Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be. Join us for Happy Hour weekdays.

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Romantic (28)
Business Meals (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
968 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service with a large group. They delivered a world class experience and the wine recommendation was spot on.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

Hamburger was delicious, but fries were mediocre. I hardly ate any, and that's saying something!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The food was fantastic, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The Chateau Briand was amazing. I highly recommend it. Cooked to perfection, even the vegetables. Friendly and courteous service. We enjoyed our evening thoroughly.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We came to Hy's for le burger week and it was absolutely delicious! I would definitely come back for burgers! =)

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Hy's was on fire! The place was busy midweek because of Burger week and there were a lot of happy diners partaking!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I went in to enjoy the burger you were offering during Le Burger Week and it was awesome. I had 15 different burgers throughout the week and the one from Hy's was my favourite.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Seasonal, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This was a Birthday celebration for my wife with many friends. The atmosphere was awesome, food was very good especially the cheese bread but I was disappointed that the waiters would not make it feel like a birthday celebration. No cake and no acknowledgment of the celebration. Overall I love your restaurant and will dine with Hy's in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Attended for Le Burger Week; the burger was good but a little dry. Great ambiance and service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food service, and ambience was very memorable. We will be back especially for those outstanding meatballs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Business Meals, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had not been to Hy's for a few years and our visit this time did not disappoint. The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was a bit pricy which probably limits the clientele who would want to/could visit, but for us this was a special occasion so we did not mind paying the premium prices. It is great to have a restaurant of this quality in our city.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I was disappointed with the room and table. Too much activity around us. Washroom two flights down? Service was good but we felt rushed out. Food was ok. I have supported Hy's in other cities but this one is a miss. The room set up does not work. Disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We decided to celebrate a family birthday at short notice. The manager accommodated our small group us in the upstairs Kennedy Room, which had a great view overlooking the lounge area below, and slider doors to block sounds getting out. Our server Laurence (nicknamed Bud) was outstanding, and cheerfully involved our granddaughter in helping to make the Caesar salad. This Hy's has the best cheese toast! Our food was cooked to perfection and well presented and served. A surprise birthday desert plate topped off a great evening. If you are in Winnipeg, you must drop by Hy's at Portage and Main.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We enjoyed a peaceful and quiet environment , it was relaxing and we were not rushed, the meals and wine selections were great , and also the service was very good too.
If your ready to enjoy a relaxing evening and don't mind spending a few bucks, this is the place to go. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Stately, formal, tall ceilings...in a modern building but has the feeling of oldness and grandeur. Very expensive but tradition fare but is worth a splurge once in awhile.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Recommend starting with the table side caesar salad. Enjoyed the food and service was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

My husband and I wanted to treat our teen daughter to a wonderful dinner and the choice of Hys did not disappoint.

Our wonderful waiter, Andrew started the night off perfectly and was so good to our girl.

The food was beyond magnificent and the cheesecake finale was the way to end the night!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

My guest and I both had a wonderful time. The steak was perfection.

Hersh

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

It was my son's birthday gift. His steak came overcooked but a brand new one was prepared within 10 minutes. He was very happy and as parent's the attentive and corrective service was great. Overall we had a great experience and will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great attention to detail by Kelly and Bento. Awesome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had a great time, the food was exceptional, the service was excellent (we wanted the meat to be just pink, our waiter said that it would probably be red, but he said that if it was too red he would finish it at our table, and he did), we never felt rushed. The only disappointment was that there was no dress code. There were some people with shorts and tee shirts, and some with track suits.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great food & great service from Benjamin. Overall, a very good experience and we look forward to going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our meal was fantastic. The service was outstanding, in all ways. The restaurant was very clean, and fast. The waiter was the best we have ever had, his name was Jason (I hope I have the name right), very knowledgeable, and interested in our meal. We have never had a better waiter, or meal. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our annual trip to Hy's will now take place at 529 Wellington. To say I was disappointed with our dining experience at Hy's this year would be an understatement. I ordered the 12 oz filet medium rare, it came partially cooked on the outside but the middle was blue rare. Our waiter was not around or was too busy to check on us and by this time it was too late to send back. For $63 I expect top rate service! My wife's filet medallions were much better which I finished for her. I ended up taking my steak home to cook for breakfast. The dress code at Hy's is a thing of the past. The table across from us was guys wearing tee shirts? One had on a baseball hat, shorts, White runners and a lumber jacket! Asked the waiter if the dress code was no longer and he shrugged his shoulders. I noticed other tables as well with guys wearing tee shirts? This is supposed to be 5 star dinning.....I don't think so! A dinner that cost $200 should not have any hiccups in it, left feeling like I got ripped off at an Applebee's!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fantastic! was our first time at Hy's. Celebrated our 29th wedding anniversary. Food, service and ambiance was excellent. we'll be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Once again the staff went above & beyond to make the night special. We were celebrating our youngest child's 18th birthday with our other 2 children. They even brought out a dessert plate with Happy 18th Birthday written in chocolate. A classy touch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was my first time at Hy's, and it was the perfect choice for my boyfriend's 30th birthday. We were immediately welcomed at the door, directed to our table, and provided with menus and a tablet to browse the drinks.

As it was both of our first time at Hy's, I really appreciated how patient our waiter was as we navigated the menus. And when we did order, everything came out quickly. Drinks, appetizer, and dinner -- all of it delicious and made with care.

Pricing is on the higher end, so for those considering dining at Hy's, I'd suggest dinner for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Provided a lovely quiet setting for a private
Engagement dinner / family gathering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food and drinks are over-priced for what you get. For example, a requested glass of red house wine cost $17.00 + taxes. The food was only satisfactory and did not justify the high prices. I would not recommend this restaurant to friends as there are too many excellent restaurants in the area offering far better value.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 31, 2017

With the extremly high prices, not to get a basic salad or bread, is terrible value! My steak was underdone but a good cut. Service was good but "stuffy".Lighten it up! Also the manager was on patrol like an undercover cop..very serious.
Won't be going back.
Not my cup of High Tea.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Went for a special occasion, drinks and dinner were great as always. The only down side was that there was one child maybe 3ish who was watching a notebook very loud a few tables down from us. We tried to ignore it but it was very loud, we had to speak to our waiter to get him to talk to that tables waiter to turn it down. So the problem was corrected smoothly.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Went to Hy's for the first time on my birthday. It has always been on my list of places to try. Had the ceasar salad to start which was a treat to watch and the perfect size to share. Was very tasty. Had the filet a la Hy's. Loved the sauce and the medallions were cooked perfectly. My daughter polished off a twelve ounce filet mignon which she said was done just right. The drink menu was really neat and we enjoyed our drinks. The waiter,Paco, was very polite and helpful, and we thought it was nice how the servers helped each other with their tables. The bill was very reasonable considering what we ordered.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, People Watching, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

We were greeted immediately and treated with friendly, courteous service. The staff in the lounge recommended unique items to try as we waited for our table in the dining room. The staff is well trained, prompt with service, and made the evening very relaxing. We will absolutely be back for another evening of ambiance and fine dining!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic food! Great service! Would go back for sure!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Curry Shrimp was very good but the portion was really small and overpriced for the amount you get.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This is a restaurant which prides itself and delivers on excellent service. The meals are delicious. Pricey though so only for special occasions for us.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food, service as always excellent we always go on our anniversary never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Good choice as always! Great food, great ambiance and all around a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Terrific food and service, but it should be for the most expensive meal for 2 that I have ever purchased. Don't let me put you off, but be prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Took a friend for dinner, excellent steak and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.