Hot Tuna

4.6
590 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Fun
  • Good for a Date
Stop by and find out why Southern Living Magazine calls this restaurant "the place to stop when in Virginia Beach". This restaurant is famous for offering the freshest yellowfin tuna available, as well as serving delicious Hereford Organic Beef, homemade pasta dishes, beer battered shrimp, and homemade desserts, such as key lime pie and carrot cake.' - Yahoo Travel
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sun 9:00 am–3:00 pm
Dinner
Mon–Thu, Sun 4:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri, Sat 4:00 pm–11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 481-2888
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Todd Ramsey
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
There are only a handful of restaurants in the entire country that can offer you a fantastic dining experience as well as provide you with some of the best entertainment around. We have been giving our guests fantastic Food, Wine, & Spirits since 1992.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Manager: (757) 481-2888
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We can cater any function. Birthdays, weddings, rehearsals, graduations and many more.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Great Neck Road/Shore Drive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free on site parking available.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live bands- The best in live local entertainment, every Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights. Please check our website for details.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 590 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.4
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant was highly rated on all of the apps including OpenTable. It was about a mile and a half from the campground where we were staying. It was worth the walk! The service was spot on, the food was excellent and they were on Open Table. All of our meals were great and my wife had the best burger she ever tasted. We did not expect to find such a good burger in a place called Hot Tuna.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Our family went for Father's day. We haven't been there in a long time, but wanted to get my husband some great seafood for his special day. He said of his dinner that it was the best tuna steak that he had ever eaten. I had the crab cakes, which were also fantastic. Thanks for the wonderful dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Fabulous dining experience! Outstanding service and food that was beyond superb. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Great dinner. The place was packed but the service was top notched. I had the fillet special which was tender and cooked as ordered. If you’re staying at the beach it’s worth the 10-15 minute drive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Ashley was very friendly! Right off, she asked us if we were visiting for a special occasion. We decided to try Hot Tuna as part of a friend’s bachelorette weekend. I reserved a table outside but none were available, which was perfectly fine - the atmosphere was lively inside. Our drinks came out timely as did the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Hot Tuna never disappoints! The food excellent and the service outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

I ordered the sesame crusted tuna which was delicious. The fresh corn and Edamame side that came with it was also very good. Our waiter was friendly and efficient and the atmosphere was pleasant. I have never had a bad experience at Hot Tuna!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great food and even better service from our waitress.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Solid Brunch Menu, Great Service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Fantastic birthday dinner! Food was fabulous as always! First tried to seat a table for 5 at a 4 top with a chair. That was unacceptable so they moved us to a nice table. Very pleased.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Best She Crab Soup at the beach!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

While visiting Virginia Beach we wanted to find a place that was a locals favorite. The Hot Tuna delivered on all categories...from the drinks, wait staff, menu including the dinner specials we were very satisfied. We like small plates, so we shared a number of dishes and never felt rushed...the food didn't all come out at once, we had time to try each item and enjoy it before another item was rushed out tonus. The absolute best fried green tomatoes ever and the grilled avocado was also very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Absolutely delicious all the way around! Fantastic service, thanks Ally, amazing crushes at only $3 and the scallops were prepared to perfection. Can’t wait to go back and try the tacos!! And the burgers! And.....

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very good appetizers, rockfish on cedar plank was amazing. Music was very loud though, not enough waitstaff and swatting flies throughout dinner was not fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fun Sunday brunch! Loved the menu! Great service! Server was very helpful with menu decisions! French toast portion was a little small for my teenage son but he said it tasted great! Everyone liked their meal! I would go back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We have been going to Mother’s Day brunch for years- never quite finding a palace that pleased everyone until
Now!!! Hot tuna had an amazing variety and excellent choices in drinks and food!! The whole family was super pleased and it was by far the best mother’s day experience ever for our family!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

this eatery is one of favorites, no make it my favorite, it touches all my foodie buttons. the service is always quick and friendly, the food is exceptional with freshly prepared seafood and local veggies. chef todd keeps upping his game.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food is always good. First time trying brunch and it was fabulous.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This used to be our go to restaurant for us locals but the lowering of the food quality and the sharp increase in prices have given us pause as to whether or not we'll return. My spouse's gouda hamburger was overdone and dry when he asked for medium-well and the addition of heavily sweetened onions was off-putting. This combined with the confusion of a sharply increased $14 menu price and the thankfully lower $12 price on our bill was still higher than the$10 original price. My parmesan tuna was my favorite before I noticed the price jumped to $25, about a $4 increase. The flavor of the sauce was toned down substantially and there was a gritty texture to the mashed potatoes. We also noticed a $1 increase to drinks (which we refused to order) that brought most mixed drinks to $10 each. We may give them another shot in the winter if the prices and quality return to normal. Until then, I recommend going elsewhere for quality seafood in Virginia Beach at reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We went there with the impression it would be so-so: it's in a strip mall in a somewhat touristy area, but were pleasantly surprised overall. The wait staff was attentive and friendly; the décor met expectations (seaside type stuff for a seafood restaurant, duh); the food was really good (tuna sashimi was perfect in place of the blackened tuna); crispy fried oysters were actually crispy and excellent; no one had a bad meal. The price was reasonable for the amount of food. We went at an odd hour between lunch and dinner, so it wasn't crowded and hard to tell what it would be like when crowded. We would easily go back without hesitation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Awesome birthday brunch at Hot Tuna! Everyone's food was delicious, make your own mimosa service was perfect, and the service was fantastic. Thank you Hot Tuna!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Good seafood, but they like to serve with pasta. Yuck, to me pasta is a very cheap dish. For the money a person spends here for seafood, pasta shouldn't be on menu. Maybe grits, my opinion. A lot of people love pasta. I'm just not one. Service was great, manager came over. Offered to sub for anything else. Very nice guy. I'm just picky I guess. But nice place all in all.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We love coming to Hot Tuna. It’s not much to look at from the outside but once you get inside, it’s great! Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Always delicious, great service, awesome happy hour!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Service was excellent. Food was excellent. One of my favorite Virginia Beach restaurants. A must for restaurant dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Food and service were outstanding. Ambiance was great as well, not nearly as loud in the bar area as expected. Can't recommend highly enough!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great food and service. We really appreciate Riley and staff!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Wonderful restaurant with delicious food, great service, ample parking and reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We arrived for dinner about 8:30 pm on a Friday evening. The waitress was very friendly and attentive although she asked us if we were ready to order every few minutes. Our meal was very good. My main complaint is that it felt like we were rushed through the meal, despite very few diners arriving after us. We received our cocktails after our appetizer and the entree came soon thereafter. We were never asked if we wanted a second cocktail when we were asked if we wanted dessert or the check. The entire meal took approximately one hour. Unfortunately, the quality of the meal was overshadowed by the feeling that we were being pushed through to turn o we the table which did not appear necessary as the restaurant was empty when we finished.

This restaurant is very highly rated on Trip Advisor. Maybe it was a bad night, but I do not see us returning in the near future. The service component to a meal is extremely important as is the food quality. I feel that great service can sometimes overcome mediocre food, however, the opposite is rarely true.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The food at this locals' favorite always looks and tastes freshly prepared and yummy. The drinks are good to the last drop. Pleasing the customer seems to be the house rule. All ages welcomed and handled with care. its high on my list for dining with a friend or two in the early part of the evening for some conversation and/or maybe enjoying the generous Happy Hour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Hot Tuna is my go to place for reasonably priced food and good vibe. On weekends, you are better to have a reservation as the place fills quickly!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Food was delicious! Table ready for us when we for there! It was very loud in there though...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great Happy Hour small plates. Sesame tuna thin sliced. delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Dinner with great friends. Food and service was excellent. Great rockfish specials.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We went for happy hour and really enjoyed it! My wife ordered a spicy margarita and it was one of the best she's ever had. Great selection, we'll definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Fun environment with exceptional service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Although we have had many great visits, the kitchen was not on point this visit. Zoodles AND shrimp were over cooked, plus tons of onions were added when I requested them left out. Another meal at our table was served as a Tuna burger instead of Tuna special meal of the evening. I think they just pulled the tuna off the burger and served with green beans because the second attempt was over cooked. Server offered to have the zoodles remade but I'm leary of sending food back, especially when multiple errors are made at one table. we will certainly return to Hot Tuna as we have had many great meals here but hopefully the kitchen will have it together next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Everything was great! We had the calamari, she crab soup and Baja tacos. Found this spot on Open Table. Will definitely be back when in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Great atmosphere and excellent food. The tuna app was amazing. They catered to our young daughter and our foodie tastes.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15

Tweets by Hot Tuna