About Hutch

3301 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths. Located just south from Wrigley Field in vibrant East Lakeview neighborhood, our conveniently located American bistro invites you to enjoy great American food. Experience panoramic city street views while joining us for small bites, crafted cocktails, full dinners or lively brunches. For great food, good times and lasting memories; relish in the Hutch experience… where you Eat. Laugh. Belong.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Weekday Brunch Hours:
Monday - Friday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
$1 mimoas $5 bloodys $7 carafes

Happy Hours:
3-6 pm Bar Area Only

Dinner Hours :
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Brunch served Daily
10:00 am - 3:00 pm

WE DON'T TAKE RESERVATION FOR OUR PATIO OR BAR !

Cross Street:
Aldine/School

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 248-1155

Website:
http://hutchchicago.com/

Public Transit:
#22 Clark Bus
2 blocks from the Belmont El Stop

Private Party Facilities:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths.

Private Party Contact:
Jude Abella: (855) 808-5713

Special Events & Promotions:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Hutch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Casual (14)
See All
Great for Brunch (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Comfort Food (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fun (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Authentic (3)
Romantic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great and the service was j ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great and the service was just as good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

LOVED the atmosphere! Bean burger was 2 ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

LOVED the atmosphere! Bean burger was 2 thumbs up!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've passed this spot for a number of ye ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I've passed this spot for a number of years and always noticed it seemed crowded. When I got a Groupon, I decided to try it. So glad I did. Food was really great -- creative and yummy. I had the grilled meatloaf with chive mash potatoes -- perfect comfort food on a crappy winter night. My girlfriend had the panko chicken which she said was terrific. Definitely going back!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Hutch on numerous occasi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been to Hutch on numerous occasions and we were very disappointed with the food this time around. Most of our meals were not cooked according to our request and many of the meals came out lukewarm, at best. One of our party said something to the server about the way the food was cooked and the restaurant was nice enough to comp his meal. That level of concern and service is what we are used to when we eat at Hutch. We have never had a meal as poorly done as the one we had yesterday. We will certainly go back again because Hutch has generally done a good job with the food and the service. Service was still strong yesterday, but the quality of the food was very poor and inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Very good food at great prices. Service ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very good food at great prices. Service is spot on and easy to park or use valet, your preference.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really like coming to Hutch for brunch ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I really like coming to Hutch for brunch because they have great food. The only thing that really bothers me about this restaurant is that even if you have a reservation they will not seat you without your entire party being there. A few of my friends are constantly late and I am on time and that is why I make reservations. If I am there on time I should be seated. Otherwise, great food and drinks. The bistro sandwich and the hash brown casserole are awesome.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

One of our favorites neighborhood "go-to ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

One of our favorites neighborhood "go-to" restaurants. Great, friendly service. Solid menu consisting of American favorites with some interesting new "takes"...but with some wonderful standards (get the killer cheeseburger and fries). Reasonably priced...really good value.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch on New Year's Day. A ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for brunch on New Year's Day. All of our meals were tremendous. Several had omelets which were tasty. I had the egg white, tomato, spinach skillet which I thoroughly enjoyed. The corned beef hash was outstanding and chuck full of corn beef. We also tried the little nutella pastries. Very good. The service was excellent - professional but yet very friendly. My only complaint is that it was exceptionally loud- a DJ was spinning in the dining room and it was very difficult to talk. Not sure if that was just for New Year's Day or not and it might have been a good idea if he didn't paly so loud. Would definitively go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wasn't told beforehand that there was a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wasn't told beforehand that there was a live and very loud dj going on for new years day brunch. We typically get here for brunch right when they open, so was surprised by how hectic it was. Our server told us they don't serve cottage cheese, even though it's on the menu. Also said they didn't have bottomless mimosa brunch, even though another table with a different server had it. Not sure if she could hear us over the dj'ing. Anyway, if you want to have a conversation, don't go here when there's very loud music. Food was good, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Our waiter Rafael was amazing! We are lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter Rafael was amazing! We are looking forward to comeback again soon

Great restaurant!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed our first visit to Hutch. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We enjoyed our first visit to Hutch. The service in particular was exceptionally attentive. Perfectly crisp shoestring fries were a standout. Steak, fish tacos and the black bean burger were all well-portioned and tasty. Will gladly return to try more entrees!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Smooth and private setting when I went f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Smooth and private setting when I went for dinner on a Wednesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love that Hutch has a bar side and a din ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Love that Hutch has a bar side and a dining side. We started on the bar side and took advantage of their awesome Happy Hour specials, when our party grew larger than we originally planned, the staff was extremely accommodating and moved us to the dining area. Service and food was great! Definitely a great spot to keep in mind when you want something nice in the neighborhood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hutch is truly a favorite of mine. I lov ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Hutch is truly a favorite of mine. I love the food, the people and just the homey feel you get there. If you get there for Happy Hour you will so love Maura the bartender. What a pleasure she is to sit and enjoy a drink with. I recommend trying Hutch. Nothing fancy, just great food and people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot for anything from a family ge ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great spot for anything from a family get together or a date. More mature vibe with great cocktails. I highly recommend the Bee's Knees cocktail with the Panko Crusted Chicken and a side of Hutch Fries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lobster nachos and our meals were phenom ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Lobster nachos and our meals were phenomenal!! Everyone was very friendly and attentive. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our family of five went to Hutch to cele ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our family of five went to Hutch to celebrate a birthday. The place has an upbeat vibe, even on a holiday weekend when you would expect it to be quiet. The waiter was knowledgeable and able to answer our questions. The food was very good; we had burgers, soup and salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ok neighborhood option. Meatball and shr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Ok neighborhood option. Meatball and shrimp appetizers were good. Chicken main course standard but not special. Salmon main course less than enjoyable due to highly acidic sauce. Would return for appetizers and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always enjoy Hutch! Nice menu with grea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always enjoy Hutch! Nice menu with great options and specials. We have our favorite server (Anne), she's outstanding. But, we've always had good service. Good handcrafted cocktails too!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a great evening and really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a great evening and really enjoyed the food. My baseball steak with blue cheese risotto was lovely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wait staff was great and restaurant with ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wait staff was great and restaurant with chill family ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal. I thought the lobster ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Had a great meal. I thought the lobster nachos and fish tacos were really good. The value was good although portion sizes were moderate. I thought it was a warm atmosphere and our waiter was very good. Definitely worth a try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a wonderful experience, Ask for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always a wonderful experience, Ask for Anne as your server / true professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The salads were just okay

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The salads were just okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Extremely LOUD, Food Mediocre, Poor Serv ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Extremely LOUD, Food Mediocre, Poor Service, Mixologist, if we can call it, showed ignorance preparing cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We always enjoy Hutch and now our friend ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We always enjoy Hutch and now our friends do, as well

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was very aggressive and repea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The server was very aggressive and repeatedly swarmed our table for orders and pushed appetizers. The mocktail he recommended was bad. The food came out cold. Lobster nachos and steak was cold as if it had been sitting. The steak was chewy. I had a horrible stomach ache from the food until noon the next day. I have no desire to return, it was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

We've been to Hutch a lot since moving t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We've been to Hutch a lot since moving to the neighborhood. Great family friendly restaurant especially since they have free kids meals during certain hours. We tend to stay away before/after Cubs games since it's probably a lot busier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite neighborhood ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This is one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants in Chicago. I have been there more than 10 times and the food is always great as well as the service. I discovered this restaurant originally through Groupon and now continue to bring more and more friends there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta was so good our toddler ate th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The pasta was so good our toddler ate the whole dish! He's very picky! Another great was the filet special! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first visit to Hutch. It was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was our first visit to Hutch. It was ok but the prices are too high for the quality of food that we got. The service was only ok. Not worth going back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

They forgot to give us silverware, and a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

They forgot to give us silverware, and as a gesture customer satisfaction, covered our bill...for not giving us silverware. I was both surprised and appreciative. THAT'S customer service in it's best example.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and service, but pricey - and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Good food and service, but pricey - and unfortunately does attract some drunk Cubs fans. One guy we saw couldn't even stand up on his own and it looked like the hostess was trying to hail him a cab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and service. Friendly atmosp ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great food and service. Friendly atmosphere throughout the entire restaurant. You always feel at home there. Good menu options also.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A lot of the menu items were unavailable ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

A lot of the menu items were unavailable so I ended up order something I really didn't want which was the fish and chips. Food wasn't that good and my order had to be sent back because it was not prepared correctly the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Always enjoy going to Hutch's, food pres ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always enjoy going to Hutch's, food presentation and quality are always superior to other restaurants in the area. Great back bar scene and seating for dinner. The owner is always around and checking on customers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time going to Hutch fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was my first time going to Hutch for dinner. Their brunch is always great and their $1 Mimosas are the best deal in town (unless someone has them for free lol). My brother and I arrived a few minutes before 5pm and we were seated and our order taken.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, meh,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

The food at Hutch remains consistently v ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food at Hutch remains consistently very good. The drink menu is also very good with nice cocktails and a reasonable wine and beer list, which includes some good local craft beers. Our server, Ana, was very nice but the woman at reception and busboy looked like they hated being there. A friendly attitude is not much to ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I've been to Hutch on several occasions ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I've been to Hutch on several occasions and have yet to be "impressed". Nothing is "bad", the server is always a bit rushed and the food is just "OK". There are a few memorable standouts on the menu. The Pork Belly Meatballs Carbonara and the Panko Crusted Chicken are delicious...but many other items, the Brisket Sandwich, in particular, are borderline flavorless and uninspired. Not expensive, but nothing special.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.