About Il Cielo - Sanibel

1244 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33957
View Larger Map



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday through Sunday 4:30pm until 9pm.

Sunday Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Happy hour daily from 4:30pm until 6:00pm in the Bar / Lounge, includes discounted appetizers and salads. Half priced House wines, Well drinks and select Domestic beer.

Cross Street:
Donax

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-5555

Website:
http://ilcielosanibel.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Pianist Wednesday through Saturday 7:00pm until 9:00pm

Executive Chef:
Scott Swamba, Pastry Chef Melissa Akin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
IL Cielo is open New Years Eve. (Online reservations are not available for NYE).

Il Cielo - Sanibel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Creative Cuisine (36)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Live Music (34)
Romantic (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Notable Wine List (28)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Authentic (13)
Healthy (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

Had brunch with my visiting parents and everything was wonderful! The waffle with berries, corned beef hash, and shrimp and grits were phenomenal. The deserts were also out of this world. I've never had anything here that I haven't loved

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Had a reservation and seated on arrival. Service top notch. Veal and lobster ravioli excellent. Filet cooked to perfection. Will go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 2 days ago

We came for the rack of lamb and was very disappointed.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Our 3rd year visiting - if anything the experience was even better. From the efficient welcome & on time service, the gentle but professional piano playing to the excellent food showed how management makes things work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Wait staff helpful with decisions. Best calamari ever. Large portions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Very average. Not worth the trip. Food was just ok. Service was spotty and even though I requested a nice table (we were celebrating my husband's bday as a couple) they seated us next to a big table with 2 infants...very loud. Long wait for lukewarm food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

We were in Sanibel for two weeks and visited Il Cielo twice. We love the atmosphere and the food is the best. A lovely place to spend an evening with family and friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I were looking for a special place to have a great dinner on our last night on Sanibel and we found it! Every aspect from making the reservation to the final cup of coffee was prefect. Jason our waiter made helpful suggestions when we asked, the food, lamb chops for me, veal for her was excellent, best I have ever had in three winters of visiting Sanibel!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

A very comfortable, quiet place where you can actually hear the people across the table. The food was good (the calamari was outstanding with an unusual preparation), the service excellent, and the overall ambience excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Scallops were excellent, as was sea bass. Calamari appetizer was unlike any I've ever had.

Will definitely return next time we're in area.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We basically went for the music and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. The piano and singer (Scott McDonald) were terrific and presented in such a way that quiet conversation could also take place at the table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The ahi tuna appetizer was excellent as was the red snapper entree and the key lime trio for dessert. The vegetarian entree was ok. The server was entertaining and helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The restaurant was lovely physically and my food was quite tasty very overpriced for the area and competition

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It was President's Day so the traffic on Periwinkle was backed up for miles. We were 15 minutes late but the restaurant was gracious and welcomed us warmly.

We enjoyed a very delicious meal of red snapper and crabmeat. The creme brule was the best ever!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very beautiful place. Service was excellent. Food perfect. Except they took my favorite menu item off the menu. Fish tacos. They were the best!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Found the OSSO a bit dry.

Appertisers very tasty.

Service was exceptional.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We enjoyed a nice drink at the bar before getting seated in the dining room. All in all, good food and drink. We didn't give this place the real chance it deserved because we couldn't order many of the items as they were busy and ran out of many dishes. We had a late reservation at 8PM, so our bad. We did like what we ordered. Our server Chris was friendly, knowledgable and attentive. We shared a Caesar salad which was elevated with a bit of nutmeg in the dressing and a stronger hint of anchovy. Quite a delightful departure form your standard Caesar. My wife had the substantial mussel appetizer for her entree and I had the the lobster ravioli. The mussels were outstanding and the lobster ravioli were good, my only critique on the ravioli is that they were a little tough on the edges but tasty nonetheless. Solid 4 star meal. We washed this all down with a nice Cuvaison Chardonnay which complimented the seafood dishes nicely. If we are back in Sanibel again, we would definitely dine here, just a bit earlier.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Another wonderful meal and night and Scott on the piano made it even better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food is beyond excellent. Beautifully prepared and executed. We had the corvina and the scallopini, and the risotto for an appetizer. It was outstanding and we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our waiter made the Sunday brunch special for my husband (75 th birthday) with our son and grandchildren when they visited us during our weeks on Sanibel. The brunch was delicious! Even though it is a special place for adult dinner parties, they were wonderful with our grandchildren!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

For all the hype the food disappoints in the extreme.

Bread basket was some left over something that had started to go stale, and some OK oil and herbs.

The risotto with pork was just OK. Cheesy and what I assumed was Pork Tenderloin, but with gristle and not cut up in even pieces.

The spouse had the beet salad and was happy with it except she ran out of goat cheese halfway through.

Pork tenderloin had a greyish brown sauce that did nothing, No flavor just a lump of congealed something. Veg was OK nothing outstanding.

Spouse had the Cioppino, Again Ok lots of seafood, but the bread was so garlicky she couldn't taste any thing else .

Waitstaff on the other hand was great. Attentive without being obtrusive, and on the spot when plate needed cleared.

Like any thing on sanibel prices were excessive $ 10 for a glass of domestic chardonnay that cost $ 12 in the local market. but that seems to be the going price for eating "on Island".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our party enjoyed our seating, menu, service, sound and ambiance.....plus the pianist. Thank you.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a party of 4 and each of us had a different entree- everyone was delicious. Ravioli and tuna were awesome.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Found the staff to be curtious, and helpful. Food good, aimosphere qiet ecxcept for great music

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We went with friends for an early dinner, and I had the black grouper with lumped crab, which was delicious. Properly cooked, and a wonderful sauce. My wife had the North Sea salmon, which was also very tasty. We ordered individual glasses of wine, which were quite good complements to the dinner. Service was attentive, but not pushy. A very delightful evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Delicious food and outstanding service. Prices on the high side so this is not a place I'd visit weekly but not the most expensive place we've eaten. Had live music on a Thursday night (piano) which we enjoyed. They ran out of the calamari appetizer that we wanted but the crab cake was terrific. I had the strip steak with gnocchi and my boyfriend had the cioppino - both were well prepared and delicious. Topped it off with a trio of tiny mousse cakes which we were told were prepared for Valentines Day. I had said I'd only have 1 bite but then of course I had to have a bite (or maybe 2!!!) of each one. So good!! Would certainly recommend and return for another special dinner

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wonderful food and ambience. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We dine here every year and it's always excellent. The food is fresh, tasty and very well prepared. The crab bisque was rich without being overly heavy and the mussels with fennel are wonderful. The seafood is the star here, but the meats are prepared with great care and love. Our server was attentive, efficient and took excellent care of us. We will definitely come again. It's well worth the price.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful meal and total experience. Il Cielo has become our favorite restaurant on Sanibel Island. No wonder it won Best Fine Dining award - outstanding food, service and ambiance. And what topped off a truly special evening was Scott McDonald on piano.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We like to start our Sanibel stay with dinner at Il Cielo. We are never disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere are Excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Creative and delicious fine dining. Terrific restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have had Valentine dinner here the last two years and have visited at other times. The food is outstanding. Kevin, our server, did a great job. We highly recommend this restaurant, one of the best in Sanibel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We a group of six for my birthday. Everyone loved it. Food was good. The piano player was excellent. The service was a little slow, but it was Valentine's Day. Always a problem on my birthday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was delicious and there was a piano player with a great voice to boot! Would strongly recommend !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant called and cancelled our reservation. What a disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Super on all leveld

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

First time dining at Il Cielo- we loved it!! We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Elegant. Great service. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a very nice table near the piano and were worried that we might be too close, but the pianist (Scott McDonald) is one of the finest we have heard on the island - played and sang in a moderate volumn, all wonderful music (Jazz, Classical, Easy Listening). Our waitress couldn't have been more accommodating and all courses were served in a timely manner. The food was delicious and the presentations were very nice. We all agreed that it was one of the nicest evenings we have experienced on Sanibel.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had happy hour small plates which were quite good but nothing out of the ordinary.

We were relocated to the bar area having been originally seated in the main dining room because we requested the happy hour menu. We had not experienced that in any other restaurant.

The decor is rather grandiose and unlike most places in this beach resort area, which tend to be more casual.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Brunch menu was superb. Jason our waiter is an islander, was very polite, efficient, and provided excellent service. The shrimp and grits was best I've had, and the meal was well presented. Prices were moderate for the entire menu, as were cocktails., considering how the quality of the food, and the ambience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fantastic, (AGAIN)- all food was delicious- from the salmon, other fresh caught fish, veal marsala to pistachio encrusted lamb chops (with HOME MADE mint jelly!). Well presented, delicious fresh side vegetables, heirloom tomato caprese salad (split by the couples), excellent service was attentive, friendly, and informative. Lovely setting, relaxed, open. DELICIOUS desserts that are (really) house made-- not vendor bought: creme brulee, fresh berry cobbler and (OMG!) chocolate lava cake.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Very pleasant atmosphere, very good food above average costs but piano music mate it a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food and the service were excellent.

The place is very pretty and tables are not close together so it gives you some privacy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

In a word, stellar in every respect. Great atmosphere, great food, great service and wonderful entertainment. This is the best white tablecloth, fine dining restaurant in either Sanibel or Captiva, and worth the drive from Captiva!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Excellent food. Great Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Beautiful space and good menu well executed and delivered by the competent wait staff. Quite simply the best on the island based our two visits.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This dining event was a disappointment. The food just wasn't that good; flavors were bland/lacking or muddled. Even the chef's soup special, carrot and cardamon, had no discernible cardamon flavor (and I love cardamon) and was very bland on the carrot flavor. Grouper and crab seafood entree was overpowered/muddled by too much mashed potatoes, though the accompanying vegetables were very good. Its sweet-chili beurre blanc sauce was too sweet and not at all spicy. Veal Scaloppini special was a bit salty and one note on flavor. Our 2 prior food experiences at Il Cielo were 5 star all the way, so this was a disappointment. Maybe the chef was away. Hopefully it will back to terrific next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We came down for Red Sox Fantasy Camp and had planned on going to another restaurant close by but just had a "feeling" we should switch So glad we did. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed. Sat at the bar for a drink before dinner, bartender was very nice. Once at the table our waitress Uma couldn't have been more attentive, knowledge and nice. We started with calamari which was good, but not traditional and then the Caprese salad that although good lacked Mozzarella which Uma took off our bill. My husband and I both had the New York Sirloin which was cooked to our liking and seasoned well. Her suggestion of the meringue cake was spot on! When we come back down next year we will absolutely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent meal well prepared and served. Ambience was nice as was the live music.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.