About Hudson 29 - Upper Arlington

1600 West Lane Ave
Upper Arlington, OH 43221
View Larger Map

Hudson 29 Kitchen + Drink. A gathering place for family and friends to share life deliciously from the chefs at Cameron Mitchell Restaurants.

Named for the storied Hudson River Valley, home of the Culinary Institute of America, and the route which winds through Napa Valley, Hudson 29 is a collection of great flavors and influences from both. Featuring a menu of familiar favorites crafted from the finest ingredients and an artfully composed wine list of over 100 bottles.

Stop by Hudson 29 soon, and share a few tales of your own.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Saturday
11:00AM- 11:00PM

Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Cross Street:
Westmont Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 487-0622

Website:
http://www.hudson29.com/Locations-Menus/Upper-Arlington

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage adjacent to the building for dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Basch

Private Party Facilities:
Hudson 29 offers a great private dining space seating up to 14 guests in a classic board room style. We can customize a menu to suit your needs or our full menu is also a great choice.

Private Party Contact:
Bill Denhard: 6144870622x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy happy hour in our bar from 3 to 6 PM weeknights. Featuring special prices on our appetizers, handcrafted cocktails, wines by the glass, draught beers and ales.

Specials

Happiness at Hudson 29

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Uncork A Great Deal

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Happiness at Hudson 29

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Enjoy happy hour in our bar from 3 to 6 PM weeknights. Featuring special prices on our appetizers, handcrafted cocktails, wines by the glass, draught beers and ales. Excludes Tax and Tip. Only valid weeknights 3 to 6 PM. Not Available on Holidays. Special valid Oct 24, 2016 - Feb 24, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in the new year with Cameron Mitchell Restaurants We invite everyone to join our family and ring in the New Year in style at your favorite Cameron Mitchell location. All features and happenings are listed on each properties webpage. We look forward to celebrating with you. Cheers!!!

Uncork A Great Deal

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Sunday wine night for wine lovers. Our artfully composed wine list is half-off Bottles priced $99.00 and lower on Sundays. Excludes Tax and Tip. Promotion excludes Sunday holidays. Only offered on bottles $99.00 and lower. Special valid Oct 23, 2016 - Feb 19, 2017 on Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Hudson 29 - Upper Arlington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Columbus
American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Upper Arlington ›

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
See All
Bar Seating (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Casual (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Modern Decor (21)
Romantic (17)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Fun (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Cozy (9)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Private Room (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great Beer (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fireplace (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1042 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

5 star , excellent all the way around

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

5 star , excellent all the way around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AS always the food , service and wine l ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

AS always the food , service and wine list is outstanding. The restaurant is in the top 10 in Central Ohio.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed. I have eaten at Hud ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

I was disappointed. I have eaten at Hudson 29 a few times. I went when it was 1st opened. I think that the menu is not very interesting. I was there with my Granddaughter. We shared the shrimp starter. It was 4 puny shrimp wrapped in the thinnest bacon I've seen. She said that her Rigatoni Bolognese was good, but not that special. I felt the same about my French Dip. I think the main thing is that Hudson falls short of the very high reputation of a Cameron Mitchel restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our table was ready immediately. Our ser ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Our table was ready immediately. Our server was personable and nonintrusive.

The dip trio was delicious, as was the wine board. My Chopin martini was cold and delicious.

All entrees were delicious.

The pineapple upside down donuts were a unique surprise.

This is high on our favorite restaurant list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waited after our reservation time for a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Waited after our reservation time for a table, the restaurant was very noisy, and the food was not that impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was excellent, Pan seared walleye, ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was excellent, Pan seared walleye, not a big fan of the patio seating but everything else was terrific

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food excellent Noise loud in back room

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food excellent

Noise loud in back room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great food, great atmosphere, great serv ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was way over cooke

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Steak was way over cooke

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Had a delightful evening. Food was delic ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Had a delightful evening. Food was delicious! Service was excellent! Will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great as was our meal, y ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The service was great as was our meal, yet again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Hudson29 / Upper Arlington o ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We visited Hudson29 / Upper Arlington on Friday night last, and our meals were excellent. The service was excellent as well. In fact, it is safe to say that, all things considered, it was the best.

But wait...all was not well. It was extremely noisy. I think there was music, but if there was, none of us could hear it. I think you would do well to bring in an acoustic engineer (or something like that) and lay in a sound baffling program. I noticed that numerous couples (including the four of us) had to really lean in to hear and be heard.

Some noise in a restaurant is really useful in setting an ambience, but too much and too loud produces the opposite reaction and fairly quickly, I might add.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great. He provided terrif ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our server was great. He provided terrific service and got to know us a little. Food was as good as it gets and the carrot cake dessert was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and amazing service... ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and amazing service... drinks were generously poured and the food was well prepared. I like the idea of this menu more than I actually like the menu. The "something for everyone" style leaves the menu without any clear theme or direction... and this makes it surprisingly hard to land on an entree choice. The sandwiches were the big winners at our table while the major entrees fell a little flat. Sushi was decent... but very nice, as a sushi lover, to be able to order a roll or 2 without having to drag the rest of our party (not sushi eaters) to a sushi place. This strikes me as the perfect happy hour place or late/last minute dinner spot but I doubt it will be appointment dinning for me at any point in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Interesting your choices for review of t ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Interesting your choices for review of the noise level. It was ridiculously loud (I am not exaggerating) and I do not consider that level of noise as 'energetic'.

The noise level and the sub-par service we received, considering how much money we spent, are the reasons we will not be returning to Hudson 29.

BTW....IT IS RIDICULOUS THAT I AM FORCED TO RATE THE NOISE LEVEL AS "ENERGETIC" IN ORDER FOR THIS REVIEW TO BE ACCEPTED!!!!!!

THIS IS DECIEVING.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

A Cameron Mitchell restaurant, and one o ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A Cameron Mitchell restaurant, and one of our favorite places to dine in Columbus. Love the ambiance and can always count on a great meal. The prime rib sandwich and the short rib hash for brunch are my usual go-tos. Today, I decided to try something different and went for the roasted chicken salad.. it was delicious and filling without leaving you feeling overly stuffed. Highly recommend trying Hudson 29 out if you've never dined here before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were given a quiet seat in a small, s ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were given a quiet seat in a small, separate room as we had requested when making the reservation. The trio dip appetizer was delicious and we enjoyed that while sipping our wine and deciding our dinner selections. Prime rib was as rare as requested, the sushi roll was yummy and the salad entree was delicious. The three of us were pleased with the experience until a very large and noisy group of women was seated in our cozy room. We quickly finished up and left because polite conversation became impossible.

Tags: Fireplace, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, great cocktail menu, e ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great atmosphere, great cocktail menu, excellent food! I would return here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice atmosphere and reasonable food

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice atmosphere and reasonable food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I surprised my fiancé to a birthday dinn ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I surprised my fiancé to a birthday dinner at Hudson 29. It was the first time there for both of us. The ambiance of the restaurant was very nice; everything from the lighting to music was lovely.

Overall, our experience there was really great, the food was amazing and our hand crafted cocktails were fabulous, and the service was exceptional. My only tiny complaint was that it was a bit noisy. We were seated right beside the bar and it became somewhat loud. Once we got used to it, it was fine, but it would've made our experience a more pleasant if it had been a little quieter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, awesome service and they off ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, awesome service and they offered me a dessert because we were celebrating my pregnancy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Post-game dining place! Awesome b ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great Post-game dining place! Awesome burgers! Carrot cake was incredible!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious, the waitstaff wa ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was delicious, the waitstaff was freindly, but the cocktails were the stars of the evening. The blood orange margarita and el presidente' are the best drinks we have had anywhere in town. The atmosphere was also great and we are looking forward to bringing some friends in next time we all get together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great service and food. Our server Mich ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great service and food. Our server Michael was knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. I highly recommend Hudson 29.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten at Hudson 29 several times a ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We've eaten at Hudson 29 several times and have, in prior visits, encountered uneven service. Not this trip. Our waiter was attentive, service was reasonably prompt and the our choices were high quality. This is a great place for lunch because the selections are attractive and the noise levels not nearly as high as at dinner time. I'm sure we'll go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved this location the first time my ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I loved this location the first time my husband and I dined there so when I had a friend coming from out of town I recommended Hudson 29; however I was very disappointed as our wait staff started out prompt but then he was no where to be found; we had to ask for the specials and he did not offer any suggestions. It was just not the same experience I had the first time I was there. Not at all the experience I was hoping for and it will be a long time before I choose to come back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This was a rare occasion to get together ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was a rare occasion to get together with close young friends and catch up. The ambiance was fine, the food very good for the price. But, the noise level everywhere was not conducive to conversation. The staff was very cooperative in trying to find a quieter empty spot for four, but options were limited. A private room would have been a nice offering, but I do not know if one was available. I will come back for other less special occasions, but go elsewhere if a quieter setting is best.

Our server and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Pretty disappointing experience for the ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Pretty disappointing experience for the price and hype. I would recommend this only to people who want to be seen at Cameron Mitchell restaurant, but not to those looking for some really amazing and certainly isn't fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

There were eight of us for lunch and we ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 27, 2016

There were eight of us for lunch and we were given the atmospheric private room where we could enjoy good food with attentive service and have great conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a gift card and thought we would ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We had a gift card and thought we would try it on our anniversary. We lucked out. The atmosphere was nice, but not too fancy; there was quite a range for food selection; good service; and even a special anniversary dessert!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a delicious omelet. Service was exce ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Had a delicious omelet. Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is really good but sometimes servic ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food is really good but sometimes service is a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is consistently good. However, it c ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food is consistently good. However, it can also get pretty expensive if your not careful what you order.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service is fantastic and the food is ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The service is fantastic and the food is always delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great sushi and seafood choices.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great sushi and seafood choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great spot....consistent but local feel

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great spot....consistent but local feel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service, splendid food, and ve ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful service, splendid food, and very warm and friendly environment. We will go there often in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service is slow. Wait staff was not vers ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Service is slow. Wait staff was not versed on wine list. Did not know if BV wine listed under Cabernets and red table wins was a Cabernet or Blend. Came back and tried to clarify when we finally asked to see bottle. Prime rib was chewy with lost of gristle.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Very clean. Friendly staff. Boring menu. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very clean. Friendly staff. Boring menu. Decent wine list. Server was pleasant and helpful. Hostesses were quite accommodating. Presenting a menu that may have been trendy a few years back, but no more. Nothing special, really. Okay. Very good and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.