About Hult's

165 Los Gatos Saratoga Rd
Los Gatos, CA 95030
View Larger Map

Hult’s is an award winning casual fine dining restaurant serving California cuisine with Swedish influences. The interior offers an upscale, casual atmosphere, with a warm and welcoming wrap-around full bar while the newly built outdoor patio features comfortable seating surrounded by ambient glass fire tables. Open for Lunch, Dinner and Sunday Brunch. In addition to a seasonal al a carte menu, the “Hult’s Experience” offers a five course tasting menu, made from the freshest seasonal ingredients. Pair your meal with a wide variety our Californian boutique wines, authentic French Champagnes, specialty cocktails or craft beers. With an ever changing menu, we invite you to discover the Hult’s Experience. See for yourself why Hult’s was awarded “Small Business of the Year” 2016 in Silicon Valley by the State Goverment

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Swedish

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed
Tuesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm, 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Ave / Highway 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 354-3434

Website:
http://www.hultsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our private lot.

Private Party Facilities:
Hult's is available for private parties of all sizes and occasions. All private parties are booked on a first come first served basis. Reserve your special occasion TODAY by calling (408)477-4632.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Hult: 408-477-4632x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wall Wednesday's ALL bottles of wine are 50% OFF

Happy Hour Tuesday-Sunday INCLUDING WEEKENDS 4.30pm - 6.30pm

Restaurant Photos

  • Hult's
Hult's

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Hult's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in Los Gatos ›

Fit for Foodies (91)
Special Occasion (78)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
See All
Good for Groups (43)
Notable Wine List (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Great for Lunch (39)
Romantic (35)
Great for Brunch (31)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

In our experience, service is MUCH bette ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

In our experience, service is MUCH better inside than it is for patio seating. Food and cocktails all really good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We tried Hult's a few years back and had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We tried Hult's a few years back and had bad service but decided to give them another try. Our waiter, Mike, was great. One slow round of drinks, but otherwise perfect pacing. Our selections: Risotto (very good), squash & pecan Ravioli's (great), pork chop (underseasoned) and meat wrapped with bacon (good). Ahi Poke very good, beet salad was excellent.

Dessert was chocolate mousse and that was fantastic! We were seated in the front window area that is kind of set aside and it was great for people watching!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mixed results - one meal was OK the othe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Mixed results - one meal was OK the other not so much. The food was pretty high priced for the final quality of the services. The salmon was a bit overcooked and actually very bland for a lime-infused item. The duck was served very rare - which I do not like - when I asked for medium. Second, they could have sliced the duck much thinner to not only aid in presentation, but they would have seen it was too rare. The house wine and appetizers were very good - a pleasant surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I invited another couple. We had a nice ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I invited another couple. We had a nice lunch, and Elise, as ever, was a great server. I love the Sessions brew, and the other couple thought the Manhattan was superior. He also liked my favorite, the pulled pork with wonderful sweet potato fries. Coffee was also excellent. This was their first time, and they said they would be back. We enjoy dining there every few weeks, when we feel like going out to lunch. The desserts are great, but we were too full to indulge this time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was beautifully prepared, prese ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was beautifully prepared, presented and served. I would have liked just a hint more flavor. The scallops were lovely with the grapefruit accent but I was wanting a little more of that accent. Three of us order the scallops and one ordered the short ribs. They were tasty but once again more could have been done with the mashed potatoes... such as adding a little garlic excitement. The cocktails were tasty and my Kathryn Kennedy Sauv. Blanc was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our food took so long and the service wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our food took so long and the service was HORRIBLE! The hostness didnt even smile or greet us, started the whole dinner off poor. The mac and cheese tasted like bubble gum, honestly everyone at the table tried it and agreed...we even told the waiter and he did nothing about it. The food was ok, but really not worth the money or wait. Sadly it was a horrible experience for a special celebration for my mom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was absolutely horrible. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was absolutely horrible. We had to ask on several occasions for our waitress. And in addition for the menu, can we have a water refill, can we order now, can we get another mimosa (which was supposed to be bottomless)?????? And the whole time we see the staff just chit chatting with each other. And it wasn't busy. And unfortunately the other table next to us had the same problem. I don't think I'll ever go back, unfortunately. The wine list looks good but there are so many other restaurants in the area that I know have better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

We went to Hult's for my birthday dinner ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went to Hult's for my birthday dinner. Everything except the noise from the bar, which quieted shortly after we were there, was excellent. I had the beet salad and the filet mignon for the main course, loved them both. It was easy to tell that the chef had taken his time to balance the flavors of both plates to make them something special. One does not get food made with that care often. My wife had the duck for her main course. It was good but she decided she was not a duck person.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Our salads and man i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was delicious. Our salads and man in courses were beautifully presented and well prepared. But, service was incredibly slow; while that wasn't a detractor to the wonderful evening we had, they had no reason or excuse for large time lapses between courses, without attention by the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

We had a mixed experience at Hults. We w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had a mixed experience at Hults. We went there because of a two for one coupon (which we forgot) and brought four of our family with us. The menu looked interesting enough. Two of us had the ravioli, which was delicious, one had the duck, also tasty, and three had he chicken, which was our least favorite dish. It lacked salt and pepper and was a bit dry and tough. The potatoes were a bit hard as well. Our biggest issue with the experience was our wait time. From ordering to dinner we had to wait about forty five minutes. We had to grab a different waiter to ask about our food, and to his credit he apologized and said they were plating it and it had been a long wait, so it was nice he acknowledged the lapse in time. But our server did not come to check on us, nor did he apologize himself when the food finally came out. Given the restaurant wasn't too busy, we were surprised it took so long. Overall, it was a pretty even split, but it wasn't anything outstanding that will make us go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Amazing food. Really absolutely loved th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Amazing food. Really absolutely loved the food at Hults. The presentation was also stunning and personally I liked the fact that the portions are not huge. All the dishes that day were so tasty: Octopus carpaccio, Beet salad (very clever how it's served on the goat cheese), duck (one of the best ducks I have ever had, perfectly cooked) and sweet potato and pecan ravioli (wasn't heavy like you would think, but rich in flavor).

Also really enjoyed the outdoor seating. Parking is easy. What a wonderful experience. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and great food! We were ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Awesome service and great food! We were there for a business lunch and it was pretty quiet at the time, but I can see how it could make for a hip night out as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Quiet for mid-week lunch! Service was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Quiet for mid-week lunch! Service was a little slow but we were visiting with friends so we did not mind it at all! Could have sat outside but sat inside since it was warm. Split salads and sandwiches and it was delicious - beet salad was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food, nice ambiance. Blahhhh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very good food, nice ambiance. Blahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was very slow at this place. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was very slow at this place. We had gone to another place for us for drinks and appetizers so we only wanted the main course. The waiter almost forced us to get an appetizer as he said it would take a really long time to get our main course which we thought was a little strange. Two of the guests ordered fillet and they were not cooked properly. One was needing to be sent back as it was overlooked

. Took a long time to get meal, the rest of us were almost done. Thought they would comp the bad meal but only brought us free dish of ice cream!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was yummy. I went to dinner with m ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was yummy. I went to dinner with my family before a concert at Montalvo. The Burrata crostini was so yummy, the only problem was that it only came with 3 crostini's, we all wanted more, but not at 11$ per plate. The mac and cheese was also delicious, so creamy, and loved the slightly bunt cheese topping too! I had the short rib, which was served with a potato cake, and a beet sauce. I really didn't care for the potato cake all too much, but that was probably one of the best short ribs i've had. Fork tender, and I found myself trying to mop up a lot of the sauce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Too loud Waiter not listening We will t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Too loud

Waiter not listening

We will try the patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

It was our first time in this restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was our first time in this restaurant. Kid friendly, attentive waiter, good food, however we waited a long time for our main course. Apparently, this is the norm for this restaurant because i spoke with a few of our neighboring guests and they have also mentioned a long wait for the main course.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We received a nice greeting at the door. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We received a nice greeting at the door. Loved the interior, Old Fashioneds were good, service was friendly. Unfortunately, the food was not very good: chicken was over-cooked, potatoes were undercooked. Chicken was supposed to be stuffed with Prosciutto, but I didn't find any. Poor value for the money, unless you're just going to have a drink at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Service was amazing but our food arrived ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was amazing but our food arrived luke warm at best. Both the meat ball appetizer and all our entrees. It was good, don't get me wrong but there is letting it rest and letting it get cold...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Chicken was very dry. Short ribs were g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Chicken was very dry. Short ribs were good. Ran out of the wine we chose so they substituted a very cheap wine for the nice bottle we wanted.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I brought my 3 visiting daughters for a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I brought my 3 visiting daughters for a family occasion and the food atmosphere and service were all excellent, i will definitely be visiting again thanks

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful entertainment on the patio. G ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful entertainment on the patio. Great to enjoy drinks and/or dinner on summer nights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Overall, experience was very nice and me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Overall, experience was very nice and met my expectation. Service was very good and attentive. Highs: Calamari sandwich, lime salmon, and Pyttipanna were all delightful. Lows: For $13, Kumato Tomato/Burrata salad was very sparse, needed some additional greens or something; burger was overcooked; disappointing that no experienced bartender was available at lunch for cocktails and mixed drinks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First time at Hult's and I would go agai ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time at Hult's and I would go again. The food was delicious; however, the service was a bit off for the evening. The missteps started with our waiter a bit slow to arrive at the table and did not take drink orders until the third stop (we were ready at the first stop). I always like to order a cocktail first, then look over the menu more carefully and ask questions/recommendations from the waiter. Once our order was placed we waited a very long time for the main course to arrive after the first course was removed. Our waiter finally told us the back kitchen was behind although the restaurant was not a capacity. The owner/chef did come around to each of the tables and introduced himself which was very nice. Other than the service being off, all else made a memorable visit. I will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went to dinner there last Friday night. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went to dinner there last Friday night. The food portions were small and not that tasty. My date stated, "You cook better then this place". We ordered the Hultz Cabernet from the menu, it stated 2012(which is a good yr for wine) but were brought a 2014. Not so good.

The place is nice but we will not be eating there again. Too many good places to go and much cheaper.

Aloha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Really really love that the owners go th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Really really love that the owners go the extra mile consistently to check in and follow up with the customers in a very genuine fashion. They really care and it shows.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant and great food availabl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great restaurant and great food available for all tastes along with professional service. Alex has done an incredible job to establish Hult's as one of the best restaurants in the Bay Area. He's a good person and always comes to each and every table to make sure that you are enjoying your dinner and having a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only issue we had was finding a park ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The only issue we had was finding a parking space. The atmosphere is dressy casual and the restaurant is appropriately decorated. Service was outstanding.

The owner came by the table to see how everything was. A nice gesture and he did not visit too long. I am a fan of pumpkin ravioli and order it at many restaurants. Hult's was by far the best I have ever eaten. My friend had salmon and said it was one of the best meals she had ever eaten out. I am planning my next special occasion at Hult's as well as a casual lunch with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Hult's was great. Food and service were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Hult's was great. Food and service were outstanding. Wines by the glass could use a little help, tried 2 different reds, neither were bad, but they didn't stand out either.

Will be going back for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband ad I have been to Hult's twic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband ad I have been to Hult's twice. The first time was about 2 years ago, and we had our kids with us. While I was impressed with the food quality, as well as the wine selection, I didn't feel the strong urge to return. My main complaint at the time was that at night, all I could see was the headlights of the passing cars on Hwy 9, due to the close proximity of the windows to the busy road. I found it very distracting, and a little unnerving to be honest.

Since then, they have built a lovely stone wall, so I was hopeful that I would like my second visit. Many of our friends prefer Hult's to some of our favorites, namely Lexington House. So I was willing to give it another shot.

All I can say about this last experience, is I was disappointed from the beginning to end. Firstly, I felt it was awkward to be greeted by a hostess on the corner outside of the building. She looked awkward standing there, and I felt awkward for her.

Then once in the restaurant, I tried to find positive things about the ambiance, but I just couldn't. Not charming, not particularly aesthetically pleasing. The wall did block the view of the traffic, but i still felt the location of a fine dining establishment should not be right smack in the middle of a busy, heavily trafficked road. I just never felt completely comfortable, or like I was free of all of the buzz from the corner. So that is my main complaint right there... the location. Other than that, the food was good, as well as the service. No real complaints about either of those. I think I will return and just sit at the bar next time. It actually looked inviting to me (not sure what that says about me exactly :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Sitting outside was very comfortable wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Sitting outside was very comfortable with the wall, although it does sit on a busy street. Attention was very nice, the owner stopped by to chat. Food was very good and the atmosphere was great on a warm summer evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hults is beautifully decorated, the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Hults is beautifully decorated, the service was warm ,efficient and friendly. The menu was seasonal, we loved the duck and cod entrees, and beet salad was terrific. there was a loud party so they were very kind to move us to a quieter spot. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went to dinner, had reservations all wor ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

went to dinner, had reservations all worked well. we were offered an opportunity to sit inside or out - we selected outside and it was a very pleasant experience, service was very good, food was excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My eggs Benedict sauce was delicious. Po ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My eggs Benedict sauce was delicious. Potatoes a little undercooked for my taste as was the eggs. The service and friendly atmosphere made up for the minor flaws in my meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our 2nd time to Hults for dinne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our 2nd time to Hults for dinner. First was when it just opened and we vowed never to return. It was better, not great. Meatballs are over-rated. Scallops and burrata/tomato salad were good. Other salads were o.k. Service was o.k. not great. Don't think I would recommend Hults with other options in Los Gatos, but I wouldn't not recommend it. I WOULD recommend Hults for appetizers/happy hour. We went there recently for their happy hour, sat outdoors and it was very nice. Good appetizers, drinks. Service was o.k.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our reservations were at 4:45,and when w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our reservations were at 4:45,and when we got there we were told no service until 5:00. So we had to wait 15 minutes. Not good business to have your patrons wait when you acknowledge a 4:45 reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Outstanding starters! I wish I just orde ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Outstanding starters! I wish I just order all apps, so many flavors! A great spot for lunch or dinner & nice to sit on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We dined at Hult's for my birthday and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We dined at Hult's for my birthday and were impressed with the food, the service and quiet elegance of the restaurant. We received absolutely fabulous service from our server (and also head bartender), Matea, who was warm and attentive without hovering over our table. The beef Lindstrom is a particularly unique dish and totally delicious. Would definitely dine here again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality and taste of the food was su ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The quality and taste of the food was superb. I loved the variety of the chef's native favorites and more traditional Californian dishes. Everything I had was tasty, so I'm eager to try the rest of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.