About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the sleek and elegant lounge lures with the promise of perfectly chilled martinis. And each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centred by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our white coated servers will guide you with professionalism and good humor, and our award winning wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, prepared in the dining room, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll remember why Hy's has been a Canadian favorite for over fifty years.

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Cocktail lounge : Monday - Friday 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM and Saturday from 5PM - 11PM .We are Closed for regular service on Sunday. If you have an inquiry regarding a special event on a Sunday please call Randy Ostlund at 416 364 6600

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live piano from 6:30 pm, Monday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and relax to the sounds of old favorites, and contemporary classics.

Catering:
Hy's is happy to accomodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant for more information

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hy's can accommodate any sort of special event, any day of the week. Please contact management for further information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Black And Blue Ahi Tuna - Hy's Steak House - Toronto, Toronto, ON

Report a photo problem

Black And Blue Ahi Tuna - Hy's Steak House - Toronto, Toronto, ON

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can accommodate 25 to 50 for private dining, and arrangements can be also be made for smaller groups.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (34)
Business Meals (34)
See All
Romantic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Cozy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Historic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Authentic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Live Music (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Casual (4)
Fireplace (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
956 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter Alkan was amazing. We have b ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter Alkan was amazing. We have been to Hy's several times but this was the best experience by far. I think the only negative was the steak tar tar. I did not have it but one of group had it and compared it to other nice restaurants and found it over spice. Our steaks were perfectly prepared just as we asked and we all had different orders. The dressing on the salads was delicious and not heavy handed. We were there for nearly 4 hours, not because of the service but because we totally forgot about time. We were disappointed about looking up wines on an iPad, but I guess that progress. Thanks Hy's for a fantastic evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent for a good business discussion ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent for a good business discussion as the noise level and ambiance are conducive to getting work done.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Good Ambiance for formal dining but food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good Ambiance for formal dining but food not worth the price compared to other comparable rest restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Exceptional, friendly service paired wit ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Exceptional, friendly service paired with delectable food and drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Toronto institution! As Joso's is for ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A Toronto institution! As Joso's is for fish Hy's is for steaks. Truly one of Canada's finest establishment restaurants. It took my husbandvalmost a decade to convince me to go and i only wish i had listened to him earlier. The food was out of this world!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We love going to Hy's food and service a ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We love going to Hy's food and service always top notch. The only real disappointment for us is they now charge for the garlic bread. I think its tacky. This is a fancy steak house. Even the Keg which I think is not at the same level serves bread.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasteful ambience. Exceptional service. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Tasteful ambience. Exceptional service. Exquisite food. Hy's is a must for fine diners.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The bone in ribeye was not a great choic ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The bone in ribeye was not a great choice the steak was half fat and quarter bone little real meat. Would pick a different steak if I ever find myself at this steakhouse again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

It was my daughter's 10th birthday and t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was my daughter's 10th birthday and they made it really special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just an amazing night out with my wife a ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Just an amazing night out with my wife and parents. Five star experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance and furnishings were beauti ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The ambiance and furnishings were beautiful. Was to be served New England clam chowder (the special) but received Boston clam chowder. Did not correct the waiter. The prices have escalated to the point there isn't a chance we could afford to bring guests and family to this restaurant. The guest we did bring was extremely uncomfortable ordering since the prices were extremely high.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for my girlfriend's birthday. O ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We went for my girlfriend's birthday. One of us has an audio sensitivity, so we were looking for a quiet table, and the staff worked well with us to find the best spot. The food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such an amazing time. Thank you to both ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Such an amazing time. Thank you to both Jimmy and Torey for the fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience has always been excellent ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our experience has always been excellent. The service was bare none this time. Our server was extremely knowlegeble and courtious. The only aspect that was not up to your usual standards was my steak. It was just OK.

We will be back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night with my wife sans kids hit th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Date night with my wife sans kids hit the mark. Thanks, Hy's!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently took my family to Hy's new To ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I recently took my family to Hy's new Toronto location to see how it stacks up to the old classic, and I can say it didn't disappoint! Although it is clearly an upgrade, they have done an excellent job of staying with a traditional feel to create the classic ambiance you would expect from a high end steak house.

As far as price, well if you've already decided to go to Hy's for dinner/lunch, you've already explored the extensive menu online and shouldn't be surprised at the prices since you are in a top steak house in a metropolitan city. Although, I should add, the extensive wine list has offerings for all budgets, so no need to shy away from a bottle or two.

Our appetizers were escargots and pan seared scallops which were amazing - perfectly cooked (I am not a fan of gelatinous scallops) seared but not overcooked. The ladies in the group shared the Chateaubriand for two served with Bearnaise and ample vegetables, which they said was delicious and cooked as requested. I had the striploin with frites which was great, tasty and cooked exactly as I requested, but hey, if you can't get that right you are out of business! My son with a somewhat bigger appetite than mine (or at least he can get away with it) went for the 22 oz Porterhouse which he easily finished, we also ordered some sides and thoroughly enjoyed the entire meal!

We didn't have much room for anything else, but felt the need to try their famous cheesecake, which is delicious followed by a snifter to settle everything down - the service was friendly and attentive, great meal, great restaurant, great evening!

Visited December, 2016

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance was wonderful, but I was a litt ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Ambiance was wonderful, but I was a little dissapointed with the food. Waited longer than we should have to be served and when my steak finally came it was barely warm. Expected more based on the mostly positive reviews I read.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I was really pumped to go to Hy's after ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I was really pumped to go to Hy's after the reviews and it was for my 25th birthday. A good steak is how i prefer to celebrate my birthday. The price was fair, the service was great. But they put our family table besides a room full of loud business men celebrating. We could hardly hear each other. The steak wasn't the greatest, for a steakhouse i expected something much more. I had the beef wellington and it was overcooked.

For a person who really enjoys that cut of meat i wouldn't tell a friend to go, i would rather go to Jacobs or Harbour Sixty which are both amazing.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food, outstanding service and ambi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great food, outstanding service and ambiance. This was my first time in this restaurant although I know almost all the restaurants in the downtown I never noticed this great restaurant inside the large office building. Looking forward to another visit in the new year with more friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant with excellent serv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good restaurant with excellent service. Perfect preparation of the salad, main dish and dessert right in front of us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We expected a lot more from this restaur ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We expected a lot more from this restaurant. It isn't worth the travel or the price. Our sides were cold and didn't taste fresh. The steak was ok, we were disappointed to say the least.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

An old school steakhouse in the finest t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2016

An old school steakhouse in the finest tradition! Great for impressing customers.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I appreciate Hy's because I can always g ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I appreciate Hy's because I can always get a reservation even on short notice.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was outstanding. Fresh oyste ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The service was outstanding. Fresh oysters were some of the best I have ever had. A little disappointed in the ribeye.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service, high quality meals a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Impeccable service, high quality meals and best of all quiet and private - perfect spot for business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent the ambiance w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The service was excellent the ambiance was great.we ordered the porterhouse steak which was done to perfection we would definitely come back

Tags: Business Meals, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and ambiance

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great food and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Hy's remains a classic high end steak ho ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Hy's remains a classic high end steak house. the decor of the Toronto restaurant is outstanding and remeniscent of a private club. Our server, Joanne was excellent, she made us feel like we were her only customers. Overall a wonderful experience with great food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hy's is a beautiful venue, with old worl ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Hy's is a beautiful venue, with old world classic atmosphere and professional service. Although so much of Hy's is lovely, surprisingly, the strip steaks we ordered were tough and not nearly as good as when we have had them here before. Everything else was very nice, but since we came for their (usually) outstanding steaks, we were disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Not enough options on the menu, especial ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Not enough options on the menu, especially if you don't eat steak!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Everything was perfect , atmosphere was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was perfect , atmosphere was really awsome and service too. Also , steak was so delicious

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners we've had in the ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

One of the best dinners we've had in the city. The staff were very friendly and accomondating, checking up on us but not being too invasive. The food was great; we ordered the Chateaubriand, and it was the perfect amount of food for 2 people. I made a special request which was fulfilled, so many thanks to the establishment for making our night perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creamed spinach must be tried with bread ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Creamed spinach must be tried with bread (extra charge, but perfect to pair).

Soup of the day is often better choice than the menu French Onion, which can also be very filling if you are hungry.

Oysters was day special fresh from PEI and you will never taste better. If available, get it.

Servers may forget this and that. Wave down another if nothing in 2-3 minutes and politely remind. They will deliver.

Steaks will come lesser cooked than asked. Medium will come medium rare to bloody. Always ask for well done.

Spinach salad is tableside grilled, flame show and all, good for dates. Bacon onions peppers eggs all scrambled in front of you. Spinach is fresh and mixed to retain vitamins and nutrients. If you want salad get this one.

Place not easily obvious to first comers. It is same building as some Brewster bar and restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went to Hy's for my daughter's birthd ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We went to Hy's for my daughter's birthday. The food was very good but the service (Torey was our server) was fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great restaurant, Michael and Jimmy wer ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great restaurant, Michael and Jimmy were our servers. Both very personable.

Enjoyed there interaction with us. Food was fantastic. Good portions. Done to Perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hy's was a wonderful experience. The ti ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Hy's was a wonderful experience. The timing of our one steak from the kitchen and the table side preparations of the 'Steak Diane' could not have been timed more perfectly! Our martinis were made exactly to our liking and there was an excellent choice of wines. We will visit again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic steak luncheon. Wedge salad, p ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fantastic steak luncheon. Wedge salad, peppercorn steak, steaming hot coffee. Everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is good. Food is excellent. S ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Everything is good. Food is excellent. Service is really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have a new favourite restaurant! The s ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have a new favourite restaurant! The service, food and ambiance was amazing! We are very picky and it takes a lot for us to give perfect marks!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a great date night ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I had a great date night at Hys. The appetizers and the steaks were amazing. Done exactly like we like them. We would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.