About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the elegant lounge lures with the sounds of contemporary live music and perfectly chilled martinis. Each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centered by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our servers will guide you with professionalism and care, and our award winning, Wine Spectator recognized wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll know why Hy's is Canada's premier steakhouse.

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm and Sunday 4pm-10pm.
Happy Hour weekdays 4-8pm.
For special events, please call the restaurant.

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live entertainment Tuesday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and enjoy to the sounds of contemporary Canadian musicians.

Catering:
Hy's is happy to accommodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday

Public Transit:
Hy's is located on the Path system and can be accessed through the underground.

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hy's managers are expert party planners. From weddings and rehearsal dinners to important client meetings, to landmark birthday and anniversary celebrations, our team would be delighted to help you make your event perfect.

Private Dining Rooms:
The Richmond Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 40 (50 Standing)
DESCRIPTION
Warm wood paneling and a spectacular hand painted mural create an inviting oasis in the heart of Toronto’s glass and steel financial district.

Adelaide Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 75 (90 for Cocktails)
DESCRIPTION
On the second level, tucked above the main floor dining room, your guests can enjoy exclusivity while still sharing the stunning décor and gracious atmosphere of the restaurant.

Specials

Prime Rib Sunday

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Prime Rib Sunday

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

On Sundays enjoy Hy’s famous Prime Rib Dinner Served au jus, with Yorkshire pudding and sweet potato mash. Just 48.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. A limited number of Prime Rib dinners are available each week. Special valid May 14, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 on Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can accommodate 25 to 50 for private dining, and arrangements can be also be made for smaller groups.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (32)
Quiet Conversation (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (22)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Cozy (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Live Music (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Scenic View (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1053 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and one of the best steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, amazing service and good food. If I knew that they had a dining area with live music, I would have requested it.

Price is high, but a good place for special occasion if you're willing to spend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Mikey, Stephen and Carlos were amazing. They made out fantastic meal a great dining experience. The luxurious decor suited the rich menu and elegant professional service. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our meal was wonderful and the service terrific. I had the rack of lamb and it is the best I have ever had, and I have had plenty of racks of lamb! We'll be back again for sure.

Thank you,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It does my heart well to see a place like hy s still prospering in this overly casual eat at the bar and watch TV driven society. As you first walk in u r greeted by and friendly and efficient staff member to guide you or in my case to the bar for the mandatory pre-dinner cocktail the ambience of the entranceway and the bar are very appealing and I note that the bar was crowded and thankfully. was being used actually to purchase and enjoy drinks and not as a lunch counter The dining room is quite comfortable with a classy warmth and the Canadian beef superb. Service was first class very attentive without being overbearing and the knowledge of the servers demonstrated experience and thorough training Our servers Torryand Steven made an excellent team adding to the total enjoyment of the evening it was a great pleasure to dine in the old-style where the food was obviously appreciated by those attending the dress respectful of the quality of the location the kind of experience which should be experienced by all and not just on special occasions. You've earned it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The ambiance was beautiful, the food superb and the service from Alkan was stellar. Would definitely recommend this restaurant and ask for Allan.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

One of the best steakhouses in North Anerica

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fantastic food, fantastic service and attention to detail. Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We were lucky enough to get a last minute reservation at Hy's...it was our last night in Toronto and had a great dinner at 3 other restaurants the other nights...wanted a perfect 4 for 4.
Got it.
The room is dark, but a nice space. The waiters were friendly, and responsive, even when cashing out another table.
The opening, a self touted cheese toast opened, and was nice, but nothing that special.
The steak was excellent. My wife loved her fish.
This is a solid choice for a really nice dinner in downtown Toronto!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a great time and the waiters were great to us the food was great

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was very nice and i do appreciate for the good food and service there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Your old world steak house done well for those who still like that sort of thing once and a while.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great ambiance and environment. Torey was awesome and a great host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had a great time! Service was great and I'm definitely coming back soon! Steak is to die for as well.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Nothing says Father's Day like a 20oz bone-in rib steak, medium rare/Chicago with a loaded up baked potato. Top notch, professional and courteous service from the valet, to the front door, to our table and dinner. An experience worth every penny and we're looking forward to doing it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service. Great steaks. Love the wide selection of wine. The sommelier was spot on regarding grappa suggestions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Food was very good. Steaks were the highlight. Service was excellent. First class and professional

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This place is sooo nice, food was so good and customer service was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 12, 2017

A great place to eat - food was delicious and service and presentation are outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Amazing food...service is even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was amazing,as well as service! The personnel was very nice! I will definitely recommend Hy's steak house to my friends and colleagues!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Professional and friendly service. Good steak, wide choice of wines.
Overall, a very good experience.
Must reserve, busy place...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The dining room was elegant and warm. It exuded warmth and old world charm. The service was attentive and helpful. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The shrimp cocktail and calamari were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were celebrating our son's birthday. We enjoyed the bar first where they had two live musicians. They were excellent. Then a great table where we loved the Caesar salad and steaks all around. Bananas foster for dessert. Really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Service was fantastic, food was great. Our steak was cooked to perfection and very tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The tenderloin steak Neptune was perfectly cooked but was disappointed that the Bearnaise sauce was congealed and cold with little crab...

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Service was friendly but VERY SLOW. Too slow for our liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great night and superb service with Michael.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

First time here...definitely won't be last!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had an excellent dinner and our server Steve was attentive and knowledge and entertaining. Really good service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Mikey provided phenomenal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had amazing B-day party. Our server Jimmy was prompt, hepful and knowledgeable.
Food: Gorgonzola crusted filet mignons were prepared really well. Add-on mushrooms even better. Beef tartare was most likely the best food consumed by the party goers that evening.
Finally, only down side to the great evening at Hy's was loud party of Bay Street professionals next of us.
Again great experience: atmosphere, service, food and drinks. Noise level was not great but was entirely created by guests in good spirits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The steak was outstanding. For appetizer, i had the Caesar salad which was delicious. Asked for extra anchovies and got plenty.
Fries were too greasy should have ordered veggies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Outstanding experience. Food was delicious, service was attentive and quick to fix errors, even ones we hadn't noticed. Would recommend and return. Beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food, great service... we loved it. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic environment, Amazing employees ,superb food!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A dinner with a very important client!!! I've been to Hy's many many times. With clients. Spent thousands of dollars there. But as of Friday night. It's over. I reserve a table of three. Upon entering and shown to out table I requested another as the client felt it was too noisy. In fact. There was an adjacent table with a kids bitthdat party. I mean 6-7!yeat olds. Very boisterous and noisy. The manager said it was impossible to change our table even though at that time there were several enpty ones ... after a 800$ dinner, unhappy as the kids were getting tired ... a mentioned to the manager that we were moving to the bar ans if he bought us a round of drinks it would be much appreciated ..he said no! He didn't want to. So goodbye. And this critique will be shared in my very large office

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great service from the front door all the way to the bar for night cap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful. I'm Always satisfied with the service, ambiance and great food. One of my Favorite restaurants. Service is paramount.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I took my daughter to celebrate her 19th birthday. I mentioned that while I was doing reservation. I was surprised that the restaurant would not offer her even a small birthday piece of cake.
The food was good and service excellent. In general we had an amazing evening.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.