About Hy's Steak House - Toronto

Hy's Toronto has everything you could expect from a classic steakhouse in an elegant, upscale atmosphere. At the entrance, the elegant lounge lures with the sounds of contemporary live music and perfectly chilled martinis. Each unique dining area is more beautiful than the last, from the front room, centered by the famous steak grill, through the open and light-filled atrium to the intimate mezzanine with cozy fireplace and mahogany wine cabinets. Our servers will guide you with professionalism and care, and our award winning, Wine Spectator recognized wine list will tempt you with well chosen labels from around the world. Sink into a plush banquette, enjoy our famous cheese toast and a caesar salad, then savor one of the classic cuts of Canadian Prime beef...and you'll know why Hy's is Canada's premier steakhouse.

101-120 Adelaide Street W.
Toronto, ON M5H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm and Sunday 4pm-10pm.
Happy Hour weekdays 4-8pm.
For special events, please call General Manager Randy Ostlund at 416 364 6600

Cross Street:
York

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 364-6600

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Hy's sumptuous cocktail lounge features live entertainment Tuesday through Saturday. Sink into one of the cozy leather sofas, signature martini in hand, and enjoy to the sounds of contemporary Canadian musicians.

Catering:
Hy's is happy to accommodate take out requests. Please call the restaurant at 416-364-6600 for more information.

Parking Details:
Valet parking on Adelaide St. starting at 5:00pm, Monday to Saturday

Public Transit:
Hy's is located on the Path system and can be accessed through the underground.

Executive Chef:
Saku Velummylum

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Hy's managers are expert party planners. From weddings and rehearsal dinners to important client meetings, to landmark birthday and anniversary celebrations, our team would be delighted to help you make your event perfect.

Private Dining Rooms:
The Richmond Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 40 (50 Standing)
DESCRIPTION
Warm wood paneling and a spectacular hand painted mural create an inviting oasis in the heart of Toronto’s glass and steel financial district.

Adelaide Room
DETAILS
Private / Seats 75 (90 for Cocktails)
DESCRIPTION
On the second level, tucked above the main floor dining room, your guests can enjoy exclusivity while still sharing the stunning décor and gracious atmosphere of the restaurant.

See our private dining rooms here:
http://hyssteakhouse.com/locations/toronto/private

Private Dining

Hy's spectacular downtown location is second to none for private dining. Our stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can accommodate 25 to 50 for private dining, and arrangements can be also be made for smaller groups.

Hy's Steak House - Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Business Meals (21)
Romantic (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Cozy (16)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Live Music (7)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Historic (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fireplace (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Scenic View (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1039 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Your old world steak house done well for those who still like that sort of thing once and a while.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambiance and environment. Torey was awesome and a great host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great time! Service was great and I'm definitely coming back soon! Steak is to die for as well.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Nothing says Father's Day like a 20oz bone-in rib steak, medium rare/Chicago with a loaded up baked potato. Top notch, professional and courteous service from the valet, to the front door, to our table and dinner. An experience worth every penny and we're looking forward to doing it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service. Great steaks. Love the wide selection of wine. The sommelier was spot on regarding grappa suggestions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Food was very good. Steaks were the highlight. Service was excellent. First class and professional

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This place is sooo nice, food was so good and customer service was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 12, 2017

A great place to eat - food was delicious and service and presentation are outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Amazing food...service is even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was amazing,as well as service! The personnel was very nice! I will definitely recommend Hy's steak house to my friends and colleagues!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The dining room was elegant and warm. It exuded warmth and old world charm. The service was attentive and helpful. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The shrimp cocktail and calamari were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were celebrating our son's birthday. We enjoyed the bar first where they had two live musicians. They were excellent. Then a great table where we loved the Caesar salad and steaks all around. Bananas foster for dessert. Really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Service was fantastic, food was great. Our steak was cooked to perfection and very tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The tenderloin steak Neptune was perfectly cooked but was disappointed that the Bearnaise sauce was congealed and cold with little crab...

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Service was friendly but VERY SLOW. Too slow for our liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great night and superb service with Michael.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

First time here...definitely won't be last!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had an excellent dinner and our server Steve was attentive and knowledge and entertaining. Really good service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Mikey provided phenomenal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had amazing B-day party. Our server Jimmy was prompt, hepful and knowledgeable.
Food: Gorgonzola crusted filet mignons were prepared really well. Add-on mushrooms even better. Beef tartare was most likely the best food consumed by the party goers that evening.
Finally, only down side to the great evening at Hy's was loud party of Bay Street professionals next of us.
Again great experience: atmosphere, service, food and drinks. Noise level was not great but was entirely created by guests in good spirits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The steak was outstanding. For appetizer, i had the Caesar salad which was delicious. Asked for extra anchovies and got plenty.
Fries were too greasy should have ordered veggies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Outstanding experience. Food was delicious, service was attentive and quick to fix errors, even ones we hadn't noticed. Would recommend and return. Beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food, great service... we loved it. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic environment, Amazing employees ,superb food!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A dinner with a very important client!!! I've been to Hy's many many times. With clients. Spent thousands of dollars there. But as of Friday night. It's over. I reserve a table of three. Upon entering and shown to out table I requested another as the client felt it was too noisy. In fact. There was an adjacent table with a kids bitthdat party. I mean 6-7!yeat olds. Very boisterous and noisy. The manager said it was impossible to change our table even though at that time there were several enpty ones ... after a 800$ dinner, unhappy as the kids were getting tired ... a mentioned to the manager that we were moving to the bar ans if he bought us a round of drinks it would be much appreciated ..he said no! He didn't want to. So goodbye. And this critique will be shared in my very large office

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great service from the front door all the way to the bar for night cap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful. I'm Always satisfied with the service, ambiance and great food. One of my Favorite restaurants. Service is paramount.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I took my daughter to celebrate her 19th birthday. I mentioned that while I was doing reservation. I was surprised that the restaurant would not offer her even a small birthday piece of cake.
The food was good and service excellent. In general we had an amazing evening.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my ceaser salad and martini, however my filet mingon was just average. My date felt the same about his steak dinner. We both felt that we could have gotten a better dinner for a better price elsewhere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We are graduating and wanted to have a dinner with friends

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The steak and seafood main courses were good but the appetizers were unacceptable. The oysters were extremely small and tasteless, I have never smaller calamari and they were over fried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Hy's never fails to impress! The appetizers were delicious (shrimp/tomato blue cheese salad), the steaks were cooked to perfection.
Our waiter was friendly and knowledgable and the atmosphere was high class, but not stuffy. Finally, near the end of our meal, the sound of the live band wafting down through the restaurant was a perfect topper to a great evening.
Loved every minute!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Indifferent server. Should have gone to Keg next door. This is not a prime steak house in Toronto. Clearly a tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Celebrating our anniversary. HYS made us feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 14, 2017

For a too shelf steakhouse, I don't find it to be on par with others good steakhouses. Not going to be a repeat customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great classic steak house. Old school married to innovation as well. Interesting wine list. Love the good selection of wines by the glass.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I would definitely go back!! It was the best experience I have had in a very long time, I have dined at many places in the city and the US but this place can't be beat! Service was on the next level - our waiter was not only friendly but knowledgeable and honest - AMAZING service for sure. Food was fabulous from the side table made right in front of you Cesar salad to the seafood and steaks - it was worth every penny.
We will definitely be going back ASAP- great place!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Onion soup good. Crab was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent servise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always a great experience at Hy's. Excellent service. Excellent food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.