About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from formal receptions to the most casual get together. Whether you are planning a sit-down meal, or a stand-up cocktail style reception, we are happy to accommodate!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
11 More
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Romantic
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Romantic
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

special occasion (84)
romantic (56)
notable wine list (40)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
good for groups (23)
great for lunch (14)
neighborhood gem (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (1)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
business meals (1)
pre/post theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very disappointed with the escargot It ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very disappointed with the escargot It lacked flavor and was very chewy.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We came for lunch to celebrate my husban ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We came for lunch to celebrate my husbands birthday. (Our first visit to Hy's Steakhouse) and we did try the steak but was not impressed with the quality for the price. The service was exceptional!!! The steak was very palatable but with the price I thought it should have melted in my mouth. I have made steak at home that has been more tender and tasted just as good. Also a little disappointed that salad didn't come with the Steak lunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Special that day was beef dip. Seemed li ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Special that day was beef dip. Seemed like yesterday's roast reheated and bun was too dense. Not what we expected from Hy's. And no bananas for making Bananas Foster! Waiter was charming and attentive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Customer Service and dining experie ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Good Customer Service and dining experience. The fact that I was welcomed and recognized that I had a reservation was a good impression. The table was ready and for the amount of people that we had. The waiter assigned to our table was prompt and directed well taking of the orders. The waiter did provide the selection of the day and we were able to order was we wanted. My customer was delighted and that was the purpose of the lunch, to have a good working lunch time and productive.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We certainly don't object to paying exor ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We certainly don't object to paying exorbitant prices for a meal when exceptional. Hy's was NOT that. Three steaks with inconsistent cook. One fish dinner with a horrible sauce which overpowered the dish. Definitely not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

When you send an email to someone, Use a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

When you send an email to someone, Use a capital on their first name. I'm not impressed to see my name used twice in a small letter.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Booking was easy, greeting and service w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Booking was easy, greeting and service were very good. Preparation of the steak Diane and the liqueur coffees at the table was nice to watch.

Tags: special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hy's is one of the "go to" restaurants i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Hy's is one of the "go to" restaurants in Winnipeg that never disappoints .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Good---Caesar Salad was one of the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very Good---Caesar Salad was one of the best i have had.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the most amazing place we've eve ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This is the most amazing place we've ever been into! It's so memorable because my girlfriend and I celebrated our 5th anniversary here and she proposed to me here as well! Our dessert was free as requested when I did the online reservation which was absolutely incredible by the way. Overall, great food, great ambience, great service! You get what you really pay for. Definitely will come back! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good as always, prices seem to have gone ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Good as always, prices seem to have gone up and garlic bread no longer comes with dinner. None the less a delightful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Meal!

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Haven't been to Hy's for a while. Now I'm mad at myself for waiting so long.

Great meal, wine and atmosphere. Service was very good.....not great.

Am I being too persnickety?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Very expensive for our budget but amazin ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very expensive for our budget but amazing experience!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy! Service was excellent. Great dinn ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Yummy! Service was excellent. Great dinner to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and the best staff

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Always great food and the best staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

best steak

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

There isn't anything negative to say about dining at Hy's. The service was outstanding. The waiter was knowledgeable and informative of the menu. The secondary servers never let your water glass get below half and the pace of food was well timed. The food was amazing. Their famous cheese bread is worth its title and the rib steak had great flavour and as tender as can be. The only thing I was a little surprised about was the lack of a vegetable on the plate. I was expecting something, even a little bit. My plate looked rather boring with just the steak and a brown baked potato. Despite that, what a wonderful meal!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable experience. The reason f ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. The reason for choosing Hys was that it offered not only a quiet and elegant atmosphere for our special occasion but it also provided us with a exquisite variety of excellent food. We went specifically for the seafood and they did not disappoint us. Our waiter, Andrew , added to the experience ..he was very attentive and professional throughout the evening but still very friendly and enjoyable.. We will certainly be returning . M

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great staff!

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Our server was absolutely a joy to be around! THanks for the enjoyable event!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

A very good restaurant.. Classy with very good ambience... Food is good as well...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

As always, Hy's pleased us. The food - we had chateaubriand for two - was excellent; we have never been disappointed in anything which Hy's prepares. The caesar salad was prepared at our table: a nice touch. The waiters were responsive without being intrusive; approachable without being overly personal. All-in-all, we can highly recommend Hy's for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Glad we had gift cards

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I went to Hys for his birthday after receiving gift cards for Christmas. It was a lovely night out, sans children. The service and food were great, my husband enjoyed his cajun steak (that nights special)but, it was not worth $46! I felt the food was comparable to "The Keg" with an extra $20-$25 thrown in.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Dinner and service was very good.

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Dinner and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Atmosphere needs upgrade

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

there are parts of the restaurant that have been upgraded, ie some of the chairs are newly recovered in a beautiful camel color leather, then others are thread bare, some in the lounge are even torn! Varied states of quality when it comes to fixtures, furniture, etc.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was outstanding, service is over t ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was outstanding, service is over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth the price

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Service was excellent!

Food was ok. Presentation was so-so.

There was a huge cube of ice in my drink that took up more room than the drink itself. Not worth the $14 I paid for it.

Don't order the cheese toast - they tasted like a processed cheese grille cheese sandwich you eat when you're in a pinch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service and food. Highly enjoyable evening.

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Have been to Hy's many times. Service is always great. Staff is friendly and food is always good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Special

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

We were at hy's celebrating a birthday. Everything was excellent-the food, the service, the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great evening

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Dont get the cheese bread and appetizers or you will be to full to eat your entree. I dont understand $12 for one basic cocktail. Husband ordered 2 drinks and his came to $16. Free dessert for birthday was nice

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were disappointed with the quality of ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We were disappointed with the quality of our steaks. They were full of grissel, a little tough and not very flavourful.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food but highly priced

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Although our meal was excellent, I feel like you could get a steak dinner at the Keg for very close to the same experience and only half the price. However, the atmosphere and overall ambiance are more suitable if you want to go for a date night.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Out of my league

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Lovely restaurant! Atmosphere and service was wonderful. We were able to visit comfortably even though there was a larger group nearby. Very spacious and the food was delicious. Unfortunately, the pricing is a small ransom for everyday people. A family of four could eat for two months on what it cost for one meal for four...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Overpriced

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Appetizers were fantastic, the steaks...not so much. Paying $50+ for a steak, you would have high expectations but the steak was simply okay. Nothing special about it except for the price tag. It was not evenly seasoned and some bites were very salty and other bites would taste like nothing. The dessert however was fantastic so if I were ever to come back I would only order appetizers and dessert. If you want a good steak, go elsewhere and save several dollars but their appetizers and dessert are phenomenal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Fantastic experience as always, I would ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Fantastic experience as always, I would recommend to anybody.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

As a steakhouse, it is one of the best in the city. We had the Chateaubriand and it was perfectly seasoned and tender.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

biz dinner

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Perfect service, perfect food. Pricey and hardly any veggies included.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was my first time at Hy's Steakhouse. ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

It was my first time at Hy's Steakhouse. My steak was cooked to perfection, which is the first time it has ever happened. The wedge salad appetizer was very good, their blue cheese dressing was very tasty and had loads of blue cheese chunks and the large bacon crumbles were a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Warm, comfortable, romantic setting. Fabulous service from our waiter. Delicious and visually appealing food. Pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Better value elsewhere

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Too expensive for the quality and quantity of food served. The value simply isn't there. It's good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

perfect for our anniversary

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Its a perfect place to celebrate a special occassion! We had the chateubriand for two and it was amazing.. the filet mignon just melted in our mouth. Their service was excellent, we had Andrew as our server and he did great! Would definitely come back here next time we are in Winnipeg. It was amazingly worth paying for.. =)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was ver quaint. My husban ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The atmosphere was ver quaint. My husband and I ordered the chateaubriand for two. My filet was a bit grisly. The vegetables were nothing amazing. Onion soup was amazing. Service was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.