About Hutch

3301 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths. Located just south from Wrigley Field in vibrant East Lakeview neighborhood, our conveniently located American bistro invites you to enjoy great American food. Experience panoramic city street views while joining us for small bites, crafted cocktails, full dinners or lively brunches. For great food, good times and lasting memories; relish in the Hutch experience… where you Eat. Laugh. Belong.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Weekday Brunch Hours:
Monday - Friday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
$1 mimoas $5 bloodys $7 carafes

Happy Hours:
3-6 pm Bar Area Only

Dinner Hours :
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Brunch served Daily
10:00 am - 3:00 pm

WE DON'T TAKE RESERVATION FOR OUR PATIO OR BAR !

Cross Street:
Aldine/School

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 248-1155

Website:
http://hutchchicago.com/

Public Transit:
#22 Clark Bus
2 blocks from the Belmont El Stop

Private Party Facilities:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths.

Private Party Contact:
Jude Abella: 8558085713

Special Events & Promotions:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Restaurant Photos

Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL
Hutch, Chicago, IL

Hutch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Brunch (7)
See All
Casual (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Authentic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Romantic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great spot for anything from a family ge ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Great spot for anything from a family get together or a date. More mature vibe with great cocktails. I highly recommend the Bee's Knees cocktail with the Panko Crusted Chicken and a side of Hutch Fries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lobster nachos and our meals were phenom ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Lobster nachos and our meals were phenomenal!! Everyone was very friendly and attentive. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our family of five went to Hutch to cele ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our family of five went to Hutch to celebrate a birthday. The place has an upbeat vibe, even on a holiday weekend when you would expect it to be quiet. The waiter was knowledgeable and able to answer our questions. The food was very good; we had burgers, soup and salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ok neighborhood option. Meatball and shr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Ok neighborhood option. Meatball and shrimp appetizers were good. Chicken main course standard but not special. Salmon main course less than enjoyable due to highly acidic sauce. Would return for appetizers and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always enjoy Hutch! Nice menu with grea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always enjoy Hutch! Nice menu with great options and specials. We have our favorite server (Anne), she's outstanding. But, we've always had good service. Good handcrafted cocktails too!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a great evening and really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a great evening and really enjoyed the food. My baseball steak with blue cheese risotto was lovely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wait staff was great and restaurant with ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wait staff was great and restaurant with chill family ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal. I thought the lobster ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Had a great meal. I thought the lobster nachos and fish tacos were really good. The value was good although portion sizes were moderate. I thought it was a warm atmosphere and our waiter was very good. Definitely worth a try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a wonderful experience, Ask for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always a wonderful experience, Ask for Anne as your server / true professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The salads were just okay

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The salads were just okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Extremely LOUD, Food Mediocre, Poor Serv ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Extremely LOUD, Food Mediocre, Poor Service, Mixologist, if we can call it, showed ignorance preparing cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We always enjoy Hutch and now our friend ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We always enjoy Hutch and now our friends do, as well

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was very aggressive and repea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The server was very aggressive and repeatedly swarmed our table for orders and pushed appetizers. The mocktail he recommended was bad. The food came out cold. Lobster nachos and steak was cold as if it had been sitting. The steak was chewy. I had a horrible stomach ache from the food until noon the next day. I have no desire to return, it was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

We've been to Hutch a lot since moving t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We've been to Hutch a lot since moving to the neighborhood. Great family friendly restaurant especially since they have free kids meals during certain hours. We tend to stay away before/after Cubs games since it's probably a lot busier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite neighborhood ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This is one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants in Chicago. I have been there more than 10 times and the food is always great as well as the service. I discovered this restaurant originally through Groupon and now continue to bring more and more friends there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta was so good our toddler ate th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The pasta was so good our toddler ate the whole dish! He's very picky! Another great was the filet special! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first visit to Hutch. It was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was our first visit to Hutch. It was ok but the prices are too high for the quality of food that we got. The service was only ok. Not worth going back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

They forgot to give us silverware, and a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

They forgot to give us silverware, and as a gesture customer satisfaction, covered our bill...for not giving us silverware. I was both surprised and appreciative. THAT'S customer service in it's best example.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and service, but pricey - and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Good food and service, but pricey - and unfortunately does attract some drunk Cubs fans. One guy we saw couldn't even stand up on his own and it looked like the hostess was trying to hail him a cab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and service. Friendly atmosp ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great food and service. Friendly atmosphere throughout the entire restaurant. You always feel at home there. Good menu options also.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A lot of the menu items were unavailable ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

A lot of the menu items were unavailable so I ended up order something I really didn't want which was the fish and chips. Food wasn't that good and my order had to be sent back because it was not prepared correctly the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Always enjoy going to Hutch's, food pres ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always enjoy going to Hutch's, food presentation and quality are always superior to other restaurants in the area. Great back bar scene and seating for dinner. The owner is always around and checking on customers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time going to Hutch fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was my first time going to Hutch for dinner. Their brunch is always great and their $1 Mimosas are the best deal in town (unless someone has them for free lol). My brother and I arrived a few minutes before 5pm and we were seated and our order taken.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, meh,Meh, meh,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

The food at Hutch remains consistently v ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food at Hutch remains consistently very good. The drink menu is also very good with nice cocktails and a reasonable wine and beer list, which includes some good local craft beers. Our server, Ana, was very nice but the woman at reception and busboy looked like they hated being there. A friendly attitude is not much to ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I've been to Hutch on several occasions ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I've been to Hutch on several occasions and have yet to be "impressed". Nothing is "bad", the server is always a bit rushed and the food is just "OK". There are a few memorable standouts on the menu. The Pork Belly Meatballs Carbonara and the Panko Crusted Chicken are delicious...but many other items, the Brisket Sandwich, in particular, are borderline flavorless and uninspired. Not expensive, but nothing special.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always good. Only odd anomaly is the co ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always good. Only odd anomaly is the corn cob side. Both times it came cold and the waiter had to heat it up. Wed is best day for the wine $5 special .. Service is solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You will never be disappointed eating at ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2016

You will never be disappointed eating at Hutch. Food is great as is the friendly service. I truly enjoy going there. They have a black bean burger(which may sound boring) that is the best I have ever had. My husband enjoys the steak and frittes. Try it and you will go back again I'm sure.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress was obnoxiously rude

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Waitress was obnoxiously rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great outdoor seating with wonderful atm ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great outdoor seating with wonderful atmosphere. Only surpassed by outstanding food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitstaff at Hutch was exceptional. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The waitstaff at Hutch was exceptional. Friendly and informative. All of them went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to enjoy our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We came for the Wed Wine special where t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We came for the Wed Wine special where they have $5 glasses of wine. The wine selection for that price was minimal but both the red and white were good.

Had the avocado and chicken flatbread and it was delicious. Another diner had the Panko crusted Chicken and it was another great selection. Only small minus was the corn on the cob side. It was charred and delicious, however it must have been sitting around for quite some time as by the time it arrived it was quite cold which was a shame because it would have been yummy otherwise.

Overall service was great and we will come again. We will make sure ahead of time that the corn is served warm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience is great. Very stylized decor, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Ambience is great. Very stylized decor, good music and on a busy corner, if you are a people watcher like myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Awesome staff, delicious drinks and good ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Awesome staff, delicious drinks and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Wonderful menu. Lots of dif ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food. Wonderful menu. Lots of different options to chose from. Nice to try something different every time. I have never been disappointed. Black bean burger was the best I have had!!! Save room for the pies.!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

With 5 women with different tastes, we w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2016

With 5 women with different tastes, we were all able to get something different & share. With some appetizers & 3 dinners, there was more than plenty to share!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my sister's birthday and eve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went for my sister's birthday and everyone in our group loved the food. I recommend the fish and chips personally. The service was attentive and the noise level was fair for a Friday night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time we have been there and our d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Second time we have been there and our dining experience was great both times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First off, thank you OpenTable for allow ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2016

First off, thank you OpenTable for allowing me to easily provide my dining feedback. I dine out nightly and have been wanting to try Hutch for quite a while. This was my first visit to Hutch. I found a $60 Groupon earlier in the day on 6/24 online and figured it was a great opportunity to try it. My friend and I made a reservation for 7:30 and when we arrived we were promptly seated on the patio. We were welcomed by the host and quickly given water by the bus person. We sat there for literally 15 minutes without any further interaction with ANY Hutch staff. After 15 minutes two other tables of two were seated and quickly greeted by a waiter and a waitress, respectively. We decided that if neither of the servers greeted us that we would leave. We unfortunately had to leave the restaurant. We walked by the host stand without any interaction and left the restaurant.

Since I just purchased the Groupon earlier in the day I immediately cancelled it to get my refund on our walk to Wood where our dining experience was a full 180 degrees different.

We ran into other friends that night and told them about our experience at Hutch and they had a similar bad service experience and would never go back.

There are a lot of dining in Lakeview and Wrigleyville. For example, I tried another restaurant for my first time called The Piggery at Ashland and Irving Park on 6/25. I am already looking forward to going back and have also told other friends about the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hit this spot on a whim before a Cubs ga ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Hit this spot on a whim before a Cubs game. Very relaxing, super service from Andrew and friendly folks all the way around. Solid fare and the lobster nachos rocked. However, outdoor dining chairs were super uncomfortable and fish tacos should not be battered/fried(save that for the Fish & Chips).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.