About Hutch

3301 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths. Located just south from Wrigley Field in vibrant East Lakeview neighborhood, our conveniently located American bistro invites you to enjoy great American food. Experience panoramic city street views while joining us for small bites, crafted cocktails, full dinners or lively brunches. For great food, good times and lasting memories; relish in the Hutch experience… where you Eat. Laugh. Belong.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Weekday Brunch Hours:
Monday - Friday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
$1 mimoas $5 bloodys $7 carafes

Happy Hours:
3-6 pm Bar Area Only

Dinner Hours :
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Brunch served Daily
10:00 am - 3:00 pm

WE DON'T TAKE RESERVATION FOR OUR PATIO!

Cross Street:
Aldine/School

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 248-1155

Website:
http://hutchchicago.com/

Public Transit:
#22 Clark Bus
2 blocks from the Belmont El Stop

Private Party Facilities:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths.

Private Party Contact:
Jude Abella: 8558085713

Special Events & Promotions:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Restaurant Photos

Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch

Promotions

Sunday Supper

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Manic Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Steak & Fries

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Wine Down Wednesday's

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

WTF (wine time fun)

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Kid's eat FREE

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Kid's eat Free!

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Happy Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Weekday Brunch Specials

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Industry Night!

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Sunday Supper

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Sunday Supper $29.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. One choice of three apps, one choice of hutch favorites & slice of pie. (excludes MKP steaks) Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Manic Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
$10 entree special. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Steak & Fries

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
$12 Steak & Fries. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Wine Down Wednesday's

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
$5 selected glasses of wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
WTF (wine time fun)

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
All Bottles 1/2 priced. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Kid's eat FREE

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Monday - Friday 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.
Kid's eat Free!

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Kid's eat free all night Sunday. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Happy Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Happy Hour in bar area only. 1/2 off apps and flatbreads 4-6 pm Drink Specials 3-6 pm $1 champagne $2 well $3 drafts $4 wines $5 craft cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.
Weekday Brunch Specials

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Details
Weekdays Only! $1 glass mimosas $5 bloody marys $7 mimosa carafes. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM.
Industry Night!

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Every night is industry night! 50% of bill with proof of industry. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hutch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (8)
fit for foodies (6)
See All
special occasion (4)
good for groups (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for lunch (2)
notable wine list (2)
romantic (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

First off, thank you OpenTable for allow ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

First off, thank you OpenTable for allowing me to easily provide my dining feedback. I dine out nightly and have been wanting to try Hutch for quite a while. This was my first visit to Hutch. I found a $60 Groupon earlier in the day on 6/24 online and figured it was a great opportunity to try it. My friend and I made a reservation for 7:30 and when we arrived we were promptly seated on the patio. We were welcomed by the host and quickly given water by the bus person. We sat there for literally 15 minutes without any further interaction with ANY Hutch staff. After 15 minutes two other tables of two were seated and quickly greeted by a waiter and a waitress, respectively. We decided that if neither of the servers greeted us that we would leave. We unfortunately had to leave the restaurant. We walked by the host stand without any interaction and left the restaurant. Since I just purchased the Groupon earlier in the day I immediately cancelled it to get my refund on our walk to Wood where our dining experience was a full 180 degrees different. We ran into other friends that night and told them about our experience at Hutch and they had a similar bad service experience and would never go back. There are a lot of dining in Lakeview and Wrigleyville. For example, I tried another restaurant for my first time called The Piggery at Ashland and Irving Park on 6/25. I am already looking forward to going back and have also told other friends about the place.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Hit this spot on a whim before a Cubs ga ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Hit this spot on a whim before a Cubs game. Very relaxing, super service from Andrew and friendly folks all the way around. Solid fare and the lobster nachos rocked. However, outdoor dining chairs were super uncomfortable and fish tacos should not be battered/fried(save that for the Fish & Chips).

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loving this place. I will now be a regul ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Loving this place. I will now be a regular

food4
ambience5
service5

Drinks and burgers, so good! Lobster nac ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Drinks and burgers, so good! Lobster nachos...good but too greasy for me.

food1
ambience2
service2

Atmosphere was ok. Ordered a burger, bu ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Atmosphere was ok. Ordered a burger, bun was stale and burger was really dry. Had to ask for ketchup, salt and pepper. I would go there for drinks and maybe bar food but not for dinner.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite places...great food, ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

One of my favorite places...great food, great bar...Moira is awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great menu choices with great prices.

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

The food at Hutch will not disappoint. Nice options to choose from and the food is always very tasty. Service is very good and friendly atmosphere. Truly enjoy going there. Great Happy hour from 4 to 6.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Really wanted to like this place. Nice d ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Really wanted to like this place. Nice decor and decent gastropub menu. We ordered steaks that were supposed to be bacon wrapped filets. They were not and even worse, they were charred. Stick with burgers, they looked ok. Starters were ok but not overly impressive. Wine list is miserable, so stick with beer. Positives are it's close to Wrigley and service was fantastic. Food is decent not great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still Amazing

Dined on April 24, 2016

I never have a bad experience here! The staff is so great and you can tell they really enjoy their jobs. There isn't enough space to say how much I enjoy Hutch. The food is great, the drinks are strong, and the coffee is good. Where else can you find a mimosa for $3.50?! Get the totchos and just lie to yourself about doing cardio later. They're worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Totchos are the bomb.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing. Totchos are the bomb.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great, comfortable neighborhood dining

Dined on April 16, 2016

We returned to Hutch after a long time for a Friday dinner. The hostess's greeting was very courteous, and the rest of the evening was similarly comfortable. Our waiter Adam was great, very attentive without being overbearing. We had a flatbread and Hutch fries to start, both of which were very good. For entrees, we had the risotto, chicken and BBQ salmon, all of which were very flavorful, well presented and not over salted. The drinks were appropriately priced, in keeping with the neighborhood and level of service, and the craft beer selection was very good. However, the mixed drinks could have used a bit of help. The ambience was lively but not so loud as to preclude conversation. Overall, we were left very satisfied and will definitely return to Hutch,

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

underwhelming

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

The restaurant was pretty empty yet we were sat right next to a couple. The waiter seemed like he would rather be somewhere else. When asked how the fish tacos were without the slaw, he said, eh, fine. Yet when probed, turns out he doesn't like fish and only had a little taste of the dish. We would have appreciated the honesty upfront. The cheeseburger wasn't very flavorful, neither the burger nor the cheese.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is great here. My friend and I ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

The food is great here. My friend and I each got the $29 pre fix Sunday menu for dinner and it was a pretty good deal. The appetizer portion seemed pretty small but after eating dinner and dessert I was stuffed. I got the panko crusted chicken and my buddy got the steak n fries - both really good. Chicken was flavorful and moist and steak was super tender.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food with a friendly atmosphere.

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Food is very good and quite tasty. Great for a light meal or a bit of a larger one. Portions are just enough. Pie is worth saving room for!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Much better experience than last time

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Much better experience than last time

food3
ambience2
service4
value1

There were maybe 6 total people in this ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

There were maybe 6 total people in this place including me, my date, and the staff, so not exactly a hopping place. The food was decent but nothing special, especially given the prices. Definitely not worth it. The service was good though. The waiter noticed that I liked good bourbon and brought me a free taste of the best they had.

food3
ambience3
service2

We were rushed. We were there no more t ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We were rushed. We were there no more than 35 minutes.

food4
ambience3
service2
value5

Brunch reservations a must

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

You want to make a reservation here, although they are VERY strict about them. The full group needs to be there in order to be seated, and they have 15 min past the reservation time to do so. For example, if you have a 10:45 reservation for 8 people, and at 10:45 7 people are there, they will make you wait. If you say the last person is running late and won't be there until 11:05, they will tell you that you can either sit 7 people at a 7 person table, or give up your reservation. I understand the policy but they are not very polite about it. Because of this, I would not say that its great for large groups.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consitently great!

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

We've become regulars at Hutch. Always dependable to offer great food and service. Perfect choice for personal or business meals! We have a favorite server - but we've never had anything butcourteous and professional service.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a reservation for brunch at Hutch ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a reservation for brunch at Hutch this past weekend. When we arrived we were told it would be about a ten minute wait, however we were seated about 30 minutes after our reservation. When our waitress came to our table she apologized for the delay and said her manager felt bad so our brunch would be paid for. We thanked her for this and were able to quickly put in our order. However after ordering we had to remind her about our drink order and waited about 60 minutes for our food. When we finally got our food half of our dishes were cold and the orders were messed up. Though it was generous of the manager to provide us a free meal we were overall disappointed with the service.

Tags: great for brunch
food1
ambience3
service1

We had to wait an hour and a half for ou ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had to wait an hour and a half for our food. The waiter even came over

food5
ambience3
service3

Extremely crowed and when I called to al ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Extremely crowed and when I called to alert the host I was running late for my reservation couldn't get through and had to call about 4 times. And when I got there they had given our table away, problem was fixed but it was a little annoying. Food was amazing and service was fairly good for the amount of people there.

food4
ambience4
service5

It was a random selection for New Years ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

It was a random selection for New Years Eve dinner. I expected more pub type food, but the menu was surprisingly more sophisticated. Definitely would return for go at the brunch menu.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Love this place!

food2
ambience4
service4

Did brunch on a weekday. Service was gr ...

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

Did brunch on a weekday. Service was great, friendly. The food was just ok. I had chicken and waffles and just was bland. Also the cheese grits were not hot but lukewarm. The restaurant is on a corner with quite a few windows for enjoying the city views of Chicago.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Gem

Dined on December 23, 2015

Great restaurant on Clark St just south of Wrigley field area. Loved the street view! Food/drink was excellent and so was the service!! Highly recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Hutch's in Wrigleyville

Dined on December 13, 2015

Everyone ordered sandwiches along with a shrimp appetizer. The appetizer was exceptional. The burgers were a good size with the topping fresh. I enjoyed the bloody mary cocktail. The others had soda. The waitress was prompt and efficient. Came around to check on our needs

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank You Lindsay!

Dined on December 13, 2015

Outstanding Time For My Husband's Birthday! We will definitely be coming back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Blood orange mimosas were delicious. It ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

Blood orange mimosas were delicious. It looks like they serve them on Mondays for a buck; quite a steal! I had the biscuit plate from the brunch menu and my friends had the egg white omelette. Both were awesome, but the biscuit plate should get an award. Great gravy, bacon was perfectly cooked, cheese, egg, and fried chicken, oh my!

food5
ambience4
service5

This is a go to place when we visit Chic ...

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

This is a go to place when we visit Chicago. Very much enjoy the creative cocktails, interesting menus choices and great service.

food3
ambience3
service3

Sad

Dined on November 30, 2015

I returned to Hutch hoping for the same eclectic type restaurant that I found last year. Unfortunately, I felt like the uniqueness of the restaurant had gone away with a change of menu and of wine list . It is possible that I have made my last trip there

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Good local restaurant

Dined on November 29, 2015

Food was very good... I only wish that there were more healthy or low cal choices.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Good quality food ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

But. Portions on the small side. And Market Price Steaks - Beware. $38.00 seemed a bit OTT. Dessert was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice brunch!

Dined on November 28, 2015

We had a reservation for 5 people. The corner table we got was quite tight, but once we made it through the crowd and into our table it was fine. Our server was great! Nice recommendations, friendly and very accommodating. Food was excellent! Totchos are yummy and unique. Nice price on a carafe of mimosa's!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Benedict Rocked

Dined on November 28, 2015

The Bacon Egg Benedict is a must have! Had great flavors...be sure to add the avocado. The hashbrown casserole was the bomb! However my boyfriend had the Lakeview Sampler which was nothing more than eggs and a soggy egg mcmuffin. Staff was exceptional!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service2

We were not very thrilled by Hutch at al ...

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

We were not very thrilled by Hutch at all. I am pretty sure they don't really bake or make any of their ingredients, but more or less just assemble pieces from Gordon food services and other food suppliers. Not impressed!

food3
ambience4
service3

Yum, mimosas

Dined on November 14, 2015

Great heap mimosas. Appetizers about the only worthwhile food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service2

No Sommelier

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

We like white wines and asked about 2-3 of the wines on the white wine menu (less than a dozen to choose from so not excessively large). The server didn't seem very knowledgeable about how sweet/dry they were. We picked one wine and the server brought to our table. Instead of giving us a taste (this wine was also by the glass), he instantly poured two full glasses and walked away without us trying the bottle at all. He also never asked us if we liked the wine later and we were left to re-fill our own glasses from the chilled container. Definitely could use some basis Sommelier training if customers are going to order wines by the bottle.

food3
ambience3
service4

Three Ladies on a Sunday Night

Dined on November 9, 2015

We got together on the early side and enjoyed a pretty simple meal. Delicious mushroom flatbread served as an appetizer. They had meatloaf and I decided on the black bean burger instead of the meat version. My virtue was not completely rewarded - I've had a lot of black bean burgers and this one was kind of dry and unappealing, overwhelmed by the sriracha aioli. My friends polished off their hearty helpings of meatloaf, which looked good, though swamped in tomato chutney. The wine list could be more interesting, but the friendly service compensated for any shortcomings. My friend got a huge glass of bourbon, which I strongly suspect was the result of a waitress' pour. So that was a plus, but don't count on it happening for you!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Bruch Spot - We'll be back!

Dined on November 8, 2015

Our server Nicklaus was amazing. We had the salmon flatbread, salmon benedict and salmon salad. All excellent. $10 mimosa carafes!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.