About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from formal receptions to the most casual get together. Whether you are planning a sit-down meal, or a stand-up cocktail style reception, we are happy to accommodate!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
11 More
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Romantic
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Romantic
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Special Occasion (82)
Romantic (49)
Notable Wine List (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
739 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had reservation for8pmon a Friday ni ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had reservation for8pmon a Friday night. The server was Andrew . Andrew was amazing . Andrew made our dining experience wonderful . The food and service was outstanding. Probably the best meal I've ever had at a Restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very bland - I ordered the ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was very bland - I ordered the arctic char, rice pilaf, and vegetables. The server said that the cheese toast was something people came from all around to eat...it was weird and terrible!

I had a good sized meal but my friend's lunch was quite small - spinach salad with baby shrimp as an add on. As a result, we went to another restaurant so she could eat another lunch.

Overall, it was quite disappointing as we were celebrating our birthdays that day. Fortunately, we went to 529 for dinner which made up for our expensive and mediocre lunch at Hys.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Best Caesar salad I've had in ages. Stea ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best Caesar salad I've had in ages. Steaks were done precisely and the wine list is extensive...albeit a little expensive.

Service was fantastic and we loved that some of the dishes were made right at our table for us. This added to the overall experience for sure. If you are looking for a special restaurant for a special occasion, Hy's would be a good choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice place for a special dinner. S ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very nice place for a special dinner. Seems more expensive than comparable restaurants in Winnipeg.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I used this system to make a reservation ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I used this system to make a reservation at Hy's for customers that were in visiting Winnipeg. When the Owner, President and my VP showed up with customers that evening, they were told that there wasn't a reservation made.

I was very disappointed to find out that this had happened and will be following up with the Manager next week. We bring customers in every week and have been working with the Fairmont recently so Hy's is a convenient dinner location. This was very embarrassing and if we are going to consider Hy's or using this system again, I need to understand why this happened.

Thank you,

Richelle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I would have to say that the staff was g ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I would have to say that the staff was great. For the most part, the appetizer, the drinks and the ambiance were great. I do feel that, from my perspective only, I have had better steaks at far less price. My colleague's meals were good. I heard no issues. Perhaps it was just an unlucky draw on my cut of meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

For an top-end restaurant I found the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

For an top-end restaurant I found the food (with some notable exceptions) to be unremarkable. One of the party had a steak which was sinewy, the lamb was unremarkable and the service was not as personable or informative as I have come to expect from top end restaurants. I did however enjoy the desert (bananas flambeed at the table) but this was not enough to make me enthusiastic about returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our dining experience at Hy's was excell ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our dining experience at Hy's was excellent as usual. The staff was attentive but did gather a bit too often chatting at the waiters station that was adjacent to our table. The bantering did take away from the evening a bit. My expectations at a 5 star restaurant are much higher than they would be if we had chosen to dine at the Keg.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific table service vastly overshadow ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Terrific table service vastly overshadowed pedestrian veg. sides, and the merely acceptable, but wildly overpriced, entree. Lovely atmosphere and wonderful front-line staff. On balance a disappointing experience with regard to food, despite some real but inconsistent virtues (e.g., exquisite Caesar salad prepared and served with panache; chemistry-set tasting cheese toast of the roadhouse variety. ) Astonishing to see Hy's cheaping-out on its steak entrees, especially given the prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

After hearing about this restaurant from ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

After hearing about this restaurant from friends for many years, my wife and I decided to indulge in a special dining experience on a recent trip to Winnipeg. We were disappointed. My beef Wellington portion size was underwhelming to say the least and my potatoe dish was flavorless and over done.

The cheese toast appetizer was the standout dish of the evening. So delicious. We should have called it a night after that.

The ambiance is nice but the server and the hostess we both found to be cold and unfriendly.

This was not the dining experience we had heard about and wish we would have chosen another restaurant for our special night out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We were disappointed with the steak - my ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were disappointed with the steak - my husband had the 32 ounce bone in rib eye and there was little flavor. My filet was cooked perfectly but was very salty. First time visiting Hy's and we were disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Hy's made our special occasion extra spe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Hy's made our special occasion extra special. It was a wonderful dining experience based on a great location, top notch service and exquisite food. Highly recommended to anyone who will want for nothing in enjoying a great evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive but very worth it once in a bl ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Expensive but very worth it once in a blue moon. I've been twice now and it once again blew my mind how good the food and service is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointed with the escargot It ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very disappointed with the escargot It lacked flavor and was very chewy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We came for lunch to celebrate my husban ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We came for lunch to celebrate my husbands birthday. (Our first visit to Hy's Steakhouse) and we did try the steak but was not impressed with the quality for the price. The service was exceptional!!! The steak was very palatable but with the price I thought it should have melted in my mouth. I have made steak at home that has been more tender and tasted just as good. Also a little disappointed that salad didn't come with the Steak lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Special that day was beef dip. Seemed li ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Special that day was beef dip. Seemed like yesterday's roast reheated and bun was too dense. Not what we expected from Hy's. And no bananas for making Bananas Foster! Waiter was charming and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Customer Service and dining experie ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Good Customer Service and dining experience. The fact that I was welcomed and recognized that I had a reservation was a good impression. The table was ready and for the amount of people that we had. The waiter assigned to our table was prompt and directed well taking of the orders. The waiter did provide the selection of the day and we were able to order was we wanted. My customer was delighted and that was the purpose of the lunch, to have a good working lunch time and productive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We certainly don't object to paying exor ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We certainly don't object to paying exorbitant prices for a meal when exceptional. Hy's was NOT that. Three steaks with inconsistent cook. One fish dinner with a horrible sauce which overpowered the dish. Definitely not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

When you send an email to someone, Use a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

When you send an email to someone, Use a capital on their first name. I'm not impressed to see my name used twice in a small letter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Booking was easy, greeting and service w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Booking was easy, greeting and service were very good. Preparation of the steak Diane and the liqueur coffees at the table was nice to watch.

Tags: Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hy's is one of the "go to" restaurants i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Hy's is one of the "go to" restaurants in Winnipeg that never disappoints .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Good---Caesar Salad was one of the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very Good---Caesar Salad was one of the best i have had.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the most amazing place we've eve ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This is the most amazing place we've ever been into! It's so memorable because my girlfriend and I celebrated our 5th anniversary here and she proposed to me here as well! Our dessert was free as requested when I did the online reservation which was absolutely incredible by the way. Overall, great food, great ambience, great service! You get what you really pay for. Definitely will come back! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good as always, prices seem to have gone ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Good as always, prices seem to have gone up and garlic bread no longer comes with dinner. None the less a delightful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice, quiet, great service, my New York ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Nice, quiet, great service, my New York strip was thin though ..(1/2" thick). :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great Meal!

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Haven't been to Hy's for a while. Now I'm mad at myself for waiting so long.

Great meal, wine and atmosphere. Service was very good.....not great.

Am I being too persnickety?

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Very expensive for our budget but amazin ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very expensive for our budget but amazing experience!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy! Service was excellent. Great dinn ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Yummy! Service was excellent. Great dinner to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and the best staff

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Always great food and the best staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

best steak

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

There isn't anything negative to say about dining at Hy's. The service was outstanding. The waiter was knowledgeable and informative of the menu. The secondary servers never let your water glass get below half and the pace of food was well timed. The food was amazing. Their famous cheese bread is worth its title and the rib steak had great flavour and as tender as can be. The only thing I was a little surprised about was the lack of a vegetable on the plate. I was expecting something, even a little bit. My plate looked rather boring with just the steak and a brown baked potato. Despite that, what a wonderful meal!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable experience. The reason f ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. The reason for choosing Hys was that it offered not only a quiet and elegant atmosphere for our special occasion but it also provided us with a exquisite variety of excellent food. We went specifically for the seafood and they did not disappoint us. Our waiter, Andrew , added to the experience ..he was very attentive and professional throughout the evening but still very friendly and enjoyable.. We will certainly be returning . M

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great staff!

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Our server was absolutely a joy to be around! THanks for the enjoyable event!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

A very good restaurant.. Classy with very good ambience... Food is good as well...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

As always, Hy's pleased us. The food - we had chateaubriand for two - was excellent; we have never been disappointed in anything which Hy's prepares. The caesar salad was prepared at our table: a nice touch. The waiters were responsive without being intrusive; approachable without being overly personal. All-in-all, we can highly recommend Hy's for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Glad we had gift cards

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I went to Hys for his birthday after receiving gift cards for Christmas. It was a lovely night out, sans children. The service and food were great, my husband enjoyed his cajun steak (that nights special)but, it was not worth $46! I felt the food was comparable to "The Keg" with an extra $20-$25 thrown in.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Dinner and service was very good.

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Dinner and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Atmosphere needs upgrade

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

there are parts of the restaurant that have been upgraded, ie some of the chairs are newly recovered in a beautiful camel color leather, then others are thread bare, some in the lounge are even torn! Varied states of quality when it comes to fixtures, furniture, etc.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was outstanding, service is over t ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was outstanding, service is over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth the price

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Service was excellent!

Food was ok. Presentation was so-so.

There was a huge cube of ice in my drink that took up more room than the drink itself. Not worth the $14 I paid for it.

Don't order the cheese toast - they tasted like a processed cheese grille cheese sandwich you eat when you're in a pinch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service and food. Highly enjoyable evening.

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Have been to Hy's many times. Service is always great. Staff is friendly and food is always good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.