About House of Japan - Dublin

6153 Parkcenter Circle
Dublin, OH 43017
View Larger Map

Japanese Hibachi Steakhouse, Seafood, and Sushi Restaurant where we cook and entertain you right in front of the Grill. Everyone gets a Front Row Seat!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tuttle Crossing Rd. and Blazer Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 792-2445

Website:
http://www.houseofjapanohio.com/menu.html

Entertainment:
Watch our chefs perform tricks, flying shrimp tails, fire volcano, juggling eggs and much more... You have to come to experience it!!!! Bring the kids too... They would love it!!!

Executive Chef:
Krisco

Private Party Contact:
Joyce or Jack: 614-792-2445x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wine

Restaurant Photos

House of Japan - Dublin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (94)
special occasion (84)
kid-friendly (57)
See All
great for lunch (48)
fit for foodies (24)
hot spot (12)
great for brunch (11)
romantic (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The House of Japan is a great restaurant ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The House of Japan is a great restaurant. They are fun and extremely kid friendly They make every dining experience a joy!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with prompt courteous service ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great food with prompt courteous service. Great location in Dublin. Definitely recommend .

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best shrimp tempura sushi! This is my fa ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Best shrimp tempura sushi! This is my favorite Japanes Steakhouse In Columbus. It's always busy so a reservation is the best way to go.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Great experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated well here

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went here for my brother's OSU graduation and had a ton of fun enjoying great food and a great experience! It's somewhat of a challenge to have conversation with so much happening around you (fire blazing, knives twirling, people laughing) but that's also part of what makes it entertaining and fun.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love H of J!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Exelement food and entertaining for the kids. Great for groups and a great value.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Big Group

Dined on May 8, 2016

We made reservations for 9 people. We had about a 20 minute wait. When they seated us there was room for 10 people. Then they tried to put a couple with us. It was already tight without adding another chair. I was not happy. 3 adults on the end was not happening. So they said we could wait for another table to open up. We waited about another 15 minutes. What was the point of even making reservations? And why was a group of 9 made to wait. Why not take the couple and plug them in with a smaller group or other couples. The food was great. And the owner even wished me a Happy Mother's Day.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at Japanese Steak House is o ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service at Japanese Steak House is outstanding. We got seated right away, even thou two from our party had not arrived. The chef was very friendly and funny, we all had a really good time. Once the rest of our party had arrived the waitress had come right over to get their drinks for them, so they did not have to wait on them, even thou their food was about finished at that point. I love coming there to eat for lunch and special occassions, I just don't always have the money to as often as I would like.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

I ordered extra rice and extra vegetable ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

I ordered extra rice and extra vegetables and I paid for it but he gave everyone my extra rice and vegetables so I didn't get what I paid for. Very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

MicKennas Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our younges child turned 17 and we always let them decide where they want to go for their birthday dinner. She choose House of Japan. Upon arrival we were treated with the utmost respect and thouroughly enjoyed our dinner. The only thing would like to see added would be applesauce or something that a toddler can eat. The atmosphere along with the chefs were just awesome!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From work lunch, to a gathering of friends.

Dined on April 22, 2016

I have been to this restaurant, many times. I am never disappointed. I took my co-workers for lunch, on a Friday, to wind down from the weeks. Needless to say, IT WAS A HIT!!! Every one had a great time. We all left tired from laughing, full from the great food, and satisfied with the experience. I was told several times that we should do this more often, and I agree. I will be coordinating these times from now on. Thank you HOJ, for continuuing to give us something to look forward to, and remember.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant

Dined on April 17, 2016

We drive an hour at least twice a month to bring our 5 year old daughter Holland to see and eat Jimmy's food. Everything is always delicious,the service is impeccable. Jimmy is an amazing chef and very personable.My daughter adores him and he is always polite and attentive to her which makes her day.Thank you for giving us a family place that never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice dinner

Dined on April 14, 2016

This restaurant was so convenient since we were in a hotel next door. It was very well recommended by the staff there and our relatives who live in Columbus.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 10, 2016

I love eating here, lunch is good but dinner is the best. A little pricey for dinner but WELL worth it! Food is always great. Come here regularly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

HOJ Review

Dined on April 3, 2016

House of Japan is my absolute favorite restaurant! It has been for many years! Best Japanese food around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

The service tonight was impeccable! What ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The service tonight was impeccable! What a lovely date night :)

food5
ambience5
service5

The food, chefs and the sercive you get! ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

The food, chefs and the sercive you get!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

House of Japan is always a fun, family p ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

House of Japan is always a fun, family place to eat. The food is amazing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Grandson's 16th Birthday

Dined on April 1, 2016

Have been coming to the Japanese for about 8 years to celebrate birthdays and other special occasions. The grandchildren are now teenagers and it's still a special occasion for them.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The chefs are always a blast and the foo ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

The chefs are always a blast and the food is outstanding

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun atmosphere

Dined on March 27, 2016

Its a nice place in a grt area. The food ranks well with other similar venues but not quite up to Beni Hana standards. Grt service!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Chef was great and fun. Server had..actu ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Chef was great and fun. Server had..actually never...found her smile. We might as well have had a robot. Not a place I go for the "food" it's for the kids.

food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal as always food was on point

Dined on March 20, 2016

Phenomenal as always food was on point

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

March 19, 2016

Dined on March 19, 2016

All was good, however, upon arrival we told there was no reservation four our party. Once presented the email with the confirmation number, we were seated within 15 minutes.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I LOVE THIS RESTURANT I h ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

My family and I LOVE THIS RESTURANT I have never had a bad experience bad service or a bad anything LOVE THE FOOD AND THE ATMOSPHERE

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

It was EXCELLENT as always!! We love HOJ ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

It was EXCELLENT as always!! We love HOJ!!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic

Dined on March 5, 2016

I hadn't been to the House of Japan for a few years. The kids have gotten older and it isn't their annual choice for their Birthday dinner. I had forgotten how good the food is and how entertaining the preparation can be. Who needs kids for a good meal? We'll be back again soon, with or without the kids!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The lunch money is an awesome value! It ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The lunch money is an awesome value! It is just super crowded and sometimes it feels like the staff is rushing you

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Resturaunt

Dined on February 28, 2016

My family and I love House of Japan. The experience with the chefs is always entertaining for adults and kids alike and the food is marvelous. You definitely get your money's worth when eating here and the all the staff is extremely friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always waitress treated us li ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Awesome as always waitress treated us like kings and queens

food3
ambience3
service1

Our server lost the tables order and we ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our server lost the tables order and we sat there for 45 minutes. No one would come to our table ..... No one acknowledged us!!!! It was like we were being ignored. I expected the manager to come over and say something about the mistake but again we were ignored. I understand mistakes are made but own up to it

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun night out

Dined on February 20, 2016

We went there for a bday party like we do every year. The food was great and consistent as always. Would go back for sure

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Kids favorite restaurant...mine too :)

Dined on February 15, 2016

Yearly Valentines Day meal was great. Food is fantastic - Huge portions. Dinner is ~2x the price of lunch, so we typically try and get there for lunches since the amount of food is about the same. I believe that dinner comes with soup and salad where lunch comes with only the salad. Great place to eat. Filet is extremely tender. Splurge and get the fried rice...10x better than plain white. We'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

A good Japanese steakhouse. Food is al ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

A good Japanese steakhouse. Food is always good and the service too. Last night they were very late in seating our group but that is unusual.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our reservation was for 6:30. We were finally seated at 7:20. They explained they were running a little behind but they were taking walk ins. My husband sat at the end of the table. As the cook was passing out food, he was last. The portions were not equal. My husband ended up with little meat but lots of sprouts. We ordered for 5 Imperial Feasts due to Valentine's Day and celebrating birthdays. We will never do that again. The shrimp appetizer was 2 pieces of shrimp (probably one whole shrimp). There were 6 people who ordered lobster but only 4 lobster tails. You know someone is going to end up shorted. My suggestion, sit at the front of the table. You will get the correct portions.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Uncomfortable seating

Dined on February 14, 2016

I used to come to the restaurant often but squishing 10 people together is awful. These are complete stranger you are smashing together. I have told many people about the uncomfortable seating.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Had a 6:00 reservation but didn't get se ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Had a 6:00 reservation but didn't get seated until 6:45. Excellent service at our table & delicious & entertaining meal! Show up with your entire party 15 min before your reservation, if you actually want to be seated at that time- especially on a busy night.

food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Loudand crazy

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went there for Valentine's Day, felt very rushed never had anytime to enjoy the moment. They were very much about getting people in and out. I do not plan to go back

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

We came to HOJ for Valentines Day dinner. Made reservation for 5pm. Glad we did cuz when people off the street were asking how long the host said 1-3 hrs. So def get a reservation if possible. We got the imperial feast for 2 which includes chicken, lobster, and filet as the main course. Food was outstanding! And you get plenty of it. They serve drinks, soup and salad first then the hibachi chef comes out to cook the appetizer, rice, and meat. He seemed to be a little more quiet than some of the others but still was interactive and put on a good show. Make sure to bring your appetite because there is so much food almost everyone needed boxes for take home. I would definitely recommend to others. Don't have any other Japanese steakhouse experience so can't compare to others but this one was def worth the trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not as good as usual

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our party frequents here often. The food this time was over cooked. The bean sprouts were not edible and the sauce on our chicken was burnt. We have never in all the years dining experienced this.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.