About House 406

1143 1/2 Church St
Northbrook, IL 60062
View Larger Map

House 406 is a Modern American Steakhouse located in Northbrook, Illinois set to open in Spring 2014

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 714-0200

Website:
http://www.house406restaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Eloin Amador

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, House 406 can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8477140200x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • House 406, Northbrook, IL

Report a photo problem

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 18, 2016 - Feb 18, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

House 406 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Special Occasion (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Romantic (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Cozy (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Healthy (11)
Business Meals (10)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (7)
Organic (7)
Casual (7)
Authentic (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Birthday celebration

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 11 hours ago

Birthday celebration

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time and won't be our last! Everyt ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 3 days ago

First time and won't be our last! Everything was great....service a bit slow and loud.... but the food was delicious and worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I cannot wait to come back and have the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

I cannot wait to come back and have the Parmesan and horseradish encrusted whitefish again! It was fabulous. Kind of odd that they do not serve and bread with the meal but that is a minor point. The food is excellent and because it is a small venue it never gets too noisy. Love it here!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was very good and food was d ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was very good and food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best White Fish I ever had! Next time I ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Best White Fish I ever had! Next time I would try the pear salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for a celebration! The main ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We went here for a celebration! The main dishes were interesting, cooked to our specifications & great tasting. We had the Pork Ribeye, a Hamburger, & the Chicken all were very, very good! Our server was attentive & efficient. However, I would be wary of the desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very delicious, a little expensive. Very ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very delicious, a little expensive. Very healthy options available.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointing Great food Awesome ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Never disappointing

Great food

Awesome drinks and creative

Cozy atmosphere

Ez everything

They take reservations and are most gracious

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for New Year's Eve but we are re ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Year's Eve but we are regular customers to House 406. The food is excellent. The service is excellent but not overly formal. The ambiance is wonderful. The owner and hostesses make everyone feel welcomed. Certainly the best restaurant in Northbrook/Glenview area and it's not even close. It could very well be the best restaurant on the North Shore. I can't say enough about this place, it is a shining light amidst the watered down overpriced corporate restaurants that litter the area.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and desserts are homemade! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service and desserts are homemade! Whitefish A+, Lamb Chops A+, Sea Bass A+, Apple Crostini A+, fried oysters were a surprise A, drinks were well made!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A pleasant evening. Could benefit from ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A pleasant evening. Could benefit from a larger menu. Just not enough variety to keep you interested in visiting more often.

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

We went there for dinner on Friday night ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went there for dinner on Friday night, Dec. 30th for the first time. Our friends who were supposed to go with us that night became very ill with the flu, so we went anyway. Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable and answered all of our questions very well. We enjoyed the food, the wine that he recommended and the two entrees that we ordered.

We will go there again for dinner very soon and will come with the other couple who were sick.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and both meals; shrimp ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service and both meals; shrimp with pasta and lamb chops, were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Quite a find in downtown Northbrook. We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Quite a find in downtown Northbrook. We had a great lunch and terrific service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary and splurged ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went for our anniversary and splurged. We are vegetarian and there were tons of delicious options. We also never drink but we had a couple of delicious mixed drinks that our waiter helped us pick. The person who sat us was the owner and she took our coats while chatting with us. Expensive but overall great for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice menu. Great bartender, nice ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Really nice menu. Great bartender, nice wine list. Great service and ambience. Food was a little under seasoned, but the chef is clearly talented. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The cocktails and homemade liqueurs are ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The cocktails and homemade liqueurs are to-die-for--worth the trip just for that. The food is creative and fresh, loaded with vegetables and interesting pairings. The crab cakes are the best I've ever had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was fresh and not overdone. The se ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was fresh and not overdone. The sea bass natural flavor was prominent with the risotto and sauce adding dimension without taking away from the fish. Service was very attentive, friendly and relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good meal, good service til dessert. We ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

good meal, good service til dessert. We brought in a cake - had asked about it in advance and waited at least 15 minutes before the cake was served. No one informed us about a cake service charge and it was served Very late in the meal experience. Seating was too close to a larger and noisy table and the hostess did not seem concerned or interest about helping our special guest who is disabled with making her way to the table. More attention to the needs of your clients is very important if you are to attract people wanting a 'fine dining experience.'

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Fabulous food! Can't get enough! Everyth ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fabulous food! Can't get enough! Everything I have tried is amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly owners who care greatly about q ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Friendly owners who care greatly about quality of their food (which is among best in the north suburbs) and creating a great environment for their customers. Been twice in the last month and both times food was just wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique, healthy, delicious dishes

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Unique, healthy, delicious dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a romantic dinner. Food was ex ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great for a romantic dinner. Food was excellent as well as the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The menu offers many creative and unusua ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The menu offers many creative and unusual choices. Everything is prepared to be a very artistic creation. The pear salad was very delicious especially with the pecans and cranberries and assorted greens. The whitefish with Parmesan crust was very flavorful. The skirt steak was very tender and deliciously prepared. The apple dessert was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice waiter, made my daughter's bir ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice waiter, made my daughter's birthday very special! We both enjoyed the food very much. Also very nice setting. Quiet and cozy, good food. My daughter who is very picky found many choices for herself. I should of called to book for more people and not to do it online. I am sure they would accomodate bigger company on short notice too. But it still was a nice time with my kid coming home from college who was starved for normal food.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Organic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, , Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very knowledgeable wait and bar staff. S ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Very knowledgeable wait and bar staff. Scallops with risotto is a must try. Would go back for sure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a birthday this past ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday this past week, and House 406 seemed like a good choice. Warm bread (sourdough and pretzel) were brought to the table with a mustard seed butter. They were a nice starter. We skipped soup and salads and went right to the entrees (scallops, skirt steak, lamb chops, and short ribs) All were enjoyed. Temperatures were a little uneven, but that was really the only complaint. The brussels sprouts were a nice side dish. Desserts, especially the apple crostada, were delicious. For us, it is definitely an "occasion" restaurant. Four entrees, two cocktails, one side, and two desserts came to $240 with tip.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very nice evening, food very good. WE w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very nice evening, food very good. WE will return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

House 406 continues to deliver the relia ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

House 406 continues to deliver the reliably decent selections. Some are outstanding, some are just good. Gnocchi my wife had were very good, bass I had was way overdone, not quite to the rubber consistency, but it took some effort to separate pieces with the fork. Ahi tuna appetizer was very good. If the consistency here improves, it would be truly great place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I was meeting a friend for lunch, the se ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I was meeting a friend for lunch, the service and food was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Visited House 406 on the first snowy eve ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Visited House 406 on the first snowy eve of 2016. The warm, cozy atmosphere was perfect for the evening. We started with the french onion soup, which has the best taste and presentation we have had and it just about a meal in itself. We went on to have the crab cakes and the scallops, both cooked perfectly. Two appetizers, two entrees, and two drinks per person for $100 was not bad. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable, making good recommendations throughout the evening. We love this neighborhood restaurant and always enjoy coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Friendly server. A bit loud. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good food. Friendly server. A bit loud. It was a full restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My wife and I had 7:00 pm reservations. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My wife and I had 7:00 pm reservations. We arrived early and were seated promptly. We each had a beer before dinner. Excellent selection of beers, wine by the glass, and cocktails. We each ordered an appetizer; I had excellent onion soup and she had a beet salad. Both were delicious. We each ordered an entree and split an excellent dessert of an apple pie style dish with gelato. She had a great glass of wine as well. Our server was outstanding. The pace of the meal perfect. I would highly recommend this place for a comfortable dinner. Some might feel it is expensive but I think the price point and experience are perfectly matched.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, this is a high quality food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food, this is a high quality food experience. Just the right portion size with well made and interesting ingredients

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining here Tables are jammed ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

First time dining here

Tables are jammed together- sitting by front entrance leaves you getting cold air every time people come and go

Had beet salad, the burrata was overwhelming and the salad was drowning in heavy mustardy dressing/ too heavy and too much!

Salmon entree special was boring and is more suited for summer than paired with a heavy winter veggie melange

If you are paying these prices, it better deliver, which it didn't, so will not be returning anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Some of the best food that I have had in ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Some of the best food that I have had in a long time. Although a little more expensive than I had planned on, the food was worth it. Amazing brussel sprouts, broccolini and salad. And the ribeye was delicious. Our waiter was very good and I will definitely be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here to celebrate my husband's b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We went here to celebrate my husband's birthday. We hadn't been before and were pleasantly surprised when we stepped through the curtain at the entry. The ambiance is lovely - would work for any kind of gathering. The service was great - our server made solid recommendations for wine pairings and was right on the money with the whiskey. We will definitely include House 406 in our dining rotation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden Gem in the Burbs. The food was ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Hidden Gem in the Burbs. The food was outstanding. I had White Fish and my wife had Salmon. Bother were sensational. The bread basket with butter were warm, plentiful and yummy. The server was attentive and knowledgeable. The Vegetarian French Onion soup was also hot, flavorful and loaded with cheese.

The only negative was the wine list. While extensive and high in quality, most wines seemed a bit pricey. Few bottles were under $60. Most seemed to be in $100-200 range. We brought our own wine for which they charged a $30 corkage fee. (Most places charge $20)

Overall, this was a great find and we can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and ambience. Would recommend ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food and ambience. Would recommend to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.