About Hudson 29 - Upper Arlington

1600 West Lane Ave
Upper Arlington, OH 43221
View Larger Map

Hudson 29 Kitchen + Drink. A gathering place for family and friends to share life deliciously from the chefs at Cameron Mitchell Restaurants.

Named for the storied Hudson River Valley, home of the Culinary Institute of America, and the route which winds through Napa Valley, Hudson 29 is a collection of great flavors and influences from both. Featuring a menu of familiar favorites crafted from the finest ingredients and an artfully composed wine list of over 100 bottles.

Stop by Hudson 29 soon, and share a few tales of your own.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Saturday
11:00AM- 11:00PM

Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Cross Street:
Westmont Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 487-0622

Website:
http://www.hudson29.com/Locations-Menus/Upper-Arlington

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage adjacent to the building for dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Basch

Private Party Facilities:
Hudson 29 offers a great private dining space seating up to 14 guests in a classic board room style. We can customize a menu to suit your needs or our full menu is also a great choice.

Private Party Contact:
Bill Denhard: 6144870622x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy happy hour in our bar from 3 to 6 PM weeknights. Featuring special prices on our appetizers, handcrafted cocktails, wines by the glass, draught beers and ales.

Hudson 29 - Upper Arlington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Columbus
American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Upper Arlington ›

Special Occasion (82)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Fit for Foodies (59)
See All
Great for Lunch (48)
Good for Groups (48)
Romantic (45)
Hot Spot (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Notable Wine List (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (6)
Scenic View (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great Beer (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Cozy (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
992 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We will definitely be coming back for 1/ ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

We will definitely be coming back for 1/2 off bottles of wine on Wine Enthusiast Sundays ! Hudson 29 has great food & a Cameron Mitchell service staff. They are always attentive and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations on line w no problem. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

Made reservations on line w no problem. Had flower arrangement sent to restaurant for bday celebration. That went very well; was a little hesitant since I had never done that before! Food was great, as well as the service. Will definitly go back!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the last night for Burger and B ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was the last night for Burger and Beer. I received an email touting same at four of the restaurants. So there we were finding a convenient parking space in the garage next to the restaurant. The burger, their signature cheese burger with a stack of good tomato, onion etc. We also shared a side of risotto with (don't recall), but it was good as a side... Back to the burgers: Good flavor, juicy and we were well satisfied being full and ready to get on back home. Oh yes, I did have the beer a very good craft brew.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Upscale bar food. Great service. Excelle ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

Upscale bar food. Great service. Excellent butternut squash soup, Gerber chicken dinner was moist and tender. Artichokes were sent back because they were tough and had zero flavor. Was kindly offered a substitute. Overall pleasurable dining experience at another fine CM restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My son picked the restaurant to celebrat ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

My son picked the restaurant to celebrate his birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I wish I could remember the name of my s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I wish I could remember the name of my server, but he was fantastic. I have been to this location several times and the service is always spot-on. Food is absolutely amazing. No cocktails since it was a weekday lunch, but they are usually delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservation but arrived early, about ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Had reservation but arrived early, about an hour. Checked in and was told that about an hour wait so that was fine. While waiting, others came in and were told 20 to 40 minute wait. Many were seated in that time frame. Finally after a 45 minute wait, asked if close to being seated. Asked how long we had been waiting were seated immediately. Seemed very clear that we were not to be seated before reservation. Have eaten there many times. Servers very good, but hostesses act as if they are much better than the customers. Dinner was for 3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Have been to other Hudson 29 and really ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Have been to other Hudson 29 and really enjoyed it. I ordered special cheeseburger for $6. Should have known you get what you pay for usually. First one was filled with grizzle and not eatable. The chef fixed my replacement according to staff. Tasted like over tenderized chopped steak. Only ate some of 1/2 of it. No offers to not charge even after offering to box leftovers. Also had salad I had had with salmon before and it didn't taste at all like what I had before. Disappointed.

This location so noisy that it is hard to visit even in a booth.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Too bad this restaurant couldn't be more ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Too bad this restaurant couldn't be more forth coming in its big promo for its speciality burger week - advertised an amazing house burger for $6.00 but neglected to tell you that customary sides are extra during this specific week . Waitress Amanda asked each member at the dinner table what's sides we would like and then the bill reflected that each side was an up charge . Amanda , our server was rude, disinterested and didn't earn a tip although we left a small one. Great restaurant but a huge disappointment during this "special promo" week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

A nice place. Go at 6:00 and it's not a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

A nice place. Go at 6:00 and it's not as crowded. The food is good. Maybe not as healthy as we might like, but very tasty.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good service; food was ok. Actually litt ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Good service; food was ok. Actually little disappointed overall but will give them another chance at some point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server Annie was amazing!!!!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our server Annie was amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic meal (as usual) on Sa ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a fantastic meal (as usual) on Saturday night after the Buckeye Game. The menu has something for everyone, I always get a sushi app and love to order different things on the menu. I ordered the rigatoni and it was perfect!

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The highlight of the evening was Cameron ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The highlight of the evening was Cameron, our server. He was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and very attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The professional service and friendlines ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The professional service and friendliness from our server is star quality and the food is what would you would expect from a Cameron Mitchell restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious. The server was v ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food was delicious. The server was very efficient though not very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server made the evening. Christina w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server made the evening. Christina was patient, attentive and available for any and all questions. She handled our group of 5 with grace and efficiency. The food was great and we had the best time. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great access with the free parking garag ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great access with the free parking garage which can sometimes be a challenge at some places. Ambience was great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We invited family to join us for dinner ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We invited family to join us for dinner at Hudson 29.

Each time we are in Columbus we take any family members to dinner at Hudson 29.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We didn't think the food was as wonderfu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We didn't think the food was as wonderful as it has been in the past. We go to Hudson29 about 4 times a year. Not as good as it was in May.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

First waiter pawned us off to someone el ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

First waiter pawned us off to someone else...didn't quite figure that out. Second guy was awesome. My daughter asked if he could just be her waiter at every restaurant.

This is one of our top 3 restaurants in Columbus. Love it. Great food, atmosphere, wine, drinks.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rigatoni, unique drinks, outstanding que ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Rigatoni, unique drinks, outstanding queso, apps, cheese bread, sushi, and donuts. My grandma has been dead 20 years and made a comparable rigatoni dish and meat sauce, i teared up yearning to taste this imoeccability for the longest time (just the critic at the end of Rattalouie biting into the singular greatest dish ever created. Undoubtedly Hudson 29 is the greatest place on earth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good is a C-. I'd never go back. Cheese ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good is a C-. I'd never go back. Cheese rolls, which they brag about, are gooey gobs of dough. I had chicken which was tasteless. Boys had burgers which they said were good. Expensive for what you got.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Always consistent - good food, service a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always consistent - good food, service and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, but the value for the por ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great service, but the value for the portion given was not seen. Disappointed in the amount of food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Met my Mom for lunch... Food was fantast ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Met my Mom for lunch... Food was fantastic, as always. We always love the atmosphere and sat in a quiet section where we could easily chat. Would have liked to have refills on our iced tea more frequently, but other than that everything was lovely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The waiter was great.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We visited with friends who had not eate ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We visited with friends who had not eaten at Hudson 29 but wanted to do so on my recommendation. My family had previously celebrated a birthday there and had fun. The food was great, wait staff very attentive and accomodating, overall a wonderful experience. 5 stars

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amateurish. Waitress was ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was amateurish. Waitress was under-trained. She was very pleasant, but had zero wine knowledge, nor could she even cut the cover on the neck of the wine bottle. Her attempt at pulling the cork forced me to pull it myself. The food took an eternity to arrive to the table. The side of cole slaw was inedible due to the salt mine that collapsed into it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

This is our favorite restaurant when vis ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant when visiting our son at OSU! Love the sushi, prime rib and trout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here before for lunch and e ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have been here before for lunch and enjoyed it! This time we took my in-laws for dinner. Service was excellent, and so was the food! Our food was prepared exactly as requested and very timely! Our waitress even gave us an extra cheese roll appetizer for free because there were 4 of us and 3 come in an order!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was prepared to our liking. And exc ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was prepared to our liking. And excellent portions..was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Had my favorite wine...Bo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service. Had my favorite wine...Bonus!! Good was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi salad is excellent! Great selectio ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Sushi salad is excellent! Great selection of specialty cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Select menu, but everything was very goo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Select menu, but everything was very good, especially the Reuben and desserts. Large seating area so plenty of room between tables. Service was attentive, albeit forgetful. Decent wine list at 2-3x markup, which is average. Free covered parking. I can recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

While the atmosphere of the restaurant a ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

While the atmosphere of the restaurant and bar is wonderful the food and service fell flat. The waitress we had for the evening was very soft spoken and unfortunately difficult to hear given that we were seated at a booth alongside the very crowded bar. Additional complaints are

1.the waitress was unfamiliar with the wine list and unable to recommend a bottle of wine when our first selection was unavailable 2. The manager who delivered our cheese and meat board did not provide an explanation of the cheeses/meats on the board when it was delivered, simply dropped it off and left. 3. Meals were served at lukewarm temperatures. I typically love all of the Cameron Mitchell concepts but I will not be visiting Hudson 29 again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We just discovered this gem. The steak ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We just discovered this gem. The steak and enchilada entree is so delicious. The steak is like a London broil and the cheese enchilada that accompanies it has a sauce so authentic that you think you are in Mexico! Our server was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. We will definitely be returning to Hudson 29.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Black Bean Burger, it's so good ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love the Black Bean Burger, it's so good I crave it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the restaurant when it first ope ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I loved the restaurant when it first opened. I especially liked The French Dip sandwich, but on subsequent visits, the sandwich gas has gotten progressively less tasty. The meat now has a bad texture. The cole slaw is also not as good as it used to be. My friend always get the cheeseburger, and she reports a similar downturn in quality. I expect more at these prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Server, Katelyn, was lovely... Good was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Server, Katelyn, was lovely... Good was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.