About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Voted "Chef of the Year" and "Most Innovative Menu," 2016 Aipono Awards. "Best Resort Restaurant;" and "Best Ambiance,"Maui News Readers Choice, Readers Choice Awards 2009-2011. "Best Table for Two," and "Most Romantic Table," ISLANDS Magazine, "Best of the World's" editor's choice, 2009, 2012 and 2013. Romantic and exotic, this Maui ocean side restaurant offers the most spectacular sunset views. Named after Hawaii's state fish, the Polynesian thatch roof restaurant seems to float on a million-gallon saltwater lagoon filled with tropical fish. Savor delicious Island fish and meat entrees with Polynesian or Hawaiian influences.

If you are booking between the dates of August 28 – December 15, please note that Humuhumunukunukuapua'a has been temporarily relocated to our former Kincha restaurant location in the hotel’s Hawaiian gardens. Humu will operate in the new location with the same friendly and attentive service, same award-winning chef and menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
The Humuhumunukunukuapua’a - Hana Room is a spacious private section of the restaurant available to seat up to 48 people with views of our salt water lagoon and serene waterfall backdrop. Full restaurant buyout also available.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Reservations: 8088751234x51

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Aloha! We look forward to welcoming you this holiday season!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Aloha! We look forward to welcoming you this holiday season!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Aloha! We look forward to ringing in the New Year with you and your guests!

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (22)
Scenic View (20)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Waterfront (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Healthy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Cozy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
677 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great, but the ambiance (tempor ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great, but the ambiance (temporary, while the main location is under renovation) wasn't optimal in the Kincha location. Cocktails were not worth the price and weren't particularly exciting, but the rest of the meal was quite good. We were somewhat annoyed with how many families were present with very loud, young children. When spending nearly $200 meal for two, I'd like to be able to hear my wife without having to listen over a yelling child a few tables away. Service was good, but the surfer vibe that a few of the waiters put off didn't seem to match with what they're going for with the menu. Overall, I'd like to reiterate that the fish preparations were, really, quite good, but the rest of the experience wasn't quite as outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Prior to making our reservation we had s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Prior to making our reservation we had seen online that this restaurant was rated one of the best in wailea. The food was terrible and very fragrant. Way overpriced for the quality. We are from New York so we are used to the high prices but the food should refl ct that. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Humuhumu is temporarily located in a dif ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Humuhumu is temporarily located in a different location at the Grand Wailea. We arrived and used valet to park. There was no mention of a location change. We walked all the way to the restaurant only to find a sign stating they were in the North Gardens with no directions or map. We called and no one answered so we walked back to the front of the hotel to find the new location. Sadly, it was our last night and we wanted a sunset view. The new location has a view of gardens but not the sunset. It was disappointing to have no one tell us of the location change either before our arrival and even after arriving and speaking to at least three hotel employees that knew where we were going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great service and food. Can't wait until ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great service and food. Can't wait until they move back into their new venue.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We wanted to try this place since it had ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We wanted to try this place since it had such great reviews although we were sad to miss the usual location on the water! We thought the food was good, good service although we got stuck in a corner all by ourselves when there seemed to be plenty of tables in a nicer part of the restaurant that were empty. Definitely try the Humu pie. We actually thought the man who brought us bread (coconut rolls and mango butter - WOW!!) and water was the most friendly and helpful. He even went out of his way to find us on our way out to say goodbye. Overall - we will be back the next time we visit Maui to check out the newly renovated location!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The restaurant has a temporary location ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The restaurant has a temporary location in a closed down Japanese space. No notice that it moved. Hotel maps didn't show where it was located. We were walking all over to never find it ourselves. We asked a maintenance worker at a sign advertising the restaurant if he could show us where it was. We were seated in what they called a great location which was in the bar! Waitress was overloaded so she was literally running around. Menu very small. Food was good but because of the ambience the meal wasn't worth it. We were very disappointed since we remembered our visit a few years ago. Would not recommend and it left us with unhappy memories. Wish we had not stayed for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Beautiful location, great food, superior ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Beautiful location, great food, superior service. One of Maui's hidden gems for dining.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant is undergoing reservations so ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Restaurant is undergoing reservations so they have an alternate dining location that's not nearly as nice. We were disappointed with the venue. Also our waiter wasn't friendly at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was excellent but the temporary ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was excellent but the temporary location was a downer. Very noisy and slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Unfortunately disappointed... Let me say ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Unfortunately disappointed... Let me say first that I feel for the fact that they are renovating however... I booked using Open Table, but never received a confirmation call to explain the restaurant was under renovation and that the open air seaside experience was not available. I choked to be seated in what felt like a back room on the temp space where I could see decommissioned restaurant equipment in plain sight. We were moved to a more open table in view of the courtyard but the AC was so strong they were handing out sweaters to ladies. You could not feel the warm air from the open window. Our server appologized but could do nothing about the AC.

Furthermore, while the service was pleasant and courteous, it was not becoming of a higher level restaurant. Our drink order was missed, all our food was just placed on our table with no description or other embellishment of how it was prepared which you sort of expect in a fine dining establishment. Again, I describe the service as rudimentary. Last insult to injury was a mandatory 18% gratuity for a party of 3! Our server informed us this was "hotel" policy. To be frank that seems outrageous given the lack of ambiance in the temp space and the expected service level at this price point while in the Grand Wailea.

At least the kitchen came thru. The food was fabulous. We just did not feel like we ate it in one of the main restaurants of the Grand Wailea Hotel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2

We dined here as part of Maui restaurant ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We dined here as part of Maui restaurant week, and chose the fixed 3 course menu. It was an awesome experience, the food was fantastically prepared and our server was wonderful. I would highly recommend this restaurant, and I think it will be even better once it returns to the newly-renovated section of the Hotel...

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for restaurant week and had a three ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Went for restaurant week and had a three course meal for $50. Appetizer was really good. Both of our main courses were a let down (Mahi Mahi and filet mignon. Which are supposedly two of their signature dishes.). Had way better fish at the cheap places in town. If I had paid full price for these meals I would have been very frustrated. Only great thing about the night was being able to walk around the Grand Wailea Hotel.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Enjoyable and authentic atmosphere in a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Enjoyable and authentic atmosphere in a romantic setting. Humu offers nice assortment of steak and seafood options in a relatively casual environment at a reasonable price. Tremendous scallops and ahi appetizers. Outstanding Mahi and steak as well as delicious Humu pie!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Open table didn't tell me that they had ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Open table didn't tell me that they had moved temporarily due to the freshening up of their real location. It would have been nice to know. So open table is getting a thumbs down not humuhumu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

The restaurant is in a temporary locatio ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The restaurant is in a temporary location at the hotel. It was uncomfortably cold, and in spite of people putting on sweaters, asking to move, and asking for the air to be turned off, nothing was done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Servers and staff very attentive

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Servers and staff very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very upset that we were not told in adva ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very upset that we were not told in advance that the restaurant was being renovated and so relocated to an indoor, very tired area. Would not have gone. We certainly did not want to be in a windowless room in Hawaii for Pete's sake!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed all of the different ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed all of the different flavors and textures offered by the Chef. Possibly the best culinary experience I've ever had, and I love food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first visit to their new loca ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

It was our first visit to their new location and the new space is very nice. I liked the view from the large windows of thr ponds and water feature

Everyone enjoyed their meal, fresh fish, filet and especially the ice cream pie

The only negative is the management drive to eliminate all specials: no more happy hour, no more half price lobster between 5 and 6, no more prix fixe meal with the surf and turf

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hummu's regular location is currently be ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Hummu's regular location is currently being renovated and this review relates more to the temporary location. We have dined at Hummu many times and our most recent experience was not up to the usual standard. The temporary location lacks all of the ambience that the standard restaurant has, including sunset views. They were playing pop music very loudly, which was super odd for a fine dining experience (and I enjoy pop music, in my car and while exercising). The food was good, although my husband felt his filet was over cooked and lacked seasoning (although we did not complain). The children's menu is very lacking, in fact both of our children elected not to eat. It would be nice to see a children's menu that included the same fresh catch fish entrees in a smaller portion, as my children get tired of Mahi Mahi every night (we asked and they said that our kids could only order it from the adult menu). Overall, an underwhelming experience and we definitely won't be back until they return to the other location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

We were staying at the Grand Wailea and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were staying at the Grand Wailea and read the positive reviews about the chef. This was an anniversary dinner and we wanted it to be special. There was a specialty cocktail menu with some interesting drinks. My husband and I shared the scallop appetizer and ahi appetizer which were both fantastic. I had the mahi mahi entree - divinely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious and thank you Larry f ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was delicious and thank you Larry for your excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not so disappointed in the restaurant bu ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Not so disappointed in the restaurant but with Open Table. Made reservations for bday and last night in Maui at one of the most beautiful restaurants on the ocean. Bummer when arrived for sunset dinner on our final night to find restaurant under construction and at new location. New location you can't see the ocean and could have been found in any upscale mall anyplace in America. I cried in bathroom alone after arrival cause I felt our last night in Maui and my bday dinner were nothing like I planned. Looked back and yes I was warned about new location in regular print at end of confirmation email. I would appreciate a bold red warning before you are allowed to book a reservation for an ocean view restaurant that can no longer see the ocean. I can't express my level of disappointment in last nights reservation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Beware! The location has changed - the r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Beware! The location has changed - the restaurant is under construction so it's temporarily located in a Japanese restaurant off the lobby. So no view, no sunset, no open air breeze. The air conditioner made the room so cold. There was no ambience. The staff really tried hard to make up for it though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

This was a great restaurant- it has move ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This was a great restaurant- it has moved downstairs to the old japanese restaurant- the service was outstanding- it runs cold so bring a sweater- had a great vegetarian noodle dish- that I loved and they even made it spicy for me

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best of the Best in fine dining in W ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The Best of the Best in fine dining in Wailea! Great wait staff and awesome sunset view. The filet and fish specials were exceptional. Don't miss the Huku Pie! Aloha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The seafood was decent, but I did not fi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The seafood was decent, but I did not find it as good as some of the others on Maui. The normal restaurant location within the hotel is currently being renovated, and while the temporary location has a nice view of the hotel, it's not the ocean view one may be expecting. It took some time for our server to arrive, but once she did, the service was decent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I didn't like the temporary relocation o ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I didn't like the temporary relocation of the restaurant My fillet was on the tough side. I thought the portions were small considering the price you paid for the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

I wasn't sure what to order so I was abl ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I wasn't sure what to order so I was able to try a couple of the appetizers and a dessert. Great recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Filet however the accompanying ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Excellent Filet however the accompanying potatoes were mediocre and the greens beans had only been waved over a pot of boiling water, too close to raw for my taste.

To be fair, the restaurant is currently in temporary quarters in the old Japanese restaurant while the "real" Humu" is being renovated.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The waiter and staff service was awesome ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The waiter and staff service was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They are remodeling the restaurant so it ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 10, 2016

They are remodeling the restaurant so it has been relocated to the other side off the resort which is not as nice. The said the remodeled restaurant will be reopen in December. Should have been made aware through their advertising and posting within Open Table. We had relatives vacationing so it was an extra disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

The best food hands down. We were not aw ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The best food hands down. We were not aware of the restaurant location change though! We were sad that they were renovating the original restaurant, but still had a amazing dinner nonetheless !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The original location of this restaurant ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The original location of this restaurant was closed due to renovation. Was unaware of this change until we arrived for dinner. The new location had no views, was dark and closed off. Might try it again once they move back to original locstion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Wonderful place, great decor and perfect ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Wonderful place, great decor and perfect service. The food could be better, it's not as amazing as you'd expect from the price. The catch of the day was a bit dry/overcooked and placed on way too much rice (no matter how special its seasoning was), and the peanut butter/chocolate dish was just okay, nothing I haven't tasted before or that I can't make on my own, especially for these prices. But overall the entire experience was lovely.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

outstanding service and wonderful food - ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 4, 2016

outstanding service and wonderful food -- a must experience in Wailea.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very excellent service. Menu simple but ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Very excellent service. Menu simple but hit all the marks in choices.Would recommend especially when staying at Grand Wailea. The true restaurant is under construction and the ambiance there is wonderful. The substituition was very good.

Expensive but it is fine dining.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It took us awhile to find the restaurant ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 27, 2016

It took us awhile to find the restaurant as the restaurant has been relocated. The service was lackluster. The experience was quite disappointing given the reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Very dissapointed! Understand the diffi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Very dissapointed! Understand the difficulty of being in a temp location, but, the food was obviously preprepared as it came out in under 10 minutes. No way a steak fillet and lobster can be prepped that fast. Lobster was dry and uninspired. We were sat in an isolated corner of the dining area and no other patrons were sat in that same area. Music was too loud and the playlist included Justin Bieber and other top 40 hits. Not even Hawaiian music. Ridiculous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food is good, but not amazing. For t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food is good, but not amazing. For the price, you can go other places that are much better (Mamas, Monkeypod, etc).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.