About i Ricchi

1220 19th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

A restaurant specializing in the preparation of "Cucina Rustica" - Tuscan country-style cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Modern Tuscan, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
19th & Jefferson Pl.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 835-0459

Website:
http://www.iricchidc.com/

Catering:
We cater small - medium sized events.

Parking Details:
Free Valet Parking is available at Dinner.

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle South

Executive Chef:
Christianne Ricchi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
See our Weekly / Monthly Calendar for all our special events.
Wine Tastings, Dinners, Ladies Nights, and all special promotions.
Sign Up and receive special deals !!

Restaurant Photos

Filetto Alla Zingara
Insalata Caprese
Penne Strascicate
Semifreddo alle Fragole
Fritto Misto De Mare
Goat Cheese Salad
salmon carpaccio
Tortelloni Al Burro E Salvia O Al Rose
Gelato
Breads Basket
Pork Chop
Strawberry Semifreddo
Veal Chop
Linguini Alla Vongole
Calamari
Semifreddo Fragolle
Panna Cotta
Tiramisu
Carpaccio De Salmone
Lamb Chop With Polenta
Risotto Al Funghi Porcini
Finocchio
Zenzero Martini
Parpadelle Sul Coniglio
Assorted Tuscan Bread
Tagliatelle Fresche con Funghi e Piselli
Bread
Grigliata Mista Della Casa
Torta Chocolate With Sliced Pear
Calamari Frutti
Apéritif-Aperol
Chocolate Meringue
Espresso
Foccacia
Tuscan Tramonto
Pollo Al Balsamico
Branzino
Banfi Rosa Regale
Zunzero Martini
Prosecco
Bistecca All'arrabbiata
I Dolci Dei Ricchi
 Salmone Reale D’alaska Sulla Brace
Appetizer
Lombatina Di Vitello Con Patate Al Forno E Macedonia Di Verdure
Tris di primi

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:45PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:15PM 5:30PM - 6:00PM 6:30PM - 6:45PM 7:45PM - 8:30PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 6:30PM - 6:45PM 7:45PM - 8:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

i Ricchi provides private rooms and special menus for parties of 12 or more.

i Ricchi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Washington, D.C. Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

fit for foodies (83)
special occasion (71)
romantic (52)
See All
neighborhood gem (44)
great for lunch (41)
notable wine list (38)
great for outdoor dining (30)
good for groups (25)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i Ricchi is a fantastic Italian restaura ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

i Ricchi is a fantastic Italian restaurant. Really classy with an engaged owner on the scene. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of many visits to I ricchi. Experie ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

One of many visits to I ricchi. Experience was outstanding from my reminder call by Anastasia to our welcome by Anastasia, our hostess to our service by Dorina who was not only a great waitperson but a charming woman as well. We will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough about i ricci. The f ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

I can't say enough about i ricci. The food, the staff, the ambiance, all superior to 95% of the restaurants in DC. I've been here numerous times, and it continues to impress me. Whatever the occasion, I am always more than satisfied with my dining experience. Not only is the food extraordinary, but I will say they have the best bread basket in town! Ms. Ricci is certainly at the top of her game.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always great food, service and friendly ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

Always great food, service and friendly - we like to go for lunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Well I wanted to try this restaurant sin ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Well I wanted to try this restaurant since we came in dc. I used to work in dupont so I heard about this one. Finally with a groupon deal, I tried it with my wife. The scallop, meatballs and the mozzarella salad was really refreshing and fantastic start. But after that it didn't meet the expectations. Branzino was really tasty but it was super simple. No artistic touch or any love for it from the kitchen. For 36 dollar you would expect a top notch entree which you want to remember. The next one was rib eye for my wife, it wasn't one of the best meat we have tried. The taste was bland and no flavor in it. It was just a cooked meat, nothing else. Desert was super good, can't remember what we got. Service wise it was nice too.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

NOT worth the price. Food was so-so, ser ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

NOT worth the price. Food was so-so, service was mediocre. Extremely overpriced for the experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everyone knows your name and treats you ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Everyone knows your name and treats you like royalty in this restaurant. Woman-owned and it takes a woman's touch to make such a special place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Mediocre Italian food at above average p ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Mediocre Italian food at above average prices for DC. We are returning customers because we had been here for a group event once before that was well organized. We felt very rushed by our waiter: for example, once we said we didn't want dessert he didn't bother to ask if we wanted coffee or an after dinner drink, rather he just brought our check!!

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Specialty of the house was prepared inco ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Specialty of the house was prepared incorrectly...TWICE. Left with no dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, I like ice tea with l ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent service, I like ice tea with lots of ice. The waitress gave me my own decanter, checked, refilled and made sure I had everything I needed. Our food came out quickly and again several checks to make sure we were happy. The food is delicious, not heavy Southern Italian but light, fresh and truly full of flavor. We ate outside and enjoyed being screened in with beautiful greenery. 5 stars *****. Great dining experience

food4
ambience3
service4

Very Nice--but not great. One host was d ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very Nice--but not great. One host was definitively unfriendly. Rest of staff and service was great. Food was very good, but again not awesome. Given the DC market for excellent dining; this is a safe bet, but not unique or noteworthy.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Apparently resting on its laurels. Staff ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Apparently resting on its laurels. Staff were pleasant, but this is a mass production kind of place, not as "special" as I thought it might be. Have heard for years that it is high-end Italian, but we were a bit underwhelmed - liked the food mostly, but not inspired. Small matter, but the caprese salad was 99.5% tomato and mozzarella, but almost no basil, which is key; not a big deal, but kind of obvious. Wine by the glass very limited and not great. Might try it again some day, but not eager to go back right now.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

kkrongel

Dined on June 10, 2016

Pushy waiter and okay food. Nothing really great. We booked a reservation on Open Table for 6:15 because the 6:30 we wanted wasn't available. The restaurant was empty! When we left at 7:30 or so, it was still 80% empty. It felt like a chain, trying to be a upscale restaurant. I would say, don't bother.

food4
ambience3
service2

Very good food and great menu

Dined on June 10, 2016

Very good food and great menu

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was superb, the service impeccable.

Dined on June 9, 2016

One of Washington's top restaurants. A bit pricey, but worth it. Our waiter (Said) was helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. We brought out of town guests there and it was a resounding success.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Outside on the piazza

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We had a delightful lunch on the updated piazza. It was sunny and there was a cool breeze. We started with the outstanding calamari and a delicious beet salad. The calamari was the best in the city and the beets and farro salad was just right for a summer day. I had a crisp Prosecco which was the perfect accompaniment for the appetizers. The Risotto of the day was mushroom and pea shoots and was perfectly cooked. The Pasta Bolognese was flavorful. We are never disappointed at I Ricchi.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous italian food

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the t5wo meals we had there, although we missed Kenya our server from the first time, who was really great. The mixed grill was delicious. The noise level on a week night was better than on the weekend. Chairs which tend to be uncomfortable are easily overlooked given the quality of the food. I highly recommend the beet salad as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good Seafood

Dined on June 4, 2016

I had an excellent mussels starter, very good trout entree and a nice semifredo for dessert. The server was attentive, and the atmosphere was elegantly casual with a mix of couples and families. My only problem was their rather off-putting system of "welcoming" customers. I was greeted at the door by a friendly man who escorted me to a position behind the hostess, who kept her back to me for some minutes until she was ready to direct a waiter to take me to my table. This seemed to be the way they treated all arrivals while I was there.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Unauthentic food, take it or leave it management

Dined on June 4, 2016

First impressions good - efficient maître d', comfortable setting - but these were soon dissipated somewhat by a pushy waiter who seemed bent on telling us what we wanted to eat and drink - usually the more expensive items - even though we told him that we had been in Italy the previous week. Water off a duck's back. Like other diners at an aspirational high-end restaurant I imagine, I am not impressed by a waiter telling me which notables from the local embassies, the World Bank and others frequently dined at the restaurant. I ordered polipo panzanella with cucumber, croutons, and tomato for antipasti and cavatelli neri for prima; my wife ordered the branzino. So, after some tasty bread and oil, our pushy waiter returning frequently to chat and overfill our wine glasses, worryingly the panzanella arrived at lightning speed. Uh, uh. Warmed up rather than cooked from fresh. What is it the I Ricchi chef says in the restaurant blurb: "During my time in Tuscany I was inspired by the role of food in Italian culture. Food is a lifestyle in Tuscany; people know where their food comes from and how to prepare it. They seek comfort and quality in their food." No self-respecting Tuscan chef would serve warmed up food with bread/croutons as carb filler and octopus in short supply. When I questioned the paucity of octopus with the manager, he didn't want to know, let alone rectify the problem. "I'll tell the chef". Ultimately, he reported that Americans apparently like lots of bread/croutons in their Italian dishes instead of seafood. What drivel! Next came my wife's branzino, which was beautifully cooked, and my cavatello neri, which although tasty was also short on seafood and long on pasta. Again, repeated visits from our pushy waiter. What was the rush? Ultimately, my wife ordered a very good tiramisu and I finished the nice (albeit greatly overpriced) Super Tuscan, and then left with my wallet $170 lighter. Hardly "a real food experience", as the restaurant blurb boasts.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and meal!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Outstanding service and meal!

food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious, service great. Chai ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was delicious, service great. Chairs uncomfortable However and noise level high.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!

Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I are Italian and only spend our money here. The food is excellent. Just like eating in Italy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Too expensive

Dined on June 2, 2016

I thought it was too expensive for a lunch downtown. I had the chicken and it was too spicy. Would not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I Ricchi was great as usual, but 45 min ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

I Ricchi was great as usual, but 45 min between first and second course was unacceptable. I hope this was an anomaly and not what the kitchen has become!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food and service was DELICIOUS and o ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Our food and service was DELICIOUS and our waitstaff was EXCELLENT! Would go back 10/10 times.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

All our appetizers were mouth-watering, ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

All our appetizers were mouth-watering, from my crispy fried calamare to the mussels to the melt-in-your-mouth scallops. I'm not a big scallop eater, but I'm definitely ordering them next time. They saw to it that my husband, who had had his gall bladder removed just a week earlier, got his fish as requested, cooked without any fats or sauces, and it was delicious. My veal chop was also very tasty and cooked to order. For dessert, they again accommodated my husband by providing luscious berries void of any sauces. As for me, I so love their semi-freddo, a half frozen concoction of layers of strawberries, whipped cream, and crispy meringue, that I always order it, and my friend, a huge strawberry lover, completely agreed. We've introduced i Ricchi to at least 6 friends since we discovered it, and all have been as sold on the place as we are. Our waitress was a little too effusive, but she did see to it that my husband's food was prepared as needed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Seated late, poor service, only average food.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We went on a Friday evening with a reservation, lots of tables were available but they nevertheless kept us waiting for about 30 minutes. At one point I honestly thought they wanted us to leave. Service thereafter was slow, for example, I had to remind the waitress (who seemed frightened, BTW) to bring my wine which still hadn't arrived by the time the appetizers did. The food itself wasn't great. I agree with the previous reviews that note that this might work for the lunchtime work crowd or tourists who don't know good food, but it didn't work for us. We won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

A home run! The best food I have had in ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A home run! The best food I have had in DC in ten years. The calamari was light and fresh and the salmon was cooked to perfection. Don't miss this restaurant. The warm greeting at the door starts your experience and the food is five stars. I did not feel rushed. The waiter was helpful. The bread was fresh!

food5
ambience4
service5

What a superb restaurant. The service w ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

What a superb restaurant. The service was great but the food was heavenly. The only drawback was the noise level. Not a place for a quiet conversation or a romantic get away, unless you consider the romance you will have with the cuisine.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience!

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Awesome experience!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another delightful lunch at i Ricchi. We ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Another delightful lunch at i Ricchi. We've been coming here for some years now and never had anything other than a superb experience. It just clicks on every level: excellent menu, authentically Italian to the core, beautifully presented and prepared... I don't think there is a restaurant in the city that does fish as well... and served by charming and engaging staff from the maitre d's to the waiters, waitresses and the busboys. The wine list is exceptional in choice and value. And best of all, this is an adult restaurant... not yet another 20 something Happy Hour venue (although theirs is one of the best in the city) with deafening din and racket.. it's delightfully quiet and old school elegant. Our only complaint: the "rustic" and not too comfortable chairs. i Ricchi... rocks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrific lunch special.

Dined on May 16, 2016

Terrific lunch special.

food4
ambience3
service2

Service was not great, which is not typi ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was not great, which is not typical

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was incredible and so was t ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waitress was incredible and so was the Guatemalan man that helped her in her section. What amazing service!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you to I Ricchi for a wonderful di ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Thank you to I Ricchi for a wonderful dining experience!! Delicious food, outstanding service, and made us feel like we were right back in Italy!! Looking forward to returning and would recommend to all!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian in Washington , D.C. The ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Best Italian in Washington , D.C. The service was second to none. I and my party of four went to I Ricchi for dinner. Each course exceeded our expectations. We all had a favorite Italian in D.C., however, each of us now is an I Ricchi fan.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

I Ricchi has great food, but know that i ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I Ricchi has great food, but know that if you're a woman, you'll be treated as if you're invisible until men arrive. I hosted a client lunch at I Ricchi and couldn't get so much as a glass of water - even after asking for service. The waiter who turned out to be handling my table must have walked by 10 times. Then my male clients arrived. He was immediately at my table. I would have said something (beyond my initial - do I have a waiter? Which produced no response and no attention) had I not been hosting clients. Horrible experience.

food4
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyable dining! I've been ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable dining! I've been to this restaurant many times and it never fails to disappoint. Our service was fantastic, the wine list is solid, and the food is very good. I look forward to my next visit.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible Service

Dined on May 12, 2016

Booked restaurant for friends birthday dinner. We were both excited about going to I Ricchi. They called to confirm reservation and said would provide special for birthday. We came early to have a drink at the bar. Bartender very busy and uninterested in serving us. We were told our table was ready, paid the bar bill and got up only to be told to sit back down by the host. We again waited now well past our reservation time. Person who sat us said they had 2 parties with more folks then expected and waiter could not accommodate more tables. Saw 3 empty tables when we sat down. Our waiter was visibly unhappy we were seated in his area. He came over asked for our appetizer before we had looked at menus and seemed angry we were not ready. We didn't have a chance to ask any questions throughout the evening as he walked away so quickly. Food was good but felt rushed. Asked for butter three times before getting any. At the end of our entrée the waiter came over with the check and said are you done and left the check on the table before we could answer but yes we had enough of his rudeness. He never asked if we wanted desert or coffee. No birthday special, nothing special at all. Seems that they had overbooked the restaurant and parties brought more folks than expected. This is not my fault nor should I suffer for it. Had to apologize to friend for such a disappointing evening. As we left they were sawing tables in half with an electric saw while folks were still eating. Very poorly managed restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i Ricci continues to impress. Not only ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

i Ricci continues to impress. Not only is the food delicious, the menu diverse and the specials enticing and interesting, but the staff is the best DC has to offer. Never have I been to a restaurant where the servers know the nuance of each dish and will willingly ask the Chef to vary from it to accommodate a guest. The preparation and presentation is exquisite and the flavors, a treat to the senses. I will continue to patronize I Ricci, as there are few restaurants in DC that can hold a candle to it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.