About Hult's

165 Los Gatos Saratoga Rd
Los Gatos, CA 95030
View Larger Map

Hult’s is an award winning casual fine dining restaurant serving California cuisine with Swedish influences. The interior offers an upscale, casual atmosphere, with a warm and welcoming wrap-around full bar while the newly built outdoor patio features comfortable seating surrounded by ambient glass fire tables. Open for Lunch, Dinner and Sunday Brunch. In addition to a seasonal al a carte menu, the “Hult’s Experience” offers a five course tasting menu, made from the freshest seasonal ingredients. Pair your meal with a wide variety our Californian boutique wines, authentic French Champagnes, specialty cocktails or craft beers. With an ever changing menu, we invite you to discover the Hult’s Experience. See for yourself why Hult’s was awarded “Small Business of the Year” 2016 in Silicon Valley by the State Goverment

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Swedish

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed
Tuesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm, 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Ave / Highway 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 354-3434

Website:
http://www.hultsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our private lot.
On Fridays and Saturdays we have valet service. $6 for Hult's guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wall Wednesday's ALL bottles of wine are 50% OFF

Happy Hour Tuesday-Sunday INCLUDING WEEKENDS 4.30pm - 6.30pm

"Julbord" a Swedish Christmas Smorgasbord, first 3 Sundays in December.
5:00-9:00pm.

Restaurant Photos

  • Hult's, Los Gatos, CA
Hult's, Los Gatos, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Hult's is perfectly located for private dining, with ample parking and easy access right off HWY 17. At Hult's we pride ourselves in being an industry leader in private dining. No room fees, no minimums and the owner, Alex Hult, will help make your event special.

Hult's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in Los Gatos ›

Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Modern Decor (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Romantic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Seasonal (9)
Casual (8)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Organic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tapas (5)
Cozy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fireplace (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We usually just sneak in and have dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We usually just sneak in and have dinner at the bar (enjoyable bar menu options and lively conversation!). Last night we had dinner at a table, and it was a whole new, yet equally delightful and very delicious experience. Cheers to Rudy, our server, and Alex of course, for creating a warm and wonderful atmosphere. High praise for the pork tenderloin and those Swedish meatballs!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pretty average. The phylo wrapped shrim ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Pretty average. The phylo wrapped shrimp appetizer was the only standout. The New York steak was not high quality as it was grissley (sp?) and under seasoned including their peppercorn sauce. For the price point, I was expecting the food to be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

As a first time patron, I chose to book ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

As a first time patron, I chose to book Thanksgiving Day dinner with my husband and father at Hult's. As we had a short wait for our table, I started off with a kir royale cocktail.

I selected roasted kabocha squash soup, braised boneless short ribs and raspberry sorbet, while the others opted for the turkey as the main course. We had a bottle of tempranillo to share.

The service was outstanding! Our food was delicious (we all shared bites), and our visit exceeded my expectations. We had a wonderful dinner and would not hesitate to try Hult's again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had Thanksgiving dinner here. The fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving dinner here. The food is always very good here. I was a bit disappointed that we didn't have stuffing and pumpkin/pecan pie as an option on Thanksgiving. Sorbet and Apple Bread Pudding was a disappointing selection.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for Thanksgiving. The food was grea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving. The food was great and so was the service. I hope they open for Thanks giving again next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious, complex dishes and great serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delicious, complex dishes and great service for a decent price. Recommended to friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hults has a warm, hospitable feeling & e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Hults has a warm, hospitable feeling & every entree exceeded expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place continues to get worse and wo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place continues to get worse and worse every time I go. They need a new chef. Food has gone down hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

This was my second visit to Hult's. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This was my second visit to Hult's. The first time we went, everything was pretty good except that the ravioli main course was tiny-it looked like a child's portion. We decided to give it another try. This time I ordered the elk filet. I asked how it was going to be cooked, and I was told medium rare. When it arrived, it was absolutely raw in the middle. It was served with some mashed potatoes with a flavorless insipid chantrelle gravy and a few pickle slices. I asked for it to be cooked more, and they threw the already sliced meat back on the grill and served it back to me. For $44. I will never go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

It pains me to say this but Hult's has b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

It pains me to say this but Hult's has been inconsistent. We've had some good meals there but, unfortunately, two bad experiences. This last one was a doozy. We were seated in a cold, back room away from the main dining room where there was a large party. No one picked up the extra place settings, brought water, or paid us any attention for 40 minutes! This was my friends's birthday and, even though we did not have all day, we were slow to complain as there were gifts to open. Finally, when a second party was seated in the same room, we asked if we could order. The food was very slow in coming and not as ordered. There was no apology, only a comment that my friend would not be charged for the chips she asked to omit from the order. All in all it was tremendously disappointing. However, I did write to the owner and he responded immediately offering to make it us to us on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Our first visit to Hults. Reservation f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our first visit to Hults. Reservation for 7:30. Got there at 7 pm because we heard good things about bar. Checked in with hostess upon arrival and let her know our plan. We FINALLY were seated at 8pm...whoops! No wine list provided at seating...why do some restaurants do this?? Took 10 minutes for waitstaff to show up. He then had to go get winelist, etc, resulting in more idle time. Getting kind of frustrated by this time. Anyway...finally got things rolling. I had short ribs, wife had scallops. Food was fantastic. If time management and serve were more evn, this would be a 5 star... but closer to 3.5 stars. We will go back and give it another chance due to excellent cuisine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Ambience and service was great! Extensiv ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ambience and service was great! Extensive wine list. Food was good and lovely presentation. Big negative was the price compared to the food portions. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went here to celebrate a birthday. F ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We went here to celebrate a birthday. Food was very good, we brought our own wine (we had a special bottle we were saving), so didn't really look at the wine list. Food was good, not out of this world fantastic. My wife very much enjoyed her short ribs, I had a steak au poise that was ok. Meat wasn't as tender as I expected and the sauce could have had more flavor. The appetizers we had were excellent: calamari steak, sliced into strips and breaded with dipping sauces and bacon wrapped dates. There was no kids menu, so we ordered our daughter the mac and cheese side dish, which was excellent and she enjoyed it. We also had a side of Brussel sprouts which were good, but I thought there was a sweet sauce on them that was a little too sweet when you got to the Brussels on the bottom of the pan.

The owner stopped by, which is a nice touch. The wait staff was very good and attentive. Overall, we might go back again, but there are other places we will probably try first.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

There was a mixer at the bar and all ove ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

There was a mixer at the bar and all over so we were forgotten and food was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great food!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was good but not great and the pric ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Food was good but not great and the price was very high. I would try it again for lunch or outdoor dining but I think I'd give it a pass for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The Swedish meatball appetizer was outst ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The Swedish meatball appetizer was outstanding as was the philo wrapped shrimp. Wonderful waiter. It's a winner in my book.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and drinks were perfect as usua ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food and drinks were perfect as usual. The service was unacceptably slow. I had to get up twice to find someone to get a drink and also to get the bill. All servers and bus persons walked with their heads down and would not respond to a wave or a call.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

Overall OK, Very noisy inside, slow se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overall OK,

Very noisy inside, slow service after finally placing orders.

Probably both due to a busy evening there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

My husband and I had a great time. We ca ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My husband and I had a great time. We came for the 4 course dinner and every course was absolutely delicious. The portions were very generous and flavorful. Alex was a great host who checked on us regularly

And even joined us for part of the dinner.

We will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a great locally owned place that is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

It's a great locally owned place that is comfortable with a very cool vibe. I have gone many times and never had a bad experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best meals I hav EVE ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was one of the best meals I hav EVER had and I have eaten at some amazing restaurants. I would highly recommend it. I had the short ribs, delish! Oh and the brussel sprouts, amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed by the brunch menu. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were disappointed by the brunch menu. The food was good but the menu does not have a lot of choices. The restaurant was very cold, we asked to reduce the AC but it did not make a difference. We were happy to leave as soon as we were done eating....We will not return for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Brunch was very tasty. The shrimp appeti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Brunch was very tasty. The shrimp appetizer was quite good and paired well with the bleu, walnut apple salad. But the best thing in our meal was the special chocolate ball dessert. The chocolate was truly to die for. As a Hult's original it simply must be tried.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Vegan, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Top value in town - good food and good s ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Top value in town - good food and good service. And not to forget that European ambience!

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was great and it's ju ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

As always the food was great and it's just a nice place to go to and relax and enjoy a nice meal. My wife and I both had the Filet Mignon and it was incredible. And just a suggestion, the server should let you know what they have run out of when they seat you rather than when you have reviewed the menu and you place your order with him. My wife had decided on the Short Ribs only to be told that they were out of them. They also didn't have the Pork Belly Appertizer which we also found out when we were placing our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was intrigued by this restaurant servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I was intrigued by this restaurant serving Californian cuisine with Swedish influence (I am Swedish). I didn't quite know what to expect, but I ended up enjoying a great Sunday brunch at Hult's. Their "Swedish influence" isn't as much a Swedish influence on the majority of their dishes, but more an addition of a couple of typically Swedish dishes to an otherwise very Californian menu (the Toast Skagen, Swedish pancakes and meatballs). In this regard, there is room for disappointment. HOWEVER, the food we ordered was delicious. The toast skagen was as good as anything I would get back in Sweden, and the eggs benedict and french toast were both very solid brunch items. Also, $16 bottomless mimosas and strong cappuccinos!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrible - we won't ever go back again. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Terrible - we won't ever go back again. Our waiter was not trained very well. We sat forever to get water and coffee and almost a full hour to get our food. they only Served 5 out of the 6 meals. The 6th meal came when the rest of table were 1/2 finished with their meals. And it was nothing like the menu described. It's a shame because the owner is a great guy - very nice but the wait staff and kitchen are terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent service with good prices and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent service with good prices and nice twist on regular foods.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit to Hult's. (Se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our second visit to Hult's. (See our previous OpenTable review below) After dining there on our wedding anniversary last year, we were looking forward to a similar special experience for my birthday. This time, however, it was a much different environment, and both the service and food were a step down from that occasion.

One of the biggest reasons, I believe, was dining on a Saturday night. We couldn't get a table reservation until 8:30 PM, but the place was still very crowded and extremely loud. Our previous visit was a Thursday night, which made for a much more enjoyable experience. It was quiet enough for an intimate dinner then, and we received a personal visit from the owner. This time, we could barely conduct a conversation in a normal voice, and although our waiter was adequate.. nothing special.

Not that we expect freebies or anything, but my wife informed the restaurant it was my birthday, and there was no acknowledgment of that. The waiter's entree recommendations were also questionable, although that can be a matter of taste. Nevertheless, I've had much better short ribs at another Los Gatos restaurant, regardless of the claimed 6-hour slow cooking. We did enjoy the bacon-wrapped dates and calamari appetizers, however, and my wife's diver scallops were very good (and a large 4-scallop serving!).

We'll likely try Hult's again in the future, but not for any special occasions that happen to fall on a Saturday night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Amazing food, nice atmosphere, and a ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Amazing food, nice atmosphere, and a very attentive wait staff! The owner is friendly and very as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing dining experience due to t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Disappointing dining experience due to the extensive wait between first course and main course servings whose time lapse was approximately 30 minutes. Main course food was below expectations as compared to an earlier dining experience here several months ago. Management and wait staff acknowledged very slow service and made appropriate adjustments to the final cost of the bill. Also not an ambiance to conduct normal conversation; noise level was this time and also was on our previous visit way too loud. Based on the aforementioned factors, would not return to or recommend this restaurant to friends or acquqintances.... also conveyed this to management.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Hults has a wonderfully diverse menu and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Hults has a wonderfully diverse menu and very attentive staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, but realized that the noise level was a bit high to have a modulated conversation between two people. The noise level would be the only damper on the evening. Maybe it is not so "live" on a non-weekend night. Will be happy to return to find out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hults has come a long way since opening ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Hults has come a long way since opening in Los Gatos. The valet parking was definitely

a good first impression. We were four and we each enjoyed different selections. All were excellent. Alex visited every table, which is a class personal touch.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and nice ambience. As a celia ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great food and nice ambience. As a celiac patient, I really appreciated the gluten free options. We'll be back :)

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautifully crafted meals, with top notc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Beautifully crafted meals, with top notch local ingredients.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service. great meal. Really un ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent service. great meal. Really unique options.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The owner always comes around to say HI. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The owner always comes around to say HI. The service is very professional. The food not only tastes great but looks beautiful on the plate. It's a bit pricy but worth it for a special occasion they do have a great happy hour and 50% off wine bottles on Wednesdays.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had booked reservations for our 15th a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I had booked reservations for our 15th anniversary several weeks ago. We were very excited to try Hult's as we had not been in the two years we've lived here. When we arrived we were told that only outdoor seating was available. It was chilly so that was not ok. They said that they had a large party of 70 they booked and unfortunately they did not have any indoor seating. While we were waiting for Manager they did give us a glass of wine. We spoke to the manager and he arranged to take a small 2 person table from a couple sitting at a 4 person table (2 small ones). So their dinner got interrupted because of this problem. Then our table was put near the window closest to the front door so we could see the hostess warming herself constantly at the outdoor heater out our window....distracting. My soup was cold. Only after we passed up dessert did the waiter come back to offer a comped dessert. Too little too late. Disappointing for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The short rib was amazing!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The short rib was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.