About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the sleek and elegant lounge lures with the promise of perfectly chilled martinis. And each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centred by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our white coated servers will guide you with professionalism and good humor, and our award winning wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, prepared in the dining room, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll remember why Hy's has been a Canadian favorite for over fifty years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Cocktail lounge : Monday - Friday 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM and Saturday from 5PM - 11PM .We are Closed for regular service on Sunday. If you have an inquiry regarding a special event on a Sunday please call Chris Meyer at 416 364 6600

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live piano from 6:30 pm, Monday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and relax to the sounds of old favorites, and contemporary classics.

Catering:
Hys is happy to accomodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant for more information

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:30pm, Monday to Saturday

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hys can accomodate any sort of special event, anyday of the week. Please contact Chris Meyer for further information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Black And Blue Ahi Tuna
Black And Blue Ahi Tuna

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can accommodate 25 to 50 for private dining, and arrangements can be also be made for smaller groups.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

special occasion (85)
romantic (59)
notable wine list (44)
See All
fit for foodies (25)
good for groups (23)
great for lunch (18)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
797 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far the best restaurant that ...

Dined 7 days ago

This was by far the best restaurant that we have been, I had the beef wellington and my wife had the salmon, boy oh boy there was a party in our mouth all the marvelous flavor, it was amazing, the service was first rate, our server explained and help us chose our food and champagne. I would recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steakhouse in Toronto! Whenever ...

Dined 7 days ago

The best steakhouse in Toronto! Whenever we visit, we always have dinner there. The atmosphere is great and the staff, as always, are amazing! Must Haves are the caesar salad and cheese bread for starters, and any steak as the entree and you cant go wrong!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved Hy's Steakhouse. We were there to ...

Dined 7 days ago

Loved Hy's Steakhouse. We were there to celebrate Father's day dinner. We have been to several steakhouses in TO and we found Hy's to be one of the best we have had. I actually prefer Hy's to Harbor 60. We were able to comfortably enjoy an app, entree and still had plenty of room for dessert which is not the case at most TO steakhouses. Portion size if perfect. Staff from the greeting to end were all extremely attentive almost made us feel like we were the only ones in the restaurant. New favorite spot for steak!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

the steak was not allowed to sit after c ...

Dined 7 days ago

the steak was not allowed to sit after cooking. the steaks began to leak when we started eating them. had to drain off the leakage.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience; excellent wine and ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful experience; excellent wine and food. A great place for a special meal or occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

It has been many years since I visited H ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

It has been many years since I visited Hy's. I remember this as a fine restaurant with excellent steaks. While the atmosphere was good and it was interesting to have the waitress prepare the salad, main dish (chateau briand), and dessert at the table, I found the food to be below average for the price. The steak was over cooked, a bit tough and simply warmed up at the table. I would suggest as an alternative Chris Ruth's or elsewhere for much the same price.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This has become a regular place for cele ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This has become a regular place for celebrating our son's birthday. Delicious food, amazing service and good wines.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

The eight-ounce filet mignon was cooked ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The eight-ounce filet mignon was cooked precisely to our tastes. Service was attentive and well timed, but the bill could have arrived somewhat more promptly than it was. However, the place is pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Birthday Dinner

Dined on June 9, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday dinner. We both agreed it was one of the best meals we've ever had (we had the Chateaubriand for two prepared table side). Service was incredible - highly recommend! Not cheap but worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary date night

Dined on June 4, 2016

Third time we have been to Hy's and enjoyed it as we did in the past. Very nice and quiet. Amazing food. Wonderful waitress.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great steakhouse.

Dined on June 4, 2016

steaks were outstanding. best steak I have ever eaten.also the wait staff was very friendly and informative.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

great atmosphere at this location....

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Food and service quality for this evening was not up to it's usual standards. This is one of my favorite places to go. Even though it was not busy, we were all jammed together. Food was average and waitress had a tough time, did not know the specials etc..

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Double Date

Dined on June 1, 2016

We had the Cheese Toast! only because we read the raves for it on reviews, and it was pure comfort in every bite. Then we had the table side service Caesar salad which was a pleasure to watch and equally pleasurable to eat. The Chateau Briand for 2, well its just spectacular and fun to watch the prep at the table. Our waiter James was a great guy who was a wealth of information, not only for the menu but for the city as well. So it was an interactive double date, an original experience, well worth going for.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent, food was as expec ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Service was excellent, food was as expected for a steak house . We had the Caesar salad and the chateaubriand for two. It was good and we enjoyed dinner.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing food , my taste buds were very h ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing food , my taste buds were very happy! The big dark lit dining was very romantic and although a lil loud coming from lounge we were there late and wasn't too bad. Cant wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Abosoulty wonderful! Everything was outs ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Abosoulty wonderful! Everything was outstanding!!! Highly recommend.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Food quality does not match its price. I ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food quality does not match its price. It's good, but not that good. Perhaps similar to Milestone, but twice as expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service, and atmosphere

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Hy's as part of a Mother's Day weekend trip. We found the food, service, and atmosphere to be top notch. The wine list was interactive and nicely stocked, our steaks were cooked just the way we expected and tasted fantastic. Our server was professional and very attentive without being overbearing. The prices are high, which we expected for an upscale steakhouse, but Hy's did not disappoint. If you are looking for somewhere to have a nice business dinner or romantic night out, I highly recommend Hy's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Very Disappointed.

Dined on May 6, 2016

My husband and I were taking my cousin and his girlfriend out for his 30th birthday. The wine was lovely, and my cousins enjoyed their appetizers and mains very much but my husband's and my appetizers and mains were awful. Services was amazing and very professional yet fun, but I came out of there after spending $600 very disappointed and unsatisfied.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Spot and great steaks

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Definitely one of the best steakhouse in town. the ambience at the bar and in the dining room are great. Service is top notch

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again fantastic !! Always enjoy di ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Once again fantastic !! Always enjoy dinner here. Food is great. Steak always perfectly cooked. Dynamite !

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tableside Preparations

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Had Caesar Salad and Steak Diane, both of which are prepared tableside. This was really quite a show and fun to watch. Used to live in Boston and long time ago this was standard at some of the finer places but has mostly stopped.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Hy's Toronto has gotten better!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Had a very good steak dinner at Hy's Toronto! I had stopped ordering Caesar Salad at Hy's when they stopped making it tableside, as the dressing was bland, with no kick! This time, our waiter offered to make it at our table and to make it to our liking - He added extra garlic and lemon juice and it was spectacular! The steaks were great and done to perfection! It is nice to have a waiter in a Steak House know what Chicago=Style means! All in all, a very good meal. And the wine was great too – from a great selection of Italians

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

James was once again a great waiter. Rem ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

James was once again a great waiter. Remembers us when we come back and takes special care of my son who has a sesame and nut allergy. Great place.

food4
ambience4
service5

They took great care to accommodate my d ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

They took great care to accommodate my disability.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I was there twice for lunch recently. Th ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

I was there twice for lunch recently. The first time I ordered the steak sandwich which I found wanting - veiny and not the best quality for the price. I say this as I used to be a regular customer years ago and at that time the meat was great. The second time I had the smoked salmon appetizer and it was excellent.

food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Lacked lustre and appeal

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

I have been dining at Hy's for over a decade. A few months ago, I had noticed the quality of the food lost its appeal. And what a shame - Hy's has such a distinguished ambience. So I decided to return the other night. Again - I was deeply disappointed. I ordered the Steak Diane at approx. $55 (CAD). While the sauce was gravy-based and somewhat flavourful, the meat itself tasted like an upscale version of liver. The baby potatoes were lukewarm and the French string beans were minimal. The server didn't even offer complimentary bread! Apparently, Hy's no longer offers its customers a bread basket. A sign of a definite cutback. I mentioned to the wait staff how disappointed I was with my meal and I explained that I would never be returning. She didn't bat an eyelash - nor did she offer to have the GM come by to ask why.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

"Just the facts, Sir"

Dined on April 15, 2016

Lunch date with my wife. Me, a Caesar, she a glass of red wine. 2 bowls of onion soup and we split a Caesar salad. She, a petite filet mignon, I, a luncheon New York strip loin sandwich and a glass of red wine. All was well until the delivery of the steaks and the departure of our waiter. Happily, my wife's filet was wonderful. Sadly my New York steak resembled the sole of a coal miner's boot. We had both ordered our steak's Medium RARE. By the time our waiter returned, we had shared the filet. He did offer to bring another steak, but I declined. He offered free dessert, but we also declined. He removed the cost of the steak sandwich from the bill and comp'd the glass of white wine. Our bill? $126.00. Don't think we stiffed our waiter either. We left him 20%. File under: don't return.

food4
ambience4
service3

Pricey considering how could Keg Steakho ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Pricey considering how could Keg Steakhouse around the corner is. I wouldn't go here again, despite the food being good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING!

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I went for a night away from the kids and it was GREAT! Service was smart, and friendly. Food impeccable! Atmospher, GREAT! It felt like it was just my wife and I. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was ok but food was really good

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Service was ok but food was really good

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and a wonderful anniversa ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent food and a wonderful anniversary celebration

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointing...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Slow service and my order was wrong. Given the time it took to order, I didn't bother explaining my meal was not what I requested. For a steakhouse, the steak I received was unseasoned and lacking in flavour...and it was presented on top of a piece of plain white toast. I was not impressed and expected better from Hy's.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Hy's is a fallback to another time

Dined on April 6, 2016

Hy's is history. It is not noisy nor it is it the place to be seen. It is more like a gentleman's club with good food and repellent service. To please the "blue rinse" boys there are the old standby's that I recall from Hy's in Winnipeg with my Dad. There is good fish and some super light items like the blackened tuna roll. Wine list is good (thought not cheap) and there are great beers to chose from that are on tap (extra good). This is not Scarmouche or North 44, but it is Hy's and it is well worth a visit even if you are not a steak eater! Go, experience and enjoy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on March 26, 2016

I was e trembly disappointed! I came for my first wedding anniversary and it wasn't even noted except at the very end after my waiter looked at his tip which was insulting, I got more recognition on my birthday with a dessert from my waiter than I did for my first wedding anniversary. My steak was horrible, quite thin and over cooked, yet my husband Ordered the same steak and cooked the to the same tentative and his was cooked to the proper temp and was flavourful, unlike mine. However his steak full of grissle. Finally my lobster tail, if you can call it that, although delicious was incredibly small, so for the price, I was disappointed because I got a bigger tail a week ago at the keg for a cheaper price! My waiter never even came to ask about my main course, because I would have shared my thoughts, especially given that I left 3/4 of my steak on my plate! I have been to hys many times and this was was below my expectations and previous experience to the point of not wanting to return for future dinners, especially for something as important as my first wedding anniversary!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old school luxury

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Great venue, soaring ceilings with a wooden theme going on. The food is delicious, I recommend the spinach cream as a side.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I am happy Jimmy is still there. He has ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

I am happy Jimmy is still there. He has been great over the years and was great with our kids the last time that we went.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was exquisite.

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had various steak options such as Steak au Poivre, Steak Diane & it was to die for. Worth every penny. The key lime pie was the best we ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Beginnings and endings didn't make up for middle.

Dined on March 11, 2016

Nice quiet spot away from the hubbub of the bar. The waiter was friendly. The Caesar Salad & Cheese Toast were great. The Creme Brule was delicious. The presentation of the Chateaubriand nice. Sadly, the meat was not as good as Restaurant 18 in Ottawa or our memories of Hy's in Ottawa. Did not have the "ah, this is how it should be done" experience. Everything cooled quickly and we left most of the vegetables. The waiter noticed and asked. He gave us a dessert. Just arrived from Ottawa and it was a long time since breakfast. We were hungry, so returning food to the kitchen was not an option. Too bad, it could have been...

food5
ambience5
service5

Sea bass is excellent Crab cakes are de ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Sea bass is excellent Crab cakes are delicious

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.