About House 406

1143 1/2 Church St
Northbrook, IL 60062
View Larger Map

House 406 is a Modern American Steakhouse located in Northbrook, Illinois set to open in Spring 2014

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 714-0200

Website:
http://www.house406restaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Eloin Amador

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, House 406 can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8477140200x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • House 406
House 406

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. 50% Off of Bottles of Wine every Monday night! Excludes Limited Feature Wines. Special valid May 11, 2016 - Sep 11, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

House 406 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (33)
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Scallops only included 3 and was $34. Se ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Scallops only included 3 and was $34. Seems very high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was 4 star gourmet cooking at reaso ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was 4 star gourmet cooking at reasonable prices – – for lunch.

I had onion soup and a salmon dish – – both created by an extremely creative chef.

I cannot wait to go back there and try something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was awful! I ordered seared ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our dinner was awful! I ordered seared scallops over Risotto. First of all it came about 5 minutes after we ordered so I am sure it was not made to order. The scallops were not brown at all and on top of the risotto it looked like oatmeal. Instead of offering to re-do they just had me order a new entree. I got the seafood fettuccini which also came in 5 minutes with so much sauce it was awful. It was also a different temperature in places so I am sure it was microwaved. I can do that at home-I don't want to pay $30.00 for an entree like that. Don't go!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Loved House 406. Delicious food, beautif ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Loved House 406. Delicious food, beautiful ambience and exceptional service. The staff goes out of the way to make you feel welcome and special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entres were overpriced for what they ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The entres were overpriced for what they were. The Kitchen could not accommodate my wife's garlic allergy except on two of the entres. Wines were overpriced. The puree on my entre was undistinguishedEd. Comm. Why to American chefs feel they have to use garlic on all dishes

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food, great service, comfortable r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, great service, comfortable room,just a gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful food, perfect presentation, lo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Beautiful food, perfect presentation, lovely experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thought the food was good but very pri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I thought the food was good but very pricey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We were there on a Friday night but able ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were there on a Friday night but able to make reservations that same afternoon. The food was excellent, right size portions and very nicely presented. Waiter was very attentive and the the overall service was great. A very nice bonus is the extremely quiet atmosphere. This is one of our go-to restaurants for the two of us or with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Owner is fantastic! Really cares about ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Owner is fantastic! Really cares about service and quality of the food and experience. I would recommend wholeheartedly and can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It is a great restaurant with wonderful ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It is a great restaurant with wonderful food wonderful service and over all lovely experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Feels like a nice city restaraunt in the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Feels like a nice city restaraunt in the suburbs. Good food. Nice ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Caesar and Spring Green salads ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful Caesar and Spring Green salads to start. Delicious salmon and halibut entrees. Nice wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Loved the cocktails, service and food! S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Loved the cocktails, service and food! Salad fresh from farmers market and scallops phenominal. Felt like being in the city. Will go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our appetizers very mu ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our appetizers very much. But when we got the bass we ordered, it was supposed to be with bok choy and mushrooms and when I took a bite into it, it was shrimp and mussels. I don't eat shellfish and was pretty upset about it. They kept saying that the new dish was coming soon, but never compensated me for anything. The bill was almost $100 for 2 appetizers, 2 fish, and a cauliflower and their kitchen messed up big time. Nothing was done to revise the bill for their error.

Honestly, I wouldn't have minded paying the money, if they got it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

I'm only sorry that we didn't visit Hous ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I'm only sorry that we didn't visit House 406 sooner! The food was excellent, service superior and the drinks were delicious and inventive! We ate inside which was quiet (and perfect) - outside seemed a little livelier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We rarely dine in the suburbs since most ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We rarely dine in the suburbs since most restaurants are either chains or "chain like." House 406 could easily fit in River North or the Gold Coast. The food is flavorable and the drinks are excellent and unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service and space great. However, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food, service and space great. However, it was completely empty- we were the only patrons for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant opened a couple of years ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This restaurant opened a couple of years ago, and it was somewhat unique in the suburbs; a dining experience that emulated city dining with a sophisticated drink and food menu. The drinks are creative and the food is excellent; among the few really good places to eat in the northern suburbs. It's so much better than the chains like Wildfire and Di Pescara that it should be fully booked every night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been here before-for dinner. The f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We've been here before-for dinner. The food was excellent but the restaurant was too too loud. Lunch is a different story. Excellent food but not noisy, very good. I may not come back for dinner but I will be a "regular" at lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went for Father's Day dinn ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I went for Father's Day dinner, just the two of us, and wanted a place where you can hear yourself think. Found it on Open Table, and booked. Very friendly, great service, and a pleasure to be able to talk quietly. I wear hearing aids and invariably have to turn them off at almost every restaurant we go to lately. This was a real pleasure. While not an extensive wine list, not run-of-the-mill either. I tried a very nice Zin-Malbec blend. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for the Father's Day brunch. It ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for the Father's Day brunch. It was a small yet sufficient variety buffet. Food was great, not bland and not salty. Service was spot on. My parents kept commenting on how nice every single person was, from hostess to server to buffet personnel to management. It was a nice and intimate environment, without the usual holiday family chaos feel. We enjoyed our time here very much, and we'll be back. Thank you, House 406!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They are now open for lunch and the enti ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

They are now open for lunch and the entire meal was fantastic. We had the fish tacos and Cajun chicken wrap. Making a special trip to House 406 for dinner soon.

It's a must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was very dark We thought a little m ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

It was very dark We thought a little more brightness would have been welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

House 406 Always Delivers

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Another great meal! It is our neighborhood go to for a special meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good food and enough quiet to act ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Always good food and enough quiet to actually have a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

really really really good.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Went for anniversary dinner. Awesome service, food and drink. To quote Arnold: I'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We reserve going to House 406 for specia ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We reserve going to House 406 for special occasions. Seems like we use an excuse to call anything a special occasion, just so we can go!

As always, Jenny and her staff, especially Shawn, were fantastic.

Shawn really knows his bourbons and they have a phenomenal selection available.

For dinner, my wife had scallops with risotto, my son hamburger and I had whitefish. The food is just delicious and generous portions.

This is our go to place, without question.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cocktails.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Was so hoping this was going to be a goo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Was so hoping this was going to be a good meal, but, unfortunately it wasn't the case. I had the chopped salad which sounded delicious. It was tasteless. Same can be said for the hamburgers (Was supposed to be short rib/brisket combo) and pappardelle pasta. The hamburger was supposed to have cartelized onions which we did not see. It basically was tasteless. The ambiance is nice, but the food was overpriced and not even adequate, sorry to say, we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Pleasant Surprise

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I've heard mediocre reviews from friends so we went with low expectations. We had a wonderful meal in a well designed restaurant. We had their flatbread for an appetizer, burrata salad and halibut. All had accompaniments that were very seasonal, fresh and delicious. Service was very good and the value for the quality was very reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, wine, service, and ambience are al ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Food, wine, service, and ambience are always great at House 406. Never a bad bite. Patio is wonderful. It's our go to spot! Sunday brunch on holidays is delicious as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not impressed with their Mother's ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was not impressed with their Mother's Day brunch. I guess it was their first one so maybe it will get better in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

What happened?

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is usually our go-to spot, so we thought we'd try it for Mother's Day brunch. I don't know what happened, but this is certainly not the restaurant we usually come too. The buffet was small and looked very unappetizing. The service was the worst we've ever had at house 406. Fortunately the food was significantly better than it looked. I feel bad for this restaurant, because it's usually great. They need to get their ducks in a row before attempting a holiday brunch again .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We did lot love it the previous 2 times. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We did lot love it the previous 2 times. However this time the food was delicious. The service was fine but lacked warmth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent dining experience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The 4 of us loved everything! From the pretzel bread and mustard/butter spread, cocktails, beer selection, soup to the delicious entrees - lamb, pork, rib eye and scallops - oh and the brussel sprouts!! Delicious. Even dessert was unique and wonderful. We weren't rushed to leave immediately after dessert - by that time the restaurant was filled, and no one was waiting for a table and they were gracious and attentive and certainly not trying to get us to leave - a refreshing change from most other restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, the space is a bit tight

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was excellent. I have been there 3 times and always had a great meal. The only downer is the space is very tight. I think the bar had too many chairs jammed up against each other and we actually had to shift our table a bit to give the wait staff more room to walk. However, it wouldn't stop me from going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The Kale and Brussels sprouts salad was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The Kale and Brussels sprouts salad was great. The service was slow but but the waiter was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Best dining experience in Northboork

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Our favorite site for special occasions (and no so special occasions!). The atmosphere is so peaceful and cordial that you feel "in family". The quality of the dishes is incredible, with a unique mix of flavors . The wine selection is very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average and Overpriced

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Over-priced food and wine. Service was good though...food was not bad. Better values in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.