Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be. Join us for Happy Hour weekdays.

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from formal receptions to the most casual get together. Whether you are planning a sit-down meal, or a stand-up cocktail style reception, we are happy to accommodate!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (31)
Romance (23)
Anniversaries (21)
See All
NotableWineList (19)
GoodForDates (18)
BusinessMeals (17)
QuietConversation (14)
Cozy (11)
Birthdays (11)
Foodies (9)
Groups (6)
WorthTheDrive (6)
PrePostTheatre (6)
Authentic (5)
Historic (5)
CreativeCuisine (4)
PrivateRoom (4)
ModernDecor (3)
HandcraftedCocktails (3)
TastingMenu (2)
HappyHour (2)
NeighborhoodGem (2)
ComfortFood (2)
Fun (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
Casual (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
Healthy (1)
BarSeating (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
ScenicView (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

Took a friend for dinner, excellent steak and service

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Very good food as usual. Quiet atmosphere and attentive service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Ambiance was a bit too nouveau, lacking the cozy woodiness we had expected from Hy's. Vancouver location is much more appropriate. Food was a disappointment: cheese bread ordinary (again Vancouver's was much better); steak Neptune was somewhat chewy, certainly not up to what one would expect from the price charged. Bananas Foster excellent. Service excellent.
Not value for money' we will not be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service was fantastic and the steaks were great. I especially love the caesar salad and cheese toast. I felt very relaxed at this restaurant and it wasn't noisy which is nice compared to some other steak restaurants I've been to.

Andrew made us feel special and his approach was just right.

Good job
Peter

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The service wasn't the highest standard and please offer guests black napkins because of suits and lipstick thank you--asperigus meh but bananas foster WOW!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The restaurant is very nice and perfect for high end customer lunches. It is the service however that makes this establishment among the best I have ever experienced. You and I have Edward to thank for that. Thanks Edward!
Thomas Wolstencroft

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great place for find dinning. My stake was cooked perfectly. You could hear each other talk. Staff was very attentive. Not Cheap

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a wonderful evening, the food was very tasty and the service was very good. We had a interruption with the fire alarm going off but the staff kept us informed of what was happening and when asked to vacate the building they provided us with umbrellas with the slight misty rain. In the end they apologized for the inconvenience and took care of our appetizers and deserts. This was a nice surprise to an already nice evening. Would definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very great evening , Andrew gave great service and makes a fantastic ceaser salad !

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was mediocre and in my opinion not a good value for the price. The calamari tasted burnt. The restaurant was not busy on a Friday night and I can see why. The service was very good though. Overall the experience was disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Over priced for food and ambiance. Potatoes should be included and adjust price if necessary. Garlic toast always a part of meal in past but required order now, again inappropriate for high price. They brought our guest the wrong salad. Onion soup was excellent! Was disappointed after many good meals in past.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was very good quality/delicious! Staff was very friendly and the overall service was exceptional! Great place for a special occasion!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful evening great food and excellent service very good place fora very nice dinner

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Costs were pricy for the quality of Beef that was served. Did not experience any special taste with the appetizer or main course. Bland flavors. Wait Staff was suberb as usual. Will try it again with fingers crossed

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always a great time at Hy's. Family tradition for us for many, many years and we are now introducing a third generation to the hospitality of Hy's.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 18, 2017

As usual great service but that was about it. Went for lunch and the food was OK. That should never be said about a high end place like this.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The cheese toast which I heard raving recommendations to order was actually quite horrible.. not that cheesy and too much Parmesan crumble.. otherwise asparagus amazing and steak very good cuts

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Dinner was awesome as we're all our wait staff. It was my Mom's first time there and first time having châteaubriant and you did not disappoint.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Attended Hy's for the first time to celebrate my wife's birthday. The atmosphere along with the friendly and helpful staff only added to an amazing experience. Great food, excellent service, definite recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was our first time and was happy to get a reservation a couple of hours before going. However was not happy that the only washroom was 2 floors down from where we were seated. The food was amazing and the waiter was very informative to help us decide what to have. The slowness of drink refills and snobbish attitude when the bill was paid by corporate credit card without a tip since the tip was to be in cash was very poor! It was so bad that even my wife said not to leave any as he was very rude and blunt about not seeing something on the bill. Tips are just that, a tip for good service and food. The Food was AMAZING!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We have frequented Hy's for many years. The food is now ridiculously over priced. While the food tastes fine, it it not worth what they are charging. We will not visit again...

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food - fillet was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent and thoughtful service. Our waiter went out of his way to assist us to have a fine experience and confirm that we could or could not have what we wanted and why. Creamy 'clam' chowder was not creamy and we could not recommend is. More like a vegetable soup. Snails were tasty but rather small and a bit chewy. Filet mignon was cooked the way requested but not melt in your mouth buttery. Very nice but not exceptional. For four of us plus a bottle of reasonable red wine, the bill was $465.00.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Each of us had steak...very well prepared. Side vegetable dishes are also delicious - particlularly the brussel sprouts.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Definitely one of our favourite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Waiter was great. We shared an entree and they split it for us. Great food.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Not our first visit here. The worst steaks we have had "anywhere". Super expensive and poor quality of food.
Ordered steak Diane. Claim they cook at your tabled....not so, only the mushrooms and they were terrible!
Ordered steak medium/well and received a rare steak. Sent it back and it came back burnt black on the outside and blood red and bleeding on the inside.
Other member of our party order a filet as well and surprisingly it was cooked properly, but lots of fat running through the steak, not worth the $50.00 plus.
Suggestion....keep to the bar for drinks and snacks. Avoid the diningroom and a main meal. Terrible experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Kind of peppery cesar salad. A pictured as pink drink was explained as having chartreuse but chartreuse is green and arrived as an almost clear cocktail.

Delicious scallops. Delicious steaks.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food and service was fantastic. It was my 4th or 5th time but everyone else was their first and they thoroughly enjoyed. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Succulent steaks and the best table side fresh prepared Caesar salad around!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food is really tasty , and service is pretty good, I would love to go back for second time

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant - classy and comfortable. I am looking forward to returning so I can try more dishes, and next time save room for dessert. It was fun having our salads prepared table side from scratch, and delicious. We ordered three seafood dishes, all cooked to perfection. The sauces had an incredible pairing of ingredients. Service was exceptional, well-timed and friendly, wine list was extensive and affordable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Expectations were high for this restaurant so take the 4 stars as a relative scoring:

1) The staff were excellent.

2) My steak was perfect, as was the bottle of wine we chose.

3) My love's free range chicken was enjoyed but she found it a bit dry.

4) The house salad with blue cheese dressing was well done except for being a bit heavy on the blue cheese dressing. I would order it again but ask for less dressing next time.

5) The side dish of seasonal vegetables (green beans, red bell peppers and sliced carrots) were a welcome balance to the meat and rice. They were perfectly cooked with just the right amount of firmness. However, I would have preferred less carrots and more green beans.

6) The desserts we ordered were very good (key lime pie, apple crumble, and a decadent chocolate slice of something), especially the key lime & chocolate slice. I would order one of those two again.

7) Finally, the layout was a bit crowded. We have become spoiled with the layout and noise level of the Velvet Glove next door, which is a bit more generous in layout/spacing. However, this restaurant has dedicated more room to their lounge area. Something we may check out in the future. :-)

Overall we enjoyed our time and our meal and would dine here again.

Thank you Hy's for making a good ending to my love's birthday. She said this was her "best birthday ever" and you were part of helping that happen.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food and service are good, however we feel there are far better places in winnipeg we could go with the same price with much better food. Glad we tried this place but don't feel we need to go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best steak in Winnipeg. Amazing service and great quality food

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food peppercorn NY steak was pretty good. The rib eye was to die for and the beef wellington was scrumptious

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

4 people, waited 40 mins and only 2 were served and then the other two 10 mins later. one of those plates was delivered with waiter apologizing that the waiter tripped and fries spilled onto floor so more fries were on their way - not right way to handle that as leaves you wondering if your meal also ended in the floor! ended up the last two plates were free as apology

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 6, 2017

It was my birthday, the bill was over $250 for two, and we both felt sick at the end of the night and are convinced it was because of the Cheese Toast. Felt like I'd been robbed for a meal that would have been better and cheaper just about anywhere else. Not impressed and have no intention of going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As usual, it was absolutely amazing. Service was very friendly and I appreciated that the staff was able to fit in well with my parents' sense of humour. Having sampled some of my table mate's Oysters Rockefeller, I immediately wished I had picked it, even though my scallops were great. My filet mignon with gorgonzola was perfectly cooked and very well balanced, though the beef wellington gave it a run for its money. The desserts? All very amazing. Our waiter hit a home run with my mother's wine selection and the cocktails were top notch.

Thank you for making our Birthday/Engagement dinner special, we'll be back again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Hy's gave us a great dining experience. The Caesar Salad was very fresh and delicious. The Scampi and Scallop Entree was superb as were the Filet Mignon, fries, creamed spinach and the wonderful Bearnaise sauce. Highly recommended. Just as good as 529 with better service and a
more reasonable bill.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.