Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

About house. wine. & bistro.

house. wine. & bistro. offers a boutique wine bar & New American Bistro dining experience featuring over 100 wines, craft beers and a diverse menu of locally sourced ingredients.

1117 W. Business 83
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 11:00am -10:00pm (Kitchen Closes at 10pm), Friday: 11:00am - 11:00pm (Kitchen Closes at 11pm), Saturday: 12:00pm-11:00pm (Kitchen Closes at 11pm) Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
11th & 12th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 994-8331

Website:
http://www.housewineandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music...Adult Contemporary Lounge Music/Coffee House

Catering:
Private Parties, Weddings, Corporate etc.

Parking Details:
Back of Restaurant. Parking shared with 3 other restaurants and 2 Night Clubs.

Valet Service: $10 (Coming Soon)

Public Transit:
N/A

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Private Party Facilities:
Seats 15-50

Private Party Contact:
Anna Hockaday: (956) 994-8331

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

house. wine. & bistro. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Notable Wine List (9)
See All
Good for Birthdays (9)
Romantic (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (6)
Organic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service as always, super attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Amazing place take a date on. Food was amazing. Service A+.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Delicious food and fantastic service! Chef cane out to dining area to greet guests... nice touch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent great dinning place, servers are excellent and always attentive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The McAllen burger and frites were extremely delicious. The waiters were all very kind and knowledgeable. Great experience overall.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

HWB has the best cuisine in McAllen, TX; dishes are individualy cooked by the chef to become a particular delicacy. Each dish is prepared with the best ingredients and dedicated culinary talent, to produce a remarkable outcome. The ambience is nice and cosy, with the additional charm of being at the renovated McAllen downtown. In brief, an experience you won't regret, and really enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Absolutely fantastic, that's why I picked it for my birthday!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Great Beer, Authentic, Live Sports, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I was in town in business, wanting to have dinner where a solo diner would not be too conspicuous on a Friday night. Immediately when I walked in, I knew I would be comfortable, as several others were dining alone. The waiter was extremely helpful, both in his wine recommendation and in selecting just the right appetizer to pair with a pasta. The Brie starter I had, sized for one, was off-menu and baked with a caramel sauce, then topped with toasted almonds and sliced strawberries, served with 2 varieties of sliced flatbread. It was heavenly. I was completely blown away by the Pasta Salcicce. This was an exceptional sausage ragu with roasted red peppers that I have been craving since returning home. I highly recommend it and look forward to the next business trip to McAllen so I can return to house.wine & bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The staff is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Appetizers were so good, our food was delicious and dessert was the best. Loved it. Will come again

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

My wife and I were disappointed. My safron rissoto was undercooked and my wife's pasta was very blanned. Her Cesar salad dressing was very tasty and the apple pie was delicious. Food here has been excellent in the past. I don't know what happened this time. Unfortunately, I don't think I will give it an opportunity to redeem itself.

Sorry

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a delicious family dinner, tasted new foods, great service, and a good time was had by all

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing like always! I have never disappointed in he great service and incredible good at house. wine. This time around, I ordered their dinner special, a Peruvian ceviche that will make your senses explode! So darn good.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

As always, great food and courteous waiting staff. L'escargot (although not on the menu) is, simply, exquisite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Always great food and service. I highly recommend this place for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic food and exceptional service. Our server Shauna was amazing and we truly felt like we hada 5 star experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always a great meal at house. Wine. Bistro. My 13 year old loves the lamb cops and grilled panela. It was a special dinner for him.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great service and food. Prices are reasonable, but the live music was not good and somewhat irritating.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food was good, the service was better. Impeccable service from our waitress and manager, Chris. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This restaurant is fantastic. I am from Louisiana and have eaten at many famous restaurants in New Orleans and this one is just as good. we will be back in McAllen in two weeks and we will make sure to go there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always great food and service from the staff. There were a lot of people and the place gets really noisy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We had a fabulous birthday dinner with friends. Great food, great service and great atmosphere! Love it!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

TONY was great

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The service and food were great. We had recommendations from our waitress and she was spot on! Try the porchetta tacos, delicious beyond words!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 29, 2017

One of the best places for wine and good food in the valley bar none.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food. Lasagna was good also. Place is a bit noisy but still a good place to enjoy a meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Did not like the location of the table. Waiters/waitress and others kept bumping into my chair.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food was great, but the service was not. Expect great food, just don't expect it fast or correct.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have gone to this restaurant multiple times now and always the same. Extremely noisy with multiple rude people talking very loudly and continuous horrendous out loud excessive laughter. Impossible to enjoy a dinner in this environment. The service was excellent and the food was ok at best. This will probably be the last time we go to House Wine Bistro. If you can stick some earbuds in and block out all of the rediculous noise you might enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Decided on House Wine because friends were visiting. I wanted a place with good food, wine and
atmosphere. Our waiter Tony was fantastic. I will definitely be back

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fantastic meal. Absolutely great taste and generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. Unique taste, great cheesecake, farm to table, awesome bar menu, and great decor.

Tags: Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Totally coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

My wife ordered the Brie appetizer and it was "Out of this world" .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious! If you love white wine, you need to try the Tincho!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 17, 2017

very nice













































but a little expensive

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We love House Wine! We try to go there every month or so. They change the menu enough to keep things fresh, but the favorites are still there. We went for Valentines most recently, and despite the rush, the staff was friendly and helpful, and we never seemed to have to wait long for assistance, the portions were just enough, and the fact that they had a set V-Day menu but still allowed you to order off the normal menu was brilliant. Not a lot of places do that down here. Chef Larry Delgado has created a fantastic menu that utilizes the best locally sourced ingredients, and puts them together in way that is at once familiar and yet unique (and delicious!). 10 for 10. Would eat again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Live Music, Seasonal, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had an awesome quiet Valentines dinner. Our waiter was very helpful and attentive. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

TODO ESTUVO PERFECTO, LA COMIDA PERFECTA EN SU PUNTO, QUEDAMOS ENCANTADOS CON EL MENÚ Y LA CARTA DE VINOS, EXISTE DEMASIADA VARIEDAD LO CUAL HACE MUY ATRACTIVO AL LUGAR.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food in an upscale atmosphere. A little noisy but well worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.