About Hot Tuna

2817 Shore Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Stop by and find out why Southern Living Magazine calls this restaurant "the place to stop when in Virginia Beach". This restaurant is famous for offering the freshest yellowfin tuna available, as well as serving delicious Hereford Organic Beef, homemade pasta dishes, beer battered shrimp, and homemade desserts, such as key lime pie and carrot cake.' - Yahoo Travel

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm-11:00pm. Late Night Menu Wednesday, Friday and Saturday till Midnight

Cross Street:
Great Neck Road/Shore Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 481-2888

Website:
http://www.hottunavb.com/

Entertainment:
Live bands- The best in live local entertainment, every Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights. Please check our website for details.

Catering:
We can cater any function. Birthdays, weddings, rehearsals, graduations and many more.

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available.

Executive Chef:
Todd Ramsey

Private Party Facilities:
There are only a handful of restaurants in the entire country that can offer you a fantastic dining experience as well as provide you with some of the best entertainment around. We have been giving our guests fantastic Food, Wine, & Spirits since 1992.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 7574812888x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Fried Calamari - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Cedar Plank Rockfish - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Black Cherry Limeaide - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Cucumber Mint Martini - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Sesame Tuna - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Parmesan Tuna - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA
Fried Calamari - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA
Cedar Plank Rockfish - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA
Black Cherry Limeaide - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA
Cucumber Mint Martini - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA
Sesame Tuna - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA
Parmesan Tuna - Hot Tuna, Virginia Beach, VA

Hot Tuna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Live Music (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Romantic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Great service. Great atmosph ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere. Great looking people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drove from Newport News with a 7pm re ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We drove from Newport News with a 7pm reservation. When we arrived about 6:15, The guys at the front desk sat us immediately.Our waitress, Rihannon was very attentive and no matter how busy the dinning room was, she was fun!

We opted for the Tuna bites and Buffalo shrimp which was more than enough and both were delicious.

We have eaten at HotTuna several times and it is always worth the drive.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Too much noisy

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Too much noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful restaurant terrific seafood an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful restaurant terrific seafood and special creations like the crab- green tomato stack. We have never had a bad meal there. It is the first place we go to when visiting VB. Staff is outstanding as well. Love it!

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter left us for 20 minutes, forgot ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Waiter left us for 20 minutes, forgot our appetizer & didn't check our empty drinks.

He didn't even realize it until he brought our dinner. Food is always good but over priced.

Manager is not friendly & offered nothing for this poor service.

Not the 1st time this has happened to us there. We had stopped frequenting Hot Tuna but decided to give it another chance. Probably won't go there again to dine. Seems their priority is the bar scene

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

My wife and I have dined at Hot Tuna for ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Hot Tuna for years and the reason we keep going back is simple: The food and the service are exemplary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. At the table we had a va ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was great. At the table we had a variety of apps, beer-battered shrimp, fired ahi.

However, we didn't like the wine list. There was no NEW ZEALAND Sauvignon Blanc. Bring back Matua or another Marlborough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We don't go out often but Restaurant Wee ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We don't go out often but Restaurant Week drew us to Hot Tuna and we were glad we went! The tuna and filet mignon were cooked as ordered and were moist and tender and delicious! We took our waiter's beer and cocktail suggestions and were very happy with them as well. Oh, and the Coconut Cream cake!! Leave room for dessert. Thanks for a wonderful dining experience ! We will be back to see Chad, our excellent waiter, and Hot Tuna again soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I went there on a date. Ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My friend and I went there on a date. Our server Taylor was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable about the menu and a very sweet person. The food was outstanding! We had the blackened tuna bites, gourmet mac and cheese, garlic potatoes and the crab dip. Everything was outstanding- kudos to the chef!!! Will definitely visit again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was good - other than scallop ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything was good - other than scallops had a little grit in them from not being cleaned enough. We'd go back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was ok, service was absolutely poor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was ok, service was absolutely poor!

Entrees brought out ten minutes apart for each person and when it was asked if they could be taken back, the server protested.

will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

It was great, only complain was that my ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was great, only complain was that my wife's and my filet was a little tough, great flavor, just a little tough.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service, which is consiste ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good food and service, which is consistent. Kind of noisy, so hard to have intimate conversations. Only rating 3 stars as on this particular visit, we got stuck at a very small booth (which would have been tight for 4)... We were 5 and they added a chair to the head of the table... Table space was extremely tight and didn't now for a relaxing dinner... Will chalk it up to them being real busy, but surprised/disappointed this is the table we got as we made a reservation in advance. Normally, I would rate them 4-5. Still recommend going to Hot Tuna.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From time of seating to leaving staff wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 29, 2016

From time of seating to leaving staff was very attentive. Good food. Good selections. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice Birthday evening with Friends, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very nice Birthday evening with Friends, food was well prepared and very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food nearby to the Resort Hotel. Th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Good food nearby to the Resort Hotel. The bar is very noisy during happy hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The waitress (123 Shaune) was exceptiona ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The waitress (123 Shaune) was exceptional ! She had to deal with 4 children ages 2,8,10 & 10. Most patrons did not have children which contributed to the ambiance low score. We brought a birthday cake for the 10 year old and she helped serve it, putting on 10 candles & lighting them. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the appetizers especially the grilled avocado . All of our entrees were delicious. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Awesome happy hour appetizers! Love the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesome happy hour appetizers! Love the Oysters Rock!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything. But the wood seared scallops ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything. But the wood seared scallops were the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this restaurant. My cousin, who li ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Loved this restaurant. My cousin, who lives in the area, suggested it. It's a local treasure!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious - we had tuna bit ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was delicious - we had tuna bite appetizers, Ahi tuna, and scallops...all fresh and flavorful. We enjoyed dinner and drinks, moving to the patio to listen to Everyone Loves Tequila rock the house with the amazing Jason Neal on drums. Our server, Colleen, was attentive, friendly, and fun - she kept up with our tab all night and put up with our playfulness. Highly recommended as a great dinner spot for foodies and a vibrant party spot. (Could be improved by a bigger dance floor space and an easier way to access the bathrooms without having to squeeze through a sweaty, cramped dance floor.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Server brought out entrees i ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good food. Server brought out entrees immediately after the appetizer - poor.

Overallgoodmeal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Our server, Colleen, was great! She wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our server, Colleen, was great! She was attentive and was good with our children. The food was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

average food, average service .... good, ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2016

average food, average service .... good, but nothing special

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was delicious! Service was great an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was delicious! Service was great and they were very accommodating to our group!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner! Service was excellent, & ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great dinner! Service was excellent, & food was tasty; highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food & service were outstanding!! We wil ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food & service were outstanding!! We will definitely be going there again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance is great! Service was great ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The ambiance is great! Service was great by Cylie! The buffalo shrimp wasn't what is use to be and the passion fruit sauce needs to go. Everything else was great especially the she crab soup with sherry on the side! We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service and very welcoming!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service and very welcoming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Hot Tuna is very surprising as it is a n ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Hot Tuna is very surprising as it is a nondescript restaurant sitting in a strip mall. But this is really one of the best seafood restaurants in the Virginia Beach area. Great food, lively bar scene. Also, big hang out for our Special Forces service personnel who live and train at local military bases.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

My issue isn't that it wasn't good - it ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 5, 2016

My issue isn't that it wasn't good - it was - it just didn't match the marketing hype. We are from out of town, and leaned heavily on the hype. It's in a nondescript strip mall and is fine once you get inside. Nothing stood out, but nothing was bad. Kids menu and food were subpar, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

It's excellent and the love the food and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2016

It's excellent and the love the food and environment.The staff was great and friendly

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem! Staff was friendlyand the m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Hidden gem! Staff was friendlyand the manager was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was great!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was absolutely superb. Only downer was it was too loud making conversation difficult.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

HOT tuna has been a favorite of ours for ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 25, 2016

HOT tuna has been a favorite of ours for years...they have updated it with outdoor dining and new decor inside......very up to date.....The food is still tasty and varied and generous in amount.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

After seeing Hot Tuna on a banner flying ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 20, 2016

After seeing Hot Tuna on a banner flying over Sandbridge, we decided to check it out online. The menu looked great so had dinner while vacationing nearby. While it did take a bit to get our food, the servers were very nice and had great recommendations, and when the food came we were very pleased! I highly recommend the crab dip appetizer for a lever group! The coconut shrimp appetizer was meal sized and delicious and the scallops were some of the best I've ever had! Hope to visit on our next trip to VA Beach!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food! Service with a smile.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food! Service with a smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been looking at Hot Tuna for a whil ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2016

I've been looking at Hot Tuna for a while now - the menu appealed to the fish lover in me with some fresh and yummy tuna dishes (of course) and some interesting combinations and appetizers. I suggested a friend and I stop in here before a Yelp Elite event nearby and we shared the Edamame appetizer and fish tacos. YUM! I chose the fried mahi tacos with black beans and rice - they were really delicious. Sweet tea was on point as well. I saw a few other items such as their salmon entree and tuna poke I'd like to come back for.

The bar scene is hot here I hear but since I don't drink I can't comment on that except to say at 5pm on a Sunday there was a fair crowd over there if you're into that!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Local Find!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for intimate or family dining. Fresh fish catch (mostly local) always available & prepared to one's liking. Servers are attentive and accommodating. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.