About Hot Tin Roof

0 Duval Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Hot Tin Roof features bright vibrant colors indicative of the overall style of the Ocean Key Resort & Spa. The restaurant features indoor seating for 60 and an outdoor deck overlooking Key West Harbor, accommodating up to 40 people.

It's a mélange of tastes and fragrances, combining traditional Florida foods with Latin, Caribbean and tropical influences. It's funky, fun, and fresh with a broad range of tastes and sensations. The restaurant features a relaxed elegance with dramatic water and sunset views.

ATTENTION: Please advise that outside seating is limited and in very high demand. Requesting outside seating in advance is no way a guarantee, but we will do our best at accommodating requests at the door on a first come first serve basis. Generally reservations made in within the first 1/ 2 hour of opening time and 2 hours after opening time will have the best opportunity of outdoor seating.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin / Spanish, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:30am - 11:30am

Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 1:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-7701

Website:
http://www.oceankey.com/

Parking Details:
Off street parking as well as several public lots, including Mallory Square.

Executive Chef:
Scott Maurer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Caramelized Grouper
Napoleon
Pork Empanadas & Guava Bbq Sauce
Scallop Risotto
Old Fashioned
Lobster Eggs Ben
Berry Crumble
charcuterie
Coconut Flan
Scallop Picatta
Key Lime Pie
mac n cheese
Sataki (cooking)
Creme Brulee
Latin Braised Short Ribs
Shrimp Gumbo Soup
Ceviche
Sataki
Pino
Light Up Menu
Bloody Mango
Popover
Shrimp Tacos
Seared Diver Scallops
Snapper Ceviche
Ultimate Burger With Fries
Shrimp Ri
Parmesan Popover
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad
Yellowfin Tuna
Pan Seared Mahi Mahi
Skillet Chorizo Appetizer
Fish Sataki Small Plate
Mozzarella And Tomato Salad With Tuna
Seared Jamaican Jerk Chicken Strips
Scallops Risotto
The Hot Tin Paella
Surf'n'Turf
Chef's Special
Lobster mac n' cheese

Hot Tin Roof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Key West / Florida Keys
Outdoor Dining
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
9 More
Scenic View
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Ambiance
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Outdoor Dining
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Scenic View
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Scenic View (79)
Special Occasion (68)
Great for Outdoor Dining (66)
See All
Romantic (66)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Hot Spot (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1054 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bursting with vitamin C!!!

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined 21 hours ago

Bursting with vitamin C!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great meal. Wonderful sunset.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great meal. Wonderful sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I've ever had. I a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. I ate way past fullness because it tasted so good. My husband and I really enjoyed everything about Hot Tin Roof. The service was perfect. The bathroom was fabulous. And we saw the sunset from where we were sitting. Very special. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The description was Latin. There was abs ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The description was Latin. There was absolutely nothing Latin about this place. Very limited menu choices and sub par food. Definitely not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We have been going there for over 8 yrs ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have been going there for over 8 yrs

So on our 11 year anniversary we decided to go back

they had changed their menu which is fine

"try something new" you know

But even. There "corporate" menu sucks now

-Their drink menu /liquor selection had diminished couldn't even order a simple apple martini...

-Took Way too long between four people to figure out who is going to serve us ...,

-But most of all the bartender was very rude and hasty

-The manager tried to make it right he would've even take care of our meal and drinks , he was very sympathetic with us and promised to handle the staff

but we decided we wanted to be happy on our anniversary so we went somewhere else.

I firmly do not recommend this place any longer

Really sad. I use to loveeeee that Resturant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Love this place. Unfortunately there wer ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love this place. Unfortunately there were kids there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ANOTHER AMAZING BRUNCH! SERVICE IS OUTS ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

ANOTHER AMAZING BRUNCH! SERVICE IS OUTSTANDING AND SO WAS THE FOOD!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant with a fantastic a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very nice restaurant with a fantastic ambient. We did enjoy the food (seafood) and the excellent service.

Many Thanks

Nicolas & Lara

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow ! We went for our ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was very slow ! We went for our anniversary and they sat us next to a table of 20 ladies that were have a pre wedding party so loud!

Also the band at the pier bar so so load also!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Despite having a reservation made severa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Despite having a reservation made several days ahead, our reservation meant nothing. We had to wait over an hour in the bar. I noted on the reservation it was for my wife's birthday and we'd be entertaining guests and wanted a table with a view.....nothing was accommodated! The hostess was unfriendly and the manager never stopped by or apologized for our wait etc. Chip our server though was outstanding and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

On the plus side the food and the view, ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

On the plus side the food and the view, especially of the sunset, are both great. On the negative side were the wait staff. The cocktail waitress made us feel like she didn't care we were there. The waitress was better, but slow and inattentive. The restaurant is billed as finer dining and it was my wife's birthday so we wanted a special evening. My wife and I love trying new places so we don't regret making the reservation, but probably will not be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

I have eaten at Hot Tin many times, and ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I have eaten at Hot Tin many times, and never disappointed. Great food and outstanding service. The portions are smaller than anywhere else, but I like that I can actually finish my meal. Their small plates are awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was a great find. We made reservati ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was a great find. We made reservations and were offered seating outside or inside by a window table. We chose outside as a storm was coming and it was not warm. The hostess was fantastic and was very patient and helpful with our seating. She came back serveral times to check to see if we were ok. Our waiter again was not very friendly and had to work at being pleasant. We chose the small plate menu and had 3 entree's, crab cake, conch chowder, and calamari. All were fantastic and portions were larger than anticipated. The best part was the window panels on n the porch. They were on sensors so when the wind and rain changed directions they would automatically go up and down so you stayed dry! We left our table and had after dinner drinks at the bar area. Our bar tender was fantastic (sorry forgot name), but she made a superb Expresso Martini! We almost went back after our dining at Latitudes the next night! We would definitely recommend this stop while visiting Key West. Make reservations we were fortunate the cruise ships were not in and it was during the week, so we had a choice of times and seating!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

You couldn't ask for a more beautiful pl ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

You couldn't ask for a more beautiful place to dine- ESPECIALLY at sunset!! The food was incredible, the wine list comprehensive, and the staff accommodating and professional. Excellent choice for a romantic date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent as always. One of our favorite ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent as always. One of our favorite spots on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal. Try the infused vodka d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Wonderful meal. Try the infused vodka drink. Everything was outstanding. Friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

HTR is an annual event for us. The food ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

HTR is an annual event for us. The food & drinks are great, the outside tables are great to enjoy the sunset (if you want to skip Mallory Sq), and the service is good. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This is one of the best locations in Key ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is one of the best locations in Key West to watch the sunset, especially from the balcony...even though the average-sounding band on Sunset Pier was a little loud. The next best thing was the service, which was friendly and attentive from reception to waiter. On the other hand, the food was just good. The small bowl of conch chowder was rich in tomato flavor, with tiny pieces of conch; but the paella was rather bland and lacking in saffron flavor. The texture of the rice was more like a risotto than true paella, all of which dampened our enthusiasm and enjoyment. The range of the wine by the glass selection was pretty good. So, bottom line is we would recommend this place to our friends for the scenery, the ambiance and the service...and hope they find dishes they like better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, we had a pretty good experience ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Overall, we had a pretty good experience. Our waiter was not very attentive. My biggest pet-peeve is having my glass of water run empty. Key West is very hot and humid in the summer and water is like your best friend. Also, if you have kids that like to drink soda, it is not fountain soda - it's bottle...so no free refills.

They have an interesting menu that allows you to order several small plates or large plates with some smaller sides. Our food was not as warm as I would have preferred, but it was still good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Service was a step above. Everyone was f ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was a step above. Everyone was friendly and was always there to help you.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent experience... our an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had an excellent experience... our anniversary and her birthday was spent in the best place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice and personal commutations was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very nice and personal commutations was great. Food was great and the scenic view is like no other.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent sunset view, food and service. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent sunset view, food and service. By far the best Key West dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another smashing success by the Ocean Ke ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Another smashing success by the Ocean Key Resort in creating a truly pleasurable and unique dining experience. Brunch, ordered off the menu, as much as you wish to sample or re-order, for a fixed price. The selection has something for everyone and the food is excellent. The service is impeccable and if you want to have a great brunch in Key West, Hot Tin Roof is the place. If you need any proof, there were as many locals on a Sunday morning having brunch as there were tourists. Nicely done, Hot Tin, nicely done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations, arrived just before ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had reservations, arrived just before our time. Seated quickly, and our first order taken. A little later the food arrived. The waiter asked what we wanted for the next course. We ordered, and no food for 20 mins. Mine did not come at all. When I did ask, I was told it was ordered. After that the waiter never returned.

I found the manager, and informed him. He deducted 50 per cent. They charged adult price for an eight yr old, and a child's price for a 2yr old. Over 300 dollars.

&

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

We had a beautiful dinner there with exc ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a beautiful dinner there with exceptional service. We were guided through the menu by Chip who recommended the scallop risotto amongst other delicious apps. We would def go back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Out door seating was prime for viewing t ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Out door seating was prime for viewing the sunset. Friendly staff. Excellent tapas. Refreshing signature drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at Hot Tin Roof on July 3. We re ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We ate at Hot Tin Roof on July 3. We requested an outdoor table while making the reservation. However, it was too hot to eat outside. We were shown 2 inside tables that we could choose from (the restaurant was basically empty). We chose one and then proceeded to dine all while the restaurant in no way was filled up. It would have been more enjoyable to sit in one of the circular booths but we were not given that option. All our dining choices were very good and our waiter was extremely attentive. We would return but now that we have seen the layout, we know what to ask for. Just confused as to why we weren't allowed to sit there when they remained empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

When on vacation in Key West, we always ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

When on vacation in Key West, we always make it a point to visit Hot Tin Roof for dinner. Great food, great service, and a great view of the sunset if you choose. Both indoor and outdoor seating. Wonderful local fresh fish every day, good wine choices and deserts. Will go there again next year!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food outstanding service good but a tad ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food outstanding service good but a tad rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This place is the perfect spot for honey ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place is the perfect spot for honeymooners, or any special occasion for that matter. I have lived in Key West for 16 years, and I have always loved this place. You feel like you're dining on the water, it's so close to the ocean. Plus, the sunset is the icing on the cake. The only problem I have is deciding what to order, last time we shared 9 courses and two bottles of champagne. Every minute was phenomenal! Thank you, we will be back many, many more times!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone, from the host, to our server, ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everyone, from the host, to our server, to the bus staff was excellent! Food was even better than I remembered. And they were more than happy to give me many (off menu) vegetarian options. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HOT TIN ROOF!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and the atmosphere were grea ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The service and the atmosphere were great, The food was just OK.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing sunset view from the balcony! De ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Amazing sunset view from the balcony! Delicious food with a Latin flair which was exactly what we were looking for in key west. Excellent service and would absolutely return again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Food portions are app ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent service. Food portions are appropriate for "normal" diets. The food tasted amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Don't usually throw 5's around but this ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Don't usually throw 5's around but this was our second time here and it was great all around. Sitting on the patio for the sunset topped it all off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a birthday party, and the entir ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for a birthday party, and the entire staff was welcoming and attentive. The food was amazing and the drinks were delicious. The bartender is one of the best on the island. Every time we are in Key West we go. There is no better place for brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special trip to the keys for ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This was a special trip to the keys for my husband and I. The Hot Tin Roof was recommended and it was fantastic. Pat ( I believe that is her name ) the bartender was Fabulous... We had a fantastic evening and can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Scott prepared the fish that we cau ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Chef Scott prepared the fish that we caught superbly! He is amazing! Go see him!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View doesn't make up for food and service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I came in with high hopes for a fine dining experience on our vacation. I had been to a wedding at the hotel's pier a couple years ago and it was amazing.

Boy, were we let down. Drinks came out at a painfully slow pace, including reorders. Diet cokes and gin martinis are not exactly rocket surgery. Menu knowledge was lacking with our server, who was an otherwise nice young lady. Furthermore, we had an early seating and the restaurant was not near full until we were finishing up.

To slip in a positive, the water guy was really on point, almost too on point. One sip and the kid was on you with a carafe like you may spontaneously combust should your glass be emptied.

Food was dry and bland. My roasted veal loin being more of a side to the pasta, which itself was actually good. My wife had the airline chicken breast and remarked that chicken breasts on an actual airplane were more flavorful and less dry.

We opted not to stay for dessert and risk further disappointment.

I'm fortunate enough to travel a lot and have eaten great meals from expensive affairs to inexpensive local dishes at mismatched picnic sets in what looked like an abandoned lot.

If considering Hot Tin Roof, head a few blocks in to town and find that conch joint on the abandoned looking lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.