About Hot Tuna

2817 Shore Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Stop by and find out why Southern Living Magazine calls this restaurant "the place to stop when in Virginia Beach". This restaurant is famous for offering the freshest yellowfin tuna available, as well as serving delicious Hereford Organic Beef, homemade pasta dishes, beer battered shrimp, and homemade desserts, such as key lime pie and carrot cake.' - Yahoo Travel

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm-11:00pm. Late Night Menu Wednesday, Friday and Saturday till Midnight

Cross Street:
Great Neck Road/Shore Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 481-2888

Website:
http://www.hottunavb.com/

Entertainment:
Live bands- The best in live local entertainment, every Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights. Please check our website for details.

Catering:
We can cater any function. Birthdays, weddings, rehearsals, graduations and many more.

Parking Details:
Free on site parking available.

Executive Chef:
Todd Ramsey

Private Party Facilities:
There are only a handful of restaurants in the entire country that can offer you a fantastic dining experience as well as provide you with some of the best entertainment around. We have been giving our guests fantastic Food, Wine, & Spirits since 1992.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 7574812888x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Fried Calamari
  • Cedar Plank Rockfish
  • Black Cherry Limeaide
  • Cucumber Mint Martini
  • Sesame Tuna
  • Parmesan Tuna
Fried Calamari
Cedar Plank Rockfish
Black Cherry Limeaide
Cucumber Mint Martini
Sesame Tuna
Parmesan Tuna

Hot Tuna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Virginia
Neighborhood Gem
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Good for Groups (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Hot Spot (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Kid-friendly (13)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Romantic (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food nearby to the Resort Hotel. Th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Good food nearby to the Resort Hotel. The bar is very noisy during happy hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The waitress (123 Shaune) was exceptiona ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The waitress (123 Shaune) was exceptional ! She had to deal with 4 children ages 2,8,10 & 10. Most patrons did not have children which contributed to the ambiance low score. We brought a birthday cake for the 10 year old and she helped serve it, putting on 10 candles & lighting them. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the appetizers especially the grilled avocado . All of our entrees were delicious. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Awesome happy hour appetizers! Love the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesome happy hour appetizers! Love the Oysters Rock!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything. But the wood seared scallops ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything. But the wood seared scallops were the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this restaurant. My cousin, who li ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Loved this restaurant. My cousin, who lives in the area, suggested it. It's a local treasure!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious - we had tuna bit ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was delicious - we had tuna bite appetizers, Ahi tuna, and scallops...all fresh and flavorful. We enjoyed dinner and drinks, moving to the patio to listen to Everyone Loves Tequila rock the house with the amazing Jason Neal on drums. Our server, Colleen, was attentive, friendly, and fun - she kept up with our tab all night and put up with our playfulness. Highly recommended as a great dinner spot for foodies and a vibrant party spot. (Could be improved by a bigger dance floor space and an easier way to access the bathrooms without having to squeeze through a sweaty, cramped dance floor.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Server brought out entrees i ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good food. Server brought out entrees immediately after the appetizer - poor.

Overallgoodmeal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Our server, Colleen, was great! She wa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our server, Colleen, was great! She was attentive and was good with our children. The food was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

average food, average service .... good, ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

average food, average service .... good, but nothing special

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was delicious! Service was great an ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was delicious! Service was great and they were very accommodating to our group!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner! Service was excellent, & ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great dinner! Service was excellent, & food was tasty; highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food & service were outstanding!! We wil ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food & service were outstanding!! We will definitely be going there again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance is great! Service was great ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The ambiance is great! Service was great by Cylie! The buffalo shrimp wasn't what is use to be and the passion fruit sauce needs to go. Everything else was great especially the she crab soup with sherry on the side! We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service and very welcoming!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service and very welcoming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Hot Tuna is very surprising as it is a n ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Hot Tuna is very surprising as it is a nondescript restaurant sitting in a strip mall. But this is really one of the best seafood restaurants in the Virginia Beach area. Great food, lively bar scene. Also, big hang out for our Special Forces service personnel who live and train at local military bases.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

My issue isn't that it wasn't good - it ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My issue isn't that it wasn't good - it was - it just didn't match the marketing hype. We are from out of town, and leaned heavily on the hype. It's in a nondescript strip mall and is fine once you get inside. Nothing stood out, but nothing was bad. Kids menu and food were subpar, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

It's excellent and the love the food and ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It's excellent and the love the food and environment.The staff was great and friendly

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem! Staff was friendlyand the m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Hidden gem! Staff was friendlyand the manager was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was great!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was absolutely superb. Only downer was it was too loud making conversation difficult.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

HOT tuna has been a favorite of ours for ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

HOT tuna has been a favorite of ours for years...they have updated it with outdoor dining and new decor inside......very up to date.....The food is still tasty and varied and generous in amount.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

After seeing Hot Tuna on a banner flying ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

After seeing Hot Tuna on a banner flying over Sandbridge, we decided to check it out online. The menu looked great so had dinner while vacationing nearby. While it did take a bit to get our food, the servers were very nice and had great recommendations, and when the food came we were very pleased! I highly recommend the crab dip appetizer for a lever group! The coconut shrimp appetizer was meal sized and delicious and the scallops were some of the best I've ever had! Hope to visit on our next trip to VA Beach!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food! Service with a smile.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food! Service with a smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been looking at Hot Tuna for a whil ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I've been looking at Hot Tuna for a while now - the menu appealed to the fish lover in me with some fresh and yummy tuna dishes (of course) and some interesting combinations and appetizers. I suggested a friend and I stop in here before a Yelp Elite event nearby and we shared the Edamame appetizer and fish tacos. YUM! I chose the fried mahi tacos with black beans and rice - they were really delicious. Sweet tea was on point as well. I saw a few other items such as their salmon entree and tuna poke I'd like to come back for.

The bar scene is hot here I hear but since I don't drink I can't comment on that except to say at 5pm on a Sunday there was a fair crowd over there if you're into that!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Local Find!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for intimate or family dining. Fresh fish catch (mostly local) always available & prepared to one's liking. Servers are attentive and accommodating. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After hyping Hot Tuna, we have turned cool!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We have previously enjoyed dining at Hot Tuna, so much so that we have convinced others to meet for dinner there. We were looking forward to this visit as soft shell crabs are now in season. What a disappointment!! They were nothing like our previous experience. Our other order was the rock fish, which I had there one month ago. Soft shells were very small, not prepared as well and much more expensive. The rock fish serving was smaller than a month ago and also much higher in price. Both dinners can be had elsewhere for less money and better preperation. The sides are good.

The real bargain is Happy Hour with low prices on drinks and appetizers. By ordering entrees, we subsidized the Happy Hour food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

great food around fire pit. 5 Stars food

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Fun time around the fire pit great food. Loved it. Wished I lived there. Would definitely be a regular. Awesome job Hot Tuna!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

not as good as usual

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

This is a restaurant that we usually go to for a good fast meal. Both my husband and I were surprised that our meals were terrible this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Always a favorite!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Hot Tuna has long been on my list of favorite Virginia Beach restaurants, and this time did not disappoint. From appetizers to main courses to dessert, there is something for everyone, and special requests are not a problem. Even though the restaurant was quite busy, service was very good. There are a number of reasonably priced dishes, as well as some upscale options, and everything is of excellent quality. Conveniently located and easily accessible from all parts of the city, and ample parking is a plus.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Favorite in Virginia Beach

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This is the best seafood restaurant in Virginia Beach. Great service, terrific food, modern vibe. I visit the area each year for a weekend getaway or two and head right to Hot Tuna each time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great find

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

loved the restaurant hate that I get told how long a review I must write

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The tuna appetizer was out of this world ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The tuna appetizer was out of this world!Sautéed string beans, and hamburger, were also amazingly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing place but always packed! Menu is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Amazing place but always packed! Menu is a little pricey but we haven't been disappointed with the food yet! Our server seemed overwhelmed and we waited a little for refills but other than that everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

A Class Act

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We're locals and dine at Hot Tuna frequently. The service is fantastic and the food is always spot on. There's always a good vibe when we dine there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mediocre at best

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I had always heard good reviews so when a relative came to town and was staying at the resort across the street I thought it would be fun to try. We may have hit them on an off night, but our server was unfriendly and the food didn't have any flavor. Our party of six each ordered something different and the only one happy was the one that ordered the filet mignon. The tuna appetizer was the best dish we ordered. Thankfully the mojitos were tasty. Not worth the hour drive from Suffolk.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Girls night

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Made reservations for fire pit seating. Never had issue before. Was told by hostess that they do not reserve the fire pits. At least 3 other times we were able to reserve one. Asked if this was new but again told they never have reserved the fire pits. Offered us seat in restaurant. Since we were having a girls night/happy hour, the restaurant was not out best fit. We ended up finding a nice could that let the 4 of us sit with them at the fire out. We had to ask at least 3 times and wait almost 30 minutes to get it lit. This was not the best experience. But we made the most of it. Most likely will reserve a table elsewhere fir future girls night/happy hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

I got the grilled cedar plank Rock fish ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I got the grilled cedar plank Rock fish and my wife had the seared scallops with crab... Bithe were amazing!

As for the noise level, last night was the first time in the 10 plus years we have been going there that we had a table towards the back of the restaurant so it was great. Normally we are closer to the bar and it is too noisy, so depending on your preference you can choose wisely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. But very expensive for what ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food. But very expensive for what we got. Enjoyed the ambiance a lot but not sure that my scallops were worth $36. $115 overall before tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

I had dinner with my family for VA Beach Restaurant week. I had the salmon which was delicious, husband had the tuna and he loved it, my daughter had the shrimp and zucchini noodles. She like it very much. The eggplant and portabella "meatballs" were awesome and so was the coconot cake. Enjoyed every bit. The service was great! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the plank salmon had a fantastic flavor, ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

the plank salmon had a fantastic flavor, the crab soup was outstanding and we loved the grilled avacado from the happy hour menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.