About Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar

9018 Burton Way
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
View Larger Map

Benvenuto! For over 28 years , Il Cielo has brought "the sky" to Beverly Hills. Often called "the most romantic restaurant in Los Angeles" Il Cielo is more than just an Italian restaurant. It is a landmark. With fine dining for lunch and dinner, private rooms and tranquil gardens, Il Cielo is the perfect location for almost any occasion, day or night. Il Cielo has established itself as a place to impress; "A country restaurant in the city". We hope you will join us soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

Friday & Saturday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Sunday:
Lunch - Closed
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.*
(*We may be closed for a private event on select Sundays)

Happy Hour:
Monday - Friday
Drinks 4:30 - 8:00 p.m
Food 5:30 - 8:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Doheny Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 276-9990

Website:
http://www.ilcielo.com/

Catering:
We offer catering in your home or ours. Please contact our Events Department.

Executive Chef:
Pasquale Vericella

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Il Cielo Happy Hour!

Monday - Friday. 4:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
$8 Cocktails
$5 House Wine & Prosecco
$3 Beer
$8 Small Plates


Restaurant Photos

  • Lemon Cake
  • Halibut
  • Lamb Ragu
  • Veal Shank
  • Burrata With Heirloom Tomatoes
  • Panna Cotta
  • Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo
Lemon Cake
Halibut
Lamb Ragu
Veal Shank
Burrata With Heirloom Tomatoes
Panna Cotta
Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo

Private Dining

For sit down dinners: Approx. 130-150 guests. For standing cocktail receptions: Up to 350 guests.

Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Outdoor Dining
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Romantic
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly Hills ›

Romantic (85)
Special Occasion (68)
Great for Outdoor Dining (62)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Scenic View (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1048 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Gorgeous setting with fine food, spotty ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Gorgeous setting with fine food, spotty service but all undermined by blasting music that undermines conversation. We asked 4 times to have the music turned lower but nothing happened. They could have understood if they had listened to attempted conversations at

the tables where the volume of voices was about 2/3 less than the volume of music which overwhelmed us. Service could have been more attentive. We had to ask for menus after 10 minutes. Then the waiter started to remove our wine and water glasses but we stopped him to point out we hadn't yet ordered our wine. Similarly we ordered apple tarts for dessert but it was brought with no knives or forkes! When we asked the waiter brought a knife. We asked again for forks. Is this really so difficult to understand? Meanwhile a flock of waiters stood staring at us in a cluster throughout the dinner. They need training! And shut off the music so patrons can enjoy conversations and not just food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

I'd had lunch there years ago before I m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

I'd had lunch there years ago before I moved out of town. My experience this week was everything I remembered and more. The food was gorgeous and gourmet delicious. The staff was generously friendly and attentive. I wish I lived closer to be there every week. I give them my highest recommendation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting. Very romantic. Great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful setting. Very romantic. Great service. Delicious food. Ask for red petals and candle on table if you're celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful and romantic outdoor dining se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Beautiful and romantic outdoor dining setting in Beverly Hills. Food was good and service was excellent and friendly. Would definitely go again and recommend. Really pleasant setting

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The pasta was delicious and so was the d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The pasta was delicious and so was the dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very nice restaurant and the food and th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

very nice restaurant and the food and the service were great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is unbelievable how fresh everything ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It is unbelievable how fresh everything is here, like they had their own butcher in the back. The ambiance is lovely, and the open-air seating is a nice touch.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food but incredibly bad service. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Decent food but incredibly bad service. We waited 10 minutes for menu.No problem since place is romantic and nice atmosphere . When we were having appetizers they brought coffee which was a mistake obviously . No problem. After we finished appetizer they brought desert . Of course told them it was a mistake . No problem.

Meantime manager comes and browses and doesn't pay attention that we are waiting for our main course . Waited one hour . Then he comes and tells us" sorry for the wait soufflé takes time ". We told them we are waiting for the main course. He didn't say sorry , but just walked away. Half hour later we received our main course. Between finishing the appetizer and receiving the main course was 1.5 hour. We were at the restaurant at 8:30PM and left 11:40 PM.

Very pleasant and romantic place but when you wait that long to be served the scenery doesn't mean much.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

It took forever to get water, then a men ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It took forever to get water, then a menu, then to order. My date choked on a fish bone for several hours after eating there and the bill was over $400.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Nice place for outdoor dining. Food is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Nice place for outdoor dining. Food is ok. Price is reasonable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I came here for dineLA ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My boyfriend and I came here for dineLA and we were very impressed by the ambiance. If you can't find street parking, you have the option of dropping your car at the valet for $10. We sat in the atrium-esque part of the restaurant and loved all the twinkling strung lights.

Here is what we ordered:

Boyfriend -

Appetizer: Meatballs (9/10)

Meal: Pork (8/10)

Dessert: La Passion (10/10)

Pinot Noir: $18 (8/10)

Allagash White: $7-8ish (7/10)

Me -

Appetizer: Calamari Arugula Salad (2/10)

Meal: Gnocchi (6/10)

Dessert: La Passion (10/10)

I would highly recommend ordering what the boyfriend ordered if you are here for dineLA - we had Massimo for our table. He was fantastic and made our dining experience excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice overall, but a little on the s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very nice overall, but a little on the snooty side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We tried for DineLA. Food great although ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We tried for DineLA. Food great although I didn't love the DineLA choices. The staff were wonderful and attentive. Great place. Glad we finally tried it after all these years. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great! Food was great! A rom ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was great! Food was great! A romantic interior for a couple. However, dealt with ID theft the following day with my last use of my debit card was at the restaurant, the night before. They should improve their transaction security more tight.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is great. The food is just ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The ambiance is great. The food is just average. There are many better Italian Restaurants

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The ambience was romantic. However, the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The ambience was romantic. However, the service was horrible. We didn't get out appetizer until 45 minutes after we were seated. I ordered an iced tea, which took 30 minutes. Our entrees didn't arrive until an hour and 45 minutes upon sitting. My husband ordered the Branzino and I ordered the Beet salad. The waiter even commented that the chefs must have went to Santa Monica to catch his fish. My husband and I didn't even bother eating since we had lost our appetites being there for 2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The restaurant, which is unremarkable fr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The restaurant, which is unremarkable from the street, is just lovely. The food was magnificent and the service was above expectations. I would highly recommend going to this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Reminds me of Italy or Spai ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great place. Reminds me of Italy or Spain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is probably one of the most e ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This place is probably one of the most expensive italian restaurants in LA. The place is clearly overpriced and the food is quite average. Save your money and go somewhere else.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent date night spot.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent date night spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed in when I paid for. An ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very disappointed in when I paid for. And we were shoved in a corner next to the kitchen door and we had to keep moving out of the waiters way. They almost split stuff on up several times.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

This is my fourth visit to Il Cielo and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This is my fourth visit to Il Cielo and I love it more every time. It is outdoors yet it still feels private. The homemade pastas and sauces are simply wonderful. I a vegetarian soup followed by a salad and pasta and boar sauce--don't miss it. Dessert consisted of three sorbetti that are the best in the city. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance can't be beat. Most of the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The ambiance can't be beat. Most of the food was very good but my dish was bland (the lobster pasta special). I would good back because everything else was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

My new favourite place.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My new favourite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for special occasions. Requ ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great place for special occasions. Request patio seating in the summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Salmon was superb! The waiter was e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Salmon was superb! The waiter was excellent! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been coming to this restaurant for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I've been coming to this restaurant for a number of years and always for special occasions so I didn't hesitate to choose it for a very special reunion among friends who hadn't seen each other for years. Without promting, the hostess popped out from behind her station to announce she had a VERY special table. She then proceeded to walk past the table in the lovely garden area and even past the few indoor tables in the main restaurant to the very back table at the very back of a long, barely appointed room that looked like it might have once served as a storage area. There, the waiter - who appeared to be auditioning for some invisible director casting a movie about over the top rude waiters - made his way to us when he noticed us way way back there. Not his fault really, he needed a moving sidewalk to reach us with any alacrity.

The food was mediocre- salad drowning in vinegar, passable carpaccio, chocolate mouse cake was pretty good but gaudy silver plate and heart shape could have been rethought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Found good reviews for romantic dinner, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Found good reviews for romantic dinner, but tables are crammed together in a small patio and I didn't see why the place is called romantic. Didn't find any romance in the restaurant. Food was decent but not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food, service and ambiance was outst ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food, service and ambiance was outstanding. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was wonderful. The service wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This place was wonderful. The service was amazing, and made celebrating my fiances birthday and our 2 year anniversary so special, we will never forget it. Thank you also to Nick, dont know if he was the owner or a manager, he was So helpful with choosing items on the menu and making us feel so welcome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

❤️❤️❤️❤️ A fabulous Fathers Day Celebrat ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

❤️❤️❤️❤️ A fabulous Fathers Day Celebration. Sheer perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great experience. The food wa ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was a great experience. The food was great. Service excellent.

Only thing would be, some items in the menu don't have a price, and also the waiter did not mention the price on some of the special plates. I understand some clients may not need that information, due to the location, but others do. I would definitely go again, this time perhaps sitting in the patio. During my visit there was a big party there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

A wonderful evening, with dinner on the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

A wonderful evening, with dinner on the twinkle lit patio. The Sea bass was delicious. Our server was terrific and we discussed our upcoming trip to Italy with him. Will be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Cielo is simply tops. Everything is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Il Cielo is simply tops. Everything is wonderful. Great for a business lunch or a romantic get-together. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our 34 ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary. It was a beautiful setting. We were seated outside. It was very pleasant. The service was very attentive, also very friendly.

The food was delicious. My husband had the veal chop and I had lobster parpadelle. We shared the salad with butter lettuce, toasted almonds, gorgonzola cheese and apples with a light honey mustard dressing. It was one of the best salads we have had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to this Beverly Hills stan ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I hadn't been to this Beverly Hills standard and was leary of it's "Tavern On The Green" repuation, but I was pleasantly surprised. It is very old-fashioned (freshly painted cherubs float among the clouds on the muraled ceiling), but the food was good and surprisingly inventive. Its decor is still is a little precious, and in sharp contrast to its modern, open and loft-like competitors, but for that sort of throw back evening, it was a very good one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

An absolute perfect dining experience . ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

An absolute perfect dining experience . Food, ambience and service were impeccable. I would highly recommend. A truly beautiful and romantic spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting, delicious food and we we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Lovely setting, delicious food and we were able to carry on a conversation easily.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with the food , ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We were very pleased with the food , service and ambience. The food was served hot and was well

Prepared. The wine recommendation was excellent and the service appropriate. The servers were conscious of my allergies. It was delightful to have an outdoor meal in a charming garden. The restaurant is vegetarian friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was recommended to me as a go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This place was recommended to me as a good date night spot. I love the Ambiance but the food was not a home run. I would recommend this place for drink only then hit in-and-out afterwards. which is what I did.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.