About Il Cielo - Sanibel



1244 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33957
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday through Sunday 4:30pm until 9pm.

Sunday Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Happy hour daily from 4:30pm until 6:00pm in the Bar / Lounge, includes discounted appetizers and salads. Half priced House wines, Well drinks and select Domestic beer.

Cross Street:
Donax

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-5555

Website:
http://ilcielosanibel.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Pianist Wednesday through Saturday 7:00pm until 9:00pm

Executive Chef:
Scott Swamba, Pastry Chef Melissa Akin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
IL Cielo is open New Years Eve. (Online reservations are not available for NYE).

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Grouper - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Pistachio Encrusted Lamb - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Chocolate Bombe - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Seafood Trio - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
More S'mores - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Artisinal Salad - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Veal Scallopini - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Petite Filet - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
blue crab cake - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Meatballs - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Summer Tomato Bisque - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Scaloppine Con Asparagi - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL

Il Cielo - Sanibel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Live Music (25)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Business Meals (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
703 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our dinner was lovely and our waiter Chr ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Our dinner was lovely and our waiter Christopher was very knowledgeable and attentive without being too obtrusive. Overal a lovely evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tough one to review. Liked it but got t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Tough one to review. Liked it but got the vibe they are very impressed with themselves. It's a good restaurant, maybe great for Sanibel but I dont know enough to say. Brought the kids and asked if possible for the kitchen to make a chicken parm given chicken cutlet was one of children's option as well as caprese salad. Server said he doubted it but would ask..it was 6pm and place was empty. Kitchen said no problem and it turned out amazing. Asked to buy the kitchen a round of drinks in appreciation and they said it wasn't an option, liability issues. Seems a bit over the top. Another instance, manager came over to check if everything was okay, I said yes but could use a wine menu and I never saw him again. On a positive note, my wife didn't like the taste of her dish, server offered to make her something else and removed item from the bill without even asking. Make a great martini & the piano was very nice.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our dining experience was absolutely fa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Our dining experience was absolutely fantastic! The food was excellent, with a very unique and delicious vegetarian option. The ambience was gorgeous, we were able to eat outdoors for dinner. And the service was absolutely amazing! Our server, Uma, treated us with such special attentiveness and genuine kindness. We felt at home! We plan to visit again soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a lovely dining experience ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

We had such a lovely dining experience at Il Cielo . . . Our server, Uma, was just wonderful . . .the dinners were perfect . . .the desserts were divine . . .and Scott was an amazing addition to our celebration of friendship . . .thank you for never letting us down!! I can't wait to get back to Sanibel next year for another relaxing and delicious evening at Il Cielo!! D

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was uninspired and the food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The menu was uninspired and the food was tasteless. The worst part however was that the ravioli was barely warm; was sent back to the kitchen and was again served barely warm. My guest and I barely ate anything. The final insult was the high price paid for the meal and the verbal shrug from the manager when we reported the poor quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

A superb fine dining experience with exc ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

A superb fine dining experience with excellent staff and pianist.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Il Cielo was one of the best dining expe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Il Cielo was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had! The service was excellent from the start and continued throughout the meal. The food was the best I've had at a restaurant, and I've eaten at some really good ones across the country (odd that "good food" was not a choice in the "what I'd recommend this restaurant for" section of this review). I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Drinks a ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Drinks and dinner were delicious with beautiful presentation. Tiffany provided friendly, professional service. Scott McDonald's music was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife loved the music that was playing ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 9, 2017

My wife loved the music that was playing (40's and 50's) and my aunt, wife and I all loved the appetizers, meal and desert. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this great alternative to hotel fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Found this great alternative to hotel food while on vacation in Fort Meyers. Really enjoyed the piano music during dinner. Authentic minestrone , and other dishes. But creative plates as well. I loved the tuna.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great everything. Black Grouper was fant ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great everything. Black Grouper was fantastic. Service and ambiance top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as in the past. Service was ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Not as good as in the past. Service was okay, but the Bar/Server messed up our drinks twice. Food was not as flavorful as normal, and I felt like the dishes could use more salt. Still, as island dining goes, this is still one of the best places to go for a fine meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We were disappointed in the meal selecti ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were disappointed in the meal selections, expecting more Italian options. Our Food wasn't good, red and green leaf salad was plate of sliced romaine with little dressing. Ravioli was nothing special and tasted like frozen. Dining room was empty, we were first to be seated, host seated second party in table directly behind us, could hear just about every word. Heavily perfumed Waitress was overly solicitous and placed her hands on me and "blessed us" as she presented our entrees. Couldn't wait to get out of there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Disappointed that they told us the speci ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Disappointed that they told us the specials only to come back after we ordered to say they were out.

Limited selections on the menu was also disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Nice quiet ambiance. Food was very good. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nice quiet ambiance. Food was very good. Would go back for the lobster ravioli and mahi alone. My mahi ribeye combo was perfect and both husband and son had the lobster ravioli which was super. Dessert list unimpressive. Went for ice cream after. Waiter had a strict routine he seemed unable to deviate from. Asked for bread and he said he had a coiple things to do and then we would get bread. It was just odd. If that is restaurant policy to maintain a strict order I suggest waiters are taught to either be more diplomatic about customer requests OR bring it up at the next office meeting and suggest being more lienient with procedure. Like we couldnt see dessert menu until he cleared all plates. Same with cappucino request. Felt like little kids waiting to be served at camp a little bit.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Going out to dinner for us is always a s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Going out to dinner for us is always a special occasion so we like to be treated that way. Look no further and book your reservation for il Cielo; knowledgeable waitstaff, attentive but never felt rushed, helpful w menu questions. We all had different meals and everyone was thrilled- clean plates all around! Fabulous desserts -my husband loved his key lime trio, son got molten lava and we split a blueberry crumble - all made on premises-beautiful bar area if you can't get reservations;and a lovely pianist (not overwhelming)-hope we can get back one more time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant.. service good, food tas ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nice restaurant.. service good, food tasty and on time.. would go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Since I live on Sanibel year-round, I've ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Since I live on Sanibel year-round, I've eaten at almost all the island restaurants including Il Cielo several times. I usually recommend it to guests who want a change in ambiance from the usual noisy crowded Sanibel restaurants. Just be ready to see high prices (highest on the island?), but menu offerings are pretty diverse, food flavor is maybe above average, and portions are okay. The best part is the decor if you want something besides brightly painted uncomfortable wooden chairs and shell pictures on the wall, and the service. Ask to sit in Uma's section; you won't be disappointed. She's a bit quirky but genuinely cares for people and offers you excellent service and a nice experience if you let her. They were too booked to give us a window table for 2 but I will NEVER understand why the maitre d tries to give you the crappiest table in the place when there are clearly others that are better. He acted quite put-off when we requested a different table out of the way of the main traffic flow.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food poorly prepared. Everything seemed ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food poorly prepared. Everything seemed to be drenched in sauces. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Last night was our first time at zillion ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Last night was our first time at zillion Cielo. The restaurant is charming, the food was great, service was not rushed. For sure... we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Christmas Eve and was very disa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went for Christmas Eve and was very disappointed all the way. Would not go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Vegetarian dishes were excellent. Seafoo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Vegetarian dishes were excellent. Seafood was mixed. Still a lovely evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Our fourth evening at Il Cielo; three of ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our fourth evening at Il Cielo; three of the four have been excellent; one evening wasn't top-notch. It is among our favorite Sanibel restaurants. We like the menu selections, prompt and attentive service, and food preparation. Portions are ample, not huge. It is more spacious and formal than some Sanibel restaurants (by formal, I mean restaurant style; unfortunately some diners (men) are in sloppy-casual, which seems so out of place). My partner had prime rib (special), I had fish, and we were both happy with our choices. We each had appetizers, main course, a cocktail and a glass of wine; total including generous tip: $173.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We never miss a night at Il Cielo when w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We never miss a night at Il Cielo when we are on Sanibel/Captiva which lately is at least twice a year. We often debate which visit was the best one. There is no clear winner because we have never been disappointed. This visit though was truly remarkable. We started with the famous meatball appetizer, which sadly is no longer on the menu, but is served during Happy Hour. Regardless , Kevin, our excellent waiter, asked the Chef to prepare them for us anyway. Excellent! The Artisanal Green Salad and Watermelon Salad were big hits. I had the Veal Scalopini, and others Chicken Saltimboca, Butternut Squash with fresh crab and Beef Tenderloin Rissotto. All were OUTSTANDING! The wine list continues to impress with a nice range of varietals and price options. We had a Tuscan Cianti Classico Reserva. It was remarkable. Don't even look at the desert menu...we split three of them and all were wonderful. All of this, by the way, was accompanied by the remarkably talented Scott McDonald. You will not find a more gracious, classically trained (began at age 7) pianist whose range of material and soothing voice makes such a perfect background for your evening. When you wish he engages in a way that finds the music you will enjoy the most. There are many excellent restaurants on San/Cap each with its own special setting, atmosphere, menu, preparation and service. Il Cielo is at the top for Italian and among the best over-all. Don't miss a chance to enjoy it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, People Watching, , Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service.

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, quiet, delicious dinner. Very ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Wonderful, quiet, delicious dinner. Very nice 60th birthday dinner for my better half.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing evening from last experien ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Disappointing evening from last experiences. The quality and presentation of the food was A+.

Our server also did an excellent job. He continually kept apologizing for the long delay of the main course. He also said he would have the matre'd stop by our table when we finished the main course. ( during our wait for the main course another table that was seated at the same time finished their meal including dessert and coffee and two other tables who were seated after he were served their main course) When we finished our main course the matre'd stopped at the table, was less than apologetic, inform us that the timing was within their standards. I questioned why the other tables were served before us, but, again he referenced the house standard. He went on to say their was no compensation for the delay. ( we never asked for any compensation and told him so). In summary, while the wait was on the extreme side we could accept that, the matre'd's attitude was totally unacceptable and a disappointment ending what could/should have been a great evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Excellent food Good service A little too ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent food

Good service

A little too noisy for my taste

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Curb appeal drew us to the venue, the co ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Curb appeal drew us to the venue, the cozy bar made the perfect spot to enjoy an amazing array of appetizers with complimentary sauces to die for. My wine by the glass (red blend) was a little old tasting... Not well stored? Service was excellent and would head back there again!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

staff and manager were very friendly. fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

staff and manager were very friendly. food was very good. excellent vegetarian entree. waiter was poorly trained, didn't know the menu well and cappuccino was cold. i chalk it up to new staff at the start of the busy season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The North Atlantic salmon was a generous ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The North Atlantic salmon was a generous portion and very good but I was told it was wild and it wasn't.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I both agree this was one ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My husband and I both agree this was one of the best overall dining experiences we've had in a long time. The food quality was excellent (2 veal dishes) and service attentive. The live piano music and lighting were at perfect levels. The food prices were very reasonable considering the high quality and very important to us, the wine list was varied and again, reasonably priced (unlike some other area restaurants). We'll definitely be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food & beautiful place. Like in a ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good food & beautiful place. Like in a lot of restaurants, the service is too fast. We order our appetizer first and order our main course after so we were able to enjoy our wine and chat with our friends

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Delicious food and wonderful service. My ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Delicious food and wonderful service. My Husband had an old fashioned with a twist , a house specialty, which was wonderfully blended. Martini with blue cheese olives also perfect. Husband had lobster ravioli, and I had the evening special risotto. Both delicious. Servers all friendly and helpful. A must on our next trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have had the pleasure of dining here ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We have had the pleasure of dining here on several occasions, and will continue to do so when in Sanibel. They offer a vegetarian/ vegan chiefs inspiration that is second to none. The lamb chops melt in your mouth, and tantalizes your tastebuds. It's a wonderful dining experience, with exceptional service. An added plus is Scott who is their resident piano player who rounds out this incredible feast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant venue. Food cooked to perfection ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Elegant venue. Food cooked to perfection. Nice presentation. On the pricey side, but worth every penny. We will go back every time we are on the island.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best vegetarian creation I've had in a l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Best vegetarian creation I've had in a long time. Others had chicken, fish and beef and loved it. The bread was wonderful. Dessert, tiramisu, was delicious. A very special meal in a beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Salad and fried green tomatoes were a pl ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Salad and fried green tomatoes were a pleasant start. Was disappointed in our Corvina and seafood stew main course selections. Neither had distinctive flavor. The desert was a home run. Among the best we ever had. The atmosphere and service were both very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food! Excellent service (thank ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food! Excellent service (thank you John)!

Very attentive to my family member's food allergies. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.