Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar

Benvenuti! For over 30 years , Il Cielo has brought "the sky" to Beverly Hills. Often called "the most romantic restaurant in Los Angeles" Il Cielo is more than just an Italian restaurant. It is a landmark. With fine dining for lunch and dinner, private rooms and tranquil gardens, Il Cielo is the perfect location for almost any occasion, day or night. Il Cielo has established itself as a place to impress; "A country restaurant in the city". We look forward to your visit.

9018 Burton Way
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

Friday & Saturday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Sunday:
Lunch - Closed
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.*
(*We may be closed for a private event on select Sundays)

Happy Hour:
Monday - Friday
Drinks 4:30 - 8:00 p.m
Food 5:30 - 8:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Doheny Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 276-9990

Website:
http://www.ilcielo.com/

Catering:
We offer catering in your home or ours. Please contact our Events Department.

Executive Chef:
Pasquale Vericella

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Il Cielo Happy Hour!

Monday - Friday. 4:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
$8 Cocktails
$5 House Wine & Prosecco
$3 Beer
$8 Small Plates


Private Dining

For sit down dinners: Approx. 130-150 guests. For standing cocktail receptions: Up to 350 guests.

Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (53)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Cozy (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Authentic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
People Watching (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Il Cielo is one of my favorite go-to restaurant in the lower Beverly Hills/W Hollywood & Mid Wilshire adjacent area. The food is good, service excellent and eating on the patio is a very nice experience. Only caveat - the fans in the patio can be on the high setting, but the staff is quite willing to turn the power level lower. Recommend this place highly.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

My husband and I done out a lot. This time it wasn't only a special occasion.... but a wonderful experience. The waiter, didn't catch his name, went above and beyond. He was very attentative. And had me order something I usually wouldn't. The food was excellent. The service was awesome. It wasn't rushed like most places. Here, you are able to take your time, enjoy your meal and the people you came with. Dessert was great. I added the romantic package so our table can have rose petals and candles ... Everything about this place was great. I'm surprised this place ain't as popular as it should be.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was our first time at Il Cielo and it did not disappoint! The ambience is romantic and classy. Our waiter was attentive, but not TOO attentive. The food was better than expected and the portions were good. I was impressed that my drink was actually strong... a lot of the "hotspots" water down their drinks, but not here. Nothing but good things to say about our experience. Extra points to the owner who visited many of the tables and was super sweet and genuine. We'll be back very soon!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The ambience is impeccable. Loved it! Anyone celebrating a special occasion should go there and let treat you like royalty!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The service was incredible. Ambiance lovely. Wine list fabulous. My daughter and I had the grilled salmon which was just ok - would have been better with a grilled glaze. Daughter's date had the wild boar pasta - which was very good. Husband had the rack of lamb which he said was just ok. Had a bottle of wine. Bill was $400+. Not sure we'd go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I was astonished with Il cielo!!! Service, hospitality, food, ambience... everything was phenomenal. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for an all round experience. The most romantic restaurant in LA. Dont miss out on it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The ambience is wonderful inside and out. The service staff is always friendly, helpful and beyond efficient. I brought my out-of-town friends to enjoy the California afternoon and they were blown away. I ordered off the Prix Fixe Lunch menu. Started with the Insalata Caprese and had the fish of the day; Bronzino with a crispy skin cooked to perfection over a fennel with zucchini puree. The portions were large and a good deal at the $25 per person price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food is amazing and the service excellent. But can they get rid of the noisy fans please! I will still go back because the food is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Simply outstanding. We ate at several different restaurants in the Beverly Hills area during our trip to LA and this was by far the best experience and a surprisingly good value. The ambience is outstanding whether outdoors (where everyone was) or indoors. The service took a few minutes to get going but was ultimately friendly, attentive, and not rushed, with knowledgeable wait staff. Salad, soup and homemade focaccia bread were excellent. Main courses of whole fish, frutti di mare, and boar pasta were all outstanding. Wine list was deep with many Italian varietals as well as California staples. We don't often get dessert but we fully enjoyed affogati and gelato with extra special attention from our waiter Marco. Looking around everyone else was also having a fantastic evening. Will absolutely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Beautiful setting, amazing food and service. For the quality you get the price is well-justified. Great people watching too!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The resturant is romantic and beautiful for a night out with one's gal

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

A most memorable date and occasion for me which was romantic, friendly and simply wonderful. I can't speak for my date but she did post that she had the most romantic of evenings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Always loved this place and it has not lost its attractiveness. Will move it again onto our priority list. Great environment, friendly, attentive service, tasty food. The right ingredients for an enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We have been to Il Cielo many times in the past and always loved it. This time, however, the meat was shockingly bad. We both ordered the filet -- a favorite in the past -- but it wasn't good at all. Truly it just must have been a bad cut of meat. It tasted like something you might at at Sizzler (at best). The waiter offered another option and we got an order of the veal. Same problems. Just bad tasting. The flavor was bad, the texture was bad. We can only imagine that their meat supplier has either changed or their sourcing has changed. It was a huge disappointment. It's such a beautiful place, but we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I had an outstanding experience celebrating my 21st birthday at Il Cielo. Every time I go, they consistently have the highest quality of service with attentive and personable waiters willing to offer recommendations and prepared to answer questions about the menu. All of the dishes are beautifully presented and they even surprised me with a special dessert platter that said "Happy 21st Birthday, Haley!" at the end of the night. The atmosphere is highly romantic with string lights, chandeliers, and greenery everywhere, and they even scatter rose petals on some tables. I personally consider it one of the best restaurants in LA and will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had a lovely evening with great food and very nice and attentive service. An extra plus for highlighting our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Il Cielo is such a lovely place to dine. Their cocktails are quite good, especially the pear martini. My friend and I both had the salmon and loved it; we split a beet salad and had delicious gelatos for dessert. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Superior service in the best possible atmosphere. Everybody seemed to be celebrating something special but in a friendly, never over-the-top way. Lots of outdoor space inside the walls — best of both worlds.

Lots of choices for vegetarians too. Rice and pasta dishes were impeccable.

Wait staff were very attentive but did not hover. They covered well for each other -- when we needed water, whoever was walking by just took care of it.

The waiter introduced himself as new. He was funny and attentive and knew the menu well. The training must be very thoughtful -- they all know the drill.

My wife mentioned to the waiter she loved the focaccia so they offered to bring more. When she said she was full, they simply brought her extra to take home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. We had our anniversary dinner here and the service, ambiance and food were impeccable. A night we will always remember thanks to the entire team at Il Cielo.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

It was our one year anniversary and everything was incredible! The restaurant is beautiful and nothing like we've ever since before. Service was wonderful and food was amazinggg!!! Would definitely recommend for special occasions and just a must see!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always a great place to celebrate a special occasion or to go have a nice dinner
Staff friendly, food great , love it there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great place for romantic date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We came for a business lunch
The appetizer and lobster salad were superb
The waiter spoke Italian and a good wine connoisseur
Combined with perfect socal weather this was a piece of heaven

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

This was my first experience dining here. A couple of hours before my reservation, I called to move it back a half hour and was easily accommodated. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and seated right away. The ambiance was lovely, as expected due to other reviews and photos. Our server hovered a little at first, waiting for us to appear ready to order. It took a bit for us to decide, but we put in drink orders. It almost seemed like we might have been forgotten after that, but our server returned with some suggestions for us.
The drinks were good. The food was also good and decently portioned. We were both pretty full after our appetizer and pastas, but I had already put in a request for a surprise dessert when I made the reservation. They brought this out a little while after clearing our table and my boyfriend was already anxious to go. He enjoyed the tiramisu, though (his favorite dessert), and I appreciated how they kept it a surprise. Once we were finished, it took quite a while to get our bill though our server was clearly standing off to the side, observing the patio.
All in all, it was a decent experience. The service felt very much like the service given at large banquets, though - very quick and formal with no one really checking up on us - and I suppose I prefer a more personal approach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I would definitely recommend this restaurant! Gotta try their heart shaped flourless chocolate cake! To die for!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It was everything I wanted in a restaurant and more. From the service to the food and the ambiance, absolute perfection. Thank you for making my 15th yr anniversary dinner so special.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

very romantic restaurant! My boyfriend's pasta with boar was great, but I didn't love my risotto. The cheese and Italian meats appetizer was really yummy too. I would go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Il Cielo never disappoints - it is always a wonderful dining experience and the service is
great. I would highly recommend this restaurant for fine dining or any special occasion

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A perfect evening....outdoor seating in a very romantic atmosphere...I was there with a few friends, and the tables were a mix of friends and romantic dinners for 2. Hand crafted cocktails were delicious, the food was great and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The best classic Italian restaurant I've been to in California.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Although we would love to go more often, due to excellent food, the prices are a bit too high for us to dine on a regular basis.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Incredible throughout. Our server was amazing and attentive, and the meal was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We went there for our 18th Anniversary. The food, ambiance and overall dining experience was great. A bit pricey but worth it if you are celebrating something special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wonderful location and great menu. My only recommendation is to soften the music especially if seated near speakers. Otherwise, great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Overpriced and hardly upscale, not worth your dollars when other nearby Beverly Hills restaurants offer so much more. They don't even seem to have a dress code for dinner so we dined among those in dirty shorts and tank tops. Their tomato-based Crab Soup had two tiny bits of crab in it and my Branzino was a bit mushy. The staff were plenty, just not overly attentive. Too often we had to repeatedly signal just to ask a question. I recall the inner patio as being much quieter than up front where we were. Burton Way is EXTREMELY LOUD no thanks to the Ferrari speedway right outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent food and setting. Service for first class

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was my second time here and the ambience is perfect for an intimate evening with your loved one. How wonderful to feel there are places like this in Los Angeles, full of class, integrity and romance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

It was great! Went there with a date and was quickly shown to a table (had a reservation). Service was excellent and timely and the food was delicious. They dimmed the lights a few times throughout the 90min or so we were there, creating a lovely ambiance. 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

One of my favorite restaurant.
Going there at least 4 times a year and never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This was an absolutely beautiful restaurant inside and out! The food was delicious and it was the perfect place to spend my birthday. We were very impressed with the service.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.