About House 406

1143 1/2 Church St
Northbrook, IL 60062
View Larger Map

House 406 is a Modern American Steakhouse located in Northbrook, Illinois set to open in Spring 2014

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 714-0200

Website:
http://www.house406restaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Eloin Amador

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, House 406 can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8477140200

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. 50% Off of Bottles of Wine every Monday night! Excludes Limited Feature Wines. Special valid May 11, 2016 - Sep 11, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat your Dad to a daytime Brunch Buffet or classic House 406 dinner! Whether it's with pancakes and sausage or a juicy steak... celebrate your Dad. Reservations available.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

House 406 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (32)
fit for foodies (30)
special occasion (28)
See All
romantic (21)
notable wine list (11)
hot spot (6)
good for groups (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Great cocktails.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great cocktails.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Was so hoping this was going to be a goo ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Was so hoping this was going to be a good meal, but, unfortunately it wasn't the case. I had the chopped salad which sounded delicious. It was tasteless. Same can be said for the hamburgers (Was supposed to be short rib/brisket combo) and pappardelle pasta. The hamburger was supposed to have cartelized onions which we did not see. It basically was tasteless. The ambiance is nice, but the food was overpriced and not even adequate, sorry to say, we won't be going back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant Surprise

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

I've heard mediocre reviews from friends so we went with low expectations. We had a wonderful meal in a well designed restaurant. We had their flatbread for an appetizer, burrata salad and halibut. All had accompaniments that were very seasonal, fresh and delicious. Service was very good and the value for the quality was very reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

I was not impressed with their Mother's ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was not impressed with their Mother's Day brunch. I guess it was their first one so maybe it will get better in the future.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

What happened?

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is usually our go-to spot, so we thought we'd try it for Mother's Day brunch. I don't know what happened, but this is certainly not the restaurant we usually come too. The buffet was small and looked very unappetizing. The service was the worst we've ever had at house 406. Fortunately the food was significantly better than it looked. I feel bad for this restaurant, because it's usually great. They need to get their ducks in a row before attempting a holiday brunch again .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

The 4 of us loved everything! From the pretzel bread and mustard/butter spread, cocktails, beer selection, soup to the delicious entrees - lamb, pork, rib eye and scallops - oh and the brussel sprouts!! Delicious. Even dessert was unique and wonderful. We weren't rushed to leave immediately after dessert - by that time the restaurant was filled, and no one was waiting for a table and they were gracious and attentive and certainly not trying to get us to leave - a refreshing change from most other restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food, the space is a bit tight

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was excellent. I have been there 3 times and always had a great meal. The only downer is the space is very tight. I think the bar had too many chairs jammed up against each other and we actually had to shift our table a bit to give the wait staff more room to walk. However, it wouldn't stop me from going again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

The Kale and Brussels sprouts salad was ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The Kale and Brussels sprouts salad was great. The service was slow but but the waiter was very nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience in Northboork

Dined on April 24, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Our favorite site for special occasions (and no so special occasions!). The atmosphere is so peaceful and cordial that you feel "in family". The quality of the dishes is incredible, with a unique mix of flavors . The wine selection is very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Average and Overpriced

Dined on April 24, 2016

Over-priced food and wine. Service was good though...food was not bad. Better values in the area.

food4
ambience5
service4

Warm reception from front of house. Love ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Warm reception from front of house. Loved the dimly lit ambience. Server was very attentive but maybe could have visited our table less often. I guess we wanted a more relaxing pace than he was used to? Excellent wine list. Interesting food selections. We will be returning with friends.

food5
ambience4
service3

Food was delicious and so fresh! Shared ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Food was delicious and so fresh! Shared the asparagus, arugula, burrata and the strawberry goat cheese salads with my friends and they were great! My salmon was fresh and tasty too. The chocolate peanut butter dessert was rich and delicious. They had a small list of wines by the glass but they were different/interesting wines which was nice. Service was just ok but food very good although definitely on the pricey side.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Bad service ok food

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Slow service from the server. Wine came after appetizer was finished. Food took a long time to come on a Sunday night. Flagged him down to order our food n drinks. Food was ok, 3 stars. Came for a birthday, disappointed. Didn't make our night special n may be added some annoyance to it. Snobby server, we are not coming back. Thou we have heard so much about the restaurant n wanted to try it since we enjoy eating out, you are the thorn to the owner. You have cost us from returning and a negative online review.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food

Dined on April 17, 2016

The French Chicken is the best chicken dish I've ever had, lamb chops were also delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Each of our main courses must have been ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Each of our main courses must have been sitting a little while because they could have been hotter and we ordered a lava cake for dessert that was cooked a little too long. No lava flowed as we cut into the cake. Not sure why they have tater tots on the menu. There's nothing extraordinary about them to stand up to the entrees. Overall for a small restaurant it has a nice vibe and good choices on the menu.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

LOCAL SUBURBAN PLACE WITH THE CITY VIBE

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

GREAT FOOD, GREAT DRINKS AND GREAT SERVICE. JUSTIN MAKES EXCELLENT DRINKS, THE OWNER IS LOVELY AND ACKNOWLEDGES EVERYONE. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. NEVER HAD A BAD DISH.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3

Freshest food ever! All vegetables taste ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Freshest food ever! All vegetables tasted picked fresh.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Will be back again!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

From the warm welcome, to the attentive service, the people performance was very on. The food selection was impressive as was the quality of each course. The best part was finding relatively rare wines. We selected a single vineyard Turley zin. Really good!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is consistently delicious .we ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

The food is consistently delicious .we love the place. Especially the raspberry margarita.

food5
ambience4
service4

Short ribs are fantastic and the cocktai ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Short ribs are fantastic and the cocktails are fun!

food5
ambience5
service5

Sweet welcome at the door, nice and quie ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Sweet welcome at the door, nice and quiet ambiance, delicious food, lovely service. It was a wonderful dinner for our anniversary! Thank you so much!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Halibut, Mediterranean Style. ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent Halibut, Mediterranean Style. Buratta salad was good, but ratio of cheese to greens was unbalanced. Way too much cheese and not enough greens to be considered a salad. Overall great meal.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful Hidden Gem

Dined on March 26, 2016

This place is such a surprise for the burbs. Great craft cocktails and delicious creative food. Highly recommend this place for a downtown Chicago experience in Northbrook. Very cool. Beautiful room as well. My new go to spot.

food1
ambience4
service3

Had a reservation on the later end for t ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Had a reservation on the later end for the suburbs, and the service and food quality showed. One entree was wrong, and one came with nut ingredients not listed on menu for which the diner has severe allergy. When new salmon came, it was so over cooked and tasteless that it almost was inedible. Disappointing evening.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Nice Restaurant!

Dined on March 11, 2016

We had a very nice time. The food was great and the ambiance was a lot of fun. Will visit again! Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic Meal!

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food, Jen Eisen is a rock star with great food, good options and great options for all courses!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very fresh food, nice ambiance.

Dined on March 11, 2016

Food is extremely fresh, but prices are high. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is quiet and enjoyable. Would recommend for a special occasion, but not the best value. Overall a nice experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Great local spot

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Great local spot

food4
ambience4
service4

I loved everything about this restauran ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

I loved everything about this restaurant! The food was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great meal with an attentive but not int ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great meal with an attentive but not intrusive waiter. All the staff made you feel special.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

HOUSE 406 never disappoints. Like all s ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

HOUSE 406 never disappoints. Like all special restaurants, there are always too many items I want each time we visit. We in Northbrook are very lucky to have HOUSE 406!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Not as great as the first few times

Dined on February 14, 2016

I really love this pace, because the food is interesting and usually very good - but over the weekend (we went for Valentine's Day) it was just OK. The server was very nice and accommodated out food restrictions but it just didn't seem as fabulous as other times we've gone.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New go to spot in the burbs

Dined on February 9, 2016

I LOVE this place. Best bartender and drink menu. Food is delicious. I keep going back and inviting friends because it is so awesome. The staff is professional and friendly, even when you walk in the door, hostess greets you warmly. Was just there recently on a very busy Saturday night, we had to wait a bit for our table - the staff could not have been nicer and more communicative. Didn't mind waiting, drinks were delicious and even the very busy bar staff was super nice. AND they take reservations so you can plan ahead. Going back soon and often!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Very enjoyable dining experience.

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Very enjoyable dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown quality food in Northbrook

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Outstanding creative food and delicious desserts. Good size portions, fairly priced. Everything we had was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Treasured gem in Northbrook is showing tarnish

Dined on January 24, 2016

House 406 used to be one of our favorite local restaurants in Northbrook. We loved the farm-to-table concept, and were delighted when a higher quality dining establishment opened in right in the heart of our town. We have eaten here a number of times, including celebrating our anniversary and birthdays, however our latest dining experience will likely take this place off our list. For our main course we ordered the lamb chops and filet duos. Both were ordered medium and the lamb was medium well to well done. Although the filet's were cooked properly, there was really nothing special about them, e.g., they were on par with a steak at a Lettuce Entertain You. Please note, we rarely ever send food back at restaurants, but the grease content rendered many of the dishes inedible (especially the vegetarian french onion soup, couscous that came with the lamb, and the brussel sprout side dish). The service overall was acceptable; and although our waiter removed the items that we didn't eat from our bill, he never sent a manager over to check on us and didn't seem to really care all that much about the food quality. Surprisingly, upon our departure there were three staff at the front desk and no one inquired about our meal. Overall a disappointing $250 dinner for two. The Salad and bar service were the bright spots of our evening. 406 has a good wine selection and had a flight of some pretty rare bourbons (which after the greasy food, we couldn't bring ourselves to sample). If we choose to return it will likely only be for drinks at the bar.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was fair but overpriced for what it was.

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

The Grouper was very touch and never seen it so thick. The best part of the meal was the dessert and if that was the best that tells you something about the rest of the meal. As the food was fair and the price was too high for "fair" food. I would pass on the restaurant there are much better places for the price. In summary this was a suburban place trying to be a downtown place with downtown prices and failed.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Prices are a little high in my opinion, ...

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

Prices are a little high in my opinion, but the food is outstanding and the room is very welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique menu

Dined on January 10, 2016

For people who don't like standard menu items but are looking for well-prepared and creative dishes, this is a great suburban location with plenty of free parking. I highly recommend the duck confit hash with quail egg.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent local restaurant.

Dined on January 10, 2016

This is one of the brightest spots to eat in Northbrook. Absolutely excellent service and ambiance. We had the flatbread steak pizza to start which was delicious. My wife had the whitefish and I had the grouper and both were fantastic. They have also added a whiskey flight option for drinks, which I loved. What I love about this place is that I can get fancy Chicago restaurant cuisine five minutes from my house.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.