About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Voted "Best Resort Restaurant;" and "Best Ambiance,"Maui News Readers Choice, Readers Choice Awards 2009-2011. "Best Table for Two," and "Most Romantic Table," ISLANDS Magazine, "Best of the World's" editor's choice, 2009, 2012 and 2013.Romantic and exotic, this Maui ocean side restaurant offers the most spectacular sunset views. Named after Hawaii's state fish, the Polynesian thatch roof restaurant seems to float on a million-gallon saltwater lagoon filled with tropical fish. Select your own lobster from the lagoon or savor delicious Island fish and meat entrees with Polynesian or Hawaiian influences.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
The Humuhumunukunukuapua’a - Hana Room is a spacious private section of the restaurant available to seat up to 45 people with views of our salt water lagoon and serene waterfall backdrop. Full restaurant buyout also available.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Reservations: 8088751234x4900

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Maui
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

scenic view (102)
romantic (91)
great for outdoor dining (86)
See All
special occasion (75)
fit for foodies (52)
good for groups (28)
notable wine list (15)
kid-friendly (14)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
Sort By:
Newest
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant with the hard to pronoun ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant with the hard to pronounce name is terrific. Our server was about as good as it gets. She took upon herself to treat us to a drink when she heard our 30th anniversary was next year when we wouldn't be on island. Really thoughtful & friendly. Food was really good and the surroundings were beautiful to behold, Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful sunsets, great food and servic ...

Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful sunsets, great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value for experience and food

Dined 7 days ago

Four of us went to this restaurant to celebrate a wedding anniversary. We got lucky, because at that time, this restaurant was participating in the Wailea Restaurant Week event. Which meant, we got to try some delicious three course meals for a steal! The service was wonderful. We had attentive waiters, who filled our glasses and served us with grace. Atmosphere is very pleasant. I can see why this place is considered to be romantic by most reviewers. Even though, we had dinner after the sunset, it was still very charming and our corner table by one of the resort's waterfalls was relaxing. Seafood that we tried included scallops and mahi mahi. Both were good. Filet mingion was not only juicy but also had a slight hint of pineapple in the wine reduction. I will be craving that meat for as long as I can remember. The dessert was also great. I tried the goat cheese watermelon treat. It was unique and thus memorable. If you have a sweet tooth, however, go for their Humu pie. It's rich, delicious and the portion is more than enough to satisfy two.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service are excellent. Polynes ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food and service are excellent. Polynesian theme over water.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Humu is a nice choice for dinner. B ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Humu is a nice choice for dinner. Best view for sunset is the bar side. Steaks are always good. Miss their halfprice lobster and surf and turf special they used to have

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1

Server was rude. Restaurant full of smo ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Server was rude. Restaurant full of smoke from the luau next door. We left before ordering. This place reminded me of a Disney restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This restaurant at the Grand Wailea is v ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This restaurant at the Grand Wailea is very, very good. The food is both delicious and in good portions. The wine list is, like so many, overpriced. The good news is that it is not as overpriced as some other places, the selection is good, and variety is very good also. Table service is very friendly and professional. Warning: If you have any kind of walking issues, this may not be for you. There is a bit of a walk down a bit of a grade. It is a beautiful walk, but may require a wheelchair for some.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal for us, a ewly engaged couple ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great meal for us, a ewly engaged couple -- the food was cooked perfectly. Humu was worth the price, if not for the food, then definitely for the wonderful view of the beach and the novelty of being surrounded by a salt water pond full of fish.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We both had the mahi mahi. I personally ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We both had the mahi mahi. I personally not a fan of fish but it was amazing. I have to say, the dish was better than mamas fish house!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

great sunset, ok food

Dined on May 14, 2016

The sunset view is awe inspiring, has to be the best view on the island. The food was OK, well made, just didn't jump off the plate at you.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a meal

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We had our last night in maui at the restaurant and what a great meal. The service was great. My only complaint was the wine I bought for dinner was not what they charged me for when the bill came. I was in a situation where I did not want to deal with it so I let it slide but not what you expect from a restaurant like this. the food however was amazing. And I will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service4

My wife & I were very excited to have di ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My wife & I were very excited to have dinner at Humuhumu on our last night at the Grand Wailea. Unfortunately we were VERY disappointed with our entrees. The lobster tasted more like fish than lobster. The steak was very "gamey". We don't mind paying extra for a great meal, but our entrees certainly did not meet our expectations.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful meal with friends -good food a ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wonderful meal with friends -good food and noise level was low enough to easily have a conversation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Humu's always takes great care of us and ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Humu's always takes great care of us and provides great food while meeting all of my food allergy needs (they don't just steam some veggies for you--they actually cook it and make it taste good even if you can't have the original recipe). Setting is wonderful, noise is minimal and we never feel rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Never Dissapoints

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have been here many times and love it more and more every time. The food is delicious. The service is great. Had some issues with drinks but they were quick to resolve it.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect location for a great meal.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Located in the Grand Wailea this restaurant does not disappoint. This was my third visit and my wife's first. For me, not staying at the hotel, I always was worried about the high cost of the valet parking, which is the only option, however the restaurant validates and there is no parking fee. The view, the view, the view. What a great location. And the food matches. Our server, Ashely, was awesome taking the time to explain specials and her favs. Not only was the service at our table great, but the two tables next to us, each with three children were also taken care of. Also, the hostess as well as every staff member we encountered we all so friendly. So the food was great, the location was great, and the service was great. I will make sure to visit again on my next trip to Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect, until the final act

Dined on May 6, 2016

We've been here several times in the past. The menu, food, drinks, service are generally excellent in this very competitive marketplace. Our server, Justin, was excellent, knowledgeable, extremely attentive . . . until the weird ending. When I said we were ready for the tab, the guy disappeared. After about 15 minutes, we started to walk out. Justin ran up to us and apologized. I asked what happened. He pointed to an outside table where the guy was dining who had been bitten by a shark a few days earlier. Justin said he was tied up talking to that guy and couldn't get away. Okay . . . Other than that one blemish, another perfect evening. This place will continue to be one of our favorites on future visits to Wailea. Justin wasn't afraid to steer us toward certain dishes and away from choices he thought weren't good. That's way more professional than the server who says everything is wonderful! If there is a corporate event across the koi pond, they had a huge IBM happening that night, the live music is very loud, a mood killer. Just have to tune it out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Relaxed, romantic restaurant in great setting

Dined on May 5, 2016

Booked for our night out on a Presidents Club trip and not disappointed. Within the resort but the low thatched roof made this feel a secluded dining experience. Good service, great setting as the sun set over the sea and fabulous food. Our American colleagues dine early so we (Europeans) were able to enjoy a quiet romantic meal together and it felt like a personal service from the main course onwards. Lacked a buzz and music (live) would have created more atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aloha from Humuhumunukunukuapuaa

Dined on May 5, 2016

Humuhumunukunukuapuaa is a true gem in Wailea. The menu is diverse, with meat, poultry, chicken & a variety of Hawaiian fish entrees. The food preparation is outstanding & the sauces are tasty, but not overpowering. The location is beautiful, with most tables getting a view of the Hawaiian sunset. Have your camera ready, as once the sun starts setting it won't be up for long. A unique lagoon-like reef is under the restaurant & you will see many of the areas fish species, which is very interesting. Desserts are very good, so save room. This was our first trip to Humuhumunukunukuapuaa & we will definitely be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cool vibe, great food

Dined on May 4, 2016

Loved the HumuHumu for its wonderful views of a Maui sunset, delicious food and great service. Tip - get the Mai Tai (it's better than anywhere else on site)!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

You're paying for the view... Gluten free options!

Dined on May 3, 2016

My husband and I decided to splurge for a romantic meal at sunset while we were in Maui on our honeymoon. I looked up the sunset time for Wailea and booked our reservation for 30mins prior, which was wonderful since we had an amazing view of the sunset which couldn't be beat. The service was mixed, our hostess and busboy were excellent but our server seemed a little less than interested. Since I'm Celiac I was excited for all of the options available, however they do clarify that it is not 100% gluten free since there is a risk of cross contamination. I am fairly sensitive and did not have any issues, they even brought out a separate basket of gluten free bread for me! (It was a bit dry, but not unexpected for GF bread). We ordered the Ahi Tuna tartar to start, which was delicious! I ordered the "catch of the day" - I can't remember the official name, but it was Monchong fish and so delicious! The pineapple rice and the sauce were so yummy! My husband ordered the Mahi Mahi (also GF), which was unfortunately overdone and the purple rice really did not go over well with him, but I thought it was ok. Unfortunately they did not have much for GF dessert options, so I ordered a liquid dessert, the Espresso-Tini which was yummy and my husband got the Golden Bar dessert which he loved. The environment would have been perfect, but there was a private event with a terrible live band blaring their music. Despite this and the high cost of the meal, we would rate it a 7/10 with a 10/10 view. A nice spot for a special occasion or romantic meal, but there are better, cheaper options for similar dishes if you aren't looking for such a scenic view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great "island drinks" - the coconut mart ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Great "island drinks" - the coconut martini is a must have. The fresh fish is excellent - especially the Ahi tuna dish that was a complex mix of flavors that's hard explain. Just order it and enjoy. Our 10 and 8 year old girls thought the noodle/rice bowls were some of the best Keiki Menu options in Maui. :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Last Night on Maui

Dined on April 30, 2016

Diner at Humuhumu was the perfect way to end our fabulous Maui vacation!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Interesting but room for improvement

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were 3 families, celebrating a milestone birthday. I'll start with the cocktails, they were, at best, OK. With an average price tag of $17 each, I would expect something creative and incredibly delicious, they definitely were not. Creating unusual cocktails using local and unexpected ingredients is what I would expect in an upscale Hawaiian resort. Instead, it felt like a menu that would have been considered exciting in 1989. They are in desperate need of bar menu revamp. The food, on the other hand, was interesting and delicious. Not exactly incredible, but definitely very good. Between us, we had a variety of starters and entrees. The portions were generous and the flavors were good. We also shared a bottle of wine and a couple of OK desserts. The service was blah. They delivered everything we needed but the staff seemed bored and 'over it'. When you're serving guests at one of the most expensive restaurants in Hawaii, it should be reflected in the service. The only real thing this place has going for it is the ambiance. The beautiful and peaceful environment provides the old school, high end Hawaiian atmosphere that one would expect while celebrating a special occasion in an upscale resort. I'm glad I had the experience (and that I could afford it) but it was way overpriced and I would not go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Amazing Dinner in Wailea

Dined on April 29, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner here! The food was excellent. The service was excellent. The view was excellent. It's a unique place basically on a pond near the ocean in Wailea (part of the Grand Wailea resort). We recommend the Haiku Tomato and Scallops appetizers. We had both and enjoyed them both a lot. For entrees, we had the Seared Ahi Loin and the Fresh Catch of the day. Both were delicious. The service we received was excellent as well, as we felt we were treated extra special for our honeymoon. Our server also went out of her way to take several pictures of us in different places to capture the amazing view. Overall, a great experience for us and we recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful & Fun

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Great location for sunset romantic dinner. Food was excellent, service was great. One of our favorites on Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Enjoyed Humuhumu, which we go to every v ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Enjoyed Humuhumu, which we go to every visit to Maui. Consistently good. Tasty hamachi appetizer which we shared, excellent main courses (I had the ahi), good happy hour prices on drinks. Went early and were seated at a good table for the sunset, albeit in the bar which wasn't great ambiance. Service was friendly but not attentive.

food4
ambience5
service5

We have ate hear at least 20x. Nice plac ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We have ate hear at least 20x. Nice place to have a dinner with great ambiance the food is good but the Four Seasons is better. I will still return nonetheless as this is a tradition Our waiter Larry was outstanding.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Humu Humu

Dined on April 23, 2016

We first went to Humu Humu about 5-6 years ago and went for the second time recently. Overall, a good dining experience. We had the filet and monchong. Both well prepared. The tomato & mozzarella salad and the upcountry green salad were also good. We split coffee and the Humu pie, which is basically Hula Pie in a normal portion. Our seating was right next to the entrance at the bar which was not ideal. We came at 8:30. A seating before sunset would be more ideal to get a better view of the fish all around you below. Definitely coming back next time though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing night

Dined on April 23, 2016

This is a must-do place to eat during a trip to Maui. The ambience, the view, the setup, the service, and the food were spot on. We ordered the ahi tartare--perfection with the citrus vinaigrette, the lamb--exquisitely tender, everything was delightful. Wish we could go back today.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great views over the water w fish swimming around

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Beautiful Resturant with excellent views, great food and service!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding creative dishes and impeccab ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Outstanding creative dishes and impeccable service. The atmosphere is very South Pacific.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great service from larry and the kitchen

Dined on April 21, 2016

Had lobster and ahi. larry was our wait staff. provided great service. attention to detail was outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Humahuma yummyyummy

Dined on April 21, 2016

Spectacular of sunset from your open air table while dinning. The sashimi Hamachi is spectacular as is the seared ahi with foigras dinner you really cannot go wrong with any ofurther the fish dinners all are super fresh and delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

over the top experience

Dined on April 20, 2016

Experience transcinded all expectations, excellent dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Specutacular service, food, and breathtaking views

Dined on April 16, 2016

We celebrated my parents' 50th Anniversary and the service at this restaurant was above and beyond our expectations. We were seated outside in our own round patio above the water. The food and drinks were brought to us quickly and everything was made to perfection! After dinner, I asked for the dessert menu and our wonderful servers said this was already taken care of while giving us dessert plates. They brought out two servings of this amazing ice cream over an Oreo crust with Happy Anniversary written on the plate; we were so grateful for their kindness. At the end of the night, they brought stuffed animals to both of my kids and parents celebrating their 50th, it was a PERFECT night! Thank you again!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on April 15, 2016

I am always amazed at the consistency of this restaurant. The food, the waitstaff and the ambience are just tremendously consistent and this makes coming here enjoyable for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food here is amazing and the ambiance is ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food here is amazing and the ambiance is great 100% recomended

food3
ambience5
service4

Good food but overpriced considering its ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Good food but overpriced considering its hotel affiliation. Amazing atmosphere when dining at sunset. Can be a little noisy some evenings as the restaurant is RIGHT NEXT to the luau facility that is held 3 or 4 nights a week, but it wasn't disruptive. Food was good, recipes were imaginative, and our server was very helpful and pleasant. I would recommend this as a great overall restaurant but not an exceptionally good value for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Sunset Restaurant

Dined on April 6, 2016

Always amazing food and ambience. Truly a night not to be missed.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.