About Hush Restaurant & Bar

303 King Street West,
Toronto, ON M5V 1J5
View Larger Map

Stylish, casual upscale restaurant, bar and lounge with ROOF TOP PATIO. Directly across from the world renowned TIFF Light Box tower home of the Toronto International Film Festival. In the HEART of the Entertainment district STEPS from Roy Thompson Hall, the Royal Alex and the Princess of Wales Theatres. Two blocks from the CN tower and the Rogers Centre (home of the Toronto Blue Jays), only a few blocks to the Bay Street Business District.
We Offers modern decor, fresh made cuisine, and great service. Enjoy a diverse selection of inspired North American and global infusion dishes, including made from scratch soup, salads, sandwiches, Steaks, PRIME RIB and an extensive global wine list. From our open kitchen you can see your Prime Rib hand cut or your Baby back Ribs finished on the grill.
Hush offers an extensive cocktail list, great wines and a full bar menu make HUSH the perfect destination for lunch & late night dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Monday: Closed

Tuesday: 5pm to 11pm

Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am to 11pm

Friday & Saturday: 11:30am to 2am

Sunday 10:00am to 11pm (Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm)

Cross Street:
King West and John St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-9799

Website:
http://www.hushrestaurants.ca/

Catering:
Takeout available by contacting the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Meter parking in front
underground parking in several areas steps from restaurant
large outdoor grade parking a few doors west
parking underground ACROSS THE STREET IN THE TIFF building

Public Transit:
4 doors to the right of the building on King and John st. Street car

Private Party Facilities:
HUSH offers a clean modern décor in a sleek, urban restaurant setting with a happening bar scene in our bar/lounge, freshly made cuisine, and great service. Host your next event at HUSH and make it a night to remember.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 8667958119

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Special EVENTS private party room on the second floor with seating for 52 and cocktails for 70+

Roof Top patio can be booked for special events

TIFF Parties Welcome (we are DIRECTLY in front of the TIFF front doors...)

Restaurant Photos

Tempura Shrimp
Lobster Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Seafood Linguine
Filet Mignon
BBQ Pork Ribs
The El Dorado Burger W/Slaw
"S'mores"
Baja Lobster Tacos
Sirloin Tip Poutine
The El Dorado Burger
Prime Rib
Honey Glazed Grilled Salmon
Thai Salad
The Daily Sandwich

Hush Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (13)
fit for foodies (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
See All
late-night find (9)
special occasion (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (7)
great for lunch (7)
notable wine list (5)
romantic (3)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My mom had mussels for appetizer and I h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

My mom had mussels for appetizer and I had duck meat with salad. Both were very tasty. Usually we don't like mussels, but this time there was no weird flavour, maybe because these are smaller mussels? For main I had chicken mushroom risotto and my mom had swordfish steak with wakame salad. The chicken risotto was very salty even for me as I love my salt. They did not have to add the soya sauce on top of it. The swordfish steak was made into a fish shape which was kind of cute. There were also a few maki rolls on the plate but those felt like they were left out on the counter as they were dry. Creme brulee presentation could have been better. The french pastry that my mom had was very fluffy and light on the sweetness which is very good for us.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We came for Summerlicious and to celebra ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We came for Summerlicious and to celebrate a friend's birthday.

To begin with the AC in the restaurant was cranked really high, even with a light sweater we were still cold.

The young lady who served us was quite friendly and attentive, unfortunately our food took a long time and the restaurant was half full. The food was not great, rather a disappointment to all of us. The 4 out of 6 of us that had the seafood primavera were sick the next day. The mussles were not cooked properly, they were runny and tasted funny.

Unfortunately I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Summerlicious menu wasn't that great. So ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Summerlicious menu wasn't that great. Sounded great on paper, when it came out it was cold and not fresh. Small portions too. To be expected I guess with set meals. Waitresses were decently nice but slow and not very attentive. I'd go back but wouldn't do the summerlicious menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Service was great but food was mediocre. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service was great but food was mediocre. Bugs found crawling in 2 of the 3 drinks we ordered. Waitress offered no discount for that experience but did replace the wine, which at least is the most basic thing to do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My boyfriend and I decided to try Hush f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My boyfriend and I decided to try Hush for Summerlicious 2016. We ordered the Duck Salad and Mussels for the Appetizer, the quantity of mussels was decent but nothing about the flavors blew us away. I had the Risotto for my main course, which lacked flavor and salt, also the Chicken was a little burnt. The Swordfish was okay, the sushi that came with it was tasteless and badly done. The only saving grace for the entire meal was the Cereal Milk Creme Brulee which my boyfriend thoroughly enjoyed! Though there was nothing horrible about the meals, there was nothing extraordinary. Maybe food off their regular menu is better but I wouldn't recommend it for Summerlicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not a deal breaker by any means, but I f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Not a deal breaker by any means, but I feel it was a bit dark on the rooftop.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

The ambiance & menu is perfect for our w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The ambiance & menu is perfect for our whole family--we can always depend on excellent service & a great meal. Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the food & atmosphere. We ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Really enjoyed the food & atmosphere.

We were on the rooftop and loved it.

Food was delicious- ate every crumb.

We shared 2 items- the burger and lobster grilled cheese.

Glad we did because the grilled cheese was so rich but so tasty!

It was our first time but not our last. Especially if we're out for a theater nite at The Princess of Wales.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was terrible. We were a part ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The service was terrible. We were a party of 3, one on her lunch break and 2 on our way to the theatre. Once we all arrived we waited for almost 20 minutes before we gave up and went looking for the wait staff. "Oh you have limited time?" She took our orders and we waited another 20 minutes for the meal. The sandwich was good, the tacos bland and tasted of can or freezer and the spinach and arugala salad was a wet slimy mess, so bad it was inedible. We sent it back, got fresh greens but the same pear, cheese and chicken that were on the first plate. I know not everything can always be perfect but these guys charged us full price for a salad that belonged in the compost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

poor service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My expierence was very poor at this restaurant...took the waiter to bring drinks for over 25 min an our food 45 min...which was wraps and salad. wouldn't go again and wouldn't recommend it.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Diner before the theatre

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was mediocre. Edible but nothing fancy. We wanted to get a bite before a play and it was convenient.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The ambiance is nice but our server was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The ambiance is nice but our server was rude though; everyone in our group felt that she was not in the mood that night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

I've been to this restaurant before and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I've been to this restaurant before and enjoyed myself again. Food was good and the price was reasonable. Service was great. For those going to see a show downtown, the location can't be beat.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food good not remarkable excellent service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Techno beat music was too loud, at times annoying.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Perfect spot for King St dining

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

After a great experience at TIFF the perfect spot to go for drinks or dinner is Hush. Perfectly situated on King St West we experienced a warm welcome. Great staff, super food and exciting atmosphere where people of all ages enjoyed a variety of foods reasonably priced. Overall a great time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Hush before. It was exce ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We have been to Hush before. It was excellent. This time most of our food had to sent back. Burnt French toast. Couldn't cut it. Eggs not done well. Clearly chef has not mastered brunch. Manager did not charge us. Waited was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not Going Back

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our food was very slow coming out, and our food was not even hot. I ordered the lobster grilled cheese and the cheese wasn't even melted. Not a great restaurant and no excuse for the tardiness of the kitchen. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Very good! Great service, I would defini ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Very good! Great service, I would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Group Service!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We dined at Hush before seeing Kinky Boots. We were a group of 15 so we gave ourself lots of time because service is always slow in large groups - well I was wrong!! The servers were attentive, organized, and efficient! The food was amazing! The atmosphere was great. We felt like we had the restaurant to ourselves! 5 stars! Keep up the good work.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice but...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We enjoyed our experience and the food, but the floor in the back area of the restaurant was very slippery. A few of us ladies had to hold onto others as we felt as if we might slip/fall. We would not sit back there again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

A bit to loud

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We were a party of 6. Even though the restaurant was not full, the music was so loud it was difficult to hear the person across from me.

Foot was good, service was great!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, terrible service.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was good, had fish & chips which was good. Partner had Parmesan chicken and was told it was good. The service was terrible, were both given one drink at the beginning of the meal and that was it. Our server would walk by in passing "hows it going guys?" and never having an opportunity to answer or ask for another drink. She took our empty drinks without even asking if we would like another. I doubt we will return there are other options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Was down in the theatre district for a Saturday evening show. Wife and I looked online and found hush based on other reviews. Overall it was a great experience, great food , it was paced well which was nice as we were running early. My wife had the parm chicken and it was great , I had the tenderloin which was also great. Had the shrimp/lobster as well with my meal, that was a little underwhelming . Had the cookie dessert and that was great. Overall it was a great meal in a great looking restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was great but the salmon did ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

The service was great but the salmon did not taste maple glazed but just a bit oily. Sad because the last time I had the same dish it was delicious! Maybe just tonight?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Good spot for pre-musical dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

We went for dinner at hush restaurant on a Wednesday night before a show at the princess of Wales theatre. The restaurant was not very busy so food was served promptly. I wasn't too happy with the seasoning on my salmon and it was slightly overcooked. My companion enjoyed her lobster tacos and pear salad. Service was good. Chocolate mousse shot glass Dessert was amazing. Good value for money overall.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wide Variety - Great Location

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

For a group of 8 going out variety on the menu was important. Hush offers up just that from salads, pasta, steaks, burgers to Fish & Chips done in potatoe chips. Long tables make it easy to suit large parties. Extensive wine list.

I would pass on the Chicken Lettuce Wraps next time. Not so exciting - chicken was bland.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good meal. Awesome server.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Good meal. Awesome server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The servers and quality of food.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The servers and quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed my experience at hush. The foo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I enjoyed my experience at hush. The food was amazing (parm chicken and burger). The ambiance was great as well. My only complaint is the slowness of the waitress who appeared to have dressed to get tips, if you know what I mean. Despite that, I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Good food but martinis weren't actually ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Good food but martinis weren't actually martinis and even though we made a reservation 2 weeks ahead we were put in the corner on a tiny table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Amazing experience I'm so happy I found ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing experience I'm so happy I found this little gem, I can't wait to see the rooftop patio this summer! I have been recommending this to everyone and anyone I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bland food at HUSH

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Lobster taco lacked salt and lime, and didn't have much flavour at all. Very boring Caesar salad, just lemon and some parm. Lobster grilled cheese was very heavy, and again, pretty bland. Chicken wrap sandwich was just ok, smoky burger was very good. Restaurant smells like fryer oil and is too dark. Service was prompt and efficient but a bit too cutsey for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

just ok

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Went for Winterlicious, overall the experience was "ok".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Winterlicous at Hush

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

I ordered off of the lunch Winterlicious menu at Hush and was very disappointed with the quality of food. I have ordered off the regular menu previously and can say that the Winterlicious menu was not at all a representation of the regular menu items. The fish was greasy and clearly came from a prepared freezer package. Also, portions were ridiculously small compared to other restaurants participating in this event. My "fish and chips" came with literally three (3) fries. The atmosphere and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Good vibe, nice food in TO entertainment district!

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Went to HUSH the other evening and had a very pleasant meal with super nice service! The food is not exotic but is absolutely well presented and tasty, and you feel as though you can try anything and share anything there without getting the "evil eye" some servers give you at more high brow venues. Good energy, and and convenient location make this a good place to go!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Went for Winterlicious. Good find, entre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Went for Winterlicious. Good find, entre was good, dessert and appetizers were mediocre.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

A group of 5 of us went for the Winterlicious event. The restaurant is very nice and is very clean. While the food was delicious, it wasn't outstanding. There were no complaints to be had at all, our server was very nice and patient with us and we had a very nice time. Definitely a good place to go and relax with friends. GREAT wine!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We had the halibut which was completely ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We had the halibut which was completely over cooked. The service was terrible. I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The food and the service were great!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The place was packed. We were glad we had a reservation. We ordered off the Winterlicious menu and the food was great. The place was a bit too noisy and seating was a little tight. Would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

very very nice staff with very good food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

very very nice staff with very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.