About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

Maui’s top resort restaurant boasts a refresh of modern Hawaiian details, a subtle nod to ocean themes including voyaging, and the debut of award-winning Chef Mike Lofaro’s Hawaii Seasonal Cuisine menu. Smartly executed to spotlight the main ingredient with simple and balanced flavors, Lofaro's Hawaiian Seasonal Cuisine screams the ocean while introducing locally-grown produce. Lofaro is the reigning Best Chef on Maui and is a 2016 EMMY™ Award-winner for his television show SEARCH Hawaii, Where Food Meets Culture.

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are tying the knot, reuniting with family or attending a business meeting in paradise, Humuhumu offers a variety of options for large party and private dining options.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Munsey: (808) 875-1234 ext. 3953

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Aloha! We look forward to welcoming you on Mother's Day!

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (63)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Special Occasion (50)
See All
Waterfront (50)
Romantic (46)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Local Ingredients (34)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Authentic (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Kid-friendly (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fun (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Family Style (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Organic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (3)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
822 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

This was the worst place we have ever eaten. The menu is very limited, the food was awful and it is very expensive. I would absolutely not recommend this restaurant

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

Awful!

We were celebrating our anniversary and had requested a quiet table. We arrived early for our reservation and reiterated that we wanted a quiet table and we're happy to wait at the bar until one became available. Our reservation was for 7:45, we were seated closer to 8:00.

Our table was about as far from quiet as possible. It was in the middle of the loudest part of the restaurant. Not only was it loud, it was a table for four. My husband ordered a stiff drink while I returned to the hostess stand to request a different table, you see people arriving after us were given exterior tables for two (apparently they had standing monthly reservations ... yeh ....).

Being that it was now after 8:00 and we were hungry we decided to stay, which we regret. The food was absolutely nothing special. The crunchy Mahi Mahi was flavorless. Our appetizers were removed from the table before we finished them. The server had zero wine knowledge or interest in explaining the menu to us.

Overall, a regrettable experience at a highly overrated restaurant in the most overrated / overhyped hotel in Wailea.

We were surrounded with screaming children and people in baseball hats. We watched one group walk out once they'd reviewed the menu and two others refuse the first table they'd been offered. We should have walked out.

Lesson learnt and not to be repeated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Manager was great. Accommodated special arrangement for the kids. Best place on Maui afaic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

We had Kylee has our server and she was wonderful. She had great knowledge of the menu and we loved her recommendations. Her service made the evening extremely special for my wife and I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was amazing! Service too! Love the changes to menu and decor. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our second visit, both were after the remodel and updated menu. Both visits were terrific! We had the same server both times, Patricia, who was friendly and efficient. The food is wonderful and creative. We tried to sample different items on this visit. We had the Ulu Risotto, Ahi Poke, Lacinato Kale & Fried Pig Ears, Spicy Beef, and the Maui Cattle Butchers Steak. The Kale and Pig Ears sounds weird which is exactly why I wanted to try it but the flavors were so interesting with the jalapeño and lime vinaigrette. Second time to get the ulu risotto - new to ulu and I love it. The ahi poke was fresh and came with little thin crispy sweet potato chips which I enjoyed. My husband liked his steak which sits on a tasty bed of ulu and dates. The menu is not kid friendly which seems to be what some are complaining about but things change. This is a nice, high end restaurant with a creative chef, not Chuck E. Cheese. We will definitely be back - for the food and the unbeatable view and the nice Kama'aina!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food in an excellent setting

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Not to be missed!!! Truly an amazing meal!!! Beautiful beachfront sunset view! Incredible food! Amazing service! Outstanding service! Great gluten free options!!! Perhaps the best meal on Maui!!! Plus Humuhum... Plus Joe's fur the kiddie to take home... awesome all around!!!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It was just ok. I was hoping for a lot more fresh fish but allí got was a little piece of something. I don't even recall what it was...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Services was mixed. Our server was great. She was assigned to at least six tables of four or greater with one assistant and service teamember. She was overtaxed but had a great service attitude and remained positive. Service person (food server bring out food from the kitchen) tried to serve us three different tables' food. Upon arriving, our napkins were missing. Water glasses were spotty and lipstick stains were left.

Food was inconsistent. Had the scallops and oapaka. Fish was cooked perfectly but the ginger rice was too acidic and the cucumbers with seaweed were clumped in too much liquid vinegar. Scallops were ruined by the truffle lemon sauce. Way too salty and lemony. The natural taste of such a high quality scallop could have come out better. Sauce seemed to be over seasoned and lemony liquid, although did not break the cream, was well cooked out to the point of it being a soup versus a sauce.

What saved this place is obviously one the the best sunset views in the world. Despite the mixed service and food, my family still enjoyed Humuhumu......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I miss the old humu menu and ambiance!!! Bring back the lobster!! We have gone every year for the past 12 years... unfortunately it's just not what it used to be!!! It's missing the charm it once had (actually the whole resort is). They have modern furniture in an old resort, it doesn't match up to well.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great place with lots of beautiful views. Highly recommend Larry, he is a fantastic waiter with great recommendations and really friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We have eaten at Humuhumu on each visit to Maui. Previous visit was great for our kids, feeding the fish, nice selection on the adult and kids menus and this is what brought us back. When I asked to be seated by the railing, I immediately looked over for the fish - apparently they were donated when they completed their renovation - okay, not a big deal, however my youngest was looking forward to seeing/feeding them. I quickly glanced over the kids menu, 3 choices, that's it and $12 for each choice...salad, fruit bowl or noodle bowl. Kids food came promptly, no complaints, just no selection. Adult drink menu was limited, as well as the dinner menu. Nice touch with a stuffed Humuhumu for the kids, but honestly felt I was "owed" that after the lack of choices and high prices on the menu ($19 for a adult drink). Can't beat the view, but other than that this restaurant is now on our "do not return" list for Maui.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Not worth it! I thought the menu was really strange - trying too hard to be gourmet. Even the kids menu was weird. Once you got in there the ambiance just wasn't that great. If you're going to splurge on a dinner in Maui, go to Mama's Fish House. Very expensive at Humuhumu!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great service and aside from the large Birthday parties we shared our space with, a nice atmosphere. I rarely eat red meat anymore but was immediately struck by the rack of lamb entree and ordered it. My cordial (the Haleakala Sunrise) a tropical martini, was good. My dinner wine, Ulupalakua Syrah, was perfect, and my after dinner Sake (Jishoju) was barrel aged for 8 years with 4 additional years in safe keeping. Overall a nice dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything was great, our waitress Angela was exceptionally wonderful and very attentive. The one complaint we had was there was a company function next door that was incredibly loud and obnoxious! We at first we're very, very annoyed and disappointed. We had made dinner reservations to have a nice quiet dinner date and to have to listen to loud screaming and thumping wasn't ideal! The chef was very accommodating and tried to make it up by sending us complimentary appetizers and a dessert. The food was very good and We appreciated the extra effort to make it right. But when we made the reservation we should of been told. Overall the food was very good and Angela was outstanding.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The atmosphere is nice. Service was attentive. Food was good...not exceptional for price...enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Absolutely stunning views, delicious food, and great service. The best ahi tuns I've ever had -'d although the plates are pricey, you get a good amount of food for the money.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great restaurant with unique and well served meals. The Mai-Mai is fantastic, so is the beef dish on the entree section. The appetizer are very nice. Make a reservation - you will need it

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The view from the restaurant is spectacular as is the restaurant design itself. The food is pricey as are the drinks. Plan on $100 a head with drinks but the food i excellent and service was fantastic. This is a must go to if you are in Wailea.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Service and food was excellent!
We went there for dinner day before our reservation and got accommodated. Food and service was so good that we went back again very next day. Little pricey, but money well spent

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2017

When I made reservations I mentioned it was my wife Liz's birthday and this was never acknowledged in any way. Usually a free dessert is offered or an acknowledgment from the waiter.
Not a big deal but for a supposed high end restaurant??
Slow service and food was messed up. Will not be returning any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

One of the best meals we have had in a long time. I recommend you order from all parts of the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Patrick was awesome! Ask for him when you order :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food with gorgeous view. If you are looking for a more romantic experience I would request a water view or table on the edge of the restaurant.
We knew this Humu was a higher end restaurant but still found the prices reasonable/as anticipated and the food was very good.
The sommelier was very nice and did ask if we wanted to consider a certain price range before providing recommendations, which we appreciate.
We aren't big foodies but definitely feel this was worth it, so I think anyone that can appreciate a quality meal with a beautiful atmosphere would like it here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

HumuHumu was in walking distance of where my husband and I were staying in Maui ! We spent our last night having dinner there. Our waiter, Larry, was friendly and kind and funny and wonderful and made our evening! The menu is not extremely vast and the food was just "ok." The ambience and the local "flavor" is the real reason to go and we were not disappointed!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food and staff was outstanding. We had a reservation/seat at "Table 70" or the now Table 80. It was a peaceful table with a great view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very disappointing . This is the 2nd time we stayed at the Grand Wailea and the food was not as good across the board. Humuhumu was especially poor for the value. Plenty of very good places in Maui, so why go here. Waiter was OK, but he kept apologizing for the changes to the menu, which seemed odd and telling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great view of the sunset. Food was superb. Both my wife and I were very pleased with the prep. Very upscale. Will definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Disappointing menu with very very good seafood options. Food was bland with no creativity. I would recommend going elsewhere in Waielea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Horrible we were very disappointed with the steak platter it was burned and they did not follow instruction on cooking

Beet salad was amazing
Risotto ok but portion was tiny

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent service, great food, unbeatable sunset !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Disappointed with menu. Butcher steak terrible=chuck steak. Ridiculous price for really poor menu. Used to come every year but not anymore. Drinks were small pours. Good luck - hopefully this improves!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our food was delicious but our server completely ignored us. She said she was refilling our drinks before our meals were served but we never saw her again till she asked if we wanted dessert??? Asked for more bread and butter but that also was just forgotten. Very disappointed in our server but the food was very good. It was a birthday celebration and that also was overlooked. SB

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Newly reopened and refreshed. The atmosphere is very "Hawaiian" and the food quality was excellent. My only comment would be a somewhat limited menu selection. I had the lamb chops, my wife had the fresh fish and both were wonderful. More attractive choices on the menu might have been appreciated. Overall, a great meal on property and we will certainly visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Special dinner during vacation. Absolutely amazing experience from beginning to end.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had been to the restaurant years ago on a prior vacation with my spouse. Was celebrating my retirement with my husband, my two daughters and their spouses. Wanted the rest of the family to enjoy one of our favorite dining experiences. The service, the food and the beautiful sunset was just perfect.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Changed menu from when we were there a year ago. Not a big fan of the change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was extremely slow and we felt ignored. Maybe understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.