About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Voted "Best Resort Restaurant;" and "Best Ambiance,"Maui News Readers Choice, Readers Choice Awards 2009-2011. "Best Table for Two," and "Most Romantic Table," ISLANDS Magazine, "Best of the World's" editor's choice, 2009, 2012 and 2013.Romantic and exotic, this Maui ocean side restaurant offers the most spectacular sunset views. Named after Hawaii's state fish, the Polynesian thatch roof restaurant seems to float on a million-gallon saltwater lagoon filled with tropical fish. Select your own lobster from the lagoon or savor delicious Island fish and meat entrees with Polynesian or Hawaiian influences.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
The Humuhumunukunukuapua’a - Hana Room is a spacious private section of the restaurant available to seat up to 45 people with views of our salt water lagoon and serene waterfall backdrop. Full restaurant buyout also available.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Reservations: 8088751234x4900

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Maui
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

scenic view (103)
romantic (93)
great for outdoor dining (87)
See All
special occasion (83)
fit for foodies (53)
good for groups (30)
notable wine list (17)
kid-friendly (14)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (7)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff went out of their way to make ...

Dined 3 days ago

The staff went out of their way to make our day feel special. We were treated with fantastic appetizers and wonderful dessert. Our son got to feed the fishes in the pond. Wonderful experience no doubt about that.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Good was good but extremely overpriced. ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Good was good but extremely overpriced. More expensive than Spagos at the Four Seasons and a limited menu. Took 40 minutes to receive appetizers . Lady servers were fantastic, bread guy smacked the bread (which was Kings Hawaiian rolls from Safeway) on the table and left. Spicy Sesame beef very good but too spicy for my husband. Lamb was good but not great. We opted out of dessert and went back to our room instead. We stay at the Grand Wailea a couple times a year but avoid this place for reasons like this- usually walk over to the Four Seasons for food. Poor price point for what is received.

food2
ambience4
service3

Average meal, scallops were salty

Dined 5 days ago

Average meal, scallops were salty

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Decent food but not for this price, even ...

Dined 6 days ago

Decent food but not for this price, even after taking into account the "resort tax" that increases the cost of dining out at a resort. For a similar price (or slightly more expensive) try Morimoto at the Andaz.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Beautiful scenery, great service. Food ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Beautiful scenery, great service. Food looks great presentation wise, but very little on the plate for the amout of money you pay. Tastes okay, i think too busy with flavoring and spices, which takes away the actual taste of the fish (we had mahi mahi and ahi). Desert was super small and tasted no different than any other desert on the island. Yes its expensive, but it did not give us the WOW with the taste that we expected. We did it once, but will not go back again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The scallops were awesome and you must t ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The scallops were awesome and you must try the spicy beef and don't forget to have fresh fish for an entree

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great experience!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Surfing Goat andWatermelon salad was ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The Surfing Goat andWatermelon salad was very refreshing

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing anniversary dinner! Fr ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We had an amazing anniversary dinner! From the food, to service, to scenic views, everything was spectacular and met or exceeded our expectations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic menu. Our meal was delicious ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic menu. Our meal was delicious an absolutely fresh. Our server was wonderful, with excellent suggestions and was very knowledgable regarding the flavors and pairings available. The view of the sunset over the sea is unmatched

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Michael Lofaro continues his excell ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Chef Michael Lofaro continues his excellent menu of fine dining and is able to accommodate special menus for those with severe food allergies. Our son has severe food allergies and we always go to his restaurant when we are on Maui because we can trust him to prepare our special menu for our son. He goes out of his way to make a memorable dining experience for the whole family, including those members who have severe food allergies. His restaurant is a gem on Maui.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was good not great. Table service w ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was good not great. Table service was a bit off. Waited for.water.and beverage refills.

food2
ambience3
service2

I would say beautiful atmosphere, food w ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

I would say beautiful atmosphere, food was cooked well, BUT- really Grand Wailea? It's a seafood restaurant. You are on a beautiful resort on an ISLAND surrounded by bountiful oceans. I swear you had more meat offerings than fresh-locally caught-fish offerings. Just overall disappointed. You have a great opportunity to bring big local flavors, take them to the next level, and introduce them to thousands of people who want to experience Hawaii. I felt like the flavors could have been found anywhere. Nothing special nor "Hawaiian" about them. Well cooked, beautifully plated, but nothing special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Humuhumu is a world-class restaurant. Be prepared for awesome. All western Maui beach-side restaurants will have beautiful sunset views; however, Humuhumu goes several steps farther with magnificent artwork, an authentic Polynesian structure, koi ponds on three sides of the restaurant, waterfalls and lots of great seating. On top of that, count on awesome service because it's at the Grand Wailea. Make sure you have mahi-mahi or ono - you won't regret a single bite.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebration dinner

Dined on May 31, 2016

We had dinner at Humuhumunukunukuapua'a with our girls after our wedding vow renewals. The service was exceptional and the food exceeded our expectations. We enjoying our late evening dinner at the private table 70 which was a special treat. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We got there early planning to sit at the bar and

Dined on May 30, 2016

We got there early planning to sit at the bar andwatch the sunset. We discovered the bar seating to be quite small and full. Overall I think the facility is in need of some maintence, not sturctural, just deep clean, paint and varnish. The waitstaff was excellent, attentive and eager to give us a good dining experience. The food was excellent. It was our anniversary which we indicated on our web reservation. The waitstaff knew that and wished us a happy anniversary and took our picture with our camera. The complimentary happy anniversary desert was much appreciated, thank you. I would and will reccomend this resturant to others who go to Hawaii. An engineering note, the ground pathways are shabby and the grass adjacent to the pavement is worn down to mud due to the maintenance and hospitality vehicles traveling on these paths. A quality improvement suggestion would be to widen the paths so the landscapping will not take a beating by the wide as the paths vehicle operations. The quality of the grounds maintenace is in stark contrast to the excellent maintenace of the main hotel buildings.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

almost five stars

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Have been coming to Maui since 1990, but our first trip to Humuhumu Great meal as part of Wailea Reataurant Week. We arrived a couple of minutes early for our 6:45 reservation, but had to wait around 10 minutes for our table. Loved the food and ambience and would have given it a five star review except we were a bit rushed after we ordered . No problem as we pursued the wine list then ordered. However, our entree came just as we finished our apps and our Hula Pies came as we had a couple of entree bites left, so we felt as if the meal was rushed. We will give it another try whe we return to Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant on Maui

Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I stumbled upon this place while secretly doing a self tour of the Grand Wailea. Now with every trip back to Maui we reserve one night to dine here preferably around sunset. The ambiance is amazing. It's like sitting at a tiki bar that is atop it's own little lake complete with Giant koi and also next to the ocean. The food is generally above average and the staff is wonderful. This past visit we struck gold with "Restaurant Week". 3 course dining with great choices and a price you couldn't beat. As usual - Huma's doesn't fail to disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 Stars!

Dined on May 29, 2016

I'm so glad I took advantage of the Wailea Restaurant Week special and chose Humuhumu! The selections for the special were delicious and ambience of Humu is so relaxing. It was fun watching the fish as we waited for our meals. We received excellent service from our waitress Elis and the rest of the staff. Making the reservations using OpenTable was a breeze. I'm looking forward to dining there again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Taste of Maui experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

The Grand Wailea is a Majestic Luxury resort. An engineering marvel. One of the most detailed beautiful places on the island. I was looking forward to a dining experience that was just as grand. Humuhumunukunukuapua is located on the grounds surrounded by a salt water lagoon. On the beach boast a proud advertisement of the it's award winning chef. Many years ago I stayed at the Grand Wailea and vowed I would eat at that restaurant . The taste of Maui gave me that opportunity. I made the reservations and off we went. The staff there was excellent. We had a first and second server with aloha spirit. Drinks were decent. Then we ordered the taste of Maui menu. The only thing that tasted right was the scallops. The appetizer was good. Then it went down hill. The Mahi Mahi was so salty. I could understand one dish, but my wife's was just as bad. The black rice and bokchoy on both dishes were terrible. Tough rice and bokchoy saturated in sauce. The dessert was Humu Pie. It must have been sitting in the refrigerator for a while. It was hard. My wife and I were very disappointed at that point.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great time in Maui

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great vibe. Fantastic views of ocean and sunset. Very good service and food was good. Would say be ready to spend a little money but that's Hawaii.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service1

Good food, awful service.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Good food, awful service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant. The food is excell ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. The food is excellent and the service is impeccable. I highly recommend the spicy beef appetizer. Absolutely stunning flavor palate. The Mahi-Mahi was cooked perfectly and the accompanying Forbidden Rice was delectable. For dessert, definitely try the Humu pie. Decadently delicious!! HINT: Get there an hour before sunset. The view is incredible!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1

Worst dining experience

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Worst dining experience

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant with the hard to pronoun ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

This restaurant with the hard to pronounce name is terrific. Our server was about as good as it gets. She took upon herself to treat us to a drink when she heard our 30th anniversary was next year when we wouldn't be on island. Really thoughtful & friendly. Food was really good and the surroundings were beautiful to behold, Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful sunsets, great food and servic ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Beautiful sunsets, great food and service.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Cool spot

Dined on May 24, 2016

It makes you feel like you're in Hawaii, food was good, cocktails were sweet and service was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value for experience and food

Dined on May 23, 2016

Four of us went to this restaurant to celebrate a wedding anniversary. We got lucky, because at that time, this restaurant was participating in the Wailea Restaurant Week event. Which meant, we got to try some delicious three course meals for a steal! The service was wonderful. We had attentive waiters, who filled our glasses and served us with grace. Atmosphere is very pleasant. I can see why this place is considered to be romantic by most reviewers. Even though, we had dinner after the sunset, it was still very charming and our corner table by one of the resort's waterfalls was relaxing. Seafood that we tried included scallops and mahi mahi. Both were good. Filet mingion was not only juicy but also had a slight hint of pineapple in the wine reduction. I will be craving that meat for as long as I can remember. The dessert was also great. I tried the goat cheese watermelon treat. It was unique and thus memorable. If you have a sweet tooth, however, go for their Humu pie. It's rich, delicious and the portion is more than enough to satisfy two.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, service, and location. ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent food, service, and location. Well worth any wait and perfect stop for dinner

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service are excellent. Polynes ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Food and service are excellent. Polynesian theme over water.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Humu is a nice choice for dinner. B ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Humu is a nice choice for dinner. Best view for sunset is the bar side. Steaks are always good. Miss their halfprice lobster and surf and turf special they used to have

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1

Server was rude. Restaurant full of smo ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Server was rude. Restaurant full of smoke from the luau next door. We left before ordering. This place reminded me of a Disney restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This restaurant at the Grand Wailea is v ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This restaurant at the Grand Wailea is very, very good. The food is both delicious and in good portions. The wine list is, like so many, overpriced. The good news is that it is not as overpriced as some other places, the selection is good, and variety is very good also. Table service is very friendly and professional. Warning: If you have any kind of walking issues, this may not be for you. There is a bit of a walk down a bit of a grade. It is a beautiful walk, but may require a wheelchair for some.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal for us, a ewly engaged couple ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great meal for us, a ewly engaged couple -- the food was cooked perfectly. Humu was worth the price, if not for the food, then definitely for the wonderful view of the beach and the novelty of being surrounded by a salt water pond full of fish.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We both had the mahi mahi. I personally ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We both had the mahi mahi. I personally not a fan of fish but it was amazing. I have to say, the dish was better than mamas fish house!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

great sunset, ok food

Dined on May 14, 2016

The sunset view is awe inspiring, has to be the best view on the island. The food was OK, well made, just didn't jump off the plate at you.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a meal

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We had our last night in maui at the restaurant and what a great meal. The service was great. My only complaint was the wine I bought for dinner was not what they charged me for when the bill came. I was in a situation where I did not want to deal with it so I let it slide but not what you expect from a restaurant like this. the food however was amazing. And I will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service4

My wife & I were very excited to have di ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My wife & I were very excited to have dinner at Humuhumu on our last night at the Grand Wailea. Unfortunately we were VERY disappointed with our entrees. The lobster tasted more like fish than lobster. The steak was very "gamey". We don't mind paying extra for a great meal, but our entrees certainly did not meet our expectations.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful meal with friends -good food a ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wonderful meal with friends -good food and noise level was low enough to easily have a conversation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Humu's always takes great care of us and ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Humu's always takes great care of us and provides great food while meeting all of my food allergy needs (they don't just steam some veggies for you--they actually cook it and make it taste good even if you can't have the original recipe). Setting is wonderful, noise is minimal and we never feel rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.