About Hussong's Cantina Reno

407 N Virginia St.
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

Hussong’s Cantina is bringing the flavor of the oldest bar in Mexico and birthplace of the first Margarita to Silver Legacy Resort and Casino Reno, along with unbelievably delicious Baja inspired food!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Daily 10:00am-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Virginia and Fourth St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 325-7395

Website:
http://www.hussongsreno.com/

Catering:
We can provide and accommodate a wide variety of situations catered to your requests.

Parking Details:
The Silver Legacy Hotel and Casino provides parking.

Executive Chef:
Noe Alcala

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout

Hussong's Cantina Reno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

5.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.0

noise

Energetic

100% would recommend it to a friend

vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
29 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thank you, from a happy vegan

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Thank you for having a special vegan menu. It's not something that I can find too often in Reno. I will be back, and bring more vegans with me. You have a lifelong customer in me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Hussong's at the Silver Legacy Reno

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Celebrated my 59th birthday at Hussong's. The dinner and drinks started off the evening with a bang. A great meal, friendly servers and hostess, fantastic drinks. It was a very good night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Margaritas!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

Great Margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FOOD IS ALWAYS AMAZING!!!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

I eat here often simply because the food is SO DELICIOUS!! However, I will say this last time I ate here the service was not so great. Sat at the bar & had a difficult time getting the attention of the bar tender a few times, and had to ask 2 times for water, never got the chips & salsa we ordered. And they were really not all that busy, not sure what the problem was. The food still was more then amazing and I would gladly deal with less then great service in order to fill my belly.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

I'm a Mexican food addict

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

The food and service was mediocre. Everything we had was not at all spicy. Their salsa tasted like it was out of a jar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

¡No Bueno!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

Server didn't welcome us. Just asked do you know what you want. We order an appetizer and it came 2 minutes before our meal. Wife had fish tacos . The fish was two small pieces of which was mostly breading. 1/2 of my steak burrito was cheese and the some other meat with steak. The chicken tenders that my daughter ordered were good. A group of five seat behind us and after 5 minutes got up and left because no one came to take their drink/food order. Over all I would not eat there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

great times with my family

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on November 22, 2014

My wife and I had dinner and drinks before our show. Later that night we went back with more family for a night cap. My only negative was getting home and finding three charges to my credit card vs. The two I signed for.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Service

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

The service was not as great as I expected, but the place was very busy. Had to ask for our appetizer and food, the wait was longer than anticipated. Food was exceptional, and the wait to be seated was not long at all, I do recommend making reservations, as this place is very busy!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Average at best

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on October 15, 2014

This place was......ok. It wasn't bad food but for what I paid I expected so much more. I have had some really good Mexican food in the Reno area and spent a lot less money. Don't think I will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Hussongs Cantina--try it!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 19, 2014

The pitcher of top shelf margaritas was pricey but quite good. The food was very good--my wife had the ribeye tacos, which were delicious, and I had the Baja burger, which was one of the best cheeseburgers I've ever had. Portions were ample, and the service was good. Ambience was a little noisy, as the restaurant is not enclosed and is located next to a busy walkway in the casino. Fortunately, access is quite easy from the Silver Legacy valet parking. We definitely plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

Eaten here many times. Everyone I take here, loves everything from food, atmosphere, and customer service. Sam the waiter has been my server numerous times. Great server. Very friendly and quick to serve you. Will eat there again and pass the word on to my friends and family.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Taco's

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

The service was great! I had the best Margarita I've had in a long time, and the Rib Eye taco's were great. My wife had a Chimichanga, which she enjoyed but the flavor was a little rich. She described it as a mix between Mexican and Italian. She'd probably try something else next time. I'd drop in here just for the chips, salsa and an Original Margarita.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Unique choices

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

Went here after Terry Fator show. Was nicely surprised that they took reservations at 10:00pm. I had the skirt steak stuffed Chili Relleno. It was nicely presented and very tasty! I am very particular and this one is a top pick! The pepper was cooked perfectly abd the steak was tender, juicy and full of flavor. My wife had the Chicken Enchiladas which were equally add good. The server was very nice. He did a great job. Something you don't always see late night. Keep in mind this is on the main concourse of the Silver Legacy so the noise level is high and the floor flexes when crowds go by. If that bothers you, you will want to sit towards the inside/bar. Overall great service and very good food. We will be back!

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Hussongs in Reno

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 19, 2014

Visited Hussong's in Reno using a Groupon and OpenTable reservation. The chips and salsa were excellent, as was the margarita. I had fish tacos and they were fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Bad service, bad food

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 28, 2014

I was really surprised at how poor the service was here. They forgot our appetizers, didn't bring us drinks and when they finally did they didn't refill them...then the order was wrong...the salsa was underseasoned...the meat undercooked. This is the only bad experience I've had with an open table restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

good find inside the silver legacy!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 20, 2014

service was good, had to add to the existing reservation which wasn't a problem. food good, would go back and eat again. the margarita is for 2, not 1....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

You should make fresh beans

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 16, 2014

You should make fresh beans and rice. Tasted terrible looked like glue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Won't be returning

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 15, 2014

The food was bland, even the salsas. We had chicken tacos (which were the best of the food items), quesadilla, and chicken enchiladas. We did like the chips. The server never returned after we received our food to find out how it was. Since it was not good and we sent it back, we had no time or interest in ordering something else. Poor food and poor service do not constitute a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Dissapointed

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

Margaritas were strong and had a bitter under taste to them, we only drank half and switched to water. My Skirt Steak Chile Relleno had a good flavor, but I did not get putting it on top of a "crispy tostada" - the tostada absorbed the juices from the food on top of it and had no crispness - I wasn't sure what the purpose was. My husband had the Carnitas Tacos, and he thought the meat was lukewarm. When a manager (?) stopped by our table and asked how things were, we were told that the salsa that they put on top of the meat caused the temp of the meat to drop; the margaritas were made with 1.5 shots of tequila and should not have been that strong. He did take 20% off our bill, but I really can't see us stopping in there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

greatplace2dine

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 1, 2014

Outstanding service ,The food was great and the manager was very helpful with everything we needed . Thank you we are new to the area ,we moved to Reno six months ago and your this is our new favorite place .Again Thank You for a fun time .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Las Vegas location was Superior

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 22, 2014

I had dinner at the Hussong's at the Mandalay with some friends and loved it so much I made it a point to visit the Hussong's at the Silver Legacy in Reno. I was disappointed in the quality of the food. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Vegan Friendly

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 10, 2014

The food was very good and I like the fact that they have their own vegan menu.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good service-fair food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 27, 2013

We had a larger party (13) and it was the day after Chrisymas, so I had concerns. They were setup for us on time and the service was very good. For being the originator of the margarita (so says the menu), the margaritas were just decent. Nothing that would make me go back there for another one. The food was also decent, but not anything too memorable. The place was a bit noisy, however, as we had kids in out party, it worked out pretty well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

First Impression

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on December 9, 2013

This was my first visit to Hussong's. The food was quite good and our server was very friendly and efficient. I chose this restaurant because i was going to attend a show a block away and this was a convenient place to park, meet and walk to the event. The location for this restaurant is in the concourse between the Silver Legacy and the Eldorado casinos. It is quite loud and open to the public walking by, not the place for a quiet conversation.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Great Margaritas

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 3, 2013

Nothing fancy about Hussong's but good food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

1st visit

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on October 29, 2013

We stopped in for a quick refreshment and snack while awaiting friends and before moving on to the next event. Service was great, would be back later. Menu looked good and nicely priced.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Reno Spotlight

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on October 28, 2013

Good service and view of casino area. Great for people watchers.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great atmosphere and service!!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on October 13, 2013

It seems that you have to compromise in Reno for Service, Food, and Ambience. Not so here. The place is pretty small, so either make reservations or sit at the bar, which is open seating, it filled up rather quickly. Service was quick and attentive... Hostess was very friendly too!

The only gripe was that they were "out" of taquitos which leads one to believe that these actually come frozen, and aren't freshly made. Guacamole was great. Chips are above par vs. other Mexican restaurants. Great drink menu!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Too loud

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 28, 2013

Place was small, food was good but overall was too noisy. Husband loved the salsa and chips, rice and beans but I thought they were bland and tasteless. Their rendition of a Chili Relleno was different but tasty. Not wrapped in an egg white and deep fried like traditional but a chili opened on a crispy (suppose to be crispy but was not by the time it was delivered to the table) tortilla with pieces of meat, cheese and a sour cream sauce on top. Will go again as hubby loved it but will try something different next time. Always looking for a great Mexican place, since we just moved here to Reno, but have yet to find it.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.