About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the elegant lounge lures with the sounds of contemporary live music and perfectly chilled martinis. Each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centered by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our servers will guide you with professionalism and care, and our award winning, Wine Spectator recognized wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll know why Hy's is Canada's premier steakhouse.

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm and Sunday 4pm-10pm.
Happy Hour weekdays 4-8pm.
For special events, please call the restaurant.

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live entertainment Tuesday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and enjoy to the sounds of contemporary Canadian musicians.

Catering:
Hy's is happy to accommodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday

Public Transit:
Hy's is located on the Path system and can be accessed through the underground.

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hy's managers are expert party planners. From weddings and rehearsal dinners to important client meetings, to landmark birthday and anniversary celebrations, our team would be delighted to help you make your event perfect.

Private Dining Rooms:
The Richmond Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 40 (50 Standing)
DESCRIPTION
Warm wood paneling and a spectacular hand painted mural create an inviting oasis in the heart of Toronto’s glass and steel financial district.

Adelaide Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 75 (90 for Cocktails)
DESCRIPTION
On the second level, tucked above the main floor dining room, your guests can enjoy exclusivity while still sharing the stunning décor and gracious atmosphere of the restaurant.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (36)
Romantic (35)
See All
Business Meals (32)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (15)
Authentic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Live Music (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Came here for my husbands wedding and will definitely come here again! Delicious food and amazing service. Michael was amazing, easy to communicate with and very helpful. Will definitely be coming again!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Top notched service and wonderful atmosphere. Highly recommend for a business meeting.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great steak.. service was excellent. Waiter Recommended a great wine. Will definitely return. Venue is excellent for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 16, 2017

It isour first time in Toronto and Hy’s was highly recommended and we can see why. The service was fantastic and then food was great too. Waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helped with steak discussions. This would be a lovely restaurant to celebrate a special occasion but also quiet enough for a business meeting. The best part was the table service spinach salad and the banana foster (both a must) and the table service differentiates the restaurant from others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

I took my wife here for her Birthday. She can only eat grass fed meat so it was the perfect fit. From the valet, front counter and wait staff, the service was impeccable. The food was so good and her bday desert was mouth watering. Looking forward to our next visit!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Simply exquisite, from the service and ambiance, to the food and cappuccino... perfection and complete satisfaction.... the experience will leave your wallet light but well worth every dollar... recommend Mikey as your; I can’t describe it any other way but as your key to a wonderful and entertaining experience! Classy, romantic and delicious place to enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

This is a normal evening dinner with my wife, she likes the steak very much. For my perspective, I prefer the Wellington steak, that’s really amazing!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Onion rings where the outer skin of the onion chewy steak was very fatty and very sinewy. The only good thing is our server was very polite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Some things are just worth paying for! I had a great evening and meal with my son. Slow paced and fabulous service and food! One I will always remember and hopefully he will too!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Exactly what you would expect from a classic steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

My wife and I and friends of ours came from Cambridge to dine at your establishment,and have a great time. Our waiter was very pleasant. The food was amazing. We had a great time and defiantly will be coming back.
Thanks Steve.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great server, great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Always an experience to go hear. The old school culture of table service lives on in many aspects just not seen in restaurants these days. Attention to detail is second to none.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent food and service celebrating our 1st Anniversary, loved it and will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

The steak was delicious and the service is above reproach. Couldn't ask for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

We celebrated a family member's 60th Birthday. We all ordered the steak Diane--amazing! An old school steak house with a dark, but cozy atmosphere. Meal was prepared tableside--entertainment in itself!
Meal was delicious but simple--no veggies on the plate other than than the mushrooms in the sauce. Options were available for the potatoe. On my next visit to Toronto I would definitely consider Hy's again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great overall experience. I was slightly underwhelmed with their steaks when I compare to other places. Also, the drink list was not that impressive. Very few cocktails and even fewer wine options (only looked by the glass). I think a steakhouse of that class shoes had an extensive wine list, but that's just me.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wonderful food and even more wonderful service. We went for my bfs birthday and had a great time. Nice romantic atmosphere and an excellent wine selection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Good quiet place for business. Had the fried chicken salad $18. It was terrible.

Waiter dropped more plates than a Greek wedding.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was AMAZING...and the service was over the top...the waiter knew his position inside and out....and the steak could have cut with just the fork.... giving everything 10 plus

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was a great anniversary dinner with friends.
Nice place to eat, server was great.
Thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The dinner ambience was beautiful and intimate. We ordered the jumbo shrimp cocktail which we appreciated the deveining. The shrimp was delicious with it's cocktail sauce. Our steaks were delicious and cooked to our liking. Our servers name was Alklan. He made sure we enjoyed our food and overall experience. He made our dessert right in front of us which was the banana foster (I highly recommend ) . Give this place a try & ask for the server we had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The service was excellent! Our waiter was friendly and efficient! We were there for TIFF so on a time table which was no problem for restaurant to handle. Ambience was lovely as always. The location was easy to get to.

Only disappointment was the potatoes and steak should have been hotter in temperature.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The service was incredible! My steak however was not. I casually mentioned this to the waiter and minutes later he was back insisting on preparing a new meal. I tried to convince him it wasn't a big deal however he insisted along with plan b, complimentary cheese or chocolate cake for dessert. He would not leave until he was able to whisk my plate away. Unbelievable! I would return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Sophisticated city scene with valet service. Walkable area convenient to subway & shopping & theaters. Outstanding service especially Michael our waiter. Equal to any 5 star restaurant I've dined at. btw an even more incredible experience adding in favorable currency rate with US

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5