Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Il Cielo - Sanibel



1244 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33957
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday through Sunday 4:30pm until 9pm.

Serving Brunch Sundays from 11:00am until 2:00pm

Happy hour daily from 4:30pm until 6:00pm in the Bar / Lounge, includes discounted appetizers and salads. Half priced House wines, Well drinks and select Domestic beer.

Cross Street:
Donax

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-5555

Website:
http://ilcielosanibel.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Pianist Tuesday through Sunday from 7:00pm

Executive Chef:
Allen Casey, Pastry Chef Melissa Akin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
IL Cielo is open New Years Eve. (Online reservations are not available for NYE).

Il Cielo - Sanibel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (30)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Live Music (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Cozy (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 21 hours ago

Great as usual but did not acknowledge birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Expensive but worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Sorry we have not stopped sooner but always just drove by. Great food, service and decor.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Food-Fantastic
Service- Superb
A great evening...and wonderful Piano music by Scott!
We'll be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Awesome from the pesto to the mussels to the beet salad to the perfectly cooked pistachio crusted lamb and right on through the cappuccino, dessert and Porto. I’ll be back, again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Great night. Love the piano

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Grossly over-rated -- more pretense than fine dining quality. Sophisticated appearance but mediocre, under-seasoned food served inconsistently (this time, no waiter came to our table for 10 minutes after we were seated -- only showed up after we spoke to hostess)

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Great food with fabulously sauces. It’s a great to have an “upscale city level” restaurant on the island.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We've eaten at Il Cielo many times, and have always had a wonderful evening. It is probably the nicest upscale restaurant on Sanibel Island. Every detail is excellent. Couldn't ask for a better experience. The background piano music is fabulous. It can be heard all over the restaurant, but even if you're seated next to the piano you can still easily carry on a conversation with your table mates.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Excellent Service très attentif Nous y retournerons certainement

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2017

This was just not a good dining experience. The main reason was the server. Just awful. Zero clue what she was doing. Was obviously her first table ever waited on. She was the bartender and they decided to give her our table. What a joke of a dinner. One out of six people liked their food AT ALL. Two of the people in our group were professional chefs. They both thought it was a terrible dinner service start to finish. I was sad that found the place and took them there on their vacation,

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Our last night on Sanibel with our two sons ended up being a perfect evening at this restaurant. The food was excellent, they have a nice wine selection and drink menu. The atmosphere is more than casual but comfortable. I will definitely go back to this restaurant when back on sanibel.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 26, 2017

The best Calamari and Cioppino I've ever enjoyed! I will return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was prompt and courteous. The desserts were great
The piano player was excellent playing all different styles of music.All together a memorable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times in the recent past, usually with family. We ask for Christopher, who is delightful and attentive and it's always been a wonderful experience. Not so much this time. Christopher was given the night off, we were told, because it was a "slow" night - except it wasn't. Saturday night at 7:15pm on the w/e before Thanksgiving is hardly slow. By the time we were seated, there was not an empty table to be seen. As a result, the waiter we had was extremely busy (or at least we didn't see much of him) and the standard of service we were used to was missing. The piano player seemed to be trying to make up for the lack of attention by the waitstaff by circulating in between sets and chatting up the diners. Very charming man. My husband's scallops were superb and my filet was excellent (even though it much more rare than medium) but the heirloom caparese salad was very sad. Clearly not heirloom tomatoes, tiny bits of mozzarella and a few snips of basil - not at all as I remember from only a few months ago. I sincerely hope this place isn't slipping because it is, or at least was, one of the few consistently good dining places on Sanibel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Everything we ordered was amazing and although it is on Sanibel, no matter where you live or are staying it is worth the drive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 18, 2017

IlCielo, again, showed why it is one of the better dining spots in SW Florida. Ambiance is quiet enough to enjoy a conversation across the table (just pleasant & unobtrusive piano background), service is impeccable, and the food is fresh, creatively prepared, and uniformly delicious. I had a roasted whole Branzino, which was melt-in-the-mouth tender and flaky, had a simple, lovely taste. My wife had veal scaloppini, which was served over a bed of polenta. The veal was tender, savory, and complimented well by the polenta. The wine list isn’t huge, but offers a good choice of varietals at reasonable prices. Our Bennett Family Reserve Chardonnay (2014) made for a delicious accompaniment to the meal. Dessert, a very nice tiramisu, was rich, creamy, and topped things off perfectly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 18, 2017

First time in and we really enjoyed our visit. Christina was our server, very knowledgeable and friendly and provided good service.
Lamb was perfectly cooked and the veal dish was excellent. Solid wine list andcnice ambience made for a nice night out.
Will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Great meal and service as is the norm. Scott was there playing the piano which is always great. Good final meal in sanibel before we headed north

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Meal and atmosphere was fantastic. Will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Wonderful experience. We have been there before, it is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience. We had best seat in the house. They had pianist playing and where we were seated the noise level was just right. Food was really good our server was very knowledgeable and provided great recommendations on what tonorder

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Wagyu Steak was outstanding. Vegetable Risotto was also excellent. Piano player was great. Enjoyed caramel cheesecake and chocolate desserts as well. Outstanding

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 9, 2017

My boyfriend and I celebrated our last night on Sanibel at Il Cielo and enjoyed a fabulous evening of fine healthy fresh dining, tasteful live piano, wonderful service, and beautiful ambience in a lovely setting. Best restaurant on the island - hands down!

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Totally outstanding! Am looking forward to a return trip next year. They treat a birthday as a special event and make it impresssive! The food excels also

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Aesthetically, it's a very nice looking restaurant. The food and service were superb. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The last time we dined here, it was THE BEST ever. This time is was Ok, but the bar had been set so high. Service was OK, but not great. In a fine dining atmosphere, one would expect the service person to at least pour the beer! In fact, she brought a cold glass, but just dropped it off at the table with the bottle! OF COURSE I can pour my own beer, but, geeze... with a meal that is going to be $150, you'd think... the food was good, but not like the last time. A couple of young girls were running through the dining room, to the bathroom. At leat 3 x that I saw... Someone should have strapped their young behinds to their chairs. Maybe they are under different management. Maybe it was a bad night. Either way, if this had been our first visit, there would not have been a second.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Went on weekday night and dining room quiet. Location convenient on Sanibel with variety of course selections. Kind of pricey but OK for special dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at IlCielo. It was our first visit to Sanibel and went without any recommendations and we were pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere is very tasteful. There was a piano player who played and sang very mellow tunes and also took requests. Christine was our server and she did an amazing job with serving and making recommendations from the menu. I had the veal marsala and my husband had the lamb and we both enjoyed our meals tremendously. In fact I think we would both agree it was the best restaurant dinner we had in quite some time. If your are in Sanibel you should definitely give Il Cielo a try.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

This was our first time here and will definitely be back. Nice atmosphere and good service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Our dinner was exceptional. My rare ahi tuna was tender and delicious. My wife's grouper with crabmeat was also delightful. We started off with a beet salad, complemented with goat cheese and a delicious sauce. The wine list was extensive, with pleasant wine at reasonable price. In the background was romantic music played well on the piano.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Main entree was flavorful and a nice portion. The mashed potatoes and vegetable were flavorful as well, but the portion was small. We would have gotten an appetizer and shared it, but they charge a plate charge for sharing. We would return for a special occasion as the food was good.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Excellent menu. Food was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Our server was attentive, knowledgeable, and skilled. I had the lobster ravioli and my wife had the seared scallops...both were absolutely delicious and beautifully plated. One of our favorite dining spots on Sanibel Island.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Great ambiance, waiter, and pianist. Terrific food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food is always overall very good
Great presentation of a whole red snapper
Really enjoyed the variety of music on the piano player has in his repertoire

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We haven't been to Il Cielo in a couple of years but we had such a good experience that we will now come back often. Very good food, beautiful presentation, good service and lovely piano music. We are very happy we returned!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Outstanding! Service, food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Loved the food and atmosphere. The live music (piano) was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

It was truly a wonderful evening with friends. Scott played one of our favorite songs. Tiffany was awesome, Chuck was such an awesome Manager. He took care of all our needs he seated us at a cozy Booth were we could listen to the music. The Chef creations were so delicious whole new menu wow!!! Can't wait to go back soon.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

One of the best dinners to celebrate my birthday ever!!! Service was impecable, great waitress, food to die for, piano man and music; the best..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.