About Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar

9018 Burton Way
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
View Larger Map

Benvenuto! For over 28 years , Il Cielo has brought "the sky" to Beverly Hills. Often called "the most romantic restaurant in Los Angeles" Il Cielo is more than just an Italian restaurant. It is a landmark. With fine dining for lunch and dinner, private rooms and tranquil gardens, Il Cielo is the perfect location for almost any occasion, day or night. Il Cielo has established itself as a place to impress; "A country restaurant in the city". We hope you will join us soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

Friday & Saturday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Sunday:
Lunch - Closed
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.*
(*We may be closed for a private event on select Sundays)

Happy Hour:
Monday - Friday
Drinks 4:30 - 8:00 p.m
Food 5:30 - 8:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Doheny Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 276-9990

Website:
http://www.ilcielo.com/

Catering:
We offer catering in your home or ours. Please contact our Events Department.

Executive Chef:
Pasquale Vericella

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Il Cielo Happy Hour!

Monday - Friday. 4:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
$8 Cocktails
$5 House Wine & Prosecco
$3 Beer
$8 Small Plates


Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

For sit down dinners: Approx. 130-150 guests. For standing cocktail receptions: Up to 350 guests.

Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Romantic
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Special Occasion
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly Hills ›

romantic (97)
special occasion (90)
great for outdoor dining (69)
See All
neighborhood gem (44)
fit for foodies (39)
great for lunch (28)
notable wine list (28)
great for brunch (22)
hot spot (20)
good for groups (18)
scenic view (14)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
995 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite restaurant in LA! :) So beautiful!

Dined on May 22, 2016

My new favorite restaurant in LA! :) So beautiful and romantic! Love the service, the food and the setting with the beautiful lights. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Our 45th weddind anniversary and ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It was Our 45th weddind anniversary and the staff honored throughout the night with special dessert presentation and drink the romantic tablesetting addedtothesetting.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best dining experience we've had in ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The best dining experience we've had in years. We will return soon, and often.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had my first dinner at Il Cielo and it w ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Had my first dinner at Il Cielo and it was perfect in every way. I cannot recommend it highly enough. I don't go to 'fancy' restaurants often, but every step of the way my friend and I felt comfortable and welcomed. The service is excellent--attentive and friendly. The outdoor patio is beautiful, and quiet-- a welcome change of pace from the incredibly loud hard-surface restaurants that bring in the crowds nowadays. The cocktails are amazing and all of our food was excellent (we both had a risotto special). I would definitely return in the future for both special occasions and for just a very nice dinner out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is perfect for any occasi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant is perfect for any occasion! They have the best food, waiters, and values. Nothing is better than il cielo! Everything was magical

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I was skeptical when I saw that Il Cielo ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I was skeptical when I saw that Il Cielo claims to be the most romantic restaurant in LA. That's a huge claim to make. However, after my recent dining experience, I am a believer. Il Cielo is in fact VERY romantic. The food is just as fantastic. It's an overall fabulous restaurant with excellent food, service and ambiance. That's the trifecta right there!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

It was Mother's Day Menu

Dined on May 9, 2016

The menu was limited and set in price. The service was excellent, the food was average. The two of us who has the lamb shank did not sleep because it was very heavy

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

mother's day let down

Dined on May 9, 2016

We went there before and had a great time. This time we went for Mother's Day which was an expensive mandatory fixed menus of 70$ per person plus mandatory 20% service charge regardless of how many people were in the group. We we 4 so the madatory service charge really makes no sense. As always, service was good. Food was a huge let down; flavorless, expensive, and totally uninspiring

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AS ALWAYS - OUTSTANDING

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I are coming to Il Cielo for many years. Each time, same result: OUTSTANDING! This restaurant delivers exceptional traditional Italian cuisine, very attentive service, in a perfect, romantic, Old World setting. It reminds me at the great brasseries of Paris - everything is always perfect any time of the year. One has never to worry what to expect, because the best will always be awaiting you. It is definitely one of THE best restaurants in Los Angeles. It is truly a sparkling gem.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I love love love this place all day ever ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I love love love this place all day every day! Tiramisu to die for

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great ambiance, everyone at the restaurant was very welcoming, service was outstanding and food was fabulous

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there for my boyfriend's bday. ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We went there for my boyfriend's bday. The food was good and the ambiance was amazing and magical. The best part of that night was our server, he was very kind and caring. The passion he had for explaining the food and providing an excellent service was one of a kind! Overall it was a great night!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rediscovered its past glory

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Having come to this location for more than 20 years in different incarnations, the last 2 or 3 years have been quite average. Il Cielo has rediscovered that which made it great in the first place -- excellent food for both lunch and dinner, attentive but not-too-overbearing service, and a remarkable atmosphere both inside and out. A true gem rediscovered. A wide choice of wines, not terribly deep, but covering all the bases for lunch and dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

A disappointing evening!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had an 8:30pm reservation. when we arrived at 8:25 we were told there would be a slight wait and were led to the crowded under-staffed bar where it took us 30 minutes to actually acquire a drink. When we inquired twice as to the wait for our table we were treated in a cold and haughty manner. At 9:40pm as we were about to leave...in fact our car had already been brought up ...a table suddenly became available. That evening was a very special occasion and explained that as I was leaving ...however the rest of the party wanted to stay since it was to late to find an alternative. The food was very good when we finally were served appetizers at 10:15pm! Our server was outstanding. Our entrees and dolce were excellent but not good enough to justify being served our dinner close to 11pm when we made a reservation for 8:30pm! As a former restaurant owner I found Il Cielo's attitude unacceptable for a fine dining establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

special dining experience with superb service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

For my family and my business relations, this is by far the most special dining experience with superb service. The patio is a fabulous setting, the menu selection and the quality of the wines is delightful. Save room for the desserts !

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic, Great Service and Food

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We always LOVE Il Cielo. The restaurant is beautiful, the service (we had Marco) is the best. For starters, I had the butternut squash soup which was possibly the best I've ever had. I had the Jidori chicken and it was excellent. My wife had the Loup D'Mer fish which was exceptional.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Romantic Atmosphere

Dined on April 11, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here. It was quiet and the waiters are extremely attentive. The romance package was very affordable. The food was so so. I expected more for the prices. Still a nice atmosphere

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perhaps the BEST pasta in Los Angeles! B ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Perhaps the BEST pasta in Los Angeles! Beautiful setting & great service. Lovely way to spend an evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food,service,and ambiance!!!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

This is a real gem and is highly recommended not only for its ambiance, but the food is fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Fails to IMPRESS

Dined on April 9, 2016

We came to this place 10yrs ago when we first got engaged. On our 10th Wedding anniversary , we decided to come to this place that we held so close and it never failed to impress us. They gave us delish Moscato to celebrate. The Food was impecable and service unmatched. The Waiters were friendly and very engaging. We loved the ambiance and the mixed drinks were great. I can see why the price point is where it is. GREAT place for special occasions. We intend to go back. Our waiter Stefan was amazing.. what a treat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious and delightfully un-trendy

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

We arrived a few minutes before 7pm (had 7:15 reservations) and tables were empty. Not having been to il Cielo in over 20 years I hoped it was not a mistake to invite another couple here for dinner. There were about 6 waiters standing with apparently no one to wait on, which was the only hint I had that the restaurant was confident it would eventually fill up. Sure enough, between 7-8pm all the tables were full and dark had fallen so the outdoor ambiance was able to glow. Our salads, soup, pastas, risotto, and branzino were all excellent. The lemon dessert had an odd texture, which was the only disappointment as the 4 of us chose just that single dessert to share - and most of it stayed on the plate. Overall, it was a lovely experience and not difficult to reserve. Staff was all very kind and so it was nice to be in a non-scene-y place where you don't know if you'll be embarrassed having taken guests out there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great romantic dinning experience

Dined on April 4, 2016

This is a very authentic Italian restaurant. Excellent service and high quality food. Great for a date night or a business meeting. The restaurant itself is in a home that is converted into a restaurantnand has been there for 30 years. Good there, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect.The food,the staf ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Everything was perfect.The food,the staff, Great manager!!! Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful and Romantic Dinner

Dined on April 3, 2016

This restaurant never fails! Food is excellent, service is impeccable, you can hear your conversation and it is very romantic sitting outside under the lights. Just an all around fantastic dining experience. While it may be a bit costly it is definitely worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The pasta all'amtriciana was served with ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

The pasta all'amtriciana was served with tomatoes whose flavor hijacked the pasta entree. The calamari was delicious. The parpadelle meat dish was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy and charming

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Visited Il Cielo for the first time as a party of 4 for Easter Brunch. The restaurant itself was absolutely charming with lovely holiday décor and beautiful flowers throughout. The food was beautifully presented and deliciously prepared and the service was exceptional! It was such a treat to splurge on their 3 course menu for a first visit. Oh and the drinks were nice too, I had a peach bellini and my friends loved their special champagne cocktails. This restaurant is a class act!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for the Easter brunch menu and l ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We came for the Easter brunch menu and like all the other times we've been here everything was beyond delicious. The staff was so great with our 14month old daughter and very accommodating. We've been here many times and it never disappoints

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, delicious food

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on March 13, 2016

For years, I have thoroughly enjoyed il Cielo. This was the best yet. What made it so special? We were seated in the side room. Marco, our wait person, was outstanding. He is a real professional, has a great sense of timing, made excellent recommendations and was appropriately attentive. The food that Marco recommended was so well prepared. We had the branzino and the veal chop!! It was a 10 evening!! Bravo to all involved!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If Cielo great for conversation and fine dining

Dined on March 7, 2016

A great place for conversations, whether business or otherwise. Food choices were outstanding and the service was impeccable. Nice wine list. Guests leave feeling they were somewhere special. Great for bringing visitors to LA.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience!

Dined on March 6, 2016

The atmosphere, service and food were all excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome Birthday Celebration!

Dined on March 6, 2016

I had such a wonderful time celebrating my birthday at Il Cielo this past Saturday (3.5.16). The staff was VERY friendly and accommodating and the food... my God, the food was delicious! I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Ladies Lunch in Beverly Hills

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Few restaurants can compare to Il Cielo for ladies lunch..the setting on the patio is lovely and perfect for conversation. The service is excellent. Most of the food is very good...a few dishes were a bit ordinary but others were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for my birthday. Upon arrival we ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We came for my birthday. Upon arrival we were brought to the bar for a drink while we waited for our table. The hostest, feeling bad that we had to wait, brought us a round of champagne. So nice! We were sat shortly after. Our waiter was very attentive and nice. The food was outstanding. The ambiance is beautiful. I can't wait to return. Love this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This will be one of my go to places.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food, great location, great service. I can't wait to take my special friends to this wonderful find! It will likely become one of my top restaurants in LA.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything very good. Real italian good ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Everything very good. Real italian good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful New Favorite

Dined on February 17, 2016

The ambience was wonderful, we dined on the outdoor patio which twinkles with lights, chandeliers and greenery. Service outstanding, the best salad I have every tasted, excellent choices and wonderful warm bread. A place for a very special evening. Begin earlier and enjoy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The setting is beautiful. Didn't quite u ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

The setting is beautiful. Didn't quite understand the menu, asked the waiter, left me the same. Still didn't understand. So I googled the stuff on the menu to see what looked good. We had asked for the romantic package and I asked them to put the roses in a shape of a heart, they didn't. We ended up doing it later. Food was great! Charged us 4 Soft drinks instead of just (2), simply because they brought 2 extra drinks we didn't ask for. Seemed like they got tired of refilling our cups so they just gave us 2 more. We didn't make it a big deal though. Overall, we would definitely go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Not a bad place, but greatly overpriced

Dined on February 15, 2016

Not a bad place, but greatly overpriced. Food is so-so. Service is great though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Great Sea-bass!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We made every effort to book this place, providing credit card copy, sign papers etc in advance, however we noticed they were also accepting people who just happen to walk in!! 5 course Dinner was really three!! The Sea Bass however was excellent!! but $500 for two people no bottle of wive is Excessive, even in Valentine's day in BH!!!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.