Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Hot Tuna

Stop by and find out why Southern Living Magazine calls this restaurant "the place to stop when in Virginia Beach". This restaurant is famous for offering the freshest yellowfin tuna available, as well as serving delicious Hereford Organic Beef, homemade pasta dishes, beer battered shrimp, and homemade desserts, such as key lime pie and carrot cake.' - Yahoo Travel

2817 Shore Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 4:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday-Saturday 4:00pm-Late

Cross Street:
Great Neck Road/Shore Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 481-2888

Website:
http://www.hottunavb.com/

Entertainment:
Live bands- The best in live local entertainment, every Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights. Please check our website for details.

Catering:
We can cater any function. Birthdays, weddings, rehearsals, graduations and many more.

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available.

Executive Chef:
Todd Ramsey

Private Party Facilities:
There are only a handful of restaurants in the entire country that can offer you a fantastic dining experience as well as provide you with some of the best entertainment around. We have been giving our guests fantastic Food, Wine, & Spirits since 1992.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (757) 481-2888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hot Tuna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Casual (12)
Happy Hour (10)
See All
Tapas (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Live Music (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great Beer (3)
Live Sports (3)
Romantic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Vday great day out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was very friendly and efficient, we got seated quickly. Like the variety of drinks and food prices are always reasonable and good quality.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was ok. I've had better seafood at numerous other places. Stacey was our waitress and she was phenomenal! Really on her toes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2018

This is now my third time at Hot Tuna. I took my friend here who was visiting from out of town. We had the Greek salad (good, no complaints) and a trio plate with tile fish, oysters Rockerfeller, and salmon, and two drinks. The tile fish tasted like a standard white, breaded fish. The oysters Rockerfeller were very heavy in cheese and kind of took away from the oysters. The wood-plank salmon was tasty. Our two drinks were good as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Food is consistently great at Hot Tuna. Friday night was no exception. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2018

50th birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 28, 2018

Unimpressive. Food was good. Service was good. Not sure why there were so many employees(?) just hanging out by the hostess table. : /. Not worth going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2018

excellent food and great service. Ordered a wonderful tuna trilogy dish.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2018

We had a wonderful time. The food and service was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Hot Tuna never disappoints! Great neighborhood
Restaurant that has reliably good food and good service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 18, 2018

This is a great restaurant! We loved our night out. Everyone had great meals and we had everything from a scallops special (AMAZING) to the favorite Cedar Plank Salmon. Our server was professional and on point. The chef came out twice to ask if we were satisified. A total win. We will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Food was delicious, she crab soup especially and Shelly our server was a delight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 12, 2018

We met friends for dinner and had requested a booth in the bar. After a very short wait we were accommodated. We enjoyed Scallops, Salmon and Tuna dinners and the food was excellent. Our server was awesome and we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 11, 2018

As always our food, service and experience was perfect!

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Outstanding as always. Number 1 seafood in the area. Love it! Always come here when In the area and always excellent

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Service was phenomenal. Food was great...sushimi appetizer and eggplant meatball appetizer we're very yummy. My steak was cooked to perfection. Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Nice restaurant, interesting menu. Server was very slow to refill drinks; more than once. But, otherwise good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Hot Tuna is one of our go-to restaurants in Virginia Beach. Great value for money, with outstanding happy hour specials. We took some visitors on Wednesday night, so we had a choice of the regular menu, dinner specials, happy hour specials, and tapas options (available only on Wednesdays).

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Very nice cedar plank dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Always great food and service at Hot Tuna. Chef Todd and his team do an awesome job in the kitchen, especially tapas night on Wednesday! Great vegetarian options as well.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Happy Hour, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Great meal - service was on point! Our table was ready and waiting for us. Only drawback is their selection of beers. Would be nice to see more craft beers, but I'm a craft beer lover!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Hot Tuna never fails to please us. The variety and preparation of the food is always excellent. Service was a little slow at first, but the place was hopping. We didn’t mind waiting because we were there to visit with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 7, 2017

excellent service... Food was delicious as always
always know people there
seated right away

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Always a fun girls night at Hot Tuna. Wednesday Happy Hour TIL 9pm.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2017

As usual, the food is prepared exceptionally well. The specials are always worth considering. My wife had the cedar plank salmon... as usual. I had the Rockfish, bay style. Both Superb! The Rockfish a little pricey at forty, but a good sized portion (8oz, 3oz became the next day's lunch). I opted for the mushroom risotto (my favorite, and prepared better than mine at home... and mine is superb!).

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2017

We were crammed into a table up against a wall. Asked for a salad and my meal came. Never got the salad. Waitress did not co.e back to check how our meal was. Ordered dessert and shortly after it arrived I had to get up to inform the waitress that my father was possibly having a heart attack and we needed to go to the nearest emergency room. She got the check prepared for me to pay. She offered me water and when I asked if I could have a bottle of water she then told me that she needed to charge me $3.75 I believe it was for the bottle of water.
I'm appalled. I am pretty sure we paid for the dessert that we never had an opportunity to eat as well. And if I know my mother she tipped the waitress very well.
I'm very disappointed in this experience and we have been here several times before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Hot Tuna is consistent with their service and quality. Great menu, great service and never had a bad experience there. Food is tasty and presented well.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Tuna has always been good..never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Everything always tastes great and everyone is friendly and wonderful !

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food and service is always magnificent. Thanks Chad. You’re the best!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2017

When visiting VA Beach, Hot Tuna is always a must! The food and service are always top notch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Disappointing!! A 50 mile drive and tunnel tolls to get there. It was very loud, service was slow, both witch could be overlooked if the food was as amazing as the last time I ate there. The crab dip was acceptable. The she crab soup was all cream and bland. The coconut shrimp was overcooked, that and the fries tasted the grease needed to be changed. The artichoke dip was lacking something. The absolute crab would have been good except the shrimp were overcooked as well. The only thing that was decent was the drinks and judging by the atmosphere, is probably the money maker. I'm not sure if this was just a bad night but we wont be returning.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great time. Always is fun for a girls get together. Wednesday has a great happy hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Really enjoyed our evening. Seated quickly. Server arrived fast and took drink and food orders. Could actually talk and have conversation. Food was really good. Would definitely recommend and return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Loved the selection on the restaurant week menu. Our server was great. Always focused when interacting with our group, despite having an additional large group to serve. Desserts were delicious. Cocktail prices were a little steep. The tuna is always a great choice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We are a group of 4 couples who like to dine out occasionally and Hot Tuna is always one of our fav spots! Love the food and the ambiance. AND it's close to home!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Spicy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, People Watching, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2017

I have enjoyed dining or just hanging out listening to music at HOT Tuna for years. Many of my friend attended the 20 year anniversary because it brings back fun memories of our crazy youth

I always recommend it for dinner to visitors because most people think of it only as a night spot. Many locals I meet have never had dinner there when the menu and service is amazing.
I have never had a bad meal there and I have always had a fun experience. Kudos!!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

As always, everything was pretty much perfect; yet, for the first time, it took a long time for our server to come to our table to even bring us water. My husband even went to the restroom and back and no one had come and we even waited probably another five or six minutes. This is very unusual for Hot Tuna and it wasn't any busier than normal on a Saturday evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful as always
However, our table for 4
Was next to a table of 15-20
Lots of kids and very loud , and up and down and all over the place
I dont think I would stay at a table again , next to such a large party
The food and service was superior as always,
But not as relaxing as usual ... very hard to carry on a conversation

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Just a real nice place. Great appetizers and an assortment of tasty, mid-priced meals!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.