About Hush Restaurant & Bar

303 King Street West,
Toronto, ON M5V 1J5
View Larger Map

Stylish, casual upscale restaurant, bar and lounge with ROOF TOP PATIO. Directly across from the world renowned TIFF Light Box tower home of the Toronto International Film Festival. In the HEART of the Entertainment district STEPS from Roy Thompson Hall, the Royal Alex and the Princess of Wales Theatres. Two blocks from the CN tower and the Rogers Centre (home of the Toronto Blue Jays), only a few blocks to the Bay Street Business District.
We Offers modern decor, fresh made cuisine, and great service. Enjoy a diverse selection of inspired North American and global infusion dishes, including made from scratch soup, salads, sandwiches, Steaks, PRIME RIB and an extensive global wine list. From our open kitchen you can see your Prime Rib hand cut or your Baby back Ribs finished on the grill.
Hush offers an extensive cocktail list, great wines and a full bar menu make HUSH the perfect destination for lunch & late night dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Monday: Closed

Tuesday: 5pm to 11pm

Wednesday & Thursday: 11:30am to 11pm

Friday & Saturday: 11:30am to 2am

Sunday 10:00am to 11pm (Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm)

Cross Street:
King West and John St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-9799

Website:
http://www.hushrestaurants.ca/

Catering:
Takeout available by contacting the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Meter parking in front
underground parking in several areas steps from restaurant
large outdoor grade parking a few doors west
parking underground ACROSS THE STREET IN THE TIFF building

Public Transit:
4 doors to the right of the building on King and John st. Street car

Private Party Facilities:
HUSH offers a clean modern décor in a sleek, urban restaurant setting with a happening bar scene in our bar/lounge, freshly made cuisine, and great service. Host your next event at HUSH and make it a night to remember.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 8667958119

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special EVENTS private party room on the second floor with seating for 52 and cocktails for 70+

Roof Top patio can be booked for special events

TIFF Parties Welcome (we are DIRECTLY in front of the TIFF front doors...)

Restaurant Photos

Tempura Shrimp - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
Lobster Grilled Cheese Sandwich - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
Seafood Linguine - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
Filet Mignon - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
BBQ Pork Ribs - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
The El Dorado Burger W/Slaw - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
Baja Lobster Tacos - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
"S'mores" - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
Sirloin Tip Poutine - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
The El Dorado Burger - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
Thai Salad - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
Honey Glazed Grilled Salmon - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
The Daily Sandwich - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON
Prime Rib - Hush Restaurant & Bar, Toronto, ON

Hush Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Modern Decor (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service wasn't great - had to keep askin ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Service wasn't great - had to keep asking for the waitress to come to our table. One person had the salmon and said it was bland, 2 had the creole chicken but one said the chicken was overcooked and the other one said it was fine, one person had the beef tenderloin and they said it was very good. One person had the seafood linguine and said it was bland and it had 2 little shrimp in it that tasted like they had been frozen. Could not believe a restaurant did not serve regular decaf coffee. We had been to Hush maybe 2 years ago and it was good but it has gone downhill. Wine prices for a glass of wine are too expensive for 5 oz. compared to other restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I requested the lighting to be turn, but ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I requested the lighting to be turn, but it did not happen. We were seating along the window which was considerably brighter than the remainder of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Great restaurant for before theatre, esp ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great restaurant for before theatre, especially The Princess of Wales. Food was delicious. I had soup which was great. Fish and chips looked fantastic. Salmon also looked good.

Service was excellent, and thankfully the noise level low. Would go back again, and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Never had a bad meal at Hush! Food is a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Never had a bad meal at Hush! Food is always great! Also, I love the convenience of being able to book a reservation & being right across from the theatre. Can't beat it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked in to the minu ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

From the moment we walked in to the minute we left everything was great. The only thing better than the food was the service. Our server was very informative and friendly. What a delight in the theatre district!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hush was a perfect place for three out-o ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Hush was a perfect place for three out-of-town friends to meet before a Wednesday matinee at The Princess of Wales theatre. Comfortable, quick and pleasant service. Good food. Pleasant environment. Just wish I didn't have to descend "black" stairs to the bathrooms!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We often go to Hush before going to the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We often go to Hush before going to the Princess of Whales or the Royal Alex. The food is fresh, the atmosphere relaxed and the servers are very attentive, always making sure that you are served promptly!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We shared the lobster tacos and hush Tha ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We shared the lobster tacos and hush Thai salad and both were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great. Food was very tas ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The service was great. Food was very tasty. Nothing to complain about. Two thumbs up!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere is great and the food was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The atmosphere is great and the food was awesome but the service was very slow. Some people had meals long before others so it made for an awkward evening. The meals that were late we compensated which was nice it just made us late for our next event.

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Sorry can't really rate as arrived and t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Sorry can't really rate as arrived and the restaurant was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was delicious! I wasn't sure wh ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food was delicious! I wasn't sure what to expect having never been before, but was pleasantly surprised. Our hostess was very friendly; checked on us at the right times. Would highly recommend Hush to anyone.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here with a party of 8, three of wh ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went here with a party of 8, three of whom have food allergies. Large parties can be challenging, as is, but adding in food intolerances even more so. The staff was great! Attentive to the special needs and friendly. Service was quick, food was great, and the atmosphere was comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Stopped into this restaurant for dinner ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Stopped into this restaurant for dinner while alone on a business trip. The host/hostess were not particularly friendly but the waitress was lovely. My meal was quite good. Had the thai chicken soup which was a bit different than others that I have had. Enjoyed the spicy kick it had. The lobster grilled cheese with gravy fries were great but quite heavy as you can imagine. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Morroccan Chicken -- nice flavours, good ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Morroccan Chicken -- nice flavours, good portion of chicken and kale, small portion of rice, chicken slightly overcooked (just a little)

Seafood linguini - its actually spaghetti, but very tasty!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were attending TIFF. Hush was in com ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were attending TIFF. Hush was in complete disarray. The staff were distressed. The atmosphere was stressful. Almost one hour for scrambled eggs. We almost missed the opening. Unfortunate.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

We came here for a bridal party gatherin ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We came here for a bridal party gathering. The waitress came at the beginning to give us water but didn't show up again after. The food took way too long to get there, and I had to go find our waitress, she then saw the food being served and just walked away. Then one of the orders were wrong, we said there was supposed to be smoked salmon on the plate, and the server simply said "no". After we disagreed he said "well I'm new to this menu". The food was below average and the overpriced for what it was. No one came by after, and we had to flag someone to come give us our bills. I felt terrible because I chose this place for our group to go to. Never again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Reservation seemed to confuse host. Lack ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Reservation seemed to confuse host. Lack of available staff, seemed like only 2 people working there... Got my order wrong and did not offer to compensate. Did not refill waters. Did not check on table frequently enough (see shortstaffed). Food was dry and bland. Pricing was higher than nearby establishments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was pretty good and everything ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was pretty good and everything was relatively well priced. There machine for interact wasn't working that day which caused a bit of a problem but that was about it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food at Hush has always and continue ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food at Hush has always and continues to be outstanding. Great value for your money and located in a vibrant location. The service was fantastic. Have been there many times and never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meals, wonderful wait staff and lo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great meals, wonderful wait staff and lovely atmosphere. We didn't go to the roof top on this trip but have been before and that is just as lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

1st time here, would definitely recommen ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2016

1st time here, would definitely recommend to others and come back. Good atmoshphere, great food, friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing spot, fantastic food at good pri ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing spot, fantastic food at good prices! Great spot

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attended Hush for dinner as a group o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We attended Hush for dinner as a group of 10 people on a summer team building event. We sat in the lower bar area where there was a huge very cool wood table with finished bark around the outside so the table still had the shape of the tree. The food portions were large and very good for the price. Staff were friendly and professional and service was prompt. The washrooms on the lower level were just OK, nothing to write home about. I would not hesitate to return to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for summerliscious dinner last S ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went for summerliscious dinner last Sunday. It's kinda you pay for what you get. It's cheap for 3 courses dinner but the food was so so. The berry yogurt parfait was a disappointment. It was served with plain yogurt and frozen berries. I won't serve that to a friend. The lady server was very nice and let us even stay for 2-3 hours to chat.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I went in for Summerlicious for dinner f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I went in for Summerlicious for dinner for a double date. My friend ordered a Sangria drink special which tasted pretty good. I started off with the Confit Duck Salad, while my bf had mussels. There was no bowl to put shells in for the mussels, and barely anything in the salad. Risotto was not bad; the swordfish dish was just ok, but the avocado roll did not taste good at all . For dessert, my mixed berry parfait was completely inedible, I couldn't even swallow it. My bf's creme brulee was a much smaller portion than my friend's, so he felt ripped off and the heating consistency was uneven as well. Overall food quality did not meet our expectations, so we left disappointed. Not planning to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Went during summerlicious and the food w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went during summerlicious and the food was good. Our waitress was courteous and polite. Food was a bit slow to arrive as we had to wait an hour for the appetizer but it could have just been that Saturday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Good ambiance, nice decor. Went for lun ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good ambiance, nice decor. Went for lunch and ordered from the summerlicious menu. There were 3 of us, so we ordered one of everything. Appetizers were good, but entrees were all too salty. There was one dessert out of the three options that I could say was special. The other two were just, meh. Service was sooooo slow. The apps came out fast, but there was such a long delay for the entrees and then desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Took my family visiting me from out of t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Took my family visiting me from out of town for summerlicious, and now I'm embarrassed! The food was extremely salty, and the oil for the french fries was dirty. (I know what dirty oil looks and tastes like) I asked to substitute the fries for veggies and received an over cooked TINY portion of veggies. (Glad they could accommodate, but the portion was almost insulting & again over salted) Beyond everything else - the service was terrible! Can't believe this place made it to summerlicious :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Chicken Flatbread sandwich was delicious ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Chicken Flatbread sandwich was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

this place has dance club music blaring ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 21, 2016

this place has dance club music blaring in its entryway, and maintains a very high noise level.

The food was good, but the alcoholic drinks weren't that fantastic. i think our waitress made the drinks and she probably shouldn't have.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Poor service - waitresses did not seem h ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Poor service - waitresses did not seem happy to serve us, wouldn't let us move the umbrella to better shade us even though it wouldn't get in anyone else's way. Got upset at my friend when she tried to close the umbrella, but let other tables close their umbrellas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

My mom had mussels for appetizer and I h ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2016

My mom had mussels for appetizer and I had duck meat with salad. Both were very tasty. Usually we don't like mussels, but this time there was no weird flavour, maybe because these are smaller mussels? For main I had chicken mushroom risotto and my mom had swordfish steak with wakame salad. The chicken risotto was very salty even for me as I love my salt. They did not have to add the soya sauce on top of it. The swordfish steak was made into a fish shape which was kind of cute. There were also a few maki rolls on the plate but those felt like they were left out on the counter as they were dry. Creme brulee presentation could have been better. The french pastry that my mom had was very fluffy and light on the sweetness which is very good for us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We came for Summerlicious and to celebra ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We came for Summerlicious and to celebrate a friend's birthday.

To begin with the AC in the restaurant was cranked really high, even with a light sweater we were still cold.

The young lady who served us was quite friendly and attentive, unfortunately our food took a long time and the restaurant was half full. The food was not great, rather a disappointment to all of us. The 4 out of 6 of us that had the seafood primavera were sick the next day. The mussles were not cooked properly, they were runny and tasted funny.

Unfortunately I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Summerlicious menu wasn't that great. So ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Summerlicious menu wasn't that great. Sounded great on paper, when it came out it was cold and not fresh. Small portions too. To be expected I guess with set meals. Waitresses were decently nice but slow and not very attentive. I'd go back but wouldn't do the summerlicious menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Service was great but food was mediocre. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service was great but food was mediocre. Bugs found crawling in 2 of the 3 drinks we ordered. Waitress offered no discount for that experience but did replace the wine, which at least is the most basic thing to do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My boyfriend and I decided to try Hush f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2016

My boyfriend and I decided to try Hush for Summerlicious 2016. We ordered the Duck Salad and Mussels for the Appetizer, the quantity of mussels was decent but nothing about the flavors blew us away. I had the Risotto for my main course, which lacked flavor and salt, also the Chicken was a little burnt. The Swordfish was okay, the sushi that came with it was tasteless and badly done. The only saving grace for the entire meal was the Cereal Milk Creme Brulee which my boyfriend thoroughly enjoyed! Though there was nothing horrible about the meals, there was nothing extraordinary. Maybe food off their regular menu is better but I wouldn't recommend it for Summerlicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not a deal breaker by any means, but I f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Not a deal breaker by any means, but I feel it was a bit dark on the rooftop.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

The ambiance & menu is perfect for our w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The ambiance & menu is perfect for our whole family--we can always depend on excellent service & a great meal. Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the food & atmosphere. We ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Really enjoyed the food & atmosphere.

We were on the rooftop and loved it.

Food was delicious- ate every crumb.

We shared 2 items- the burger and lobster grilled cheese.

Glad we did because the grilled cheese was so rich but so tasty!

It was our first time but not our last. Especially if we're out for a theater nite at The Princess of Wales.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.