About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

Maui’s top resort restaurant boasts a refresh of modern Hawaiian details, a subtle nod to ocean themes including voyaging, and the debut of award-winning Chef Mike Lofaro’s Hawaii Seasonal Cuisine menu. Smartly executed to spotlight the main ingredient with simple and balanced flavors, Lofaro's Hawaiian Seasonal Cuisine screams the ocean while introducing locally-grown produce. Lofaro is the reigning Best Chef on Maui and is a 2016 EMMY™ Award-winner for his television show SEARCH Hawaii, Where Food Meets Culture.

Now featuring Brunch on the Reef every Sunday from 10:30am - 1pm.
Please note that starting, Sunday, February 4th, we will be enhancing our brunch and the price will increase to $75 per adult.

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 11pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 10pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are tying the knot, reuniting with family or attending a business meeting in paradise, Humuhumu offers a variety of options for large party and private dining options.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Munsey: (808) 875-1234 ext. 3953

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Details

We look forward to welcoming you on Valentine's Day!

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (54)
Good for a Date (50)
Waterfront (50)
See All
Romantic (46)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Special Occasion (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Local Ingredients (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Authentic (15)
Kid-friendly (11)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Healthy (9)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Casual (7)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Live Music (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined a day ago

Excellent food, ambiance & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Since our first trip to Maui in 2008, we’ve been hooked on the Hawaiian Eye Ophthalmology Meeting. The content is extremely informative while in a tropical paradise setting that is relaxing & rejuvenating. 10 years this month marks our first trip to Humuhumu restaurant while staying at the Grand Wailea resort. From the accommodating staff (who make sure we get a fabulous table near the water), to the excellent dining options (there’s something for everyone), no trip to Maui is complete without a special night to dine here. Our mai tai’s were delicious (recommended by our FANTASTIC server), the Mahi-mahi with forbidden rice, the filet with lobster (accompanied with bernaise, asparagus & drawn butter), along with sweet potatoes & loaded potatoes (sides served “family style” & more than enough for 2) was another fabulous, romantic meal that certainly makes each trip to Maui unforgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great veg food. There were about 4 options for vegetarians but the 2 we tried were awesome.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

They had improved upon the menu and served very this year. Last jan we went and sat down, looked at the menu and left. They had gone a tad off with the food. They have bought most of the basics back now thank goodness. A high end place like this gets known for Mac nut crusted fish , fabulous filet mignon and Molokai sweet potatoes. Never take the basics away. When they do it right they are awesome! They had it right this year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Unique view and feel. Good service and good food. We return each year.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

A perfect sunset dinner. Service was impeccable, food was delicious. May be changing some other dining plans so we can go back to Humuhumu before leaving Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful service! Food was fantastic with just the right amount of innovation. Thank you Elise and Justin!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great for being convenient at the hotel. Food was very good and good service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

Great ambiance! Outstanding service! Perfect location for a sunset anniversary meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Food was terrible, service was even worse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 11, 2018

Anniversary

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 10, 2018

Outstanding cuisine and amazing service!!! Absolutely loved Justin and Taj and their knowledge and attentiveness!! Very innovative dishes surrounded by paradise!! It’s our closing dinner every year!!! Enchanted every time!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Food was great! Staff went above and beyond for my daughters college graduation. They made it an amazing and memorable night! Thank you Humu staff!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Dined at Humuhumu and very much enjoyed the ambiance, cuisine and service. While the seared ahi entree wasn’t quite the preparation I expected, the presentation was nice and the fish itself was a fresh and delicious. Larry is knowledgeable of he menu, personable and attentive.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Live Music, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Loved everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

Perfect dining experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Outstanding meal at Humahuma! This was the dinner highlight of our trip. The food and are waiter, Patrick, were top-notch. Will definitely return when we are in Maui!

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

We had a very enjoyable meal here on new year's eve plus good advice and service from Kenneth.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2018

New Year’s Eve- food was amazing. Beautiful view and friendly, attentive staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The food is good and creative, I recommend getting the seafood dishes. Be ready for a hike from the hotel lobby.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Terrible food. Staff, including management, could care less. We’ve been going here to celebrate our anniversary for 10 years, but this will be the last. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great server and meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Great food and service. Except that the restaurant is empty but yet the hostess made us wait for 5-10 min for the table even though we had a reservation already.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We were seated early by the bar but it wasn’t noisy as I expected. The waitress knew it was a special occasion but never inquired to find out what ( our 60th wedding anniversary). Returned the steak for being med. not med rare. Chef sent out a lovely salad while new steak was prepared. But no recognition at all for our special occasion. Not on par with other high end dining establishments. A little disappointing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Our server was outstanding and even moved our table when our original one was too bright

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2017

We arrived just before sunset. The view, the food and the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

What a wonderful place to dine. We cancelled many other reservations to eat at Humuhumu. The staff is wonderful, the food is awesome, and the Island ambiance makes this restaurant as good as it gets. Our favorite place in the Wailea area!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2017

We had a whole 1 1/2 pound grilled fish - kale kale - which was prepared perfectly. It was served with ginger rice and other vegetables which complemented the fish. The service was excellent - the setting on the lagoon was quiet and resulted in a totally enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere! We enjoyed everything about this restaurant. The mai tai that is made here is outstanding and the dinner as well! Looking forward to going back!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Delicious. The scallops were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Great meal and great service. Beautiful setting watching the Maui sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2017

Beautiful tropical setting. Elegant casual. Ken, our waiter, was exceptional; knowledgeable, attentive, welcoming and lovely to chat with. We had the Ahi and the Mahi Mahi. Both cooked to perfection with interesting flavors and textures. Would highly recommend. And ask for Ken and a water view .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Our 11th wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 14, 2017

Incredibly expensive food. Not good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 13, 2017

2.5 ounces of mahi, white rice and a few leaves of bok choy for $40, tasteless and skimpy. Meal was laughable compared to other fine dinners on a maui. I don’t know how this is acceptable? The atmosphere was the only aspect of this dining experience I can applaud. This restaurant truly let us down for our evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on December 11, 2017

Our waiter was wonderful. Very knowledgeable about the menu and offered great suggestions. Food was absolutely fabulous. Great date night!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2017

Our waiter was amazing. Dining with two 1.5-year olds is extremely hard, and he made it a wonderful experience. He even brought the girls stuffed humuhumu fishes at the end. The food was delicious and the sunset view is hard to beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2017

In the end, nothing about the food was special, especially for a price premium at a resort. But the service was great

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Great Sunday brunch. Would definitely recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.