About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the sleek and elegant lounge lures with the promise of perfectly chilled martinis. And each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centred by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our white coated servers will guide you with professionalism and good humor, and our award winning wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, prepared in the dining room, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll remember why Hy's has been a Canadian favorite for over fifty years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Cocktail lounge : Monday - Friday 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM and Saturday from 5PM - 11PM .We are Closed for regular service on Sunday. If you have an inquiry regarding a special event on a Sunday please call Chris Meyer at 416 364 6600

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live piano from 6:30 pm, Monday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and relax to the sounds of old favorites, and contemporary classics.

Catering:
Hys is happy to accomodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant for more information

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:30pm, Monday to Saturday

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hys can accomodate any sort of special event, anyday of the week. Please contact Chris Meyer for further information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Black And Blue Ahi Tuna
Black And Blue Ahi Tuna

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can accommodate 25 to 50 for private dining, and arrangements can be also be made for smaller groups.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Financial District ›

Special Occasion (76)
Romantic (53)
Notable Wine List (36)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Lunch (11)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
830 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed our meal very much. The rest ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our meal very much. The restaurant had great service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Hy's is a nice place to visit for specia ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Hy's is a nice place to visit for special occasions. They bring an extra touch with their dining room service, like making Caesar salad beside your table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I booked a table for two about 2 weeks a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I booked a table for two about 2 weeks ahead for Saturday night. What the server did was to give us a table in front of kichen (It is not a fancy open kichen, yet an ordinary - noisy and busy - restaurant kichen). I asked her if we could change the table - it was an anniversary with my wife and I did not want the continuous distraction around kichen. However, she said there was no other seat, which was ridiculuous considering I made a reservation. Why would I make a reservation weeks ahead if I would be provided with a table right beside kichen? Well, another server interrupted at that point and offered us another table, yes they did have it. Everyhing except her service was pleasing. It's a shame what she acrewed was the first moment of our anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Went for our 12th anniversary dinner,

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went for our 12th anniversary dinner,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Every moment of this dining experience w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Every moment of this dining experience was amazing. From our welcoming from the host to ending the evening listening to live entertainment at the bar, this experience was unforgettable. The food was outstanding and I had to appreciate that sides were already included with most of the meals and their famous cheesey bread appetizer was to die for. Our server provided such amazing service and went above and beyond by making sure this special occasion was nothing less. Would definitely recommend and would go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meals, slightly overpriced but ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious meals, slightly overpriced but outstanding environment and great selection of drinks and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good & intamint . Been coming to Hy ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good & intamint . Been coming to Hy's since Richmond St.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place. Best steak I have ever h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fabulous place. Best steak I have ever had. Best Caesar salad, too! Pricey and worth it!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our family of five had dinner here to ce ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our family of five had dinner here to celebrate our 12-year old's birthday. The service from our waiter, Alkan, was excellent! The food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I thought everything was very good. The ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I thought everything was very good. The only think that I did not understand is they seated our group of 8 in the back room. The restaurant was relatively empty and it would have been nicer to sit in the main restaurant versus in the back room. The back room was very nice but too quiet and you felt isolated. No other issues with the dinner. Everything was very good and James provided excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was fantastic. Better than ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The service was fantastic. Better than other Hy's restaurants I've been to. The ambience was fantastic and the noise level was the best in the area. You can have lunch and a conversation without having to shout.

The food arrives quickly and was delicious.

I will definitely be back. Hy's is moving up my list of favourite lunch restaurants downtown. Keep up the great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I loved the dining experience at Hy's. T ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I loved the dining experience at Hy's. The wine list is very impressive, and the food is to die for. We will be definitely coming back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was given a gift card to this wonderfu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I was given a gift card to this wonderful place. I'm a cheap person so this was a very special treat. We sat at the bar for a bit and the bartender was incredible! We had a great chat with him. His personality is amazing and he made great cosmos. When we sat down for dinner our waiter was phenominal. The food was perfect! Everything about that place was amazing! I will definitely be back for a special occasion. I appreciate the amazing customer service. I work in Customer Service so it was really nice to see that it still exists. Thank you so much for everything!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Thoroughly enjoyable dining experience! ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable dining experience! I have booked at this restaurant many times for my husband and his guests, but had never been there myself. The dinner was excellent with superb service! Loved the ambiance and look of the place, dark wood, high ceilings, dim lighting. Great for special dinners and to impress guests.

I ordered the filet mignon as a main which was cooked to perfection with side dishes of baked potato, asparagus and crispy onion rings for the table. We shared the Hy's cheesecake for dessert. Absolutely the best cheesecake ever had!! Will definitely continue to book at Hy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favourite steakhouses in the c ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

One of my favourite steakhouses in the city & the wait staff is entertaining and knowledgeable in every aspect of the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Hy's to celebrate my husbands ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We went to Hy's to celebrate my husbands birthday. The service, ambiance and food was excellent with one exception. The lamb chops had a lot of fat on them which made them a bit difficult to enjoy. Nonetheless, I would return if ever in town again however would not order that specific dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old school classy dining at its best. Wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Old school classy dining at its best. Waiters in jackets and ties, flambé at the table, great traditional food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Price is almost the same as steakhouses ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Price is almost the same as steakhouses that serve US prime. Less value compared to several years ago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great overall experience! Hy's has a gre ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great overall experience! Hy's has a great menu with an extensive wine list. Service was very good with attentive staff. Food was prepared to our liking and was served in a timely manner. Nothing negative to report here. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent service and food. Great select ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent service and food. Great selection of Wines that were not too overpriced 😱, maybe I should not have had the starter to make more room for the 20oz Rib

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great ambiance, good eats! High level cu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great ambiance, good eats! High level cuisine - not terribly innovative but all executed to an excellent level.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience.felt a very ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful dining experience.felt a very sophisticated ambience.expensive but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I went to Hy's to celebrate ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I went to Hy's to celebrate our anniversary. We had the Chateaubriand for two and it was absolutely marvelous! We can't recommend this place highly enough.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxed, elegant dining experience. Enj ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Relaxed, elegant dining experience. Enjoyed watching my Caesar Salad made table side. Hostess had a taxi waiting for us at the end of our meal as it was supposed to rain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was a fantastic meal. There were some d ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Was a fantastic meal. There were some difficult allergies to accommodate but the waiter did an excellent job on the tableside appetizers. Great place to celebrate an occasion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm not a red meat type of person but wh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I'm not a red meat type of person but when I eat the steak at Hy's I'm never disappointed. It's so so tasty and juicy. I also love their Cesar salad that's prepared at the table. Service is top notch and I love the sophisticated yet unpretentious vibe of the place. I would highly recommend this to my family and friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for special occasions. Bes ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Perfect place for special occasions. Best steaks and oysters in town. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want steak, then look no further ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

If you want steak, then look no further as Hy's is the absolute best! Having eaten in many steakhouses, in many places, there is just no comparison!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food a very special ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Amazing service and food a very special place for traditional Steakhouse with table side preparations like Caesar salad etc

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My mom loves steakhouses so we go to man ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My mom loves steakhouses so we go to many of them. This is her first one in Toronto and honestly it's subpar. The food was ok not spectacular, the service was ok. I wrote in our reservations about an onion intolerance but this was not acknowledged by the wait staff (although when a dish came out that looked like there's onion on it, and I asked about it, the staff then mentioned he did receive that note, but wasn't going to double check for us whether the item was in fact onion or not, he just guessed that it's not.) Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Oysters were a delicious appetizer. The ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Oysters were a delicious appetizer. The beef tenderloin was done to perfection and literally melted in our mouth's. Great ambiance with private booths that afforded a quiet secluded feel. Wait staff was prompt, courteous and attentive to any need and well versed on menu and options. A very pleasurable experience in a great city and located near the theatre district.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a great experience. Went there fo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was a great experience. Went there for my 9 year anniversary and we were very pleased with the food and service. Our server Jimmy was great!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about my meal was great excep ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everything about my meal was great except the steak, which was lacking in taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

This was by far the best restaurant that ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was by far the best restaurant that we have been, I had the beef wellington and my wife had the salmon, boy oh boy there was a party in our mouth all the marvelous flavor, it was amazing, the service was first rate, our server explained and help us chose our food and champagne. I would recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steakhouse in Toronto! Whenever ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The best steakhouse in Toronto! Whenever we visit, we always have dinner there.

The atmosphere is great and the staff, as always, are amazing!

Must Haves are the caesar salad and cheese bread for starters, and any steak as the entree and you cant go wrong!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Hy's Steakhouse. We were there to ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved Hy's Steakhouse. We were there to celebrate Father's day dinner.

We have been to several steakhouses in TO and we found Hy's to be one of the best we have had. I actually prefer Hy's to Harbor 60. We were able to comfortably enjoy an app, entree and still had plenty of room for dessert which is not the case at most TO steakhouses. Portion size if perfect. Staff from the greeting to end were all extremely attentive almost made us feel like we were the only ones in the restaurant.

New favorite spot for steak!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the steak was not allowed to sit after c ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

the steak was not allowed to sit after cooking. the steaks began to leak when we started eating them. had to drain off the leakage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Wonderful experience; excellent wine and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful experience; excellent wine and food. A great place for a special meal or occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has been many years since I visited H ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It has been many years since I visited Hy's. I remember this as a fine restaurant with excellent steaks. While the atmosphere was good and it was interesting to have the waitress prepare the salad, main dish (chateau briand), and dessert at the table, I found the food to be below average for the price. The steak was over cooked, a bit tough and simply warmed up at the table. I would suggest as an alternative Chris Ruth's or elsewhere for much the same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

This has become a regular place for cele ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This has become a regular place for celebrating our son's birthday. Delicious food, amazing service and good wines.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.