Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

About house. wine. & bistro.

house. wine. & bistro. offers a boutique wine bar & New American Bistro dining experience featuring over 100 wines, craft beers and a diverse menu of locally sourced ingredients.

1117 W. Business 83
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 11:00am -10:00pm (Kitchen Closes at 10pm), Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm (Kitchen Closes at 11pm), Saturday: 12:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen Closes at 11pm) Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
11th & 12th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 994-8331

Website:
http://www.housewineandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music...Adult Contemporary Lounge Music/Coffee House

Catering:
Private Parties, Weddings, Corporate etc.

Parking Details:
Back of Restaurant. Parking shared with 3 other restaurants and 2 Night Clubs.

Valet Service: $10 (Coming Soon)

Public Transit:
N/A

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Private Party Facilities:
Seats 15-50

Private Party Contact:
Anna Hockaday: (956) 994-8331

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

house. wine. & bistro. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

GoodForDates (10)
Birthdays (8)
CreativeCuisine (8)
See All
LocalIngredients (7)
NotableWineList (7)
Romance (6)
Lunch (5)
Groups (5)
Anniversaries (5)
Casual (4)
Foodies (4)
VibrantBarScene (4)
Authentic (4)
WorthTheDrive (4)
SpecialOccasions (3)
HotSpot (3)
Cozy (2)
NeighborhoodGem (2)
Fun (2)
PaleoFriendly (2)
TastingMenu (2)
BarSeating (2)
ComfortFood (2)
LateNightFind (2)
OpenKitchen (1)
Organic (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
HappyHour (1)
PrePostTheatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
QuietConversation (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
ModernDecor (1)
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a great meal at house. Wine. Bistro. My 13 year old loves the lamb cops and grilled panela. It was a special dinner for him.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and food. Prices are reasonable, but the live music was not good and somewhat irritating.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good, the service was better. Impeccable service from our waitress and manager, Chris. Would definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This restaurant is fantastic. I am from Louisiana and have eaten at many famous restaurants in New Orleans and this one is just as good. we will be back in McAllen in two weeks and we will make sure to go there again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always great food and service from the staff. There were a lot of people and the place gets really noisy.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We had a fabulous birthday dinner with friends. Great food, great service and great atmosphere! Love it!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

TONY was great

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The service and food were great. We had recommendations from our waitress and she was spot on! Try the porchetta tacos, delicious beyond words!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 29, 2017

One of the best places for wine and good food in the valley bar none.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food. Lasagna was good also. Place is a bit noisy but still a good place to enjoy a meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Did not like the location of the table. Waiters/waitress and others kept bumping into my chair.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was great, but the service was not. Expect great food, just don't expect it fast or correct.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have gone to this restaurant multiple times now and always the same. Extremely noisy with multiple rude people talking very loudly and continuous horrendous out loud excessive laughter. Impossible to enjoy a dinner in this environment. The service was excellent and the food was ok at best. This will probably be the last time we go to House Wine Bistro. If you can stick some earbuds in and block out all of the rediculous noise you might enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Decided on House Wine because friends were visiting. I wanted a place with good food, wine and
atmosphere. Our waiter Tony was fantastic. I will definitely be back

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic meal. Absolutely great taste and generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. Unique taste, great cheesecake, farm to table, awesome bar menu, and great decor.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Totally coming back

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My wife ordered the Brie appetizer and it was "Out of this world" .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious! If you love white wine, you need to try the Tincho!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 18, 2017

very nice













































but a little expensive

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love House Wine! We try to go there every month or so. They change the menu enough to keep things fresh, but the favorites are still there. We went for Valentines most recently, and despite the rush, the staff was friendly and helpful, and we never seemed to have to wait long for assistance, the portions were just enough, and the fact that they had a set V-Day menu but still allowed you to order off the normal menu was brilliant. Not a lot of places do that down here. Chef Larry Delgado has created a fantastic menu that utilizes the best locally sourced ingredients, and puts them together in way that is at once familiar and yet unique (and delicious!). 10 for 10. Would eat again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Live Music, Seasonal, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had an awesome quiet Valentines dinner. Our waiter was very helpful and attentive. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

TODO ESTUVO PERFECTO, LA COMIDA PERFECTA EN SU PUNTO, QUEDAMOS ENCANTADOS CON EL MENÚ Y LA CARTA DE VINOS, EXISTE DEMASIADA VARIEDAD LO CUAL HACE MUY ATRACTIVO AL LUGAR.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Family Style, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food in an upscale atmosphere. A little noisy but well worth it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best restaurant in the Valley. The food was high quality and cooked perfect. The staff was able to recommend a fantastic wine alternative when they didn't have the bottle we wanted (no one has ever been able to do this for my wife). The chef checked on us twice and made sure we were enjoying the food. Overall 5 STARS

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great dinner all around. This is certainly one of our favorite restaurants in the RGV.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was amazing!! We tried the mushrooms for appetizers and lamb chops as our meal. The blue cheese sauce on the top was out of this world delicious. The drinks were equally as good. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I've never had a bad meal or less than stellar service here. They were able to accommodate our party of 22 and we're very kind as we changed our party number a few times. This place is always my first stop when I'm down in the valley. Love the owners, love the food, love the service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Organic, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Never fails. Excellent option to unwind after work.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Although I have dined here many times over the years, the menu and the food just keeps getting better. Tried the crab claws for the first time, and they were delicious. Also the tomato and mozzarella salad was fabulous.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our friends recommended this little place. It was very comfortable and quiet. We were greeted by friendly staff, and the manager came out as well to say hello. The food was very tasty.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This place was so delicious we went two nights in a row while in town for work!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Great appetizers. Fabulous service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellant burger, carbonara & chicke/spinach flatbread pizza. We had the lime shrimp & stuuffed mushrooms for an appitizer. Everything was superior. Servive was great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tapas, Organic, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Service was borderline bad and food not as good as other times!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (México)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Much better thn I espected, very good restaurant, the location on a strange Street, where there are bars restaurants and warehouses, but it didn´t matter, it was woth it, the wine that i tasted was excellent and the shrimp on a bread incredible

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was amazing. New Year's Eve with my love was that much more memorable. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (México)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding chef!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was a very pleasant dinner for my wife and I. Great recommendations for wine and food and we were not disappointed one bit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, great drinks and great service. Sometimes too loud, but unfortunately you can not control other people noise volume.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.