About III Forks Austin

111 Lavaca Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

III Forks is an award-winning steakhouse, located on Lavaca Street at Cesar Chavez, in downtown Austin. Considered the Crown Jewel of American Dining, III Forks serves USDA Prime steaks, fresh fish and cold-water lobster. The steakhouse, finished in mahogany and marble, is designed to accommodate private parties of up to 60 guests. With four private rooms, a piano bar, and over 500 different wines, III Forks is sure to provide the best food and service in town. Open Daily at 5:00 PM.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lavaca and Cesar Chavez

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 474-1776

Website:
http://www.iiiforks.com/

Entertainment:
III Forks has live music every Friday and Saturday night. Friend us on Facebook and Twitter for schedule and events.

Catering:
Catering Options Available

Executive Chef:
Adrian Corkill

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Banquet Manager, Shawn Farmer, may be reached directly at (512) 236-0124. We have private dining rooms available from 6-80 guests. Open menu and prix fixe menu options available! If we can be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

III Forks steakhouse offers Austin a sophisticated club-like ambiance with an elegant bar and lounge. The inviting foyer greets you with an array of fine wines-over 500 labels-in the spectacular walk-in wine room. The luxurious mahogany trimmed with triple-crown molding and marble surroundings.

III Forks Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Austin
Steak
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (89)
romantic (69)
notable wine list (41)
See All
fit for foodies (34)
good for groups (18)
vibrant bar scene (10)
hot spot (7)
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife and two grown children an ...

Dined 6 days ago

I took my wife and two grown children and their partners to celebrate my wife 60 birthday. Food was wonderful and all had a satisfying meal. I liked the cozy feeling Three Forks offered and will happily return.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3

Nice place and have celebrated various o ...

Dined 7 days ago

Nice place and have celebrated various occasions here many times. The last couple of times and especially last Friday night, the combo band they have playing is just way too loud. Even dining away from the bar. It would be nice if it was just background ambiance music. We came for dinner not to hear the jazz band

food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our first anniversary here ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated our first anniversary here and were back Sunday night to celebrate No 4. This restaurant is truly one of the best restaurants I have ever been. Everything was absolutely delicious, gorgeous atmosphere and wonderful service. I wish we lived closer so we could come more often. Thank you once again for a giving us more fond memories to add to our Memory Bank, III Forks!

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

sad disappointment

Dined on May 15, 2016

have been here many times for special occasions for guys night out. went for our anniversary - and really disappointed. ordered all the specials as a splurge and was consistently disappointed - overcooked and overpriced lobster tail a blackened red snapper that was basically overcooked and tough, with some beautiful shrimp that were also tough and chewy. dessert was an overpriced poached pear we love to treat ourselves to nice meals, i never usually take the time to write a review, but this meal literally made my wife and i want to take a break from any high end restaurants for a while - just not worth the money and nothing particularly interesting or exciting about our meal

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had overnight guests visiting. We de ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had overnight guests visiting. We decided to try 111Forks for the evening meal. The restaurant allowed us to split two entrees as none of us were very hungry. We split the Rack of Lamb and the large Wagyu Beef between the two couples. We loved the meal and the sides. Then we were surprised by the after-dinner drink of Coconut Milk and something. The manager and the waiter were wonderful. We had friends and acquaintances in common. We had a LOVELY evening and dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New favorite date place

Dined on May 8, 2016

Best service ever. Fabulous salad and bread. Very nice steak and perfect baked potato. A Texan's dream come true.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dinner is always outstanding and the service impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great, food was amazing. Gre ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was great, food was amazing. Great date night spot!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Food was Crave Worthy!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was amazing - from the pretzel bread, soup, salad and filets! The back room where we were seated felt like a banquet room instead of a dining room so I would def ask to be moved if seated there again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great customer service, wonderful food ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great customer service, wonderful food .

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My favorite steakhouse in Austin!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Best steaks in Austin! Very pricey, but excellent service and delicious food. Fun cocktails and great wine list, too. Highly recommend the King's Butter on any steak.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for girlfriends birthday

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great ambiance for a romantic birthday dinner. Love that it's kept dark so the mood feels intimate. Awesome friendly wait staff that's knowledgable of the foods and its preparation. Management was also friendly and quietly attentive. Love the surprise free cake of my girlfriends choice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak with fun appetizers

Dined on April 27, 2016

We started with the unusual chicken fried lobster in a mildly spicy tomato sauce that was scrumptious and totally surprising to me. The lobster meat came through so nicely, not at all overwhelmed by the batter. Then the hamachi crudo melted in my mouth. For my main course I opted for the bone in filet. One of the best prepared and tender cuts of meat I have eaten. ... The setting is one of the least pretentious of the Austin steak houses and I am eager to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very special place - great steaks

Dined on April 26, 2016

Although some of the specialty steaks are very expensive, the rest of the menu items aren't unreasonable. The food was amazing and the service impeccable. We felt really spoilt and taken care of. Great place for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great we had bone in filet mignon and fi ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great we had bone in filet mignon and fish of the day

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Good but overpriced

Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was excellent, it is a good place to celebrate a special occasion, since they actually will treat you accordingly (and even to a free dessert in our case!). It is expensive and perhaps not really worth it, although the salad with fruit and blue cheese, my aged steak and the toffee pudding where amazing. My friend ordered another piece of meat that was overcooked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

For Special Night

Dined on April 16, 2016

A superb steakhouse. Expensive but if you can afford, a great experience. Went early on Saturday night and glad we did, as it filled up quickly. House salad was great setup for a great steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful food, great knowledgable servi ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful food, great knowledgable service

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, food. Our server was great.

Dined on April 7, 2016

My associate and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening at III Forks. Thomas, our server, was excellent. He was attentive and engaging. The food was excellent. Steaks were perfectly prepared, and served in a timely manner. I do think that the meal should include at least one vegetable or salad. Everything is a la carte. Overall, a wonderful experience. I'm from Dallas and have eaten at the Dallas restaurant many times so knew that that this would be a great experience. I loved the atmosphere at the Austin III Forks. Was more intimate which allowed for great conversation. Also, liked the valet parking set-up on my phone which allowed me to text for my car before leaving the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They really take care of you.

Dined on April 2, 2016

We felt very cared for the entire time we spent at III Forks and will certainly return for our next special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food is always the best. It can be pricey, but the quality and service show. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful as expected

Dined on April 2, 2016

Exceptional dining experience the manager was extremely polite and just a wonderful overall evening. The hostess was very helpful with directions as well

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Group Experience!

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Our large group had a great time at III Forks Austin. There were more of us than expected, and even during the busy SxSW week they made room for us. Our fantastic Irish waiter walked us carefully through the menu and steered us to the most incredible dishes. The service was timely and unobtrusive. The food was fantastic--filet with King's butter!--and the wine was delicious. A great meal all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

All good but........

Dined on March 6, 2016

We loved the food and the restaurant itself but we were seated very poorly. We were there to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and even though I scheduled 1 month in advance, we got a terrible table. We were given a 4 person table for two people which would typically be fine because elbow room is great BUT, this table is very wide and you must lean in to hear the person across from you. I could not move next to my wife because the table was against a wall and there was a walkway behind the empty seat next to her. Next time that will not happen.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience!

Dined on February 27, 2016

I planned a surprise dinner for my fiance for his birthday and we decided to try here. Making a reservation through OpenTable was EASY! Editing it was even easier. I also liked that I could add a note to my reservation. When III Forks called to confirm, they also confirmed about my notes in the reservation. They did a fantastic job. Our waiter was friendly, courteous, funny, and good at what he does. He took his time with our group seeing as my fiance was seeing people he hadn't seen in a while and we were busy chatting a little too much at the beginning. He never seemed to mind and took care of us with ease. The food was incredible, I loved the live music and atmosphere! I can't wait for another special occasion to plan a dinner here!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!

Dined on February 24, 2016

Great food (bone in ribeye was stellar!); sat at a booth which I wouldn't recommend-/made the service less desirable (lots of reaching over us). Overall delicious and great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of a kind!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent dining experience! Wagyu steak was outstanding, as it should be. However, the star of the show, "LAMB MEATBALLS", to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a special date night!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Best part about III Forks was the food, then the ambiance. The service was impeccable, as it should be. We purposely chose a night when Kris Kimura would be playing live music and we were not disappointed. We sat in the bar area: there are a few booths and of course bar seating. Booth in the bar was quite romantic and cozy despite the bar location. There was a young child at the bar with his father which I thought was odd since I thought this particular bar area was off limits to children. As parents we were OK with this but would have preferred to have more freedom to speak more freely. Food was amazing and I have heard from a few chefs in the Austin area that III Forks is one of the best places to get a steak in Texas. The Alaskan King Crab legs as an appetizer was amazing and cut open nicely so you didn't have to do much work. We enjoyed martinis, chocolate mousse and sparkling champagne as well. Enjoy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night out with the Wife

Dined on February 19, 2016

I took my beautiful wife out for a date night that started at III Forks. This was our first time here a will definitely not be the last! We really enjoyed the kind and personable attitude from the staff, and our server was knowledgeable of the entire menu. The food indescribably delicious. Thanks again for the experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A special occasion that wasn't

Dined on February 19, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary so wanted to go high-end / upscale for a memorable experience. Despite a reservation, our table had a setting for 6 and all the extras were taken away after we sat. The problem was that the 2 settings left were not in front of us which was quite awkward. Picky? Maybe so, but we were looking forward to something special which, yes, should include a place setting for where we were seated. Aside from that, the restaurant was sparsely occupied and we were sat in a quiet area (nice!) but the next couple to come in were sat in the booth right next to us - would have been more comforting to be spaced out a bit more to allow a more romantic ambiance. They weren't bothersome, just the proximity was unusually close with the numerous other options so a buffer-table between us would have maintained just a bit more privacy. Maybe there's a great business reason to have guests right next to one another - I can't think of any though. Finally, the wine we ordered was no longer available so the wine steward brought a higher-priced bottle. He explained we'd get this for the price of the bottle ordered but it was one we knew retails for much less anyway. We're not wine-snobs but we know our wine well enough and expect a higher-end restaurant to price things according to their target clientele. We get that, but it also diminished the perceived value and cheapened the experience. On the brighter side, we were provided an outstanding dessert and an interesting beverage for our celebration. The hostess even took a keepsake picture of us to commemorate the evening. Unfortunately, the cost of the meal de-valued the experience as a whole which gives me pause to recommend this restaurant and doubtful that we'd return. There are other categorically-similar restaurants that have previously hit closer to our personal expectations which we'd consider instead.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Service & Food

Dined on February 17, 2016

Dined on a Tuesday evening, booth seating was nice but lighting overall was dim/low, excellent wait staff and diverse menu selection for all pallets.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Food was not bad, but not worth the price

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went to III Forks for Valentines day and had the lobster and steak dinner. The steak and lobster was not bad, but not what I would expect for a $160 tab for the two of us. I have been to many steak restaurants and paid a lot less for a much better steak. I will not be returned as I can go to many other restaurants for a much better steak at a much cheaper price.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Food and Service

Dined on February 15, 2016

My girlfriend and I visited this restaurant for Valentine's day on our first trip to Austin. The food and service were great, and the atmosphere was very romantic. I will say that while the food was very good, the quality of the meal did not justify the price tag, in my opinion. Over the weekend in Austin we ate much better food for much less. If I lived in Austin this would be a great idea for a fancy date night, but as an out-of-towner with only a few nights to explore, I recommend checking out Austin's local food scene to get an authentic experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and a great place to spen ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent food and a great place to spend V-day with the one you love. 6 years and counting...

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Disappointing

Dined on February 15, 2016

Last year had a great experience at III Forks on Valentine's Day, so decided to go back this year. Not so good. Service was ok; food was pretty good - boneless ribeye was ok, but not great; seated at a table across from my date and had to talk pretty loud to be able to converse in a crowded room; just overall not good ambiance. But, worst part was the valet service - total disaster. The valet guys were nice and courteous but overwhelmed. Waited outside on the curb for an hour to get our car. At least they didn't charge for parking. Won't be going back to III Forks. There are much better choices.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellentand the wait staff wer ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was excellentand the wait staff were great! I really liked it when the manager came out to talk to everyone at their tables and thank them for choosing III Forks to dine at for Valentine's Day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romance

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food and service was excellent great place for a romantic evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

Our previous experiences have been excel ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our previous experiences have been excellent, but this was very disappointing. There was nothing about the evening that was special, even though it was Valentines Day. Within 15 minutes of being seated we had been served wine, bread, salad, and our entrees. I was still eating my salad when the waiter brought my steak. The set menu had a chocolate dessert neither of us would have ordered, but they didn't allow substitutions. There was no candle on the table, and no rose given out for the special occasion. While our waiter was adequate, the waiter for the two tables next to us was very loud. So much for ambience. Unlikely we will go again when our recent experiences at several other nearby restaurants have been so much better.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first visit to III Forks, so we didn't have a lot of preconceived ideas. We were most impressed with the personal treatment exhibited by all employees. For example the water server initiated a friendly conversation. The staff made you feel appreciated and welcomed. We will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made for a great a romantic Valentines Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was excellent. This was a very nice, romantic spot to really impress my date on Valentines' Day. The filet mignon was one of the best steaks I've ever had. The Irish Crème drink was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.