Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails

4.4
132 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • People Watching
Named as one of "OpenTable Diners’ Choice" Winners, Hyde Sunset is the Hollywood hot-spot to dine! Featuring fresh seasonal California cuisine, craft cocktails, curated by acclaimed designer Waldo Fernandez and Guy Hepner, Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails is the perfect spot to get your day or night started.

icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday: Closed

Wednesday, Friday, Saturday: Dinner beginning at 7PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(323) 940-1650
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chris Crary
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Crescent Heights Blvd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking only off Gale and Sunset
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

West Hollywood restaurant meets Hollywood lounge, Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails represents the next evolution in Los Angeles hospitality.

View Private Dining Details
What 132 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.8
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Made a reservation for dinner with the aim to stay for more drinks and dancing. Arrived and the greeting was frosty. Got put a side table away from the atmosphere and

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Food took over an hour to come to the table and we were informed that some of the dishes were not available well after ordering them.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Extremely limited menu and Restaurant was out of beef carpaccio and cod. Risotto was extremely salty and ineffable. Brussels Sprouts were oily. Mozzarella in the Tomato Mozzarella were cubes instead of balls.
Only redeeming quality was the salmon and organic chicken. I've dined here on numerous occasions , but this will be my last.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Worst service I have ever had at a restaurant. We ordered our food at 9:15pm and received it at 10:38pm. It was not busy at all. The waitress forgot our drink orders, she also served our food to another table, making us wait that long. When the steak came out, it was completely cold, so we sent it back. Do not go here, never expected an SBE restaurant to have such poor service. Because your staff ruined our experience and provide horrible food/service, we ended going to in & out for dinner instead, which completey outdid your restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Great place, would recommend for a younger crowd. Still 21+ of course.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

an excellant experience proffessional staff management was kind the music was excellant i have such a great time definitely worth it .it left a lasting impression thank u hyde sincerely jesse pheonix s xoxo.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Parking is $20 and the hostesses don't even greet you or hold the door open for you to walk in first. Our waitress was rude and awful - she didn't say hello, give her name... nothing.
Considering the price of the meals and the parking fee, we were expecting MUCH better service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Me and my husband went there for our anniversary dinner. We had an 8pm dinner reservation, which I thought it was late. When we got there there was hardly anyone there! I guess they don't start serving dinner until 8pm, but we didn't know:) Also, they have a very limited menu so don't go there if you're hungry or are looking for gourmet food. The cocktails were good, the service was awesome (but they weren't too busy yet, so don't know if that's common). If you want to people watch and have a little food and good drinks I highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 9, 2017

It was an terrible service and food. Our reservation was at 9 pm at we had our dinner around 9 30. Around 10 pm they started to move to out all table because of the place turning night club around 10 30 pm. It was horrible food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Lovely dinner. It was very quiet until about 9:30/10pm. Pleasant service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

The staff was super sweet and everyone was very friendly! The photo booth was cute too. The food was delicious

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was very salty. All dishes no exception.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

We loved the atmosphere, service, and especially the delicious food. Several items were not available and we were disappointed. We would recommend either notification before we ordered or buying from a local store nearby to have available. They were common items and we got there right at opening. Everything else was excellent!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 30, 2017

Food and price was good but many customers had some problems with the staff, they refused to let us enjoy the lounge area for reasons I don't understand and we asked The manager but he was rude and asked us to purchase a bottle service in order to get the lounge area. basically they want people to eat and get out right away. I'm so disappointed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 28, 2017

It's tapas style but there's also some larger plate options as well. We ordered the spicy curly fries, fried chicken biscuit sliders (favorite), Brussels sprouts, octapus (favorite), & shrimp linguine, and Smores brownies for dessert which was amazing. All the food was really tasty and easy to share. Service could have definitely been better, but apparently the place turns into a nightclub at 10:45 pm so I figure that's maybe why. Due to this fact, if you are going for dinner, I recommend making a reservation no later than 8:30 pm so you have time to eat before they turn your table into a lounge table.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was good. Check in was good. Our waitress was good. The dining part was overall good.

I ordered 2 drinks from the bar. After signing the check we tasted them to realize they were incorrect (ordered sparkling water and got vodka water). The bar staff made me sign another check and said the first would be cancelled. Both were debited from my bank so I paid $55+ for 1 Prosecco and a sparkling water! They wouldn't let me colleague in. The doormen we exceptionally rude and aggressive for no reason whatsoever and after asking a waitress for help she told me to go ask Barbie with blonde hair. Turns out no such person so she just made a fool of me!? Very unprofessional. Would never come back or recommend anyone doing so.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 1, 2017

Food wasn't good

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2017

I've made several reservations over the phone and at least 2 over open table. Tonight one of their guests that had clearly had too much to drink held on to me so I took them outside to make sure they made it home safely. This was not somebody I knew but a guest of the restaurant. On my way out I let 3 different security guards know what was going on. Three of my friends were still inside. At the door I let Tony know the situation. He told me that I should have let the guards on the way out know the situation. When I explained to him that i had, he reluctantly and after about half and hour asked one of the guards who told him "yes he was inside" Tony asked victor to let me in and victor refused because he only lets men in who give him bribes (as I saw several times while I was outside). Celeste sent over the hostess who let me in when I first got to the restaurant and who remembered me but was still unable to let me. They ultimately ruined my night. My buddy had to close my tab and get my Id and credit card from the bar. This made my experience at the restaurant awful and i feel like this situation could have been handled much more professionally.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Horrible service :( wee were a party of 4 seated at a table for 2. Our husbands looked so uncomfortable and when we asked to switch tables (we had waited 40 minutes to be seated even though our reservation was for 8:30), we were told we couldn't move even though the restaurant was practically empty. Very odd. Then our entries never came. We were there with another couple and their entries arrived. We ended up cancelling ours after waiting for 30 minutes (at this point it was 11 Pm and we needed to let our nanny go by midnight). The waitress never apologized or anything. She just curtly told us the kitchen was busy. it was really the worst dining experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2017

The restaurant was pretty empty the service could've been better! Food came out at different times

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Rudest staff. Food was small a decent. Went for a fiends birthday. And they made it such a stressful and miserable experience. Never go here

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2017

Always Fun to dine and party at Hyde! At 11pm the restaurant turns into a lounge / club , which makes it a second reason to have dinner there !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a very nice time, however, the space is in dire need of repairs. Especially the furnishings which are often torn, extremely dirty or have multiple cigarette holes. I would hesitate to return until this is rectified.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2017

Food descriptions were interesting, execution was bland. Drinks were tasty. Our second time here. Hostesses have an annoying habit (immediately upon seating you in an almost completely empty restaurant) that you have to leave in 2 hours. It'd be hilarious if it weren't so idiotic and rude.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2017

Hyde is cool as always

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2017

It was a fun time because after having dinner and drinks it turns into a nice lounge/club scene.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was good and we had a very nice waitress. The issue I had was that none of us were notified that there was a hard stop at 9PM. There was not any indication during booking, upon confirmation, or after arrival. We were told right at 8:40 that we needed to leave. This means we were there less than an hour, had only a couple of dishes and drinks before being told they needed the table. Bad form. Not like they will go under from loss of my business, but its ridiculous that this was even an issue and we were not made aware prior to making reservations. Will not be returning. Too many great places in LA to waste time and money on a poor experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service.
They have such an eclectic menu of plates, cocktails and deserts.
We asked to meet Chef Annie so that we could compliment her on her many wonderful creations. She was so nice and really humble.

Crispy brussel sprouts, crab cakes, black cod, Thai tartare, Seared ahi, herbed biscuits, tomatoes and mozzarella - we all shared small plates.
Desert - Bread pudding and cookies and spiced milk
A Perfect night out!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2017

Server did not seem very knowledgeable about food or wine menu including which items were gluten free. Table we were seated at was very small & the chairs were so low, making it hard to fit all of the food & comfortably sit. Bathrooms were not kept up & toilets overflowing. While I understand Hyde turns into a lounge later at night, we felt rushed to finish our dinner. Overall this place is better as a nightclub/lounge & not for dinner.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 25, 2017

The worst service ever!!!! I will never go back to this place EVER!! And I advise everyone to never dine here there are much better restaurants in Los Angeles with much better service. If I could give this place zero stars I would

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2017

It was good but not very busy

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was terrible. Worst food I've ever had. Our server kept pushing us out and wanted us to leave. Horrible service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

Best place in Hollywood! Amazing food! The new manager has really turned this place around!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2017

I was skeptical about Hyde because of all the mixed reviews but I made a reservation to go with my girlfriends and decided to give it a shot! I arrived a tad bit late and the super nice hostess said I could wait until my gfs got there (which was well after our reservation) and we still had our table! When they arrived we were seated and immediately greeted by our server for drinks... The cocktails were okay, super light on alcohol though. But the food was fab! interesting dishes and there was definitely something for everyone. I loved how cozy, yet sexy the place was! There was a fireplace and couches, creating a comfortable candle-lit atmosphere, but the bar and location (including its club next door) made it a hotspot! Thanks to the staff for such a smooth dinner.. will be back for the nightlife!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2017

It was an unforgettable experience. The food was delicious the service was phenomenal. Most definitely will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2017

23 had the bestestest service ever!!!!! had so much fun! Thank you !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2017

We went to celebrate a birthday. Party of 6 at 7:30. It was dead! Maybe one other table. A few people at the bar including the chef which tells you how busy it was. Our server was lovely. It was not her fault no one was dining there. As we were leaving around 9:30, it was starting to get busy for cocktails. This IS NOT a restaurant. Its a Club/Bar with a kitchen. I do not recommend this place for a nice or fun dinner experience. Go somewhere else. It definitely is the place to go for a straight club/bar experience but not for the savvy diner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2017

I came in for dinner with friends.. food was ok nothing special, then again it's hard to please a chef in the industry,. All was well until the server brought our check, check was $266, so a friend and I spilt the check.. I told my friend not to leave a tip.. as I will do so on my check .. I left. $30 tip.. for party of four, the server didn't do anything g special nor did he run the food. There were food runners, nor did we ask for much.. that being said when leaving the tip, the server came back and stated that we forgot to leave a tip on the other check .. FIRST OFF, being in the industry that's very unprofessional, second server didn't do anything other then his job, and kept notifying us that 10:45 we had to move cause they were going to switch to a lounge-nightclub, we understood the first time he said it, didn't have to repeat it 8 different times, nonetheless.. overall I give the place a 4 out of 5 cause of the atmosphere and Vibe... 1 point for service cause of our server... MICHAEL ..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2017

Great fun night

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Tweets by Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails