Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar

Benvenuti! For over 30 years , Il Cielo has brought "the sky" to Beverly Hills. Often called "the most romantic restaurant in Los Angeles" Il Cielo is more than just an Italian restaurant. It is a landmark. With fine dining for lunch and dinner, private rooms and tranquil gardens, Il Cielo is the perfect location for almost any occasion, day or night. Il Cielo has established itself as a place to impress; "A country restaurant in the city". We look forward to your visit.

9018 Burton Way
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

Friday & Saturday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Sunday:
Lunch - Closed
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.*
(*We may be closed for a private event on select Sundays)

Happy Hour:
Monday - Friday
Drinks 4:30 - 8:00 p.m
Food 5:30 - 8:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Doheny Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 276-9990

Website:
http://www.ilcielo.com/

Catering:
We offer catering in your home or ours. Please contact our Events Department.

Executive Chef:
Pasquale Vericella

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Il Cielo Happy Hour!

Monday - Friday. 4:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
$8 Cocktails
$5 House Wine & Prosecco
$3 Beer
$8 Small Plates


Private Dining

For sit down dinners: Approx. 130-150 guests. For standing cocktail receptions: Up to 350 guests.

Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (57)
Special Occasion (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
See All
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Cozy (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Business Meals (12)
Authentic (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
People Watching (9)
Scenic View (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (4)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
1289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere is really great. But the food is really really not so great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Lovely restaurant, charming beautiful patio, fabulous service, delicious food. A truly special dining experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It was a very intimate setting. Very cozy and cute outdoor space. The food was okay but the setting is very romantic

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I have been passing this restaurant for years intrigued by the dancing lights. When my cousin came in from New York I decided to give it a try. We waited 20 minutes before any one approached us. We finally signaled the maitre d' to tell him about this and he sent us a waiter. We then waited for 45 minutes before we received our drinks and ordered. After we gave our order, another long wait for the food. Never once did our waiter come and check on us or pay any attention to us. May I add that the restaurant was practically empty. Maybe it was this server's first day. It should be his last. The food was "meh." The next time I pass this restaurant, I'll just keep on going.

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food is incredibly overpriced-especially for what it is. We could have eaten extraordinary food at Mozza for the price we paid. The worst thing of all was the wine list. Only very pedestrian wines at EXORBITANT prices. All the wines by the glass we tried (4) we awful too. The waiter was lovely, but had absolutely no idea about wine and especially their wine list. he could answer the most basic questions. The atmosphere is lovely. Definitely ask for the front patio though. A perfect place to get married.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I never post reviews but so disappointed tonight. Having been here before (great experience), I had relatively normal expectations. Restaurant was basically empty. Our waiter seemed extremely disinterested in offering suggestions or help with menu. We closed tab after 1 drink. No one seemed to care we were leaving even after trying to order dinner multiple times.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

It was an okay experience, but not the over the top experience I had expected. The waiter was friendly, but we felt a bit neglected at times, the food was decent, but not $200 decent, the music from the club next door - along with wafts of cigarette (and other) smoke were disturbing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I took my wife to Il Cielo for our anniversary and everything was perfect. I had the romantic package added on and it made the evening very special. The staff was great and the food was amazing. It brought back memories of our trip to Italy. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

They allowed a wedding reception to come in on a Saturday night. It overwhelmed their capabilities. We waited almost two hour to get our entree. No effort to reduce price for the inconvenience. I couldn't sit any longer and had to cut our dinner short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Lovely place, good food. Our waiter was amazing , he really tried very hard to make our lunch special. We were off to a bad start ! I had e-mailed and requested a table inside the restaurant, it was a special Birthday celebration. When we arrived I was informed that there were no tables available inside,they had a private party going on. I would expect a nice Restaurant like Il Cielo to have the curtesy to inform me by e-mail that there are no tables available inside. Now I was stuck having to take an outside table. I even spoke to the Manager, who was not very helpful. Not a good beginning to a festive occasion !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Awesome romantic and amazing service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

For years, this has been the most outstanding restaurant. It is so easy to pretend you are in a quaint restaurant in Italy or France. Food and service are excellent and the prix fixe lunch is a bargain.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My wife and I have been going to II Cielo for several years at least once a month. They have never disappointed us with the Food, or service. Great place to celebrate something special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always love coming here. Atmosphere is great and service is outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food tasted amazing I would recommend the sea bass dish. Panna cotta was amazing as well! The look of the place is beautiful very romantic looking there is a clear tent outside with lights and chandelier. My husband and I went for our wedding anniversary and I would definitely go back again. Our waiter was amazing and deboned the fish for me

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Il Cielo consistently provides delicious food in a lovely setting. My branzino was cooked to perfection and perfectly flayed. The Romaine salad was the best I ever had, a spin on the Caesar salad with shaved Parmesan and sliced apples with a vinegar and oil dressing and not a creamy one. My friend had the salmon and was completely satisfied. Desserts of gelatos and sorbetti are homemade and tasty with the added benefit of cleansing the palate and leaving my mouth feeling refreshed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Nice romantic restaurant in Beverly Hills away from the city center. Very good food but a bit pricey. Great for special occasions. The raspberry mojito was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

It's always delightful. Today, for lunch with friends, the food was delicious, the ambience lovely and the service terrific. It's a gem!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I'm always sorry when I have to give a negative review. Many times, I just don't leave one at all. But this time, I just feel they earned it. We made a reservation here prior to a concert we were attending at the Saban. It was close and the menu looked promising.

We arrived a few minutes prior to our reservation, and were told that they could only seat us on their patio because the entire inside was booked for a wedding. That probably should have been disclosed before they took the reservation(!) There were gnats (?) in their bushes that kept dropping in for a bite...

We ordered drinks and main courses and explicitly told the waiter I could not eat cheese (as I have an allergy). The drinks were fine. But it took 40 minutes and several annoyed glances at the waiter before our meals came out. During the wait, they brought bread (twice) which had cheese on it. Fortunately, I asked before I ate any (both times).

My wife's salmon was OK, but my veal chop (daily special) was unusually fatty, overcooked, rather tasteless, and the mushroom sauce was "meh" at best. They also brought me mashed potatoes with cheese whipped in, as opposed to just making some without. The waiter (thankfully) told us they had cheese in them, and left them "for my wife if she wanted them." How about just making me some mashed potatoes I can eat?! Or offering me something else? We actually thought of walking out at this point, but we were both hungry and there wasn't enough time to find another place before the show. (Turns out there is a nice little cafe right next door to the Saban!)

At least the coffee was OK.

This is neither the quality of food or service I would expect from a restaurant in this area, let alone one that is this pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I live in Anaheim, but all my friends live in the LA area. I wanted a Beverly Hills restaurant that I hadn't been to before to celebrate a friend's Birthday. I found il Cielo online under Beverly Hills restaurants & was happy with the menu & charming pictures. The service was friendly, attentive & the food was wonderful. The chocolate dessert for 2 was presented with a beautiful red rose.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Lovely. Magical lights. Authentic Italian waiter. Very catering to my gluten free vegetarian dietary needs. Romantic. I will remember this beautiful meal and evening for the rest of my life (yes, that good). Perfect for birthdays, first dates, wedding, romantic anything, special occasion, or just a quality evening out. A+. Had a wonderful time. Great wine list. VERY classy without the attitude.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Definitely coming back here again! Wonderful food and a very romantic, sweet ambiance for my boyfriend's anniversary. The waiters were super friendly too!

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2017

When the reservation was made, I noted that we were celebrating a special birthday. I confirmed this information with our server when we arrived. When the dessert (chosen by the birthday celebrant) was brought out by the server's helper, there was no candle and nothing was mentioned about her birthday. We were surprised, and wondered why they did not tell us that they do not offer candles or song for birthday celebrations. Shortly after, a dessert appeared along with a candle for a woman celebrating her birthday at a table adjacent to ours. After the birthday song was sung and our server was walking away, I asked why they did not do the same for our celebrant. His response was that he was sorry; the server's helper forgot. We were really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I have been a regular tab il Cielo for some time now. Unfortunately, the restaurant had gone down in quality and service. I had requested an outdoor table well in advance and when we arrived I was told one was not available. The food is unimaginative and the selection is somewhat limited. At about $100 per person, there are far better choices in the neighborhood

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Il Cielo is outstanding in every sense of the word. It is definitely the most romantic restaurant in Los Angeles and probably the entire country. The food is excellent and the service is impeccable. The ambience is the best ever. This is definitely my and my wife's favorite restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Delectable dishes and excellent and friendly service.
Seated for lunch in patio out front (preference) but opposite a gaggle of noisy party of women with wedding reception inside. Very hot day and only one fan outside faced towards the gaggle. Would have otherwise been a perfect lunch date with my husband.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved our waiter Nicholas! He was very attentive, we got seated quickly and the food and ambiance was perfect for a Mother's Day brunch in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Can't say anything but spectacular! We had a wonderful Mother's Day Brunch. 5th year in a row too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The room was extremely noisy that nearly ruined the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Gloucestershire)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great Italian restaurant with lovely food. Situated in a quiet part of Beverly Hills, but worth the trip. We went at lunch and sat outside, evening dining would be really romantic with the lights on! We really loved it and the puddings lip smackingly good!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food in general was good but spaghetti was way undercooked and our server was awful. We had to ask another server to fill our wine glasses, never received a second drink that was ordered and when a second server took over for our waiter who disappeared, he barely grunted at us. Would not go back due to poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Perfect birthday dinner! Love the food, service and ambience, everything!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Ambience was cozy and romantic. Service was adequate. Food prices are a bit higher than others for what you get.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Amazing service, quiet venue, but so romantic ! I loved it and the food was great, a little pricey but it was worth it !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We dined on our annivarsary in the garden patio at Il Cielo. It has a charming ambience. The menu selection was extensive for lunch and the prices about half of their dinners.

The service was outstanding: from the charming hostess, to the very attentive service of our waiter Marco, and the good humor of the busboy. It was a delightful meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I love this place it's always good food wonderful ambiance and Massimo is my favorite waiter always so kind and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was sub-par compared to similar cost restaurants - e.g., Mastros, Morton's (plate was not heated so food got cold quickly, minimal flavor, small portions). Ambiance was nice but spoiled by a spider that landed on our table (outdoor patio). Would not recommend for special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a table on the front patio. Our service was outstanding, as was the ambiance. The waiter was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. He was always available when needed and we never felt rushed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.