About Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis

1333 Nicollet Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Ichiban features the 5000 year old method of Japanese cooking where chefs skillfully prepare the dinner at your table. "Iron cooking" or Teppanyaki is the heart of our cuisine. Our Teppanyaki chefs are wizards of the knife, each with their own style and showmanship. Ichiban also features an all you can eat for one hour sushi bar every night of the week. A full bar is available with beer, wine, liquor and sake. The main floor is handicap accessible, so please request if needed. Happy hour specials are available Monday thru Friday in the bar. Enjoy specials on beer, wine, sake and several appetizers and types of sushi in a quiet atmosphere. We also have Early Bird specials, including a discount on the sushi bar every day of the week and discounts on Teppanyaki meals Sunday through Friday. Early Bird is from 4:30 to 6:00pm.




RESERVATIONS ARE ONLY FOR TEPPANYAKI and are not available for the sushi bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Steakhouse, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm. RESERVATIONS ARE FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY.

Our regular menu is not available for VALENTINES dinner. Ichiban will be offering a fantastic set menu dinner cooked teppanyaki style. The dinner includes filet mignon, lobster and teriyaki chicken with a shrimp appetizer, clear chicken broth vegetable soup, and a cucumber salad with kani-kama. Fried rice is included. White chocolate raspberry truffle ice cream will be served for dessert. All this for only $60 + tax + 18% gratuity per person. We hope to see you for VALENTINES!

Cross Street:
Grant St (Between 13th & 14th)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 339-0540

Website:
http://www.lakeviewhotels.com/restaurants/ichiban-minneapolis/

Entertainment:
Ichiban is the Best Tasting Show in Town because the chef prepares the meal right at your table!

Catering:
Sushi platter are available on request.

Parking Details:
We do not offer validated parking. There is a public ramp next door for the Millenium Hotel. If you enter after 4PM they charge a flat $10. The Hyatt Hotel directly across the street from our entrance is a public ramp. They charge $4 an hour.

Public Transit:
The light rail stops between 4th and 5th on Nicollet. We are at 1333 Nicollet.

Executive Chef:
Tatsuki Yamamoto

Private Party Facilities:
Ichiban's upstairs dining room can be reserved for groups of 100 or less. Please call for information.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Reynolds: 612-339-0540x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our regular menu is not available for Valentine's Evening or New Year's Eve. That night we offer a set menu dinner cooked teppanyaki style for $60 ++ tax ++ 18% gratuity. The dinner features our clear chicken broth vegetable soup, cucumber salad with crabmeat, shrimp appetizer, steamed or fried rice, and steamed vegetables. The entree is a combination of filet mignon, lobster and teriyaki chicken. For dessert we will be serving white chocolate raspberry truffle ice cream. A vegetarian dinner is available for $35. Childrens' dinners are $30. This is a night you won't want to miss!

Restaurant Photos

Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Minneapolis

good for groups (53)
special occasion (51)
romantic (19)
See All
fit for foodies (17)
kid-friendly (14)
hot spot (12)
neighborhood gem (8)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The appetizer portions were small, as w ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The appetizer portions were small, as well as the portion of lobster.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3

Not the most talented teppanyaki perform ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Not the most talented teppanyaki performance... But the food is very good and the atmosphere is great for groups.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Night Out

Dined on May 3, 2016

We chose this Restaurant again for a family celebration of birthdays.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

early bird dinner

Dined on April 29, 2016

we had an early reservation for dinner and although we ordered early enough they charged the regular price on the bill. We mentioned this and they did correct it the total. Just thought that they should have been well aware of the time and should have had it correct the first time. Otherwise very good experience

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I expect better quality for the price point

Dined on April 24, 2016

Pouring rain, doors not open yet, elderly mother and two grandchildren. Called and asked them to let us in. Big sigh and surly "fine." 10 minutes later, manager opened door and then just turned and went back in, allowing door to slam in my (again - elderly) mother's face. Told to "sit over there." Food quality is poor yet prices much higher. Not flavorful, calamari was tough, steak decent and not "tenderized" so that was good. Place smells bad- really quite bad. The guy who cooked for us was wonderful; responded to the kids and made it great fun for them. Nice show. Wait staff was fine, not super friendly but not invasive either. The 9 month old baby was in heaven, 4 year old loved it, 5 year old smiled quite a bit, 89 year old was happy with something different. The rest of us in the middle were not impressed. Would never ever go back, even if someone else is paying.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Still a unique dining experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

Very quiet for a Friday night.... Nicolet Mall construction may have an effect. Food was very good, but don't forget to bring your wallet....

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

We ate at the teppanyaki grill as a grou ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We ate at the teppanyaki grill as a group of 5 and was seated with another group of 4.For the price, food was just okay, service was decent, and the chief was not very entertaining. I've ate at about a dozen teppanyaki grills and I have never seen someone who seemed so uncoordinated. I was scared he was going to hit us with a flying knife! He continued to mess up his tricks(which happens) but not the numerous occasions that happened with him. Could be a bad chief, however the food was not too great either.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good food. nice cooking show

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a lot of fun. The food was great. Everyone enjoyed their dinner and we were a group of 20. The set-up with all 20 persons around and the 2 cooks in the middle was perfect. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

No a great experience.

Dined on April 17, 2016

My experience at Ichiban was disappointing. Our server seemed to have too many tables. There was a point when we hadn't seen him for 30 minutes and needed more drinks. The food was ok. The salad was not at all "asian", it tasted like vegetable broth with huge chunks of carrot and celery. Our table was upstairs and they didn't offer sushi. The prices were high for the quality of the food. The server was also unable to split the sake bombs so they ended up on one person's bill. I think this was because he didn't want to order individual shots- too much work. This missed the mark for me.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Entertaining and Delicious

Dined on April 16, 2016

We took clients there for business and the noise level was pretty high but we were still able to hear each other as well as be entertained with dinner. our chef was hilarious and full of energy as well as the gentleman cleaning the grill after the chef had left. Everyone was friendly. The only thing I wasn't aware of when we made the reservation was that if you have a smaller group, you may be sharing a table with another group of people. We initially had 7 people in our group and 2 people couldn't make it so we then had 5 and had to share a table with a family celebrating their son's birthday. We all got along well though, it just would have been nice to know that we may be sharing a table with strangers beforehand.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing experiance

Dined on April 8, 2016

This place is a little more on the pricey side, but well worth it for the experience. This is a place I think everyone should go to at least once.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Smaller portions

Dined on April 3, 2016

The price has stayed the same but the portion size has been cut in half! Very disappointed in that.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time with kids

Dined on April 1, 2016

My wifeand Itook our 2 kids(9&6) for the first time and they loved it. A little on the spendy side but still had fun.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Experiences

Dined on March 19, 2016

Both times I've brought small to medium sized groups to Ichibans, we've been treated very well. I would recommend you give them a visit. Food has been great and the entertainment is worth coming back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Surprised

Dined on March 12, 2016

I'm a picky eater. I'm especially picky with Oriental food. My expectations were not high as far as selection and food presentation. I was expecting everything to be smothered in vegetables, spicy sauces, and other ingredients I just knew I wouldn't like. I ordered the teriyaki chicken with fried rice and the pot stickers appetizer. The food was phenomenal!!! I loved it all! I don't care for veggies and they were minimal in my order. I kept raving to my wife about how good the food was! It's expensive, but you get a lot of food for your money, plus the entertainment of the cook preparing your meal right in front of you. Our server, although VERY busy with multiple tables, was excellent! It was a great experience, with great food, and great service! I'm so glad we went there! I'd DEFINITELY go again! I highly recommend it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Nothing Good

Dined on February 15, 2016

It was our first time there so we are glad we checked it off our list... But it was to expensive for the food we got. There was a piece of eggshell in my rice. The drinks were good but it took a long time to get them. We probably will never return.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Valentine's Bust

Dined on February 14, 2016

Trying to find a wonderful reservation on Valentine's Day may have been a stretch at the last minute. We decided to try out Itchiban because it offered a set dining menu with a little desert after. I have been here before in the past and I did not remember it being so run down and hectic. The food was subpar, the chef was unexperienced, and the seating was too cramped (up to fire code?). All in all it was an OK dining experience. However, for the $60/head and lacking conditions I would have rather tried a new place. 3/10.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

too expensive. hibachi chef was disinterested.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Not a great value for the cost. Reservations @ 4:30. Doors didn't even open until 4:35. Table wasn't ready upon opening. Went to get a drink @ the bar. Bartender was nowhere to be found. Finally seated @ 4:50. Waitress was very kind & helpful. Took our drink orders promptly. Hibachi chef arrived table side shortly after. Was completely disinterested from the first moment. Did the usual thing w/ the eggs. & broke one of the eggshells into the food while preparing the fried rice. Didn't care & proceeded to continue to cooking it. Made comments about how he didn't enjoy his job & preffered to be a line cook. Tried to order more drinks as did the couple seated next to us. Waited a very long time to receive then. Didn't get the steamed rice I oredered w/ my meal until meal end. All in all pretty disappointed. Will not return. $160 including top for 2 meals & 2 beers each. Not a great value @ all.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed - overpriced - poor value and service

Dined on February 12, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many times before and always had a great experience. This time was different. The food portions were reduced and our food was undercooked. Also the chef that cooked for us seemed like he really didn't want to be there and made us feel uncomfortable. He did a very bad job of cooking our food - shrimp & scallops were undercooked. The drinks were also overpriced and the wait staff was inattentive. Will go back one more time at some point in the future. If we have a similar experience, will STOP going to this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

I always love the food and the show that ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

I always love the food and the show that is presented! My clients love coming here and many had never been to such a fun hibachi!

food5
ambience4
service2

The food was fantastic, and the table ch ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was fantastic, and the table chef was great how he interacted with everyone. Our server was not great, taking her time to check on people and forgetting drink orders. The atmosphere was loud, but high energy, and appropriate considering their style. Overall it was very enjoyable.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

not worth the money

Dined on February 4, 2016

As my first time there it was just ok for me... My kids and wife had been there before and raved about it, so we went...... with all the hype, it was a disappointment unfortunately ..... Our bill was over 250$ with tip for 3 adults and 1 kiddo...YIKES... If it was stellar food and show then it would have been worth the money... We like to try new restaurants and wont let price stand in the way... the cook was supposedly the "Head Chef", when he started tossing and throwing things after several failed attempts, we all started backing up.. We didn't know if he was going to fail and hit us with something... Quite comical, and no we don't expect perfect, but for the head chef, it seemed like that couldn't be further from the truth.... The chicken liver appetizer that comes with the meals, oh please, get rid of it already, and just charge the up charge.... Not many would opt for the app that is "included.".. Seriously just plain silly to have that on there...Def will be going somewhere else and spending our money...

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on February 2, 2016

This was a celebration dinner for my son's 21st Birthday. The place is very run down and the food very expensive for the quality. All of the added and extra pricing was ridiculous. Overall very disappointing and we will not be back.

food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Has really gone downhill over the past 10 years..

Dined on January 31, 2016

Will not be going back anytime soon, have been going there for over 16 years and the chef's and food quality have really declined..

food5
ambience4
service5

The food & service were excellent!

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food & service were excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and Alex is the best hibachi ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great food and Alex is the best hibachi chef!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

The chef made the meal even more enjoyab ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

The chef made the meal even more enjoyable with his great skills, cooking ability, banter and humor. Great job!!

food4
ambience3
service4

The food was good. The chef was entertai ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

The food was good. The chef was entertaining.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Favorite Birthday Place

vip
Dined on January 11, 2016

Our family has been coming to Ichiban's for many years to celebrate my son's birthday. It's his favorite place and our entire family enjoys it. This visit was on a very cold Sunday after the Vikings lost their bid for the playoffs so the restaurant was rather empty. As a result it didn't have the normal energetic vibe. We started out our meal with a couple of sushi rolls (our first sushi purchase at Ichiban) and I was very pleased with them. Our waitress was attentive and our chef was entertaining and competent. He said he'd been chef there for 5 1/2 years and his experience showed. Everything tasted great. We only come once per year because our bill was well over $300 (after tip) for our family of four and while we enjoyed it, we can't justify that kind of dining expense very often.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner Review

Dined on January 10, 2016

We enjoyed a Great meal prepared at the table, Great Entertainment by the Table Chef and Fun Atmosphere. Enjoyed the group we were seated with. Would be a nice atmosphere for children 10 or over. This restaurant would provide a nice atmosphere for a group of 8, as this was the table format.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

We were really well taken care of and th ...

Dined on January 4, 2016

We were really well taken care of and the chef was fantastic, both charming and talented.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

really great food and fun atmosphere

Dined on January 3, 2016

We were there for a birthday and it was a lot of fun. The staff was attentive and the food was abundant, in fact all of us were unable to finish and had to ask for boxes, and very good. I didn't even mind the chicken liver! It would be best for a group to break up the cost a bit. There were 5 in our group, one being a child, and I paid about $250.00 including tip for all of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

MY wife and I have been going to Ichiban ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

MY wife and I have been going to Ichiban's for 15+ years. We came with our 19 year old son & his date to celebrate my wife's birthday. It has been a couple of years and while the food is still tasty the building is tired and the cook was uninspired. The staff at the host stand were cordial but aloof. Someone needs to shake up the staff and save the interior from it's slow slide into a drab nothingness

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good. Not our first time there.

Dined on December 31, 2015

We've gone for special occasions. It is one of my wife's favorite places. The Hibachi grill is worth the trip just for the show and the food is always very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Save up then go have fun!

Dined on December 19, 2015

Fun place, VERY expensive, given average food quality, but then you are also paying for the entertainment value. Save up for this place, then go and have a great time!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable Dinner

Dined on December 12, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner here on a Saturday night. Ambience was outstanding. Love the experience in a group setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Review

Dined on November 29, 2015

The two guys at the host station were very unfriendly.

food5
ambience4
service5

Good experience.

Dined on November 14, 2015

Good food, good service, good experience. I will go back again.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3

Had a good time, however, my wife and I ...

Dined on November 13, 2015

Had a good time, however, my wife and I were not thrilled by being sat at the end of the table next to group of 8 loud twenty year olds. Although we know you can't control how they act, we felt like we were on the sidelines of our own meal. Service was good and food was great, although there were a couple times when I saw the chef give uneven portions--for example there was a lot of extra fried rice after spreading it out, and the extra was split between only two people while my wife didn't even get a normal full bowl. This may not seem like a big deal, but with a $130 date that we save up for to enjoy, little things do matter. We dine in there a few times a year and it's always very good, but we both felt like this time we were disappointed with our experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

The fried rice was exceptional, the enti ...

Dined on October 23, 2015

The fried rice was exceptional, the entire meal/experience was very enjoyable. I would go again.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.