About Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar

9018 Burton Way
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
View Larger Map

Benvenuto! For over 28 years , Il Cielo has brought "the sky" to Beverly Hills. Often called "the most romantic restaurant in Los Angeles" Il Cielo is more than just an Italian restaurant. It is a landmark. With fine dining for lunch and dinner, private rooms and tranquil gardens, Il Cielo is the perfect location for almost any occasion, day or night. Il Cielo has established itself as a place to impress; "A country restaurant in the city". We hope you will join us soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

Friday & Saturday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Sunday:
Lunch - Closed
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.*
(*We may be closed for a private event on select Sundays)

Happy Hour:
Monday - Friday
Drinks 4:30 - 8:00 p.m
Food 5:30 - 8:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Doheny Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 276-9990

Website:
http://www.ilcielo.com/

Catering:
We offer catering in your home or ours. Please contact our Events Department.

Executive Chef:
Pasquale Vericella

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Il Cielo Happy Hour!

Monday - Friday. 4:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
$8 Cocktails
$5 House Wine & Prosecco
$3 Beer
$8 Small Plates


Restaurant Photos

  • Lemon Cake - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
  • Halibut - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
  • Lamb Ragu - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
  • Veal Shank - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
  • Burrata With Heirloom Tomatoes - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
  • Panna Cotta - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
  • Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
Lemon Cake - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
Halibut - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
Lamb Ragu - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
Veal Shank - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
Burrata With Heirloom Tomatoes - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
Panna Cotta - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA
Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo - Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar, Beverly Hills, CA

Private Dining

For sit down dinners: Approx. 130-150 guests. For standing cocktail receptions: Up to 350 guests.

Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
Romantic
Los Angeles
Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly Hills ›

Romantic (53)
Special Occasion (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Cozy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Authentic (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Lunch (11)
Business Meals (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Scenic View (7)
Private Room (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and I had a delicious lunch in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

My friend and I had a delicious lunch in the gorgeous garden of this lovely Italian restaurant. I recommend it highly for anyone who wants good food and good talk--at the same time!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Another delightful lunch at Il Cielo. Su ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Another delightful lunch at Il Cielo. Such a charming place, with excellent service and marvelous food. So nice to dine in a pleasant place with no loud music blaring and ruining conversation. Loved the piped-in classic jazz vocals. So very appropriate for the type of restaurant. And just the right sound level. Magnifique!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved this place was so yummy and the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I loved this place was so yummy and the service excellent

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice experience there for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a very nice experience there for my daughters birthday. We all loved the ambiance! Great service, too.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The place was very very nice, great ambi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The place was very very nice, great ambience, great service, the manager and staff helped me set up as I proposed to my girlfriend that night. Overall amazing place.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is impeccably professional. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The service is impeccably professional. The patio setting is stunning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was rude and inattentive. Hi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our waiter was rude and inattentive. His attitude spoiled the evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Love the atmosphere!!!! Great service fr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Love the atmosphere!!!! Great service from beginning to end. Definitely will return!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately had a really poor experien ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Unfortunately had a really poor experience here which is unfortunate given the ambiance is so lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

I was reccomended by my sister and WOW w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I was reccomended by my sister and WOW was I impressed. From the valet guys, to the host, to the buzz boys, to the waiter. What an incredible night. It couldn't been more perfect. The food and the drinks were amazing. Overall 10/10!!!!

Thank you guys for making that night a one to remember! 👍🏼

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Genial , inolvidable

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Genial , inolvidable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service. Love the scenery. Food wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great service. Love the scenery. Food was great except for tuna tartar. Something was weird about it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great food.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall atmosphere at the restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The overall atmosphere at the restaurant is beautiful. The staff is very kind, attentive, and work very hard. The food is just as good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A day to remember, great service, great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A day to remember, great service, great experience

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food excellent service loved t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Delicious food excellent service loved the decor and ambience

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friends and I enjoyed lunch at il cie ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My friends and I enjoyed lunch at il cielo. Food was delicious, the atmosphere beautiful ,and our server Massimo was so special, he took such good care of us.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a beautiful place! All the trees h ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Such a beautiful place! All the trees have little white lights and it is so romantic. But the food is extraordinary: my homemade pasta dish with little clams was served with a delicious light cream sauce and my friend's salmon was perfectly grilled. We split a beet salad (it was so big neither one of us could have eaten an entire one) and had pear martinis. It was my friend's birthday so we ordered an apple tart and the chef wrote "Happy Birthday" in chocolate on the dish and served it with a candle. Delightful!

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and ambience always amazing. Lov ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Service and ambience always amazing. Love the fact that you can easily converse with dining companion(s). Noise level is never a problem. Food is not extraordinary, but certainly not bad. Will continue to frequent as the service and atmosphere cannot be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Dishes were all amazingly delicious and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Dishes were all amazingly delicious and well put together. The ambiance was very romantic. It was as you were having dinner in a beautiful backyard somewhere in Europe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was excellent, great service, a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was excellent, great service, and romantic ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved it but because I am so young the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I loved it but because I am so young they thought I was at the wrong place or didn't have reservations but after that it was good the girl at the front said hi how can I help you like if we were lost lol a place of this caliber should say hi welcome to cielo what name is your reservation under

The owner on the other hand is very humble and very polite very nice person

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The food was delicious and the ambiance ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was delicious and the ambiance was beautiful. Definitely a romantic restaurant perfect for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem. In Beverly Hills. Our foo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A hidden gem. In Beverly Hills. Our food came out nice and hot and perfectly prepared. Our server did an amazing job of filleting our fish. The ambience is quiet and romantic, and the outdoor area is perfect in pleasant weather.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful setting to sit and dine ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What a beautiful setting to sit and dine on a date or with friends. The food was fantastic and the service wonderful. This is a place to come back to again and again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Il Cielo for our anniversary din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went to Il Cielo for our anniversary dinner. We sat in the patio and it is absolutely adorable. The ambience of the place was perfect for our romantic dinner, the lights, the music and the service all went hand in hand. The food is also great! After our meal we got dessert and it was also delicious. Certainly a place I would gladly visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly outstanding dinner. My friends fro ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Truly outstanding dinner. My friends from Ft Lauderdale had recommended the restaurant - it surpassed our high expectations. Our guests were wowed! The ambiance is very unique and romantic and the menu was great, so many tempting choices. Food was high quality and delicious. Staff was friendly, attentive and unobtrusive.

A five star night all around. Just go and enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a lovely all around dining and/or ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always a lovely all around dining and/or lunch experience at this restaurant. Beautiful indoor and outdoor decor. Knowledgeable and polite staff. Excellent menu and food presentation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat outside on a beautiful day at a l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We sat outside on a beautiful day at a lovely table with linens, glassware, etc. The service was perfect--as it always is in my experience here. My guest and I both ordered the 1/2 shell broiled lobster salad which was good, but not outstanding. With half again the amount of lobster (it

rendered about 4 small bites) and a bit more flavor in the dressing, it would have been worth the price ($22). However, overall it was a very enjoyable experience and I will look forward to my next return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely meal in a beautiful coutyard. I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

A lovely meal in a beautiful coutyard. Intimate enough to have a good long conversation with everyone at the table. Delicious food and careful service from Massimo.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great place. I thought it was pricey for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

great place. I thought it was pricey for dinner for portion size. However, I will go back. It was worth the drive. The place was amazing and the staff wonderful. We were not rushed and was able to enjoy a quiet dinner. we will try their lunch very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in LA. Gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in LA. Great for a date, friend's get-together, etc. Not for kids, but beautiful setting. Also excellent for a shower. Lovely space and peaceful. Sanctuary in LA. Food was excellent (I had the lobster salad). Massimo, our server, is top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here for the first ti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

My wife and I went here for the first time for our 15 year anniversary. The owner was very personable and the ambiance is what you go for. As others have mentioned; the food is good but not great. Everything we had was good except for my entree.

It was a special that evening; giant prawns with linguini. If the chef had tasted this dish, he would never have let it get out of the kitchen. It had a gritty, dirt feel to it; like bad scallops. When I mention it to the waiter, he told me that it was the tyme in the dish. It made me feel better enough to finish the dish, but I was not thoroughly enjoying it. When the bill came, I saw that it was a $48 entree! I nearly spit out my wine. DEFINITELY not worth the $48; maybe $28.

Service was good. Wine list was very adequate. Based on the value to food, I would probably not repeat going. It was nice to experience it once, but the bad entree kinda killed it for me. At these prices, they should be more careful with what comes out of the kitchen. It's been around for 30 years and I'm sure it will be around for another 30.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Il Cielo has the best ambiance in Los An ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Il Cielo has the best ambiance in Los Angeles: you sit outdoors with lots of trees trimmed in small white lights, and this is so romantic and pretty! The food is outstanding: home made pastas with tasty, imaginative sauces beautifully presented with wonderful accompanients. My guests from Chicago were terribly impressed and want to return on their next visit. My branzino was perfectly cooked and my guests' steaks were also. Desserts were out of this world. Love it here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anyway service was very good 💕 Thank yo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Anyway service was very good 💕

Thank you for making our day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

the restaurant is beautiful and the serv ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 18, 2016

the restaurant is beautiful and the service was fine and our waiter presented us with a lovely dessert for our anniversary. I think I was expecting more in the quality of the food, it wasn't bad just not really good. And I have to be honest that I had had an amazing lunch at The Ivy at the Shore on the same day, and it was proabably just too much good food in one day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server would constantly walk away mi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our server would constantly walk away mid sentence and never came back to our table unless I motioned to him several times. Reading the specials and taking our orders took extra long as he was socializing with other servers while serving us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Everything was amazing . The food was v ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Everything was amazing . The food was very authentic from Tuscany, being that my family is from that region . The food was fresh. The service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Il Cielo provided a romantic atmosphere ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Il Cielo provided a romantic atmosphere with their outdoor seating and delicious food. The lights on the trees were lovely, and the experience was perfect for a very special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my wife here for her birthday and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday and both of us had salmon. It was so good . The restaurant was very nice and they has great services too. It's good for going on a date or for a great romantic night with your spouse/partner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.