About Hutch

3301 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths. Located just south from Wrigley Field in vibrant East Lakeview neighborhood, our conveniently located American bistro invites you to enjoy great American food. Experience panoramic city street views while joining us for small bites, crafted cocktails, full dinners or lively brunches. For great food, good times and lasting memories; relish in the Hutch experience… where you Eat. Laugh. Belong.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Weekday Brunch Hours:
Monday - Friday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
$1 mimoas $5 bloodys $7 carafes

Happy Hours:
3-6 pm Bar Area Only

Dinner Hours :
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Brunch served Daily
10:00 am - 3:00 pm

WE DON'T TAKE RESERVATION FOR OUR PATIO OR BAR !

Cross Street:
Aldine/School

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 248-1155

Website:
http://hutchchicago.com/

Public Transit:
#22 Clark Bus
2 blocks from the Belmont El Stop

Private Party Facilities:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths.

Private Party Contact:
Jude Abella: (855) 808-5713

Special Events & Promotions:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Hutch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Romantic (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friends and I love to brunch at Hutch ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

My friends and I love to brunch at Hutch. Everything we've tried on the menu is great and we love all the mimosa options! One of the best spots in Chicago!

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great bottle of wine and perfectly cooke ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great bottle of wine and perfectly cooked steaks!

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Long wait despite reservation ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food. Long wait despite reservations

Very very noisy

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I had a reservation at 11 and arrived a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I had a reservation at 11 and arrived a little early - the hostess asked us to wait a few minutes for our table to be ready. Ok, that's fine, my party and I waited until 11 (there were 3 of us total). Around 11:05 I approached the hostess again and asked if our table was ready. She looked a bit surprised and had clearly just given our table to a different group of people. Instead of admitting fault, she tried to seat us at a two-top table, which was awkwardly placed in the dining room, kind of in the way of everything and clearly didn't fit 3 people comfortably. I realize that they were extremely busy, but the hostess was rude when I asked her if it would be alright if we waited for a larger table, since we were celebrating a birthday and I didn't want to be even more annoyed during this experience. So we waited another 20 minutes past our reservation for a table. Mind you, this restaurant has zero space for people to wait to be seated, yet they make people stand awkwardly in the bar area and near the hostess stand for a table (I think you can give them your number and they'll text you when your table is ready, but I was not given this option, and it shouldn't have been necessary since I had a reservation). I will say that the food at Hutch is fantastic, but I'd rather go somewhere else where they don't cram guests into the dining room and waiting area. What makes the least sense is the service is slow - you'd think they would want to get people in and out fast!

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Such a disappointing experience! Took >3 ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Such a disappointing experience! Took >30 min to be seated for our reservation. Service was slow so it took a while to get our food & drinks. But was still asked to leave because our 90 minute brunch time limit was up! I will NOT be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Found a hair in one dish but the waiter ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Found a hair in one dish but the waiter compensated the meal and promptly served a new dish. Service was quick and attentive and food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not very good. Flatbread w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was not very good. Flatbread was sort of soggy,some items on the chartucurie were ok and others were disgusting, the steak was almost fair, the burger was fair, drinks were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We decided to try Hutch since it was nex ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We decided to try Hutch since it was next door to the place we went the night before for my birthday, the service was outstanding and the food was really good and very well priced. I ended up having the special which was a thick pork chop and side salad with mash potatoes. The Lobster nachos where also a huge surprise and very very good. We will be coming back for dinner here.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to hutch for brunch with my bf on F ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Went to hutch for brunch with my bf on Friday morning and it was lovely! Great service, large portions, and make sure to ask for the weekday brunch drink specials!!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was overpriced and not good at all. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was overpriced and not good at all. Got the food and took one bite. Couldn't take anymore. Waitress didn't ask about us or check in when the food was untouched. Overall a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

There needs to be a category for pre/pos ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

There needs to be a category for pre/post sports with its proximity to Wrigley Field. Forward menu exceptionally done. Great craft cocktails and very friendly servers. Baseball Steak on blue cheese risotto was perfectly done. YUM!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here in the past and loved it. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Have been here in the past and loved it. This time was a different story. Sometimes it's one thing that can take your dinning experience from AWESOME to ok. I'll make it short and to the point. I ordered the Baseball Steak and Risotto. I ordered the steak medium rare. It came out well done. Then I had to flag the server down to let him know. It took another 25 minutes to get a new meal which was cooked to the correct temperature. The restaurant was about 20% seated and my date ordered chicken (which came out perfect).

I think it was the manager that brought my meal back out and apologized for overcooking the steak. Then walked away. If it were me I would have waited till I cut into it but he had confidence! It was perfect. :)

Because I was on a date and we had someplace to go...I boxed up most of it and took it home. That said, I did receive a bill with no mention of a make good or reduction. As I always do, I didn't complain and tipped well.

Please eat at Hutch. I like their food and have had much better experiences there. Just make sure they understand that the Baseball Steak shouldn't be cooked like a baseball! :)

Cheers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I love this place. Been here twice and e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I love this place. Been here twice and each time I always have been taken care of by great friendly staff. The brunch menu is delicious. I've tried the chilaquiles and fried chicken and biscuit meal with hash browns. The weekday brunch mimosa special is amazing. I have told all my friends about Hutch, and I'm slowly bringing them all in with me. I've heard the weekends get very busy, so I'm usually there during the week.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good and very tasty. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was really good and very tasty. However, we went for restaurant week and we were dissatisfied with the portion sizes. The apps ( tots & beignets ) were a 1/2 portion which the waiter said, and I think that was the perfect amount. The entree on the other hand not as good. My boyfriend got the corned beef hash based on a picture he saw because the portion sized looked hearty. What he got was not the same. He got just a few pieces of corned beef and literally ate the whole thing in like 3-4 bites. He ended up finishing my meal. I wish I had taken a picture or said something about the portion size. I am not sure if this was because they were busy or we did restaurant week, but the portion sizes here were a little small for our liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Service from hosts desk to wait staff wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service from hosts desk to wait staff was excellent. Friendly, fast, accomodating. Oh and the mimosas are fantastic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to wait despite having reservations, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had to wait despite having reservations, very loud, food was ok, service slow...was asked to leave by the server because of "limited seating availability" and because "lots of people are waiting." We were there for less than an hour, not including the 30 minutes we had to wait for a table despite having reservations. The server would not leave my table until we stood up and put on our coats. Awful etiquette, will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We had to wait +30 after our reservation ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had to wait +30 after our reservation time and the waiting area was very crowded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

They were accommodating considering how ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

They were accommodating considering how late we were

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been here once before and honestl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I have been here once before and honestly really liked it but this time it was not a great experience. Too loud, rude and bad service and the food wasn't as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Had a reservation and we were seated pro ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a reservation and we were seated promptly. Waitress came an took drink orders quickly, and that was the last of the decent service. Had to flag down the waitress to get a second drink as she was avoiding eye contact because the service was so slow. She walked by the table 20 times but never stopped to take a second drink order or to apologize for the slow service. Dinner took almost an hour from order to delivery.! Food was really good, but won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This was our first visit to the Hutch. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was our first visit to the Hutch. We came on a Friday night and the restaurant was surprisingly empty for such a prime location. The drinks were tasty and well thought out, but the food was average. My bistro bowl with salmon was fairly tasteless and the chopped beet and kale salad had 2 or 3 small beets. The chopped salad was decent, but, overall, there was just something missing. For dessert, our enthusiastic server recommended the cherry pie a la mode, which is one of my favorites. Unfortunately, the ice cream had that 6-month old freezer burn taste, effectively ruining the dish. I was excited about finding a good meal of comfort food, but, in the end, was left wanting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was great and the service was j ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was great and the service was just as good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

LOVED the atmosphere! Bean burger was 2 ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

LOVED the atmosphere! Bean burger was 2 thumbs up!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've passed this spot for a number of ye ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I've passed this spot for a number of years and always noticed it seemed crowded. When I got a Groupon, I decided to try it. So glad I did. Food was really great -- creative and yummy. I had the grilled meatloaf with chive mash potatoes -- perfect comfort food on a crappy winter night. My girlfriend had the panko chicken which she said was terrific. Definitely going back!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Hutch on numerous occasi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been to Hutch on numerous occasions and we were very disappointed with the food this time around. Most of our meals were not cooked according to our request and many of the meals came out lukewarm, at best. One of our party said something to the server about the way the food was cooked and the restaurant was nice enough to comp his meal. That level of concern and service is what we are used to when we eat at Hutch. We have never had a meal as poorly done as the one we had yesterday. We will certainly go back again because Hutch has generally done a good job with the food and the service. Service was still strong yesterday, but the quality of the food was very poor and inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Very good food at great prices. Service ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very good food at great prices. Service is spot on and easy to park or use valet, your preference.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really like coming to Hutch for brunch ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I really like coming to Hutch for brunch because they have great food. The only thing that really bothers me about this restaurant is that even if you have a reservation they will not seat you without your entire party being there. A few of my friends are constantly late and I am on time and that is why I make reservations. If I am there on time I should be seated. Otherwise, great food and drinks. The bistro sandwich and the hash brown casserole are awesome.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

One of our favorites neighborhood "go-to ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

One of our favorites neighborhood "go-to" restaurants. Great, friendly service. Solid menu consisting of American favorites with some interesting new "takes"...but with some wonderful standards (get the killer cheeseburger and fries). Reasonably priced...really good value.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch on New Year's Day. A ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for brunch on New Year's Day. All of our meals were tremendous. Several had omelets which were tasty. I had the egg white, tomato, spinach skillet which I thoroughly enjoyed. The corned beef hash was outstanding and chuck full of corn beef. We also tried the little nutella pastries. Very good. The service was excellent - professional but yet very friendly. My only complaint is that it was exceptionally loud- a DJ was spinning in the dining room and it was very difficult to talk. Not sure if that was just for New Year's Day or not and it might have been a good idea if he didn't paly so loud. Would definitively go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wasn't told beforehand that there was a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wasn't told beforehand that there was a live and very loud dj going on for new years day brunch. We typically get here for brunch right when they open, so was surprised by how hectic it was. Our server told us they don't serve cottage cheese, even though it's on the menu. Also said they didn't have bottomless mimosa brunch, even though another table with a different server had it. Not sure if she could hear us over the dj'ing. Anyway, if you want to have a conversation, don't go here when there's very loud music. Food was good, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Our waiter Rafael was amazing! We are lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter Rafael was amazing! We are looking forward to comeback again soon

Great restaurant!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed our first visit to Hutch. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We enjoyed our first visit to Hutch. The service in particular was exceptionally attentive. Perfectly crisp shoestring fries were a standout. Steak, fish tacos and the black bean burger were all well-portioned and tasty. Will gladly return to try more entrees!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Smooth and private setting when I went f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Smooth and private setting when I went for dinner on a Wednesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love that Hutch has a bar side and a din ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Love that Hutch has a bar side and a dining side. We started on the bar side and took advantage of their awesome Happy Hour specials, when our party grew larger than we originally planned, the staff was extremely accommodating and moved us to the dining area. Service and food was great! Definitely a great spot to keep in mind when you want something nice in the neighborhood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hutch is truly a favorite of mine. I lov ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Hutch is truly a favorite of mine. I love the food, the people and just the homey feel you get there. If you get there for Happy Hour you will so love Maura the bartender. What a pleasure she is to sit and enjoy a drink with. I recommend trying Hutch. Nothing fancy, just great food and people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot for anything from a family ge ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great spot for anything from a family get together or a date. More mature vibe with great cocktails. I highly recommend the Bee's Knees cocktail with the Panko Crusted Chicken and a side of Hutch Fries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lobster nachos and our meals were phenom ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Lobster nachos and our meals were phenomenal!! Everyone was very friendly and attentive. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our family of five went to Hutch to cele ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our family of five went to Hutch to celebrate a birthday. The place has an upbeat vibe, even on a holiday weekend when you would expect it to be quiet. The waiter was knowledgeable and able to answer our questions. The food was very good; we had burgers, soup and salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ok neighborhood option. Meatball and shr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Ok neighborhood option. Meatball and shrimp appetizers were good. Chicken main course standard but not special. Salmon main course less than enjoyable due to highly acidic sauce. Would return for appetizers and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always enjoy Hutch! Nice menu with grea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always enjoy Hutch! Nice menu with great options and specials. We have our favorite server (Anne), she's outstanding. But, we've always had good service. Good handcrafted cocktails too!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.