About house. wine. & bistro.

1117 W. Business 83
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

house. wine. & bistro. offers a boutique wine bar & New American Bistro dining experience featuring over 100 wines, craft beers and a diverse menu of locally sourced ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 11:00am -10:00pm (Kitchen Closes at 10pm), Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am (Kitchen Closes at 12am), Saturday: 12:00pm-12:00am (Kitchen Closes at 12am) Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
11th & 12th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 994-8331

Website:
http://www.housewineandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music...Adult Contemporary Lounge Music/Coffee House

Catering:
Private Parties, Weddings, Corporate etc.

Parking Details:
Back of Restaurant. Parking shared with 3 other restaurants and 2 Night Clubs.

Valet Service: $10 (Coming Soon)

Public Transit:
N/A

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Private Party Facilities:
Seats 15-50

Private Party Contact:
Lyzette Alanis: 9569948331x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

house. wine. & bistro. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Best Food
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Best Service
Corpus Christi / McAllen
2 More
Best Ambiance
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Best Restaurants in McAllen ›

Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Romantic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fun (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food amd great service. Loved ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food amd great service. Loved the brie puffed pastry appetizer. May want to consider adding one or two kid friendly menu items, i.e. a pizza or chicken fingers with those delicious pomme frites.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had company visiting from out of town ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had company visiting from out of town and they wanted to go to a moderate priced restaurant with a good wine selection. House Wine was the perfect place. Food and service is always excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always perfect. Favorite place i ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food is always perfect. Favorite place in the valley

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine list is extensive, and my choic ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The wine list is extensive, and my choice was very pleasant. For my entrée I chosed the smoked salmon, the pasta was undercooked, the salmon didn't have a lot of flavor, although the side salad was nice. The decor is nice, but it felt snobbish and overall an overpriced place for my taste.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Treated our friend to dinner pre-bachelo ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Treated our friend to dinner pre-bachelorette party and it was perfect! Great food and great wine, lovely ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and delicious good! One o ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great ambiance and delicious good! One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Organic, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and certainly worth the ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food was amazing and certainly worth the price. The only complaint that I have is that the waiter accidently dropped the lemon off my drink. After it landed on the table he picked it up and placed it back on my drunk. Either than that it was real good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome food, service and brunch..... ca ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Awesome food, service and brunch..... can't wait for crab and steak again next year

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there and loved it, a bit loud but ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went there and loved it, a bit loud but very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very consistent and excellent service. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very consistent and excellent service. I have been there many times. The wines are very good. The manager was absolutely a professional. Great experience

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Girlfriend ordered the squash risotto bu ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Girlfriend ordered the squash risotto but was very few squash. Maybe it's just her, but she would've liked it with more squash.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always one of my favorite places to eat. ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always one of my favorite places to eat. Great cocktail choices is also a fav.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is very loud. Not by the music ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The place is very loud. Not by the music, but the noise control in this place is very annoying. We couldn't hear ourselves over the laughs and conversations next to us. Up to a point where you don't enjoy your food and it changed our moods completely.

Another time we couldn't even hear the guy who was singing.

I think the ceiling is too low for the noise.

The food was new, the waiter told us they changed the menu so I had the "quack and cheese" (nasty!) abd my husband had the tacos(not impressed)

The service was great, though. Even the waiter noticed we didn't finish our food. He apologized for the noise inconvenience, he didn't seem surprised.

It's sad because we've been here many times, and we used to like this place a lot, but the last two times (within six months) we had the same bad experience so we decided to give it another chance but no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Their menu was different from the one po ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Their menu was different from the one posted on Open Table.

However, they were able to accommodate our requests from the old menu.

They also addressed my wife's many food allergies.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, but incredibly noisy.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Delicious, but incredibly noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Lunch with mom and sis... Great atmosphe ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Lunch with mom and sis... Great atmosphere, customer service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy! Other than that, all was good ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Too noisy! Other than that, all was good and tasty.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was excellent and service was spot ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was excellent and service was spot on. The chocolate cream brûlée was awesome. Top 2 spots in McAllen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very consistently delicious... Excellent ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very consistently delicious... Excellent service.. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only thing I did not like was the T ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 6, 2016

The only thing I did not like was the TV in it..

Bistros are for elegance, for meetings, romantic dates, and not for any regular bunch of people.

If I want to see TV then I would go to a sport bar...

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was excellent .. The present ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent .. The presentation was very good and everything was delicious . They have a very nice wine selection as well. It was overall, a very good experience.. Thanks, Don

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Superior service and ambiance.

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Superior service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Good but not for a Romantic Dinner

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I went for my Birthday with my husband, food and drinks were good, unfortunately beside us was a big round table with about 10-12 persons making a lot of noise + the music, it was not nice!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent Place In Town

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2016

A good place to enjoy a bottle of wine competitive priced, a good choice of small plates!

Never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience as usual 👍

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great experience as usual 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pretty full house but we were seated pro ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Pretty full house but we were seated promptly on a saturday night with reservation. We had the strawberry bellinis, wedge salad and broccoli soup, lambchops, pesto flatbread, and strawberry dessert. Everything was delicious!! Great service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time at House Wine as I ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 9, 2016

It was our first time at House Wine as I was looking for a new place to take my mother to celebrate her birthday. We all enjoyed our meals tremendously and the service was absolutely wonderful, we were never left unattended. We are definitely visiting again and recommending to all our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was delicious, the server was very attentive and helpful, and the ambiance was comfortable. I definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at house.wine.bistro is gene ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 27, 2016

The service at house.wine.bistro is generally outstanding. They food is very good, especially if you plan to eat some of the "high end" items on the menu. Wine selection is good too. I just wish they would finally do something about the noise level. You cannot go with a group larger than four people if you want to have a pleasant conversation that does not involve yelling across an over-sized table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First time diner and most likely the las ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2016

First time diner and most likely the last. The decor/ambiance is very stark. Except for the large paintings which added a nice touch, it didn't impart a warm, inviting atmosphere. There were three of us, we each ordered something different. The burger seemed to be the best choice. The Caesar salad with grilled chicken was small, uninspiring. The noise level was a big issue for us, it was very difficult to converse. Too many hard surfaces. A couple of large area rugs or some acoustical tiles strategically placed may help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great food but heavy on the salt!!

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Really enjoyed my experience at this restaurant. Great service and good selection on the menu. Only negative was the amount of salt on the fries....definitely heavy handed!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food. Kinda pricey but well worth it.

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Awesome restaurant. They had a 2 hour wait. But I had a reservation and was sit in less than 10 minutes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2016

... It's a great place to go have dinner w/ ur significant other.. Great service and awesome food.. We went for Valentine's Day it was romantic enjoyable and great special that they had.. I would go and will go back again..

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wife Birthday

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 30, 2016

This place was recommended by a friend claimin the food was great. I loved the service and wine. But good was horrific to speak the least. Calamari tasted like cheese sticks, pasta that I order was undercooked, my wife order some rice with chicken that tasteday exactly like (Arroz con pollo) which just seemed like an over priced Mexican dish. Won't recommend or go to this place ever again. Food nightmare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Laud, service was very slow , food Was f ...

vip
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Laud, service was very slow , food Was flavorless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

If you only have 1 night in McAllen, eat here

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2016

Be sure to call ahead for a dinner reservation, because the word is out about House.

From the moment we stepped into this outstanding restaurant, I felt like I was being welcomed home. Being from Oregon, I confess to being spoiled when it comes to restaurants in this category. I quickly learned that Oregon has nothing on this menu, this chef, this wine list, or this exceptional staff. Deliciousness served with real flair. Don't be deterred by the $$$$. By Oregon standards, everything on this menu is $$ to $$$, yet top of the list for originality and flavor.

Wine pairing is fun but not required. Bottles may be purchased for 40 percent off the prices listed on the menu if you just want to drop in, get a recommendation, and take it home or to a party.

Food is sourced locally, meats are ranched sustainably, and everything is creatively presented without being too precious. Way to represent Texas, House Wine & Bistro. Thank goodness my daughter has moved to McAllen. We can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for a nice, quiet dinner!! ...

vip
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Perfect place for a nice, quiet dinner!!! They always deliver!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eight year anniversary dinner

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 9, 2015

Had a great time with my wife celebrating our eight years of marriage. They had my favorite import beer and provided plenty of sample for my wife to help her decide which wine she preferred the service was excellent. The appetizers were amazing my wife had the shrimp which really blew us away with its taste. For diner we had a filet and a ribeye prepared with melting goat cheese. They were really flavorful and exquisite. For dessert we had the apple pie with cheddar ice cream. It was a delightful sweet end to our evening. I can't remember the name to our waiter but he was very polite and knowledgeable about the selection in the menu. Had a great time and would be happy to recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pork Belly appetizer great Lamb chops ou ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Pork Belly appetizer great

Lamb chops outstanding

Best item McAllen Ranch burger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Noisy but nice

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 31, 2015

I was late for 30min, but, fortunately, on friday evening they still kept my reservation. Place is definately not for small kids (noise, open wine racks), but the atmosphere and stuff are super-welcoming.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.