About House of Japan - Dublin

6153 Parkcenter Circle
Dublin, OH 43017
View Larger Map

Japanese Hibachi Steakhouse, Seafood, and Sushi Restaurant where we cook and entertain you right in front of the Grill. Everyone gets a Front Row Seat!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tuttle Crossing Rd. and Blazer Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 792-2445

Website:
http://www.houseofjapanohio.com/menu.html

Entertainment:
Watch our chefs perform tricks, flying shrimp tails, fire volcano, juggling eggs and much more... You have to come to experience it!!!! Bring the kids too... They would love it!!!

Executive Chef:
Krisco

Private Party Contact:
Joyce or Jack: 614-792-2445x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wine

Restaurant Photos

Scallops
House Salad
Bean Sprouts
Filet Mignon
Mixed Vegetables
Steamed Rice
Chef
Ginger Sauce
Fried Rice
Mai Tai
Hibachi Salmon

House of Japan - Dublin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (75)
special occasion (73)
great for lunch (44)
See All
kid-friendly (39)
fit for foodies (25)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (11)
great for brunch (11)
romantic (8)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service! Great food! Polo is the b ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service! Great food! Polo is the best Chef around! Friendly service, amazing food. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did not feel that our Chef was very t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

We did not feel that our Chef was very talkative or friendly even when trying to engage him into a conversation. The show was not much of a show at all... which made our special occasion a little disappointing especially for the amount of money we spent on the meal. We had to flag down our waitress to get drink refills. This trip was probably the worst experience I have had at the House of Japan in all the years of patronizing the establishment.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We made a reservation but still waited 4 ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

We made a reservation but still waited 45 min for a table. Food is always great.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always so delicious and the chefs make i ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always so delicious and the chefs make it fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is a hibachi shrimp appetizer give ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

There is a hibachi shrimp appetizer given to everyone at the table. When the chef got to my son, there was literally 1 piece left, and that's all he was given. There was also very little interaction with the chef. If I just wanted to eat we would have gone to a different restaurant, with better food. We wanted the whole package, and definitely did not get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This was the first time I have had a not ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was the first time I have had a not do pleasant experience at House of Japan. This is my favorite place to wat. However this particular evening, we had a really long wait at the table. There were small kids who were getting ancy, which then increased the noise level just at out table. That night also seemed louder than usual. The meal was cooked in reverse so we had our meat long before our rice and veggies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We have been going to House of Japan mu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have been going to House of Japan multiple times a year to celebrate Birthdays for almost 20 years now. This most recent experience was just as nice and just as much fun as the first time we took the kids all those years ago. The food was excellent and the staff was attentive and engaging. Our "kids" are 20, 23, and 24 now, and we all still get excited about going to House of Japan for dinner. Portions are large, so bring your appetite. Just use Open Table to make your reservation so you don't have a long wait.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made our reservation for 11:30AM, for 7/ ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Made our reservation for 11:30AM, for 7/8/16. When we arrived at 11:30, doors were closed. Ater getting in at 11:35, with our party of 5, we made the hostess aware of our reservation, and then we were pushed to the side, while other walk-ins of 2 and 3 were sat. We were told that once another table opens, we would be seated. Management did not care that we had a reservation. There were 8 empty tables on the floor. For this outing, I was not pleased by the way we were taken care of. My guests were not happy about the wait, the dismissing of our reservation, and the feeling that we were not important. If it wasn't for the chef, this meeting would have been terrible. Needless to say, I will not be back for a while. I will need to take my clients and business to another establishment. I hope that other customers are not treated this way.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Excellent food, fun atmosphere, and good ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent food, fun atmosphere, and good value cocktails.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great again!!!

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was great again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef for our table was very entertai ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The chef for our table was very entertaining and interactive with those dining. One the more enjoyable dining experiences in recent visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The madesomerookiemistakesoncookingfoodb ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The madesomerookiemistakesoncookingfoodbutotherthanthatitwasgood

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Well the chef made us feel like no one e ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Well the chef made us feel like no one else was there the kids where amazed at all the detailed tricks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We go to House of Japan at least every o ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We go to House of Japan at least every other week and it is one of our favorite spots, at least it was. This last visit we had a reservation at 6pm and arrived early but were seated immediately with 2 other couples leaving 2 empty spots at our table. First off, we placed our orders and then the manager came and moved us all to another table with no explanation. After we were moved, our drinks, soup, and salad all and out quickly as usual but then things went south quickly. Two more people joined our table after about 10 minutes. After being at the table for 40 minutes with no food, our waitress finally came by to apologize for the wait. At this point everyone at our table was pretty angry for the lack of service. We questioned why it has been so long and they noted that our table was out on hold because we had empty seats. Seeing that none of us were together, why should we be penalized for empty places at a table we didn't seat ourselves at. The table we had been moved from were already enjoying their meals. Our chef finally arrived bed after 45 minutes and then he proceeded to make the worst meal we have ever had there. The order he made the food was nonsensical, he actually put egg yolk sauce on the plates first with no other food, then gave out strip steak to the two that ordered that with no rice even though of. By the table me we got fried rice, it was filled with overlooked hard pieces and then the shrimp that had been sitting on the grill forever was served so over cooked and dry it was barely edible. After the food was finally done, the manager decides to come ask how everything was and I told her exactly what I thought. Not one apology, offer of a discount, nothing. She basically blamed it on us not having a full table when we were seated. Even though this is one of my favorite meals, we will sadly not be returning as the manager has been there forever so I highly doubt if she will ever leave and I won't go back as long as she is there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Always wonderful, love everything about ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always wonderful, love everything about this restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't change a thing! You're fantastic. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Don't change a thing! You're fantastic...the best of all the other so called Japanese steakhouses. I've been frequeting your establishment for over 15 years. Thank you for all you do!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic dinner as always! Just come hu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic dinner as always! Just come hungry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our chef was amazing and very engaging w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our chef was amazing and very engaging with the table, made the dinner experience a lot better

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my favorite place to eat. Order ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is my favorite place to eat. Order extra rice and you have enough for lunch the next day.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though I told the host that it was ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Even though I told the host that it was my daughter's birthday and was assured the message would be passed on to my server and I would be charged for a special pineapple dessert and song, her birthday was ignored. Instead, another birthday was celebrated at my table. I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Lots of fun

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Lots of fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The House of Japan is a great restaurant ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The House of Japan is a great restaurant. They are fun and extremely kid friendly

They make every dining experience a joy!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with prompt courteous service ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great food with prompt courteous service. Great location in Dublin. Definitely recommend .

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best shrimp tempura sushi! This is my fa ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Best shrimp tempura sushi! This is my favorite Japanes Steakhouse

In Columbus. It's always busy so a reservation is the best way to go.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated well here

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went here for my brother's OSU graduation and had a ton of fun enjoying great food and a great experience! It's somewhat of a challenge to have conversation with so much happening around you (fire blazing, knives twirling, people laughing) but that's also part of what makes it entertaining and fun.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love H of J!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Exelement food and entertaining for the kids. Great for groups and a great value.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big Group

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We made reservations for 9 people. We had about a 20 minute wait. When they seated us there was room for 10 people. Then they tried to put a couple with us. It was already tight without adding another chair. I was not happy. 3 adults on the end was not happening. So they said we could wait for another table to open up. We waited about another 15 minutes. What was the point of even making reservations? And why was a group of 9 made to wait. Why not take the couple and plug them in with a smaller group or other couples. The food was great. And the owner even wished me a Happy Mother's Day.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service at Japanese Steak House is o ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service at Japanese Steak House is outstanding. We got seated right away, even thou two from our party had not arrived. The chef was very friendly and funny, we all had a really good time. Once the rest of our party had arrived the waitress had come right over to get their drinks for them, so they did not have to wait on them, even thou their food was about finished at that point. I love coming there to eat for lunch and special occassions, I just don't always have the money to as often as I would like.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered extra rice and extra vegetable ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I ordered extra rice and extra vegetables and I paid for it but he gave everyone my extra rice and vegetables so I didn't get what I paid for. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

MicKennas Birthday Dinner

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Our younges child turned 17 and we always let them decide where they want to go for their birthday dinner. She choose House of Japan. Upon arrival we were treated with the utmost respect and thouroughly enjoyed our dinner. The only thing would like to see added would be applesauce or something that a toddler can eat. The atmosphere along with the chefs were just awesome!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From work lunch, to a gathering of friends.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I have been to this restaurant, many times. I am never disappointed. I took my co-workers for lunch, on a Friday, to wind down from the weeks. Needless to say, IT WAS A HIT!!! Every one had a great time. We all left tired from laughing, full from the great food, and satisfied with the experience. I was told several times that we should do this more often, and I agree. I will be coordinating these times from now on. Thank you HOJ, for continuuing to give us something to look forward to, and remember.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We drive an hour at least twice a month to bring our 5 year old daughter Holland to see and eat Jimmy's food. Everything is always delicious,the service is impeccable. Jimmy is an amazing chef and very personable.My daughter adores him and he is always polite and attentive to her which makes her day.Thank you for giving us a family place that never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice dinner

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

This restaurant was so convenient since we were in a hotel next door. It was very well recommended by the staff there and our relatives who live in Columbus.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I love eating here, lunch is good but dinner is the best. A little pricey for dinner but WELL worth it! Food is always great. Come here regularly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

HOJ Review

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

House of Japan is my absolute favorite restaurant! It has been for many years! Best Japanese food around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service tonight was impeccable! What ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The service tonight was impeccable! What a lovely date night :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food, chefs and the sercive you get! ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The food, chefs and the sercive you get!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

House of Japan is always a fun, family p ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

House of Japan is always a fun, family place to eat. The food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grandson's 16th Birthday

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Have been coming to the Japanese for about 8 years to celebrate birthdays and other special occasions. The grandchildren are now teenagers and it's still a special occasion for them.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.