About Ibby's - Washington University

6465 Forsyth Blvd
St. Louis, MO 63130
View Larger Map

Ibby's is nestled at the heart of the campus of Washington University in St. Louis in the Danforth University Center. The unique campus bistro offers foods that are simple, fresh and inspired by the seasons; focusing on regional products prepared with classical cooking techniques by Chef Jon Lowe.

With a focus on sustainable and locally-sourced ingredients, Ibby's offers a delightful, fresh, daily-changing buffet that encompasses all of your lunch needs, whether you have time for just a quick stop or a leisurely meal. During dinner hours, the seasonal menu includes soups, salads, starters, entreés, alcoholic beverages and coffee. Creative, house-made desserts are popular as well!

The space was named after Chancellor Emeritus William H. Danforth's late wife, Ibby, in honor of her dedication and support of WUSTL!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am -2:00pm;
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wallace

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 935-3940

Website:
http://ibbys.wustl.edu/

Parking Details:
Ibby's is located in the Danforth University Center. There is meter parking in front and a paid garage behind the building. Parking is not validated. After 5pm, you may park in the adjacent lot without a permit.

Public Transit:
Bus stop is located at the corner of Forsyth and Wallace.

Metro link stop is located at Skinker and Forest Park Parkway.

Executive Chef:
David Rushing

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ribeye - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Baked Macaroni and Cheese - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
New England Clam Chowder - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Calamari - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Spicy Buttermilk Fried Chicken - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Chicken Fried Steak - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Deviled Eggs - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Steamed Mussels - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Roasted Apple And Pear Tart - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Fitz's Float - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Seared Scallops - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Putine - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Ibby's Winter Risotto - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Pumpkin Semifreddo - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Marinated Bean Salad - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
bananas foster ice cream - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Rustic Herb Potato Hash - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Goat Cheese Cheesecake - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Watermelon Sorbet - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Chicken Gnocchi - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Starr's spiced sweet potato cake - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
s'more - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Mahi Mahi - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Steak And Frites - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Rainbow Trout With Squash Risotto - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
French Onion Soup - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Chicken Sliders - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Chocolate Mousse - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Butternut Squash Polenta - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Pan seared Troutdale Farms trout - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Rustic Apple Tart - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Rainbow Trout With White Bean And Kale Ragu - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Heirloom Tomato Bruschetta - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Fried Calamari Salad - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Smoked Tomato Soup - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Herb Roasted Chicken - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
House Special Gnocchi - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Butternut Squash Canneloni With Chorizo Ragu - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Braised Pork Shank With Polenta - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Roasted Chicken With Sweet Potato Puree And Brussels Sprouts - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Burger Special With Bacon Herb Goat Cheese And Roasted Mushrooms - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Grilled Trout Nicoise Salad - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Seafood Stew - Ibby's -  Washington University, St. Louis, MO

Ibby's - Washington University Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
St. Louis
Best Overall
Midtown
Best Value
Midtown
1 More
Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Great for Lunch (8)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (6)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Fun (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Romantic (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dancing (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A great change from the usual college fa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

A great change from the usual college fare! Plenty of options for everyone and accommodating staff made it a good dining experience. It is a little expensive

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ibbys' waiters/waitresses are always so ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Ibbys' waiters/waitresses are always so friendly and willing to serve you in any way they can to make your night/day special. The food is really well cooked and perfect for special occasions. The atmosphere has a relaxing and soothing vibe. You can also go there to have a quick bite if you are in a rush.

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Organic, Live Music, People Watching, Fireplace, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Dancing, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great wait staff, great vibe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great food, great wait staff, great vibes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found Ibby's to be a great value over ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We found Ibby's to be a great value overall. And, it's a great place for the college crowd--nice place to gather with friends and enjoy a good meal. We also had great service. Our one big disappointment was the food. One person in our party ordered a burger that was served so overcooked that it was barely edible. I'm sure our son will go to Ibby's many times in the future, but Mom and Dad are more likely to go somewhere off campus.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

I love this place. It's easy to get to o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I love this place. It's easy to get to on campus and is a great pot to meet up with a friend or go on a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, interesting chatterbox table companion

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2016

This last visit was quite the experience. My boyfriend and I decided to have dinner at Ibby's to celebrate finals and enjoy some good food, and it was his first time there. We both ordered the chicken and the banana's foster and smores tart for dessert. The chicken was very moist, a little salty, and plenty of food for the both of us. It wasn't anything too exciting, but it was still good. I also got a side of smashed potatoes- basically small potatoes that have been smashed down a little and then seasoned and fried. They're pretty good and I would recommend! The banana's foster is a cult favorite. The smores tart had a very dense graham cracker crust and the chocolate ganache filling was pretty rich but the few bites I had were very flavorful.

A few minutes after we sat down and before we ordered, a lone elderly man at the table next to us interrupted our conversation and informed us that what we were talking about (the intersection of humanities and science) was precisely the area his research was in, and talked to us about this until dessert (about an hour). Needless to say, he was very smart and had a lot to talk about! We had a hard time getting a few words in. This may not be an experience many Ibby's-goers will have, but a few lucky ones will be treated to this chatterbox.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

People cut the line at the front desk bu ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2016

People cut the line at the front desk but the waitress didn't seem to care at all. The waiters and waitresses were all very nice, but very slow and unwilling to fasten the pace even with customer's request. They also disappeared very often, making the dining process even slower. Would not recommend if you have lots of time and meal points to kill.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Do college students really eat this stuff?

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2016

The food here was terrible. They had vegetable soup it tasted like they had opened a can. A barbecue pork was wet and not hot. No flavor to anything and was charged extra for coffee when we were told drink's were included. The place is beautiful the staff are pleasant but the food is so bad that it is not worth going to. There were five of us and none of us could eat it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Good food, convenient to campus events

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was excellent and the service good. We were the only non-students dining on a Friday night which meant it was very noisy. Very convenient to events on campus including Holmes Lounge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

disappointed.

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2016

food was underwhelming at best. i have been to ibby's many times, but my last few visits have been very disappointing. the salmon sandwich i ordered had a strange smell and tasted nothing like salmon. the burger i ordered instead was cooking all the way through and had no flavor. sometimes i feel students are not given the same quality of attention to their dining experience as visitors and parents.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Too salty food, only fruit eatable

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2016

I invited my friend in Ibba's lunch buffet because I like Ibby's service and mood. However, I and my friend couldn't eat any food. All looks good but Turkey and potaop, and pasta--main food everything was too salty. I really couldn't eat any food and my friend just gave up to eat. I just ate some fruit.

It was so disappointing because my friend already had some bad experience for Ibby's food. Last time, my friend ordered Burgers that was also very salty. That's why this time we tried Buffet, and again it was too salty. I don't want to eat never, ever again. My friend was so unhappy so I paid it but I am very unhappy too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Campus gem

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2016

As a proud WashU student, Ibby's epitomizes the high culinary standards that the school has. I'm a regular at this on-campus restaurant and it is hands-down my favorite way to use my meal points. Whether I'm grabbing lunch (there are buffet and a la carte menus available Tu-F) or having a celebratiry dinner after finals, Ibby's is a shining light on WashU's campus. After 4 years, I've seen many cycles of Ibby's seasonally rotating menu. The waitstaff is incredible and service is excellent and always willing to make accommodations and substitutions. I look forward to the new dishes at Ibby's this year.

What's hot:

  • Sangria: A pitcher of Ibby's sangria of the day is absolutely necessary.

Appetizers-

  • Bistro Fries: These are a mainstay on the menu and the love of my life. I always ask for extra sauces, especially the creamy aioli.

  • Calimari: Perfectly simple. These won't

disappoint.

Mains:

  • Potato Gnocchi: This is Ibby's signature dish. Creamy clouds in a leek-cream sauce with tomatoes, broccoli and parm. Ask for it with chicken.

  • Amish Chicken or Bistro burger: These are staples on the menu. While their accoutrements change, they are ever-present and sure to satisfy a craving. Only once has my chicken come out slightly undrecooked to which the waiters quickly brought me a new dish.

Dessert:

  • Bananas foster: The star of the show. Some brownies are better than others but this is always a hit.

  • Jilly's ice cream: I haven't had a flavor that I don't like.

Some of my favorite seasonal specials:

  • Seasonal risotto: These can be hit or miss but one particular butternut squash risotto was the best I had ever had.

  • Sweet potatoes with hummus and goat cheese: A delightful appetizer.

  • Smore's tart: GET THIS.

  • Vegetable curry: Love this new dish they released after New Year 2016.

These, and many other dishes at Ibby's have left me full, happy, and ready for my next meal. Thanks for keeping me well-fed, Ibby's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Good value, poor waiting time

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 24, 2016

I booked Ibby's a week in advanced. Despite this, my group still had to wait half and hour before we could be seated, and since Ibby's is located in a cafeteria, there were no places next to the restaurant to wait. The staff was very accommodating though, and gave us free fries for the inconvenience. The food itself was delicious--a highly recommend the desserts--and there were lots of good vegetarian options. Although more expensive than a cafeteria meal, the price is a decent value when compared with an actual fine dining restaurant. My salad was really small considering how much I paid for it, though. My biggest critique is that Ibby's should set a limit for how long groups can stay or avoid overbooking, since the wait time was ridiculous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Never Had Places Like This On Campus

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 23, 2016

Found this restaurant through Open Table. Great food in an on-campus location. Nice to dine with current students, faculty and community members. Outstanding value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

great experiences

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 19, 2016

the staff were very friendly, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for Lunch, have not tried it ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2015

Nice place for Lunch, have not tried it for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Mean waitress

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2015

Our waitress wasn't very friendly or nice to us. She gave us sub-par service. When we didn't tip her generously, she threw all of our cards down on the table, made a loud noise, & then stormed off.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Nicest place on campus!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2015

I am so grateful to have a place like Ibby's on campus. It's a great place to go for special occasions. I take my staff here every semester. And it's fun going with a class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I know you cannot control what your patr ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2015

I know you cannot control what your patrons do, but I made a reservation for a corporate lunch. We waited for more than 15 minutes past our reservation time, and eventually, a solution was found in which I left others to conduct the meeting and I just left.

I can't rate the restaurant because I never sat down to eat.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Fantastic!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2015

Everything was great! To be picky, the waiter was a bit impatient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Ribeye Steak

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2015

I went at 9:45pm with a party of 3. Two of the three of us ordered the ribeye steak. One person had a good cut, but the other had a so much fat and gristle that it was almost inedible. For the price, it wasn't worth it. This is why I steer clear of steak that isn't filet at a restaurant like this.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great Time

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 2, 2015

Went to Ibby's at 9:30pm with a party of 4. We sat outside. Would have been nice to have more lighting. Despite being farther from the kitchen, we were not forgotten. The service was great, food came out at a reasonable time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very Good Dinner

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2015

Food was excellent, not too crowded at 6:00pm, service was fast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent Experience

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2015

I was in a party of 4 people. The appetizers came out quickly, but the main meal took a while to come out. It was later in the evening, so not as many people were coming in. Then, the food was a little too salty. My brussel sprouts were burned as well. Have been there when it was better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great patio dining

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 17, 2015

A warm April night, trees flowering nearby, excellent salmon with vegetables. My only complaint would be that the only sparkling wine by the glass was moscato.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Weak Service

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 12, 2015

I was in a party of 3, and we were seated outside. The drinks took very long to come out. I had to go up to the waitress who was on her phone to ask if the tea was ready. Of course, she had forgotten. Being outside, I felt like we had been forgotten. The food took at least 45 minutes to come out. Altogether, we were there for a little over 2 hours. It wasn't the best service, and not a place to go if you are in a rush on a Saturday night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Ostensibly great

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 3, 2015

The sangria was a lil watered down, feel me. Besides that the steak was 🔥🔥🔥🔥

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

great

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2015

we were going to a play at Washington U. and ate at Libby's beforehand and it was delicious. Everything was superb. Will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Better for WU students

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 21, 2015

We went for dinner on a Sat night. The service was excellent. Fast and very friendly. I didn't realize that 95% of the diners were students. The music was incredibly loud and the food was average. Very limited wine selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

Good food, mediocre waitress

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2015

Great food as always. Seems like there was a new waitress and I didn't get the hospitable experience like normal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great Service

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 30, 2015

As we are over 65, we asked for several items to be shared. This was done quickly with a full set of plates and silverware for each of us. So we had a variety of dishes at a modest price. We even received a discount because we had tickets for the Edison Theater after the dinner and were served quick enough to easily get to the show on time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good for students, but not worth it otherwise

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 24, 2015

I had heard great things about Ibby's from other students on campus, so I thought it thought it would be worth checking out. I wasn't disappointed. The food was exquisitely laid out. Both the entrees and the desserts seemed pretty high-class considering Ibby's was on campus. Service was pretty decent--we were seated within a few second of arriving and our waitress was on top of her game. The restaurant seemed a little bachelor-y to me. It was pretty dark with a black and red color scheme.

Just a couple of things that didnt make me 100% satisfied: It was really loud. It was extremely difficult to hear even the person next to me. The food was amazing, but it was also extremely overpriced. It would be worth it if you were paying with a surplus of meal points, but I definitely wouldn't come here if I were paying with actual money. There were pretty limited options, and I didn't think the food was that amazing considering the prices. I had the Amish Roasted Chicken, which was pretty good, but it was also $18. It seemed more like a $12 meal.

All in all, I was pretty satisfied. I would come back only because I have the meal points for it, but other restaurants in St. Louis can give you better bang for your buck.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dinner before theatre

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 17, 2015

Good food, lively atmosphere, reasonable prices, convenient to university events but rather noisy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our most recent time eating here is the last time

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 17, 2015

We have dined at Ibbys a number of times. When we were there we waited at the reception desk for 15 minutes (we had a 6:30 reservation) before being shown to our table. the pasta special had vegetables and scallops. When it arrived i could find no scallops, told the server, and about 10 minutes later was brought very tiny pieces of scallops in a cup with a broth of some kind. I had to use a fork to remove the small pieces of scallop from the cup-the pasta sauce and the broth were not compatible. The scallops were mushy and added nothing to the pasta dish. The pieces of asparagus int he pasta were cut very small-and I said to my husband that they must have been unusually busy, and were cutting the ingredients very small to make them go for a larger number of servings. The pork chop was done on a grill, and instead of putting it in the oven to finish, it was finished on the grill-making it rather tough. The accompanying au gratin potatoes were cheesy and crispy on top-but the potatoes inside were RAW. It must have been cooked at a much higher temp for a shorter period of time, but they were not edible. It was a disappointing meal-maybe they had the students cooking in the kitchen?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

FOOD was better than expected!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 12, 2014

The food was really great, in fact better than a lot of restaurants in St. Louis, be it from the decoration of the food plate, to the taste of food itself, and it was not very oily/ salty, which was something really great that I liked about Ibby's. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good find!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2014

It's on the WU campus, which may be a bit tough to find (and for parking too). But good food, plenty of it too - try the crustini for dessert Pork chops and steak were both very good and prepared just right. Just remember to make reservations, because it is usually full. The "front desk" seems to have a lot of duties, so may be a wait to track them down to get seated. A hidden gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great for university visits, no reason otherwise

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2014

Ibby's is the best dining option on campus at Washington University. The only higher-end options are for members only. It is located in the "DUC" student center, next to the dining hall area and students are allowed to Ibby's there as part of their dining plan. That should signal about the ambiance. So it isn't a great option to come from the outside if you didn't already want to come to WU. It's also a challenge to park on campus, if you would be coming there just for the restaurant not really worth it. You can park in the garage adjacent to the student center for $1/hour. Overall, I enjoy it and eat there regularly, in case the above sounds too negative!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Wwaitress could not balance her tables.

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2014

Great food and very accomadating hostess. However the waitress could not balance her tables efficiently.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Awesome job!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2014

The food was fantastic, and the staff was very accommodating with the fact that I was in a rush. Would absolutely go back again. The gooey-butter milkshakes were fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality restaurant food at meal-point pr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2014

Quality restaurant food at meal-point prices. I go here bi-weekly and love the choices that accompany the seasonally rotating lunch and dinner menus. Ibby's is a great place to grab a bite with a group of friends, ask that cute girl in your orgo class on a date, or bring parents to when they visit. Attentive service, sensitive of dietary restrictions and open to substitutions.

My hotlist:

  • Parmesan Fries - A staple in my diet by now.

  • Calimari - A crowd-pleaser.

  • Gnocchi - Everyone's favorite. Insider hack: ask to mix red and white sauces for a vodka-like tomato cream sauce.

  • Brussels sprouts - Extra crispy, of course.

  • Bananas foster - Their signature dessert. Bomb.

  • House Sangria - Creative flavors and a great way to celebrate any occasion.

  • Ice cream - Locally sourced ice-cream. Order Serendipity's Salty Caramel or Bananas Foster and try Jilly's Twisted Pink Velvet, Get Lucky and KABOOMM flavors, among others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.