About Hutch

3301 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths. Located just south from Wrigley Field in vibrant East Lakeview neighborhood, our conveniently located American bistro invites you to enjoy great American food. Experience panoramic city street views while joining us for small bites, crafted cocktails, full dinners or lively brunches. For great food, good times and lasting memories; relish in the Hutch experience… where you Eat. Laugh. Belong.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Weekday Brunch Hours:
Monday - Friday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
$1 mimoas $5 bloodys $7 carafes

Happy Hours:
3-6 pm Bar Area Only

Dinner Hours :
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Brunch served Daily
10:00 am - 3:00 pm

WE DON'T TAKE RESERVATION FOR OUR PATIO OR BAR !

Cross Street:
Aldine/School

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 248-1155

Website:
http://hutchchicago.com/

Public Transit:
#22 Clark Bus
2 blocks from the Belmont El Stop

Private Party Facilities:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths.

Private Party Contact:
Jude Abella: 8558085713

Special Events & Promotions:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Restaurant Photos

Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch
Hutch

Specials

Sunday Supper

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Manic Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Steak & Fries

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Wine Down Wednesday's

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

WTF (wine time fun)

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Kid's eat FREE

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Kid's eat Free!

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Happy Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Weekday Brunch Specials

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Industry Night!

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Sunday Supper

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Sunday Supper $29.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. One choice of three apps, one choice of hutch favorites & slice of pie. (excludes MKP steaks) Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Manic Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

$10 entree special. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Steak & Fries

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

$12 Steak & Fries. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Wine Down Wednesday's

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

$5 selected glasses of wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

WTF (wine time fun)

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

All Bottles 1/2 priced. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Kid's eat FREE

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Monday - Friday 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Kid's eat Free!

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Kid's eat free all night Sunday. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Happy Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour in bar area only. 1/2 off apps and flatbreads 4-6 pm Drink Specials 3-6 pm $1 champagne $2 well $3 drafts $4 wines $5 craft cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Weekday Brunch Specials

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Weekdays Only! $1 glass mimosas $5 bloody marys $7 mimosa carafes. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM.

Industry Night!

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Every night is industry night! 50% of bill with proof of industry. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Hutch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (2)
Casual (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Romantic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
 (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The pasta was so good our toddler ate th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The pasta was so good our toddler ate the whole dish! He's very picky! Another great was the filet special! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first visit to Hutch. It was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was our first visit to Hutch. It was ok but the prices are too high for the quality of food that we got. The service was only ok. Not worth going back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

They forgot to give us silverware, and a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

They forgot to give us silverware, and as a gesture customer satisfaction, covered our bill...for not giving us silverware. I was both surprised and appreciative. THAT'S customer service in it's best example.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and service, but pricey - and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Good food and service, but pricey - and unfortunately does attract some drunk Cubs fans. One guy we saw couldn't even stand up on his own and it looked like the hostess was trying to hail him a cab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and service. Friendly atmosp ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great food and service. Friendly atmosphere throughout the entire restaurant. You always feel at home there. Good menu options also.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A lot of the menu items were unavailable ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

A lot of the menu items were unavailable so I ended up order something I really didn't want which was the fish and chips. Food wasn't that good and my order had to be sent back because it was not prepared correctly the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Always enjoy going to Hutch's, food pres ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always enjoy going to Hutch's, food presentation and quality are always superior to other restaurants in the area. Great back bar scene and seating for dinner. The owner is always around and checking on customers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time going to Hutch fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was my first time going to Hutch for dinner. Their brunch is always great and their $1 Mimosas are the best deal in town (unless someone has them for free lol). My brother and I arrived a few minutes before 5pm and we were seated and our order taken.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Hutch remains consistently v ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food at Hutch remains consistently very good. The drink menu is also very good with nice cocktails and a reasonable wine and beer list, which includes some good local craft beers. Our server, Ana, was very nice but the woman at reception and busboy looked like they hated being there. A friendly attitude is not much to ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I've been to Hutch on several occasions ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I've been to Hutch on several occasions and have yet to be "impressed". Nothing is "bad", the server is always a bit rushed and the food is just "OK". There are a few memorable standouts on the menu. The Pork Belly Meatballs Carbonara and the Panko Crusted Chicken are delicious...but many other items, the Brisket Sandwich, in particular, are borderline flavorless and uninspired. Not expensive, but nothing special.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always good. Only odd anomaly is the co ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always good. Only odd anomaly is the corn cob side. Both times it came cold and the waiter had to heat it up. Wed is best day for the wine $5 special .. Service is solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You will never be disappointed eating at ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

You will never be disappointed eating at Hutch. Food is great as is the friendly service. I truly enjoy going there. They have a black bean burger(which may sound boring) that is the best I have ever had. My husband enjoys the steak and frittes. Try it and you will go back again I'm sure.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress was obnoxiously rude

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Waitress was obnoxiously rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great outdoor seating with wonderful atm ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great outdoor seating with wonderful atmosphere. Only surpassed by outstanding food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitstaff at Hutch was exceptional. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The waitstaff at Hutch was exceptional. Friendly and informative. All of them went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to enjoy our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We came for the Wed Wine special where t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We came for the Wed Wine special where they have $5 glasses of wine. The wine selection for that price was minimal but both the red and white were good.

Had the avocado and chicken flatbread and it was delicious. Another diner had the Panko crusted Chicken and it was another great selection. Only small minus was the corn on the cob side. It was charred and delicious, however it must have been sitting around for quite some time as by the time it arrived it was quite cold which was a shame because it would have been yummy otherwise.

Overall service was great and we will come again. We will make sure ahead of time that the corn is served warm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience is great. Very stylized decor, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Ambience is great. Very stylized decor, good music and on a busy corner, if you are a people watcher like myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Awesome staff, delicious drinks and good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Awesome staff, delicious drinks and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Wonderful menu. Lots of dif ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food. Wonderful menu. Lots of different options to chose from. Nice to try something different every time. I have never been disappointed. Black bean burger was the best I have had!!! Save room for the pies.!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

With 5 women with different tastes, we w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

With 5 women with different tastes, we were all able to get something different & share. With some appetizers & 3 dinners, there was more than plenty to share!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my sister's birthday and eve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went for my sister's birthday and everyone in our group loved the food. I recommend the fish and chips personally. The service was attentive and the noise level was fair for a Friday night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time we have been there and our d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Second time we have been there and our dining experience was great both times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First off, thank you OpenTable for allow ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

First off, thank you OpenTable for allowing me to easily provide my dining feedback. I dine out nightly and have been wanting to try Hutch for quite a while. This was my first visit to Hutch. I found a $60 Groupon earlier in the day on 6/24 online and figured it was a great opportunity to try it. My friend and I made a reservation for 7:30 and when we arrived we were promptly seated on the patio. We were welcomed by the host and quickly given water by the bus person. We sat there for literally 15 minutes without any further interaction with ANY Hutch staff. After 15 minutes two other tables of two were seated and quickly greeted by a waiter and a waitress, respectively. We decided that if neither of the servers greeted us that we would leave. We unfortunately had to leave the restaurant. We walked by the host stand without any interaction and left the restaurant.

Since I just purchased the Groupon earlier in the day I immediately cancelled it to get my refund on our walk to Wood where our dining experience was a full 180 degrees different.

We ran into other friends that night and told them about our experience at Hutch and they had a similar bad service experience and would never go back.

There are a lot of dining in Lakeview and Wrigleyville. For example, I tried another restaurant for my first time called The Piggery at Ashland and Irving Park on 6/25. I am already looking forward to going back and have also told other friends about the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hit this spot on a whim before a Cubs ga ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Hit this spot on a whim before a Cubs game. Very relaxing, super service from Andrew and friendly folks all the way around. Solid fare and the lobster nachos rocked. However, outdoor dining chairs were super uncomfortable and fish tacos should not be battered/fried(save that for the Fish & Chips).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Loving this place. I will now be a regul ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Loving this place. I will now be a regular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Drinks and burgers, so good! Lobster nac ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Drinks and burgers, so good! Lobster nachos...good but too greasy for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was ok. Ordered a burger, bu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Atmosphere was ok. Ordered a burger, bun was stale and burger was really dry. Had to ask for ketchup, salt and pepper. I would go there for drinks and maybe bar food but not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

One of my favorite places...great food, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

One of my favorite places...great food, great bar...Moira is awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu choices with great prices.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

The food at Hutch will not disappoint. Nice options to choose from and the food is always very tasty. Service is very good and friendly atmosphere. Truly enjoy going there. Great Happy hour from 4 to 6.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really wanted to like this place. Nice d ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Really wanted to like this place. Nice decor and decent gastropub menu. We ordered steaks that were supposed to be bacon wrapped filets. They were not and even worse, they were charred. Stick with burgers, they looked ok. Starters were ok but not overly impressive.

Wine list is miserable, so stick with beer.

Positives are it's close to Wrigley and service was fantastic. Food is decent not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Still Amazing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I never have a bad experience here! The staff is so great and you can tell they really enjoy their jobs. There isn't enough space to say how much I enjoy Hutch. The food is great, the drinks are strong, and the coffee is good. Where else can you find a mimosa for $3.50?! Get the totchos and just lie to yourself about doing cardio later. They're worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Totchos are the bomb.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing. Totchos are the bomb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great, comfortable neighborhood dining

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We returned to Hutch after a long time for a Friday dinner. The hostess's greeting was very courteous, and the rest of the evening was similarly comfortable. Our waiter Adam was great, very attentive without being overbearing. We had a flatbread and Hutch fries to start, both of which were very good. For entrees, we had the risotto, chicken and BBQ salmon, all of which were very flavorful, well presented and not over salted. The drinks were appropriately priced, in keeping with the neighborhood and level of service, and the craft beer selection was very good. However, the mixed drinks could have used a bit of help. The ambience was lively but not so loud as to preclude conversation. Overall, we were left very satisfied and will definitely return to Hutch,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

underwhelming

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

The restaurant was pretty empty yet we were sat right next to a couple. The waiter seemed like he would rather be somewhere else. When asked how the fish tacos were without the slaw, he said, eh, fine. Yet when probed, turns out he doesn't like fish and only had a little taste of the dish. We would have appreciated the honesty upfront. The cheeseburger wasn't very flavorful, neither the burger nor the cheese.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The food is great here. My friend and I ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

The food is great here. My friend and I each got the $29 pre fix Sunday menu for dinner and it was a pretty good deal. The appetizer portion seemed pretty small but after eating dinner and dessert I was stuffed. I got the panko crusted chicken and my buddy got the steak n fries - both really good. Chicken was flavorful and moist and steak was super tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food with a friendly atmosphere.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Food is very good and quite tasty. Great for a light meal or a bit of a larger one. Portions are just enough. Pie is worth saving room for!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Much better experience than last time

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Much better experience than last time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

There were maybe 6 total people in this ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

There were maybe 6 total people in this place including me, my date, and the staff, so not exactly a hopping place. The food was decent but nothing special, especially given the prices. Definitely not worth it. The service was good though. The waiter noticed that I liked good bourbon and brought me a free taste of the best they had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We were rushed. We were there no more t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were rushed. We were there no more than 35 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Brunch reservations a must

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

You want to make a reservation here, although they are VERY strict about them. The full group needs to be there in order to be seated, and they have 15 min past the reservation time to do so. For example, if you have a 10:45 reservation for 8 people, and at 10:45 7 people are there, they will make you wait. If you say the last person is running late and won't be there until 11:05, they will tell you that you can either sit 7 people at a 7 person table, or give up your reservation. I understand the policy but they are not very polite about it. Because of this, I would not say that its great for large groups.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.