About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the elegant lounge lures with the sounds of contemporary live music and perfectly chilled martinis. Each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centered by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our servers will guide you with professionalism and care, and our award winning, Wine Spectator recognized wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll know why Hy's is Canada's premier steakhouse.

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm and Sunday 4pm-10pm.
Happy Hour weekdays 4-8pm.
For special events, please call the restaurant.

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live entertainment Tuesday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and enjoy to the sounds of contemporary Canadian musicians.

Catering:
Hy's is happy to accommodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday

Public Transit:
Hy's is located on the Path system and can be accessed through the underground.

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hy's managers are expert party planners. From weddings and rehearsal dinners to important client meetings, to landmark birthday and anniversary celebrations, our team would be delighted to help you make your event perfect.

Private Dining Rooms:
The Richmond Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 40 (50 Standing)
DESCRIPTION
Warm wood paneling and a spectacular hand painted mural create an inviting oasis in the heart of Toronto’s glass and steel financial district.

Adelaide Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 75 (90 for Cocktails)
DESCRIPTION
On the second level, tucked above the main floor dining room, your guests can enjoy exclusivity while still sharing the stunning décor and gracious atmosphere of the restaurant.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Business Meals (52)
Romantic (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (46)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Notable Wine List (29)
Cozy (24)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Live Music (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
1187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Very impressive place that I will be going back to visit. The service as amazing. We had Erin and Dimitri and they more or less waited on our table the entire time. My steak wasn’t done the way I wanted and Erin took it back without hesitation. I can’t say anything bad and would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Very enjoyable dinner, cauliflower and broccoli were a little undercooked . Cocktail was delicious- a French Martini! Seevic was very nicely done!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Phenomenal service and the food was incredible. Very Pricey but you do get what you pay for and the service cant be beat. Great staff, great atmosphere, great meal and it made for an unforgettable date.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excelent food and service. Best filet mignon ever.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2018

5th time dining at Hy's and likely my last! When one goes to a higher end steakhouse one would expect the person grilling the steaks actually knew what they were doing. I ordered the 10oz NY which I have ordered this and the 14oz many times over. The cut was discount supermarket quality at best. The steak was not seared properly, when I cut into it , it was rare. I ordered Medium. I can handle a steak that might be under, but big difference between rare and medium. My biggest disappointment is the search and how tough the steak was once they put it back on the grill. It is unacceptable for a steakhouse particular one that boasts as being a top steakhouse can't properly sear a steak. They ended up comping the steak, but I didn't travel 90 mins into to Downtown Toronto for a free meal specifically one that was underwhelming. Shame on you Hy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Everything was delicious. Perfectly cooked. Friendly staff. Enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2018

This was our first visit to Hy's and so we did not have any preconceived notions of what to expect when we made our reservation. Having visited many other steak houses in downtown Toronto, we have come to understand that many present an image they cannot live up to.

When you think classic top end steak house, Hy's fits the bill. Lots of dark mahogany, deep tables and high end linens. The wine list is nice and allows choices for the modest to average budget but does appear to lack in some of the more robust and elegant choices. Not a big deal as their selection of Niagara and Napa choices will fit most tastes. The main dishes are served to perfection and wonderfully presented. Our choices included fillet and NY strip which arrived exactly as ordered and extremely flavorful. Deserts were decadent and the perfect end to the meal. A cheesecake with amazing berry compote shared by two. Rounding off the evening we enjoyed some additional time in conversation without any feeling of being rushed. The service and attentiveness of all staff was top shelf and definitely inspires us to add Hy's to our list of must attend spots in Toronto.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Great experience overall!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

I want to say thank you to the Hy steakhouse for providing My boyfriend and I with incredible service on our 10 year anniversary. Our waitress Natasha was knowledgeable about the menu and made excellent recommendations for our meals, cocktails, and wine. We sought out this restaurant to try beef Wellington and were not disappointed but it didn’t stop there; everything from the scallops to the vegetable medley was something I would return for. Thank you for a dining experience that will not soon be forgotten! We look forward to our next experience with you :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Amazing food and fabulous service. Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

Not an experience to write home about, but it was nice to get away from the bustle of the city.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Amazing experience with a great atmosphere. The service was really good as well. Food was cooked to perfection. 5 star

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Service was outstanding, food was fantastic. We will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

The food was absolutely delicious. I had the steak tartare as my app, and the filet mignon with a lobster tail for dinner... Amazing!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

This is normally my favourite restaurant, my husband brings me here for New Years / my birthday. Once arrived it took awhile to even been offered a drink. Once we decided on food I was excited to have the beef Wellington and if you have even had it you know it’s amazing, unfortunately my meat was very undercookedand the puff pastry was raw, (the vegetable and potatoes were excellent) after telling the waiter he took my meal back and offer me a complementary dessert, are u kidding a $60.95 meal that was unedible and you offered a dessert. Was the worst experience I have ever had, we left after paying $240 bill and we later ordered room service as I was staring. Not sure I will be back very expensive evening and not even getting your whole meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

you Really need to improve the presentation on your meals and should offer a vegetable with the price you pay .
Sorry but I would rather have gone to the Keg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

We choose Hy’s as they were rated number 6 on Trip Advisor with a chain steak house being ranked from 2 to 5.

I don’t know how rankings are done but Hy’s service is impeccable, our steaks done to perfection, the martinis the best we have had in years, the service was non rushed and every waiter had a smile on their face.

We have told everyone that Hy’s is a must stop on any visit to Toronto.

We tend to stay away from chain steak houses and we are glad we choose Hy’s

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Great dinner again. The Steaks are fantastic and the Caesar salads are made fresh table side, something you just don't get anymore.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Excellent restaurant! The service is outstanding and the food beautifully prepared! Well worth a visit

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Food is overprice and average. You can find better steak at moxies.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Loved this place! Will go back! Food was great! Service was amazing my boyfriend enjoyed the food aswell!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Disappointed by the dining service and poor quality of food. Lots of competition downtown and Hys needs to step up. Food quality was poor and over priced. Surprised that our meal had to be heated up - really!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Entire experience was fabulous
Our server Alkan was attentive, efficient and an all around pleasure - with out hovering
Well staffed establishment - everyone had a role and knew it well
Ahi tuna
Oysters
New York Neptune
Filet mignon Gorgonzola
Burbon cake
Bananas Foster
Every item was done well and delicious. Loved the table side preparation of Bananas Foster
Will definitely be back

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2017

A guest needed to charge his phone. Restaurant ended up charging us $50 to use this service. Did not find out until we got the bill. Food was ok. One guest had her steak overdone. Probably will not return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

Service was outstanding. Some of the best wait staff I have ever had the pleasure of talking to. Very knowledgeable, super friendly, really welcoming.
The value is a bit less than comparable steak houses, but the food was excellent. I would definitely eat here again.
Steak au poivre was perfectly cooked and the pepper sauce was not overly powerful. Baked potato was also excellent with real sour cream - a nice touch.
Creme brulee was also excellent - the pistachio blend was perfect - This is the best creme brulee I have ever had.

Great job.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Awesome steak dinner, tables use Caesar Salad and Banana Foster. Excellent wine list as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 18, 2017

good experience with wonderful food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Steak quality was great. Ran out of what we ordered, had to re order after apps were served, which threw off the timing.

When charging $17 for each Caesar salad, the lettuce should not be brown — EVER, that was very disappointing at the price point. Wine was delivered 5-8 minutes after the main course was served. No bread? For a top steakhouse that’s a major oversight imo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Excellent food and service, extremely friendly and efficient staff. Prices way beyond what the average couple or family would want to spend. Good for a very special occasion or rare treat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Service was fantastic. Overall vibe was perfect for a date, privacy and quiet conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 12, 2017

Great meal with my wife to celebrate my birthday. Our server, Stephen, was excellent! We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2017

An old standard in TO. Great ambiance which acceptable service and food. Wine list pricey with odd variety ...

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2017

3-of us dined at Hy's on Dec.09 for a friend's Birthday. To be completely honest we were hoping to dine at either Jacob or Barberians, but had to "settle" for Hy's as we waited too long to get a reso. Neither of us had dined at Hy's before but all were nothing but impressed.

décor is as expected in a Steakhouse (and as it should be)... steakhouse's are classic establishment and shouldn't be tamper with, at least in my opinion. Service, was nothing short of outstanding, if not some of the best I've experienced in the city. Our servers Sylvia and gentleman (sorry forgot his name , goatee with no hair) were pleasant, insightful, gracious and honest!! they guided us through the menu with truthfulness, which is a lost art in Toronto.

our food consisted of Oysters, which were fresh and shucked correctly. table side Caesar, which was also fresh and excellent... lightly dressed in the savory house made dressing. 2-Rib steaks and the Fillet Neptune. Our steaks were all cooked perfect and decent flavor for wet-aged beef. potato with all the fixing were accompanied. all in all a very good meal.

again what really stood out, was the impeccable service we experienced that evening. our water and wine glasses were never empty, we were never rushed, coarse spacing was perfect, napkins folded each time leaving... etc I must say they went out of their way to insure the night was special... even a few libation on the house.

delightful experience. is the food the same quality as Jacob ? no, but Hy's is something all on its own. they serve Canadian Only beef (like it or hate it..) with classic steakhouse fare, all done well. I highly recommend next time thinking of steak, give Hy's a try rather then the usual haunts.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2017

My husband had New York steak, and it was very fatty. My filet mignon was ok, but not even close to Jacob's. Wouldn't recommend this place for steak. Very average quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

Service was incredible. !!! Great job. And of course the food and atmosphere is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Location and venue are great.
Food good, but no wow factor.
Overall safe place in a warm setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Wonderful place, wonderful service, great steak and just as great vegetarian meatloaf. This is the restaurant where you actually can have conversation and where you won't feel that you constantly have to keep raising your voice so that you will be heard over the noise...

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Was there to celebrate a birthday. Scene, food and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Amazing service and hospitality. Went there for an anniversary and they had a complimentary gift. Won't say what it is but...it was delicious and so was the rest of our dinner.
My steak cut through almost like butter and it tasted perfectly seasoned. Can't go wrong with the bone-in rib steak.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.