About Hudson 29 - Upper Arlington

Hudson 29 Kitchen + Drink. A gathering place for family and friends to share life deliciously from the chefs at Cameron Mitchell Restaurants.

Named for the storied Hudson River Valley, home of the Culinary Institute of America, and the route which winds through Napa Valley, Hudson 29 is a collection of great flavors and influences from both. Featuring a menu of familiar favorites crafted from the finest ingredients and an artfully composed wine list of over 100 bottles.

Stop by Hudson 29 soon, and share a few tales of your own.

1600 West Lane Ave
Upper Arlington, OH 43221
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Saturday
11:00AM- 11:00PM

Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Cross Street:
Westmont Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 487-0622

Website:
http://www.hudson29.com/Locations-Menus/Upper-Arlington

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage adjacent to the building for dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Basch

Private Party Facilities:
Hudson 29 offers a great private dining space seating up to 14 guests in a classic board room style. We can customize a menu to suit your needs or our full menu is also a great choice.

Private Party Contact:
Bill Denhard: (614) 487-0622

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Enjoy happy hour in our bar from 3 to 6 PM weeknights. Featuring special prices on our appetizers, handcrafted cocktails, wines by the glass, draught beers and ales.

Specials

Happiness at Hudson 29

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Uncork A Great Deal

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Happiness at Hudson 29

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Enjoy happy hour in our bar from 3 to 6 PM weeknights. Featuring special prices on our appetizers, handcrafted cocktails, wines by the glass, draught beers and ales. Excludes Tax and Tip. Only valid weeknights 3 to 6 PM. Not Available on Holidays. Special valid Feb 27, 2017 - Jun 27, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Uncork A Great Deal

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Sunday wine night for wine lovers. Our artfully composed wine list is half-off Bottles priced $99.00 and lower on Sundays. Excludes Tax and Tip. Promotion excludes Sunday holidays. Only offered on bottles $99.00 and lower. Special valid Feb 26, 2017 - Jun 25, 2017 on Sundays from 11:30 AM - 9:00 PM.

Hudson 29 - Upper Arlington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (56)
Bar Seating (47)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Modern Decor (40)
Casual (35)
Romantic (35)
Cozy (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Business Meals (29)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Happy Hour (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Fun (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Authentic (13)
Private Room (12)
Healthy (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fireplace (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (6)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Live Sports (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food good service!!! Love our anniversary dessert. Out of this world!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Our first visit. Excellent service, good wine selection. Lighting was good. Next time we will dine at the bar. Looks enticing!!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a fantastic time at Hudson 29 on a Saturday night. Excellent service and food. I would highly suggest the house Chardonnay. The Hess is my go to table wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Great spot. The food is delicious and the atmosphere is nice. Love the outdoor patio when the weather is warm.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Michael our server seemed disinterested and offered nothing to our experience. Cheese bread appetizer was below average. Meal was decent. Michael never brought us the requested coffee with dessert. I expect some

level of service with a $250 bill for 4 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was very good. Was disappointed that when we asked for bread, the waitress did not tell us it was $8 for 3 little buns and a little plate of sauce. We asked for more since there was 6 of us., and they brought 3 more. Just very disappointed to spend $16 on that when the bill arrived! Most places would say upfront or have rolls and butter included.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was amazing! Our waitress, Kim, was very personable and very efficient. Kim gave us great recommendations and everyone loved their food and drinks. The service, atmosphere, and food will keep us coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very great restaurant; good service. Desserts are the best part.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As always we enjoyed 29 to the top. The food, wine list and service were excellent. Our server Anna, did an outstanding job. Just like every time we come.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines dinner with my wife. Everything was fine, just felt rushed. In and out in about an hour. Would have enjoyed a little more relaxed evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine dinner with my husband. Greeted right away by Cameron!! Great waiter! French dip is amazing! I had buttermilk chicken sandwich. I wish this could of been without bun and with a delicious gravy instead! Plan on returning to try other items. This was our first time here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had the pineapple marinated ribeye steak with a teriyaki glaze and my wife had the prime rib. They were cooked as we requested (medium) and they had a good flavor. The entrees came with horseradish potatoes however there were no vegetables nor bread. (Expected one or the considering the price)

The service was outstanding. The waitress knew her "stuff" and made sure we were taken care of.

The ambiance was nice and romantic with the exception of the temperature of the room. It was an outdoor room with overhead heaters. The room was comfortable until the heaters cutoff. Our waitress worked on our behalf to get them back on changing the room from cool and drafty back to cozy.

Overall experience was a good one and definitely worth visiting again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Staff was so friendly and knowledgable! Our server Joe was superb! Bartenders fun. Food fantastic!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We really enjoyed celebrating Valentine's Day here. Our server was excellent. Alcohol prices maybe in line with the current market, but I still feel that they are too high. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to my family and friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was very good,the service was excellent. The noise level was perfect! Wine was very reasonably priced! I will absolutely think of Hudson 29 when I have dinner with someone special again!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great scallop salad. The service was outstanding. And the coffee at the end of the meal was expectional.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had a wonderful meal at the restaurant but... we ordered Pasta with Marinara sauce to go for our vegan daughter and when we got home realized there was cheese all over it ( we mentioned several times it was for a vegan hence why the black bean burger didn't work because it apparently has egg !!!! ).

Tags: Happy Hour, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food and good service. The cheese rolls are a must. Some good sandwichstuff and very good platters. We had the Ribs and Chicken, also the Rigatoni.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Hudson 29 is consistently wonderful. The food is prepared with fresh, quality ingredients. I love the draft beers as well as the house-crafted cocktails; the wine list is impressive. Their private room is perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Atmosphere: sports bar/casual (we had hoped for something more formal). Food: OK, but small portions; nothing particularly innovative and too pricey. (I did appreciate my Paleo menu accommodations, however.) Server was lukewarm. Sadly, we won't likely choose to return.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Get the chicken. No matter what you do, get the chicken! You won't be disappointed, best half chicken I've had in my entire life! Plus compared to other things on the menu it is relatively cheap.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We chose Hudson 29 to celebrate my daughter's birthday and we were not disappointed. We were a party of five and were seated promptly and received excellent service. Our server was attentive and pleasant throughout the evening. Everyone enjoyed their meal and promised to come back again.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great location, solid service, wonderful choices of food, nice presentation - all you'd expect from a Cameron M restaurant. The menu is solid, can';t seem to go wrong. We will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My daughter is a vegetarian and I have told her how good the Black Bean Burger is. Best I have found around town. Get it with a side of the tomatoes and feta. I prefer to eat it without the bun mixing the flavors of the burger and side in each bite - delicious! Nicer and pricier place to take my three collage-aged kids. The first time for them, I have been several times. The food is good, plenty of options, large portions. Both boys chose the French Dip sandwich and they enjoyed it. We also got the Dip Trio for an appetizer and it was really good as well. The down side - service is okay not great, unfortunately I haven't had much luck when it comes to service here. Prepare to be patient. Also, it is can be pretty loud so not the place it you are wanting a quite night out. All in all I would recommend and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

3 times is a charm. A great place to have date night, celebrate birthdays and pre Valentine's Day to avoid the crowds. Great food and service (thank you Kaitlin)! One of our go to favorites.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Only my second visit. Last time with the in-laws, this time for business. Good food. Good service. Good coffee. Very solid performer. Loud when full.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great brunch spot

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner was very good, however the entrees were a bit pricey. Sandwich choices were large and well worth their price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very pleasant evening with two very close friends who had not yet been to Hudson 29. It's safe to say that they will be back (as will we). Excellent service, superbly cooked food from our appetizers through our desserts. I don't think we've ever had a bad--or even average--meal at a Cameron Mitchell restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had lunch with friends on a Saturday. The menu offered Brunch items as well as more typical lunch options. This meant that everyone easily founds something to their taste. Service was excellent and the food is well done and freshly prepared. The cocktail and wine lists are very nice with good option. have been twice (lunch and dinner) and will plan to go back.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was great. This is one of Cameron Mitchell's best - does not disappoint!

Tags: Romantic, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was decent. My boyfriend ordered the Ruben it was delicious, I stole a bite. I am normally not a fan of corn beef either. I ordered the black bean burger ( I am obviously not a vegetarian) & I was not impressed. It didn't taste horrible it just didn't taste like anything in lacked flavor. I do enjoy a good black bean burger from time to time but will not order it from Hudson 29 again. I most definitely plan on returning.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We love this place. One of our favorites. Food is always good. However, one in our party ordered the Rubin which usually a reliable choice but last night it was a little dry and not really warm enough. The special was Maui Maui and was quite delicious. Two of us ordered the cheeseburger and it was scrumptious. Cooked just right to medium. Cocktails and wine were as expected. Our server Abby was delightful. She was very professional and quite willing to make a few adjustments to our orders

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 1, 2017

WONDERFUL Customer service, excellent food! Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Brought friends who are fairly new to the area and we all loved it! From appetizers to desserts, everything was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We loved everything about it, and our waitress (Kaitlyn) was fantastic and friendly.

Steaks. Yummmm. Drinks. Delish.

We'll definitely be back. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Romantic, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Loved the place when it first opened but food and service has gone way down on my last two visits. The Hudson roll was consistent but the butternut squash soup and the salmon entree were bland and needed salt. The sticky toffee pudding was simply caramel soaked cake nothing sticky or toffee like about it! Too bad because I used to recommend this restaurant but like all of Cameron Mitchell's restaurants it is simply mediocre...poor Columbus

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We enjoyed our good, service was mediocre and the noise level was terrible. It was so noisy i got a headache.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is always my GoTo place. I order the EXACT same thing every time I go. This time-it was horrid. We got the trio dip but replaced everything with 3 big scoops of smoked trout. OMG what has happened? It was dry and tasteless and a complete waste of money.

I have been getting the surf and turf sushi roll since the very first time I visited. It was so big that it was awkward to eat so I was happy when it was scaled down a smidge to make the bites more manageable. NOW every time I go back it is smaller and smaller. This time was an embarrassment! We took out a quarter and measured the diameter..yup..just about the size of a quarter for each bite! Has the M done this too??? Or are they following the original size? Hudson is where we all meet after work or sometimes I will come there for lunch. I may be looking for a new hot spot because this one has gone luke warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

They are on time, organized, service oriented and focus on great food. Signature cocktails are outstanding. Daily fish specials are to die for.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our favorite date night place! Never had a bad meal or a bad server. Love this place!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Visited Hudson 29 for restaurant week and my food was amazing. I'll defanately be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

meal was amazing!!!! restaurant week menu was well worth it!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Good food and atmosphere. We enjoyed our evening and would go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I have never had a bad experience at Hudson 29. There is something for everyone. The service is always excellent and food is consistently good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Healthy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food. Got very loud near the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We tried the Restaurant Week special menu and were not disappointed. The value was incredible and the food was excellent. The wine list is quite good. The restaurant is noisy, but that just means people are having a great time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We stopped there for the restaurant week and it was our first visit. The food did impress us! You'll never find a grilled salmon crispy like what Hudson29 cooks. My boyfriend had the shortrib and he loved the mashed potato(he was the guy who would never hve mashed potato)!Service was perfect as well. Awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.