About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

Maui’s top resort restaurant boasts a refresh of modern Hawaiian details, a subtle nod to ocean themes including voyaging, and the debut of award-winning Chef Mike Lofaro’s Hawaii Seasonal Cuisine menu. Smartly executed to spotlight the main ingredient with simple and balanced flavors, Lofaro's Hawaiian Seasonal Cuisine screams the ocean while introducing locally-grown produce. Lofaro is the reigning Best Chef on Maui and is a 2016 EMMY™ Award-winner for his television show SEARCH Hawaii, Where Food Meets Culture.

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 11 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are tying the knot, reuniting with family or attending a business meeting in paradise, Humuhumu offers a variety of options for large party and private dining options.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Munsey: (808) 875-1234 ext. 3953

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

80% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Romantic (49)
See All
Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Waterfront (46)
Good for a Date (37)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Authentic (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (13)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (6)
Tapas (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Music (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
988 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

The place was empty when we went. Good service, while fish for two was delicious! We were sat next to a still water murky pond so that wasn't so good. The Grand Wailea is a Hilton property but no one seemed to know to give me Honors points for my purchase (I wasn't staying at the resort.) Ambiance was typical beach front resort. Nothing particularly special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We were disappointed in the amateurish service, the noise level and the lack of live music. The restaurant is billed as one with live music until 11pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Our service was fabulous. The mahi mahi is consistently delicious. All of the fish dishes are fresh and fragrant. I also enjoyed the grilled carrots. They were in the process of draining the ponds/pools for renovations so we missed the flying fish while dining. I can't wait to come back and see the restoration completed.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I would say that a lot of folks who come to Maui, are like us couples without kids. Therefore it seemed odd that as a couple celebrating a 25 wedding anniversary (the whole occasion had been pre-booked and organized by my sister from th UK 🇬🇧) be allocated a table amongst the families and furthest away from the restaurants quieter and one could say more intimate locations. Thankfully a lovely member of the team agreed and we ended up with a nice corner table for two. The food was nice, starters very flavourful, then had the lamb lovely, I had the Tuna, which was nice though seemed to swim in the bowl of dressing. We also received a lovely sweet to share with a very thoughtful happy anniversary. If you were asking me on tips for ongoing development, the lighting is too bright, couples dining generally don't want to be seated next to families or large groups, overall a nice experience the location is great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was a special occasion, we just got married. The surroundings were amazing, the service was outstanding and the food was a work of art. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Visiting Maui for our honeymoon and Humuhumu was, by far, the most catering restaurant for our special vacation. Amazing service, complimentary bottle of champagne and an amazing view of the sunset.
The food was very reasonably priced compared to several other places we went to over the trip.
If you are staying at Grand Wailea or in the area, this is a great spot to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was excellent and the cocktails were quite yummy as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent anniversary meal with wonderful sunset views

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Wonderful experience celebrating a birthday it could've been better. Justin was fabulous! Mahalo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This was such a romantic spot to have dinner! We had a perfect view to watch the sunset! The food was amazing! I had the tomatoe salad off the small plate and my husband had the steak off the large plate. We shared a side of risotto and the coconut cheese cake. Everything tasted amazing and our server was so nice and on it! He helped make our experience lovely

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 12, 2017

A little empty since we were there at the beginning of the slow season, but the great food made up for that. What really put our experience over the top was the outstanding service we received from our waiter Justin. He was perfectly attentive without being overbearing, which is a hard balance to strike. He gave great advice after taking the time to get to know our taste, and paced our meal perfectly even though we chose to order a bunch of small plates and one entree instead of a more traditional coursing. I'd come back just to experience his service again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We shared the catch of the day -- which was a roasted Thai Snapper served with rice, tomatoes, prawns, clams and vegetables. Delicious but even better was the restaurant's ambiance and location. Perfect ocean sunset views.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very nice service. Good food though a little pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I've never been to a tapas restaurant that was not Spanish. It definitely worked for this restaurant. The ambiance and setting was perfect, outdoors and in a lagoon setting. The food was incredibly flavorful from the steak to the scallops, even the bread!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great restaurant at a great location. Butcher's steak was excellent and chocolate garden desert really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Supposedly a high end restaurant at a major hotel, it revealed itself as a ticky-tacky fake Hawaiin hut. Poor signage throughout the hotel, but we eventually located it. Poor seating location, and atrocious service afterwards. The food was OK, but nothing to write home about, and definitely inadequate to the prices charged. Service was just as bad as we waited for our car. They clearly were not interested or invested in customer satisfaction or service. An aberration during our stay on Maui, but be forewarned - go elsewhere, even if you are willing to pay top dollar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 5, 2017

I've experienced the wonderful atmosphere of Huma's many times but I must admit this last Monday was exceptional. I don't know if they've conducted a Customer Service class but the service was noteworthy. Our server Diane was top notch as well as the other wait staff. The valet attendant put two bottles of cold water in the car for us when we left. I've been around the world several times and this level of service is something I've only experienced in the best hotels of Singapore. Well done, Huma's, well done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Excellent service, beautiful restaurant, delicious food

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I'd recommend the restaurant management to train their staff (bartender and waiter) to be a little friendlier.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We took our kids to Huma Huma. They were treated very nicely. The restaurant is great and the views are amazing! I'd recommend the 36 ounce bone in Ribeye.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Not as good as it used to be... call me old fashioned but deconstructed cake is disappointing, and menu is very small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The restaurant has a Nice scenery. My only issue is that it is difficult to find in the hotel.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

From start to finish our dining experience was exceptional! Definitely the best meal we had on Maui!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Outstanding service, great food, treated us great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Felt like I was at a cheap Disney knock off. Swiss Family Robinson decor times a million. Food was bland. Waitstafff also reminded me of Disney...quick turnover was the goal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We didn't like anything on the menu, so we left. The service was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

we had a great time are server was the best he was great he really cared about us and are special day it was are 30th anniversary. we would definitely come back

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Enjoyed the view. Restaurant was a tad loud - depends on your table. Service was attentive but meal was very slow due to incoming wedding. Restaurant was very generous in comping portions of meal. The chocolate and hazelnut desserts were excellent. Fried mahi was also very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Wonderful property, incredible service, delicious food experience

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We just finished dinner at Humuhumunukunuku. I can honestly say that this was the best dinner we have had in Hawaii, and actually anywhere. The service was outstanding. The food delicious, and the overall ambiance incredible. If you are in Maui, and you want a special dinner with incredible food and service, you have to go to Humuhumu. Amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (東京)·Dined on August 23, 2017

One of the best restaurant we went in Waleia. Excellent food and service. Fish was particularly good as well as dessert.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere,a table near the pond and seaview..excellent fish and dessert..professional and kind service..excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The restaurant is very nice, great view, friendly and attentive staff, but the food was not worth the price (or really even worth eating). I will say the appetizer was very good, but the meals were not. My husband and I actually ate all of the bread in our bread basket because the meals weren't worth finishing - and I never waste room in my stomach for bread at nice restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Went for my birthday it was perfect! Great location & ambiance!

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Awesome. Apps were ahhhmazing and crispy ahi was great mix of textures and flavors. Waitress was great with kids. I'd go again. Pricey but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Absolutely delicious. We were a bit hesitant given the "Hawaiian based" menu, but it was wonderful! I come from a family of restauranteurs in NYC, and this was a sensational meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Very small menu. Very scenic for photo taking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had a lovely early dinner here......they honored my request for Table 70, the best in the house for a sunset view.......my dressy sandal broke as we walked across the grounds at Grand Wailea and I hobbled into the restaurant barefooted 😕 They smiled and said no problem..... only on Maui!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Was wonderful! Food was delicious and waitress was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Not what it used to be! Different menu, no more happy hour, rude rude service that didn't pay any attention to dietary requirements, kids menu was supposed to come dessert which wasn't offered and no apologies or concessions for serving something in a dish after it was made clear it caused allergies. Huge, expensive disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.