Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Hot Tuna

Stop by and find out why Southern Living Magazine calls this restaurant "the place to stop when in Virginia Beach". This restaurant is famous for offering the freshest yellowfin tuna available, as well as serving delicious Hereford Organic Beef, homemade pasta dishes, beer battered shrimp, and homemade desserts, such as key lime pie and carrot cake.' - Yahoo Travel

2817 Shore Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm-11:00pm. Late Night Menu Wednesday, Friday and Saturday till Midnight

Cross Street:
Great Neck Road/Shore Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 481-2888

Website:
http://www.hottunavb.com/

Entertainment:
Live bands- The best in live local entertainment, every Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights. Please check our website for details.

Catering:
We can cater any function. Birthdays, weddings, rehearsals, graduations and many more.

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available.

Executive Chef:
Todd Ramsey

Private Party Facilities:
There are only a handful of restaurants in the entire country that can offer you a fantastic dining experience as well as provide you with some of the best entertainment around. We have been giving our guests fantastic Food, Wine, & Spirits since 1992.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (757) 481-2888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hot Tuna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Fun (8)
Casual (7)
Tapas (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Private Room (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Live Music (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Romantic (2)
Dancing (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (0)
Sort By:
S
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Recently renovated the space is attractive. Very busy Saturday but the food arrived promptly, was we'll prepared and the service was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We chose to do a one-night get away to VA beach, and Hot Tuna was our top choice for dinner (2 kids, 2 adults). The staff was friendly and efficient, the decor was modern, clean and upscale-beach-y. The starter selection was amazing, well-priced and tasty. Fantastic specials. Nice kids menu. Only the chicken in my daughter's sandwich was a bit over-cooked. Otherwise, really great place!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had a Hampton Roads Busy Women Meet Up at the restaurant and everyone really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 7, 2017

enjoyed happy hour food (good selection) and drinks. good service and friendly staff.

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We love Hot Tuna menu and tasty meals. Crab soup always pleases our palates, and we enjoyed the rockfish and beurre bland topping. Everything was superb and filling. We will return for sure.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Loved the eggplant meatballs! Dessert was ok, coconut cake best choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A great meal
As always
Good service
Great prices for ladies night
Will be back

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

2/22/17
We go to Hot Tuna 2-3 times a month. We especially like Wednesday night for their happy hour and tapas menu. Food and service is always good. Manager is always on top of things. Love the new decor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The highly touted cedar plank seafood tasted more like cedar than seafood. Less than average meals at very high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The seafood (oysters and tuna) were quite good. The wine (which was poor) was over-priced, but that's not really a surprise.

The atmosphere was nice enough, but the clientele was difficult to pin down. My best guess is it's an after-work hangout for late-20- and early-30-somethings. Feel free to stop by anytime, however.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Awesome food. Wonderful service
Great wine choice
Shrimp and grits was incredible
Loved the rose for valentines

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Staff friendly and attentive. Rarely have ever had an issue with a plate in probably 50 visits over the years. And if there has ever been a problem it was promptly resolved. If you come for happy hour, get there early as the place fills quickly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always fantastic, food delicious and it is newly remodeled. Beautiful! The music without a live band , is great!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Fireplace, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

On this visit, we had the rockfish special. It was delicious although a little pricey. Wine and drinks were good and the service was great. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Quick Bite, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Love this place - great jem on Shore Drive! Take a cab/uber so you can enjoy the awesome bar!

Tags: Dancing, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We loved our first visit to Virginia Beach and I am so glad to have found Hot Tuna on Open Table and made a visit. It was the other side of town from where we were staying, but it was totally worth the $10 Uber/Lyft ride. The service was fantastic and we loved trying lots of items from the menu between all four of us at the table. This neighborhood hot spot will definitely be a return spot for us next time we make it to VA Beach.

Tags: Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent in every way. Tuna was outstanding as was the salmon. Nice evening with friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I very highly recommend the outstanding she crab soup!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our table was ready for us when we arrived 15 minutes early. Wait staff was attentive, food tasty and we enjoyed our time together. Oysters Rockefeller was amazing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere. Great looking people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We drove from Newport News with a 7pm reservation. When we arrived about 6:15, The guys at the front desk sat us immediately.Our waitress, Rihannon was very attentive and no matter how busy the dinning room was, she was fun!
We opted for the Tuna bites and Buffalo shrimp which was more than enough and both were delicious.
We have eaten at HotTuna several times and it is always worth the drive.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Too much noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful restaurant terrific seafood and special creations like the crab- green tomato stack. We have never had a bad meal there. It is the first place we go to when visiting VB. Staff is outstanding as well. Love it!

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Waiter left us for 20 minutes, forgot our appetizer & didn't check our empty drinks.

He didn't even realize it until he brought our dinner. Food is always good but over priced.

Manager is not friendly & offered nothing for this poor service.

Not the 1st time this has happened to us there. We had stopped frequenting Hot Tuna but decided to give it another chance. Probably won't go there again to dine. Seems their priority is the bar scene

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Hot Tuna for years and the reason we keep going back is simple: The food and the service are exemplary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was great. At the table we had a variety of apps, beer-battered shrimp, fired ahi.

However, we didn't like the wine list. There was no NEW ZEALAND Sauvignon Blanc. Bring back Matua or another Marlborough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We don't go out often but Restaurant Week drew us to Hot Tuna and we were glad we went! The tuna and filet mignon were cooked as ordered and were moist and tender and delicious! We took our waiter's beer and cocktail suggestions and were very happy with them as well. Oh, and the Coconut Cream cake!! Leave room for dessert. Thanks for a wonderful dining experience ! We will be back to see Chad, our excellent waiter, and Hot Tuna again soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My friend and I went there on a date. Our server Taylor was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable about the menu and a very sweet person. The food was outstanding! We had the blackened tuna bites, gourmet mac and cheese, garlic potatoes and the crab dip. Everything was outstanding- kudos to the chef!!! Will definitely visit again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything was good - other than scallops had a little grit in them from not being cleaned enough. We'd go back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was ok, service was absolutely poor!
Entrees brought out ten minutes apart for each person and when it was asked if they could be taken back, the server protested.

will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was great, only complain was that my wife's and my filet was a little tough, great flavor, just a little tough.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good food and service, which is consistent. Kind of noisy, so hard to have intimate conversations. Only rating 3 stars as on this particular visit, we got stuck at a very small booth (which would have been tight for 4)... We were 5 and they added a chair to the head of the table... Table space was extremely tight and didn't now for a relaxing dinner... Will chalk it up to them being real busy, but surprised/disappointed this is the table we got as we made a reservation in advance. Normally, I would rate them 4-5. Still recommend going to Hot Tuna.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 29, 2016

From time of seating to leaving staff was very attentive. Good food. Good selections. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very nice Birthday evening with Friends, food was well prepared and very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Good food nearby to the Resort Hotel. The bar is very noisy during happy hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The waitress (123 Shaune) was exceptional ! She had to deal with 4 children ages 2,8,10 & 10. Most patrons did not have children which contributed to the ambiance low score. We brought a birthday cake for the 10 year old and she helped serve it, putting on 10 candles & lighting them. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the appetizers especially the grilled avocado . All of our entrees were delicious. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesome happy hour appetizers! Love the Oysters Rock!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything. But the wood seared scallops were the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Loved this restaurant. My cousin, who lives in the area, suggested it. It's a local treasure!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was delicious - we had tuna bite appetizers, Ahi tuna, and scallops...all fresh and flavorful. We enjoyed dinner and drinks, moving to the patio to listen to Everyone Loves Tequila rock the house with the amazing Jason Neal on drums. Our server, Colleen, was attentive, friendly, and fun - she kept up with our tab all night and put up with our playfulness. Highly recommended as a great dinner spot for foodies and a vibrant party spot. (Could be improved by a bigger dance floor space and an easier way to access the bathrooms without having to squeeze through a sweaty, cramped dance floor.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.