About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the elegant lounge lures with the sounds of contemporary live music and perfectly chilled martinis. Each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centered by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our servers will guide you with professionalism and care, and our award winning, Wine Spectator recognized wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll know why Hy's is Canada's premier steakhouse.

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm and Sunday 4pm-10pm.
Happy Hour weekdays 4-8pm.
For special events, please call the restaurant.

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live entertainment Tuesday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and enjoy to the sounds of contemporary Canadian musicians.

Catering:
Hy's is happy to accommodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday

Public Transit:
Hy's is located on the Path system and can be accessed through the underground.

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hy's managers are expert party planners. From weddings and rehearsal dinners to important client meetings, to landmark birthday and anniversary celebrations, our team would be delighted to help you make your event perfect.

Private Dining Rooms:
The Richmond Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 40 (50 Standing)
DESCRIPTION
Warm wood paneling and a spectacular hand painted mural create an inviting oasis in the heart of Toronto’s glass and steel financial district.

Adelaide Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 75 (90 for Cocktails)
DESCRIPTION
On the second level, tucked above the main floor dining room, your guests can enjoy exclusivity while still sharing the stunning décor and gracious atmosphere of the restaurant.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Quiet Conversation (33)
See All
Romantic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Business Meals (26)
Cozy (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Live Music (4)
Scenic View (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1072 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

beef wellington is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great meal with great service. Banana fosters so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fantastic ambiance and some of the best stem I've had in Toronto. Your mileage may vary, but Hy's made me forget about Morton's, Ruth's Kris, and the Octagon immediately. Very strong sir selection, as expected.

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Steven was excellent server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was my girlfriend's birthday and she wanted an amazing steak. Between Jacob, Ruth Chris, David Duncan House and Hy's (Which we all visited), she made her pick on Hy's Steak Wellington.

I've always enjoy the ambience at Hy's, quiet and classy every time. It has been a while since I had a good steak, so I indulged myself with a Black Angus Rib Steak. Special thanks that our waiter (bald gentleman with a large beard, sorry you served us twice now and I still can't remember your name) kindly reminded us that with the fat on the rib steak it is better to have it medium rare than rare, your expertise saved my day (and that great piece of steak). Oh, and the Old Fashioned suggested by the waiter is truly great, going forward I'm switching to this from Barcardi & Coke.

Girlfriend really enjoyed her Wellington, a little cooked at the edges but overall still amazing. She likes how Hy's steak comes at right temperature (on the hotter side), which makes the steak taste so much better than served warm. The garlic cheese toast is also one of the reason to eat at Hy's, we begin to wonder if we should order two orders next time because it is too good to share.

There are so many good things to say about Hy's. Rather than reading what else I have to say, it is best to just go to Hy's if you don't mind spending a little extra for a great steak in an extremely comfortable restaurant with friendly knowledgeable staff. I just can't wait for the next time my girlfriend craves for steak.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Friendly helpful staff, quick service, very nice ambiance

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My spouse and I went to Hy's to celebrate a special anniversary. I had posted this on the Open Table link on Hy's website. I was not sure whether that information had reached the restaurant, but upon our arrival it was clear that it had. The service was impeccable. Very friendly and helpful staff, and a complimentary glass of bubbles greeted us. The food was great and considering our location worth the cost.
Our parting words to our server Natasha; Thank you for helping make this a most memorable day!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We ordered the cheesy bread to start. Very dated dish and cheap. Ceasar Salad was decent but expensive for what it was. The baked potatoes we ordered to accompany our beef were lukewarm and the toppings were so so. Butter was not even melted.

The worst though was the beef. We ordered the premium bone in rib eye at $71 for a 20 oz cut. Lukewarm and very, very sinewy. Very hard to cut. The accompanying bernaise sauce was jelly like and even had a skin which indicates it had been sitting for a while.

A very disappointing meal for the price. We will not be going back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Quiet on a Tuesday lunchtime so marked down a little for ambience which perhaps a little unfair. Service and food good and prices reasonable by steakhouse standards. Wine list looked good though I wasn't drinking. Recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent service. Food was outstanding. Great place to celebrate your birthday!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Absolutely magnificent. Excellent staff, service and food.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent Ambiance and Wonderful Memory on Our Road Trip Through Toronto. My husband insisted we go to Hy's of Canada from his experience in Chicago many, many years ago at Hy's of Canada. While the restaurant is no longer in Chicago my husbands memory of it being the best steakhouse ever stayed!! This is how we found ourselves in Toronto at Hy's of Canada. His recollection was correct. Thank you for another great memory and of course dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent steak and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This restaurant was supposed to be the highlight of our week. What a huge disappointment. The meat was tough and not tasty. We overpaid for an awful dinner. The waitress tried but the kitchen was below par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent service from the time we entered until the moment we left! Our server was quick and thoughtful, and gave us just the right amount of attention so that we could enjoy our meal and conversation in peace, but never felt like we were waiting. Very nice ambiance -- dimly lit, high ceilings, live music (piano & guitar), mix of tables and booths allows for private conversations and intimacy, good air-flow and delicious scents coming from the kitchen. Great spot for a special occasion!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Live Music, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2017

perfect service,good environment,wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We use HY's occasionally for business meals. We ordered the trout special and a pasta dish. All dishes were very well executed. Food prices were reasonable for the quality, and the dining room continues to deliver an opulent presence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great service and one of the best steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, amazing service and good food. If I knew that they had a dining area with live music, I would have requested it.

Price is high, but a good place for special occasion if you're willing to spend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Mikey, Stephen and Carlos were amazing. They made out fantastic meal a great dining experience. The luxurious decor suited the rich menu and elegant professional service. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our meal was wonderful and the service terrific. I had the rack of lamb and it is the best I have ever had, and I have had plenty of racks of lamb! We'll be back again for sure.

Thank you,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It does my heart well to see a place like hy s still prospering in this overly casual eat at the bar and watch TV driven society. As you first walk in u r greeted by and friendly and efficient staff member to guide you or in my case to the bar for the mandatory pre-dinner cocktail the ambience of the entranceway and the bar are very appealing and I note that the bar was crowded and thankfully. was being used actually to purchase and enjoy drinks and not as a lunch counter The dining room is quite comfortable with a classy warmth and the Canadian beef superb. Service was first class very attentive without being overbearing and the knowledge of the servers demonstrated experience and thorough training Our servers Torryand Steven made an excellent team adding to the total enjoyment of the evening it was a great pleasure to dine in the old-style where the food was obviously appreciated by those attending the dress respectful of the quality of the location the kind of experience which should be experienced by all and not just on special occasions. You've earned it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 8, 2017

Superb food and outstanding service. Hy's was a true dining experience in every way.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The ambiance was beautiful, the food superb and the service from Alkan was stellar. Would definitely recommend this restaurant and ask for Allan.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

One of the best steakhouses in North Anerica

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fantastic food, fantastic service and attention to detail. Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We were lucky enough to get a last minute reservation at Hy's...it was our last night in Toronto and had a great dinner at 3 other restaurants the other nights...wanted a perfect 4 for 4.
Got it.
The room is dark, but a nice space. The waiters were friendly, and responsive, even when cashing out another table.
The opening, a self touted cheese toast opened, and was nice, but nothing that special.
The steak was excellent. My wife loved her fish.
This is a solid choice for a really nice dinner in downtown Toronto!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a great time and the waiters were great to us the food was great

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was very nice and i do appreciate for the good food and service there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Your old world steak house done well for those who still like that sort of thing once and a while.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great ambiance and environment. Torey was awesome and a great host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had a great time! Service was great and I'm definitely coming back soon! Steak is to die for as well.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Nothing says Father's Day like a 20oz bone-in rib steak, medium rare/Chicago with a loaded up baked potato. Top notch, professional and courteous service from the valet, to the front door, to our table and dinner. An experience worth every penny and we're looking forward to doing it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service. Great steaks. Love the wide selection of wine. The sommelier was spot on regarding grappa suggestions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Food was very good. Steaks were the highlight. Service was excellent. First class and professional

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This place is sooo nice, food was so good and customer service was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 12, 2017

A great place to eat - food was delicious and service and presentation are outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Amazing food...service is even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was amazing,as well as service! The personnel was very nice! I will definitely recommend Hy's steak house to my friends and colleagues!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Professional and friendly service. Good steak, wide choice of wines.
Overall, a very good experience.
Must reserve, busy place...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.