About Hot Tuna

2817 Shore Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Stop by and find out why Southern Living Magazine calls this restaurant "the place to stop when in Virginia Beach". This restaurant is famous for offering the freshest yellowfin tuna available, as well as serving delicious Hereford Organic Beef, homemade pasta dishes, beer battered shrimp, and homemade desserts, such as key lime pie and carrot cake.' - Yahoo Travel

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm-11:00pm. Late Night Menu Wednesday, Friday and Saturday till Midnight

Cross Street:
Great Neck Road/Shore Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 481-2888

Website:
http://www.hottunavb.com/

Entertainment:
Live bands- The best in live local entertainment, every Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights. Please check our website for details.

Catering:
We can cater any function. Birthdays, weddings, rehearsals, graduations and many more.

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available.

Executive Chef:
Todd Ramsey

Private Party Facilities:
There are only a handful of restaurants in the entire country that can offer you a fantastic dining experience as well as provide you with some of the best entertainment around. We have been giving our guests fantastic Food, Wine, & Spirits since 1992.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 7574812888x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Hot Tuna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Virginia
Seafood
Virginia
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

neighborhood gem (31)
fit for foodies (25)
hot spot (23)
See All
good for groups (21)
vibrant bar scene (19)
special occasion (15)
great for outdoor dining (12)
late-night find (11)
romantic (9)
great for lunch (6)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local Find!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for intimate or family dining. Fresh fish catch (mostly local) always available & prepared to one's liking. Servers are attentive and accommodating. Save room for dessert!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

After hyping Hot Tuna, we have turned cool!

Dined on May 3, 2016

We have previously enjoyed dining at Hot Tuna, so much so that we have convinced others to meet for dinner there. We were looking forward to this visit as soft shell crabs are now in season. What a disappointment!! They were nothing like our previous experience. Our other order was the rock fish, which I had there one month ago. Soft shells were very small, not prepared as well and much more expensive. The rock fish serving was smaller than a month ago and also much higher in price. Both dinners can be had elsewhere for less money and better preperation. The sides are good. The real bargain is Happy Hour with low prices on drinks and appetizers. By ordering entrees, we subsidized the Happy Hour food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food around fire pit. 5 Stars food

Dined on April 30, 2016

Fun time around the fire pit great food. Loved it. Wished I lived there. Would definitely be a regular. Awesome job Hot Tuna!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

not as good as usual

Dined on April 28, 2016

This is a restaurant that we usually go to for a good fast meal. Both my husband and I were surprised that our meals were terrible this time.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a favorite!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Hot Tuna has long been on my list of favorite Virginia Beach restaurants, and this time did not disappoint. From appetizers to main courses to dessert, there is something for everyone, and special requests are not a problem. Even though the restaurant was quite busy, service was very good. There are a number of reasonably priced dishes, as well as some upscale options, and everything is of excellent quality. Conveniently located and easily accessible from all parts of the city, and ample parking is a plus.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite in Virginia Beach

Dined on April 23, 2016

This is the best seafood restaurant in Virginia Beach. Great service, terrific food, modern vibe. I visit the area each year for a weekend getaway or two and head right to Hot Tuna each time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great find

Dined on April 16, 2016

loved the restaurant hate that I get told how long a review I must write

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The tuna appetizer was out of this world ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The tuna appetizer was out of this world!Sautéed string beans, and hamburger, were also amazingly prepared.

food5
ambience4
service3

Amazing place but always packed! Menu is ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Amazing place but always packed! Menu is a little pricey but we haven't been disappointed with the food yet! Our server seemed overwhelmed and we waited a little for refills but other than that everything was perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Class Act

Dined on April 2, 2016

We're locals and dine at Hot Tuna frequently. The service is fantastic and the food is always spot on. There's always a good vibe when we dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Mediocre at best

Dined on March 11, 2016

I had always heard good reviews so when a relative came to town and was staying at the resort across the street I thought it would be fun to try. We may have hit them on an off night, but our server was unfriendly and the food didn't have any flavor. Our party of six each ordered something different and the only one happy was the one that ordered the filet mignon. The tuna appetizer was the best dish we ordered. Thankfully the mojitos were tasty. Not worth the hour drive from Suffolk.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Girls night

Dined on March 9, 2016

Made reservations for fire pit seating. Never had issue before. Was told by hostess that they do not reserve the fire pits. At least 3 other times we were able to reserve one. Asked if this was new but again told they never have reserved the fire pits. Offered us seat in restaurant. Since we were having a girls night/happy hour, the restaurant was not out best fit. We ended up finding a nice could that let the 4 of us sit with them at the fire out. We had to ask at least 3 times and wait almost 30 minutes to get it lit. This was not the best experience. But we made the most of it. Most likely will reserve a table elsewhere fir future girls night/happy hour.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I got the grilled cedar plank Rock fish ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

I got the grilled cedar plank Rock fish and my wife had the seared scallops with crab... Bithe were amazing! As for the noise level, last night was the first time in the 10 plus years we have been going there that we had a table towards the back of the restaurant so it was great. Normally we are closer to the bar and it is too noisy, so depending on your preference you can choose wisely.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. But very expensive for what ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food. But very expensive for what we got. Enjoyed the ambiance a lot but not sure that my scallops were worth $36. $115 overall before tip.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on February 25, 2016

I had dinner with my family for VA Beach Restaurant week. I had the salmon which was delicious, husband had the tuna and he loved it, my daughter had the shrimp and zucchini noodles. She like it very much. The eggplant and portabella "meatballs" were awesome and so was the coconot cake. Enjoyed every bit. The service was great! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the plank salmon had a fantastic flavor, ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

the plank salmon had a fantastic flavor, the crab soup was outstanding and we loved the grilled avacado from the happy hour menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

YUM!

Dined on February 16, 2016

We went to Hot Tuna for Paint Nite and as a first date. The atmosphere was amazing. Casual but fancy at the same time. Local hot spot! Food was awesome. Will love going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Hot date

Dined on February 6, 2016

Loved the ahi tuna app cooked rare perfectly. Wife & I ordered the Oscar Porterhouse steaks medium rare . Good sized portion but mostly bone , very tough to cut or chew . Won't be ordering that again . Should have know not to order steak at the tuna house. Sangria was good also .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on February 3, 2016

I've been going there for almost 15 years and have never been disappointed. A reservation seems to be prudent for a special occasion, but I have been there many times without and was able to get a table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Reasonable prices.

Dined on January 10, 2016

The meals we get are always tasty and very fresh. The service is awesome. We're lucky to have such a fine establishment in our 'hood!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fine Dining Hiding In A Neighborhood Hot Spot!

Dined on December 23, 2015

We've been many times and so far have never been disappointed! All the food comes out hot and perfectly prepared. The Cedar Planked Smoked Salmon is the best anywhere! Always the perfect temperature! Served with creamy Risotto and seasonal vegetables! The servers are always cordial and fun, always there when you need them but never hovering over you! You can dine in the dining room for a quieter evening or enjoy the upbeat fun atmosphere in the bar area or on the enclosed patio. We're glad Hot Tuna is not far from where we live as it's one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Oysters Rock was amazing! Great serv ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

The Oysters Rock was amazing! Great service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Girls night

Dined on December 9, 2015

We always have a great time! Nice table at the inside bar for a large group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Happy hour menu! Will definitely ...

vip
Dined on December 4, 2015

Great Happy hour menu! Will definitely be coming back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Try the grilled avocado and mixed seafoo ...

vip
Dined on September 21, 2015

Try the grilled avocado and mixed seafood grill!

food4
ambience4
service4

First night of vacation

Dined on August 24, 2015

We tried this restaurant because of the great reviews. We were originally supposed to go there for a 7:30 reservation but one of the couples arrived to the hotel late so we had to change it to 8:30. The restaurant was kind of empty so we were a little nervous. We selected the outdoor table/fire pit. It was too hot and humid to have the fire pit on, so our server turned it off. The outdoor tables overlook the parking area which was not so great. The restaurant is located in a shopping strip. We were 3 couples and started off with drinks. They had a special for $4 and you get to keep the glass. I ordered the salmon on a plank and it was delicious. All of us enjoyed our meals. My husband had the oysters and he said they were very fresh, and HUGE!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The Resturant decor unique. The food (we ...

Dined on August 23, 2015

The Resturant decor unique. The food (we had rockfish) was great sides great. Cocktails awesome without the high price tag Service terrific Great for special occasions Check menu for pricing. Gluten free options😊

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Seafood - Great Service

Dined on August 21, 2015

This is one of our favorite go to spots. Just used open table for the first time to make a reservation; normally we just walk in. Great food but favorites are the beer battered shrimp and the Ahi tuna. We eat there 2 or 3 times per month. Does turn into more of a bar scene after 9:00.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the tuna bites. I think Hot Tuna is ...

Dined on August 15, 2015

Love the tuna bites. I think Hot Tuna is a great local's "secret". Great gathering place or for a special meal for two.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great for happy hour. Nice out door area.

Dined on July 22, 2015

Great for happy hour. Nice out door area. Wednesday night happy hour Til 9pm

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

Good bar scene

Dined on July 18, 2015

This is a great place to go if you want good-quality food and also stay for drinks and music. The restaurant was not very large and did have a waiting list started when we arrived but overall, a good place.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delicious dinner at Hot Tuna, s ...

vip
Dined on July 16, 2015

We had a delicious dinner at Hot Tuna, starting with the Oysters Rock. They are the best! My wife had the mixed grill which she loved and I had the soft shell crab special. The crabs were very large and excellent. Our server was very attentive and we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, Outstanding service

Dined on July 10, 2015

We continue to love this locals favorite. As a Virginia Beach resident for over 25 years, I've always loved this restaurant. Great food, fresh fish, and generous servings. It's a bit pricey, but worth it. The rockfish was hot, fresh, and delicious. The oysters were great. The calamari was fresh and cooked perfectly. The mojitos are always great here. I would recommend this restaurant to all my friends, family, coworkers, and customers.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu is full of seafood--naturally!- ...

Dined on July 4, 2015

The menu is full of seafood--naturally!--but I have tons of food allergies. The chef was absolutely willing to come up with something amazing, and he delivered. It was so delicious, I encouraged them to put this mystery dish on the menu. I hope they do!

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

All ages

vip
Dined on June 23, 2015

This time back we had a three generation group of cousins ranging from teens & Tweens on up. We all had a great time- everyone raved about their food choice! The staff was super! I love this place!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great She Crab soup , soft shell crab an ...

Dined on June 20, 2015

Great She Crab soup , soft shell crab and Death by Chocolate dessert. Fast, friendly service. Would definitely return. Chesapeake dish could have had more crab meat, but lots of shrimp and good flavor. Very pleasant experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

Try it Again for the First Time

vip
Dined on June 15, 2015

We've lived in the shore drive area of Virginia Beach for 20 years and Hot Tuna was one of our first regular eating places. As time went by we gravitated away and forgot about HT. Recently, while traveling on Great Neck Rd, we looked over at the new patio that has been constructed for Hot Tuna. After realizing it had been awhile, My wife and I decided to stop by for dinner. We're glad we did, they still have the same mixed grill as before and the service was excellent. As a bonus, the wine list was reasonable. Give it a try....again

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Great

Dined on June 13, 2015

Hot Tuna has been a local favorite of mine for years. They recently added an outdoor seating area that is awesome. I had the Softshell crabs and as usual,they were fantastic!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

Graduation Dinner Spot

Dined on June 13, 2015

Special treat after my daughter's high school graduation. Repeat local guest for 10+ years. Extensive menu. Tasty calamari, or unique crab dip (served with large warm pretzels for dipping) appetizers are a must try! Delicious seafood entree selections. Ahi sashimi was terrific and artfully presented. Prompt seating with reservation. Noise level slightly high, but not uncomfortable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

Not So Hot Tuna

Dined on May 30, 2015

Have enjoyed Hot Tuna before, but our experience on Saturday, May 30 was a disappointment. Although we went to dinner fairly early -6:30 - the soft shell crab special was already sold out. This would not have disappointed us if we had been told earlier, but the news came at an awkward moment. We feel the kitchen should have informed the waitstaff as supplies were getting low. We also weren't comforted by the management who would only say there had been a lot of soft shells ordered and seemed to want to put blame on the waitstaff.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.