About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

Maui’s top resort restaurant boasts a refresh of modern Hawaiian details, a subtle nod to ocean themes including voyaging, and the debut of award-winning Chef Mike Lofaro’s Hawaii Seasonal Cuisine menu. Smartly executed to spotlight the main ingredient with simple and balanced flavors, Lofaro's Hawaiian Seasonal Cuisine screams the ocean while introducing locally-grown produce. Lofaro is the reigning Best Chef on Maui and is a 2016 EMMY™ Award-winner for his television show SEARCH Hawaii, Where Food Meets Culture.

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are tying the knot, reuniting with family or attending a business meeting in paradise, Humuhumu offers a variety of options for large party and private dining options.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Munsey: (808) 875-1234 ext. 3953

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (73)
Waterfront (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
See All
Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (50)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Local Ingredients (37)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Authentic (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Casual (10)
Cozy (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Family Style (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Organic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Historic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (3)
People Watching (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
852 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Always eat at Humuhumunukunukupaa when in Maui. Great food and attentive service. We hit Restaurant Week and got a fabulous 3 course meal at a reduced cost, which was an added benefit. Restaurant has been renovated since the last time u as there, but the decor hasn't changed, only the menu, slightly, and the standards are still up to the original's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful sunset with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing and the atmosphere couldn't have been more inviting! This restaurant is what you would imagine when dreaming of dining in an exotic and romantic venue!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Very slow service, portions are tiny, I ordered the crispy mahi and received a piece of fish that was no more than 5oz. I left hungry and for the money spent here it's unacceptable. Many better local places than this.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

Small portions but still filling. Go before sunset the view is amazing!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant overrated. Starting with the fact that the bar doesn't have a blender to make tropical drinks at a Hawaiian resort, along with beer only served in a can at a high end restaurant. Server dripped juice from plate several times on us. Risotto was very tasty, as was the tomahawk steak.
The view can't be beat, but the service is sub par.
The tip automatically added to the bill explains the lack of service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent restaurant. Great ambiance, views, service and outstanding food. Ken is an outstanding server - class act. Restaurant also gives back to locals. Ferraro's can learn from this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent food and service! Our Brazilian waitress was wonderful. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience here for our wedding anniversary. They put us in a table with a beautiful sunset view with dessert and a gift! The food was top notch, especially their Opaka fish. Would dine here again whenever in Maui.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had a great honeymoon dinner at the Grand Wailea's signature restaurant. The location and view can't be beat. The food was very good and we were presented with a complimentary desert for our celebration dinner. Our server was ok, but we wished for the one at a neighboring table who seemed MUCH more informed and engaged. Expensive, but well worth the price for a special dinner. Aloha!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I miss the old humu humu with beautiful aquarium in the bar. No fish in the lagoon to look at. The menu was trying too hard to be different and eccentric (pigs ears, etc) and not "classic" Hawaiian fare. Very disappointing. The service and view, however, were excellent.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Really good restaurant in a world class hotel. Ambiance, service and food were world class! Ken was an outstanding and knowledgeable server who also pointed us to some of the most sought after items on the menu. Seek him out! The food is definitely better this time vs a few years ago. One of the best dining experiences we have had on the island

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I've dined at Humuhumu a few times. The restaurant has a great ocean view and is particularly beautiful if you get one of the outer row tables during sunset. The service is almost always top notch. This was my first visit to Humu this year and I was a little surprised to see a new menu. Normally, this wouldn't be a problem but my wife and I were really looking forward to "surf and turf" and it is no longer on the menu. We started with the Baby Butter Lettuce Salad, which was excellent. For the main course, we opted for the Maui Cattle Butcher Steak. It was a perfect "medium-rare" as ordered but I was underwhelmed by the dish. I would say that it was very good but I thought the sauce overpowered the accompanying greens. The server did a great job though. Overall, it was a very nice dinner...it just didn't quite live up to the expectations from our past dining experiences.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service was great and the food was amazing, truly a great meal worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This place has an amazing view of the sunset. My husband and I had gone here for dinner one night at 5:30 and was able to view the sun go down behind the mountain. Would definitely recommend this place. Food and service was really good

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

What a pleasant experience. We were dragging and in a not so great mood after taking a nearly 14 hour trip from NJ. The drinks, appetizers, and entrees were excellent. Despite a full house, the meal came out in a very timely manner and tasted fantastic. We definitely recommend Humuhumu to all who visit Maui.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I took my 11 year old grand-daughter to dinner for her birthday. The staff treated her like a princess. The food was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Ate there last year and it was incredible. Went for Anniversary this year and extremely disappointed. Service not good, my wife's crispy mahi mahi was good, but that was about it. All 3 appetizer were not good at all

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Beautiful place with great service but it was over priced Not worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Outstanding food.....excellent setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Vow renewal

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

A wonderful place to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. The food was beautifully prepared and our table on the lagoon was a perfect romantic setting. We had the fish for two and were not disappointed. Service was casual and attentive. A very memorable meal!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Some of the best service we've experienced anywhere... period

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Don't waste your time and money!!! Ok food at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Ho Hum Ho Hum. Much more appropriate.. The food was overpriced, unremarkable, and inconsistent. The service was painful. The good news is the bug did not come with the Tuna Poke. At least we don't think so. You know it's a bad meal when the best thing about it was the flavored butter that came with the dry, ordinary rolls. At least until the bug decided to move from the tuna to the butter. Thankfully we only had to wait ten minutes for new butter. Frankly, the whole experience was a bit bizarre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Disappointing menu. Slow service. When you go out for an anniversary dinner and all you can find to order is a salad, I would call that an unsuccessful meal. I have gone here for many years but won't be back again unless the menu changes. The selections are too limited.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Wonderful ambiance for any special occasion while on Maui. Beautiful views and excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This was the worst place we have ever eaten. The menu is very limited, the food was awful and it is very expensive. I would absolutely not recommend this restaurant

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We couldn't be more pleased with the entire experience of Humu. From the greeting at arrival through the dessert. Everything was perfect. I would highly recommend that you make Humu a stop on your visit to Maui.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Scenic View, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Awful!

We were celebrating our anniversary and had requested a quiet table. We arrived early for our reservation and reiterated that we wanted a quiet table and we're happy to wait at the bar until one became available. Our reservation was for 7:45, we were seated closer to 8:00.

Our table was about as far from quiet as possible. It was in the middle of the loudest part of the restaurant. Not only was it loud, it was a table for four. My husband ordered a stiff drink while I returned to the hostess stand to request a different table, you see people arriving after us were given exterior tables for two (apparently they had standing monthly reservations ... yeh ....).

Being that it was now after 8:00 and we were hungry we decided to stay, which we regret. The food was absolutely nothing special. The crunchy Mahi Mahi was flavorless. Our appetizers were removed from the table before we finished them. The server had zero wine knowledge or interest in explaining the menu to us.

Overall, a regrettable experience at a highly overrated restaurant in the most overrated / overhyped hotel in Wailea.

We were surrounded with screaming children and people in baseball hats. We watched one group walk out once they'd reviewed the menu and two others refuse the first table they'd been offered. We should have walked out.

Lesson learnt and not to be repeated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Manager was great. Accommodated special arrangement for the kids. Best place on Maui afaic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had Kylee has our server and she was wonderful. She had great knowledge of the menu and we loved her recommendations. Her service made the evening extremely special for my wife and I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We were staying at Ho'olei and decided to have our final meal on property. I was a bit skeptical after reading some reviews but was pleasantly surprised. We had a group of 9 (4 adults and 5 children). They placed us on our own table in a special pod on the water. It was great because I didn't have to worry about my kids being too loud because we had our own "space". Our waiter was fantastic. He offered good suggestions and was very friendly with our group. He served my kids' food promptly while the adults were still enjoying drinks and appetizers because my kids were very hungry. Also, my son is on a gluten free, casein free, soy free diet and they were able to accomodate his needs just fine. They even had a gluten free bread basket for him! I was most impressed with the service and quality of the food. It was a great way to end our vacation! I would definitely go back with my family.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food was amazing! Service too! Love the changes to menu and decor. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our second visit, both were after the remodel and updated menu. Both visits were terrific! We had the same server both times, Patricia, who was friendly and efficient. The food is wonderful and creative. We tried to sample different items on this visit. We had the Ulu Risotto, Ahi Poke, Lacinato Kale & Fried Pig Ears, Spicy Beef, and the Maui Cattle Butchers Steak. The Kale and Pig Ears sounds weird which is exactly why I wanted to try it but the flavors were so interesting with the jalapeño and lime vinaigrette. Second time to get the ulu risotto - new to ulu and I love it. The ahi poke was fresh and came with little thin crispy sweet potato chips which I enjoyed. My husband liked his steak which sits on a tasty bed of ulu and dates. The menu is not kid friendly which seems to be what some are complaining about but things change. This is a nice, high end restaurant with a creative chef, not Chuck E. Cheese. We will definitely be back - for the food and the unbeatable view and the nice Kama'aina!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food in an excellent setting

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Not to be missed!!! Truly an amazing meal!!! Beautiful beachfront sunset view! Incredible food! Amazing service! Outstanding service! Great gluten free options!!! Perhaps the best meal on Maui!!! Plus Humuhum... Plus Joe's fur the kiddie to take home... awesome all around!!!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It was just ok. I was hoping for a lot more fresh fish but allí got was a little piece of something. I don't even recall what it was...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Services was mixed. Our server was great. She was assigned to at least six tables of four or greater with one assistant and service teamember. She was overtaxed but had a great service attitude and remained positive. Service person (food server bring out food from the kitchen) tried to serve us three different tables' food. Upon arriving, our napkins were missing. Water glasses were spotty and lipstick stains were left.

Food was inconsistent. Had the scallops and oapaka. Fish was cooked perfectly but the ginger rice was too acidic and the cucumbers with seaweed were clumped in too much liquid vinegar. Scallops were ruined by the truffle lemon sauce. Way too salty and lemony. The natural taste of such a high quality scallop could have come out better. Sauce seemed to be over seasoned and lemony liquid, although did not break the cream, was well cooked out to the point of it being a soup versus a sauce.

What saved this place is obviously one the the best sunset views in the world. Despite the mixed service and food, my family still enjoyed Humuhumu......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I miss the old humu menu and ambiance!!! Bring back the lobster!! We have gone every year for the past 12 years... unfortunately it's just not what it used to be!!! It's missing the charm it once had (actually the whole resort is). They have modern furniture in an old resort, it doesn't match up to well.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.