Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 27 times today

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

4.6
1143 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be. Join us for Happy Hour weekdays.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Join us for Winnipeg's best Happy Hour 3:00-6:00pm Monday-Friday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(204) 942-1000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jackie Hildebrand
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Portage & Main
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary parking after 5pm Monday-Friday and from 4pm on Saturday and Sunday. Park in the Fairmont Parkade, and bring your ticket for validation at our host stand.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

I had a special which was salmon and it was abit overcook. Got the second one and was better.

My wife had a steak and was good but the potatoe was nothing special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great service, amazing food. The 14 Oz New York strip must be one of the best steaks I've had in my entire life, and the pistachio creme brulee for desert was absolutely perfect. Our server, Vincent, did an excellent job of making our evening out a success. Would recommend anybody go here for date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We really love Hy's...we used to go quite a bit while it was on Kennedy. It is more expensive but lovely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Family celebration (anniversary). Service was a little slow, staff were apologetic and provided us with dessert - very much appreciated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Hi,
The dining experience was great. Service by waiters great.

On the phone the day prior to our visit, I had been told that there is always Valet parking for $7.
When we arrived, I was told that Valet parking begins at 5 p.m. Well, shortly thereafter, street parking is free. So, we had to find a spot on the street to park.

Most establishments, when a birthday is celebrated, the birthday person gets a dessert on the house. Yours cost $10.95 for a piece of pie. Then, each coffee, and only one cup was needed for us, cost $4.50 (it is a small cup not a mug), which I think is excessive.

So, the overall food is excellent, the ambiance and service too. But the cost of the above mentioned is unbelievable.
Sorry to be so blunt.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Was a wonderful evening full of great food and drinks and amazing service. Would highly recommend it. A good time was had by all!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day dinner. Superb!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was very well prepared and service was excellent. I took my mother to Hy's for mother's day. The $46.00 menu price was an extremely high price for the quantity of food received.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Absolutely perfect on every level!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food was excellent and our server was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Unfortunately, two things stood out that detracted from the experience. First off, shortly after being seated, they sat a fairly noisy table with several loud children at it very close to us. The atmosphere went from quiet and calm to irritating very quickly. My wife and I have kids, so we're normally very tolerant - however, when you go to a place like this and pay what you pay to eat here, you don't want it to sound like the play structure at McDonald's.

Second, the prices are a little over the top for what you get. I realize this is a high end steakhouse, and I have no problem paying as such. However, the portion sizes and quality of the food we had did not justify the high prices attached. You can get just as good of a meal at The Keg or a similar establishment for half the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This was our first time here. From the moment we walked in to the moment we walked out we had a fabulous time. The entire staff were very friendly and so attentive. The cocktails were awesome and the food was absolutely delicious! Thank you for making our first visit so wonderful, especially with the added touches. We will definitely let all our friends know as well as come back for future visits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great dining experience! Met our expectaions. Have not been here for a while but will certainly put Hy's high on our list of Winnipeg's best restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Our waiter was excellent. There was evidence of team work and support of each other. They were responsive to needs yet provided space. The steak tasted so good. Someone had a vegetarian option which wasn’t as good. Dry with good flavour however.

Will go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Fantastic! Both of us ordered meals we’d never tried there before and we were not disappointed. We shared a Caesar salad and seared scallops, I had the Atlantic salmon special and my wife had the beef Wellington. Their cheesecake really is one of the best and the key lime pie was very authentic. Everything was cooked to perfection and the service, as always, was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The service and food was good. Try the Caesar salad.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Way over priced for what you get. Steak was very good, though. Just excepted more sides for $54. Will not go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Great as always!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Great Service - Class A dining - "Talk-able" atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

I was extremely impressed with the service and quality of food. Absolutely amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

excellent time from the moment we got there until we left

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Food was nicely presented and was cooked to perfection.
Attmosphere and ambience were excellent.
It was a great treat to be in a restaurant where we could carry on a quiet conversation even with a pretty full house.
Service was superb. Staff were informative and very knowledgeable of the menu choices. They were attentive to all our needs without being intrusive.
Menu prices exclude this establishment from being a choice for every day dining for most people, but for a special occasion it fits the bill nicely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Another great time at Hy’s.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Been going to Hy's for decades. The steaks are good but everything else is sub par...calamari is frozen not made in house, for that price it should be made in house and crispy, it was soggy! The price of table side Caesar salad is getting ridiculous, it's still just Caesar salad it doesn't need to cost so much. The prices are getting out of control! The amibiance is always nice, lights are always dimmed just right and music as well! It's nice to see all the long time employees smiling and willing to catch up when you arrive!
Over all, we go for the setting and not really for the taste and quality of the food anymore! When you spend 600$ you should at least get a complimentary birthday cake for the birthday girl...which is probably the cheapest thing on the menu!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

My steak was fine. But was very disappointed in escargot seasoning and size. Would of liked a mushroom cap with them especially for the price. The dessert was bland and tasteless. The company I was with were very disappointed in there steak. Service was good and ambiance was very nice but for the price and the quality of food I would not recommended.ive heard good things but maybe not in this day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Our waitress was absolutely outstanding..We made our meal a "buffet" style and she was a great help at recommending ideas. The restaurant was nice and quiet. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The menu is way over priced for what you get. A new York steak for $47 is way too pricey. No presentation a steak and a potatoes on your plate no so appealing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I ordered beef wellington and really enjoyed it. It's better than beef wellington that I had in Vegas, flavourful but not too salty. Unfortunately the server only able to take our food order after 45mins we've been seated. Overall me and my guests are happy with the food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

My steak was perfect, great end to night after jets game

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Always great! The food was incredible, and the service matched it. Everything was perfect -- from the steaks, lobster, dessert and of course the must-have cheese toast. It's a great place to go for a special celebration as the experience feels so special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Wonderful food, superb service

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Very nice restaurant, but nowhere near worth what you will end up paying. Steaks dinners (most dinners) start at $50.00 and up. Very nice, but very overpriced. This included a piece of steak and a baked potatoe. Asparagus, mushroom, vegetable medley all cost extra on top of your steak/potatoe. Salad or soup or sides are all extra. Even for the foodie who loves a great steak, this is well overpriced dining experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The food tasted great but portion sizes were far too small especially for the cost of the meal. I didn't feel it was worth it. Service was great though. Ambiance is nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Great meal with equally great service
Just a perfect evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Great food. Our server was awesome and very knowledgable of the menu. Not used to spending that kind of money for just two people but it was worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

We were celebrating the start of our Son's military career, couldn't have picked a better restaurant for a family lunch after his Swearing in Ceremony. Thanks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

We Were Celebrating 43 Years of marriage and enjoyed the service atmosphere. Your servers are
the best and I understand you must treat them well to perform so happy in their positions

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Excellent response from the staff when we had to leave abruptly due to a personal issue. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Had a wonderful time very friendly staff great food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The service was excellent as was the food. The price however was very steep for what you get. My chair was very uncomfortable because of a lack of seat padding - it frlt like I was sitting on a toilet all night. There is no ambience at this location. We were put in s corner next to the waiters stand. At tines I couldn't even here my date.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
29

Tweets by Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg