About Hot Tin Roof

0 Duval Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Hot Tin Roof features bright vibrant colors indicative of the overall style of the Ocean Key Resort & Spa. The restaurant features indoor seating for 60 and an outdoor deck overlooking Key West Harbor, accommodating up to 40 people.

It's a mélange of tastes and fragrances, combining traditional Florida foods with Latin, Caribbean and tropical influences. It's funky, fun, and fresh with a broad range of tastes and sensations. The restaurant features a relaxed elegance with dramatic water and sunset views.

ATTENTION: Please advise that outside seating is limited and in very high demand. Requesting outside seating in advance is no way a guarantee, but we will do our best at accommodating requests at the door on a first come first serve basis. Generally reservations made in within the first 1/ 2 hour of opening time and 2 hours after opening time will have the best opportunity of outdoor seating.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin / Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:30am - 11:30am

Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 1:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-7701

Website:
http://www.oceankey.com/

Parking Details:
Off street parking as well as several public lots, including Mallory Square.

Executive Chef:
Scott Maurer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Caramelized Grouper
Napoleon
Pork Empanadas & Guava Bbq Sauce
Scallop Risotto
Old Fashioned
Lobster Eggs Ben
Berry Crumble
Coconut Flan
Scallop Picatta
Key Lime Pie
mac n cheese
Sataki (cooking)
Creme Brulee
Latin Braised Short Ribs
Shrimp Gumbo Soup
Ceviche
Sataki
Pino
Light Up Menu
Bloody Mango
Popover
Shrimp Tacos
Seared Diver Scallops
charcuterie
Snapper Ceviche
Ultimate Burger With Fries
Shrimp Ri
Parmesan Popover
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad
Yellowfin Tuna
Pan Seared Mahi Mahi
Skillet Chorizo Appetizer
Fish Sataki Small Plate
Mozzarella And Tomato Salad With Tuna
Seared Jamaican Jerk Chicken Strips
Scallops Risotto
The Hot Tin Paella
Surf'n'Turf
Chef's Special
Lobster mac n' cheese

Specials

Complimentary Hot Tin Tini Cocktail with your meal

Sundays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please mention this offer to your server or bartender. Special valid Sep 16, 2016 - Oct 16, 2016 on Sundays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Sunday Brunch

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM

Specials

Complimentary Hot Tin Tini Cocktail with your meal

Sundays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please mention this offer to your server or bartender. Special valid Sep 16, 2016 - Oct 16, 2016 on Sundays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Out Hot Tin Tini is Hot Tin Roofs Signature Cocktail made with vodka infused golden pineapple. Special valid Sep 16, 2016 - Oct 16, 2016 on Sundays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please mention this offer to your server or bartender. Special valid Sep 16, 2016 - Oct 16, 2016 on Sundays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Sunday Brunch

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM

Details

Sunday Brunch featuring unlimited Bloody Mary Bar, Specialty Mimosas, Tableside Raw Bar, A La Carte Menu $49 per person + tax & gratuity. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 17, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Sundays from 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Hot Tin Roof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Key West / Florida Keys
Outdoor Dining
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
9 More
Scenic View
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Most Booked
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Ambiance
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Outdoor Dining
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Scenic View
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Most Booked
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Scenic View (62)
Romantic (56)
Special Occasion (55)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Great for Brunch (17)
Waterfront (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1071 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing dinner outside watching the suns ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing dinner outside watching the sunset. The waiter went above and beyond. Even got a free dessert for my gluten free friend who celebrated her birthday. Get the veggie sides, they are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was okay but overpriced. We fr ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was okay but overpriced. We frequently dine out at restaurants in all price ranges. The view was much better than the food. The tuna appetizer was the best thing we tried. The food was very very bland overall.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I am a Key West resident & have many cho ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I am a Key West resident & have many choices for fine restaurants.

Hot Tin Roof never disappoints, our recent meal was outstanding,

food, service made for perfect evening to celebrate a friends

birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

second time there and maybe it was the h ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

second time there and maybe it was the heat or the way we were run off the balcony when trying to take sundown photo but just wasn't same. meal was ok, but costly. service was excellent.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but the view wasn't as promise ...

vip
 (Kent)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Good food but the view wasn't as promised. We stayed in this hotel which comes highly recommended and the view from our balcony on the ocean front was stunning but the restaurant is on the first/second floor and the pier bar obstructs any decent view of the ocean. You would get view from the pool side but that overlooks the cruise port which is not as good as the front view. Food though was very good and not too badly priced given the calibre of the hotel.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We dined at Hot Tin Roof on a recent tri ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We dined at Hot Tin Roof on a recent trip to the Keys and really enjoyed it. This is the second time we have had dinner here and enjoyed it just as much as the first. The restaurant has a great location and you can sit on the patio with a water view or inside. We chose to eat inside this time around and had a nice cozy booth. Our waiter Adrian did a great job of being attentive without being over bearing. We had another couple with us, their first time to the restaurant, and they seemed to really enjoy it as well. All of the food we ordered was prepared and seasoned well. The timing of the food was well spaced so we did not feel rushed. Overall a great meal and next time we are in the Keys we will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for dinner! Must sit at the balcon ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great for dinner! Must sit at the balcony for sunset views. The best part of dinner is the menu: we just love the small plate choices. The tuna satay is a a must if you like tuna! Cook it to your liking at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely fantastic dinner overlooking ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Absolutely fantastic dinner overlooking a fabulous sunset at Key West. Brilliant experience. Food was marvellous

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant friendly staff and ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent restaurant friendly staff and amazing food and cocktails, warm friendly service and a wonderful view

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Romantic, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, food was minimal and o ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was good, food was minimal and ok. I asked the waitress to turn on the air conditioning twice to no avail. Room temperature too warm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We dined here after our private Beach we ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We dined here after our private Beach wedding in Key West. The service was excellent, the Food was great (Grouper & Swordfish). They held our wedding cake for us, and served it after the meal. We were treated extremely well by the staff, and it made for a memorable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible time - Thank you!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Incredible time - Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome steaks and salads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

awesome steaks and salads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful family dinner! Servi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a wonderful family dinner! Service, food and view were fabulous. Will always go back when we visit Key West.

Although a little hard to find...you have to walk around the back of Ocean Key Resort and past the pier to find the staircase up...once inside, you'll realize its worth the effort.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bursting with vitamin C!!!

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Bursting with vitamin C!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wow! What a great experience! From th ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Wow! What a great experience! From the point we walked in and was greeted to the food and of course, the sunset views. We had a spectacular table on the patio, which was a bit hot for us, so we dined inside at the bar. The service was flawless. Our food was delicious and nicely presented.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Wonderful sunset.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great meal. Wonderful sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I've ever had. I a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. I ate way past fullness because it tasted so good. My husband and I really enjoyed everything about Hot Tin Roof. The service was perfect. The bathroom was fabulous. And we saw the sunset from where we were sitting. Very special. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The description was Latin. There was abs ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The description was Latin. There was absolutely nothing Latin about this place. Very limited menu choices and sub par food. Definitely not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We have been going there for over 8 yrs ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have been going there for over 8 yrs

So on our 11 year anniversary we decided to go back

they had changed their menu which is fine

"try something new" you know

But even. There "corporate" menu sucks now

-Their drink menu /liquor selection had diminished couldn't even order a simple apple martini...

-Took Way too long between four people to figure out who is going to serve us ...,

-But most of all the bartender was very rude and hasty

-The manager tried to make it right he would've even take care of our meal and drinks , he was very sympathetic with us and promised to handle the staff

but we decided we wanted to be happy on our anniversary so we went somewhere else.

I firmly do not recommend this place any longer

Really sad. I use to loveeeee that Resturant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Love this place. Unfortunately there wer ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love this place. Unfortunately there were kids there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ANOTHER AMAZING BRUNCH! SERVICE IS OUTS ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

ANOTHER AMAZING BRUNCH! SERVICE IS OUTSTANDING AND SO WAS THE FOOD!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant with a fantastic a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very nice restaurant with a fantastic ambient. We did enjoy the food (seafood) and the excellent service.

Many Thanks

Nicolas & Lara

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow ! We went for our ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was very slow ! We went for our anniversary and they sat us next to a table of 20 ladies that were have a pre wedding party so loud!

Also the band at the pier bar so so load also!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Despite having a reservation made severa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Despite having a reservation made several days ahead, our reservation meant nothing. We had to wait over an hour in the bar. I noted on the reservation it was for my wife's birthday and we'd be entertaining guests and wanted a table with a view.....nothing was accommodated! The hostess was unfriendly and the manager never stopped by or apologized for our wait etc. Chip our server though was outstanding and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

On the plus side the food and the view, ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

On the plus side the food and the view, especially of the sunset, are both great. On the negative side were the wait staff. The cocktail waitress made us feel like she didn't care we were there. The waitress was better, but slow and inattentive. The restaurant is billed as finer dining and it was my wife's birthday so we wanted a special evening. My wife and I love trying new places so we don't regret making the reservation, but probably will not be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

I have eaten at Hot Tin many times, and ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I have eaten at Hot Tin many times, and never disappointed. Great food and outstanding service. The portions are smaller than anywhere else, but I like that I can actually finish my meal. Their small plates are awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was a great find. We made reservati ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was a great find. We made reservations and were offered seating outside or inside by a window table. We chose outside as a storm was coming and it was not warm. The hostess was fantastic and was very patient and helpful with our seating. She came back serveral times to check to see if we were ok. Our waiter again was not very friendly and had to work at being pleasant. We chose the small plate menu and had 3 entree's, crab cake, conch chowder, and calamari. All were fantastic and portions were larger than anticipated. The best part was the window panels on n the porch. They were on sensors so when the wind and rain changed directions they would automatically go up and down so you stayed dry! We left our table and had after dinner drinks at the bar area. Our bar tender was fantastic (sorry forgot name), but she made a superb Expresso Martini! We almost went back after our dining at Latitudes the next night! We would definitely recommend this stop while visiting Key West. Make reservations we were fortunate the cruise ships were not in and it was during the week, so we had a choice of times and seating!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

You couldn't ask for a more beautiful pl ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

You couldn't ask for a more beautiful place to dine- ESPECIALLY at sunset!! The food was incredible, the wine list comprehensive, and the staff accommodating and professional. Excellent choice for a romantic date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent as always. One of our favorite ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent as always. One of our favorite spots on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal. Try the infused vodka d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Wonderful meal. Try the infused vodka drink. Everything was outstanding. Friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

HTR is an annual event for us. The food ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

HTR is an annual event for us. The food & drinks are great, the outside tables are great to enjoy the sunset (if you want to skip Mallory Sq), and the service is good. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This is one of the best locations in Key ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is one of the best locations in Key West to watch the sunset, especially from the balcony...even though the average-sounding band on Sunset Pier was a little loud. The next best thing was the service, which was friendly and attentive from reception to waiter. On the other hand, the food was just good. The small bowl of conch chowder was rich in tomato flavor, with tiny pieces of conch; but the paella was rather bland and lacking in saffron flavor. The texture of the rice was more like a risotto than true paella, all of which dampened our enthusiasm and enjoyment. The range of the wine by the glass selection was pretty good. So, bottom line is we would recommend this place to our friends for the scenery, the ambiance and the service...and hope they find dishes they like better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, we had a pretty good experience ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Overall, we had a pretty good experience. Our waiter was not very attentive. My biggest pet-peeve is having my glass of water run empty. Key West is very hot and humid in the summer and water is like your best friend. Also, if you have kids that like to drink soda, it is not fountain soda - it's bottle...so no free refills.

They have an interesting menu that allows you to order several small plates or large plates with some smaller sides. Our food was not as warm as I would have preferred, but it was still good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Service was a step above. Everyone was f ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was a step above. Everyone was friendly and was always there to help you.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent experience... our an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had an excellent experience... our anniversary and her birthday was spent in the best place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice and personal commutations was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very nice and personal commutations was great. Food was great and the scenic view is like no other.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent sunset view, food and service. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent sunset view, food and service. By far the best Key West dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another smashing success by the Ocean Ke ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Another smashing success by the Ocean Key Resort in creating a truly pleasurable and unique dining experience. Brunch, ordered off the menu, as much as you wish to sample or re-order, for a fixed price. The selection has something for everyone and the food is excellent. The service is impeccable and if you want to have a great brunch in Key West, Hot Tin Roof is the place. If you need any proof, there were as many locals on a Sunday morning having brunch as there were tourists. Nicely done, Hot Tin, nicely done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.