About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Voted "Chef of the Year" and "Most Innovative Menu," 2016 Aipono Awards. "Best Resort Restaurant;" and "Best Ambiance,"Maui News Readers Choice, Readers Choice Awards 2009-2011. "Best Table for Two," and "Most Romantic Table," ISLANDS Magazine, "Best of the World's" editor's choice, 2009, 2012 and 2013. Romantic and exotic, this Maui ocean side restaurant offers the most spectacular sunset views. Named after Hawaii's state fish, the Polynesian thatch roof restaurant seems to float on a million-gallon saltwater lagoon filled with tropical fish. Savor delicious Island fish and meat entrees with Polynesian or Hawaiian influences.

If you are booking between the dates of August 28 – December 15, please note that Humuhumunukunukuapua'a has been temporarily relocated to our former Kincha restaurant location in the hotel’s Hawaiian gardens. Humu will operate in the new location with the same friendly and attentive service, same award-winning chef and menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
The Humuhumunukunukuapua’a - Hana Room is a spacious private section of the restaurant available to seat up to 48 people with views of our salt water lagoon and serene waterfall backdrop. Full restaurant buyout also available.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Reservations: 8088751234x51

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

Scenic View (103)
Great for Outdoor Dining (92)
Romantic (91)
See All
Special Occasion (81)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for Groups (27)
Notable Wine List (17)
Kid-friendly (17)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the ahi tuna and even my kids' mea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 14 hours ago

Loved the ahi tuna and even my kids' meals were amazing! The view/ambiance is incredible. Im going back tomorrow again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was good, not outstanding like I've ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good, not outstanding like I've heard. Special fish of the day was dry and sauce was minimal.

I made reservation with open table asking for a special table as it was our anniversary. They did not mention our anniversary nor give us a special table.

Very pricey for the portions. However out waitress was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great view @ sunset depending on table F ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great view @ sunset depending on table

Food good not amazing

Great kids value though

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The staff at Humuhumu were very kind and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The staff at Humuhumu were very kind and attentive. We celebrated our honeymoon dinner there and they were very accommodating. The food was excellent as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food! We celebrated ou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service and food! We celebrated our wedding at the Humuhumu and the whole experience was fantastic. Thanks for a great night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Kitchen timing is poor. One entree arriv ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Kitchen timing is poor. One entree arrived warm, one cold. Cold one was rack of lamb. Good ambience with sounds of Luau in background. Could be a keeper if the food service improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Had a 8:15 reservation and didn't get se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had a 8:15 reservation and didn't get seated until 8:40.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I was celebrating my birthday and they b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday and they brought me a special dessert and gift to celebrate which was very nice. Beautiful sunset setting. The menu was somewhat limited. Not a lot of fresh fish choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Delicious food, excellent service and be ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service and beautiful views. We eat here everytime we visit Maui and we always leave satisfied with plans to come back again on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was everything we hoped ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This restaurant was everything we hoped for. The food was delicious, the waitress was wonderful and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a place that has always been at ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is a place that has always been at the top of my list of faves. Having not been here for ten years, I assumed it would be the same or even improved. Sadly the famous moat usually filled with incredible sea life, is now moldy toxic green stagnant water. This swamp draws mosquitos, so beware. Giant bumps all over us!! They said they are about to close for renovations BUT that should not mean the guests toward the end should suffer thru mediocre food and lazy service, while sitting in the sad swamp land. Soooo bummed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Perfect night in Maui. Could not ask f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Perfect night in Maui. Could not ask for anything more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience seated at the round pri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great experience seated at the round private tables!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ocean view and sunsets are amazing. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The ocean view and sunsets are amazing. Very romantic for a special occassion. The food is top quality in taste and presenation. The wait staff are very friendly and attentive. We come here every year for our anniversary.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely, if slightly weathered place. Wel ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Lovely, if slightly weathered place. Well deserved positive reviews. Fantastic service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delicious meal and a wonderful ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a delicious meal and a wonderful waitress. She was very knowledgable about the menu and was willing to offer suggestions when asked. The view from our table was breathtaking. We highly recommend this restaurant for a special romantic occasion, such as a honeymoon or anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing food. The scallops are in ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always amazing food. The scallops are insane but so is everything else. Great service and sunset.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting is spectacular; grand grass ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The setting is spectacular; grand grass building overlooking koi pond and Pacific Ocean. Food was quite good - although they 'ran out' (?!?) of one of their signature dishes when we dined. Service was abysmal with waiter disappearing for extended periods of time - which really frustrated everyone at our table. Definitely go - but avoid Michael as your server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

HumuHumu is a beautiful restaurant in an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

HumuHumu is a beautiful restaurant in an absolutely gorgeous setting! When making the reservation we requested either table #70 (large round table sitting on a pier which must be reserved at least 72 hours in advance...didn't know that at the time) for our group of 5, or a table near the rail on the ocean side; we received neither request, in fact we were at the furthest point away from either requested table. However, after asking to be moved, the hostess was more than happy to find us another table with a somewhat better view of a wonderful sunset. The food was good; I'm giving it 4 stars because A) the service was sub-par, in turn the food was not served at it's optimum temperature and B) the menu had multiple items that featured Mahi, BUT, it was all being substituted with another fish that evening...the alternate fish wasn't nearly as good. The waitress was friendly and nice; however, was missing a lot...drinks weren't refilled/replaced in a timely manner, food was delayed, long wait for the check, etc. The saving grace for me was THE dessert...Humu Pie! Don't miss it; it will make you forget what happened before that point in your meal!! Overall, HumuHumu is a dining experience that I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Went for our anniversary. Great food, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Went for our anniversary. Great food, outstanding service, and the view was spectacular!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The sunset view was amazing, but of cour ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The sunset view was amazing, but of course it makes for a very warm and glaring experience. The overhead fans help, but since the restaurant sits on top an ulua pond, it also helps circulate the smell. We enjoyed the seared scallop appetizer, and a couple signature cocktails. The filet was ok, but the seared ahi was delicious. Make sure to save room for their desserts!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Awesome awesome awesome , food , service ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Awesome awesome awesome , food , service and ocean view was awesome

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very overrated in food quality and poor ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Very overrated in food quality and poor value for the money! After arriving 30 minutes prior to our reservations, we then had to wait 15 minutes beyond our reservation time because they seated the wrong party ahead of us. They then sat us in the bar, which they said was part of their dining room. Scallops were chewy and salty and mahi mahi was "fishy" tasting, so I really question the freshness of the fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Our waiter, Justin, was fantastic! A tru ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our waiter, Justin, was fantastic! A true professional and he went above and beyond to ensure that our picky party was completely satisfied.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely setting in tiki hut, but menu and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Lovely setting in tiki hut, but menu and servers felt so old fashioned!! Surf and turf and only 8 items on the menu, none of which interested us. We got up and left. Not worth the super high price for uninspired menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The scallops appetizer was very good. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The scallops appetizer was very good. The steak didnt taste really good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazing way to start a vacay. Food. Atmo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Amazing way to start a vacay. Food. Atmosphere. Service. All top notch. Get the scallops!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is beautiful, especially during ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The view is beautiful, especially during sunset. The food is very good, although not a lot of menu choices. Prices are high, but you are paying for the whole experience. We learned they will be renovating soon - hopefully they won't change the look of the place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was wonderful and Accommodati ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our server was wonderful and Accommodating. The food was great and the place was beautiful. Wish there were lights at night to see th beautiful water installations with the salt water fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This used to be my favorite place but I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This used to be my favorite place but I can no longer say it is worth the money. I can afford to eat here with no problem but I do expect not to be disappointed with the quality of the food at the price that is charged. The food quality was far inferior to what it has been in the past and the prices have jumped substantially. The service is excellent as always and the view can't be matched.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

While we were staying at the Grand Waile ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

While we were staying at the Grand Wailea last year and once again this year, we noticed that they were rehabbing various parts of the resort. Last year they were doing the rooms (still some of them being done this year - not entirely sure ) and this year they'd done the Bistro Molokini and we're going to do the Humuhumu this fall. Regarding the Humuhumu, I'm glad to see it get a refresh. Too dark there once the sun goes down in my opinion. The wine list is decent but VERY expensive and the food is as well. We enjoyed our meals and found the portions to be generous and very good. We arrived for our reservation on time but the staff wasn't ready for us necessitating a stop in the bar where they (initially anyway) weren't ready for us either! Come on, this has to be basic to all restaurants and they weren't busy as it was just after opening... I hope that things improve after the rehab. Too much good there to let the basics get in the way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Not crowded but placed at a table in bac ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Not crowded but placed at a table in back of restaurant. Cocktails were good. Food was average. Lagoon water needs changing. Smelled foul. Another restaurant living off of the view. Not worth driving from west side of island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We frequently stay at the Grand Y, the h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We frequently stay at the Grand Y, the hotel where this restaurant is located. We have tried it in the past without great success. For a number of reasons, we had switched hotels for the past 6 trips over the past 3 years.

But, we decided we needed to go back to the Grand Y on this last trip. We searched for new dining sites in South Maui and noticed that Humu.....was rated very highly and the chef had been named "most inovative." My wife ordered the Catch of the Day. It was a very small piece of Moon fish on a bed of very common brown rice. That's innovation for you!

Shame on us, we know better than to choose dining locations in hotels. It was a very expensive reminder to STAY AWAY from most hotel based restaurants.

Cannot express loudly enough how mediocre this place still is. Great views are the only saving grace.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The Humuhumu was not up to the same stan ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The Humuhumu was not up to the same standards as many other Maui Restaurants we visited. The food was OK but nothing really stood out to us. The service was about the same as our waitress was attentive but not personable which was not the norm on this island. The location and ocean views are outstanding however but that is the case with many of Maui's better restaurants. For the money (this place is pricey) Maui has much better options.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Overall the food wasn't bad. it wasn't ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Overall the food wasn't bad. it wasn't the best, but nothing was the worst either.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

So many good resteraunts on island and t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

So many good resteraunts on island and this one is coming off the list. The menu is limited and for an award winning chef, not impressed.

Bye bye Humhumu.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic service, ambiance and food! I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fantastic service, ambiance and food! I would return on my next visit to Maui .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced. Especially, $17 for caprese ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Over priced. Especially, $17 for caprese salad that came with two pieces of buffalo mozzerella the size of a walnut.

Also, $22 for a shot of tequila that other high end restaurants charge $12-$14.

The check for 5 should have been about $250, but turned into $500.

Entrees $42-$87.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Delicious...as always! The goat cheese ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious...as always! The goat cheese and watermelon salad is amazing. The scallops are divine and those are just the appetizers. The monchong is fantastic and my husband couldn't get enough of the ahi loins. One of our 'go to' dinner restaurants in Wailea.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the most fabulous dinner and dess ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had the most fabulous dinner and desserts thanks to Chef Christian Brassfield! Great food, good times. Mahalo for the amazing experience, aloha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.