About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

Maui’s top resort restaurant boasts a refresh of modern Hawaiian details, a subtle nod to ocean themes including voyaging, and the debut of award-winning Chef Mike Lofaro’s Hawaii Seasonal Cuisine menu. Smartly executed to spotlight the main ingredient with simple and balanced flavors, Lofaro's Hawaiian Seasonal Cuisine screams the ocean while introducing locally-grown produce. Lofaro is the reigning Best Chef on Maui and is a 2016 EMMY™ Award-winner for his television show SEARCH Hawaii, Where Food Meets Culture.

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are tying the knot, reuniting with family or attending a business meeting in paradise, Humuhumu offers a variety of options for large party and private dining options.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Munsey: (808) 875-1234 ext. 3953

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Aloha! We look for forward to welcoming you on Easter Sunday!

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Aloha! We look forward to welcoming you on Mother's Day!

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Aloha! We look forward to welcoming you on Father's Day!

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

66% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Waterfront (36)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (30)
Local Ingredients (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Authentic (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Fun (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Healthy (5)
Historic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
793 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very disappointing . This is the 2nd time we stayed at the Grand Wailea and the food was not as good across the board. Humuhumu was especially poor for the value. Plenty of very good places in Maui, so why go here. Waiter was OK, but he kept apologizing for the changes to the menu, which seemed odd and telling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great view of the sunset. Food was superb. Both my wife and I were very pleased with the prep. Very upscale. Will definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Disappointing menu with very very good seafood options. Food was bland with no creativity. I would recommend going elsewhere in Waielea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Horrible we were very disappointed with the steak platter it was burned and they did not follow instruction on cooking

Beet salad was amazing
Risotto ok but portion was tiny

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent service, great food, unbeatable sunset !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Disappointed with menu. Butcher steak terrible=chuck steak. Ridiculous price for really poor menu. Used to come every year but not anymore. Drinks were small pours. Good luck - hopefully this improves!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our food was delicious but our server completely ignored us. She said she was refilling our drinks before our meals were served but we never saw her again till she asked if we wanted dessert??? Asked for more bread and butter but that also was just forgotten. Very disappointed in our server but the food was very good. It was a birthday celebration and that also was overlooked. SB

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Newly reopened and refreshed. The atmosphere is very "Hawaiian" and the food quality was excellent. My only comment would be a somewhat limited menu selection. I had the lamb chops, my wife had the fresh fish and both were wonderful. More attractive choices on the menu might have been appreciated. Overall, a great meal on property and we will certainly visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Special dinner during vacation. Absolutely amazing experience from beginning to end.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had been to the restaurant years ago on a prior vacation with my spouse. Was celebrating my retirement with my husband, my two daughters and their spouses. Wanted the rest of the family to enjoy one of our favorite dining experiences. The service, the food and the beautiful sunset was just perfect.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Changed menu from when we were there a year ago. Not a big fan of the change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was extremely slow and we felt ignored. Maybe understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome meal. Got the roasted fish for two which was amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Wow wow wow !! This place has all that and a bag of chips! Beautiful location on property of the 5 Star Grand Wailea resort. From the moment we stepped up to the wait stand to he time we left everything was on point and amazing. We had a wonderful Ahi Poke appetizer followed by our sharing of the whole fish entree.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Stayed at the Grand Wailea but had heard from numerous friends recommendations to make sure we eat here regardless of where on the island your staying. Was wonderful and very enjoyable meal, service and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food and service in an intimate Maui setting overlooking the water with wonderful sunset views.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

So disappointed! We used to love coming to the humu humu. The only thing left is the view which is still lovely

The menu has been completely overhauled and everything we loved was removed.....no lobster, no surf and turf, no hula pie

Half a page to chose from, such a completely limited menu

All three of us chose different menu items (and based on the tiny size of the menu) we tried most everything. So average, nothing special

I would go back for a cocktail in the lovely bar area and completely skip having dinner here

The waiter told us that he hears it frequently that people miss their old favourites so hopefully others will take the time and voice their request to blend the old favourites i to their new menu

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Our Server was Justin and he was delightful. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and offered great recommendations. Everything we ate was prepared beautifully. The presentation was picture worthy. We enjoyed the ulu risotto and scallops before the main course of opakapaka, crispy Mahi and rack of lamb. The ulu risotto was the winner, hands down. The sauce served over the scallops was fantastic! (It goes great with the rye bread too! Order a little extra sauce on the side for dipping) Overall, my experience at Humu's was a 10. It was a beautiful and memorable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Awful experience. Service was horrible. Set us 15min after our reservation time and the waiters were rude. We were on our honeymoon and they set us next to huge loud parties with kids getting out of their seats and running around. Once the food came it was ok. It is not worth the expensive price. Mamas Fish House is wayyyy better. Spend your money there. This place is over rated. And we were even guests of the hotel.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Even 6 years after the top guide book panned the service, nothing has changed. Waiter was indifferent and into himself. Interestingly, the busboy was one of the most pleasant people we encountered on Maui. Wish their roles were reversed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

So disappointing. Waiting for renovation and new chef/menu. Slight updates to decor are nice but nothing dramatic (the fish tank is gone which is a plus). Server was pleasant and tried hard but the menu was disappointing-about 8 appetizers and 5 entrees plus 2 share plates, 1 being the whole fish, which is not my idea of a good share plate. Arrived at 7:25 for 7:30 rez, seated at 7:40 even though the place was 1/2 empty. Did not leave until almost 10pm...sloooooow. The food was fair to poor, depending on what was ordered but not worth the wait and we will not be back. Ko beats here hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Menu choice was extremely light and one of the choices was out that night. My wife and I had to get the same dish because we both felt that was our only option. However that dish was done perfectly and was properly served. Great destination, but scout ahead to make sure the menu is to your liking!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere, although many tables will likely not have an ocean or water view. The food was not worth the price - the citrus sauce on the Mahi-Mahi was overpowering and quite strong. Overall not an optimal dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Awesome experience. Beautiful setting. Simple and delicious seafood!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Despite some glowing reviews, we were pretty prepared for the Waldorf-Astoria version of Bubba Gump's...but with the most spectacular views in the world, and being in Maui, we were cool with that. The setting...overlooking the shores of Waileia, looking out at the sunsets and the West Maui mountains in the background...surrounded by koi and palms...would have made salmon croquettes edible. We knew that they knew they really didn't have to try that hard to make magic. Then we got the meal...oh my. Hit every note like a well played clavichord. Fish couldn't have been fresher, the meat more tender, the greens leafier. The wine list went from up to the $4000/bottle Eagle, but our much more affordable chards were a perfect complement. Must do will do again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was excellent, as always, but my complaint is that for what you pay the portions are quite small. I am very happy to spend a lot on dinner, but don't like the feeling that a conscious decision was made to increase profit margin in a way noticable to the consumer.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Weak at best... Food was decent a little Kale crazy. Service was embarrassing

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our dinner was spectacular. The food was delicious and the setting could not have been more beautiful. Plus the service was attentive and very generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Our server, Christina was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Good service, atmosphere, one meal was very good fish, flank steak tuff

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We've come her for years, but this time the food was disappointing. Too bad. The ambiance and location is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We ordered the shared sneak dinner and it was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here and were very happy with our meals. This was our second time dining at Humhumu, the first was on our honeymoon and both times were great. I think our server was a little overwhelmed, he was given several tables all within a couple minutes of each other and he had a bit of a hard time keeping up. One of the assistants stepped in and made sure that we had everything we needed though so we couldn't complain. The food was just as good as we remembered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As good as we remember from 1999. The entire restaurant us over water and you can occasionally see fishes. The menu is tipped towards appetizers, actually better (said our server, Taj) for groups. As a couple, we tried the Spicy Beef and Scallops, both of which were excellent. For the entree, we had the Crispy Mahi Mahi, again which was outstanding. For dessert, we had the Chocolate Garden, which was simply decadent, and the Surfing Goat Cheesecake, which was a deconstructed cheesecake and which my wife said was amazing. Overall, we highly recommend Humuhumu and will come back again when next on Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Menu is rather exotic. Should check the menu before going. Kept getting sewer smells from time to time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Ambiance and service was good, but the menu is one of those over the top which is difficult to decipher...nothing is familiar, and what we did end up ordering, we wouldn't order again....we won't be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Beautiful views. Loved it. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was excellent! Service was terrible. There were several times when we were sure they had forgotten we were there. Definitely not what we expected from such an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great experience! We had a reservation after sunset, and the place was alive and energetic. Food was excellent. We decided to have several smaller plates and one entree, which worked out well for two people. Lots of space in the restaurant! Would highly recommend for any dinner occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic It was beyond perfect. Excellent food presentation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.