Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Tosca Ristorante - OttawaTosca Ristorante - Ottawa
(219)
Italian | Ottawa, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
North and NavyNorth and Navy
(206)
Italian | Ottawa, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
Spin Kitchen & Bar - Marriott OttawaSpin Kitchen & Bar - Marriott Ottawa
(74)
Comfort Food | Ottawa, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
FairouzFairouz
(80)
Middle Eastern | Ottawa, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - OttawaBâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Ottawa
(101)
American | Ottawa, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
L I F T Restaurant & LoungeL I F T Restaurant & Lounge
(12)
Canadian | Ottawa, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau LaurierWilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier
(206)
Canadian | ByWard Market, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
Madisons New York Grill & Bar - OttawaMadisons New York Grill & Bar - Ottawa
(24)
Steakhouse | Ottawa, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
Gibson's on QueenGibson's on Queen
(4)
Comfort Food | Ottawa, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
The Shore Club - OttawaThe Shore Club - Ottawa
(445)
Seafood | ByWard Market, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
Bazille – Nordstrom Rideau CentreBazille – Nordstrom Rideau Centre
(176)
Contemporary American | Ottawa, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
Social - OttawaSocial - Ottawa
(458)
Bistro | ByWard Market, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & BarSidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
(410)
Contemporary Asian | ByWard Market, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
Vineyards Wine Bar & BistroVineyards Wine Bar & Bistro
(8)
Wine Bar | Ottawa, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now
Blue Cactus Bar & GrillBlue Cactus Bar & Grill
(3)
Contemporary American | ByWard Market, Ottawa / Gatineau
Reserve Now

About Hy's Steak House - Ottawa

170 Queen Street
Ottawa, ON K1P 5E1
View Larger Map

Permanently Closed - Hy's is one of Ottawa's oldest and most established restaurants. Filled with dark mahogany and centered around our glass encased charcoal fire pit, we offer a wide variety of menu items, specializing in Canadian Prime beef. Our ambiance is warm and comfortable, providing a great sense of privacy and Victorian charm. Whether you're a party of two or twenty, you will always feel like you're the only ones here.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
O'Connor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 234-4545

Website:
http://www.hyssteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered in the building Monday - Friday. There is no parking available in the building on weekends. There is metered parking available, as well as an underground public lot one block away.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Illey

Private Party Facilities:
Hy's is the destination for power dining in the business district. This stunning restaurant can play host for any occasion, from the most formal reception to the most casual get together. We can comfortably accommodate up to 36 for semi-private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Craig Stevenson: 6132344545

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Steak And Shrimp Broschette
  • Steak Sandwich
  • Steak and Eggs
  • Baked Halibut
  • Filet Mignon
Steak And Shrimp Broschette
Steak Sandwich
Steak and Eggs
Baked Halibut
Filet Mignon
Sort By:
Newest
651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Disappointed

 
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We want to go one last time because of the closure and we were disappointed.

We went for one of our usual Caesar salads and it didn't have bacon in it. The roast beef dip sandwich wasn't Hy's quality, it wasn't seasoned and didn't taste that great.

The waiter provided slow service.

Just an overall disappointment.

And that wasn't what we were expected or wanted for our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Obviously closing

 
·Dined on February 25, 2016

We went to Hys for the last Thursday they were open. They obviously running to the finish line. We had been many times before and everything was exceptional, too bad they didn't go out on a high note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The steaks were superb Veggies Etc were ...

vip
·Dined on February 18, 2016

The steaks were superb

Veggies Etc were just ok

My martini was a joke. so small that I thought it was a 1/3 portion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

formal dinning

 
·Dined on February 18, 2016

This Location is closing.

Food was good, but not exceptional. For the high end price, I expected better.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Server tells us an hour later our steaks ...

 
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Server tells us an hour later our steaks are being re-done as they had overcooked mine. 5 minutes later we get our steaks. mine is blood red, and my wife's is now well done. We both ordered medium rare. At 57 bucks a steak they should be perfect!! They left my wife's steak under a heat lamp while they cooked another for me. Really was looking forward to a great steak and we both ended up with steaks we didn't enjoy. Bummer!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Outstanding fine dining

 
·Dined on February 11, 2016

So sad Hy's will be closing soon. If you can get a table before end of February don't miss it. Top notch, wonderfully flavoured food. Steaks cooked to perfection. Friendly, attentive and knowledgeable servers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nostalgic Visit

 
·Dined on February 8, 2016

Hard to understand why Hy's needs to close on February 27th.

The new landlord will derive zero community support for causing this to occur.

The ambiance of Hy's is hard to match in any other Ottawa restaurant.

Service is very attentive. Food is excellent as expected. Saddened to see a few of my old favorites no longer on the menu. But that's progress I suppose.

Thank you Hy's Ottawa for a fond memory I will cherish!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So Sad!

 
·Dined on February 5, 2016

So sad this fabulous restaurant is closing. We'll have to travel to visit Hy's is other cities.

The best Filet Mignon, seafood(salmon and halibut to die for), and veggies anywhere. Thanks for the great evenings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner and service was exceptional. Cur ...

 
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Dinner and service was exceptional. Curtis you were wonderful. Sad to see this place go

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced

 
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The meat quality is very good, but overpriced. My striploin was simply grilled and served on a plate with a baked potato. Additional costs for side vegetables, sauces etc. A 14oz striploing is priced at $57. A 12 oz fillet for a whopping $65. Add a sauce for an additional $5 and a side dish of asparagus for $10 and your basic steak dinner is now $80! Add a 9 oz glass of wine for $26. The food is ok, but certainly not high end enough to warrant such high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Dont Close

 
·Dined on January 30, 2016

This place should not close. It is truly the best restaurant in all aspects.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent as always, however th ...

 
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Food was excellent as always, however the server was very unpleasant and short tempered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent service from Helenethe

 
·Dined on January 29, 2016

My only regret is that you are closing at the end of February. So sad☹️

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

-Service was fantastic! -Amazing French ...

 
·Dined on January 28, 2016

-Service was fantastic!

-Amazing French onion soup and beef Wellington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but Overpriced

 
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Great food and outstanding service but completely overpriced. (How about $10 for a serving of corn!!!)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great lunch,service,overall great place.

 
·Dined on January 27, 2016

my overall experience was excellent! would go back again. it's a shame that it will be closing at the end of February. if it relocates would like to know so I can keep this restaurant on my list of favourites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

it was a must try before Hy's closes. Wi ...

 
·Dined on January 22, 2016

it was a must try before Hy's closes. Wish we had gone sooner. Lovely dinner, great staff, very knowledgeable. Steak and Lobster, Steak with Crab, Mushrooms were to die for! Excellent wine. Hope they find another place to call home! Will go back if they do!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hys restaurant.

 
·Dined on January 22, 2016

We had a great evening at Hys with fantactis steaks, good starters and desert with fine wine

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had to check out Hy's before it closed

 
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Let me start by saying the service was fantastic. I wish the food was too, but it really wasn't. That said, the table side Caesar salad was definitely the best I've had. I wanted it to be the best steak I have ever had too and my expectations were high, but it was dry and over cooked. The potatoes were just potatoes. Not much flavour there. We were celebrating a wedding anniversary and still had a good time, but for the price we paid, we expected the dinner to be 5 star. Too bad.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Top notch

 
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Service was fantastic as was the food. We are quite sad to hear that it will shortly be closed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stay open!

 
·Dined on January 5, 2016

Amazing food and service. Best Caesar salad in Ottawa. We visited your restaurant on a very cold Monday night, it was quiet and relaxing. We did not feel rushed . Nice decor and ambiance. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Four of us went out for dinner on New Year's Eve and had to wait for our reserved table. When the patrons would not leave we were put at what felt like table for two with four oversized chairs. The service from Vinnie was adequate and everything felt rushed. My filet mignon and mushrooms were delicious however the mash potatoes and Brussels sprouts left a lot to be desired. I feel that if you are paying top dollar for the experience, you are expecting the service and the food to match. I understand that this establishment is closing their doors and some of the staff are giving less then their 110%. All and all, I would not recommend this restaurant to any of my friends or family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Awesome food !

 
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We went to Hy's for New Years Eve souper.

Restaurant was very busy, we order couple of appetizers, French onion soup and Caesar salad, both delicious! then our main course Filet mignon cook to perfection was very tender and juicy, my wife had New Yorker.....we really enjoy our meal, we had a bottle of wine with that too.

It's a very nice and unique restaurants with a lots to offer ...too bad that they are closing in February 2016. Great spot for special occasions, romantic meal for couples or family get together.

It's an expensive restaurant but worth every penny, awesome steakhouse!

Service was good too however I think that our server was a bit too busy to interact with us fully.

After our meal we sat at the bar . had couple of drinks and enjoy piano and trumpet due live music.

Thank you for having us , we had a great time! Lets hope that you stay open for many years to come.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Ok

 
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Nice steak house but overpriced for the quality of food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Steak good as always. Far too expensive ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Steak good as always. Far too expensive- Christmas lunch with a bottle of wine and tip should not be $180!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
service4

Classic steakhouse

 
·Dined on December 18, 2015

We will miss this excellent restaurant where you can always count on consistently excellent food preparation and service. Hope it finds another home in Ottawa as there are few like it in the Ottawa area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I understand that Hys is moving out of O ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2015

I understand that Hys is moving out of Ottawa which is a shame. I have to admit their cheese toast is an all time favorite ... decadent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Anniversary Dinner

 
·Dined on December 14, 2015

Unless you're familiar with Hy's, access to this restaurant after 6 PM is difficult and this is compounded by construction currently going on outside and in the area; similarly with finding a nearby parking spot. Our table was ready and waiting for us when we arrived and, overall, we spent about two hours there for dinner, which did not include having dessert or tea/coffee, and it was an enjoyable evening. The service was very good and waiters were very attentive (filling glasses, removing empty dishes, etc). The prices are high but service and location probably have a lot to do with that. On the other hand, the menu is not clear as to what accompanies the entrees or the size of the side dishes. We ordered two appetizers (French onion soup and Caesar Salad) and both were very good (the Caesar was properly made - not with dressing from a bottle), and were accompanied by warm garlic bread. Our entrees were the Neptune Steak and the New York Steak (both came with choice of potato). We also ordered two side dishes (sautéed mushrooms and asparagus). Both steaks were good, the baked potatoes were nicely cooked, and we had a choice of several toppings. Each side was large enough for 3, maybe 4 persons. Our bill, with two glasses (9 oz each) of wine (one red and one white), including taxes and tip, came to $230. This was a special occasion dinner and, despite the cost, it was worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very good but not worth the price

 
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Everything about this place is very good except the price point... I found no flaw so is price is not important go to Hy's with no worries. Everything is good. Personnaly, I beleive that for a steakhouse there are many equivalent or better options for a cheaper price. I don't mind spending money on a good meal but it needs that special something to justify that price. Hy's doesn't have that special something but I could not spot a flaw other than that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Okay food, horrible service

 
·Dined on December 8, 2015

The food was okay, not worth the price: the garlic bread you can get at loblaws is better than what you get here. The steak was fine, nothing the Keg doesn't have.

The service on the other hand was horrible. The hostess basically ignored us: she offered to take other people's coats, but never ours. The waiter was never around our table, and even when he was around our table, we had to call him back to order anything. There was some steak and mashed potatoes leftover, so we asked to put it in a doggy bag. When we got home and opened it up, there were no mashed potatoes!

Never going here again!

Unlike most of the clientele, we weren't wearing suits/fancy clothes, so we're uncertain if it was the reason for the bad experience. But we also didn't wear fancy clothes in other restaurants that were rather expensive, and had much better experiences there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Had to use up gift cards

 
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Went here on a double date with my folks. Got a babysitter to come and watch the baby so we could enjoy a peaceful dinner out. Unfortunately we were seated by a large family celebrating a birthday. They had seated all the children in their party at, you guessed it, the end of the table closest to us. Overall the kids were ok but as the night went on and their boredom increased they got progressively louder. The food was good but not so outstandingly better than the Keg Manor or other swanky steak joints that it warranted a $500 bill. Our group of 4 shared a bottle of wine, 3 apps, and each had an entree. We also ordered a couple of veg sides. No dessert or coffee. Our server was a veteran in the trade and offered helpful menu insights as well as wine selection recommendations. it seemed that their service approach was a 'less is more' philosophy so we couldn't always get what we needed in a timely fashion. Could be that the uuber table next to us was quite demanding and he was just stretched a bit thin.

Bottom line, I'm glad I went before they close their doors, but even if they weren't closing, I would not be inclined to return. Just wasn't worth the hefty price tag.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Hy's is an excellent restaurant in every ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2015

Hy's is an excellent restaurant in every respect entirely enjoyable experience. The service is always excellent without exception. Too bad this location will be closing in the new year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality didn't match price.

 
·Dined on December 1, 2015

I've wanted to try Hy's for a while now - being a steak lover and enjoying good service and meals, I had high expectations.

Our server was great, however it was not a quiet experience, I had to endure a sales cycle occurring at the next table, which was off-putting.

The onion soup was great. The steak I could have done as well or better myself - sorry guys, didn't wow me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I will never go back (for many reasons)

 
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Service was flaccid, boring, like being served by a wet rag. Food was ordinary and everyday and as usual, way overpriced. My $54 steak was a $30 steak anywhere else. pre-dinner drinks were 90% ice, and thank goodness we got a decent bottle of wine. Gluten-free options (for my wife) were few and far between.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Sad It's Closing

 
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Very unfortunate that Hy's is closing. It has always been our go to place for the best steaks in Ottawa. Enjoy the very attentive without going overboard service and the quiet setting.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place to celebrate

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Hy's offers a unique atmosphere not found anywhere else in Ottawa. We celebrated my Mother's 91 st BD and Hy's was the only place she wanted to go. Very sad that it will be closing and not reopening somewhere else. Love this restaurant for great food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent lunch with a former colleague.

 
·Dined on November 24, 2015

I am a regular at Hy's over many years. Excellent lunch with a former colleague. We chose the Surf and Turf and it was fantastic. Good Pinot noir suggested by the friendly waiter. Good chocolate cake for dessert and faboulus double expresso. I can't believe that this restaurant will close in February. A major mistake from Hy's.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A special occasion made even more memorable

 
·Dined on November 4, 2015

Thanks to a special server named Hélène, our day was made very special as we celebrated a co-worker's birthday.

Professional and yet personable.

Good food and it was assured that our water glasses never went empty.

A lovely lovely day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

wonderful evening out

 
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Try to go before this gem closes in February 2016. Quite the institution in Ottawa.

Vinnie was amazing. Bartender was lovely. Overall experience was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sad to see them go.

 
·Dined on October 31, 2015

The food here has been too notch sinse its inception and is one of the few high end service restaurants in Ottawa to live up to its name. Go there before it closes!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.