About III Forks Austin

111 Lavaca Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

III Forks is an award-winning steakhouse, located on Lavaca Street at Cesar Chavez, in downtown Austin. Considered the Crown Jewel of American Dining, III Forks serves USDA Prime steaks, fresh fish and cold-water lobster. The steakhouse, finished in mahogany and marble, is designed to accommodate private parties of up to 60 guests. With four private rooms, a piano bar, and over 500 different wines, III Forks is sure to provide the best food and service in town. Open Daily at 5:00 PM.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lavaca and Cesar Chavez

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 474-1776

Website:
http://www.iiiforks.com/

Entertainment:
III Forks has live music every Friday and Saturday night. Friend us on Facebook and Twitter for schedule and events.

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Adrian Corkill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Banquet Manager, Shawn Farmer, may be reached directly at (512) 236-0124. We have private dining rooms available from 6-80 guests. Open menu and prix fixe menu options available! If we can be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Restaurant Photos

III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Chocolate Ganache Cake - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Filet Mignon - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
III Forks Salad - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Tomahawk Steak - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Steak and Lobster Tail - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
USDA Prime Rib Eye Steak - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Ice Cream Sandwich - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Onion Rings - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Wedge Salad - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Bread Pudd - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
French Dip. - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX
Filet With Garlic-Blue Cheese Crown - III Forks Austin, Austin, TX

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

III Forks steakhouse offers Austin a sophisticated club-like ambiance with an elegant bar and lounge. The inviting foyer greets you with an array of fine wines-over 500 labels-in the spectacular walk-in wine room. The luxurious mahogany trimmed with triple-crown molding and marble surroundings.

III Forks Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Steak
Austin
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Live Music (3)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My group of 8 coworkers really liked III ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

My group of 8 coworkers really liked III Forks. The wine list was excellent, the food cooked exactly to order and everything came out together. And I cannot say enough about the service. Impeccable. I received kudos from my boss on this selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sea Bass was outstanding. Foi Gras was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Sea Bass was outstanding. Foi Gras was disappointing. Steak was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was Thanksgiving and our table of 5 w ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was Thanksgiving and our table of 5 was right next to a table of about 20. It seemed to be an extra room that they used for bigger groups. It was very noisy in there and conversation was difficult. But the meal and service was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good restaurant ambiance excellent ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very good restaurant ambiance excellent food good.

Food drinks and wine expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Fabulous experience. Amazing friendly st ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fabulous experience. Amazing friendly staff! Our party had a reservation and we arrived early. They allowed us to be seated early instead of having to wait. I would absolutely recommend 3 Forks to my friends.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner 2016 was horrible re ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner 2016 was horrible really. The turkey was average, gravy was good, only 3 tablespoons of dressing and it was dry with a unanimous family vote to be the absolute worst dressing every tasted. Mashed potatoes, with the peeling I believe and a random medley of other types of potatoes; sweet and otherwise. Oh yea, and a tablespoon or two of cranberry's. Desserts were ridden-ed with alcohol, I don't drink Makers Mark so I certainly don't want it on my meal. Only 3 dessert choices - 2 with liquor and one with pecans, yuck. Disappointed in III Forks completely!!! I failed the family with this recommendation. So sad, I used to love their pork tenderloin but I hear it is off the menu now. No reason to ever go back now. Service was amazing though A++ easily!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We opted to eat out on Thanksgiving and ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We opted to eat out on Thanksgiving and chose to come here. The food was very good - turkey and all the proper accompaniments or tenderloin. Chelsea, our server, was excellent and we were pleased that she chose to work that meal and that we were seated in her area. A little noisy for Thanksgiving dinner, but overall a very good decision to go to III Forks.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good but many ATL Steakhouse's ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was good but many ATL Steakhouse's that are better, wouldn't go out of my.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My wife took me for my 48th birthday, we ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife took me for my 48th birthday, we took my son who is a UT Junior and his girlfriend who's the Sr.. The experience was fantastic the wait staff acknowledged my birthday & were very cordial, the food was outstanding, we ordered a very good bottle of champagne I asked the waiter to recommend a bottle of wine, I gave the waiter my limit he did not exceed it like fine dining does, it was $20 below but was fantastic what a great birthday, We highly recommend Three Forks Austin!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were welcomed upon arriving and congr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were welcomed upon arriving and congratulated on our anniversary celebration. The waitress was fabulous, and the manager came to the table several times to check on things. We enjoyed our meal and will definitely return next time we're in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

iii Forks is one of my favorite places t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 15, 2016

iii Forks is one of my favorite places to eat, especially for special occasions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An exceptional experience--from hostess ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

An exceptional experience--from hostess to ambiance to wait staff to food.

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bone in Filet were full of gristle and d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Bone in Filet were full of gristle and didn't appear to be a prime cut. You advertise that you only serve the top .05% of beef. We advised the server of the poor quality however didn't receive any feedback or apology. Don't advertise what you can't provide. Our other dishes were excellent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Chef, thanks very much for another Veter ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Chef, thanks very much for another Veterans Day dinner which my wife and I enjoyed with 2 other Veterans and their wives in a semi-private room.

Well done.

Tom &Diane Maher

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful for a business meal! I've had ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Wonderful for a business meal! I've had the pleasure of dining here with a local food critic's foodie group, and for romantic meals. This was my first time hosting a business dinner, and the food, service, and atmosphere impressed my guests. Thank you for a successful start to a great new business relationship which I aimed to establish through dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three Forks was a great choice prior to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Three Forks was a great choice prior to attending a ALC show. Great food and service, our waitperson was excellent. She had a great tableside manner, and conversation. There when needed but not hovering. Had a drink at the bar which was very nice. Noticed a odor there but not to off putting. Must have been something that happened that evening. I will certainly go back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was fantastic.

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food and service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was great! The host and the waitress ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was great! The host and the waitress were just super nice and cordial! It was my date's first time there and she was impressed with the place right off the bat. The steak being great was the clincher! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was amazing! Our waiter p ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The restaurant was amazing! Our waiter provided a special treat for my friends bachelorette party which made our evening even better! I would recommend going while in the Austin area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A business dinner for a special friend i ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

A business dinner for a special friend in my industry was my reason to choose Three Forks.

And we did enjoy outstanding steaks and sides as well as great service. Thanks!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a business dinner here and loved the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Had a business dinner here and loved the service and the food - Excellent steaks, very much enjoyed the whole evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

David our server was great!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

David our server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thomas our waiter was awesome. He made ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Thomas our waiter was awesome. He made great recommendations and the food was beyond excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was introduced to this restaurant two ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was introduced to this restaurant two years ago and experienced the best steak I've tasted in my life. The staff did not disappoint on this trip either. Ordered a different cut of meat and still the most delicious ever! Great staff, menu, atmosphere, and an extensive wine list. This is definitely a must stop place anytime I visit Austin, TX!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to III Forks. Th ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was our first time to III Forks. The service was top notch and the food was outstanding. The two steaks we got were the Flat Iron and the Filet paired with the cream style corn and lobster mac and cheese. The cream style corn was really good and steaks were prepared as expected.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have this as one of our go to restaur ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We have this as one of our go to restaurants in downtown Austin. Every time we've been there whether a large or small dinner party the food, service and hospitality has been better than many others we've tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this fantastic steak/seafood resta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Found this fantastic steak/seafood restaurant in Austin while there for the Grand Prix. Steaks were excellent and there were other good dishes on the menu for those with other tastes. They had a special that was lobster that had been country fried (I don't remember exactly how they described it)--very interesting to try. Overall a place I'd totally go back to on a future visit to Austin.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was on the good side for a st ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was on the good side for a steak house. The steak was good, maybe over seasoned. The sides were very good. They charge a very large price for nothing just something good, not really outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant is awesome! We think it ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This restaurant is awesome! We think it may be some of the best steak we've ever had. There were 6 of us, and well all agreed. My husband and I are amateur lobster bisque aficionados, and we thought we'd had the best at another restaurant, but III Forks wins hands down. The steak was so full of flavor. The staff was super attentive, they fold you napkin for you if you leave the table kind of attentive. I'd recommend III Forks.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

II Forks again provided a memorable meal ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

II Forks again provided a memorable meal. They are now offering dry-aged and wagu beef but my taste buds cannot appreciate these, their regular steaks are just so good. Sides are no longer included with a steak so this is effectively a price increase. New to me this time was the lobster bisque which was as good as any that I've had anywhere.

Highly recommended but pricy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All I got to say is, "WOW!". Came here f ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

All I got to say is, "WOW!". Came here for dinner and when I walked in, I was immediately taken cared of. The atmosphere was gorgeous, very romantic and low-lit. There was live music which made the experience much better. Our waitress was very knowledgeable on the menu and provided us with excellent service. For dinner I got the 12 oz. Flat Iron and it was delicious. The steak was cooked perfect and the peppercorn sauce was tasty with a bit of a spicy taste. The general manager came by twice to see how we were doing as well. For dessert my girlfriend and I got the 6-Layer Chocolate Cake and Blueberry Cheesecake. Overall, I was very pleased with my visit and must say this is one of the best places I have been to. I will definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were discriminated against! We will n ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were discriminated against! We will never return to this restaurant. When will business like this respect our dollar and the color of our skin!? Highly disappointed, shame on you lll Forks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

They truly take care of you , and explai ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

They truly take care of you , and explain the menu options. We had a great time celebrating our anniversary here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for our wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We were there for our wedding anniversary. They made us feel special and took great care of us!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. We found another ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food and service. We found another favorite steakhouse!!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding. Ask for Kelsey ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Absolutely outstanding. Ask for Kelsey (though I'm sure all the wait staff are good). My wife took me here (we have dined here in the past, hence the choice) for my 76th birthday. I know steaks. I know how to buy them and how to grill them. Trust me, the USDA Prime at 111 Forks is much higher quality than you will get at the supermarket. Steaks were tender, juicy, and cooked to perfection--and full of great beefy flavor. I started with half dozen oysters on the half-shell (only $18). Perfectly fresh and wonderful. Chocolate cake for dessert. Not gummy and oversweet like many. Again, perfect. Two bottles of great wine at fair prices. Superb service. The place is clubby, like an English gentlemen's club. Quiet, soft lighting, dark wood, leather, etc. One of the best evenings out, ever. I still think about that steak. Wow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The foods is perfect! Close by the Mood ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The foods is perfect! Close by the Moody Theater. Service, food and atmosphere are all primo.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

III Forks does it again! It had been a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 16, 2016

III Forks does it again! It had been a few years since I ate here. And now I remember why I love it. The food is impeccable. My filet mignon was cooked perfectly. The martinis were done with just enough "dirty" and the blue cheese olives were a perfect match. Lastly, the service was flawless. Our server, Sherry Lovedahl, was fun and energetic and made the evening a real treat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well the "included" creamed corn and pot ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Well the "included" creamed corn and potatoes are now "ala carte". The tomatoes used to be outstanding thick "Beefsteak" and now are thin "orange HEB on sale". The filets were covered in so much pepper, that they ruined both of ours. Don't even try the roasted mushrooms as I think they are 50% hot peppers, instead of button types. We only go on special occasions, but this place has really gone downhill since the last time we were here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Thank you! We celebrated a birthday and ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Thank you! We celebrated a birthday and enjoyed the food and wine! I would defitanly recommend three forks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.