Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be.

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us for Mother's Day brunch at Hy's Steakhouse Winnipeg from 11:30-3 pm.
three course brunch $45.95

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from formal receptions to the most casual get together. Whether you are planning a sit-down meal, or a stand-up cocktail style reception, we are happy to accommodate!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Romantic (34)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Cozy (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Private Room (8)
Historic (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (0)
Sort By:
S
897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 2 days ago

Not our first visit here. The worst steaks we have had "anywhere". Super expensive and poor quality of food.
Ordered steak Diane. Claim they cook at your tabled....not so, only the mushrooms and they were terrible!
Ordered steak medium/well and received a rare steak. Sent it back and it came back burnt black on the outside and blood red and bleeding on the inside.
Other member of our party order a filet as well and surprisingly it was cooked properly, but lots of fat running through the steak, not worth the $50.00 plus.
Suggestion....keep to the bar for drinks and snacks. Avoid the diningroom and a main meal. Terrible experience!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Kind of peppery cesar salad. A pictured as pink drink was explained as having chartreuse but chartreuse is green and arrived as an almost clear cocktail.

Delicious scallops. Delicious steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food and service was fantastic. It was my 4th or 5th time but everyone else was their first and they thoroughly enjoyed. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Succulent steaks and the best table side fresh prepared Caesar salad around!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food is really tasty , and service is pretty good, I would love to go back for second time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant - classy and comfortable. I am looking forward to returning so I can try more dishes, and next time save room for dessert. It was fun having our salads prepared table side from scratch, and delicious. We ordered three seafood dishes, all cooked to perfection. The sauces had an incredible pairing of ingredients. Service was exceptional, well-timed and friendly, wine list was extensive and affordable.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Expectations were high for this restaurant so take the 4 stars as a relative scoring:

1) The staff were excellent.

2) My steak was perfect, as was the bottle of wine we chose.

3) My love's free range chicken was enjoyed but she found it a bit dry.

4) The house salad with blue cheese dressing was well done except for being a bit heavy on the blue cheese dressing. I would order it again but ask for less dressing next time.

5) The side dish of seasonal vegetables (green beans, red bell peppers and sliced carrots) were a welcome balance to the meat and rice. They were perfectly cooked with just the right amount of firmness. However, I would have preferred less carrots and more green beans.

6) The desserts we ordered were very good (key lime pie, apple crumble, and a decadent chocolate slice of something), especially the key lime & chocolate slice. I would order one of those two again.

7) Finally, the layout was a bit crowded. We have become spoiled with the layout and noise level of the Velvet Glove next door, which is a bit more generous in layout/spacing. However, this restaurant has dedicated more room to their lounge area. Something we may check out in the future. :-)

Overall we enjoyed our time and our meal and would dine here again.

Thank you Hy's for making a good ending to my love's birthday. She said this was her "best birthday ever" and you were part of helping that happen.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food and service are good, however we feel there are far better places in winnipeg we could go with the same price with much better food. Glad we tried this place but don't feel we need to go back.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best steak in Winnipeg. Amazing service and great quality food

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food peppercorn NY steak was pretty good. The rib eye was to die for and the beef wellington was scrumptious

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

4 people, waited 40 mins and only 2 were served and then the other two 10 mins later. one of those plates was delivered with waiter apologizing that the waiter tripped and fries spilled onto floor so more fries were on their way - not right way to handle that as leaves you wondering if your meal also ended in the floor! ended up the last two plates were free as apology

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 6, 2017

It was my birthday, the bill was over $250 for two, and we both felt sick at the end of the night and are convinced it was because of the Cheese Toast. Felt like I'd been robbed for a meal that would have been better and cheaper just about anywhere else. Not impressed and have no intention of going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As usual, it was absolutely amazing. Service was very friendly and I appreciated that the staff was able to fit in well with my parents' sense of humour. Having sampled some of my table mate's Oysters Rockefeller, I immediately wished I had picked it, even though my scallops were great. My filet mignon with gorgonzola was perfectly cooked and very well balanced, though the beef wellington gave it a run for its money. The desserts? All very amazing. Our waiter hit a home run with my mother's wine selection and the cocktails were top notch.

Thank you for making our Birthday/Engagement dinner special, we'll be back again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Hy's gave us a great dining experience. The Caesar Salad was very fresh and delicious. The Scampi and Scallop Entree was superb as were the Filet Mignon, fries, creamed spinach and the wonderful Bearnaise sauce. Highly recommended. Just as good as 529 with better service and a
more reasonable bill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Nice atmosphere, great food! Spicy Caesar salad, excellent wine list. Will come back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

we attended Hys on February 24, 2017 and once again had an outstanding dining experience. We were waited on by Danny who treated us exceptionally. once again Hys has outdone itself. thanks again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was marginal at best. Trout was over done and over sauced. Soggy spinach, and over dressed Caesar salad. Almost $700 for 5 and they took one meal off the bill. Very poor value. A night at aKeg would have been better. Not worth getting dressed up for and definitely no reason to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely amazing
A little pricey but worth it for a special occasion

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Hy's is famous for first class dining and first class food. My wife and I got both. My steak may have been the best I've ever had. Why four out of five for service? My wife had to ask for more fixings for her baked potato and had to wait for the server to notice us. Hy's serves butter, chives and sour cream personally by the server. We would have been better served to have enough on our plates. This is a quibble over a meal that was close to perfection though.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice ambiance great food and dining experience! Great place to celebrate special occasions. Note: just don't get seated near the entrance... no ambiance there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very disappointed with the minimal menu selection and my menu choice was not exceptional considering the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

As usual, Hy's was outstanding... great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

booked primarily for oysters rockefeller. but on valentines day they were out!! but the rest of the meal was great

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Whilst Hys is a wonderful place for a business lunch or dinner it is out of my league other than for a special occasion . The wine (one glass 6 oz each)we had with our meal was superb. However $135 for our lunch ( the House special)for two is , in my opinion, excessive. I dread to imagine what the A la Carte would have been.The service was great and the waiting staff was extremely efficient and friendly.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I seriously can't stop thinking about the amazing meal we had on feb 11, our early Valentine's Day dinner. I had the Gorgonzola filet mignon and it was soooo good! Everything was fantastic! Way to go Hy's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good ambiance, great service and awesome food, all as expected.
The steaks were good, same as the shrimp & clams.
A safe choice if you need a great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Elegant looking place downtown. Parking is covered which is nice.
Steaks are always good but be careful with the level of doneness. My medium rare was too rare for me, this time. Table side Ceaser is my favorite. They used to offer free cheese/garlic bread. Now they don't. You still get a choice of potato with your steak. Ambiance is definitely good, but food is not that much better than other steakhouses.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 8, 2017

As always great dining experience at Hys. Sorry to the hostess for breaking the tip jar upon her helping me put my coat on. My sincere apologies 😘

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Expect to pay around $100 per person plus all in. The food was excellent as one might expect. Although we all enjoyed the steak, I have a slight preference for another steakhouse in Winnipeg.
The service was gracious and efficient, and we felt well cared for. An excellent place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Hy's easily handled our group of 6 with prompt service and hot meals. I had the tuna appetizer which was top notch! Wine selection assistance was appreciated. One of the group mentioned that the lobster was the best he could remember.

Our pre-dinner lounge staff were helpful, attentive and patient s we took in the variety of beverages.

One of our party is expecting and the staff had a beverage menu ready to cater to her.

Well done!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Booked to celebrate friends' anniversary. Delay in seating at our table. Waiter friendly, but did not appreciate $ 55 tip!
Restaurant ambiance is very nice, however, it is very expensive indeed. What's is even more discomforting is that the quality of the special Black Angus Ribeye on Bone was mediocre. One of the least quality of steak I have ever eaten - from Paris to 529 Winnipeg, to Polo grill on the Oceania Marina, and many others. Finally, a table side preparation of the Caesar Salad looks inviting, only to be disappointed by its limp salad and mediocre taste. Have had better Caesar salads everywhere else. Will not be returning in the future.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and i love the food and service here you will spend a bit more than some other steak house's but plan for that and you will have an outstanding time with excelent food. They are one of a few that do table side demonstatiins of signature dishes like cesar salad, pepper corn sauce, couple deserts and so on. 👍👍

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The dining room is except at the distal end a long aisleway that all pass through . Well dressed and attentive service deliver not quite hot food . The smallest escargot and 8 ounce filet along with a tough at the edges lobster is for dinner .
Cheese toast finally remembered was undercooked . My date was happier with her steak Diane . All for $250.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife and I had a rare date night given our two young kids and we decided to make it event so went for something a bit higher priced than we would normally. We each had 2 drinks, an appetizer, main course and dessert which came to about $270 before tip. Normally, I would say this was a pretty high price for 2 people, but the quality of the food was excellent and we were not disappointed. They make an exceptional Old Fashioned and the wine was worth the cost. The service was impeccable - not too pushy but there when you needed them - although that was possibly lost on other nearby patrons. There seemed to be a mix of business dinner meetings and family outings so the dress ranged from casual to suit and tie. We had a wonderful night, although it will have to be reserved for very special occasions due to cost.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I appreciate that my request to be seated in a specific area was noted. Our table location was very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was excellent as were the cocktails, but service was a bit slow. Our drinks were empty for quite a while before our waiter came back to the table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have been to Hy's a handful of times and until this last visit I could not understand it's popularity. This time we ordered the calamari appetizer and this was the least exciting part of our meal but I am not the largest fan of this dish so..... we ordered the cheese toast which was amazing and the Caesar salad which is the best ceasar I have ever tasted. It is also prepared tableside. For mains I had the steak Diane which was unbelievable and my husband ordered the Wellington and was equally impressed. We had the bananas foster which was good but I would definitely explore their other desserts on future visists. This visit will make me think twice about booking at my favourite Winnipeg steakhouse (located on Wellington) and may just take over as number one for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was delicious, excellent table side Caesar salad service.
Should go back to putting garlic toast on the table.
Should not charge for a side of their only BBQ sauce.
Waiter was friendly and not in our faces

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Hy's was a terrific place to celebrate our anniversary. The food was outstanding - everything we had was good but the scallops in passionfruit beurre blanc, tempura rings, and beef wellington in red wine reduction exceptional. The service was attentive and friendly. Very impressed and left fully satisfied.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was good what made the meal was Andrew our waiter, friendly engaging I will be back

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.