About Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails

8117 W Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90046
View Larger Map

Named as one of "OpenTable Diners’ Choice" Winners, Hyde Sunset is the Hollywood hot-spot to dine! Featuring fresh seasonal California cuisine by Top Chef Chris Crary, craft cocktails, curated by acclaimed designer Waldo Fernandez and Guy Hepner, Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails is the perfect spot to get your day or night started.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Tuesday: Closed

Wednesday- Saturday: Dinner beginning at 7PM

Cross Street:
Crescent Heights Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 940-1650

Website:
http://hydesunset.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking only off Gale and Sunset

Executive Chef:
Chris Crary

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Sat 5:00PM - 7:30PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Private Dining

West Hollywood restaurant meets Hollywood lounge, Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails represents the next evolution in Los Angeles hospitality.

Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Dancing (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Hot Spot (4)
See All
Casual (4)
Fun (3)
Tapas (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Romantic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fireplace (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
97 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

23 had the bestestest service ever!!!!! ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

23 had the bestestest service ever!!!!! had so much fun! Thank you !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, People Watching, Hot Spot, Dancing, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate a birthday. Party o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went to celebrate a birthday. Party of 6 at 7:30. It was dead! Maybe one other table. A few people at the bar including the chef which tells you how busy it was. Our server was lovely. It was not her fault no one was dining there. As we were leaving around 9:30, it was starting to get busy for cocktails. This IS NOT a restaurant. Its a Club/Bar with a kitchen. I do not recommend this place for a nice or fun dinner experience. Go somewhere else. It definitely is the place to go for a straight club/bar experience but not for the savvy diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

I came in for dinner with friends.. food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I came in for dinner with friends.. food was ok nothing special, then again it's hard to please a chef in the industry,. All was well until the server brought our check, check was $266, so a friend and I spilt the check.. I told my friend not to leave a tip.. as I will do so on my check .. I left. $30 tip.. for party of four, the server didn't do anything g special nor did he run the food. There were food runners, nor did we ask for much.. that being said when leaving the tip, the server came back and stated that we forgot to leave a tip on the other check .. FIRST OFF, being in the industry that's very unprofessional, second server didn't do anything other then his job, and kept notifying us that 10:45 we had to move cause they were going to switch to a lounge-nightclub, we understood the first time he said it, didn't have to repeat it 8 different times, nonetheless.. overall I give the place a 4 out of 5 cause of the atmosphere and Vibe... 1 point for service cause of our server... MICHAEL ..

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Great fun night

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great fun night

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Good for Groups, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hyde is as good as always, with great fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Hyde is as good as always, with great food, served already cut to share with friends. Quiet before 11pm ( great option for a date or to meet with friends) , then amazing ambiance, party, one of the best lounge / club in town ! Cocktails, wine, food are just great ! Not a place for deserts however, but... who would go to Hyde for cakes?

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great and the food was amazing

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was great and the food was amazing

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place thinks it's really hip and co ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This place thinks it's really hip and cool, but it's uncomfortable, smells bad and is way overpriced for very small portions. The food was alright, but not worth it. They charge $15 for parking. They act like they are busy and they can't find a table for you, but the place is empty. They try to seat you right next to other guests with no room to move and no privacy at all. I think they are trying to save the good tables so if anyone famous comes in they have tables for them. I guess it's a trendy place, and I'll stick to non-trendy places with comfortable seats and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

The octopus was amazing!!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The octopus was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was fantastic, we were a party o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was fantastic, we were a party of 10 and our waitress was on point recommending everything from drinks to food selections. All our food selections were varied and delicious. She and her team made sure we were well taken care of and they were very accommodating even though some of our party arrived late. Would definitely go back for a fun night out. Was a little pricey but - it's LA

Tags: Dancing, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I got food poisoned. Service was terribl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I got food poisoned. Service was terrible, I had to sent the duck back maybe that's why I got food poisoned.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food is incredible!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food is incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, foood and team

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great place, foood and team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved it! I just don't understand why ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I loved it! I just don't understand why they do such a big deal for the reservations since every time (over 3x) I've been there they are somehow empty. It's an upscale friends get together place, food is delish, service is great, and we always have an amazing time, but sometimes they say they are booked and that can maybe squeezed us in but it's actually not happening at all. Well, this is a must go in LA for sure ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HYDE remains the coolest place on Sunset ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

HYDE remains the coolest place on Sunset, in my opinion. The scene is amazing as is the food. Do not miss trying any of their specialty cocktails either. They do not disappoint and are worth every penny! We loved the small plates and the truffle risotto was to die for. We were able to stay and dance in the club area for a while too. What a great scene. Beautiful people and everyone was so friendly and fun!

I cannot wait to return....

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Dancing, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a fun atmosphere and their service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Such a fun atmosphere and their service is amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It sucks that they recently separated th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It sucks that they recently separated the restaurant from the night club. We would go there to eat dinner and later walk into the night club to dance and have a drink but they didn't let us do that this Friday night due to a new rule in effect. The restaurant and night club is now separated and if you want to go to the night club then you have to get a separate reservation for bottle service only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

3 of my girlfriends booked dinner reserv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

3 of my girlfriends booked dinner reservations at 7:45. We ordered 5 entries including the ribeye, steak frites, risotto, kale salad, and scallops. We spent $300 on food and drinks. We were all still hungry because the portions were so small, the food was poor quality. Afterwards, the manager kicked us out and said we were not aloud to have drinks at the bar. He said dinner was different from the lounge and after dinner he made is leave. I was embarrassed as I had company from out of town. Even though, I have been dinning at Hyde for 2 years, I will not be back to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The salads are basics , not attractives ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The salads are basics , not attractives , no bread to eat with ! The salmon comes with two leaves of salad , in a regular plate ! Like in my kitchen ! The desserts arent interresting or original, nothing fun here !

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

Hyde has changed their policy They no l ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Hyde has changed their policy

They no longer would allow people who have had dinner at the resturant section.... Unfortunatly i had guests from out side the country and i took them to hyde; we spend more than $500 on drinks and appetizers and when we wanted to go for the lounge sections they did not let us in which was very crazy and stupid....

The most upseting part was the hostest did not inform me about this new policy both when she called to confirm the reservation and when she gave our table to us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Was there to dine with 3 other bodies. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Was there to dine with 3 other bodies. Though the venue was pleasant the food was over priced for small quantities and wasn't good at all. The waitress wasn't very pleasant , when asked to take a picture and she wasn't happy about it. Too salesy with anything we asked her for. Not a good way to work around dining. She pushed 2 dishes on us that we didn't need. Was late to bring the tab or to run the card. that process took over 30 mins. Not the place i want to go back to.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

perfect spot out for gno

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

perfect spot out for gno

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Not worth the hype. Food was horrible. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Not worth the hype. Food was horrible. Seevice sucked.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Came here for a birthday and arrived a b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Came here for a birthday and arrived a bit late for our reservations. Had called in advance to let them know. Was seated behind the door, not suitable for dinner. Hostess was also rude.

Food was mediocre, nothing really memorable. Overall an okay experience with lacking service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great ambiance but the food was terrible ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great ambiance but the food was terrible and expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Great food and amazing ambiance

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Had dinner at Hyde on Sunset Friday evening , beef tartar and black cod. The fish was amazing as always, wine was good, service super nice.

For a date or party with friends, i am a big fan.

And after 11pm TH / FR / SAT, the place turns into one of the best high-end bar / night scene in LA!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for dinner , drinks & party night !

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2016

A little slow before 10pm, then Hyde switches from a very good restaurant to a crazy LA night scene. Very good food, served in small tapas style portions ready for sharing, I have never been disappointed by any of my dinners there.

Not a huge menu but big enough, plus specials that the Chef proposes from time to time.

Not cheap but the quality explains , and the service is always really good ( once you pass the entrance where they probably train the reception girl to show you that she makes you a huge favor letting you in, even if you reserved.

My favorite restaurant in LA for premium dinner and a lot of fun after dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High energy with a sexy ambience and gre ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2016

High energy with a sexy ambience and great music filled with Los Angeles trendy influentials. It's a great vibe because you can sit to eat, lounge by the bar or dance on the dancefloor depending on your mood at that particular time.

I do miss seeing the open sky (blocked by the new wall construction they put in for the day club) but other than that, it was a fabulous time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Empty, boring, low music volume, dark an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Empty, boring, low music volume, dark and dingy. Complete let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Our group go-to on Friday nights

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Surprisingly good food for a bar/club

Great DJs with awesome playlists

Excellent service

Hard to book for the weekends so book in advance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice night out

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Although they gave you a time limit for your table it is still a nice dinner place. We had an overall good time. The drinks were amazing and our waitress was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, portions and price

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Great food, portions and price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Terrible service & mediocre food at best ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Terrible service & mediocre food at best! Cold & lots of street noise. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We loved the Hyde. The black code n the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 26, 2016

We loved the Hyde. The black code n the crispy brussels were amazing. After dinner we got dance all night long. The Hyde turns a night club.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Brussels are amazing. COD too

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Brussels are amazing. COD too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Average Food

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Other than the brussel sprouts I thought the food was average. I don't mind paying top dollar for food but not when it's average. I loved the ambiance, service, location of the place but was really disappointed in our food. I can't knock our server because he provided us with outstanding service. It was so average/forgettable that I'm having a hard time remembering what I ordered.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Nice venue. The club gets a little too p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Nice venue. The club gets a little too picky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Disappointing in Several Areas

 
 (London)·Dined on February 20, 2016

A strange dining experience - food was no more than average but the service was particularly poor. Robotic waiting staff and lack of attention to detail. For desert, the server placed 6 plates and spoons in front of one guest and expected them to pass the plates around to the others. Whilst I'm more than happy to do this at a buffet restaurant, I don't expect this at Hyde which is supposed to be an up-scale establishment.

Whilst Hyde might be a place to be seen for after-parties, it certainly isn't the place to eat. There was no mention when booking on Open Table of the 2-hour max table time not that we wanted to stay any longer than necessary.

Verdict = best avoided, poor value for money, better places to eat in LA

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

BAD, BAD, BAD!!!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The place was half empty, but they were sure full of themselves, telling us at least three times that we had to vacate our table within an hour and a half so they could accommodate their "other (imaginary) guests". We left the place at 8 pm and they had more than half the tables empty. What a joke!!!!

The plates were more like tasting plates rather than sharing plates.

NEVER AGAIN!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Hyde

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The only thing that I was put off by was that the hostess who seated us made sure to say "We need the table back by 9." Granted, it was Feb 13, Saturday, however I have never been told by any restaurant that we had a limitation on table time. I'm not sure if recommend based on this alone. The food was good and service was also fine.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Hyde from the Hyde and Lounge

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

After being seated the hostess told us that we had to leave by 8:30pm.

They took our plates and drinks without asking.

They finally provided clean plates and silverware, once requested.

We sat for 10-15 minutes before getting water.

The servers and those busing tables had no respect when walking through the restaurant.

No ashtrays in the smoking area.

Deck like floor ruined my heels.

Have no clue how to get to the lounge without a reservation, but no information was ever provided to get into the lounge.

Felt like a diner with a patio fireplace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.