About III Forks Austin

111 Lavaca Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

III Forks is an award-winning steakhouse, located on Lavaca Street at Cesar Chavez, in downtown Austin. Considered the Crown Jewel of American Dining, III Forks serves USDA Prime steaks, fresh fish and cold-water lobster. The steakhouse, finished in mahogany and marble, is designed to accommodate private parties of up to 60 guests. With four private rooms, a piano bar, and over 500 different wines, III Forks is sure to provide the best food and service in town. Open Daily at 5:00 PM.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lavaca and Cesar Chavez

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 474-1776

Website:
http://www.iiiforks.com/

Entertainment:
III Forks has live music every Friday and Saturday night. Friend us on Facebook and Twitter for schedule and events.

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Adrian Corkill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Banquet Manager, Shawn Farmer, may be reached directly at (512) 236-0124. We have private dining rooms available from 6-80 guests. Open menu and prix fixe menu options available! If we can be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Ganache Cake
Filet Mignon
III Forks Salad
Tomahawk Steak
Steak and Lobster Tail
USDA Prime Rib Eye Steak
Ice Cream Sandwich
Onion Rings
Wedge Salad
Bread Pudd
French Dip.
Filet With Garlic-Blue Cheese Crown

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

III Forks steakhouse offers Austin a sophisticated club-like ambiance with an elegant bar and lounge. The inviting foyer greets you with an array of fine wines-over 500 labels-in the spectacular walk-in wine room. The luxurious mahogany trimmed with triple-crown molding and marble surroundings.

III Forks Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Austin
Best Food
Austin
Best Service
Austin
9 More
Best Ambiance
Austin
Steak
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Overall
Austin
Best Food
Austin
Best Service
Austin
Best Ambiance
Austin
Steak
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (76)
Romantic (59)
Notable Wine List (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Groups (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

celebrated our 24th anniversary. great f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 3 days ago

celebrated our 24th anniversary. great food ,great staff, great atmosphere. give them a 5 star.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and beautiful, an ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious and beautiful, and this was one of the best service experiences I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is wonderful and the service is ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food is wonderful and the service is always amazing. The best steaks and Chilean sea bass I've had in Texas. The desserts are ridiculous, too. It's always a good time.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Mick, was fabulous and cater ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server, Mick, was fabulous and catered to my father's every whim. I would come back here just for his service, since he recommended tasty adult beverages, asked the kitchen for special preparations of menu items, and made us all laugh. But I should mention the other great things about the restaurant, so here goes. The food was amazing! We had the foie gras - to die for! And the French onion soup - SUPERB! The bread was so good we almost didn't have room for our main courses which were the bone-in ribeye and lamb. AMAZING! And we rounded it off with the GM's recommendation bread pudding for us all to share- delish!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was good. Disappointed Baked Pot ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Steak was good. Disappointed Baked Potato is not an option. Tried the Lobster Mac&Cheese and was very disappointed; it was very bland and the Lobster was overcooked

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed. We were seated in the bar ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disappointed. We were seated in the bar and it was pretty loud that night. Could hardly hear the live music. Had to ask for a black napkin. Were never given the specials. Had to continually flag down the tomato/onion guy even though we expressed that it was our favorite. And when did you go a la carte? We used to feel like we got a little more value with the sides. Overall, they have too much competition for service like this. Hardly saw the waiter.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

In a city with lots of excellent steak c ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

In a city with lots of excellent steak choices iii Forks served the best steak I have ever had in my life. Pricey but worth every penny. Attentive and knowledgeable wait staff with just the right touch. Went for our wedding anniversary and it was the perfect choice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very low light, could barely read the me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very low light, could barely read the menu. Good food but meal didn't seem worth $200+. Worst lobster mac & cheese I've ever had. Capital Grille has better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Our business associates from the Domicia ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our business associates from the Domician Republic requested a steak dinner.

The 111 Forks is the place. Then rated it 5 Star.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place to eat in Austin. Do ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our favorite place to eat in Austin. Do miss the snap peas, but still has the great cream corn👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't speak highly enough of all the tim ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Can't speak highly enough of all the times lll Forks has always been exemplary when we have dined there. We celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary and they made it extra special this year for both of us. Thank you again for your excellence in all areas!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family dinner to celebrate 3 birthdays. ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Family dinner to celebrate 3 birthdays. This is our go to place for special occasions. Started with superb onion rings and mussels. Steaks were perfect as was the salmon and one son loved the pork chop. Great service from Marie and her helpers and we appreciated the manager stopping by along with the free dessert. Good downtown location and well worth a visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wish our waiter had given us more info o ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wish our waiter had given us more info on the menu. Was our first visit to this type establishment. Had we had more info, we would have ordered differently, saved a few dollars and still had a good time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server was Mick and he was an absolu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server was Mick and he was an absolute delight. I especially loved how multiple people came to help serve the family-style sides to all 6 of u at the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had very good steaks at 111 Forks ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have had very good steaks at 111 Forks both in Austin and Dallas and always get the Strip. It's the steak I prefer. This past time I would grade the steak fair at best, really disappointing in flavor and even lower in doneness. Honestly the steak was disappointing. I like my steaks pink with some juice. This one was very rare, red center. The service was excellent and I tipped in excess of 20%. Also, we were once again placed in the last booth with causing one of us to stare at a blank wall, not the ambiance expected at restaurant at this level. I do not send steaks back once they have been cut into for two reasons. One is the flavor goes down and two it causes the other person to either wait or to start eating alone, not good. I never complain but this is your second request for a review so I decided to share my thoughts. Had I not had very positive experiences in past visits I would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Awesome as usual :) These people take ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Awesome as usual :) These people take very good care of me and my friends :)

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great quiet resturant to celebrate any o ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great quiet resturant to celebrate any occasion. Excellent dining with great food selection

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service, atmosphere, e ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding food, service, atmosphere, etc. VERY reasonable for the quality of food, service AND attention you are given. Whether you are entertaining your most important client or the love of your life, this place shows is all ways how much you value that person/company, etc. This is not your noisy high dollar place, but a place that makes you and yours feel especially attended. In short: go there!

And, get to know Earnest, the manager. He made us feel valued and was interested in us (it was our anniversary) and we knew it was not just the cursory visit. He came back more than once. This man is SUPER. We have never experienced that level of true interest in our evening. KUDOS to Earnest!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was very good, a little over seaso ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Steak was very good, a little over seasoned for my taste

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This dinner was for a special birthday. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This dinner was for a special birthday. I told them that when I made the reservation. NO ONE, not the 3 hostesses, the waiters, a manager, NO ONE acknowledged that. I had to tell the waitress there was a birthday so we could get our complimentary dessert. I guess they either don't do that anymore, or didn't care. Will go back for the food, but not for a special occasion. !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great. Our elderly guest ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was great. Our elderly guest would have preferred not to be so close to the piano because it was fairly loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely personalized experience. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a lovely personalized experience. We were celebrating a birthday and when we were seated a birthday card was waiting on the table. The service was impeccable and all staff members were extremely friendly and polite. The quality of food was exceptional and their wine list goes on for days. We have deemed this restaurant as our go to special occasion spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to III Forks to celebrate 2 birt ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We went to III Forks to celebrate 2 birthdays in our family - my 20 year old and my 14 year old sons. Our 18 year old is gluten intolerant and although he was slightly embarrassed, I was pleased at the special attention he got. The manager came to take his order and advised what sides would be OK for him to try and what to avoid.

The birthday boys received special attention too. There were birthday cards on the table for the boys when we arrived and they were treated to free dessert.

Our waiter was highly knowledgeable about the menu and wine selections. He encouraged us to order a bottle of "white pinot noir" which I had never hear of. It was delicious and paired very well with the steak which was my hesitation.

III Forks met my every expectation for a wonderful birthday celebration and then some. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining was excellent, but the bar left a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Dining was excellent, but the bar left a little to be desired due to some snarky comments from the bartender. Our waiter at the dinner table could not have been better(friendly, knowledgeable and very accommodating).

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Truly the best steak I've ever had, hand ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Truly the best steak I've ever had, hands down!!! Thank you Ernest and David for the memorable experience. We will see you again soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow this place was absolutely amazing. I ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wow this place was absolutely amazing. I will defiantly be back. My boyfriend enjoyed his birthday dinner and cake! Thank you for the amazing date night!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Service was awesome.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was amazing. Service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was incredible! Fr ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The entire experience was incredible! From the moment we walked in until it was time to leave, we were treated in a way not common to anywhere else in town. Great food, great service and worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shane our waiter was terrific. He highly ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Shane our waiter was terrific. He highly recommended the seared scallops and they were fantastic. We also followed his recommendation on splitting the 18 oz NY Strip and it too was great, cooked to perfection. The chocolate mousse was a wonderful way to finish the meal.

Dave, the somelier, recommended a delightful chardonnay that was perfect for a couple of wine rookies.

In sum, the meal and the evening was one of the best we've had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really enjoy III Forks. I have been on ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I really enjoy III Forks. I have been on many occasions and plan to continue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks, steak,crabcakes..everything was ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Drinks, steak,crabcakes..everything was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food! The rack of lamb puts th ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fantastic food! The rack of lamb puts their steak to shame and the steak is nothing to be taken lightly itself.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful wonderful service.. so wonderf ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful wonderful service.. so wonderful I am going back again the night after this review's writing !:)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Extremely disappointed. I was expecting ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Extremely disappointed. I was expecting the same quality experience as 3 forks in Dallas. Will never go back to Austin location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Our entire dinning experience was wonder ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our entire dinning experience was wonderful, from the company, to the dishes we selected. The atmosphere had a great vibe! The restaurant was busy and seating was relatively close to other guests, yet we were able to have intimate conversations (be sure to make reservations)!!! The food was fantastic, our selections - Chilean sea bass, rack of lamb and 2 8oz filet mignon with crowns...our side dishes were shared as the were quite large. We had an appetizer of chicken fried lobster bites.

A most memorable experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant had rave reviews online. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This restaurant had rave reviews online...what a disappointment. The mussels were old and tasted terrible. The salad was just average and the soup the same...at this point we left as we felt if you can't get that part right the entree does not have a chance...would not return to this restaurant and would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

III Forks is my favorite steakhouse in A ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

III Forks is my favorite steakhouse in Austin. They are careful with gluten allergies and you never receive conflicting information. When you order from their Wagyu menu, they bring a knife selection to your table so you can choose your own knife. I highly recommend the Kings Butter. A delicious side of foie gras, truffle and butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent wine selection and service. On ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent wine selection and service. One of the best places for dry aged steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great the Waiter gave us app ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was great the Waiter gave us appeal time to decide and for the table to have conversations. The entertainment was wonderful and kept at an audible level.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.