About Hussong's Cantina Reno

407 N Virginia St.
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

Hussong’s Cantina is bringing the flavor of the oldest bar in Mexico and birthplace of the first Margarita to Silver Legacy Resort and Casino Reno, along with unbelievably delicious Baja inspired food!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Daily 10:00am-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Virginia and Fourth St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 325-7395

Website:
http://www.hussongsreno.com/

Catering:
We can provide and accommodate a wide variety of situations catered to your requests.

Parking Details:
The Silver Legacy Hotel and Casino provides parking.

Executive Chef:
Noe Alcala

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 10:30PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 10:30PM

Hussong's Cantina Reno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.4

ambience

2.8

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

57% would recommend it to a friend

People Watching (5)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (3)
See All
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vegan (1)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
44 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good Mexican eats with some different twists. Even with extra Chinese New year activities it wa great place for conversation and people watching.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food, great customer service! We'll be back again :)

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Sat for 24 mins before someone even came over to say "be with you in a minute" it was minute 29 before we got menus and almost 40 mins (I stopped counting) before we got water and chips and salsa.

We were walked past by both servers, the bartender and Busser over 20 times.

Man, the service was embarrassingly bad. To be honest I don't know why we stayed. It sucks that their food tastes good. It was my first time and definitely my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went there for an early dinner. The food was excellent especially the fish tacos, I would definataly order those again. The service was a bit off, seemed as though we had a newer server. All in all a 4

Tags: Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Hussong's is a cheap casino knockoff of a well known cantina. Don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Hussongs is in a casino. It was so loud and noisy that I had a hard time hearing my friend across the table. The food was expensive for the quality. My tacos had no taste. The Margaritas were $3 - 5 more than several Mexican restaurants that we regularly go to. Service was slow.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very poor service. We arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation. When we arrived we told them that we had an Open Table reservation and to please mark us off the list. They did not mark us off and we subsequently received a no show email from Open Table. The table service was very poor and the food was only fair. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The restaurant is located in the Golden Nugget hotel and Casino. Parking is available in the golden nugget parking garage. My boyfriend and I ordered margaritas and shared an order of chicken and carnitas fajitas. The portion size was large and the margaritas were tasty. We also got an endless amount of complimentary chips and salsa which were delicious. The restaurant space was a casual setting, the good was really good and so was the service. We will go back when we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Hussong's offers Carnitas on their menu either as Tacos, platters and enchiladas. But what they are actually serving is just cooked pork. Carnitas mean little pieces of crispy meat that have been cooked with oranges, cinnamon, onions, garlic and cilantro then either broiled or deep fried to get that signature crispiness. So when the menu states Carnitas that is what your mouth is craving. If you are going to just serve plain pork then say that on the menu. Don't advertise something that you are not serving.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our reservation was at 7pm but we arrived at 6:45pm and was seated right away. So that was the good part. Everything else went downhill after that. There were only 4 of us, we waited an hour for our food even if it was not that busy. Two of the 4 orders were wrong. We ate them anyway but told the waitress about it. She apologized a couple of times and said there was chaos in their kitchen. My daughter asked for a refill of soda, had to wait at least 10 minutes for the drink and was given water instead of soda! We asked for boxes at least 3 times to 3 different waitresses. We were getting very anxious to leave at this point because we've been there for almost 2 hours and it was not an enjoyable experience at all. Not sure what was going on but it was also bad for other customers that night. I was curious to see if it was just us having this problem, turned out other customers were also complaining that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

For a casino, not bad- drinks were fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This place has a whole vegan menu! Ask for it:) As it is located in the Silver Legacy Casino without a "store front" it is LOUD, and it's a small place. But it does make for some interesting people watching as you are enjoying your food. My margarita was strong and the dishes came out quickly.

Tags: Vegan, Cozy, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loud, theme made no sense, slow, no chips/nachos offered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 19, 2015

Thank you for having a special vegan menu. It's not something that I can find too often in Reno. I will be back, and bring more vegans with me. You have a lifelong customer in me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 22, 2015

Celebrated my 59th birthday at Hussong's. The dinner and drinks started off the evening with a bang. A great meal, friendly servers and hostess, fantastic drinks. It was a very good night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 19, 2015

Great Margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 4, 2015

I eat here often simply because the food is SO DELICIOUS!! However, I will say this last time I ate here the service was not so great. Sat at the bar & had a difficult time getting the attention of the bar tender a few times, and had to ask 2 times for water, never got the chips & salsa we ordered. And they were really not all that busy, not sure what the problem was. The food still was more then amazing and I would gladly deal with less then great service in order to fill my belly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2015

The food and service was mediocre. Everything we had was not at all spicy. Their salsa tasted like it was out of a jar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 15, 2015

Server didn't welcome us. Just asked do you know what you want. We order an appetizer and it came 2 minutes before our meal. Wife had fish tacos . The fish was two small pieces of which was mostly breading. 1/2 of my steak burrito was cheese and the some other meat with steak. The chicken tenders that my daughter ordered were good. A group of five seat behind us and after 5 minutes got up and left because no one came to take their drink/food order. Over all I would not eat there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 22, 2014

My wife and I had dinner and drinks before our show. Later that night we went back with more family for a night cap. My only negative was getting home and finding three charges to my credit card vs. The two I signed for.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 26, 2014

The service was not as great as I expected, but the place was very busy. Had to ask for our appetizer and food, the wait was longer than anticipated. Food was exceptional, and the wait to be seated was not long at all, I do recommend making reservations, as this place is very busy!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 15, 2014

This place was......ok. It wasn't bad food but for what I paid I expected so much more. I have had some really good Mexican food in the Reno area and spent a lot less money. Don't think I will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 19, 2014

The pitcher of top shelf margaritas was pricey but quite good. The food was very good--my wife had the ribeye tacos, which were delicious, and I had the Baja burger, which was one of the best cheeseburgers I've ever had. Portions were ample, and the service was good. Ambience was a little noisy, as the restaurant is not enclosed and is located next to a busy walkway in the casino. Fortunately, access is quite easy from the Silver Legacy valet parking. We definitely plan to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 13, 2014

Eaten here many times. Everyone I take here, loves everything from food, atmosphere, and customer service. Sam the waiter has been my server numerous times. Great server. Very friendly and quick to serve you. Will eat there again and pass the word on to my friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 23, 2014

The service was great! I had the best Margarita I've had in a long time, and the Rib Eye taco's were great. My wife had a Chimichanga, which she enjoyed but the flavor was a little rich. She described it as a mix between Mexican and Italian. She'd probably try something else next time. I'd drop in here just for the chips, salsa and an Original Margarita.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2014

Went here after Terry Fator show. Was nicely surprised that they took reservations at 10:00pm. I had the skirt steak stuffed Chili Relleno. It was nicely presented and very tasty! I am very particular and this one is a top pick! The pepper was cooked perfectly abd the steak was tender, juicy and full of flavor. My wife had the Chicken Enchiladas which were equally add good. The server was very nice. He did a great job. Something you don't always see late night. Keep in mind this is on the main concourse of the Silver Legacy so the noise level is high and the floor flexes when crowds go by. If that bothers you, you will want to sit towards the inside/bar. Overall great service and very good food. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2014

Visited Hussong's in Reno using a Groupon and OpenTable reservation. The chips and salsa were excellent, as was the margarita. I had fish tacos and they were fresh and delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 30, 2014

Try the Cadillac Margarita, but no more than two!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 28, 2014

I was really surprised at how poor the service was here. They forgot our appetizers, didn't bring us drinks and when they finally did they didn't refill them...then the order was wrong...the salsa was underseasoned...the meat undercooked. This is the only bad experience I've had with an open table restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 20, 2014

service was good, had to add to the existing reservation which wasn't a problem. food good, would go back and eat again. the margarita is for 2, not 1....

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 16, 2014

You should make fresh beans and rice. Tasted terrible looked like glue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 15, 2014

The food was bland, even the salsas. We had chicken tacos (which were the best of the food items), quesadilla, and chicken enchiladas. We did like the chips. The server never returned after we received our food to find out how it was. Since it was not good and we sent it back, we had no time or interest in ordering something else. Poor food and poor service do not constitute a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 22, 2014

Great customer service. Fair food, great drinks.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2014

Margaritas were strong and had a bitter under taste to them, we only drank half and switched to water. My Skirt Steak Chile Relleno had a good flavor, but I did not get putting it on top of a "crispy tostada" - the tostada absorbed the juices from the food on top of it and had no crispness - I wasn't sure what the purpose was. My husband had the Carnitas Tacos, and he thought the meat was lukewarm. When a manager (?) stopped by our table and asked how things were, we were told that the salsa that they put on top of the meat caused the temp of the meat to drop; the margaritas were made with 1.5 shots of tequila and should not have been that strong. He did take 20% off our bill, but I really can't see us stopping in there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 1, 2014

Outstanding service ,The food was great and the manager was very helpful with everything we needed . Thank you we are new to the area ,we moved to Reno six months ago and your this is our new favorite place .Again Thank You for a fun time .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2014

I had dinner at the Hussong's at the Mandalay with some friends and loved it so much I made it a point to visit the Hussong's at the Silver Legacy in Reno. I was disappointed in the quality of the food. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 10, 2014

The food was very good and I like the fact that they have their own vegan menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2013

We had a larger party (13) and it was the day after Chrisymas, so I had concerns. They were setup for us on time and the service was very good. For being the originator of the margarita (so says the menu), the margaritas were just decent. Nothing that would make me go back there for another one. The food was also decent, but not anything too memorable. The place was a bit noisy, however, as we had kids in out party, it worked out pretty well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 9, 2013

This was my first visit to Hussong's. The food was quite good and our server was very friendly and efficient. I chose this restaurant because i was going to attend a show a block away and this was a convenient place to park, meet and walk to the event. The location for this restaurant is in the concourse between the Silver Legacy and the Eldorado casinos. It is quite loud and open to the public walking by, not the place for a quiet conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 3, 2013

Nothing fancy about Hussong's but good food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2013

We stopped in for a quick refreshment and snack while awaiting friends and before moving on to the next event. Service was great, would be back later. Menu looked good and nicely priced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2013

Good service and view of casino area. Great for people watchers.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 13, 2013

It seems that you have to compromise in Reno for Service, Food, and Ambience. Not so here. The place is pretty small, so either make reservations or sit at the bar, which is open seating, it filled up rather quickly. Service was quick and attentive... Hostess was very friendly too!

The only gripe was that they were "out" of taquitos which leads one to believe that these actually come frozen, and aren't freshly made. Guacamole was great. Chips are above par vs. other Mexican restaurants. Great drink menu!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 28, 2013

Place was small, food was good but overall was too noisy. Husband loved the salsa and chips, rice and beans but I thought they were bland and tasteless. Their rendition of a Chili Relleno was different but tasty. Not wrapped in an egg white and deep fried like traditional but a chili opened on a crispy (suppose to be crispy but was not by the time it was delivered to the table) tortilla with pieces of meat, cheese and a sour cream sauce on top. Will go again as hubby loved it but will try something different next time. Always looking for a great Mexican place, since we just moved here to Reno, but have yet to find it.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.