About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

Maui’s top resort restaurant boasts a refresh of modern Hawaiian details, a subtle nod to ocean themes including voyaging, and the debut of award-winning Chef Mike Lofaro’s Hawaii Seasonal Cuisine menu. Smartly executed to spotlight the main ingredient with simple and balanced flavors, Lofaro's Hawaiian Seasonal Cuisine screams the ocean while introducing locally-grown produce. Lofaro is the reigning Best Chef on Maui and is a 2016 EMMY™ Award-winner for his television show SEARCH Hawaii, Where Food Meets Culture.

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are tying the knot, reuniting with family or attending a business meeting in paradise, Humuhumu offers a variety of options for large party and private dining options.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Munsey: (808) 875-1234 ext. 3953

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (68)
Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (58)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Waterfront (50)
Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Good for a Date (46)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Local Ingredients (34)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Bar Seating (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Authentic (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (14)
Casual (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Fun (10)
Healthy (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Organic (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (4)
Tapas (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 21 hours ago

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The Hunuhumu is one of our favorite restaurants in Wialea. Food is very good and the view is outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Food good not great. Steak was tough. Fish had too many flavors going on. This was our second and last time. That said, the view is fabulous. Service perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was a good night to go on Saturday evening in July at 7:30 pm with most everyone at the luau. The view from our table was amazing of the sky and water along with tiki torches blazing. Didn't have to leave my seat to take a photo of the amazing view. We had 2 appetizers, the Hamachi and scallops, they are small portions for the price but tastefully amazing. The Opaka was delicious and the steak was savory. It was quite a walk down from the lobby and we got lost. There are no signs and directions given by staff wasn't clear, but we eventually found it by following the windy path. We took advantage of the walking the coastline path after dinner. The stars were like glitter in the sky.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I'd say pass on this restaurant. It's very pricey and the food just wasn't delicious. Maybe we ordered the wrong thing but for those prices everything should be spectacular. The service was great, however a bit clueless. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and the hostess sat us in the middle of two fairly loud families even though there was a whole area full of tables with adults and older families. They did offer us dessert on the house which was a nice gesture but I'd have preferred a more romantic table and better food. There are many other restaurants in the area at similar and lower price points. I'd suggest you go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The service is great and the wait staff is too notch! The food was very good too!

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Beautiful and romantic. Great food, service and Maui. What else can you ask for.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Beautiful at sunset, with exotic flavors for fine dining and desserts, plus impeccable wait service. Great date or anniversary spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Was very pleased with dinner! But why we're our doggie bag a brown paper grocery bag, felt like we were ordering take out very strange for a restaurant like Humuhumu!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Amazing ocean view. Great service. Wonderful food.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Everything exceeded our expectations -- by far the best restaurant experience of our lives!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Incredible experience as always. Never skip this when in Maui.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A wonderful night out in Maui on vacation w the family... excellent ambiance, serve and food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Request to eat at conventional table. Making reservation for dinner expected better table, At 6ft 4 and eating at a cocktail table was not comfortable, yet the bar side ambiance was nice , just not suited for comfortable dining for a full meal. Appetizers and cocktails ok, but not full dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Really cool place to eat in the Wailea area! Loved the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 5, 2017

One of our favorite family musts while on vacation in Maui.
The service is always amazing and it is very family friendly.
Amazing menu options!

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary. Dinner was delicious. The ambiance was incredible and our server was attentive, friendly, and informative about the menu. We had an amazing night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were mostly disappointed because the last time we dined at the Humu (17 years ago on our honeymoon) it was just so much more amazing. The fishpond was full of reef fish, there was a super cool lobster tank, I drank a tropical drink out of a coconut, and it just had a different vibe. This time, there were ZERO fish in the pond, you couldn't even order a lobster let alone see them in their tank, and I couldn't even get a LAVA FLOW (our server said there are no blenders at the Humu). We kind of wished we never knew what it was like before so we wouldn't have had anything to compare it to.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Good service and a fantastic view of the sunset - very romantic! Food allergies are no problem, we felt very well taken care of.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Justin was an excellent waiter! Very professional, great sense of humor and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Outstanding atmosphere and ambiance. Food selection is slightly limited but quality was very good. Service was top notch. We've been here before and will certainly be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Patrick was wonderful, very personal and friendly

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Beautiful location. Gorgeous sunset and nice bartender. Food was sub bar. We ordered the tomahawk ribeye for two. Tasteless. Grisle. Worst meal of our vacation and super $$$$. Go for the sunset, have a drink at the bar and then order a pizza

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great atmosphere, but the food wasn't very good, especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Honeymoon.great experience. Food was absolutely outstanding. Definitely recommend

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Renewed 20 th anniv vows on beach then celebrated here afterwards. Excellent experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Our meal was excellent. I wish I could remember our waiters name, but it's been two weeks. He was good and honest. The friend I was with asked for some signature items, which were no longer on the menu. He was very sympathetic and missed those same items. One being a coconut coated coconut martini. Regardless, our meal was excellent. The ambience, perfect. Would go there next time.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great restaurant! Would highly recommend. Beautiful setting , great food and fantastic service. Maybe the best steak I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Outstanding food and service. Ken Caldwell is a class act, try to get him as a server and you will not be disappointed. The quality of the restaurants change over time. Humuhumu has revamped a lot of things as of Dec 2016. It is in our opinion, the best of the resort restaurants in Wailea - views, ambiance, food, drink list, service, giving back to the community, not pretentious - just great place. Ko and Monkey Pod are the other ones in Wailea worthy of mention in terms of food and service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

SO DISAPPOINTED! We had great memories of 5-years ago after our wedding. Based on Frommers and other feedback, we believed we could expect the same. Not so. According to our server, in December the restaurant allowed the Chef to take over and rewrite the menu. As a party of 5, it was hard for anyone to even fine a single item that looked good. We succeeded in finding things to order, but the food was between unfit and average.

I guess if we had looked at very recent reviews we may have picked up on the menu change, but we didn't. The Ribs, one of our favorites from last time was gone, as were several other entres. We'll know better next time.

Even if you have no expectations or history w/ Huku Huku, I advise you to get a copy of a current menu before making a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food..and fun environment!
Patrick was an awesome energetic waiter!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much! Our waiter Patrick was so helpful in helping us decide what to eat. He explained everything on the menu and it was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was our big special dinner while staying at the Grand Wailea for our honeymoon. They gave us a nice table for two right out with a good view although one person had to have their back to the view. The tables are rather close together so you'll be hearing all about what the other people are up to. Lol. The food was very good especially the scallops. All in all a nice dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We recently got back from our stay at the Grand Wailea. Humuhumu was delicious and such a beatiful atmosphere we had such a wonderful time. We ordered different things my favorite 2 nights in a row was their Mahi mahi dish is was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the evening and look forward to encore in the near future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I'm confused by the good reviews. We did not have a good experience at all. The poke was a complete disappointment and lacked any flavor. We asked for soy sauce to help bump up the flavor, and waited 10 min for it after asking a second time. Then it took forever to get our food. Almost 45 minutes! The waitress asked my husband if he wanted potatoes with his steak, claiming they were the best ever, and while they were very good, she failed to mention they were $12 extra (they weren't on the menu so we had no way of knowing). While $12 isn't a lot, I don't know why it has to be a big secret! My husband's steak was quite delicious, but my crusted mahi mahi was so so and def not worth $35. We didn't order drinks, so perhaps that is why we received sub par service but that doesn't account for the terrible poke. My husband and I are big foodies and love to cook, and Humu just didn't cut it for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Three words!

Wow. Wow. Wow.

The food was AMAZING. Anyone that tells you otherwise was taking out their crappy day on their restaurant reviewing.

First of all - don't even BOTHER getting seated with anyone other than Justin. Rumor has it he won employee of the year at Grand Wailea (if that isn't true he should win this year!) He knew every inch of his craft. He knew what paired well together - and we were with friends and between us two couples we were torn between two appetizers - what did Justin do? Let us have a taste of each before we decided we loved EVERYTHING.

We had the rack of lamb, the mahi mahi, butchers steak, tomatoes with goat cheese, poke, radishes and carrots and the scallops - he also brought us complimentary desserts - 1 for each couple as we were both on our honeymoon.

The ambience is amazing, and the setting of the restaurant by the lagoon was phenomenal - for two young couples it really set the tone for our stay - even if we had the meal on our last night in Maui.

This restaraunt is a 5 out of 5 - every day of the week- all the time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great food, wonderful view. Highly recomended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2017

the food was just ok. Very overpriced. Tourist type place. Beautiful setting but that's about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.