Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

North 45 RestaurantNorth 45 Restaurant
(16)
$$$$
American | Downtown / Loring Park, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Monello Cucina - MplsMonello Cucina - Mpls
(294)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 27 times today
Salsa a la Salsa - Downtown (Nicollet)Salsa a la Salsa - Downtown (Nicollet)
(29)
$$$$
Mexican | Downtown / Loring Park, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
BarrioBarrio
(278)
$$$$
Latin / Spanish | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 29 times today
The News RoomThe News Room
(422)
$$$$
American | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 22 times today
Butcher & the BoarButcher & the Boar
(2190)
$$$$
Steak | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 101 times today
The LocalThe Local
(80)
$$$$
Irish | Downtown / Loring Park, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 10 times today
The Third BirdThe Third Bird
(284)
$$$$
American | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 21 times today
ZeloZelo
(1656)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 101 times today
MarinMarin
(774)
$$$$
American | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 17 times today
Ling & Louie's - MinneapolisLing & Louie's - Minneapolis
(262)
$$$$
Asian | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 19 times today
SkywaterSkywater
(462)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 4 times today
4 Bells4 Bells
(369)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 32 times today
DakotaDakota
(637)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 2 times today
Hell's Kitchen MinneapolisHell's Kitchen Minneapolis
(222)
$$$$
American | Downtown / North Loop, Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Booked 96 times today

About Permanently Closed - Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis

1333 Nicollet Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. With 36 years of service, Ichiban features the 5000 year old method of Japanese cooking where chefs skillfully prepare the dinner at your table. "Iron cooking" or Teppanyaki is the heart of our cuisine. Our Teppanyaki chefs are wizards of the knife, each with their own style and showmanship. Ichiban also features an all you can eat for one hour sushi bar every night of the week. A full bar is available with beer, wine, liquor and sake. The main floor is handicap accessible, so please request if needed. Happy hour specials are available Monday thru Friday in the bar. Enjoy specials on beer, wine, sake and several appetizers and types of sushi in a quiet atmosphere and our Early Bird special that is from 4:30 to 6:00pm every weekday!




RESERVATIONS ARE ONLY FOR TEPPANYAKI and are not available for the sushi bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Steakhouse, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm. RESERVATIONS ARE FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY.

Cross Street:
Grant St (Between 13th & 14th)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 339-0540

Website:
http://www.lakeviewhotels.com/restaurants/ichiban-minneapolis/

Entertainment:
Ichiban is the Best Tasting Show in Town because the chef prepares the meal right at your table!

Catering:
Sushi platter are available on request.

Parking Details:
We do not offer validated parking. There is a public ramp next door for the Millenium Hotel. If you enter after 4PM they charge a flat $10. The Hyatt Hotel directly across the street from our entrance is a public ramp. They charge $4 an hour.

Public Transit:
The light rail stops between 4th and 5th on Nicollet. We are at 1333 Nicollet.

Executive Chef:
Tatsuki Yamamoto

Private Party Facilities:
Ichiban's upstairs dining room can be reserved for groups of 100 or less. Please call for information.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Reynolds: 612-339-0540x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our regular menu is not available for Valentine's Evening or New Year's Eve. That night we offer a set menu dinner cooked teppanyaki style for $60 ++ tax ++ 18% gratuity. The dinner features our clear chicken broth vegetable soup, cucumber salad with crabmeat, shrimp appetizer, steamed or fried rice, and steamed vegetables. The entree is a combination of filet mignon, lobster and teriyaki chicken. For dessert we will be serving white chocolate raspberry truffle ice cream. A vegetarian dinner is available for $35. Childrens' dinners are $30. This is a night you won't want to miss!

Restaurant Photos

  • Lobster Scallop And Shrimp Hibachi - Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
  • Crispy Shrimp Rolls - Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
  • Tempura Boat - Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
  • Spicy Tuna Handroll - Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
  • Spicy Salmon Roll - Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Lobster Scallop And Shrimp Hibachi - Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Crispy Shrimp Rolls - Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Tempura Boat - Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Spicy Tuna Handroll - Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Spicy Salmon Roll - Ichiban Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar – Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
Sort By:
S
955 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and chefs are incredible!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food and chefs are incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was the last weekend the place was op ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was the last weekend the place was open. So, it was pretty busy, but past employees were treated much better than our table. We had to wait over an hour to get our "chef" after we sat. Manager even kept us up to date on when he would be arriving but we received no apology or anything. The chef was soaked in sweat, looked angry and spoke to us in an Asian accent even though he was white! Not very good.

The food was acceptable, but it wasn't heads and shoulders above any other teppanyaki joint that I have been to. Glad there is still one open in Winnipeg. Hopefully they are doing a better job there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

So sad to see Ichibans close. One of ou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2016

So sad to see Ichibans close. One of our favorite restaurants to go for special occassions. We have enjoyed it over the

last 35 years. Many happy memories . . .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food as always was absolutely excell ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food as always was absolutely excellent. The service was a bit slow initially, but those who helped us were very polite and our chief was awesome. It's really too bad that this neighborhood gem of 36 years is closing down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Superior dinner was spectacular. We ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Superior dinner was spectacular. We will miss Ichiban when it closes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Love Ichaban's! Hate to see this Minneap ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Love Ichaban's! Hate to see this Minneapolis institution close down!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Ichiban and are going to miss i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We loved Ichiban and are going to miss it! We used to go about 3-4 times a year and always enjoyed it. Was it dated? Yes, but we didn't care. It was entertaining and the food was great. I don't know where I'm going to get potstickers half as good as theirs! Sayonara, Ichiban - you will be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is closing on July 30, 2 ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This restaurant is closing on July 30, 2016 but it's sister restaurant in Winnipeg will still be open. It is very expensive for the meal you receive. Only go there for special occasions (once every couple of years). Food was hot and well-prepared. It was fun to watch the kids at the table react to the chef; then again, they were not my kids so I didn't have to pay for them.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Thank you for 36 years of memories! The ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Thank you for 36 years of memories! The experience will be one treasured.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful birthday celebration! We had ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful birthday celebration! We had an great time! Great restaurant!

So sorry that they are closing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My grandson and I are going to miss Ichi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2016

My grandson and I are going to miss Ichibon when it closes because it has been his favorite b-day out to dinner with grandma for many years.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our cook was very entertaining. Food wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our cook was very entertaining. Food was great except for the fruit fly in my Saki. They removed it from my bill and gave me a glass on the house. We had fun

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is so fun! I would recommend ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 2, 2016

This place is so fun! I would recommend this for a fun experience for all ages. You get so much food!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience at Ichiban is terrific. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2016

The ambience at Ichiban is terrific. The table was clean and I felt like it was more upscale than other Japanese steakhouse franchises. The food preparation is very entertaining and made for a unique experience. I thought the price was a bit high for the dinner, but am overall satisfied. A detractors was the road construction around the building, but look forward to another visit when it will be complete.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ichiban has never failed us

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 5, 2016

A good food experience. They have lots of vegetables and fried rice was great. The cold sake was also great. Seafood, steak and chicken was also excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our chef was fabulous! The only female a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our chef was fabulous! The only female at Ichiban.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lighting

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The lighting was a little too dim and it was also a little hard to hear our waitress when we asked her questions about the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My date was the most attractive part but ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 29, 2016

My date was the most attractive part but the restaurant was great and the cook was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good sushi & tepanyaki. Had steak and sa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Good sushi & tepanyaki. Had steak and salmon, which was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Yes it's pricey but you get a ton of foo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Yes it's pricey but you get a ton of food and it's all really good. The ambiance was really awesome with the water features inside and I loved that each table was in its own little section.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to this restaurant twice no ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been to this restaurant twice now and both times we were early enough for their early bird dinner special. I would assume that it is the restaurant that advertises on Meet Minneapolis website. Having seen a discount coupon for their dinners we printed out one for each of us attending. The manager was unaware of this coupon being used towards the early bird special. However on this website it specifically says that it can be applied to the early bird deal. They did honor it bit we felt we should not have had to argue our point. Outside of this situation the dinner was more than we could eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The appetizer portions were small, as w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2016

The appetizer portions were small, as well as the portion of lobster.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not the most talented teppanyaki perform ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Not the most talented teppanyaki performance... But the food is very good and the atmosphere is great for groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Excellent Night Out

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2016

We chose this Restaurant again for a family celebration of birthdays.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

early bird dinner

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2016

we had an early reservation for dinner and although we ordered early enough they charged the regular price on the bill. We mentioned this and they did correct it the total. Just thought that they should have been well aware of the time and should have had it correct the first time. Otherwise very good experience

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I expect better quality for the price point

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Pouring rain, doors not open yet, elderly mother and two grandchildren. Called and asked them to let us in. Big sigh and surly "fine." 10 minutes later, manager opened door and then just turned and went back in, allowing door to slam in my (again - elderly) mother's face. Told to "sit over there." Food quality is poor yet prices much higher. Not flavorful, calamari was tough, steak decent and not "tenderized" so that was good. Place smells bad- really quite bad. The guy who cooked for us was wonderful; responded to the kids and made it great fun for them. Nice show. Wait staff was fine, not super friendly but not invasive either. The 9 month old baby was in heaven, 4 year old loved it, 5 year old smiled quite a bit, 89 year old was happy with something different. The rest of us in the middle were not impressed. Would never ever go back, even if someone else is paying.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Still a unique dining experience

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Very quiet for a Friday night.... Nicolet Mall construction may have an effect. Food was very good, but don't forget to bring your wallet....

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We ate at the teppanyaki grill as a grou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We ate at the teppanyaki grill as a group of 5 and was seated with another group of 4.For the price, food was just okay, service was decent, and the chief was not very entertaining. I've ate at about a dozen teppanyaki grills and I have never seen someone who seemed so uncoordinated. I was scared he was going to hit us with a flying knife! He continued to mess up his tricks(which happens) but not the numerous occasions that happened with him. Could be a bad chief, however the food was not too great either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Very good food. nice cooking show

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a lot of fun. The food was great. Everyone enjoyed their dinner and we were a group of 20. The set-up with all 20 persons around and the 2 cooks in the middle was perfect. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

No a great experience.

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 17, 2016

My experience at Ichiban was disappointing. Our server seemed to have too many tables. There was a point when we hadn't seen him for 30 minutes and needed more drinks. The food was ok. The salad was not at all "asian", it tasted like vegetable broth with huge chunks of carrot and celery. Our table was upstairs and they didn't offer sushi. The prices were high for the quality of the food. The server was also unable to split the sake bombs so they ended up on one person's bill. I think this was because he didn't want to order individual shots- too much work. This missed the mark for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Entertaining and Delicious

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We took clients there for business and the noise level was pretty high but we were still able to hear each other as well as be entertained with dinner. our chef was hilarious and full of energy as well as the gentleman cleaning the grill after the chef had left. Everyone was friendly. The only thing I wasn't aware of when we made the reservation was that if you have a smaller group, you may be sharing a table with another group of people. We initially had 7 people in our group and 2 people couldn't make it so we then had 5 and had to share a table with a family celebrating their son's birthday. We all got along well though, it just would have been nice to know that we may be sharing a table with strangers beforehand.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing experiance

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2016

This place is a little more on the pricey side, but well worth it for the experience. This is a place I think everyone should go to at least once.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Smaller portions

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The price has stayed the same but the portion size has been cut in half! Very disappointed in that.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

First time with kids

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2016

My wifeand Itook our 2 kids(9&6) for the first time and they loved it. A little on the spendy side but still had fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Experiences

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Both times I've brought small to medium sized groups to Ichibans, we've been treated very well. I would recommend you give them a visit. Food has been great and the entertainment is worth coming back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Surprised

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2016

I'm a picky eater. I'm especially picky with Oriental food. My expectations were not high as far as selection and food presentation. I was expecting everything to be smothered in vegetables, spicy sauces, and other ingredients I just knew I wouldn't like. I ordered the teriyaki chicken with fried rice and the pot stickers appetizer. The food was phenomenal!!! I loved it all! I don't care for veggies and they were minimal in my order. I kept raving to my wife about how good the food was! It's expensive, but you get a lot of food for your money, plus the entertainment of the cook preparing your meal right in front of you. Our server, although VERY busy with multiple tables, was excellent! It was a great experience, with great food, and great service! I'm so glad we went there! I'd DEFINITELY go again! I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nothing Good

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was our first time there so we are glad we checked it off our list... But it was to expensive for the food we got. There was a piece of eggshell in my rice. The drinks were good but it took a long time to get them. We probably will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Valentine's Bust

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Trying to find a wonderful reservation on Valentine's Day may have been a stretch at the last minute. We decided to try out Itchiban because it offered a set dining menu with a little desert after. I have been here before in the past and I did not remember it being so run down and hectic. The food was subpar, the chef was unexperienced, and the seating was too cramped (up to fire code?). All in all it was an OK dining experience. However, for the $60/head and lacking conditions I would have rather tried a new place. 3/10.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

too expensive. hibachi chef was disinterested.

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Not a great value for the cost. Reservations @ 4:30. Doors didn't even open until 4:35. Table wasn't ready upon opening. Went to get a drink @ the bar. Bartender was nowhere to be found. Finally seated @ 4:50. Waitress was very kind & helpful. Took our drink orders promptly. Hibachi chef arrived table side shortly after. Was completely disinterested from the first moment. Did the usual thing w/ the eggs. & broke one of the eggshells into the food while preparing the fried rice. Didn't care & proceeded to continue to cooking it. Made comments about how he didn't enjoy his job & preffered to be a line cook. Tried to order more drinks as did the couple seated next to us. Waited a very long time to receive then. Didn't get the steamed rice I oredered w/ my meal until meal end. All in all pretty disappointed. Will not return. $160 including top for 2 meals & 2 beers each. Not a great value @ all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed - overpriced - poor value and service

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many times before and always had a great experience. This time was different. The food portions were reduced and our food was undercooked. Also the chef that cooked for us seemed like he really didn't want to be there and made us feel uncomfortable. He did a very bad job of cooking our food - shrimp & scallops were undercooked. The drinks were also overpriced and the wait staff was inattentive. Will go back one more time at some point in the future. If we have a similar experience, will STOP going to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.