About house. wine. & bistro.

1117 W. Business 83
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

house. wine. & bistro. offers a boutique wine bar & New American Bistro dining experience featuring over 100 wines, craft beers and a diverse menu of locally sourced ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 11:00am -10:00pm (Kitchen Closes at 10pm), Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am (Kitchen Closes at 12am), Saturday: 12:00pm-12:00am (Kitchen Closes at 12am) Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
11th & 12th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 994-8331

Website:
http://www.housewineandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music...Adult Contemporary Lounge Music/Coffee House

Catering:
Private Parties, Weddings, Corporate etc.

Parking Details:
Back of Restaurant. Parking shared with 3 other restaurants and 2 Night Clubs.

Valet Service: $10 (Coming Soon)

Public Transit:
N/A

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Private Party Facilities:
Seats 15-50

Private Party Contact:
Anna Hockaday: (956) 994-8331

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

house. wine. & bistro. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love House Wine! We try to go there e ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 5 days ago

We love House Wine! We try to go there every month or so. They change the menu enough to keep things fresh, but the favorites are still there. We went for Valentines most recently, and despite the rush, the staff was friendly and helpful, and we never seemed to have to wait long for assistance, the portions were just enough, and the fact that they had a set V-Day menu but still allowed you to order off the normal menu was brilliant. Not a lot of places do that down here. Chef Larry Delgado has created a fantastic menu that utilizes the best locally sourced ingredients, and puts them together in way that is at once familiar and yet unique (and delicious!). 10 for 10. Would eat again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Live Music, Seasonal, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an awesome quiet Valentines dinne ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We had an awesome quiet Valentines dinner. Our waiter was very helpful and attentive. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

TODO ESTUVO PERFECTO, LA COMIDA PERFECTA ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 5 days ago

TODO ESTUVO PERFECTO, LA COMIDA PERFECTA EN SU PUNTO, QUEDAMOS ENCANTADOS CON EL MENÚ Y LA CARTA DE VINOS, EXISTE DEMASIADA VARIEDAD LO CUAL HACE MUY ATRACTIVO AL LUGAR.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Family Style, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in an upscale atmosphere. A l ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food in an upscale atmosphere. A little noisy but well worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best restaurant in the Valley. The food ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best restaurant in the Valley. The food was high quality and cooked perfect. The staff was able to recommend a fantastic wine alternative when they didn't have the bottle we wanted (no one has ever been able to do this for my wife). The chef checked on us twice and made sure we were enjoying the food. Overall 5 STARS

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner all around. This is certain ...

vip
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great dinner all around. This is certainly one of our favorite restaurants in the RGV.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing!! We tried the mus ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was amazing!! We tried the mushrooms for appetizers and lamb chops as our meal. The blue cheese sauce on the top was out of this world delicious. The drinks were equally as good. We will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had a bad meal or less than s ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I've never had a bad meal or less than stellar service here. They were able to accommodate our party of 22 and we're very kind as we changed our party number a few times. This place is always my first stop when I'm down in the valley. Love the owners, love the food, love the service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Organic, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fails. Excellent option to unwind ...

vip
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Never fails. Excellent option to unwind after work.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, , Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although I have dined here many times ov ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Although I have dined here many times over the years, the menu and the food just keeps getting better. Tried the crab claws for the first time, and they were delicious. Also the tomato and mozzarella salad was fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our friends recommended this little plac ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our friends recommended this little place. It was very comfortable and quiet. We were greeted by friendly staff, and the manager came out as well to say hello. The food was very tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was so delicious we went two ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This place was so delicious we went two nights in a row while in town for work!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, , Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful! Great appetizers. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Great appetizers. Fabulous service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellant burger, carbonara & chicke/spi ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellant burger, carbonara & chicke/spinach flatbread pizza. We had the lime shrimp & stuuffed mushrooms for an appitizer. Everything was superior. Servive was great!

Tags: Tapas, Organic, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was borderline bad and food not ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Service was borderline bad and food not as good as other times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Much better thn I espected, very good re ...

 
 (México)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Much better thn I espected, very good restaurant, the location on a strange Street, where there are bars restaurants and warehouses, but it didn´t matter, it was woth it, the wine that i tasted was excellent and the shrimp on a bread incredible

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The food, service and ambiance was amazi ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was amazing. New Year's Eve with my love was that much more memorable. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding chef!

 
 (México)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a very pleasant dinner for my wif ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was a very pleasant dinner for my wife and I. Great recommendations for wine and food and we were not disappointed one bit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great drinks and great servi ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, great drinks and great service. Sometimes too loud, but unfortunately you can not control other people noise volume.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! Great place for dinner ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Love this place! Great place for dinner with friends, family or significant other. Food was amazing! Would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone. Staff was attentive and friendly. Great experience from beginning to end.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food; great wine. Appetizer to ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food; great wine. Appetizer to dessert - a roller coaster of flavors

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We've been to this place several times. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We've been to this place several times. The wine selection is tremendous! The appetizer platters extremely tasty. Waiters were substitute things to keep the customer happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food amd great service. Loved ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food amd great service. Loved the brie puffed pastry appetizer. May want to consider adding one or two kid friendly menu items, i.e. a pizza or chicken fingers with those delicious pomme frites.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had company visiting from out of town ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had company visiting from out of town and they wanted to go to a moderate priced restaurant with a good wine selection. House Wine was the perfect place. Food and service is always excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always perfect. Favorite place i ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food is always perfect. Favorite place in the valley

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine list is extensive, and my choic ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The wine list is extensive, and my choice was very pleasant. For my entrée I chosed the smoked salmon, the pasta was undercooked, the salmon didn't have a lot of flavor, although the side salad was nice. The decor is nice, but it felt snobbish and overall an overpriced place for my taste.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Treated our friend to dinner pre-bachelo ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Treated our friend to dinner pre-bachelorette party and it was perfect! Great food and great wine, lovely ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, , Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and delicious good! One o ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great ambiance and delicious good! One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Organic, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and certainly worth the ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food was amazing and certainly worth the price. The only complaint that I have is that the waiter accidently dropped the lemon off my drink. After it landed on the table he picked it up and placed it back on my drunk. Either than that it was real good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome food, service and brunch..... ca ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Awesome food, service and brunch..... can't wait for crab and steak again next year

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there and loved it, a bit loud but ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went there and loved it, a bit loud but very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very consistent and excellent service. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very consistent and excellent service. I have been there many times. The wines are very good. The manager was absolutely a professional. Great experience

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Girlfriend ordered the squash risotto bu ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Girlfriend ordered the squash risotto but was very few squash. Maybe it's just her, but she would've liked it with more squash.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always one of my favorite places to eat. ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always one of my favorite places to eat. Great cocktail choices is also a fav.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is very loud. Not by the music ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The place is very loud. Not by the music, but the noise control in this place is very annoying. We couldn't hear ourselves over the laughs and conversations next to us. Up to a point where you don't enjoy your food and it changed our moods completely.

Another time we couldn't even hear the guy who was singing.

I think the ceiling is too low for the noise.

The food was new, the waiter told us they changed the menu so I had the "quack and cheese" (nasty!) abd my husband had the tacos(not impressed)

The service was great, though. Even the waiter noticed we didn't finish our food. He apologized for the noise inconvenience, he didn't seem surprised.

It's sad because we've been here many times, and we used to like this place a lot, but the last two times (within six months) we had the same bad experience so we decided to give it another chance but no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Their menu was different from the one po ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Their menu was different from the one posted on Open Table.

However, they were able to accommodate our requests from the old menu.

They also addressed my wife's many food allergies.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, but incredibly noisy.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Delicious, but incredibly noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Lunch with mom and sis... Great atmosphe ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Lunch with mom and sis... Great atmosphere, customer service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.