About i Ricchi

1220 19th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

A restaurant specializing in the preparation of "Cucina Rustica" - Tuscan country-style cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Modern Tuscan, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
19th & Jefferson Pl.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 835-0459

Website:
http://www.iricchidc.com/

Catering:
We cater small - medium sized events.

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking is available at Dinner.

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle South

Executive Chef:
Christianne Ricchi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
See our Weekly / Monthly Calendar for all our special events.
Wine Tastings, Dinners, Ladies Nights, and all special promotions.
Sign Up and receive special deals !!

Restaurant Photos

Filetto Alla Zingara
Insalata Caprese
Penne Strascicate
Semifreddo alle Fragole
Fritto Misto De Mare
Goat Cheese Salad
salmon carpaccio
Tortelloni Al Burro E Salvia O Al Rose
Gelato
Breads Basket
Pork Chop
Strawberry Semifreddo
Veal Chop
Linguini Alla Vongole
Calamari
Semifreddo Fragolle
Panna Cotta
Tiramisu
Carpaccio De Salmone
Lamb Chop With Polenta
Risotto Al Funghi Porcini
Finocchio
Zenzero Martini
Parpadelle Sul Coniglio
Assorted Tuscan Bread
Tagliatelle Fresche con Funghi e Piselli
Bread
Grigliata Mista Della Casa
Torta Chocolate With Sliced Pear
Calamari Frutti
Apéritif-Aperol
Chocolate Meringue
Espresso
Foccacia
Tuscan Tramonto
Pollo Al Balsamico
Branzino
Banfi Rosa Regale
Zunzero Martini
Prosecco
Bistecca All'arrabbiata
I Dolci Dei Ricchi
 Salmone Reale D’alaska Sulla Brace
Appetizer
Lombatina Di Vitello Con Patate Al Forno E Macedonia Di Verdure
Tris di primi

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

i Ricchi provides private rooms and special menus for parties of 12 or more.

i Ricchi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

fit for foodies (82)
special occasion (78)
romantic (56)
See All
great for lunch (47)
neighborhood gem (47)
notable wine list (39)
great for outdoor dining (30)
good for groups (25)
great for brunch (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, good service, thanks to the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, good service, thanks to the waiter! No parking available? No worries! Thanks to the parking attendants!! Friendly service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I consistently receive excellent food an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

I consistently receive excellent food and service. It is a wonderful place to catch up with a friend or business associate.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

6:30 PM reservation, we decided to eat o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

6:30 PM reservation, we decided to eat outside since the inside was too noisy as happy hour was still going on. The free valet parking was a very nice touch as we arrived during rush-hour when it is difficult to park on the street. The 2 of us, enjoying a date night on a Tuesday were seated outside at a four-person table under a nice patio umbrella. The table and the table next to us both needed wobble wedges, which were addressed immediately.

The service was prompt and polite throughout the evening, with multiple people asking us in an unintrusive way how our meals were at each course. We used a three course meal Groupon, and every dish was delicious. We had the scallops and octopus much were both cooked perfectly and well seasoned. We had veal and octopus but were both cooked perfectly and well seasoned. And we had the veal and branzino for the entrées, also delicious! I'd give the cheesecake a 4 out of 5, but overall still pretty good.

Would definitely recommend i Ricchi to anyone looking for a great Italian restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Have been here a number of times and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Have been here a number of times and the food, service and overall experience has remained consistently high. It is one of my favorite places.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always terrific! Food and service was ex ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always terrific! Food and service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experiences I can ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I can remember having. The meat was cooked as ordered & the tastes of the Lamb Chops & steak were wonderful. The vegetables were cooked well also. Too often things are either over or under cooked. This chef was on top of his game. The fresh bread, appetizer's, wine & dessert were all very good. Our waiter was knowledgeable & very comfortable to talk with. Service can add or subtract from a meal, & in this case he definitely enhanced our evening. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i Ricchi is a consistently excellent res ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

i Ricchi is a consistently excellent restaurant with superb service. It can be a particular bargain using one of the discount services, but even without it it is an excellent value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

iRicchi has AMAZIng food and great servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

iRicchi has AMAZIng food and great service. What sets them apart is the friendly staff and welcoming nature of everyone in the restaurant. We always dine when there is a GROUPON or Living Social deal (it is pricey without the deal but worth the $ either way) and we are always treated wonderfully.

I took a friend for her 50th birthday and (in her words) "OMG, everything that touched my lips was amazing"!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding - great food, fine wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always outstanding - great food, fine wine list and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a hankering for Italian and heard i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Had a hankering for Italian and heard i Ricchi was great--and it was! Owner/funder Christianne Ricchi oversees the operation personally, and the staff are outstanding (if you can, ask for Darina). I had a very filling tuna and bean salad for an appetizer (could have sufficed for dinner), plus an outstanding roast salmon. Just a block or two SW of Dupont Circle Metro, this restaurant is outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best italian food I've had. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Some of the best italian food I've had. Pasta made in house. Fantastic place. Great food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal in a great location but the s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great meal in a great location but the service from the welcoming maitre d' to our waitress is the treasure that is this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered an appetizer of sausage and be ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I ordered an appetizer of sausage and beans. The menu didn't say there was fennel in the sausage. I don't like fennel and would have ordered something else if I'd known. Also my entree was trout, which was not seasoned at all, but which I've found is typical of restaurants that serve fish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

There was a very large table (about 12 t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

There was a very large table (about 12 to 14 people) next to us, so the noise was overwhelming. Even with just two of us we could not carry on a conversation. We used a Groupon which is a great deal. In the past, the food has been excellent, but this time it was mostly mediocre. The grilled octopus was rubbery and the filet zingara (which had been great in the past) was poor - not great meat quality and it seemed as if it has been microwaved - the meat was not browned at all on the outside, no flavor. Very good burrata appetizer and good cheesecake for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

We come here every time we visit DC. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We come here every time we visit DC. The food is consistently fabulous. The dining room transports you to the hills of Tuscany. Service is attentive without ever being intrusive. Always a memorable meal at I Ricchi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i Ricchi is a fantastic Italian restaura ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

i Ricchi is a fantastic Italian restaurant. Really classy with an engaged owner on the scene. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of many visits to I ricchi. Experie ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of many visits to I ricchi. Experience was outstanding from my reminder call by Anastasia to our welcome by Anastasia, our hostess to our service by Dorina who was not only a great waitperson but a charming woman as well. We will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I booked this well in advance of our tri ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I booked this well in advance of our trip to DC. We were looking to enjoy a first romantic dinner but found the service not conducive to this. We ordered appetisers and said we would enjoy them and then order dinner after. The waiter said that they don't do it that way and we needed to order everything a once. We were rushed and probably ordered things that we wouldn't have if we had the timing as we wished it to be. The food was okay...probably because we didn't order what we really would have liked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I can't say enough about i ricci. The f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I can't say enough about i ricci. The food, the staff, the ambiance, all superior to 95% of the restaurants in DC. I've been here numerous times, and it continues to impress me. Whatever the occasion, I am always more than satisfied with my dining experience. Not only is the food extraordinary, but I will say they have the best bread basket in town! Ms. Ricci is certainly at the top of her game.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food, service and friendly ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always great food, service and friendly - we like to go for lunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food!! Great service!!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food!! Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well I wanted to try this restaurant sin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Well I wanted to try this restaurant since we came in dc. I used to work in dupont so I heard about this one. Finally with a groupon deal, I tried it with my wife. The scallop, meatballs and the mozzarella salad was really refreshing and fantastic start. But after that it didn't meet the expectations. Branzino was really tasty but it was super simple. No artistic touch or any love for it from the kitchen. For 36 dollar you would expect a top notch entree which you want to remember. The next one was rib eye for my wife, it wasn't one of the best meat we have tried. The taste was bland and no flavor in it. It was just a cooked meat, nothing else. Desert was super good, can't remember what we got.

Service wise it was nice too.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

NOT worth the price. Food was so-so, ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

NOT worth the price. Food was so-so, service was mediocre. Extremely overpriced for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Everyone knows your name and treats you ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Everyone knows your name and treats you like royalty in this restaurant. Woman-owned and it takes a woman's touch to make such a special place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mediocre Italian food at above average p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Mediocre Italian food at above average prices for DC. We are returning customers because we had been here for a group event once before that was well organized. We felt very rushed by our waiter: for example, once we said we didn't want dessert he didn't bother to ask if we wanted coffee or an after dinner drink, rather he just brought our check!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Specialty of the house was prepared inco ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Specialty of the house was prepared incorrectly...TWICE. Left with no dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent service, I like ice tea with l ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent service, I like ice tea with lots of ice. The waitress gave me my own decanter, checked, refilled and made sure I had everything I needed. Our food came out quickly and again several checks to make sure we were happy. The food is delicious, not heavy Southern Italian but light, fresh and truly full of flavor. We ate outside and enjoyed being screened in with beautiful greenery. 5 stars *****. Great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Nice--but not great. One host was d ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very Nice--but not great. One host was definitively unfriendly. Rest of staff and service was great. Food was very good, but again not awesome. Given the DC market for excellent dining; this is a safe bet, but not unique or noteworthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Apparently resting on its laurels. Staff ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Apparently resting on its laurels. Staff were pleasant, but this is a mass production kind of place, not as "special" as I thought it might be. Have heard for years that it is high-end Italian, but we were a bit underwhelmed - liked the food mostly, but not inspired. Small matter, but the caprese salad was 99.5% tomato and mozzarella, but almost no basil, which is key; not a big deal, but kind of obvious. Wine by the glass very limited and not great. Might try it again some day, but not eager to go back right now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

kkrongel

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Pushy waiter and okay food.

Nothing really great.

We booked a reservation on Open Table for 6:15 because the 6:30 we wanted wasn't available.

The restaurant was empty! When we left at 7:30 or so, it was still 80% empty.

It felt like a chain, trying to be a upscale restaurant.

I would say, don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Very good food and great menu

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Very good food and great menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The food was superb, the service impeccable.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

One of Washington's top restaurants. A bit pricey, but worth it. Our waiter (Said) was helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. We brought out of town guests there and it was a resounding success.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outside on the piazza

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We had a delightful lunch on the updated piazza. It was sunny and there was a cool breeze. We started with the outstanding calamari and a delicious beet salad. The calamari was the best in the city and the beets and farro salad was just right for a summer day.

I had a crisp Prosecco which was the perfect accompaniment for the appetizers. The Risotto of the day was mushroom and pea shoots and was perfectly cooked. The Pasta Bolognese was flavorful.

We are never disappointed at I Ricchi.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous italian food

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the t5wo meals we had there, although we missed Kenya our server from the first time, who was really great. The mixed grill was delicious. The noise level on a week night was better than on the weekend. Chairs which tend to be uncomfortable are easily overlooked given the quality of the food. I highly recommend the beet salad as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good Seafood

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I had an excellent mussels starter, very good trout entree and a nice semifredo for dessert. The server was attentive, and the atmosphere was elegantly casual with a mix of couples and families. My only problem was their rather off-putting system of "welcoming" customers. I was greeted at the door by a friendly man who escorted me to a position behind the hostess, who kept her back to me for some minutes until she was ready to direct a waiter to take me to my table. This seemed to be the way they treated all arrivals while I was there.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Unauthentic food, take it or leave it management

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

First impressions good - efficient maître d', comfortable setting - but these were soon dissipated somewhat by a pushy waiter who seemed bent on telling us what we wanted to eat and drink - usually the more expensive items - even though we told him that we had been in Italy the previous week. Water off a duck's back. Like other diners at an aspirational high-end restaurant I imagine, I am not impressed by a waiter telling me which notables from the local embassies, the World Bank and others frequently dined at the restaurant. I ordered polipo panzanella with cucumber, croutons, and tomato for antipasti and cavatelli neri for prima; my wife ordered the branzino. So, after some tasty bread and oil, our pushy waiter returning frequently to chat and overfill our wine glasses, worryingly the panzanella arrived at lightning speed. Uh, uh. Warmed up rather than cooked from fresh. What is it the I Ricchi chef says in the restaurant blurb: "During my time in Tuscany I was inspired by the role of food in Italian culture. Food is a lifestyle in Tuscany; people know where their food comes from and how to prepare it. They seek comfort and quality in their food." No self-respecting Tuscan chef would serve warmed up food with bread/croutons as carb filler and octopus in short supply. When I questioned the paucity of octopus with the manager, he didn't want to know, let alone rectify the problem. "I'll tell the chef". Ultimately, he reported that Americans apparently like lots of bread/croutons in their Italian dishes instead of seafood. What drivel! Next came my wife's branzino, which was beautifully cooked, and my cavatello neri, which although tasty was also short on seafood and long on pasta. Again, repeated visits from our pushy waiter. What was the rush? Ultimately, my wife ordered a very good tiramisu and I finished the nice (albeit greatly overpriced) Super Tuscan, and then left with my wallet $170 lighter. Hardly "a real food experience", as the restaurant blurb boasts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Outstanding service and meal!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Outstanding service and meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, service great. Chai ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was delicious, service great. Chairs uncomfortable However and noise level high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I are Italian and only spend our money here. The food is excellent. Just like eating in Italy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Too expensive

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I thought it was too expensive for a lunch downtown. I had the chicken and it was too spicy. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.