About Hult's

165 Los Gatos Saratoga Rd
Los Gatos, CA 95030
View Larger Map

Hult’s is an award winning casual fine dining restaurant serving California cuisine with Swedish influences. The interior offers an upscale, casual atmosphere, with a warm and welcoming wrap-around full bar while the newly built outdoor patio features comfortable seating surrounded by ambient glass fire tables. Open for Lunch, Dinner and Sunday Brunch. In addition to a seasonal al a carte menu, the “Hult’s Experience” offers a five course tasting menu, made from the freshest seasonal ingredients. Pair your meal with a wide variety our Californian boutique wines, authentic French Champagnes, specialty cocktails or craft beers. With an ever changing menu, we invite you to discover the Hult’s Experience. See for yourself why Hult’s was awarded “Small Business of the Year” 2016 in Silicon Valley by the State Goverment

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Swedish

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed
Tuesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm, 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Ave / Highway 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 354-3434

Website:
http://www.hultsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our private lot.

Private Party Facilities:
Hult's is available for private parties of all sizes and occasions. All private parties are booked on a first come first served basis. Reserve your special occasion TODAY by calling (408)477-4632.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Hult: 408-477-4632x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wall Wednesday's ALL bottles of wine are 50% OFF

Happy Hour Tuesday-Sunday INCLUDING WEEKENDS 4.30pm - 6.30pm

Restaurant Photos

  • Hult's
Hult's

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue 4:30PM - 5:15PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Hult's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in Los Gatos ›

fit for foodies (86)
special occasion (78)
neighborhood gem (59)
See All
notable wine list (48)
great for lunch (42)
good for groups (37)
great for outdoor dining (36)
great for brunch (35)
romantic (31)
vibrant bar scene (15)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really really love that the owners go th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Really really love that the owners go the extra mile consistently to check in and follow up with the customers in a very genuine fashion. They really care and it shows.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant and great food availabl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great restaurant and great food available for all tastes along with professional service. Alex has done an incredible job to establish Hult's as one of the best restaurants in the Bay Area. He's a good person and always comes to each and every table to make sure that you are enjoying your dinner and having a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only issue we had was finding a park ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The only issue we had was finding a parking space. The atmosphere is dressy casual and the restaurant is appropriately decorated. Service was outstanding.

The owner came by the table to see how everything was. A nice gesture and he did not visit too long. I am a fan of pumpkin ravioli and order it at many restaurants. Hult's was by far the best I have ever eaten. My friend had salmon and said it was one of the best meals she had ever eaten out. I am planning my next special occasion at Hult's as well as a casual lunch with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Hult's was great. Food and service were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Hult's was great. Food and service were outstanding. Wines by the glass could use a little help, tried 2 different reds, neither were bad, but they didn't stand out either.

Will be going back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband ad I have been to Hult's twic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband ad I have been to Hult's twice. The first time was about 2 years ago, and we had our kids with us. While I was impressed with the food quality, as well as the wine selection, I didn't feel the strong urge to return. My main complaint at the time was that at night, all I could see was the headlights of the passing cars on Hwy 9, due to the close proximity of the windows to the busy road. I found it very distracting, and a little unnerving to be honest.

Since then, they have built a lovely stone wall, so I was hopeful that I would like my second visit. Many of our friends prefer Hult's to some of our favorites, namely Lexington House. So I was willing to give it another shot.

All I can say about this last experience, is I was disappointed from the beginning to end. Firstly, I felt it was awkward to be greeted by a hostess on the corner outside of the building. She looked awkward standing there, and I felt awkward for her.

Then once in the restaurant, I tried to find positive things about the ambiance, but I just couldn't. Not charming, not particularly aesthetically pleasing. The wall did block the view of the traffic, but i still felt the location of a fine dining establishment should not be right smack in the middle of a busy, heavily trafficked road. I just never felt completely comfortable, or like I was free of all of the buzz from the corner. So that is my main complaint right there... the location. Other than that, the food was good, as well as the service. No real complaints about either of those. I think I will return and just sit at the bar next time. It actually looked inviting to me (not sure what that says about me exactly :)

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Sitting outside was very comfortable wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Sitting outside was very comfortable with the wall, although it does sit on a busy street. Attention was very nice, the owner stopped by to chat. Food was very good and the atmosphere was great on a warm summer evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hults is beautifully decorated, the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Hults is beautifully decorated, the service was warm ,efficient and friendly. The menu was seasonal, we loved the duck and cod entrees, and beet salad was terrific. there was a loud party so they were very kind to move us to a quieter spot. I will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went to dinner, had reservations all wor ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

went to dinner, had reservations all worked well. we were offered an opportunity to sit inside or out - we selected outside and it was a very pleasant experience, service was very good, food was excellent

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My eggs Benedict sauce was delicious. Po ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My eggs Benedict sauce was delicious. Potatoes a little undercooked for my taste as was the eggs. The service and friendly atmosphere made up for the minor flaws in my meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our 2nd time to Hults for dinne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our 2nd time to Hults for dinner. First was when it just opened and we vowed never to return. It was better, not great. Meatballs are over-rated. Scallops and burrata/tomato salad were good. Other salads were o.k. Service was o.k. not great. Don't think I would recommend Hults with other options in Los Gatos, but I wouldn't not recommend it. I WOULD recommend Hults for appetizers/happy hour. We went there recently for their happy hour, sat outdoors and it was very nice. Good appetizers, drinks. Service was o.k.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our reservations were at 4:45,and when w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our reservations were at 4:45,and when we got there we were told no service until 5:00. So we had to wait 15 minutes. Not good business to have your patrons wait when you acknowledge a 4:45 reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Outstanding starters! I wish I just orde ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Outstanding starters! I wish I just order all apps, so many flavors! A great spot for lunch or dinner & nice to sit on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We dined at Hult's for my birthday and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We dined at Hult's for my birthday and were impressed with the food, the service and quiet elegance of the restaurant. We received absolutely fabulous service from our server (and also head bartender), Matea, who was warm and attentive without hovering over our table. The beef Lindstrom is a particularly unique dish and totally delicious. Would definitely dine here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality and taste of the food was su ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The quality and taste of the food was superb. I loved the variety of the chef's native favorites and more traditional Californian dishes. Everything I had was tasty, so I'm eager to try the rest of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good just ok and service very poor. Wai ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Good just ok and service very poor. Waitress not trained well enough for a restaurant aiming for high quality dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The restaurant was bright and open, clea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The restaurant was bright and open, clean and crisp. The wait staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and taken care of. We were seated quickly, fod came out in a perfect amount of time. The specials were well spoken of and our server suggested his favorites, that I ordered, and was not dis appointed at all. The food was creative and well done. The presentation was not pompous or over the top. The meal spoke for its self. Delicious and decadent. The owner came out to greet us and spent some time talking with me and my guests. Hult's was a very lovely experience and I do recommend this restaurant to the foody and to someone looking for a great meal.

Cheers

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

From the moment we stepped in we were tr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

From the moment we stepped in we were treated beautifully! Terrific service, food really delicious! Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, but it has the coffee ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was good, but it has the coffee shop feel and the service was so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

This was my first visit to Hults and it ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was my first visit to Hults and it could not have been a better experience. Waiter was extremely knowledgable and friendly. Cocktails were perfect and it was the best filet I've ever eaten, and I have had many experiences. Thank you very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food, service, and ambiance! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Incredible food, service, and ambiance! We ate outdoors this time. Lovely! They knock it out of the ballpark every time. Loved the bacon wrapped dates, salad with feta cheese balls, unique raviolis, and chocolate sphere dessert. All items are "to die for". The table next to us were raving about the "meatballs". Our server was knowledgeable, efficient, and very pleasant. This is a "not to miss" restaurant! They obviously care about their diners. A fabulous dining experience! Kudos to Hult's!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the Father's Day brunch. The ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for the Father's Day brunch. The food was good but portions were small. We were there mid afternoon and not very many others were in the restaurant. The waiter only showed up to take orders. Water was never refilled.

Value of food and service was not inline with prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We attended Father's Day brunch and didn ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We attended Father's Day brunch and didn't pay attention to the $50 fixed price 3 course menu. The price itself wasn't the issue. The quality of the food was marginal and the quantity as well. The server was FANTASTIC but the value was way out of sync with the price. It's in a great location and could be a huge hit in Los Gatos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Lovely brunch for Father's Day. Very ni ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Lovely brunch for Father's Day. Very nice special menu to mark the occasion! We also were able to sit outside which was quiet and lovely. We would definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The foods were terrific. The service wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The foods were terrific. The service was excellent! Will come back again.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the second time we have visited ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is the second time we have visited Hult's. The first time was in March for our anniversary. We had such a wonderful time we wanted to visit again. We took a friend with us and again were not disappointed. Our server each time was Brandon. He took the time to detail different items on the menu and help us adhere to some dietary restrictions. He was very attentive to our every need. Our friend was equally impressed with the food and service. The wine was excellent as well. The owner also came to our table to make sure that everything was to our liking. Nice touch!

The only negative was the noise level was a bit high. We are hearing impaired and as such any room where there are many people can create a problem with hearing the table conversation. This is not a fault of the restaurant though, just a heads up for people with impaired hearing.

We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Unique lunch menus with great burger and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Unique lunch menus with great burger and sandwich selections.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary and were treated to their FANTASTIC chocolate dessert. As a chocoholic I am very particular and this dessert met my hopes. yum! I also had a absolutely wonderful beet salad; the tuna poke was good but it isn't my favorite dish. I also love the pulled pork and the to-die-for sweet potato fries. My husband always has and enjoys the hamburger. We enjoy going to Hult's for lunch, especially either before or after the noon hour. The service is a bit slow at times, as the staff is small.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We sat inside for an early dinner on a S ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We sat inside for an early dinner on a Saturday night. As we dined the noise level got louder and louder till I could not hear the person next to me, and across the four top was lip reading. The food was tasty, the service fine, the wine delicious, and the desert decedent and lovely. Too bad it you want the tasting menu, but your seat mates do not, you are out of luck. the restaurant was way too noisy, and that will keep me from returning, other than with my husband to sit at the bar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Good dining experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We took our daughter to a "new" restaurant (to her) for her birthday. We all tried different cocktails and each of them was very good, as was the food. Love the meatballs and the sweet potato raviolis were very good but a small portion so no leftovers!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

APPROACHING MANRESSA CLASS CUISINE, GREAT SERVICE

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food offerings can now be called Michelline class cuisine. The service is great. They listen carefully to customer feedback and are making continuous improvements to the customer experience. The food is now in the same class as Manresa and a lot more reasonably priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We got there at Noon so it was quiet. The lunch menu had several interesting items and I enjoyed the pulled pork sandwich. The sweet potato fries were okay but I should of asked for a salad. I like the Happy Hour at Hult's and recommend that to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always excellent. Now has outside dining option

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The food and drinks at Hult's have superbly balanced flavors while also using fresh locally sourced ingredients for similar prices to standard "nice" restaurants (which do not serve food that rises to this level).

On our last outing, we had our very well behaved dog with us, so were delighted that she could be with us on the newly constructed patio dining area (rather than waiting in the car).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great but too noisy

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Delicious food but the noisy group of ladies that came in really killed it for me. Too bad they had to seat the big loud group in the middle of the restaurant so we all had to experience their cackling, wine induced volume. I'd keep large parties to the side of the restaurant in the future so other guests aren't having to block out loud party conversations. Food was good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Enjoyable lunch with out of town visitors.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We like the ambiance and service; enjoyed the salads, the burger and meat balls very much, the desert was great too.Only the mushroom risotto was too blend. Overall, a good experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The quality and presentation of the dish ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The quality and presentation of the dishes were superb. The staff were friendly and available.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for lunch. Service was excellent ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We went for lunch. Service was excellent and very friendly. I had the ravioli--excellent. My husband had the salmon---also very tasty. We would definitely come back to try other things on the menu. The bar area was big and outside patio searing was nice. Looks like a fun happy hour place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always appreciated as a special Occasion ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Always appreciated as a special

Occasion or just lunch on any given weekday.

Kind friendly staff with attentive waiters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Unique delicious dishes, with a good va ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Unique delicious dishes, with a good variety of seafood and meat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

You'll be glad you went! Food delicious. Staff friendly and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bad service for what you're paying for. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Bad service for what you're paying for. (97 dollars, without tip, for two ppl.) Takes 2 hours to receive order and it was not busy. Went for a special occasion and left with a bad taste in my mouth as our server was inattentive and even ordered our busser to get our waters for us while we watched him walk to the bar to watch the game. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.