About House 406

1143 1/2 Church St
Northbrook, IL 60062
View Larger Map

House 406 is a Modern American Steakhouse located in Northbrook, Illinois set to open in Spring 2014

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 714-0200

Website:
http://www.house406restaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Eloin Amador

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, House 406 can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8477140200x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • House 406, Northbrook, IL
House 406, Northbrook, IL

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 18, 2016 - Feb 18, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Looking for a cozy and intimate restaurant to celebrate Christmas Eve with your loved ones? Join us at House 406 for our dinner menu as well as specially priced items sure to please the entire family. Dine with us in candle light this Christmas Eve.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Done up in glitter & gold...ring in the New Year at House 406 with our regular dinner menu and opulent specials! Dine with us before 6pm and receive a complimentary glass of prosecco. Large groups or small, reserve your spot now.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

House 406 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Chicago / Illinois
Best Overall
North Suburbs
American
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Northbrook ›

Neighborhood Gem (26)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Romantic (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fun (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Visited House 406 on the first snowy eve ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Visited House 406 on the first snowy eve of 2016. The warm, cozy atmosphere was perfect for the evening. We started with the french onion soup, which has the best taste and presentation we have had and it just about a meal in itself. We went on to have the crab cakes and the scallops, both cooked perfectly. Two appetizers, two entrees, and two drinks per person for $100 was not bad. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable, making good recommendations throughout the evening. We love this neighborhood restaurant and always enjoy coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Friendly server. A bit loud. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food. Friendly server. A bit loud. It was a full restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My wife and I had 7:00 pm reservations. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I had 7:00 pm reservations. We arrived early and were seated promptly. We each had a beer before dinner. Excellent selection of beers, wine by the glass, and cocktails. We each ordered an appetizer; I had excellent onion soup and she had a beet salad. Both were delicious. We each ordered an entree and split an excellent dessert of an apple pie style dish with gelato. She had a great glass of wine as well. Our server was outstanding. The pace of the meal perfect. I would highly recommend this place for a comfortable dinner. Some might feel it is expensive but I think the price point and experience are perfectly matched.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, this is a high quality food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, this is a high quality food experience. Just the right portion size with well made and interesting ingredients

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining here Tables are jammed ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

First time dining here

Tables are jammed together- sitting by front entrance leaves you getting cold air every time people come and go

Had beet salad, the burrata was overwhelming and the salad was drowning in heavy mustardy dressing/ too heavy and too much!

Salmon entree special was boring and is more suited for summer than paired with a heavy winter veggie melange

If you are paying these prices, it better deliver, which it didn't, so will not be returning anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Some of the best food that I have had in ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Some of the best food that I have had in a long time. Although a little more expensive than I had planned on, the food was worth it. Amazing brussel sprouts, broccolini and salad. And the ribeye was delicious. Our waiter was very good and I will definitely be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here to celebrate my husband's b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We went here to celebrate my husband's birthday. We hadn't been before and were pleasantly surprised when we stepped through the curtain at the entry. The ambiance is lovely - would work for any kind of gathering. The service was great - our server made solid recommendations for wine pairings and was right on the money with the whiskey. We will definitely include House 406 in our dining rotation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden Gem in the Burbs. The food was ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Hidden Gem in the Burbs. The food was outstanding. I had White Fish and my wife had Salmon. Bother were sensational. The bread basket with butter were warm, plentiful and yummy. The server was attentive and knowledgeable. The Vegetarian French Onion soup was also hot, flavorful and loaded with cheese.

The only negative was the wine list. While extensive and high in quality, most wines seemed a bit pricey. Few bottles were under $60. Most seemed to be in $100-200 range. We brought our own wine for which they charged a $30 corkage fee. (Most places charge $20)

Overall, this was a great find and we can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and ambience. Would recommend ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food and ambience. Would recommend to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant. Went here to celebra ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing restaurant. Went here to celebrate my birthday. Highly recommend the poached lobster appetizer and the 18-ounce bone-in ribeye.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite the gem. Never know it was here, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Quite the gem. Never know it was here, recommended by a friend. Sat at the bar. Besides Justin being a great bartender, their drinks are unique and terrific. A suburban Aviary. Food was all outstanding. My new local go to place. Hate to write such a rave review and now everybody will know and I won't get in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Being a restaurant in a strip mall, we w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Being a restaurant in a strip mall, we were assuming it would be a 'family joint' but were pleasantly surprised how sweetly charming it was! Good find!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service were both outstanding, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food and service were both outstanding, we'll definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is great! From the swee ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This restaurant is great! From the sweet hostess to the efficient & helpful wait staff. Food is fantastic every time I've been there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is very small. The ambie ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The restaurant is very small. The ambience is good. The best lobster bisque I have ever eaten, however, the French chicken vesuvio was too salty. The vesuvio sauce was very different than other vesuvio sauces I have had.

My girlfriends had the organic salmon and poached salmon which was very good.

Their dessert menu was lacking. Not much to pick and what was there I couldn't eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My 103 year old mother ordered the butte ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My 103 year old mother ordered the butternut squash soup and then changed her mind and ordered the French onion. She did keep asking the waiter where her soup was, but when he brought the soup he just dropped in front of her and was surly. I know she was a little pushy, but at her age she deserves respect.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Loved the food and the atmosphere. Host ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Loved the food and the atmosphere. Hostess was gracious and welcoming and waitstaff was knowledgeable and unobtrusive. Highly recommend House 406 -- we are lucky to have this restaurant in Northbrook.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! Wanted to find a new place ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

What a find! Wanted to find a new place for dinner and was so surprised that House 406 has been here for 2 years and I've never noticed it. Lobster bisque was outstanding, white fish and halibut great and the pumpkin creme brulee was so good my mouth was watering when I was telling a friend the next morning!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was very good! Quality ingredie ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food was very good! Quality ingredients from appetizers to main course and dessert! Since items are organic or grass-fed meats, it's a bit more expensive but we enjoyed every bite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice surprise - in a strip mall and you ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Nice surprise - in a strip mall and you would never really know that there is a higher end restaurant in this location. Food was very good. Service was very attentive. Not noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Enjoyed the whole night!!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Enjoyed the whole night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service at House 406 is exc ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food and service at House 406 is excellent and always consistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal began with warm fresh baked bre ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The meal began with warm fresh baked bread with delicious butter. The lobster bisque had just the right consistency, not too creamy and rich. The Parmesan crusted whitefish had a wonderful sauce. To top off the wonderful meal was a caramel sauce on a pecan roll that was extremely flavorful. We will definitely be back. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening, great drinks and tast ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful evening, great drinks and tasty food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our server, Jill was very nice. Very kno ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server, Jill was very nice. Very knowledgeable of the menu and gave us some note worthy suggestions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great menu choices including GF and the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great menu choices including GF and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Memorable food, warm and lovely atmosphe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Memorable food, warm and lovely atmosphere. Casual yet elegant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful Anniversary dinner Mo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had a wonderful Anniversary dinner Monday evening. The food was fantastic; we had the Salmon, crab cakes, and shared the Brussels Sprout side. Also had the bread pudding (best I ever tasted) and the pumpkin creme brûlée. Service was attentive and friendly. Slow evening in the restaurant, which made it nice and quiet; only one couple eating at the bar, and other diners spaces throughout the two dining levels. Too cold now but the outdoor patio also looked inviting. We'll definitely be back. So glad to have gotten a recommendation for the great new spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is an absolute gem for the lo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This place is an absolute gem for the location that it's in. Downtown Northbrook isn't known for fine dining even though it has its local favorites. This place has outstandingly creative and delicious food - a rarity in the area. We brought my parents here and we were a little iffy on how they'd enjoy it since it isn't a standard steakhouse. They both loved it and raved about the food. I hope this place is here for a long time to come.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Seasonal, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A true neighborhood gem tucked into a sm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A true neighborhood gem tucked into a small spot in a strip center in Northbrook. The owner is always on site to make sure everything is perfect.

The food is over the top delicious.

Highly recommended. Stop by once a month to see what's new. Prices fair. ad crusted whitefish and it was great. Had salads, soups and they are always very tasteful.

Hamburger yummy.

You gotta go

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

House 406 has been maintaining high leve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

House 406 has been maintaining high level now after so-so opening. Lucky with being able to use outdoor seating in the middle of October, we took full advantage. Food was good, just a tad shy of really outstanding. Short rib with mashed potatoes were particularly good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent place for lunch! Go! I've ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent place for lunch! Go! I've had the burrata with peach and tomato and the crab cakes with avocado salad. Both excellent!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal! The food was as good or ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Fantastic meal!

The food was as good or better than any place on the North Shore. Creative menu, great cuts of meat and fish with a strong wine list.

Only wish is that we had more time to try more things!

We'll be back soon though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining in the burbs. Thoughtful an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Fine dining in the burbs. Thoughtful and creative menu worthy of booking for our 50th anniversary. Actually, great for any day of the year... The whitefish sandwiches were outstanding. B

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good although our server ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The service was good although our server didn't really seem to know much about the food or drinks. We always ask the server for recommendations and when they are genuinely excited about a dish or a cocktail that's a good sign. We got cocktails and the presentation was great but the flavors were not that exciting. The food was all very good but again, nothing too exciting or unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

A Hidden Gem!!!!!! If you're looking fo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 1, 2016

A Hidden Gem!!!!!!

If you're looking for an expectional dinning experience House 406 will fullfil your ever desire. Whether your eating on the patio or inside the ambiance is warm and inviting. The healthy menu options are a rare find in today's restaurant options. Some of my menu favorites are the Burrata, Panko Crusted Whitefish and the can't miss Short Rib & Brisket Burger.

In short you can't go wrong with House 406.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time and will for sure return. Gre ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2016

First time and will for sure return. Great menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There was a terrible "pine" odor periodi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2016

There was a terrible "pine" odor periodically in the restaurant. It smelled like Pine Sol. Staff informed us that it was some pine item used in preparing a cocktail. Seemed like I was dining in a disinfected hospital room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent!! Everything is delicous at th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent!! Everything is delicous at this restaurant

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to House 406 on a whim and it wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went to House 406 on a whim and it was a golden whim. This is one of those "it's in a mall" restaurants and his hidden in a corner of the mall, but do not be mislead -- this is a seriously good restaurant that instantly rose to the top of our "best food, best value" north shore restaurants. Every dish (from cocktail to appetizer to entree to desert) was flavored a little different, a little unusually, and always in a new, intriguing way. There is a creative force inside. We ate outside on a beautiful day; the patio is pleasant and quiet. Our waitress was attentive and thoughtful and we enjoyed her attention.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fun, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.