About Il Cielo - Sanibel

1244 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33957
View Larger Map



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday thru Saturday 4:30pm until 9pm.

Happy hour daily from 4:30pm until 6:00pm in the Bar / Lounge, includes discounted appetizers and salads. Half priced House wines, Well drinks and select Domestic beer.

Cross Street:
Periwinkle

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-5555

Website:
http://ilcielosanibel.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Pianist Wednesday through Saturday 7:00pm until 9:00pm

Executive Chef:
Scott Swamba, Pastry Chef Melissa Akin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
IL Cielo is open New Years Eve. (Online reservations are not available for NYE).

Restaurant Photos

Grouper - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Pistachio Encrusted Lamb - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Chocolate Bombe - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Seafood Trio - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
More S'mores - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Artisinal Salad - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Veal Scallopini - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Petite Filet - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
blue crab cake - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Meatballs - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Summer Tomato Bisque - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Scaloppine Con Asparagi - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL
Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo - Il Cielo - Sanibel, Sanibel, FL

Il Cielo - Sanibel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Southwest Florida
Romantic
Southwest Florida
Special Occasion
Southwest Florida
6 More
Best Overall
Ft. Myers
Best Food
Ft. Myers
Best Service
Ft. Myers
Best Ambiance
Ft. Myers
Best Value
Ft. Myers
Most Booked
Ft. Myers
Best Restaurants in Sanibel ›

Good for a Date (34)
Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Live Music (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I both agree this was one ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I both agree this was one of the best overall dining experiences we've had in a long time. The food quality was excellent (2 veal dishes) and service attentive. The live piano music and lighting were at perfect levels. The food prices were very reasonable considering the high quality and very important to us, the wine list was varied and again, reasonably priced (unlike some other area restaurants). We'll definitely be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food & beautiful place. Like in a ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food & beautiful place. Like in a lot of restaurants, the service is too fast. We order our appetizer first and order our main course after so we were able to enjoy our wine and chat with our friends

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Delicious food and wonderful service. My ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food and wonderful service. My Husband had an old fashioned with a twist , a house specialty, which was wonderfully blended. Martini with blue cheese olives also perfect. Husband had lobster ravioli, and I had the evening special risotto. Both delicious. Servers all friendly and helpful. A must on our next trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have had the pleasure of dining here ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

We have had the pleasure of dining here on several occasions, and will continue to do so when in Sanibel. They offer a vegetarian/ vegan chiefs inspiration that is second to none. The lamb chops melt in your mouth, and tantalizes your tastebuds. It's a wonderful dining experience, with exceptional service. An added plus is Scott who is their resident piano player who rounds out this incredible feast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant venue. Food cooked to perfection ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

Elegant venue. Food cooked to perfection. Nice presentation. On the pricey side, but worth every penny. We will go back every time we are on the island.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best vegetarian creation I've had in a l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Best vegetarian creation I've had in a long time. Others had chicken, fish and beef and loved it. The bread was wonderful. Dessert, tiramisu, was delicious. A very special meal in a beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Salad and fried green tomatoes were a pl ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Salad and fried green tomatoes were a pleasant start. Was disappointed in our Corvina and seafood stew main course selections. Neither had distinctive flavor. The desert was a home run. Among the best we ever had. The atmosphere and service were both very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food! Excellent service (thank ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent food! Excellent service (thank you John)!

Very attentive to my family member's food allergies. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was excellent as was the servic ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The meal was excellent as was the service. We will be going back there the next time we are on the island

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect! What can one say beyond that? ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Perfect! What can one say beyond that? From food to service to ambience. Very accomplished pianist playing soft dinner music. Uma was the epitome of wait person. Accomplished at her job. Pleasant personality. Beautiful smile.

We had mussels, lobster bisque, risotto and chiopino. Other items on menu sounded good as well. Recommend reservations for dinner hour.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Cielo is always a special treat of a ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Il Cielo is always a special treat of a visit. Food is excellent, menu always has some nice surprises, and Scott Mc Donald's music adds a warm and wonderful feel to the evening.Little mix-up on the final check but easily, and with humor, resolved.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Il Cielo is one of the more upscale rest ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Il Cielo is one of the more upscale restaurants on Sanibel. The food is always well prepared and the service is excellent. A little pricey, but a nice place for a special meal. Nice ambiance and the piano player is a nice touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the few top restaurants in Lee Co ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 18, 2016

One of the few top restaurants in Lee County. Always very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited last week with another couple ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We visited last week with another couple. Arrived during happy hour. Apps and drinks were reasonably priced. Had an enjoyable evening

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were on Sanibel for a shor ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My wife and I were on Sanibel for a short stay and we were so happy we found Il Cielo. Everything was great. Our server Uma was the best. The food was excellent. My wife had the filet and she said it was mouth watering. I had the veal and it was so good. Il Cielo is a very nice restaurant. We live in Naples Florida seasonally but if we're in the Sanibel, Fort Myers area we will definitely visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Uma was our server. Good ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great service. Uma was our server. Good wine choices by glass

Wife's salad very good but $11. My calamari app was good, served piping hot, large portion and with an interesting sweet chili sauce, my thought very good combo

Wife's lobster ravioli came with a soupy red sauce not described on menu, she wasn't happy with that but raviolis were good. My signature grouper topped with crab was excellent

Chef trained at CIA, having taken classes there, one could tell by menu and great platings

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service! Food was very good. F ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service! Food was very good. Filet was the best! Live music made for a great ambiance. I would absolutely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of our favorite restaurants. Love th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Love the lamb chops and so did everyone at the table! Best on Sanibel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu, fabulous service and atm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent menu, fabulous service and atmosphere. Not overpriced at all.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night spot on Sanibel! ....gr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great date night spot on Sanibel! ....great service ,good food, live music.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We wanted to dine out with friends to ce ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We wanted to dine out with friends to celebrate a special event, and Il Cielo is one of our favorite places. The food, device and ambiance (piano) were all excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It sounds Italian and they have a few pa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It sounds Italian and they have a few pasta dishes, but EVERYTHING was exceptional. I had a crab cake and Tuna Udon salad, he had rack of lamb. housemade mint jelly was EXQUISITE. light and refreshing. We had dessert too. caramel creme brulee and key lime tri (cookie, brulee and one other... FANTASTIC. We've eaten at far more expensive places with food that was far less exceptional. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in all aspects! Enjoyed the ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Outstanding in all aspects! Enjoyed the evening thoroughly! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful special dinner on Sanibel Isla ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful special dinner on Sanibel Island. The bar area was comfortable and service very nice. Moved to our table for dinner and it was comfortable as well. Live piano music was a nice touch. My husband had the filet and it was very good. I had the sesame tuna and it was very good as well.

The service was great - attentive without being annoying. It was certainly a more pricey dinner then other options on Sanibel however this was our last night. It was a great choice and I highly recommend for a very nice dinner out or to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Cielo on Sanibel has it all--great fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Il Cielo on Sanibel has it all--great food, wonderful ambiance and fabulous piano music that you can still talk and hear while listening. This adds greatly to the romantic atmosphere at the restaurant. It's perfect!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Cielo is truly a special place to din ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Il Cielo is truly a special place to dine. We actually arrived early and were able to take advantage of the Happy Hour. Two of us ordered a Bloody Mary which was prepared perfectly the way I like it with a bit of spice to it. We shared a variety of happy hour offers including the ahi tuna, and scallops- both superb. The service was excellent as well. The ambiance is beautiful and we were seated in the bar area which was gorgeous. Overall, a great experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 4th time dining here on our ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was our 4th time dining here on our annual Sanibel vacation. As always the service was gracious, the food delicious, presentation elegant. We will continue to dine here as long as they will allow us!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drive from Fort Myers and think thi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We drive from Fort Myers and think this is one of the best restaurants in Lee County. The scallop dish is outstanding. Their risotto dishes are as well. Great drinks and outstanding desserts. The piano player is an extra treat as well. Prices are great especially for Sanibel. The service is second to none. Excellent chef, staff and management.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Il Cielo. A ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was our second visit to Il Cielo. Although the visits were 2 years apart, the level of service and quality of the food had not changed. A pure delight from start to finish.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening with an enchanting atmosp ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Lovely evening with an enchanting atmosphere. Piano player sang requests, food was fantastic, service was outstanding. Definitely will make it a regular visit to dine here when on Sanibel.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favourite spots for a special ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 18, 2016

One of our favourite spots for a special dinner experience. The calamari appetizer was absolutely to-die-for!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great! The piano player/singer ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was great! The piano player/singer made the experience a real night out!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very pleasant and enjoyable din ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had a very pleasant and enjoyable dinner. The waiter was accommodating and helpful. The veal was delicious and the chicken saltimbocca was prepared just right. Would highly recommend as a must go on Sanibel Island.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 29th weddin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 29th wedding anniversary at Il Cielo. We both enjoyed the food, great service, pleasant atmosphere, and live piano music. We would definitely like to return when we are the area again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We just had appetizers which were fabulo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We just had appetizers which were fabulous. The staff was great, especially Jamie in the bar!!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful ambience which is a nice chan ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Beautiful ambience which is a nice change of pace on the seemingly mandatory upscale rustic look that predominates on Sanibel. Also a pleasant surprise was a truly memorable meal instead of a merely surprisingly good one; I had some of the best smoked duck I've ever encountered, tender enough to cut with a fork and lean enough to enjoy every bite. The eggplant/heirloom tomato appetizer also had me scraping the plate for the last morsel. Finally, a wonderful pianist who accompanied several but not all selections by equally softly sung vocals absolutely made the evening, which started off great right at the well staffed maître d' station. I was dining alone but soon grew as content as if I had agreeable companions!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good formal dining with interesting ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very good formal dining with interesting menu. Live background music. Attentive staff.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

FIrst of all I made a mistake and made o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2016

FIrst of all I made a mistake and made our reservations for the 7th, the hostess was very accommodating and changed the date on opentable and we enjoyed wonderful food and service. We from Colorada but would love to have this restaurant in our area as we would be there on a regular basis. We had some left overs and had them for breakfast the following morning. Yummy!🍷😍👍

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

expecting more for such high ratings on ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

expecting more for such high ratings on Trip Advisor. Their signature dish of lobster ravioli tasted not much different than one you might get at an Olive Garden or Johnny Carino's. The heirloom tomato Caprese salad was not prepared with heirloom tomatoes & every dish that came out seemed to have mashed potatoes & asparagus as sides.

Overall, I would rate it a 3- it was a pleasant ambience, just not wowed by food.

Give Sweet Melissa's on Sanibel a definite try!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent menu, food was fantastic, so w ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent menu, food was fantastic, so was the server and the whole staff.

Will come back anytime I am in this area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.