Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

ForeFore
(129)
Contemporary American | Bee Caves / Lakeway / Lake Travis, Austin
Reserve Now
Steiner Ranch SteakhouseSteiner Ranch Steakhouse
(1764)
Steak | Northwest, Austin
Reserve Now
Oasthouse GastropubOasthouse Gastropub
(34)
Contemporary American | Northwest, Austin
Reserve Now
TadashiTadashi
(67)
Japanese | Bee Caves / Lakeway / Lake Travis, Austin
Reserve Now
Cafe BlueCafe Blue
(47)
Seafood | Bee Caves / Lakeway / Lake Travis, Austin
Reserve Now
TravisTravis
(56)
American | Bee Caves / Lakeway / Lake Travis, Austin
Reserve Now
Plate By DzintraPlate By Dzintra
(12)
Continental | Bee Caves / Lakeway / Lake Travis, Austin
Reserve Now
Rocco's Grill - AustinRocco's Grill - Austin
(30)
Italian | Bee Caves / Lakeway / Lake Travis, Austin
Reserve Now
TravaasaTravaasa
(37)
Contemporary American | Northwest, Austin
Reserve Now
eleven plates & wineeleven plates & wine
(367)
Contemporary American | West Austin / Westlake, Austin
Reserve Now
Siena Ristorante ToscanaSiena Ristorante Toscana
(561)
Italian | Northwest, Austin
Reserve Now
SotoSoto
(262)
Japanese | Northwest, Austin
Reserve Now
8212 Wine Bar & Grill8212 Wine Bar & Grill
(10)
American | Downtown, Austin
Reserve Now
Freda's Seafood GrilleFreda's Seafood Grille
(139)
Seafood | Northwest, Austin
Reserve Now
The Bistro at Flat Creek EstateThe Bistro at Flat Creek Estate
(20)
Bistro | Northwest, Austin
Reserve Now

About Hudson's On The Bend - Permanently Closed

3509 Ranch Road 620 North
Austin, TX 78734
View Larger Map

Located in the hill country just west of Austin, Hudson's On The Bend, offers axis venison, wild boar, pheasant, quail, as well as trout, lobster, shrimp and Black Angus beef medallions topped with smoked lobster...and way too many wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southwest, Contemporary American, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday & Monday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 266-1369

Website:
http://www.hudsonsonthebend.com/main.php

Entertainment:
Thursday nights
5pm-7pm
Live entertainment
Patio area

Catering:
Catering options available

Executive Chef:
Kelly Casey

Private Party Facilities:
Fine dining with a casual atmosphere. Hudson's is a 50's ranch house transformed into the number one five star restaurant in Austin with several private and semi private rooms with capacities ranging from 6 to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Rosi Sparmann: 8777096916

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour at our patio bar
Mon-Fri
5:00-7:00

Hudson's On The Bend - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (8)
romantic (6)
fit for foodies (5)
See All
notable wine list (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One last time...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This was the last dinner service at Hudson's on the Bend, at least the last service for this particular incarnation of Hudson's. Jeff has sold the restaurant to new owners after 30+ years at the helm, to focus on his health.

Hopefully the new owners maintain the spirit of the restaurant. This is definitely a case of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it."

We will be back when the restaurant re-opens after renovations. I'm sincerely hoping that we return to essentially the same Hudson's we fell in love with so many years ago.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had found out about this restaurant la ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I had found out about this restaurant last year on my hunt to find the perfect place to take my boyfriend for his birthday dinner. We didn't end up going then but we had the pleasure of dining at Hudson's for his birthday this year. When we got there, the place was charming. The garden and lighting were cute. We had a reservation and I had called them to let them know we were running late (had to call a few times because no one answered.) Upon entering the restaurant, we had to wait about 15 mins before we were seated because there was no hostess or anyone there to seat us. I expected it to be a cute, quaint, romanic restaurant and I can't say it was. We were seated next to a bachelorette party. Needless to say, it was LOUD. Our server took a long time to take our order even though we were ready pretty quickly. Overall, I'd say the service was pretty slow. The food, however, was absolutely divine. Starting with the bread and the entrees and dessert, everything was just phenomenal. My only other major complaint aside from the service is- when making the reservation, I had specified that it was my boyfriend's birthday. When we ordered dessert, I expected them to maybe write 'happy birthday' on the plate with chocolate syrup as most restaurants do, or put a candle on the cake we ordered at the very least. I had also mentioned to our server in conversation a couple times that it was his birthday. But they did nothing of the sort so I was pretty disappointed by that. I also wish they had more vegetarian options as I am a vegetarian and wouldn't go back numerous times to eat the same thing again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

fabulous!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We will miss HOB while renovating and look forward to the new owners continuing to offer the crispy trout ! Patio needs a floor and we will then eat outside!!

Wonderful food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the Drive

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

The food here is consistently excellent. A number of unusual wild game dishes. The duck diablos are great. The smoked quail salad is fantastic. The elk blackstrap is always tender, lean and vey tasty. The hot and crunchy trout is a favorite. The pork chop was really good. I bave eaten here many times and had only one bad experience. It was with the ribeye which was way too thin, very tough and over cooked. Everything else has been great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting menu of the non-ordinary! W ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Interesting menu of the non-ordinary! Worthwhile dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food,however our waiter was no ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Excellent food,however our waiter was not the best. He forgot to bring our drink and never came back to check on us. He apologized later on and said the drink is on the house but still charged us for the drink. We had to ask another waiter to get us what we wanted several times. Overall I did like the food so much I bought the recipe book for $32.00 .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hudson's always pleases!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Hudson's is truly one of the gems of the Hill Country! This time we chose the chef's 3-course tasting menu and were treated to a delicious dinner. The crunchy trout and the beef tenderloin were prepared just right, and the service was spot on too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We dine here every spring break, & it is ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

We dine here every spring break, & it is consistently awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent Food and Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

The food was good, but not all it was hyped up to be. The ambiance was great, and gives an older feel that you often get in Austin. Service was great and makes for a perfect date night spot. I don't feel the food was as good as the price tag suggested though. Overall, I would return to try again, or maybe just check out the happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food. Diverse menu. Ecletic ambience.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

One of the best dinners ever. Business dinner in private room. Lots of extra tastings. Excellent and impressive.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely dining experience. The ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

It was a lovely dining experience. The food and wine pairing was exceptional

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the relaxed, quiet atmosphere. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

I loved the relaxed, quiet atmosphere. Nice for a romantic dinner or fun time with friends. The lobster bisque was amazing and the beef tenderloin was so tender topped with a delicious sauce. I will return...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasting Menu

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Food and service is always good. However, this was my third visit in 2.5 years and the "three course tasting" menu has not changed. Almost all items have a "spice/kick" to me so if you're not into spicy food, then probably not a place to dine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Hudson's is just superb.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

The 3-course tasting menu with wine pairings is always superb. The spicy crunchy trout is amazing, as is the tenderloin. Service is gracious, unobtrusive, and fast. Lovely for a quiet visit with friends, always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Love Hudson's. our 48th in 2 weeks.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

I Love Hudson's. My wife and I go there every year for our anniversary. We will be there for our 48th in 2 weeks. Food and service are excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun date night

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was my second time to Hudson's on the Bend, and the food was just as delicious as last time. We used Groupons so the value was pretty good. And the complimentary pumpkin bread was delicious! I always get the goat cheese salad for my first course, because I love it so much. This time I tried the pork entree - I think I like the crispy trout more, but the apple cider brandy sauce with the pork was amazing. I am pretty angry that when they packed it for me (because I couldn't finish), they didn't pack the sauce! Then for dessert, I tried the wild turtle pie. Last time, I tried the key lime pie, and I can't pick which I like better. They're both wonderful. The wild turtle pie is pretty rich though, so if I want something light after dinner in the future, I'll get the key lime pie.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What's to say? Perfection is a wonderful ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

What's to say? Perfection is a wonderful thing to experience! HIGHLY recommended for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arrived early was was seated with no pro ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Arrived early was was seated with no problems. It was busy due to date and time so noise was up a little due to being full. Food was beyond expectations and my wife also had a great time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had the special Valentine menu--the first 3 courses were extraordinary- dessert was only average and I love sugar!! Tables were a bit too close together and their was a loud table next to us. I really had to concentrate to have a conversation with my spouse. It got way better after they received their food. Next time I will ask for a different table. It's an old favorite for us!! Great food and fresh updated menu - love it!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

A happy birthday dinner

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I can't believe I never tried this place before in all my travels to Austin. It is a bit out of the way but well worth the trip. Game centered menu (elk was the feature to us) is imaginative and well prepared and presented. Service was attentive and the country atmosphere was great. Not a bargain but a great choice for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First trip to Austin

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

First, let me say the place was recommended by our Son. Our trip started out as a 15 mile drive that took an hour and fifteen minutes. 6 PM reservation on a weekday in afternoon traffic. By the time I arrived, it was drink time. We still was fifteen min. Early. Eased into the bar and ordered drinks. Bartender was very nice. Another young man was playing a guitar and singing. Nice touch. At six we finished our drinks and was seated for dinner. Started with some great pheasant spring rolls. We both ordered the wild game platters for our entrees. Deer, bison, quail, boar, elk. All were unique and tasty. Something different.

Our service was perfect, the food was delivered on time, the drinks were tasty and the ride home was much better.

This is an out of the way place but if you get a chance, try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Still Magnifcent

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Austin has many fine restaurants and new ones open almost every day. Hudson on the Bend was here long before we moved to the Lakeway area 19 years ago. For my dollar it still is one of the very best I've ever eaten in including New York City (lived there 9 years), Houston (40 years) and Europe. Their Hot a Crunchy Trout is to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hudson's was great!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

We had the chef's tasting menu and some excellent wine to celebrate Valentine's Day a little early. The food was delicious, and the service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Another great meal

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

We had 3 different entrees and they were all excellent. Great service as always.

Key Lime pie and Wild Turtle were both very decadent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely Evening

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We frequent Hudson's On The Bend and it is rare that we are not pleased. This visit was excellent in every way. We opted for the tasting menu and enjoyed each course. Excellent service. Good wine options. A lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A classy restaurant . Excellent food, wi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

A classy restaurant . Excellent food, wine, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

This place was just perfect! Went here for my girlfriends birthday. The food was incredible, we had the duck and Elk. The elk was the best meat I have ever tasted. Definitely going back. Thank you Hudsons on The Bend for making the night so perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decor was strange and amateurish, the food odd.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Not a fan. Many details were not attended to. Salads were strange. Meat was cold. Dessert seemed like something I'd get a diner. I was expecting much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Still a Classic

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I have been dining at Hudson's since Austin was a small city (1990ish). They still serve some of the best food in the world and their service is beautiful (many of their servers have been there for over a decade).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and food in a comfor ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Outstanding service and food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food/Terrible service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Our food was very good but the service was terrible. We waited 40 minutes to order. Since it took so long, we said we wanted to order salad, entrée and dessert all at once. We were never asked if we wanted more wine throughout the night (which we did). Each course took forever. When it was time for dessert, she came by to take our order (which we told her we already gave her but she said we didn't). We had to try to catch her to order coffee. It was over 3 hours which would have been okay if we were being served drinks and coffee but we were just waiting for everything. There was also another table in the next room that was extremely loud. I gave it 3 stars overall because the food tasted great. Should be 4-5 stars but service ruined it.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Not up to expectation

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

My last visit to our favorite neighborhood restaurant for my wife's birthday did not go well. I had contacted the restaurant beforehand to let them know about the birthday. This place is noted for its fine steaks but my New York strip arrived very tough and fatty and was really a rib eye not a New York cut. Waiter fully agreed and took fatty meat back for replacement. Came back and indicated that the chef was dissatisfied with quality of that cut and suggested a tenderloin instead. The replacement steak was ok but had to be eaten after my wife completed her dinner. Restaurant should have taken steak off bill but didn't. After waiting for the check for 20 minutes we left with no recognition of wife's birthday. Will give Hudsons another chance sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Hudsons

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

Excellent menu, preparation and service. Relaxing ambiance in country inn setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hudson's Bend Gem

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

This restaurant fired on all cylinders: food, service, atmosphere, and noise level. My wife had an excellent duck and scallops combination. I had the Weiner (Vienna style) Schnitzel cooked by someone who knows their way around German food -- a skill not always present, even in German restaurants. The portions were large enough to allow reproducing another complete meal the next day. The wild game selections offer outstanding choices for those with adventurous tastes.

Minor critique: If diners arrive via Highway 620 at night, they need to look for the Christmas lights at the entrance on the right side, as they drive around the curve. It is easy to miss the entrance.

Great experience -- we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not typical for Hudsons

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

My girlfriend and I went last Tuesday night and both plates were not hot, and mine (the mixed wild game plate) was dry...the sausage was very dry. They comped my plate, but it wasn't typical Hudson's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Experience!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Busy Saturday night, but the food and service were top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for a romantic night out

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Took my family (2 teenagers) out to celebrate my birthday. Must say grades would be much different if it was just my wife and I or with another couple. Server did the minimum although the water guy, cleaners were pretty diligent; we spent a long time waiting around to finally order & then for dessert choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Our waiter David was outstanding. Johnn ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Our waiter David was outstanding. Johnny on the spot with everything.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, but not lasting.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Hudson's is remarkable in that the grounds and drive out from Austin are a pretty backdrop and impart the ever so slight feeling of being in the hill country. The restaurant was a little empty, which doesn't translate to a warm invitation. But once inside, the decorations were festive (apples hanging from the ceiling) and the ornaments and lights very whimsical. My comment is this - for a $400 dinner (with no bottle of wine - just pairings) there was no one morsel that you never wanted to end. Everything was good, but not so interesting, unique or great, that you wanted to share it with others or experience it again and again. In fact, the 3 course tasting menu was too much in flavor and heft of food. So by the time dessert came around, you didn't want to finish a dense pecan torte with chocolate because you'd already had two pieces of trout. The wine parings were excellent though.

I regretted bringing my out of town guests here. And instead wished I took them to a restaurant in Austin like the Odd Duck or Barley Swine. It may have been more trendy, but a heck of a lot cheaper and easier to swallow the tab with some good boos.

I think the restaurant will need to revisit itself very soon. Austin's food scene is very respectable and demonstrable. You can just have expensive good food and survive, at least not by my standards.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Outstanding

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Great and unusual flavors and combinations. Wonderful service. Must have is the Mixed Grill. Comfortable decor and ambiance. In my top 3 places.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.