About House of Japan - Dublin

6153 Parkcenter Circle
Dublin, OH 43017
View Larger Map

Japanese Hibachi Steakhouse, Seafood, and Sushi Restaurant where we cook and entertain you right in front of the Grill. Everyone gets a Front Row Seat!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tuttle Crossing Rd. and Blazer Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 792-2445

Website:
http://www.houseofjapanohio.com/menu.html

Entertainment:
Watch our chefs perform tricks, flying shrimp tails, fire volcano, juggling eggs and much more... You have to come to experience it!!!! Bring the kids too... They would love it!!!

Executive Chef:
Krisco

Private Party Contact:
Joyce or Jack: 614-792-2445x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Scallops
House Salad
Filet Mignon
Bean Sprouts
Mixed Vegetables
Fried Rice
Ginger Sauce
Chef
Steamed Rice
Mai Tai
Hibachi Salmon

House of Japan - Dublin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Dublin ›

Good for Groups (49)
Special Occasion (49)
Kid-friendly (32)
See All
Great for Lunch (29)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Family Style (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Casual (6)
Romantic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vegan (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Cozy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
916 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to eat! I would recommend th ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great place to eat! I would recommend this place to everyone!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not very impressed this time with the ch ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Not very impressed this time with the chef he wasn't very active in his performance. Usly there great not this time around. He over cooked our lobster.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food and service were superb! We ha ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food and service were superb! We had a wonderful evening celebrating our anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to the restaurant with two friend ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I went to the restaurant with two friends and my 9 year old granddaughter. The occasion was the birthday of one of my friends. The wait staff was very cordial and accommodating, but the table chef was TOTALLY AWESOME. I eat there often and I have noticed that the chefs generally go all out with the entertainment when there are children at their table or a nearby table. He was also an exceptional cook. (the last time that I ate there the food was not very good).

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

School is back in session and lunchtime ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

School is back in session and lunchtime is nearly child-free... Food is always good and chefs make a good time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and a good value if you go du ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and a good value if you go during lunch time and order the feast. However, I noticed that most table had 9-10 people at them which to me is a bit squished. Thankfully, we had 4 kids at our table who didn't take up much room, but I don't like being squished together. I wish they would go back to seating 7-8 around the table. Even the guy at the table across from us made a big fuss because he had mostly adults at their table and they were crammed together. It makes it hard to enjoy the good food when you are constantly elbowing somebody else. Food was excellent though.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Appetizers salads drinks maincourse all ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Appetizers salads drinks maincourse all awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and entertainment, fun to wat ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food and entertainment, fun to watch the chef's

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good fresh and the ch ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is always good fresh and the chefs are remarkable enjoy going there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and our chef Byron was so muc ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great food and our chef Byron was so much Fun!

Enjoyed the food.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi, the drinks and the main dish -- a ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Sushi, the drinks and the main dish -- all very tasty!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It saddens me to write this review for o ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

It saddens me to write this review for our most recent dinner at The House of Japan. We had gone to celebrate a birthday. All was going well (drinks, soup, salad) until our cook came to the grill. I've been there many times, but I have never seen such lack of enthusiasm, messy grill area, and poor food distribution, as well as taste.

The cook's "egg drops" were really egg flops and drops; he broke all of them. When he added the vegetables to the grill they were shoved to the corner with more than several going off the grill into the vent area. And, that was only the beginning. He tried to put the veggies in a circle to put a dome lid on, but he couldn't get them all in (consequently there were many vegetables left uncooked) and we had ordered extra vegetables. Next, the egg dropping made them over cook. When they were added to the "fried rice" we couldn't even appreciate the flavor. And, since I've mentioned the fried rice, the rice wasn't fried...it was white rice that had not been fried rather it was brown from the color of the soy sauce he put on it. There was no time for it to cook to enrich the flavor of the rice and it's ingredients. We ordered Hibachi Shrimp. Every one around the grill had an entree that included shrimp. When it came for us to have the majority of our meal, the cook gave us the portion that the others should have had, we received a very small portion.

It was a birthday dinner that turned out to be a fiasco. I even wrote a note on the receipt stating this was the "worst meal we had ever eaten there". It saddened me because we have always enjoyed going to the House of Japan; however, this experience was awful. The "cook" performed none of the "affects" that we normally appreciate. He didn't seem to have the personally to keep a job here. It's also sad because normally we get the best shrimp there than anywhere. (The grill top was disorganized and a mess.) If we go again, we will ask specifically for John, NEVER the cook we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Me and my family choose this location ev ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Me and my family choose this location every time for family birthdays. The chefs know us and make our time enjoyable and entertaining.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I dine here once a month ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I dine here once a month and we have never had any experience less than amazing!

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but seemed like there was ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was good but seemed like there was less than normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great for large family outing and all ag ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great for large family outing and all ages. Chef was great at "playing to the crowd."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

House of Japan is wonderful! I have neve ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

House of Japan is wonderful! I have never experienced a bad meal at the Dublin OH location!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service great food and chefs enter ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great service great food and chefs entertain you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group of 7 (wife, grandkids, myself) ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our group of 7 (wife, grandkids, myself) celebrated one of our grandchild's birthdays. They all love the "show" in addition to the food. In fact, it is one of their most requested places to eat. It's not inexpensive, but certainly worth taking the group out once in a while.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy and over crowded the night we ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very noisy and over crowded the night we went ( that was our first time )....the guy at the table though was funny and engaged us well....other than that everything was non descript

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Very enjoyable atmosphere. Great food. T ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very enjoyable atmosphere. Great food. The onlne reservation was very simple and ready when we walked in the door.

Thank you all.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We go there to celebrate Mother's Day an ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We go there to celebrate Mother's Day and my son's birthday, and it's a very familiar and fun place to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The service was unusually slow. We were ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The service was unusually slow. We were the first table seated and 3 other tables plus one large party got out of there before us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

As usual the food was excellent. We onl ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As usual the food was excellent. We only go for lunch since the dinner prices are much higher

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this place. Always good food and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love this place. Always good food and entertaining.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy the chefs and the food, the chef ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I enjoy the chefs and the food, the chefs are getting to know me and my seafood allergy and they take great care for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love eating here and always request J ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We love eating here and always request Jon as our chef he is amazing! Been here for 6 years and never a bad experience. One time, they let my daughter cook. Such a great place!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Had to wait half an hou ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love this place. Had to wait half an hour even though we had a reservation. Not necessarily their fault - they had a table that stayed for more than 2 hours! Food's great, always fun to watch the food preparation.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a great experience it was for a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was a great experience it was for a birthday and they where very accommodating! I would recommend this to anyone celebrating a special occasion who loves hibachi! Our server and the other staff where wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious The chef presented a ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was delicious

The chef presented a wonderful experience

The noise was not a full roar it was truly delightful everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cook was very talented and friendly ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The cook was very talented and friendly but our waitress who took our drink and food orders was very rude. She got almost every persons order wrong, acted very angry that two of the guests in our party were not there when we were seated and refused to take anyones order untill.they arrived. Acted aggravated that we had children in our party and never came.back.to refill our drinks. Had to ask our cook for.refills and to order dessert. He called for.her to come.over and she ignored him. Also had to restate our order multiple.times since she had written them all down wrong. The kids.steak was delicious and they loved it but once they finally.got.around to cooking the adults orders of steak it was not very flavorful. Also did not like the soup or salad which I usually.love at other hibachi style reateraunts and the fried rice was not very good. Also paid $70 for just my meal and two kids meals. I didn't order any alcohol or appetizers. Thought this was very expensive for such poor quality service and food. I will never go back.to this resteraunt.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great service! Great food! Polo is the b ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service! Great food! Polo is the best Chef around! Friendly service, amazing food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did not feel that our Chef was very t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We did not feel that our Chef was very talkative or friendly even when trying to engage him into a conversation. The show was not much of a show at all... which made our special occasion a little disappointing especially for the amount of money we spent on the meal. We had to flag down our waitress to get drink refills. This trip was probably the worst experience I have had at the House of Japan in all the years of patronizing the establishment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We made a reservation but still waited 4 ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We made a reservation but still waited 45 min for a table. Food is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always so delicious and the chefs make i ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always so delicious and the chefs make it fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is a hibachi shrimp appetizer give ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

There is a hibachi shrimp appetizer given to everyone at the table. When the chef got to my son, there was literally 1 piece left, and that's all he was given. There was also very little interaction with the chef. If I just wanted to eat we would have gone to a different restaurant, with better food. We wanted the whole package, and definitely did not get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This was the first time I have had a not ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was the first time I have had a not do pleasant experience at House of Japan. This is my favorite place to wat. However this particular evening, we had a really long wait at the table. There were small kids who were getting ancy, which then increased the noise level just at out table. That night also seemed louder than usual. The meal was cooked in reverse so we had our meat long before our rice and veggies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We have been going to House of Japan mu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have been going to House of Japan multiple times a year to celebrate Birthdays for almost 20 years now. This most recent experience was just as nice and just as much fun as the first time we took the kids all those years ago. The food was excellent and the staff was attentive and engaging. Our "kids" are 20, 23, and 24 now, and we all still get excited about going to House of Japan for dinner. Portions are large, so bring your appetite. Just use Open Table to make your reservation so you don't have a long wait.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made our reservation for 11:30AM, for 7/ ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Made our reservation for 11:30AM, for 7/8/16. When we arrived at 11:30, doors were closed. Ater getting in at 11:35, with our party of 5, we made the hostess aware of our reservation, and then we were pushed to the side, while other walk-ins of 2 and 3 were sat. We were told that once another table opens, we would be seated. Management did not care that we had a reservation. There were 8 empty tables on the floor. For this outing, I was not pleased by the way we were taken care of. My guests were not happy about the wait, the dismissing of our reservation, and the feeling that we were not important. If it wasn't for the chef, this meeting would have been terrible. Needless to say, I will not be back for a while. I will need to take my clients and business to another establishment. I hope that other customers are not treated this way.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.