Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Il Cielo - Sanibel



1244 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33957
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Sunday 4:30pm until 9pm.

Happy hour daily from 4:30pm until 6:00pm in the Bar / Lounge, includes discounted appetizers and salads. Half priced House wines, Well drinks and select Domestic beer.

Cross Street:
Donax

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-5555

Website:
http://ilcielosanibel.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Pianist Wednesday through Saturday 7:00pm until 9:00pm

Executive Chef:
Scott Swamba, Pastry Chef Melissa Akin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
IL Cielo is open New Years Eve. (Online reservations are not available for NYE).

Il Cielo - Sanibel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (58)
GoodForDates (53)
Romance (50)
See All
Anniversaries (48)
CreativeCuisine (40)
LiveMusic (39)
QuietConversation (36)
Birthdays (32)
Foodies (30)
LocalIngredients (29)
WorthTheDrive (24)
NotableWineList (17)
NeighborhoodGem (15)
BarSeating (14)
Groups (13)
Authentic (13)
HandcraftedCocktails (12)
BusinessMeals (12)
Cozy (11)
ModernDecor (10)
DisabledAccess (8)
Casual (8)
Healthy (8)
Fun (6)
HappyHour (6)
OutdoorDining (6)
PrePostTheatre (6)
VegetarianOptions (5)
GlutenFree (5)
ChildFriendly (4)
Brunch (4)
ScenicView (3)
VibrantBarScene (3)
SundayLunch (3)
ComfortFood (2)
PeopleWatching (2)
OutstandingValue (2)
Seasonal (2)
AfternoonCoffee (1)
LateNightFind (1)
TastingMenu (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
Vegan (1)
Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
856 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

dinner was great...but it was 2 hours long...slower paced dining!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Ate here while on a week long vacation on Sanibel. With my wife having celiac disease we saw they had great reviews for gluten free on the find me gfree app. Uma our server was excellent and the cocktails are amazing. Freshest sea food I have had on the island.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Our service was phenomenal !! Our server Andres was great! His recommendations were spot on and I can't wait to come back. Thank you for such an enjoyable evening.!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good wine list, heavy on Italian. The menu is also heavy on Italian with a couple of creative touches. I had Osso Bucco from a veal shank which is the way I like it. It was fall-apart tender and cooked in a vegetable broth, very good but my partner's fish was outstanding. A filet of black drum topped with lump crab meat was to die for. Next time I will order fish.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

On our first visit to Sanibel to celebrate an anniversary, we chose Il Cielo based on the menu selections and the vegetarian option. Overall an excellent experience with a few comments that should be put into perspective. The positive - very nice upscale venue although the music was a bit loud for our taste. The vegetarian option (Chef;s inspiration) was excellent and quite different than the normal vegetarian fare - a stuffed pepper with sweet potato, mushroom, and quinoa stuffing. Apparently the option changes at some interval so a call ahead is recommended. My wife's tuna was excellent but cooked a bit too long - but we decided she might not have been clear in her description of how she wanted it prepared. I'm certain that many customers would rate this a 5 experience and we would certainly return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Wonderful food! We took the three kids and enjoy the whole evening! This is must if you are visiting!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 11, 2017

diver scallop are fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Everything about the evening was perfect! Food, service, cocktails, wine, music, outstanding! Have not been to Il Cielo in about 2 years, but I assure you that I won't wait that long again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Classy yet intimate. Marvelous decor. The food was amazing. The service attentive and friendly. A memorable experience

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food, service, and atmosphere! Grouper was outstanding, and they have real meals for kids as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Amazing from start to finish. Restaurant is gorgeous. Piano player was good. Food was exceptional and our server Uma outstanding. We can't wait to return!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Loved the piano player. Food was great, Service excellent. A special evening for our 61st. anniversary!
I

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I chose this restaurant for my fiance's birthday dinner, during our visit to Sanibel. Very nice ambience with the decor and live Piano. The service was excellent, as were the drinks. She had a wine by recommendation of our waiter - perfect recommendation. I had a cucumber mojito which was excellent. I don't prefer mojitos but thought I'd give it a try. I wasn't disappointed, very tasty. The food was a bit average, not spectacular. Overall, we were happy with this visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Uma was a fabulous server
5 star
Incredible dinner ,catch of the day and tuna done perfectly

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 30, 2017

My dining partners ordered the Black Grouper Feature and all enjoyed.
I wanted to try something from their everyday menu and ordered the Lobster Ravioli. The pasta was thick (unlike most homemade ravioli) The spinach and asparagus in the stuffing overpowered the lobster. The sherry and too much mustard cream sauce also masked any chance of a lobster flavor. I did not finish my meal. On the other hand, the calamari appetizer was unusual and delicious (My husband orders calamari in every restaurant that offers it)Cut in strips, lightly breaded and mango glaze,kick of spice and nuts. Desserts had a nice variety and we each ordered one. I will try this restaurant again in the future because the service and atmosphere and piano music were enjoyable and give them another chance on an entree.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 29, 2017

I had dinner with my parents at Il Cielo on a Sunday evening. First, the restaurant is very nice and there is a gentleman playing the piano beautifully! The ambiance is very relaxing. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the food and the different wines. Our menu selections were also outstanding - salmon entree, the scallops, and the lobster ravioli. The only feedback I have is that they were out of their local fish special which was Black Grouper by the time we had dinner so we were not able to order it. Other than that, we loved this restaurant and will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We reserved at Il Cielo to celebrate our 18yr wedding anniversary. We had looked at the menu before coming so we were looking forward to a special meal. Chris our server was very friendly and attentive. My husband and I shared the ahi tuna to start; which was AMAZING! The cucumber mojito was not good at all. My husband asked to have it sweetened but it didnt help. There was not sweetness to it at all. My husband ordered to seafood cioppino. Half way through the meal, he bit into some sand. He made the server aware. When the server returned he ensured that the only way sand would have gotten in the dish would have been from inside the mussels and not from lack of cleaning the shellfish. Its besides the point how the sand made it to the plate. Management should have tried to do something to ensure that a customer had a pleasant first time experience and maybe have the customer return. Not even a free dessert was offered. Disappointed with the way this issue was handled. We have had minor issues with our meal at other 5 star establishments and more has been done at those restaurants than at Il Cielo tonight. Needless to say that we will not be returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

40th Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I loved the atmosphere of this restaurant. There was a gentleman playing piano but it was never so loud that you couldn't engage in conversation. Our server, Chris, was excellent - always available to pour our wine and check on us but let us enjoy our experience. The food was excellent- from the mussels to the the delicious creme brulee! I would definitely recommend this restaurant and will gladly go back when back on Sanibel!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food and service were as good as any restaurant at which I have eaten. I live in a city with a well established reputation​ for it's fine dining, and this place would fit right in. The food was thoughtfully prepared and the staff was well appointed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My wife and I happened to stumble upon this restaurant as we were searching for places to eat on Sanibel / Captiva...and boy were we happy we did! Incredible service, live piano player, delicious food, and a fantastic ambiance to celebrate in. Thank you for making our night!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

All around great experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We often take out of town guests here for the high quality, creative cuisine. Service was a little below par on our recent visit but Christopher was off that night and we are very spoiled. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very pleasant restaurant. While there is a nightly pianist, the music is not obtrusive and this is one of the few restaurants on Sanibel Island where one can carry on a quiet conversation. The menu is diverse, nice presentation, good service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Just ok. Waiter was a good salesman but chef failed on flavor. Not sure I would recommend. Mussels had no flavor. Osso bucco was just ordinary. Salmon had zero salt. Nothing like waiter described. Blueberry tart was great.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great happy hour dining options and conversation

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our dining experience was over the top! The service was the BEST! The professional waitress connected with us and made our special evening even more special! We could not have asked for a better evening! Thank you for going above to ensure a fantastic dining experience!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I need dairy free options. Our waitress, who eats dairy free, helped me select a wonderful meal. The chef had no problem tweaking my choices, since most items are made from scratch.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent experience overall. The food, drinks and service were fantastic with special praise for the calamari app and the beef filet. Both were perfectly prepared and will rank among the best I have ever tasted.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Very special place, would be a regular spot if they carried Chopin vodka, manager said they don't due to extra fee from distributor, odd since several other restaurants on island carry it? But still a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Ok food. Beef was tough and fatty in the risotto. Nice presentation of the food. Salad was good. Great dessert.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Excellent food, professional wait staff, friendly manager. We loved the peanut butter torte dessert.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Sanibel. Best service, food, and atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was very overpriced. Came out looking beautiful but everything was extremely bland. Not impressed at all. Restaurant is gorgeous so it was very disappointing. Would not return especially for the price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had dinner here for our anniversary. It was our first time here. I had a seafood special (red snapper) that was delicious. My husband had the filet based on our server's recommendation. He said he has had better steaks elsewhere. However, the restaurant has a very nice ambience and the service was very good. Our key lime dessert was delicious. This is a very nice place to go for good food on Sanibel.
People were dressed up and also wore shorts so there's no set dress as is typical on Sanibel.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We had a lovely evening out. Food and service were great; music in the background was supplied by a very nice gentleman (Scott) who kept the volume reasonable and the playlist entertaining. Beautiful setting...my husband wears hearing aids and noise is often a problem in restaurants but not the case here. A bit pricey but not out of sight. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This was by far one of our best dining experiences. The food was absolutely wonderful and the wait staff was very friendly and helpful . I wish we lived closer so we could go more often but will absolutely be visiting again the next time we get to Florida.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Delicious and well prepared. Thought of it as a fancy upscale restaurant. But I brought my daughter and was surprised to see they had a kids' menu and a family friendly vibe. That being said, the food quality was upscale. I had the best peach Bellini here. And the desserts were delicious as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Waiter was ok but not that friendly for fine dining. Entrees were excellent! Dessert of blueberry crumble had excellent flavor but was soupy without any crumbles! 2 attempts at hot coffee failed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Il Cielo is a wonderful restaurant with professional servers and elegant food. The pastry chef is incredible! Always a lovely evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.