About Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar

9018 Burton Way
Beverly Hills, CA 90211
View Larger Map

Benvenuto! For over 28 years , Il Cielo has brought "the sky" to Beverly Hills. Often called "the most romantic restaurant in Los Angeles" Il Cielo is more than just an Italian restaurant. It is a landmark. With fine dining for lunch and dinner, private rooms and tranquil gardens, Il Cielo is the perfect location for almost any occasion, day or night. Il Cielo has established itself as a place to impress; "A country restaurant in the city". We hope you will join us soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

Friday & Saturday:
Lunch - 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Sunday:
Lunch - Closed
Dinner - 5:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.*
(*We may be closed for a private event on select Sundays)

Happy Hour:
Monday - Friday
Drinks 4:30 - 8:00 p.m
Food 5:30 - 8:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Doheny Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 276-9990

Website:
http://www.ilcielo.com/

Catering:
We offer catering in your home or ours. Please contact our Events Department.

Executive Chef:
Pasquale Vericella

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Il Cielo Happy Hour!

Monday - Friday. 4:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
$8 Cocktails
$5 House Wine & Prosecco
$3 Beer
$8 Small Plates


Restaurant Photos

  • Lemon Cake
  • Halibut
  • Lamb Ragu
  • Veal Shank
  • Burrata With Heirloom Tomatoes
  • Panna Cotta
  • Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo
Lemon Cake
Halibut
Lamb Ragu
Veal Shank
Burrata With Heirloom Tomatoes
Panna Cotta
Pere E Formaggio Di Capra Caldo

Private Dining

For sit down dinners: Approx. 130-150 guests. For standing cocktail receptions: Up to 350 guests.

Il Cielo Gardens Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
Romantic
Los Angeles
Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
2 More
Romantic
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Special Occasion
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly Hills ›

Romantic (70)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Scenic View (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1064 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

THE RESTAURANT WAS BEAUTIFUL AND VERY RO ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

THE RESTAURANT WAS BEAUTIFUL AND VERY ROMANTIC! THE STAFF WAS GREAT AND EVEN MADE RECOMMENDATIONS! I WAS THERE FOR MY BIRTHDAY AND REALLY LOVED IT. THE FOOD WAS GOOD BUT PORTIONS WERE SMALLER THAN I AM ACCUSTOMED TOO.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic if you're seated outdoors. Othe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Romantic if you're seated outdoors. Otherwise just OK. Very good service, average food. There are better dining options in L.A.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter Dan was great! Service and am ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter Dan was great! Service and ambience were on point . We were celebrating our wedding anniversary 9 years ago we had our engagement dinner there ! Special place, service a food delicioso!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went on Thursday to celebrate my 4 yea ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

I went on Thursday to celebrate my 4 year anniversary with my spouse. We waited some time before the server showed up to help us. Aside from that, the waiter was very attentive and friendly. Food was great, everything tasted really good. Portions were just right on everything. Ambiance was romantic, very nicely decorated. The chairs were a bit uncomfortable which kind of killed the moment. There was a lot of wind toward the end of our meal which led to a lot of leaves and debris falling on our water and remainder of food. Restaurant assisted with cleaning up the table, but didn't really apologize or offer any comps to make up for it.

Overall, I enjoyed my meal and the restaurant. I would go again and recommend it to other people.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is perfection! We let t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant is perfection! We let them know that it was our 20th anniversary and they went out of their way to make it a romantic and amazing experience. From rose petals on the table to a tall white tapered candle, it was so lovely. The twinkle-lit patio is beautiful! The food was spectacular and the service impeccable. We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great patio dining!! Excellent service!! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

great patio dining!! Excellent service!!! food was excellent!! Very good options menu options

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice! He custom made me a truffle pasta, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Nice! He custom made me a truffle pasta, it wasn't great but I appreciate it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our whole experience, food, service, amb ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Our whole experience, food, service, ambiance, were outstanding. I haven't been to ll Cielo in a while and was pleasantly reminded of what a wonderful restaurant it is. I have already made plans to return next week.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place. And would come back. T ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Loved this place. And would come back. The food was great. A very romantic garden setting. Ideal place for a proposal. The only thing I didn't like was how long I had to wait for the waiter to actually come and take my order. I watched him go back and forth visiting other tables twice without stopping at mine. After about 15 minutes or so my wife had become irritated and started the timer on her phone. Almost 6 minutes had passed before he actually stopped at our table. She left the timer on the table so that he knew we were timing him. After that I had no other issue. The night was absolutely beautiful. I'd definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Superb! Really enjoyed it. Probably the ...

 
 (Cheshire)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Superb! Really enjoyed it. Probably the most beautiful restaurant in Beverly Hills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. Foodwasvery average.ha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great atmosphere. Foodwasvery average.hadto return theappetizer.entrees were notgreat at all....maygobackfor drinks only

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The atmosphere was great but the food an ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The atmosphere was great but the food and service need improvement. For the price of the dinner plates you'd expect something more flavorful but you're just paying for the "experience" of dining under Christmas lights. After dinner, the valet attendant brought back my car wet on one side. When I asked him what happened, he laughed and said "sprinklers" and walked away. As the rest of the party was getting in the car, he came back and started wiping the car down with a napkin. An apology from him would have been enough. At least we got a good laugh.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The ambiance of this restaurant is very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The ambiance of this restaurant is very lovely. However, I would not recommend Il Cielo for the following reasons:

1. The website's menu is deceiving, as it is impossible to determine which items are lunch, dinner, or one of their other categories. I had chosen this restaurant based on lunch menu items (and prices), only to find a completely different menu when I got there. However, the staff was nice enough to accommodate me with one of the lunch menu items (of course, though, with a much inflated price).

2. The service was very disappointing. The staff did not notice empty water glasses; we had to ask for refills. In addition, when one of the staff came around with bread, he accidentally dropped a piece of tomato on the tablecloth by me and said, "Dangit!" Then he walked away without even picking/cleaning it up. I was a bit floored by his unprofessionalism in what was supposed to be a more refined restaurant.

3. The food was not even enjoyable. The meals were tiny portions, my husband's pasta was undercooked, and neither of us liked the taste of our dishes.

Overall, I was very disappointed with my experience Il Cielo, except for the ambiance, especially because of the extremely high prices. My husband and I each ordered a glass of wine and an entree (no appetizers or desserts) and still paid over $100. I have never posted a review online before, so this is how strongly I felt about this particular dining experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Great service!! Food was delicious. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great service!! Food was delicious. The made our anniversary special. Highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow to receive appetisers but great loc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Slow to receive appetisers but great location and decor. Dessert was the best course - pannacotta and tiramisu were our choices. Very happy to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Gorgeous setting with fine food, spotty ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Gorgeous setting with fine food, spotty service but all undermined by blasting music that undermines conversation. We asked 4 times to have the music turned lower but nothing happened. They could have understood if they had listened to attempted conversations at

the tables where the volume of voices was about 2/3 less than the volume of music which overwhelmed us. Service could have been more attentive. We had to ask for menus after 10 minutes. Then the waiter started to remove our wine and water glasses but we stopped him to point out we hadn't yet ordered our wine. Similarly we ordered apple tarts for dessert but it was brought with no knives or forkes! When we asked the waiter brought a knife. We asked again for forks. Is this really so difficult to understand? Meanwhile a flock of waiters stood staring at us in a cluster throughout the dinner. They need training! And shut off the music so patrons can enjoy conversations and not just food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

I'd had lunch there years ago before I m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I'd had lunch there years ago before I moved out of town. My experience this week was everything I remembered and more. The food was gorgeous and gourmet delicious. The staff was generously friendly and attentive. I wish I lived closer to be there every week. I give them my highest recommendation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting. Very romantic. Great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Beautiful setting. Very romantic. Great service. Delicious food. Ask for red petals and candle on table if you're celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful and romantic outdoor dining se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Beautiful and romantic outdoor dining setting in Beverly Hills. Food was good and service was excellent and friendly. Would definitely go again and recommend. Really pleasant setting

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

very nice please. And the best memory to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

very nice please. And the best memory to me and my wife in the proposed day. Thank you ii cielo to let us having a wonderful day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The pasta was delicious and so was the d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The pasta was delicious and so was the dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very nice restaurant and the food and th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

very nice restaurant and the food and the service were great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is unbelievable how fresh everything ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It is unbelievable how fresh everything is here, like they had their own butcher in the back. The ambiance is lovely, and the open-air seating is a nice touch.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food but incredibly bad service. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Decent food but incredibly bad service. We waited 10 minutes for menu.No problem since place is romantic and nice atmosphere . When we were having appetizers they brought coffee which was a mistake obviously . No problem. After we finished appetizer they brought desert . Of course told them it was a mistake . No problem.

Meantime manager comes and browses and doesn't pay attention that we are waiting for our main course . Waited one hour . Then he comes and tells us" sorry for the wait soufflé takes time ". We told them we are waiting for the main course. He didn't say sorry , but just walked away. Half hour later we received our main course. Between finishing the appetizer and receiving the main course was 1.5 hour. We were at the restaurant at 8:30PM and left 11:40 PM.

Very pleasant and romantic place but when you wait that long to be served the scenery doesn't mean much.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

It took forever to get water, then a men ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It took forever to get water, then a menu, then to order. My date choked on a fish bone for several hours after eating there and the bill was over $400.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Nice place for outdoor dining. Food is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Nice place for outdoor dining. Food is ok. Price is reasonable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I came here for dineLA ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My boyfriend and I came here for dineLA and we were very impressed by the ambiance. If you can't find street parking, you have the option of dropping your car at the valet for $10. We sat in the atrium-esque part of the restaurant and loved all the twinkling strung lights.

Here is what we ordered:

Boyfriend -

Appetizer: Meatballs (9/10)

Meal: Pork (8/10)

Dessert: La Passion (10/10)

Pinot Noir: $18 (8/10)

Allagash White: $7-8ish (7/10)

Me -

Appetizer: Calamari Arugula Salad (2/10)

Meal: Gnocchi (6/10)

Dessert: La Passion (10/10)

I would highly recommend ordering what the boyfriend ordered if you are here for dineLA - we had Massimo for our table. He was fantastic and made our dining experience excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice overall, but a little on the s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very nice overall, but a little on the snooty side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We tried for DineLA. Food great although ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We tried for DineLA. Food great although I didn't love the DineLA choices. The staff were wonderful and attentive. Great place. Glad we finally tried it after all these years. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great! Food was great! A rom ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was great! Food was great! A romantic interior for a couple. However, dealt with ID theft the following day with my last use of my debit card was at the restaurant, the night before. They should improve their transaction security more tight.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is great. The food is just ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The ambiance is great. The food is just average. There are many better Italian Restaurants

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The ambience was romantic. However, the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The ambience was romantic. However, the service was horrible. We didn't get out appetizer until 45 minutes after we were seated. I ordered an iced tea, which took 30 minutes. Our entrees didn't arrive until an hour and 45 minutes upon sitting. My husband ordered the Branzino and I ordered the Beet salad. The waiter even commented that the chefs must have went to Santa Monica to catch his fish. My husband and I didn't even bother eating since we had lost our appetites being there for 2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The restaurant, which is unremarkable fr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The restaurant, which is unremarkable from the street, is just lovely. The food was magnificent and the service was above expectations. I would highly recommend going to this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Reminds me of Italy or Spai ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great place. Reminds me of Italy or Spain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is probably one of the most e ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This place is probably one of the most expensive italian restaurants in LA. The place is clearly overpriced and the food is quite average. Save your money and go somewhere else.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent date night spot.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent date night spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed in when I paid for. An ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very disappointed in when I paid for. And we were shoved in a corner next to the kitchen door and we had to keep moving out of the waiters way. They almost split stuff on up several times.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

This is my fourth visit to Il Cielo and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This is my fourth visit to Il Cielo and I love it more every time. It is outdoors yet it still feels private. The homemade pastas and sauces are simply wonderful. I a vegetarian soup followed by a salad and pasta and boar sauce--don't miss it. Dessert consisted of three sorbetti that are the best in the city. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance can't be beat. Most of the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The ambiance can't be beat. Most of the food was very good but my dish was bland (the lobster pasta special). I would good back because everything else was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

My new favourite place.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My new favourite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.