About Hot Tin Roof

0 Duval Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Hot Tin Roof features bright vibrant colors indicative of the overall style of the Ocean Key Resort & Spa. The restaurant features indoor seating for 60 and an outdoor deck overlooking Key West Harbor, accommodating up to 40 people.

"It's a mélange of tastes and fragrances, combining traditional Florida foods with Latin, Caribbean and tropical influences. It's funky, fun, and fresh with a broad range of tastes and sensations. The restaurant features a relaxed elegance with dramatic water and sunset views.

ATTENTION: Please advise that outside seating is limited and in very high demand. Requesting outside seating in advance is no way a guarantee, but we will do our best at accommodating requests at the door on a first come first serve basis. Generally reservations made in within the first 1/ 2 hour of opening time and 2 hours after opening time will have the best opportunity of outdoor seating.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin / Spanish, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:30am - 11:30am
Saturday Brunch:11:30 - 1:30pm (starting 1/1/2016)
Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 1:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-7701

Website:
http://www.oceankey.com/

Parking Details:
Off street parking as well as several public lots, including Mallory Square.

Executive Chef:
Scott Maurer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Napoleon
Caramelized Grouper
Pork Empanadas & Guava Bbq Sauce
Scallop Risotto
Old Fashioned
Lobster Eggs Ben
Berry Crumble
charcuterie
Key Lime Pie
Scallop Picatta
Coconut Flan
mac n cheese
Sataki (cooking)
Creme Brulee
Latin Braised Short Ribs
Shrimp Gumbo Soup
Ceviche
Sataki
Pino
Light Up Menu
Bloody Mango
Popover
Shrimp Tacos
Seared Diver Scallops
Ultimate Burger With Fries
Snapper Ceviche
Shrimp Ri
Parmesan Popover
Pan Seared Mahi Mahi
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad
Yellowfin Tuna
Skillet Chorizo Appetizer
Fish Sataki Small Plate
Mozzarella And Tomato Salad With Tuna
Seared Jamaican Jerk Chicken Strips
Surf'n'Turf
Scallops Risotto
The Hot Tin Paella
Lobster mac n' cheese
Chef's Special

Hot Tin Roof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Key West / Florida Keys
Outdoor Dining
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
9 More
Scenic View
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Ambiance
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Outdoor Dining
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Scenic View
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

scenic view (91)
great for outdoor dining (79)
romantic (74)
See All
special occasion (72)
fit for foodies (39)
great for brunch (21)
hot spot (18)
good for groups (16)
notable wine list (15)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1032 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, we had a pretty good experience ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall, we had a pretty good experience. Our waiter was not very attentive. My biggest pet-peeve is having my glass of water run empty. Key West is very hot and humid in the summer and water is like your best friend. Also, if you have kids that like to drink soda, it is not fountain soda - it's bottle...so no free refills.

They have an interesting menu that allows you to order several small plates or large plates with some smaller sides. Our food was not as warm as I would have preferred, but it was still good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Service was a step above. Everyone was f ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service was a step above. Everyone was friendly and was always there to help you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent experience... our an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had an excellent experience... our anniversary and her birthday was spent in the best place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice and personal commutations was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very nice and personal commutations was great. Food was great and the scenic view is like no other.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent sunset view, food and service. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent sunset view, food and service. By far the best Key West dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another smashing success by the Ocean Ke ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Another smashing success by the Ocean Key Resort in creating a truly pleasurable and unique dining experience. Brunch, ordered off the menu, as much as you wish to sample or re-order, for a fixed price. The selection has something for everyone and the food is excellent. The service is impeccable and if you want to have a great brunch in Key West, Hot Tin Roof is the place. If you need any proof, there were as many locals on a Sunday morning having brunch as there were tourists. Nicely done, Hot Tin, nicely done.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations, arrived just before ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had reservations, arrived just before our time. Seated quickly, and our first order taken. A little later the food arrived. The waiter asked what we wanted for the next course. We ordered, and no food for 20 mins. Mine did not come at all. When I did ask, I was told it was ordered. After that the waiter never returned.

I found the manager, and informed him. He deducted 50 per cent. They charged adult price for an eight yr old, and a child's price for a 2yr old. Over 300 dollars.

&

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

We had a beautiful dinner there with exc ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a beautiful dinner there with exceptional service. We were guided through the menu by Chip who recommended the scallop risotto amongst other delicious apps. We would def go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Out door seating was prime for viewing t ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Out door seating was prime for viewing the sunset. Friendly staff. Excellent tapas. Refreshing signature drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at Hot Tin Roof on July 3. We re ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We ate at Hot Tin Roof on July 3. We requested an outdoor table while making the reservation. However, it was too hot to eat outside. We were shown 2 inside tables that we could choose from (the restaurant was basically empty). We chose one and then proceeded to dine all while the restaurant in no way was filled up. It would have been more enjoyable to sit in one of the circular booths but we were not given that option. All our dining choices were very good and our waiter was extremely attentive. We would return but now that we have seen the layout, we know what to ask for. Just confused as to why we weren't allowed to sit there when they remained empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

When on vacation in Key West, we always ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

When on vacation in Key West, we always make it a point to visit Hot Tin Roof for dinner. Great food, great service, and a great view of the sunset if you choose. Both indoor and outdoor seating. Wonderful local fresh fish every day, good wine choices and deserts. Will go there again next year!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food outstanding service good but a tad ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food outstanding service good but a tad rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This place is the perfect spot for honey ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place is the perfect spot for honeymooners, or any special occasion for that matter. I have lived in Key West for 16 years, and I have always loved this place. You feel like you're dining on the water, it's so close to the ocean. Plus, the sunset is the icing on the cake. The only problem I have is deciding what to order, last time we shared 9 courses and two bottles of champagne. Every minute was phenomenal! Thank you, we will be back many, many more times!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone, from the host, to our server, ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everyone, from the host, to our server, to the bus staff was excellent! Food was even better than I remembered. And they were more than happy to give me many (off menu) vegetarian options. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HOT TIN ROOF!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and the atmosphere were grea ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The service and the atmosphere were great, The food was just OK.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing sunset view from the balcony! De ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Amazing sunset view from the balcony! Delicious food with a Latin flair which was exactly what we were looking for in key west. Excellent service and would absolutely return again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Food portions are app ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent service. Food portions are appropriate for "normal" diets. The food tasted amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Don't usually throw 5's around but this ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Don't usually throw 5's around but this was our second time here and it was great all around. Sitting on the patio for the sunset topped it all off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a birthday party, and the entir ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for a birthday party, and the entire staff was welcoming and attentive. The food was amazing and the drinks were delicious. The bartender is one of the best on the island. Every time we are in Key West we go. There is no better place for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Scott prepared the fish that we cau ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Chef Scott prepared the fish that we caught superbly! He is amazing! Go see him!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View doesn't make up for food and service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I came in with high hopes for a fine dining experience on our vacation. I had been to a wedding at the hotel's pier a couple years ago and it was amazing.

Boy, were we let down. Drinks came out at a painfully slow pace, including reorders. Diet cokes and gin martinis are not exactly rocket surgery. Menu knowledge was lacking with our server, who was an otherwise nice young lady. Furthermore, we had an early seating and the restaurant was not near full until we were finishing up.

To slip in a positive, the water guy was really on point, almost too on point. One sip and the kid was on you with a carafe like you may spontaneously combust should your glass be emptied.

Food was dry and bland. My roasted veal loin being more of a side to the pasta, which itself was actually good. My wife had the airline chicken breast and remarked that chicken breasts on an actual airplane were more flavorful and less dry.

We opted not to stay for dessert and risk further disappointment.

I'm fortunate enough to travel a lot and have eaten great meals from expensive affairs to inexpensive local dishes at mismatched picnic sets in what looked like an abandoned lot.

If considering Hot Tin Roof, head a few blocks in to town and find that conch joint on the abandoned looking lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We were visiting Key West and were recom ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We were visiting Key West and were recommended Hot Tin Roof by the bartender at our guesthouse. We shared some tapas style dishes which were all delicious however it was the Key Lime Pie that we were really looking for and weren't disappointed.

Lovely restaurant, great food and service and the views for sunset were really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch in the Keys

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great experience from beginning to end. Upon checkin they offered us one of the unlimited mimosas (any flavor you can imagine) & a Bloody Mary bar to die for ( shrimp, bacon & all the usual fixins). When we sat down at our great view of Sunset key and the waterfront we were told how the ordering of food worked. Our group each took turns trying different small plates plus the seafood tower. All the food we tasted was wonderful.

Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for brunch. The view was s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were there for brunch. The view was spectacular and the raw bar selection was great. You can't beat the price for unlimited mimosas, bloody Mary's and Bellini's. I would highly recommend it, just make sure to make an early enough reservation to enjoy all the selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, excellent.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

A little over priced for the food/portions but the views were incredible. On the night that we were there, there happened to be a large group of 10-12 people that apparently didn't care there were others on the small outside deck trying to enjoy a nice quite sunset dinner. That is not the restaurants fault. We didn't complain.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall experience was great!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Overall experience was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been visiting this restaurant fo ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We have been visiting this restaurant for years. This last visit was terrible! Food was poor, drinks were ok. The service was good, short of the hostess who was colder than Elsa from Frozen. Totally disappointed to the extent that that was our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Great restaurant!

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We loved the Hot Tin Roof! Food was absolutely amazing and the wait staff were very knowledgeable about the menu. We got the crab cake appetizer (i highly highly recommend this!) the short ribs and grouper for dinner which were delicious and ended our dinner with great key lime pie! I would absolutely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch in Key West small unlimited ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Best brunch in Key West small unlimited tapas and bottomless mimosas and Bloody Mary bar for 49 dollars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the brunch is great with endless bloody ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

the brunch is great with endless bloody Mary bar and mimossas! I like ala carte dining too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room . I definitely would return to try more dishes. The small plates were great and there signature cocktails were a smash.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food at this restaurant is outstandi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food at this restaurant is outstanding! It's by far the best we had in Key West, and we did try several other good restaurants including Latitudes on Sunset Key. You won't have the pristine view of the sunset from the Hot Tin Roof, but the view is great and the food is very exceptional. Don't miss the Sataki that melts in your mouth or the clams and mussels. These guys know how to cook clams! So tender and tasty that are hard to resist and you keep wanting more. The paella is also nice and juicy while cooked to order. Well worth the wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for that special occasion

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food with an even better veiw. The is difently a higher class establishment but well worth the price for that special occasion dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess was exceedingly pleasant and acc ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Hostess was exceedingly pleasant and accommodating. Service was excellent. Most of the food was very good. Scallops, lobster & shrimp were well prepared however steak was over cooked and lacking in flavor. Beautiful views for sunset. Nice overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

So lovely!

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Hot Tin Roof! The food was really great but the real gem was the Key Lime Pie! The best on the planet I am sure!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Bar was lively and fun (thanks to Sheila ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Bar was lively and fun (thanks to Sheila and Nate (Cinnamon)...Adam found us the perfect booth for dining and our server Ellie was a sweetheart! My companions had the melt in your mouth filet while I feasted on the decadent lobster mac and cheese. Scenic views, fabulous food, and a great staff made for a unforgettable night. I would highly recommend Hot Tin Roof and we all agreed we would go back on our next trip to Key West!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was delicious. I had the snappe ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The meal was delicious. I had the snapper with goat cheese mashed potatoes and my wife had the swordfish with the yuca fries. We sat right on the water, was able to see the sun setting, and was able to hear great music from the bar below. The best restaurant in Key West. Yes the menu is pricey, but for an special occasion, it is worth it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we were there for our anniversary.. unab ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

we were there for our anniversary.. unable to get outside dining as tables were all reserved. Inside a bit noisy...food was great...a bit pricey.. waitress service was good.. great location...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and our waiter was fantastic! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food and our waiter was fantastic! Get the key lime pie... Yum!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Just disappointed

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was good but service was terrible. Our server had no idea what the food he was serving was. When we attend a higher class restaurant we expect a lot of our servers and we tip accordingly. Sadly based on our server, we won't be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.