About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the elegant lounge lures with the sounds of contemporary live music and perfectly chilled martinis. Each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centered by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our servers will guide you with professionalism and care, and our award winning, Wine Spectator recognized wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll know why Hy's is Canada's premier steakhouse.

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm and Sunday 4pm-10pm.
Happy Hour weekdays 4-8pm.
For special events, please call General Manager Randy Ostlund at 416 364 6600

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live entertainment Tuesday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and enjoy to the sounds of contemporary Canadian musicians.

Catering:
Hy's is happy to accommodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant at 416-364-6600 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday

Public Transit:
Hy's is located on the Path system and can be accessed through the underground.

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hy's managers are expert party planners. From weddings and rehearsal dinners to important client meetings, to landmark birthday and anniversary celebrations, our team would be delighted to help you make your event perfect.

Private Dining Rooms:
The Richmond Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 40 (50 Standing)
DESCRIPTION
Warm wood paneling and a spectacular hand painted mural create an inviting oasis in the heart of Toronto’s glass and steel financial district.

Adelaide Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 75 (90 for Cocktails)
DESCRIPTION
On the second level, tucked above the main floor dining room, your guests can enjoy exclusivity while still sharing the stunning décor and gracious atmosphere of the restaurant.

See our private dining rooms here:
http://hyssteakhouse.com/locations/toronto/private

Specials

Prime Rib Sunday

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Prime Rib Sunday

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

On Sundays enjoy Hy’s famous Prime Rib Dinner Served au jus, with Yorkshire pudding and sweet potato mash. Just 48.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. A limited number of Prime Rib dinners are available each week. Special valid May 14, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 on Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can accommodate 25 to 50 for private dining, and arrangements can be also be made for smaller groups.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (32)
Quiet Conversation (31)
See All
Business Meals (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (25)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Historic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fireplace (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Live Music (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 2 days ago

Mikey provided phenomenal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had amazing B-day party. Our server Jimmy was prompt, hepful and knowledgeable.
Food: Gorgonzola crusted filet mignons were prepared really well. Add-on mushrooms even better. Beef tartare was most likely the best food consumed by the party goers that evening.
Finally, only down side to the great evening at Hy's was loud party of Bay Street professionals next of us.
Again great experience: atmosphere, service, food and drinks. Noise level was not great but was entirely created by guests in good spirits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The steak was outstanding. For appetizer, i had the Caesar salad which was delicious. Asked for extra anchovies and got plenty.
Fries were too greasy should have ordered veggies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Outstanding experience. Food was delicious, service was attentive and quick to fix errors, even ones we hadn't noticed. Would recommend and return. Beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food, great service... we loved it. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic environment, Amazing employees ,superb food!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A dinner with a very important client!!! I've been to Hy's many many times. With clients. Spent thousands of dollars there. But as of Friday night. It's over. I reserve a table of three. Upon entering and shown to out table I requested another as the client felt it was too noisy. In fact. There was an adjacent table with a kids bitthdat party. I mean 6-7!yeat olds. Very boisterous and noisy. The manager said it was impossible to change our table even though at that time there were several enpty ones ... after a 800$ dinner, unhappy as the kids were getting tired ... a mentioned to the manager that we were moving to the bar ans if he bought us a round of drinks it would be much appreciated ..he said no! He didn't want to. So goodbye. And this critique will be shared in my very large office

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great service from the front door all the way to the bar for night cap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful. I'm Always satisfied with the service, ambiance and great food. One of my Favorite restaurants. Service is paramount.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I took my daughter to celebrate her 19th birthday. I mentioned that while I was doing reservation. I was surprised that the restaurant would not offer her even a small birthday piece of cake.
The food was good and service excellent. In general we had an amazing evening.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my ceaser salad and martini, however my filet mingon was just average. My date felt the same about his steak dinner. We both felt that we could have gotten a better dinner for a better price elsewhere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We are graduating and wanted to have a dinner with friends

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The steak and seafood main courses were good but the appetizers were unacceptable. The oysters were extremely small and tasteless, I have never smaller calamari and they were over fried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Hy's never fails to impress! The appetizers were delicious (shrimp/tomato blue cheese salad), the steaks were cooked to perfection.
Our waiter was friendly and knowledgable and the atmosphere was high class, but not stuffy. Finally, near the end of our meal, the sound of the live band wafting down through the restaurant was a perfect topper to a great evening.
Loved every minute!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Indifferent server. Should have gone to Keg next door. This is not a prime steak house in Toronto. Clearly a tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Celebrating our anniversary. HYS made us feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 14, 2017

For a too shelf steakhouse, I don't find it to be on par with others good steakhouses. Not going to be a repeat customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great classic steak house. Old school married to innovation as well. Interesting wine list. Love the good selection of wines by the glass.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I would definitely go back!! It was the best experience I have had in a very long time, I have dined at many places in the city and the US but this place can't be beat! Service was on the next level - our waiter was not only friendly but knowledgeable and honest - AMAZING service for sure. Food was fabulous from the side table made right in front of you Cesar salad to the seafood and steaks - it was worth every penny.
We will definitely be going back ASAP- great place!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Onion soup good. Crab was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent servise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always a great experience at Hy's. Excellent service. Excellent food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful meal and best service from our server Jimmy. We went twice in one week while we were staying in Toronto.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

It was a great experience. The NY steak was great and the french onion soup was just amazing. The wine menu was very limited but still we managed to find a good one. The person who served the food for us was very polite and fun. I requested for quite spot and they gave us the best corner without noise and crowd. I really appreciated that.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We went there for my wife's birthday, ordered the Chateaubriand, was cooked perfectly, too much broccoli & Cauliflower, basically the vegetables I don't eat. Waiter substitutes with green beans. Tats was bland but tender. Lobster tail was amazing, I just should have ordered that. Booth was too tight and hard to get in and out of. Then they sat another couple beside us the wreaked of strong perfume, made us sneeze including the waiter. So we got up and moved and I paid the check. Then we were offered a birthday desert consisting of 1 raspberry and 2 slices of strawberry with Happy Birthday on it. By that time we just wanted to leave. Overall a big disappointment, would not go back or recommend this restaurant. Also menu looks different on website than at the restaurant. Should have stuck to Ruths Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food and fantastic decorate. if you want a romantic feeling, it is the best choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Have been a fan for many year. Great staff and most excellent food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Enjoy dinner with friend before a hockey game

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Old style steakhouse that is trying to be great but is just average, in my opinion. The wine list (by the glass) was very pedestrian. The "signature" cheese toast reminded me of a Sizzler or TGIFriday's menu item. We ordered scallops, which were so burdened with butter and sauce that we could hardly taste the scallops. The steak was passable. I think Hy management needs to update its menu and wine list if they want to elevate to the category of Ruth's Chris or Del Frisco's.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great Steaks...Amazing Oysters Rockefellar and Table side Caesar salad.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Not the greatest experience with cold and average quality NY striploin, the whole thing just felt very tired in terms of product and customer satisfaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I don't recommend the French fries but the steak was quite good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our server was professional & pleasant however I found the service to be slow even though the restaurant wasn't full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellent food and wine, paired with great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always outstanding. Fantastic dinner. Expensive, but you know that going in.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2017

They accommodated special requests for us, including looking after a picky 13-year old and serving items from their bar menu in the main dining room. Sylvia (our server) was very helpful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We were in the very back of the restaurant and service was unusually slow even though not busy. Waited 10 mins for cocktails then another 10 mins before waiter showed up for placing our order. Entrees showed up an hour after we sat down. Food was excellent but slow slow service sub par compared to the usual Hy s standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Michael was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service by our waiter Dorian who, not only was adept in recommending some good wines, but did a great job in the table preparation of the caesar salad and bananas foster. Also, the pace of service was just right. The quality of food was great and the portion size was not too big. We also enjoyed the high vaulted ceilings and the woodwork on the flooring. The bar was expansive and a great place to enjoy a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Nice meal not only meat but also club cake and Caesar Salad also very good.
It is good for dating and business occasions.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.