About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the sleek and elegant lounge lures with the promise of perfectly chilled martinis. And each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centred by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our white coated servers will guide you with professionalism and good humor, and our award winning wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, prepared in the dining room, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll remember why Hy's has been a Canadian favorite for over fifty years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Cocktail lounge : Monday - Friday 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM and Saturday from 5PM - 11PM .We are Closed for regular service on Sunday. If you have an inquiry regarding a special event on a Sunday please call Chris Meyer at 416 364 6600

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live piano from 6:30 pm, Monday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and relax to the sounds of old favorites, and contemporary classics.

Catering:
Hys is happy to accomodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant for more information

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:30pm, Monday to Saturday

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hys can accomodate any sort of special event, anyday of the week. Please contact Chris Meyer for further information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Black And Blue Ahi Tuna
Black And Blue Ahi Tuna

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can accommodate 25 to 50 for private dining, and arrangements can be also be made for smaller groups.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

special occasion (83)
romantic (59)
notable wine list (41)
See All
fit for foodies (29)
good for groups (25)
great for lunch (14)
neighborhood gem (7)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
818 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I loved the dining experience at Hy's. T ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

I loved the dining experience at Hy's. The wine list is very impressive, and the food is to die for. We will be definitely coming back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyable dining experience! ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable dining experience! I have booked at this restaurant many times for my husband and his guests, but had never been there myself. The dinner was excellent with superb service! Loved the ambiance and look of the place, dark wood, high ceilings, dim lighting. Great for special dinners and to impress guests.

I ordered the filet mignon as a main which was cooked to perfection with side dishes of baked potato, asparagus and crispy onion rings for the table. We shared the Hy's cheesecake for dessert. Absolutely the best cheesecake ever had!! Will definitely continue to book at Hy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favourite steakhouses in the c ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

One of my favourite steakhouses in the city & the wait staff is entertaining and knowledgeable in every aspect of the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Hy's to celebrate my husbands ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We went to Hy's to celebrate my husbands birthday. The service, ambiance and food was excellent with one exception. The lamb chops had a lot of fat on them which made them a bit difficult to enjoy. Nonetheless, I would return if ever in town again however would not order that specific dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old school classy dining at its best. Wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Old school classy dining at its best. Waiters in jackets and ties, flambé at the table, great traditional food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Price is almost the same as steakhouses ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Price is almost the same as steakhouses that serve US prime. Less value compared to several years ago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great overall experience! Hy's has a gre ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great overall experience! Hy's has a great menu with an extensive wine list. Service was very good with attentive staff. Food was prepared to our liking and was served in a timely manner. Nothing negative to report here. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent service and food. Great select ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent service and food. Great selection of Wines that were not too overpriced 😱, maybe I should not have had the starter to make more room for the 20oz Rib

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great ambiance, good eats! High level cu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great ambiance, good eats! High level cuisine - not terribly innovative but all executed to an excellent level.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience.felt a very ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful dining experience.felt a very sophisticated ambience.expensive but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I went to Hy's to celebrate ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I went to Hy's to celebrate our anniversary. We had the Chateaubriand for two and it was absolutely marvelous! We can't recommend this place highly enough.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxed, elegant dining experience. Enj ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Relaxed, elegant dining experience. Enjoyed watching my Caesar Salad made table side. Hostess had a taxi waiting for us at the end of our meal as it was supposed to rain.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was a fantastic meal. There were some d ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Was a fantastic meal. There were some difficult allergies to accommodate but the waiter did an excellent job on the tableside appetizers. Great place to celebrate an occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm not a red meat type of person but wh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I'm not a red meat type of person but when I eat the steak at Hy's I'm never disappointed. It's so so tasty and juicy. I also love their Cesar salad that's prepared at the table. Service is top notch and I love the sophisticated yet unpretentious vibe of the place. I would highly recommend this to my family and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for special occasions. Bes ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Perfect place for special occasions. Best steaks and oysters in town. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want steak, then look no further ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

If you want steak, then look no further as Hy's is the absolute best! Having eaten in many steakhouses, in many places, there is just no comparison!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food a very special ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Amazing service and food a very special place for traditional Steakhouse with table side preparations like Caesar salad etc

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My mom loves steakhouses so we go to man ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My mom loves steakhouses so we go to many of them. This is her first one in Toronto and honestly it's subpar. The food was ok not spectacular, the service was ok. I wrote in our reservations about an onion intolerance but this was not acknowledged by the wait staff (although when a dish came out that looked like there's onion on it, and I asked about it, the staff then mentioned he did receive that note, but wasn't going to double check for us whether the item was in fact onion or not, he just guessed that it's not.) Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Oysters were a delicious appetizer. The ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Oysters were a delicious appetizer. The beef tenderloin was done to perfection and literally melted in our mouth's. Great ambiance with private booths that afforded a quiet secluded feel. Wait staff was prompt, courteous and attentive to any need and well versed on menu and options. A very pleasurable experience in a great city and located near the theatre district.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a great experience. Went there fo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was a great experience. Went there for my 9 year anniversary and we were very pleased with the food and service. Our server Jimmy was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about my meal was great excep ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everything about my meal was great except the steak, which was lacking in taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

This was by far the best restaurant that ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was by far the best restaurant that we have been, I had the beef wellington and my wife had the salmon, boy oh boy there was a party in our mouth all the marvelous flavor, it was amazing, the service was first rate, our server explained and help us chose our food and champagne. I would recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steakhouse in Toronto! Whenever ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The best steakhouse in Toronto! Whenever we visit, we always have dinner there.

The atmosphere is great and the staff, as always, are amazing!

Must Haves are the caesar salad and cheese bread for starters, and any steak as the entree and you cant go wrong!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Hy's Steakhouse. We were there to ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved Hy's Steakhouse. We were there to celebrate Father's day dinner.

We have been to several steakhouses in TO and we found Hy's to be one of the best we have had. I actually prefer Hy's to Harbor 60. We were able to comfortably enjoy an app, entree and still had plenty of room for dessert which is not the case at most TO steakhouses. Portion size if perfect. Staff from the greeting to end were all extremely attentive almost made us feel like we were the only ones in the restaurant.

New favorite spot for steak!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the steak was not allowed to sit after c ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

the steak was not allowed to sit after cooking. the steaks began to leak when we started eating them. had to drain off the leakage.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Wonderful experience; excellent wine and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful experience; excellent wine and food. A great place for a special meal or occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has been many years since I visited H ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It has been many years since I visited Hy's. I remember this as a fine restaurant with excellent steaks. While the atmosphere was good and it was interesting to have the waitress prepare the salad, main dish (chateau briand), and dessert at the table, I found the food to be below average for the price. The steak was over cooked, a bit tough and simply warmed up at the table. I would suggest as an alternative Chris Ruth's or elsewhere for much the same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

This has become a regular place for cele ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This has become a regular place for celebrating our son's birthday. Delicious food, amazing service and good wines.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The eight-ounce filet mignon was cooked ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The eight-ounce filet mignon was cooked precisely to our tastes. Service was attentive and well timed, but the bill could have arrived somewhat more promptly than it was. However, the place is pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great Birthday Dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday dinner. We both agreed it was one of the best meals we've ever had (we had the Chateaubriand for two prepared table side). Service was incredible - highly recommend! Not cheap but worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary date night

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Third time we have been to Hy's and enjoyed it as we did in the past. Very nice and quiet. Amazing food. Wonderful waitress.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great steakhouse.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

steaks were outstanding. best steak I have ever eaten.also the wait staff was very friendly and informative.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great atmosphere at this location....

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food and service quality for this evening was not up to it's usual standards. This is one of my favorite places to go. Even though it was not busy, we were all jammed together. Food was average and waitress had a tough time, did not know the specials etc..

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Double Date

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We had the Cheese Toast! only because we read the raves for it on reviews, and it was pure comfort in every bite. Then we had the table side service Caesar salad which was a pleasure to watch and equally pleasurable to eat. The Chateau Briand for 2, well its just spectacular and fun to watch the prep at the table.

Our waiter James was a great guy who was a wealth of information, not only for the menu but for the city as well.

So it was an interactive double date, an original experience, well worth going for.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent, food was as expec ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Service was excellent, food was as expected for a steak house . We had the Caesar salad and the chateaubriand for two. It was good and we enjoyed dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing food , my taste buds were very h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing food , my taste buds were very happy! The big dark lit dining was very romantic and although a lil loud coming from lounge we were there late and wasn't too bad. Cant wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Abosoulty wonderful! Everything was outs ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Abosoulty wonderful! Everything was outstanding!!! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality does not match its price. I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Food quality does not match its price. It's good, but not that good. Perhaps similar to Milestone, but twice as expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food, service, and atmosphere

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Hy's as part of a Mother's Day weekend trip. We found the food, service, and atmosphere to be top notch. The wine list was interactive and nicely stocked, our steaks were cooked just the way we expected and tasted fantastic. Our server was professional and very attentive without being overbearing. The prices are high, which we expected for an upscale steakhouse, but Hy's did not disappoint. If you are looking for somewhere to have a nice business dinner or romantic night out, I highly recommend Hy's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Disappointed.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My husband and I were taking my cousin and his girlfriend out for his 30th birthday. The wine was lovely, and my cousins enjoyed their appetizers and mains very much but my husband's and my appetizers and mains were awful. Services was amazing and very professional yet fun, but I came out of there after spending $600 very disappointed and unsatisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.