Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About House of Japan - Dublin

Japanese Hibachi Steakhouse, Seafood, and Sushi Restaurant where we cook and entertain you right in front of the Grill. Everyone gets a Front Row Seat!!

6153 Parkcenter Circle
Dublin, OH 43017
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tuttle Crossing Rd. and Blazer Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 792-2445

Website:
http://www.houseofjapanohio.com/

Entertainment:
Watch our chefs perform tricks, flying shrimp tails, fire volcano, juggling eggs and much more... You have to come to experience it!!!! Bring the kids too... They would love it!!!

Executive Chef:
Krisco

Private Party Contact:
Joyce or Jack: (614) 792-2445

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

House of Japan - Dublin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Casual (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1031 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

While we enjoyed the show and had a great chef, our server did not know the ingredients in the salad dressing, claiming it to be gluten free. Celiac son spent the next two days sick from the dressing, and they have no alternative to full gluten soy sauce that is on every dish they prepare. This made it awkward that they had to prepare his entire meal on the grill while everyone else waited until his was done. Definitely not allergy friendly, which I would have been fine with if it had been accurately addressed beforehand. Manager was totally rude about us finding out too late that the food was guaranteed to be gluten free when it wasn't.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Spur of the moment decision to go to House of Japan for an early dinner with my husband.
Our experience was very good, except for the warm moist clothes that were dry and burnt.
Food and service was very good. (amount of food was generous.) One of our favorite
places to go.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was excellent. One of our guests had the meal that included the soup, but they forgot it. My husband had shrimp appetizer with the egg sauce . They put the cooked egg sauce on his plate, but forgot the shrimp! About 5 minutes later , the cook realized it and then threw the shrimp on his plate. Our main course was cooked and put on our plate before the shrimp appetizer. It also seemed like we always had zucchini that was stir fried with the bean sprouts, and that wasn't done. I must admit that I was disappointed in this visit. The expertise was lacking.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was very good and the kids had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had reservations at 6:30 and did not get seated until around 6:50, but that happens when it's a busy Saturday night, so it was not that big of a deal. We just had a a drink in he bar area. After getting seated our waiter and chef were very attentive and made sure they got us whatever we needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I had reservations and didn't have to wait. The place was clean. The food was fresh although the chicken was way over cooked. The price was within the norm for the type of restaurant. I would go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Fantastic as usual. You never fail to impress. Had dinner here. The sushi bar was great with a classic menu choice. This is a great place for lunch or dinner. Very impressive flair by the chefs.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Credit Card Fraud - BEWARE - 2x Its Happened. My wife and I love Hibachi and this location has excellent food. We went a few months ago and a few days later the card we paid with had fraudulent charges on it. Didn't think much of it but we rarely use that card so it was odd. This last time I actually left my wallet on the table and had to come back the next day. EVERY CARD IN MY WALLET WAS CLONED! This is not acceptable. I have managed retail stores and when someone leaves their card or wallet we put it in the safe! My fault for leaving it sure but that doesn't mean you can steal my credit card numbers!!! Look having credit card fraud twice there is not a coincidence. STAY AWAY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The House of Japan in Dublin Ohio is our favorite place to eat. All the cooks are great fun. And the food is always good. I have a picky eater child - and he asks to go here. I would recommend them to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The experience was great as usual. The chef was very entertaining and friendly, as well as the staff. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The experience was not good its always hit or miss with this restaurant becuse sometime the chief is good and sometime not so good! This time it was NOT GOOD AT ALL!
Food was not cooked well, the rice was overdone. We all early touched our food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great place to dine with friends/family or business dinner

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had a great time. Our favorite Japanese steak house.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had to wait 20 minutes to be seated with reservation... same wait time as wdlk ins... might as well not have had reservation

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great food. Great server. No wait

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very very very disappointed that wee were sat at a 8 person table with 10 people! If people make a reservation they should not have to squeeze into a 8 person table! Our chef lackef personality and forgot 2 food items! Love you restaurant but this last visit questions if I will be back!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had a reservation at 6pm. We were seated at 6:45. I don't think it makes a difference if you have a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Waited 45 mins with reservations that were made weeks in advance.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was outstanding as always. I would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone. I have never had a bad or less than excellent meal here. The service is great and especially with the reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant, great for date night and great for a family dinner or even lunch! My partner and I go there all the time! Tons of food and the service is always fantastic!!! It's my favorite restaurant!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My friend and I had sushi which was delicious. The service left something to be desired. I would go back for the sushi!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love your restaurant. This time the chicken did not have much flavor and seemed dried out. The shrimp and New York strip was delicous as always.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 25, 2016

House of Japan has always been a family favorite on Christmas Eve. While our meal was great, we had 7pm reservations and did not get seated until 745...and thus missed Christmas Eve services at church. This was very disappointing. I believe they take walk-in's also and I feel as if on a busy night as such that they need to make sure their patrons with reservations take first priority.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was up to par except I made a reservation for 7 and was not seated until 830. Other than that it was what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great experience. Good chef. Excellent food and lots of it. A group of 10 made reservations and only waited About 15 minutes. We ate the leftovers the next day.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We ordered steak and chicken with fried rice. Everything was great. We enjoyed ourselves a lot. The cook was engaging and fun to watch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Usually this is my favorite place to go! However during this last dinner our chef added way too much butter and oil to the food, making it very greasy. He also dropped his utensils several times, even into the food.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I love HOJ and have been going there for many years but they are now seating 10 to a table. They put a chair on each outside corner of the seating table. The person with me and I were against each other literally the whole time and we are not big people. I, personally, would rather have to wait for and be able to completely enjoy my dining experience than to be shoved together like that. It really took away from the whole experience.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Hibachi was very good though the chicken was terrible...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very personable chef. He did a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Love this place! Great food! Fun chefs! The egg yolk sauce and ginger sauce really make the meal special.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was really busy but because we had a reservation we did not have to wait long. Service is always great and I love the energy that the chef has to offer at the table! Food and drinks were great as always, can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We both enjoyed our food a lot and our chef was outstandingly funny and talented. We'all definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 15, 2016

my son chose this for his 13th birthday meal. the waiter was lack luster complared to the other chefs. We have been there several times & this visit is by far the worst one we have had.
We made it clear to both the waiter & chef it was his birthday dinner. there was another couple beside us also celebrating a birthday. No one offered the photo and pinapple option to either of us. he was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fantastic food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

great food and great chef, very entertaining and relaxing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Love the food and the staff! Kid friendly, and great for the price for lunch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We go here quite frequently. We are always treated good and the food is always great! The value is good. A little pricey for dinner but worth it every once in a while. A fun place to get good food for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First of all - Our food was absolutely delicious. Our cook was a lot of fun - especially since we had a child at the table with us.

However - I made the Reservation on Open Table, thinking that our Reservation would be honored. We arrived at 7pm for our Reservation and told that our table would be ready in 20 minutes. I was a little taken back because the Reservation was for 7pm, but that's beside the point. We were not seated until 7:50pm. For a reservation, I find this completely unacceptable. If this was advertised as "call ahead seating", I understand - but not a reservation. There is a difference. There's also a LARGE difference between 20 minutes & 50 minutes - especially when a Child is a part of the Party, which I made mention of when originally making the Reservation. We will consider going back, but without child (who became restless, and rightfully so, after waiting almost 1.5 hours for food that we weren't expecting to wait) but I feel like making a Reservation is pointless when it's not honored.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We made reservations but still had to wait quite a while till they seated all the people that had arrived ahead of us even though they had no reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.