Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Hot Tuna

Stop by and find out why Southern Living Magazine calls this restaurant "the place to stop when in Virginia Beach". This restaurant is famous for offering the freshest yellowfin tuna available, as well as serving delicious Hereford Organic Beef, homemade pasta dishes, beer battered shrimp, and homemade desserts, such as key lime pie and carrot cake.' - Yahoo Travel

2817 Shore Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 4:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday-Saturday 4:00pm-Late

Cross Street:
Great Neck Road/Shore Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 481-2888

Website:
http://www.hottunavb.com/

Entertainment:
Live bands- The best in live local entertainment, every Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights. Please check our website for details.

Catering:
We can cater any function. Birthdays, weddings, rehearsals, graduations and many more.

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available.

Executive Chef:
Todd Ramsey

Private Party Facilities:
There are only a handful of restaurants in the entire country that can offer you a fantastic dining experience as well as provide you with some of the best entertainment around. We have been giving our guests fantastic Food, Wine, & Spirits since 1992.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (757) 481-2888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Apr 10, 2017 - Aug 1, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Apr 10, 2017 - Aug 1, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

$3-$8 Tapas and $3/$4 you call it drinks. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 10, 2017 - Aug 1, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Hot Tuna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (7)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Tapas (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Live Music (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Romantic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (0)
Sort By:
S
472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

I had really high expectations for this restaurant going in based on reviews and others recommendations from friends. It was a nice dinner and the meal was good but it wasn't amazing. Our server had a hiccup with our appetizers and food coming out quickly in succession but he handled it well and the service was amazing. I didn't hate it but it isn't a place that I would drive 30 minutes for again. They do have a GREAT outdoor patio and their bar looked pretty awesome so maybe we will be back for drinks.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for a Date, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic food and service. High priced for the area but worth it. Really worth trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Don't bother going anywhere else for fabulous seafood, service, and overall vibe. It is one of the key reasons we go for a weekend getaway to Virgina Beach twice a year. Love it !

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Superb customer service - friendly helpful staff. Food choice is great. Food plating excellent food quality and taste AWESOME

Tags: Organic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The tuna was over cooked.
The tacos had literally had no flavor at all.
The crab dip..was missing something...didn't think crab dip could be messed up.
The salmon salad was Good!
It was hot in the restaurant and we had flies around our table. We were indoors.
The only good thing was the waitress was very sweet and professional!
We have been to a lot of restaurants and have never once complained but this was way to many things.
Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Not as good as the last time. Calamari was chewy, batter not crisp. She-crab soup was cold (like the last time) - cream soups are icky when cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our server this evening was absolutely fantastic. She not only was very pleasant, but she also went above and beyond for the table next to us. She was very friendly and knew how to answer many questions that were had about the menu.

As far as the food goes, most of it was phenomenal!

We had the calamari for an appetizer. It was not my favorite. The breading was a little thicker than I like and it was a little over cooked. But the entrees and desserts were fabulous!

I eat tuna poke everywhere I can, and this was one of the best I've ever had. I liked the concept of the whole bowl. The tuna poke appetizer was a perfect portion for a meal in my opinion. We also had the cedar plank salmon and the wild mushroom risotto, which I would recommend and would eat again myself.

The desserts are all home made. The cowboy cookie was absolutely amazing. It comes out freshly baked in a skillet with vanilla ice cream on top.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Saturday night with my wife and a friend. Reservation was ready upon arrival. Our server, Christina, was fantastic! Jen, Riley, and Ryan always do a great job. Food was outstanding. This restaurant is a go to for our family.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Always good and consistent. Wonderful and attentive service from Kristina

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Chad's the best waiter EVER! The food is always scrumptious. I'm glad to be a regular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great spot in the Virginia Beach area for variety of dishes, differing from the traditional seafood place. Vibrant bar and great staff.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Recently renovated and a job well done. Food and service are dependably excellent. Popular place so it is noisey. Great happy hour beverage prices. We get here every couple of weeks and have yet to be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Recently renovated the space is attractive. Very busy Saturday but the food arrived promptly, was we'll prepared and the service was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We chose to do a one-night get away to VA beach, and Hot Tuna was our top choice for dinner (2 kids, 2 adults). The staff was friendly and efficient, the decor was modern, clean and upscale-beach-y. The starter selection was amazing, well-priced and tasty. Fantastic specials. Nice kids menu. Only the chicken in my daughter's sandwich was a bit over-cooked. Otherwise, really great place!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had a Hampton Roads Busy Women Meet Up at the restaurant and everyone really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 7, 2017

enjoyed happy hour food (good selection) and drinks. good service and friendly staff.

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We love Hot Tuna menu and tasty meals. Crab soup always pleases our palates, and we enjoyed the rockfish and beurre bland topping. Everything was superb and filling. We will return for sure.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Loved the eggplant meatballs! Dessert was ok, coconut cake best choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A great meal
As always
Good service
Great prices for ladies night
Will be back

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

2/22/17
We go to Hot Tuna 2-3 times a month. We especially like Wednesday night for their happy hour and tapas menu. Food and service is always good. Manager is always on top of things. Love the new decor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The highly touted cedar plank seafood tasted more like cedar than seafood. Less than average meals at very high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The seafood (oysters and tuna) were quite good. The wine (which was poor) was over-priced, but that's not really a surprise.

The atmosphere was nice enough, but the clientele was difficult to pin down. My best guess is it's an after-work hangout for late-20- and early-30-somethings. Feel free to stop by anytime, however.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Awesome food. Wonderful service
Great wine choice
Shrimp and grits was incredible
Loved the rose for valentines

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Staff friendly and attentive. Rarely have ever had an issue with a plate in probably 50 visits over the years. And if there has ever been a problem it was promptly resolved. If you come for happy hour, get there early as the place fills quickly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always fantastic, food delicious and it is newly remodeled. Beautiful! The music without a live band , is great!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fireplace, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

On this visit, we had the rockfish special. It was delicious although a little pricey. Wine and drinks were good and the service was great. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Quick Bite, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Love this place - great jem on Shore Drive! Take a cab/uber so you can enjoy the awesome bar!

Tags: Dancing, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We loved our first visit to Virginia Beach and I am so glad to have found Hot Tuna on Open Table and made a visit. It was the other side of town from where we were staying, but it was totally worth the $10 Uber/Lyft ride. The service was fantastic and we loved trying lots of items from the menu between all four of us at the table. This neighborhood hot spot will definitely be a return spot for us next time we make it to VA Beach.

Tags: Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent in every way. Tuna was outstanding as was the salmon. Nice evening with friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I very highly recommend the outstanding she crab soup!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our table was ready for us when we arrived 15 minutes early. Wait staff was attentive, food tasty and we enjoyed our time together. Oysters Rockefeller was amazing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere. Great looking people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We drove from Newport News with a 7pm reservation. When we arrived about 6:15, The guys at the front desk sat us immediately.Our waitress, Rihannon was very attentive and no matter how busy the dinning room was, she was fun!
We opted for the Tuna bites and Buffalo shrimp which was more than enough and both were delicious.
We have eaten at HotTuna several times and it is always worth the drive.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Too much noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful restaurant terrific seafood and special creations like the crab- green tomato stack. We have never had a bad meal there. It is the first place we go to when visiting VB. Staff is outstanding as well. Love it!

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Waiter left us for 20 minutes, forgot our appetizer & didn't check our empty drinks.

He didn't even realize it until he brought our dinner. Food is always good but over priced.

Manager is not friendly & offered nothing for this poor service.

Not the 1st time this has happened to us there. We had stopped frequenting Hot Tuna but decided to give it another chance. Probably won't go there again to dine. Seems their priority is the bar scene

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Hot Tuna for years and the reason we keep going back is simple: The food and the service are exemplary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was great. At the table we had a variety of apps, beer-battered shrimp, fired ahi.

However, we didn't like the wine list. There was no NEW ZEALAND Sauvignon Blanc. Bring back Matua or another Marlborough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We don't go out often but Restaurant Week drew us to Hot Tuna and we were glad we went! The tuna and filet mignon were cooked as ordered and were moist and tender and delicious! We took our waiter's beer and cocktail suggestions and were very happy with them as well. Oh, and the Coconut Cream cake!! Leave room for dessert. Thanks for a wonderful dining experience ! We will be back to see Chad, our excellent waiter, and Hot Tuna again soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My friend and I went there on a date. Our server Taylor was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable about the menu and a very sweet person. The food was outstanding! We had the blackened tuna bites, gourmet mac and cheese, garlic potatoes and the crab dip. Everything was outstanding- kudos to the chef!!! Will definitely visit again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.