About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the sleek and elegant lounge lures with the promise of perfectly chilled martinis. And each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centred by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our white coated servers will guide you with professionalism and good humor, and our award winning wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, prepared in the dining room, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll remember why Hy's has been a Canadian favorite for over fifty years.

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Cocktail lounge : Monday - Friday 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM and Saturday from 5PM - 11PM .We are Closed for regular service on Sunday. If you have an inquiry regarding a special event on a Sunday please call Randy Ostlund at 416 364 6600

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live piano from 6:30 pm, Monday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and relax to the sounds of old favorites, and contemporary classics.

Catering:
Hy's is happy to accomodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant for more information

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hy's can accommodate any sort of special event, any day of the week. Please contact management for further information.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can accommodate 25 to 50 for private dining, and arrangements can be also be made for smaller groups.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (46)
Business Meals (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Romantic (37)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (20)
Cozy (19)
Historic (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Authentic (12)
Fireplace (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Private Room (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Live Music (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
984 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

We were in the very back of the restaurant and service was unusually slow even though not busy. Waited 10 mins for cocktails then another 10 mins before waiter showed up for placing our order. Entrees showed up an hour after we sat down. Food was excellent but slow slow service sub par compared to the usual Hy s standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Michael was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service by our waiter Dorian who, not only was adept in recommending some good wines, but did a great job in the table preparation of the caesar salad and bananas foster. Also, the pace of service was just right. The quality of food was great and the portion size was not too big. We also enjoyed the high vaulted ceilings and the woodwork on the flooring. The bar was expansive and a great place to enjoy a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice meal not only meat but also club cake and Caesar Salad also very good.

It is good for dating and business occasions.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We love a steakhouse and Hys is one of our faves. Tableside Caesar salad is a real treat and the fries are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time at Hy's and certainly won't be my last experience there. My wife and I loved the food from the Caesar salad to start, all the way through to the dessert... every bite (and every sip) was incredible! The ambience really makes this place special... you can't help but feel you are dining in a part of Toronto's history. The staff were great, very helpful and accommodating to our requests to make our meals just right for us. Can't recommend this place enough. 5 stars and worth every dollar!

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing service and food. The staff was by far the friendliest I have seen in a very long time. Expansive wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service and food was great, I would prefer to sit in a little quieter area, there was a large loud party in the same room we were seating. Other than that it was a very pleasant evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was very nice. A little on the pricey side but was such a nice atmosphere and meal was delicious. Everyone loved the steak and the lobster

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very nice to be with the rich and famous but the food although adequate at those prices could be better service was fun overall a good night but at those prices might not. Come back

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was a wonderful experience. The place is beautiful and our server was fantastic. Sure it's expensive but well worth it. Enjoy!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The table we had was at the corner and it was super dark which make me feel disappointed a little bit. We ordered Wellington Beef and Diane Beef, both are super good and highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service were first class. Not cheap but worth the money

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Having been to most of the Hy's, I can say that Hy's Toronto is definitely the flagship restaurant. The architecture, finishes and ambiance are some of Canada's finest.

If you're American, this is Canada's answer to Del Frisco's Double Eagle or Mastro's.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was great except my husband was looking forward to crab legs. We ordered them and then told 10 minutes later it was sold out. This was extremely disappointing! As we come here for our birthdays!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I had an absolutely phenomenal experience at Hy's Steak House! The service was impeccable and the staff was helpful, welcoming and made my experience truly memorable. The steak and lobster dish was amazing and the table-side Caesar salad added to the experience. In addition, the pistachio crème brulee was the best I've ever had! The dining area is beautiful and the large fireplace added to the ambience and elegance of the seating area. I had gone for a birthday celebration, and the staff ensured that my birthday experience was as phenomenal as possible, as they even put a candle in my dessert and piped the words "Happy Birthday" in chocolate without me even asking them to. I would definitely go again and though it is on the more expensive side, it is definitely worth it for a special occasion or outing!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

For the price the food could be better. Found my vegetables on the oily side. Chicken was just okay. Was editing more flavour. At the price one would expect it to be boneless.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Can't imagine better. Food, service, ambience. They have it all.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Must compliment our server my date has sensitive food allergies and not only was our server accommodating he was aware and also suffered from some of the same sensitivities.

The food was prepared perfectly and was also delicious.

I believe his name was Kevin, regardless he went above the call. With the rise of food allergies no matter how severe other restaurants can take a lesson from the exceptional service and sensitivity Hy's staff has shown.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Outstanding food, service and dining experience!

This Restaurant exceeded all of my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always the food and service was excellent. Steaks were cooked exactly as ordered and the service was top notch. I wouldn't expect anything less. I found it a tad pricey and I think the prices might have gone up. But I still would go back again. Great job all around.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Private Room, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful and the service is impeccable, the food however is very disappointing. The Caesar salad was fantastic but the cheese toast was bland and plain. We have the New York and the steak Neptune with a New York. Both steaks were tasteless and barely warm, my roasted potatoes were ice cold and the mashed potatoes were cold, plain white potatoes. The Keg has better steaks for a third of the price, very disappointing, I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday, the ambience and design of the restaurant is really nice and we were seated in a romantic booth. Upon arrival, the hostest greated us and took our coats & our waiter was always present and friendly. I ordered 2 apps as my meal, ahi tuna & smoked salmon - the ahi tuna was not the best and the smoked salmon was good. My boyfriend got steak and lobster and he said the steak was very flavourful and the lobster with the melted butter was tasty. We also got the garlic cheese toast - nothing amazing, just texas toast with marble cheese melted on it pretty much. Overall the experience was nice and I would go back for another special occasion - they really make you feel "special" here.

Tags: Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great ambiance with excellent service. The steaks were a bit sub-par couple of times i've visited, but the rest of the meals are well prepared and very tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Its the perfect and quintessential traditional steak house and so glad it still exists. Awesome food, service and ambiance. Nothing missed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The Beef Wellington was excellent and the service exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our waiter Alkan was amazing. We have been to Hy's several times but this was the best experience by far. I think the only negative was the steak tar tar. I did not have it but one of group had it and compared it to other nice restaurants and found it over spice. Our steaks were perfectly prepared just as we asked and we all had different orders. The dressing on the salads was delicious and not heavy handed. We were there for nearly 4 hours, not because of the service but because we totally forgot about time. We were disappointed about looking up wines on an iPad, but I guess that progress. Thanks Hy's for a fantastic evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent for a good business discussion as the noise level and ambiance are conducive to getting work done.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good Ambiance for formal dining but food not worth the price compared to other comparable rest restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Exceptional, friendly service paired with delectable food and drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love the decor there, very spaceful. But food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A Toronto institution! As Joso's is for fish Hy's is for steaks. Truly one of Canada's finest establishment restaurants. It took my husbandvalmost a decade to convince me to go and i only wish i had listened to him earlier. The food was out of this world!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We love going to Hy's food and service always top notch. The only real disappointment for us is they now charge for the garlic bread. I think its tacky. This is a fancy steak house. Even the Keg which I think is not at the same level serves bread.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Tasteful ambience. Exceptional service. Exquisite food. Hy's is a must for fine diners.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The bone in ribeye was not a great choice the steak was half fat and quarter bone little real meat. Would pick a different steak if I ever find myself at this steakhouse again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was my daughter's 10th birthday and they made it really special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Just an amazing night out with my wife and parents. Five star experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The ambiance and furnishings were beautiful. Was to be served New England clam chowder (the special) but received Boston clam chowder. Did not correct the waiter. The prices have escalated to the point there isn't a chance we could afford to bring guests and family to this restaurant. The guest we did bring was extremely uncomfortable ordering since the prices were extremely high.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We went for my girlfriend's birthday. One of us has an audio sensitivity, so we were looking for a quiet table, and the staff worked well with us to find the best spot. The food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Such an amazing time. Thank you to both Jimmy and Torey for the fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our experience has always been excellent. The service was bare none this time. Our server was extremely knowlegeble and courtious. The only aspect that was not up to your usual standards was my steak. It was just OK.

We will be back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Date night with my wife sans kids hit the mark. Thanks, Hy's!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I recently took my family to Hy's new Toronto location to see how it stacks up to the old classic, and I can say it didn't disappoint! Although it is clearly an upgrade, they have done an excellent job of staying with a traditional feel to create the classic ambiance you would expect from a high end steak house.

As far as price, well if you've already decided to go to Hy's for dinner/lunch, you've already explored the extensive menu online and shouldn't be surprised at the prices since you are in a top steak house in a metropolitan city. Although, I should add, the extensive wine list has offerings for all budgets, so no need to shy away from a bottle or two.

Our appetizers were escargots and pan seared scallops which were amazing - perfectly cooked (I am not a fan of gelatinous scallops) seared but not overcooked. The ladies in the group shared the Chateaubriand for two served with Bearnaise and ample vegetables, which they said was delicious and cooked as requested. I had the striploin with frites which was great, tasty and cooked exactly as I requested, but hey, if you can't get that right you are out of business! My son with a somewhat bigger appetite than mine (or at least he can get away with it) went for the 22 oz Porterhouse which he easily finished, we also ordered some sides and thoroughly enjoyed the entire meal!

We didn't have much room for anything else, but felt the need to try their famous cheesecake, which is delicious followed by a snifter to settle everything down - the service was friendly and attentive, great meal, great restaurant, great evening!

Visited December, 2016

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Ambiance was wonderful, but I was a little dissapointed with the food. Waited longer than we should have to be served and when my steak finally came it was barely warm. Expected more based on the mostly positive reviews I read.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I was really pumped to go to Hy's after the reviews and it was for my 25th birthday. A good steak is how i prefer to celebrate my birthday. The price was fair, the service was great. But they put our family table besides a room full of loud business men celebrating. We could hardly hear each other. The steak wasn't the greatest, for a steakhouse i expected something much more. I had the beef wellington and it was overcooked.

For a person who really enjoys that cut of meat i wouldn't tell a friend to go, i would rather go to Jacobs or Harbour Sixty which are both amazing.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great food, outstanding service and ambiance. This was my first time in this restaurant although I know almost all the restaurants in the downtown I never noticed this great restaurant inside the large office building. Looking forward to another visit in the new year with more friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good restaurant with excellent service. Perfect preparation of the salad, main dish and dessert right in front of us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We expected a lot more from this restaurant. It isn't worth the travel or the price. Our sides were cold and didn't taste fresh. The steak was ok, we were disappointed to say the least.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2016

An old school steakhouse in the finest tradition! Great for impressing customers.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I appreciate Hy's because I can always get a reservation even on short notice.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.