About Hudson 29 - Upper Arlington

1600 West Lane Ave
Upper Arlington, OH 43221
View Larger Map

Hudson 29 Kitchen + Drink. A gathering place for family and friends to share life deliciously from the chefs at Cameron Mitchell Restaurants.

Named for the storied Hudson River Valley, home of the Culinary Institute of America, and the route which winds through Napa Valley, Hudson 29 is a collection of great flavors and influences from both. Featuring a menu of familiar favorites crafted from the finest ingredients and an artfully composed wine list of over 100 bottles.

Stop by Hudson 29 soon, and share a few tales of your own.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Saturday
11:00AM- 11:00PM

Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Cross Street:
Westmont Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 487-0622

Website:
http://www.hudson29.com/Locations-Menus/Upper-Arlington

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage adjacent to the building for dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Basch

Private Party Facilities:
Hudson 29 offers a great private dining space seating up to 14 guests in a classic board room style. We can customize a menu to suit your needs or our full menu is also a great choice.

Private Party Contact:
Bill Denhard: 6144870622x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy happy hour in our bar from 3 to 6 PM weeknights. Featuring special prices on our appetizers, handcrafted cocktails, wines by the glass, draught beers and ales.

Promotions

Happiness at Hudson 29

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Uncork A Great Deal

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Happiness at Hudson 29

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Enjoy happy hour in our bar from 3 to 6 PM weeknights. Featuring special prices on our appetizers, handcrafted cocktails, wines by the glass, draught beers and ales. Excludes Tax and Tip. Only valid weeknights 3 to 6 PM. Not Available on Holidays. Special valid May 9, 2016 - Sep 9, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Uncork A Great Deal

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Sunday wine night for wine lovers. Our artfully composed wine list is half-off Bottles priced $99.00 and lower on Sundays. Excludes Tax and Tip. Promotion excludes Sunday holidays. Only offered on bottles $99.00 and lower. Special valid May 8, 2016 - Sep 4, 2016 on Sundays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Hudson 29 - Upper Arlington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Columbus
American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Upper Arlington ›

Special Occasion (103)
Neighborhood Gem (96)
Fit for Foodies (84)
See All
Good for Groups (62)
Hot Spot (57)
Great for Lunch (55)
Romantic (54)
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Notable Wine List (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Great for Brunch (21)
Late-night Find (13)
Kid-friendly (9)
Scenic View (5)
Sort By:
Newest
964 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We visited with friends who had not eate ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

We visited with friends who had not eaten at Hudson 29 but wanted to do so on my recommendation. My family had previously celebrated a birthday there and had fun. The food was great, wait staff very attentive and accomodating, overall a wonderful experience. 5 stars

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amateurish. Waitress was ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was amateurish. Waitress was under-trained. She was very pleasant, but had zero wine knowledge, nor could she even cut the cover on the neck of the wine bottle. Her attempt at pulling the cork forced me to pull it myself. The food took an eternity to arrive to the table. The side of cole slaw was inedible due to the salt mine that collapsed into it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We have been here before for lunch and e ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have been here before for lunch and enjoyed it! This time we took my in-laws for dinner. Service was excellent, and so was the food! Our food was prepared exactly as requested and very timely! Our waitress even gave us an extra cheese roll appetizer for free because there were 4 of us and 3 come in an order!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was prepared to our liking. And exc ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was prepared to our liking. And excellent portions..was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Had my favorite wine...Bo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service. Had my favorite wine...Bonus!! Good was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi salad is excellent! Great selectio ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Sushi salad is excellent! Great selection of specialty cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Select menu, but everything was very goo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Select menu, but everything was very good, especially the Reuben and desserts. Large seating area so plenty of room between tables. Service was attentive, albeit forgetful. Decent wine list at 2-3x markup, which is average. Free covered parking. I can recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

While the atmosphere of the restaurant a ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

While the atmosphere of the restaurant and bar is wonderful the food and service fell flat. The waitress we had for the evening was very soft spoken and unfortunately difficult to hear given that we were seated at a booth alongside the very crowded bar. Additional complaints are

1.the waitress was unfamiliar with the wine list and unable to recommend a bottle of wine when our first selection was unavailable 2. The manager who delivered our cheese and meat board did not provide an explanation of the cheeses/meats on the board when it was delivered, simply dropped it off and left. 3. Meals were served at lukewarm temperatures. I typically love all of the Cameron Mitchell concepts but I will not be visiting Hudson 29 again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We just discovered this gem. The steak ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We just discovered this gem. The steak and enchilada entree is so delicious. The steak is like a London broil and the cheese enchilada that accompanies it has a sauce so authentic that you think you are in Mexico! Our server was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. We will definitely be returning to Hudson 29.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Black Bean Burger, it's so good ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love the Black Bean Burger, it's so good I crave it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the restaurant when it first ope ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I loved the restaurant when it first opened. I especially liked The French Dip sandwich, but on subsequent visits, the sandwich gas has gotten progressively less tasty. The meat now has a bad texture. The cole slaw is also not as good as it used to be. My friend always get the cheeseburger, and she reports a similar downturn in quality. I expect more at these prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Server, Katelyn, was lovely... Good was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Server, Katelyn, was lovely... Good was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hudson 29 is our "go to" restaurant for ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Hudson 29 is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions. The food is great, and the staff are friendly and professional. The location is convenient and the restaurant itself is a very pleasant place to be. Our only complaint? We wish they'd serve bread with the meal! For the price of the meals, some nice bread before the main course is delivered would be very appreciated. It seems a strange place to scrimp...

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, no matter if it was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was excellent, no matter if it was a simple sandwich or scallops seared to perfections. Cocktail list was extensive and had something for everyone. Wait staff was prompt, friendly, and helpful, and the chef was very good at identifying dishes that would be safe for a member of the group with multiple food allergies. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or just a great evening out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Scallo ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Scallops were wonderful. Chicken sandwich very good too, but a bit high-priced, as are the apps.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, staff did a great jo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was excellent, staff did a great job taking care of us.

One of my new favorite places to eat in Columbus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I enjoyed the delicious ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the delicious dinner of the French Dip! It was spectacular and the Cole Slaw was fresh and plentiful! We have eaten there many times and believe the atmosphere is romantic ! It is one our favorite restaurants in Upper Arlington. Jamesm

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint is that the restaurant ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My only complaint is that the restaurant was so loud for trying to carry on a conversation. Everything else was excellent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad idea to seat folks in the cave near ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Bad idea to seat folks in the cave near restrms. Isolating...smelly. Totally devoid of other diners. That area is awful. Lose it. Asked for new seats. Got them, no trouble.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The cheese rolls, dip trio and the surf/ ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The cheese rolls, dip trio and the surf/turf started the meal off right. Everything ordered for entrees from the Rueben sandwiches, salmon, ribs and filet came out at the perfect temperature and all at the same time. Casper did a wonderful job of keeping our drinks filled. The topper to the evening were the pineapple upside down doughnut holes with the caramel dipping sauce. What a way to polish off a meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, but prices were ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was very good, but prices were high for the value received. The service was pompous but mediocre, and the music was so loud the two of us could not converse across the table. The server said this is the Cameron Mitchell way of doing things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Our experience was perfect...the food wa ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our experience was perfect...the food was great (I had the scallops, my friend had the prime rib) and the service was perfect. Leisurely without being slow. Everything about this restaurant was top notch, but not over the top. I remember thinking to myself that this is why I treat myself to nicer restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and ambiance. Server was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very good food and ambiance. Server was attentive and pleasant. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. They were so patient with ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great service. They were so patient with our delayed group. Excellent food and never made us feel rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Great food!! Awesome s ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great experience. Great food!! Awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They had a wonderful special menu for re ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

They had a wonderful special menu for restaurant week!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to many Cameron Mitchell rest ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We've been to many Cameron Mitchell restaurants and they've all been outstanding, so this was a letdown. I will say that the Manhattan was excellent, but I got a salmon dish and my husband got a scallop dish; my daughter some sort of sandwich, salmon I believe. There was absolutely nothing special about any of the entrees. I've had a better salmon at the Rusty Bucket. For $28, I got a piece of salmon and some couscous. The salmon was cooked appropriately. There wasn't anything wrong with it I guess, or the cousous; it's just that there was nothing special about it either. The taste was bland and boring, so were the scallops, and the $16 sandwich was certainly overpriced. We got these cheese biscuits that I was expecting to be awesome, but they were more like day old Pillsbury biscuits with cheese melted on them. We were expecting something really special, and it wasn't. And we spent a lot of money. The atmosphere was nice and the waiter did a good job, but I certainly won't be back for anything more than drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

first time I have been disappointed thou ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

first time I have been disappointed though I saw success getting the better of the restaurant.

Had to stack the dishes in the middle of the table and the server still asked if she could take the dishes.

Adding insult to injury, she was training another server.

heard from others this place was sinking fast and so it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Gracious service by Hunter. We visited f ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Gracious service by Hunter. We visited for a late Sunday brunch and thoroughly enjoyed some delicious sushi and entree salads. Just enough menu selections that you're not overwhelmed but you will definitely be tempted by many items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to dinner with a friend and had a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went to dinner with a friend and had a wonderful experience. The food was sensational, and the ambiance was spot on. They were busy but that didn't keep them from staying on their toes with their customers and meeting their needs. I will absolutely come back again to this location, The management was wonderful and it looked as to they made sure that everything was spot on throughout the restaurant. Thank you again for a wonderful experience! I look forward to coming back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was excellent service and food.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Hudson 29 is our favorite restaurant! It ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Hudson 29 is our favorite restaurant! It's a comfortable friendly place! We always get a good meal with great service! This was our first time eating on the patio and loved it. The flowers and plants were lovely!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I were very disappointed ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My husband and I were very disappointed in our dining experience this time. We had an amazing meal when we went in January...but sadly this special anniversary night was a subpar meal! The prime rib was fatty, the salad...woody tasting and the strawberry shortcake was bland. I will think about trying it again because our last experience was fantastic...but I'm leary due to the vast differences between the two times we've eaten there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Our small group had a very delightful lu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our small group had a very delightful luncheon. We were able to leisurely enjoy tasty food, good service and a pleasant environment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy Hudson 29. Great atmosph ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We always enjoy Hudson 29. Great atmosphere along with trendy good food and delicious cocktails and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic food and service--great qualit ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic food and service--great quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the Hudson 29 Cheeseburger and was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I had the Hudson 29 Cheeseburger and was disappointed because the bun was soaked with juice which made it very messy to eat. I had to cut it in half and then ate half of it with a knife and fork.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The chicken salad was excellent! Servi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The chicken salad was excellent! Service was excellent. Great experience and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hudson 29 excels at service and deliciou ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Hudson 29 excels at service and delicious food. I took my daughter's family for brunch to celebrate her birthday. There are choices on the menu for all ages and tastes. I'll certainly go back to this Cameron Mitchell restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time for my husbands b ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had an amazing time for my husbands birthday! Our waiter, Hunter, was excellent! He made recommendations for the whole meal including how to order, what things included, and drink pairings. Also loved the ambiance of the place. It felt like it could be really upscale, but had fun music and good vibes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.