About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the sleek and elegant lounge lures with the promise of perfectly chilled martinis. And each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centred by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our white coated servers will guide you with professionalism and good humor, and our award winning wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, prepared in the dining room, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll remember why Hy's has been a Canadian favorite for over fifty years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Cocktail lounge : Monday - Friday 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM and Saturday from 5PM - 11PM .We are Closed for regular service on Sunday. If you have an inquiry regarding a special event on a Sunday please call Randy Ostlund at 416 364 6600

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live piano from 6:30 pm, Monday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and relax to the sounds of old favorites, and contemporary classics.

Catering:
Hy's is happy to accomodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant for more information

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hy's can accommodate any sort of special event, any day of the week. Please contact management for further information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Black And Blue Ahi Tuna - Hy's Steak House - Toronto, Toronto, ON
Black And Blue Ahi Tuna - Hy's Steak House - Toronto, Toronto, ON

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can accommodate 25 to 50 for private dining, and arrangements can be also be made for smaller groups.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto / Ontario
Best Ambiance
Toronto
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Financial District ›

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (39)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Business Meals (30)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Historic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Music (6)
Private Room (6)
Authentic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fireplace (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and ambiance

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Hy's remains a classic high end steak ho ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Hy's remains a classic high end steak house. the decor of the Toronto restaurant is outstanding and remeniscent of a private club. Our server, Joanne was excellent, she made us feel like we were her only customers. Overall a wonderful experience with great food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hy's is a beautiful venue, with old worl ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Hy's is a beautiful venue, with old world classic atmosphere and professional service. Although so much of Hy's is lovely, surprisingly, the strip steaks we ordered were tough and not nearly as good as when we have had them here before. Everything else was very nice, but since we came for their (usually) outstanding steaks, we were disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Not enough options on the menu, especial ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Not enough options on the menu, especially if you don't eat steak!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Everything was perfect , atmosphere was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was perfect , atmosphere was really awsome and service too. Also , steak was so delicious

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners we've had in the ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

One of the best dinners we've had in the city. The staff were very friendly and accomondating, checking up on us but not being too invasive. The food was great; we ordered the Chateaubriand, and it was the perfect amount of food for 2 people. I made a special request which was fulfilled, so many thanks to the establishment for making our night perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creamed spinach must be tried with bread ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Creamed spinach must be tried with bread (extra charge, but perfect to pair).

Soup of the day is often better choice than the menu French Onion, which can also be very filling if you are hungry.

Oysters was day special fresh from PEI and you will never taste better. If available, get it.

Servers may forget this and that. Wave down another if nothing in 2-3 minutes and politely remind. They will deliver.

Steaks will come lesser cooked than asked. Medium will come medium rare to bloody. Always ask for well done.

Spinach salad is tableside grilled, flame show and all, good for dates. Bacon onions peppers eggs all scrambled in front of you. Spinach is fresh and mixed to retain vitamins and nutrients. If you want salad get this one.

Place not easily obvious to first comers. It is same building as some Brewster bar and restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went to Hy's for my daughter's birthd ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We went to Hy's for my daughter's birthday. The food was very good but the service (Torey was our server) was fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great restaurant, Michael and Jimmy wer ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great restaurant, Michael and Jimmy were our servers. Both very personable.

Enjoyed there interaction with us. Food was fantastic. Good portions. Done to Perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hy's was a wonderful experience. The ti ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Hy's was a wonderful experience. The timing of our one steak from the kitchen and the table side preparations of the 'Steak Diane' could not have been timed more perfectly! Our martinis were made exactly to our liking and there was an excellent choice of wines. We will visit again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic steak luncheon. Wedge salad, p ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fantastic steak luncheon. Wedge salad, peppercorn steak, steaming hot coffee. Everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is good. Food is excellent. S ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Everything is good. Food is excellent. Service is really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have a new favourite restaurant! The s ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have a new favourite restaurant! The service, food and ambiance was amazing! We are very picky and it takes a lot for us to give perfect marks!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a great date night ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I had a great date night at Hys. The appetizers and the steaks were amazing. Done exactly like we like them. We would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, Great service...was a perfec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, Great service...was a perfect evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

High quality food, impeccable service an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

High quality food, impeccable service and huge wine list.

As usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best steak I have ever eaten. Great plac ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Best steak I have ever eaten. Great place if you're looking for a romantic place to eat out. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice night out. It is costly, but totally worth it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Private Room, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining here with family and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have been dining here with family and friends for over 10 years. My wife and I, when we feel like this type of meal, HYS for years has been our go to place. We always have high expectations when going here and those expectations have ALWAYS been met without question.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife, and newborn baby decided to try ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife, and newborn baby decided to try Hy's on the weekend as a celebratory dinner for having a baby and my wife being able to enjoy a few drinks.

The atmosphere, and service was great!

I thought it was very over priced as far as quality and portion of food were concerned.

I ordered the porterhouse steak.

In order for a T-bone to be considered a porterhouse, it must be at least 1-1/4" thick. My porterhouse came and it couldn't have been thicker than 3/4", which means I paid $75 for a T-bone steak.

I thought the garlic mashed had an old stale taste to them.

The portions are pretty small and sub par for the price.

My wife ordered the steak Neptune with the fillet. The size of the fillet was incredibly small. I ended up sharing my meal because hers was such a small portion.

IMHO, save your money and go to Black Angus steak house in Etobicoke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Our server, Michael was fantastic!!! (a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server, Michael was fantastic!!! (as were the hostesses at the front and the 'busboys'.) Michael is one of the best waiters we have had (and we all eat out frequently).

I took my parents for dinner. They have been going to Hy's (Vancouver and Winnipeg) for over 50 years. It was most disappointing that patrons are now being charged for garlic bread. Given the atmosphere and the high prices it seemed to us that this was an insult to your patrons. That was the only disappointing thing for all of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Gem in financial district. $12 valet par ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Gem in financial district. $12 valet parking right on Adelaide in front of restaurant very convenient (available after 5:30pm).

Server recommended "Pittsburg style" for my rib steak - probably the best rib steak I've had.

View into the kitchen of steak grill through what looks like a fireplace - pretty unique.

Tags: Fireplace, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We knew this restaurant would be costly ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We knew this restaurant would be costly however we wanted to go all out for our anniversary and didn't mind spending extra, however the food fell short. Nothing special that you can't get at another steak house for a cheaper cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Best porterhouse steak in the city. Ver ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Best porterhouse steak in the city. Very upscale dinning.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing! Ordered prawns and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very disappointing! Ordered prawns and scallops for $43. After waiting 45 mins for the food, the scallops were uncooked and slimy. When we told the waiter he said that's how some people like it (this was NOT supposed to be sushi). He took it back to be cooked more and brought it back still uncooked , just with a hotter plate ( micro waved?). Overall this is not what I would have expected from a high end restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was totally amazing! the servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was totally amazing! the service was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We asked the waitress about fish and she ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We asked the waitress about fish and she suggested sea bass which was not listed on the menu. When the bill came, we were shocked to see the price of sea bass and felt kind of cheated. I think the restaurant should list all items on the menu and not hide the expensive ones.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Super service from arrival to bar to tab ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Super service from arrival to bar to table. Food excellent, quantity of sides could be a bit more generous. The restaurant decor and ambiance superb

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time dining at Hy's and absolutel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Second time dining at Hy's and absolutely love this place. Great atmosphere and impeccable service. Had the NY strip and cooked to perfection. Tasted fantastic. My wife had the filet mignon which she loved. Great Manhattan and wine list. When I'm back in Toronto, I will be back to Hy's

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was extremely good...Very good h ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Service was extremely good...Very good hostess and the bartender could not be stumped..Food was good and the ambiance was great for friends to dine and chat...lovely evening

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant. Calamari only aver ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Calamari only average; small quantity, small taste. Caesar salad amazing. Filet outstanding. Bananas Foster desert wonderful. Wine list--average, but OK.

Service outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome staff. Awesome venue. Awesome fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Awesome staff. Awesome venue. Awesome food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place was nice and in old steak hous ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The place was nice and in old steak house style with a good and friendly Service ,but the the food was below our expactation ! Side orders were cold and looked as prepared in advance . Ordered pepper crusted steak and expexted it pepper crusted , but it came slightly peppered and green peppersauce on it !

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The Restaurant was above average..Servic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The Restaurant was above average..Service was next to none... Food was excellent but portions

small...Atmosphere was nice...Will go again

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is great ... will go back again

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Food is great ... will go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect, I like the food, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Everything was perfect, I like the food, the service excellent

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had what was supposed to be. best rib st ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Had what was supposed to be. best rib steak on menu. Tough awful meat. Stuffed potato cold. Very disappointed. We were going to team Canada Game so didn't complain because i didn't have time to send it back.

My wife loved her filet and normal baked potato though.

Apps were good to but you are a steakhouse so make sure it is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Always reliable, always professional, al ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Always reliable, always professional, always delectable - never had a bad experience at Hy's and managed to discover an excellent and reasonably priced Chardonnay on their update wine list. Highly recommended

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hys is a great steak house experience, a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Hys is a great steak house experience, always exceptional but for the fact that that like so many emporiums they can't make a decent martini if their lives depended on it, if you want a glass of ice water it's OK but if you want a martini ask for a double.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic in every sense of the word!!! ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic in every sense of the word!!! Rib-eye Bone-in 32oz was magnificent as were all the extras!

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far one of the better steak h ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is by far one of the better steak houses in Canada. Great food and classic service. This is the only time I have been there that my entree took a longer time than expected to arrive. There was a birthday party for 20 that may have contributed to the wait. In that they arrived after we did, (I had a table for two) and all their meals came out before ours, I'm sure the kitchen staff just focused on the bigger party first. Otherwise top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.