About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the sleek and elegant lounge lures with the promise of perfectly chilled martinis. And each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centred by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our white coated servers will guide you with professionalism and good humor, and our award winning wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, prepared in the dining room, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll remember why Hy's has been a Canadian favorite for over fifty years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Cocktail lounge : Monday - Friday 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM and Saturday from 5PM - 11PM .We are Closed for regular service on Sunday. If you have an inquiry regarding a special event on a Sunday please call Chris Meyer at 416 364 6600

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live piano from 6:30 pm, Monday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and relax to the sounds of old favorites, and contemporary classics.

Catering:
Hys is happy to accomodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant for more information

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:30pm, Monday to Saturday

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hys can accomodate any sort of special event, anyday of the week. Please contact Chris Meyer for further information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Black And Blue Ahi Tuna
Black And Blue Ahi Tuna

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can accommodate 25 to 50 for private dining, and arrangements can be also be made for smaller groups.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto / Ontario
Best Ambiance
Toronto
Steakhouse
Toronto
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Financial District ›

Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (55)
Notable Wine List (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for a Date (11)
Business Meals (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Live Music (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is great ... will go back again

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food is great ... will go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect, I like the food, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was perfect, I like the food, the service excellent

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had what was supposed to be. best rib st ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had what was supposed to be. best rib steak on menu. Tough awful meat. Stuffed potato cold. Very disappointed. We were going to team Canada Game so didn't complain because i didn't have time to send it back.

My wife loved her filet and normal baked potato though.

Apps were good to but you are a steakhouse so make sure it is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Always reliable, always professional, al ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Always reliable, always professional, always delectable - never had a bad experience at Hy's and managed to discover an excellent and reasonably priced Chardonnay on their update wine list. Highly recommended

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hys is a great steak house experience, a ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Hys is a great steak house experience, always exceptional but for the fact that that like so many emporiums they can't make a decent martini if their lives depended on it, if you want a glass of ice water it's OK but if you want a martini ask for a double.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic in every sense of the word!!! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic in every sense of the word!!! Rib-eye Bone-in 32oz was magnificent as were all the extras!

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far one of the better steak h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is by far one of the better steak houses in Canada. Great food and classic service. This is the only time I have been there that my entree took a longer time than expected to arrive. There was a birthday party for 20 that may have contributed to the wait. In that they arrived after we did, (I had a table for two) and all their meals came out before ours, I'm sure the kitchen staff just focused on the bigger party first. Otherwise top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Steak is always hit and miss here: somet ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Steak is always hit and miss here: sometimes very good, often fatty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

They were not able to provide a half chi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

They were not able to provide a half chicken dinner as listed on the menu 9 sold out for the night) but the chef improvised a very serviceable chicken breast and vegetables for about 10 % of the price of other mains. this was a very satisfying and the price drop was a pleasant surprise.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Is was very noisy, jack hammer was const ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Is was very noisy, jack hammer was constantly going. We were there to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and it didn't feel special at all. Not sure if we would come back but definitely not till construction is done. Would have been nice to know that was going on when making my reservation.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Our service was great! I forget the wai ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our service was great! I forget the waiter's name. I just remember that he was Greek. Very nice man and his service was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was so good, especially the service. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

It was so good, especially the service. Beef Willington was tasty and I love the scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I haven't been to Hy's in ages and sadly ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I haven't been to Hy's in ages and sadly it doesn't seem that the restaurant had progressed much otherthan get more expensive.

Food was overpriced and the 'legendary ' baked potato had seen better days. Worst of all wasthe noise which was due to street construction but was at times, unbearable.

There are better steak houses around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The restaurant is very impressive on the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The restaurant is very impressive on the inside. The service was excellent. However 30 dollars for a California glass of wine 9 oz is ridiculous when the entire bottle cost 28 dollars in the store. Steak was nice but no better than the keg really at the end of the day.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual, Hy's delivered consistent and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

As usual, Hy's delivered consistent and great service, and offered excellent suggestions for drinks and food pairing.

Seating preferences were a perfect match - and during the week works very well.

Kudos to all staff, and looking forward to visit again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I always come here for my anniversary di ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I always come here for my anniversary dinner. Staff has always been friendly and welcoming. Food is excellent. Will be coming back again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best service I have seen in Toronto. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The best service I have seen in Toronto. I would like to go to this restaurant again.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food average for price. Might have just ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

food average for price. Might have just hit a bad day

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Absolutely sensational dinner!! Will def ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Absolutely sensational dinner!! Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal very much. The rest ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We enjoyed our meal very much. The restaurant had great service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Hy's is a nice place to visit for specia ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Hy's is a nice place to visit for special occasions. They bring an extra touch with their dining room service, like making Caesar salad beside your table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I booked a table for two about 2 weeks a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I booked a table for two about 2 weeks ahead for Saturday night. What the server did was to give us a table in front of kichen (It is not a fancy open kichen, yet an ordinary - noisy and busy - restaurant kichen). I asked her if we could change the table - it was an anniversary with my wife and I did not want the continuous distraction around kichen. However, she said there was no other seat, which was ridiculuous considering I made a reservation. Why would I make a reservation weeks ahead if I would be provided with a table right beside kichen? Well, another server interrupted at that point and offered us another table, yes they did have it. Everyhing except her service was pleasing. It's a shame what she acrewed was the first moment of our anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Went for our 12th anniversary dinner,

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went for our 12th anniversary dinner,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Every moment of this dining experience w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Every moment of this dining experience was amazing. From our welcoming from the host to ending the evening listening to live entertainment at the bar, this experience was unforgettable. The food was outstanding and I had to appreciate that sides were already included with most of the meals and their famous cheesey bread appetizer was to die for. Our server provided such amazing service and went above and beyond by making sure this special occasion was nothing less. Would definitely recommend and would go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meals, slightly overpriced but ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious meals, slightly overpriced but outstanding environment and great selection of drinks and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good & intamint . Been coming to Hy ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good & intamint . Been coming to Hy's since Richmond St.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place. Best steak I have ever h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fabulous place. Best steak I have ever had. Best Caesar salad, too! Pricey and worth it!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our family of five had dinner here to ce ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our family of five had dinner here to celebrate our 12-year old's birthday. The service from our waiter, Alkan, was excellent! The food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I thought everything was very good. The ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I thought everything was very good. The only think that I did not understand is they seated our group of 8 in the back room. The restaurant was relatively empty and it would have been nicer to sit in the main restaurant versus in the back room. The back room was very nice but too quiet and you felt isolated. No other issues with the dinner. Everything was very good and James provided excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was fantastic. Better than ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The service was fantastic. Better than other Hy's restaurants I've been to. The ambience was fantastic and the noise level was the best in the area. You can have lunch and a conversation without having to shout.

The food arrives quickly and was delicious.

I will definitely be back. Hy's is moving up my list of favourite lunch restaurants downtown. Keep up the great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I loved the dining experience at Hy's. T ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I loved the dining experience at Hy's. The wine list is very impressive, and the food is to die for. We will be definitely coming back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was given a gift card to this wonderfu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I was given a gift card to this wonderful place. I'm a cheap person so this was a very special treat. We sat at the bar for a bit and the bartender was incredible! We had a great chat with him. His personality is amazing and he made great cosmos. When we sat down for dinner our waiter was phenominal. The food was perfect! Everything about that place was amazing! I will definitely be back for a special occasion. I appreciate the amazing customer service. I work in Customer Service so it was really nice to see that it still exists. Thank you so much for everything!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Thoroughly enjoyable dining experience! ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable dining experience! I have booked at this restaurant many times for my husband and his guests, but had never been there myself. The dinner was excellent with superb service! Loved the ambiance and look of the place, dark wood, high ceilings, dim lighting. Great for special dinners and to impress guests.

I ordered the filet mignon as a main which was cooked to perfection with side dishes of baked potato, asparagus and crispy onion rings for the table. We shared the Hy's cheesecake for dessert. Absolutely the best cheesecake ever had!! Will definitely continue to book at Hy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favourite steakhouses in the c ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

One of my favourite steakhouses in the city & the wait staff is entertaining and knowledgeable in every aspect of the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Hy's to celebrate my husbands ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We went to Hy's to celebrate my husbands birthday. The service, ambiance and food was excellent with one exception. The lamb chops had a lot of fat on them which made them a bit difficult to enjoy. Nonetheless, I would return if ever in town again however would not order that specific dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old school classy dining at its best. Wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Old school classy dining at its best. Waiters in jackets and ties, flambé at the table, great traditional food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Price is almost the same as steakhouses ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Price is almost the same as steakhouses that serve US prime. Less value compared to several years ago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great overall experience! Hy's has a gre ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great overall experience! Hy's has a great menu with an extensive wine list. Service was very good with attentive staff. Food was prepared to our liking and was served in a timely manner. Nothing negative to report here. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent service and food. Great select ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent service and food. Great selection of Wines that were not too overpriced 😱, maybe I should not have had the starter to make more room for the 20oz Rib

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great ambiance, good eats! High level cu ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great ambiance, good eats! High level cuisine - not terribly innovative but all executed to an excellent level.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.