About III Forks Austin

111 Lavaca Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

III Forks is an award-winning steakhouse, located on Lavaca Street at Cesar Chavez, in downtown Austin. Considered the Crown Jewel of American Dining, III Forks serves USDA Prime steaks, fresh fish and cold-water lobster. The steakhouse, finished in mahogany and marble, is designed to accommodate private parties of up to 60 guests. With four private rooms, a piano bar, and over 500 different wines, III Forks is sure to provide the best food and service in town. Open Daily at 5:00 PM.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lavaca and Cesar Chavez

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 474-1776

Website:
http://www.iiiforks.com/

Entertainment:
III Forks has live music every Friday and Saturday night. Friend us on Facebook and Twitter for schedule and events.

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Adrian Corkill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Banquet Manager, Shawn Farmer, may be reached directly at (512) 236-0124. We have private dining rooms available from 6-80 guests. Open menu and prix fixe menu options available! If we can be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chocolate Ganache Cake - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Filet Mignon - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
III Forks Salad - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Tomahawk Steak - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Steak and Lobster Tail - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
USDA Prime Rib Eye Steak - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Ice Cream Sandwich - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Onion Rings - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Wedge Salad - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Bread Pudd - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
French Dip. - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Filet With Garlic-Blue Cheese Crown - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

III Forks steakhouse offers Austin a sophisticated club-like ambiance with an elegant bar and lounge. The inviting foyer greets you with an array of fine wines-over 500 labels-in the spectacular walk-in wine room. The luxurious mahogany trimmed with triple-crown molding and marble surroundings.

III Forks Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Romantic (29)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (7)
Live Music (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Casual (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took my wife here to Celebrate our 22nd ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Took my wife here to Celebrate our 22nd Anniversary. We had been here before a few years ago on and were seated right in front of the fireplace where we could hear the live music with romantic lighting and candles. I did receive a call ahead of time from the hostess asking what type of a table I would like as I had asked for a table in the wine cellar and was told that is not an option. I did ask for their best table. We were seated in a room in the far back right corner of the restaurant, a large open room that looked like it was used for luncheons... all this when I had requested one of there best tables. Needless to say I was disappointed with what they interpreted as one of their best tables.

We both had an appetizer... the Sea Scallops with Bacon Jam were amazing! (highly recommend) Then we had a bowl of the Lobster Bisque which was good but lacked a lot of Lobster for the size bowl that we were served. We both had Filet Mignon which was good but had charing which we requested no charing. We also had sides of Lobster Mac & Cheese and Brussel Sprouts which were good but not of the caliber I would expect from a restaurant of this type and price. Also the service seemed very rushed and the food placed very briskly in front of you. I believe they were understaffed for the evening but this should not be used as an excuse for the abrupt service.

Overall I was disappointed with my experience and will think twice about coming here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is easily the best restaurant we've ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

This is easily the best restaurant we've ever been to; from the moment we entered, I could tell that this would be a special experience, and we weren't disappointed. There were lots of little touches--two servers serving our side dishes simultaneously, another server who went through the room with fresh tomato slices, fresh bread and butter brought to the table just at the right moment, a waiter who checked on us (from a discreet distance) constantly, but without ever coming over and bothering us, and then there was the food--which was perfect.

We'll be back there soon!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early and had a drink at the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

We arrived early and had a drink at the bar. Our Irish waiter then entertained us with a history lesson on different variants of that country's language. Ernest checked on us often to make sure we were enjoying the meal, and gave us a gift card since the fireplace we were seated next to wasn't operational. We're very fond of III Forks and its convenient location next to Moody Theater. We'll be back! :)

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to III Forks. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our second visit to III Forks. The first time we just had appetizer and drinks at the bar. The staff is so professional and friendly we knew we would return on our next trip to Austin. We had delicious steaks this time, with off-menu fried lobster appetizer, so fabulous! An offer to tour the wine room made my day! We will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had made a reservation for a group of fr ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Had made a reservation for a group of friends to go enjoy Kenny Williams perform in the piano lounge - food was amazing, ambience was energetic ... fun place to go. Where we were seated we could hear the great tunes and enjoy our own conversation. Everyone had a great time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

traditional steakhouse with great prime ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

traditional steakhouse with great prime beef, great service and good wine list. wine priced well - food prices warrant a good expense account.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to III Forks numerous times ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We have been to III Forks numerous times, and it's always excellent. Food is excellent, and service is always flawless. This is why we continue to come back, and why we enjoy bringing family and friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great. Service was ambit ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was great. Service was ambitious on getting food out to us, I would recommend to them not to rush the food out so quickly and allow us to enjoy everything that is coming to us.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking for a nice restaurant to c ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was looking for a nice restaurant to celebrate the new year (with my two daughters and boyfriend). We were not disappointed. After watching fireworks in Town Lake we walked across the street to III Forks. Started with the chicken fried lobster appetizer which was delicious! My 13 year old daughter and I split a huge 22 oz ribeye, my daughter had the salmon and my boyfriend had the bone in filet mignon with Kings butter, all were cooked to perfection. We shared sides of mushrooms, sautéed spinach and mashed potatoes. A nice treat was when they presented us with champagne to toast the New Year. Food and service were wonderful! We'll definitely go again to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff and food did not fail for a NY ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The staff and food did not fail for a NYE date night! Great job!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went new year evening. Great time. Our w ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went new year evening. Great time. Our waitress was fantastic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

III Forks never disappoints. The filet ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

III Forks never disappoints. The filet was incredible. On waiter recommendation went with the king's butter topping, which added an additional flavor dimension. All in all a great meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Came for dinner New Year's Eve, before a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came for dinner New Year's Eve, before another show. I liked that they had a regular menu instead of prix fixe. We both ordered steaks which were wonderful, and the side dish of vegetables was huge, and delicious. I had requested a particular booth, and when they could not accommodate the booth, the manager came over, apologized, and offered free drinks. The specialty drinks were wonderful, and a good menu of wines by the glass. Service was exceptional. Music was vibrant, but not overwhelming - a great beginning to the long evening of the New Year!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for New Yea's Eve. The atmosphere a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for New Yea's Eve. The atmosphere and service was excellent. The crab legs appetizer were delicious. Huge, meaty crab legs were tender and moist. All steaks were tender, thick, and cooked to perfection. All the sides were delicious as well. sautéed spinach was fresh and bright and flavorful. Waitstaff was friendly and did an excellent job of staggering the courses and we never felt rushed. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant. The filet was the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent restaurant. The filet was the best we have ever tasted! And cooked to perfection!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I enjoyed every moment. Very ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed every moment. Very friendly reception with delicious food.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the perfect Christmas Eve dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had the perfect Christmas Eve dinner party at III Forks. The service was impeccable and the food was truly outstanding; the best filet minon I've ever had. Our waiter was friendly, witty and very well informed. He took great care of us, with all 12 guests entrees delivered perfectly and together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dinner though we missed the ol ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delicious dinner though we missed the old cream corn recipe. Excellent service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy the food and service at III ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always enjoy the food and service at III Forks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb! Just a great classy place in the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Superb! Just a great classy place in the heart of downtown Austin! The food is great, but the steak is the best!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Will definit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent food and service. Will definitely recommend to our friends. Good location for attending entertainment venues.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To say the service was phenomenal isn't ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 20, 2016

To say the service was phenomenal isn't saying enough. The team at III Forks is on point from greeting the host at walk in to being introduced to your waiter, (ours was Hailey) and being thanked by the manager upon conclusion of an amazing meal. Even the water/bread server was perfect. I drink water like a fish. My husband & I chose to dine at III Forks for our One Year Anniversay. The team went above and beyond to make us feel special. We started with popping a bottle of our favorite bubbly (we both loved the style of the champagne flute) -and a few appetizers. The bone marrow was delectable, moist and had perfect caramelization. The Wagyu cheek = delicious. Before the main were served we were presented with a choice of cutlery. ♥️ We shared the Seabass & Wagyu Tomahawk for our main -the presentation (flaming salt) was super fun and the scent of the steak was magical. The sear and cook was perfect - we found out they have sear technicians and they have been present from day one and it was actually their ten yr anniversary. Bravo! Yum! The desert was fabulous as well. I especially like all the attn to detail -the desert spoons were chosen with a purpose and the waitress explained the French history behind the shape. We loved all the special touches throughout our meal (card, photo of us on our date, saved the cork and wrote the date) -We even recieved a FollowUp phonecall from Alison the following afternoon to thank us again and ensure our meal was perfect. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did not receive one of our side dishe ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We did not receive one of our side dishes. Two of our drink orders were incorrect and the waiter flagged us down outside to discuss the bill that we had already paid.

The room was too bright with loud children sitting close. We were also seated too close to the exit door with noise from the "extra" table for water, tea and such directly behind us. We have had much better experiences there before this one. It was disappointing. Not what we expect for a $1,200. meal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Everything was fantastic here! The servi ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything was fantastic here! The service and food were amazing. My sister and I ate here before we saw The Nutcracker and it was the perfect start to our evening. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

III Forks does not disappoint! Waiter wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

III Forks does not disappoint! Waiter was extraordinary! Helpful when we needed him to be and watchful but never interrupted our evening. Perfect cocktails before dinner. Food exceptional. Lobster bisque, French onion soup and filet minion with Kings Butter. Great wine list. Live music in the bar area. We were close enough to hear it but far enough that it did not overpower conversation. We were not rushed at all. Lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Your staff made our anniversary celebrat ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Your staff made our anniversary celebration in Austin a wonderful experience. Our dinners were well prepared and an excellent wait staff. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall great experience. They made our ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Overall great experience. They made our anniversary dinner very special. We were seated right by the kitchen entrance, which was a little distracting, but the waiter's recommendations and kindness made up for it. On a nice night, it is a beautiful short walk to the Long center to see a show after dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

My group of 8 coworkers really liked III ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 1, 2016

My group of 8 coworkers really liked III Forks. The wine list was excellent, the food cooked exactly to order and everything came out together. And I cannot say enough about the service. Impeccable. I received kudos from my boss on this selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sea Bass was outstanding. Foi Gras was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Sea Bass was outstanding. Foi Gras was disappointing. Steak was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was Thanksgiving and our table of 5 w ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was Thanksgiving and our table of 5 was right next to a table of about 20. It seemed to be an extra room that they used for bigger groups. It was very noisy in there and conversation was difficult. But the meal and service was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good restaurant ambiance excellent ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very good restaurant ambiance excellent food good.

Food drinks and wine expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Fabulous experience. Amazing friendly st ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fabulous experience. Amazing friendly staff! Our party had a reservation and we arrived early. They allowed us to be seated early instead of having to wait. I would absolutely recommend 3 Forks to my friends.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner 2016 was horrible re ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner 2016 was horrible really. The turkey was average, gravy was good, only 3 tablespoons of dressing and it was dry with a unanimous family vote to be the absolute worst dressing every tasted. Mashed potatoes, with the peeling I believe and a random medley of other types of potatoes; sweet and otherwise. Oh yea, and a tablespoon or two of cranberry's. Desserts were ridden-ed with alcohol, I don't drink Makers Mark so I certainly don't want it on my meal. Only 3 dessert choices - 2 with liquor and one with pecans, yuck. Disappointed in III Forks completely!!! I failed the family with this recommendation. So sad, I used to love their pork tenderloin but I hear it is off the menu now. No reason to ever go back now. Service was amazing though A++ easily!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We opted to eat out on Thanksgiving and ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We opted to eat out on Thanksgiving and chose to come here. The food was very good - turkey and all the proper accompaniments or tenderloin. Chelsea, our server, was excellent and we were pleased that she chose to work that meal and that we were seated in her area. A little noisy for Thanksgiving dinner, but overall a very good decision to go to III Forks.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good but many ATL Steakhouse's ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was good but many ATL Steakhouse's that are better, wouldn't go out of my.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My wife took me for my 48th birthday, we ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife took me for my 48th birthday, we took my son who is a UT Junior and his girlfriend who's the Sr.. The experience was fantastic the wait staff acknowledged my birthday & were very cordial, the food was outstanding, we ordered a very good bottle of champagne I asked the waiter to recommend a bottle of wine, I gave the waiter my limit he did not exceed it like fine dining does, it was $20 below but was fantastic what a great birthday, We highly recommend Three Forks Austin!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were welcomed upon arriving and congr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were welcomed upon arriving and congratulated on our anniversary celebration. The waitress was fabulous, and the manager came to the table several times to check on things. We enjoyed our meal and will definitely return next time we're in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

iii Forks is one of my favorite places t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 15, 2016

iii Forks is one of my favorite places to eat, especially for special occasions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An exceptional experience--from hostess ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

An exceptional experience--from hostess to ambiance to wait staff to food.

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.