Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Hutch

Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths. Located just south from Wrigley Field in vibrant East Lakeview neighborhood, our conveniently located American bistro invites you to enjoy great American food. Experience panoramic city street views while joining us for small bites, crafted cocktails, full dinners or lively brunches. For great food, good times and lasting memories; relish in the Hutch experience… where you Eat. Laugh. Belong.

3301 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Weekday Brunch Hours:
Monday - Friday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
$1 mimoas $5 bloodys $7 carafes

Happy Hours:
3-6 pm Bar Area Only

Dinner Hours :
Monday - Thursday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 9pm

Brunch served Daily
10:00 am - 3:00 pm

WE DON'T TAKE RESERVATION FOR OUR PATIO OR BAR !

Cross Street:
Aldine/School

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 248-1155

Website:
http://hutchchicago.com/

Public Transit:
#22 Clark Bus
2 blocks from the Belmont El Stop

Private Party Facilities:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL

Melt into casual comfort with a backdrop of warm chocolate browns and deep espresso leather booths.

Private Party Contact:
Jude Abella: (855) 808-5713

Special Events & Promotions:
Hutch offers a great place to celebrate any occasion or event at our laid-back restaurant in Chicago, IL.

Hutch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (40)
Casual (31)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
See All
Sunday Lunch (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Fun (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
People Watching (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Cozy (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Romantic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (2)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food had no flavor, drink was way too spicy, couldn't get our servers attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The location was great , the food was perfect. I would have given 5 stars , but I got a "no show" email from OpenTable chastising me for being a no show. Obviously something happened at the podium and was likely an error on the host/ess , but the email removed a star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

First off, when i got there i was told that i had to wait until the rest of my party came (I had a reservation) but fine. When we got seated with my whole party which was only 4 people, I noticed Two girls come in after us to a table of six and was seated there party came in 5-10 mins later. So Why did i have to wait for my party to get even get seated? IT was busy crowded noisy way to noisy, I could barely communicate with party. Also the food was tasteless and dry. Out of the four of us only one of us actually finished the food. (None of us took any leftovers home either)Also one of my guess asked the waitress about the food on the menu and she told my guess one thing but what she got was completely different from what she said. (Not the wrong order but saying it was a chicken breast when it was actually chicken strips)

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food is always great. Service wasn't bad at all, but they all seem so scattered and frantic, from the hostess to the server to bussers.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food ! Very busy place - glad we made reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our first visit to Hutch and only picked it based on its reviews. What a great place. Good food. Friendly staff. All around good experience.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Fabulous! Great happy hour! Staff was exceptional.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Went for dinner on Saturday before Cubs v. Yankees game. Really good burgers, ribs and white fish -- something for everyone. Good beer and wine selection. Fun view of fans heading to the game.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Not sure why Open Table would allow me to book a 2:45 pm reservation when Hutch closes their kitchen at 3 pm to prepare for the dinner service. When we arrived, the hostess didn't bother to tell us that the kitchen was closing in 15 minutes and we were only informed by our server a few minutes before 3 pm. I tried to check the Hutch website to see when they stopped serving brunch and couldn't find a time when I was making a reservation. The server pointed out that they have the time posted on their door, but that wouldn't have kept me from booking an online reservation, so Hutch needs to do a better job of posting their meal service times so that no one else unknowingly makes a reservation near closing time. We decided to leave and go to a nearby spot instead. From this experience, I would say terrible service on Hutch and I don't think I'll ever go back. Ive been once before and the food isn't outstanding anyways.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This place has fantastic food. Seems always busy, but I would strongly recommend reserving a table. The only draw back, the noise level made it very difficult to have a conversation with people dining with us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was good, especially the potato casserole side. Highly recommend the bistro sandwich. The restaurant was a little loud but ambiance was still nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Stopped here on Saturday morning for brunch with some friends. I thought it was great. The menu is small but has a great variety. Don't come here wanting a quiet, intimate meal - it is more of a vibrant, "drinking" atmosphere (at least on Saturday mornings). But that was exactly what we were looking for, so I very much enjoyed it. Tables are packed tight, but everything else about the restaurant makes up for it. I ordered the Kale Avocado Toast and it was spectacular - ate the whole thing! Great carafe deals on mimosas as well (with 5 different flavors - try the Blood Orange!) I would definitely come back to Hutch in the future.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

They didn't honor our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was a bit under cooked, but waitress was very helpful in getting this sorted and reflected on our bill. Had a nice meal on the outdoor patio which was a perfect atmosphere

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was great food, great service, and a great atmosphere. The drinks were incredible and the food was perfect! Would recommend to anyone and everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great spot for brunch in the city! A bit noisey but very enjoyable for a Saturday brunch with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Went on a recommendation before a Cubs game. Great service, food, drink, staff, atmosphere and proximity to Wrigley Field. Couldn't dream of a better bartender and pre-game experience for two out of towners.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Organic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to brunch and the food was very good as where the drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a reservation. Sat us at a table for 2 (we were 3 people). Sat the table of 2 people who were sat at the same time as us at a table of 4. We had no room, food was not warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

They started brunch right on time, there were no issues with our reservations, the server was extremely pleasant, and the food was delicious. I love this place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I've been to Hutch a few times before, and suggested it to my coworkers for brunch. The service this time was bad. Like really really bad. It took 15 minutes for our waitress to even acknowledge us, and another 15 to get waters and order drinks. My friend asked for coffee--twice-and never got it. When the food finally came out, it was cold. One of my friends (who ordered the basic egg breakfast) had to wait an additional 5 minutes for her plate and then the waitress disappeared again before she could get silverware. So the morning was a lot of waiting around for sub-par food. Three out of my four friends said despite the great mimosa deal, the service and food would deter them from ever coming back. Too bad because I used to like this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was very slow. High expectations but fell short. We will not be back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Such a great place and amazing location.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We loved the relaxed feeling of this place and the peach mimosa's get two thumbs up.
The brunch is a must - food was excellent. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It is quite load inside on Sundays and crowded, we were sit outside and it was great. Food is also good and bloody m's too. Mimosa 3.5... priceless!

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Just about everything was poor to mediocre. Food came out barely warm and "crafted" cocktails tasted of very cheap alcohol. We had a nice waiter, but that is the sole good spot. Not worth the money. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Chilaquiles and Nutella Donut Poppers were excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We have been to Hutch on a number of occasions. They did not disappoint. Service and food were very good. Quiet place for a business meeting. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Took about 10 minutes to get server to bring us coffee. Bus boy hand his thumb all over the top plate in the stack he brought the table, gross. Qe asked for nutella poppers to come 1st, they came after 15 minutes and 30 seconds beofre our food. My food came with a completely different dish and then it seemed to take a most 10 minutes to get the correct order and it didn't come with the scrambled egg I ordered with it, then the waiter brought me a fried egg, 3 people heard me say scrambled both times. All this and not much of an apology nor concession. 2nd terrible service experience, not going for 3rd time to be the charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The Brunch menu OK - not worth the high prices. The restaurant was loud and chaotic. After we ate and the served delivered the bill she asked us to leave because she had many people waiting for a table. I get it, I understand turning the tables --- but it wasn't a nice request but a demand. Three of us ate brunch, we ordered coffee, mimosas, 4 entrees and the bill was close to $90. For that investment level I would expect better service -- its not a diner with a $5.99 breakfast special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was great but food was a little subpar - the fried eggs on top of my about toast weren't fully cooked. Surprised because I've been to Hutch before and the food is usually on point. Not a big enough deal that I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I had a great time on Sunday at Hutch! The Bacon Eggs Benedict were delicious and I'm in love with the cheesy hash browns they came with. I love the Instagram contest they have going as well! I will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was great! A little crowded but that's how you know it's a great brunch place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was good, you can barely hear the music though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The waffles are amazing! It was a little loud, but definitely worth the food!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We looked for a pre-show dinner spot near Belmont and settled on the Hutch. So glad we did. Very good food, service was more than adequate. And it's a short walk from the L. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Despite the overly obnoxious millennials flappen their jaws in our ears at the bar, the food and service was above average. The bees knees and blackberry mule were very well made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Server was nervous and did not time our meal well at all ... brought out a bunch of things at once, and so our lobster mac & cheese got cold. Food was average but not outstanding. Error on our bill took a while to fix and just seemed to be a lack of quality overall in the experience.

We had a Groupon that was expiring, which is why we went ... would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Hutch was mediocre according to the group I was with. The food was edible but not incredible. I don't understand why I was allowed to book a reservation for 2:45 if the kitchen closes at 3 (on a Sunday )

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall my experience was adequate however our server was clearly trying to very quickly turn the table and when we weren't ready to order immediately he told us we only have 90 minutes at this table so we should decide. This is not a bottomless brunch or any other type of restaurant with a dedicated time limit. It changed how I think about this restaurant. My past experiences here have been better. Perhaps just a cranky server. Great mimosas. Good food.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.