About Humuhumu - Grand Wailea

3850 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96761
View Larger Map

The newly renovated HUMUHUMU restaurant boasts modern Hawaiian details, a subtle nod to ocean themes including voyaging, and the debut of award-winning Chef Mike Lofaro’s “culturally correct” menu.

Voted "Chef of the Year" and "Most Innovative Menu," 2016 Aipono Awards. "Best Resort Restaurant;" and "Best Ambiance,"Maui News Readers Choice, Readers Choice Awards 2009-2011. "Best Table for Two," and "Most Romantic Table," ISLANDS Magazine, "Best of the World's" editor's choice, 2009, 2012 and 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Polynesian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Humu Lounge: 5pm - 9 pm
Dinner: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 875-1234

Website:
http://www.grandwailea.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary validated parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Lofaro

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are tying the knot, reuniting with family or attending a business meeting in paradise, Humuhumu offers a variety of options for large party and private dining options.

Private Party Contact:
Alexandra Munsey: (808) 875-1234 ext. 3953

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea, Wailea, HI
Humuhumu - Grand Wailea, Wailea, HI
Humuhumu - Grand Wailea, Wailea, HI
Humuhumu - Grand Wailea, Wailea, HI
Humuhumu - Grand Wailea, Wailea, HI
Humuhumu - Grand Wailea, Wailea, HI
Humuhumu - Grand Wailea, Wailea, HI
Humuhumu - Grand Wailea, Wailea, HI

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Aloha! We look forward to welcoming you on Valentine's Day!

Humuhumu - Grand Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (15)
Scenic View (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (8)
Waterfront (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Family Style (2)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was exceptional. The entree opti ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was exceptional. The entree options are somewhat limited. Check the online menu before going to make sure there is an option for everyone. The lamb was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First impressions count. We arrived for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

First impressions count. We arrived for our 6 pm reservation at 5.40 pm. The restaurant was at best 10 percent full. There were two gentlemen without reservations asking to get in. Matre de fumbled with computer for ten min then told them to wait at bar and she will see.they left. We checked in and asked to be seated, now ten min early for reservation. Though no one was in line, she said she had to wait as she had to Check in 5.45 reservations and for us to wait in bar. We went to bar and asked if we could eat there which we did. Appetizer was served in two min after order. Risotto which was good ($16 each). Ribeye for two ($90) came before we finished appetizer. Matre De now comes up to seat us. We say we are almost done - forget it. We were out of there by 6.25, restaurant less than20 percent full but line at matre de desk? Need new front end. Food pretty good, scenery great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I would recommend it with reservations. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

I would recommend it with reservations. The setting is unique (miss the aquarium) and it isn't too noisy (not sure on your graph if the short line mean low score or quiet). Our server was attentive at first before our whole party assembled but we only saw her once after entrees were served. My friend and I were disappointed in our ahi swimming in sauce, the color was off, and my husband was disappointed in the quality of his steak. The new chairs are super large and the menu very small. I think my feet were three inches off the floor. I understand the chefs concept of presenting smaller servings to larger but just not enough menu choices. Our first two dining experiences this year were wonderful but I was kind of embarrassed in front of our four friends this time. We had trouble changing our reservations on Open Table too. Had to do it over the phone in the end. We were unable to add additional people to our reservations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We had an outstanding evening at Humu wh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an outstanding evening at Humu while staying at the Grand Wailea. It was the last night of our Hawaiian vacation and also my birthday. All the tables are outside in a beautiful, contemporary Polynesian style. The service from Clayton, Josh, and Noah was excellent, and the meal was heavenly. We had the Mahi Mahi, the lamb, and skirt steak and each dish was creative, well prepared, beautiful, and delicious. They brought out 3 heavenly desserts (complimentary) and each one was fabulous. It is a pricey restaurant but if you are looking for a special evening out, we recommend it highly. Enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very attentive personnel. Elise was our ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Very attentive personnel. Elise was our waiter and she did everything to make sure we are comfortable and enjoying our meals. We celebrated our 5 years anniversary. We felt welcomed. Atmosphere is serene and peaceful, beautiful sunset.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a 39th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We celebrated a 39th wedding anniversary here and we couldn't have asked for a better server than Wendy. She was highly attentive, provided recommendations on food and wine and overall made our experience a memorable one.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, fantastic service and the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing food, fantastic service and the view is incredible. Love the new menu concept.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food, great atmosphere... when we w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

good food, great atmosphere... when we went they had computer issues so there were delays marring an otherwise great dinner, but they ended up taking care of the entire meal (which would have been close to $500) which floored me. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great looking place. Menu had few items ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great looking place. Menu had few items but were tasty. Greeting at the host stand left something to be desired but overall service was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

We were lucky enough to have our wedding ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were lucky enough to have our wedding reception at this beautiful restaurant on January 9th, with 12 of our family members. The waiter was so knowledgable on everything in the menu right down to each ingredient. He offered suggestions and answered our many questions. He offered my husband and I complimentary Prosecco in celebration and was sure to keep the glasses topped up! Our meal was outstanding. Everyone was so pleased with their meals. To top off the fabulous evening, we received one plate of every dessert on the menu to pass around and share, family style! Each dessert was SO delicious. I can't wait to come back next year and celebrate our one year anniversary at this fantastic restaurant. Thank you to the staff for making this such a memorable evening for us! We will return again, and again, and again...

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience here was exquisite, from ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Our experience here was exquisite, from beginning to end. This is an expensive restaurant, but, for us, it was worth every penny. To start, Humu Humu is situated on the Grand Wailea property, on a lagoon, facing the ocean. Add in some tiki torches and you have a beautiful view, oozing ambiance.

Our server was probably one of the most knowledgeable we've had, and very well-versed in the preparation of the food available. He definitely brought something extra to the table.

The food was impeccable. The Spicy Beef appetizer was a table favorite, and I personally recommend The Grand cocktail - very nice. As for entrees, I don't think you can go wrong here. We had a terrible time deciding which to have, as they all sounded so good - and they were. We were all sopping up the aftermath of our dinners with their tasty rolls (the butter is outstanding, but I won't spoil it for you).

As for dessert, please note that they are "deconstructed", which only made them more interesting for our table. We highly recommend their take on the chocolate latte - it's melt in your mouth delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent last night in Maui with family ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent last night in Maui with family - Mr Larry made everything lovely! Amazing Mahi Mahi & Japanese whole Snapper - appetisers wonderful too..Spicy Beef & Red Fruit?

Deserts yummy

Wine excellent . Mahalo!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Humu Humu, as the locals refer to it, pr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Humu Humu, as the locals refer to it, provided a fine dining experience. It is expensive and the "to share " designation on the entrees is misleading. They are not large enough to share (supposedly the menu is being changed to present an accurate description of offerings). That said, the food is excellent. The mahi mahi was the best fish dish I've ever had. My wife said the lamb chops were equally delicious. We skipped dessert to keep the bill within reason and because we were full and satisfied with the appetizer and entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food !

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service, great food and wonder ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic service, great food and wonderful location. We visited while on our honeymoon for a special last night in paradise meal. It lived up to our expectations. Our waiter looked after us very well and the food was very good. The restaurant was very calm and we felt like we were the only ones there even though it was full.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to the humu over the years. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have been to the humu over the years. We are sorry to see this go downhill since Hilton took over.

Our main issue with the restaurant is the new menu.

The crispy mahi dish was way too spicy and unpleasant. We used to get the cocktail in the coconut which unfortunately didn't make the new menu. "The grand" cocktail comes in a water glass with some turgid pineapple leaf.

We don't like the "Hawaiian sharing" concept. The desert came in a plate whether we all had to share spoons and eat off the same plate. I kept thinking about swapping saliva with our guests.

I understand you had a two million dollar reservation but honestly I don't see where, it looks exactly the same to us. Except the koi pond was killed.

I was shocked to hear you are planning to incorporate a snorkeling reef in the pond. That is a brilliant idea... Have a bunch of screaming kids diving and snorkeling next to your meal to add to the ambience.

Please, please reconsider some of your choices. We do not like your new menu at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I found the selection of main courses wa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I found the selection of main courses was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

The new decor is beautiful but the chair ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The new decor is beautiful but the chairs were uncomfortable. The new menu was not what we prefer and we were not impressed by the change of the menu. Dissapointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

1st time to Humuhumu. We were excited to ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 3, 2017

1st time to Humuhumu. We were excited to experience the restaurant. However disappointed with pretty much all the food and drinks. We tried a lot to see where they shined. The service was very attentive. We never blame the waiter for the food production. We ordered 2 hand crafted cocktails at just shy of $20 each. 1 tasted like flavored water the other like bitter grapefruit juice. We switched to our favorite go-to vodka martinis. How hard can this be? Vodka over ice and shake. Literally. Well somehow the ice got left out. Eeew. Moving on appetizers, salad, and main course. Butter lettuce salad was really heavy in dressing and spicy. Hearts of palm salad was more like a very small appetizers however the best of everything we ordered. Not the best I've tasted but the best on this particular list...

The 2 fish dishes we're ok. Opaka and Mahi. Not worth $40 a plate...I'd like to say go for the experience and not the food. If you're there after sunset like us it's too dark to see anything and there was a luau across the way where you could hear a constant drum base. A little annoying if you wanted a more quiet atmosphere. Highly anticipated yet way overpriced. Do yourself a favor and save your money and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Great food, but we were a little scared ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food, but we were a little scared off by the limited menu. Our server, Larry, did an amazing job walking it through for us, and everyone enjoyed our meals. They may need to add some choices for picker eaters though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived at 8:28pm for a 8:45pm reserv ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We arrived at 8:28pm for a 8:45pm reservation the hostess was VERY rude to us. She told us (exact Words) we were to early and wait at the bar and I will get you at 8:45 so we didn't say anything and we did. We waited till 9pm and asked for a manager. We told the manager our story and he was extremely nice to us and even offered to buy us drinks or appetizers. We ordered dinner and it wasn't very good. I was wondering why this restaurant was half full on New Years Eve and now I know why. Needless to say it was expensive, manager didn't comp anything, Hostess was so rude, food was below expectations it was a terrible way to end 2016.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

We had dinner here on New Year's Eve. W ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had dinner here on New Year's Eve. We had great expectations and had heard great reviews. We were very disappointed. The servers should have been working at Denny's, completely unprofessional for a supposedly nice restaurant. They told us it was their 6th day with the new menu. I've eaten lots of places all around the globe, this menu was not appealing. When everyone in a party of 4 struggles to find something to order, it's not the guests, it's the menu. I get that the Chef is highly decorated and innovative, but a great chef must understand his clientele. This restaurant is located in a family vacation resort, it's not NY City chic. Regardless of the menu, the food was just ok, the service sub-par and the newly remodeled atmosphere was overlit and not terribly comfortable. One exception, the bar area was well done and beautiful, bravo. Way too many better places to eat in Maui than this, don't waste your preciously short time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Very good but just wish the menu was a l ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good but just wish the menu was a little more expanded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Average at best! Need wine before dinner ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Average at best! Need wine before dinner!! Lots of kinks to work out!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Very different menu! I missed the lobst ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very different menu! I missed the lobster. We enjoyed our evening but probably not our favorite to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place at grand wailiea

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great place at grand wailiea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a fan of the new menu. I would also ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Not a fan of the new menu. I would also skip the desserts. Poor value!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Don't let the new menu fool you. On firs ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Don't let the new menu fool you. On first look, it appears to be quite limited and offering small portions. Even with the encouragement of our kind sever we were very skeptical as the menu is very different from the one that we were so used to seeing since the restaurant first opened in the early 90's. However, what nice surprise once the food arrived at our table! I had scallops as an appetizer, followed by rack of lamb. Both were excellent and serving size for me, was just right. We were a party of seven with older kids (22, 20, 17 and 13) and everyone enjoyed their meal and the ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed. Location is spectacu ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very disappointed. Location is spectacular, and we were looking forward to a sunset dining experience. However, we were seated in the back with the toddlers, and the place was half empty. Menu is new, and servers were rather unprepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

They changed menu in December (for worse ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

They changed menu in December (for worse); old menu much better; new menu is Foofy tapas style (expensive and you leave hungry; if you don't like goat cheese and seafood, don't bother). Arrived at 5:45 and they didn't take our order until 90 mins later. Much better off ordering from pool menu or room service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

The restaurant was crowded, and they wer ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The restaurant was crowded, and they were clearly fitting in as many tables as they could. We ended up toward the middle of a room, so that every wait person had to pass our table to get to or from others.

Our waitress appeared to have too many tables and service was slow. Neither did she know the menu. The food was good, but nothing special, and for the price did not seem like a great value.

If sitting at the outer edge by the water, it would probably be a nice setting, but the food and service do not justify the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

They "changed" the menu 4 days before Ch ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

They "changed" the menu 4 days before Christmas and it was terrible. Gone were the fresh fish dishes and lobster and instead were replaced by the artsy faux food that was very disappointing. So much for our special Christmas dinner. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The menu was changed with their recent r ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The menu was changed with their recent renovation to a more modern and ecclectic style which was disappointing. We loved the previous menu and options. This restaurant is much less geared toward families than it was before. We hope they move back toward their prior menu options.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

While the restaurant was just refreshed ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

While the restaurant was just refreshed (and it is a beautiful setting!), the menu has been reworked and the servers don't seem to have figured it out.

The menu is unusual, having some starters, then some "to share", then 2 "for the table.

While the food was tasty, the server couldn't tell us accurately how many a plate would feed, so we over ordered at her prompting.

The bread came out after the salad and starters...and we didn't have plates for the starters when they did arrive.

Hopefully the kinks will be worked out and maybe the menu expanded a bit because the setting and ambiance is hard to beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Our server Patrick was incredibly welcom ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our server Patrick was incredibly welcoming and enthusiastic about the restaurants new menu. He throughly explained the dishes and even had us try the Kale & Pig ears when my husband was interested in it but we steered him away.

It was our first meal after a full long day flight to Maui.

Thank you for making our arrival so great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Humuhumu as locals call it just re-opene ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Humuhumu as locals call it just re-opened with a fully renovated restaurant and bar featuring a brand new menu designed by Chef Mike Lofaro.

A stunning setting suspended over a lagoon facing the ocean and beautiful sunsets.

The bar is lively featuring local handcrafted cocktails and small plates that are perfect to share.

The service was outstanding and attentive. The food was beautifully presented and incredibly delicious. It's a Farm to Table concept so we found many local ingredients which makes for an authentic Hawaiian experience.

Overall an amazing, romantic experience.

Thank You!

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was fantastic. Such a nice ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our waitress was fantastic. Such a nice woman

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We didn't know the restaurant was tempor ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We didn't know the restaurant was temporarily relocated to a different spot on the hotel property, otherwise we wouldn't have made a reservation. Half of the appeal of Humu's is the thatched roof restaurant over the koi pond. Their temporary location is very basic, not special at all. Food was fine, not memorable. Service could have been more attentive. Wait until original location reopens to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was impeccable, Justin is great. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service was impeccable, Justin is great.

Food was delicious. Gluten free options plentiful

Temporary location really stinks...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Our waiter Larry was amazing. The catch ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Our waiter Larry was amazing. The catch of the day and the Mahi Mahi were outstanding. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.