Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be. Join us for Happy Hour weekdays.

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Romantic (33)
Business Meals (27)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Authentic (13)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great Beer (4)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
985 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall way overpriced. Four people for dinner, two beer, two wine almost $450.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

We had the steak Diana. Served table side but for the price portions are very small . After we ate we we're still hungry do we ordered the cheese tray yummy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service and the staff stayed late to accommodate our group of eight. First class

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

We had a lovely dinner experience with our guests. Both couples had the Chateaubriand and it was excellent; nice table presentation. Our waiter was really great, very attentive ! Nice atmosphere and the acoustics were great as we could all talk together and hear each other. Many restaurants are too noisy and it is impossible to have a conversation at your table.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and portion sizes. This was helpful when ordering side dishes. We never felt rushed and thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was amazing! Best steak I have ever tasted. Cooked and seasoned to perfection. I always always used steak sauce as I need the extra flavor...not this time. The service from Denny was even better. Will for sure be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

If we had not received gift certificate to this restaurant , we would not have attended and probably won’t again. It is too pricy and way out of our range. The food was good but nothing exceptional. I was disappointed to pay $45 for a plate of prawns and scallops and a blob of plain white rice. I would have at least expected wild rice or something a little fancier. My husband had a steak with mashed potatoes for almost $50. Too expensive for what we received.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 4, 2017

A wonderful evening, great service and incredible steaks. I'm just not wealthy enough to eat here more often.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Was my wife’s birthday and our experience was over the top. Very enjoyable evening.

Thanks so much

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Ambiance was beautiful. Quiet, where you could have a decent conversation with the person across the table. Enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I loved the ambience. Much quieter than Earl's, The Keg, etc. Waiters were exceptional. Steaks were good but under seasoned compared to how I like mine. I would definitely go again.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

incredible steaks! The waiter was excellent. As well as all other staff. Can not say enough good about our experience at Hy's Steakhouse in Winnipeg.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The service, the atmosphere and the food were all as good as they could possibly get. The prices however are that of a 5 star restaurant in New York that has a 6 week long waiting list to get a reservation. If you don't mind paying 10x the actual value of most if not all of their main course selections, then this is the place for you. Needless to say, I could of bought 4 ready to eat rotisserie chickens at any grocery store for the same amount that I paid for a half a chicken here. But this half a chicken was "free run" or something of that nature so if that justifies the price to some people, okay then. It didn't for me. The only reason I came here was that I've never been there before so I thought I would go at least once and see what it was like for myself. I was also there on a date so it wasn't all for nothing. My date loved the place, but like me also shared her dislike for the outrageous prices. We had a meal a day earlier at the pony corral for a third of the price and it was just as good as it was here. Anyhow, that's the end of my rant. Hope you find this useful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Started with the Scallops with passionfruit sauce and had a filet mignon with roasted Brussels sprouts. The steak was grilled to perfection. Jared was our server for the night and his service added to the experience. Capped the meal off with the pistachio creek brûlée which was smooth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The service was great. Our server had very good beverage and food recommendations. My only disappointment was the dipping sauce with the calamari, I didn't find it too flavourful. Then the chicken breast I had with my salad was not warm, as I expected it to be. Mocktails, Cesar salad, steak and fries and dessert exceeded our expectations!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This occasion was significantly much nicer than our last visit to Hys. The ambiance was improved and the service was very pleasant and enjoyable, thanks to the server (Kerri). We look forward to returning in the future to enjoy our next notable occasion. We have a renewed appreciation of a premier restaurant . Thanks for the great evening..........

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Totally enjoyed the atmosphere and service, I had the angus rib steak as I had never tried one before and figured this was the place to try it, it was ok but for the price I guess I though it would be great, would go again but would stick with a steak I know I would like.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent food and service with a large group. They delivered a world class experience and the wine recommendation was spot on.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Hamburger was delicious, but fries were mediocre. I hardly ate any, and that's saying something!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The food was fantastic, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The Chateau Briand was amazing. I highly recommend it. Cooked to perfection, even the vegetables. Friendly and courteous service. We enjoyed our evening thoroughly.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We came to Hy's for le burger week and it was absolutely delicious! I would definitely come back for burgers! =)

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Hy's was on fire! The place was busy midweek because of Burger week and there were a lot of happy diners partaking!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I went in to enjoy the burger you were offering during Le Burger Week and it was awesome. I had 15 different burgers throughout the week and the one from Hy's was my favourite.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Seasonal, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This was a Birthday celebration for my wife with many friends. The atmosphere was awesome, food was very good especially the cheese bread but I was disappointed that the waiters would not make it feel like a birthday celebration. No cake and no acknowledgment of the celebration. Overall I love your restaurant and will dine with Hy's in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Attended for Le Burger Week; the burger was good but a little dry. Great ambiance and service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food service, and ambience was very memorable. We will be back especially for those outstanding meatballs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Business Meals, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had not been to Hy's for a few years and our visit this time did not disappoint. The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was a bit pricy which probably limits the clientele who would want to/could visit, but for us this was a special occasion so we did not mind paying the premium prices. It is great to have a restaurant of this quality in our city.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I was disappointed with the room and table. Too much activity around us. Washroom two flights down? Service was good but we felt rushed out. Food was ok. I have supported Hy's in other cities but this one is a miss. The room set up does not work. Disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We decided to celebrate a family birthday at short notice. The manager accommodated our small group us in the upstairs Kennedy Room, which had a great view overlooking the lounge area below, and slider doors to block sounds getting out. Our server Laurence (nicknamed Bud) was outstanding, and cheerfully involved our granddaughter in helping to make the Caesar salad. This Hy's has the best cheese toast! Our food was cooked to perfection and well presented and served. A surprise birthday desert plate topped off a great evening. If you are in Winnipeg, you must drop by Hy's at Portage and Main.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We enjoyed a peaceful and quiet environment , it was relaxing and we were not rushed, the meals and wine selections were great , and also the service was very good too.
If your ready to enjoy a relaxing evening and don't mind spending a few bucks, this is the place to go. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Stately, formal, tall ceilings...in a modern building but has the feeling of oldness and grandeur. Very expensive but tradition fare but is worth a splurge once in awhile.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Recommend starting with the table side caesar salad. Enjoyed the food and service was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

My husband and I wanted to treat our teen daughter to a wonderful dinner and the choice of Hys did not disappoint.

Our wonderful waiter, Andrew started the night off perfectly and was so good to our girl.

The food was beyond magnificent and the cheesecake finale was the way to end the night!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

My guest and I both had a wonderful time. The steak was perfection.

Hersh

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

It was my son's birthday gift. His steak came overcooked but a brand new one was prepared within 10 minutes. He was very happy and as parent's the attentive and corrective service was great. Overall we had a great experience and will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great attention to detail by Kelly and Bento. Awesome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had a great time, the food was exceptional, the service was excellent (we wanted the meat to be just pink, our waiter said that it would probably be red, but he said that if it was too red he would finish it at our table, and he did), we never felt rushed. The only disappointment was that there was no dress code. There were some people with shorts and tee shirts, and some with track suits.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great food & great service from Benjamin. Overall, a very good experience and we look forward to going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our meal was fantastic. The service was outstanding, in all ways. The restaurant was very clean, and fast. The waiter was the best we have ever had, his name was Jason (I hope I have the name right), very knowledgeable, and interested in our meal. We have never had a better waiter, or meal. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.