About house. wine. & bistro.

1117 W. Business 83
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

house. wine. & bistro. offers a boutique wine bar & New American Bistro dining experience featuring over 100 wines, craft beers and a diverse menu of locally sourced ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 11:00am -10:00pm (Kitchen Closes at 10pm), Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am (Kitchen Closes at 12am), Saturday: 12:00pm-12:00am (Kitchen Closes at 12am) Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
11th & 12th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 994-8331

Website:
http://www.housewineandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music...Adult Contemporary Lounge Music/Coffee House

Catering:
Private Parties, Weddings, Corporate etc.

Parking Details:
Back of Restaurant. Parking shared with 3 other restaurants and 2 Night Clubs.

Valet Service: $10 (Coming Soon)

Public Transit:
N/A

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Private Party Facilities:
Seats 15-50

Private Party Contact:
Lyzette Alanis: 9569948331x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

house. wine. & bistro. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Corpus Christi / McAllen
Most Booked
McAllen
Best Restaurants in McAllen ›

special occasion (11)
romantic (10)
notable wine list (10)
See All
neighborhood gem (9)
good for groups (9)
fit for foodies (6)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very consistently delicious... Excellent ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very consistently delicious... Excellent service.. Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only thing I did not like was the T ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The only thing I did not like was the TV in it..

Bistros are for elegance, for meetings, romantic dates, and not for any regular bunch of people.

If I want to see TV then I would go to a sport bar...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was excellent .. The present ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent .. The presentation was very good and everything was delicious . They have a very nice wine selection as well. It was overall, a very good experience.. Thanks, Don

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good but not for a Romantic Dinner

 
 (Monterrey)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I went for my Birthday with my husband, food and drinks were good, unfortunately beside us was a big round table with about 10-12 persons making a lot of noise + the music, it was not nice!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent Place In Town

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

A good place to enjoy a bottle of wine competitive priced, a good choice of small plates!

Never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience as usual 👍

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great experience as usual 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pretty full house but we were seated pro ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Pretty full house but we were seated promptly on a saturday night with reservation. We had the strawberry bellinis, wedge salad and broccoli soup, lambchops, pesto flatbread, and strawberry dessert. Everything was delicious!! Great service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time at House Wine as I ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

It was our first time at House Wine as I was looking for a new place to take my mother to celebrate her birthday. We all enjoyed our meals tremendously and the service was absolutely wonderful, we were never left unattended. We are definitely visiting again and recommending to all our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was delicious, the server was very attentive and helpful, and the ambiance was comfortable. I definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at house.wine.bistro is gene ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The service at house.wine.bistro is generally outstanding. They food is very good, especially if you plan to eat some of the "high end" items on the menu. Wine selection is good too. I just wish they would finally do something about the noise level. You cannot go with a group larger than four people if you want to have a pleasant conversation that does not involve yelling across an over-sized table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First time diner and most likely the las ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

First time diner and most likely the last. The decor/ambiance is very stark. Except for the large paintings which added a nice touch, it didn't impart a warm, inviting atmosphere. There were three of us, we each ordered something different. The burger seemed to be the best choice. The Caesar salad with grilled chicken was small, uninspiring. The noise level was a big issue for us, it was very difficult to converse. Too many hard surfaces. A couple of large area rugs or some acoustical tiles strategically placed may help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great food but heavy on the salt!!

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Really enjoyed my experience at this restaurant. Great service and good selection on the menu. Only negative was the amount of salt on the fries....definitely heavy handed!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food. Kinda pricey but well worth it.

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Awesome restaurant. They had a 2 hour wait. But I had a reservation and was sit in less than 10 minutes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

... It's a great place to go have dinner w/ ur significant other.. Great service and awesome food.. We went for Valentine's Day it was romantic enjoyable and great special that they had.. I would go and will go back again..

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wife Birthday

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

This place was recommended by a friend claimin the food was great. I loved the service and wine. But good was horrific to speak the least. Calamari tasted like cheese sticks, pasta that I order was undercooked, my wife order some rice with chicken that tasteday exactly like (Arroz con pollo) which just seemed like an over priced Mexican dish. Won't recommend or go to this place ever again. Food nightmare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Laud, service was very slow , food Was f ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Laud, service was very slow , food Was flavorless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

If you only have 1 night in McAllen, eat here

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Be sure to call ahead for a dinner reservation, because the word is out about House.

From the moment we stepped into this outstanding restaurant, I felt like I was being welcomed home. Being from Oregon, I confess to being spoiled when it comes to restaurants in this category. I quickly learned that Oregon has nothing on this menu, this chef, this wine list, or this exceptional staff. Deliciousness served with real flair. Don't be deterred by the $$$$. By Oregon standards, everything on this menu is $$ to $$$, yet top of the list for originality and flavor.

Wine pairing is fun but not required. Bottles may be purchased for 40 percent off the prices listed on the menu if you just want to drop in, get a recommendation, and take it home or to a party.

Food is sourced locally, meats are ranched sustainably, and everything is creatively presented without being too precious. Way to represent Texas, House Wine & Bistro. Thank goodness my daughter has moved to McAllen. We can't wait to come back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for a nice, quiet dinner!! ...

vip
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Perfect place for a nice, quiet dinner!!! They always deliver!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Eight year anniversary dinner

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

Had a great time with my wife celebrating our eight years of marriage. They had my favorite import beer and provided plenty of sample for my wife to help her decide which wine she preferred the service was excellent. The appetizers were amazing my wife had the shrimp which really blew us away with its taste. For diner we had a filet and a ribeye prepared with melting goat cheese. They were really flavorful and exquisite. For dessert we had the apple pie with cheddar ice cream. It was a delightful sweet end to our evening. I can't remember the name to our waiter but he was very polite and knowledgeable about the selection in the menu. Had a great time and would be happy to recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pork Belly appetizer great Lamb chops ou ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Pork Belly appetizer great

Lamb chops outstanding

Best item McAllen Ranch burger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Noisy but nice

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

I was late for 30min, but, fortunately, on friday evening they still kept my reservation. Place is definately not for small kids (noise, open wine racks), but the atmosphere and stuff are super-welcoming.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great food, great service, but a little loud.

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

As mentioned above, the food was delicious, the service was attentive. We had several wait staff stop by to ask if we needed anything. The manager stopped by too. My only complaint was the noise level. It was really difficult to carry on a conversation at a normal volume because of the ambient noise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoy the variety of flatbreads and s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

We enjoy the variety of flatbreads and small plates as well as the extensive wine and speciality beer menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A Happy Birthday celebration

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

This adventure to Wine House was to celebrate a birthday - there was 4 of us who love great wine and interesting food. So this is why the birthday boy picked this resturant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dining

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Excellent dining, wine list etc. Randy was awesome! Noise level was super high but that seems usual in other places. Difficult for romantic conversation.

Fantastic Lamb chops and desserts. Ummm pork belly appetizer😋😍

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always awesome

vip
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

House.wine never fails to accomplish Always great food, sangria and service. Love their arroncini...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great place!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

There´s not much in the area, but this is definitely one of the best. I´m a foodie myself and very picky with Restaurants this is a must if your around.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

By far one of the best restaurants I hav ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

By far one of the best restaurants I have ever been to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was great. I decided after so ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

This place was great. I decided after some friends had gone and spoke highly of the place to give it a try and take my girlfriend here for her birthday. The waiter (I wish I remember his name) was kind and helpful. The place was very loud so my girlfriend and I had to sit next to each other to talk but it was still enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebration night

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 26, 2015

What a great place to celebrate any occasion with family and friends. This place is awesome

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with my son

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Service was great. Waiter attentive and other staff prompt in bringing salads etc. Noise level was a little loud to talk but no impossible. Music was pleasant. Food was very good but my squash and risotto was a little oily. Later in the evening I didn't feel very good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great first experience

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 13, 2015

The attention to detail was outstanding. The food was to die for. Our server, Sarah was very knowledgeable on all aspects of the menu, which made our first visit very smooth, and she made us feel like we were regulars. The training for all servers was obviously thorough, and integral to the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best restaurant in South ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

Hands down the best restaurant in South Texas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, wine and venue!!!

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

Surpasses expectations each and every time. Our Waiter was surperb....knowledgeable, excellent recommendations, timing and overall service. We enjoyed our entire experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Occasion

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

I had made a reservation on line earlier in the day and it was for 8:15pm for 2. We got there about 15 minutes early and thought we were going to have to wait; but even though we were early the hostess was very accommodating and said she could seat us right away. This was a pleasant surprise. The food, the service, our server was all great !! This was a birthday dinner for my wife and she enjoyed everything and I appreciated that very much. Thank you!!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service from when we entered till when w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

Service from when we entered till when we left was excellent. Food was exquisite and wine was fresh and tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Celeabration

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

The service staff was very attentive always at your service and new the menu offering great advice.

I would recommend it as well as return in the future.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice gem in McAllen

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 17, 2015

Attentive service, casual vibe, and very good food, especially the shrimp appetizer. Good value. Would definitely recommend to others! Looking forward to the next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Ta-Da!

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on March 31, 2015

We went to house wine this week with some out of town Customers, The food was great, the service was great and overall, everything was fantastic. It was noisy, which was unexpected for a Monday night, but they brought the "A" game and I was very confident to bring my Customers to visit. Perhaps my favorite in the RGV. Our service was excellent, and the night and dinner were superb. Thanks!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely loved House, Wine & Bistro.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

This was one of the finest meals I have had in some time. A farm to table restaurant that focuses on local sources for its food, everything they produce has a freshness and flavor that makes for a very happy experience.

There were 3 of us eating and so we were able to taste 6 things from the wonderful menu and nothing fell short by any measure. We only wished we could try more!

If I ever have a chance to return to Mcallen I will return there without question.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.