About Hot Tin Roof

Hot Tin Roof features bright vibrant colors indicative of the overall style of the Ocean Key Resort & Spa. The restaurant features indoor seating for 60 and an outdoor deck overlooking Key West Harbor, accommodating up to 40 people.

It's a mélange of tastes and fragrances, combining traditional Florida foods with Latin, Caribbean and tropical influences. It's funky, fun, and fresh with a broad range of tastes and sensations. The restaurant features a relaxed elegance with dramatic water and sunset views.

ATTENTION: Please advise that outside seating is limited and in very high demand. Requesting outside seating in advance is no way a guarantee, but we will do our best at accommodating requests at the door on a first come first serve basis. Generally reservations made in within the first 1/ 2 hour of opening time and 2 hours after opening time will have the best opportunity of outdoor seating.

0 Duval Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin / Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily:
Monday through Saturday 7:30am - 11:30pm
Sunday 7:30pm - 11:00am

Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 1:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-7701

Website:
http://www.oceankey.com/

Parking Details:
Off street parking as well as several public lots, including Mallory Square.

Executive Chef:
Scott Maurer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Caramelized Grouper  - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Napoleon - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Coconut Flan - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Scallop Picatta - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Key Lime Pie - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
mac n cheese - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Sataki (cooking) - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Creme Brulee - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Latin Braised Short Ribs - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Shrimp Gumbo Soup - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Ceviche - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Sataki - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Pino - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Light Up Menu - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Bloody Mango - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Popover - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Pork Empanadas & Guava Bbq Sauce - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Old Fashioned - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Shrimp Tacos - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Seared Diver Scallops - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
charcuterie - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Lobster Eggs Ben - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Snapper Ceviche - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Ultimate Burger With Fries - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Shrimp Ri - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Parmesan Popover - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Yellowfin Tuna - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Pan Seared Mahi Mahi - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Skillet Chorizo Appetizer - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Fish Sataki Small Plate  - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Scallop Risotto - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Berry Crumble - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Mozzarella And Tomato Salad With Tuna - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Seared Jamaican Jerk Chicken Strips - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Scallops Risotto - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
The Hot Tin Paella - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Surf'n'Turf - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Chef's Special - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL
Lobster mac n' cheese - Hot Tin Roof, Key West, FL

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Featuring a 4 course Pre-Fix priced at $69++ per person

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Hot Tin Roof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (44)
Scenic View (34)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Romantic (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fun (9)
People Watching (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Cozy (8)
Tapas (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
1213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

BeautIful water view! Excellent service. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

BeautIful water view! Excellent service. Fantastic food!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Brussel sprouts lacked flavor. The ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

The Brussel sprouts lacked flavor. The swordfish was tasty, but was petite. The scallops were 3 average sized and the rosotto tasted like regular rice. The charcuterie was nice. The grilled bread was nice with garlic and manchego. It was a birthday dinner which was noted in the reservation, but nothing was done. Not even a happy birthday from the staff.

Very disappointed. I do not recommend. I will not go back.

Pati at the bar was very nice and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Excellent restaurant with excellent serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent restaurant with excellent service. Would definitely return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely LOVE Hot Tin Roof!!! This ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

We absolutely LOVE Hot Tin Roof!!! This was our second time there for Sunday brunch and I don't think I would ever go back to Key West and not eat at this fabulous restaurant. The views, staff, food and service are all top notch! Our waiter, Oleg, could not have been more attentive. I have only been the for Sunday brunch, but would love to try dinner. I highly recommend this fabulous restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at the Hot Tin R ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a wonderful time at the Hot Tin Roof. Food was delicious and the service was impeccable. A bit overpriced but the ambiance was worth it~

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was a bit pricey, but overall, ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was a bit pricey, but overall, the experience was very good. Our waiter was attentive, but not hovering. We dined outside, and only wished that it was in Spring or Fall when the view could be appreciated.

Despite being a "hotel" restaurant, which I try to avoid, it managed to impress.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding. Can't wait to go back!

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good for classic fare. Fusion fare not s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Good for classic fare. Fusion fare not so much. The ceviche while beautifully pesented lacked much flavor as did the kimchi that accompanied the pork belly. Stick to rack of lamb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a new experience for us. The f ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was a new experience for us. The food was good, though not great . I would go back but on a warmer night, probably for drinks during happy hour as I imagine the view is awesome.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was lovely however the food, ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was lovely however the food, cocktail and wine selection was poor. The food was absolutely awful and gave both myself and my husband a stomach ache.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

The steak and lamb was excellent. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The steak and lamb was excellent. The service is one of the best on the island. Been here many times and will be here in the future. The cocktails are the best made in KW. The only problem this time was mashed potatoes being served cold. They replaced them with even colder potatoes. Finally I gave up.. this was very unusual for everything else is always the best.... (sometimes it happens..).

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

All the locals said this was their favor ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

All the locals said this was their favorite and a top 3 restaurant in KW, and they were not wrong. Despite not so great weather the views and atmosphere of this restaurant were excellent. I had the Burrata salad and my husband had the kale and romaine ceaser. Both just perfect. For dinner I had the plantain crusted swordfish which was delicious and cooked perfectly. My husband had the seafood paella which he raved about. We finished our meal with the warm season fruit cobbler and it was light and a perfect ending to an excellent dinner. We will be back!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pati is best bartender in history and I ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pati is best bartender in history and I love eating there with friends or on date night!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time here. There view is awesome, ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

1st time here. There view is awesome, our server was terrific and our meal was fantastic...

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Starter was cold, both mains (grouper an ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Starter was cold, both mains (grouper and paella were very good), highlight was the melt in the mouth key lime pie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Used to love this place but had a terrib ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Used to love this place but had a terrible evening. Slow and unattentive service, main course was totally cold and our complaints were completely ignored. Unprofessional and definitely not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

The atmosphere, scenic view, food & serv ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The atmosphere, scenic view, food & service were excellent. All were well refined. When in Key West, we will be sure to have a special meal here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for a meal on our honeymoon and ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for a meal on our honeymoon and were seated outside, after we asked for our table to be changed. The wait staff was very accommodating and kind. The food was delicious, as well as the wine and mixed drinks. Dessert was on them because it was out honeymoon! A lovely restaurant. Definitely go there if you're in the market for a nice, quality meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Historic, , Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael was a very good waiter. Slightly ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Michael was a very good waiter. Slightly too attentive but not rudely. The ambiance was nice. The food was fresh and tasty. Yellowtail snapper was light.. 'sweet potatoes' didn't appear to be traditional sweet potatoes but they were good. Swordfish very good. Key lime pie was light and very good. A little Upscale.. comfortable.. Not a wow restaurant. But it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The spicy tuna tacos were amazing, and t ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The spicy tuna tacos were amazing, and the lobster fresh and mouth watering. However, the key lime pie was beyond words, it was not overwhelming and simply amazing. The view on the patio was astonishing and breath taking! I highly recommend this place, if you're looking for a high end resturauant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a sunset dinner ! Delicious fo ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great for a sunset dinner ! Delicious food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year dinner. Worst food ever. 110 US ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year dinner. Worst food ever. 110 USD per person + drinks. Really a restaurant which tries to be at the top, but you get less than random quality food and poorly prepared. Don't eat the oysters or fillet.. The you get one burned dish and one dish which needed a lot of extra care.

The waiter was a real amateur, ansking for his advice and he relayed "look in the menue" or just pouring water all over, hanging in over people eating, no info about what was served, etc etc. Worst was that he run after us two blocks down the road arguing why he didn't got any tip. The manager was good. He gave a discount. Thanks.

Don't waste your money on any food at this place and don't expect any professional services.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The atmosphere was romantic, the food wa ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The atmosphere was romantic, the food was gourmet, and our water, Brian, provided great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our New Year's dinner here. Th ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We loved our New Year's dinner here. The service was incredible. We felt like we had the best seat in the house, overlooking the bay, watching the sunset, and hearing the music below. Just awesome. Cocktails, wine, food, dessert...Key West!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunset view for our New Year's celebrat ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Sunset view for our New Year's celebration dinner was fabulous. The food was an 11 out of 10 and Ellie our server was top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overlooking the water....... really soft ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Overlooking the water....... really soft and romantic lighting and excellent food and wine! We really enjoyed our dining experience as a party of 4. I highly recommend this spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were both very good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food and service were both very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance was impressive and our wait ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The ambiance was impressive and our waitress was pleasant and professional but beyond that there wasn't much to get excited about. The entrees were small, not especially flavorful, and failed to live up to their price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Ellie the waitress was amazing!! Such gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Ellie the waitress was amazing!! Such great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wow, the dining experience exceeded our ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wow, the dining experience exceeded our expectations. The sunset view is beautiful. The ambiance romantic, but we did eat with our entire family. The food/drink were fabulous. It is a little pricey but worth every penny.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Oleg was outstanding! Best se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our server Oleg was outstanding! Best service we had on our trip. Lovely location and atmosphere. We ordered several small plates, for a delicious light dinner. Everything was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fine but nothing special. Tried ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was fine but nothing special. Tried tuna with Moroccan seasoning and was underwhelmed. Same with pork empanadas. Service was slow and it wasn't busy while we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Amazing time on the balcony staff was am ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Amazing time on the balcony staff was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Christmas dinner....superb.....4 courses ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas dinner....superb.....4 courses of very tasty food, fine wine list.....happy bunnies!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Christmas Day brunch! We stron ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful Christmas Day brunch! We strongly recommend this delightful experience in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a wonderful Christmas brunch at ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful Christmas brunch at HTR! Unique brunch concept, unlimited bloodies and mimosas as well as food but you order food off the ala carte menu as small plates and it is brought to you. Much more civilized way of having brunch! The ceviche and grouper chowder were especially tasty but everything was good.

The best part of brunch here is the spectacular view! Try to arrive at 11.30 when they open so you can enjoy a patio table as we did. Definitely would return. Great way to spend last day in Key West before catching afternoon flight home.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night. We dined outside in the dec ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Date night. We dined outside in the deck Christmas Eve night and Elli was our server. We had an incredible experience all the way around. Food, service, drinks all exceptional and Elli was the best!!! Get the esspresso martini at dessert!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous view, extremely overpriced and ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fabulous view, extremely overpriced and bad service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Best sunset view in Key West. Sitting o ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Best sunset view in Key West. Sitting outside was romantic, as the sun set and the water crashed against the nearby pier, and we ate by candle light (albeit a bit dark). There are ceiling fans to keep you cool. My wife and I shared the paella. It was very good. We would both recommend it. When in Key West, don't miss this one.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

照明が少ないので、 日没前がオススメ。

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

照明が少ないので、

日没前がオススメ。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.