About Hostaria

236, rue St-Zotique E
Montreal, QC H2S 1L1
View Larger Map

Here at Hostaria distinct aromas bring back sweet memories of Sunday gatherings when tables were set by our grand-mothers. These women were proud and happy to welcome their children and grand-children to share not only memorable meals, but more importantly to celebrate life and the pleasures of being together!

Hostaria is synonymous with the comfort of home; a place where well-being reigns and the soul is filled with nostalgia for those happy days…

The kitchen is our workshop… our source of creativity, where our staff /chefs gather(s) regularly to share their ideas, their gastronomical experiences and their well-kept family recipes.

Meanwhile, our dining room is a melting pot of past and present culinary experiences. Here warm Italian hospitality is inherent… this is our formula, this is who we are… this is Hostaria!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch : Thursday & Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm

Dinner : Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Alma

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 273-5776

Website:
http://www.hostaria.ca/

Parking Details:
Valet parking 8$

Public Transit:
Metro Beaubien, Metro De Castelneau, Metro Jean Talon

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Hostaria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Montreal / Quebec
Italian
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

fit for foodies (24)
romantic (19)
notable wine list (18)
See All
special occasion (18)
neighborhood gem (11)
good for groups (10)
great for lunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
79 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service3

We were kept twenty minutes at the door ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We were kept twenty minutes at the door with no apology.

food5
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful meal from start to fi ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful meal from start to finish. The octopus carpaccio was excellent as was the eggplant Parmesan. We had a very personable attentive waiter. It was a very nice evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were impeccable

Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were impeccable

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a charcuterie plate for starters. An ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Had a charcuterie plate for starters. An Italian organic red wine to pair. Eggplant parmesan square after that. We shared the bison and it was cooked to perfection. Some short espressos to finish it off. Waiters were delightful, we were greeted kindly upon entering and even had a little friendly chat with Andreas upon leaving. The restaurant was energetic and it reminded me of dining in Italy. It was a memorable evening and I will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good, service was excell ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was really good, service was excellent , people working are passionate about what they do and what they have to offer.

food5
ambience4
service3

Fried artichokes were delicious as was m ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Fried artichokes were delicious as was my veal milanese.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply the best italian food in Montreal !

Dined on February 21, 2016

We love Hostaria. The food is excellent and never disappoints, from the entries to the desserts. They have the best wine list in Montreal. The service is warm and impeccable. It's a little gem in little Italy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding like always

Dined on February 20, 2016

Outstanding italien food. Andrea is an exceptional host.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The owner is very friendly. We feel at home.

Dined on February 13, 2016

He receives people at the door with a smile and a kiss. Guests seem to be clients for a long time. The service boys and girls are courteous and pleasant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wine list, expensive

Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was delicious, with a huge number of wines. The place is not very big (tables are close to each other) and a bit noisy when many people come. I would go there rarely, it is pricey.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic cuisine

Dined on January 15, 2016

Great authentic italian cuisine. The lunch «table d'hôte» is a great bet for the money. Service is quiet, friendly and efficient. Wine recommandations were also right on the spot. I have been to Hostaria a couple of times before, and it is still great. My three guests shared the same opinion.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is by far one of the best Ita ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

This place is by far one of the best Italian restaurants in Montreal. I highly recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

Dined on December 20, 2015

This was the 3rd time we have eaten at Hostaria. As usual, the food and service were excellent. Nice wine list as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice

Dined on December 11, 2015

Was there on a Friday lunch and they were not too busy so the service was very good and we ate and drank all in all a good time was had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1

Food served way to quick for a restauran ...

vip
Dined on December 11, 2015

Food served way to quick for a restaurant of that caliber. Staff is too pushy. And food WAY TO SALTY. will never go back

food5
ambience4
service5

One of our favorites.

Dined on December 10, 2015

This restaurant never disappoints. Food is the best Italian home style cooking. Great wine, excellent service. I especially like how they will serve it buffet style if you want to share.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good!!! We had a great time. Really ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

Very good!!! We had a great time. Really to recommend

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb Italian food

Dined on November 13, 2015

This is the kind of restaurant that makes you think that you are eating in the home of your nonna on a Sunday afternoon. Wonderful food. Just the right size.l

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great place!

Dined on November 7, 2015

The food was delicious, a place to go back for sure!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great fine Italien food

Dined on November 6, 2015

It's my favorite Italian restaurant in Montreal, what else could I add?

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, fantastic service!

Dined on October 18, 2015

Fantastic food, fantastic service!

food3
ambience2
service4

Great place for groups

Dined on October 18, 2015

Described on the web as the best Italian table in Montreal, we booked for a romantic night out. On the positive side: the service is excellent, in the menu go for the veal, my hubby told me is good. On the negative side, it was way too noisy, couldn't hear each other. It is a restaurant to go out with groups not for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

Great place!

Dined on October 10, 2015

Food was excellent Service was excellent - different waiters serving, all nice and professional We will return

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Very Good Italian Foid

Dined on October 9, 2015

The food was great , this restaurant is very small with a family tradition you feel like home . The service with Roberto was Extra and we did enjoy our evening supper from strat to the end. The wine list is very elaborate with accessible price . It is a very lively place and noisy ....not the place for a romantic one to one evening .... A place for group or family get together ... We will return for sure for the quality of the food and the great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service

Dined on September 26, 2015

What really made this restaurant stand out was the service! From the moment we walked in we were very well looked after. Staff were courteous and helpful but also very respectful of our privacy. That is rare! Definitely try the fried artichokes, they were delicious as was the seafood pasta and pappardelle with wild boar ragu. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

While other "foodies" might be flocking ...

Dined on September 2, 2015

While other "foodies" might be flocking to "the next big thing" they might be missing the best and most authentic Italian dining experience in the city. Passion for the food and dining experience shines through. Everything made fresh. Outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Italia

Dined on August 28, 2015

The most authentic Italian restaurant in Montreal. Pasta , not precooked lile in other places, no sauces on the meats, salt crusted fish, light desserts, fried dishes not greasy. Love it or hate it, it's the real deal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great dinner!

Dined on August 28, 2015

I've been to Hostaria a few times and I've never been disapointed. They have a short menu that changes every couple months but everytime I discover something new and it's refreshing. The staff is really nice and they give you great recommendations.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and accommodating Staff!

Dined on August 28, 2015

2nd time at restaurant an it was a hit again! Our host Andreas was hospitable as usual. Roberto our waiter very attentive and friendly. The chef fantastic all of our selections were bang on :-) and to top it off one of my friends had a special request on how he wanted his fish prepared and the chef had no issue doing it. Great job by all.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

Oklahoma City traveler

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

Our last night in Montreal and overall, a real disappointment . It was very, very loud. The service started bad as we sat for a good 10 or 15 minutes before we were offered anything -even water. No help or recommendation on the wine list. We felt unwelcome by the staff. The food was just ok. When we return to Montreal we will find another Italian place to spend our $$.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very memorable experience Thank you.

Dined on August 8, 2015

Very memorable experience Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Night!

Dined on August 2, 2015

Food was great, wine was great, service was great! Will definitely go back next time I am in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great place

Dined on August 1, 2015

Great place. Outstanding fresh italien food. A sure bet!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food

Dined on July 30, 2015

The food was absolutely amazing, a bit expensive, but perfect for an occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience everything was perfect 10

Dined on July 23, 2015

The food was extraordinary the servive was excellent the decor and ambiance was chic and Relaxed at the same time great dining experience a restaurant that i woul recommand to everyone

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Modern Italian

Dined on June 27, 2015

We went to Hostaria last weekend based off reviews seen online, about a $15-20 cab ride from Old Montreal. The meal was outstanding from start to finish. Food was simply prepared with amazing flavours, and they have a wine list to match (with relatively low markups!). We had the tomatoes with burrata, salami, salt crusted sea bass (a special), fusilloni pasta with lamb and artichokes, and the torta Caprese. All were excellent with the exception of the torta, which was still good but just not at the same level as the other dishes. Yes, even just the salami was excellent, from a local Montreal charcuterie. Well worth a trip to, this was our best meal in five evenings, which included a number of other highly rated (and more expensive) restaurants. Wine service and selection were excellent, make use of the sommelier/owner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this place on a whim (thank you ag ...

Dined on June 6, 2015

Found this place on a whim (thank you again, Open Table) while traveling in Montréal. The host, waiter, and staff were so nice and gave us wonderful recommendations for appetizers, dinner, wine, and dessert! We even lucked out and had people sitting next to us (also from the States) who were very nice! The food was wonderful as well as the wine! Ambience was lovely! A hidden gem in the city for sure!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mother's Day supper option!

Dined on May 9, 2015

We took our 80 year old parents here and it was the perfect choice for trying out a new Italian resto. The food, wine, service and atmosphere were great. It was just a bit pricier than we expected for this neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

Dined on May 2, 2015

The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. Very enjoyable evening.

food1
ambience3
service4

Went last night. The food was very poorl ...

Dined on April 24, 2015

Went last night. The food was very poorly executed but the service had no flaws that someone who is t industry would notice. Management did their utmost to alleviate our displeasure. Definitely will never eat there again but maybe for drinks if I happen to be standing in that corner....

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.