About Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar

9018 Burton Way
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
View Larger Map

Benvenuto! For over 28 years , Il Cielo has brought "the sky" to Beverly Hills. Often called "the most romantic restaurant in Los Angeles" Il Cielo is more than just an Italian restaurant. It is a landmark. With fine dining for lunch and dinner, private rooms and tranquil gardens, Il Cielo is the perfect location for almost any occasion, day or night. Il Cielo has established itself as a place to impress; "A country restaurant in the city". We hope you will join us soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

Friday & Saturday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Sunday:
Lunch - Closed
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.*
(*We may be closed for a private event on select Sundays)

Happy Hour:
Monday - Friday
Drinks 4:30 - 8:00 p.m
Food 5:30 - 8:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Doheny Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 276-9990

Website:
http://www.ilcielo.com/

Catering:
We offer catering in your home or ours. Please contact our Events Department.

Executive Chef:
Pasquale Vericella

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Il Cielo Happy Hour!

Monday - Friday. 4:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
$8 Cocktails
$5 House Wine & Prosecco
$3 Beer
$8 Small Plates


Restaurant Photos

  • Lemon Cake
  • Halibut
  • Lamb Ragu
  • Veal Shank
  • Burrata With Heirloom Tomatoes
  • Panna Cotta
  • Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo
Lemon Cake
Halibut
Lamb Ragu
Veal Shank
Burrata With Heirloom Tomatoes
Panna Cotta
Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo

Private Dining

For sit down dinners: Approx. 130-150 guests. For standing cocktail receptions: Up to 350 guests.

Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
Romantic
Los Angeles
Best Service
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
4 More
Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Outdoor Dining
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Romantic
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Special Occasion
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly Hills ›

romantic (86)
special occasion (76)
great for outdoor dining (68)
See All
neighborhood gem (40)
fit for foodies (39)
great for lunch (25)
notable wine list (24)
good for groups (19)
great for brunch (18)
hot spot (14)
scenic view (12)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1018 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Found good reviews for romantic dinner, ...

Dined 5 days ago

Found good reviews for romantic dinner, but tables are crammed together in a small patio and I didn't see why the place is called romantic. Didn't find any romance in the restaurant. Food was decent but not special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and ambiance was outst ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The food, service and ambiance was outstanding. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was wonderful. The service wa ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This place was wonderful. The service was amazing, and made celebrating my fiances birthday and our 2 year anniversary so special, we will never forget it. Thank you also to Nick, dont know if he was the owner or a manager, he was So helpful with choosing items on the menu and making us feel so welcome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

❤️❤️❤️❤️ A fabulous Fathers Day Celebrat ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

❤️❤️❤️❤️ A fabulous Fathers Day Celebration. Sheer perfection!

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

This was a great experience. The food wa ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was a great experience. The food was great. Service excellent. Only thing would be, some items in the menu don't have a price, and also the waiter did not mention the price on some of the special plates. I understand some clients may not need that information, due to the location, but others do. I would definitely go again, this time perhaps sitting in the patio. During my visit there was a big party there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful evening, with dinner on the ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

A wonderful evening, with dinner on the twinkle lit patio. The Sea bass was delicious. Our server was terrific and we discussed our upcoming trip to Italy with him. Will be back again soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Il Cielo is simply tops. Everything is ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Il Cielo is simply tops. Everything is wonderful. Great for a business lunch or a romantic get-together. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our 34 ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary. It was a beautiful setting. We were seated outside. It was very pleasant. The service was very attentive, also very friendly. The food was delicious. My husband had the veal chop and I had lobster parpadelle. We shared the salad with butter lettuce, toasted almonds, gorgonzola cheese and apples with a light honey mustard dressing. It was one of the best salads we have had.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I hadn't been to this Beverly Hills stan ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

I hadn't been to this Beverly Hills standard and was leary of it's "Tavern On The Green" repuation, but I was pleasantly surprised. It is very old-fashioned (freshly painted cherubs float among the clouds on the muraled ceiling), but the food was good and surprisingly inventive. Its decor is still is a little precious, and in sharp contrast to its modern, open and loft-like competitors, but for that sort of throw back evening, it was a very good one.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

An absolute perfect dining experience . ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

An absolute perfect dining experience . Food, ambience and service were impeccable. I would highly recommend. A truly beautiful and romantic spot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting, delicious food and we we ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Lovely setting, delicious food and we were able to carry on a conversation easily.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very pleased with the food , ser ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

We were very pleased with the food , service and ambience. The food was served hot and was well Prepared. The wine recommendation was excellent and the service appropriate. The servers were conscious of my allergies. It was delightful to have an outdoor meal in a charming garden. The restaurant is vegetarian friendly

food1
ambience4
service3
value2

This place was recommended to me as a go ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

This place was recommended to me as a good date night spot. I love the Ambiance but the food was not a home run. I would recommend this place for drink only then hit in-and-out afterwards. which is what I did.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enchanting

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Il Cielo is so special: delicious home made pastas, original Italian dishes, great desserts, beautiful outdoor setting. Everything is so special. My friend and I shared the mushroom and pasta special, then we had grilled salmon. Dessert was a gelato and sorbetti combination and they were tangy and palette cleansing. Our server, I don't remember his name but he is from Sardinia, was so friendly and helpful, checking to see if we were enjoying the food and ourselves. A bearded man, I assume the manager, came by to check on us. Il Cielo has figure out that the food is the most important element of a restaurant, but attention to the customers and making them feel special is also a big deal! I love it here and can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful! Was very romantic and fit for ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Beautiful! Was very romantic and fit for the occasion to celebrate our engagement. Good food too

Tags: romance
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Walking distance from Four Seasons

Dined on June 3, 2016

From dusk to evening, outdoor terrace was beautiful and romantic. Food was nice but could find better places easily around the area. This place seemed one of the stop of a Chinese bus tour, the group was in the private dining though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Dining experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

my husband and I were celebrating my husband's birthday. It was one of the beautiful restaurants. They had amazing wines and lovely italian food. I loved their outdoor dining with all the lights and slow music. It was perfect for two people to fall in love in the ambience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Gorgeous

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Beautiful restaurant indoors and out, elegant, subdued, magical. However My pasta was slightly overcooked and had at least twice as much sauce as it should have had...so wrong for such a pricey place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FANTASTIC!

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

This was my first time at Il Cielo and the experience did not disappoint! The lit up ceiling of the indoor/outdoor feeling was beautiful. My friend and I shared a salad, pasta dish and filet and everything was outstanding. The service was fantastic as well! I will definitely go here again next time I'm in LA.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

I went for my anniversary dinner, we ord ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

I went for my anniversary dinner, we order polpo as appetizer and it was amazing, the only thing is they don't have the beef cheeks ravioli that I wanted. But they made me very happy with the dessert. Tiramisu is classic and it is delicious

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I came here for our ann ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

My boyfriend and I came here for our anniversary. Like other reviewers say, this place is so romantic. We sat at the front patio. You can see the sun set into the evening with the chandeliers and lights around everywhere. He got the romantic package for $30, so it was even more perfect! For appetizer, we got the polpo grigliato - grilled octopus. The waiter recommended it to us because we like seafood. This was one of the best octopus dishes I've ever had! It was chewy and juicy, not rubbery at all. The sauce went perfect with it too. For entrees, we got the bucatini pasta and the pappardelle pasta. Both were great, especially the pappardelle. I could really taste the grilled onions in the bucatini. The shredded wild boar in the pappardelle pasta was so soft and juicy. At first, I couldn't even tell it was pork. For dessert, we got the cuore di cioccolatta, which came with the package. This was nothing too special - chocolate cake bottom with chocolate mousse. The fresh raspberries in between the mousse was good though. If you're looking for a romantic place to take your boo, this is the place to go! The ambiance and the food are great. This may become a tradition for us every year.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite restaurant in LA! :) So beautiful!

Dined on May 22, 2016

My new favorite restaurant in LA! :) So beautiful and romantic! Love the service, the food and the setting with the beautiful lights. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Our 45th weddind anniversary and ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It was Our 45th weddind anniversary and the staff honored throughout the night with special dessert presentation and drink the romantic tablesetting addedtothesetting.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best dining experience we've had in ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The best dining experience we've had in years. We will return soon, and often.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had my first dinner at Il Cielo and it w ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Had my first dinner at Il Cielo and it was perfect in every way. I cannot recommend it highly enough. I don't go to 'fancy' restaurants often, but every step of the way my friend and I felt comfortable and welcomed. The service is excellent--attentive and friendly. The outdoor patio is beautiful, and quiet-- a welcome change of pace from the incredibly loud hard-surface restaurants that bring in the crowds nowadays. The cocktails are amazing and all of our food was excellent (we both had a risotto special). I would definitely return in the future for both special occasions and for just a very nice dinner out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is perfect for any occasi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant is perfect for any occasion! They have the best food, waiters, and values. Nothing is better than il cielo! Everything was magical

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I was skeptical when I saw that Il Cielo ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I was skeptical when I saw that Il Cielo claims to be the most romantic restaurant in LA. That's a huge claim to make. However, after my recent dining experience, I am a believer. Il Cielo is in fact VERY romantic. The food is just as fantastic. It's an overall fabulous restaurant with excellent food, service and ambiance. That's the trifecta right there!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

It was Mother's Day Menu

Dined on May 9, 2016

The menu was limited and set in price. The service was excellent, the food was average. The two of us who has the lamb shank did not sleep because it was very heavy

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

mother's day let down

Dined on May 9, 2016

We went there before and had a great time. This time we went for Mother's Day which was an expensive mandatory fixed menus of 70$ per person plus mandatory 20% service charge regardless of how many people were in the group. We we 4 so the madatory service charge really makes no sense. As always, service was good. Food was a huge let down; flavorless, expensive, and totally uninspiring

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my mother here for Mother's Day as a surprise during a recent trip to LA. The menu was a set menu with limited options but the offerings were amazing. She had a braised lamb shank that she is still talking about. The staff was gracious and courteous. We were seated immediately and without issue. The experience got me daughter of the year. We definitely will be back on our next trip because we want to try items off of the full menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AS ALWAYS - OUTSTANDING

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I are coming to Il Cielo for many years. Each time, same result: OUTSTANDING! This restaurant delivers exceptional traditional Italian cuisine, very attentive service, in a perfect, romantic, Old World setting. It reminds me at the great brasseries of Paris - everything is always perfect any time of the year. One has never to worry what to expect, because the best will always be awaiting you. It is definitely one of THE best restaurants in Los Angeles. It is truly a sparkling gem.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I love love love this place all day ever ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I love love love this place all day every day! Tiramisu to die for

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great ambiance, everyone at the restaurant was very welcoming, service was outstanding and food was fabulous

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there for my boyfriend's bday. ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We went there for my boyfriend's bday. The food was good and the ambiance was amazing and magical. The best part of that night was our server, he was very kind and caring. The passion he had for explaining the food and providing an excellent service was one of a kind! Overall it was a great night!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rediscovered its past glory

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Having come to this location for more than 20 years in different incarnations, the last 2 or 3 years have been quite average. Il Cielo has rediscovered that which made it great in the first place -- excellent food for both lunch and dinner, attentive but not-too-overbearing service, and a remarkable atmosphere both inside and out. A true gem rediscovered. A wide choice of wines, not terribly deep, but covering all the bases for lunch and dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

A disappointing evening!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had an 8:30pm reservation. when we arrived at 8:25 we were told there would be a slight wait and were led to the crowded under-staffed bar where it took us 30 minutes to actually acquire a drink. When we inquired twice as to the wait for our table we were treated in a cold and haughty manner. At 9:40pm as we were about to leave...in fact our car had already been brought up ...a table suddenly became available. That evening was a very special occasion and explained that as I was leaving ...however the rest of the party wanted to stay since it was to late to find an alternative. The food was very good when we finally were served appetizers at 10:15pm! Our server was outstanding. Our entrees and dolce were excellent but not good enough to justify being served our dinner close to 11pm when we made a reservation for 8:30pm! As a former restaurant owner I found Il Cielo's attitude unacceptable for a fine dining establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

special dining experience with superb service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

For my family and my business relations, this is by far the most special dining experience with superb service. The patio is a fabulous setting, the menu selection and the quality of the wines is delightful. Save room for the desserts !

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic, Great Service and Food

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We always LOVE Il Cielo. The restaurant is beautiful, the service (we had Marco) is the best. For starters, I had the butternut squash soup which was possibly the best I've ever had. I had the Jidori chicken and it was excellent. My wife had the Loup D'Mer fish which was exceptional.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Romantic Atmosphere

Dined on April 11, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here. It was quiet and the waiters are extremely attentive. The romance package was very affordable. The food was so so. I expected more for the prices. Still a nice atmosphere

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perhaps the BEST pasta in Los Angeles! B ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Perhaps the BEST pasta in Los Angeles! Beautiful setting & great service. Lovely way to spend an evening.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.