Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg

Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be. Join us for Happy Hour weekdays.

One Lombard Place, Main Floor Richardson Bldg
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0X3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday 4:30-11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Closed on Sundays in July and August.
Join us for Happy Hour 3:00-6:00 Monday-Friday

Cross Street:
Portage & Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 942-1000

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
There is a multi-level parkade 1/2 blocks past Hy's on the right hand side. Take the elevator or stairs to the concourse level and follow signs to Hy's. We offer complimentary parking after 5 PM. Please ask the hostess or server for parking validation card.

Executive Chef:
Frank Vadacchino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why not make Hy's part of your own "Hockey Night In Canada"? Complimentary parking, dinner at Hy's, a quick 10 minutes walk undergound to the MTS Center, then back to Hy's for a nightcap to celebrate the win! And all without braving the elements...a great night all around!

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from formal receptions to the most casual get together. Whether you are planning a sit-down meal, or a stand-up cocktail style reception, we are happy to accommodate!

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
945 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our meal was fantastic. The service was outstanding, in all ways. The restaurant was very clean, and fast. The waiter was the best we have ever had, his name was Jason (I hope I have the name right), very knowledgeable, and interested in our meal. We have never had a better waiter, or meal. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our annual trip to Hy's will now take place at 529 Wellington. To say I was disappointed with our dining experience at Hy's this year would be an understatement. I ordered the 12 oz filet medium rare, it came partially cooked on the outside but the middle was blue rare. Our waiter was not around or was too busy to check on us and by this time it was too late to send back. For $63 I expect top rate service! My wife's filet medallions were much better which I finished for her. I ended up taking my steak home to cook for breakfast. The dress code at Hy's is a thing of the past. The table across from us was guys wearing tee shirts? One had on a baseball hat, shorts, White runners and a lumber jacket! Asked the waiter if the dress code was no longer and he shrugged his shoulders. I noticed other tables as well with guys wearing tee shirts? This is supposed to be 5 star dinning.....I don't think so! A dinner that cost $200 should not have any hiccups in it, left feeling like I got ripped off at an Applebee's!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fantastic! was our first time at Hy's. Celebrated our 29th wedding anniversary. Food, service and ambiance was excellent. we'll be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Once again the staff went above & beyond to make the night special. We were celebrating our youngest child's 18th birthday with our other 2 children. They even brought out a dessert plate with Happy 18th Birthday written in chocolate. A classy touch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was my first time at Hy's, and it was the perfect choice for my boyfriend's 30th birthday. We were immediately welcomed at the door, directed to our table, and provided with menus and a tablet to browse the drinks.

As it was both of our first time at Hy's, I really appreciated how patient our waiter was as we navigated the menus. And when we did order, everything came out quickly. Drinks, appetizer, and dinner -- all of it delicious and made with care.

Pricing is on the higher end, so for those considering dining at Hy's, I'd suggest dinner for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Provided a lovely quiet setting for a private
Engagement dinner / family gathering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food and drinks are over-priced for what you get. For example, a requested glass of red house wine cost $17.00 + taxes. The food was only satisfactory and did not justify the high prices. I would not recommend this restaurant to friends as there are too many excellent restaurants in the area offering far better value.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 31, 2017

With the extremly high prices, not to get a basic salad or bread, is terrible value! My steak was underdone but a good cut. Service was good but "stuffy".Lighten it up! Also the manager was on patrol like an undercover cop..very serious.
Won't be going back.
Not my cup of High Tea.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Went for a special occasion, drinks and dinner were great as always. The only down side was that there was one child maybe 3ish who was watching a notebook very loud a few tables down from us. We tried to ignore it but it was very loud, we had to speak to our waiter to get him to talk to that tables waiter to turn it down. So the problem was corrected smoothly.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Went to Hy's for the first time on my birthday. It has always been on my list of places to try. Had the ceasar salad to start which was a treat to watch and the perfect size to share. Was very tasty. Had the filet a la Hy's. Loved the sauce and the medallions were cooked perfectly. My daughter polished off a twelve ounce filet mignon which she said was done just right. The drink menu was really neat and we enjoyed our drinks. The waiter,Paco, was very polite and helpful, and we thought it was nice how the servers helped each other with their tables. The bill was very reasonable considering what we ordered.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, People Watching, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

We were greeted immediately and treated with friendly, courteous service. The staff in the lounge recommended unique items to try as we waited for our table in the dining room. The staff is well trained, prompt with service, and made the evening very relaxing. We will absolutely be back for another evening of ambiance and fine dining!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic food! Great service! Would go back for sure!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Curry Shrimp was very good but the portion was really small and overpriced for the amount you get.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This is a restaurant which prides itself and delivers on excellent service. The meals are delicious. Pricey though so only for special occasions for us.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food, service as always excellent we always go on our anniversary never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Good choice as always! Great food, great ambiance and all around a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Terrific food and service, but it should be for the most expensive meal for 2 that I have ever purchased. Don't let me put you off, but be prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Took a friend for dinner, excellent steak and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very good food as usual. Quiet atmosphere and attentive service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Ambiance was a bit too nouveau, lacking the cozy woodiness we had expected from Hy's. Vancouver location is much more appropriate. Food was a disappointment: cheese bread ordinary (again Vancouver's was much better); steak Neptune was somewhat chewy, certainly not up to what one would expect from the price charged. Bananas Foster excellent. Service excellent.
Not value for money' we will not be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service was fantastic and the steaks were great. I especially love the caesar salad and cheese toast. I felt very relaxed at this restaurant and it wasn't noisy which is nice compared to some other steak restaurants I've been to.

Andrew made us feel special and his approach was just right.

Good job
Peter

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Took my Husband for his birthday. It was very very good! The food was fresh and tasty. They acknowledged my husband's birthday with a personalized dessert. Overall, I will go back and will encourage others to go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The service wasn't the highest standard and please offer guests black napkins because of suits and lipstick thank you--asperigus meh but bananas foster WOW!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The restaurant is very nice and perfect for high end customer lunches. It is the service however that makes this establishment among the best I have ever experienced. You and I have Edward to thank for that. Thanks Edward!
Thomas Wolstencroft

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Was there for our 20th Anniversary, server Danny was great!!! Food was cooked just the way we asked!!!! Would recommend Hy's to all!!!!!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Stomach issues for 2 days after - digestion, almost felt like a flu bug

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I was somewhat disappointed with my meal. The spinach salad was quite tasteless; I could hardly cut the grilled chicken breast as it was overcooked and extremely dry. I've had good experiences in the past and very much hope that this was a blip. My guest had the trout special and commented that it was good.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great place for find dinning. My stake was cooked perfectly. You could hear each other talk. Staff was very attentive. Not Cheap

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a wonderful evening, the food was very tasty and the service was very good. We had a interruption with the fire alarm going off but the staff kept us informed of what was happening and when asked to vacate the building they provided us with umbrellas with the slight misty rain. In the end they apologized for the inconvenience and took care of our appetizers and deserts. This was a nice surprise to an already nice evening. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very great evening , Andrew gave great service and makes a fantastic ceaser salad !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was mediocre and in my opinion not a good value for the price. The calamari tasted burnt. The restaurant was not busy on a Friday night and I can see why. The service was very good though. Overall the experience was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Over priced for food and ambiance. Potatoes should be included and adjust price if necessary. Garlic toast always a part of meal in past but required order now, again inappropriate for high price. They brought our guest the wrong salad. Onion soup was excellent! Was disappointed after many good meals in past.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was very good quality/delicious! Staff was very friendly and the overall service was exceptional! Great place for a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful evening great food and excellent service very good place fora very nice dinner

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Costs were pricy for the quality of Beef that was served. Did not experience any special taste with the appetizer or main course. Bland flavors. Wait Staff was suberb as usual. Will try it again with fingers crossed

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always a great time at Hy's. Family tradition for us for many, many years and we are now introducing a third generation to the hospitality of Hy's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 18, 2017

As usual great service but that was about it. Went for lunch and the food was OK. That should never be said about a high end place like this.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Dinner was awesome as we're all our wait staff. It was my Mom's first time there and first time having châteaubriant and you did not disappoint.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The cheese toast which I heard raving recommendations to order was actually quite horrible.. not that cheesy and too much Parmesan crumble.. otherwise asparagus amazing and steak very good cuts

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Attended Hy's for the first time to celebrate my wife's birthday. The atmosphere along with the friendly and helpful staff only added to an amazing experience. Great food, excellent service, definite recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.