About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Voted "Chef of the Year" and "Most Innovative Menu," 2016 Aipono Awards. "Best Resort Restaurant;" and "Best Ambiance,"Maui News Readers Choice, Readers Choice Awards 2009-2011. "Best Table for Two," and "Most Romantic Table," ISLANDS Magazine, "Best of the World's" editor's choice, 2009, 2012 and 2013. Romantic and exotic, this Maui ocean side restaurant offers the most spectacular sunset views. Named after Hawaii's state fish, the Polynesian thatch roof restaurant seems to float on a million-gallon saltwater lagoon filled with tropical fish. Savor delicious Island fish and meat entrees with Polynesian or Hawaiian influences.

If you are booking between the dates of August 28 – December 15, please note that Humuhumunukunukuapua'a has been temporarily relocated to our former Kincha restaurant location in the hotel’s Hawaiian gardens. Humu will operate in the new location with the same friendly and attentive service, same award-winning chef and menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
The Humuhumunukunukuapua’a - Hana Room is a spacious private section of the restaurant available to seat up to 48 people with views of our salt water lagoon and serene waterfall backdrop. Full restaurant buyout also available.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Reservations: 8088751234x51

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Aloha! We look forward to welcoming you on Thanksgiving Day!

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

Scenic View (77)
Great for Outdoor Dining (69)
Romantic (69)
See All
Special Occasion (59)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Kid-friendly (20)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Waterfront (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I enjoyed the service very much, and the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

I enjoyed the service very much, and the food was not bad. I was hoping for a better experience, but since the restaurant was temporarily moved for renovations it's just not the same. I feel as though the menu could have been fuller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

One of the best dinning experiences on M ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best dinning experiences on Maui.

Great place to celebrate any occasion.

Try the scallops and Surf and Turf.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They are in their temporary location rig ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

They are in their temporary location right now for remodeling and we missed the awesome views but the food and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and service. Kudos to our ser ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. Kudos to our server Clayton

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is displaced to anther lo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The restaurant is displaced to anther location on the property while the Humu is being spruced up, so this evaluation is based on a temporary restaurant site. Once back in its rightful location I think the star rating will rise

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Booked restaurant a few weeks in advanc ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Booked restaurant a few weeks in advance. This would be our 3rd trip to Humu.

So,,not knowing Humu Is Currently Relocated to Paradise rest which is a Japanese style. My personnel least favorite ambiance. I wouldn't have gone. Food went up in price. Hulu pie was small. Not worrth it. The server was awful. The male serving staff was great. We won't go back. $500.00. $18.00 drinks come on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

The location of the restaurant is what m ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The location of the restaurant is what makes it a place to visit. This time, they relocated temporarily for renovation. It would've help if that info was posted on Open table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Justin was our waiter for this second vi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Justin was our waiter for this second visit and was Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Although the restaurant was moved to a t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Although the restaurant was moved to a temporary location while their permanent spot is being renovated, we weren't disappointed. We didn't have sunset views, but the ambience was quite nice. The food (ahi with foie gras) was outstanding and the service was exceptional. I think our server's name was Leis and she was knowledgeable, sharing information about the menu and culture to us as well as to the group next to us. She created a delightful experience for us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We scheduled this dinner while on vacati ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We scheduled this dinner while on vacation to celebrate our 30 year wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was beyond expectations and the sunset view was amazing. Our waiter was over the top as you would expect at a restaurant of this caliber. The food was good but I have had similar quality at less expensive places. The dinner rolls could be purchased at the grocery store. I expected fresh baked. Overall, go for the experience and be happy!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was great! Food was actually very ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Staff was great! Food was actually very good. They are closing this week for renovations until Dec in this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Expectations were not met, largely due t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Expectations were not met, largely due to the ineffective service and poor cocktails. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We saved this restaurant for the last ni ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We saved this restaurant for the last night of our vacation. It was a fun place to be, and the food and views were fantastic. Our waitress Christina was so genuine and provided amazing service. We will be requesting her in the future!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding, as always. We were greeted ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Outstanding, as always. We were greeted and only had to wait about 3 minutes to be seated. OUr server was so kind, and very patient as we had our 3 year old with us and she was just oohing and aching instead of concentrating on eating. The drinks were on point, food delicious and the sunset was beautiful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lack of options and food was cold

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Lack of options and food was cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

It was fantastic. But more than anythin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

It was fantastic. But more than anything Justin, our server, made the whole experience amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely phenomenal dinner! Food was p ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal dinner! Food was prepared to perfection and portion sizes were spot on. Our server (Justin) absolutely made the experience- he was so friendly, helpful and pleasure to speak with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the ahi tuna and even my kids' mea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Loved the ahi tuna and even my kids' meals were amazing! The view/ambiance is incredible. Im going back tomorrow again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was good, not outstanding like I've ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was good, not outstanding like I've heard. Special fish of the day was dry and sauce was minimal.

I made reservation with open table asking for a special table as it was our anniversary. They did not mention our anniversary nor give us a special table.

Very pricey for the portions. However out waitress was very nice.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great view @ sunset depending on table F ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great view @ sunset depending on table

Food good not amazing

Great kids value though

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The staff at Humuhumu were very kind and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The staff at Humuhumu were very kind and attentive. We celebrated our honeymoon dinner there and they were very accommodating. The food was excellent as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a disappointment. This restaurant h ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What a disappointment. This restaurant has definitely gone downhill. My husband and I ate here in July 1993 on our honeymoon. Watched the sunset, overlooked a lagoon filled with fish, ate a great meal. I was looking forward to this dinner. The fish tanks are now gone and the lagoon is filled with stagnant, dirty, disgusting water. No matter where you sit in the restaurant and when you walk in to the hostess station, the water is unappealing. All kinds of things are floating in it. How can you spend so much money on a meal that is tasty only to look at stagnant, dirty water? Took all the joy out of the meal not to mention the taste and appeal of the food. The restaurant was barely half full at 7:30 pm on a Saturday. Hmm... In Hawaii, and at a huge resort, if a restaurant is half full at prime time on a prime day, turn around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Great service and food! We celebrated ou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service and food! We celebrated our wedding at the Humuhumu and the whole experience was fantastic. Thanks for a great night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Kitchen timing is poor. One entree arriv ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Kitchen timing is poor. One entree arrived warm, one cold. Cold one was rack of lamb. Good ambience with sounds of Luau in background. Could be a keeper if the food service improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Had a 8:15 reservation and didn't get se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had a 8:15 reservation and didn't get seated until 8:40.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I was celebrating my birthday and they b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday and they brought me a special dessert and gift to celebrate which was very nice. Beautiful sunset setting. The menu was somewhat limited. Not a lot of fresh fish choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Delicious food, excellent service and be ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service and beautiful views. We eat here everytime we visit Maui and we always leave satisfied with plans to come back again on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was everything we hoped ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This restaurant was everything we hoped for. The food was delicious, the waitress was wonderful and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a place that has always been at ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is a place that has always been at the top of my list of faves. Having not been here for ten years, I assumed it would be the same or even improved. Sadly the famous moat usually filled with incredible sea life, is now moldy toxic green stagnant water. This swamp draws mosquitos, so beware. Giant bumps all over us!! They said they are about to close for renovations BUT that should not mean the guests toward the end should suffer thru mediocre food and lazy service, while sitting in the sad swamp land. Soooo bummed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Perfect night in Maui. Could not ask f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Perfect night in Maui. Could not ask for anything more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience seated at the round pri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great experience seated at the round private tables!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ocean view and sunsets are amazing. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The ocean view and sunsets are amazing. Very romantic for a special occassion. The food is top quality in taste and presenation. The wait staff are very friendly and attentive. We come here every year for our anniversary.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely, if slightly weathered place. Wel ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Lovely, if slightly weathered place. Well deserved positive reviews. Fantastic service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delicious meal and a wonderful ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a delicious meal and a wonderful waitress. She was very knowledgable about the menu and was willing to offer suggestions when asked. The view from our table was breathtaking. We highly recommend this restaurant for a special romantic occasion, such as a honeymoon or anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing food. The scallops are in ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always amazing food. The scallops are insane but so is everything else. Great service and sunset.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting is spectacular; grand grass ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The setting is spectacular; grand grass building overlooking koi pond and Pacific Ocean. Food was quite good - although they 'ran out' (?!?) of one of their signature dishes when we dined. Service was abysmal with waiter disappearing for extended periods of time - which really frustrated everyone at our table. Definitely go - but avoid Michael as your server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

HumuHumu is a beautiful restaurant in an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

HumuHumu is a beautiful restaurant in an absolutely gorgeous setting! When making the reservation we requested either table #70 (large round table sitting on a pier which must be reserved at least 72 hours in advance...didn't know that at the time) for our group of 5, or a table near the rail on the ocean side; we received neither request, in fact we were at the furthest point away from either requested table. However, after asking to be moved, the hostess was more than happy to find us another table with a somewhat better view of a wonderful sunset. The food was good; I'm giving it 4 stars because A) the service was sub-par, in turn the food was not served at it's optimum temperature and B) the menu had multiple items that featured Mahi, BUT, it was all being substituted with another fish that evening...the alternate fish wasn't nearly as good. The waitress was friendly and nice; however, was missing a lot...drinks weren't refilled/replaced in a timely manner, food was delayed, long wait for the check, etc. The saving grace for me was THE dessert...Humu Pie! Don't miss it; it will make you forget what happened before that point in your meal!! Overall, HumuHumu is a dining experience that I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Went for our anniversary. Great food, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Went for our anniversary. Great food, outstanding service, and the view was spectacular!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The sunset view was amazing, but of cour ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The sunset view was amazing, but of course it makes for a very warm and glaring experience. The overhead fans help, but since the restaurant sits on top an ulua pond, it also helps circulate the smell. We enjoyed the seared scallop appetizer, and a couple signature cocktails. The filet was ok, but the seared ahi was delicious. Make sure to save room for their desserts!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Awesome awesome awesome , food , service ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Awesome awesome awesome , food , service and ocean view was awesome

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.