Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Amsterdam Brewhouse & RestaurantAmsterdam Brewhouse & Restaurant
(456)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Harbourfront, Toronto
Booked 25 times today
Byblos - TorontoByblos - Toronto
(762)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 87 times today
360 The Restaurant at the CN Tower360 The Restaurant at the CN Tower
(14217)
$$$$
Continental | Downtown / Entertainment District, Toronto
Booked 407 times today
PatriaPatria
(567)
$$$$
Spanish | King West, Toronto
Booked 72 times today
Canoe Restaurant and BarCanoe Restaurant and Bar
(2954)
$$$$
Continental | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 119 times today
FigoFigo
(363)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | Downtown / Entertainment District, Toronto
Booked 70 times today
Fring'sFring's
(656)
$$$$
Fusion / Eclectic | King West, Toronto
Booked 76 times today
BucaBuca
(1175)
$$$$
Italian | King West, Toronto
Booked 58 times today
Jacobs & Co. SteakhouseJacobs & Co. Steakhouse
(1124)
$$$$
Steakhouse | King West, Toronto
Booked 49 times today
LeeLee
(1728)
$$$$
Global, International | King West, Toronto
Booked 77 times today
Earls Kitchen + Bar - King StreetEarls Kitchen + Bar - King Street
(186)
$$$$
Global, International | King West, Toronto
Booked 108 times today
Cibo Wine Bar King St WestCibo Wine Bar King St West
(1192)
$$$$
Italian | King West, Toronto
Booked 60 times today
Luckee RestaurantLuckee Restaurant
(563)
$$$$
Chinese | Downtown / Entertainment District, Toronto
Booked 16 times today
Drake One FiftyDrake One Fifty
(652)
$$$$
Fusion / Eclectic | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 91 times today
Miku Restaurant - TorontoMiku Restaurant - Toronto
(578)
$$$$
Japanese | Downtown / Financial District, Toronto
Booked 70 times today

About Permanently Closed - Hush Restaurant & Bar

This restaurant is permanently closed. Stylish, casual upscale restaurant, bar and lounge with ROOF TOP PATIO. Directly across from the world renowned TIFF Light Box tower home of the Toronto International Film Festival. In the HEART of the Entertainment district STEPS from Roy Thompson Hall, the Royal Alex and the Princess of Wales Theatres. Two blocks from the CN tower and the Rogers Centre (home of the Toronto Blue Jays), only a few blocks to the Bay Street Business District.
We Offers modern decor, fresh made cuisine, and great service. Enjoy a diverse selection of inspired North American and global infusion dishes, including made from scratch soup, salads, sandwiches, Steaks, PRIME RIB and an extensive global wine list. From our open kitchen you can see your Prime Rib hand cut or your Baby back Ribs finished on the grill.
Hush offers an extensive cocktail list, great wines and a full bar menu make HUSH the perfect destination for lunch & late night dining.

303 King Street West,
Toronto, ON M5V 1J5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Monday: Closed

Tuesday: 5pm to 11pm

Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am to 11pm

Friday & Saturday: 11:30am to 2am

Sunday 10:00am to 11pm (Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm)

Cross Street:
King West and John St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-9799

Website:
http://www.hushrestaurants.ca/

Catering:
Takeout available by contacting the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Meter parking in front
underground parking in several areas steps from restaurant
large outdoor grade parking a few doors west
parking underground ACROSS THE STREET IN THE TIFF building

Public Transit:
4 doors to the right of the building on King and John st. Street car

Private Party Facilities:
HUSH offers a clean modern décor in a sleek, urban restaurant setting with a happening bar scene in our bar/lounge, freshly made cuisine, and great service. Host your next event at HUSH and make it a night to remember.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (866) 795-8119

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special EVENTS private party room on the second floor with seating for 52 and cocktails for 70+

Roof Top patio can be booked for special events

TIFF Parties Welcome (we are DIRECTLY in front of the TIFF front doors...)

Hush Restaurant & Bar - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Modern Decor (5)
See All
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I had parmesan crunched chicken which would've been great had they marinaded the chicken. Other than that, the dish was delicious.

The S'mores desert was decadent.

Staff were friendly; service was OK. I had to pour my wine once by myself because our server didn't check on us for a while. I didn't mind it though. I'd rather not to be bothered frequently.
Overall, I recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great food, really good service and excellent value for money

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fun, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Unbelievably slow service at brunch and the place was practically empty. A few good dishes but the burgers were the consistency of shoe leather. We would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

If you're looking for a relatively upscale place to eat before you see a show...this may be the place for you - but not if you're looking for a steak that's cooked the way you ordered it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food is usually excellent however this time I tried the fish and chips and the fish was completely lacking in flavour and very disappointing. The batter is made with potato chips and you would think they would at least provide salt to the fish but I felt it needed salt and I don't like salty food. Fish needs something beautiful, big piece of fish but no flavour, waste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is the second time I have brought some friends to Hush restaurant. The food is delicious, the service is excellent, and the ambiance is great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Ordered a seafood pasta dish. No seafood! Waitress was very friendly and helpful, but not impressed with my food at all. The friend I was with thought her meal was adequate, but nothing special. I would not return to this restaurant nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Usually have a good dining experience at Hush. This time all cooked food was over cooked and Americano coffees were just warm. My wife left 3/4 of her meal for being overdone. Waitress told. No attempt to compensate was made or asked. I guess everyone has their "Off days". Will we return? Of course unless this service and quality become the norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food wasn't overly amazing. I had the seafood linguine as my main, was not much flavor to it. The app was Thai chili chicken and I cannot complain about that, it was quite good in comparison. Service was very attentive and kind. Atmosphere is rustic/modern and sparks a romantic setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food! Shared the beet salad, entrees were salmon and tenderloin. All the food was very good. My beef did not come with the jus /gravy but it was quickly brought to me when asked. Also had to ask several times for drinks.

Staff was extremely friendly.

It was quite busy as it was a Saturday night and that might be the reason for the jus / drink issue but the restaurant is in the heart of the entertainment district, the should be ready for those busy periods.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Truly could not have been worse. We chose this restaurant as it was close to the theatre. We got there at 6:30 and ordered promptly. Our dinner arrived at 7:30. We were due at the theatre at 8. The waitress explained that it was difficult as everyone comes in at once ( it is the theatre district). We were seated at the back and it was very cold. We asked about the heat and the waitress commented that she was sweating. Shortly after the manager turned the heat on ( it is February and Toronto is having a cold snap). My husband ordered a burger. It came completely over cooked but, the fries were ok. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Salmon entree was very good, as were the lobster tacos as an appetizer!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The waiter was very friendly and helpful however the poor quality food ruined the experience for me at least. Ordered fish and chips and it was the worst ive had. Tasted stale and refried. Got a chicken parm as a replacement but while it tasted better it seemed undercooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We always go here when we go to the theatre. We are very upset to hear that it is closing. I always recommend it to others

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice spot. Nothing special relative to other Toronto offerings, but ok for a quick bite before or after the theatre.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice decor. Good friendly service. Reasonable range of beer. Not sure I could spot any lobster in the lobster taco. The fish and chips was the worst I've ever had. It was more like a battered fish slushy that tasted of old lake water than anything that came from the sea. But the creole chicken was fine. Ok for a quick bite before a show and great location.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Contemporary setting, in a great location, close to theatres & bars.
Cozy atmosphere with med - low lighting.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was Excellent, service was great, the wait staff knows their stuff, bartender mixology skills is on point, the chef at the time takes pride in what he does..will be a repeat visitor..

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Did not take open table reward cheque. Very disappointing. Be sure you ask before you sit down if they will honor, in my case they did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food wasn't that great, a bit salty. Cute restaurant, server very friendly. Food comes in large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Really lovely staff and nice ambiance, with quick service and good food. Perfect for dinner before the theatre with great location!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Slow service. Bad food. Slow service. Bad food. Slow service. Bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our server had to be prompted to provide water, dessert menus and I believe our food may have sat for a while before being brought to us. My friend's salmon was overcooked and my chicken was dry and the crispness on the underside tells me it cooked for too long. I would have sent it back but we had theatre tickets and I could not take the chance of having to wait as long to get the replacement as I did the original.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good location for theatre. Interesting menu selection. The main issue was the server. When I asked to substitute fingerings instead of potato salad. . I was questioned on why I wanted to change and why I didn't like potatoe salad...it was an advertised option so I didn't feel that I had to justify. That was only the tip of the "attitude" iceberg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Friendly staff made up for the somewhat slow food service. Good thing we were only going there for a late night bite. The smores they have for dessert was excellent as was the poutine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Had a company dinner here with 8 guests and the service was awesome. We were taken care of the entire evening and the food was very good. There is a great selection on the menu as well so we found that everyone was able to find something that suited their personal tastes.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Service wasn't great - had to keep asking for the waitress to come to our table. One person had the salmon and said it was bland, 2 had the creole chicken but one said the chicken was overcooked and the other one said it was fine, one person had the beef tenderloin and they said it was very good. One person had the seafood linguine and said it was bland and it had 2 little shrimp in it that tasted like they had been frozen. Could not believe a restaurant did not serve regular decaf coffee. We had been to Hush maybe 2 years ago and it was good but it has gone downhill. Wine prices for a glass of wine are too expensive for 5 oz. compared to other restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I requested the lighting to be turn, but it did not happen. We were seating along the window which was considerably brighter than the remainder of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great restaurant for before theatre, especially The Princess of Wales. Food was delicious. I had soup which was great. Fish and chips looked fantastic. Salmon also looked good.
Service was excellent, and thankfully the noise level low. Would go back again, and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Never had a bad meal at Hush! Food is always great! Also, I love the convenience of being able to book a reservation & being right across from the theatre. Can't beat it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

From the moment we walked in to the minute we left everything was great. The only thing better than the food was the service. Our server was very informative and friendly. What a delight in the theatre district!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Hush was a perfect place for three out-of-town friends to meet before a Wednesday matinee at The Princess of Wales theatre. Comfortable, quick and pleasant service. Good food. Pleasant environment. Just wish I didn't have to descend "black" stairs to the bathrooms!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We often go to Hush before going to the Princess of Whales or the Royal Alex. The food is fresh, the atmosphere relaxed and the servers are very attentive, always making sure that you are served promptly!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We shared the lobster tacos and hush Thai salad and both were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The service was great. Food was very tasty. Nothing to complain about. Two thumbs up!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The atmosphere is great and the food was awesome but the service was very slow. Some people had meals long before others so it made for an awkward evening. The meals that were late we compensated which was nice it just made us late for our next event.

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Sorry can't really rate as arrived and the restaurant was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food was delicious! I wasn't sure what to expect having never been before, but was pleasantly surprised. Our hostess was very friendly; checked on us at the right times. Would highly recommend Hush to anyone.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went here with a party of 8, three of whom have food allergies. Large parties can be challenging, as is, but adding in food intolerances even more so. The staff was great! Attentive to the special needs and friendly. Service was quick, food was great, and the atmosphere was comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Stopped into this restaurant for dinner while alone on a business trip. The host/hostess were not particularly friendly but the waitress was lovely. My meal was quite good. Had the thai chicken soup which was a bit different than others that I have had. Enjoyed the spicy kick it had. The lobster grilled cheese with gravy fries were great but quite heavy as you can imagine. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.