About i Ricchi

1220 19th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

A restaurant specializing in the preparation of "Cucina Rustica" - Tuscan country-style cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Modern Tuscan, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
19th & Jefferson Pl.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 835-0459

Website:
http://www.iricchidc.com/

Catering:
We cater small - medium sized events.

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking is available at Dinner.

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle South

Executive Chef:
Christianne Ricchi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
See our Weekly / Monthly Calendar for all our special events.
Wine Tastings, Dinners, Ladies Nights, and all special promotions.
Sign Up and receive special deals !!

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 12:45PM - 1:15PM 1:15PM - 1:15PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 6:30PM - 6:45PM 7:45PM - 8:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 6:30PM - 6:45PM 7:45PM - 8:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

i Ricchi provides private rooms and special menus for parties of 12 or more.

i Ricchi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

fit for foodies (87)
special occasion (79)
romantic (61)
See All
great for lunch (47)
neighborhood gem (43)
notable wine list (40)
good for groups (33)
great for outdoor dining (24)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (5)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I Ricchi was great as usual, but 45 min ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

I Ricchi was great as usual, but 45 min between first and second course was unacceptable. I hope this was an anomaly and not what the kitchen has become!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food and service was DELICIOUS and o ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our food and service was DELICIOUS and our waitstaff was EXCELLENT! Would go back 10/10 times.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

All our appetizers were mouth-watering, ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

All our appetizers were mouth-watering, from my crispy fried calamare to the mussels to the melt-in-your-mouth scallops. I'm not a big scallop eater, but I'm definitely ordering them next time. They saw to it that my husband, who had had his gall bladder removed just a week earlier, got his fish as requested, cooked without any fats or sauces, and it was delicious. My veal chop was also very tasty and cooked to order. For dessert, they again accommodated my husband by providing luscious berries void of any sauces. As for me, I so love their semi-freddo, a half frozen concoction of layers of strawberries, whipped cream, and crispy meringue, that I always order it, and my friend, a huge strawberry lover, completely agreed. We've introduced i Ricchi to at least 6 friends since we discovered it, and all have been as sold on the place as we are. Our waitress was a little too effusive, but she did see to it that my husband's food was prepared as needed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Seated late, poor service, only average food.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We went on a Friday evening with a reservation, lots of tables were available but they nevertheless kept us waiting for about 30 minutes. At one point I honestly thought they wanted us to leave. Service thereafter was slow, for example, I had to remind the waitress (who seemed frightened, BTW) to bring my wine which still hadn't arrived by the time the appetizers did. The food itself wasn't great. I agree with the previous reviews that note that this might work for the lunchtime work crowd or tourists who don't know good food, but it didn't work for us. We won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

A home run! The best food I have had in ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A home run! The best food I have had in DC in ten years. The calamari was light and fresh and the salmon was cooked to perfection. Don't miss this restaurant. The warm greeting at the door starts your experience and the food is five stars. I did not feel rushed. The waiter was helpful. The bread was fresh!

food5
ambience4
service5

What a superb restaurant. The service w ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

What a superb restaurant. The service was great but the food was heavenly. The only drawback was the noise level. Not a place for a quiet conversation or a romantic get away, unless you consider the romance you will have with the cuisine.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience!

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Awesome experience!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another delightful lunch at i Ricchi. We ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Another delightful lunch at i Ricchi. We've been coming here for some years now and never had anything other than a superb experience. It just clicks on every level: excellent menu, authentically Italian to the core, beautifully presented and prepared... I don't think there is a restaurant in the city that does fish as well... and served by charming and engaging staff from the maitre d's to the waiters, waitresses and the busboys. The wine list is exceptional in choice and value. And best of all, this is an adult restaurant... not yet another 20 something Happy Hour venue (although theirs is one of the best in the city) with deafening din and racket.. it's delightfully quiet and old school elegant. Our only complaint: the "rustic" and not too comfortable chairs. i Ricchi... rocks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrific lunch special.

Dined on May 16, 2016

Terrific lunch special.

food4
ambience3
service2

Service was not great, which is not typi ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was not great, which is not typical

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was incredible and so was t ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waitress was incredible and so was the Guatemalan man that helped her in her section. What amazing service!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you to I Ricchi for a wonderful di ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Thank you to I Ricchi for a wonderful dining experience!! Delicious food, outstanding service, and made us feel like we were right back in Italy!! Looking forward to returning and would recommend to all!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian in Washington , D.C. The ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Best Italian in Washington , D.C. The service was second to none. I and my party of four went to I Ricchi for dinner. Each course exceeded our expectations. We all had a favorite Italian in D.C., however, each of us now is an I Ricchi fan.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

I Ricchi has great food, but know that i ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I Ricchi has great food, but know that if you're a woman, you'll be treated as if you're invisible until men arrive. I hosted a client lunch at I Ricchi and couldn't get so much as a glass of water - even after asking for service. The waiter who turned out to be handling my table must have walked by 10 times. Then my male clients arrived. He was immediately at my table. I would have said something (beyond my initial - do I have a waiter? Which produced no response and no attention) had I not been hosting clients. Horrible experience.

food4
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyable dining! I've been ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable dining! I've been to this restaurant many times and it never fails to disappoint. Our service was fantastic, the wine list is solid, and the food is very good. I look forward to my next visit.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible Service

Dined on May 12, 2016

Booked restaurant for friends birthday dinner. We were both excited about going to I Ricchi. They called to confirm reservation and said would provide special for birthday. We came early to have a drink at the bar. Bartender very busy and uninterested in serving us. We were told our table was ready, paid the bar bill and got up only to be told to sit back down by the host. We again waited now well past our reservation time. Person who sat us said they had 2 parties with more folks then expected and waiter could not accommodate more tables. Saw 3 empty tables when we sat down. Our waiter was visibly unhappy we were seated in his area. He came over asked for our appetizer before we had looked at menus and seemed angry we were not ready. We didn't have a chance to ask any questions throughout the evening as he walked away so quickly. Food was good but felt rushed. Asked for butter three times before getting any. At the end of our entrée the waiter came over with the check and said are you done and left the check on the table before we could answer but yes we had enough of his rudeness. He never asked if we wanted desert or coffee. No birthday special, nothing special at all. Seems that they had overbooked the restaurant and parties brought more folks than expected. This is not my fault nor should I suffer for it. Had to apologize to friend for such a disappointing evening. As we left they were sawing tables in half with an electric saw while folks were still eating. Very poorly managed restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i Ricci continues to impress. Not only ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

i Ricci continues to impress. Not only is the food delicious, the menu diverse and the specials enticing and interesting, but the staff is the best DC has to offer. Never have I been to a restaurant where the servers know the nuance of each dish and will willingly ask the Chef to vary from it to accommodate a guest. The preparation and presentation is exquisite and the flavors, a treat to the senses. I will continue to patronize I Ricci, as there are few restaurants in DC that can hold a candle to it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food & quiet lunch spot

Dined on May 10, 2016

In the last week I had lunch at i Ricchi twice. They welcome you warmly and serve a perfect meal each time. We are small eaters, so the portions work,and if you need to share a dish they graciously accommodate. Food is at the highest level, the service is attentive and I returned the following week for a dinner with my daughter who works nearby. We have eaten dinner before which has always been wonderful. Very European. They are always pleased to have you dine with them.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply excellent! The attention to detai ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Simply excellent! The attention to detail, door greeting, service, menu options, well prepared meal, etc. all was very well done.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was awesome, service was attentive, ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was awesome, service was attentive, friendly and a bit overly suggestive but it didn't take away from the experience or the quality of the food. Just a note- order what you want, not what the wait staff pushes!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Always the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on May 7, 2016

What a treat the evening was. The service, ambience and food were all excellent. I've already recommended this restaurant to several people.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very attentive waitstaff! Much care give ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Very attentive waitstaff! Much care given to explaining the menu and helping each diner to make a menu selection that works for them. Food was outstanding. Antipasto cheese board offered several cheese, meat and condiments to choose from. Pasta was homemade and melted in your mouth! Desserts were also house made and delicious. We will definitely go back again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and Dalena (?) our serv ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was amazing and Dalena (?) our server was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable regarding the menu and wines. When/If I return to DC, will definitely return to I Ricchi. Already recommended it to friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remarkable, Excellent Italian

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I'd give this place more than 5 stars if it was possible. Every single item we ordered was spectacular. We ordered a scallop and gnocchi appetizer that was to die for. Every single ingredient was prepared perfectly. It was art. The entrees were no less remarkable. The wine list covered the gamut of price, regions and types. The pricing was excellent. The portions were spot on. We were so happy with the meal we both ordered desert. The tiramisu was the best I've ever had. I'd go back in a hear beat. Finally, we had a great waiter. He was attentive, very, very knowledgable, helpful and knew when to leave us alone.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Poor Outdoor Seating Arrangement

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I wanted to sit outside, even though it was both a little cool and windy. There were a couple of small tables next to the restaurant as well as a couple along a bench in the corner. The majority of tables, however, were grouped as separate 4-tops and were in the center of the courtyard There were 7 of these 4-tops in total. We chose the outermost 4-top closest to the street but, before the hostess seated us, she separated the 4-top into two 2-tops, and said something about possibly needing the table in case it got crowded later. My wife and I were amused at her action, since we thought it highly unlikely that it would ever get that crowded outside. Over the course of the next half-hour, two couples were also seated outside, but at smaller tables far apart from each other. At that point another party of two arrived and for some unknown reason, the host seated them immediately next to us -- 16 inches from our table -- when all of the other 4-tops were still unoccupied. So for the next hour we were forced to listen to every single very-loudly spoken word of their conversation, making for a most unpleasant evening. And, not surprisingly, when we left, and as we had suspected, no customers had ever been seated at any of those other 4-tops. Crowding us together had been completely unnecessary.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great evening. Service was frie ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

We had a great evening. Service was friendly and appropriate. The food was excellent and perfect proportions. The ambiance was great too. Thank you for a great dining experience.

food5
ambience4
service2

The food was outstanding. When we arrive ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was outstanding. When we arrived though the maitre D looked at us up and down and placed us at the kiddy table even though there was space everywhere. And we were not in jeans like some. If the food wouldn't have been so great, I'd never return!

food5
ambience5
service5

We LOVE iRicchi. Cocktails, wines, food ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We LOVE iRicchi. Cocktails, wines, food are all superb. And the wait staff are friendly and efficient. Always a 5 star experience. Thank you iRicchi for years of stunning gastronomic joy!

food5
ambience5
service5

Very helpful wait staff.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Very helpful wait staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Simply amazing is all I can say. The food and service were top notch. We will definitely be back for future celebrations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone knows your name!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

It is so nice to go to this restaurant. The host, Mr. Reynolds, always takes the time to study your name and ask about you. He will also note where you like to sit when you come back for repeat business. It is a wonderful experience to be treated so well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistently very good bordering on excellent

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Go here a few times a year and always am glad I did. Lunch specials always fresh and delicious. You can order small portions of some dishes and they readily accommodate special requests.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Everything was good till....the dessert ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Everything was good till....the dessert when the coffee my guest ordered arrived with a lipstick mark. Urg!!!! Not nice ending..

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Wine selection subpar

Dined on April 13, 2016

The wine list was not good. It did not compliment the food selection.

food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers and entrees were all wond ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

The appetizers and entrees were all wonderful!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Tuscan-style Italian Food - Delicious!

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

This was my second time eating at Ristorante I Ricchi. The first time was for dinner and this time for lunch. Both times the meals were outstanding! The food is a delight to the palette, wonderful presentation and generous servings. From appetizer to dessert every item was simply delicious! I will definitely be returning and recommending to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The location was very nice. B great atmo ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

The location was very nice. B great atmosphere and really good food. The service was very polite, but it took almost 45 minutes for two orders and we saw people get served before us who came in after us. That said, I would go back. It's not always easy to get the food out quickly.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great cocktails. The staff was happy to ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great cocktails. The staff was happy to modify an entree on the menu to suit my tastes better. Excellent tiramisu.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

consistent excelence

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We visit I ricchi almost every other month. Downtown is a bit out of the way for us but it makes for a special event. We are greeted by Anastasia who is knowledgeable and incredibly pleasant as well as the Mait're d. Our service has been invariably superb and we have gotten to know several of the waitstaff. Even the parking Valet has been a delight to work with and has at times had our car ready even before being given the parking stub.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.