Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Hussong's Cantina Reno

Hussong’s Cantina is bringing the flavor of the oldest bar in Mexico and birthplace of the first Margarita to Silver Legacy Resort and Casino Reno, along with unbelievably delicious Baja inspired food!

407 N Virginia St.
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Daily 10:00am-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Virginia and Fourth St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 325-7395

Website:
http://www.hussongsreno.com/

Catering:
We can provide and accommodate a wide variety of situations catered to your requests.

Parking Details:
The Silver Legacy Hotel and Casino provides parking.

Executive Chef:
Noe Alcala

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 10:30PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 10:30PM

Hussong's Cantina Reno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.5

ambience

3.2

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

55% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (4)
Live Sports (2)
Comfort Food (1)
See All
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
56 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Not a great meal and the music blaring above was just plain annoying . Everything we ordered was just food......nothing special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food is really good but a bit pricey. The service was great and I would be back again during their happy hour to try out more of their venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went to Hussong's on a Saturday evening before seeing David Crosby at the Silver Legacy. Was seated right on schedule. Margarita's were good, but served in a plastic cup probably so you can transport your drinks out onto the casino floor. Menu is kind of limited, no combination plates. Entrees are a bit expensive for the amount of food you get. We ordered a three enchilada dinner and a fish taco dinner. It was nice you can get the fish grilled in addtion to battered and deep fried. Service was pretty good. Very noisy with the bar and a major walkway from the rest of the casino to the hotel front desk. Not our favorite Mexican restaurant.

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great steak stuffed chili rellano and amazing queso bean dip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 2, 2017

They have a large number of vegetarian choices as well as a providing vegan chicken, etc.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

All food was good except for the fajitas. The lacked flavor. Drinks were really good. Margaritas pitcher was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Very slow, yet poor service. Unfortunately at this time, it is the only bonus points table in the Reno area. The food was OK but the service brought down the whole experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Love the vegan menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Ordered the bean dip and was suggested by our server to not get it. Which I listened to and took his advice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The service was a bit slow but the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was good but the service left much to be desired. Our group waited over 30 minutes for our bill. We had to remind our sever to bring our bill at least three times.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My complaints were in regard to hostess. Twice we walked up to the entrance of this place and waited nearly 10 minutes before we were even acknowledged. On the 2nd occasion, I had made a reservation, so we actually got a table.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good Mexican eats with some different twists. Even with extra Chinese New year activities it wa great place for conversation and people watching.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food, great customer service! We'll be back again :)

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Sat for 24 mins before someone even came over to say "be with you in a minute" it was minute 29 before we got menus and almost 40 mins (I stopped counting) before we got water and chips and salsa.
We were walked past by both servers, the bartender and Busser over 20 times.
Man, the service was embarrassingly bad. To be honest I don't know why we stayed. It sucks that their food tastes good. It was my first time and definitely my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went there for an early dinner. The food was excellent especially the fish tacos, I would definataly order those again. The service was a bit off, seemed as though we had a newer server. All in all a 4

Tags: Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Hussong's is a cheap casino knockoff of a well known cantina. Don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Hussongs is in a casino. It was so loud and noisy that I had a hard time hearing my friend across the table. The food was expensive for the quality. My tacos had no taste. The Margaritas were $3 - 5 more than several Mexican restaurants that we regularly go to. Service was slow.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very poor service. We arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation. When we arrived we told them that we had an Open Table reservation and to please mark us off the list. They did not mark us off and we subsequently received a no show email from Open Table. The table service was very poor and the food was only fair. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The restaurant is located in the Golden Nugget hotel and Casino. Parking is available in the golden nugget parking garage. My boyfriend and I ordered margaritas and shared an order of chicken and carnitas fajitas. The portion size was large and the margaritas were tasty. We also got an endless amount of complimentary chips and salsa which were delicious. The restaurant space was a casual setting, the good was really good and so was the service. We will go back when we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Hussong's offers Carnitas on their menu either as Tacos, platters and enchiladas. But what they are actually serving is just cooked pork. Carnitas mean little pieces of crispy meat that have been cooked with oranges, cinnamon, onions, garlic and cilantro then either broiled or deep fried to get that signature crispiness. So when the menu states Carnitas that is what your mouth is craving. If you are going to just serve plain pork then say that on the menu. Don't advertise something that you are not serving.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our reservation was at 7pm but we arrived at 6:45pm and was seated right away. So that was the good part. Everything else went downhill after that. There were only 4 of us, we waited an hour for our food even if it was not that busy. Two of the 4 orders were wrong. We ate them anyway but told the waitress about it. She apologized a couple of times and said there was chaos in their kitchen. My daughter asked for a refill of soda, had to wait at least 10 minutes for the drink and was given water instead of soda! We asked for boxes at least 3 times to 3 different waitresses. We were getting very anxious to leave at this point because we've been there for almost 2 hours and it was not an enjoyable experience at all. Not sure what was going on but it was also bad for other customers that night. I was curious to see if it was just us having this problem, turned out other customers were also complaining that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

For a casino, not bad- drinks were fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This place has a whole vegan menu! Ask for it:) As it is located in the Silver Legacy Casino without a "store front" it is LOUD, and it's a small place. But it does make for some interesting people watching as you are enjoying your food. My margarita was strong and the dishes came out quickly.

Tags: Vegan, Cozy, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loud, theme made no sense, slow, no chips/nachos offered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 19, 2015

Thank you for having a special vegan menu. It's not something that I can find too often in Reno. I will be back, and bring more vegans with me. You have a lifelong customer in me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 22, 2015

Celebrated my 59th birthday at Hussong's. The dinner and drinks started off the evening with a bang. A great meal, friendly servers and hostess, fantastic drinks. It was a very good night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 19, 2015

Great Margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 4, 2015

I eat here often simply because the food is SO DELICIOUS!! However, I will say this last time I ate here the service was not so great. Sat at the bar & had a difficult time getting the attention of the bar tender a few times, and had to ask 2 times for water, never got the chips & salsa we ordered. And they were really not all that busy, not sure what the problem was. The food still was more then amazing and I would gladly deal with less then great service in order to fill my belly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2015

The food and service was mediocre. Everything we had was not at all spicy. Their salsa tasted like it was out of a jar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 15, 2015

Server didn't welcome us. Just asked do you know what you want. We order an appetizer and it came 2 minutes before our meal. Wife had fish tacos . The fish was two small pieces of which was mostly breading. 1/2 of my steak burrito was cheese and the some other meat with steak. The chicken tenders that my daughter ordered were good. A group of five seat behind us and after 5 minutes got up and left because no one came to take their drink/food order. Over all I would not eat there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 22, 2014

My wife and I had dinner and drinks before our show. Later that night we went back with more family for a night cap. My only negative was getting home and finding three charges to my credit card vs. The two I signed for.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 26, 2014

The service was not as great as I expected, but the place was very busy. Had to ask for our appetizer and food, the wait was longer than anticipated. Food was exceptional, and the wait to be seated was not long at all, I do recommend making reservations, as this place is very busy!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 15, 2014

This place was......ok. It wasn't bad food but for what I paid I expected so much more. I have had some really good Mexican food in the Reno area and spent a lot less money. Don't think I will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 19, 2014

The pitcher of top shelf margaritas was pricey but quite good. The food was very good--my wife had the ribeye tacos, which were delicious, and I had the Baja burger, which was one of the best cheeseburgers I've ever had. Portions were ample, and the service was good. Ambience was a little noisy, as the restaurant is not enclosed and is located next to a busy walkway in the casino. Fortunately, access is quite easy from the Silver Legacy valet parking. We definitely plan to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 13, 2014

Eaten here many times. Everyone I take here, loves everything from food, atmosphere, and customer service. Sam the waiter has been my server numerous times. Great server. Very friendly and quick to serve you. Will eat there again and pass the word on to my friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 23, 2014

The service was great! I had the best Margarita I've had in a long time, and the Rib Eye taco's were great. My wife had a Chimichanga, which she enjoyed but the flavor was a little rich. She described it as a mix between Mexican and Italian. She'd probably try something else next time. I'd drop in here just for the chips, salsa and an Original Margarita.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2014

Went here after Terry Fator show. Was nicely surprised that they took reservations at 10:00pm. I had the skirt steak stuffed Chili Relleno. It was nicely presented and very tasty! I am very particular and this one is a top pick! The pepper was cooked perfectly abd the steak was tender, juicy and full of flavor. My wife had the Chicken Enchiladas which were equally add good. The server was very nice. He did a great job. Something you don't always see late night. Keep in mind this is on the main concourse of the Silver Legacy so the noise level is high and the floor flexes when crowds go by. If that bothers you, you will want to sit towards the inside/bar. Overall great service and very good food. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2014

Visited Hussong's in Reno using a Groupon and OpenTable reservation. The chips and salsa were excellent, as was the margarita. I had fish tacos and they were fresh and delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 30, 2014

Try the Cadillac Margarita, but no more than two!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.