Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails

Named as one of "OpenTable Diners’ Choice" Winners, Hyde Sunset is the Hollywood hot-spot to dine! Featuring fresh seasonal California cuisine by Top Chef Chris Crary, craft cocktails, curated by acclaimed designer Waldo Fernandez and Guy Hepner, Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails is the perfect spot to get your day or night started.

8117 W Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90046
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Tuesday: Closed

Wednesday- Saturday: Dinner beginning at 7PM

Cross Street:
Crescent Heights Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 940-1650

Website:
http://hydesunset.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking only off Gale and Sunset

Executive Chef:
Chris Crary

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

West Hollywood restaurant meets Hollywood lounge, Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails represents the next evolution in Los Angeles hospitality.

Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

53% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Tapas (5)
See All
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Casual (4)
Dancing (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Healthy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Live Music (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a very nice time, however, the space is in dire need of repairs. Especially the furnishings which are often torn, extremely dirty or have multiple cigarette holes. I would hesitate to return until this is rectified.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Food descriptions were interesting, execution was bland. Drinks were tasty. Our second time here. Hostesses have an annoying habit (immediately upon seating you in an almost completely empty restaurant) that you have to leave in 2 hours. It'd be hilarious if it weren't so idiotic and rude.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Hyde is cool as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was a fun time because after having dinner and drinks it turns into a nice lounge/club scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was good and we had a very nice waitress. The issue I had was that none of us were notified that there was a hard stop at 9PM. There was not any indication during booking, upon confirmation, or after arrival. We were told right at 8:40 that we needed to leave. This means we were there less than an hour, had only a couple of dishes and drinks before being told they needed the table. Bad form. Not like they will go under from loss of my business, but its ridiculous that this was even an issue and we were not made aware prior to making reservations. Will not be returning. Too many great places in LA to waste time and money on a poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service.
They have such an eclectic menu of plates, cocktails and deserts.
We asked to meet Chef Annie so that we could compliment her on her many wonderful creations. She was so nice and really humble.

Crispy brussel sprouts, crab cakes, black cod, Thai tartare, Seared ahi, herbed biscuits, tomatoes and mozzarella - we all shared small plates.
Desert - Bread pudding and cookies and spiced milk
A Perfect night out!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Server did not seem very knowledgeable about food or wine menu including which items were gluten free. Table we were seated at was very small & the chairs were so low, making it hard to fit all of the food & comfortably sit. Bathrooms were not kept up & toilets overflowing. While I understand Hyde turns into a lounge later at night, we felt rushed to finish our dinner. Overall this place is better as a nightclub/lounge & not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The worst service ever!!!! I will never go back to this place EVER!! And I advise everyone to never dine here there are much better restaurants in Los Angeles with much better service. If I could give this place zero stars I would

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was good but not very busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was terrible. Worst food I've ever had. Our server kept pushing us out and wanted us to leave. Horrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent service

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Best place in Hollywood! Amazing food! The new manager has really turned this place around!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I was skeptical about Hyde because of all the mixed reviews but I made a reservation to go with my girlfriends and decided to give it a shot! I arrived a tad bit late and the super nice hostess said I could wait until my gfs got there (which was well after our reservation) and we still had our table! When they arrived we were seated and immediately greeted by our server for drinks... The cocktails were okay, super light on alcohol though. But the food was fab! interesting dishes and there was definitely something for everyone. I loved how cozy, yet sexy the place was! There was a fireplace and couches, creating a comfortable candle-lit atmosphere, but the bar and location (including its club next door) made it a hotspot! Thanks to the staff for such a smooth dinner.. will be back for the nightlife!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

23 had the bestestest service ever!!!!! had so much fun! Thank you !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, People Watching, Hot Spot, Dancing, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was an unforgettable experience. The food was delicious the service was phenomenal. Most definitely will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went to celebrate a birthday. Party of 6 at 7:30. It was dead! Maybe one other table. A few people at the bar including the chef which tells you how busy it was. Our server was lovely. It was not her fault no one was dining there. As we were leaving around 9:30, it was starting to get busy for cocktails. This IS NOT a restaurant. Its a Club/Bar with a kitchen. I do not recommend this place for a nice or fun dinner experience. Go somewhere else. It definitely is the place to go for a straight club/bar experience but not for the savvy diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I came in for dinner with friends.. food was ok nothing special, then again it's hard to please a chef in the industry,. All was well until the server brought our check, check was $266, so a friend and I spilt the check.. I told my friend not to leave a tip.. as I will do so on my check .. I left. $30 tip.. for party of four, the server didn't do anything g special nor did he run the food. There were food runners, nor did we ask for much.. that being said when leaving the tip, the server came back and stated that we forgot to leave a tip on the other check .. FIRST OFF, being in the industry that's very unprofessional, second server didn't do anything other then his job, and kept notifying us that 10:45 we had to move cause they were going to switch to a lounge-nightclub, we understood the first time he said it, didn't have to repeat it 8 different times, nonetheless.. overall I give the place a 4 out of 5 cause of the atmosphere and Vibe... 1 point for service cause of our server... MICHAEL ..

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great fun night

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Good for Groups, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Hyde is as good as always, with great food, served already cut to share with friends. Quiet before 11pm ( great option for a date or to meet with friends) , then amazing ambiance, party, one of the best lounge / club in town ! Cocktails, wine, food are just great ! Not a place for deserts however, but... who would go to Hyde for cakes?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was great and the food was amazing

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This place thinks it's really hip and cool, but it's uncomfortable, smells bad and is way overpriced for very small portions. The food was alright, but not worth it. They charge $15 for parking. They act like they are busy and they can't find a table for you, but the place is empty. They try to seat you right next to other guests with no room to move and no privacy at all. I think they are trying to save the good tables so if anyone famous comes in they have tables for them. I guess it's a trendy place, and I'll stick to non-trendy places with comfortable seats and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The octopus was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was fantastic, we were a party of 10 and our waitress was on point recommending everything from drinks to food selections. All our food selections were varied and delicious. She and her team made sure we were well taken care of and they were very accommodating even though some of our party arrived late. Would definitely go back for a fun night out. Was a little pricey but - it's LA

Tags: Dancing, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food is incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great place, foood and team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I loved it! I just don't understand why they do such a big deal for the reservations since every time (over 3x) I've been there they are somehow empty. It's an upscale friends get together place, food is delish, service is great, and we always have an amazing time, but sometimes they say they are booked and that can maybe squeezed us in but it's actually not happening at all. Well, this is a must go in LA for sure ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

HYDE remains the coolest place on Sunset, in my opinion. The scene is amazing as is the food. Do not miss trying any of their specialty cocktails either. They do not disappoint and are worth every penny! We loved the small plates and the truffle risotto was to die for. We were able to stay and dance in the club area for a while too. What a great scene. Beautiful people and everyone was so friendly and fun!
I cannot wait to return....

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Dancing, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Such a fun atmosphere and their service is amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It sucks that they recently separated the restaurant from the night club. We would go there to eat dinner and later walk into the night club to dance and have a drink but they didn't let us do that this Friday night due to a new rule in effect. The restaurant and night club is now separated and if you want to go to the night club then you have to get a separate reservation for bottle service only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

3 of my girlfriends booked dinner reservations at 7:45. We ordered 5 entries including the ribeye, steak frites, risotto, kale salad, and scallops. We spent $300 on food and drinks. We were all still hungry because the portions were so small, the food was poor quality. Afterwards, the manager kicked us out and said we were not aloud to have drinks at the bar. He said dinner was different from the lounge and after dinner he made is leave. I was embarrassed as I had company from out of town. Even though, I have been dinning at Hyde for 2 years, I will not be back to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The salads are basics , not attractives , no bread to eat with ! The salmon comes with two leaves of salad , in a regular plate ! Like in my kitchen ! The desserts arent interresting or original, nothing fun here !

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Hyde has changed their policy
They no longer would allow people who have had dinner at the resturant section.... Unfortunatly i had guests from out side the country and i took them to hyde; we spend more than $500 on drinks and appetizers and when we wanted to go for the lounge sections they did not let us in which was very crazy and stupid....
The most upseting part was the hostest did not inform me about this new policy both when she called to confirm the reservation and when she gave our table to us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Was there to dine with 3 other bodies. Though the venue was pleasant the food was over priced for small quantities and wasn't good at all. The waitress wasn't very pleasant , when asked to take a picture and she wasn't happy about it. Too salesy with anything we asked her for. Not a good way to work around dining. She pushed 2 dishes on us that we didn't need. Was late to bring the tab or to run the card. that process took over 30 mins. Not the place i want to go back to.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

perfect spot out for gno

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Not worth the hype. Food was horrible. Seevice sucked.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Came here for a birthday and arrived a bit late for our reservations. Had called in advance to let them know. Was seated behind the door, not suitable for dinner. Hostess was also rude.

Food was mediocre, nothing really memorable. Overall an okay experience with lacking service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great ambiance but the food was terrible and expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Had dinner at Hyde on Sunset Friday evening , beef tartar and black cod. The fish was amazing as always, wine was good, service super nice.
For a date or party with friends, i am a big fan.
And after 11pm TH / FR / SAT, the place turns into one of the best high-end bar / night scene in LA!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2016

A little slow before 10pm, then Hyde switches from a very good restaurant to a crazy LA night scene. Very good food, served in small tapas style portions ready for sharing, I have never been disappointed by any of my dinners there.
Not a huge menu but big enough, plus specials that the Chef proposes from time to time.
Not cheap but the quality explains , and the service is always really good ( once you pass the entrance where they probably train the reception girl to show you that she makes you a huge favor letting you in, even if you reserved.
My favorite restaurant in LA for premium dinner and a lot of fun after dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2016

High energy with a sexy ambience and great music filled with Los Angeles trendy influentials. It's a great vibe because you can sit to eat, lounge by the bar or dance on the dancefloor depending on your mood at that particular time.
I do miss seeing the open sky (blocked by the new wall construction they put in for the day club) but other than that, it was a fabulous time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.