About house. wine. & bistro.

house. wine. & bistro. offers a boutique wine bar & New American Bistro dining experience featuring over 100 wines, craft beers and a diverse menu of locally sourced ingredients.

1117 W. Business 83
McAllen, TX 78501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday -Thursday: 11:00am -10:00pm (Kitchen Closes at 10pm), Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am (Kitchen Closes at 12am), Saturday: 12:00pm-12:00am (Kitchen Closes at 12am) Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
11th & 12th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(956) 994-8331

Website:
http://www.housewineandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music...Adult Contemporary Lounge Music/Coffee House

Catering:
Private Parties, Weddings, Corporate etc.

Parking Details:
Back of Restaurant. Parking shared with 3 other restaurants and 2 Night Clubs.

Valet Service: $10 (Coming Soon)

Public Transit:
N/A

Executive Chef:
Larry Delgado

Private Party Facilities:
Seats 15-50

Private Party Contact:
Anna Hockaday: (956) 994-8331

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

house. wine. & bistro. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Creative Cuisine (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Romantic (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place was so delicious we went two ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

This place was so delicious we went two nights in a row while in town for work!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful! Great appetizers. ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Great appetizers. Fabulous service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellant burger, carbonara & chicke/spi ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellant burger, carbonara & chicke/spinach flatbread pizza. We had the lime shrimp & stuuffed mushrooms for an appitizer. Everything was superior. Servive was great!

Tags: Tapas, Organic, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was borderline bad and food not ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Service was borderline bad and food not as good as other times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Much better thn I espected, very good re ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Much better thn I espected, very good restaurant, the location on a strange Street, where there are bars restaurants and warehouses, but it didn´t matter, it was woth it, the wine that i tasted was excellent and the shrimp on a bread incredible

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The food, service and ambiance was amazi ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was amazing. New Year's Eve with my love was that much more memorable. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding chef!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a very pleasant dinner for my wif ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was a very pleasant dinner for my wife and I. Great recommendations for wine and food and we were not disappointed one bit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great drinks and great servi ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, great drinks and great service. Sometimes too loud, but unfortunately you can not control other people noise volume.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! Great place for dinner ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Love this place! Great place for dinner with friends, family or significant other. Food was amazing! Would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone. Staff was attentive and friendly. Great experience from beginning to end.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food; great wine. Appetizer to ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food; great wine. Appetizer to dessert - a roller coaster of flavors

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We've been to this place several times. ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

We've been to this place several times. The wine selection is tremendous! The appetizer platters extremely tasty. Waiters were substitute things to keep the customer happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food amd great service. Loved ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food amd great service. Loved the brie puffed pastry appetizer. May want to consider adding one or two kid friendly menu items, i.e. a pizza or chicken fingers with those delicious pomme frites.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had company visiting from out of town ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had company visiting from out of town and they wanted to go to a moderate priced restaurant with a good wine selection. House Wine was the perfect place. Food and service is always excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always perfect. Favorite place i ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food is always perfect. Favorite place in the valley

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine list is extensive, and my choic ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

The wine list is extensive, and my choice was very pleasant. For my entrée I chosed the smoked salmon, the pasta was undercooked, the salmon didn't have a lot of flavor, although the side salad was nice. The decor is nice, but it felt snobbish and overall an overpriced place for my taste.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Treated our friend to dinner pre-bachelo ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Treated our friend to dinner pre-bachelorette party and it was perfect! Great food and great wine, lovely ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and delicious good! One o ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great ambiance and delicious good! One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Organic, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and certainly worth the ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food was amazing and certainly worth the price. The only complaint that I have is that the waiter accidently dropped the lemon off my drink. After it landed on the table he picked it up and placed it back on my drunk. Either than that it was real good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome food, service and brunch..... ca ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Awesome food, service and brunch..... can't wait for crab and steak again next year

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there and loved it, a bit loud but ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went there and loved it, a bit loud but very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very consistent and excellent service. ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very consistent and excellent service. I have been there many times. The wines are very good. The manager was absolutely a professional. Great experience

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Girlfriend ordered the squash risotto bu ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Girlfriend ordered the squash risotto but was very few squash. Maybe it's just her, but she would've liked it with more squash.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always one of my favorite places to eat. ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always one of my favorite places to eat. Great cocktail choices is also a fav.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is very loud. Not by the music ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

The place is very loud. Not by the music, but the noise control in this place is very annoying. We couldn't hear ourselves over the laughs and conversations next to us. Up to a point where you don't enjoy your food and it changed our moods completely.

Another time we couldn't even hear the guy who was singing.

I think the ceiling is too low for the noise.

The food was new, the waiter told us they changed the menu so I had the "quack and cheese" (nasty!) abd my husband had the tacos(not impressed)

The service was great, though. Even the waiter noticed we didn't finish our food. He apologized for the noise inconvenience, he didn't seem surprised.

It's sad because we've been here many times, and we used to like this place a lot, but the last two times (within six months) we had the same bad experience so we decided to give it another chance but no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Their menu was different from the one po ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

Their menu was different from the one posted on Open Table.

However, they were able to accommodate our requests from the old menu.

They also addressed my wife's many food allergies.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, but incredibly noisy.

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Delicious, but incredibly noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Lunch with mom and sis... Great atmosphe ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Lunch with mom and sis... Great atmosphere, customer service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy! Other than that, all was good ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Too noisy! Other than that, all was good and tasty.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was excellent and service was spot ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was excellent and service was spot on. The chocolate cream brûlée was awesome. Top 2 spots in McAllen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very consistently delicious... Excellent ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very consistently delicious... Excellent service.. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only thing I did not like was the T ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The only thing I did not like was the TV in it..

Bistros are for elegance, for meetings, romantic dates, and not for any regular bunch of people.

If I want to see TV then I would go to a sport bar...

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was excellent .. The present ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent .. The presentation was very good and everything was delicious . They have a very nice wine selection as well. It was overall, a very good experience.. Thanks, Don

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Superior service and ambiance.

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Superior service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Good but not for a Romantic Dinner

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I went for my Birthday with my husband, food and drinks were good, unfortunately beside us was a big round table with about 10-12 persons making a lot of noise + the music, it was not nice!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent Place In Town

 
·Dined on April 23, 2016

A good place to enjoy a bottle of wine competitive priced, a good choice of small plates!

Never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience as usual 👍

 
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great experience as usual 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pretty full house but we were seated pro ...

 
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Pretty full house but we were seated promptly on a saturday night with reservation. We had the strawberry bellinis, wedge salad and broccoli soup, lambchops, pesto flatbread, and strawberry dessert. Everything was delicious!! Great service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time at House Wine as I ...

 
·Dined on April 9, 2016

It was our first time at House Wine as I was looking for a new place to take my mother to celebrate her birthday. We all enjoyed our meals tremendously and the service was absolutely wonderful, we were never left unattended. We are definitely visiting again and recommending to all our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.