About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Voted "Chef of the Year" and "Most Innovative Menu," 2016 Aipono Awards. "Best Resort Restaurant;" and "Best Ambiance,"Maui News Readers Choice, Readers Choice Awards 2009-2011. "Best Table for Two," and "Most Romantic Table," ISLANDS Magazine, "Best of the World's" editor's choice, 2009, 2012 and 2013. Romantic and exotic, this Maui ocean side restaurant offers the most spectacular sunset views. Named after Hawaii's state fish, the Polynesian thatch roof restaurant seems to float on a million-gallon saltwater lagoon filled with tropical fish. Savor delicious Island fish and meat entrees with Polynesian or Hawaiian influences.

If you are booking between the dates of August 28 – December 15, please note that Humuhumunukunukuapua'a has been temporarily relocated to our former Kincha restaurant location in the hotel’s Hawaiian gardens. Humu will operate in the new location with the same friendly and attentive service, same award-winning chef and menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
The Humuhumunukunukuapua’a - Hana Room is a spacious private section of the restaurant available to seat up to 48 people with views of our salt water lagoon and serene waterfall backdrop. Full restaurant buyout also available.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Reservations: 8088751234x51

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

scenic view (96)
romantic (89)
great for outdoor dining (89)
See All
special occasion (83)
fit for foodies (51)
good for groups (28)
notable wine list (15)
kid-friendly (13)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (7)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing way to start a vacay. Food. Atmo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing way to start a vacay. Food. Atmosphere. Service. All top notch. Get the scallops!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is beautiful, especially during ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The view is beautiful, especially during sunset. The food is very good, although not a lot of menu choices. Prices are high, but you are paying for the whole experience. We learned they will be renovating soon - hopefully they won't change the look of the place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was wonderful and Accommodati ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was wonderful and Accommodating. The food was great and the place was beautiful. Wish there were lights at night to see th beautiful water installations with the salt water fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This used to be my favorite place but I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This used to be my favorite place but I can no longer say it is worth the money. I can afford to eat here with no problem but I do expect not to be disappointed with the quality of the food at the price that is charged. The food quality was far inferior to what it has been in the past and the prices have jumped substantially. The service is excellent as always and the view can't be matched.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Not crowded but placed at a table in bac ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Not crowded but placed at a table in back of restaurant. Cocktails were good. Food was average. Lagoon water needs changing. Smelled foul. Another restaurant living off of the view. Not worth driving from west side of island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We frequently stay at the Grand Y, the h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We frequently stay at the Grand Y, the hotel where this restaurant is located. We have tried it in the past without great success. For a number of reasons, we had switched hotels for the past 6 trips over the past 3 years.

But, we decided we needed to go back to the Grand Y on this last trip. We searched for new dining sites in South Maui and noticed that Humu.....was rated very highly and the chef had been named "most inovative." My wife ordered the Catch of the Day. It was a very small piece of Moon fish on a bed of very common brown rice. That's innovation for you!

Shame on us, we know better than to choose dining locations in hotels. It was a very expensive reminder to STAY AWAY from most hotel based restaurants.

Cannot express loudly enough how mediocre this place still is. Great views are the only saving grace.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The Humuhumu was not up to the same stan ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The Humuhumu was not up to the same standards as many other Maui Restaurants we visited. The food was OK but nothing really stood out to us. The service was about the same as our waitress was attentive but not personable which was not the norm on this island. The location and ocean views are outstanding however but that is the case with many of Maui's better restaurants. For the money (this place is pricey) Maui has much better options.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Overall the food wasn't bad. it wasn't ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Overall the food wasn't bad. it wasn't the best, but nothing was the worst either.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

So many good resteraunts on island and t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

So many good resteraunts on island and this one is coming off the list. The menu is limited and for an award winning chef, not impressed.

Bye bye Humhumu.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic service, ambiance and food! I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fantastic service, ambiance and food! I would return on my next visit to Maui .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced. Especially, $17 for caprese ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Over priced. Especially, $17 for caprese salad that came with two pieces of buffalo mozzerella the size of a walnut.

Also, $22 for a shot of tequila that other high end restaurants charge $12-$14.

The check for 5 should have been about $250, but turned into $500.

Entrees $42-$87.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Delicious...as always! The goat cheese ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious...as always! The goat cheese and watermelon salad is amazing. The scallops are divine and those are just the appetizers. The monchong is fantastic and my husband couldn't get enough of the ahi loins. One of our 'go to' dinner restaurants in Wailea.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing evening - told concie ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very disappointing evening - told concierge it was my wife's bday - no acknowledgement at restaraunt - waitress there was a cow - virtually ignored us all night - kids meal were ordinary / ours ok - very expensive / left and went next door to ritz for cocktail and dessert / way better / don't waste your time and hard earned at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful dinner in a fantastic setting. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Wonderful dinner in a fantastic setting. Service, food and ambiance were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is okay,but portions are small even ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food is okay,but portions are small even for a high end restaurant. The service is very fast, and it felt like all they cared about was flipping tables. We even held off on ordering our main courses because we got the sense they were trying to get us out in under an hour. After we ordered our entrees they were there within 5-7 minutes at max. We were shocked. We had not even been asked if we would like a glass of wine with our meal as everything came so quickly we were still on our first drinks that we ordered before our appetizers. Too fast. Way too fast. The server was pleasant, but very casual. We both felt the experience was subpar for what is regarded as a higher end restaurant. We also went to Spago on this trip and it was a much superior experience for a similarly priced meal. There is no comparison between the two. Spago every time.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Our server Justin was outstanding and ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our server Justin was outstanding and our entrees and cocktails were delicious! As international foodies, the coconut panna cotta is the best we've ever had .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we visit Maui we go to this r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Every time we visit Maui we go to this restaurant and ever time the food is delicious, service is great, and the view is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Humu on our wedding night and ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We went to Humu on our wedding night and the employee's made our dining very special and romantic! We ended up at the restaurant a couple times while honeymooning and found it one of our favorite places! Will absolutely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was exceptional. T ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The entire experience was exceptional. The servers treated our children as well as they treated us, which impressed the kids and made them feel special. The menu had enough good items for a week of dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated a birthday and anniversary ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We celebrated a birthday and anniversary the food experience service was wonderful

Very much enjoyed ourselves and without a doubt the sunset was the best I have ever seen (and we travel often)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rice with tofu were amazing Located in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Rice with tofu were amazing

Located in a pond with fish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was awesone, service totally sucked ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was awesone, service totally sucked, this place has a really great vibe/atmosphere, however the lights and nose level from the luau next door totally ruin it, go on a night when there is no luau

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

My husband and I chose to celebrate our ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My husband and I chose to celebrate our wedding anniversay at Humu's. This was our second experience at this restaurant, and it was every bit as good as we had remembered. The ambiance is unmatched, and the food is outstanding. I started with the scallop appetizer which was so flavorful. For our entrees my husband and I both had the filet mignon, which was so tender. Even the sides of mashed potatoes and the charred broccolini were phenomenal. We finished off our evening with the Humu Pie, a delicious blend of coffee and macadamia nut ice creams atop an Oreo cookie crust - the best. Thank you to our server Ken for his attentiveness and kindness, and to the rest of the Humu staff for making our anniversary special. We will definitely return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

we had a great dinner. Nice setting. Fre ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

we had a great dinner. Nice setting. Fresh fish was fabulous.

Our server was attentive and had good recommendations for us

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, tranquil location. Good, friend ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Amazing, tranquil location. Good, friendly service. Food was quite good but portions are on small side. Overall, we enjoyed greatly! Would return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was mediocre and pricey

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was mediocre and pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice place-dined here many times. Seeme ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Nice place-dined here many times. Seemed a bit 'off' this visit. The 'pod' we were in didn't have ceiling fans on-never got answer why, especially when other pods had fans on, on a sticky night. Service was good, fish was dry. Recognition of anniversary was nice touch. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The staff went out of their way to make ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The staff went out of their way to make our day feel special. We were treated with fantastic appetizers and wonderful dessert. Our son got to feed the fishes in the pond. Wonderful experience no doubt about that.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was good but extremely overpriced. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Good was good but extremely overpriced. More expensive than Spagos at the Four Seasons and a limited menu. Took 40 minutes to receive appetizers . Lady servers were fantastic, bread guy smacked the bread (which was Kings Hawaiian rolls from Safeway) on the table and left. Spicy Sesame beef very good but too spicy for my husband. Lamb was good but not great. We opted out of dessert and went back to our room instead. We stay at the Grand Wailea a couple times a year but avoid this place for reasons like this- usually walk over to the Four Seasons for food. Poor price point for what is received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Average meal, scallops were salty

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Average meal, scallops were salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Decent food but not for this price, even ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Decent food but not for this price, even after taking into account the "resort tax" that increases the cost of dining out at a resort.

For a similar price (or slightly more expensive) try Morimoto at the Andaz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Beautiful scenery, great service. Food ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Beautiful scenery, great service. Food looks great presentation wise, but very little on the plate for the amout of money you pay. Tastes okay, i think too busy with flavoring and spices, which takes away the actual taste of the fish (we had mahi mahi and ahi). Desert was super small and tasted no different than any other desert on the island. Yes its expensive, but it did not give us the WOW with the taste that we expected. We did it once, but will not go back again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The scallops were awesome and you must t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The scallops were awesome and you must try the spicy beef and don't forget to have fresh fish for an entree

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Surfing Goat andWatermelon salad was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The Surfing Goat andWatermelon salad was very refreshing

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had an amazing anniversary dinner! Fr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We had an amazing anniversary dinner! From the food, to service, to scenic views, everything was spectacular and met or exceeded our expectations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic menu. Our meal was delicious ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic menu. Our meal was delicious an absolutely fresh. Our server was wonderful, with excellent suggestions and was very knowledgable regarding the flavors and pairings available. The view of the sunset over the sea is unmatched

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Michael Lofaro continues his excell ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Chef Michael Lofaro continues his excellent menu of fine dining and is able to accommodate special menus for those with severe food allergies. Our son has severe food allergies and we always go to his restaurant when we are on Maui because we can trust him to prepare our special menu for our son. He goes out of his way to make a memorable dining experience for the whole family, including those members who have severe food allergies. His restaurant is a gem on Maui.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good not great. Table service w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was good not great. Table service was a bit off. Waited for.water.and beverage refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I would say beautiful atmosphere, food w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I would say beautiful atmosphere, food was cooked well, BUT- really Grand Wailea? It's a seafood restaurant. You are on a beautiful resort on an ISLAND surrounded by bountiful oceans. I swear you had more meat offerings than fresh-locally caught-fish offerings. Just overall disappointed. You have a great opportunity to bring big local flavors, take them to the next level, and introduce them to thousands of people who want to experience Hawaii. I felt like the flavors could have been found anywhere. Nothing special nor "Hawaiian" about them. Well cooked, beautifully plated, but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.