About Hush Restaurant & Bar

303 King Street West,
Toronto, ON M5V 1J5
View Larger Map

Stylish, casual upscale restaurant, bar and lounge with ROOF TOP PATIO. Directly across from the world renowned TIFF Light Box tower home of the Toronto International Film Festival. In the HEART of the Entertainment district STEPS from Roy Thompson Hall, the Royal Alex and the Princess of Wales Theatres. Two blocks from the CN tower and the Rogers Centre (home of the Toronto Blue Jays), only a few blocks to the Bay Street Business District.
We Offers modern decor, fresh made cuisine, and great service. Enjoy a diverse selection of inspired North American and global infusion dishes, including made from scratch soup, salads, sandwiches, Steaks, PRIME RIB and an extensive global wine list. From our open kitchen you can see your Prime Rib hand cut or your Baby back Ribs finished on the grill.
Hush offers an extensive cocktail list, great wines and a full bar menu make HUSH the perfect destination for lunch & late night dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Monday: Closed

Tuesday: 5pm to 11pm

Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am to 11pm

Friday & Saturday: 11:30am to 2am

Sunday 10:00am to 11pm (Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm)

Cross Street:
King West and John St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-9799

Website:
http://www.hushrestaurants.ca/

Catering:
Takeout available by contacting the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Meter parking in front
underground parking in several areas steps from restaurant
large outdoor grade parking a few doors west
parking underground ACROSS THE STREET IN THE TIFF building

Public Transit:
4 doors to the right of the building on King and John st. Street car

Private Party Facilities:
HUSH offers a clean modern décor in a sleek, urban restaurant setting with a happening bar scene in our bar/lounge, freshly made cuisine, and great service. Host your next event at HUSH and make it a night to remember.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (866) 795-8119

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special EVENTS private party room on the second floor with seating for 52 and cocktails for 70+

Roof Top patio can be booked for special events

TIFF Parties Welcome (we are DIRECTLY in front of the TIFF front doors...)

Hush Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for a Date (8)
Modern Decor (6)
See All
Special Occasion (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Usually have a good dining experience at Hush. This time all cooked food was over cooked and Americano coffees were just warm. My wife left 3/4 of her meal for being overdone. Waitress told. No attempt to compensate was made or asked. I guess everyone has their "Off days". Will we return? Of course unless this service and quality become the norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food wasn't overly amazing. I had the seafood linguine as my main, was not much flavor to it. The app was Thai chili chicken and I cannot complain about that, it was quite good in comparison. Service was very attentive and kind. Atmosphere is rustic/modern and sparks a romantic setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food! Shared the beet salad, entrees were salmon and tenderloin. All the food was very good. My beef did not come with the jus /gravy but it was quickly brought to me when asked. Also had to ask several times for drinks.

Staff was extremely friendly.

It was quite busy as it was a Saturday night and that might be the reason for the jus / drink issue but the restaurant is in the heart of the entertainment district, the should be ready for those busy periods.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Truly could not have been worse. We chose this restaurant as it was close to the theatre. We got there at 6:30 and ordered promptly. Our dinner arrived at 7:30. We were due at the theatre at 8. The waitress explained that it was difficult as everyone comes in at once ( it is the theatre district). We were seated at the back and it was very cold. We asked about the heat and the waitress commented that she was sweating. Shortly after the manager turned the heat on ( it is February and Toronto is having a cold snap). My husband ordered a burger. It came completely over cooked but, the fries were ok. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Salmon entree was very good, as were the lobster tacos as an appetizer!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The waiter was very friendly and helpful however the poor quality food ruined the experience for me at least. Ordered fish and chips and it was the worst ive had. Tasted stale and refried. Got a chicken parm as a replacement but while it tasted better it seemed undercooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We always go here when we go to the theatre. We are very upset to hear that it is closing. I always recommend it to others

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice spot. Nothing special relative to other Toronto offerings, but ok for a quick bite before or after the theatre.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice decor. Good friendly service. Reasonable range of beer. Not sure I could spot any lobster in the lobster taco. The fish and chips was the worst I've ever had. It was more like a battered fish slushy that tasted of old lake water than anything that came from the sea. But the creole chicken was fine. Ok for a quick bite before a show and great location.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Contemporary setting, in a great location, close to theatres & bars.

Cozy atmosphere with med - low lighting.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was Excellent, service was great, the wait staff knows their stuff, bartender mixology skills is on point, the chef at the time takes pride in what he does..will be a repeat visitor..

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Did not take open table reward cheque. Very disappointing. Be sure you ask before you sit down if they will honor, in my case they did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food wasn't that great, a bit salty. Cute restaurant, server very friendly. Food comes in large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Really lovely staff and nice ambiance, with quick service and good food. Perfect for dinner before the theatre with great location!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Slow service. Bad food. Slow service. Bad food. Slow service. Bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our server had to be prompted to provide water, dessert menus and I believe our food may have sat for a while before being brought to us. My friend's salmon was overcooked and my chicken was dry and the crispness on the underside tells me it cooked for too long. I would have sent it back but we had theatre tickets and I could not take the chance of having to wait as long to get the replacement as I did the original.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good location for theatre. Interesting menu selection. The main issue was the server. When I asked to substitute fingerings instead of potato salad. . I was questioned on why I wanted to change and why I didn't like potatoe salad...it was an advertised option so I didn't feel that I had to justify. That was only the tip of the "attitude" iceberg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Friendly staff made up for the somewhat slow food service. Good thing we were only going there for a late night bite. The smores they have for dessert was excellent as was the poutine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Had a company dinner here with 8 guests and the service was awesome. We were taken care of the entire evening and the food was very good. There is a great selection on the menu as well so we found that everyone was able to find something that suited their personal tastes.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Service wasn't great - had to keep asking for the waitress to come to our table. One person had the salmon and said it was bland, 2 had the creole chicken but one said the chicken was overcooked and the other one said it was fine, one person had the beef tenderloin and they said it was very good. One person had the seafood linguine and said it was bland and it had 2 little shrimp in it that tasted like they had been frozen. Could not believe a restaurant did not serve regular decaf coffee. We had been to Hush maybe 2 years ago and it was good but it has gone downhill. Wine prices for a glass of wine are too expensive for 5 oz. compared to other restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I requested the lighting to be turn, but it did not happen. We were seating along the window which was considerably brighter than the remainder of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great restaurant for before theatre, especially The Princess of Wales. Food was delicious. I had soup which was great. Fish and chips looked fantastic. Salmon also looked good.

Service was excellent, and thankfully the noise level low. Would go back again, and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Never had a bad meal at Hush! Food is always great! Also, I love the convenience of being able to book a reservation & being right across from the theatre. Can't beat it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

From the moment we walked in to the minute we left everything was great. The only thing better than the food was the service. Our server was very informative and friendly. What a delight in the theatre district!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Hush was a perfect place for three out-of-town friends to meet before a Wednesday matinee at The Princess of Wales theatre. Comfortable, quick and pleasant service. Good food. Pleasant environment. Just wish I didn't have to descend "black" stairs to the bathrooms!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We often go to Hush before going to the Princess of Whales or the Royal Alex. The food is fresh, the atmosphere relaxed and the servers are very attentive, always making sure that you are served promptly!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We shared the lobster tacos and hush Thai salad and both were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The service was great. Food was very tasty. Nothing to complain about. Two thumbs up!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The atmosphere is great and the food was awesome but the service was very slow. Some people had meals long before others so it made for an awkward evening. The meals that were late we compensated which was nice it just made us late for our next event.

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Sorry can't really rate as arrived and the restaurant was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food was delicious! I wasn't sure what to expect having never been before, but was pleasantly surprised. Our hostess was very friendly; checked on us at the right times. Would highly recommend Hush to anyone.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went here with a party of 8, three of whom have food allergies. Large parties can be challenging, as is, but adding in food intolerances even more so. The staff was great! Attentive to the special needs and friendly. Service was quick, food was great, and the atmosphere was comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Stopped into this restaurant for dinner while alone on a business trip. The host/hostess were not particularly friendly but the waitress was lovely. My meal was quite good. Had the thai chicken soup which was a bit different than others that I have had. Enjoyed the spicy kick it had. The lobster grilled cheese with gravy fries were great but quite heavy as you can imagine. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Morroccan Chicken -- nice flavours, good portion of chicken and kale, small portion of rice, chicken slightly overcooked (just a little)

Seafood linguini - its actually spaghetti, but very tasty!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were attending TIFF. Hush was in complete disarray. The staff were distressed. The atmosphere was stressful. Almost one hour for scrambled eggs. We almost missed the opening. Unfortunate.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We came here for a bridal party gathering. The waitress came at the beginning to give us water but didn't show up again after. The food took way too long to get there, and I had to go find our waitress, she then saw the food being served and just walked away. Then one of the orders were wrong, we said there was supposed to be smoked salmon on the plate, and the server simply said "no". After we disagreed he said "well I'm new to this menu". The food was below average and the overpriced for what it was. No one came by after, and we had to flag someone to come give us our bills. I felt terrible because I chose this place for our group to go to. Never again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The salmon was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Reservation seemed to confuse host. Lack of available staff, seemed like only 2 people working there... Got my order wrong and did not offer to compensate. Did not refill waters. Did not check on table frequently enough (see shortstaffed). Food was dry and bland. Pricing was higher than nearby establishments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was pretty good and everything was relatively well priced. There machine for interact wasn't working that day which caused a bit of a problem but that was about it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food at Hush has always and continues to be outstanding. Great value for your money and located in a vibrant location. The service was fantastic. Have been there many times and never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great meals, wonderful wait staff and lovely atmosphere. We didn't go to the roof top on this trip but have been before and that is just as lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2016

1st time here, would definitely recommend to others and come back. Good atmoshphere, great food, friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing spot, fantastic food at good prices! Great spot

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We attended Hush for dinner as a group of 10 people on a summer team building event. We sat in the lower bar area where there was a huge very cool wood table with finished bark around the outside so the table still had the shape of the tree. The food portions were large and very good for the price. Staff were friendly and professional and service was prompt. The washrooms on the lower level were just OK, nothing to write home about. I would not hesitate to return to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went for summerliscious dinner last Sunday. It's kinda you pay for what you get. It's cheap for 3 courses dinner but the food was so so. The berry yogurt parfait was a disappointment. It was served with plain yogurt and frozen berries. I won't serve that to a friend. The lady server was very nice and let us even stay for 2-3 hours to chat.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I went in for Summerlicious for dinner for a double date. My friend ordered a Sangria drink special which tasted pretty good. I started off with the Confit Duck Salad, while my bf had mussels. There was no bowl to put shells in for the mussels, and barely anything in the salad. Risotto was not bad; the swordfish dish was just ok, but the avocado roll did not taste good at all . For dessert, my mixed berry parfait was completely inedible, I couldn't even swallow it. My bf's creme brulee was a much smaller portion than my friend's, so he felt ripped off and the heating consistency was uneven as well. Overall food quality did not meet our expectations, so we left disappointed. Not planning to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went during summerlicious and the food was good. Our waitress was courteous and polite. Food was a bit slow to arrive as we had to wait an hour for the appetizer but it could have just been that Saturday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good ambiance, nice decor. Went for lunch and ordered from the summerlicious menu. There were 3 of us, so we ordered one of everything. Appetizers were good, but entrees were all too salty. There was one dessert out of the three options that I could say was special. The other two were just, meh. Service was sooooo slow. The apps came out fast, but there was such a long delay for the entrees and then desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Took my family visiting me from out of town for summerlicious, and now I'm embarrassed! The food was extremely salty, and the oil for the french fries was dirty. (I know what dirty oil looks and tastes like) I asked to substitute the fries for veggies and received an over cooked TINY portion of veggies. (Glad they could accommodate, but the portion was almost insulting & again over salted) Beyond everything else - the service was terrible! Can't believe this place made it to summerlicious :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Chicken Flatbread sandwich was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.