About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

Maui’s top resort restaurant boasts a refresh of modern Hawaiian details, a subtle nod to ocean themes including voyaging, and the debut of award-winning Chef Mike Lofaro’s Hawaii Seasonal Cuisine menu. Smartly executed to spotlight the main ingredient with simple and balanced flavors, Lofaro's Hawaiian Seasonal Cuisine screams the ocean while introducing locally-grown produce. Lofaro is the reigning Best Chef on Maui and is a 2016 EMMY™ Award-winner for his television show SEARCH Hawaii, Where Food Meets Culture.

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 11 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are tying the knot, reuniting with family or attending a business meeting in paradise, Humuhumu offers a variety of options for large party and private dining options.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Munsey: (808) 875-1234 ext. 3953

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Aloha! We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Aloha, we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Aloha, we look forward to welcoming you soon!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Aloha, we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (62)
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
Romantic (51)
See All
Waterfront (47)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Special Occasion (44)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Local Ingredients (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Authentic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Cozy (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Healthy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Live Music (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
1058 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful full dinner in the bar area. There were comfy new furnishings with fun staggered height tables. Our meal was perfect...delicious fish and rack of lamb! We especially liked the tasty brussel sprouts.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service beautiful table and decor, But the food was amazing!! I was highly recommend this restaurant. I am a very picky eater and this was probably one of my top 10 favorite meals ever eaten in a restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Taj is the best waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Beautiful open air setting, ironwood walkways over tiki lit coral ponds, under wood and thatch pavilions. Food top notch, great local flavors and ingredients, artistically presented (you'll be photographing each dish).

Pricey but one of a kind, worth a splurge for special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Only complaint is that the portions were very small. For example the Hamachi Carpaccio was probably the smallest appetizer I've ever had. The cheesecake was elegant looking and tasting but only a few tablespoons in volume.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Went to dinner here after coming 5 years prior on our honeymoon. We were getting away for a date night and wanted to try it again. While the restaurant was busy it was not over crowded or noisy. Our server (Justin) was fantastic. He was around when needed but not intrusive or over talkative. His recommendations were great and the chefs prepared food that if eaten individually might have been good, but when combined with other items on the plate were outstanding. We would highly recommend humu humu to anyone wanting to get out for a great meal with nice ambiance. It is a little speedy but well worth it in my opinion

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We dined at Humu one year ago and a group of 8 enjoying a wonderful evening with very delicious food. This time we were a party of four. All agreed we would not return. Nothing felt special, except the lovely setting. Our food was blaugh.☹️ Expensive, and not a good choice compared to other Wailea choices.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Best restaurant in Wailea! The food was divine, the service amazing, and a view that can’t be beat! Expensive but totally worth it. My vegan husband loved it too. Plenty of delicious options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Humu humu is a very good restaurant for a hotel. Great atmosphere, friendly staff overall a wonderful experience. Highly recommend the whole roasted fish for two if it's on the menu... a lot of fun to eat!

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Absolutely fabulous. 6/5 stars. Our server, Justin was wonderful and the food was outstanding. Mahalo Humuhumu!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 7, 2017

The mahi mahi was quite tasty but it felt like Denny's service at fine dining prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Fantastic food, stunning location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Having food and amazing views ! Risotto is to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Our Server, Angela was awesome and so helpful in understanding all the amazing choices on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Service was extremely slow and food and drinks were mediocre at best. Quality of food was not worth the high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2017

I am glad I read reviews before showing up or I would have been very upset. Service is slow! Had to wait ~5-10 minutes to be seated even with reservation - but it was Anniversary dinner so they are setting the best table right? No. Even with 1/2 full restaurant they put us in a table in the middle of the floor. Waiter gave us an overview of the menu by saying "here are the appetizers, here are the entrees". It was surreal. No recommendations on the food. Salad came - never offered pepper. When asked he went to get it but the table next to us, seated 20 mins without a waiter, grabbed him, so the waiter forgot. He sent hostess over 5 mins later w pepper, but already done salads. The view is great - the food is avg, service is poor-to-horrible and the prices are high. So prepare yourself and all will be good :)

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2017

amazing restaurant. beautiful sunset views, thatch roofs great service, mixology drinks and wine. mahi mahi amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2017

I asked for a $90 medium rare fillet with lobster and received a well done steak with a lobster that was not cleaned well and had foreign objects in it.

Best view and service, sub par food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2017

My wife and I shared the tomakawk ribeye; best steak I have EVER eaten. Amazing s
Food, service, and ambiance!

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Justin was great! Gus def us through the menu it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food was worth the wait, but the service could have been better. The waiter took too long and only visited the table three times. It was not a great anniversary experience. It could have been with better arte tion to the customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 4, 2017

What a fabulous meal with amazing service (thank you Justin) and food that was outstanding! Loved the lagoon seating and view of the ocean. We definitely will make this our Number 1 stop everytime we are on the island!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great views, great service. Knowledgeable servers. Ours knew the menu and pairings inside and out. High recommendation.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Fantastic, food and service great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Absolutely the perfect place. The menu is locally sourced and very nice. The service is peer the top!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Came recommended. Server wasn’t a fan of many menu items and voiced his opinions clearly which dampened the entire experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Our dining experience was outstanding. The atmosphere, the service, and the food were first class. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2017

While the menu is a bit abbreviated, what is available is delicious. I would prefer more distance between tables but overall ambiance is very nice. Big bar, great drinks, pricey but expected at the Grand Wailea.
Would I return? Maybe. But a lot of other quality restaurants to try first.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Little disappointed in the food. I really hoping the Ambiance would match the food. However, sadly it did not. The steak was sent back 3 times for being undercooked. they did comp the steak but, had to eat after everyone finished. The fish dish that was ordered was good but nothing I would go back for. I must say the view was great. We stay at Grand Wailea couple of times a year so we are familiar with the resort, not sure if we will go back to HUMU but, maybe

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2017

I would love to actually be able to review the food at this restaurant but we never got that far! My husband and I were staying at the Grand Wailea celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and thought we'd stay close and try HumuHumu. We had a reservation for 7:15pm, showed up on time, and were told there were several people ahead of us. We were asked to take a seat at the bar to wait for our table. We ordered a few drinks, and the waiting began. The hostess came over not once, but twice to apologize for the wait (around 20 minutes at this point). No huge deal - we had cocktails! We sat for another 10 minutes , and at this point started to wonder what was going on as the dining room was almost empty! We were finally showed to our "very special" table - a two-top right on top of another customer and her hyper-active child. Mind you the restaurant knew we were celebrating our anniversary. Anyway, we were poured water almost immediately, and then once again, the waiting began. Multiple servers walked past our table without acknowledging us at all. After 15 minutes we looked at each other and decided this was crazy!! So we got up and left. On our way out, there was a line of people waiting at the hostess desk. We wished them all luck in passing. My husband placed a call to the F&B manager on duty, and I did receive a text from the restaurant manager much later that night (11:30 pm) offering a do-over on the house but we really had no interest in returning. Bottom line - poor management all around. We expected more and were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Truly a lovely setting, and we are glad we were able to sit in the dining area, overlooking the pond. We were first offered the bar area, but didn't want the noise and movement. Thanks to the team for relocating us. Good steak for one of us, and good vegetarian choices for the other. Great staff, attentive, and determined to meet our needs. I'd recommend the Plumeria Lei cocktail.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Spicy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We went back for a second time this week because the food and service was so good. Great traditional hawaiian food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Nancy was so great! She made our anniversary special! Beautiful sunset!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Excellent all around, best dinner we have had on Maui so far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2017

It was nice romantic place with really interesting kitchen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, terrible service, expensive but tasty food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Despite being in a huge resort every time we dine here we have an amazing meal. The seafood was outstanding and the steak was cooked perfectly. Were looking forward to going back. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2017

We’ve celebrated 5 consecutive anniversaries at Humu because the food, service and ambiance can’t be beat. The dishes are so creatively prepared with lots of different flavors that all work together. This is a restaurant that cannot be missed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Gorgeous setting, great service, delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Service was extremely slow. No one in restaurant, and had to wait at sat at bar for 15 minute and never served, asked to be seated and would not seat early. 6:30 reservations meal was done at 10:00 PM. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.