About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from formal receptions to the most casual get together. Whether you are planning a sit-down meal, or a stand-up cocktail style reception, we are happy to accommodate!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
9 More
Romantic
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Romantic
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

special occasion (84)
romantic (63)
notable wine list (47)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
good for groups (25)
great for lunch (15)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
pre/post theatre (1)
business meals (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
718 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hy's is one of the "go to" restaurants i ...

Dined 6 days ago

Hy's is one of the "go to" restaurants in Winnipeg that never disappoints .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Good---Caesar Salad was one of the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very Good---Caesar Salad was one of the best i have had.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the most amazing place we've eve ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

This is the most amazing place we've ever been into! It's so memorable because my girlfriend and I celebrated our 5th anniversary here and she proposed to me here as well! Our dessert was free as requested when I did the online reservation which was absolutely incredible by the way. Overall, great food, great ambience, great service! You get what you really pay for. Definitely will come back! ❤️

food5
ambience5
service4

Good as always, prices seem to have gone ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Good as always, prices seem to have gone up and garlic bread no longer comes with dinner. None the less a delightful evening.

food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Great Meal!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Haven't been to Hy's for a while. Now I'm mad at myself for waiting so long. Great meal, wine and atmosphere. Service was very good.....not great. Am I being too persnickety?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very expensive for our budget but amazin ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Very expensive for our budget but amazing experience!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy! Service was excellent. Great dinn ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Yummy! Service was excellent. Great dinner to celebrate our anniversary.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and the best staff

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Always great food and the best staff

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best steak

Dined on May 7, 2016

There isn't anything negative to say about dining at Hy's. The service was outstanding. The waiter was knowledgeable and informative of the menu. The secondary servers never let your water glass get below half and the pace of food was well timed. The food was amazing. Their famous cheese bread is worth its title and the rib steak had great flavour and as tender as can be. The only thing I was a little surprised about was the lack of a vegetable on the plate. I was expecting something, even a little bit. My plate looked rather boring with just the steak and a brown baked potato. Despite that, what a wonderful meal!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable experience. The reason f ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. The reason for choosing Hys was that it offered not only a quiet and elegant atmosphere for our special occasion but it also provided us with a exquisite variety of excellent food. We went specifically for the seafood and they did not disappoint us. Our waiter, Andrew , added to the experience ..he was very attentive and professional throughout the evening but still very friendly and enjoyable.. We will certainly be returning . M

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Our server was absolutely a joy to be around! THanks for the enjoyable event!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy

Dined on May 2, 2016

A very good restaurant.. Classy with very good ambience... Food is good as well...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on May 1, 2016

As always, Hy's pleased us. The food - we had chateaubriand for two - was excellent; we have never been disappointed in anything which Hy's prepares. The caesar salad was prepared at our table: a nice touch. The waiters were responsive without being intrusive; approachable without being overly personal. All-in-all, we can highly recommend Hy's for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Glad we had gift cards

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I went to Hys for his birthday after receiving gift cards for Christmas. It was a lovely night out, sans children. The service and food were great, my husband enjoyed his cajun steak (that nights special)but, it was not worth $46! I felt the food was comparable to "The Keg" with an extra $20-$25 thrown in.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Dinner and service was very good.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Dinner and service was very good.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Atmosphere needs upgrade

Dined on April 29, 2016

there are parts of the restaurant that have been upgraded, ie some of the chairs are newly recovered in a beautiful camel color leather, then others are thread bare, some in the lounge are even torn! Varied states of quality when it comes to fixtures, furniture, etc.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding, service is over t ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was outstanding, service is over the top.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not worth the price

Dined on April 27, 2016

Service was excellent! Food was ok. Presentation was so-so. There was a huge cube of ice in my drink that took up more room than the drink itself. Not worth the $14 I paid for it. Don't order the cheese toast - they tasted like a processed cheese grille cheese sandwich you eat when you're in a pinch.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and food. Highly enjoyable evening.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Have been to Hy's many times. Service is always great. Staff is friendly and food is always good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Special

Dined on April 13, 2016

We were at hy's celebrating a birthday. Everything was excellent-the food, the service, the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

great evening

Dined on April 9, 2016

Dont get the cheese bread and appetizers or you will be to full to eat your entree. I dont understand $12 for one basic cocktail. Husband ordered 2 drinks and his came to $16. Free dessert for birthday was nice

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were disappointed with the quality of ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We were disappointed with the quality of our steaks. They were full of grissel, a little tough and not very flavourful.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food but highly priced

Dined on April 1, 2016

Although our meal was excellent, I feel like you could get a steak dinner at the Keg for very close to the same experience and only half the price. However, the atmosphere and overall ambiance are more suitable if you want to go for a date night.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Out of my league

Dined on March 26, 2016

Lovely restaurant! Atmosphere and service was wonderful. We were able to visit comfortably even though there was a larger group nearby. Very spacious and the food was delicious. Unfortunately, the pricing is a small ransom for everyday people. A family of four could eat for two months on what it cost for one meal for four...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Overpriced

Dined on March 26, 2016

Appetizers were fantastic, the steaks...not so much. Paying $50+ for a steak, you would have high expectations but the steak was simply okay. Nothing special about it except for the price tag. It was not evenly seasoned and some bites were very salty and other bites would taste like nothing. The dessert however was fantastic so if I were ever to come back I would only order appetizers and dessert. If you want a good steak, go elsewhere and save several dollars but their appetizers and dessert are phenomenal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience as always, I would ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Fantastic experience as always, I would recommend to anybody.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent steak

Dined on March 23, 2016

As a steakhouse, it is one of the best in the city. We had the Chateaubriand and it was perfectly seasoned and tender.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

biz dinner

Dined on March 23, 2016

Perfect service, perfect food. Pricey and hardly any veggies included.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my first time at Hy's Steakhouse. ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

It was my first time at Hy's Steakhouse. My steak was cooked to perfection, which is the first time it has ever happened. The wedge salad appetizer was very good, their blue cheese dressing was very tasty and had loads of blue cheese chunks and the large bacon crumbles were a nice touch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite

Dined on March 19, 2016

Warm, comfortable, romantic setting. Fabulous service from our waiter. Delicious and visually appealing food. Pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Better value elsewhere

Dined on March 18, 2016

Too expensive for the quality and quantity of food served. The value simply isn't there. It's good but not great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

perfect for our anniversary

Dined on March 1, 2016

Its a perfect place to celebrate a special occassion! We had the chateubriand for two and it was amazing.. the filet mignon just melted in our mouth. Their service was excellent, we had Andrew as our server and he did great! Would definitely come back here next time we are in Winnipeg. It was amazingly worth paying for.. =)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The atmosphere was ver quaint. My husban ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The atmosphere was ver quaint. My husband and I ordered the chateaubriand for two. My filet was a bit grisly. The vegetables were nothing amazing. Onion soup was amazing. Service was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had our date here for Valentine's Day after receiving gift cards for the restaurant for a gift for Christmas. The restaurant came highly recommended! It was the best dining experience we have ever had! The food was so good! Service was impeccable..loved it and would for sure and we have already recommended people to go and experience it for themselves! Thanks! We loved it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Just ok

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first experience. The atmosphere was awesome and service was excellent. The food was good, not wonderful for the price we paid. And we honestly felt disappointed after we received our bill. Very expensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ambiance

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband prefers more lighting, he likes to be able to see what he is eating. I was fine with the lighting. Hy's was great as usual. This was our first visit to this location. Thank you for making our anniversary one to remember.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely be going back again

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and i went for the first time to celebrate our wedding anniversary. What a treat, the atmosphere was elegant, the service was terrific and the food was just outstanding. Hy's definitely exceeded all of our expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

You pay for what you get.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Service and food are fabulous. Expect to pay for such. Don't be disappointed, make reservations for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Overall

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were seated at the end of the banquette seating at a small table for 2 (right beside the wall). Too close to the table next to us and not very comfortable seating. (There were open tables behind us however we were not given the option of sitting there.) My husband's steak was not the best he said (rather gristley) but he didn't complain. Unfortunately overall we were dissatisfied with the ambiance for the most part and secondly with his meal. For the price that one pays to eat in such an establishment we will not be in a hurry to return. On a positive note our serve 'Vincent' was a wonderful young man - friendly and very efficient!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High marks for Hy's

Dined on February 7, 2016

My wife and I recently went to Hy's for supper while visiting in Winnipeg. We had never been to Hy's before and were impressed as soon as we walked through the front door by the ambience of the interior. The wood work reminds me of great steak houses I have visited in the past. The service was very good, the wine list was the best I have ever seen, the menu was complete ( something for every taste) and the food was excellent. The prices are a good value considering the quality dining experience you will have here. I highly recommend Hy's if you want a great evening of dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.