About Hot Tin Roof

0 Duval Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Hot Tin Roof features bright vibrant colors indicative of the overall style of the Ocean Key Resort & Spa. The restaurant features indoor seating for 60 and an outdoor deck overlooking Key West Harbor, accommodating up to 40 people.

"It's a mélange of tastes and fragrances, combining traditional Florida foods with Latin, Caribbean and tropical influences. It's funky, fun, and fresh with a broad range of tastes and sensations. The restaurant features a relaxed elegance with dramatic water and sunset views.

ATTENTION: Please advise that outside seating is limited and in very high demand. Requesting outside seating in advance is no way a guarantee, but we will do our best at accommodating requests at the door on a first come first serve basis. Generally reservations made in within the first 1/ 2 hour of opening time and 2 hours after opening time will have the best opportunity of outdoor seating.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin / Spanish, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:30am - 11:30am
Saturday Brunch:11:30 - 1:30pm (starting 1/1/2016)
Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 1:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-7701

Website:
http://www.oceankey.com/

Parking Details:
Off street parking as well as several public lots, including Mallory Square.

Executive Chef:
Scott Maurer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Hot Tin Roof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Scenic View
Key West / Florida Keys
5 More
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Outdoor Dining
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Scenic View
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

scenic view (112)
great for outdoor dining (102)
romantic (91)
See All
special occasion (83)
fit for foodies (57)
hot spot (26)
great for brunch (24)
notable wine list (23)
good for groups (20)
neighborhood gem (17)
great for lunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
999 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5

the brunch is great with endless bloody ...

Dined 4 days ago

the brunch is great with endless bloody Mary bar and mimossas! I like ala carte dining too!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food at this restaurant is outstandi ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food at this restaurant is outstanding! It's by far the best we had in Key West, and we did try several other good restaurants including Latitudes on Sunset Key. You won't have the pristine view of the sunset from the Hot Tin Roof, but the view is great and the food is very exceptional. Don't miss the Sataki that melts in your mouth or the clams and mussels. These guys know how to cook clams! So tender and tasty that are hard to resist and you keep wanting more. The paella is also nice and juicy while cooked to order. Well worth the wait!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for that special occasion

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food with an even better veiw. The is difently a higher class establishment but well worth the price for that special occasion dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Hostess was exceedingly pleasant and acc ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Hostess was exceedingly pleasant and accommodating. Service was excellent. Most of the food was very good. Scallops, lobster & shrimp were well prepared however steak was over cooked and lacking in flavor. Beautiful views for sunset. Nice overall experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

So lovely!

Dined on May 16, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Hot Tin Roof! The food was really great but the real gem was the Key Lime Pie! The best on the planet I am sure!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bar was lively and fun (thanks to Sheila ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Bar was lively and fun (thanks to Sheila and Nate (Cinnamon)...Adam found us the perfect booth for dining and our server Ellie was a sweetheart! My companions had the melt in your mouth filet while I feasted on the decadent lobster mac and cheese. Scenic views, fabulous food, and a great staff made for a unforgettable night. I would highly recommend Hot Tin Roof and we all agreed we would go back on our next trip to Key West!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was delicious. I had the snappe ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The meal was delicious. I had the snapper with goat cheese mashed potatoes and my wife had the swordfish with the yuca fries. We sat right on the water, was able to see the sun setting, and was able to hear great music from the bar below. The best restaurant in Key West. Yes the menu is pricey, but for an special occasion, it is worth it...

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

we were there for our anniversary.. unab ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

we were there for our anniversary.. unable to get outside dining as tables were all reserved. Inside a bit noisy...food was great...a bit pricey.. waitress service was good.. great location...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and our waiter was fantastic! ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food and our waiter was fantastic! Get the key lime pie... Yum!!!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Just disappointed

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was good but service was terrible. Our server had no idea what the food he was serving was. When we attend a higher class restaurant we expect a lot of our servers and we tip accordingly. Sadly based on our server, we won't be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This 's beyond any doubt one of be best ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This 's beyond any doubt one of be best restaurants in Key West Sea food here is a must do. The staff is very accommodating and friedly. View is fantastic. When we got there, there was no outside seating , but for desert they did move us out. Try th heir Key Lime pie . If you are into coffee, give the coffee martini a try. LA

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

birthday that went south

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was terrible, food was alright, not recommend

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Sunset/ Okay food

Dined on May 7, 2016

The restaurant has the best view of the sunset. It has the perfect amount of people watching from boats on the water yet secluded enough to have a romantic dinner. The food is expensive and okay, nothing amazing. The drinks were excellent and the key lime pie was some of the best during our trip.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Time Here

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

This is the first time here out of the many years we have been coming to KW. Of course the night we picked for dinner with a sunset view was the one day it rained during our stay ... but again, how bad can it be since we are in KW? The dinner was outstanding ... we had the chef's special of steak, lobster, shrimp, and scallops with roasted potato wedges. We could not resist the Key Lime pie and it was amazing ... probably one of the best we have had over the years while in KW. You cannot go wrong with dinner here and we will be back on our next stay in KW at Thanksgiving. Our server was very attentive and pleasant ... she was great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood at its finest

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We were celebrating some special birthdays and visiting the key west area for the first time. Food and service was exceptional Sitting outside and wat hing the sunset made it all the more exceptional. Definitely a great find

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Look No Further.

Dined on May 1, 2016

If you are looking for a romantic atmosphere with amazing views of the sunset for dinner, this restaurant has exactly what you are looking for. The restaurant is darker than most, but the menus light up. The server was fairly attentive overall, the later the evening went, the less we saw him. Be cautious about outside dining when loud bands playing at the Pier Bar below, it gets pretty loud. We sat inside right at the window and it was really enjoyable. There was a good wine list, food was good (ceviche, crab cake & grilled shrimp) and Key Lime Pie was outstanding!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fanatstic!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything about Hot Tin Roof is fantastic! Food, service, setting, and the light up menus! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place. My new favorite

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great place. My new favorite

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great View

Dined on April 29, 2016

Celebrated my boyfriend's 30th birthday here. Server was so kind and very attentive. The view even from the inside dining area was beautiful. We had a window 2 top table. Food, service and view was great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

I had swordfish very good

Dined on April 29, 2016

I had swordfish very good

food4
ambience4
service5

Really nice place to watch sunset. Make ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Really nice place to watch sunset. Make sure to book in advance; they don't have availability on the same day for sunset times. Good food and great service

food5
ambience5
service5

First time visiting. Excellent service a ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

First time visiting. Excellent service and food. Waiter recommended the special of the day - mixed grill. It was spectacular.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hot Tin Toof-a cool place to go

Dined on April 28, 2016

Romantic dinner after a romantic sunset sail. Food and service was excellent. My opinion as a lover of Key Lime Pie: fantastic! Really inviting ambience inside and a great place to watch the sunset if seated outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend recommended this for a sunset d ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

A friend recommended this for a sunset dinner. We couldn't have been happier with the choice. Hot Tin Roof is situated on the second floor providing for a spectacular elevated view of the famous Key West sunset. The service was prompt, courteous and presented an outstanding wine pairing for our meal. The ahi was served with a small hibachi for your own personal cooking experience adding a flame of excitement to the evening. So much fun and the quality of the fish was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special occasion

Dined on April 24, 2016

Celebrating our wedding anniversary with friends married the same day and year. Requested outside dining to see sunset. Were seated at a perfect table with an unobstructed view of the water and sunset even though the restaurant was very crowded. Service was excellent. At least 3 people came by to wish us happy anniversary and we also received complimentary champagne. Food was excellent. Only drawback was 2 large groups were also on the patio and they were fairly loud, but did not detract from the overall experience. Many thanks to the staff for making our celebration special.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT SUNSET

Dined on April 23, 2016

I HAVE EATEN HERE FOR BRUNCH AND SEVERAL DINNERS OVER THE YEARS, THE PATIO DINING HAS TO BE THE BEST IN KEY WEST, AWESOME SUNSET AND VIEWS. SERVICE I HAVE TO SAY WAS VERY GOOD, NEVER HAD TO ASK FOR WATER REFILL HE WAS RIGHT ON IT. HAD A NICE BAROLO, GREAT KEY LIME PIE FOR DESSERT, BEST TABLE IN THE HOUSE WHICH I BOOKED TWO WEEKS IN ADVANCE ON OPEN TABLE AND WAS GIVEN AS REQUESTED. ONLY COMPLAINT I WOULD HAVE IS THE MIXED GRILL WE HAD, A LITTLE ON THE SMALL SIDE FOR $110. COMBO PLATTER OF SHRIMP, SCALLOPS, LOBSTER TAIL, AND THIN NY STRIP WHICH WE ORDERED MED RARE. CAME OUT WELL THE FIRST TIME, MED THE SECOND BUT TOUGH AS SHOE LEATHER, NOT A GOOD CUT. WOULD RECOMMEND REPLACING WITH A FILET EVEN IF IT BUMPED THE PRICE 5-10.. ALL FOOD TASTED FINE OTHERWISE....

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not so hot

Dined on April 21, 2016

So, when I made my reservation and was told I would be given a specific table only to arrive and be informed that tables are on a first come basis, it kinda soured the whole experience. Food was so so.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very average

Dined on April 18, 2016

Food was very average. The service was ok and the atmosphere was ok as well. Stone crab was overpriced.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were in Key West on vacation and at the recommendation of our daughter we tried the restaurant. It didn't disappoint. We were very happy!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding!

Dined on April 17, 2016

The atmosphere outside, the service and the food were all outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best part of our weekend

Dined on April 17, 2016

The Manager was polite and helpful and personable. The Staff was on top of everything and working very hard. The food was interesting and tasted great! Great value for the pre-fix price. Unlimited mimosa and bloody mary as well as all you care to enjoy food items. We spent 2 leisurely hours and loved the entire brunch. Beautiful views of the harbor. We WILL go back on our next trip!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service3

Food was just OK. The view outside was ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was just OK. The view outside was fantastic. Service was fast. It turned out to be one of most expensive and least memorable meals.

food5
ambience5
service5

Really great food and cool atmosphere.

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Really great food and cool atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome view of the sunset, amazing food ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Awesome view of the sunset, amazing food, wonderful service, and even got to watch a wedding below us.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Very Disappointing

Dined on April 14, 2016

My wife & I were celebrating our 10th anniversary and decided to dine at Hot Tin Roof. We read a lot of great reviews but we're very disappointed. The staff lacks sincerity (very scripted) and everything felt very rushed. The food was good but it fell short compared to other reviews we read. There are a lot of better choices in Key West.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service & Food!

Dined on April 11, 2016

My husband and I dined here two days in a row. The food and view was amazing. I ate the grouper and requested it to be fried. The executive chef Austin ensured that I got it exactly as I requested it. I can't wait to return in December. I will definitely recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent dinner location

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Great location on water and had requested outside table but as cooler got a nice inside booth. Great menu and food was excellent although we had been eating so much other great seafood in Key West. Service was just OK, our Russian server was bit annoying and not so attentive and had to keep asking for more waters and pouring our own wine. But very impressed that owner/manager recognized this and came and apologized and comped some items. Restrooms very lacking and a line every time we went, how can that be acceptable in a restaurant this size? But will certainly go back when in KW again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, drinks were perfect, ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Food was delicious, drinks were perfect, view amazing, but the service was definitely the best part. Top-notch for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Just had dinner here last night. I give ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Just had dinner here last night. I give it a 5 stars for the amazing service. They went over & above to make it a great evening. The food and sunset views are amazing too but nothing beats great people!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine Dining, Beautiful View of sunset

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great dining and fabulous service, if arranged right you can see a beautiful sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.