About i Ricchi

1220 19th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

A restaurant specializing in the preparation of "Cucina Rustica" - Tuscan country-style cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Modern Tuscan, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
19th & Jefferson Pl.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 835-0459

Website:
http://www.iricchidc.com/

Catering:
We cater small - medium sized events.

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking is available at Dinner.

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle South

Executive Chef:
Christianne Ricchi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
See our Weekly / Monthly Calendar for all our special events.
Wine Tastings, Dinners, Ladies Nights, and all special promotions.
Sign Up and receive special deals !!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Filetto Alla Zingara - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Insalata Caprese - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Penne Strascicate - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Semifreddo alle Fragole - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Breads Basket - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Gelato - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Veal Chop - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Pork Chop - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Tortelloni Al Burro E Salvia O Al Rose - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Goat Cheese Salad - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
salmon carpaccio - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Strawberry Semifreddo - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Fritto Misto De Mare - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Linguini Alla Vongole - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Calamari - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Semifreddo Fragolle - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Panna Cotta - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Tiramisu - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Carpaccio De Salmone - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Lamb Chop With Polenta - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Risotto Al Funghi Porcini - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Finocchio - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Parpadelle Sul Coniglio - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Zenzero Martini - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Assorted Tuscan Bread - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Bread - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Tagliatelle Fresche con Funghi e Piselli - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Grigliata Mista Della Casa - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Torta Chocolate With Sliced Pear - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Calamari Frutti - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Apéritif-Aperol - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Chocolate Meringue - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Espresso - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Foccacia - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Pollo Al Balsamico - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Tuscan Tramonto - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Branzino - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Banfi Rosa Regale - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Zunzero Martini - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Prosecco - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Bistecca All'arrabbiata - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
I Dolci Dei Ricchi - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
 Salmone Reale D’alaska Sulla Brace - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Appetizer - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Lombatina Di Vitello Con Patate Al Forno E Macedonia Di Verdure - i Ricchi, Washington, DC
Tris di primi - i Ricchi, Washington, DC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

i Ricchi provides private rooms and special menus for parties of 12 or more.

i Ricchi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (32)
Business Meals (32)
See All
Authentic (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2810 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed the charcuterie boards. The entr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed the charcuterie boards. The entrees were hot, and flavorful. I think the price points were a bit high for the ambiance and food. But ultimately we enjoyed ourselves and let full and content. I wouldn't return mainly because Italian isn't my favorite, otherwise the food was tasty and appeared to be quite authentic.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Three of us our fir relaxing dinner afte ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Three of us our fir relaxing dinner after busy day working. Waitress new nothing about wine list which was brief at beat and well over priced.

Recommended wine returned as it was corked. Rest of service non existent.

Food was mediocre at beast. Two of us did not even eat the swordfish which had no flavor. My pasta with clans was over cooked and uninspired.

Save you money and time and eat elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We loved this restaurant, the service wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We loved this restaurant, the service was stellar, the food was wonderful and the ambiance was lovely. The restaurant was packed on the Saturday evening that we were there, lots of people enjoying themselves. We look forward to going back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food in nice, comfortable surr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food in nice, comfortable surroundings. Service was good and the treatment friendly. Now to try the i Ricchi in Italia!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Exceptional! Half price happy hour drin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Exceptional! Half price happy hour drinks. Had veal mileanese and tortellini with butter/sage. Both were outstanding. Good service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a reservation through Open Table an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Made a reservation through Open Table and got the time I wanted. My dinner companion had to cancel at the last moment, so I chose to sit at the Bar. It was unexpectedly terrific - great conversation with the bartender and other bar patrons. Dinner was served promptly and, as usual, was superb. A great evening and dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been enjoy this restaurant for ye ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I have been enjoy this restaurant for years now. Very consistent food quality and great for special occasions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been there many times. As always, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have been there many times. As always, delicious food and superb service. I highly recommend the Costoletta alla Milanese (Golden fried breaded veal chop). The best veal dish I can remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here on NY eve and our server w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined here on NY eve and our server was terrible. We waited about 20 minutes for our drinks to come . At the end of our meal he told us we were his last table and he couldn't leave until we left. We weren't closing the place down, but he made it clear he was waiting for us to leave, .The price fix dinner was over priced for what we were served. The lentil soup was very good, but the swordfish was flavorless. Wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We had an outstanding dinner and excelle ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had an outstanding dinner and excellent service on New Year's Eve. Will definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic Tuscan cuisine and excellent s ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Authentic Tuscan cuisine and excellent service. Totally like being in Florence. Try the risotto with wild mushrooms, and the pici pasta - and of course the Branzino, which is cooked to perfection. Good wine list too. Top it all off with the pear grappa. Can't be beat for a memorable Italian meal in DuPont Circle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic last minute reservations for N ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic last minute reservations for NYE's. The food was amazing and the place "felt" like NYEs. Will be back...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent and delicious food. Menu is i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Consistent and delicious food. Menu is interesting and varied. Attentive service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Looking for a spot for our Anniversary l ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Looking for a spot for our Anniversary lunch, we chose i Ricchi. We had tried to dine there before but picked a time between lunch and dinner when they were closed. We had to be in that neighborhood, knew the outstanding reputation of the restaurant, and decided this was a good time to dine there. The service was appropriately attentive and professional, the bread basket yielded some delightful tastes, the meatball appetizer over polenta was delicious, we welcomed being able to order smaller entree portions since we were going out for dinner later, and our entrees were also delicious. Their sense of al dente pasta was spot on, the pasta had chew but didn't taste like if had been undercooked as I've experienced at other restaurants. The gelati dessert offering four flavors from which we could choose so we had a our version of four scoops was an excellent way to finish the meal. We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a Groupon which made the price of ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a Groupon which made the price of our lunch very reasonably price. Our waitress was excellent and the food was very good. We will definitely come back next time we're in DC..

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful ambiance. Excellent service - ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Beautiful ambiance. Excellent service - wait staff is superb. DELICIOUS food, from start to finish. Outstanding wine - even the house selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as Always. This is the third ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent as Always. This is the third year we have celebrated our Anniversary at i Ricchi

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i loved it, excelent and delicious food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

i loved it, excelent and delicious food , i will be back and will recommend I Ricchi s to my family and friends

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After having lived in Italy for several ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

After having lived in Italy for several years, it is difficult to find an Italian restaurant in the U.S. that meets my expectations. I Ricchi is one of the few that does. There are many authentic Tuscan dishes and they are all excellent. I have taken dozens of Italian clients to this restaurant and, without exception, they have all given it high praise. It is more expensive than some other restaurants but the quality is well worth the price. For anyone visiting Italy, I also highly recommend the Ricchi family's restaurant in Cercina (Sesto Fiorentino) in the hills overlooking Florence

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, , Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent dinner with excellent service. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent dinner with excellent service. We really appreciated everything our server did to make it a special anniversary dinner. We plan to bring our sons and daughter in law next time they are all in town together.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding as was the service. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was outstanding as was the service. Our waitress could not have been more attentive to us. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Old fashioned, consistently good Italia ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Old fashioned, consistently good Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Lovely place and food is very good.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Lovely place and food is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and ambience as usual. th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful food and ambience as usual. the server this time was just okay...meaning she did not reflect the ambience and seemed to be happy to have a job and not happy about that job. Christina has made some terrific changes to the menu and I think her embracing Groupon will really pay off for this little Italian & seafood gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food and service were fantastic! We ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food and service were fantastic! We want to go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to i Ricci to celebrate two birt ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We went to i Ricci to celebrate two birthdays prior to going to the theater recently one night. We had informed them of both the birthdays and the time restraints and they handled it, as expected, like pros. We had a delicious meal, as usual, and were out in plenty of time to make the curtain. Food and service were the usual level of excellence and you can't beat the professionalism and the friendliness we always experience. I highly recommend everyone try it, as the food is great, especially the specials, and service far beyond anything I have experienced in most Washington restaurants.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tia's service was excellent. Fabulous s ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Tia's service was excellent. Fabulous steak. Excellent capresse salad. Lamb chop was dry. Amazing desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a wonderful experience at I Ricchi f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a wonderful experience at I Ricchi for my daughter's birthday this weekend. Our server Said was extremely attentive and so helpful with recommendations, and he made the visit extra special by taking our 5-year old into the kitchen to look around. We all loved our meals and the portions are very generous. The ambiance is so elegant and warm. Hope to go again next time I'm in DC!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great and expected. Overall ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was great and expected. Overall service however was not that great. Our waitress seemed overwhelmed and was just rude at times, came to check in on us every 10-15 mins which was a bit much. Next up we have the "complimentary" valet service outside. I had barely sat in my seat and looking for my purse when a got "um ma'am I do accept tips". I'll say it again, food was great but I won't be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Always professional service. I got the t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Always professional service. I got the trout and it was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Ricchi makes for a pleasant and tasty ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I Ricchi makes for a pleasant and tasty lunch experience. The service is very good and the food ranks high with this Italophile.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Experienced I Ricchi through Groupon. S ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Experienced I Ricchi through Groupon. Staff was very friendly and informative about accepting it--not awkward at all. They helped us pick some great menu options to try a variety of tastes. Food was wonderful, and of course we tipped generously and spent the savings on additional drinks. Made us feel like kings (and queens) for an evening.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy I Ricchi. Food, service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We always enjoy I Ricchi. Food, service, and ambiance are alway great. Best calimari in town. We loved the beet salad with farro. I would recommend the Filet a la Zingara. It was delicious. Perfectly cooked to medium rare. Would recommend iRicchi to anyone who would like a special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great swordfish. Cooked perfectly.

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great swordfish. Cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place, been patronizing for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I love this place, been patronizing for years. The staff it great and the food is always on spot.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I think i Ricci has to be my favorite re ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I think i Ricci has to be my favorite restaurant of all times. The food, service and ambiance is all superb, and I feel like family when I am there. There isn't too much on the menu that I haven't tried, and loved. I look forward to the specials, as it gives a departure from the norm, yet still at an unbelievably high level of quality. From the valet service (complimentary) to the friendly bartender (Eric), the entire evening is always a treat.

I've taken friends and family there and they are also impressed with the overall output from the restaurant. I love it and will continue to return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you enjoy time travel and would like ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

If you enjoy time travel and would like to enjoy DC during the early 1990's this is your place. A better and more affordable option would be Olive Garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Had a fantastic dinner there for my 9 ye ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had a fantastic dinner there for my 9 year anniversary with my boyfriend. Our waiter was fantastic, the decorations were gorgeous, and Darius Rucker was eating there too! The food was delicious, perfect serving sizes, great bread, wonderful mussels, and the perfect slice of cheesecake with a cappuccino.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic! The food was ama ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was fantastic! The food was amazing and plentiful (almost too much). The attention to detail was amazing. There is a feeling that the people who work at this establishment really go out of their way to ensure the customers have a wonderful meal and experience. We would highly recommend.

  • Toronto, Canada
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is Tuscan-style Italian. I had gril ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is Tuscan-style Italian. I had grilled salmon with polenta, which was well prepared. We used a Goupon meal for four, which was an outstanding value. Otherwise, count on paying $50-75 per person for a three course meal with wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.