About Hostaria

236, rue St-Zotique E
Montreal, QC H2S 1L1
View Larger Map

Here at Hostaria distinct aromas bring back sweet memories of Sunday gatherings when tables were set by our grand-mothers. These women were proud and happy to welcome their children and grand-children to share not only memorable meals, but more importantly to celebrate life and the pleasures of being together!

Hostaria is synonymous with the comfort of home; a place where well-being reigns and the soul is filled with nostalgia for those happy days…

The kitchen is our workshop… our source of creativity, where our staff /chefs gather(s) regularly to share their ideas, their gastronomical experiences and their well-kept family recipes.

Meanwhile, our dining room is a melting pot of past and present culinary experiences. Here warm Italian hospitality is inherent… this is our formula, this is who we are… this is Hostaria!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch : Thursday & Friday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm

Dinner : Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Alma

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 273-5776

Website:
http://www.hostaria.ca/

Parking Details:
Valet parking 8$

Public Transit:
Metro Beaubien, Metro De Castelneau, Metro Jean Talon

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pappardelle with Boar Ragu
  • Rack Of Veal
  • Burrata
  • Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle
Pappardelle with Boar Ragu
Rack Of Veal
Burrata
Rabbit Ragu with Pappardelle

Hostaria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
10 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Italian
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Notable Wine List
Montreal
Italian
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Little Italy ›

Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Romantic (11)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Family Style (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went to Hostaria for my anniversary wi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I went to Hostaria for my anniversary with my boyfriend. What was supposed to be a romantic tête à tête, ended up in a silent encounter as we kept quiet and smiled at every bite. We were completely blown away by the food. This wasn't a dinner but an experience. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent! One of the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent! One of the best restaurant in town, for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FELT LIKE A REAL ITALIAN MAMA WAS IN THE ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

FELT LIKE A REAL ITALIAN MAMA WAS IN THE KITCHEN DOING HER MAGIC!!!

This restaurant in Little Italy was a recommendation and we can honestly say it was some of the best Italian food we had in a long time, real authentic classic goodies.

Delicately fried fresh artichokes, stuffed calamari, suckling pig and tagliatelli with lamb ragu and fresh artichokes. Yumme! Portions were very good (we even asked for a doggy bag for the suckling pig leftovers - no way we were going to leave this behind) . Dessert was a shared lemon pie, also close to perfection. Wine was a very interesting organic selection thanks to Andreas' expert advice. And service was really good. Hostaria is definitely on our top restaurant list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely Delicious! Impeccable, perso ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Absolutely Delicious! Impeccable, personal service! As foodies we must note it was one of the very best meals we enjoyed in Montreal.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you have never been to Italy before, ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

If you have never been to Italy before, this is the closest thing to it. Must go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta dishes are a must. The sauces ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The pasta dishes are a must. The sauces are amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE restaurant is nice the service is ve ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

THE restaurant is nice the service is very good and the food is excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our second visit to Hostaria whi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is our second visit to Hostaria while visiting Montreal from the states. We loved it so much the first time that we wanted to go back on this trio even though there are so many great restaurants on Montreal. Hostaria did not disappoint. Their food is fresh pure and seasonal and not overdone like so many Italian restaurants. It is true Italian eating (this is coming from a first generation Italian who grew up in the Italian importing business and travels to Italy frequently). The service is friendly yet attentive and the staff is very gracious as to changes to splitting dishes, etc. I recommend Hostaria without reservation and will return again on my next trip to Montreal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quantities were not abundant. Food was a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Quantities were not abundant. Food was amazing service good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

As an Italian customer, I highly recomme ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

As an Italian customer, I highly recommend Hostaria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing and so was the service. ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was amazing and so was the service. The waiters made very good suggestions when we were unsure about to get. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best italian food out of Italy I have ha ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best italian food out of Italy I have had in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were kept twenty minutes at the door ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were kept twenty minutes at the door with no apology.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We had a wonderful meal from start to fi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a wonderful meal from start to finish. The octopus carpaccio was excellent as was the eggplant Parmesan. We had a very personable attentive waiter. It was a very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service were impeccable

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food and service were impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a charcuterie plate for starters. An ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Had a charcuterie plate for starters. An Italian organic red wine to pair. Eggplant parmesan square after that. We shared the bison and it was cooked to perfection. Some short espressos to finish it off. Waiters were delightful, we were greeted kindly upon entering and even had a little friendly chat with Andreas upon leaving. The restaurant was energetic and it reminded me of dining in Italy. It was a memorable evening and I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good, service was excell ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was really good, service was excellent , people working are passionate about what they do and what they have to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried artichokes were delicious as was m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Fried artichokes were delicious as was my veal milanese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Simply the best italian food in Montreal !

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We love Hostaria. The food is excellent and never disappoints, from the entries to the desserts. They have the best wine list in Montreal. The service is warm and impeccable. It's a little gem in little Italy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

outstanding like always

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Outstanding italien food. Andrea is an exceptional host.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The owner is very friendly. We feel at home.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

He receives people at the door with a smile and a kiss. Guests seem to be clients for a long time. The service boys and girls are courteous and pleasant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and wine list, expensive

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was delicious, with a huge number of wines.

The place is not very big (tables are close to each other) and a bit noisy when many people come.

I would go there rarely, it is pricey.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic cuisine

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Great authentic italian cuisine. The lunch «table d'hôte» is a great bet for the money. Service is quiet, friendly and efficient. Wine recommandations were also right on the spot. I have been to Hostaria a couple of times before, and it is still great. My three guests shared the same opinion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place is by far one of the best Ita ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

This place is by far one of the best Italian restaurants in Montreal. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

This was the 3rd time we have eaten at Hostaria. As usual, the food and service were excellent. Nice wine list as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Was there on a Friday lunch and they were not too busy so the service was very good and we ate and drank all in all a good time was had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food served way to quick for a restauran ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Food served way to quick for a restaurant of that caliber. Staff is too pushy. And food WAY TO SALTY. will never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

One of our favorites.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

This restaurant never disappoints. Food is the best Italian home style cooking. Great wine, excellent service. I especially like how they will serve it buffet style if you want to share.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good!!! We had a great time. Really ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Very good!!! We had a great time. Really to recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Superb Italian food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

This is the kind of restaurant that makes you think that you are eating in the home of your nonna on a Sunday afternoon. Wonderful food. Just the right size.l

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great place!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

The food was delicious, a place to go back for sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fine Italien food

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

It's my favorite Italian restaurant in Montreal, what else could I add?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food, fantastic service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Fantastic food, fantastic service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for groups

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Described on the web as the best Italian table in Montreal, we booked for a romantic night out.

On the positive side: the service is excellent, in the menu go for the veal, my hubby told me is good.

On the negative side, it was way too noisy, couldn't hear each other. It is a restaurant to go out with groups not for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great place!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Food was excellent

Service was excellent - different waiters serving, all nice and professional

We will return

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very Good Italian Foid

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

The food was great , this restaurant is very small with a family tradition you feel like home .

The service with Roberto was Extra and we did enjoy our evening supper from strat to the end.

The wine list is very elaborate with accessible price .

It is a very lively place and noisy ....not the place for a romantic one to one evening .... A place for group or family get together ...

We will return for sure for the quality of the food and the great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Outstanding Service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

What really made this restaurant stand out was the service! From the moment we walked in we were very well looked after. Staff were courteous and helpful but also very respectful of our privacy. That is rare! Definitely try the fried artichokes, they were delicious as was the seafood pasta and pappardelle with wild boar ragu. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While other "foodies" might be flocking ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

While other "foodies" might be flocking to "the next big thing" they might be missing the best and most authentic Italian dining experience in the city. Passion for the food and dining experience shines through. Everything made fresh. Outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great dinner!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

I've been to Hostaria a few times and I've never been disapointed. They have a short menu that changes every couple months but everytime I discover something new and it's refreshing. The staff is really nice and they give you great recommendations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and accommodating Staff!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

2nd time at restaurant an it was a hit again! Our host Andreas was hospitable as usual. Roberto our waiter very attentive and friendly. The chef fantastic all of our selections were bang on :-) and to top it off one of my friends had a special request on how he wanted his fish prepared and the chef had no issue doing it. Great job by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.