About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from formal receptions to the most casual get together. Whether you are planning a sit-down meal, or a stand-up cocktail style reception, we are happy to accommodate!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Romantic (42)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Business Meals (30)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Groups (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Private Room (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Historic (7)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fireplace (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Waterfront (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
874 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

booked primarily for oysters rockefeller ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

booked primarily for oysters rockefeller. but on valentines day they were out!! but the rest of the meal was great

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I seriously can't stop thinking about th ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I seriously can't stop thinking about the amazing meal we had on feb 11, our early Valentine's Day dinner. I had the Gorgonzola filet mignon and it was soooo good! Everything was fantastic! Way to go Hy's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good ambiance, great service and awesome ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good ambiance, great service and awesome food, all as expected.

The steaks were good, same as the shrimp & clams.

A safe choice if you need a great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant looking place downtown. Parking ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Elegant looking place downtown. Parking is covered which is nice.

Steaks are always good but be careful with the level of doneness. My medium rare was too rare for me, this time. Table side Ceaser is my favorite. They used to offer free cheese/garlic bread. Now they don't. You still get a choice of potato with your steak. Ambiance is definitely good, but food is not that much better than other steakhouses.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always great dining experience at Hys ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 8, 2017

As always great dining experience at Hys. Sorry to the hostess for breaking the tip jar upon her helping me put my coat on. My sincere apologies 😘

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expect to pay around $100 per person plu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Expect to pay around $100 per person plus all in. The food was excellent as one might expect. Although we all enjoyed the steak, I have a slight preference for another steakhouse in Winnipeg.

The service was gracious and efficient, and we felt well cared for. An excellent place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hy's easily handled our group of 6 with ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Hy's easily handled our group of 6 with prompt service and hot meals. I had the tuna appetizer which was top notch! Wine selection assistance was appreciated. One of the group mentioned that the lobster was the best he could remember.

Our pre-dinner lounge staff were helpful, attentive and patient s we took in the variety of beverages.

One of our party is expecting and the staff had a beverage menu ready to cater to her.

Well done!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Booked to celebrate friends' anniversary ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Booked to celebrate friends' anniversary. Delay in seating at our table. Waiter friendly, but did not appreciate $ 55 tip!

Restaurant ambiance is very nice, however, it is very expensive indeed. What's is even more discomforting is that the quality of the special Black Angus Ribeye on Bone was mediocre. One of the least quality of steak I have ever eaten - from Paris to 529 Winnipeg, to Polo grill on the Oceania Marina, and many others. Finally, a table side preparation of the Caesar Salad looks inviting, only to be disappointed by its limp salad and mediocre taste. Have had better Caesar salads everywhere else. Will not be returning in the future.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

My wife and i love the food and service ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and i love the food and service here you will spend a bit more than some other steak house's but plan for that and you will have an outstanding time with excelent food. They are one of a few that do table side demonstatiins of signature dishes like cesar salad, pepper corn sauce, couple deserts and so on. 👍👍

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining room is except at the distal ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The dining room is except at the distal end a long aisleway that all pass through . Well dressed and attentive service deliver not quite hot food . The smallest escargot and 8 ounce filet along with a tough at the edges lobster is for dinner .

Cheese toast finally remembered was undercooked . My date was happier with her steak Diane . All for $250.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

My wife and I had a rare date night give ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife and I had a rare date night given our two young kids and we decided to make it event so went for something a bit higher priced than we would normally. We each had 2 drinks, an appetizer, main course and dessert which came to about $270 before tip. Normally, I would say this was a pretty high price for 2 people, but the quality of the food was excellent and we were not disappointed. They make an exceptional Old Fashioned and the wine was worth the cost. The service was impeccable - not too pushy but there when you needed them - although that was possibly lost on other nearby patrons. There seemed to be a mix of business dinner meetings and family outings so the dress ranged from casual to suit and tie. We had a wonderful night, although it will have to be reserved for very special occasions due to cost.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I appreciate that my request to be seate ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I appreciate that my request to be seated in a specific area was noted. Our table location was very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent as were the cockt ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was excellent as were the cocktails, but service was a bit slow. Our drinks were empty for quite a while before our waiter came back to the table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I have been to Hy's a handful of times a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have been to Hy's a handful of times and until this last visit I could not understand it's popularity. This time we ordered the calamari appetizer and this was the least exciting part of our meal but I am not the largest fan of this dish so..... we ordered the cheese toast which was amazing and the Caesar salad which is the best ceasar I have ever tasted. It is also prepared tableside. For mains I had the steak Diane which was unbelievable and my husband ordered the Wellington and was equally impressed. We had the bananas foster which was good but I would definitely explore their other desserts on future visists. This visit will make me think twice about booking at my favourite Winnipeg steakhouse (located on Wellington) and may just take over as number one for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was delicious, excellent table side ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was delicious, excellent table side Caesar salad service.

Should go back to putting garlic toast on the table.

Should not charge for a side of their only BBQ sauce.

Waiter was friendly and not in our faces

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hy's was a terrific place to celebrate o ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Hy's was a terrific place to celebrate our anniversary. The food was outstanding - everything we had was good but the scallops in passionfruit beurre blanc, tempura rings, and beef wellington in red wine reduction exceptional. The service was attentive and friendly. Very impressed and left fully satisfied.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good what made the meal was And ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was good what made the meal was Andrew our waiter, friendly engaging I will be back

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent evening, lovely food as always ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent evening, lovely food as always. We enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a great experience when I eat her ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always a great experience when I eat here, fantastic service ( I would go as far as to say the best service in Winnipeg) our server was James, exceptional service with lots of knowledge and helpful with his recommendations, he made the evening exceptional for our out of town guests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Authentic, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service !

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Every aspect of our dining experience wa ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Every aspect of our dining experience was to perfection. Our daughters had the very best strawberry beverages and loved their steak! The cheesecake to finish off our dining experience was also a great choice. We were so impressed with how well taken care of we were, we can't wait to come back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always it's a pleasure dining at Hy's ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As always it's a pleasure dining at Hy's the service is outstanding, the food is amazing and the staff is very pleasant and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive, very little food for the ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very expensive, very little food for the price. Expect to pay around 60 -70$ per entree

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great steak restaurant. Great service. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great steak restaurant. Great service.

Careful where you parked. Truck was broken into when we got back. Had nothing to steal so in it. So it was an added expense in an already expensive evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome service! If you get Vincent as y ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome service! If you get Vincent as your server, he will take great care of you! 4th time there and will definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were impressed by the staff, their lo ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were impressed by the staff, their loyalty and pride they took in serving us. Definitely a place for a special occasion. Our waiter Denny, made our evening memorable.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my wife's 60th birthday she want ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was my wife's 60th birthday she wanted something special but not to elaborate just the 2 of us evening was great food was spectacular and service was excellent thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great as usual, very fri ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was great as usual, very friendly staff. Menu items are classics and a great wine list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was somber, the food was ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The atmosphere was somber, the food was good but over priced for quality and portion size. Wine was very expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our waiter was attentive and helpful. He ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our waiter was attentive and helpful. He recommended a wine which we enjoyed.

I had the calves' liver with chips. I think the calves' liver wasn't fresh but cooked from frozen, I suspect it was cooked with some wine but the alcohol was not cooked off (sour taste), and the bacon wasn't crisp, it was tough. The garnish vegetables seemed fresh and were how I like them: al dente.

My wife enjoyed her fish and chips. The beef on my aunt's (her 72nd birthday) shaved beef sandwich was quite fatty and the meat while cooked was not caramelized which would have been more flavorful and appealing to the eye.

Overall not really acceptable at half the cost. Not very special meal for a special occasion.

Sorry but you asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Great ambiance and service but the food ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great ambiance and service but the food does not meet up to the expectations for the price. All dishes were under seasoned. I had the chicken and my husband had the 20oz ribeye. My sides for the chicken were good. Gravy and chicken were very under seasoned and my husbands steak (though cooked perfectly) lacked basic seasoning. Wait staff and host were fantastic though. Husband had a Caesar and said it was great. Over all a bit of a disappointment in the food department and unfourtunatly probably won't return again.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent cob salad and service.

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent cob salad and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to take our oldest daughter ( ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We decided to take our oldest daughter (8 yrs) out for a lovely dining experience. Sadly, when we arrived, I fell ill. When we explained the situation to our server, he was so thoughtful, and brought me tea and honey right away. We dined on some cheese toast, but sadly, we had to depart as I was not feeling any better. When we notified them that we would have to postpone our dining experience for another time, they were very understanding and sent us on our way and took care of everything. Our daughter was so understanding and concerned for my well being too. Our family is so impressed by the extra care and concern that was taken during our brief visit. Thank you. Your service, care, compassion and professionalism was top notch. We are looking forward to returning soon with the whole family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time going to Hy's and I we loved ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 25, 2016

First time going to Hy's and I we loved it. We will definitely go again. Service was amazing.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was exceptional. The Ceasar ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service was exceptional. The Ceasar salad made at the table and to our request was outstanding. Wife had filet which was very good. Daughter and I had the New York which we both agreed was not the best New York we had ever had.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Hy's never fails to meet and exceed my e ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Hy's never fails to meet and exceed my expectations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual Fantastic staff made for a Fant ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 23, 2016

As usual Fantastic staff made for a Fantastic evening with great food, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday/holidays

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Birthday/holidays

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my parents for their 55th anniversa ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Took my parents for their 55th anniversary. All staff were wonderful and helpful. Andrew our server was the best. I couldn't have chosen a better place to honour my parents and give them a meal they can tell stories about for ages. They were so happy at the end of the evening, and so was I. Thank you to Hys and also OpenTable for making the evening a seamless success.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Private Room, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter Andrew was great and food was ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our waiter Andrew was great and food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.