Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Ibby's - Washington University

Ibby's is nestled at the heart of the campus of Washington University in St. Louis in the Danforth University Center. The unique campus bistro offers foods that are simple, fresh and inspired by the seasons; focusing on regional products prepared with classical cooking techniques by Chef Jon Lowe.

With a focus on sustainable and locally-sourced ingredients, Ibby's offers a delightful, fresh, daily-changing buffet that encompasses all of your lunch needs, whether you have time for just a quick stop or a leisurely meal. During dinner hours, the seasonal menu includes soups, salads, starters, entreés, alcoholic beverages and coffee. Creative, house-made desserts are popular as well!

The space was named after Chancellor Emeritus William H. Danforth's late wife, Ibby, in honor of her dedication and support of WUSTL!

6465 Forsyth Blvd
St. Louis, MO 63130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am -2:00pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wallace

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 935-3940

Website:
http://ibbys.wustl.edu/

Parking Details:
Ibby's is located in the Danforth University Center. There is meter parking in front and a paid garage behind the building. Parking is not validated. After 5pm, you may park in the adjacent lot without a permit.

Public Transit:
Bus stop is located at the corner of Forsyth and Wallace.

Metro link stop is located at Skinker and Forest Park Parkway.

Executive Chef:
David Rushing

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Ibby's - Washington University Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dancing (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Best restaurant on campus since it is the only restaurant; rest are cafeteria. It doesn't have the best ambient lighting or food but if you are on campus you might as well eat here. Don't come here just for food though.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Interesting how you provided no room for righteous outrage in your recommendation section. I cannot remember a worse luncheon experience (and it is luncheon experience, not dining). The waitress, whose name escapes me, was a delight and did not make a fuss when we moved away from the gate and its million decibel screeching and the garbage cans and the loquacious garbage professionals. If this is casual elegant I need to go back to the Junior Cotillion, because it was slob city. The food actually was barely OK on my side of the unsteady table -- my luncheon partner loved her breakfast wrap. My buffalo thing was oozing grease, way too pepper-hot (no request was given for hot, very hot or excruciating. I got the latter.) The food itself was cold, even the fries, which were tasty in spite of their Arctic temperature.

You need to close the gate or lubricate it. You need to move the garbage cans away from the tables. You need to tell the garbage guys to shut up and go elsewhere for their conversations. You need not to be so greedy about the number of tables you put out. If you are truly interested in casual elegant you will make that a reality by reducing the number of tables by 10 percent.

Needless to say I will never come back. Mrs. Danforth, I am certain, is whirling in her grave.

Sitting in the DUC would be better, less noisy and the food would be cheaper and less insulting, and the whole lunch would be more pleasant and more fun.

You should close the restaurant for the summer and do some serious self-evaluation, and some self-criticism about greed, noise, quality and ambience. You are deficient in all areas except greed, and you get five stars for that.

RWD, AB 1967
Adjunct Faculty
The Architecture College and
The College of Arts and Sciences

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The waitstaff is what makes this place the gem it is. The menu changes with the seasons and Ibby's is not afraid to experiment with new flavors. I am impressed every time. Good food, good atmosphere, and great people. :)

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I found that the chicken I ordered which I believe was described as with "mashed potatoes" had none. When I mentioned it to the waitress, no discount was offered.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was good. Salmon wrap very nice, though a touch salty.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 1, 2017

It was very dear that Ibby's manager and chefs were very catering to my dietary restrictions and went beyond what was necessary. Thank you!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had a reservation for a table of 3, but we had to wait half an hour for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Unfriendly manager and very unaccommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Foods were great. Service was awesome. Would recommend to anyone

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a reservation at 7:30 but we didn't get to sit down until 8:15. Other than that it was great. A little pricey too but overall great for a fine out meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

A great change from the usual college fare! Plenty of options for everyone and accommodating staff made it a good dining experience. It is a little expensive

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Ibbys' waiters/waitresses are always so friendly and willing to serve you in any way they can to make your night/day special. The food is really well cooked and perfect for special occasions. The atmosphere has a relaxing and soothing vibe. You can also go there to have a quick bite if you are in a rush.

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Organic, Live Music, People Watching, Fireplace, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Dancing, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great food, great wait staff, great vibes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We found Ibby's to be a great value overall. And, it's a great place for the college crowd--nice place to gather with friends and enjoy a good meal. We also had great service. Our one big disappointment was the food. One person in our party ordered a burger that was served so overcooked that it was barely edible. I'm sure our son will go to Ibby's many times in the future, but Mom and Dad are more likely to go somewhere off campus.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I love this place. It's easy to get to on campus and is a great pot to meet up with a friend or go on a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2016

This last visit was quite the experience. My boyfriend and I decided to have dinner at Ibby's to celebrate finals and enjoy some good food, and it was his first time there. We both ordered the chicken and the banana's foster and smores tart for dessert. The chicken was very moist, a little salty, and plenty of food for the both of us. It wasn't anything too exciting, but it was still good. I also got a side of smashed potatoes- basically small potatoes that have been smashed down a little and then seasoned and fried. They're pretty good and I would recommend! The banana's foster is a cult favorite. The smores tart had a very dense graham cracker crust and the chocolate ganache filling was pretty rich but the few bites I had were very flavorful.

A few minutes after we sat down and before we ordered, a lone elderly man at the table next to us interrupted our conversation and informed us that what we were talking about (the intersection of humanities and science) was precisely the area his research was in, and talked to us about this until dessert (about an hour). Needless to say, he was very smart and had a lot to talk about! We had a hard time getting a few words in. This may not be an experience many Ibby's-goers will have, but a few lucky ones will be treated to this chatterbox.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2016

People cut the line at the front desk but the waitress didn't seem to care at all. The waiters and waitresses were all very nice, but very slow and unwilling to fasten the pace even with customer's request. They also disappeared very often, making the dining process even slower. Would not recommend if you have lots of time and meal points to kill.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2016

The food here was terrible. They had vegetable soup it tasted like they had opened a can. A barbecue pork was wet and not hot. No flavor to anything and was charged extra for coffee when we were told drink's were included. The place is beautiful the staff are pleasant but the food is so bad that it is not worth going to. There were five of us and none of us could eat it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was excellent and the service good. We were the only non-students dining on a Friday night which meant it was very noisy. Very convenient to events on campus including Holmes Lounge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2016

food was underwhelming at best. i have been to ibby's many times, but my last few visits have been very disappointing. the salmon sandwich i ordered had a strange smell and tasted nothing like salmon. the burger i ordered instead was cooking all the way through and had no flavor. sometimes i feel students are not given the same quality of attention to their dining experience as visitors and parents.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2016

I invited my friend in Ibba's lunch buffet because I like Ibby's service and mood. However, I and my friend couldn't eat any food. All looks good but Turkey and potaop, and pasta--main food everything was too salty. I really couldn't eat any food and my friend just gave up to eat. I just ate some fruit.

It was so disappointing because my friend already had some bad experience for Ibby's food. Last time, my friend ordered Burgers that was also very salty. That's why this time we tried Buffet, and again it was too salty. I don't want to eat never, ever again. My friend was so unhappy so I paid it but I am very unhappy too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2016

As a proud WashU student, Ibby's epitomizes the high culinary standards that the school has. I'm a regular at this on-campus restaurant and it is hands-down my favorite way to use my meal points. Whether I'm grabbing lunch (there are buffet and a la carte menus available Tu-F) or having a celebratiry dinner after finals, Ibby's is a shining light on WashU's campus. After 4 years, I've seen many cycles of Ibby's seasonally rotating menu. The waitstaff is incredible and service is excellent and always willing to make accommodations and substitutions. I look forward to the new dishes at Ibby's this year.
What's hot:
- Sangria: A pitcher of Ibby's sangria of the day is absolutely necessary.
Appetizers-
- Bistro Fries: These are a mainstay on the menu and the love of my life. I always ask for extra sauces, especially the creamy aioli.
- Calimari: Perfectly simple. These won't
disappoint.
Mains:
- Potato Gnocchi: This is Ibby's signature dish. Creamy clouds in a leek-cream sauce with tomatoes, broccoli and parm. Ask for it with chicken.
- Amish Chicken or Bistro burger: These are staples on the menu. While their accoutrements change, they are ever-present and sure to satisfy a craving. Only once has my chicken come out slightly undrecooked to which the waiters quickly brought me a new dish.
Dessert:
- Bananas foster: The star of the show. Some brownies are better than others but this is always a hit.
- Jilly's ice cream: I haven't had a flavor that I don't like.
Some of my favorite seasonal specials:
- Seasonal risotto: These can be hit or miss but one particular butternut squash risotto was the best I had ever had.
- Sweet potatoes with hummus and goat cheese: A delightful appetizer.
- Smore's tart: GET THIS.
- Vegetable curry: Love this new dish they released after New Year 2016.

These, and many other dishes at Ibby's have left me full, happy, and ready for my next meal. Thanks for keeping me well-fed, Ibby's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 24, 2016

I booked Ibby's a week in advanced. Despite this, my group still had to wait half and hour before we could be seated, and since Ibby's is located in a cafeteria, there were no places next to the restaurant to wait. The staff was very accommodating though, and gave us free fries for the inconvenience. The food itself was delicious--a highly recommend the desserts--and there were lots of good vegetarian options. Although more expensive than a cafeteria meal, the price is a decent value when compared with an actual fine dining restaurant. My salad was really small considering how much I paid for it, though. My biggest critique is that Ibby's should set a limit for how long groups can stay or avoid overbooking, since the wait time was ridiculous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 23, 2016

Found this restaurant through Open Table. Great food in an on-campus location. Nice to dine with current students, faculty and community members. Outstanding value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 19, 2016

the staff were very friendly, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2015

Nice place for Lunch, have not tried it for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2015

Our waitress wasn't very friendly or nice to us. She gave us sub-par service. When we didn't tip her generously, she threw all of our cards down on the table, made a loud noise, & then stormed off.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2015

I am so grateful to have a place like Ibby's on campus. It's a great place to go for special occasions. I take my staff here every semester. And it's fun going with a class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2015

I know you cannot control what your patrons do, but I made a reservation for a corporate lunch. We waited for more than 15 minutes past our reservation time, and eventually, a solution was found in which I left others to conduct the meeting and I just left.
I can't rate the restaurant because I never sat down to eat.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2015

Everything was great! To be picky, the waiter was a bit impatient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2015

I went at 9:45pm with a party of 3. Two of the three of us ordered the ribeye steak. One person had a good cut, but the other had a so much fat and gristle that it was almost inedible. For the price, it wasn't worth it. This is why I steer clear of steak that isn't filet at a restaurant like this.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 2, 2015

Went to Ibby's at 9:30pm with a party of 4. We sat outside. Would have been nice to have more lighting. Despite being farther from the kitchen, we were not forgotten. The service was great, food came out at a reasonable time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2015

Food was excellent, not too crowded at 6:00pm, service was fast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2015

I was in a party of 4 people. The appetizers came out quickly, but the main meal took a while to come out. It was later in the evening, so not as many people were coming in. Then, the food was a little too salty. My brussel sprouts were burned as well. Have been there when it was better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 17, 2015

A warm April night, trees flowering nearby, excellent salmon with vegetables. My only complaint would be that the only sparkling wine by the glass was moscato.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 12, 2015

I was in a party of 3, and we were seated outside. The drinks took very long to come out. I had to go up to the waitress who was on her phone to ask if the tea was ready. Of course, she had forgotten. Being outside, I felt like we had been forgotten. The food took at least 45 minutes to come out. Altogether, we were there for a little over 2 hours. It wasn't the best service, and not a place to go if you are in a rush on a Saturday night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 3, 2015

The sangria was a lil watered down, feel me. Besides that the steak was 🔥🔥🔥🔥

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2015

we were going to a play at Washington U. and ate at Libby's beforehand and it was delicious. Everything was superb. Will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 21, 2015

We went for dinner on a Sat night. The service was excellent. Fast and very friendly. I didn't realize that 95% of the diners were students. The music was incredibly loud and the food was average. Very limited wine selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2015

Great food as always. Seems like there was a new waitress and I didn't get the hospitable experience like normal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.