Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Hutch

Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths. Located just south from Wrigley Field in vibrant East Lakeview neighborhood, our conveniently located American bistro invites you to enjoy great American food. Experience panoramic city street views while joining us for small bites, crafted cocktails, full dinners or lively brunches. For great food, good times and lasting memories; relish in the Hutch experience… where you Eat. Laugh. Belong.

3301 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Weekday Brunch Hours:
Monday - Friday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
$2 mimoas $8 bloodys $10 carafes

Happy Hours:
3-6 pm Bar Area Only

Dinner Hours :
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 9pm

Brunch served Daily
10:00 am - 3:00 pm

WE DON'T TAKE RESERVATION FOR OUR PATIO OR BAR !

Cross Street:
Aldine/School

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 248-1155

Website:
http://hutchchicago.com/

Public Transit:
#22 Clark Bus
2 blocks from the Belmont El Stop

Private Party Facilities:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths.

Private Party Contact:
Jude Abella: (855) 808-5713

Special Events & Promotions:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Hutch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (28)
Casual (28)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Comfort Food (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Fun (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Happy Hour (10)
People Watching (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort by
S
667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Despite having a reservation, the host sat 3 of us at a 2 top with me sticking out into the middle of the walkway. I was bumped into every 3 seconds and felt uncomfortable the entire time. All other service was great, but that one host who made a weird decision ruined my time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Hutch a couple times prior and have enjoyed it. Everything was fine with this visit until I received my braised short ribs. The plate had a huge serving of mashed potatoes and 2 very small slices of the short rib ( each piece was one bite). At the price of $26.95 I was surprised and mentioned to my husband I spent a lot on potatoes. The waitress inquired as to our satisfaction,and I did mention that although the short ribs were excellent I was disappointed in the size of the serving. She must have mentioned this to the manager and in about 15 min another plate of short ribs appeared. This serving was 3x the size of the first. Needless to say I was more than satisfied and will definitely return for their fabulous short ribs again.
My husband had the double cut pork chop with the bourbon glaze and it was to die for!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The atmosphere was loud and energetic. The food choices were good. The wait staff was attentive and not overly pushy. A good portion for brunch and the cheesy potatoes are a mandatory choice as they are sooo yummy!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food was delicious but the service was terrible.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Really nice waiter and a good solid menu with some fun options, like lobster nachos which were good if you love won tons the way I do.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 10, 2017

A great burger, literally, and wonderful service to match. TJ was very kind and helpful! Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2017

One of our favorites!
We like it for brunch and for dinner!
Highly recommmended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Horrible food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Friendly and fun staff! Loved the food and extra accommodations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Raisin or Fig that is the question. Great prosciutto flat bread, menu said figs came out with raisins. Hmm, if you don’t have figs in house I get it, just say so. Server said always comes with raisins. Meatloaf said homemade, maybe, seemed too perfect, tasty but needed some lumps. While not a salt adder, turkey burger slightly salty, sauce made the difference.
Their happy hour and apps are great and would go back for those, maybe not for dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was just ok. Service was great but it was way too crowded for comfort. Tables were tiny and it was overwhelming.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Amazing food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

This restaurant is garbage. A 90 minutes table limit is just poor policy. The champagne glasses are plastic. Food was mediocre at best and it came out cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

This is one of my most favorite brunch spots in the area, it never lets me down and I love that most dishes come with the hash brown casserole, it's just the best. I also very much suggest the Iced Mexican Macchiato it's fantastic, try everything, I've never had a bad meal here any time of the day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2017

I came here for my birthday and they made it so special! Instead of dessert, they give bottles of champagne! What a wonderful treat. :) Thanks for adding some extra joy to my 25th!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Thank you to the awesome staff! They brought us mimosas since we had to wait for a server when we sat down. They were flexible with moving our reservation on a busy brunch day and the food was excellent and very fast! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2017

A long time friend was back in town after a 3 year absence. Friday was a beautiful sunny warm day and plans originally included a trip to see the new Riverwalk.Luckily, we decided instead to visit Hutch because the experience of that afternoon brunch was all that was needed. The service, the food, the ambiance could not have been better. Thanks Hutch!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 17, 2017

This is my fourth time to Hutch. The other three were relatively enjoyable. This last time I ordered the filet wrapped with bacon. The fillet tasted like the top of the saltshaker came off when they were seasoning it. Might give it one more try not sure yet. All I ask of a restaurant is consistency and that to me is the most important factor.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Love this restaurant! I’ve been twice and I will continue to keep coming!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Nice atmosphere and service. Ordered the steak sandwich and it was very bland. Wife’s food was pretty good. Overall a nice experience, but likely wouldn’t come back due to food quality not matching price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent spot. I was late for my reservation due to Chicago Marathon traffic, but the staff were great at getting out table seated right away. Very friendly, and I will be back :)

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Big Biscuit and fried chicken dish was blah. Barely any gravy and a few bacon bits. Fried Chicken didn’t have any flavor. Pretty “Big” disappointment. My husband got salmon Benedict, and said it was “pretty good”. Bloody Mary was good and server was nice. Had no problem getting our table with our reservation, but wait was long without reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was fantastic. Outdoor seating was perfect even on a cooler night due to heaters. 10/10 would recommend to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Pre-marathon dinner, lot's of great choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Sat at the bar with my brother and had a great time! Service was so wonderful. We got our food quickly and the bartender was awesome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food and service are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great corner spot to people watch the day of a Cubs game! Table of four. I had a Benedict, but I combined the smoked salmon one with the veggie one and it was yummy: generous portion of smoked salmon and delicious, cheesy potato au gratin side dish. Good hot coffee. Husband had an all-white omelet that was also a generous portion. Would go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food was very good, it took a little longer than expected to receive the food, given a half full restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Always a reliable and good dinner. Service and food is always on point.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent brunch (available every day of the week - huge plus!). We had a carafe of white peach mimosas, which were delicious. A good selection of food options - will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our food was disappointing. They were out of avocado, which normally wouldn't be a big deal but a lot of the brunch items contained avocado. Our breakfasts were really bland--the side of fresh fruit was the best part. Our server was nice but not real attentive & never asked how our food was, which I thought was odd. However, the busboy was hustling, keeping our water filled, and was very nice. Overall, I think this place is overrated. We were left with a "meh" feeling, and with so many restaurants in Chicago, "meh" is not good enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

My wife and I had a Groupon for this place because I want too check it out. The place seems decent on paper but, in actuality, it fell shorts on different levels.

First off, I ordered drink (a Bourbon Berry Smash) that took forever to come to the table and when it finally came, it tasted completely unbalanced: the bourbon was overpowering, except for the moldy aftertaste from some of the berries smashed at the bottom. Unfortunately, no wait staff was around for more than 10 solid minutes, so it took a while to get my drink replaced with a regular Manhattan, which tasted just fine.

My wife and I ordered 1 salad (apple+arugula) and 2 appetizers (Pan Roasted Mussels and Hutch Fires). The food was good but we waited a long time to get it. I was trying to flag down our waiter, but he was nowhere to be found, so I finally managed to stop one of the hostess and ask her to check where our food was.

She came back with the food and an extra serving of fries, to make up for the wait, which was a nice gesture.

We closed the meal sharing a slice of cherry pie, which was okay, but I have had better.

All in all, the food and ambiance were decent. Service was sub par (we spent 1 hour and 40 minutes for a salad and 2 appetizers and the place wan't even full). The check, before the Groupon was $60, which I think it is too pricey for the overall experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

A great spot for brunch that is very popular. There are few tables outside.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We have enjoyed the times we went to Hutch for dinner. However, the menu has hanged and we had a hard time to find anything to eat. My husband had chicken and it was okay but I had a black bean burger which was very spicy and even though I took half of it home I threw it away. When I ordered it was told it was not spicy but it had a lot of spice in it.

Now I am reluctant to try going there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The GM Katie is friendly, engaging and down right awesome! Food is always good, especially the meatball appetizer! We always have a great time!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very "so what." Shrimp app was good. Rest was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food is great. Would've gone 5 stars, but we had a reservation at 11:30, and by 11:50 when we still hadn't been seated, we just decided to sit and eat at the bar. Which was fine, but had to deduct something for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Love this place! Brunch is fantastic and such a great value. Staff is courteous and super friendly. Make sure you have a reservation for weekend brunch as this place is always packed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The service was great the food was awesome, it got very crowded very quickly but the service was still great,

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.