About Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails

8117 W Sunset Blvd
West Hollywood, CA 90046
View Larger Map

Named as one of "OpenTable Diners’ Choice" Winners, Hyde Sunset is the Hollywood hot-spot to dine! Featuring fresh seasonal California cuisine by Top Chef Chris Crary, craft cocktails, curated by acclaimed designer Waldo Fernandez and Guy Hepner, Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails is the perfect spot to get your day or night started.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Tuesday: Closed

Wednesday: Dinner beginning at 7PM

Thursday - Saturday: Dinner 6PM-8:30PM

Cross Street:
Crescent Heights Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 940-1650

Website:
http://hydesunset.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking only off Gale and Sunset

Executive Chef:
Chris Crary

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Wed 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Sat 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Private Dining

West Hollywood restaurant meets Hollywood lounge, Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails represents the next evolution in Los Angeles hospitality.

Hyde Sunset Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Los Angeles
Hot Spot
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in West Hollywood ›

hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
good for groups (11)
See All
great for outdoor dining (6)
late-night find (6)
special occasion (6)
fit for foodies (5)
romantic (4)
notable wine list (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
72 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and amazing ambiance

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Had dinner at Hyde on Sunset Friday evening , beef tartar and black cod. The fish was amazing as always, wine was good, service super nice. For a date or party with friends, i am a big fan. And after 11pm TH / FR / SAT, the place turns into one of the best high-end bar / night scene in LA!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place for dinner , drinks & party night !

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

A little slow before 10pm, then Hyde switches from a very good restaurant to a crazy LA night scene. Very good food, served in small tapas style portions ready for sharing, I have never been disappointed by any of my dinners there. Not a huge menu but big enough, plus specials that the Chef proposes from time to time. Not cheap but the quality explains , and the service is always really good ( once you pass the entrance where they probably train the reception girl to show you that she makes you a huge favor letting you in, even if you reserved. My favorite restaurant in LA for premium dinner and a lot of fun after dinner!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4

High energy with a sexy ambience and gre ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

High energy with a sexy ambience and great music filled with Los Angeles trendy influentials. It's a great vibe because you can sit to eat, lounge by the bar or dance on the dancefloor depending on your mood at that particular time. I do miss seeing the open sky (blocked by the new wall construction they put in for the day club) but other than that, it was a fabulous time.

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Empty, boring, low music volume, dark an ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Empty, boring, low music volume, dark and dingy. Complete let down.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group go-to on Friday nights

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Surprisingly good food for a bar/club Great DJs with awesome playlists Excellent service Hard to book for the weekends so book in advance!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

nice night out

Dined on April 24, 2016

Although they gave you a time limit for your table it is still a nice dinner place. We had an overall good time. The drinks were amazing and our waitress was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, portions and price

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Great food, portions and price

food2
ambience1
service1

Terrible service & mediocre food at best ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Terrible service & mediocre food at best! Cold & lots of street noise. Very disappointing!

food5
ambience4
service4

We loved the Hyde. The black code n the ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We loved the Hyde. The black code n the crispy brussels were amazing. After dinner we got dance all night long. The Hyde turns a night club.

food4
ambience4
service4

Brussels are amazing. COD too

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Brussels are amazing. COD too

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Average Food

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Other than the brussel sprouts I thought the food was average. I don't mind paying top dollar for food but not when it's average. I loved the ambiance, service, location of the place but was really disappointed in our food. I can't knock our server because he provided us with outstanding service. It was so average/forgettable that I'm having a hard time remembering what I ordered.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointing in Several Areas

Dined on February 20, 2016

A strange dining experience - food was no more than average but the service was particularly poor. Robotic waiting staff and lack of attention to detail. For desert, the server placed 6 plates and spoons in front of one guest and expected them to pass the plates around to the others. Whilst I'm more than happy to do this at a buffet restaurant, I don't expect this at Hyde which is supposed to be an up-scale establishment. Whilst Hyde might be a place to be seen for after-parties, it certainly isn't the place to eat. There was no mention when booking on Open Table of the 2-hour max table time not that we wanted to stay any longer than necessary. Verdict = best avoided, poor value for money, better places to eat in LA

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Hyde

Dined on February 14, 2016

The only thing that I was put off by was that the hostess who seated us made sure to say "We need the table back by 9." Granted, it was Feb 13, Saturday, however I have never been told by any restaurant that we had a limitation on table time. I'm not sure if recommend based on this alone. The food was good and service was also fine.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

BAD, BAD, BAD!!!!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The place was half empty, but they were sure full of themselves, telling us at least three times that we had to vacate our table within an hour and a half so they could accommodate their "other (imaginary) guests". We left the place at 8 pm and they had more than half the tables empty. What a joke!!!! The plates were more like tasting plates rather than sharing plates. NEVER AGAIN!!!

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Hyde from the Hyde and Lounge

Dined on February 14, 2016

After being seated the hostess told us that we had to leave by 8:30pm. They took our plates and drinks without asking. They finally provided clean plates and silverware, once requested. We sat for 10-15 minutes before getting water. The servers and those busing tables had no respect when walking through the restaurant. No ashtrays in the smoking area. Deck like floor ruined my heels. Have no clue how to get to the lounge without a reservation, but no information was ever provided to get into the lounge. Felt like a diner with a patio fireplace.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, friendly staff, amazin ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Great atmosphere, friendly staff, amazing food! Would definitely go back...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Wow!

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Looking to enjoy the Hollywood scene... Hyde is it. Great food in small portions, amazing and attentive service all in a an atmosphere that screams cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find!

Dined on January 15, 2016

I was very impressed with the food and drinks. The menu is small, but each item we ordered was to absolute perfection. The cocktails were delicious and the food was perfection. I highly recommend this place for a date or a girls night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice service, good food, trendy decorated

Dined on December 30, 2015

We are french family visiting LA. We have been very nicely welcomed. We loved decoration, waitress, food creativity. Noise coming from the street was somewhat disturbing. It was a bit cold, but staff has proposed a blanket. So, everything was OK. Our children (22, 20 and 17) have loved this restaurant. This was one if their favorite. PS : Restaurant has a vallet parking

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I met a friend for dinner and drinks on ...

Dined on December 3, 2015

I met a friend for dinner and drinks on a Wednesday and we enjoyed it. The ambiance is sexy, the music and service were great and the food was delicious. We took advantage of their "Wine Down Wednesday" promotion and got a great bottle of wine for 1/2 price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the coolest spots in LA!

vip
Dined on November 12, 2015

The service was top-notch. The people watching was fantastic. The food was delicious and the ambiance was the best part of it all. Don't miss dining at HYDE!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an amazing time here. Food was amazi ...

Dined on October 30, 2015

Had an amazing time here. Food was amazing. Service was amazing. We went to California for Halloween. We stayed at the Roosevelt Hollywood. So this restaurant is in that hotel. An absolute perfect choice. If I ever go back I will deathly come back to this restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect for a night out

Dined on October 7, 2015

Order the scallops! Amazing service, had Michael who was a great help. Recommended great dishes/cocktails. Try the le Parisian!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Hip and Happening

vip
Dined on October 1, 2015

What a gem Hyde on Sunset at the corner of Crescent Heights is. There are two areas, one inside with a great bar, one a completely covered outside patio. Let's start with their Buttermilk Biscuits with Strawberry Jam and Honey Butter. Wow! Delicious. The Roasted Duck Breast was done medium and was tender with a delightful game taste, just right. My wife loved, and I do mean loved the Fried Chicken Sliders, tender, moist and tasty. We've now been back and had the Calamari which had just the right amount of heat. Along with the Beet Salad, Beaches and Burrata and the Seared Ahi Tuna and the Veal Tartare, Hyde has enough variety and taste sensations to please any palate.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Avoid Avoid Avoid.

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

Poor Excuse for a restaurant. Waste of Time and Money. Taco Bell is better than this place .

food2
ambience2
service1

Can hide at HYDE

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

The place is noisy and the service slow. We waited 20 minutes for our food order to be taken. Food is not impressive. Wine list is adequate. Not a place for a quiet night, you get kicked out of your table by 11pm when the tables get moved to open up a "dance floor"? What is that about? They tell you, they can move you to the bar.... how rude. The place seems more like a fad than a dining locale that will be around for awhile. Will not go back or recommend for serious foodies.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and great ambiance!

Dined on September 2, 2015

The food is decent and comes in small portions, which gives you a chance to try multiple items from the menu. The ambiance is great. Fun little trendy spot that's great for groups or even for a date for two. The staff is welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The drinks were made well. Affordable. Check it out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Very Rude

Dined on August 30, 2015

Right when we walked in they told us that we had to leave at 9:30. Our reservation was at 8 p.m. We felt very rushed and thought it was very rude of them to treat us that way. I will never go back to Hyde and recomend this place to any of my friends.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot....never dissaponts

Dined on August 23, 2015

Great spot....never dissaponts

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, food, and drinks! No ...

Dined on August 19, 2015

Excellent service, food, and drinks! No complaints!

food5
ambience5
service5

great food and service

vip
Dined on May 30, 2015

the room is great very helpful serviceable waitress the manager was very polite and knowledgeable beyond Via was fantastic and the food very different very new very good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Not bad...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2015

...But it's probably better as a nighttime establishment. The music was super loud, not at all properly adjusted for the size of the place and noise level of the few patrons there during lunch on a Sunday afternoon. The food and drinks were decent and so was the service.... There were a couple of minor oversights but they were resolved no major offenses. Worth checking out..

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Very cool spot for drinks, food and a gr ...

Dined on May 12, 2015

Very cool spot for drinks, food and a great night time spot. Check this place out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3

Great bloody mary's...not much else.

Dined on April 26, 2015

Went there to celebrate, for a birthday brunch. They offer a great variety of bloody marys. I had a flight, which was three different kinds: one with tomatillo in it, one with a perfectly cooked piece of bacon as its garnish. Loved our drinks. At first the menu was intriguing, then just odd. The food was unremarkable and small portions for the price. Their signature dishes at brunch are Lobster Benedict and ricotta pancakes. The lobster was tasteless and hard to find. The eggs were too soft and runny. No salad or potatoes on the side, for $19? Pancakes were just ok, but a tiny portion. After brunch, one of my companions walked across the street for coffee and a sandwich.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

Dined on April 25, 2015

Love this place!

food3
ambience4
service4

Cool but loud

Dined on March 14, 2015

The decor is really cool, they have a lot of lounge places which would be good for drinks. however the traffic noise is very loud. Everything is served tapas style. Which means your meal comes out piecemeal you'll get your cauliflower and then later you'll get your meat etc. The food was only okay.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun place

Dined on March 5, 2015

At first they gave us a wrong seating away from the live performance but after I requested to be close to the stage they were able to accommodate that. The performances are great and good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service1

Dissapointed

vip
Dined on March 5, 2015

Not sure what would happen if u booked dinner through a cup host here... But I booked through open table and was given the worst traffic zone of servers got back and forth when the restaurant was 1/2 empty and plenty of good tables. The waitress was horrible and never asked once how the food was... Which was a good thing cause the food was at best a 1 star. way overrated spot!

food3
ambience4
service4

Great birthday dinner

Dined on February 22, 2015

After lots of neurotic research I picked HYDE for a small birthday dinner with 3 other girlfriends. It definitely has the LA vibe. The food was great and the managers were really kind - bought us a round of champagne for my birthday. Definitely going back and would recommend - just book in advance!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Quite good, but maybe leave for special occasions

vip
Dined on February 15, 2015

Went for brunch this past Sunday, group of 4. Contrary to other reviews I've seen, the service was great. Corinna (Carina?), our server, was pleasant, knowledgeable, and quite "present." Water was refilled promptly throughout the meal. Pros: Tasty and interesting small plates. Biscuits with honey butter and preserves were good, bacon was awesome, and the special fig tart and lobster ravioli were awesome. Egg sandwich on brioche was MASSIVE. Great home fried potatoes (spicy though!). Cons: Music was quite loud for a Sunday afternoon and of weirdly varying genres. It's expensive. We live and dine in LA and still were surprised by the prices, for a brunch. Considering you really need to order multiple small plates, it adds up quickly. And with no lower-range bubbly bottle ($56 for a prosecco), drinks can put it over the top. We had one bottle and a few other cocktails, plus a good amount of food, and the bill was $260. For brunch, that's a bit much, imo. All in all, the vibe, service, and food are great. Just bring your fat wallet or working plastic.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.