About III Forks Austin

111 Lavaca Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

III Forks is an award-winning steakhouse, located on Lavaca Street at Cesar Chavez, in downtown Austin. Considered the Crown Jewel of American Dining, III Forks serves USDA Prime steaks, fresh fish and cold-water lobster. The steakhouse, finished in mahogany and marble, is designed to accommodate private parties of up to 60 guests. With four private rooms, a piano bar, and over 500 different wines, III Forks is sure to provide the best food and service in town. Open Daily at 5:00 PM.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lavaca and Cesar Chavez

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 474-1776

Website:
http://www.iiiforks.com/

Entertainment:
III Forks has live music every Friday and Saturday night. Friend us on Facebook and Twitter for schedule and events.

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Adrian Corkill

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Banquet Manager, Shawn Farmer, may be reached directly at (512) 236-0124. We have private dining rooms available from 6-80 guests. Open menu and prix fixe menu options available! If we can be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Ganache Cake
Filet Mignon
III Forks Salad
Tomahawk Steak
Steak and Lobster Tail
USDA Prime Rib Eye Steak
Ice Cream Sandwich
Onion Rings
Wedge Salad
Bread Pudd
French Dip.
Filet With Garlic-Blue Cheese Crown

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

III Forks steakhouse offers Austin a sophisticated club-like ambiance with an elegant bar and lounge. The inviting foyer greets you with an array of fine wines-over 500 labels-in the spectacular walk-in wine room. The luxurious mahogany trimmed with triple-crown molding and marble surroundings.

III Forks Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Steak
Austin
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (77)
romantic (57)
notable wine list (35)
See All
fit for foodies (34)
good for groups (19)
vibrant bar scene (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great the Waiter gave us app ...

Dined 4 days ago

Service was great the Waiter gave us appeal time to decide and for the table to have conversations. The entertainment was wonderful and kept at an audible level.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4

Just a strange experience. Salad and ste ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Just a strange experience. Salad and steak had to be sent back because they were not prepared properly. If you usually go to the Dallas location DO NOT expect the same experience... Dallas is way better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time here. Great food. Menu seemed s ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

2nd time here. Great food. Menu seemed smaller possibly because of holiday.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a return visit to III Forks, Au ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was a return visit to III Forks, Austin. As with prior dinners, the quality and attentiveness of staff was commendable. Combine that with excellent food quality and it became a positive dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superior service. Food was outstanding w ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Superior service. Food was outstanding with exception of first small filet. Over cooked but they corrected that on the spot. Second filet was super. Would not suggest getting the small filet (6 oz). But the entire dinner was superb other than the one hiccup. Rest of the evening was very nice. I give kudos to any establishment that makes things right. III Forks was superb.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. High quality and cooked e ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing food. High quality and cooked expertly. Service was amazing, especially Kelsey, who is one of the most amazing servers I have ever had the privilege of meeting. The entire staff clearly takes pride in what they do, and we had a fantastic experience as a result.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was excellent. The best Ribeye.

Dined on June 7, 2016

We ordered the bone in Ribeye and the 42 day aged steaks and they were awesome. The chicken fried lobster was excellent. Great wine list and service was good. It was a little warm in the restaurant but overall experience was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food and great service

Dined on June 6, 2016

The steaks were -perfect-. Mine came with a small lobster tail and mushrooms. The combination was so good, it made me dizzy. The service team got everything right. The only blemish was that very shortly after we arrived the table next to us was seated. A man there spoke loudly and often using coarse language. It would have been nice to space them further away given the sparse population of the dining rooms at that time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Low light, rich woods and leather, tactf ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Low light, rich woods and leather, tactful decor. We had the hamachi appetizer with crispy shallots and cold bar lobster tail dressed with lemon. Salads - I had the wedge, a bit heavy on Bleu cheese but sumptuous, and my daughter enjoyed the light, tart Caesar. Then we split an excellent Chilean Sea Bass simply seared, and paired it with wilted spinach. A server came around with a tray of sliced beefsteak tomatoes and green onions offered as side additions. Perfect amount of food. The staff were patient and helpful as I selected wine - I tried 4 before deciding and getting a bottle. We will definitely go back. Our excellent waiter was Irish and everyone was wonderful. The GM came by and introduced himself during our experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service in a quiet, upscale enviro ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great service in a quiet, upscale environment. Severs are available whenever you need them, but you shouldn't need to call them because they are very proactive with their service. The food is of great quality and everything we ate was tasty and cooked wonderfully. With this comes the price, but definitely worth it for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very niced steakhouse

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

I was looking for a last minute reservation and got in, no problem. III Forks is a very nice, traditional steakhouse. We had a very good dinner, the steaks were perfect, and the selections all hit the spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Really had been wanting to go. Great app ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Really had been wanting to go. Great apps and salad. Bread was extremely good. My steak was over cooked by a lot. Thomas our waiter offered to relight another one, but I chose to have another glass of wine on him. He saved our meal with his great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner. Quiet ambiance for visi ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Fabulous dinner. Quiet ambiance for visiting and enjoying dinner without being rushed. Fabulous attention from wait staff

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife and two grown children an ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I took my wife and two grown children and their partners to celebrate my wife 60 birthday. Food was wonderful and all had a satisfying meal. I liked the cozy feeling Three Forks offered and will happily return.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3

Nice place and have celebrated various o ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Nice place and have celebrated various occasions here many times. The last couple of times and especially last Friday night, the combo band they have playing is just way too loud. Even dining away from the bar. It would be nice if it was just background ambiance music. We came for dinner not to hear the jazz band

food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our first anniversary here ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated our first anniversary here and were back Sunday night to celebrate No 4. This restaurant is truly one of the best restaurants I have ever been. Everything was absolutely delicious, gorgeous atmosphere and wonderful service. I wish we lived closer so we could come more often. Thank you once again for a giving us more fond memories to add to our Memory Bank, III Forks!

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

sad disappointment

Dined on May 15, 2016

have been here many times for special occasions for guys night out. went for our anniversary - and really disappointed. ordered all the specials as a splurge and was consistently disappointed - overcooked and overpriced lobster tail a blackened red snapper that was basically overcooked and tough, with some beautiful shrimp that were also tough and chewy. dessert was an overpriced poached pear we love to treat ourselves to nice meals, i never usually take the time to write a review, but this meal literally made my wife and i want to take a break from any high end restaurants for a while - just not worth the money and nothing particularly interesting or exciting about our meal

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had overnight guests visiting. We de ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had overnight guests visiting. We decided to try 111Forks for the evening meal. The restaurant allowed us to split two entrees as none of us were very hungry. We split the Rack of Lamb and the large Wagyu Beef between the two couples. We loved the meal and the sides. Then we were surprised by the after-dinner drink of Coconut Milk and something. The manager and the waiter were wonderful. We had friends and acquaintances in common. We had a LOVELY evening and dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New favorite date place

Dined on May 8, 2016

Best service ever. Fabulous salad and bread. Very nice steak and perfect baked potato. A Texan's dream come true.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dinner is always outstanding and the service impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great, food was amazing. Gre ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was great, food was amazing. Great date night spot!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Food was Crave Worthy!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was amazing - from the pretzel bread, soup, salad and filets! The back room where we were seated felt like a banquet room instead of a dining room so I would def ask to be moved if seated there again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great customer service, wonderful food ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great customer service, wonderful food .

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My favorite steakhouse in Austin!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Best steaks in Austin! Very pricey, but excellent service and delicious food. Fun cocktails and great wine list, too. Highly recommend the King's Butter on any steak.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for girlfriends birthday

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great ambiance for a romantic birthday dinner. Love that it's kept dark so the mood feels intimate. Awesome friendly wait staff that's knowledgable of the foods and its preparation. Management was also friendly and quietly attentive. Love the surprise free cake of my girlfriends choice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak with fun appetizers

Dined on April 27, 2016

We started with the unusual chicken fried lobster in a mildly spicy tomato sauce that was scrumptious and totally surprising to me. The lobster meat came through so nicely, not at all overwhelmed by the batter. Then the hamachi crudo melted in my mouth. For my main course I opted for the bone in filet. One of the best prepared and tender cuts of meat I have eaten. ... The setting is one of the least pretentious of the Austin steak houses and I am eager to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very special place - great steaks

Dined on April 26, 2016

Although some of the specialty steaks are very expensive, the rest of the menu items aren't unreasonable. The food was amazing and the service impeccable. We felt really spoilt and taken care of. Great place for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great we had bone in filet mignon and fi ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great we had bone in filet mignon and fish of the day

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Good but overpriced

Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was excellent, it is a good place to celebrate a special occasion, since they actually will treat you accordingly (and even to a free dessert in our case!). It is expensive and perhaps not really worth it, although the salad with fruit and blue cheese, my aged steak and the toffee pudding where amazing. My friend ordered another piece of meat that was overcooked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

For Special Night

Dined on April 16, 2016

A superb steakhouse. Expensive but if you can afford, a great experience. Went early on Saturday night and glad we did, as it filled up quickly. House salad was great setup for a great steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful food, great knowledgable servi ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful food, great knowledgable service

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, food. Our server was great.

Dined on April 7, 2016

My associate and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening at III Forks. Thomas, our server, was excellent. He was attentive and engaging. The food was excellent. Steaks were perfectly prepared, and served in a timely manner. I do think that the meal should include at least one vegetable or salad. Everything is a la carte. Overall, a wonderful experience. I'm from Dallas and have eaten at the Dallas restaurant many times so knew that that this would be a great experience. I loved the atmosphere at the Austin III Forks. Was more intimate which allowed for great conversation. Also, liked the valet parking set-up on my phone which allowed me to text for my car before leaving the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They really take care of you.

Dined on April 2, 2016

We felt very cared for the entire time we spent at III Forks and will certainly return for our next special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food is always the best. It can be pricey, but the quality and service show. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful as expected

Dined on April 2, 2016

Exceptional dining experience the manager was extremely polite and just a wonderful overall evening. The hostess was very helpful with directions as well

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Group Experience!

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Our large group had a great time at III Forks Austin. There were more of us than expected, and even during the busy SxSW week they made room for us. Our fantastic Irish waiter walked us carefully through the menu and steered us to the most incredible dishes. The service was timely and unobtrusive. The food was fantastic--filet with King's butter!--and the wine was delicious. A great meal all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

All good but........

Dined on March 6, 2016

We loved the food and the restaurant itself but we were seated very poorly. We were there to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and even though I scheduled 1 month in advance, we got a terrible table. We were given a 4 person table for two people which would typically be fine because elbow room is great BUT, this table is very wide and you must lean in to hear the person across from you. I could not move next to my wife because the table was against a wall and there was a walkway behind the empty seat next to her. Next time that will not happen.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience!

Dined on February 27, 2016

I planned a surprise dinner for my fiance for his birthday and we decided to try here. Making a reservation through OpenTable was EASY! Editing it was even easier. I also liked that I could add a note to my reservation. When III Forks called to confirm, they also confirmed about my notes in the reservation. They did a fantastic job. Our waiter was friendly, courteous, funny, and good at what he does. He took his time with our group seeing as my fiance was seeing people he hadn't seen in a while and we were busy chatting a little too much at the beginning. He never seemed to mind and took care of us with ease. The food was incredible, I loved the live music and atmosphere! I can't wait for another special occasion to plan a dinner here!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!

Dined on February 24, 2016

Great food (bone in ribeye was stellar!); sat at a booth which I wouldn't recommend-/made the service less desirable (lots of reaching over us). Overall delicious and great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of a kind!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent dining experience! Wagyu steak was outstanding, as it should be. However, the star of the show, "LAMB MEATBALLS", to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.