About Hush Restaurant & Bar

303 King Street West,
Toronto, ON M5V 1J5
View Larger Map

Stylish, casual upscale restaurant, bar and lounge with ROOF TOP PATIO. Directly across from the world renowned TIFF Light Box tower home of the Toronto International Film Festival. In the HEART of the Entertainment district STEPS from Roy Thompson Hall, the Royal Alex and the Princess of Wales Theatres. Two blocks from the CN tower and the Rogers Centre (home of the Toronto Blue Jays), only a few blocks to the Bay Street Business District.
We Offers modern decor, fresh made cuisine, and great service. Enjoy a diverse selection of inspired North American and global infusion dishes, including made from scratch soup, salads, sandwiches, Steaks, PRIME RIB and an extensive global wine list. From our open kitchen you can see your Prime Rib hand cut or your Baby back Ribs finished on the grill.
Hush offers an extensive cocktail list, great wines and a full bar menu make HUSH the perfect destination for lunch & late night dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Monday: Closed

Tuesday: 5pm to 11pm

Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am to 11pm

Friday & Saturday: 11:30am to 2am

Sunday 10:00am to 11pm (Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm)

Cross Street:
King West and John St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-9799

Website:
http://www.hushrestaurants.ca/

Catering:
Takeout available by contacting the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Meter parking in front
underground parking in several areas steps from restaurant
large outdoor grade parking a few doors west
parking underground ACROSS THE STREET IN THE TIFF building

Public Transit:
4 doors to the right of the building on King and John st. Street car

Private Party Facilities:
HUSH offers a clean modern décor in a sleek, urban restaurant setting with a happening bar scene in our bar/lounge, freshly made cuisine, and great service. Host your next event at HUSH and make it a night to remember.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 8667958119

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Special EVENTS private party room on the second floor with seating for 52 and cocktails for 70+

Roof Top patio can be booked for special events

TIFF Parties Welcome (we are DIRECTLY in front of the TIFF front doors...)

Restaurant Photos

Hush Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (33)
special occasion (21)
fit for foodies (16)
See All
great for lunch (14)
late-night find (12)
hot spot (12)
romantic (11)
neighborhood gem (6)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The ambiance is nice but our server was ...

Dined 4 days ago

The ambiance is nice but our server was rude though; everyone in our group felt that she was not in the mood that night!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to this restaurant before and ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I've been to this restaurant before and enjoyed myself again. Food was good and the price was reasonable. Service was great. For those going to see a show downtown, the location can't be beat.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food good not remarkable excellent service

Dined on May 7, 2016

Techno beat music was too loud, at times annoying.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for King St dining

Dined on May 6, 2016

After a great experience at TIFF the perfect spot to go for drinks or dinner is Hush. Perfectly situated on King St West we experienced a warm welcome. Great staff, super food and exciting atmosphere where people of all ages enjoyed a variety of foods reasonably priced. Overall a great time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We have been to Hush before. It was exce ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We have been to Hush before. It was excellent. This time most of our food had to sent back. Burnt French toast. Couldn't cut it. Eggs not done well. Clearly chef has not mastered brunch. Manager did not charge us. Waited was amazing.

food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Not Going Back

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our food was very slow coming out, and our food was not even hot. I ordered the lobster grilled cheese and the cheese wasn't even melted. Not a great restaurant and no excuse for the tardiness of the kitchen. Not going back.

food4
ambience5
service5

Very good! Great service, I would defini ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Very good! Great service, I would definitely come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Group Service!

Dined on March 24, 2016

We dined at Hush before seeing Kinky Boots. We were a group of 15 so we gave ourself lots of time because service is always slow in large groups - well I was wrong!! The servers were attentive, organized, and efficient! The food was amazing! The atmosphere was great. We felt like we had the restaurant to ourselves! 5 stars! Keep up the good work.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Nice but...

Dined on March 18, 2016

We enjoyed our experience and the food, but the floor in the back area of the restaurant was very slippery. A few of us ladies had to hold onto others as we felt as if we might slip/fall. We would not sit back there again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

A bit to loud

Dined on March 11, 2016

We were a party of 6. Even though the restaurant was not full, the music was so loud it was difficult to hear the person across from me. Foot was good, service was great!

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Good food, terrible service.

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was good, had fish & chips which was good. Partner had Parmesan chicken and was told it was good. The service was terrible, were both given one drink at the beginning of the meal and that was it. Our server would walk by in passing "hows it going guys?" and never having an opportunity to answer or ask for another drink. She took our empty drinks without even asking if we would like another. I doubt we will return there are other options in the area.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on March 5, 2016

Was down in the theatre district for a Saturday evening show. Wife and I looked online and found hush based on other reviews. Overall it was a great experience, great food , it was paced well which was nice as we were running early. My wife had the parm chicken and it was great , I had the tenderloin which was also great. Had the shrimp/lobster as well with my meal, that was a little underwhelming . Had the cookie dessert and that was great. Overall it was a great meal in a great looking restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service5

The service was great but the salmon did ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

The service was great but the salmon did not taste maple glazed but just a bit oily. Sad because the last time I had the same dish it was delicious! Maybe just tonight?

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good spot for pre-musical dinner

Dined on March 2, 2016

We went for dinner at hush restaurant on a Wednesday night before a show at the princess of Wales theatre. The restaurant was not very busy so food was served promptly. I wasn't too happy with the seasoning on my salmon and it was slightly overcooked. My companion enjoyed her lobster tacos and pear salad. Service was good. Chocolate mousse shot glass Dessert was amazing. Good value for money overall.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wide Variety - Great Location

Dined on February 27, 2016

For a group of 8 going out variety on the menu was important. Hush offers up just that from salads, pasta, steaks, burgers to Fish & Chips done in potatoe chips. Long tables make it easy to suit large parties. Extensive wine list. I would pass on the Chicken Lettuce Wraps next time. Not so exciting - chicken was bland.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Good meal. Awesome server.

Dined on February 27, 2016

Good meal. Awesome server.

food4
ambience5
service5

The servers and quality of food.

Dined on February 15, 2016

The servers and quality of food.

food5
ambience5
service3

I enjoyed my experience at hush. The foo ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I enjoyed my experience at hush. The food was amazing (parm chicken and burger). The ambiance was great as well. My only complaint is the slowness of the waitress who appeared to have dressed to get tips, if you know what I mean. Despite that, I would go back again.

food4
ambience3
service3

Good food but martinis weren't actually ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Good food but martinis weren't actually martinis and even though we made a reservation 2 weeks ahead we were put in the corner on a tiny table.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience I'm so happy I found ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing experience I'm so happy I found this little gem, I can't wait to see the rooftop patio this summer! I have been recommending this to everyone and anyone I know.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Bland food at HUSH

Dined on February 11, 2016

Lobster taco lacked salt and lime, and didn't have much flavour at all. Very boring Caesar salad, just lemon and some parm. Lobster grilled cheese was very heavy, and again, pretty bland. Chicken wrap sandwich was just ok, smoky burger was very good. Restaurant smells like fryer oil and is too dark. Service was prompt and efficient but a bit too cutsey for us.

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

just ok

Dined on February 10, 2016

Went for Winterlicious, overall the experience was "ok".

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Winterlicous at Hush

Dined on February 10, 2016

I ordered off of the lunch Winterlicious menu at Hush and was very disappointed with the quality of food. I have ordered off the regular menu previously and can say that the Winterlicious menu was not at all a representation of the regular menu items. The fish was greasy and clearly came from a prepared freezer package. Also, portions were ridiculously small compared to other restaurants participating in this event. My "fish and chips" came with literally three (3) fries. The atmosphere and service was excellent.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good vibe, nice food in TO entertainment district!

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Went to HUSH the other evening and had a very pleasant meal with super nice service! The food is not exotic but is absolutely well presented and tasty, and you feel as though you can try anything and share anything there without getting the "evil eye" some servers give you at more high brow venues. Good energy, and and convenient location make this a good place to go!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for Winterlicious. Good find, entre ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Went for Winterlicious. Good find, entre was good, dessert and appetizers were mediocre.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice Place

Dined on February 7, 2016

A group of 5 of us went for the Winterlicious event. The restaurant is very nice and is very clean. While the food was delicious, it wasn't outstanding. There were no complaints to be had at all, our server was very nice and patient with us and we had a very nice time. Definitely a good place to go and relax with friends. GREAT wine!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We had the halibut which was completely ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had the halibut which was completely over cooked. The service was terrible. I was very disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and the service were great!

Dined on February 6, 2016

The place was packed. We were glad we had a reservation. We ordered off the Winterlicious menu and the food was great. The place was a bit too noisy and seating was a little tight. Would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

very very nice staff with very good food

Dined on February 5, 2016

very very nice staff with very good food

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid Choice for Winterlicious!

Dined on February 4, 2016

Overall Hush does not disappoint. I've been here several times and always find it to be a positive experience. One comment I would have is on 'diversity' of the choices offered on the special Winterlicious menu. Although my butternut squash ravioli was superb, I would have liked to see more creativity with respect to the offerings as found myself gravitating to only one or two of the selections, where in past all the choices were tempting :) Still at a $25 price point for dinner, you can't go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Food could be better

Dined on February 4, 2016

The food offer for the price could be a lot better in terms of portion as I left the restaurant I had to stop by at Tim Hortons for a bagel.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Winterlicious visit

Dined on February 3, 2016

Went with some friends for Winterlicious. The food was pretty basic and the portions not very large but for $25, I wasn't too surprised. The ambiance was nice though and the server too. Their regular menu showcases a bit of everything and I would probably go back to try some of the Mexican-inspired dishes. Lunch is probably better than dinner.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We did Winterlicious and out of 3 dishes ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

We did Winterlicious and out of 3 dishes only 1 was good. Salad was mediocre and dessert was so artificially flavoured that I couldn't finish it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner before theatre

Dined on January 20, 2016

We had dinner here before seeing Phantom. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had our two teen-age daughters with us and everyone was able to find something appealing on the menu. We tried the seafood dip appetizer and had beef tenderloin, lobster grilled cheese and Moroccan chicken for mains. All came out perfectly cooked as ordered. The seasonings and sauces were superb. The grilled cheese bread was a little too thick and crunchy, but overall the dinner was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely Restaurant

Dined on January 19, 2016

Hush is an absolutely lovely restaurant. We arrived 30 minutes before our 6pm reservation and the friendly hostess was happy to seat me right away without a problem. We were attending a show at the Princess of Whales Theatre so this was a prime location for dinner as it was a short distance away. The restaurant was intimate and elegant with comfortable seating. It was not too busy for a Tuesday evening so it was perfect for a quiet conversation. My friend ordered the Big Bad Apple, a combination of spiced rum and apple juice. It sounded interesting, however it was not very satisfying as it was watered down from too much ice. As an appetizer we had ordered the lobster, crab and spinach dip, which we enjoyed with the crispy wontons more so than the buttered bread that was included. (I found that they went heavy on the butter). It was a small portion of dip with more tomatoes and spinach and less of the lobster and crab. Still delicious, but might skip this appetizer next time. As an entree I ordered the beer battered fish and chips, which was average. The portion was more than I had expected, however the batter on the cod was just too thick for my liking. My friend ordered the parmesan chicken with potatoes and greens. The chicken was cooked perfectly - very juicy on the inside, but the potatoes were a bit dry so he ordered extra gravy on the side for an additional $1. For dessert we ordered the chocolate gelato - nothing special. Overall, the food was good, however maybe a tad overpriced. The service was great and the atmosphere was wonderful. I would definitely like to come back and try other items on the menu such as the lobster grilled cheese, steak or s'mores. It would also be a nice place for drinks with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great recommendation

Dined on January 17, 2016

My husband and I recently went here for brunch after a recommendation from a friend. The staff were very courteous and friendly and the service was excellent. Our food was outstanding and the prices very reasonable. Both my husband and I will and have recommended Hush to friends. It was the perfect way to end our weekend away.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

good food prior to opera

Dined on January 10, 2016

We got a good meal With fast service - just like we required as seeing the Phantom. All meals at table cooked to perfection and service great. Will return when we have more time to savour the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pretty good, and not too pricey

Dined on January 7, 2016

We went before seeing a show at Princess of Wales, reservation at 5:30, we were at the show across the street by 7, there were 6 in our party. Great location for seeing a show, like online reservations, food was good, the server seemed to have issues hearing us or they were ignoring us, maybe it was a tad loud for dining. Overall, it was good food at reasonable prices.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hush

Dined on January 3, 2016

Food was good, nice ambiance. Service was appropriate timing, friendly staff. would go back, would recommend to friends. Cooking s'mores at the table was a hit with the kids!

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wait staff awesome food and amazin ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

Great wait staff awesome food and amazing wine! Can't go wrong!!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.