About III Forks Austin

111 Lavaca Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

III Forks is an award-winning steakhouse, located on Lavaca Street at Cesar Chavez, in downtown Austin. Considered the Crown Jewel of American Dining, III Forks serves USDA Prime steaks, fresh fish and cold-water lobster. The steakhouse, finished in mahogany and marble, is designed to accommodate private parties of up to 60 guests. With four private rooms, a piano bar, and over 500 different wines, III Forks is sure to provide the best food and service in town. Open Daily at 5:00 PM.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lavaca and Cesar Chavez

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 474-1776

Website:
http://www.iiiforks.com/

Entertainment:
III Forks has live music every Friday and Saturday night. Friend us on Facebook and Twitter for schedule and events.

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Adrian Corkill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Banquet Manager, Shawn Farmer, may be reached directly at (512) 236-0124. We have private dining rooms available from 6-80 guests. Open menu and prix fixe menu options available! If we can be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Restaurant Photos

III Forks Austin
Chocolate Ganache Cake - III Forks Austin
Filet Mignon - III Forks Austin
III Forks Salad - III Forks Austin
Tomahawk Steak - III Forks Austin
Steak and Lobster Tail - III Forks Austin
USDA Prime Rib Eye Steak - III Forks Austin
Ice Cream Sandwich - III Forks Austin
Onion Rings - III Forks Austin
Wedge Salad - III Forks Austin
Bread Pudd - III Forks Austin
French Dip. - III Forks Austin
Filet With Garlic-Blue Cheese Crown - III Forks Austin

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

III Forks steakhouse offers Austin a sophisticated club-like ambiance with an elegant bar and lounge. The inviting foyer greets you with an array of fine wines-over 500 labels-in the spectacular walk-in wine room. The luxurious mahogany trimmed with triple-crown molding and marble surroundings.

III Forks Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Steak
Austin
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (59)
Romantic (45)
Notable Wine List (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Groups (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've eaten at all the Austin steakhouses ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I've eaten at all the Austin steakhouses and III Forks is the best. Way better than Vince Young, Bob's, or Sullivan's. The quality of the steaks is always great (they have both prime and non-prime cuts -- you won't be disappointed either way). I got the large filet and it was buttery in terms of tenderness. Cooked perfectly.

I was disappointed that III Forks changed their plating and don't include the creme corn or sugar snaps as they used to in the past (everything is now a "À la carte"). Still a good value given the steaks are the best in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good filet mignon, outstanding si ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Really good filet mignon, outstanding sides (creamed corn & 6-cheese potatoes), wonderful bread, excellent cocktails (New Fashioned & Modern Millionaire). Excellent service, couldn't ask for more.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Until last time I was a regular at III F ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Until last time I was a regular at III Forks.

The food and service was excellent and I really appreciated that the steak used to come with some sides (corn chowder and probably potatoes if I recall correctly). This time everything was a la carte following the trend of other steakhouses in Austin. Unfortunately, those little details are what made III Forks different from some chain restaurants like Ruth Chris or Flemmings.

Additionally, in the past the service was excellent and the waiters/waitresses made you feel at home. Unfortunately, this time the waiter had an attitude (kind of snob) which is very similar to the attitude that you get from your chain restaurant competitors.

I understand that the market is changing in Austin. And that there are lots of newcomers that like a snobby attitude and feel like they have to pay even for a smile in order to feel important. But there are also lots of people which appreciate the real Texas hospitality that III Forks used to have.

I won't be coming again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

Absolutely sublime, this was the best bo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Absolutely sublime, this was the best bone in filet I may have ever had! Excellent service, the deserts were handcrafted and amazing and service was fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful! The bone in filet was delish ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful! The bone in filet was delish...nothing wasn't great Server was knowledgeable friendly and attentive

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing super special with this restaura ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Nothing super special with this restaurant definitely had better. The food was okay. Not good or great but okay. Wait staff wasn't much special. Steak was way under done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We dined at the bar. The food and servi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We dined at the bar. The food and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing meal! Best food and service in ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing meal! Best food and service in Austin. Price was high but well worth it for fine dining. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was way too dark. Food wasn't all that g ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Was way too dark. Food wasn't all that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

celebrated our 24th anniversary. great f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

celebrated our 24th anniversary. great food ,great staff, great atmosphere. give them a 5 star.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and beautiful, an ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was delicious and beautiful, and this was one of the best service experiences I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is wonderful and the service is ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is wonderful and the service is always amazing. The best steaks and Chilean sea bass I've had in Texas. The desserts are ridiculous, too. It's always a good time.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Mick, was fabulous and cater ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our server, Mick, was fabulous and catered to my father's every whim. I would come back here just for his service, since he recommended tasty adult beverages, asked the kitchen for special preparations of menu items, and made us all laugh. But I should mention the other great things about the restaurant, so here goes. The food was amazing! We had the foie gras - to die for! And the French onion soup - SUPERB! The bread was so good we almost didn't have room for our main courses which were the bone-in ribeye and lamb. AMAZING! And we rounded it off with the GM's recommendation bread pudding for us all to share- delish!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was good. Disappointed Baked Pot ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Steak was good. Disappointed Baked Potato is not an option. Tried the Lobster Mac&Cheese and was very disappointed; it was very bland and the Lobster was overcooked

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed. We were seated in the bar ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disappointed. We were seated in the bar and it was pretty loud that night. Could hardly hear the live music. Had to ask for a black napkin. Were never given the specials. Had to continually flag down the tomato/onion guy even though we expressed that it was our favorite. And when did you go a la carte? We used to feel like we got a little more value with the sides. Overall, they have too much competition for service like this. Hardly saw the waiter.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

In a city with lots of excellent steak c ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

In a city with lots of excellent steak choices iii Forks served the best steak I have ever had in my life. Pricey but worth every penny. Attentive and knowledgeable wait staff with just the right touch. Went for our wedding anniversary and it was the perfect choice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very low light, could barely read the me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very low light, could barely read the menu. Good food but meal didn't seem worth $200+. Worst lobster mac & cheese I've ever had. Capital Grille has better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Our business associates from the Domicia ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our business associates from the Domician Republic requested a steak dinner.

The 111 Forks is the place. Then rated it 5 Star.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place to eat in Austin. Do ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our favorite place to eat in Austin. Do miss the snap peas, but still has the great cream corn👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't speak highly enough of all the tim ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Can't speak highly enough of all the times lll Forks has always been exemplary when we have dined there. We celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary and they made it extra special this year for both of us. Thank you again for your excellence in all areas!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family dinner to celebrate 3 birthdays. ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Family dinner to celebrate 3 birthdays. This is our go to place for special occasions. Started with superb onion rings and mussels. Steaks were perfect as was the salmon and one son loved the pork chop. Great service from Marie and her helpers and we appreciated the manager stopping by along with the free dessert. Good downtown location and well worth a visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish our waiter had given us more info o ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wish our waiter had given us more info on the menu. Was our first visit to this type establishment. Had we had more info, we would have ordered differently, saved a few dollars and still had a good time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server was Mick and he was an absolu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server was Mick and he was an absolute delight. I especially loved how multiple people came to help serve the family-style sides to all 6 of u at the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had very good steaks at 111 Forks ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have had very good steaks at 111 Forks both in Austin and Dallas and always get the Strip. It's the steak I prefer. This past time I would grade the steak fair at best, really disappointing in flavor and even lower in doneness. Honestly the steak was disappointing. I like my steaks pink with some juice. This one was very rare, red center. The service was excellent and I tipped in excess of 20%. Also, we were once again placed in the last booth with causing one of us to stare at a blank wall, not the ambiance expected at restaurant at this level. I do not send steaks back once they have been cut into for two reasons. One is the flavor goes down and two it causes the other person to either wait or to start eating alone, not good. I never complain but this is your second request for a review so I decided to share my thoughts. Had I not had very positive experiences in past visits I would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Awesome as usual :) These people take ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Awesome as usual :) These people take very good care of me and my friends :)

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great quiet resturant to celebrate any o ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great quiet resturant to celebrate any occasion. Excellent dining with great food selection

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service, atmosphere, e ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding food, service, atmosphere, etc. VERY reasonable for the quality of food, service AND attention you are given. Whether you are entertaining your most important client or the love of your life, this place shows is all ways how much you value that person/company, etc. This is not your noisy high dollar place, but a place that makes you and yours feel especially attended. In short: go there!

And, get to know Earnest, the manager. He made us feel valued and was interested in us (it was our anniversary) and we knew it was not just the cursory visit. He came back more than once. This man is SUPER. We have never experienced that level of true interest in our evening. KUDOS to Earnest!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was very good, a little over seaso ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Steak was very good, a little over seasoned for my taste

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This dinner was for a special birthday. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This dinner was for a special birthday. I told them that when I made the reservation. NO ONE, not the 3 hostesses, the waiters, a manager, NO ONE acknowledged that. I had to tell the waitress there was a birthday so we could get our complimentary dessert. I guess they either don't do that anymore, or didn't care. Will go back for the food, but not for a special occasion. !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great. Our elderly guest ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was great. Our elderly guest would have preferred not to be so close to the piano because it was fairly loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely personalized experience. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a lovely personalized experience. We were celebrating a birthday and when we were seated a birthday card was waiting on the table. The service was impeccable and all staff members were extremely friendly and polite. The quality of food was exceptional and their wine list goes on for days. We have deemed this restaurant as our go to special occasion spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to III Forks to celebrate 2 birt ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We went to III Forks to celebrate 2 birthdays in our family - my 20 year old and my 14 year old sons. Our 18 year old is gluten intolerant and although he was slightly embarrassed, I was pleased at the special attention he got. The manager came to take his order and advised what sides would be OK for him to try and what to avoid.

The birthday boys received special attention too. There were birthday cards on the table for the boys when we arrived and they were treated to free dessert.

Our waiter was highly knowledgeable about the menu and wine selections. He encouraged us to order a bottle of "white pinot noir" which I had never hear of. It was delicious and paired very well with the steak which was my hesitation.

III Forks met my every expectation for a wonderful birthday celebration and then some. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining was excellent, but the bar left a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Dining was excellent, but the bar left a little to be desired due to some snarky comments from the bartender. Our waiter at the dinner table could not have been better(friendly, knowledgeable and very accommodating).

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Truly the best steak I've ever had, hand ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Truly the best steak I've ever had, hands down!!! Thank you Ernest and David for the memorable experience. We will see you again soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow this place was absolutely amazing. I ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wow this place was absolutely amazing. I will defiantly be back. My boyfriend enjoyed his birthday dinner and cake! Thank you for the amazing date night!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Service was awesome.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was amazing. Service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was incredible! Fr ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The entire experience was incredible! From the moment we walked in until it was time to leave, we were treated in a way not common to anywhere else in town. Great food, great service and worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shane our waiter was terrific. He highly ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Shane our waiter was terrific. He highly recommended the seared scallops and they were fantastic. We also followed his recommendation on splitting the 18 oz NY Strip and it too was great, cooked to perfection. The chocolate mousse was a wonderful way to finish the meal.

Dave, the somelier, recommended a delightful chardonnay that was perfect for a couple of wine rookies.

In sum, the meal and the evening was one of the best we've had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really enjoy III Forks. I have been on ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I really enjoy III Forks. I have been on many occasions and plan to continue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.