potatoes both were phenomenal. The flavors were perfect including the gravy. Hubby got lobster ravioli which was also delicious! Definitely a great spot for a romantic dinner on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mainz)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Sehr schönes Ambiente, aufmerksame und unaufdringliche Bedienung. Der Pianomann ist hervorragend - nette Geste ist das persönliche Gespräch mit den Gästen.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Live Music, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was our first time at il Cielo. The food was excellent and the wait service was friendly and professional. We ordered the ahi tuna, grouper, scallops, and lobster ravioli. Everyone raved at the flavors and presentations. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Il Cielo never seem to disappoint. It is a must experience when visiting or staying on Sanibel

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Graet place to eat.
Fair prices.
Excellent food & service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Live piano music. Great scallops! Delicious bread and olive oil.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We celebrated my husbands birthday and absolutely loved this restaurant!! We will be back! Excellent food, service was amazing and we had a great time! The fish was amazing, steak was outstanding, great wine selection and desserts! Loved everything about this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Outstanding food and presentation! Piano player very nice although if sitting close can be noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Amazing food! The best steak we have ever had anywhere. Pricey but worth the price for the food!

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Been coming here for years and never had a bad meal. Always superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent food! Best calamari we've ever had! Service was incredible! Had a group of ten with us and manager came out to be sure we were satisfied with our seating. They were extremely accommodating. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2017

dinner was great...but it was 2 hours long...slower paced dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Ate here while on a week long vacation on Sanibel. With my wife having celiac disease we saw they had great reviews for gluten free on the find me gfree app. Uma our server was excellent and the cocktails are amazing. Freshest sea food I have had on the island.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our service was phenomenal !! Our server Andres was great! His recommendations were spot on and I can't wait to come back. Thank you for such an enjoyable evening.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Very good wine list, heavy on Italian. The menu is also heavy on Italian with a couple of creative touches. I had Osso Bucco from a veal shank which is the way I like it. It was fall-apart tender and cooked in a vegetable broth, very good but my partner's fish was outstanding. A filet of black drum topped with lump crab meat was to die for. Next time I will order fish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 20, 2017

On our first visit to Sanibel to celebrate an anniversary, we chose Il Cielo based on the menu selections and the vegetarian option. Overall an excellent experience with a few comments that should be put into perspective. The positive - very nice upscale venue although the music was a bit loud for our taste. The vegetarian option (Chef;s inspiration) was excellent and quite different than the normal vegetarian fare - a stuffed pepper with sweet potato, mushroom, and quinoa stuffing. Apparently the option changes at some interval so a call ahead is recommended. My wife's tuna was excellent but cooked a bit too long - but we decided she might not have been clear in her description of how she wanted it prepared. I'm certain that many customers would rate this a 5 experience and we would certainly return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Wonderful food! We took the three kids and enjoy the whole evening! This is must if you are visiting!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 11, 2017

diver scallop are fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything about the evening was perfect! Food, service, cocktails, wine, music, outstanding! Have not been to Il Cielo in about 2 years, but I assure you that I won't wait that long again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Classy yet intimate. Marvelous decor. The food was amazing. The service attentive and friendly. A memorable experience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food, service, and atmosphere! Grouper was outstanding, and they have real meals for kids as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Amazing from start to finish. Restaurant is gorgeous. Piano player was good. Food was exceptional and our server Uma outstanding. We can't wait to return!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Loved the piano player. Food was great, Service excellent. A special evening for our 61st. anniversary!
I

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I chose this restaurant for my fiance's birthday dinner, during our visit to Sanibel. Very nice ambience with the decor and live Piano. The service was excellent, as were the drinks. She had a wine by recommendation of our waiter - perfect recommendation. I had a cucumber mojito which was excellent. I don't prefer mojitos but thought I'd give it a try. I wasn't disappointed, very tasty. The food was a bit average, not spectacular. Overall, we were happy with this visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Uma was a fabulous server
5 star
Incredible dinner ,catch of the day and tuna done perfectly

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.