Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Hot Tuna

Stop by and find out why Southern Living Magazine calls this restaurant "the place to stop when in Virginia Beach". This restaurant is famous for offering the freshest yellowfin tuna available, as well as serving delicious Hereford Organic Beef, homemade pasta dishes, beer battered shrimp, and homemade desserts, such as key lime pie and carrot cake.' - Yahoo Travel

2817 Shore Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 4:00pm-10:00pm, Thursday-Saturday 4:00pm-Late

Cross Street:
Great Neck Road/Shore Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 481-2888

Website:
http://www.hottunavb.com/

Entertainment:
Live bands- The best in live local entertainment, every Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights. Please check our website for details.

Catering:
We can cater any function. Birthdays, weddings, rehearsals, graduations and many more.

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available.

Executive Chef:
Todd Ramsey

Private Party Facilities:
There are only a handful of restaurants in the entire country that can offer you a fantastic dining experience as well as provide you with some of the best entertainment around. We have been giving our guests fantastic Food, Wine, & Spirits since 1992.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (757) 481-2888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hot Tuna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
See All
Fun (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Live Music (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
494 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I have enjoyed dining or just hanging out listening to music at HOT Tuna for years. Many of my friend attended the 20 year anniversary because it brings back fun memories of our crazy youth

I always recommend it for dinner to visitors because most people think of it only as a night spot. Many locals I meet have never had dinner there when the menu and service is amazing.
I have never had a bad meal there and I have always had a fun experience. Kudos!!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

As always, everything was pretty much perfect; yet, for the first time, it took a long time for our server to come to our table to even bring us water. My husband even went to the restroom and back and no one had come and we even waited probably another five or six minutes. This is very unusual for Hot Tuna and it wasn't any busier than normal on a Saturday evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful as always
However, our table for 4
Was next to a table of 15-20
Lots of kids and very loud , and up and down and all over the place
I dont think I would stay at a table again , next to such a large party
The food and service was superior as always,
But not as relaxing as usual ... very hard to carry on a conversation

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Just a real nice place. Great appetizers and an assortment of tasty, mid-priced meals!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We got a table outside without waiting time. Hostess was very pleasant and even brought a shark toy for our 2 year old. We had poke and various salads, as well as a kids fish taco. Everything was fresh, delicious and of excellent quality! Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food was great and so was the service. This was a quick choice after a day at the beach and ended up as a home run! The half priced wine for a Thursday night was just a nice bonus! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Mixed bag here. Two of us ordered the zucchini spirals with shrimp and it was very tasty. The others ordered scallops and fish tacos and all said they were not good. Our waiter, Jake, was very nice and attentive. Not many people there. Overall, it was disappointing, especially with such great reviews. I didn't know that everyone else's dinner wasn't good until we were in the car going home. Oh well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great Happy Hour. Wonderful food selections. Terrific place to meet friends.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great service, food and location. We ordered the evening specials, which were excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food is consistently great and NEVER had a bad meal. Servers are fantastic as well as management!

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, People Watching, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Tapas, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a great anniversary dinner here!! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I absolutely love Hot Tuna. There is a fair mix of those that frequent here. The food and drinks are great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was great and the service was excellent. We have not dined at Hot Tuna in a few years,however we will try to go more often

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great spot in Virginia Beach! The blackened tuna bites are amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Took the family here during our summer vacation to Virginia Beach.
Was able to make a reservation on line from the beach for a group of 8.
The food and service was excellent! The decor was beautiful and venue comfortable for all ages!
We will definitely be back next summer!!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Nice time. Did take 15 minutes to get a server. Manager did compensate for wait.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had dinner with friends and three of us enjoyed the Halibut special. The fourth person had the soft shell crabs and everyone was pleased with their dinner. Our server, Chad was very attentive and he even helped us change tables. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Live Music, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Hot Tuna is our new "go to" restaurant. Great food! Great service! Great atmosphere!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Pasta dishes were a bit soupy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I took visiting friends to Hot Tuna early in the week. Then let them pick their favorite restaurant on the last night. They picked Hot Tuna as the 1 to go back to. Salmon dinner was excellent. And the coconut shrimp appetizer was yummy. Our waiter was nice and friendly but none of us could understand him. I believe he was not from the Usa.
I highly recommend dining here!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food and staff were very good. I would recommend this restaurant to anybody.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We always enjoy our time at Hot Tuna. Great locals establishment with good vibes and great cuisine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had really high expectations for this restaurant going in based on reviews and others recommendations from friends. It was a nice dinner and the meal was good but it wasn't amazing. Our server had a hiccup with our appetizers and food coming out quickly in succession but he handled it well and the service was amazing. I didn't hate it but it isn't a place that I would drive 30 minutes for again. They do have a GREAT outdoor patio and their bar looked pretty awesome so maybe we will be back for drinks.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for a Date, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic food and service. High priced for the area but worth it. Really worth trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Don't bother going anywhere else for fabulous seafood, service, and overall vibe. It is one of the key reasons we go for a weekend getaway to Virgina Beach twice a year. Love it !

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Superb customer service - friendly helpful staff. Food choice is great. Food plating excellent food quality and taste AWESOME

Tags: Organic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The tuna was over cooked.
The tacos had literally had no flavor at all.
The crab dip..was missing something...didn't think crab dip could be messed up.
The salmon salad was Good!
It was hot in the restaurant and we had flies around our table. We were indoors.
The only good thing was the waitress was very sweet and professional!
We have been to a lot of restaurants and have never once complained but this was way to many things.
Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Not as good as the last time. Calamari was chewy, batter not crisp. She-crab soup was cold (like the last time) - cream soups are icky when cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our server this evening was absolutely fantastic. She not only was very pleasant, but she also went above and beyond for the table next to us. She was very friendly and knew how to answer many questions that were had about the menu.

As far as the food goes, most of it was phenomenal!

We had the calamari for an appetizer. It was not my favorite. The breading was a little thicker than I like and it was a little over cooked. But the entrees and desserts were fabulous!

I eat tuna poke everywhere I can, and this was one of the best I've ever had. I liked the concept of the whole bowl. The tuna poke appetizer was a perfect portion for a meal in my opinion. We also had the cedar plank salmon and the wild mushroom risotto, which I would recommend and would eat again myself.

The desserts are all home made. The cowboy cookie was absolutely amazing. It comes out freshly baked in a skillet with vanilla ice cream on top.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Saturday night with my wife and a friend. Reservation was ready upon arrival. Our server, Christina, was fantastic! Jen, Riley, and Ryan always do a great job. Food was outstanding. This restaurant is a go to for our family.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Always good and consistent. Wonderful and attentive service from Kristina

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Chad's the best waiter EVER! The food is always scrumptious. I'm glad to be a regular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great spot in the Virginia Beach area for variety of dishes, differing from the traditional seafood place. Vibrant bar and great staff.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Recently renovated and a job well done. Food and service are dependably excellent. Popular place so it is noisey. Great happy hour beverage prices. We get here every couple of weeks and have yet to be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Recently renovated the space is attractive. Very busy Saturday but the food arrived promptly, was we'll prepared and the service was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We chose to do a one-night get away to VA beach, and Hot Tuna was our top choice for dinner (2 kids, 2 adults). The staff was friendly and efficient, the decor was modern, clean and upscale-beach-y. The starter selection was amazing, well-priced and tasty. Fantastic specials. Nice kids menu. Only the chicken in my daughter's sandwich was a bit over-cooked. Otherwise, really great place!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had a Hampton Roads Busy Women Meet Up at the restaurant and everyone really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 7, 2017

enjoyed happy hour food (good selection) and drinks. good service and friendly staff.

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We love Hot Tuna menu and tasty meals. Crab soup always pleases our palates, and we enjoyed the rockfish and beurre bland topping. Everything was superb and filling. We will return for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Loved the eggplant meatballs! Dessert was ok, coconut cake best choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.