About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the sleek and elegant lounge lures with the promise of perfectly chilled martinis. And each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centred by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our white coated servers will guide you with professionalism and good humor, and our award winning wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, prepared in the dining room, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll remember why Hy's has been a Canadian favorite for over fifty years.

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm and Sunday 4pm-10pm. If you have an inquiry regarding a special event please call Randy Ostlund at 416 364 6600

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live entertainment Tuesday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and relax to the sounds of old favorites, and contemporary classics.

Catering:
Hy's is happy to accomodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant for more information

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hy's can accommodate any sort of special event, any day of the week. Please contact management for further information.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can accommodate 25 to 50 for private dining, and arrangements can be also be made for smaller groups.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Business Meals (35)
See All
Romantic (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Cozy (17)
Historic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fireplace (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Private Room (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Live Music (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great experience at Hy's. Excellent service. Excellent food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful meal and best service from our server Jimmy. We went twice in one week while we were staying in Toronto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

It was a great experience. The NY steak was great and the french onion soup was just amazing. The wine menu was very limited but still we managed to find a good one. The person who served the food for us was very polite and fun. I requested for quite spot and they gave us the best corner without noise and crowd. I really appreciated that.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We went there for my wife's birthday, ordered the Chateaubriand, was cooked perfectly, too much broccoli & Cauliflower, basically the vegetables I don't eat. Waiter substitutes with green beans. Tats was bland but tender. Lobster tail was amazing, I just should have ordered that. Booth was too tight and hard to get in and out of. Then they sat another couple beside us the wreaked of strong perfume, made us sneeze including the waiter. So we got up and moved and I paid the check. Then we were offered a birthday desert consisting of 1 raspberry and 2 slices of strawberry with Happy Birthday on it. By that time we just wanted to leave. Overall a big disappointment, would not go back or recommend this restaurant. Also menu looks different on website than at the restaurant. Should have stuck to Ruths Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food and fantastic decorate. if you want a romantic feeling, it is the best choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Have been a fan for many year. Great staff and most excellent food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Old style steakhouse that is trying to be great but is just average, in my opinion. The wine list (by the glass) was very pedestrian. The "signature" cheese toast reminded me of a Sizzler or TGIFriday's menu item. We ordered scallops, which were so burdened with butter and sauce that we could hardly taste the scallops. The steak was passable. I think Hy management needs to update its menu and wine list if they want to elevate to the category of Ruth's Chris or Del Frisco's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great Steaks...Amazing Oysters Rockefellar and Table side Caesar salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Not the greatest experience with cold and average quality NY striploin, the whole thing just felt very tired in terms of product and customer satisfaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I don't recommend the French fries but the steak was quite good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our server was professional & pleasant however I found the service to be slow even though the restaurant wasn't full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellent food and wine, paired with great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always outstanding. Fantastic dinner. Expensive, but you know that going in.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2017

They accommodated special requests for us, including looking after a picky 13-year old and serving items from their bar menu in the main dining room. Sylvia (our server) was very helpful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We were in the very back of the restaurant and service was unusually slow even though not busy. Waited 10 mins for cocktails then another 10 mins before waiter showed up for placing our order. Entrees showed up an hour after we sat down. Food was excellent but slow slow service sub par compared to the usual Hy s standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Michael was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service by our waiter Dorian who, not only was adept in recommending some good wines, but did a great job in the table preparation of the caesar salad and bananas foster. Also, the pace of service was just right. The quality of food was great and the portion size was not too big. We also enjoyed the high vaulted ceilings and the woodwork on the flooring. The bar was expansive and a great place to enjoy a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Nice meal not only meat but also club cake and Caesar Salad also very good.
It is good for dating and business occasions.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We love a steakhouse and Hys is one of our faves. Tableside Caesar salad is a real treat and the fries are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time at Hy's and certainly won't be my last experience there. My wife and I loved the food from the Caesar salad to start, all the way through to the dessert... every bite (and every sip) was incredible! The ambience really makes this place special... you can't help but feel you are dining in a part of Toronto's history. The staff were great, very helpful and accommodating to our requests to make our meals just right for us. Can't recommend this place enough. 5 stars and worth every dollar!

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing service and food. The staff was by far the friendliest I have seen in a very long time. Expansive wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service and food was great, I would prefer to sit in a little quieter area, there was a large loud party in the same room we were seating. Other than that it was a very pleasant evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was very nice. A little on the pricey side but was such a nice atmosphere and meal was delicious. Everyone loved the steak and the lobster

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very nice to be with the rich and famous but the food although adequate at those prices could be better service was fun overall a good night but at those prices might not. Come back

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was a wonderful experience. The place is beautiful and our server was fantastic. Sure it's expensive but well worth it. Enjoy!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The table we had was at the corner and it was super dark which make me feel disappointed a little bit. We ordered Wellington Beef and Diane Beef, both are super good and highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service were first class. Not cheap but worth the money

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Having been to most of the Hy's, I can say that Hy's Toronto is definitely the flagship restaurant. The architecture, finishes and ambiance are some of Canada's finest.

If you're American, this is Canada's answer to Del Frisco's Double Eagle or Mastro's.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was great except my husband was looking forward to crab legs. We ordered them and then told 10 minutes later it was sold out. This was extremely disappointing! As we come here for our birthdays!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I had an absolutely phenomenal experience at Hy's Steak House! The service was impeccable and the staff was helpful, welcoming and made my experience truly memorable. The steak and lobster dish was amazing and the table-side Caesar salad added to the experience. In addition, the pistachio crème brulee was the best I've ever had! The dining area is beautiful and the large fireplace added to the ambience and elegance of the seating area. I had gone for a birthday celebration, and the staff ensured that my birthday experience was as phenomenal as possible, as they even put a candle in my dessert and piped the words "Happy Birthday" in chocolate without me even asking them to. I would definitely go again and though it is on the more expensive side, it is definitely worth it for a special occasion or outing!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

For the price the food could be better. Found my vegetables on the oily side. Chicken was just okay. Was editing more flavour. At the price one would expect it to be boneless.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Can't imagine better. Food, service, ambience. They have it all.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Must compliment our server my date has sensitive food allergies and not only was our server accommodating he was aware and also suffered from some of the same sensitivities.
The food was prepared perfectly and was also delicious.
I believe his name was Kevin, regardless he went above the call. With the rise of food allergies no matter how severe other restaurants can take a lesson from the exceptional service and sensitivity Hy's staff has shown.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Outstanding food, service and dining experience!
This Restaurant exceeded all of my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always the food and service was excellent. Steaks were cooked exactly as ordered and the service was top notch. I wouldn't expect anything less. I found it a tad pricey and I think the prices might have gone up. But I still would go back again. Great job all around.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Private Room, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful and the service is impeccable, the food however is very disappointing. The Caesar salad was fantastic but the cheese toast was bland and plain. We have the New York and the steak Neptune with a New York. Both steaks were tasteless and barely warm, my roasted potatoes were ice cold and the mashed potatoes were cold, plain white potatoes. The Keg has better steaks for a third of the price, very disappointing, I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday, the ambience and design of the restaurant is really nice and we were seated in a romantic booth. Upon arrival, the hostest greated us and took our coats & our waiter was always present and friendly. I ordered 2 apps as my meal, ahi tuna & smoked salmon - the ahi tuna was not the best and the smoked salmon was good. My boyfriend got steak and lobster and he said the steak was very flavourful and the lobster with the melted butter was tasty. We also got the garlic cheese toast - nothing amazing, just texas toast with marble cheese melted on it pretty much. Overall the experience was nice and I would go back for another special occasion - they really make you feel "special" here.

Tags: Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great ambiance with excellent service. The steaks were a bit sub-par couple of times i've visited, but the rest of the meals are well prepared and very tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Its the perfect and quintessential traditional steak house and so glad it still exists. Awesome food, service and ambiance. Nothing missed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The Beef Wellington was excellent and the service exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.