About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Maui’s top resort restaurant boasts a refresh of modern Hawaiian details, a subtle nod to ocean themes including voyaging, and the debut of award-winning Chef Mike Lofaro’s Hawaii Seasonal Cuisine menu. Smartly executed to spotlight the main ingredient with simple and balanced flavors, Lofaro's Hawaiian Seasonal Cuisine screams the ocean while introducing locally-grown produce. Lofaro is the reigning Best Chef on Maui and is a 2016 EMMY™ Award-winner for his television show SEARCH Hawaii, Where Food Meets Culture.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are tying the knot, reuniting with family or attending a business meeting in paradise, Humuhumu offers a variety of options for large party and private dining options.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Munsey: (808) 875-1234 ext. 3953

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Scenic View (27)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Romantic (19)
Waterfront (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Family Style (4)
Fun (4)
Historic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Cozy (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
758 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As good as we remember from 1999. The en ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

As good as we remember from 1999. The entire restaurant us over water and you can occasionally see fishes. The menu is tipped towards appetizers, actually better (said our server, Taj) for groups. As a couple, we tried the Spicy Beef and Scallops, both of which were excellent. For the entree, we had the Crispy Mahi Mahi, again which was outstanding. For dessert, we had the Chocolate Garden, which was simply decadent, and the Surfing Goat Cheesecake, which was a deconstructed cheesecake and which my wife said was amazing. Overall, we highly recommend Humuhumu and will come back again when next on Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu is rather exotic. Should check the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Menu is rather exotic. Should check the menu before going. Kept getting sewer smells from time to time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Ambiance and service was good, but the m ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Ambiance and service was good, but the menu is one of those over the top which is difficult to decipher...nothing is familiar, and what we did end up ordering, we wouldn't order again....we won't be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful views. Loved it. Would highly ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful views. Loved it. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent! Service was terrible ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent! Service was terrible. There were several times when we were sure they had forgotten we were there. Definitely not what we expected from such an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great experience! We had a reservation a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience! We had a reservation after sunset, and the place was alive and energetic. Food was excellent. We decided to have several smaller plates and one entree, which worked out well for two people. Lots of space in the restaurant! Would highly recommend for any dinner occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic It was beyond perfect. Excel ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic It was beyond perfect. Excellent food presentation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive but worth every penny. Go at s ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Expensive but worth every penny. Go at sunset. View is wonderful.

Food amazing flavors.

Excellent gluten free rolls!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Mahi Mahi -Food wasn't as good as c ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had Mahi Mahi -Food wasn't as good as could have been. Bitter orange taste was too much for me.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great evening, at a fun place. Food was ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great evening, at a fun place. Food was top notch, server was professional. Bar didn't have a blender for frozen drinks... what's with that?

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Got a same day reservation for my birthd ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Got a same day reservation for my birthday and they had a table available. Our server Angela took extraordinary care of us and was probably the best server I have ever had. The food was spectacular and so were the drinks. Angela gave us excellent advice on ordering or meals and was there the whole time, she made the Birthday and night. Will come back and be sure to request her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal. Great local fish selecti ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful meal. Great local fish selection for appetizers and mains. I had the butcher's steak and my wife had the Mahi Mahi. Both were on a bed of vegetables that had amazing flavor.

Best meal we had while on Maui. A little spendy , but great flavors. Service was spectacular as well. Very well informed and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Not a very large menu, b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent food.

Not a very large menu, but our party of 8 did a good job of covering the menu and all of the food was excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we had heard a lot about HumuHumu and the creative, hyper- local menu with the focus on sustainability. Earlier in the week, we ate here with friends but, since this was our last night, we decided to have a quiet, romantic dinner...just the two of us. We shared the Spicy Beef appetizer and I wanted to save room for dessert so I ordered the Ahi. My wife had the Puna Chicks Hen. Everything was terrific and the server had just the right touch to letting us talk quietly yet being attentive. The setting for the restaurant is beautiful and the premise of using locally sustainable food was very interesting. We had read about the chef's recent awards and, for us, the awards were well-deserved. This was the top choice of the many dinners we treated ourselves to. If you're on Maui, HumuHumu is a must!!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful views, great service and amazi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful views, great service and amazing food! Desert is a must as well! Interesting and delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here once a year for the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have dined here once a year for the last five years. Your menu has significantly changed and not for the better.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Not a fan of the re-designed menu or res ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Not a fan of the re-designed menu or restaurant. Got the Ribeye for two... The sides were not shareable size. Also, the options for the starch were fries, rice, or 1/2 cup of new potatoes. Yes, I want to pair fries with my $90 steak.

Overall, the menu was a disappointment from previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

To start off the food here was terrific. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

To start off the food here was terrific. But food is only part of a dinning experience. What I encounter on my visit was a poorly trained waitress and an restaurant that not try to make the dinning experience match the quality of the of the chefs imagination and preparation. My wife and I arrive timely for a 7:00 reservation and than had to wait 20 minutes to be seated in a not to full dinning room. The excuse was that a private wedding dinner was overwhelming the staff. After finally being seated our waitress came and we placed dinner and drink orders. We sat for 25 minutes with water and dinner rolls and and finally singled a bus boy to fined out what happened to our drink order. 10 minutes later our waitress came to ask us what our drink order was. Everything move along well after that but made a mistake in ordering desert as it to 20 minutes for 3 scoops of ice cream to come. We felt the waitress was off someplace on her cell phone. We finally got the check, gave her our card and when she returned with the charge slip, there was no pen to sign with. Training staff is an important part of a 1st class restaurants duty to complete a favorable dinning experience for it's customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Just so disappointed. After being seate ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Just so disappointed. After being seated we were told we would have both a waiter and a waitress who would both take care of us. Ultimately it seemed there was little to no communication between the two.

Our party had two couples. We both order the large steak meant to be shared by two. After our steaks were delivered by one server , we weren't too happy to discover that the pre-cut slices of steak were only slightly warm. Obviously they had finished cooking at least ten minutes before they were deposited at our table. In addition, neither of our servers gave us steak knives, offered pepper or checked on how our meal was until we were 80% finished eating our meal.

There was a green sauce served on the side which had a unique taste. I asked the male waiter what the ingredients were. He said he didn't know but would find out. Then the waitress came by and told us that the sauce was almost identical to pesto sauce except for one ingredient. The the male waiter then returned and said he checked with the cook and it contained a number of ingredients including anchovies. The 2 lists of ingredients wasn't even close. After we finished the entree we told the waiter that we would prefer not to have dessert and asked if we could have our bill. Ten minutes later the waitress came out with dessert menus and had no knowledge that we had already decided against dessert and wanted our bill. I'm still amazed at the lack of communication.

The steak was so-so not just because it was not served hot but because of the amount of gristle.

But the ambience was very nice. And the servers were very nice in spite of the problems.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

The location is gorgeous. The food was g ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The location is gorgeous. The food was great. Our server was fun :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not worth the prices. Very limited menu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Not worth the prices. Very limited menu. Should have believed the negative reviews, but we went with an open mind. Chef is greatly over rated. The kale pigs ear appetizer was very oily. The scallop appetizer was flavorful, but cold. The ahi tuna was in a cold sauce which did not enhance the tuna at all. Setting is lovely and the waitress was very good, but the food was not for the prices charged. We talked to other people who had reservations and then canceled them after seeing the menu. Very disappointed in the restaurant, expected an awesome meal at the gorgeous resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I would eat here again just for the view ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I would eat here again just for the view and decor, but the meal was lackluster and our service was blah. Just perk it up a bit!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Our server Christina was very attentive. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our server Christina was very attentive. She was knowledgable about the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We'd been here on past visits to Maui, t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We'd been here on past visits to Maui, the decor renovations are stunning, unfortunately the food didn't make an equal improvement. The menu is tiny, not a lot of choices although they are creative. The breadfruit risotto tasted like creamy Parmesan Reggiano, had the knife skills provided even sized pieces of breadfruit and the flavor not exclusively cheese, this dish could b amazing. The unfortunate part is though I saved some to go with my dinner, the dinner took so long, it was cold. The scallop appetizer was tasty. Crispy Mahi-mahi was okay, but not wonderful. Greasy fingerprints on the plate didn't make the excessive wait (restaurant was not busy) any better. Likely will not return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I didn't think it was worth the hype for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I didn't think it was worth the hype for sure. food was good but not great. service was awkward and a little slow and seemingly disorganized. they tried to make up for it by giving my daughter a stuffed fish which she loved and was appreciated but with all the stellar food on Maui I did not think it was worth the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Our first visit was nice. Our son absol ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our first visit was nice. Our son absolutely loved the rack of lamb. Scallops were good, too small for a meal. Mahi was good but sides accompanying it we not preferred. We were not a big fan of the "sharing" concept. For a meat and potato kind of person it would be nice to offer optional sides to substitute. Would definitely eat here again but would like more food choices.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Saw great ratings and blog posts about t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Saw great ratings and blog posts about this restaurant. However, there was some fundamental change and it couldn't be worse ever. Only exotic food with pricy and small amount. Even steak cooking was terrible (the most well done). Very salty in general. Maybe good for drinks and small tapas, but no recommendation for foodies and fine dining. Almost all the people on every table looked embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We don't like spending $200 on bad dinne ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We don't like spending $200 on bad dinners.

The Opaka was dry and overlooked. Or not fresh?

Humu Humu just reopened a month ago.

We were kind of shocked.

We love most everything at the Grand Wailea but not Humu Humu for sure.

Maybe the new chef was off on that Thursday night.

New chair backs were very uncomfortable. We saw 4 back pillows; they need 40.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Best scallops on earth I'm pretty sure. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Best scallops on earth I'm pretty sure. Everything they serve works well together as they have mastered flavor pairings and profiles!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Pleasantly surprised. Remodel seems to h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Pleasantly surprised. Remodel seems to have opened up the restaurant- they've taken advantage of the amazing views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I live in Kula and we had ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My husband and I live in Kula and we had my brother in law visiting from California celebrating the life of his partner of 30 years who unfortunately passed a few months back. Maui was a special place for them and we wanted to honor his love of good food so we chose HumuHumu. We were not disappointed. It was an amazing experience all around. Best cocktails, best pupus and with me being vegan it can be a challenge but the server Patricia was more than willing to answer all my questions and find out answers if she didn't know them and triple check on top of that! The entrees were divine and we all enjoyed every bite and every moment. The pools surrounding brought in nature and the views resulted in a spectacular sunset. HumuHumu is a World class restaurant and words cannot describe my appreciation to all involved who play a part in making magical memories for all the guests. Mahalos and a hui hou.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

limited menu, disappointing selection, s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

limited menu, disappointing selection, steak option was skirt steak with so much jalopino pepper i could not eat it, waitress brought fish substitute , mahi maui which is available everywhere on maui and was nothing special

we were disappointed,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I had my honeymoon dinner at here, great ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I had my honeymoon dinner at here, great staff and food. I like this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was exceptional. The entree opti ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Service was exceptional. The entree options are somewhat limited. Check the online menu before going to make sure there is an option for everyone. The lamb was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First impressions count. We arrived for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

First impressions count. We arrived for our 6 pm reservation at 5.40 pm. The restaurant was at best 10 percent full. There were two gentlemen without reservations asking to get in. Matre de fumbled with computer for ten min then told them to wait at bar and she will see.they left. We checked in and asked to be seated, now ten min early for reservation. Though no one was in line, she said she had to wait as she had to Check in 5.45 reservations and for us to wait in bar. We went to bar and asked if we could eat there which we did. Appetizer was served in two min after order. Risotto which was good ($16 each). Ribeye for two ($90) came before we finished appetizer. Matre De now comes up to seat us. We say we are almost done - forget it. We were out of there by 6.25, restaurant less than20 percent full but line at matre de desk? Need new front end. Food pretty good, scenery great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I would recommend it with reservations. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I would recommend it with reservations. The setting is unique (miss the aquarium) and it isn't too noisy (not sure on your graph if the short line mean low score or quiet). Our server was attentive at first before our whole party assembled but we only saw her once after entrees were served. My friend and I were disappointed in our ahi swimming in sauce, the color was off, and my husband was disappointed in the quality of his steak. The new chairs are super large and the menu very small. I think my feet were three inches off the floor. I understand the chefs concept of presenting smaller servings to larger but just not enough menu choices. Our first two dining experiences this year were wonderful but I was kind of embarrassed in front of our four friends this time. We had trouble changing our reservations on Open Table too. Had to do it over the phone in the end. We were unable to add additional people to our reservations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We had an outstanding evening at Humu wh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had an outstanding evening at Humu while staying at the Grand Wailea. It was the last night of our Hawaiian vacation and also my birthday. All the tables are outside in a beautiful, contemporary Polynesian style. The service from Clayton, Josh, and Noah was excellent, and the meal was heavenly. We had the Mahi Mahi, the lamb, and skirt steak and each dish was creative, well prepared, beautiful, and delicious. They brought out 3 heavenly desserts (complimentary) and each one was fabulous. It is a pricey restaurant but if you are looking for a special evening out, we recommend it highly. Enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

menu was limited, service was lacking as ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

menu was limited, service was lacking as the server rarely came around. just not that great of an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Very attentive personnel. Elise was our ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very attentive personnel. Elise was our waiter and she did everything to make sure we are comfortable and enjoying our meals. We celebrated our 5 years anniversary. We felt welcomed. Atmosphere is serene and peaceful, beautiful sunset.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a 39th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We celebrated a 39th wedding anniversary here and we couldn't have asked for a better server than Wendy. She was highly attentive, provided recommendations on food and wine and overall made our experience a memorable one.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.