About Ikanos

112 Rue Mc Gill
Suite 1
Montreal, QC H2Y 2E5
View Larger Map

Ikanos vous invite à découvrir la cuisine méditerranéenne contemporaine du chef-propriétaire Constant Mentzas. Ikanos vous propose une expérience gastronomique unique où se côtoient de manière inventive les saveurs de la Méditerranée. Une cuisine du marché contemporaine, des fruits de mer et poissons choisis avec soin, des grillades de notre four aux charbons de bois Josper. Les classiques de la cuisine méditerranéenne et grecque réinventées au gré des arrivages saisonniers et de nos inspirations.

Ikanos invites you to discover the comtemporary mediterranean seafood cuisine of chef-owner Constant Mentzas. Ikanos offer you a unique gastronomic experience where Mediterranean flavors are combined in a unique and inventive way. Market inspired cuisine, hand picked fish and seafood grilled over an open fire in our Josper wood buring oven. Greek and Mediterranean classics revisited with a modern twist, following our inspiration and the freshest market arrivals.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Thusday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Wellington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 842-0867

Website:
http://www.restaurantikanos.com/

Catering:
Pour le service traiteur, veuillez contacter notre Chef Constant Mentzas au 514-842-0867
For catering, please contact our Chef Constant Mentzas at 514 842 0867

Parking Details:
625 Saint-Paul Ouest West
Wiliam / St-Henri
75 Queen

Public Transit:
Metro Square Victoria
Square victoria Station

Executive Chef:
Constant Mentzas

Private Party Facilities:
Pour la division du restaurant, nous avons 2 Salles a manger de 46 personnes chacune plus un bar d"une capacité de 12 personnes.
We have two Dining rooms that can seat 46 persons each plus a bar with a capacity of 12 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Pascal Mangeot: 514-842-0867x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Pour des événements spéciaux, veuillez contacter notre Chef Constant Mentzas au 514-842-0867
For special events, please contact our Chef Constant Mentzas at 514-842-0867

Ikanos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (20)
special occasion (10)
good for groups (9)
See All
romantic (7)
great for lunch (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
notable wine list (5)
hot spot (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
56 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal

Dined on April 29, 2016

We ordered from the mezzes menu - everything we had was excellent! The desserts were great too!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant!

Dined on April 21, 2016

The menu was excellent, all the tapas were delicious. The wine was nicely paired with the food. Excellent service as well, with great ambiance. Highly recommended for foodies or a get together with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Zorba couldn't afford it

Dined on April 19, 2016

OK, Ikanos has great food. The chef is innovative and turns out tasty little dishes (mezzos), most big enough to share. The service is attentive and the waiter was happy to explain the menu and even determine, by asking the chef, the more mysterious ingredients of one of the dishes (shaved fennel bulb no less). It obviously appeals to more well-heeled business types in the area and the students who can afford it, but it is quite expensive for Greek food. More than just gyros and moussaka, it offers a series of fresh seafood dishes with Greek and Mediterranean seasonings in new ways. So go for the experience. Go for the great, tasty little tapas-like plates. But go with your wallet. You will need it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great place but food too tiny.

Dined on April 15, 2016

Portions were tiny for the high prices. Although the location is gorgeous the quantity of food is just too tiny.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service.

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We will definitely go back. We bought a Tuango deal for 4 people and it was really good value.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had the St. Valentine's menu with the wine tasting; a wonderful, wonderful meal! Service is above par, and Olivier (the Sommelier) is just outstanding! Our fifth visit to Ikanos - it just keeps getting better!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Seafood was cooked perfectly. Staff was ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Seafood was cooked perfectly. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Authentic Greek food. Excellent experience would highly recommend! !

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat!

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Had the evening specials. Started with a razor clam appetizer and wrapped it up with a very generous crab trilogy platter featuring three different types. Dinner was polished off with an amazing 2009 Hazidakis Assertico white wine. Ikanos is the only cellar in the city to have such an amazing bottle on-hand (not to mention all of the other choices). The Welcome was kind and warm. Lovely evening! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

Good, but not great.

Dined on November 15, 2015

The food was good, but not outstanding. The scallop ceviche and saganaki were quite memorable. The lamb dish lacked seasoning and the feta mashed potatoes lacked any discernible feta flavour. The service left something to be desired for the price point. The waiter seemed to be more attentive to other tables that were ordering higher price point items. When we ordered wine by the glass he simply poured the wine and left. When the table next to us ordered wine by the glass he poured a sample for them to try to make sure they both liked it first. He actually reached from behind my wife over her shoulder to give me the bill from the bar, as opposed to walking around the booth to hand it to me at our table. I wouldn't rush back, but would go if another couple suggested it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is absolutely delicious but portion ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Food is absolutely delicious but portions are small for the price. Expensive for amount of food and every thing is separate cost.

food4
ambience5
service5

fantastic fish and sea food

Dined on November 6, 2015

my wife and i shared 6 dishes all fish and sea food and every single one was amazing. the only thing i can say is i would have prefered a less cooking samon with a crispier skin. other than that, 5/5. would dine again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was very good, excellent servic ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

The food was very good, excellent service

food4
ambience4
service4

Delightful dinner with friends

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

This was my second visit at Ikanos and I was not disappointed. The food was delicious and the tapas style menu made it easy to share the different dishes and taste a little of everything. The Saganaki was tasty and the duck was divine. Trendy yet relaxed atmosphere, my group practically closed the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant

vip
Dined on September 10, 2015

Great restaurant with very good service. Highly recomended.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably the best restaurant in Montreal ...

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

Probably the best restaurant in Montreal if you're looking for mezze tapas style food. A1

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food........a gem in Montreal

Dined on September 4, 2015

All the dishes are beautiful. It offers a "Tappas" bar selection of Greek food. I had the scallops and the taste was wonderful. My friend had the shrimp, & he raved about that dish too. We both had the calamari. Not rubbery or lacking in taste. Dessert of nougat was delectable. I'd highly recommend this restaurant. Am going back again tonight!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A dining highlight of our trip!

Dined on August 31, 2015

We had a truly memorable dinner at Ikanos. The food, wine, and service were all excellent, the desserts were amazing, and the decor is lovely (urban chic). We loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Ikanos has such great potential!

Dined on August 21, 2015

We had very high hopes for the beautiful and well-located restaurant. When a restaurant is that expensive, with the most expensive wines (and good ones!), the food better be excellent for every dish. The Greek salad, while a bit over-dressed, was excellent as was the gilled calamari and the scallops. However, we had gravels and blinis and this was not good. The salmon did not taste fresh and the blinis were dry. We had another fish dish with some kind of rolled taco-like thing and that too was very dry and tasteless. This is most unfortunate as this restaurant has great potential. However, we will not return as it's too pricey for another experiment.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great value at lunch

Dined on August 20, 2015

Greek inspired cuisine served in an upscale setting adjacent to Old Montréal. Fixed-price lunch menu is a great value. Professional service and food presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4

Weird menu and way way overpriced

Dined on August 15, 2015

We were surprised to see so many mezzes but very little full courses. The server had to explain to is, and every table, that it is their concept is to bet on the tapas style Menu. Only 1 steak, only 1 fish (they were out of the second one), and a choice of grilled octopus or calmar by the weight. Rest are small portion of overpriced appetizers. Appetizers are meant to be shared ... A small Bol of calmar or two shrimps? We were told the steak and the fish were for 2 people so we're finding the price OK. But 68$ for a steak that would not feed two and 70$ (about I don't rember the exact prices) for a sea bass (I imagined it massive if it was to feed two) was too expensive for a steak full of nerve and a simple small fish. Wine list start at a steep price for, in some cases, average Greek wines. Some genuine attempt at originality in the presentation and good tasty food overall despite a stingy steak. But overpriced small portions and lack of choice. Should go back to more traditional Greek to complement some of those more refined mezzedes.

food4
ambience4
service4

What we expected and more

Dined on July 14, 2015

First time at Ikanos and would definitely go back. First rate food, great staff, nice ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! What a wonderful discovery. We dec ...

Dined on July 3, 2015

Wow! What a wonderful discovery. We decided at the last minute to go out to dinner with another couple on a Friday night. We chose Ikanos based on the recommendation of a colleague. I have had the privilege of eating at most of the best restaurants in Montreal and I have to rank this amongst my top 3 with Maison Boulud and Europea. We had the discovery menu which I highly recommend.

food5
ambience4
service5

A gem among Greek restaurants in MTL !

vip
Dined on May 17, 2015

A great neighbourhood spot! The octopus and shrimp are to die for, and the wine list is truly a gem!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Needs more staff

Dined on May 16, 2015

The service was not great because there was basically one person serving the whole restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food1
ambience1
service1

Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 30, 2015

Went for lunch with a group of colleagues. The service was slow (it took over an hour, which is unacceptable given we are in a downtown business hub). Tthe food tasted good, but the quantity was way too small! I had to grab a sandwich after the meal, as I was still hungry! Lunch menu is not Worth the price. You can get better somewhere else. Service was not what I expected... not very attentive. Will not go back.

food4
ambience4
service5

New best place to eat, very good service ...

Dined on April 25, 2015

New best place to eat, very good service, excellent food!

food1
ambience1
service3

Very mediocre

vip
Dined on April 7, 2015

I didn't hear great things about this restaurant but decided to try it myself. I was very disappointed. The food was tasteless and poorly presented. The service was ok but no more. I had the lamb and although I love lamb, their version of compressed lamb tastes like spam.

food4
ambience4
service5

Belle découverte!!!

Dined on March 13, 2015

Restaurant recommandé par Marie-Claude Lortie et nous sommes très heureux de s'y être arrêtés pour le lunch. Le service était professionnel tout en étant empreint de gentillesse et d'humour. le poisson était cuit à la perfection et l'entrée était toute simple mais absolument savoureuse; le mariage des ingrédients offrait une réelle surprise en bouche. Nous y retournerons le soir afin de goûter à la pieuvre et aux fruits de mer.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent lunch

Dined on February 13, 2015

Went for a business lunch. The see food was delicious. Presentation and cooking were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing Greek Restaurant

vip
Dined on February 7, 2015

Had an early dinner with a friend on a Friday. Good that we booked an early dinner as they got busier as the evening went on. I always rely on the waiter to make recommendations and he did not disappoint us. He recommended small plates to share and I can not say enough about the food. We had fresh oysters to start - they were wonderful; but not to be outdone were the scallops. I can not say enough about that dish. We may have ended up with 5 small plates to share and we left very, very satisfied. I will surely be back to Ikanos the next time am in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Greek find in the heart of the o ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2015

Amazing Greek find in the heart of the old port. The seafood platter is amazing as are the rare Greek wines on their outstanding wine list!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Ikanos - great spot!

Dined on January 17, 2015

After seeing the favourable article by Lesley Chesterman in the Gazette, we decided to try this new spot for my birthday with my girlfriend and 2 friends. We chose the mezze/tapas menu which provides enough choices although portions are small in some cases and a little pricey. Food quality is excellent, fresh ingredients and amazing taste combinations, bravo to the chef. Wine list is extensive with many Greek choices, cheapest is $45 which we chose and was VG. Service was VG although our main waiter could have come more often to top up our wine glasses. Will definitely go back !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

A lot to offer, but service could be better

Dined on January 17, 2015

This is a very attractive restaurant. It is impressive to see the basement level kitchen from the large windows on the street. The restaurant was airy and lively--even on a January night. Tables are comfortable and appropriately spaced. The menu focuses on small plates. The waiter recommended that my wife and I share 6 small plates. There are larger items--especially grilled and fried seafood, but we opted for the mezze plates. According to the waiter, two of the classic dishes are the fried zucchini slices and the three sauce sampler (variations on tzatziki, babaganoush, and taramosalata). We also ordered mackerel, shrimp, duck and black cod. The dishes arrived two at a time. All were delicious, We probably could have had only 5 dishes. The plates are well proportioned for sharing between two people. Portion size for 4 or more would be problematic. The amount of food for the price was quite reasonable overall. I am not a wine expert, but I thought the list did not offer enough options at the low end. There were few red wines under $50. I am generally quite forgiving about service, but at a restaurant of this quality I expected better. After being seated and getting our menus, we had trouble getting the attention of our waiter. We ordered wine, then had trouble finding him to give order. The maitre d graciously took our food order, He made suggestions about the order of the dishes, which was helpful. We were surprised when immediately two delicious looking plates arrived. They were described to us. We explained that we had not ordered them. They were soon delivered to a nearby table. Later in our meal, we were presented with what the waitress described as veal. We told her we had not ordered veal. She scurried away and came back with the same dish a moment later. This time she said it was duck. She described the preparation, and said it was served on marrow. (Thankfully, it was not.) In fact, it was served on an eggplant puree.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food3
ambience4
service4

Delicious !

vip
Dined on January 16, 2015

It was a great meal! Everything was done in the right dosage. Although when we got to the dessert it was delicious but we had to look for it! To expensive for the portion. Overall experience: great! Must go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Belle surprise que ce nouveau resto!

Dined on December 17, 2014

tout était bon à partir de la case départ: les explications du menu (car c'était pour nous la première fois à ce resto), aux suggestions sur les vins (nous connaissons moins les vins grecs), à la qualité des mezzes qui ont été servis jusqu'au service très attentif tout au long de la soirée. C'est un endroit hautement recommandable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2

Tiny portions

vip
Dined on December 15, 2014

Portions are too small. Appetizers are "mise en bouche" portions and main course meal are "appetizer size".

food3
ambience4
service5

I had heard a lot about this place. So m ...

Dined on December 15, 2014

I had heard a lot about this place. So my expectations were high. In that context, I was a bit disappointed. Food was good. Not exceptionnal. But service was excellent! I will go again and give it another try.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Innovative food, great atmosphere

Dined on November 8, 2014

This restaurant has everything you are looking for to have a great meal : Great food, good atmosphere and very friendly and professional staff. All dishes are exceptional and very tasty. The mezze style allows you to share a variety of dishes. The scallops with foie gras is absolutely a must! This is definately not your typical greek restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Seafood lovers

Dined on October 30, 2014

For a seafood and fish lover this was a perfect match. The menu is reflecting well what we are served.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Good old montreal lunch

Dined on October 27, 2014

Fish of the day was good. Nothing special, but good. Appetizers and service was OK.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.