About Hudson 29 - Upper Arlington

1600 West Lane Ave
Upper Arlington, OH 43221
View Larger Map

Hudson 29 Kitchen + Drink. A gathering place for family and friends to share life deliciously from the chefs at Cameron Mitchell Restaurants.

Named for the storied Hudson River Valley, home of the Culinary Institute of America, and the route which winds through Napa Valley, Hudson 29 is a collection of great flavors and influences from both. Featuring a menu of familiar favorites crafted from the finest ingredients and an artfully composed wine list of over 100 bottles.

Stop by Hudson 29 soon, and share a few tales of your own.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Saturday
11:00AM- 11:00PM

Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Cross Street:
Westmont Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 487-0622

Website:
http://www.hudson29.com/Locations-Menus/Upper-Arlington

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage adjacent to the building for dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Basch

Private Party Facilities:
Hudson 29 offers a great private dining space seating up to 14 guests in a classic board room style. We can customize a menu to suit your needs or our full menu is also a great choice.

Private Party Contact:
Bill Denhard: 6144870622x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy happy hour in our bar from 3 to 6 PM weeknights. Featuring special prices on our appetizers, handcrafted cocktails, wines by the glass, draught beers and ales.

Specials

Happiness at Hudson 29

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Uncork A Great Deal

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Happiness at Hudson 29

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Uncork A Great Deal

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Happiness at Hudson 29

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Enjoy happy hour in our bar from 3 to 6 PM weeknights. Featuring special prices on our appetizers, handcrafted cocktails, wines by the glass, draught beers and ales. Excludes Tax and Tip. Only valid weeknights 3 to 6 PM. Not Available on Holidays. Special valid Oct 24, 2016 - Feb 24, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Uncork A Great Deal

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Sunday wine night for wine lovers. Our artfully composed wine list is half-off Bottles priced $99.00 and lower on Sundays. Excludes Tax and Tip. Promotion excludes Sunday holidays. Only offered on bottles $99.00 and lower. Special valid Oct 23, 2016 - Feb 19, 2017 on Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Happiness at Hudson 29

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Enjoy happy hour in our bar from 3 to 6 PM weeknights. Featuring special prices on our appetizers, handcrafted cocktails, wines by the glass, draught beers and ales. Excludes Tax and Tip. Only valid weeknights 3 to 6 PM. Not Available on Holidays. Special valid Feb 27, 2017 - Jun 27, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Uncork A Great Deal

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Sunday wine night for wine lovers. Our artfully composed wine list is half-off Bottles priced $99.00 and lower on Sundays. Excludes Tax and Tip. Promotion excludes Sunday holidays. Only offered on bottles $99.00 and lower. Special valid Feb 26, 2017 - Jun 25, 2017 on Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Hudson 29 - Upper Arlington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Bar Seating (38)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Modern Decor (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Business Meals (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Casual (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Romantic (20)
Cozy (20)
Happy Hour (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Fun (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Private Room (10)
Great Beer (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Quick Bite (7)
People Watching (7)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fireplace (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1088 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always great! Several visits, Sunday br ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Always great! Several visits, Sunday brunch this time. Quiche was cooked to perfection, others burgers were great. Great service, love the atmosphere, one of my favorite consistency restaurants. I only wish they had a location closer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second favorite restaurant in Columb ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Our second favorite restaurant in Columbus and first for frequent outings. Great food and atmosphere and wait staff always exceptional. Portions reasonably sized and pleasing to eye and palate. Specialty cocktail menu could benefit from more choices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Hudson 29's cozy atmosphere and d ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

I love Hudson 29's cozy atmosphere and delicious food for lunch or dinner with friends. Booths are high enough to help protect conversation and distractions when you can get one. Low lights provide an intimate atmosphere even when the dining room is full.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Hudson 29 has become one of my favorites ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Hudson 29 has become one of my favorites for lunch. I will definately try the dinner menu. Service is wonderful and menu selections are great.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, , Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here many times. This time wa ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

We've been here many times. This time was not great! Ordered a cab by the glass, it tasted old. The queso dip was not tasty. The hamburger tasted gamey!! The dip trio was good as was the Texas sheet cake and fish dishes.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server was just great, she was very ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Our server was just great, she was very friendly and made our evening really nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hudson 29 is a solid dining choice. It h ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Hudson 29 is a solid dining choice. It has a varied menu, and always a good fish special. We enjoyed the good service, and the cozy atmosphere. Would highly recommend for visitors to the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really nice place with great food and an ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Really nice place with great food and an attentive, knowlegable staff. Only problem was that the bar service was VERY, VERY SLOW when seated in the restaurant area. Waited 15+mins for cocktails. Actually got our food faster than our drinks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A friendly ambiance, excellent service, ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A friendly ambiance, excellent service, and fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was quite good. We both had the B ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Brunch was quite good. We both had the Benedict. Service was a little too casual.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I am so surprised we have not dined here ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I am so surprised we have not dined here sooner. We have never heard of anyone we know dine here, but I thought we would take a chance and try a new place. The atmosphere was great. The food was really, really good! For an appetizer we ordered the Chicken Meatballs and Shrimp wrapped in wontons. The shrimp was very tasty. The sauce with the meatballs was excellent, but I think the meatballs would have a better taste if they were beef. My husband ordered the blackened snapper, it was excellent and I ordered the steak and enchilada, also very good! There is more on the menu we would like to try, so I have no doubt we will be back. I gave a rating of "good" for service because our waitress was a bit unattentive. She was still very nice and when we asked, so tell us about this restaurant, this is our first time here, she did, but you shouldn't have to provoke the questions. Overall, it was still a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The salmon special was the best I've eve ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The salmon special was the best I've ever had. I hope it finds its way to the regular menu! Great service and drinks too! I'll definitely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable dining experience. Ever ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very enjoyable dining experience. Everyone was very happy with their meals. The atmosphere felt lively and vibrant. Really enjoyed the décor. Great service.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our group of nine enjoyed a delicious me ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Our group of nine enjoyed a delicious meal in a beautiful setting. Our server was efficient and helpful with explaining the menu options. Everyone in our group loved their meals and would return in the future. The mashed Irish potatoes were awesome.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed an excellent me ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed an excellent meal and great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The dinner was very good and fast servic ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The dinner was very good and fast service. Very easy to have conversations with each other.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dessert was not clearly described. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The dessert was not clearly described. We ordered pineapple upside cake with caramel on the side and it came out as a pile of little donuts with pineapple and caramel on the side. It was very good, but the waiter did not mention donuts just cake and said I was wrong. I didn't appreciate that he said I was wrong. To his benefit, he did offer to give us something else, but we stayed with the donuts.

We did think the menu should offer more items. What was offered was very good, but would have liked more choices.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Another great time at Hudson 29. The foo ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Another great time at Hudson 29. The food and drink hit the spot, and the bonus for us is that we didn't have to leave our neighborhood.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loud. Didn't appreciate being seated in ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loud. Didn't appreciate being seated in the bar next to the kitchen. Also don't enjoy the open kitchen concept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Love the warm cozy ambiance

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love the warm cozy ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoyed the Sea Bass New Years Eve speci ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Enjoyed the Sea Bass New Years Eve special, might possibly be the best piece of fish I have ever consumed. Texture, flavor, smell and color were at a full 100% of quality. Sushi was amazing, overall, phenomenal experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time at Hudson 29. We lov ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a great time at Hudson 29. We loved the pineapple rib eye special and we'll certainly be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic service and atmosphere but foo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic service and atmosphere but food was just average. Much better Brunch than lunch!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful server! New orzo/wild rice sal ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful server! New orzo/wild rice salad is wonderful!

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, , Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service every time we have bee ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent service every time we have been there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a family lunch to celebrate my so ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had a family lunch to celebrate my son's grandfather's birthday. We were in the private dining area and the young lady that took care of us was excellent. Very nice experience for all, especially the birthday boy! Thank you for helping to make it special for him. He turned 76 :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for sister's night!! Grea ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Perfect place for sister's night!! Great food, attentive wait staff and festive atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great neighborhood place

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great neighborhood place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Side dishes were unusual combinations bu ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Side dishes were unusual combinations but delightful. All three of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The service was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

This was my first visit. Went for a Chri ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was my first visit. Went for a Christmas lunch w/ friends & did not like my table location (by the kitchen). Service was very good, food was good but I was expecting to be wowed based on what I had heard. Chicken meatballs were the highlight. I guess I would go back but there are many other places I would select first.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was good but it was very loud to th ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was good but it was very loud to the point of not being able to easily carry on a conversation. Our waiter didn't listen as we ordered closely which took away from the overall experience but the problems were resolved quickly.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We were sat on the "children's side" of ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were sat on the "children's side" of the restaurant. And, unfortunately, the parents were not controlling their children's behavior. It was very loud and made what should have been a great dining experience into a not-so-great one. Our server was fantastic, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The Restaurant needs to move out of the ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The Restaurant needs to move out of the building they are in. The fire alarm went off for a prolonged period of time and it was very loud. They did come out and let us know what to expect (wait for firefighters to come to clear the building). Other than that the food is top notch in taste and presentation. I had the salmon and it was cooked perfectly. We also had the trio dips and the King Kong sushi. I was disappointed in the size of the sushi very small bites.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Healthy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Our first round of drinks took nearly 15 ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our first round of drinks took nearly 15 mins. Our apps were cleared with lots of food still on the dish. Our server barely checked back with us. The food was good but tough to see past the poor service. First time at the UA location and probably the last. Will stick with the NA location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Weekday lunch with my wife on a day off, ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Weekday lunch with my wife on a day off, so looking for a somewhat upscale venue. This suited nicely. Nice wines by the glass. Excellent preparation of the planked salmon and delicious Reuben sandwich. Atmosphere is quite energetic and sometimes a little loud, but also young and festive. Highly recommended.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service was fantastic! H ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food and service was fantastic! Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding and food was eve ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was outstanding and food was even better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great meal. Unfortunately, a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Overall a great meal. Unfortunately, a couple hiccups in the ambiance made us turn our noses up, but nothing that would keep us from returning, and hardly in their control. The fire alarm was going off when we arrived for our reservations; in order to avoid the ear piercing noise, we chose to wait outside, unfortunately, that meant waiting in the freezing rain, huddled under the awning with everyone else. Not their fault, as there are apartments that share the building and the fire alarm is shared. About 15 minutes after being seating, a group was seated nearby; this group included 2 children playing with their newly acquired Christmas dolls at the table and having a grand (loud) ol' time. Not exactly the environment I would expect to have to deal with children playing at a nearby dinner table. The kids calmed down once they had food in front of them. Other than those couple mood killers that weren't really the fault of the restaurant, everything else about the meal was wonderful. Great suggestions by the wait staff, great explanations of the food, and of course, wonderful food and signature cocktails. Will definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hudson-29 is a good restaurant with good ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Hudson-29 is a good restaurant with good food. But the place was so loud that the four of us could hardly hear each other talk. Often times we couldn't. The "starters" are excellent. People enjoyed their sandwiches and/or entrees, except for my french-dip sandwich that had a tremendous amount of fat on the meat. That sandwich never should have left the kitchen.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place for a Christmas gathering of ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Nice place for a Christmas gathering of friends. Creative menu with lots to choose from so something for everyone. Good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.