About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from formal receptions to the most casual get together. Whether you are planning a sit-down meal, or a stand-up cocktail style reception, we are happy to accommodate!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
7 More
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (44)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Notable Wine List (32)
Business Meals (32)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Private Room (11)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Historic (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Fireplace (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server, Andrew was fantastic, as usu ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server, Andrew was fantastic, as usual. Thanks for a great experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No matter how high-end or premium the re ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

No matter how high-end or premium the restaurant, they're run by human beings.

And human beings make mistakes. Everything isn't always perfect, no matter how close they get.

The difference between a superior eating establishment and a mediocre one is how those mistakes are handled.

I'm pleased to say that Hy's took very good care of my wife and I on our last visit. There was bit of an issue with the order, but it was identified and taken care of very quickly, very professionally, and in a way that made us feel like valued and honored patrons.

I couldn't be happier with the quality of service and professional courtesy offered to us by Hy's staff and management, and I heartily recommend without hesitation.

By the way - the steak was sublime, too.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday lunch for my best friend, we bo ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Birthday lunch for my best friend, we both had the Grilled Ruben sandwich with home cut fries. The food was very good, high quality corned beef, very good fries. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent for a special occasion. We we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent for a special occasion. We were greeted by the Maitre'd and shown a lovely table in a quiet section of the restaurant who then proceeded to bring us two glasses of sparkling wine to celebrate our anniversary.

The service was good and the food was served timely and was well prepared. The only complaint might be the portion size of the rack of lamb for someone with a large appetite!

Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Our server was fabulous! He made the eve ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our server was fabulous! He made the evening that much even better, had a sense of humor

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

had 3 different servers within 1 hour, n ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 11, 2016

had 3 different servers within 1 hour, no one checked on us to refresh drinks until we were almost done our meal, we could hear serving staff complain under their breath, i guess some of the staff were having a bad day there! Ambiance is amazing as always! Food came out quickly and was prepared 100% the way we wanted!

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Our dinning experience was by far the be ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our dinning experience was by far the best to date. Our server Andrew was incredible.

My wife and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary. The food was amazing. The ambience perfect. Overall 10/10. Right down to the last picture that was taken with our server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit for our 1st Ann ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was our first visit for our 1st Anniversary. Fantastic steak dinner. My husband and I enjoyed everything.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great, steaks done to perfectio ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was great, steaks done to perfection. Just a little too pricey :-( other than that was a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

great food and atmosphere, very good ser ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

great food and atmosphere, very good service on a timely basis

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The meals were all great. Had filet and ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The meals were all great. Had filet and lobster, Scallops and prawns. Great ceasers and service was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about Hy's was outstanding wi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Everything about Hy's was outstanding with one exception being the location of the washrooms.....left the restaurant went down the escalator to the lower mall to find it. Definately "odd". We were impressed with the restaurant itself, the number of support people and the fact there was no pressure on how long we stayed. Our personal server / waiter made the evening a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food but very weak service. F ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Excellent food but very weak service. For a restaurant with arguably the highest prices in the city i would expect extraordinary service to complement the food. But the service was weak throughout the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I ordered the steak Neptune, which is on ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I ordered the steak Neptune, which is one of the more expensive entree's. I requested the striploin (there was an option of striploin or filet). I was very disappointed as the cut was somewhat tough - and the portion seemed small. The whole reason for going to Hy's is to get a great steak - this was a real let down and I don't know that I will be a return customer as a result.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

The warm spinach salad we had a few week ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The warm spinach salad we had a few weeks ago was one of the best salads we ever had. We were looking forward to having another. This one failed by a long shot. It wasn't even close and it wasn't flambade . The rest of the meal was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not impressed with the food for the pric ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Not impressed with the food for the price you pay!*

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

It was a Tuesday evening and we expected ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 25, 2016

It was a Tuesday evening and we expected it to be a slow night and it was but still from the time we arrived to the time we left we were made to feel welcome and appreciated without feeling harassed with far to much attention. We always enjoy the fact the staff dress appropriately and we are not dealing with a hostess or servers wearing to short of skirts and to few clothes. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good steak, although a bit pricey. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very good steak, although a bit pricey. Very good wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for my best friend birthday. Amazin ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Went for my best friend birthday. Amazing food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed as 3 of our 5 meals ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were disappointed as 3 of our 5 meals needed to be returned. One had stuffed potatoes that was cold, the other had a cold stuffed potato and a steak undercooked and the last one had a steak that was undercooked. This resulted in us eating at different times and some of us did not eat our potatoes with our meal. The manager did come and talk to us and did not charge us for our meals, but it was still disappointing and frustrating as I do not usually treat myself to an expensive dinner like that.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Hy's is my 1st choice when in Winnipeg f ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Hy's is my 1st choice when in Winnipeg for a meal on a special occasion, and has been for over 5 decades! The service, the food (even the coffee), the atmosphere - all as good as it gets, minus the "attitude" that sometimes comes with this level of quality...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated our 25 Wedding Anniversary ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We celebrated our 25 Wedding Anniversary with our 9 and 13 year old sons at Hy's. We were impressed with the service and very happy with the efforts made by the staff to make our sons feel comfortable during their first "fancy meal" outing. The food was delicious and the wine pairing suggestion was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We needed to pick a new venue for our ve ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We needed to pick a new venue for our very special meal on our 40th wedding anniversary and went with Hy's this time. We were welcomed by various staff members and seated immediately we arrived even though we were half an hour early. The service was quick and friendly. The food and drink arrived hot to the table and without any long wait. Love the idea of having the wine list on an iPad. We will certainly return. Only downside was the lack of parking space however we took a taxi.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from Kelly! He definitely ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great service from Kelly! He definitely turned what still would have been a very good night into an absolutely outstanding night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Cheese toast is ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food and service. Cheese toast is the best. Same with tablesidecaesar. But, don't let them seat you anywhere near the lounge as it is really loud there and not at all pleasant. The second floor is slightly better but the noise is really an issue. They need to do something to keep the lounge noise in the lounge.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Hys is my first choice restaurant in Win ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Hys is my first choice restaurant in Winnipeg. The location, staff, decor and of course the cuisine are all top shelf. They deliver high caliber food without the pretentious attitude like 529. We were just at Hys for my birthday on Wed. We had an incredibly charming server named Pacco who made some excellent recommendations in terms of food and drink while still being incredibly entertaining. We paid for a portion of the meal using some gift cards I received for my birthday and due to a technical error one of our cards didn't go through and as a result we were overcharged $50.00 however the general manager John ( hope that's his name ) or our awesome server Pacco noticed the error and had a solution worked out by the time we made it home. John called me within 15mins of leaving the establishment to notify me about the overcharge and gave me several options to rectify it. A1 service all around from a class act of a restaurant . I would whole heartedly recommend Hys to anyone looking for a proper authentic steak house or fine dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Had a great get-together with friends. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Had a great get-together with friends. Outstanding ambiance, food, and service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here three times. The firs ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We have been here three times. The first time the food was horrible. The second time it was excellent. This time it was very average. Definitely not worth the amounts charged! I don't mind paying for great food, but it is so inconsistent I doubt we will ever return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Great steakhouse. The food and service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great steakhouse. The food and service was fantastic!

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I am a USA resident but always go to Hy' ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I am a USA resident but always go to Hy's when in Winnipeg. The food and service are always the best. The service is actually better than the "BEST".....they are the best, best, best.

EDZ

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Had good service but steak wasn't worth ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Had good service but steak wasn't worth the money. Desert was pretty basic for a up class joint like this. Wine was way overly priced. Would recommend this place if you have money to burn.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The food was very good but very expensiv ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was very good but very expensive. We went to celebrate my husbands birthday, the majority of restaurants give a free dessert to the Birthday person but not here. Disappointing in that respect. Restaurant is good for the rich but for the average person a less expensive restaurant is just as good. I would only go again on a very special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I got charged 1 dollar for a Pepsi refil ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I got charged 1 dollar for a Pepsi refill. I guess spending 170 dollars between 2 people doesn't get you a free refill on a pop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

With Ottawa's Hy's closing, it was a tre ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

With Ottawa's Hy's closing, it was a treat to find out that Winnipeg still had the iconic restaurant chain in operation. The location of Winnipeg Hy's in a former bank gave the resto a sense of gravitas as well as a sweeping sense of space with its high ceiling and solid lower level dining area located in the former vaults. From a gracious greeting at the entry to the fantastic, personable service tableside, it was an exceptional dining experience for my wife and step-daughter to celebrate a milestone in our child's life: her first job! As always, the spinach and caesar salad was phenomenal and the steaks grilled to perfection. We've eaten at Ruth's Chris in NYC, Bardi's in Toronto and Hy's is easily comparable to those established steakhouses. Even in price; and this is perhaps where our only beef (groan) with Hy's lies. With other well-reviewed restaurants specializing in steak in Winnipeg, the pricing could perhaps be more competitive. While we, for sure, will be returning, it will be after we try some other alternatives in the city.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my first time at this resturant ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was my first time at this resturant I was very impressed with everything service , manners food price was a bit high but it was worth it from beginning to end we will surly come again and also I did like that the noise level was very low , music was very good for dinning enjoyed

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Hy's when my husband won a gi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We went to Hy's when my husband won a gift card. Though very expensive, the meal was amazing! You must try the Caesar salad prepared fresh at your table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had been here once before, after wande ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had been here once before, after wandering through Winnipeg for the first time ever, and even though it is a reservation kind of place, they have seating for people without at the bar and in the front. I was so impressed with the quality and service that a year later, I brought my girlfriend there to celebrate her birthday. This time we made a reservation and planned it out, the service was again impressive, the staff was knowledgeable, it is however a very formal dining atmosphere, I don't think it's possible to be overdressed here. The cocktails are well made, and the food is simply incredible, personally I'd recommend the shrimp. Overall I'd give it a five star rating, but keep in mind this is a place you will spend a lot at.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good, but the price wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was very good, but the price was astronomical. Very, very, very expensive for what you get. There a several other restaurants in Winnipeg where you can get a high quality meal like that for considerably less.

Also they took the super tall Apple pie off the menu a few years ago, that is disappointing. I was looking forward to that tall pie!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

My friend and I had a lovely time at Hys ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My friend and I had a lovely time at Hys to celebrate our birthdays for the second time thanks to the manager, Jason. Our server Andrew was very accommodating and knowledgeable about the menu selection. The food was splendid this time. Our steaks were moist and flavourful and the steamed broccoli was delicious. Again we really enjoyed our experience there, especially the meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You get pampered here, with attentive se ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 9, 2016

You get pampered here, with attentive service at every opportunity. Still, we had two issues with the service. One was that extra cost options and menu choices were suggested so many times and the atmosphere makes it seem uncouth to ask for the cost every time. The second was that an item that we agreed to was substituted for something else. This was quickly corrected once we realized, and our bill was adjusted to remove the incorrect one, the correct one, and another item! So I can't really count that as a negative.

The food was high quality and prepared well with the exception of a consistent high use of salt throughout the dishes. As promised, the steak was probably the best I've had anywhere. The "famous" cheese toast was the only let down, as the cheese reminded us of Velveeta and you wouldn't believe how much of it was poured on the toast.

I'm sure with a different appetizer and with maybe a request to cut the salt back, the food would have left a first rate impression in quality and preparation.

We won't be going back mainly due to the prices of the menu items. Most of the items were about a third more expensive than I expected at a quality restaurant, and to get a full meal (i.e. a vegetable other than a potato, and some bread before the main course) it will then cost you significantly more.

I believe that Hy's repeat customers are the "high rollers", and the menu and service are attuned to this clientele. So we won't be back until we come into significant money. But we appreciated that during our visit, we weren't made to feel second class at any point as it was likely apparent that we were not accustomed to Hy's (both the pampering and the costs).

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.