About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from formal receptions to the most casual get together. Whether you are planning a sit-down meal, or a stand-up cocktail style reception, we are happy to accommodate!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Romantic (42)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Business Meals (39)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (15)
Private Room (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Historic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Modern Decor (7)
People Watching (7)
Fireplace (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Waterfront (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious, excellent table side ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious, excellent table side Caesar salad service.

Should go back to putting garlic toast on the table.

Should not charge for a side of their only BBQ sauce.

Waiter was friendly and not in our faces

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hy's was a terrific place to celebrate o ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

Hy's was a terrific place to celebrate our anniversary. The food was outstanding - everything we had was good but the scallops in passionfruit beurre blanc, tempura rings, and beef wellington in red wine reduction exceptional. The service was attentive and friendly. Very impressed and left fully satisfied.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good what made the meal was And ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good what made the meal was Andrew our waiter, friendly engaging I will be back

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent evening, lovely food as always ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent evening, lovely food as always. We enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a great experience when I eat her ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always a great experience when I eat here, fantastic service ( I would go as far as to say the best service in Winnipeg) our server was James, exceptional service with lots of knowledge and helpful with his recommendations, he made the evening exceptional for our out of town guests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Authentic, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every aspect of our dining experience wa ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Every aspect of our dining experience was to perfection. Our daughters had the very best strawberry beverages and loved their steak! The cheesecake to finish off our dining experience was also a great choice. We were so impressed with how well taken care of we were, we can't wait to come back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always it's a pleasure dining at Hy's ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As always it's a pleasure dining at Hy's the service is outstanding, the food is amazing and the staff is very pleasant and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive, very little food for the ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very expensive, very little food for the price. Expect to pay around 60 -70$ per entree

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great steak restaurant. Great service. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great steak restaurant. Great service.

Careful where you parked. Truck was broken into when we got back. Had nothing to steal so in it. So it was an added expense in an already expensive evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome service! If you get Vincent as y ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome service! If you get Vincent as your server, he will take great care of you! 4th time there and will definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were impressed by the staff, their lo ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were impressed by the staff, their loyalty and pride they took in serving us. Definitely a place for a special occasion. Our waiter Denny, made our evening memorable.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my wife's 60th birthday she want ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was my wife's 60th birthday she wanted something special but not to elaborate just the 2 of us evening was great food was spectacular and service was excellent thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great as usual, very fri ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was great as usual, very friendly staff. Menu items are classics and a great wine list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was somber, the food was ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The atmosphere was somber, the food was good but over priced for quality and portion size. Wine was very expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our waiter was attentive and helpful. He ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our waiter was attentive and helpful. He recommended a wine which we enjoyed.

I had the calves' liver with chips. I think the calves' liver wasn't fresh but cooked from frozen, I suspect it was cooked with some wine but the alcohol was not cooked off (sour taste), and the bacon wasn't crisp, it was tough. The garnish vegetables seemed fresh and were how I like them: al dente.

My wife enjoyed her fish and chips. The beef on my aunt's (her 72nd birthday) shaved beef sandwich was quite fatty and the meat while cooked was not caramelized which would have been more flavorful and appealing to the eye.

Overall not really acceptable at half the cost. Not very special meal for a special occasion.

Sorry but you asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Great ambiance and service but the food ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great ambiance and service but the food does not meet up to the expectations for the price. All dishes were under seasoned. I had the chicken and my husband had the 20oz ribeye. My sides for the chicken were good. Gravy and chicken were very under seasoned and my husbands steak (though cooked perfectly) lacked basic seasoning. Wait staff and host were fantastic though. Husband had a Caesar and said it was great. Over all a bit of a disappointment in the food department and unfourtunatly probably won't return again.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent cob salad and service.

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent cob salad and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to take our oldest daughter ( ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We decided to take our oldest daughter (8 yrs) out for a lovely dining experience. Sadly, when we arrived, I fell ill. When we explained the situation to our server, he was so thoughtful, and brought me tea and honey right away. We dined on some cheese toast, but sadly, we had to depart as I was not feeling any better. When we notified them that we would have to postpone our dining experience for another time, they were very understanding and sent us on our way and took care of everything. Our daughter was so understanding and concerned for my well being too. Our family is so impressed by the extra care and concern that was taken during our brief visit. Thank you. Your service, care, compassion and professionalism was top notch. We are looking forward to returning soon with the whole family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time going to Hy's and I we loved ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 25, 2016

First time going to Hy's and I we loved it. We will definitely go again. Service was amazing.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was exceptional. The Ceasar ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service was exceptional. The Ceasar salad made at the table and to our request was outstanding. Wife had filet which was very good. Daughter and I had the New York which we both agreed was not the best New York we had ever had.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Hy's never fails to meet and exceed my e ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Hy's never fails to meet and exceed my expectations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual Fantastic staff made for a Fant ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 23, 2016

As usual Fantastic staff made for a Fantastic evening with great food, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday/holidays

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Birthday/holidays

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my parents for their 55th anniversa ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Took my parents for their 55th anniversary. All staff were wonderful and helpful. Andrew our server was the best. I couldn't have chosen a better place to honour my parents and give them a meal they can tell stories about for ages. They were so happy at the end of the evening, and so was I. Thank you to Hys and also OpenTable for making the evening a seamless success.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Private Room, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter Andrew was great and food was ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our waiter Andrew was great and food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hy's has great atmosphere with amazing s ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Hy's has great atmosphere with amazing staff. I would definitely eat there again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Family Style, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me start with our table location, it ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Let me start with our table location, it was a little terrible because we were supposed to be beside the stairs but I asked the lady if we can move - we did, but still beside the stairs and ELEVATOR. So everyone passing by can see us. (Kinda awkward and embarrasing for us). Servers are all great. Main course took a little while to be served but it was worth the wait. Steak melts in your mouth. 😊😊😊

Definitely way better to this one restaurant to be said as "best in winnipeg". I disagree. For us, Hy's the best steakhouse!!👍🏼😁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

How can you complain, it's Hy's! Service ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 18, 2016

How can you complain, it's Hy's! Service (Kelly) was top notch, meal was superb, ambiance is what's to be expected at a fine steakhouse. Was it pricey - yes, but it's Hy's, you know that going in!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was perfect! Chef Frank went above ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was perfect! Chef Frank went above and beyond by cooking an off menu item from the old menu for my husband. Andrew was our server was amazing and attentive along with the rest of the staff! Thanks for a wonderful night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and hospitality from a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent service and hospitality from all staff we interacted with. Food portions were good and served in a timely manner. Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was outstanding. had a couple of b ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 14, 2016

food was outstanding. had a couple of bottles of great wine. Our server (Austin) was fantastic.

I will be back there with my wife in the New Year.....excellent meal ....and the wine of course was outstanding.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The table side created Caesar salad is i ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The table side created Caesar salad is in itself worth the visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal in the lounge! Staff w ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had a great meal in the lounge! Staff was super friendly, we needed to be quick to make it to the Symphony and they did a great job! Well Done!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding, well paced ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The service was outstanding, well paced and never intrusive. Main courses were done to perfection. Could not of asked for a better dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic night out. Steaks were PERFECT ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Fantastic night out. Steaks were PERFECT!! Our waiter had great knowledge of the menu and great suggestions. Ambience was warm and comfortable. Loved the view of Portage and Main. It was our first time here. We will be going again. Looking forward to bring other couples with us.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was nice. Service was exc ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The atmosphere was nice. Service was excellent. Meals were ok. I eat out a lot and felt the meal was overpriced for the quality received. Mushrooms were cold, asparagus was cold and tough, steak and lamb were underdone. Disappointing considering the price was almost $400 for three of us.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Really enjoyed the experience. The serv ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Really enjoyed the experience. The service was amazing and the décor for Christmas was wonderful.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic buy very expensive. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was fantastic buy very expensive. Can't complain about the meal buy you could get a similar meal at the Keg for half the price.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome food, wine and our server was ab ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Awesome food, wine and our server was absolutely amazing -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Andrew was fantastic, as usu ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Our server, Andrew was fantastic, as usual. Thanks for a great experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.