About Hult's

165 Los Gatos Saratoga Rd
Los Gatos, CA 95030
View Larger Map

Hult’s is an award winning casual fine dining restaurant serving California cuisine with Swedish influences. The interior offers an upscale, casual atmosphere, with a warm and welcoming wrap-around full bar while the newly built outdoor patio features comfortable seating surrounded by ambient glass fire tables. Open for Lunch, Dinner and Sunday Brunch. In addition to a seasonal al a carte menu, the “Hult’s Experience” offers a five course tasting menu, made from the freshest seasonal ingredients. Pair your meal with a wide variety our Californian boutique wines, authentic French Champagnes, specialty cocktails or craft beers. With an ever changing menu, we invite you to discover the Hult’s Experience. See for yourself why Hult’s was awarded “Small Business of the Year” 2016 in Silicon Valley by the State Goverment

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Swedish

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed
Tuesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Wednesday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Thursday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm, 4:30-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm, 4:30-9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Ave / Highway 9

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 354-3434

Website:
http://www.hultsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our private lot.

Private Party Facilities:
Hult's is available for private parties of all sizes and occasions. All private parties are booked on a first come first served basis. Reserve your special occasion TODAY by calling (408)477-4632.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Hult: 408-477-4632x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Wall Wednesday's ALL bottles of wine are 50% OFF

Happy Hour Tuesday-Sunday INCLUDING WEEKENDS 4.30pm - 6.30pm

Restaurant Photos

  • Hult's
Hult's

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Hult's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (99)
special occasion (96)
neighborhood gem (68)
See All
notable wine list (55)
good for groups (44)
great for lunch (43)
great for outdoor dining (38)
great for brunch (38)
romantic (37)
hot spot (19)
vibrant bar scene (18)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3

We went for the Father's Day brunch. The ...

Dined 5 days ago

We went for the Father's Day brunch. The food was good but portions were small. We were there mid afternoon and not very many others were in the restaurant. The waiter only showed up to take orders. Water was never refilled. Value of food and service was not inline with prices charged.

food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We attended Father's Day brunch and didn ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We attended Father's Day brunch and didn't pay attention to the $50 fixed price 3 course menu. The price itself wasn't the issue. The quality of the food was marginal and the quantity as well. The server was FANTASTIC but the value was way out of sync with the price. It's in a great location and could be a huge hit in Los Gatos.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely brunch for Father's Day. Very ni ...

Dined 5 days ago

Lovely brunch for Father's Day. Very nice special menu to mark the occasion! We also were able to sit outside which was quiet and lovely. We would definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The foods were terrific. The service wa ...

Dined 5 days ago

The foods were terrific. The service was excellent! Will come back again.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This is the second time we have visited ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is the second time we have visited Hult's. The first time was in March for our anniversary. We had such a wonderful time we wanted to visit again. We took a friend with us and again were not disappointed. Our server each time was Brandon. He took the time to detail different items on the menu and help us adhere to some dietary restrictions. He was very attentive to our every need. Our friend was equally impressed with the food and service. The wine was excellent as well. The owner also came to our table to make sure that everything was to our liking. Nice touch! The only negative was the noise level was a bit high. We are hearing impaired and as such any room where there are many people can create a problem with hearing the table conversation. This is not a fault of the restaurant though, just a heads up for people with impaired hearing. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique lunch menus with great burger and ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Unique lunch menus with great burger and sandwich selections.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversa ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary and were treated to their FANTASTIC chocolate dessert. As a chocoholic I am very particular and this dessert met my hopes. yum! I also had a absolutely wonderful beet salad; the tuna poke was good but it isn't my favorite dish. I also love the pulled pork and the to-die-for sweet potato fries. My husband always has and enjoys the hamburger. We enjoy going to Hult's for lunch, especially either before or after the noon hour. The service is a bit slow at times, as the staff is small.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We sat inside for an early dinner on a S ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We sat inside for an early dinner on a Saturday night. As we dined the noise level got louder and louder till I could not hear the person next to me, and across the four top was lip reading. The food was tasty, the service fine, the wine delicious, and the desert decedent and lovely. Too bad it you want the tasting menu, but your seat mates do not, you are out of luck. the restaurant was way too noisy, and that will keep me from returning, other than with my husband to sit at the bar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good dining experience

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We took our daughter to a "new" restaurant (to her) for her birthday. We all tried different cocktails and each of them was very good, as was the food. Love the meatballs and the sweet potato raviolis were very good but a small portion so no leftovers!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

APPROACHING MANRESSA CLASS CUISINE, GREAT SERVICE

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

The food offerings can now be called Michelline class cuisine. The service is great. They listen carefully to customer feedback and are making continuous improvements to the customer experience. The food is now in the same class as Manresa and a lot more reasonably priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice Lunch

Dined on June 1, 2016

We got there at Noon so it was quiet. The lunch menu had several interesting items and I enjoyed the pulled pork sandwich. The sweet potato fries were okay but I should of asked for a salad. I like the Happy Hour at Hult's and recommend that to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always excellent. Now has outside dining option

Dined on June 1, 2016

The food and drinks at Hult's have superbly balanced flavors while also using fresh locally sourced ingredients for similar prices to standard "nice" restaurants (which do not serve food that rises to this level). On our last outing, we had our very well behaved dog with us, so were delighted that she could be with us on the newly constructed patio dining area (rather than waiting in the car).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Great but too noisy

Dined on June 1, 2016

Delicious food but the noisy group of ladies that came in really killed it for me. Too bad they had to seat the big loud group in the middle of the restaurant so we all had to experience their cackling, wine induced volume. I'd keep large parties to the side of the restaurant in the future so other guests aren't having to block out loud party conversations. Food was good.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyable lunch with out of town visitors.

Dined on May 28, 2016

We like the ambiance and service; enjoyed the salads, the burger and meat balls very much, the desert was great too.Only the mushroom risotto was too blend. Overall, a good experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The quality and presentation of the dish ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The quality and presentation of the dishes were superb. The staff were friendly and available.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for lunch. Service was excellent ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

We went for lunch. Service was excellent and very friendly. I had the ravioli--excellent. My husband had the salmon---also very tasty. We would definitely come back to try other things on the menu. The bar area was big and outside patio searing was nice. Looks like a fun happy hour place.

food5
ambience4
service5

Always appreciated as a special Occasion ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Always appreciated as a special Occasion or just lunch on any given weekday. Kind friendly staff with attentive waiters!

food5
ambience5
service5

Unique delicious dishes, with a good va ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Unique delicious dishes, with a good variety of seafood and meat

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific!

Dined on May 24, 2016

You'll be glad you went! Food delicious. Staff friendly and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Bad service for what you're paying for. ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Bad service for what you're paying for. (97 dollars, without tip, for two ppl.) Takes 2 hours to receive order and it was not busy. Went for a special occasion and left with a bad taste in my mouth as our server was inattentive and even ordered our busser to get our waters for us while we watched him walk to the bar to watch the game. I would not recommend.

food5
ambience4
service5

Hult's was perfect for our date night. F ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Hult's was perfect for our date night. Food was great. All of the food was local and you could definitely taste the difference. We loved the wine list. Service was outstanding. We will be going back very soon.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time here, we will definitely return!

Dined on May 21, 2016

I went here for lunch on a Saturday with my husband and my parents. It was our first time here. My husband ordered calamari and my parents and myself had three servings of Toast Skagen for appetizers. My husband had salmon, my dad had duck, my mom had risotto and I ordered Swedish Meatballs for main courses. After that we ordered a serving of gelato with melted chocolate, brownies and berries and a serving of raspberry sorbet for the table. All of the dishes were delicious!! We all recommend this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food - starters delicious but too ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food - starters delicious but too much in quantity for us Europeans such that was hard to eat all the main course and dessert. Perhaps we are just not used to eating so much!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delish!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful food with unique items, such as the trout on toast with trout roe! The baked alaska was also unique and delicious! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love coming here

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is the second time we've come to Hult's to celebrate a special occasion. The food is excellent -- the Swedish meatballs are my favorite! Great wine list. Love that the owner circulates to each table and introduces himself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the best experience from Cliff ou ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the best experience from Cliff our Waiter to Alexander coming to our Table to the trainee pouring the wine. The food was phenomenal. Not only will we do a write up on Yelp but will recommend to all of our friends. on Facebook and beyond

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I went to Hult's to celebr ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My family and I went to Hult's to celebrate my 30th birthday and my brother-in-laws graduation. The meal was perfect and the waiter was very attentive! So happy we decided to go there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked a last minute table for six fo ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We booked a last minute table for six for early lunch: service was welcoming, patient- as we visited while making our order decisions and very efficient. Every meal was delicious and customize to support a few allergy prone guests. Anxious to return to try a few different entree's. Great environment. A gem nestled into a busy corner as you enter into downtown Los Gatos.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First time. Overall I think everyone in ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

First time. Overall I think everyone in our party liked the food. It was hard to hear and it was an older crowd so it would be nice to sit an chat without yelling.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food tasty; service needs work

Dined on May 15, 2016

I was here recently for brunch. The food was tasty, although the waiter got my order wrong. The service was not great My friend and I sat, in an almost empty restaurant, for at least ten minutes before our waiter approached us. He was bustling about our table helping another waiter arrange tables. At least take our drink order first! I had an issue I needed to discuss with what I believe was a manager/waiter, and he had a bit of an attitude. That same person had made a kind of snide comment to my friends and I the one time I was here for dinner. So while the ambiance is good and the food is actually quite good, the service needs work. If you don't make your guests feel welcome, appreciated, and taken care of, they will not be repeat diners.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we were not ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our first visit and we were not disappointed. We even had the honor of being served by Alex Hult, himself. Of course, the service was outstanding. Every dish we had was artistically presented, perfect portions, and totally delectable. We had the Poki, Beat Salad, Duck, Surf and Turf, and the Chocolate Sphere. There is no question that we will return and also highly recommend to our friends. Thanks Alex, for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great waiter!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my second venture to Hult's in Los Gatos. I knew the food was good, but this time I ordered from the bar--a drink more popular in the '60s and '70s--a Brandy Alexander. When I took the first sip, I was very disappointed. When the waiter asked how I liked it, I told him. So he said he would take it back and make a new one himself. It was perfect!! I asked why the first attempt had been less sweet than what I was used to. He smiled and tactfully said that maybe the younger generation prefers stronger drinks. This is a restaurant that wants the diner to be happy with food, drinks, and waiters. I will return to Hult's!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A bit disappointing for Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a return visit but a bit disappointing. The fixed menu allowed you to pick one option for each course but the food was bland and not at all what we had experienced before. Based on the price and previous experience we expected far more.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mother's Day Brunch! Great restaur ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mother's Day Brunch! Great restaurant for any occasion or/and dinner!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Mothers Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

nice environment, though it did have the feel of pre-prepared food for the brunch; it was a set menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I went for a belated anniversary dinner. We had the Hult's experience. 5 courses. It was delicious andworth every penny. We were not rushed, but service was still excellent. I highly recommend the ahi poke. Fabulous!!! Next time I would get the wine paring to go with it. By the time we bought a bottle of wine and two glasses of dessert wine, it cost about the same. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1

Not impressed. Service was sub-par. Whil ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Not impressed. Service was sub-par. While I'm sure he's a pleasant gentleman, our server did not know how to explain how the dishes were prepared. I heard the other server describe the different dishes quite eloquently. Bacon wrapped "Beef Lindstrom" needs an explanation. A restaurant of this caliber should have servers that are an extension of the chef. The wine selection was mediocre. The server brought the wrong wine, and still included it on the bill. Sorry but we won't be returning.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Enjoyed our first visit to Hult's which was to celebrate my wife's birthday. It's a good place - it doesn't feel too flashy, quite a down-to-earth feel, but the food and service were both very good. Some interesting Swedish influence to the menu - the owner is apparently a Swedish former NHL player. We had phyllo-wrapped prawns and bruscetta for our starters - the burata was exceptional. Then scallops and duck breast for mains. The scallops were cooked to perfection and the duck was cooked souvide-style which meant is was wonderfully tasty and tender. They have a decent wine list, almost entirely local. We finished with a cheese plate which was pretty massive - we didn't need dessert after that and rolled out of the restaurant in need of a walk up University Ave to let some of the food go down. Overall, I wouldn't say this place is absolutely amazing but it was very good and we will probably be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on May 7, 2016

Devine food and perfect service! The Surf and Turf was Delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place for happy hour & appetizers

Dined on May 7, 2016

The husband & I were finally able to sneak away from the kids to have a date night and had a mixed experience. The swedish meatballs & salad were really good. The main entrees (filet mignon & beef lindstrom) & sides (risotto & mac/cheese) were good but we were not blown away. The service was good and the farm-to-table was noticeable in the meal so we definitely enjoyed ourselves. We felt that the restaurant would be great for after work happy hour drinks/apps but not so much for the nice date-night-sitter-worthy meal we had hoped for.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.