About Hult's

165 Los Gatos Saratoga Rd
Los Gatos, CA 95030
View Larger Map

Hult’s is the newest addition to the Bay Area’s farm-to-table dining scene serving Lunch, Dinner, and Sunday Brunch. The interior offers an upscale, casual atmosphere, with a warm and welcoming wrap-around full bar while the newly built outdoor patio features comfortable seating surrounded by ambient glass fire tables. In addition to a seasonal al a carte menu, the “Hult’s Experience” offers a six course tasting menu, made from the freshest seasonal ingredients. Pair your meal with a wide variety our Californian boutique wines, authentic French Champagnes, specialty cocktails or craft beers. With an ever changing menu, we invite you to discover the Hult’s Experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed
Tuesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-11:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-11:00pm
Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-11:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-11:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm, 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Ave / Highway 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 354-3434

Website:
http://www.hultsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our private lot.

Private Party Facilities:
Hult's is available for private parties of all sizes and occasions. All private parties are booked on a first come first served basis. Reserve your special occasion TODAY by calling (408)354-3434.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Hult: 408-354-3434x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Butter Paddle Special Event Dinner-5 Course Tasting Menu $85 per person. Wine Pairing extra $25 per person. Two seatings at 6PM and 8PM only.

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Father's Day Brunch. Celebrate your Father in style. A three course brunch with multiple options for each course.
$49pp glass of beer, mimosa or bloody Mary included.
9am-3pm

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Hult's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (96)
special occasion (86)
neighborhood gem (67)
See All
good for groups (46)
notable wine list (44)
great for lunch (41)
romantic (38)
great for brunch (33)
great for outdoor dining (26)
hot spot (22)
vibrant bar scene (19)
kid-friendly (10)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for lunch. Service was excellent ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

We went for lunch. Service was excellent and very friendly. I had the ravioli--excellent. My husband had the salmon---also very tasty. We would definitely come back to try other things on the menu. The bar area was big and outside patio searing was nice. Looks like a fun happy hour place.

food5
ambience4
service5

Always appreciated as a special Occasion ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Always appreciated as a special Occasion or just lunch on any given weekday. Kind friendly staff with attentive waiters!

food5
ambience5
service5

Unique delicious dishes, with a good va ...

Dined 4 days ago

Unique delicious dishes, with a good variety of seafood and meat

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific!

Dined 4 days ago

You'll be glad you went! Food delicious. Staff friendly and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Bad service for what you're paying for. ...

Dined 6 days ago

Bad service for what you're paying for. (97 dollars, without tip, for two ppl.) Takes 2 hours to receive order and it was not busy. Went for a special occasion and left with a bad taste in my mouth as our server was inattentive and even ordered our busser to get our waters for us while we watched him walk to the bar to watch the game. I would not recommend.

food5
ambience4
service5

Hult's was perfect for our date night. F ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Hult's was perfect for our date night. Food was great. All of the food was local and you could definitely taste the difference. We loved the wine list. Service was outstanding. We will be going back very soon.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time here, we will definitely return!

Dined on May 21, 2016

I went here for lunch on a Saturday with my husband and my parents. It was our first time here. My husband ordered calamari and my parents and myself had three servings of Toast Skagen for appetizers. My husband had salmon, my dad had duck, my mom had risotto and I ordered Swedish Meatballs for main courses. After that we ordered a serving of gelato with melted chocolate, brownies and berries and a serving of raspberry sorbet for the table. All of the dishes were delicious!! We all recommend this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food - starters delicious but too ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food - starters delicious but too much in quantity for us Europeans such that was hard to eat all the main course and dessert. Perhaps we are just not used to eating so much!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delish!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful food with unique items, such as the trout on toast with trout roe! The baked alaska was also unique and delicious! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love coming here

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is the second time we've come to Hult's to celebrate a special occasion. The food is excellent -- the Swedish meatballs are my favorite! Great wine list. Love that the owner circulates to each table and introduces himself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the best experience from Cliff ou ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the best experience from Cliff our Waiter to Alexander coming to our Table to the trainee pouring the wine. The food was phenomenal. Not only will we do a write up on Yelp but will recommend to all of our friends. on Facebook and beyond

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I went to Hult's to celebr ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My family and I went to Hult's to celebrate my 30th birthday and my brother-in-laws graduation. The meal was perfect and the waiter was very attentive! So happy we decided to go there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked a last minute table for six fo ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We booked a last minute table for six for early lunch: service was welcoming, patient- as we visited while making our order decisions and very efficient. Every meal was delicious and customize to support a few allergy prone guests. Anxious to return to try a few different entree's. Great environment. A gem nestled into a busy corner as you enter into downtown Los Gatos.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First time. Overall I think everyone in ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

First time. Overall I think everyone in our party liked the food. It was hard to hear and it was an older crowd so it would be nice to sit an chat without yelling.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food tasty; service needs work

Dined on May 15, 2016

I was here recently for brunch. The food was tasty, although the waiter got my order wrong. The service was not great My friend and I sat, in an almost empty restaurant, for at least ten minutes before our waiter approached us. He was bustling about our table helping another waiter arrange tables. At least take our drink order first! I had an issue I needed to discuss with what I believe was a manager/waiter, and he had a bit of an attitude. That same person had made a kind of snide comment to my friends and I the one time I was here for dinner. So while the ambiance is good and the food is actually quite good, the service needs work. If you don't make your guests feel welcome, appreciated, and taken care of, they will not be repeat diners.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we were not ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our first visit and we were not disappointed. We even had the honor of being served by Alex Hult, himself. Of course, the service was outstanding. Every dish we had was artistically presented, perfect portions, and totally delectable. We had the Poki, Beat Salad, Duck, Surf and Turf, and the Chocolate Sphere. There is no question that we will return and also highly recommend to our friends. Thanks Alex, for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great waiter!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my second venture to Hult's in Los Gatos. I knew the food was good, but this time I ordered from the bar--a drink more popular in the '60s and '70s--a Brandy Alexander. When I took the first sip, I was very disappointed. When the waiter asked how I liked it, I told him. So he said he would take it back and make a new one himself. It was perfect!! I asked why the first attempt had been less sweet than what I was used to. He smiled and tactfully said that maybe the younger generation prefers stronger drinks. This is a restaurant that wants the diner to be happy with food, drinks, and waiters. I will return to Hult's!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A bit disappointing for Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a return visit but a bit disappointing. The fixed menu allowed you to pick one option for each course but the food was bland and not at all what we had experienced before. Based on the price and previous experience we expected far more.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mother's Day Brunch! Great restaur ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mother's Day Brunch! Great restaurant for any occasion or/and dinner!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Mothers Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

nice environment, though it did have the feel of pre-prepared food for the brunch; it was a set menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I went for a belated anniversary dinner. We had the Hult's experience. 5 courses. It was delicious andworth every penny. We were not rushed, but service was still excellent. I highly recommend the ahi poke. Fabulous!!! Next time I would get the wine paring to go with it. By the time we bought a bottle of wine and two glasses of dessert wine, it cost about the same. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1

Not impressed. Service was sub-par. Whil ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Not impressed. Service was sub-par. While I'm sure he's a pleasant gentleman, our server did not know how to explain how the dishes were prepared. I heard the other server describe the different dishes quite eloquently. Bacon wrapped "Beef Lindstrom" needs an explanation. A restaurant of this caliber should have servers that are an extension of the chef. The wine selection was mediocre. The server brought the wrong wine, and still included it on the bill. Sorry but we won't be returning.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Enjoyed our first visit to Hult's which was to celebrate my wife's birthday. It's a good place - it doesn't feel too flashy, quite a down-to-earth feel, but the food and service were both very good. Some interesting Swedish influence to the menu - the owner is apparently a Swedish former NHL player. We had phyllo-wrapped prawns and bruscetta for our starters - the burata was exceptional. Then scallops and duck breast for mains. The scallops were cooked to perfection and the duck was cooked souvide-style which meant is was wonderfully tasty and tender. They have a decent wine list, almost entirely local. We finished with a cheese plate which was pretty massive - we didn't need dessert after that and rolled out of the restaurant in need of a walk up University Ave to let some of the food go down. Overall, I wouldn't say this place is absolutely amazing but it was very good and we will probably be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on May 7, 2016

Devine food and perfect service! The Surf and Turf was Delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place for happy hour & appetizers

Dined on May 7, 2016

The husband & I were finally able to sneak away from the kids to have a date night and had a mixed experience. The swedish meatballs & salad were really good. The main entrees (filet mignon & beef lindstrom) & sides (risotto & mac/cheese) were good but we were not blown away. The service was good and the farm-to-table was noticeable in the meal so we definitely enjoyed ourselves. We felt that the restaurant would be great for after work happy hour drinks/apps but not so much for the nice date-night-sitter-worthy meal we had hoped for.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful meal

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I dined here early (6 pm) on Friday evening. It was pretty empty when we arrived, but filled up by 7 pm. Still, it was quiet enough for a nice conversation. For starters, I had the lovely Kumato tomatoes and Burrata salad, and my husband had the phyllo-wrapped shrimp. The tomatoes were fresh, the burrata creamy, the truffle honey and the pesto complemented them nicely. The phyllo-wrapped shrimp was more like an extra light tempura; my husband enjoyed it. For mains, I had the scallops, my husband the duck. Both were delicious. We split the seasonal mushrooms for a side. They were nicely done, and a nice sized portion. We also split a dessert, a wonderful ball of ice cream encased in chocolate -- light but delicious -- a nice finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely delicious food

Dined on May 6, 2016

This is my third time back at Hult's. The food was impeccable once again. The wine that was recommended by our waiter was perfect for the night as was the appetizers our waiter recommended. It was quite busy during Cinco de Mayo however we got our food hot and fresh. The wait staff always had our waters filled and our wine glasses too. We ended the night with the owner's special dessert that he concocted himself -chocolate sphere with hot fudge poured on top. Overall, a very nice night in LG.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Food

Dined on May 4, 2016

We were really please with the food, atmosphere and service. We will place this on our list of restaurants to revisit and take friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Came up woefully short in all categories

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

What was supposed to be a special occasion based on the Owner's own promise turned out to be anything but. The owner didn't even bother to show up this night and the rest of the staff scrambled around trying make it right. Clint did well trying, but the kitchen completely failed in producing a chef's tasting menu. The opening meatballs were followed by a flattened meatball 'steak'. The prices are outrageous for the less than mediocre food. Do yourselves a favor and dine at any other Los Gatos restaurant besides Hults. You will be much happier.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First Timer

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our first visit to Hult’s and won’t be our last. Great steaks and I especially liked the goat cheese and beet salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great date night dinner...lovely!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Great date night dinner...lovely!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

enjoyable, tasty meal

Dined on April 28, 2016

As before, service started out rather slow but once we ordered everything moved along appropriately. Our favorite server Elaina is unfortunately no longer there (she made lunch there always a most amusing experience and was half the reason we went), but Elise did a good job of serving. We love the food and they have a lot of interesting wines, but since I am a big beer fan, I always have an IPA. They serve very good beer too. Love the sweet potato fries!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The shrimp appetizer was really great. I ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The shrimp appetizer was really great. I had the new fish sandwich. It was really good. Maybe the bun could be a little smaller.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best local restaurant

Dined on April 28, 2016

So glad we found Hults. Just love their scallop with crispy parsnips, not to forget the Swedish Fish Cocktail! Half price wines on Wednesday also. Will be back soon, I hope.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Not Impressed

Dined on April 25, 2016

Our waiter explained to us that they were changing to the Spring menu the following day and a few of the items were not available. Our party didn't think much of it until he listed off almost half the entrees. When we asked if there were other items available as most of the menu was not available he said no. Ok... IMO that's just poor planning. If a restaurant were switching it's menu, it should have some of the new items available. We were celebrating a birthday that evening and Alex, the owner came over to introduce himself. He asked the birthday girl which dessert she would like as he would send it over with on the house. The birthday dessert never arrived. The entire experience from the lackluster service, poorly planned menu and empty promise were a huge disappointment. My friends and I will not be back. There are plenty of options in Los Gatos to choose from that all hit the mark. Hult's is a definite miss.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service!!!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Unique, delicious food with outstanding service! One of the best restaurants I have been to ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful in every way...food, service, ambiance!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We took a visiting foodie-friend to Hult's for dinner. From the first moment, the friendly, knowledgeable waitstaff and the upbeat, classy (but not fussy) ambiance made us feel like we were visiting friends...friends with REALLY good food and a rocking wine list. The appetizers were fantastic: the shrimp toast (Toast Skagen) was delicious, the phyllo-wrapped shrimp were light and fun to dip, and the meatballs were an unexpected delight: crispy crunchy with slightly spicy accompaniments...yum! Our entrees also were excellent. The sou vide duck and the diver scallops were perfect! Be sure to taste before salting as the chef has thoughtfully seasoned everything and it doesn't need extras. The menu changes seasonally due to the farm-to-table sensibility. And our server was quick to suggest wines from the great list that would work well with our diverse choices. The Hult's themselves are one of the special treats of this local gem. Alex always makes his way around to see how you enjoy the food, and if Sarah is in the house - well - the entire place shines a little brighter. We will be back...soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Finally checked it out

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

and was surprised to find Hult's such a pleasant restaurant. The Swedish meatballs were especially yummy as was the Swedish fish cocktail. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Meatballs

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Our family is Swedish and Swedish Meatballs is a favorite special occasion dish. The Swedish Meatball appetizer with mashed potatoes, gravy, and lingonberries at Hults was the best I've ever had - better than mine even. I've already returned to have them again. Everything else was great too - Greek salad, Salmon entrée, Old Fashioned cocktail, wine recommendations, and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

The server was trying to be polite but h ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The server was trying to be polite but had to tell us that a lot on the menus was not available do to changing the menu. The wine was a good bottle but was warm 😒 Asked for medium rare on the steak and it came overdone. It wasn't busy and so no excuse for that. We have had a great meal there when they first opened but was let down this time.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.