About House 406

1143 1/2 Church St
Northbrook, IL 60062
View Larger Map

House 406 is a Modern American Steakhouse located in Northbrook, Illinois set to open in Spring 2014

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 714-0200

Website:
http://www.house406restaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Eloin Amador

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, House 406 can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8477140200x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • House 406
House 406

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

House 406 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Northbrook ›

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Special Occasion (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Romantic (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
 (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time and will for sure return. Gre ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

First time and will for sure return. Great menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There was a terrible "pine" odor periodi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

There was a terrible "pine" odor periodically in the restaurant. It smelled like Pine Sol. Staff informed us that it was some pine item used in preparing a cocktail. Seemed like I was dining in a disinfected hospital room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent!! Everything is delicous at th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent!! Everything is delicous at this restaurant

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to House 406 on a whim and it wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went to House 406 on a whim and it was a golden whim. This is one of those "it's in a mall" restaurants and his hidden in a corner of the mall, but do not be mislead -- this is a seriously good restaurant that instantly rose to the top of our "best food, best value" north shore restaurants. Every dish (from cocktail to appetizer to entree to desert) was flavored a little different, a little unusually, and always in a new, intriguing way. There is a creative force inside. We ate outside on a beautiful day; the patio is pleasant and quiet. Our waitress was attentive and thoughtful and we enjoyed her attention.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fun, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic restaurant!! A real gem and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

A fantastic restaurant!! A real gem and a standout in the Northbrook area. The food is wonderful - tasty and creative - and the service is top notch. Our waiter was a bourbon aficionado and we really enjoyed talking with him. He stopped by our table multiple times to chat and see how we were doing. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is incredible. Best lamb chops ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food is incredible. Best lamb chops I've ever eaten. Swordfish also a 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall very good, good atmosphere, very ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall very good, good atmosphere, very good food. Service could have been better

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

House 406 was recommended to me and I ca ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

House 406 was recommended to me and I can recommend it to you!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

You'd be hard pressed to fine a better r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

You'd be hard pressed to fine a better restaurant in this area. A gem!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to 406 a handful of times. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have been to 406 a handful of times. The food is terrific. The ambiance is warm and it is pretty quiet compared to most restaurants these days.

I love the feel of the place. The staff is warm and friendly and has been most accommodating . Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner as always. Very knowled ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent dinner as always. Very knowledgeable staff. Excellent bar.

I had the wedge salad and burger and my wife had the fish entree. Both were perfect.

Always a pleasure to eat here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent suburban food. They are creat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent suburban food. They are creative and food well-prepared. They have very interesting hand crafted cocktails and a small, but interesting wine list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a terrific dinner and cocktails. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a terrific dinner and cocktails. The service was outstanding and the first time I've been asked if we had any restrictions due to allergies. A rather loud party of 8 were seated not far away, which was a shame as we had a very cozy table for two! The cocktail was a brandy raspberry ice cubes with tequila poured over it. Fantastic!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a beautiful anniversary dinner la ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a beautiful anniversary dinner last week at House 406. The scallops, crab cakes and wedge salad were absolutely perfect and the cocktails were so unique and creative. Our server was lovely. We will definitely be back for another dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scallops only included 3 and was $34. Se ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Scallops only included 3 and was $34. Seems very high

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner was very good. My husband thoroug ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Dinner was very good. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his pasta and I had the whitefish which was really delicious.

This restaurant can be rather pricy once you add appetizers, wine and dessert. But overall it his fine dining without having to go downtown.

We will be back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was 4 star gourmet cooking at reaso ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This was 4 star gourmet cooking at reasonable prices – – for lunch.

I had onion soup and a salmon dish – – both created by an extremely creative chef.

I cannot wait to go back there and try something else.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was awful! I ordered seared ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our dinner was awful! I ordered seared scallops over Risotto. First of all it came about 5 minutes after we ordered so I am sure it was not made to order. The scallops were not brown at all and on top of the risotto it looked like oatmeal. Instead of offering to re-do they just had me order a new entree. I got the seafood fettuccini which also came in 5 minutes with so much sauce it was awful. It was also a different temperature in places so I am sure it was microwaved. I can do that at home-I don't want to pay $30.00 for an entree like that. Don't go!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Loved House 406. Delicious food, beautif ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Loved House 406. Delicious food, beautiful ambience and exceptional service. The staff goes out of the way to make you feel welcome and special.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entres were overpriced for what they ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The entres were overpriced for what they were. The Kitchen could not accommodate my wife's garlic allergy except on two of the entres. Wines were overpriced. The puree on my entre was undistinguishedEd. Comm. Why to American chefs feel they have to use garlic on all dishes

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food, great service, comfortable r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, great service, comfortable room,just a gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful food, perfect presentation, lo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Beautiful food, perfect presentation, lovely experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thought the food was good but very pri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I thought the food was good but very pricey!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We were there on a Friday night but able ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were there on a Friday night but able to make reservations that same afternoon. The food was excellent, right size portions and very nicely presented. Waiter was very attentive and the the overall service was great. A very nice bonus is the extremely quiet atmosphere. This is one of our go-to restaurants for the two of us or with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Owner is fantastic! Really cares about ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Owner is fantastic! Really cares about service and quality of the food and experience. I would recommend wholeheartedly and can't wait to go back!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It is a great restaurant with wonderful ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It is a great restaurant with wonderful food wonderful service and over all lovely experience

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Feels like a nice city restaraunt in the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Feels like a nice city restaraunt in the suburbs. Good food. Nice ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Caesar and Spring Green salads ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful Caesar and Spring Green salads to start. Delicious salmon and halibut entrees. Nice wine selection.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Loved the cocktails, service and food! S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Loved the cocktails, service and food! Salad fresh from farmers market and scallops phenominal. Felt like being in the city. Will go again!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our appetizers very mu ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our appetizers very much. But when we got the bass we ordered, it was supposed to be with bok choy and mushrooms and when I took a bite into it, it was shrimp and mussels. I don't eat shellfish and was pretty upset about it. They kept saying that the new dish was coming soon, but never compensated me for anything. The bill was almost $100 for 2 appetizers, 2 fish, and a cauliflower and their kitchen messed up big time. Nothing was done to revise the bill for their error.

Honestly, I wouldn't have minded paying the money, if they got it right.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

I'm only sorry that we didn't visit Hous ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I'm only sorry that we didn't visit House 406 sooner! The food was excellent, service superior and the drinks were delicious and inventive! We ate inside which was quiet (and perfect) - outside seemed a little livelier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We rarely dine in the suburbs since most ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We rarely dine in the suburbs since most restaurants are either chains or "chain like." House 406 could easily fit in River North or the Gold Coast. The food is flavorable and the drinks are excellent and unique.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service and space great. However, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food, service and space great. However, it was completely empty- we were the only patrons for lunch.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant opened a couple of years ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This restaurant opened a couple of years ago, and it was somewhat unique in the suburbs; a dining experience that emulated city dining with a sophisticated drink and food menu. The drinks are creative and the food is excellent; among the few really good places to eat in the northern suburbs. It's so much better than the chains like Wildfire and Di Pescara that it should be fully booked every night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been here before-for dinner. The f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We've been here before-for dinner. The food was excellent but the restaurant was too too loud. Lunch is a different story. Excellent food but not noisy, very good. I may not come back for dinner but I will be a "regular" at lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went for Father's Day dinn ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I went for Father's Day dinner, just the two of us, and wanted a place where you can hear yourself think. Found it on Open Table, and booked. Very friendly, great service, and a pleasure to be able to talk quietly. I wear hearing aids and invariably have to turn them off at almost every restaurant we go to lately. This was a real pleasure. While not an extensive wine list, not run-of-the-mill either. I tried a very nice Zin-Malbec blend. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for the Father's Day brunch. It ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for the Father's Day brunch. It was a small yet sufficient variety buffet. Food was great, not bland and not salty. Service was spot on. My parents kept commenting on how nice every single person was, from hostess to server to buffet personnel to management. It was a nice and intimate environment, without the usual holiday family chaos feel. We enjoyed our time here very much, and we'll be back. Thank you, House 406!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They are now open for lunch and the enti ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

They are now open for lunch and the entire meal was fantastic. We had the fish tacos and Cajun chicken wrap. Making a special trip to House 406 for dinner soon.

It's a must try.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was very dark We thought a little m ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

It was very dark We thought a little more brightness would have been welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

House 406 Always Delivers

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Another great meal! It is our neighborhood go to for a special meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.