About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the elegant lounge lures with the sounds of contemporary live music and perfectly chilled martinis. Each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centered by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our servers will guide you with professionalism and care, and our award winning, Wine Spectator recognized wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll know why Hy's is Canada's premier steakhouse.

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm and Sunday 4pm-10pm.
Happy Hour weekdays 4-8pm.
For special events, please call the restaurant.

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live entertainment Tuesday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and enjoy to the sounds of contemporary Canadian musicians.

Catering:
Hy's is happy to accommodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday

Public Transit:
Hy's is located on the Path system and can be accessed through the underground.

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hy's managers are expert party planners. From weddings and rehearsal dinners to important client meetings, to landmark birthday and anniversary celebrations, our team would be delighted to help you make your event perfect.

Private Dining Rooms:
The Richmond Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 40 (50 Standing)
DESCRIPTION
Warm wood paneling and a spectacular hand painted mural create an inviting oasis in the heart of Toronto’s glass and steel financial district.

Adelaide Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 75 (90 for Cocktails)
DESCRIPTION
On the second level, tucked above the main floor dining room, your guests can enjoy exclusivity while still sharing the stunning décor and gracious atmosphere of the restaurant.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (41)
Romantic (35)
See All
Quiet Conversation (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Business Meals (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Cozy (23)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Comfort Food (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Music (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1098 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food and even more wonderful service. We went for my bfs birthday and had a great time. Nice romantic atmosphere and an excellent wine selection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Great overall experience. I was slightly underwhelmed with their steaks when I compare to other places. Also, the drink list was not that impressive. Very few cocktails and even fewer wine options (only looked by the glass). I think a steakhouse of that class shoes had an extensive wine list, but that's just me.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Good quiet place for business. Had the fried chicken salad $18. It was terrible.

Waiter dropped more plates than a Greek wedding.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was AMAZING...and the service was over the top...the waiter knew his position inside and out....and the steak could have cut with just the fork.... giving everything 10 plus

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was a great anniversary dinner with friends.
Nice place to eat, server was great.
Thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The dinner ambience was beautiful and intimate. We ordered the jumbo shrimp cocktail which we appreciated the deveining. The shrimp was delicious with it's cocktail sauce. Our steaks were delicious and cooked to our liking. Our servers name was Alklan. He made sure we enjoyed our food and overall experience. He made our dessert right in front of us which was the banana foster (I highly recommend ) . Give this place a try & ask for the server we had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The service was excellent! Our waiter was friendly and efficient! We were there for TIFF so on a time table which was no problem for restaurant to handle. Ambience was lovely as always. The location was easy to get to.

Only disappointment was the potatoes and steak should have been hotter in temperature.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The service was incredible! My steak however was not. I casually mentioned this to the waiter and minutes later he was back insisting on preparing a new meal. I tried to convince him it wasn't a big deal however he insisted along with plan b, complimentary cheese or chocolate cake for dessert. He would not leave until he was able to whisk my plate away. Unbelievable! I would return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Sophisticated city scene with valet service. Walkable area convenient to subway & shopping & theaters. Outstanding service especially Michael our waiter. Equal to any 5 star restaurant I've dined at. btw an even more incredible experience adding in favorable currency rate with US

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We would not recommend. Not a good value. Mixed greens salad contained only iceberg and no blue cheese in the watery blue cheese dressing. Husband's filet a little tough, despite being medium. My halibut was overlooked on top of gloopy risotto. Asparagus was good. Mushrooms were too spicy, but That might be a personal preference. Feel bad for servers. Ours was very pleasant, but he had to deliver sub par meals.

So many great restaurants in Toronto. Spend your money elsewhere. Sorry Hy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I like the atmosphere elegant and quite ,but relatively expensive more than the value of the food

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Restaurant is very nice, old style club feel. Waiter / service was great. Drinks were superb. Table made Ceasar salad the best. The steak was good but not the best I've had. Prices were high but In TO I guess that's the norm. I would go bac k.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We dined there during the Toronto international film Festival. We were treated like royalty and the food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent pour nous tout a été parfait. Très bonne expérience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Casual atmosphere. Very friendly staff. Steaks done right.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Went for my birthday last night and we will definitely be back. The food was excellent, one of the best steaks I've ever eaten. I should also mention the service was phenomenal, we had several people waiting on our table it seemed and each one was very knowledgeable about the restaurant. They were also extremely patient with my wife as she really likes to browse the menu and ask questions before ordering. I would recommend to anyone, just keep in mind you pay for the privilege of eating here :)

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Service from Jimmy and Torey was fantastic. We had the 32oz Rib Steak with some sides, it was the way to go.
Thanks again for all your recommendations Torey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food was pretty good but overpriced. Traditional ambiance. Was an ok dinner but wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great place for special occasion. We went there for our 5th anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Overall, a great experience. Good food and great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I took my girlfriend here after proposing to her. The ambiance and service was exceptional. I have been to this restaurant a few times and they never disappoint. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food with amazing service and everyone was wonderful. Would definitely go to this place again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Seasonal, Casual, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We always go to Hy's when we visit Toronto from Michigan. The food is consistently good and the ambience hard to beat. The staff is very attentive and congenial. We brought good friends with us and they were delighted with the venue. The table side Caesar salad is one of the best (if not THE BEST) and special; there are very few restaurants around that still prepare the salad in front of you. Jumbo prawn cocktail and wedge salad were tasty and generous. We all had filets for our main course and the meat in Canada is slightly different than in the states. However, everyone was impressed by quality and flavor of the steaks. We ordered onion rings and brussels sprouts sides for the table and once again the group enjoyed the preparations. Onion rings were crispy and the brussels sprouts had a delicate flavor of bacon as well. We shared two desserts--pistachio creme brûlée and an apple crumble. Both were a perfect finale to a wonderful and memorable dinner!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Overall experience was good. I found it strange that there is a charge for bread.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great for a more formal business meeting which includes a great steak

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Everything at Hy's was extraordinary - the food, the service, the ambiance, the bar before dinner - we enjoyed it very much and would go again and recommend it to friends without hesitation.

Thank you for the wonderful evening, and for our unforgettable experience!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

beef wellington is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great meal with great service. Banana fosters so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fantastic ambiance and some of the best stem I've had in Toronto. Your mileage may vary, but Hy's made me forget about Morton's, Ruth's Kris, and the Octagon immediately. Very strong sir selection, as expected.

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Steven was excellent server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was my girlfriend's birthday and she wanted an amazing steak. Between Jacob, Ruth Chris, David Duncan House and Hy's (Which we all visited), she made her pick on Hy's Steak Wellington.

I've always enjoy the ambience at Hy's, quiet and classy every time. It has been a while since I had a good steak, so I indulged myself with a Black Angus Rib Steak. Special thanks that our waiter (bald gentleman with a large beard, sorry you served us twice now and I still can't remember your name) kindly reminded us that with the fat on the rib steak it is better to have it medium rare than rare, your expertise saved my day (and that great piece of steak). Oh, and the Old Fashioned suggested by the waiter is truly great, going forward I'm switching to this from Barcardi & Coke.

Girlfriend really enjoyed her Wellington, a little cooked at the edges but overall still amazing. She likes how Hy's steak comes at right temperature (on the hotter side), which makes the steak taste so much better than served warm. The garlic cheese toast is also one of the reason to eat at Hy's, we begin to wonder if we should order two orders next time because it is too good to share.

There are so many good things to say about Hy's. Rather than reading what else I have to say, it is best to just go to Hy's if you don't mind spending a little extra for a great steak in an extremely comfortable restaurant with friendly knowledgeable staff. I just can't wait for the next time my girlfriend craves for steak.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Friendly helpful staff, quick service, very nice ambiance

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My spouse and I went to Hy's to celebrate a special anniversary. I had posted this on the Open Table link on Hy's website. I was not sure whether that information had reached the restaurant, but upon our arrival it was clear that it had. The service was impeccable. Very friendly and helpful staff, and a complimentary glass of bubbles greeted us. The food was great and considering our location worth the cost.
Our parting words to our server Natasha; Thank you for helping make this a most memorable day!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We ordered the cheesy bread to start. Very dated dish and cheap. Ceasar Salad was decent but expensive for what it was. The baked potatoes we ordered to accompany our beef were lukewarm and the toppings were so so. Butter was not even melted.

The worst though was the beef. We ordered the premium bone in rib eye at $71 for a 20 oz cut. Lukewarm and very, very sinewy. Very hard to cut. The accompanying bernaise sauce was jelly like and even had a skin which indicates it had been sitting for a while.

A very disappointing meal for the price. We will not be going back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Quiet on a Tuesday lunchtime so marked down a little for ambience which perhaps a little unfair. Service and food good and prices reasonable by steakhouse standards. Wine list looked good though I wasn't drinking. Recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent service. Food was outstanding. Great place to celebrate your birthday!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Absolutely magnificent. Excellent staff, service and food.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent Ambiance and Wonderful Memory on Our Road Trip Through Toronto. My husband insisted we go to Hy's of Canada from his experience in Chicago many, many years ago at Hy's of Canada. While the restaurant is no longer in Chicago my husbands memory of it being the best steakhouse ever stayed!! This is how we found ourselves in Toronto at Hy's of Canada. His recollection was correct. Thank you for another great memory and of course dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent steak and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This restaurant was supposed to be the highlight of our week. What a huge disappointment. The meat was tough and not tasty. We overpaid for an awful dinner. The waitress tried but the kitchen was below par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.