About House of Japan - Dublin

6153 Parkcenter Circle
Dublin, OH 43017
View Larger Map

Japanese Hibachi Steakhouse, Seafood, and Sushi Restaurant where we cook and entertain you right in front of the Grill. Everyone gets a Front Row Seat!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tuttle Crossing Rd. and Blazer Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 792-2445

Website:
http://www.houseofjapanohio.com/menu.html

Entertainment:
Watch our chefs perform tricks, flying shrimp tails, fire volcano, juggling eggs and much more... You have to come to experience it!!!! Bring the kids too... They would love it!!!

Executive Chef:
Krisco

Private Party Contact:
Joyce or Jack: 614-792-2445x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Scallops
House Salad
Filet Mignon
Bean Sprouts
Mixed Vegetables
Fried Rice
Ginger Sauce
Chef
Steamed Rice
Mai Tai
Hibachi Salmon

House of Japan - Dublin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (68)
Good for Groups (66)
Great for Lunch (41)
See All
Kid-friendly (39)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Romantic (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Me and my family choose this location ev ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Me and my family choose this location every time for family birthdays. The chefs know us and make our time enjoyable and entertaining.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I dine here once a month ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I dine here once a month and we have never had any experience less than amazing!

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but seemed like there was ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good but seemed like there was less than normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great for large family outing and all ag ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great for large family outing and all ages. Chef was great at "playing to the crowd."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

House of Japan is wonderful! I have neve ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

House of Japan is wonderful! I have never experienced a bad meal at the Dublin OH location!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service great food and chefs enter ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great service great food and chefs entertain you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group of 7 (wife, grandkids, myself) ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our group of 7 (wife, grandkids, myself) celebrated one of our grandchild's birthdays. They all love the "show" in addition to the food. In fact, it is one of their most requested places to eat. It's not inexpensive, but certainly worth taking the group out once in a while.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy and over crowded the night we ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very noisy and over crowded the night we went ( that was our first time )....the guy at the table though was funny and engaged us well....other than that everything was non descript

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Very enjoyable atmosphere. Great food. T ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very enjoyable atmosphere. Great food. The onlne reservation was very simple and ready when we walked in the door.

Thank you all.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We go there to celebrate Mother's Day an ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We go there to celebrate Mother's Day and my son's birthday, and it's a very familiar and fun place to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The service was unusually slow. We were ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The service was unusually slow. We were the first table seated and 3 other tables plus one large party got out of there before us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

As usual the food was excellent. We onl ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As usual the food was excellent. We only go for lunch since the dinner prices are much higher

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this place. Always good food and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love this place. Always good food and entertaining.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy the chefs and the food, the chef ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I enjoy the chefs and the food, the chefs are getting to know me and my seafood allergy and they take great care for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love eating here and always request J ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We love eating here and always request Jon as our chef he is amazing! Been here for 6 years and never a bad experience. One time, they let my daughter cook. Such a great place!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Had to wait half an hou ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love this place. Had to wait half an hour even though we had a reservation. Not necessarily their fault - they had a table that stayed for more than 2 hours! Food's great, always fun to watch the food preparation.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a great experience it was for a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was a great experience it was for a birthday and they where very accommodating! I would recommend this to anyone celebrating a special occasion who loves hibachi! Our server and the other staff where wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious The chef presented a ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was delicious

The chef presented a wonderful experience

The noise was not a full roar it was truly delightful everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cook was very talented and friendly ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The cook was very talented and friendly but our waitress who took our drink and food orders was very rude. She got almost every persons order wrong, acted very angry that two of the guests in our party were not there when we were seated and refused to take anyones order untill.they arrived. Acted aggravated that we had children in our party and never came.back.to refill our drinks. Had to ask our cook for.refills and to order dessert. He called for.her to come.over and she ignored him. Also had to restate our order multiple.times since she had written them all down wrong. The kids.steak was delicious and they loved it but once they finally.got.around to cooking the adults orders of steak it was not very flavorful. Also did not like the soup or salad which I usually.love at other hibachi style reateraunts and the fried rice was not very good. Also paid $70 for just my meal and two kids meals. I didn't order any alcohol or appetizers. Thought this was very expensive for such poor quality service and food. I will never go back.to this resteraunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great service! Great food! Polo is the b ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service! Great food! Polo is the best Chef around! Friendly service, amazing food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did not feel that our Chef was very t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We did not feel that our Chef was very talkative or friendly even when trying to engage him into a conversation. The show was not much of a show at all... which made our special occasion a little disappointing especially for the amount of money we spent on the meal. We had to flag down our waitress to get drink refills. This trip was probably the worst experience I have had at the House of Japan in all the years of patronizing the establishment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We made a reservation but still waited 4 ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We made a reservation but still waited 45 min for a table. Food is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always so delicious and the chefs make i ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always so delicious and the chefs make it fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is a hibachi shrimp appetizer give ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

There is a hibachi shrimp appetizer given to everyone at the table. When the chef got to my son, there was literally 1 piece left, and that's all he was given. There was also very little interaction with the chef. If I just wanted to eat we would have gone to a different restaurant, with better food. We wanted the whole package, and definitely did not get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This was the first time I have had a not ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was the first time I have had a not do pleasant experience at House of Japan. This is my favorite place to wat. However this particular evening, we had a really long wait at the table. There were small kids who were getting ancy, which then increased the noise level just at out table. That night also seemed louder than usual. The meal was cooked in reverse so we had our meat long before our rice and veggies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We have been going to House of Japan mu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have been going to House of Japan multiple times a year to celebrate Birthdays for almost 20 years now. This most recent experience was just as nice and just as much fun as the first time we took the kids all those years ago. The food was excellent and the staff was attentive and engaging. Our "kids" are 20, 23, and 24 now, and we all still get excited about going to House of Japan for dinner. Portions are large, so bring your appetite. Just use Open Table to make your reservation so you don't have a long wait.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made our reservation for 11:30AM, for 7/ ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Made our reservation for 11:30AM, for 7/8/16. When we arrived at 11:30, doors were closed. Ater getting in at 11:35, with our party of 5, we made the hostess aware of our reservation, and then we were pushed to the side, while other walk-ins of 2 and 3 were sat. We were told that once another table opens, we would be seated. Management did not care that we had a reservation. There were 8 empty tables on the floor. For this outing, I was not pleased by the way we were taken care of. My guests were not happy about the wait, the dismissing of our reservation, and the feeling that we were not important. If it wasn't for the chef, this meeting would have been terrible. Needless to say, I will not be back for a while. I will need to take my clients and business to another establishment. I hope that other customers are not treated this way.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Excellent food, fun atmosphere, and good ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent food, fun atmosphere, and good value cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great again!!!

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was great again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef for our table was very entertai ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The chef for our table was very entertaining and interactive with those dining. One the more enjoyable dining experiences in recent visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The madesomerookiemistakesoncookingfoodb ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The madesomerookiemistakesoncookingfoodbutotherthanthatitwasgood

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Well the chef made us feel like no one e ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Well the chef made us feel like no one else was there the kids where amazed at all the detailed tricks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Waiters were very overwhelmed ran out o ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Waiters were very overwhelmed ran out of drinks twice

And love the shrimp just not the poop come on devein it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We go to House of Japan at least every o ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We go to House of Japan at least every other week and it is one of our favorite spots, at least it was. This last visit we had a reservation at 6pm and arrived early but were seated immediately with 2 other couples leaving 2 empty spots at our table. First off, we placed our orders and then the manager came and moved us all to another table with no explanation. After we were moved, our drinks, soup, and salad all and out quickly as usual but then things went south quickly. Two more people joined our table after about 10 minutes. After being at the table for 40 minutes with no food, our waitress finally came by to apologize for the wait. At this point everyone at our table was pretty angry for the lack of service. We questioned why it has been so long and they noted that our table was out on hold because we had empty seats. Seeing that none of us were together, why should we be penalized for empty places at a table we didn't seat ourselves at. The table we had been moved from were already enjoying their meals. Our chef finally arrived bed after 45 minutes and then he proceeded to make the worst meal we have ever had there. The order he made the food was nonsensical, he actually put egg yolk sauce on the plates first with no other food, then gave out strip steak to the two that ordered that with no rice even though of. By the table me we got fried rice, it was filled with overlooked hard pieces and then the shrimp that had been sitting on the grill forever was served so over cooked and dry it was barely edible. After the food was finally done, the manager decides to come ask how everything was and I told her exactly what I thought. Not one apology, offer of a discount, nothing. She basically blamed it on us not having a full table when we were seated. Even though this is one of my favorite meals, we will sadly not be returning as the manager has been there forever so I highly doubt if she will ever leave and I won't go back as long as she is there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Always wonderful, love everything about ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always wonderful, love everything about this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't change a thing! You're fantastic. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Don't change a thing! You're fantastic...the best of all the other so called Japanese steakhouses. I've been frequeting your establishment for over 15 years. Thank you for all you do!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic dinner as always! Just come hu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic dinner as always! Just come hungry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our chef was amazing and very engaging w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our chef was amazing and very engaging with the table, made the dinner experience a lot better

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my favorite place to eat. Order ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is my favorite place to eat. Order extra rice and you have enough for lunch the next day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.