About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from formal receptions to the most casual get together. Whether you are planning a sit-down meal, or a stand-up cocktail style reception, we are happy to accommodate!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
9 More
Romantic
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Romantic
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Special Occasion (77)
Romantic (50)
Notable Wine List (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Private Room (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
752 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to Hy's when my husband won a gi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went to Hy's when my husband won a gift card. Though very expensive, the meal was amazing! You must try the Caesar salad prepared fresh at your table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had been here once before, after wande ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had been here once before, after wandering through Winnipeg for the first time ever, and even though it is a reservation kind of place, they have seating for people without at the bar and in the front. I was so impressed with the quality and service that a year later, I brought my girlfriend there to celebrate her birthday. This time we made a reservation and planned it out, the service was again impressive, the staff was knowledgeable, it is however a very formal dining atmosphere, I don't think it's possible to be overdressed here. The cocktails are well made, and the food is simply incredible, personally I'd recommend the shrimp. Overall I'd give it a five star rating, but keep in mind this is a place you will spend a lot at.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good, but the price wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was very good, but the price was astronomical. Very, very, very expensive for what you get. There a several other restaurants in Winnipeg where you can get a high quality meal like that for considerably less.

Also they took the super tall Apple pie off the menu a few years ago, that is disappointing. I was looking forward to that tall pie!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

My friend and I had a lovely time at Hys ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My friend and I had a lovely time at Hys to celebrate our birthdays for the second time thanks to the manager, Jason. Our server Andrew was very accommodating and knowledgeable about the menu selection. The food was splendid this time. Our steaks were moist and flavourful and the steamed broccoli was delicious. Again we really enjoyed our experience there, especially the meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You get pampered here, with attentive se ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

You get pampered here, with attentive service at every opportunity. Still, we had two issues with the service. One was that extra cost options and menu choices were suggested so many times and the atmosphere makes it seem uncouth to ask for the cost every time. The second was that an item that we agreed to was substituted for something else. This was quickly corrected once we realized, and our bill was adjusted to remove the incorrect one, the correct one, and another item! So I can't really count that as a negative.

The food was high quality and prepared well with the exception of a consistent high use of salt throughout the dishes. As promised, the steak was probably the best I've had anywhere. The "famous" cheese toast was the only let down, as the cheese reminded us of Velveeta and you wouldn't believe how much of it was poured on the toast.

I'm sure with a different appetizer and with maybe a request to cut the salt back, the food would have left a first rate impression in quality and preparation.

We won't be going back mainly due to the prices of the menu items. Most of the items were about a third more expensive than I expected at a quality restaurant, and to get a full meal (i.e. a vegetable other than a potato, and some bread before the main course) it will then cost you significantly more.

I believe that Hy's repeat customers are the "high rollers", and the menu and service are attuned to this clientele. So we won't be back until we come into significant money. But we appreciated that during our visit, we weren't made to feel second class at any point as it was likely apparent that we were not accustomed to Hy's (both the pampering and the costs).

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Many thanks to Andrew our server made th ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Many thanks to Andrew our server made the dinner very special

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While service & ambiance were outstandi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

While service & ambiance were outstanding, what I came for was good steak. Going with the "steak special" was my mistake. Originally was set on the beef wellington, but after hearing the raving reviews on their meat from the waiter (which he said all their meat was from the top 20 percent graded) I went with the New York strip in rare. Tough to say the least ( my wife had the same in medium well, same not so tender result.) I have family in the food industry & have had some pretty amazing steaks from strip loin to rib-eye to filet. Fall apart tender @ almost any doneness. Again, this could have been the the wrong choice, but was far from the steak I expected.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Steaks were amazing. had the Filet Migno ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Steaks were amazing. had the Filet Mignon and it never dissapoints. drinks were done to perfection. great scotch and margaritas. noticed no more veggies with the Steaks and no more garlic toast with the meal. prices went up and we now get less. will still go as we love the top notch service and excellent food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but not fabulous Overpriced Ch ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Good food but not fabulous Overpriced Cheese toast is the best value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Excellent food overall. Steak was not g ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Excellent food overall. Steak was not great but they made it right.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was good but too pricey for what yo ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was good but too pricey for what you got. Cheaper alternative steakhouses are just as good.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Parking is tough. If you look by the fro ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Parking is tough. If you look by the front of the building (not where the entrance is) there is valet parking for 7.00 - USE it, it costs 5.00 for parking on your own. Everything about this place is top notch.Food was tremendous. All the staff was amazing, they all work together to make sure you are taken care of. Other places you do not see this type of team work. Be prepared for a pricey menu though. Just expect to pay 70 to 110 per person. Not that its not worth it just so you are not caught off guard. Last time I was at Hy's was when it was at there other down town location. So it was nice to see after years their reputation is still intact.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wait staff could be more attentive. They ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Wait staff could be more attentive. They were polite and friendly though.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had reservation for8pmon a Friday ni ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had reservation for8pmon a Friday night. The server was Andrew . Andrew was amazing . Andrew made our dining experience wonderful . The food and service was outstanding. Probably the best meal I've ever had at a Restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very bland - I ordered the ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was very bland - I ordered the arctic char, rice pilaf, and vegetables. The server said that the cheese toast was something people came from all around to eat...it was weird and terrible!

I had a good sized meal but my friend's lunch was quite small - spinach salad with baby shrimp as an add on. As a result, we went to another restaurant so she could eat another lunch.

Overall, it was quite disappointing as we were celebrating our birthdays that day. Fortunately, we went to 529 for dinner which made up for our expensive and mediocre lunch at Hys.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Best Caesar salad I've had in ages. Stea ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best Caesar salad I've had in ages. Steaks were done precisely and the wine list is extensive...albeit a little expensive.

Service was fantastic and we loved that some of the dishes were made right at our table for us. This added to the overall experience for sure. If you are looking for a special restaurant for a special occasion, Hy's would be a good choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice place for a special dinner. S ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very nice place for a special dinner. Seems more expensive than comparable restaurants in Winnipeg.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I used this system to make a reservation ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I used this system to make a reservation at Hy's for customers that were in visiting Winnipeg. When the Owner, President and my VP showed up with customers that evening, they were told that there wasn't a reservation made.

I was very disappointed to find out that this had happened and will be following up with the Manager next week. We bring customers in every week and have been working with the Fairmont recently so Hy's is a convenient dinner location. This was very embarrassing and if we are going to consider Hy's or using this system again, I need to understand why this happened.

Thank you,

Richelle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I would have to say that the staff was g ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I would have to say that the staff was great. For the most part, the appetizer, the drinks and the ambiance were great. I do feel that, from my perspective only, I have had better steaks at far less price. My colleague's meals were good. I heard no issues. Perhaps it was just an unlucky draw on my cut of meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

For an top-end restaurant I found the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

For an top-end restaurant I found the food (with some notable exceptions) to be unremarkable. One of the party had a steak which was sinewy, the lamb was unremarkable and the service was not as personable or informative as I have come to expect from top end restaurants. I did however enjoy the desert (bananas flambeed at the table) but this was not enough to make me enthusiastic about returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our dining experience at Hy's was excell ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our dining experience at Hy's was excellent as usual. The staff was attentive but did gather a bit too often chatting at the waiters station that was adjacent to our table. The bantering did take away from the evening a bit. My expectations at a 5 star restaurant are much higher than they would be if we had chosen to dine at the Keg.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific table service vastly overshadow ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Terrific table service vastly overshadowed pedestrian veg. sides, and the merely acceptable, but wildly overpriced, entree. Lovely atmosphere and wonderful front-line staff. On balance a disappointing experience with regard to food, despite some real but inconsistent virtues (e.g., exquisite Caesar salad prepared and served with panache; chemistry-set tasting cheese toast of the roadhouse variety. ) Astonishing to see Hy's cheaping-out on its steak entrees, especially given the prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

After hearing about this restaurant from ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

After hearing about this restaurant from friends for many years, my wife and I decided to indulge in a special dining experience on a recent trip to Winnipeg. We were disappointed. My beef Wellington portion size was underwhelming to say the least and my potatoe dish was flavorless and over done.

The cheese toast appetizer was the standout dish of the evening. So delicious. We should have called it a night after that.

The ambiance is nice but the server and the hostess we both found to be cold and unfriendly.

This was not the dining experience we had heard about and wish we would have chosen another restaurant for our special night out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We were disappointed with the steak - my ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were disappointed with the steak - my husband had the 32 ounce bone in rib eye and there was little flavor. My filet was cooked perfectly but was very salty. First time visiting Hy's and we were disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Hy's made our special occasion extra spe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Hy's made our special occasion extra special. It was a wonderful dining experience based on a great location, top notch service and exquisite food. Highly recommended to anyone who will want for nothing in enjoying a great evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive but very worth it once in a bl ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Expensive but very worth it once in a blue moon. I've been twice now and it once again blew my mind how good the food and service is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointed with the escargot It ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very disappointed with the escargot It lacked flavor and was very chewy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We came for lunch to celebrate my husban ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We came for lunch to celebrate my husbands birthday. (Our first visit to Hy's Steakhouse) and we did try the steak but was not impressed with the quality for the price. The service was exceptional!!! The steak was very palatable but with the price I thought it should have melted in my mouth. I have made steak at home that has been more tender and tasted just as good. Also a little disappointed that salad didn't come with the Steak lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Special that day was beef dip. Seemed li ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Special that day was beef dip. Seemed like yesterday's roast reheated and bun was too dense. Not what we expected from Hy's. And no bananas for making Bananas Foster! Waiter was charming and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Customer Service and dining experie ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Good Customer Service and dining experience. The fact that I was welcomed and recognized that I had a reservation was a good impression. The table was ready and for the amount of people that we had. The waiter assigned to our table was prompt and directed well taking of the orders. The waiter did provide the selection of the day and we were able to order was we wanted. My customer was delighted and that was the purpose of the lunch, to have a good working lunch time and productive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We certainly don't object to paying exor ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We certainly don't object to paying exorbitant prices for a meal when exceptional. Hy's was NOT that. Three steaks with inconsistent cook. One fish dinner with a horrible sauce which overpowered the dish. Definitely not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

When you send an email to someone, Use a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

When you send an email to someone, Use a capital on their first name. I'm not impressed to see my name used twice in a small letter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Booking was easy, greeting and service w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Booking was easy, greeting and service were very good. Preparation of the steak Diane and the liqueur coffees at the table was nice to watch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hy's is one of the "go to" restaurants i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Hy's is one of the "go to" restaurants in Winnipeg that never disappoints .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Good---Caesar Salad was one of the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very Good---Caesar Salad was one of the best i have had.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the most amazing place we've eve ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This is the most amazing place we've ever been into! It's so memorable because my girlfriend and I celebrated our 5th anniversary here and she proposed to me here as well! Our dessert was free as requested when I did the online reservation which was absolutely incredible by the way. Overall, great food, great ambience, great service! You get what you really pay for. Definitely will come back! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good as always, prices seem to have gone ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Good as always, prices seem to have gone up and garlic bread no longer comes with dinner. None the less a delightful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice, quiet, great service, my New York ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Nice, quiet, great service, my New York strip was thin though ..(1/2" thick). :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great Meal!

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Haven't been to Hy's for a while. Now I'm mad at myself for waiting so long.

Great meal, wine and atmosphere. Service was very good.....not great.

Am I being too persnickety?

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Very expensive for our budget but amazin ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very expensive for our budget but amazing experience!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.